Hielscher – Ultraschall-Technologie

Ultraschallgestützte Safran-Extraktion

Ultraschall ist eine bekannte und zuverlässige Extraktionstechnologie. Die ultraschallgestützte Gewinnung von Wirkstoffen, Aromen und Geschmackstoffen aus Pflanzenmaterial ist eine sehr erfolgreiche Anwendung, da ultraschall-generierte Kavitation Pflanzenzellen aufschließt und den Stoffaustausch zwischen Zellinnerem und dem umgebenden Medium verbessert, so dass das Intrazelluläre Material verfügbar wird. Dadurch lassen sich eine effizientere Extraktion und höhere Erträge erzielen.
Ultraschall-Extraktion von Safran
Safran (Crocus Sativus), welcher als teuerstes Gewürz auf dem Weltmarkt bekannt ist und sich durch seinen feinen Geschmack, bitteren Geschmack und attraktive gelbe Farbe auszeichnet, wird hauptsächlich im Iran, Spanien, Griechenland und Indien angebaut. Neben seiner Verwendung als Gewürz und als Farbstoff wird Safran auch als medizinische Pflanze geschätzt und seit kurzer Zeit wird der Crocus Sativus als neue Quelle für natürlichen Antioxidantien untersucht, welche in der Lebensmittelindustriezum Einsatz kommen sollen. Der hohen Preis von bis zu 14 Euro pro Gramm Safran ist mehreren Faktoren geschuldet: Erstens sind zwischen 100.000 und 200.000 Krokusblüten erforderlich, um 1 kg Safran-Gewürz herzustellen, zweitens blühen die Safranpflanzen nur für ca. zwei Wochen im Herbst, und drittens erfolgt die Ernte komplett durch Handarbeit. Das Safrangewürz wird aus der roten Narbe der Safran-Krokus-Blüte gewonnen. Jede Safranpflanze hat drei dieser roten Narben in der Blüte. Diese drei Narben, welche die rezeptive Spitze eines Fruchtblattes bilden, und ihre Stile werden geerntet, um die wertvollen Safransubstanzen zu gewinnen. Nach der Trocknung werden diese Teile als Gewürz in der Küche oder als Farbstoff verwendet.
Die ultraschall-gestützte Extraktion ist eine bewährte Methode zur Gewinnung von intrazellulärem Material sowie funktionaler und bioaktiver Komponenten. So kann Ultraschall angewendet werden, um die mehr als 150 flüchtigen Aromastoffe wie auch nichtflüchtigen aktiven Verbindungen, wie z.B. Carotinoid Lycopene, Zeaxanthin und verschiedenen α- und β-Carotine aus der Narbe des Safrans zu gewinnen.
Die intensive charakteristische Geschmack von Safran wird vor allem durch drei Verbindungen verursacht: Crocin, Pikrocrocin und Safranal.
Die Ultraschallbestrahlung fördert die Extraktion von Wirkstoffen aus Safran.

Ultraschallgerät UIP1000hd zur Extraktion

Kadkhodaee und Hemmati-Kakhki präsentieren eine Studie, in der sie die "Ultraschall-Extraktion von aktiven Wirkstoffen aus Safran" untersucht haben. In dieser Studie haben sie gezeigt, dass Ultraschall den Extraktionertrag deutlich steigert und die Bearbeitungszeit erheblich reduziert. In der Tat waren die Ergebnisse der Ultraschall-Extraktion deutlich besser als die Ergebnisse, welche mittels traditioneller (ISO-empfohlener) Kaltwasser-Extraktion erzielt wurden. Für ihre Forschung haben Kadkhodaee und Hemmati-Kakhki das Hielscher Ultraschallgerät UP50Hverwendet. Um den Auswirkungen der Ultraschall-Beschallung zu untersuchen wurde jeweils die gleiche Menge an Safran (0,25 g pro Probe) einmal mittels Ultraschall und einmal mittels Kaltwasser-Extraktion behandelt. Wie oben bereits erwähnt, wurde mit der Ultraschall-Extraktionsmethode wurde eine deutlich höhere Ausbeute der Safrankomponenten erzielt. In Relation zu steigenden Beschallungszeiten wurde eine höhere Ausbeute mit bis zu 15 % mehr Safranal gegen Ende der Extraktionszeit erreicht. Beste Ergebnisse wurden bei gepulster Beschallung erreicht. Die kurzen Ultraschallpuls-Intervalle zeigten sich als effektiver als eine kontinuierliche Ultraschall-Behandlung, da in einem gepulsten Ultraschallfeld die Zeit zwischen zwei Impulsen als eine Pause fungiert, während der sich die Kavitationssblasen auflösen oder aus der Kavitationszone schweben, so dass die Anfangsbedingungen der Flüssigkeit wiederhergestellt werden. (Kadkhodaee et al., 2007) Durch die lokal extrem intensive Konditionen, die durch die ultraschall-generierte Kavitation erzeugt werden, resultierte die Ultraschall-Behandlung in deutlich besseren Extraktionsergebnisse durch den effektiven Zellaufschluss und den vollständigeren Massetransfer aus dem Inneren der Zellmatrix. Auch ist die Gewinnung von sekundären Pflanzenstoffen und Biopharmazeutika aus Safran eine vielversprechende Anwendung, welche mittels Ultraschall effizient unterstützt werden kann.
Die Wirksamkeit der Ultraschall-gestützten Extraktion wurde bereits intensiv erforscht und ist seit langem bekannt. Hielscher's Ultraschallgeräte für die Extraktion von Proteinen, Lipiden, Phenolverbindungen und Enzymen wird bereits sehr erfolgreich eingesetzt.

Literatur

  • Kadkhodaee, R.; Hemmati-Kakhki, A. (2007): Ultrasonic Extraction of Active Compounds from Saffron. In: Koochecki, A. et al. (edit): II. International Symposium on Saffron Biology and Technology. ISHS, Iran 2007.
  • Kontakt/ Weitere Informationen

    Sprechen Sie mit uns über Ihren Prozess! Gerne empfehlen wir Ihnen das geeignete Equipment und die richtigen Prozessparameter für Ihr Projekt.





    Please beachten Sie unsere Datenschutzerklärung.


    Der UP50H Ultraschall-Homogenisator wurde für die Forschungsarbeiten zur Safran-Extraktion eingesetzt.

    Ultraschall-Laborgerät UP50H

Ultrasonically Assisted Saffron Extraction

Ultrasound is well known for its extraction capacity. The ultrasonically assisted extraction of active compounds, flavours and spices from plant material is a very successful application as ultrasonically generated cavitation disruptes plant cells and enhances mass transfer so that the intra-cellular material becomes available. Thereby, a more efficient extraction and higher yields are achieved.

Ultrasonic Saffron Extraction

The video below demonstrates the efficient and easy-to-use extraction of saffron using the probe-type sonicator UP100H.
 

This video shows the fast and efficient ultrasonic extraction of flavouring and colouring compounds from saffron with a Hielscher UP100H, a 100W powerful ultrasonicator.

Ultrasonic Extraction of Saffron Threads using the UP100H

Video Thumbnail

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


Ultrasonic extraction is a highly efficient technique for the isolation of bioactive compounds and flavour molecules from saffron

Sonicator UIP1000hdT with flow cell for the extraction of saffron

Saffron, an Exquisite Spice

Saffron (Crocus sativus), known as most expensive spice on the world market and distinguished by its delicate flavour, bitter taste and attractive yellow colour, is basically cultivated in Iran, Spain, Greece, and India. Besides to its use as spice and as colour agent, saffron is also esteemed as medical plant and since short time, the crocus sativus is investigated as a new safe source of natural antioxidants for the food industry. For the high price of up to 14 Euros per gram, there are several reasons: first, between 100,000 and 200,000 crocus flowers are required to achieve 1 kilogram of saffron spice; second, the saffron blossom flowers just for two weeks in autumn; and third, the harvest is completely performed by manual labour. The saffron spice is obtained from the red stigma of the flower of saffron crocus. Every saffron plant bears three red stigma at the flower. These three stigma (the receptives tip of a carpel) and their styles are harvested to gain the saffron substances. After drying, these parts are used as a seasoning in cuisine or as colouring agent.

Sonication for the Production of High-Quality Saffron Extracts

The ultrasound-assisted extraction is a proven method for the extraction of intracellular material and functional and bioactive components. Ultrasonic radiation can be applied to saffron’s red stigma which contain more than 150 volatile aromatic substances as well as nonvolatile active compounds, such as the carotenoids lycopene, zeaxanthin, and various α- and β-carotenes.
The intensive characteristic flavor of saffron results especially from three compounds: crocins, picrocrocin and safranal.

Ultrasonicator UIP1000hdT for the extraction of saffron in batch mode

Ultrasonicator UIP1000hdT for saffron extraction

Kadkhodaee and Hemmati-Kakhki present a study in that they have investigated the “Ultrasonic Extraction of Active Compounds from Saffron”. In this study, they have showed that ultrasonication increased the extraction yield significantly and reduced the processing time considerably. In fact, results by ultrasound extraction were conspicuously better than by traditional cold water extraction proposed by ISO. For their research, Kadkhodaee and Hemmati-Kakhki have used Hielscher’s ultrasonic device UP50H. To investigate the advantage of ultrasonic irradiation, the same amount of saffron (0.25g sample) has been extracted by cold water extraction: One sample has been treated with the Hielscher ultrasonic processor; the other sample has been run the traditional cold water extraction process recommended by ISO. As above indicated, with the ultrasonic extraction method has been released a conspicuously higher yield of the saffron compounds. With an increasing sonication time an increased yield has been achieved, with an up to 15% enhancement for safranal towards the end of extraction time. Best results have been achieved with pulsed sonication. This means that short pulse intervals were more effective than a continuous ultrasonic treatment because in a pulsed ultrasonic field the time between two pulses acts as an intermission during that the small bubbles and the unstable cavities generated by bubble collapse, depending on their sizes, dissolve away or float out of the cavitation zone so that the initial conditions of the liquid are restored. (Kadkhodaee et al., 2007) As by ultrasound generated cavitation results in highly intense local conditions, ultrasonic processing provides better extraction results by efficient cell disruption and a more complete mass transfer from the inner parts of cells matrix. Also the recovery of phytochemicals and biopharmaceuticals from saffron is a promising application.
The effectiveness of ultrasound-assisted extraction has been investigated for a long time and is well known. Hielscher sonicators are already very successfully used for extraction of proteins, lipids, phenolic compounds, and enzymes in research and industrial production.

The table below gives you an indication of the approximate processing capacity of our ultrasonicators:

Batch Volume Flow Rate Recommended Devices
0.5 to 1.5mL n.a. VialTweeter
1 to 500mL 10 to 200mL/min UP100H
10 to 2000mL 20 to 400mL/min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 to 20L 0.2 to 4L/min UIP2000hdT
10 to 100L 2 to 10L/min UIP4000hdT
15 to 150L 3 to 15L/min UIP6000hdT
n.a. 10 to 100L/min UIP16000
n.a. larger cluster of UIP16000

Contact Us! / Ask Us!

Ask for more information

Please use the form below to request additional information about ultrasonic processors, applications and price. We will be glad to discuss your process with you and to offer you an ultrasonic system fulfilling your requirements!









Please note our privacy policy.


 

In this presentation we introduce you to the manufacturing of botanical extracts. We explain the challenges of producing high-quality botanical extracts and how a sonicator can help you to overcome these challenges. This presentation will show you how ultrasonic extraction works. You will learn, what benefits you can expect using a sonicator for extraction and how you can implement an ultrasonic extractor into your extract production.

Ultrasonic Botanical Extraction - How to use sonicators to extract botanical compounds

Video Thumbnail

 

Literature/References

The UP50H ultrasonic homogenizer was used for the research studies on saffron extraction.

Ultrasonic lab device UP50H


We will be glad to discuss your process.

Let's get in contact.