Hielscher – Ultraschall-Technologie

Ultraschall-Extraktion von Koffein und anderen aktiven Wirkstoffen

Ultraschall ist eine effektive Methode, um Koffein und andere aktive Verbindungen aus Kaffee zu extrahieren. Leistungsstarke Ultraschallgeräte unterstützen den Extraktionsprozess, wodurch der Ertrag maximiert und die Verarbeitungszeit reduziert werden.
Kaffee – aus gerösteten Kaffeebohnen gebrüht – ist eines der beliebtesten Getränke, das weltweit konsumiert wird. Aufgrund seiner vitalisierenden Wirkung wird Kaffee vor allem als stimulierendes Getränk genossen, aber Kaffee und seine Inhaltsstoffe sind auch für die Lebensmittel verarbeitende, die pharmazeutische (z.B. für Schmerzmittel) und die kosmetische Industrie von großem Interesse, da sie als wertvolle Zusatzstoffe in verschiedenen Produkten verwendet werden. Dies gilt insbesondere für das Koffein (1,3,7-Trimethylxanthine) und die Antioxidantien, welche für ihre positiven Auswirkungen auf die Gesundheit bekannt sind. Kaffee enthält unter anderem phenolische Diterpene, wie z.B. Cafestol und Kahweol, und Ascorbinsäure, welche für ihre antioxidative Wirkung bekannt sind. Epidemiologische Studien zeigen, dass Inhaltsstoffe der Kaffeebohne eine präventive Wirkung auf verschiedene chronische Krankheiten, einschließlich Diabetes Mellitus Typ-2, Alzheimer Krankheit, Morbus Parkinson und Lebererkrankungen wie Leberzirrhose und hepatozelluläres Karzinom, haben können.
Ultraschall wird als zuverlässiges Verfahren für viele verschiedene Anwendungen in den unterschiedlichsten Branchen eingesetzt. Eine sehr bewährter Anwendungsbereich ist die Ultraschall- Extraktion. Ultraschallkavitation verursacht je nach Ultraschallintensität die teilweise bzw. vollständige Zerstörung der Zelle und die Freisetzung des intrazellulären Materials.
Durch Beschallung, Koffein und anderen Kaffee Verbindungen können sehr effizient extrahiert.

Strukturformel von Koffein

Hochleistungs-Ultraschall

Um die ultraschall-assistierte Extraktion zu verstehen, muss man die Wirkung von Ultraschall in Flüssigkeiten kennen.
Ultraschall – in Flüssigkeiten eingetragen – resultiert in lokal extremen Effekten. Wenn Flüssigkeiten bei hohen Intensitäten beschallt werden, erzeugen die Schallwellen, die sich im flüssigen Medium ausbreiten, alternierende Hochdruck- (Kompressions-) und Niederdruck- (Rarefaktions-) Zyklen, deren Zyklenrate von der Frequenz bestimmt wird. Während des Niederdruckzyklusses erzeugen hochintensive Ultraschallwellen kleine Vakuumblasen bzw. Hohlräume in der Flüssigkeit. Diese Kaviationsblasen werden während mehrerer Niederdruckphasen größer. Wenn die Blasen eine Größe erreichen, mit der sie keine zusätzliche Energie absorbieren können, implodieren sie während eines Hochdruckzyklusses. Dieses Phänomen nennt man Kavitation. Während der Implosion werden lokal sehr hohe Temperaturen (ca. 5000K) und Drück (ca. 2000atm) erreicht. Die Implosion der Kavitationsblasen erzeugt zudem Flüssigkeits-Jets mit Geschwindigkeiten bis zu 280 m/s . (Suslick 1998) Durch diese extremen Kräfte treten Effekte wie die Sonolyse, die Zerstörung von Zellmembranen und die Extraktion intrazellulären Material auf.

Ultraschall Kavitation auf dem Horn des UIP1500hd erzeugt - ein 1,5 kW Ultraschallgerätes. Zur besseren Sichtbarkeit hat die Flüssigkeit wurde mit blauem Licht, das von der Unterseite der Glassäule beleuchtet.

Ultraschallkavitation in Flüssigkeit

Im Vergleich zu konventionellen Extraktionstechniken ist die ultraschallgestützte Extraktion ist eine einfache, effiziente und kostengünstige Methode. Zu den wichtigsten Vorteile des Ultraschalleinsatzes in der Fest–Flüssig-Extraktion zählen die Steigerung der Extraktionsausbeute sowie der schnellere Massetransfer. Die Ultraschallextraktion ist eine häufig anwendete Technik für die Extraktion von Pflanzenmaterial in Lösungsmitteln. Es ist erwiesen, dass Ultraschall im Vergleich zu traditionellen Methoden für eine schnellere und vollständigere Extraktion liefert, da die Transferfläche zwischen der festen und flüssigen Phase aufgrund des effizienten Zellaufschlusses und der feinen Partikeldispersion deutlich größer ist.
Die Ultraschallextraktion kann auch bei gensenkten Prozesstemperaturen durchgeführt werden, so dass die Extraktion temperaturempfindlicher Komponenten problemlosmöglich ist. Im Vergleich mit anderen neuartigen Extraktionstechniken wie z.B. der Mikrowellenextraktion, sind Ultraschallgeräte kostengünstiger und einfacher handzuhaben. Darüber hinaus kann die ultraschallgestützte Extraktion auch mit Lösungsmitteln, z.B. der Soxhlet-Extraktion, kombiniert werden, wodurch zahlreiche Naturstoffe extrahiert werden können. [Wang Et Al. 2006] Explosionssichere Ultraschallsysteme sind für Installationen im Technikum und in der Industrie verfügbar.
Der grundlegende Vorteil des Ultraschallverfahrens gegenüber anderen Methoden ist die vollständige Kontrolle der wichtigsten Parameter: Amplitude, Zeit, Temperatur, Druck und Konzentration/ Viskosität. Dadurch kann der Extraktionsprozess optimiert und somit sichergestellt werden, dass die Struktur der Extrakte nicht beschädigt wird.

Ultraschallextraktion von Wirkstoffen aus Kaffee

Die ultraschall-gestützte Extraktion ist eine gängige Methode, um bioaktive Substanzen aus Pflanzenmaterial zu isolieren. [Dong et al. 2010] Koffein und die antioxidativen Phenolverbindungen sind wohl die wertvollsten Extrakte aus Kaffee, da diese sowohl in der Pharma- als auch in der Lebensmittelindustrie Verwendung finden. Aber auch Flavonoide, Chlorogensäure und Protocatechusäure sind Auszüge, welche häufig als Zusatzstoffe genutzt werden.
Bei traditionellen Extraktionsmethoden wie der Flüssig-Flüssig-Extraktion in Lösungsmitteln steigt der Extraktionsertrag nrmalerweise mit zunehmender Extraktionstemperatur. Dadurch werden jedoch die Extrakte beschädigt und verlieren an Qualität, da erhöhte Temperaturen die Stabilität der Phenolverbindungen negativ beeinflussen.
Die Sono-Extraktion ist ein nicht-thermisches, mildes Extraktionsverfahren. Die ultraschall-gestützte Fest-Flüssig-Extraktion hat sich als effektives und zeitsparendes Extraktions-Verfahren gezeigt. Die intensiven Ultraschallkräfte bieten die notwendige Energie für die Extraktion, so dass weniger oder sogar gar keine Lösungsmittel benötigt werden. Auch die Prozesstemperatur kann geregelt werden, da der Beschallungs-Batch bzw. Ultraschall-Durchflussreaktor aktiv gekühlt (oder bei Bedarf auch beheizt) werden können. Für Extraktionsprozesse mit Lösungsmitteln bietet Hielscher Ultrasonics auch explosionsgeschützte Ultraschallsysteme, die ATEX- bzw. FM-zertifiziert sind.
Aufgrund der hohen Extraktionskräfte von Ultraschall ist auch der bereits verbrauchte Kaffeesatz (Kaffeeabfälle) immer noch ein Rohstoff, der reich an extrahierbaren Verbindungen ist. Da Kaffeeabfall billig und in großen Mengen verfügbar ist, ist er ein idealer Rohstoff für die Extraktion der verbleibenden Wirkstoffe. Obwohl der Gehalt an Koffein und anderen Komponenten in Kaffeeabfall geringer ist als in nicht verwendetem Kaffeepulver, verbleibt immer noch eine große Menge und ist extrahierbar. Um diese Verbindungen aus dem Kaffeesatz freizusetzen, wird der volle Einfluss auf die Verarbeitungsparameter besonders signifikant. Hochleistungs-Ultraschall ist in der Lage, hohe Wirkstoffmengen in kurzer Verarbeitungszeit zu extrahieren.

Ultraschall ist eine erfolgreiche Technik Wirkstoffe, Aromen und andere intrazellulären Komponenten aus pflanzlichen Zellen zu extrahieren.

Ultraschall-Inlineprozessor UIP1500hd

Koffein-Extraktion

Koffein ist das am häufigsten konsumierte Genussmittel mit aufputschender Wirkung. Koffein wird nicht nur als Kaffee in gebrühter Form getrunken. Häufig wird Koffeinextrakt auch anderen Produkten als Zusatzstoff beigemengt. Dadurch ist es möglich, stärkere Kaffeegetränke oder Softdrinks (z.B. Cola), Energy-Drinks oder andere Nahrungmittel (z.B. Schokolade, Bonbons) zu formulieren.
Aber Koffein dient nicht nur als Zusatzstoff in der Lebensmittel produktion, es ist auch eine wichtige aktive Verbindung für Arzneimittel. So werden Koffein-Extrakte beispielsweise Medikamenten gegen Kopfschmerzen und Migräne sowie auch Schmerzmitteln zugesetzt.
Dass Ultraschall eine geeignete Methode für das Extrahieren von Koffein, dem wichtigsten Alkaloid in Kaffee, ist, wurde mehrfach bewiesen. Wang und seine Kollegen [Wang et al. 2011] haben festgestellt, dass mit ultraschall schon eine sehr kurze Extraktionszeit ausreichend ist, um einen gesättigten Zustand zu erreichen. Dies belegt, dass Ultraschall eine sehr effiziente und zeitsparende Technik der Koffeingewinnung ist.

Geschmackstoffe und aromatischen Verbindungen

Die flüchtigen Kaffeekomponenten sind die wertvollsten Bestandteile der gerösteten Kaffeebohne und vermitteln Kaffee seinen einzigartigen Geschmack und Duft. Die Qualität von löslichem Kaffeepulver (Instant-Kaffee) kann durch die Zugabe von aromatischen Kaffeeölen erheblich verbessert werden.
In einer vergleichenden Studie zur Gewinnung von Phenolverbindungen aus Erdbeeren konnte gezeigt werden, dass bei einer ultraschall-gestützten Extraktion die Phenole weniger beschädigt und zersetzt werden und zudem die Ultraschallextraktion im Vergleich zu anderen Verfahren, wie beispielsweise der Fest-Flüssig-Extraktion, der subkritischen Wasserextraktion und der Mikrowellenextraktion, deutlich schneller abläuft. [Herrera et al. 2005]
Auch die Studie von Wang und seine Kollegen [Wang et al. 2011] zeigt, dass Niederfrequenz-Hochleistungs-Ultraschall bei der Gewinnung von Kaffeearomen effizienter ist. Wang et al. haben die Extraktion von 4-Tridecanone und 2-Methoxy-3-Methylpyrazine untersucht und fanden heraus, dass die Ultraschallextraktion eine einfache und effiziente Technik ist, mittels der sehr hohe Extraktionerträge erzielt werden konnten. Darüber hinaus wurde gezeigt, dass es wichtig ist, die Prozesstemperatur zu kontrollieren, da Kaffeearomakomponenten bei hohen Temperaturen sehr volatil sind. Die Forscher erzielten mit Ultraschall gute Extraktionsergebnisse im Temperaturbereich zwischen 35 - 65°C bei einer relativ kurzen Beschallungsdauer.

Tee-Extraktion

Die Ergebnisse von ultraschallgestützte Extraktion erreicht sind auch geeignet für die Extraktion von Tee-Verbindungen (z.B. grünen Teeblättern). Eine Studie von Xia et al. zeigte Teeaufgüssen behandelt als bei ultraschall durch solche mit einem deutlich höheren Gehalt an Tee-Polyphenole, Aminosäure und Koffein in konventioneller Extraktion gewonnen. Dies führt zu verbesserten Ergebnissen bei einer organoleptischen Bewertung, dass ich herausgestellt: die sensorische Qualität der Teeinfusion mit Ultraschall-unterstützte Extraktion als die mit herkömmlicher Extraktion von Teeinfusion besser war. [Xia et al. 2005]

Hielscher's ultrasonicators, e.g. UP200S (in the picture), are very successful for extraction of intra-cellular matter.

Ultraschall-Extraktion aus Kräutern

Fazit

Die Ultraschall- Extraktion ist eine effiziente, zeitsparende und kontrollierbare Methode der Gewinnung von Wirkstoffen aus Kaffee und anderen Pflanzen. Die interessantesten und besonders wertvollen Verbindungen sind Koffein und Antioxidantien sowie phenolische Diterpene (Cafestol, Kahweol) und Ascorbinsäure. Die wichtigsten Vorteile der Ultraschall-Extraktion basieren auf dem nicht-thermischen Verfahren sowie der vollständigen Kontrolle über die Ultraschallprozessparameter.

Literatur

  • Cao, Chuanhai; Wang, Li; Lin, Xiaoyang; Mamcarz, Malgorzata; Zhang, Chi; Bai, Ge; Nong, Jasson; Sussman, Sam; Arendash, Gary (2011): Caffeine Synergizes with Another Coffee Component to Increase Plasma GCSF: Linkage to Cognitive Benefits in Alzheimer’s Mice. Journal of Alzheimer’s Disease 25/2, 2011. 323-335.
  • Dong, Juane; Liu, Yuanbai; Liang, Zongsuo; Wang, Weiling (2010): Investigation on ultrasound-assisted extraction of salvianolic acid B from Salvia miltiorrhiza root. Ultrasonics Sonochemistry 17/1, 2010. 61-65.
  • Herrera, M.C.; Luque de Castro, M.D. (2005): Ultrasound-assisted extraction of phenolic compounds from strawberries prior to liquid chromatographic separation and photodiode array ultraviolet detection. Journal of Chromatoraphy A, 1100, 2005. 1-7.
  • Higdon, Jane V.; Frei, Balz (2006): Coffee and Health: A Review of Recent Human Research. Critical Reviews in Food Science and Nutrition, 46/2, 2006. 101-123.
  • Mussato, Solange I.; Ballesteros, Lina F.; Martins, Silvia; Teixeira, José A (2011): Extraction of antioxidant phenolic compounds from spent coffee grounds. Separation and Purification Technology 83/ 2011. 173-179.
  • Sheu, Shane-Rong; Wang, Cheng-Chi; Chang, Sheng-Yu; Yang, Li-Chen, Jang, Ming-Jyi; Cheng, Po-Jen (2009): Influence of Extraction Manufacturing Process on Caffeine Concentration. In: Proceedings of the International MultiConference of Engineers and Computer Scientists 2009 Vol II, IMECS 2009, March 18 – 20, 2009, Hong Kong.
  • Suslick, K.S.: Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology. 4th ed. J. Wiley & Sons: New York; 26, 1998. 517-541.
  • Wang, Cheng-Chi; Sheu, Shane-Rong; Chou, Ya-Yen; Jang, Ming-Jyi; Yang, Li-Chen (2011): A novel optimized energy-saving extraction process on coffee. Thermal Science 15/1, 2011. 53-59.
  • Wang, Lijun; Weller, Curtis L. (2006): Recent advances in extraction of nutraceuticals from plants. Trends in Food Science & Technology 17, 2006. 300-312.
  • Xia, Tao; Shi, Siquan; Wan, Xiaochun (2006): Impact of ultrasonic-assisted extraction on the chemical and sensory quality of tea infusion. Journal of Food Engineering 74/4, 2006. 557-560.

Kontakt/ Weitere Informationen

Sprechen Sie mit uns über Ihren Prozess! Gerne empfehlen wir Ihnen das geeignete Equipment und die richtigen Prozessparameter für Ihr Projekt.





Bitte beachten Sie unsere Datenschutzerklärung.

Hielscher – Ultrasound Technology

Ultrasonic Extraction of Caffeine and Other Active Compounds

Using ultrasonics is an effective method for the extraction of caffeine and other active compounds from coffee. Powerful ultrasonic devices assist the extraction process whilst maximizing yield and shortening processing time.
Coffee – made from roasted coffee beans – is a very popular drink that is worldwide consumed. Besides to its vitalizing impact if consumed as a stimulant drink, the compounds of coffee are of interest for the food, pharmaceutical (e.g. in pain relievers) and cosmetic industry as used as valuable additives in various products. This applies especially for the caffeine (1,3,7-trimethylxanthine) and the antioxidants, which are known for their positive effects on the human health. Coffee contains, amongst others, phenolic diterpenes such as cafestol and kahweol, and ascorbic acids, which are known for their antioxidative activity. Epidemiological studies suggest that coffee’s ingredients may have a preventive effect on several chronic diseases, including type 2 diabetes mellitus, Alzheimer’s disease, Parkinson’s disease, and liver diseases such as cirrhosis and hepatocellular carcinoma.
Ultrasonics is a well known and proven tool for many different applications in various industries. A very successful application is the ultrasonic extraction. Thereby, the ultrasonic cavitation effects on the cell material causing cell disruption and the release of the intracellular matter.
By sonication, caffeine and other coffee compounds can be very efficiently extracted.

Chemical structure of caffeine

High Power Ultrasound

To ensure a more easy understanding of the ultrasound assisted extraction procedure, the effect of ultrasound in liquids must be explained.
Ultrasound – introduced in liquids – causes locally very extreme effects. When sonicating liquids at high intensities, the sound waves that propagate into the liquid media result in alternating high-pressure (compression) and low-pressure (rarefaction) cycles, with rates depending on the frequency. During the low-pressure cycle, high-intensity ultrasonic waves create small vacuum bubbles or voids in the liquid. When the bubbles attain a volume at which they can no longer absorb energy, they collapse violently during a high-pressure cycle. This phenomenon is termed cavitation. During the implosion very high temperatures (approx. 5,000K) and pressures (approx. 2,000atm) are reached locally. The implosion of the cavitation bubble also results in liquid jets of up to 280m/s velocity. [Suslick 1998] By these extreme forces sonolysis occurs, cell walls are disrupted, and intracellular material is extracted.

Ultrasonically cavitation generated on the horn of the UIP1500hd - a 1.5kW ultrasonic device. For better visibility, the liquid has been illuminated with blue light from the bottom of the glass column.

Ultrasonic cavitation in liquid

The ultrasonically assisted extraction is an inexpensive, simple and efficient alternative compared to conventional extraction techniques. The main advantages of ultrasound in solid–liquid extraction include the increase of extraction yield and faster kinetics. Ultrasonic extraction is a frequently used technique for the extraction of plant materials using liquid solvents and is proven for a fast and more complete extraction process in comparison with traditional methods because the surface area between the solid and liquid phase is significantly larger due to the cell disruption and particle dispersion.
By the use of sonication also the operating temperature can be reduced, allowing the extraction of temperature-sensitive components. Compared with other novel extraction techniques such as microwave-assisted extraction, the ultrasound apparatus is cheaper and its operation is easier. Furthermore, the ultrasonically assisted extraction can be used with any solvent, such as the Soxhlet extraction, for extracting a wide variety of natural compounds. [Wang et al. 2006] If necessary, explosion-proof systems for industrial process capacities are available.
A substantial advantage of ultrasonics is the influence on the most important processing parameters: amplitude, time, temperature, pressure, and viscosity. Thereby, the extraction process can be optimized to ensure that the structure of the extracts does not become damaged.

Ultrasonic Extraction of Coffee Compounds

Ultrasound-assisted extraction is a common method utilized to isolate bioactive substances from plant material [Dong et al. 2010]. Regarding coffee beans, the caffeine and antioxidant phenolic compounds might be the most valuable compounds for extraction due to their wide applications in pharma and food industry. But also flavonoids, chlorogenic acid and protocatechuic acid are extracts which are used as additives.
Using traditional extraction methods such as the liquid-liquid extraction in solvents, generally the extraction efficiency increases with increasing extraction temperatures. This causes often damages and quality loss of the extract as temperature affects the stability of the phenolic compounds.
The ultrasound-assisted solid-liquid extraction has been shown as an effective and time-saving extraction method. The highly powerful ultrasonic forces provide the necessary energy for the extraction, so that less or even none solvents are needed. The temperature can be well controlled as the sonicated batch or flow cell reactor can be efficiently cooled (or heated if necessary). For the extraction processes with solvents, Hielscher Ultrasonics provides ATEX and FM certified explosion-proof ultrasonic systems, too.
Due to the intense extraction forces of ultrasound, also the already spent coffee ground (coffee waste) is still a raw material rich in extractable compounds. As coffee waste material is cheap and available in large amount, it is an ideal raw material for the extraction of the remaining active compounds. Although the content of caffeine and other components in coffee waste is lower than in unused coffee powder, still a large amount remains and is extractable. To release these compounds from the coffee ground, the full influence on the processing parameters becomes especially significant. High-power ultrasound is able to extract high amounts of active compound within a short processing time.

Ultrasonication is a successful technique to extract active compounds, flavours and other intracellular components from vegetable cells.

Ultrasonic inline processor UIP1500hd

Caffeine extraction

Caffeine can be claimed the most commonly consumed stimulant. As caffeine is not only consumed by drinking brewed coffee, caffeine extract is used in the industry to treat other product with caffeine as additive. Thereby it becomes possible to create stronger coffee or to formulate soft drinks (e.g. cola), energy drinks or other food (e.g. chocolate).
But caffeine is not only used as additive in the food production, it is an important active compound in pharmaceuticals as well. A common application of caffeine extract is e.g. the admixture in drugs for headache and migraine or in pain relievers.
To extract caffeine, the main alkaloid in coffee, ultrasonication is a suitable method. Wang and his colleagues [Wang et al. 2011] found that only a short extraction time is needed to reach a saturated state, if ultrasonication is used. This means that ultrasound a very efficient and time saving technique for gaining caffeine.

Aromatic and flavour compounds

The volatile coffee compounds are the most valuable fraction of the roasted coffee bean and imparts coffee its unique flavour and fragrance. The quality of soluble coffee can be substantially improved by the addition of aroma-absorbed coffee oils to the coffee powder.
A comparison study, examinating the extraction of phenolic compounds from strawberries, showed that ultrasonic extraction causes less degradation of phenolics and is a much faster extraction process compared with other extraction methods including solid-liquid, subcritical water and microwave-assisted method. [Herrera et al. 2005]
The study of Wang and his colleagues [Wang et al. 2011] shows that low frequency, high power ultrasound is more efficient for the extraction of coffee flavours. Especially for 4-Tridecanone and 2-Methoxy-3-Methylpyrazine, they found the ultrasonic extraction more easy and efficient technique obtaining very high extraction yields. Further, it is shown that the temperature must be controlled as coffee flavor components are very volatile at high temperatures. They achieved good extraction results in the temperature range between 35~65 °C under relatively short-time ultrasonic irradiation.

Tea extraction

The results achieved by ultrasonically assisted extraction are also suitable for the extraction of tea compounds (e.g. green tea leafs). A study by Xia et al. showed a significantly higher content of tea polyphenols, amino acid and caffeine in ultrasonically treated tea infusions than in those obtained by conventional extraction. This results in improved results during an organoleptic evaluation that turned out: the sensory quality of tea infusion with ultrasonic-assisted extraction was better than that of tea infusion with conventional extraction. [Xia et al. 2005]

Hielscher's ultrasonicators, e.g. UP200S (in the picture), are very successful for extraction of intra-cellular matter.

Ultrasonic extraction from herbs

Conclusion

The ultrasonically assisted extraction is an efficient, time-saving and controllable method for the extraction of active compounds from coffee. The most interesting and valuable compounds are caffeine, and the antioxidants such as phenolic diterpenes (cafestol, kahweol), and ascorbic acids. The main advantages of the ultrasound-assisted extraction are based on the influence and control over the ultrasonic extraction parameters.

Literature/References

  • Cao, Chuanhai; Wang, Li; Lin, Xiaoyang; Mamcarz, Malgorzata; Zhang, Chi; Bai, Ge; Nong, Jasson; Sussman, Sam; Arendash, Gary (2011): Caffeine Synergizes with Another Coffee Component to Increase Plasma GCSF: Linkage to Cognitive Benefits in Alzheimer’s Mice. Journal of Alzheimer’s Disease 25/2, 2011. 323-335.
  • Dong, Juane; Liu, Yuanbai; Liang, Zongsuo; Wang, Weiling (2010): Investigation on ultrasound-assisted extraction of salvianolic acid B from Salvia miltiorrhiza root. Ultrasonics Sonochemistry 17/1, 2010. 61-65.
  • Herrera, M.C.; Luque de Castro, M.D. (2005): Ultrasound-assisted extraction of phenolic compounds from strawberries prior to liquid chromatographic separation and photodiode array ultraviolet detection. Journal of Chromatoraphy A, 1100, 2005. 1-7.
  • Higdon, Jane V.; Frei, Balz (2006): Coffee and Health: A Review of Recent Human Research. Critical Reviews in Food Science and Nutrition, 46/2, 2006. 101-123.
  • Mussato, Solange I.; Ballesteros, Lina F.; Martins, Silvia; Teixeira, José A (2011): Extraction of antioxidant phenolic compounds from spent coffee grounds. Separation and Purification Technology 83/ 2011. 173-179.
  • Sheu, Shane-Rong; Wang, Cheng-Chi; Chang, Sheng-Yu; Yang, Li-Chen, Jang, Ming-Jyi; Cheng, Po-Jen (2009): Influence of Extraction Manufacturing Process on Caffeine Concentration. In: Proceedings of the International MultiConference of Engineers and Computer Scientists 2009 Vol II, IMECS 2009, March 18 – 20, 2009, Hong Kong.
  • Suslick, K.S.: Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology. 4th ed. J. Wiley & Sons: New York; 26, 1998. 517-541.
  • Wang, Cheng-Chi; Sheu, Shane-Rong; Chou, Ya-Yen; Jang, Ming-Jyi; Yang, Li-Chen (2011): A novel optimized energy-saving extraction process on coffee. Thermal Science 15/1, 2011. 53-59.
  • Wang, Lijun; Weller, Curtis L. (2006): Recent advances in extraction of nutraceuticals from plants. Trends in Food Science & Technology 17, 2006. 300-312.
  • Xia, Tao; Shi, Siquan; Wan, Xiaochun (2006): Impact of ultrasonic-assisted extraction on the chemical and sensory quality of tea infusion. Journal of Food Engineering 74/4, 2006. 557-560.

Contact Us / Ask for more Information

Talk to us about your processing requirements. We will recommend the most suitable setup and processing parameters for your project.

  • (valid email required)