Technologie des ultrasons Hielscher

Désaération très efficace des liquides à l'aide des ultrasons

Alors que le dégazage est souvent une étape extrêmement longue, les ultrasons peuvent accélérer la coalescence des bulles de gaz et leur ascension de manière significative. Le dégazage par ultrasons peut être utilisé dans des installations discontinues et en ligne et peut également être combiné avec des techniques de dégazage conventionnelles telles que le barbotage avec des gaz inertes, les dégazeurs à turbine, le chauffage ou le vide afin d'améliorer l'efficacité et la rapidité de l'élimination des gaz.

Éliminer les gaz des liquides

Les termes désaération, dégazage et dégazage font référence à l'élimination des gaz libres et dissous, en particulier les gaz réactifs tels que l'oxygène ou le CO2d'un fluide. L'élimination de l'oxygène est importante pour éviter des modifications préjudiciables du produit final et améliorer le traitement en aval. Le dégazage est une étape de traitement nécessaire pour de nombreuses applications et industries. Dans la fabrication industrielle, le dégazage est une étape de processus courante pour assurer la stabilité, la qualité et les normes continues du produit. L'oxygène est un facteur qui influence la qualité et la stabilité du produit à différents niveaux.
Par conséquent, la désaération est une étape de processus établie dans l'alimentation & l'industrie des boissons, de la chimie, de la pharmacie et des cosmétiques. Mais dans les laboratoires également, les échantillons doivent souvent être dégazés avant d'être analysés (par exemple, avant la CLHP, les essais, les mesures de particules, etc.)
Souvent, les procédés de mélange utilisant par exemple des mélangeurs à pales à haut cisaillement ou à roue rotative rendent nécessaire un dégazage ultérieur du produit, car ces techniques de mélange introduisent généralement de grandes quantités de gaz dans le produit. Ces inclusions de gaz et d'air ont généralement des effets négatifs sur le produit, car elles peuvent rendre les graisses et les huiles rances, détériorer les produits par oxydation, décoloration et altérations indésirables de l'odeur et du goût. Comme les produits dégazés sont chimiquement plus stables et ont une durée de conservation plus longue, le dégazage est une étape de traitement essentielle qui nécessite une technique fiable.

UP400St - a 400W powerful ultrasonic degasser

UP400St – système numérique de dégazage par ultrasons

Demande d'information





Ultrasonic degassing is an efficient technique for rapid and effective removal of gases from liquids such as oils, water, solvents etc.

Dégazage par ultrasons : Les bulles de gaz emprisonnées sont retirées du pétrole à l'aide d'un ultrasonateur UP400St

Dégazage et désaération par ultrasons

Le dégazage et la désaération par ultrasons constituent une alternative très efficace aux méthodes traditionnelles de dégazage des liquides qui comprennent l'ébullition, la réduction de la pression au vide ou le barbotage avec des gaz inertes. Ces méthodes de dégazage traditionnelles présentent souvent des inconvénients tels que la dégradation thermique (due au chauffage), un traitement long et énergivore et/ou une élimination insuffisante des gaz. Le dégazage par ultrasons est basé sur le principe de fonctionnement de la cavitation acoustique. Lorsque des ondes ultrasonores de haute puissance sont couplées à un liquide, celui-ci est comprimé et détendu au cours de cycles de haute pression et de basse pression, respectivement. Pendant les cycles de basse pression, de minuscules bulles de vide (appelées bulles de cavitation) sont créées, qui se développent sur plusieurs cycles de pression. Pendant ces cycles de croissance des bulles, les gaz dissous dans le liquide entrent dans la bulle à vide, de sorte que la bulle à vide se transforme en bulles de gaz en croissance. De plus, les micro-turbulences et les jets de liquide provoquent une agitation intense et un transfert de masse. Ces conditions générées par les ultrasons provoquent la coalescence des bulles de gaz, qui est l'unification des petites bulles de gaz dissous en bulles de gaz plus grosses, qui montent rapidement à la surface du liquide, où elles quittent le liquide.
Les changements de température causés par les vibrations ultrasoniques et la cavitation sont confinés à de très petits espaces locaux et l'augmentation de température du volume total peut être négligée car elle n'interfère pas avec la qualité du produit.
Selon le volume, la viscosité et les inclusions de gaz du liquide ou de la boue, la désaération par ultrasons peut être effectuée par lots ou en ligne. Une sonde ultrasonique de grande puissance émet une cavitation acoustique dans le liquide, de sorte que le liquide est dégazé efficacement.
Le dégazage par ultrasons peut également être mis en œuvre pour améliorer les systèmes de dégazage déjà existants tels que le chauffage, le vide ou le barbotage.
Le dégazage et le démoussage par ultrasons sont utilisés à l'échelle industrielle pour éliminer les gaz dissous de l'eau, des huiles, des aliments et des boissons, des solutions chimiques, des fluides hydrauliques, des liquides de refroidissement, des fluides de forage, du pétrole brut, des émulsions, des peintures, des encres, des adhésifs, des vernis, des revêtements, des époxydes, des shampoings, des détergents et de nombreux autres produits.

Ultrasonic degassing removes dissolved gases rapidly from liquids.

Dégazage par ultrasons à l'aide d'une cellule de flux. Cette expérience était un prototype de boucle à eau à petite échelle avec un volume de 0,8 gallon, un débit de gaz inerte de 0,2 sfcm/min et une intensité de 275 W/cm2. Cela montre une réduction du temps d'élimination de l'oxygène d'environ 70 %.
Étudier et photographier : Rubio et al. 2016

Le dégazage et le désaérage par ultrasons sont adaptés :

  • Par lots et en ligne
  • Faible et forte viscosité
  • Petits et grands volumes
  • Températures froides et chaudes
  • Installations polyvalentes
  • Fonctionnement à pleine charge 24 heures sur 24, 7 jours sur 7
Ultrasonic degassing setup in continuous flow

Dégazage par ultrasons dans une installation en ligne à l'aide de l'ultrasonateur UIP1000hdT avec cellule de flux.

The flow chart shows the setup of an ultrasonic inline de-aeration system

Installation de dégazage par ultrasons pour l'élimination continue des gaz en ligne

Sparging amélioré par ultrasons

L'aspersion de liquides avec un gaz inerte (également appelée purge de gaz inerte) est un traitement courant pour éliminer les gaz indésirables tels que l'oxygène et le dioxyde de carbone du liquide. Pour les applications d'aspersion, l'azote, l'argon, l'hélium et d'autres gaz inertes sont couramment utilisés. Le barbotage d'une solution avec un gaz de haute pureté (généralement inerte) peut permettre d'extraire des gaz dissous indésirables, généralement réactifs, tels que l'oxygène et le dioxyde de carbone. Le processus de barbotage repose sur le transfert de masse et est lui-même une procédure assez lente. Afin d'intensifier le barbotage avec des gaz inertes, la solution liquide-gaz est souvent agitée vigoureusement et fait des bulles pendant une longue période. L'ultrason est une technique de dégazage intensif qui améliore considérablement le transfert de masse et donc le barbotage. Lorsque des ondes ultrasonores de haute puissance sont couplées dans des liquides ou des boues, des bulles de cavitation sont générées. Ces bulles de cavitation brisent les grosses bulles de gaz de purge en petites bulles et dispersent les bulles uniformément, ce qui permet d'obtenir des effets de dégazage plus rapides et plus propres. L'agitation et les turbulences intenses créées par les ultrasons favorisent le transfert de masse gaz-liquide et donc l'élimination rapide des gaz indésirables.
Afin d'accélérer et de rendre plus efficace la procédure de barbotage, des ultrasons à haute performance sont utilisés pour améliorer de façon sonomécanique les performances de transfert de masse entre le gaz et le liquide. Les effets sonomécaniques générés par la cavitation acoustique comprennent les différences locales de pression et de température, les microturbulences et l'agitation. Ces forces améliorent les performances de dégazage en contribuant à une augmentation du transfert de masse diffusif dû à la rupture des bulles, à la dispersion et à l'augmentation de la surface interfaciale qui en résulte, ce qui permet finalement d'éliminer rapidement les gaz piégés dans le liquide.
Pour obtenir les effets de dégazage souhaités, des ultrasons de haute puissance sont nécessaires. Lorsqu'un liquide est épargné par un gaz inerte dans un écoulement à deux phases, on souhaite une diffusion rectifiée pour augmenter le transfert de masse et le taux d'élimination des gaz dissous. L'application de la diffusion rectifiée peut être difficile car les bulles de gaz emprisonnées et dissoutes ont tendance à éviter de pénétrer dans le champ de cavitation ultrasonore à des intensités plus faibles. Cependant, à des intensités élevées (supérieures à 300 W/cm2 à environ 20 kHz), les bulles de gaz n'évitent plus la zone de cavitation et sont brisées par les forces sonomécaniques. (cf. Jagannathan et al. 2011)

La désagrégation des liquides est une application puissante des appareils à ultrasons de Hielscher. La vidéo montre le Hielscher UP200S pendant le dégazage de l'eau.

Dégazage de l'eau à l'aide de l'UP200S avec la sonotrode S40

Dégazage par ultrasons des alliages d'aluminium en fusion

La génération de cavitation dans les métaux liquides est une application très exigeante et il n'existe que très peu de techniques permettant de produire une cavitation suffisante et fiable dans les métaux en fusion. Cependant, le taux et l'intensité de la cavitation sont des facteurs cruciaux qui déterminent les résultats du dégazage. Un dégazage efficace nécessite une cavitation fiable afin d'obtenir un raffinement structurel maximal du métal en fusion. Une cavitation intense par ultrasons à haute performance peut améliorer le dégazage de 30 à 60 %.
Ultrasonic probe for the degassing of liquid aluminium alloy.Les dégazeurs à sonde ultrasonique sont considérés comme l'une des méthodes de dégazage les plus fiables, dont la viabilité scientifique a été prouvée à petite et grande échelle. La génération d'une cavitation acoustique intense dépend de divers facteurs, notamment des paramètres du processus ultrasonore, de la composition du métal, de la tension superficielle, de la température de fusion, de la viscosité, ainsi que du volume et du niveau de dissolution des inclusions de gaz dans le métal en fusion. Les paramètres du processus ultrasonore peuvent être ajustés avec précision à la composition du métal en fusion et aux facteurs d'influence, de manière à obtenir la bonne intensité de cavitation. L'ajustement exact des paramètres ultrasonores est fondamental pour les avantages du dégazage ultrasonore des métaux en fusion. Les principaux avantages du dégazage par ultrasons sont les taux de dégazage élevés et la réduction de l'impact environnemental du processus. Comme le dégazage par ultrasons ne produit que très peu de scories, le dégazage par ultrasons des métaux fondus est une technique verte et respectueuse de l'environnement.
Dégazage de l'aluminium fondu : Le dégazage par ultrasons est une méthode éprouvée pour augmenter la densité des alliages d'aluminium et diminuer la teneur en hydrogène dans les alliages d'aluminium. Par rapport aux autres procédures de dégazage telles que le dégazage à l'aide d'une turbine rotative, le dégazage par ultrasons excelle par sa vitesse et son efficacité. Des études ont montré qu'un système de dégazage par sonde ultrasonique était environ 3 fois plus rapide que l'élimination des gaz par une turbine.
Comme le dégazage par ultrasons n'implique pas le brassage conventionnel du métal, l'oxyde d'aluminium protecteur à la surface de la masse fondue n'est pas perturbé. Le fait de garder la couche d'oxyde d'aluminium intacte empêche l'introduction d'oxyde d'aluminium dans la masse fondue d'aluminium, de sorte qu'elle conserve son effet protecteur contre les contaminants atmosphériques. Le dégazage par ultrasons améliore le raffinement du grain et la structure des alliages d'aluminium. Outre l'élimination des inclusions gazeuses non métalliques de l'aluminium liquide favorisée par les ultrasons, cela fait du traitement des métaux fondus par ultrasons une technique supérieure pour la production de pièces métalliques moulées de haute qualité.
The degasification of metal melts such as aluminium alloys requires high-performance, high-power ultrasonic equipment. The ultrasonic probe must be specified for use with high temperatures and high viscosities. The ultrasonicator must be able to deliver and maintain constant amplitudes over long time periods. Hielscher Ultrasonics is specialised in the development, manufacturing and distribution of high-power ultrasound equipment for demanding applications such as the degasification of metal melts. Supplying high-performance ultrasonicators at any scale and ultrasonic probes developed specifically for the treatment of liquid metals, Hielscher Ultrasonics is your partner for reliable and efficient metal melt applications.

Ultrasonic degassing of drilling mud performed with the probe-type ultrasonicator UIP1000hd

Boue de forage à base d'eau avant et après dégazage par ultrasons avec UIP1000hd
Étude et photo par Amani et al. 2016

Systèmes de dégazage par ultrasons à haute puissance

Hielscher Ultrasons est un fabricant expérimenté d'équipements à ultrasons de haute performance qui sont utilisés dans le monde entier dans les laboratoires et la production industrielle. La dégazéification de liquides et de boues est une application exigeante qui nécessite des sondes ultrasoniques de grande puissance pouvant coupler des amplitudes établies dans des liquides pour éliminer les bulles de gaz et les poches d'air emprisonnées. Tous les appareils à ultrasons Hielscher sont conçus et fabriqués pour fonctionner 24 heures sur 24, 7 jours sur 7, à pleine charge. Les processeurs à ultrasons sont disponibles depuis les ultrasons de laboratoire compacts de 50 watts jusqu'aux puissants systèmes à ultrasons en ligne de 16 000 watts. Une grande variété de cornes d'amplification, de sonotrodes et de cellules d'écoulement permet de configurer individuellement un système de dégazage par ultrasons en fonction du liquide, de la viscosité et des inclusions de gaz.
For the deaeration and outgassing of liquid metals, precisely set and maintained amplitudes are required. Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonic probes that are specified for very process-optimized amplitudes and temperatures. If your degassing application requires unusual specifications, customized ultrasonic sonotrodes are available. The robustness of Hielscher’s ultrasonic equipment allows for 24/7 operation at heavy duty and in demanding environments.

Par lots et en ligne

Les sondes ultrasoniques Hielscher pour le dégazage peuvent être utilisées pour le dégazage et la désaération en ligne, par lots ou en continu. En fonction du volume, de la viscosité et des gaz piégés, nous vous recommanderons le dispositif de dégazage par ultrasons le plus approprié.

Sondes ultrasoniques pour le dégazage de tout volume

La gamme de produits Hielscher Ultrasons couvre tout l'éventail des processeurs ultrasoniques, depuis les ultrasonores compacts de laboratoire jusqu'aux processeurs ultrasoniques industriels capables de traiter des charges de camion à l'heure, en passant par les systèmes de table et les systèmes pilotes. La gamme complète de produits nous permet de vous proposer l'équipement de dégazage par ultrasons le mieux adapté à votre liquide, à votre capacité de traitement et à vos objectifs de production.

Des amplitudes précisément contrôlables pour des résultats optimaux

Hielscher's industrial processors of the hdT series can be comfortable and user-friendly operated via browser remote control.Tous les systèmes de dégazage par ultrasons de Hielscher sont contrôlables avec précision et donc des chevaux de trait fiables. L'amplitude est l'un des paramètres de processus cruciaux qui influencent l'efficacité et l'efficience du dégazage induit par la sonomécanique. Tous les ultrasons Hielscher’ Les processeurs permettent de régler précisément l'amplitude. Les sonotrodes et les cornes d'amplification sont des accessoires qui permettent de modifier l'amplitude dans une plage encore plus large. Les processeurs ultrasoniques industriels de Hielscher peuvent fournir des amplitudes très élevées et délivrer l'intensité ultrasonore requise pour des applications exigeantes. Des amplitudes allant jusqu'à 200 µm peuvent facilement être utilisées en continu, 24 heures sur 24 et 7 jours sur 7.
Precise amplitude settings and the permanent monitoring of the ultrasonic process parameters via smart software give you the possibility to adjust the ultrasonic process parameters for most effective ultrasonic degasification. Optimal sonication for highly efficient gas removal!
La robustesse des équipements à ultrasons de Hielscher permet un fonctionnement 24 heures sur 24, 7 jours sur 7, dans des environnements difficiles. Cela fait de l'équipement à ultrasons de Hielscher un outil de travail fiable qui répond aux exigences de votre processus de désaération.

La plus haute qualité – Conçu et fabriqué en Allemagne

En tant qu'entreprise familiale, Hielscher accorde la priorité aux normes de qualité les plus élevées pour ses processeurs à ultrasons. Tous les appareils à ultrasons sont conçus, fabriqués et testés de manière approfondie dans notre siège social de Teltow, près de Berlin, en Allemagne. La robustesse et la fiabilité des équipements à ultrasons de Hielscher en font un cheval de bataille dans votre production. Le fonctionnement 24 heures sur 24, 7 jours sur 7, à pleine charge et dans des environnements exigeants est une caractéristique naturelle des dégazeurs haute performance de Hielscher.

Contactez nous! / Demandez nous!

Demander plus d'informations

Veuillez utiliser le formulaire ci-dessous pour demander des informations supplémentaires sur les processeurs à ultrasons, les applications et le prix. Nous serons heureux de discuter avec vous de votre processus de dégazage et de vous proposer un dégazeur à ultrasons répondant à vos besoins !









Veuillez prendre note de notre Politique de confidentialité.


Hielscher Ultrasons fabrique des homogénéisateurs ultrasoniques haute performance pour la dispersion, l'émulsification et l'extraction cellulaire.

Homogénéisateurs ultrasoniques de haute puissance de laboratoires à pilote et Industriel échelle.

Littérature / Références

Hielscher Ultrasound Technology

Highly Efficient De-Aeration of Liquids using Ultrasonics

Whilst degassing or outgassing is often an extremely time-consuming process step, ultrasonication can accelerate the coalescence of gas bubbles and their rise significantly. Ultrasonic outgassing can be used in batch and inline setups and can be also combined with conventional degassing techniques such as sparging with inert gases, impeller degassers, heating or vacuum in order to enhance efficiency and speed of gas removal.

Removing Gas from Liquids

The terms deaeration, degassing and outgassing refer to the removal of free and dissolved gasses, particularly reactive gases such as oxygen or CO2, from a fluid. Eliminating oxygen is important to prevent detrimental end-product changes and improve downstream processing. Degassing is a necessary processing step for many applications and industries. In industrial manufacturing, degassing is a common process step to ensure product stability, quality and continuous product standards. Oxygen is a factor that influences the product quality and stability on various levels.
Therefore, deaeration is an established process step in the food & beverage, chemical, pharmaceutical and cosmetic industry. But also in laboratories, samples require often degassing before analysis (e.g., before HPLC, assays, particle measurements etc.).
Often mixing processes using e.g., high-shear blade or rotary impeller mixers often make subsequent degassing of the product necessary, since these mixing techniques commonly introduce high amounts of gases into the product. Such gas and air inclusions usually have negative effects on the product, as they can make fats and oils rancid, deteriorate products by oxidation, discolouring and unwanted alterations of smell and taste. As degassed products are chemically more stable and have a longer shelf life, degasification is an essential processing step requiring a reliable technique.

UP400St - a 400W powerful ultrasonic degasser

UP400St – digital ultrasonic degassing system

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


Ultrasonic degassing is an efficient technique for rapid and effective removal of gases from liquids such as oils, water, solvents etc.

Ultrasonic degassing: Entrapped gas bubbles are removed from oil using the ultrasonicator UP400St

Ultrasonic Degasification and De-Aeration

Ultrasonic degasification and deaeration is a highly potent alternative to traditional degassing methods of liquids that include boiling, reducing pressure to vacuum, or sparging with inert gases. These traditional degassing methods often come with disadvantages such as thermal degradation (due to heating), time- and energy-consuming processing and/or insufficient gas removal. Ultrasonic degassing is based on the working principle of acoustic cavitation. When high-power ultrasound waves are coupled into a liquid, the liquid is compressed and expanded during high-pressure and low pressure cycles, respectively. During low-pressure cycles, minute vacuum bubbles (so-called cavitation bubbles) are created, which grow over several pressure cycles. During those cycles of bubble growth, the dissolved gases in the liquid enter the vacuum bubble, so that the vacuum bubble transform into growing gas bubbles. Furthermore, micro-turbulences and liquid jets cause intense agitation and mass transfer. These ultrasonically generated conditions cause gas bubble coalescence, which is the unification of small dissolved gas bubbles to larger gas bubbles, which quickly rise to the surface of the liquid, where there they leave the liquid.
The temperature changes caused by ultrasonic vibration and cavitation are confined to very small local spaces and the temperature rise in the total volume can be neglected as it does not interfere with the product quality.
Depending on the volume, viscosity and gas inclusions of the liquid or slurry, ultrasonic de-aeration can be run as batch or inline process. An high-power ultrasonic probe emits acoustic cavitation into the liquid, so that the liquid is efficiently degassed.
Ultrasonic degasification can be also implemented to improve already existing degassing systems such as heating, vacuum or sparging.
Ultrasonic degassing and defoaming is used on industrial scale to remove dissolved gases from water, oils, foods and beverages, chemical solutions, hydraulic fluids, coolants, drilling fluids, crude oil, emulsions, paints, inks, adhesives, varnishes, coatings, epoxies, shampoos, detergents and many other products.

Ultrasonic degassing removes dissolved gases rapidly from liquids.

Ultrasonic degassing using a flow cell setup. This experiment was a prototype small-scale water loop with a volume of 0.8 gallon, inert gas flow of 0.2 sfcm/min, and intensity of 275 W/cm2. This shows a reduction in oxygen removal time by about 70%.
Study and picture: Rubio et al. 2016

Ultrasonic Degasification and De-Aeration is suitable for:

  • Batch and Inline
  • Low and High Viscosities
  • Small and Large Volumes
  • Cold and Hot Temperatures
  • Versatile Installations
  • 24/7 Operation under Full Load
Ultrasonic degassing setup in continuous flow

Ultrasonic degassing in a inline setup using the ultrasonicator UIP1000hdT with flow cell.

The flow chart shows the setup of an ultrasonic inline de-aeration system

Ultrasonic degassing setup for continuous inline gas removal

Ultrasonically Enhanced Sparging

Sparging liquids with inert gas (also known as inert gas purging) is a common treatment to remove unwanted gases such as oxygen and carbon dioxide from the liquid. For sparging applications, nitrogen, argon, helium and other inert gases are commonly used. Bubbling a solution with a high-purity (typically inert) gas can pull out undesired, typically reactive dissolved gases such as oxygen and carbon dioxide. The sparging process relies on mass transfer and is itself a quite slow procedure. I order to intensify the sparging with inert gases, the liquid-gas solution is often agitated vigorously and bubbled for a long time. Ultrasonication is a degasification-intensifying technique, which improves mass transfer and thereby the sparging significantly. When high-power ultrasound waves are coupled into liquids or slurries, cavitation bubbles are generated. These cavitation bubbles break up larger purge gas bubbles into small bubbles and disperse the bubbles uniformly, which results in faster and cleaner degassing effects. The intense agitation and turbulences created by ultrasonication promotes gas-liquid mass transfer and thereby the quick removal of unwanted gases.
In order to accelerate and to make the sparging procedure more efficient, high-performance ultrasonics is used to sonomechanically improve the mass transfer performance between gas and liquid. The sonomechanical effects generated by acoustic cavitation include local pressure and temperature differentials, microturbulences and agitation. These forces improve degassing performance by contributing to an increase in the diffusive mass transfer due to bubble breakup, dispersion and the subsequent increase interfacial area, which finally result in a fast removal of entrapped gases from the liquid.
To achieve the desired outgassing effects, high-power ultrasonication is required. When a liquid is spared with an inert gas in a two-phase flow, rectified diffusion is desired to increase the mass transfer and removal rate of dissolved gasses. Applying rectified diffusion can be difficult because entrapped and dissolved gas bubbles tend to avoid entering the ultrasonic cavitation field at lower intensities. However, at elevated intensities (higher than 300 W/cm2 at approx. 20 kHz) gas bubbles no longer avoid the cavitation zone and are broken up by sonomechanical forces. (cf. Jagannathan et al. 2011)

Deagssing of liquids is a powerful application of Hielscher ultrasonic devices. The video shows the Hielscher UP200S during the degasification of water.

Degassing of Water using the UP200S with sonotrode S40

Ultrasonic Degassing of Molten Aluminium Alloys

The generation of cavitation in liquid metals is a highly demanding application and there are only very few techniques to produce sufficient and reliable cavitation in metal melts. However, the rate and intensity of cavitation are a crucial factors shaping the degasification results. Effective degasification requires reliable cavitation in order to obtain maximum structural refinement of the metal melt. Intense cavitation by high-performace ultrasound can improve the degassing by 30 to 60%.
Ultrasonic probe for the degassing of liquid aluminium alloy.Ultrasonic probe-type degassers are considered to be one of the most reliable outgassing methods, which have been proven scientifically viable on small and large scale. The generation of intense acoustic cavitation depends on various factors including ultrasonic process parameters, metal composition, surface tension, melt temperature, viscosity, as well as volume and dissolution level of gas inclusions in the metal melt. Ultrasonic process parameters can be precisely tuned to the metal melt composition and the influencing factors so that the right intensity of cavitation is obtained. The exact adjustment of the ultrasonic parameters are the fundamental for the advantages of ultrasonic degasification of metal melts. The main advantages of ultrasonic degassing include high degassing rates and the reduced environmental impact of the process. Since ultrasonic degasification results only in very little dross, ultrasonic metal melt degassing is a green, environmental-friendly technique.
Degassing aluminium melts: Ultrasonic degassing is a proven method to increase aluminium alloys density and decrease hydrogen contents in aluminium alloys. In comparison to alternative degassing procedures such as outgassing by using a rotary impeller, ultrasonic degassing excels by speed and efficiency. Studies have shown that an ultrasonic probe degassing system was about 3 times faster than impeller-driven gas removal.
As ultrasonic degasification does not involve conventional metal stirring, the protective aluminium oxide on the surface of the melt is not disrupted. Keeping the aluminium oxide layer intact prevents the introduction of aluminium oxide into the aluminium melt so that it maintains it protective effect against atmospheric contaminants. Ultrasonic degassing improves the grain refinement and structure of aluminium alloys. This in addition to the ultrasonically promoted removal of non-metallic gas inclusions from the liquid aluminium, makes ultrasound-driven metal melt treatments a superior technique for the production of high-quality metal castings.
The degasification of metal melts such as aluminium alloys requires high-performance, high-power ultrasonic equipment. The ultrasonic probe must be specified for use with high temperatures and high viscosities. The ultrasonicator must be able to deliver and maintain constant amplitudes over long time periods. Hielscher Ultrasonics is specialised in the development, manufacturing and distribution of high-power ultrasound equipment for demanding applications such as the degasification of metal melts. Supplying high-performance ultrasonicators at any scale and ultrasonic probes developed specifically for the treatment of liquid metals, Hielscher Ultrasonics is your partner for reliable and efficient metal melt applications.

Ultrasonic degassing of drilling mud performed with the probe-type ultrasonicator UIP1000hd

Water-based drilling mud before and after ultrasonic degassing with UIP1000hd
Study and picture by Amani et al. 2016

High-Power Ultrasonic Degassing Systems

Hielscher Ultrasonics is long-termed experiences manufacturer of high-performance ultrasonic equipment that is used worldwide in laboratories and industrial production. The degasification of liquids and slurries is a demanding application that requires high-power ultrasonic probes which can couple established amplitudes into liquids to remove entrapped gas bubble and air pockets. All Hielscher ultrasonic devices are designed and manufactured to br operated for 24/7 under full load. Ultrasonic processors are available from compact 50 watts laboratory ultrasonicators to 16,000watts powerful inline ultrasonic systems. A wide variety of booster horns, sonotrodes and flow cells allow for the individual setup of an ultrasonic degassing system in correspondence to the liquid, viscosity and gas inclusions.
For the deaeration and outgassing of liquid metals, precisely set and maintained amplitudes are required. Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonic probes that are specified for very process-optimized amplitudes and temperatures. If your degassing application requires unusual specifications, customized ultrasonic sonotrodes are available. The robustness of Hielscher’s ultrasonic equipment allows for 24/7 operation at heavy duty and in demanding environments.

Batch and Inline

Hielscher ultrasonic probes for degasification can be used for batch and continuous inline degasification and deaeration. Depending on volume, viscosity and entrapped gases, we will recommend you the most suitable ultrasonic outgassing setup.

Ultrasonic Probes for Degassing Any Volume

Hielscher Ultrasonics product range covers the full spectrum of ultrasonic processors from compact lab ultrasonicators over bench-top and pilot systems to fully-industrial ultrasonic processors with the capacity to process truckloads per hour. The full product range allows us to offer you the most suitable ultrasonic degassing equipment for your liquid, process capacity and production targets.

Precisely Controllable Amplitudes for Optimum Results

Hielscher's industrial processors of the hdT series can be comfortable and user-friendly operated via browser remote control.All Hielscher ultrasonic degassing systems are precisely controllable and thereby reliable work horses. The amplitude is one of the crucial process parameters that influence the efficiency and effectiveness of sonomechanically induced degasification. All Hielscher Ultrasonics’ processors allow for the precise setting of the amplitude. Sonotrodes and booster horns are accessories that allow to modify the amplitude in an even wider range. Hielscher’s industrial ultrasonic processors can deliver very high amplitudes and deliver the required ultrasonic intensity for demanding applications. Amplitudes of up to 200µm can be easily continuously run in 24/7 operation.
Precise amplitude settings and the permanent monitoring of the ultrasonic process parameters via smart software give you the possibility to adjust the ultrasonic process parameters for most effective ultrasonic degasification. Optimal sonication for highly efficient gas removal!
The robustness of Hielscher’s ultrasonic equipment allows for 24/7 operation at heavy duty and in demanding environments. This makes Hielscher’s ultrasonic equipment a reliable work tool that fulfils your deaeration process requirements.

Highest Quality – Designed and Manufactured in Germany

As a family-owned and family-run business, Hielscher prioritizes highest quality standards for its ultrasonic processors. All ultrasonicators are designed, manufactured and thoroughly tested in our headquarter in Teltow near Berlin, Germany. Robustness and reliability of Hielscher’s ultrasonic equipment make it a work horse in your production. 24/7 operation under full load and in demanding environments is a natural characteristic of Hielscher’s high-performance degassers.

Contact Us! / Ask Us!

Ask for more information

Please use the form below to request additional information about ultrasonic processors, applications and price. We will be glad to discuss your degassing process with you and to offer you an ultrasonic degasser meeting your requirements!









Please note our privacy policy.


Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonic homogenizers for dispersion, emulsification and cell extraction.

High-power ultrasonic homogenizers from lab to pilot and industrial scale.

Literature / References