Technologie des ultrasons Hielscher

Équipement d'extraction de cannabis – L'avantage de la sonication

L'extraction de composés bioactifs tels que le THC et le CBD du cannabis peut être réalisée avec différentes techniques. L'équipement d'extraction par ultrasons présente de nombreux avantages qui en font la méthode d'extraction supérieure. En raison de ses rendements élevés, de ses extraits de haute qualité, de sa rapidité de traitement, de ses faibles coûts d'investissement et d'exploitation, de son fonctionnement sûr et convivial, l'extraction par ultrasons est la méthode préférée pour les procédés d'extraction en petite série et en production industrielle.

Extraction ultrasonique de cannabis

L'extraction par ultrasons est basée sur le principe de la cavitation acoustique. L'application d'ultrasons de haute puissance aux liquides et aux boues entraîne une cavitation intense et des forces de cisaillement. Dans une suspension de feuilles, de bourgeons, de fleurs, de tiges et d'autres parties de plantes, les cellules végétales sont perturbées par les forces de cisaillement ultrasoniques et les composés bioactifs comme le cannabidiol (CBD) et le tétrahydrocannabinol (THC) sont libérés. L'extraction par ultrasons est une technique très efficace et fiable pour isoler les composés végétaux bioactifs. En particulier dans la production d'huiles de cannabis de haute qualité, la sonication a convaincu par ses rendements élevés (rendement d'extrait plus élevé), son excellente qualité (spectre complet) et son temps de traitement rapide. L'application des ondes ultrasonores est un traitement mécanique, non toxique, sûr et respectueux de l'environnement.

UP100H pour l'extraction

Installation de sonication par lots de 2kW pour l'extraction du cannabis

120L Extraction par ultrasons d'un lot de cannabis à l'aide de UIP2000hdT et agitateur

Avantages de l'extraction par ultrasons

  • rendements plus élevés
  • haute qualité
  • pas de dégradation thermique
  • Extraction rapide
  • opération simple et sûre
  • Extraction vert

Pourquoi l'extraction par ultrasons est-elle la meilleure méthode ?

Efficacité

  • Les rendements plus élevés
  • Processus d'extraction rapide – en quelques minutes
  • extraits de haute qualité – extraction légère, non thermique
  • Solvants verts (eau, éthanol, glycérine, huiles végétales, etc.)

Simplicité

  • Plug-and-play - Configuration et fonctionnement en quelques minutes
  • Débit élevé - Pour la production d'extraits à grande échelle
  • Fonctionnement en ligne par lots ou en continu
  • Installation et mise en service simples
  • Portatif / Mobile - Unités portatives ou sur roulettes
  • Mise à l'échelle linéaire - ajoutez un autre système ultrasonique en parallèle pour augmenter la capacité.
  • Surveillance et contrôle à distance - via PC, téléphone intelligent ou tablette
  • Aucune supervision de processus requise - Mise en service et fonctionnement
  • Haute performance - conçu pour une production continue 24h/24 et 7j/7
  • Robustesse et maintenance réduite
  • haute qualité – conçu et construit en Allemagne
  • Chargement et déchargement rapides entre les lots
  • Facile à nettoyer

sécurité

  • Simplicité et sécurité d'utilisation
  • Extraction sans solvant ou à base de solvant (eau, éthanol, huiles végétales, glycérine, etc.)
  • Pas de hautes pressions et températures
  • Systèmes antidéflagrants certifiés ATEX disponibles
  • Facile à contrôler (également par télécommande)
UP400St extraction par ultrasons d'extraits végétaux en lot de 8L

UP400St Extraction par ultrasons de plantes médicinales telles que le cannabis en lot de 8L

Demande d'information





Équipement d'extraction à ultrasons haute performance

UIP16000 (16kW) is Hielscher's most powerful ultrasonic extraction equipment.Hielscher Ultrasonic est votre partenaire de confiance lorsqu'il s'agit d'équipements d'extraction ultrasonique haute performance pour l'extraction du cannabis et d'autres plantes. Avec d'innombrables installations dans le monde entier, les extracteurs à ultrasons de Hielscher sont reconnus pour leur taux d'extraction élevé, leur fiabilité et leur robustesse.
À partir de petits ultrasoniseurs compacts de paillasse, tels que le UP400St (400W) à la plus puissante centrale électrique au monde. UIP16000 (16kW, voir photo à gauche), Hielscher couvre toute la gamme des équipements d'extraction. Cela nous permet de vous recommander l'extracteur à ultrasons le mieux adapté à vos besoins.
Hielscher Ultrasonics’ Les processeurs ultrasoniques industriels peuvent fournir des amplitudes très élevées. Des amplitudes allant jusqu'à 200µm peuvent être facilement utilisées en continu 24h/24 et 7j/7. Pour des amplitudes encore plus élevées, des sonotrodes ultrasoniques personnalisées sont disponibles. La robustesse de l'équipement ultrasonique de Hielscher permet un fonctionnement 24 heures sur 24, 7 jours sur 7, dans des environnements difficiles et exigeants.
Le tableau ci-dessous vous donne une indication de la capacité de traitement approximative de nos ultrasonicators:

lot Volume Débit Appareils recommandés
1 à 500 ml UP100H
10 à 8000mL UP200Ht, UP400St
0.5-150L 00,2 à 4L / min UIP2000hdT
1 à 300L 2 à 10 L / min UIP4000hdT
10 à 100 litres / min UIP16000
plus grand groupe de UIP16000

Demander une offre pour cet dispositif!

Pour recevoir une proposition, veuillez mettre vos coordonnées dans le formulaire ci-dessous. Une configuration de dispositif typique est présélectionnée. N'hésitez pas à revoir la sélection avant de cliquer sur le bouton pour demander la proposition.








Veuillez indiquer ci-dessous les informations que vous souhaitez recevoir :



  • Processeur à ultrasons de 400 watts pour l'extraction de petits lots (jusqu'à 8L)



  • Processeur à ultrasons de 2000 watts pour l'extraction en ligne de grandes quantités (par ex. 150L) ou en continu.



  • Processeur à ultrasons de 4000 watts pour l'extraction en ligne en continu ou en grande série (par ex. 300L)



  • Processeur ultrasonique de 16000 watts pour l'extraction en ligne en continu


Veuillez prendre note de notre Politique de confidentialité.


Hielscher Ultrasons fabrique des ultrasons de haute performance pour des applications sonochimiques.

Des processeurs à ultrasons de haute puissance, du laboratoire au pilote et à l'échelle industrielle.



Qu'il faut savoir

Aperçu et comparaison des méthodes d'extraction de cannabis les plus courantes

Extraction par ultrasons

Produit : L'extraction par ultrasons produit un extrait de haute qualité à spectre complet. L'extrait brut est raffiné par filtration, distillation et/ou hivernisation.
Coût de l'équipement : à partir d'environ 5 000 $US jusqu'à plusieurs centaines de milliers de $US selon la capacité et la configuration.
Mise en place : en mode batch/baril ou en continu en ligne
Compétences techniques : facile et sûr à manipuler et à utiliser
Solvant : tous les solvants peuvent être utilisés tels que l'eau, le mélange eau-alcool, l'alcool isopropylique, l'hexane, l'éthanol, le méthanol, le butane, les huiles végétales (huile d'olive, huile de noix de coco), la glycérine, etc.
Composés ciblés : spectre complet (tous les cannabinoïdes et terpènes disponibles)
Principaux avantages : un rendement élevé, facile à utiliser, peu coûteux, facile à mettre à l'échelle de la production industrielle

Extraction par solvant (alcool, éthanol)

Produit : généralement un extrait brut qui nécessite un raffinement plus poussé, comme l'hivernage ou la filtration. Généralement, l'extrait d'éthanol est encore raffiné par distillation après l'hivernage et la filtration.
Coût de l'équipement : entre 5 000 $ et des millions de dollars selon la taille, les capacités ou les capacités d'automatisation.
Compétences techniques : éduqués en chimie de base/modérée.
Composés ciblés : tous les cannabinoïdes disponibles, l'extrait obtenu contient de faibles quantités de monoterpènes.

CO2 Extraction

Produit : extrait brut qui nécessite un raffinement plus poussé comme l'hivernage ou la filtration
Coût de l'équipement : entre 100 000 $ et des millions de dollars US, selon la taille, les capacités ou l'automatisation.
Compétences techniques : éduqués pour faire fonctionner un système à haute pression de CO2 liquide (haute pression) – sécurité)
Composés ciblés : cannabinoïdes avec seulement de faibles quantités de monoterpènes

Extraction d'hydrocarbures

Produit : briser, bourgeonner, cirer, HTFSE, HCFSE, ou extrait brut pour la distillation, ou terpènes à ajouter au distillat
Coût de l'équipement : 5 000 $ à 100 000 $ selon la taille et les capacités
Compétences techniques : formés en chimie et en sécurité (utilisation de fluides inflammables, butane liquide)
Composés ciblés : tous les cannabinoïdes

Application des ondes ultrasonores pour l'extraction

Lorsque des ultrasons de haute performance sont appliqués à des systèmes liquides (y compris les boues et les pâtes visqueuses), une cavitation acoustique est générée. La cavitation acoustique décrit le phénomène de génération, de croissance et d'implosion éventuelle des bulles de cavitation. Pendant la propagation des ondes ultrasonores, les bulles de vide oscillent, grossissent et s'effondrent au point où la bulle ne peut plus absorber d'énergie. L'implosion des bulles crée localement des conditions extrêmes de très hautes températures, pressions, vitesses de chauffage et de refroidissement ainsi que des différences de pression et des jets liquides. Les conditions extrêmes entraînent des effets thermiques, mécaniques et chimiques. La désintégration cellulaire et la libération de composés bioactifs (= extraction) est un effet mécanique très efficace et efficient.

La cavitation ultrasonore / acoustique crée des forces très intenses qui ouvrent les parois cellulaires connues sous le nom de lyse (Cliquez pour agrandir !)

L'extraction par ultrasons est basée sur la cavitation acoustique et ses forces de cisaillement hydrodynamiques.

En raison de son débit d'extraction supérieur, de son taux d'extraction élevé, de sa vitesse de traitement élevée ainsi que de son fonctionnement simple et sûr, l'extraction par ultrasons est utilisée avec succès pour les composés botaniques du collecteur d'extraction.

Les perturbateurs ultrasoniques sont utilisés pour les extractions à partir de sources phyto (par ex. plantes, algues, champignons).

Extraction ultrasonore à partir de cellules : la coupe transversale microscopique (TS) montre le mécanisme d'action lors de l'extraction ultrasonore à partir de cellules (grossissement 2000x)[ressource : Vilkhu et al. 2011].

Les exemples les plus marquants d'extraction par ultrasons sont les suivants cannabis (cannabinoïdes et huile de cannabis provenant de la marijuana et du chanvre), Curcumine, Poivre, Safran, café, courge amère, huile d'olive, Huile d'avocat, henné, Herbes ayurvédiques, gingembre, théet d'autres plantes médicinales.

décarboxylation

La décarboxylation est une étape importante pour la production efficace des principaux composés bioactifs du cannabis, comme le Δ9-tétrahydrocannabinol (Δ9-THC), le cannabidiol (CBD) et le cannabigerol (CBG). La décarboxylation, également appelée "activation" ou "décarburation", est appliquée comme prétraitement pour augmenter la teneur en THC (delta9-tétrahydrocannabinol) dans le matériel végétal. La décarboxylation chimique est une réaction au cours de laquelle un groupe carboxyle (-COOH) est éliminé et le dioxyde de carbone (CO2) est lancé. Afin d'augmenter la teneur en THC de la matière végétale de cannabis, l'étape de décarboxylation est appliquée. Par décarboxylation, la quantité d'acide Δ9-tétrahydrocannabinolique (THCA) non psychoactif peut être convertie en THC psychoactif. Δ9 L'acide tétrahydrocannabinolique se décarboxyle lorsqu'il est chauffé (à environ 105°C / 220°F pendant 30 minutes lorsqu'il est sec, jusqu'à 90 minutes lorsqu'il est humide) et se transforme ensuite en composé psychoactif Δ9-Tétrahydrocannabinol.
De la même manière, le matériel végétal de cannabis riche en CBD-A peut être décarboxylé par traitement thermique et ainsi converti en CBD. Pour l'hivernage du matériel végétal, la matière végétale séchée hachée est chauffée à environ 160°C / 320°F pendant 30-60min. pour initier la décarboxylation.
Températures de décarboxylation pour les cannabinoïdes :
CBD : 160°C / 320°F
CBC : 220°C / 428°F
THC : 155°C / 314.6°F
CBN : 185°C / 365°F
THCV : 220°C / 428°F

Procédés en aval – Filtration et distillation

Après l'extraction par ultrasons, les particules de cannabis doivent être filtrées du liquide. Par conséquent, la bouillie de cannabis est filtrée à travers un filtre, tel qu'un tamis (par exemple une chaussette filtrante) ou à l'aide d'un filtre-presse. La liqueur mère résultante de solvant (p. ex. éthanol) et d'extrait de cannabis est ensuite concentrée par séparation de l'éthanol. Les méthodes de distillation typiques pour l'élimination des solvants sont les évaporateurs rotatifs ou les systèmes de distillation sous vide.
Un évaporateur rotatif (communément appelé roto-vap) est couramment utilisé pour séparer les solvants tels que l'éthanol du cannabis, produisant ainsi une huile de cannabis raffinée. La température régulée et la facilité de manipulation font de l'évaporateur rotatif l'équipement de distillation dominant dans l'industrie du cannabis.
La distillation sous vide est surtout utilisée pour isoler le CBD à des fins pharmaceutiques et médicinales, où il est nécessaire d'éliminer les terpènes et/ou le THC. Comme les terpènes, le THC et le CBD ont des points d'ébullition élevés (entre 160-250°C / 310-482°F), une distillation dans des conditions atmosphériques nécessiterait un traitement à haute température, qui s'accompagne d'une dégradation thermique des cannabinoïdes thermosensibles. De plus, l'exposition à l'oxygène déclenche des réactions d'oxydation qui affectent négativement la qualité des cannabinoïdes. Par l'application du vide, les points d'ébullition sont abaissés. De plus, l'oxygène est éliminé par l'application du vide. Ainsi, la distillation sous vide diminue la dégradation thermique et oxydative des extraits.

Hivernage

L'hivernisation consiste à éliminer les lipides, les graisses et les cires des plantes par un lavage à l'alcool afin de séparer les cannabinoïdes et les terpènes des substances indésirables, comme les cires, les graisses et la chlorophylle végétales. Pour l'hivernisation, l'huile de cannabis extraite est placée dans de l'éthanol et refroidie à des températures inférieures à -20°C / -6°F. A ces basses températures, les lipides, les graisses et les cires précipitent et peuvent être éliminés.

Hielscher Ultrasound Technology

Cannabis Extraction Equipment – The Advantage of Sonication

Extraction of bioactive compounds such as THC and CBD from cannabis can be performed with different techniques. Ultrasonic extraction equipment has many benefits which makes it the superior extraction method. Due to its high yields, high quality extracts, rapid process, low investment and operational costs, safe and user-friendly operation, ultrasonic extraction is the preferred method for extraction processes in small and industrial production.

Ultrasonic Cannabis Extraction

Extraction by ultrasound is based on the principle of acoustic cavitation. The application of high-power ultrasound to liquids and slurries results in intense cavitation and shear forces. In a slurry of leaves, buds, flowers, stems and other plant parts, the vegetable cell are disrupted by ultrasonic shear forces and the bioactive compounds such as cannabidiol (CBD) and tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) are released. Ultrasonic extraction is well established as highly efficient and reliable technique to isolate bioactive plant compounds. Especially in the production of high-quality cannabis oils sonication has convinced due to its high yields (higher extract output), excellent quality (full spectrum) and rapid processing time. The application of ultrasound waves is a mechanical treatment, which is non-toxic, safe, and environmentally-friendly.

UP100H for extraction
2kW batch sonication setup for the extraction of cannabis

120L Ultrasonic Batch Extraction of Cannabis with UIP2000hdT and Agitator

Advantages of Ultrasonic Extraction

  • Higher yield
  • High quality
  • No thermal degradation
  • Rapid extraction
  • Simple and Safe Operation
  • Green Extraction

Why is Ultrasonic Extraction the Best Method?

Efficiency

  • Higher yields
  • Rapid extraction process – within minutes
  • High quality extracts – mild, non-thermal extraction
  • Green solvents (water, ethanol, glycerin, veget. oils etc.)

Simplicity

  • Plug-and-play – Set-up and operate within minutes
  • High throughput – For large scale extract production
  • Batch-wise or continuous inline operation
  • Simple installation and start-up
  • Portable / Movable – Portable units or built on wheels
  • Linear scale up – add another ultrasonic system in parallel to increase capacity
  • Remote monitoring and control – via PC, smart phone or tablet
  • No process supervision required – Set-up and run
  • High-Performance – designed for continuous 24/7 production
  • Robustness and low maintenance
  • High quality – designed and built in Germany
  • Quick load and discharge between lots
  • Easy to clean

Safety

  • Simple and safe to run
  • Solvent-less or solvent-based extraction (water, ethanol, vegetable oils, glycerin, etc.)
  • No high pressures and temperatures
  • ATEX-certified explosion-proof systems available
  • Easy to control (also via remote control)
UP400St ultrasonic extraction of botanicals in 8L batch

UP400St Ultrasonic Extraction of Botanicals such as Cannabis in 8L Batch

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


High Performance Ultrasonics Extraction Equipment

UIP16000 (16kW) is Hielscher's most powerful ultrasonic extraction equipment.Hielscher Ultrasonic is your trusted partner when it comes to high performance ultrasonic extraction equipment for the extraction of cannabis and other botanicals. With countless installations worldwide, Hielscher’s ultrasonic extractors are well recognized for their high extraction rate, reliability and robustness.
From smaller compact bench-top ultrasonicators such as the UP400St (400W) to the worldwide most powerful UIP16000 (16kW, see pic. left), Hielscher cover the full range of extraction equipment. This allows us to recommend you the ultrasonic extractor most suitable for your process requirements.
Hielscher Ultrasonics’ industrial ultrasonic processors can deliver very high amplitudes. Amplitudes of up to 200µm can be easily continuously run in 24/7 operation. For even higher amplitudes, customized ultrasonic sonotrodes are available. The robustness of Hielscher’s ultrasonic equipment allows for 24/7 operation at heavy duty and in demanding environments.
The table below gives you an indication of the approximate processing capacity of our ultrasonicators:

Batch Volume Flow Rate Recommended Devices
1 to 500mL UP100H
10 to 8000mL UP200Ht, UP400St
0.5-150L 0.2 to 4L/min UIP2000hdT
1 to 300L 2 to 10L/min UIP4000hdT
10 to 100L/min UIP16000
larger cluster of UIP16000

Request a Proposal for this Item!

To receive a proposal, please put your contact details into the form below. A typical device configuration is pre-selected. Feel free to revise the selection before clicking the button to request the proposal.








Please indicate the information, that you wish to receive, below:



  • 400 watts ultrasonic processor for small batch extraction (up to 8L)



  • 2000 watts ultrasonic processor for large batch (e.g. 150L) or continuous inline extraction



  • 4000 watts ultrasonic processor for large batch (e.g. 300L) or continuous inline extraction



  • 16000 watts ultrasonic processor for continuous inline extraction


Please note our privacy policy.


Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonicators for sonochemical applications.

High-power ultrasonic processors from lab to pilot and industrial scale.



Facts Worth Knowing

Overview and Comparison of the Most Common Cannabis Extraction Methods

Ultrasonic Extraction

Product: Ultrasonic extraction produces a high-quality full spectrum extract. The crude extract is refined by filtration, distillation and/or winterization.
Equipment cost: starting at approx. US$5,000 up to several US$100,000 depending on capacity and configuration
Setup: in batch/barrel or continuous inline operation
Technical skills: easy and safe to handle and operate
Solvent: all kind of solvents can be used such as water, water-alcohol mixture, isopropyl alcohol, hexane, ethanol, methanol, butane, vegetable oils (olive oil coconut oil), glycerine, etc.
Compounds targeted: full spectrum (all available cannabinoids and terpenes)
Main advantages: high yield, easy to operate, inexpensive, easy scale-up to industrial production

Solvent Extraction (alcohol, ethanol)

Product: typically a crude extract that requires further refinement such as winterization or filtration. Commonly the ethanol extract is further refined through distillation after winterization and filtration.
Equipment cost: between $5,000 and millions depending on size, capabilities or automation abilities.
Technical skills: educated in basic chemistry/moderate.
Compounds targeted: all available cannabinoids, resulting extract has low amounts of monoterpenes.

CO2 Extraction

Product: crude extract that requires further refinement such as winterization or filtration
Equipment cost: between $100,000 and millions of USD, depending on size, capabilities or automation
Technical skills: educated to operate liquid CO2 (high pressurized system – safety)
Compounds targeted: cannabinoids with only low amounts of monoterpenes

Hydrocarbon Extraction

Product: shatter, budder, wax, HTFSE, HCFSE, or crude extract for distillation, or terpenes to be added to distillate
Equipment cost: $5,000 to $100,000 depending on size and capabilities
Technical skills: educated in chemistry and safety (use of flammable fluids, liquid butane)
Compounds targeted: all cannabinoids

Application of Ultrasound Waves for Extraction

When high performance ultrasound is applied to liquid systems (including slurries and viscous pastes) acoustic cavitation is generated. Acoustic cavitation describes the phenomenon of the generation, growth and eventual implosion of the cavitation bubbles. During the propagation of the ultrasound waves, the vacuum bubbles oscillate, grow and collapse at the point, when the bubble cannot absorb more energy. The bubble implosion creates locally extreme conditions of very high temperatures, pressures, heating and cooling rates as well as pressure differentials and liquid jets. The extreme conditions result in thermal, mechanical, and chemical effects. The cell disruption and release of bioactive compounds (= extraction) is a mechanical effect, which is very effective and efficient.

Ultrasonic / acoustic cavitation creates highly intense forces which opens the cell walls known as lysis (Click to enlarge!)

Ultrasonic extraction is based on acoustic cavitation and its hydrodynamic shear forces

Due to its superior extract output, its high extraction rate, process speed as well as simple and safe operation, ultrasonic extraction is used successfully for the extraction manifold botanical compounds.

Ultrasonic disruptors are used for extractions from phyto sources (e.g. plants, algae, fungi)

Ultrasonic extraction from cells: the microscopic transverse section (TS) shows the mechanism of actions during ultrasonic extraction from cells (magnification 2000x) [resource: Vilkhu et al. 2011]

Prominent examples of ultrasonic extraction are cannabis (cannabinoids and cannabis oil from marijuana and hemp), curcumin, pepper, saffron, coffee, bitter gourd, olive oil, avocado oil, henna, Ayurvedic herbs, ginger, tea, and other medicinal herbs.

Decarboxylation

Decarboxylation is an important step for efficient production of the major bioactive compounds in cannabis, such as Δ9-tetrahydrocannabinol (Δ9-THC), cannabidiol (CBD), and cannabigerol (CBG). Decarboxylation, also known as “activating” or “decarbing”, is applied as a pre-treatment to increase THC (delta9-tetrahydrocannabinol) content in the plant material. Chemically decarboxylation is a reaction where a carboxyl group (-COOH) is removed and carbon dioxide (CO2) is released. In order to increase the THC content of the cannabis plant matter, the process step of decarboxylation is applied. By decarboxylation, the quantity of non-psychoactive Δ9-tetrahydrocannabinolic acid (THCA) can be converted into psychoactive THC. Δ9-Tetrahydrocannabinolic acid decarboxylates when heated (to approx. 105°C / 220°F for 30 min. when dry material, up to 90min. for moist plant material) and converts then to the psychoactive compound Δ9-Tetrahydrocannabinol.
In similar way, CBD-A rich cannabis plant material can be decarboxylated by heat treatment and thereby converted into CBD. For winterization of plant material, dried chopped plant matter is heated to approx. 160°C / 320°F for 30-60min. to initiate the decarboxylation.
Decarboxylation Temperatures for Cannabinoids:
CBD: 160°C / 320°F
CBC: 220°C / 428°F
THC: 155°C / 314.6°F
CBN: 185°C / 365°F
THCV: 220°C / 428°F

Downstream Processes – Filtration and Distillation

After ultrasonic extraction, the cannabis particles must be filtered from the liquid. Therefore, the cannabis slurry is strained through a filter, such as mesh (e.g. filter sock) or using a filter press. The resultant mother liquor of solvent (e.g. ethanol) and cannabis extract is then concentrated by separating the ethanol. Typical distillation methods for the removal of solvents are rotary evaporators or vacuum distillation systems.
A rotary evaporator (colloquially roto-vap) is commonly used to separate solvents such as ethanol from cannabis, thereby producing a refined cannabis oil. Regulated temperature and easy handling make the rotary-evaporator the dominant distillation equipment in the cannabis industry.
Vacuum distillation is used mostly in order to isolate CBD for pharmaceutical and medicinal use, where it is necessary to remove terpenes and or THC. Since terpenes, THC and CBD have high boiling points (between 160-250°C / 310-482°F), under atmospheric conditions a distillation would require high temperature treatment, which comes with thermal degradation of the heat-sensitive cannabinoids. Additionally, exposure to oxygen initiates oxidative reactions, which affects the quality of the cannabinoids negatively. By the application of vacuum, the boiling points are lowered. Furthermore, oxygen is removed with the application of vacuum. Thereby, distillation under vacuum conditions lowers thermal and oxidative degradation of the extracts.

Winterization

Winterization is the process of removing the plant lipids, fats and waxes by an alcohol wash in order to separate cannabinoids and terpenes from unwanted substances, such as plant waxes, fats, and chlorophyll. For the winterization the extracted cannabis oil is placed in ethanol and chilled to temperatures of less to -20°C / -6°F. At these low temperatures, lipids, fats and waxes precipitate and can be removed.