Hielscher Ultraschalltechnik

Hochleistungs-Ultraschall-Anwendungen für Ultraschallhörner

Ultraschallhörner oder -sonotroden kommen häufig für zahlreiche Anwendungen in der Flüssigkeitsverarbeitung zum Einsatz. Zud en typischen Anwendugen zählen das Homogenisieren, Dispergieren, Nassmahlen, Emulgieren, Extrahieren, Zerkleinern, Lösen und Entlüften Entgasen. Lernen Sie die Grundlagen über Ultraschallhörner, Ultraschallsonotroden und deren Anwendungen.

Ultraschall-Horn vs. Ultraschall-Sonotode

Ultrasonic horn at the transducer of the UIP2000hdTHäufig werden die Begriffe Ultraschallhorn und Sonotrode synonym verwendet und werden als Bezeichnung für den Ultraschallstab verwendet, der die Ultraschallwellen in die Flüssigkeit überträgt. Andere gängige Begriffe, welche ebenfalls für die Ultraschallsonotrode verwendet werden, sind akustisches Horn, Ultraschallsonde, akustischer Wellentransmitter oder Ultraschallfinger. Technisch betrachtet besteht jedoch ein Unterschied zwischen einem Ultraschallhorn und einer Ultraschallsonotrode.
Sowohl das Ultraschallhorn also auch die Ultarschallsontrode sind Teile des so genannten Ultraschallwandlers. Das Ultraschallhorn ist das Metallteil des Ultraschallwandlers, welches direkt durch piezoelektrisch erzeugte Schwingungen angeregt wird. Das Ultraschallhorn schwingt mit einer bestimmten Frequenz, z.B. 20kHz, was 20.000 Schwingungen pro Sekunde bedeutet. Titanlegierungen sind aufgrund ihrer hervorragenden akustischen Übertragungseigenschaften, seiner robusten Dauerfestigkeit und Oberflächenhärte das bevorzugte Material für die Herstellung von Ultraschallhörnern.

Die Ultraschallsonotrode wird auch Ultarschallstab oder Ultraschallfinger genannt. Es handelt sich um einen Metallstab, meist ebenfalls aus Titan, der auf das Ultraschallhorn aufgeschraubt wird. Die Ultraschallsonotrode ist ein wesentlicher Bestandteil des Ultraschallprozessors, welche die Ultraschallwellen in das beschallte Medium überträgt. Ultraschallstäbe/Sonotroden sind in verschiedenen Formen (z.B. konisch, spitz zulaufend oder als Kaskatrode) erhältlich. Während Titanlegierungen das am häufigsten verwendete Material für Ultraschallsonotroden sind, gibt es jedoch auch Sonotroden aus Edelstahl, Keramik, Glas und anderen Materialien.

Da das Ultraschallhorn und die Sonotrode während der Beschallung unter ständig wechselnder Kompression bzw. Spannung stehen, ist die Materialauswahl von Horn und Sonde entscheidend. Eine hochwertige Titanlegierung (Grade 5) gilt als das zuverlässigste, haltbarste und effektivste Metall, um den Belastungen standzuhalten, hohe Amplituden über lange Zeiträume hinweg aufrechtzuerhalten und die akustischen und mechanischen Eigenschaften zu übertragen.

Ultraschallsonotrode, die mittels Leistungsultraschall Öl in Wasser emulgiert

Ultrasonic booster and probe (cascatrode) mounted to the horn of the ultrasonic transducer UIP2000hdT

Ultraschallwandler UIP2000hdT mit Ultraschallhorn, Booster und Sonotrode (Ultraschallstab)

Informationen anfordern




Beachten Sie unsere Datenschutzerklärung.


Hochleistungs-Ultraschallgeräte arbeiten meist im Frequenzbereich von 20-30kHz. Bei 20 kHz ist die Ultraschallsonotrode typischerweise ein Resonanzstab mit einer halben Wellenlänge (Wellenlänge = Lambda ƛ) oder einem Vielfachen davon, der sich 20.000 Mal pro Sekunde ausdehnt und wieder zusammenzieht. Die Ausdehnungs- und Kontraktionsbewegungen werden als Hochleistungs-Ultraschall in das Prozessmedium, d.h. in die Flüssigkeit oder Slurry, übertragen, um beispielsweise folgende Anwendungen zu erfüllen:

Wie funktioniert Leistungsultraschall? – Das Funktionsprinzip der akustischen Kavitation

Leistungsstarke Ultraschall-KavitationFür Hochleistungs-Ultraschallanwendungen wie die Homogenisierung, Partikelzerkleinerung, Desintegration oder Nanodispergierung wird hochintensiver, niederfrequenter Ultraschall durch einen Ultraschallwandler erzeugt und über das Ultraschallhorn und die Sonotrode (Ultraschallfinger) in eine Flüssigkeit eingetragen. Als Hochleistungs-Ultraschall wird Ultraschall im Bereich von 16-30kHz mit hohen Amplituden bezeichnet. Die Ultraschallsonotrode dehnt sich aus und zieht sich in sehr schnellen Zyklen wieder zusammen. So werden z.B. bei 20kHz 20.000 Schwingungen pro Sekunde in das Medium übertragen. Wenn sich die Ultraschallwellen durch die Flüssigkeit bewegen, entstehen durch abwechselnde Hochdruck- (Kompression) / Niederdruckzyklen (Rarefaktion / Expansion) winzige Hohlräume (Vakuumblasen), die über mehrere Druckzyklen wachsen. Während der Kompressionsphase der Flüssigkeit und der Blasen ist der Druck positiv, während die Rarefaktionsphase ein Vakuum (Unterdruck) erzeugt. Während der Kompressions-/Expansions-Zyklen wachsen die Hohlräume in der Flüssigkeit heran, bis sie eine Größe erreichen, bei der sie keine weitere Energie mehr aufnehmen können. An diesem Punkt implodieren diese heftig. Die Implosion dieser Hohlräume führt zu verschiedenen hochenergetischen Effekten, die als Phänomen der akustischen Kavitation / Ultraschall-Kavitation bekannt sind. Die akustische Kavitation zeichnet sich durch vielfältige hochenergetische Effekte aus, die sowohl auf Flüssigkeiten, Fest-Flüssig-Systeme als auch Gas-Flüssig-Systeme wirken. Die energiereiche Zone bzw. Kavitationszone wird als sogenannte Hot-Spot-Zone bezeichnet, welche in der nähere Umgebung der Ultraschallsonotrode am energiereichsten ist und mit zunehmender Entfernung von der Sonotrode abnimmt. Zu den Hauptmerkmalen der Ultraschallkavitation gehören lokal auftretende sehr hohe Temperaturen und Drücke und entsprechende Differenzen, Turbulenzen und Flüssigkeitsströmungen. Bei der Implosion von Kavitationsblasen in Ultraschall-Hot-Spots können Temperaturen von bis zu 5000 Kelvin, Drücke von bis zu 200 Atmosphären und Flüssigkeitsstrahlen mit bis zu 1000km/h gemessen werden. Diese außergewöhnlich energieintensiven Bedingungen erzweugen sonomechanische und sonochemische Effekten, die Prozesse und chemische Reaktionen auf verschiedene Weise intensivieren.
Zu den wichtigsten Effekten, welche Ultraschall in Flüssigkeiten und Slurries erzeugt, gehören die folgenden:

  • Hohe Scherung: Die hohen Scherkräfte des Ultraschalls zerschlagen Flüssigkeiten und Flüssigkeit-Feststoff-Systeme und erzeugen intensive Bewegung, Homogenisierung und erhöhten Stoffaustausch.
  • Stoßwirkung: Flüssigkeitsstrahlen und Strömungen, die durch Ultraschallkavitation erzeugt werden, beschleunigen Feststoffe in Flüssigkeiten, was in der Folge zu einer interpartikluären Kollision führt. Wenn Partikel mit sehr hohen Geschwindigkeiten aufeinander prallen, erodieren sie, zersplittern, werden fein gemahlen und bis auf Nano-Größe dispergiert. Bei biologischem Material, wie z.B. Pflanzenmaterialien, durchbrechen die Hochgeschwindigkeits-Flüssigkeitsstrahlen und die wechselnden Druckzyklen die Zellwände und setzen das intrazelluläre Material frei. Dies führt zu einer hocheffizienten Extraktion bioaktiver Verbindungen und zu einer homogenen Durchmischung der biologischen Substanzen.
  • Durchmischung: Ultraschall verursacht intensive Turbulenzen, Scherkräfte und Mikrobewegungen in der Flüssigkeit bzw. in Slurries. Dabei intensiviert die Beschallung stets den Stoffaustausch und beschleunigt dadurch Reaktionen und Prozesse.
The UP200Ht is a 200watts powerful ultrasonic horn for various applications i(e.g., cell disruption, protein extraction, cell pellet solubilization etc. ) in research laboratories, quality control and sample preparation.

Ultraschall-Horn

Ultraschall-Homogenisierer und Hochscher-Mischer werden in fast jeder verarbeitenden Industrie eingesetzt, die mit Flüssigkeiten oder Slurries arbeitet. Die intensiven Kavitationskräfte des Ultraschalls erzeugen intensive Rühr- und Scherkräfte, Partikelgrößenreduktion und Massentransfer. Dadurch werden Flüssigkeiten homogenisiert, dispergiert, emulgiert, extrahiert, gelöst und/oder chemische Reaktionen eingeleitet. Insgesamt ist Ultraschall eine prozessintensivierende Methode, welche die Ausbeute erhöht, die Umwandlungsraten verbessert und die Prozesse effizienter macht.
Ultraschallanwendungen sind in vielen Industriezweigen verbreitet, z.B. der Lebensmittel- & Pharma-Industrie, Feinchemie, Energie & Petrochemie, Recycling, Bioraffinerien usw. Zu den Anwendungen gehören unter Anderem die Folgenden:

Ultraschallhörner und Sonotroden für Hochleistungsanwendungen

Hielscher Ultrasonics ist langjähriger erfahrener Hersteller von Hochleistungs-Ultraschallgeräten, welche weltweit in vielen Branchen für High-Performance-Anwendungen eingesetzt werden.
Mit Ultraschallprozessoren in allen Größen von 50 Watt bis 16kW pro Gerät, Sonotroden in verschiedenen Größen und Formen, sowie mit Ultraschallreaktoren unterschiedlicher Volumina und Geometrien hat Hielscher Ultrasonics die richtige Ausrüstung, um den idealen Ultraschallaufbau für Ihre Anwendung zu konfigurieren.
In der folgenden Tabelle finden Sie die ungefähre Verarbeitungskapazität unserer Ultraschallsysteme:

Batch-Volumen Durchfluss Empfohlenes Ultraschallgerät
1 bis 500ml 10 bis 200ml/min UP100H
10 bis 2000ml 20 bis 400ml/min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 bis 20l 0,2 bis 4l/min UIP2000hdT
10 bis 100l 2 bis 10l/min UIP4000hdT
n.a. 10 bis 100l/min UIP16000
n.a. größere Cluster aus UIP16000

Kontaktieren Sie uns! / Fragen Sie uns!

Fordern Sie weitere Informationen an!

Bitte verwenden Sie das untenstehende Formular, um zusätzliche Informationen über unsere Ultraschallprozessoren, Anwendungen und Preise anzufordern. Gerne besprechen wir Ihr Verfahren mit Ihnen und bieten Ihnen ein Ihren Anforderungen entsprechendes Ultraschallsystem an!









Bitte beachten Sie unsere Datenschutzerklärung.


Ultrasonic high-shear homogenizers are used in lab, bench-top, pilot and industrial processing.

Hielscher Ultrasonics stellt Hochleistungs-Ultraschallhomogenisatoren für Mischanwendungen, Dispergierung, Emulgierung und Extraktion im Labor-, Pilot- und Industriemaßstab her.

Literatur / Literaturhinweise

Hielscher Ultrasound Technology

Application of Power Ultrasound using Ultrasonic Horns

Ultrasonic horns or probes are used widely for manifold liquid processing applications including homogenization, dispersing, wet-milling, emulsification, extraction, disintegration, dissolving, and de-aeration. Learn the basics about ultrasonic horns, ultrasonic probes and their applications.

Ultrasonic Horn vs Ultrasonic Probe

Ultrasonic horn at the transducer of the UIP2000hdTOften, the term ultrasonic horn and probe are used interchangeably and refer to the ultrasonic rod that transmits the ultrasound waves into the liquid. Other terms that are used for the ultrasonic probe are acoustic horn, sonotrode, acoustic waveguide, or ultrasonic finger. However, technically there is a difference between an ultrasonic horn and an ultrasonic probe.
Both, horn and probe, refer to parts of the so-called probe-type ultrasonicator. The ultrasonic horn is the metal part of the ultrasonic transducer, which gets excited through piezoelectrically generated vibrations. The ultrasonic horn vibrates at a certain frequency, e.g. 20kHz, which means 20,000 vibrations per second. Titanium is the preferred material for the fabrication of ultrasonic horns due to its excellent acoustic transmission properties, its robust fatigue strength, and surface hardness.

The ultrasonic probe is also called sonotrode or ultrasonic finger. It is a metal rod, most often made from titanium, and threaded to the ultrasonic horn. The ultrasonic probe is an essential part of the ultrasonic processor, that transmits the ultrasound waves into the sonicated medium. Ultrasonic probes / sonotrodes are in various shapes (e.g. conical, tipped, tapered, or as Cascatrode) available. Whilst titanium is the most commonly used material for ultrasonic probes, there are also sonotrode made from stainless steel, ceramic, glass and other materials available.

Since the ultrasonic horn and probe are under constant compression or tension during sonication, the material selection of horn and probe are crucial. High-quality titanium alloy (grade 5) is considered the most reliable, durable and effective metal to withstand stress, to sustain high amplitudes over long periods of time, and to transmit the acoustical and mechanical properties.

Ultrasonic probe emulsifying oil-in-water via power ultrasound

Ultrasonic booster and probe (cascatrode) mounted to the horn of the ultrasonic transducer UIP2000hdT

Ultrasonic transducer UIP2000hdT with ultrasonic horn, booster, and probe (sonotrode)

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


High-performance ultrasonicators mostly work in the frequency range of 20-30kHz. At 20 kHz, the ultrasonic probe is typically a one-half wavelength long resonant rod, which is constantly expanding and contracting 20,000 times per second. The expansion and contraction movements are transmitted as high-power ultrasound into the process medium, i.e. fluid or slurry, in order to fulfil applications such as

How does Power Ultrasound Work? – The Working Principle of Acoustic Cavitation

Powerful ultrasonic cavitationFor high-performance ultrasonic application such as homogenization, particle size reduction, disintegration or nano-dispersions, high-intensity, low-frequency ultrasound is generated by an ultrasound transducer and transmitted via ultrasonic horn and probe (sonotrode) into a liquid. High-power ultrasound is considered ultrasound in the range of 16-30kHz. The ultrasound probe expands and contracts e.g., at 20kHz, thereby transmitting respectively 20,000 vibrations per second into the medium. When the ultrasonic waves travel through the liquid, alternating high-pressure (compression) / low-pressure (rarefaction / expansion) cycles create minute cavities (vacuum bubbles), which grow over several pressure cycles. During the compression phase of the liquid and bubbles, the pressure is positive, while the rarefaction phase produces a vacuum (negative pressure.) During the compression-expansion cycles, the cavities in the liquid grow until they reach a size, at which they cannot absorb further energy. At this point, they implode violently. The implosion of those cavities results in various highly energetic effects, which are known as the phenomenon of acoustic / ultrasonic cavitation. Acoustic cavitation is characterized by manifold highly energetic effects, which impact liquids, solid/liquid systems as well as gas/liquid systems. The energy-dense zone or cavitational zone is known as so-called hot-spot zone, which is most energy-dense in the close vicinity of the ultrasonic probe and declines with increasing distance from the sonotrode. The main characteristics of ultrasonic cavitation include locally occurring very high temperatures and pressures and respective differentials, turbulences, and liquid streaming. During the implosion of ultrasonic cavities in ultrasonic hot-spots, temperatures of up to 5000 Kelvin, pressures of up to 200 atmospheres and liquid jets with up to 1000km/h can be measured. These outstanding energy-intense conditions contribute to sonomechanical and sonochemical effects that intensify processes and chemical reactions in various ways.
The main impact of ultrasonication on liquids and slurries are the following:

  • High-shear: Ultrasonic high-shear forces disrupt liquids and liquid-solid systems causing intense agitation, homogenization and mass transfer.
  • Impact: Liquid jets and streaming generated by ultrasonic cavitation accelerate solids in liquids, which leads subsequently to interparticluar collision. When particles collide at very high speeds, they erode, shatter and get milled and dispersed finely, often down to nano-size. For biological matter such as plant materials, the high velocity liquid jets and alternating pressure cycles disrupt the cell walls and release the intracellular material. This results in highly efficient extraction of bioactive compounds and the homogeneous mixing of biological matter.
  • Agitation: Ultrasonication causes intense turbulences, shear forces and micro-movement in the liquid or slurry. Thereby, sonication always intensifies mass transfer and accelerates thereby reactions and processes.
The UP200Ht is a 200watts powerful ultrasonic horn for various applications i(e.g., cell disruption, protein extraction, cell pellet solubilization etc. ) in research laboratories, quality control and sample preparation.

Ultrasonic horn

Ultrasonic homogenizers and high-shear mixers are used in almost any processing industry, that works with liquids or slurries. The intense ultrasonic cavitational forces create intense agitation, shear, particle breakage and mass transfer. Thereby, liquids are homogenized, dispersed, emulsified, extracted, dissolved and/or chemical reactions are initiated. Overall, ultrasonication is a process intensifying method that increases yield, improves conversion rates and makes processes more efficient.
Common ultrasonic applications in the industry are spread across many branches of food & pharma, fine-chemistry, energy & petrochemistry, recycling, biorefineries, etc. and include the following:

Ultrasonic Horns and Probes for High-Performance Applications

Hielscher Ultrasonics is long-time experiences manufacturer and distributor of high-power ultrasonicators, which are worldwide used for heavy-duty applications in many industries.
With ultrasonic processors in all sizes from 50 watts to 16kW per device, probes at various sizes and shapes, ultrasonic reactors with different volumes and geometries, Hielscher Ultrasonics has the right equipment to configure the ideal ultrasonic setup for your application.
The table below gives you an indication of the approximate processing capacity of our ultrasonicators:

Batch Volume Flow Rate Recommended Devices
1 to 500mL 10 to 200mL/min UP100H
10 to 2000mL 20 to 400mL/min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 to 20L 0.2 to 4L/min UIP2000hdT
10 to 100L 2 to 10L/min UIP4000hdT
n.a. 10 to 100L/min UIP16000
n.a. larger cluster of UIP16000

Contact Us! / Ask Us!

Ask for more information

Please use the form below to request additional information about ultrasonic processors, applications and price. We will be glad to discuss your process with you and to offer you an ultrasonic system meeting your requirements!









Please note our privacy policy.


Ultrasonic high-shear homogenizers are used in lab, bench-top, pilot and industrial processing.

Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonic homogenizers for mixing applications, dispersion, emulsification and extraction on lab, pilot and industrial scale.

Literature / References