Technologie des ultrasons Hielscher

Application des ultrasons de puissance à l'aide de cornes à ultrasons

Les cornes ou sondes ultrasoniques sont largement utilisées pour de nombreuses applications de traitement des liquides, notamment l'homogénéisation, la dispersion, le broyage humide, l'émulsification, l'extraction, la désintégration, la dissolution et la désaération. Apprenez les bases des cornes et des sondes à ultrasons et de leurs applications.

Corne à ultrasons et sonde à ultrasons

Ultrasonic horn at the transducer of the UIP2000hdTSouvent, les termes corne et sonde à ultrasons sont utilisés de manière interchangeable et font référence à la tige ultrasonore qui transmet les ondes ultrasonores dans le liquide. Les autres termes utilisés pour désigner la sonde à ultrasons sont cornet acoustique, sonotrode, guide d'ondes acoustiques ou doigt ultrasonique. Toutefois, techniquement, il existe une différence entre un cornet à ultrasons et une sonde à ultrasons.
Les deux, corne et sonde, font référence à des parties de l'ultrasonateur dit de type sonde. Le cornet ultrasonore est la partie métallique du transducteur ultrasonore, qui est excité par des vibrations générées par voie piézoélectrique. La corne ultrasonore vibre à une certaine fréquence, par exemple 20 kHz, ce qui signifie 20 000 vibrations par seconde. Le titane est le matériau de prédilection pour la fabrication des cornes à ultrasons en raison de ses excellentes propriétés de transmission acoustique, de sa résistance à la fatigue et de sa dureté de surface.

La sonde ultrasonique est également appelée sonotrode ou doigt ultrasonique. Il s'agit d'une tige métallique, le plus souvent en titane, qui est vissée à la corne à ultrasons. La sonde ultrasonore est une partie essentielle du processeur ultrasonore, qui transmet les ondes ultrasonores dans le milieu sonique. Les sondes ultrasonores/sonotrodes sont disponibles sous différentes formes (par exemple conique, à pointe, conique ou en cascade). Si le titane est le matériau le plus couramment utilisé pour les sondes ultrasonores, il existe également des sonotrodes en acier inoxydable, en céramique, en verre et autres matériaux.

Comme la corne et la sonde ultrasonores sont soumises à une compression ou une tension constante pendant la sonication, le choix du matériau de la corne et de la sonde est crucial. L'alliage de titane de haute qualité (grade 5) est considéré comme le métal le plus fiable, le plus durable et le plus efficace pour résister à la tension, pour supporter des amplitudes élevées sur de longues périodes et pour transmettre les propriétés acoustiques et mécaniques.

Sonde à ultrasons émulsifiant l'huile dans l'eau via des ultrasons de puissance

Ultrasonic booster and probe (cascatrode) mounted to the horn of the ultrasonic transducer UIP2000hdT

transducteur à ultrasons UIP2000hdT avec cornet, amplificateur et sonde ultrasonique (sonotrode)

Demande d'information





Les ultrasonateurs à haute performance fonctionnent principalement dans la gamme de fréquences de 20 à 30 kHz. À 20 kHz, la sonde ultrasonore est généralement une tige résonnante d'une demi-longueur d'onde, qui se dilate et se contracte constamment 20 000 fois par seconde. Les mouvements d'expansion et de contraction sont transmis sous forme d'ultrasons de haute puissance dans le milieu de traitement, c'est-à-dire un fluide ou une boue, afin de répondre à des applications telles que

Comment fonctionne l'échographie de puissance ? – Le principe de fonctionnement de la cavitation acoustique

cavitation ultrasonique puissantPour les applications ultrasonores à hautes performances telles que l'homogénéisation, la réduction de la taille des particules, la désintégration ou les nano-dispersions, des ultrasons de haute intensité et de basse fréquence sont générés par un transducteur ultrasonore et transmis dans un liquide via un cornet et une sonde ultrasonores (sonotrode). Les ultrasons de haute puissance sont considérés comme des ultrasons dans la gamme de 16 à 30 kHz. La sonde à ultrasons se dilate et se contracte par exemple à 20 kHz, transmettant ainsi respectivement 20 000 vibrations par seconde dans le milieu. Lorsque les ondes ultrasonores traversent le liquide, des cycles alternés de haute pression (compression) / basse pression (raréfaction / expansion) créent de minuscules cavités (bulles de vide), qui se développent sur plusieurs cycles de pression. Pendant la phase de compression du liquide et des bulles, la pression est positive, tandis que la phase de raréfaction produit un vide (pression négative.) Pendant les cycles de compression-expansion, les cavités du liquide se développent jusqu'à atteindre une taille à laquelle elles ne peuvent plus absorber d'énergie. À ce stade, elles implosent violemment. L'implosion de ces cavités entraîne divers effets hautement énergétiques, connus sous le nom de phénomène de cavitation acoustique / ultrasonique. La cavitation acoustique est caractérisée par de nombreux effets hautement énergétiques, qui touchent les liquides, les systèmes solides/liquides ainsi que les systèmes gaz/liquides. La zone de densité d'énergie ou zone de cavitation est connue sous le nom de zone de point chaud, qui est la plus dense en énergie à proximité de la sonde ultrasonique et qui diminue avec la distance de la sonotrode. Les principales caractéristiques de la cavitation ultrasonore comprennent des températures et des pressions très élevées qui se produisent localement, ainsi que les différentiels, les turbulences et les courants liquides respectifs. Lors de l'implosion des cavités ultrasonores dans les points chauds ultrasonores, des températures allant jusqu'à 5000 Kelvin, des pressions allant jusqu'à 200 atmosphères et des jets de liquide allant jusqu'à 1000km/h peuvent être mesurés. Ces conditions exceptionnelles d'intensité énergétique contribuent à des effets sonomécaniques et sonochimiques qui intensifient les processus et les réactions chimiques de diverses manières.
Les principaux effets des ultrasons sur les liquides et les boues sont les suivants :

  • C'est un travail d'orfèvre : Les forces ultrasonores à fort cisaillement perturbent les liquides et les systèmes liquide-solide en provoquant une agitation intense, une homogénéisation et un transfert de masse.
  • Impact : Les jets de liquide et les flux générés par la cavitation ultrasonique accélèrent les solides dans les liquides, ce qui entraîne ensuite une collision interparticulaire. Lorsque les particules entrent en collision à très grande vitesse, elles s'érodent, se brisent et sont broyées et dispersées finement, souvent jusqu'à la taille d'un nanomètre. Pour les matières biologiques telles que les matières végétales, les jets liquides à grande vitesse et les cycles de pression alternés perturbent les parois cellulaires et libèrent la matière intracellulaire. Il en résulte une extraction très efficace des composés bioactifs et un mélange homogène de la matière biologique.
  • L'agitation : Les ultrasons provoquent d'intenses turbulences, des forces de cisaillement et des micro-mouvements dans le liquide ou la boue. Ainsi, la sonication intensifie toujours le transfert de masse et accélère ainsi les réactions et les processus.
The UP200Ht is a 200watts powerful ultrasonic horn for various applications i(e.g., cell disruption, protein extraction, cell pellet solubilization etc. ) in research laboratories, quality control and sample preparation.

Corne à ultrasons

Les homogénéisateurs à ultrasons et les mélangeurs à haut cisaillement sont utilisés dans presque toutes les industries de transformation, qui travaillent avec des liquides ou des boues. Les forces de cavitation ultrasonores intenses créent une agitation, un cisaillement, une rupture de particules et un transfert de masse intenses. Ainsi, les liquides sont homogénéisés, dispersés, émulsifiés, extraits, dissous et/ou des réactions chimiques sont initiées. Dans l'ensemble, l'ultrason est une méthode d'intensification des processus qui augmente le rendement, améliore les taux de conversion et rend les processus plus efficaces.
Les applications courantes des ultrasons dans l'industrie sont réparties dans de nombreuses branches de l'alimentation & pharmacie, chimie fine, énergie & la pétrochimie, le recyclage, les bioraffineries, etc :

Cornes et sondes à ultrasons pour les applications à haute performance

Hielscher Ultrasons est un fabricant et distributeur de longue date d'ultrasons de haute puissance, qui sont utilisés dans le monde entier pour des applications lourdes dans de nombreuses industries.
Avec des processeurs à ultrasons de toutes tailles, de 50 watts à 16 kW par appareil, des sondes de tailles et de formes diverses, des réacteurs à ultrasons de volumes et de géométries différentes, Hielscher Ultrasons dispose de l'équipement adéquat pour configurer l'installation ultrasonore idéale pour votre application.
Le tableau ci-dessous vous donne une indication de la capacité de traitement approximative de nos ultrasonicators:

lot Volume Débit Appareils recommandés
1 à 500 ml 10 à 200 ml / min UP100H
10 à 2000mL 20 à 400 ml / min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 20L 00,2 à 4L / min UIP2000hdT
10 à 100l 2 à 10 L / min UIP4000hdT
n / a. 10 à 100 litres / min UIP16000
n / a. plus grand groupe de UIP16000

Contactez nous! / Demandez nous!

Demander plus d'informations

Veuillez utiliser le formulaire ci-dessous pour demander des informations supplémentaires sur les processeurs à ultrasons, les applications et le prix. Nous serons heureux de discuter avec vous de votre processus et de vous proposer un système à ultrasons répondant à vos besoins !









Veuillez prendre note de notre Politique de confidentialité.


Ultrasonic high-shear homogenizers are used in lab, bench-top, pilot and industrial processing.

Hielscher Ultrasonics fabrique des homogénéisateurs ultrasoniques à haute performance pour des applications de mélange, de dispersion, d'émulsification et d'extraction à l'échelle du laboratoire, du pilote et de l'industrie.

Littérature / Références

Hielscher Ultrasound Technology

Application of Power Ultrasound using Ultrasonic Horns

Ultrasonic horns or probes are used widely for manifold liquid processing applications including homogenization, dispersing, wet-milling, emulsification, extraction, disintegration, dissolving, and de-aeration. Learn the basics about ultrasonic horns, ultrasonic probes and their applications.

Ultrasonic Horn vs Ultrasonic Probe

Ultrasonic horn at the transducer of the UIP2000hdTOften, the term ultrasonic horn and probe are used interchangeably and refer to the ultrasonic rod that transmits the ultrasound waves into the liquid. Other terms that are used for the ultrasonic probe are acoustic horn, sonotrode, acoustic waveguide, or ultrasonic finger. However, technically there is a difference between an ultrasonic horn and an ultrasonic probe.
Both, horn and probe, refer to parts of the so-called probe-type ultrasonicator. The ultrasonic horn is the metal part of the ultrasonic transducer, which gets excited through piezoelectrically generated vibrations. The ultrasonic horn vibrates at a certain frequency, e.g. 20kHz, which means 20,000 vibrations per second. Titanium is the preferred material for the fabrication of ultrasonic horns due to its excellent acoustic transmission properties, its robust fatigue strength, and surface hardness.

The ultrasonic probe is also called sonotrode or ultrasonic finger. It is a metal rod, most often made from titanium, and threaded to the ultrasonic horn. The ultrasonic probe is an essential part of the ultrasonic processor, that transmits the ultrasound waves into the sonicated medium. Ultrasonic probes / sonotrodes are in various shapes (e.g. conical, tipped, tapered, or as Cascatrode) available. Whilst titanium is the most commonly used material for ultrasonic probes, there are also sonotrode made from stainless steel, ceramic, glass and other materials available.

Since the ultrasonic horn and probe are under constant compression or tension during sonication, the material selection of horn and probe are crucial. High-quality titanium alloy (grade 5) is considered the most reliable, durable and effective metal to withstand stress, to sustain high amplitudes over long periods of time, and to transmit the acoustical and mechanical properties.

Ultrasonic probe emulsifying oil-in-water via power ultrasound

Ultrasonic booster and probe (cascatrode) mounted to the horn of the ultrasonic transducer UIP2000hdT

Ultrasonic transducer UIP2000hdT with ultrasonic horn, booster, and probe (sonotrode)

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


High-performance ultrasonicators mostly work in the frequency range of 20-30kHz. At 20 kHz, the ultrasonic probe is typically a one-half wavelength long resonant rod, which is constantly expanding and contracting 20,000 times per second. The expansion and contraction movements are transmitted as high-power ultrasound into the process medium, i.e. fluid or slurry, in order to fulfil applications such as

How does Power Ultrasound Work? – The Working Principle of Acoustic Cavitation

Powerful ultrasonic cavitationFor high-performance ultrasonic application such as homogenization, particle size reduction, disintegration or nano-dispersions, high-intensity, low-frequency ultrasound is generated by an ultrasound transducer and transmitted via ultrasonic horn and probe (sonotrode) into a liquid. High-power ultrasound is considered ultrasound in the range of 16-30kHz. The ultrasound probe expands and contracts e.g., at 20kHz, thereby transmitting respectively 20,000 vibrations per second into the medium. When the ultrasonic waves travel through the liquid, alternating high-pressure (compression) / low-pressure (rarefaction / expansion) cycles create minute cavities (vacuum bubbles), which grow over several pressure cycles. During the compression phase of the liquid and bubbles, the pressure is positive, while the rarefaction phase produces a vacuum (negative pressure.) During the compression-expansion cycles, the cavities in the liquid grow until they reach a size, at which they cannot absorb further energy. At this point, they implode violently. The implosion of those cavities results in various highly energetic effects, which are known as the phenomenon of acoustic / ultrasonic cavitation. Acoustic cavitation is characterized by manifold highly energetic effects, which impact liquids, solid/liquid systems as well as gas/liquid systems. The energy-dense zone or cavitational zone is known as so-called hot-spot zone, which is most energy-dense in the close vicinity of the ultrasonic probe and declines with increasing distance from the sonotrode. The main characteristics of ultrasonic cavitation include locally occurring very high temperatures and pressures and respective differentials, turbulences, and liquid streaming. During the implosion of ultrasonic cavities in ultrasonic hot-spots, temperatures of up to 5000 Kelvin, pressures of up to 200 atmospheres and liquid jets with up to 1000km/h can be measured. These outstanding energy-intense conditions contribute to sonomechanical and sonochemical effects that intensify processes and chemical reactions in various ways.
The main impact of ultrasonication on liquids and slurries are the following:

  • High-shear: Ultrasonic high-shear forces disrupt liquids and liquid-solid systems causing intense agitation, homogenization and mass transfer.
  • Impact: Liquid jets and streaming generated by ultrasonic cavitation accelerate solids in liquids, which leads subsequently to interparticluar collision. When particles collide at very high speeds, they erode, shatter and get milled and dispersed finely, often down to nano-size. For biological matter such as plant materials, the high velocity liquid jets and alternating pressure cycles disrupt the cell walls and release the intracellular material. This results in highly efficient extraction of bioactive compounds and the homogeneous mixing of biological matter.
  • Agitation: Ultrasonication causes intense turbulences, shear forces and micro-movement in the liquid or slurry. Thereby, sonication always intensifies mass transfer and accelerates thereby reactions and processes.
The UP200Ht is a 200watts powerful ultrasonic horn for various applications i(e.g., cell disruption, protein extraction, cell pellet solubilization etc. ) in research laboratories, quality control and sample preparation.

Ultrasonic horn

Ultrasonic homogenizers and high-shear mixers are used in almost any processing industry, that works with liquids or slurries. The intense ultrasonic cavitational forces create intense agitation, shear, particle breakage and mass transfer. Thereby, liquids are homogenized, dispersed, emulsified, extracted, dissolved and/or chemical reactions are initiated. Overall, ultrasonication is a process intensifying method that increases yield, improves conversion rates and makes processes more efficient.
Common ultrasonic applications in the industry are spread across many branches of food & pharma, fine-chemistry, energy & petrochemistry, recycling, biorefineries, etc. and include the following:

Ultrasonic Horns and Probes for High-Performance Applications

Hielscher Ultrasonics is long-time experiences manufacturer and distributor of high-power ultrasonicators, which are worldwide used for heavy-duty applications in many industries.
With ultrasonic processors in all sizes from 50 watts to 16kW per device, probes at various sizes and shapes, ultrasonic reactors with different volumes and geometries, Hielscher Ultrasonics has the right equipment to configure the ideal ultrasonic setup for your application.
The table below gives you an indication of the approximate processing capacity of our ultrasonicators:

Batch Volume Flow Rate Recommended Devices
1 to 500mL 10 to 200mL/min UP100H
10 to 2000mL 20 to 400mL/min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 to 20L 0.2 to 4L/min UIP2000hdT
10 to 100L 2 to 10L/min UIP4000hdT
n.a. 10 to 100L/min UIP16000
n.a. larger cluster of UIP16000

Contact Us! / Ask Us!

Ask for more information

Please use the form below to request additional information about ultrasonic processors, applications and price. We will be glad to discuss your process with you and to offer you an ultrasonic system meeting your requirements!









Please note our privacy policy.


Ultrasonic high-shear homogenizers are used in lab, bench-top, pilot and industrial processing.

Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonic homogenizers for mixing applications, dispersion, emulsification and extraction on lab, pilot and industrial scale.

Literature / References