Hielscher تكنولوجيا الموجات فوق الصوتية

استخراج الفانيليا بالموجات فوق الصوتية – طريقة غير حرارية

  • مستخلص الفانيليا هو مستخلص حل نكهة من قرون الفانيليا في حل من الإيثانول والماء.
  • لإنتاج فانيليين عالية الجودة كرائحة، نكهة وعنصر العطر، وهو تقنية فعالة، ولكن خفيفة الاستخراج مطلوب لمنع التحلل.
  • استخراج بالموجات فوق الصوتية هو طريقة استخراج الميكانيكية خفيفة، والذي يعطي غلة عالية من فانيليين في وقت استخراج قصيرة جدا.

عالية الأداء الفوق صوتيات لمقتطفات فانيليين عالية الجودة

كما ثاني أغلى التوابل بعد الزعفران، وإنتاج الفانيليا يتطلب طريقة استخراج فعالة، مما يمنع تدهور الزيوت الأساسية قيمة. استخراج بالموجات فوق الصوتية معروفة وأنشئت كطريقة خفيفة، غير الحرارية، ولكن عالية الكفاءة لإطلاق المركبات النشطة بيولوجيا من المواد النباتية. ويستند استخراج بالموجات فوق الصوتية على ظاهرة التجويف الصوتية، وهو علاج ميكانيكي بحت. وهذا يجعل سونيكيشن الطريقة المفضلة لعزل المركبات النشطة بيولوجيا الحساسة مثل المركبات المركبات والنكهات والزيوت الأساسية، مثل فانيليين، البوليفينول، أو المواد المضادة للاكسدة من النباتات.

مزايا استخراج الفانيليا بالموجات فوق الصوتية

  • متفوقة العائد
  • استخراج عالية السرعة – في غضون دقائق
  • مقتطفات جودة عالية – خفيفة وغير الحرارية
  • المذيبات الخضراء (مثل الماء/الإيثانول)
  • فعاله من حيث التكلفه
  • عملية سهلة وآمنة
  • انخفاض تكاليف الاستثمار والتشغيل
  • عملية على مدار الساعة في إطار الخدمة الشاقة
  • الأخضر، وطريقة صديقة للبيئة

استخراج الفانيليا بالموجات فوق الصوتية – في وضع التدفق المستمر أو الدفعي

UP400St المهتاج 8L إعداد الاستخراجالدفعه: يمكن تشغيل عمليات استخراج بالموجات فوق الصوتية كعمليات دفعة بسيطة أو كعلاج مضمن، حيث يتم تغذية المتوسط بشكل مستمر من خلال مفاعل تدفق بالموجات فوق الصوتية من خلال.
تجهيز دفعة هو إجراء سهل، حيث يتم تنفيذ الاستخراج الكثير من قبل الكثير. Hielscher الفوق صوتيات يقدم معالجات الموجات فوق الصوتية لدفعات صغيرة إلى كبيرة، أي 1L إلى 120L.
لمعالجة دفعات من 5 إلى 10L، نوصي UP400St (400W, الموافقة المسبقة عن علم. اليسار) مع سونوترودي S24d22L2D.
لمعالجة دفعات من 120L تقريبا، نوصي UIP2000hdT (2kW، الموافقة المسبقة عن علم العمود الأيمن في أعلى) مع سونوترودي RS4d40L4.

إعداد سونيكيشن دفعة 2كيلو لاستخراج مقتطفات العشبية

120L بالموجات فوق الصوتية دفعة استخراج النباتات مع UIP2000hdT والمحرض

طلب معلومات





تدفق من خلال: لكميات أكبر واستخراج تجاري كامل النطاق، يتم تغذية تيار السائل المستمر من خلال مفاعل بالموجات فوق الصوتية، حيث يتم sonicated الطين المذيبات / النباتية بشكل مكثف.
بالنسبة لحجم 8 لتر تقريبًا/دقيقة، نوصي بـ UIP4000hdT (4kW، الموافقة المسبقة عن علم. الحق) مع سونوترودي RS4d40L3 وقابل للضغط تدفق الخلية FC130L4-3G0

دراسة حالة استخراج الفانيليا بالموجات فوق الصوتية

جادهاف وآخرون (2009) مقارنة استخراج بمساعدة بالموجات فوق الصوتية (الإمارات العربية المتحدة) واستخراج سوكست. وأكد البحث أن استخراج الموجات فوق الصوتية يكثف الإفراج عن فانيليين بشكل كبير بالمقارنة مع استخراج سوكست. العلاج Soxhlet المطلوبة درجة حرارة التشغيل 95 درجة مئوية، المذيبات: نسبة الالمذاب 66.67ml/g ووقت استخراج 8hrs أسفرت عن الإفراج تقريبا. يتطلب استخراج بمساعدة الموجات فوق الصوتية (الإمارات العربية المتحدة) ساعة واحدة فقط لإطلاق 140 جزء في المليون تقريباً باستخدام نفس نسبة المذيب: الالمذاب في درجة حرارة الغرفة.
Rasoamandrary وآخرون (2013) مقارنة كفاءة استخراج فانلين باستخدام 100W مسبار من نوع ultrasonicator (على سبيل المثال. UP100H) ، وحمام بالموجات فوق الصوتية، وحمام الماء الساخن. وخلص الباحثون إلى أن الموجات فوق الصوتية من نوع التحقيق هو أداة استخراج قوية بسبب كثافة الموجات فوق الصوتية عالية. ولذلك، فإن ultrasonicator من نوع التحقيق تفوقت على أساليب الاستخراج البديلة من خلال إعطاء غلة مماثلة / أو أعلى من فانيليين المستخرجة في وقت استخراج أقصر بكثير وأقل المذيبات (أي الإيثانول) الاستهلاك.
المقارنة بين طرق الاستخراج الثلاث – الموجات فوق الصوتية التحقيق، حمام بالموجات فوق الصوتية، واستخراج حمام الماء الساخن – وأظهرت أن استخراج فانيليين كان أكثر كفاءة للمسبار سونيكيشن باستخدام 40٪ الإيثانول (v / v) في درجة حرارة المحيط من 30 درجة مئوية ووقت استخراج 1hr. يتطلب استخراج حمام الماء تركيز 50% من الإيثانول عند 56 درجة مئوية لمدة 15 ساعة.

UIP4000hdT 4kW معالج بالموجات فوق الصوتية قوية لاستخراج

UIP4000hdT – 4kW النازع بالموجات فوق الصوتية لعلاج مضمن ة.

معدات الموجات فوق الصوتية لاستخراج عالية الأداء

Hielscher الفوق صوتيات متخصصة في تصنيع معالجات الموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الأداء لإنتاج مقتطفات عالية الجودة من النباتات.
مجموعة منتجات Hielscher واسعة تتراوح من الصغيرة، أولتراناتور مختبر قوية إلى قوية مقاعد البدلاء أعلى والنظم الصناعية بالكامل، والتي توفر الموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الكثافة لاستخراج كفاءة وعزل المواد النشطة بيولوجيا (على سبيل المثال. الكه، الكافيين، الكركمين، تربين الخ). جميع أجهزة الموجات فوق الصوتية من 200واط إلى 16،000W ميزة شاشة ملونة للتحكم الرقمي، وبطاقة SD متكاملة لتسجيل البيانات التلقائي، والمتصفح التحكم عن بعد والعديد من الميزات أكثر سهولة الاستخدام. يمكن أن تكون الخلايا وتدفقات سونوتروديس (الأجزاء، التي هي على اتصال مع المتوسطة) الأوتوكلاف وسهلة التنظيف. بنيت جميع ultrasonicators لدينا لتشغيل 24/7، تتطلب صيانة منخفضة وسهلة وآمنة للعمل.
Colored touch display of the new hdT series of Hielscher's industrial ultrasonicatorsيسمح عرض الألوان الرقمية للتحكم سهلة الاستخدام من أوتراسوتراسوتور. أنظمتنا قادرة على التسليم من السعة المنخفضة إلى السعة العالية جدا. لاستخراج البوليفينول والمركبات الحيوية الأخرى مثل فانيليين، ونحن نقدم سونوتروديس بالموجات فوق الصوتية الخاصة (المعروف أيضا باسم تحقيقات الموجات فوق الصوتية أو قرون) التي هي الأمثل لعزل معقولة من المواد الفعالة عالية الجودة. قوة معدات الموجات فوق الصوتية Hielscher يسمح للتشغيل 24/7 في الثقيلة وفي البيئات الصعبة.
تضمن السيطرة الدقيقة على معلمات عملية الموجات فوق الصوتية إمكانية تكرار هات وتوحيد العملية.
الجدول أدناه يعطيك مؤشرا على قدرة المعالجة التقريبية لultrasonicators لدينا:

دفعة حجم معدل المد و الجزر الأجهزة الموصى بها
1 إلى 500ML 10 إلى 200ML / دقيقة UP100H
10 إلى 2000ML 20 إلى 400ML / دقيقة Uf200 ः ر، UP400St
00.1 إلى 20L 00.2 إلى 4L / دقيقة UIP2000hdT
10 إلى 100L 2 إلى 10L / دقيقة UIP4000hdT
زمالة المدمنين المجهولين 10 إلى 100L / دقيقة UIP16000
زمالة المدمنين المجهولين أكبر مجموعة من UIP16000

اتصل بنا! / اسألنا!

اطلب المزيد من المعلومات

يرجى استخدام النموذج أدناه، إذا كنت ترغب في طلب معلومات إضافية حول التجانس بالموجات فوق الصوتية. سنكون سعداء لنقدم لكم نظام الموجات فوق الصوتية تلبية الاحتياجات الخاصة بك.









يرجى ملاحظة لدينا سياسة الخصوصية.


Hielscher الفوق صوتيات بتصنيع عالية الأداء أوتراسوتكناتورس للتطبيقات سونوكيميائية.

معالجات بالموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الطاقة من مختبر إلى مقياس تجريبي وصناعي.

مراجع الادب

  • جادهاف D. وآخرون (2009): استخراج فانيليين من القرون الفانيليا: دراسة مقارنة من سوكست التقليدية والموجات فوق الصوتية ساعد استخراج. مجلة هندسة الأغذية 93, 2009: 421–426.
  • Rasoamandrary N. et al. et al. (2013): تحسين استخراج فانيليين 4-هيدروكسي-3-ميثوكسيبنزينلديهايد من حبوب الفانيليا المعالجة باستخدام استخراج بمساعدة الموجات فوق الصوتية: مقارنة باستخراج حمام الماء الساخن بمساعدة الموجات فوق الصوتية.


حقائق تستحق العلم

مبدأ العمل لاستخراج بالموجات فوق الصوتية

تطبيق الموجات فوق الصوتية مكثفة إلى نتائج متوسطة السائل في التجويف. ظاهرة التجويف يؤدي محليا إلى درجات الحرارة القصوى، والضغوط، ومعدلات التدفئة / التبريد، وفروق الضغط وقوى القص العالية في الوسط. عندما تنفجر فقاعات التجويف على سطح المواد الصلبة (مثل الجسيمات والخلايا النباتية والأنسجة وما إلى ذلك)، فإن الطائرات الصغيرة والاصطدام البيني تولد تأثيرات مثل تقشير السطح والتآكل وانهيار الجسيمات. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، فإن انفجار فقاعات التجويف في وسائل الإعلام السائلة خلق الاضطرابات الكلية وخلط الصغرى.

فقاعات التجويف يمكن أن تكون متباينة في فقاعات مستقرة وعابرة. (اضغط للتكبير!)

الشكل 1: إنشاء فقاعات التجويف مستقرة وعابرة.
(أ) النزوح، (ب) التجويف العابر، (ج) التجويف المستقر، (د) الضغط
[مقتبسة من سانتوس وآخرون 2009]

irraditation بالموجات فوق الصوتية من المواد النباتية شظايا مصفوفة الخلايا النباتية ويعزز ترطيب نفسه. Chemat et al (2015) يخلص إلى أن استخراج المركبات النشطة بيولوجيا ً بالموجات فوق الصوتية من النباتات هو نتيجة لآليات مستقلة أو مشتركة مختلفة بما في ذلك التجزؤ، والتآكل، والشعيرات الدموية، وفك التكسيتوري، وسونوبوريشن. هذه الآثار تعطل جدار الخلية، وتحسين نقل الشامل عن طريق دفع المذيبات في الخلية وامتصاص المذيبات محملة مجمع النباتية، وضمان حركة السائل عن طريق خلط الصغرى.

تستخدم المعطلات بالموجات فوق الصوتية لاستخراج من مصادر النباتية (على سبيل المثال النباتات والطحالب والفطريات)

استخراج بالموجات فوق الصوتية من الخلايا النباتية: المقطع المستعرض المجهري (TS) يظهر آلية الإجراءات خلال استخراج الموجات فوق الصوتية من الخلايا (التكبير 2000x) [المورد: Vilkhu وآخرون. 2011]

استخراج بالموجات فوق الصوتية يحقق عزل سريع جدا من المركبات – تفوق أساليب الاستخراج التقليدية في أقصر وقت العملية, ارتفاع العائد, وفي درجات حرارة أقل. كعلاج ميكانيكي معتدل، واستخراج بمساعدة الموجات فوق الصوتية يتجنب التدهور الحراري للمكونات النشطة بيولوجيا ويتفوق بالمقارنة مع تقنيات أخرى مثل استخراج المذيبات التقليدية، تقطير مائيأو سوكسليت استخراج، والتي من المعروف أن تدمير جزيئات حساسة للحرارة. نظرا لهذه المزايا، استخراج بالموجات فوق الصوتية هو الأسلوب المفضل لإطلاق المركبات النشطة بيولوجيا الحساسة لدرجة الحرارة من النباتات.

فانيلين

الفانيليا هي نكهة قيمة، والتي يمكن استخراجها من بساتين الفاكهة من جنس الفانيليا، في المقام الأول من الأنواع المكسيكية، الفانيليا ذات الأوراق المسطحة (V. planifolia). يتم العثور على مركبات النكهة الفريدة من السحلية الفانيليا في ثمارها، والتي تنتج عن تلقيح الزهرة. هذه القرون البذور هي تقريبا 1/3 X 6 بوصة، مع اللون البني الأحمر إلى الأسود عندما تنضج. داخل هذه القرون هو سائل زيتي كامل من البذور الصغيرة. وتستخدم كل من جراب والبذور لإنتاج فانيليين.
على الرغم من أن فانيليين هو مركب النكهة الأولية في نبات الفانيليا، يحتوي مستخلص الفانيليا النقي على عدة مئات من مركبات النكهة الإضافية، والتي تسهم في النكهة المعقدة والعميقة.
جوهر الفانيليا يحدث في شكلين، وهما جوهر الفانيلا الحقيقي من بذور الفانيليا وفانلين توليفها صناعيا. استخراج البذور الحقيقي هو خليط معقد من عدة مئات من المركبات المختلفة. مركب فانلين الكيميائي – 4-هيدروكسي-3-ميثوكسي بنزالديهايد – هو المساهم الرئيسي في نكهة مميزة ورائحة الفانيليا الحقيقية وهو عنصر نكهة الرئيسي من الفانيليا الشفاء. وإلى جانب فانيليين، قد المركبات الكيميائية الأخرى مثل الأسيتالديهيد، حمض الخليك، الفورفورال، حمض الهكسانويك، 4-هيدروكسي بنزالديهايد، الأوجينول، والقرفة الميثيل، وحمض الأيزوبوتيريك تسهم في رائحة الفانيليا المعقدة.

أصناف الفانيليا

يتم إنتاج الفانيليا بوربون أو بوربون مدغشقر الفانيليا من النباتات V. planifolia، التي تنمو في جزر المحيط الهندي مثل مدغشقر وجزر القمر، وريونيون، التي كانت تسمى سابقا إيل بوربون. العبارة “بوربون الفانيليا” كما يصف رائحة الفانيليا المميزة المستمدة من V. planifolia.
يتم إنتاج الفانيليا المكسيكية، المستخرجة من الأصلي V. planifolia، بكميات أقل بكثير. ومن المعروف الفانيليا المكسيكية وتسويقها كما الفانيليا من أرض أصلها، منذ مصنع V. planifolia هو أصلي إلى أمريكا الوسطى.
الفانيليا التاهيتي يأتي من بولينيزيا الفرنسية، التي تنتج من مصنع V. تاهيتيينينسيس. التحليل الوراثي يظهر هذا النوع هو ربما صنف من هجين من V. planifolia و V. odorata.
غرب الهند الفانيليا مصنوعة من ف. بومبونا، التي تزرع في منطقة البحر الكاريبي وأمريكا الوسطى والجنوبية.

Hielscher Ultrasound Technology

Ultrasonic Vanilla Extraction – A Non-Thermal Method

  • Vanilla extract is a flavour solution extractes from vanilla pods in a solution of ethanol and water.
  • To produce high-quality vanillin as aroma, flavour and fragrance component, an efficient, yet mild extraction technique is required to prevent decomposition.
  • Ultrasonic extraction is a mild mechanical extraction method, which gives high yields of vanillin in a very short extraction time.

High-Performance Ultrasonics for High-Quality Vanillin Extracts

As the second-most expensive spice after saffron, vanilla production requires an efficient extraction method, which prevents the degradation of the valuable essential oils. Ultrasonic extraction is well-known and established as a mild, non-thermal, yet highly efficient method to release bioactive compounds from plant material. Ultrasonic extraction is based on the phenomenon of acoustic cavitation, which is a purely mechanical treatment. This makes sonication the preferred method for the isolation of sensitive bioactive compounds such as flavours compounds and essential oils, e.g. vanillin, polyphenols, or antioxidants from botanicals.

Advantages of Ultrasonic Vanilla Extraction

  • Superior yield
  • High-speed extraction – within minutes
  • High quality extracts – mild, non-thermal
  • Green solvents (e.g. water/ethanol)
  • Cost-effective
  • Easy and safe operation
  • Low investment and operational costs
  • 24/7 operation under heavy-duty
  • Green, eco-friendly method

Ultrasonic Vanilla Extraction – in Batch or Continuous Flow Mode

UP400St agitated 8L extraction setupBatch: Ultrasonic extraction processes can be operated as simple batch processes or as inline treatment, where the medium is continuously fed through an ultrasonic flow-through reactor.
Batch processing is an easy procedure, where the extraction is performed lot by lot. Hielscher Ultrasonics offers ultrasonic processors for small to large batches, i.e. 1L to 120L.
For processing batches of 5 to 10L, we recommend the UP400ST (400W, pic. left) with sonotrode S24d22L2D.
For processing batches of approx. 120L, we recommend the UIP2000hdT (2kW, pic. right column at top) with sonotrode RS4d40L4.

2kW batch sonication setup for the extraction of herbal extracts

120L Ultrasonic Batch Extraction of Botanicals with UIP2000hdT and Agitator

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


Flow-through: For larger volumes and full-scale commercial extraction, a continuous liquid stream is fed through an ultrasonic reactor, where the solvent/botanical slurry is intensely sonicated.
For a volume of approx. 8L/min., we recommend the UIP4000hdT (4kW, pic. right) with sonotrode RS4d40L3 and pressurizable flow-cell FC130L4-3G0

Case Study of Ultrasonic Vanilla Extraction

Jadhav et al. (2009) compared ultrasonically-assisted extraction (UAE) and Soxhlet extraction. The research confirmed that ultrasonic extraction intensifies the release of vanillin significantly when compared with Soxhlet extraction. The Soxhlet treatment required operating temperature of 95°C, solvent:solute ratio of 66.67ml/g and a extraction time of 8hrs resulted in release approx. 180ppm vanillin. Ultrasound-assisted extraction (UAE) required only 1hr to release approx. 140ppm vanillin using the same solvent:solute ratio at room temperature.
Rasoamandrary et al. (2013) compared the efficiency of vanillin extraction using a 100W probe-type ultrasonicator (e.g. UP100H), an ultrasonic bath, and a hot water bath. The researchers concluded that the probe-type ultrasonicator is a powerful extraction tool due to its high intensity ultrasonic. Therefore, the probe-type ultrasonicator outperformed the alternative extraction methods by giving similar/or higher yields of vanillin extracted in a significantly shorter extraction time and less solvent (i.e. ethanol) consumption.
The comparison of the three extraction methods – ultrasonic probe, ultrasonic bath, hot water bath extraction – showed that vanillin extraction was most efficiently for probe-sonication using 40% ethanol (v/v) at ambient temperature of 30°C and an extraction time of 1hr. The water bath extraction required a 50% ethanol (v/v) concentration at 56°C for 15hrs.

UIP4000hdT 4kW powerful ultrasonic processor for extraction

UIP4000hdT – 4kW ultrasonic extractor for continuous inline treatment.

Ultrasonic Equipment for High Performance Extraction

Hielscher Ultrasonics is specialized in manufacturing high-performance ultrasonic processors for the production of high-quality extracts from botanicals.
Hielscher’s broad product portfolio ranges from small, powerful lab ultrasonicators to robust bench-top and fully industrial systems, which deliver high intensity ultrasound for the efficient extraction and isolation of bioactive substances (e.g. quercetin, caffeine, curcumin, terpenes etc.). All ultrasonic devices from 200W to 16,000W feature a coloured display for digital control, an integrated SD card for automatic data recording, browser remote control and many more user-friendly features. The sonotrodes and flow cells (the parts, which are in contact with the medium) can be autoclaved and are easy to clean. All our ultrasonicators are built for 24/7 operation, require low maintenance and are easy and safe to operate.
Colored touch display of the new hdT series of Hielscher's industrial ultrasonicatorsA digital colour display allows for a user-friendly control of the ultrasonicator. Our systems are capable to deliver from low up to very high amplitudes. For the extraction of polyphenols and other bioactive compounds such as vanillin, we offer special ultrasonic sonotrodes (also known as ultrasonic probes or horns) that are optimized for the sensible isolation of high-quality active substances. The robustness of Hielscher’s ultrasonic equipment allows for 24/7 operation at heavy duty and in demanding environments.
The precise control of the ultrasonic process parameters ensures reproducibility and process standardization.
The table below gives you an indication of the approximate processing capacity of our ultrasonicators:

Batch Volume Flow Rate Recommended Devices
1 to 500mL 10 to 200mL/min UP100H
10 to 2000mL 20 to 400mL/min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 to 20L 0.2 to 4L/min UIP2000hdT
10 to 100L 2 to 10L/min UIP4000hdT
n.a. 10 to 100L/min UIP16000
n.a. larger cluster of UIP16000

Contact Us! / Ask Us!

Ask for more information

Please use the form below, if you wish to request additional information about ultrasonic homogenization. We will be glad to offer you an ultrasonic system meeting your requirements.









Please note our privacy policy.


Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonicators for sonochemical applications.

High-power ultrasonic processors from lab to pilot and industrial scale.

Literature/References

  • Jadhav D. et al. (2009): Extraction of vanillin from vanilla pods: A comparison study of conventional soxhlet and ultrasound assisted extraction. Journal of Food Engineering 93, 2009: 421–426.
  • Rasoamandrary N. et al. (2013): Improved Extraction of Vanillin 4-Hydroxy-3-methoxybenzaldehyde from Cured Vanilla Beans Using Ultrasound-Assisted Extraction: A Comparison of Ultrasound-Assisted and Hot Water Bath Extraction.


Facts Worth Knowing

The Working Principle of Ultrasonic Extraction

The application of intense ultrasound waves to a liquid medium results in cavitation. The phenomenon of cavitation leads locally to extreme temperatures, pressures, heating/cooling rates, pressure differentials and high shear forces in the medium. When cavitation bubbles implode on the surface of solids (such as particles, plant cells, tissues etc.), micro-jets and interparticlular collision generate effects such as surface peeling, erosion and particle breakdown. Additionally, the implosion of cavitation bubbles in liquid media create macro-turbulences and micro-mixing.

Cavitation bubbles can be differentiated in stable and transient bubbles. (Click to enlarge!)

Fig. 1: Creation of stable and transient cavitation bubbles.
(a) displacement, (b) transient cavitation, (c) stable cavitation, (d) pressure
[adapted from Santos et al. 2009]

Ultrasonic irraditation of plant material fragments the matrix of plant cells and enhances the hydration of the same. Chemat et al (2015) conclude that ultrasonic extraction of bioactive compounds from botanicals is the result of different independent or combined mechanisms including fragmentation, erosion, capillarity, detexturation, and sonoporation. These effects disrupt the cell wall, improve mass transfer by pushing solvent into the cell and sucking phyto-compound loaded solvent out, and ensure liquid movement by micro-mixing.

Ultrasonic disruptors are used for extractions from phyto sources (e.g. plants, algae, fungi)

Ultrasonic extraction from plant cells: the microscopic transverse section (TS) shows the mechanism of actions during ultrasonic extraction from cells (magnification 2000x) [resource: Vilkhu et al. 2011]

Ultrasonic extraction achieves a very rapid isolation of compounds – outperforming conventional extraction methods in shorter process time, higher yield, and at lower temperatures. As a mild mechanical treatment, ultrasound-assisted extraction avoids the thermal degradation of bioactive components and excels in comparison with other techniques such as conventional solvent extraction, hydrodistillation, or Soxhlet extraction, which are known to destruct heat-sensitive molecules. Due to these advantages, ultrasonic extraction is the preferred technique for the release of temperature-sensitive bioactive compounds from botanicals.

Vanillin

Vanilla is a valued flavour, which can be extracted from orchids of the genus Vanilla, primarily from the Mexican species, flat-leaved vanilla (V. planifolia). The uniquely flavored compounds of the vanilla orchid are found in its fruit, which results from the pollination of the flower. These seed pods are roughly a 1/3 x 6 inches, with a brownish red to black color when ripe. Inside of these pods is an oily liquid full of tiny seeds. Both the pod and the seeds are used for the production of vanillin.
Although vanillin is the primary flavour compound in the vanilla plant, pure vanilla extract contains several hundred additional flavor compounds, which contribute to its complex, deep flavor.
Vanilla essence occurs in two forms, namely real vanillin essence from the vanilla seedpod and industrially synthesized vanillin. Real seedpod extract is a complex mixture of several hundred different compounds. The chemical compound vanillin – 4-hydroxy-3-methoxybenzaldehyde – is the major contributor to the characteristic flavor and aroma of real vanilla and is the main flavor component of cured vanilla beans. Besides vanillin, may other chemical compounds such as acetaldehyde, acetic acid, furfural, hexanoic acid, 4-hydroxybenzaldehyde, eugenol, methyl cinnamate, and isobutyric acid contribute to vanilla’s complex aroma.

Vanilla Cultivars

Bourbon vanilla or Bourbon-Madagascar vanilla is produced from V. planifolia plants, which grow on Indian Ocean islands such as Madagascar, the Comoros, and Réunion, formerly named the Île Bourbon. The term “Bourbon vanilla” describes also the distinctive vanilla aroma derived from V. planifolia.
Mexican vanilla, extracted from the native V. planifolia, is produced in much lower quantities. Mexican vanilla is known and marketed as vanilla from the land of its origin, since the V. planifolia plant is native to Mesoamerica.
Tahitian vanilla comes from French Polynesia, produced from the V. tahitiensis plant. Genetic analysis shows this species is possibly a cultivar from a hybrid of V. planifolia and V. odorata.
West Indian vanilla is made from V. pompona, which is grown in the Caribbean and Central and South America.