Hielscher تكنولوجيا الموجات فوق الصوتية

استخراج استازانتين بالموجات فوق الصوتية لأعلى غلة

  • استازانتين هو مضاد أكسدة قوي للغاية يستخدم في المستحضرات الصيدلانية والمكملات الغذائية.
  • من أجل إنتاج استازانتين عالية الجودة من مصادر طبيعية مثل الطحالب، مطلوب تقنية استخراج عالية الأداء.
  • استخراج بالموجات فوق الصوتية هو العلاج الميكانيكي, الذي يعطي غلة عالية من استازانتين في وقت استخراج قصيرة جدا.

عالية الأداء الفوق صوتيات للأستازانتين عالية الجودة

استخراج بالموجات فوق الصوتية من استازانتين من الطحالب الدقيقة

أستازانتين للمكملات الغذائية, التي تستهلك هاته البشر والحيوانات لفوائدها الصحية, يتم الحصول على استازانتين من المأكولات البحرية أو استخراجها من الطحالب H. pluvialis. هيماتوكوسلوفيليس هو ميكروالغا الخضراء، التي تنتج محتويات استازانتين عالية عند تطبيق ظروف الإجهاد، على سبيل المثال ارتفاع الملوحة، ونقص النيتروجين، وارتفاع درجة الحرارة والضوء. مع ما يصل إلى 9.2mg/g استازانتين لكل خلية الطحالب (= تصل إلى 3.8٪ على الوزن الجاف من H. pluvialis)، وبالوفياليس هيماتوكوسكوس يتراكم محتوى عالية جدا من استازانتين الطبيعية، وبالتالي هو الكائن المفضل لإنتاج استازانتين.
لإطلاق الأستازانتين من الطحالب الخضراء، يجب أن تتعطل خلايا الطحالب. Ultrasonication راسخة لغرض تعطيل الخلايا، وتحلل والعزلة من المركبات النشطة بيولوجيا أوش والدهون ومضادات الأكسدة والبوليفينول والأصباغ الطبيعية. الموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الأداء يخلق قوى ميكانيكية بحتة التي تعطل جدران الخلايا من قبل قوى القص وتسبب الإفراج عن المواد النشطة بيولوجيا مثل استازانتين.

استخراج بالموجات فوق الصوتية من استازانتين من الخميرة

UIP4000hdT 4kW معالج بالموجات فوق الصوتية قوية لاستخراجففيا رهودوزيما هي خميرة غنية بالأستازانتين. ومع ذلك، فإن جدار الخلية سميكة من رهودوزما P. ، والذي يتكون أساسا من الغلوكان والمسؤولة عن صلابة الخلية ، يجعل تعطيل الخلية والعزلة استازانتين مهمة صعبة. وجد الباحثون (Gogate وآخرون 2015) أن استخراج الموجات فوق الصوتية في تركيبة مع حمض اللبتيك يكثف اضطراب الخلية ويجعل استخراج أستازانتين من ب. رهودوزيما أكثر اخضرارا، عملية صديقة للبيئة. استخدموا حمض اللبتيك كوسيلة للتعطيل والإيثانول كمذيب للاستخراج. الحد الأقصى للعائد من استازانتين (90٪ تم الحصول على نهج استخراج الموجات فوق الصوتية بمساعدة على أساس استخدام 3 M حمض اللبتيك، وقت تعطيل 15 دقيقة. UIP4000hdT (4kW، انظر الموافقة المسبقة عن علم. اليسار) في تركيبة مع مفاعل تدفق من خلال الضغط تمكين لتوليد التجويف مكثفة جدا. قوى القص التجويف تعطيل جدران خلايا الخميرة وتعزيز نقل الشامل بين داخل الخلية والمذيبات.

مزايا استخراج استازانتين بالموجات فوق الصوتية

  • متفوقة العائد
  • استخراج عالية السرعة – في غضون دقائق
  • مقتطفات جودة عالية – خفيفة وغير الحرارية
  • المذيبات الخضراء (مثل الماء/الإيثانول)
  • فعاله من حيث التكلفه
  • عملية سهلة وآمنة
  • انخفاض تكاليف الاستثمار والتشغيل
  • عملية على مدار الساعة في إطار الخدمة الشاقة
  • الأخضر، وطريقة صديقة للبيئة

استخراج استازانتين بالموجات فوق الصوتية – في وضع التدفق المستمر أو الدفعي

UP400St المهتاج 8L إعداد الاستخراجاستازانتين هو مركب يبفيليك ويمكن حله في المذيبات (على سبيل المثال 48.0٪ الإيثانول في خلات الإيثيل) والزيوت (مثل زيت فول الصويا).
الدفعه: يمكن تشغيل عمليات استخراج بالموجات فوق الصوتية كعمليات دفعة بسيطة أو كعلاج مضمن، حيث يتم تغذية المتوسط بشكل مستمر من خلال مفاعل تدفق بالموجات فوق الصوتية من خلال.
تجهيز دفعة هو إجراء سهل، حيث يتم تنفيذ الاستخراج الكثير من قبل الكثير. Hielscher الفوق صوتيات يقدم معالجات الموجات فوق الصوتية لدفعات صغيرة إلى كبيرة، أي 1L إلى 120L.
لمعالجة دفعات من 5 إلى 10L، نوصي UP400St مع سونوترودي S24d22L2D (انظر الموافقة المسبقة عن علم.
لمعالجة دفعات من 120L تقريبا، نوصي UIP2000hdT مع سونوترودي RS4d40L4 (انظر الموافقة المسبقة عن علم.

تدفق من خلال: لكميات أكبر واستخراج تجاري كامل النطاق، يتم تغذية تيار السائل المستمر من خلال مفاعل بالموجات فوق الصوتية، حيث يتم sonicated الطين المذيبات / النباتية بشكل مكثف.
بالنسبة لحجم 8 لتر تقريبًا/دقيقة، نوصي بـ UIP4000hdT مع سونوترودي RS4d40L3 وقابل للضغط تدفق الخلية FC130L4-3G0

استخراج بالموجات فوق الصوتية مع نظام 2kW UIP2000hdT

UIP2000hdT (2kW) لاستخراج دفعة على نطاق واسع

طلب معلومات





عالية الأداء أوأولتراسوتوراتس لاستخراج

Hielscher الفوق صوتيات متخصصة في تصنيع معالجات الموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الأداء لإنتاج مقتطفات عالية الجودة من النباتات.
مجموعة منتجات Hielscher واسعة تتراوح من الصغيرة، أولتراناتور مختبر قوية إلى قوية مقاعد البدلاء أعلى والنظم الصناعية بالكامل، والتي توفر الموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الكثافة لاستخراج كفاءة والعزل من المكونات النشطة بيولوجيا (على سبيل المثال. الكه، الكافيين، الكركمين، تربين الخ). جميع أجهزة الموجات فوق الصوتية من 200واط إلى 16،000W ميزة شاشة ملونة للتحكم الرقمي، وبطاقة SD متكاملة لتسجيل البيانات التلقائي، والمتصفح التحكم عن بعد والعديد من الميزات أكثر سهولة الاستخدام. يمكن أن تكون الخلايا وتدفقات سونوتروديس (الأجزاء، التي هي على اتصال مع المتوسطة) الأوتوكلاف وسهلة التنظيف. بنيت جميع ultrasonicators لدينا لتشغيل 24/7، تتطلب صيانة منخفضة وسهلة وآمنة للعمل.
Colored touch display of the new hdT series of Hielscher's industrial ultrasonicatorsتتيح شاشة العرض الرقمية للألوان التحكم في معدات الموجات فوق الصوتية سهلة الاستخدام. أنظمتنا قادرة على التسليم من السعة المنخفضة إلى السعة العالية جدا. لاستخراج المركبات الكيميائية مثل استازانتين، ونحن نقدم سونوتروديس بالموجات فوق الصوتية الخاصة (المعروف أيضا باسم تحقيقات الموجات فوق الصوتية أو قرون) التي هي الأمثل لعزل حساسة من المواد الفعالة عالية الجودة. سونوتروديس الخاص Hielscher لسعة عالية في تركيبة مع خلايا تدفق الضغط تولد قوى القص التجويف المدقع، والتي تعطل حتى خلايا الخميرة قوي جدا. قوة معدات الموجات فوق الصوتية Hielscher يسمح للتشغيل 24/7 في الثقيلة وفي البيئات الصعبة.
تضمن السيطرة الدقيقة على معلمات عملية الموجات فوق الصوتية إمكانية تكرار هات وتوحيد العملية. Hielscher في الصناعية على نطاق الآلي أنظمة استخراج بالموجات فوق الصوتية مصممة لقدرات الإنتاج عالية من مقتطفات عالية الجودة، في حين في الوقت نفسه الحد من العمالة، والتكلفة، والطاقة.

اتصل بنا! / اسألنا!

اطلب المزيد من المعلومات

يرجى استخدام النموذج أدناه، إذا كنت ترغب في طلب معلومات إضافية حول التجانس بالموجات فوق الصوتية. سنكون سعداء لنقدم لكم نظام الموجات فوق الصوتية تلبية الاحتياجات الخاصة بك.









يرجى ملاحظة لدينا سياسة الخصوصية.


Hielscher الفوق صوتيات بتصنيع عالية الأداء أوتراسوتكناتورس للتطبيقات سونوكيميائية.

معالجات بالموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الطاقة من مختبر إلى مقياس تجريبي وصناعي.

مراجع الادب

  • Gogate et al. (2015): تكثيف استخراج أستازانتين بمساعدة الموجات فوق الصوتية من فافيا رهودوزما. مهندس كيميائي هندي 2015، 57:3-4، 240-255.
  • Zou et al. (2013): منهجية سطح الاستجابة لاستخراج أستازانتين بمساعدة الموجات فوق الصوتية من الهيماتوكوس بلوفياليس. المخدرات البحرية 2013, 11, 1644-1655.


حقائق تستحق العلم

الاستخراج

ويستند استخراج الموجات فوق الصوتية أو سونو استخراج على مبدأ التجويف الصوتية.
عندما يتم تطبيق الموجات فوق الصوتية مكثفة على النظم السائلة، يحدث التجويف الصوتية، وهي ظاهرة من جيل، والنمو والانهيار في نهاية المطاف من فقاعات فراغ (انظر الموافقة المسبقة عن علم. أدناه). خلال انتشار الموجات فوق الصوتية، وفقاعات فراغ تتأرجح وتنمو حتى تصل إلى نقطة عندما لا يستطيعون استيعاب المزيد من الطاقة. في ذروة نمو فقاعة أنها تنهار بعنف، مما يسبب الآثار الحرارية والميكانيكية والكيميائية محليا. وتشمل الآثار الميكانيكية ارتفاع الضغوط تصل إلى 1000atm، الاضطرابات، وقوى القص مكثفة. هذه القوى تعطل جدران الخلايا وتعزز النقل الجماعي بين داخل الخلية والمذيبات إطلاق المركبات النشطة بيولوجيا في السائل المحيطة (أي المذيبات).

التجويف بالموجات فوق الصوتية / الصوتية يخلق قوى مكثفة للغاية مما يفتح جدران الخلية المعروفة باسم lysis (انقر للتكبير!)

ويستند استخراج بالموجات فوق الصوتية على التجويف الصوتية وقوتها القص الهيدروديناميكية

استخراج بالموجات فوق الصوتية من المركبات من النباتات والأنسجة الخلوية وقد بحثت جيدا. تطبيق الموجات فوق الصوتية مكثفة للغاية يعزز عمليات الاستخراج بشكل كبير. فضلا عن عملية تكثيف – مما يؤدي إلى ارتفاع الغلة وأقصر وقت استخراج – يمنع التدهور الحراري وفقدان المكونات الحساسة لدرجة الحرارة لأن سونيكيشن هو العلاج غير الحراري. وعلاوة على ذلك، استخراج بالموجات فوق الصوتية لديها انخفاض تكاليف الاستثمار والتشغيل، ويقلل من استخدام المذيبات و / أو يسمح لاستخدام المذيبات أكثر اخضرارا، مما يجعلها تقنية استخراج اقتصادية وصديقة للبيئة. وقد تم اعتماد أساليب الاستخراج التقليدية التي تفوق الأداء، واستخراج بمساعدة بالموجات فوق الصوتية (الإمارات العربية المتحدة) من صناعة الأغذية لإنتاج مركبات نشطة بيولوجيا مع مكاسب اقتصادية.

تستخدم المعطلات بالموجات فوق الصوتية لاستخراج من مصادر النباتية (على سبيل المثال النباتات والطحالب والفطريات)

استخراج بالموجات فوق الصوتية من الخلايا النباتية: المقطع المستعرض المجهري (TS) يظهر آلية الإجراءات خلال استخراج الموجات فوق الصوتية من الخلايا (التكبير 2000x) [المورد: Vilkhu وآخرون. 2011]

أستازانتين

يتميز أستازانتين بلون أحمر عميق. وهو صبغة قابلة للذوبان في الدهون التي توجد في الطحالب (مثل هيماتوكوس بلوفياليس، شلوريلا زوفينجينسيس، كلوروكوكوم)، خميرة (على سبيل المثال، Phaffia rhodozyma)، سمك السلمون، سمك السلمون المرقط، الكريل، الجمبري وجراد البحر. يعتبر أستازانتين مضاد للأكسدة فائقة منذ قوتها المضادة للأكسدة هو عشرة إلى عشرين مرة أكثر قوة من العديد من الكاروتينات الأخرى، مثل بيتا كاروتين، لوتين، وزياكسانثين، ومائة مرة أكثر قوة من ألفا توكوفيرول (فيتامين E ).
أستازانتين (3,3′-ديهيدروكسي-β, β′-كاروتين-4′-ديون) هو الكيتو كاروتينويد وينتمي إلى فئة أكبر من المركبات الكيميائية المعروفة باسم تربين (كرباعي تيرتيربينويد), التي تتكون من خمسة سلائف الكربون, isopentenyl ثنائي الفوسفات, و ثنائي ميثيل الليفيفوسفات. وتصنف أستازانتين كنوع من مركبات الكاروتينيد مع المكونات التي تحتوي على الأكسجين، وهي الهيدروكسيل (-OH) أو كيتون (C = O)، مثل زياكسانثين وكانثاكسانثين. استازانتين هو المستقلب من الزياكسانثين و / أو كانثاكسانثين، التي تحتوي على كل من الهيدروكسيل والكيتون المجموعات الوظيفية. مثل العديد من الكاروتينات, استازانتين هو صبغة قابلة للذوبان في الدهون ويتميز لونه الأحمر. الكاروتينات بما في ذلك استازانتين معروفة جيدا لقدرتها المضادة للأكسدة.
أستازانتين هو صبغة حمراء وتنشأ بشكل طبيعي في الطحالب الدقيقة مياه الأمطار (هيماتوكوس بلوفياليس) والخميرة تسمى Xanthophyllomyces dendrorhous (المعروف أيضا باسم الفيا رودوزيما). الطحالب يخضع لتشديد عن طريق واحد أو مزيج من الظروف التي تتراوح بين عدم وجود المواد الغذائية, زيادة الملذات, وأشعة الشمس المفرطة لخلق أستازانتين. الأنواع التي تستهلك تلك الطحالب الدقيقة في المياه العذبة المجهدة، مثل سمك السلمون، سمك السلمون المرقط الأحمر، الدنيس البحر الأحمر، الفلامنغو، القشريات (مثل الجمبري، الكريل، سرطان البحر، جراد البحر، جراد البحر)، تعكس تصبغ الأشكال الحمراء والبرتقالية في مظهرها.
كمكمل, يتم إعطاء استازانتين لآثاره على تعزيز الصحة وعلاج المرض. استازانتين هو التغذية راسخة تدار لتحسين صحة الجلد (على سبيل المثال الحد من التجاعيد، والأضرار الناجمة عن حرق الشمس الخ).
وعلاوة على ذلك, أستازانتين يحصل على اهتمام متزايد لاستخدامه لعلاج مرض الزهايمر, مرض باركنسون, الديسيات القلب والأوعية الدموية, ارتفاع الكوليسترول في الدم, أمراض الكبد, الضمور البقعي المرتبط بالعمر, والوقاية من السرطان.

Hielscher – Ultrasound Technology

Ultrasonic Astaxanthin Extraction for Higher Yields

  • Astaxanthin is a highly potent antioxidant used in pharmaceuticals and nutritional supplements.
  • In order to produce high-quality astaxanthin from natural sources such as algae, a high-performance extraction technique is required.
  • Ultrasonic extraction is a mechanical treatment, which gives high yields of astaxanthin in a very short extraction time.

High-Performance Ultrasonics for High-Quality Astaxanthin

Ultrasonic Extraction of Astaxanthin from Microalgae

Astaxanthin for dietary supplements, which are consumed by humans and animals for their health benefits, astaxanthin is obtained from seafood or extracted from the algae H. pluvialis. Haematococcus pluvialis is a green microalga, which produces high astaxanthin contents when stress conditions are applied, e.g. high salinity, nitrogen deficiency, high temperature and light. With up to 9.2mg/g astaxanthin per algae cell (= up to 3.8% on the dry weight of H. pluvialis), the Haematococcus pluvialis accumulates a very high content of natural astaxanthin and is therefore the preferred organism for the production of astaxanthin.
To release astaxanthin from green microalgae, the algae cells must be disrupted. Ultrasonication is well established for the purpose of cell disruption, lysis and isolation of bioactive compounds auch as lipids, antioxidants, polyphenols and natural pigments. High-performance ultrasonics creates purely mechanical forces which disrupt cell walls by shear forces and cause the release of bioactive substances such as astaxanthin.

Ultrasonic Extraction of Astaxanthin from Yeast

UIP4000hdT 4kW powerful ultrasonic processor for extractionPhaffia rhodozyma is a yeast rich in astaxanthin. However, the thick cell wall of P. rhodozyma, which is mainly composed of glucan and responsible for the cell rigidity, makes cell disruption and astaxanthin isolation a demanding task. Researchers (Gogate et al. 2015) found that ultrasonic extraction in combination with lactic acid intensifies the cell disruption and makes the extraction of astaxanthin from P. rhodozyma a greener, environmetal-friendlier process. They used lactic acid as the medium for disruption and ethanol as solvent for extraction. The maximum yield of astaxanthin (90%) was obtained for the ultrasound-assisted extraction approach based on the use of 3 M lactic acid, disruption time of 15 min. Powerful ultrasonic processors such the UIP4000hdT (4kW, see pic. left) in combination with a pressurizable flow-through reactor enable for the generation of very intense cavitation. Cavitational shear forces disrupt the yeast cell walls and promote the mass transfer between the cell interior and the solvent.

Advantages of Ultrasonic Astaxanthin Extraction

  • Superior yield
  • High-speed extraction – within minutes
  • High quality extracts – mild, non-thermal
  • Green solvents (e.g. water/ethanol)
  • Cost-effective
  • Easy and safe operation
  • Low investment and operational costs
  • 24/7 operation under heavy-duty
  • Green, eco-friendly method

Ultrasonic Astaxanthin Extraction – in Batch or Continuous Flow Mode

UP400St agitated 8L extraction setupAstaxanthin is a lipophilic compound and can be dissolved in solvents (e.g. 48.0% ethanol in ethyl acetate) and oils (e.g. soy bean oil).
Batch: Ultrasonic extraction processes can be operated as simple batch processes or as inline treatment, where the medium is continuously fed through an ultrasonic flow-through reactor.
Batch processing is an easy procedure, where the extraction is performed lot by lot. Hielscher Ultrasonics offers ultrasonic processors for small to large batches, i.e. 1L to 120L.
For processing batches of 5 to 10L, we recommend the UP400ST with sonotrode S24d22L2D (see pic. left).
For processing batches of approx. 120L, we recommend the UIP2000hdT with sonotrode RS4d40L4(see pic. at top right).

Flow-through: For larger volumes and full-scale commercial extraction, a continuous liquid stream is fed through an ultrasonic reactor, where the solvent/botanical slurry is intensely sonicated.
For a volume of approx. 8L/min., we recommend the UIP4000hdT with sonotrode RS4d40L3 and pressurizable flow-cell FC130L4-3G0

Ultrasonic extraction with 2kW system UIP2000hdT

UIP2000hdT (2kW) for large scale batch extraction

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


High Performance Ultrasonicators for Extraction

Hielscher Ultrasonics is specialized in manufacturing high-performance ultrasonic processors for the production of high-quality extracts from botanicals.
Hielscher’s broad product portfolio ranges from small, powerful lab ultrasonicators to robust bench-top and fully industrial systems, which deliver high intensity ultrasound for the efficient extraction and isolation of bioactive components (e.g. quercetin, caffeine, curcumin, terpenes etc.). All ultrasonic devices from 200W to 16,000W feature a coloured display for digital control, an integrated SD card for automatic data recording, browser remote control and many more user-friendly features. The sonotrodes and flow cells (the parts, which are in contact with the medium) can be autoclaved and are easy to clean. All our ultrasonicators are built for 24/7 operation, require low maintenance and are easy and safe to operate.
Colored touch display of the new hdT series of Hielscher's industrial ultrasonicatorsA digital colour display allows for a user-friendly control of the ultrasonic equipment. Our systems are capable to deliver from low up to very high amplitudes. For the extraction of chemical compounds such as astaxanthin, we offer special ultrasonic sonotrodes (also known as ultrasonic probes or horns) that are optimized for the sensitive isolation of high-quality active substances. Hielscher’s special sonotrodes for high amplitudes in combination with pressurizable flow cells generate extreme cavitational shear forces, which disrupt even very sturdy yeast cells. The robustness of Hielscher’s ultrasonic equipment allows for 24/7 operation at heavy duty and in demanding environments.
The precise control of the ultrasonic process parameters ensures reproducibility and process standardization. Hielscher’s industrial-scale automated ultrasonic extraction systems are designed for high production capacities of superior quality extracts, whilst at the same time reducing labor, cost, and energy.

Contact Us! / Ask Us!

Ask for more information

Please use the form below, if you wish to request additional information about ultrasonic homogenization. We will be glad to offer you an ultrasonic system meeting your requirements.









Please note our privacy policy.


Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonicators for sonochemical applications.

High-power ultrasonic processors from lab to pilot and industrial scale.

Literature/References

  • Gogate et al. (2015): Ultrasound-assisted Intensification of Extraction of Astaxanthin from Phaffia rhodozyma. Indian Chemical Engineer 2015, 57:3-4, 240-255.
  • Zou et al. (2013): Response Surface Methodology for Ultrasound-Assisted Extraction of Astaxanthin from Haematococcus pluvialis. Marine Drugs 2013, 11, 1644-1655.


Facts Worth Knowing

Sono-Extraction

Ultrasonic extraction or sono-extraction is based on the principle of acoustic cavitation.
When intense ultrasound waves are applied to liquid systems, acoustic cavitation occurs, which is the phenomenon of the generation, growth and eventual collapse of vacuum bubbles (see pic. below). During the propagation of the ultrasound waves, the vacuum bubbles oscillate and grow until they reach a point when they cannot absorb more energy. At the peak of bubble growth they collapse violently, which causes locally thermal, mechanical, and chemical effects. The mechanical effects include high pressures of up to 1000atm, turbulences, and intense shear forces. Those forces disrupt cell walls and promote mass transfer between the cell interior and the solvent releasing bioactive compounds into the surrounding liquid (i.e. solvent).

Ultrasonic / acoustic cavitation creates highly intense forces which opens the cell walls known as lysis (Click to enlarge!)

Ultrasonic extraction is based on acoustic cavitation and its hydrodynamic shear forces

Ultrasonic extraction of compounds from botanicals and cell tissue has been well researched. The application of highly intense ultrasonic waves promotes extraction processes significantly. Besides process intensification – which results in higher yields and shorter extraction time – thermal degradation and loss of temperature-sensitive constituents is prevented since sonication is non-thermal treatment. Furthermore, ultrasonic extraction has low investment and operational costs, reduces the use of solvents and/or allows for the use of greener solvents, which makes it an economical and environmental-friendly extraction technique. Outperforming conventional extraction methods, ultrasonically-assisted extraction (UAE) has been adopted from the food industry to produce bioactive compounds with economical gains.

Ultrasonic disruptors are used for extractions from phyto sources (e.g. plants, algae, fungi)

Ultrasonic extraction from plant cells: the microscopic transverse section (TS) shows the mechanism of actions during ultrasonic extraction from cells (magnification 2000x) [resource: Vilkhu et al. 2011]

Astaxanthin

Astaxanthin is distinguished by a deep red colour. It is a fat-soluble pigment that is found in algae (e.g. Haematococcus pluvialis, Chlorella zofingiensis, Chlorococcum), yeast (e.g. Phaffia rhodozyma), salmon, trout, krill, shrimp and crayfish. Astaxanthin is considered a super-antioxidant since its antioxidative potency is ten to twenty times more powerful than of many other carotenoids, such as beta-carotene, lutein, and zeaxanthin, and a hundred-times more powerful than alpha-tocopherol (vitamin E).
Astaxanthin (3,3′-dihydroxy-β, β′-carotene-4,4′-dione) is a keto-carotenoid and belongs to a larger class of chemical compounds known as terpenes (as a tetraterpenoid), which are composed of five carbon precursors, isopentenyl diphosphate, and dimethylallyl diphosphate. Astaxanthin is classified as a type of carotenoid compounds with oxygen-containing components, namely hydroxyl (-OH) or ketone (C=O), such as zeaxanthin and canthaxanthin. Astaxanthin is a metabolite of zeaxanthin and/or canthaxanthin, containing both hydroxyl and ketone functional groups. Like many carotenoids, astaxanthin is a lipid-soluble pigment and is distinguished by its red colour. Carotenoids including astaxanthin are well known for their antioxidative capacity.
Astaxanthin is a red pigment and naturally originates in the rainwater microalgae (Haematococcus pluvialis) and the yeast called Xanthophyllomyces dendrorhous (also known as Phaffia rhodozyma). The algae undergoes a stressing via one or a combination of conditions ranging from the lack of nutrients, increased salinity, and excessive sunshine to create Astaxanthin. The species that consume those stressed freshwater microalgae, such as salmon, red trout, red sea bream, flamingo, crustaceans (e.g. shrimp, krill, crab, lobster, crayfish), reflect the pigmentation of the red-orange hues in their appearance.
As a supplement, astaxanthin is administered for its health-promoting and illness-treating effects. Astaxanthin is a well-established nutraceutical administered to improve skin heath (e.g. reduce wrinkles, damages by sun burn etc.).
Furthermore, astaxanthin gets increasing attention for its use to treat Alzheimer’s disease, Parkinson’s disease, cardio-vascular deaseses, high cholesterol, liver diseases, age-related macular degeneration, and preventing cancer.