Hielscher – Technologie Ultrasons

Safran Extraction assistée par ultrasons

L'échographie est bien connue pour sa capacité d'extraction. L'extraction assistée par ultrasons de composés actifs, de saveurs et d'épices à partir de matériel végétal est une application très réussie car la cavitation générée par ultrasons perturbe les cellules végétales et améliore le transfert de masse de sorte que le matériel intracellulaire devient disponible. Ainsi, une extraction plus efficace et des rendements plus élevés sont atteints.
Extraction par ultrasons de pistils de safran
Safran (Crocus sativus), connu comme l'épice la plus chère sur le marché mondial et se distingue par sa saveur délicate, le goût amer et une couleur jaune attrayante, est essentiellement cultivé en Iran, l'Espagne, la Grèce et l'Inde. En plus de son utilisation comme épice et comme agent de couleur, le safran est également estimé comme plante médicinale et depuis peu de temps, le sativus crocus est étudiée comme une nouvelle source sûre d'antioxydants naturels pour la industrie alimentaire. Pour le prix élevé allant jusqu'à 14 euros par gramme, il y a plusieurs raisons: d'abord, entre 100 000 et 200.000 fleurs de crocus sont nécessaires pour obtenir 1 kg de safran épices; D'autre part, les fleurs de fleur de safran seulement pour deux semaines en automne; et troisièmement, la récolte est entièrement réalisée par le travail manuel. L'épice safran est obtenu à partir du stigmate rouge de la fleur de crocus safran. Chaque plante safran porte trois stigmates rouge à la fleur. Ces trois stigmates (la pointe d'un de carpelles réceptif) et leurs styles sont récoltés pour obtenir les substances de safran. Après séchage, ces pièces sont utilisées comme assaisonnement dans la cuisine ou comme agent colorant.
L'échographie assistée extraction est une méthode éprouvée pour l'extraction du matériel intracellulaire et des composants fonctionnels et bioactives. rayonnement ultrasonique peut être appliquée à la stigmatisation rouge de safran, qui contiennent plus de 150 substances aromatiques volatiles ainsi que des substances actives non volatils, tels que le lycopène caroténoïdes, la zéaxanthine, et différents a et ß-carotènes.
La saveur caractéristique intensive des résultats safran en particulier de trois composés: crocins, picrocrocine et safranal.
irradiation par ultrasons favorise l'extraction des composés actifs à partir de safran

appareil à ultrasons UIP1000hd pour l'extraction

Kadkhodaee et Hemmati-Kakhki présentent une étude dans laquelle ils ont étudié "l'extraction par ultrasons des composés actifs du safran". Dans cette étude, ils ont montré que l'ultrasonication augmentait significativement le rendement d'extraction et réduisait considérablement le temps de traitement. En effet, les résultats obtenus par extraction par ultrasons étaient visiblement meilleurs que par l'extraction traditionnelle à l'eau froide proposée par l'ISO. Pour leur recherche, Kadkhodaee et Hemmati-Kakhki ont utilisé le dispositif à ultrasons de Hielscher UP50H. Pour étudier l'avantage de l'irradiation ultrasonique, la même quantité de safran (échantillon de 0,25 g) a été extraite par extraction à l'eau froide: un échantillon a été traité avec le processeur à ultrasons Hielscher; l'autre échantillon a été soumis au processus d'extraction à l'eau froide traditionnel recommandé par l'ISO. Comme indiqué ci-dessus, avec la méthode d'extraction par ultrasons a été publié un rendement nettement plus élevé des composés de safran. Avec un temps de sonication croissant, un rendement accru a été atteint, avec une amélioration allant jusqu'à 15% pour le safranal vers la fin du temps d'extraction. Les meilleurs résultats ont été obtenus avec la sonication pulsée. Cela signifie que les courts intervalles d'impulsion étaient plus efficaces qu'un traitement par ultrasons continu car dans un champ ultrasonore pulsé, le temps entre deux impulsions agit comme une pause pendant laquelle les petites bulles et les cavités instables générées par l'effondrement des bulles se dissolvent ou flotter hors de la zone de cavitation afin que les conditions initiales du liquide soient restaurées. (Kadkhodaee et al., 2007) Comme par ultrasons générés cavitation résultats dans des conditions locales très intenses, le traitement par ultrasons fournit de meilleurs résultats d'extraction par la rupture des cellules efficace et un transfert de masse plus complète des parties internes de la matrice de cellules. En outre la reprise des phytochimiques et biopharmaceutiques de safran est une application prometteuse.
L'efficacité de l'extraction assistée par ultrasons a été étudié depuis longtemps et il est bien connu. Hielscher de appareils à ultrasons est déjà très utilisé avec succès pour l'extraction des protéines, des lipides, des composés phénoliques, et des enzymes.

Littérature / Références

  • Kadkhodaee, R .; Hemmati-Kakhki, A. (2007): Extraction par ultrasons des composés actifs de Safran. Dans: Koochecki, A. et al. (Modifier): II. Symposium international sur la biologie et de la technologie Safran. ISHS, Iran 2007.
  • Contactez-nous!/ Demandez pour plus d'informations!

    Parlez-nous de vos besoins de traitement. Nous vous recommandons les paramètres d'installation et traitement plus adaptés pour votre projet.





    S'il vous plaît noter notre politique de confidentialité.


    L'homogénéisateur à ultrasons UP50H a été utilisé pour les études de recherche sur l'extraction du safran.

    Dispositif de laboratoire à ultrasons UP50H

Ultrasonically Assisted Saffron Extraction

Ultrasound is well known for its extraction capacity. The ultrasonically assisted extraction of active compounds, flavours and spices from plant material is a very successful application as ultrasonically generated cavitation disruptes plant cells and enhances mass transfer so that the intra-cellular material becomes available. Thereby, a more efficient extraction and higher yields are achieved.

Ultrasonic Saffron Extraction

The video below demonstrates the efficient and easy-to-use extraction of saffron using the probe-type sonicator UP100H.
 

This video shows the fast and efficient ultrasonic extraction of flavouring and colouring compounds from saffron with a Hielscher UP100H, a 100W powerful ultrasonicator.

Ultrasonic Extraction of Saffron Threads using the UP100H

Video Thumbnail

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


Ultrasonic extraction is a highly efficient technique for the isolation of bioactive compounds and flavour molecules from saffron

Sonicator UIP1000hdT with flow cell for the extraction of saffron

Saffron, an Exquisite Spice

Saffron (Crocus sativus), known as most expensive spice on the world market and distinguished by its delicate flavour, bitter taste and attractive yellow colour, is basically cultivated in Iran, Spain, Greece, and India. Besides to its use as spice and as colour agent, saffron is also esteemed as medical plant and since short time, the crocus sativus is investigated as a new safe source of natural antioxidants for the food industry. For the high price of up to 14 Euros per gram, there are several reasons: first, between 100,000 and 200,000 crocus flowers are required to achieve 1 kilogram of saffron spice; second, the saffron blossom flowers just for two weeks in autumn; and third, the harvest is completely performed by manual labour. The saffron spice is obtained from the red stigma of the flower of saffron crocus. Every saffron plant bears three red stigma at the flower. These three stigma (the receptives tip of a carpel) and their styles are harvested to gain the saffron substances. After drying, these parts are used as a seasoning in cuisine or as colouring agent.

Sonication for the Production of High-Quality Saffron Extracts

The ultrasound-assisted extraction is a proven method for the extraction of intracellular material and functional and bioactive components. Ultrasonic radiation can be applied to saffron’s red stigma which contain more than 150 volatile aromatic substances as well as nonvolatile active compounds, such as the carotenoids lycopene, zeaxanthin, and various α- and β-carotenes.
The intensive characteristic flavor of saffron results especially from three compounds: crocins, picrocrocin and safranal.

Ultrasonicator UIP1000hdT for the extraction of saffron in batch mode

Ultrasonicator UIP1000hdT for saffron extraction

Kadkhodaee and Hemmati-Kakhki present a study in that they have investigated the “Ultrasonic Extraction of Active Compounds from Saffron”. In this study, they have showed that ultrasonication increased the extraction yield significantly and reduced the processing time considerably. In fact, results by ultrasound extraction were conspicuously better than by traditional cold water extraction proposed by ISO. For their research, Kadkhodaee and Hemmati-Kakhki have used Hielscher’s ultrasonic device UP50H. To investigate the advantage of ultrasonic irradiation, the same amount of saffron (0.25g sample) has been extracted by cold water extraction: One sample has been treated with the Hielscher ultrasonic processor; the other sample has been run the traditional cold water extraction process recommended by ISO. As above indicated, with the ultrasonic extraction method has been released a conspicuously higher yield of the saffron compounds. With an increasing sonication time an increased yield has been achieved, with an up to 15% enhancement for safranal towards the end of extraction time. Best results have been achieved with pulsed sonication. This means that short pulse intervals were more effective than a continuous ultrasonic treatment because in a pulsed ultrasonic field the time between two pulses acts as an intermission during that the small bubbles and the unstable cavities generated by bubble collapse, depending on their sizes, dissolve away or float out of the cavitation zone so that the initial conditions of the liquid are restored. (Kadkhodaee et al., 2007) As by ultrasound generated cavitation results in highly intense local conditions, ultrasonic processing provides better extraction results by efficient cell disruption and a more complete mass transfer from the inner parts of cells matrix. Also the recovery of phytochemicals and biopharmaceuticals from saffron is a promising application.
The effectiveness of ultrasound-assisted extraction has been investigated for a long time and is well known. Hielscher sonicators are already very successfully used for extraction of proteins, lipids, phenolic compounds, and enzymes in research and industrial production.

The table below gives you an indication of the approximate processing capacity of our ultrasonicators:

Batch Volume Flow Rate Recommended Devices
0.5 to 1.5mL n.a. VialTweeter
1 to 500mL 10 to 200mL/min UP100H
10 to 2000mL 20 to 400mL/min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 to 20L 0.2 to 4L/min UIP2000hdT
10 to 100L 2 to 10L/min UIP4000hdT
15 to 150L 3 to 15L/min UIP6000hdT
n.a. 10 to 100L/min UIP16000
n.a. larger cluster of UIP16000

Contact Us! / Ask Us!

Ask for more information

Please use the form below to request additional information about ultrasonic processors, applications and price. We will be glad to discuss your process with you and to offer you an ultrasonic system fulfilling your requirements!









Please note our privacy policy.


 

In this presentation we introduce you to the manufacturing of botanical extracts. We explain the challenges of producing high-quality botanical extracts and how a sonicator can help you to overcome these challenges. This presentation will show you how ultrasonic extraction works. You will learn, what benefits you can expect using a sonicator for extraction and how you can implement an ultrasonic extractor into your extract production.

Ultrasonic Botanical Extraction - How to use sonicators to extract botanical compounds

Video Thumbnail

 

Literature/References

The UP50H ultrasonic homogenizer was used for the research studies on saffron extraction.

Ultrasonic lab device UP50H


We will be glad to discuss your process.

Let's get in contact.