Hielscher تكنولوجيا الموجات فوق الصوتية

استخراج بالموجات فوق الصوتية من الصابونين كويلاجا

  • مستخلصات الصابونين من شجرة مولينا الصابونيا كويلاجا هي المصدر الرئيسي للسابونين للتطبيقات الصناعية.
  • استخراج بالموجات فوق الصوتية من الصابونين كويلاجا الغلة في الصابونين عالية الجودة.
  • استخراج بالموجات فوق الصوتية هو وسيلة فعالة للغاية لإنتاج غلة عالية من استخراج الصابونين كويلاجا في وقت قصير.

استخراج الصابونين كويلاجا

Quillaja الصابونين استخراج (مرادفات: مقتطفات كويلايا, بوا دي بنما, بنما مقتطفات النباح, مقتطفات كويلي, مقتطفات لحاء كويلاي, مستخلصات الصابون) هو مادة المستخرجة من كويلاجا سابوناريا مولينا (س. الصابوناريا) شجرة. يتكون استخراج كويلاجا من أكثر من 100 الصابونين تريتيربينويد. السابونين الرئيسية الحاضرة هي جليكوسيدات من حمض كويلايك. المكونات الرئيسية الأخرى هي البوليفينول والعفص، فضلا عن كميات صغيرة من الأملاح والسكريات. يتم إنتاج استخراج Quillaja التي تم الحصول عليها عن طريق استخراج مائي من اللحاء الداخلي المطحون أو الخشب من ينبع وفروع من شجرة الصابوناريا كويلاجا. منذ مقتطفات الصابونين كويلاجا تحتوي على كل من, السطحي والمركبات الفينولية, أنها مثيرة للاهتمام بشكل غير عادي لصياغة المكونات الغذائية الوظيفية الحساسة وحمايتها ضد الأكسدة.
استخدام الصابونين كما مستحلبات الطبيعية في ارتفاع كبير بسبب الطلب المتزايد على صحية, المنتجات الطبيعية دون إضافات اصطناعية. كويلاجا الصابونين هي مستحلبات كبيرة لمستحلبات O / W وnanoemulsions وقد أظهرت آثار جيدة جدا في مختلف الصيغ مثل المشروبات ويمزج النفط. تطبيق شائع من استخراج الصابونين كويلاجا هو استحلاب زيوت CBD، والمشروبات شفافة ورغوة المنتجات الغذائية. يمكن استخدام الصابونين كويلاجا وحدها أو بالاشتراك مع عوامل أخرى استحلاب.
Q-Naturale® هو مضاف غذائي يعتمد على الصابونين النباح كويلاجا، الذي وافقت عليه ادارة الاغذية والعقاقير كمستحلب فعال للأغذية والمشروبات. وإلى جانب المستحلب وكيل، وتستخدم الصابونين كويلاجا في تركيبات الأدوية لخصائصها المضادة للبكتيريا، مضاد للفيروسات، مضاد للفطريات، مضاد للطفيليات، أنتيورم، هيباتوبروتيكتيفي، وخصائص المناعة.

مزايا استخراج الصابونين كويلاجا بالموجات فوق الصوتية

  • متفوقة العائد
  • استخراج عالية السرعة – في غضون دقائق
  • مقتطفات جودة عالية – خفيفة وغير الحرارية
  • الأخضر المذيبات (أي الماء)
  • فعاله من حيث التكلفه
  • عملية سهلة وآمنة
  • انخفاض تكاليف الاستثمار والتشغيل
  • عملية على مدار الساعة في إطار الخدمة الشاقة
  • الأخضر، وطريقة صديقة للبيئة
إعداد سونيكيشن دفعة 2كيلو لاستخراج مقتطفات العشبية

120L استخراج دفعة بالموجات فوق الصوتية من النباتات مع UIP2000hdT والمحرض

طلب معلومات





دراسة حالة استخراج بالموجات فوق الصوتية من الصابونين من كويلاجا

استخراج بالموجات فوق الصوتية من الصابونين كويلاجا (soapbark)
من أجل إعداد استخراج Quillaja عالية الجودة، والذي يقدم الوظائف المطلوبة كما دة غذائية وفارما، يجب عزل المواد الكيميائية النباتية النشطة، وهي الصابونين. وsaponin كويلاجا هو الصابونين تريتربين معزولة من لحاء شجرة الصابون. التجويف بالموجات فوق الصوتية يعزز استخراج عن طريق تحسين الاتصال بين المواد الصلبة والسائل وزيادة نقل الشامل.
كيرز وآخرون تثبت في دراستهم بوضوح أن استخراج بمساعدة بالموجات فوق الصوتية (الإمارات العربية المتحدة) يمكن أن تعزز عملية استخراج المبادئ النشطة بيولوجيا من مولينا Saponaria كويلاجا. استخدموا رقائق الخشب كويلاجا والنباح واستخراج الصابونين في الماء باستخدام sonication، بحيث المنتج النهائي يتضمن فقط المكونات الطبيعية والمواد الخام ويمكن استخدامها في عمليات تصنيع الأغذية. كطريقة استخراج غير الحرارية، ودرجة حرارة الاستخراج أثناء ultrasonication عقدت باستمرار في 20 درجة مئوية (68درجة فهرنهايت). الاستخراج اتّززيادة إنتاج بشكل ملحوظ مع ال [سونيكأيشن] فترة من 10 [تو] 30 دقائق. وكانت الغلة من 20 دقيقة في 20 درجة مئوية في استخراج بمساعدة الموجات فوق الصوتية مماثلة لتلك التي تحققت عن طريق الطريقة التقليدية 3 ساعات استخراج في 60 درجة مئوية.

وتستخدم أجهزة الموجات فوق الصوتية لإعداد مستحلبات مستقرة على المدى الطويل س / ث باستخدام استخراج الصابونين Quillaja لتحقيق الاستقرار مستحلب جسديا وكيميائيا. انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد حول استحلاب بالموجات فوق الصوتية!

عالية الأداء بالموجات فوق الصوتية النازعات

Hielscher الفوق صوتيات متخصصة في تصنيع معالجات الموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الأداء لإنتاج مقتطفات عالية الجودة من النباتات.
مجموعة منتجات Hielscher واسعة تتراوح من الصغيرة، أولتراناتور مختبر قوية إلى قوية مقاعد البدلاء أعلى والنظم الصناعية بالكامل، والتي توفر الموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الكثافة لاستخراج كفاءة والعزل من المكونات النشطة بيولوجيا (على سبيل المثال. الكه، الكافيين، الكركمين، تربين الخ). جميع أجهزة الموجات فوق الصوتية من 200واط إلى 16،000W ميزة شاشة ملونة للتحكم الرقمي، وبطاقة SD متكاملة لتسجيل البيانات التلقائي، والمتصفح التحكم عن بعد والعديد من الميزات أكثر سهولة الاستخدام. يمكن أن تكون الخلايا وتدفقات سونوتروديس (الأجزاء، التي هي على اتصال مع المتوسطة) الأوتوكلاف وسهلة التنظيف. بنيت جميع ultrasonicators لدينا لتشغيل 24/7، تتطلب صيانة منخفضة وسهلة وآمنة للعمل.
تتيح شاشة العرض الرقمية للألوان التحكم في معدات الموجات فوق الصوتية سهلة الاستخدام. أنظمتنا قادرة على التسليم من السعة المنخفضة إلى السعة العالية جدا. لاستخراج المركبات الكيميائية مثل استازانتين، ونحن نقدم سونوتروديس بالموجات فوق الصوتية الخاصة (المعروف أيضا باسم تحقيقات الموجات فوق الصوتية أو قرون) التي هي الأمثل لعزل حساسة من المواد الفعالة عالية الجودة. قوة معدات الموجات فوق الصوتية Hielscher يسمح للتشغيل 24/7 في الثقيلة وفي البيئات الصعبة.
تضمن السيطرة الدقيقة على معلمات عملية الموجات فوق الصوتية إمكانية تكرار هات وتوحيد العملية. Hielscher في الصناعية على نطاق الآلي أنظمة استخراج بالموجات فوق الصوتية مصممة لقدرات الإنتاج عالية من مقتطفات عالية الجودة، في حين في الوقت نفسه الحد من العمالة، والتكلفة، والطاقة.
الجدول أدناه يعطيك مؤشرا على قدرة المعالجة التقريبية لultrasonicators لدينا:

دفعة حجم معدل المد و الجزر الأجهزة الموصى بها
1 إلى 500ML 10 إلى 200ML / دقيقة UP100H
10 إلى 2000ML 20 إلى 400ML / دقيقة Uf200 ः ر، UP400St
00.1 إلى 20L 00.2 إلى 4L / دقيقة UIP2000hdT
10 إلى 100L 2 إلى 10L / دقيقة UIP4000hdT
زمالة المدمنين المجهولين 10 إلى 100L / دقيقة UIP16000
زمالة المدمنين المجهولين أكبر مجموعة من UIP16000

اتصل بنا! / اسألنا!

اطلب المزيد من المعلومات

يرجى استخدام النموذج أدناه، إذا كنت ترغب في طلب معلومات إضافية حول التجانس بالموجات فوق الصوتية. سنكون سعداء لنقدم لكم نظام الموجات فوق الصوتية تلبية الاحتياجات الخاصة بك.









يرجى ملاحظة لدينا سياسة الخصوصية.


UIP4000hdT 4kW معالج بالموجات فوق الصوتية قوية لاستخراج

مراجع الادب



حقائق تستحق العلم

حول شجرة كويلاجا والصابونين

شجرة مولينا سبيناريا كويلاجا، والمعروفة أيضا باسم الصابون أمريكا الجنوبية، ينمو بشكل طبيعي وعلى نطاق واسع في شيلي. شجرة كويلاجا سابوناريا (عائلة الوردية) هي دائمة الخضرة كبيرة مع لحاء سميكة، وأصلي إلى العديد من بلدان أمريكا الجنوبية، ولا سيما بوليفيا وشيلي وبيرو.
يحتوي مستخلص الصابونين كويلاجا بشكل رئيسي ولكن أيضا البوليفينول، العفص، وكذلك الأملاح والسكريات بكميات صغيرة. وsaponins كويلاجا هي جزيئات بنيت من نواة ثلاثية التربينمع مع سلسلتين السكر. هذه السلاسل السكر تعطي الصابونين خاصية الزراعة (= قابل للذوبان في الماء)، في حين أن النواة الثلاثية هي رهاب مائي (= طارد المياه). لهذه، هو عشرة أمفوتيك، مما يجعل الصابونين tensoactive غير الأيونية، مما يسمح للحد من التوتر السطحي، وذوبان المنتجات المسعورة في الحلول المائية، فضلا عن تشكيل مستحلبات صغيرة / نانو.
في شجرة كويلاجا، يحتوي النباح مع حوالي 5٪ من أعلى كمية من الصابونين، في حين أن الخشب يحتوي على محتوى حوالي 2٪ من الصابونين.
منذ الصابونين هي مواد طبيعية مع رغوة جيدة وخصائص استحلاب، وكثيرا ما تستخدم كعوامل رغوة في الأغذية والمشروبات وصناعة البيرة، والسطحي في مستحضرات التجميل، والمضافات في المواد الكيميائية الزراعية وعلف الحيوان، وكأدجوفينتس في اللقاحات.
يتم إنتاج مقتطفات كويلاجا مع استخراج مائي; لا تستخدم أي المذيبات الأخرى في إنتاجها. المنتج النهائي، إما الخام أو استخراج تنقية، في شكل السائل أو مسحوق يتضمن فقط المكونات الطبيعية والمواد الخام، وأذن لاستخدامها في عمليات تصنيع الأغذية. (العطاء وآخرون 2009)

ما هي الصابونين؟

كلمة الصابون مشتقة من كلمة سابو اللاتينية، وهو ما يعني الصابون. الصابونين هي المواد الكيميائية النباتية، وجدت أساسا ولكن ليس حصرا في النباتات، والتي تظهر خصائص رغوة، وتتألف من الغليكون اتوية متعددة الحلقات تعلق على واحد أو أكثر من سلاسل الجانب السكر. الجزء aglycone, الذي يسمى أيضا sapogenin, إما الستيرويد (C27) أو ترتريبين (C30). وسبب قدرة رغوة الصابونين من مزيج من السابوجينين (قابل للذوبان في الدهون) والجزء السكر المائي (قابل للذوبان في الماء). [ماجيندا، 2012: ص 515] وقد استخدمت تقليديا المواد النباتية مع كميات الصابونين عالية كعوامل استحلاب. ومن الأمثلة البارزة على النباتات الغنية بالصابون (كويلاجا سابوناريا) [روسس]), [سوّوررت] ([سوبونريا] [أوفسيناليس]; كاريوفيليساي)، ومسحوق شيكاكاي (Gleditsia سينينسيس. البقوميينوسة). الصابونين هي جليكوسيدات أمفيباثاثيك مع الوزن الجزيئي العالي، والتي لديها هيكليا واحد أو أكثر من moieties glycoside المائية التي يتم دمجها مع مشتق تريتيربين يفيلي. خاصة في صناعة الأدوية، وقد جذبت الصابونين الكثير من الاهتمام بسبب مجموعة من الخصائص البيولوجية بما في ذلك قدرتها على تحفيز استجابة مناعية، مما يجعلها المرشحين الرئيسيين للمساعدين.

كل ما تحتاج لمعرفته حول استخراج بالموجات فوق الصوتية

استخراج بمساعدة الموجات فوق الصوتية (الإمارات العربية المتحدة)، أيضا سونو-استخراج، هو كفاءة عالية، طريقة استخراج الأخضر لعزل المواد النشطة بيولوجيا مثل البروتينات والفيتامينات والبوليفينول والأصباغ الطبيعية والدهون وما إلى ذلك من المصفوفات النباتية. ويستند استخراج بالموجات فوق الصوتية على مبدأ العمل من التجويف الصوتية.
عندما يتم تطبيق الموجات فوق الصوتية مكثفة على النظم السائلة، يحدث التجويف الصوتية، وهي ظاهرة من جيل، والنمو والانهيار في نهاية المطاف من فقاعات فراغ (انظر الموافقة المسبقة عن علم. أدناه). خلال انتشار الموجات فوق الصوتية، وفقاعات فراغ تتأرجح وتنمو حتى تصل إلى نقطة عندما لا يستطيعون استيعاب المزيد من الطاقة. في ذروة نمو فقاعة أنها تنهار بعنف، مما يسبب الآثار الحرارية والميكانيكية والكيميائية محليا. وتشمل الآثار الميكانيكية ارتفاع الضغوط تصل إلى 1000atm، الاضطرابات، وقوى القص مكثفة. هذه القوى تعطل جدران الخلايا وتعزز النقل الجماعي بين داخل الخلية والمذيبات إطلاق المركبات النشطة بيولوجيا في السائل المحيطة (أي المذيبات).

التجويف بالموجات فوق الصوتية / الصوتية يخلق قوى مكثفة للغاية مما يفتح جدران الخلية المعروفة باسم lysis (انقر للتكبير!)

ويستند استخراج بالموجات فوق الصوتية على التجويف الصوتية وقوتها القص الهيدروديناميكية

استخراج السائل الصلب بالموجات فوق الصوتية من المركبات من النباتات والأنسجة الخلوية وقد بحثت جيدا. تطبيق الموجات فوق الصوتية مكثفة للغاية يعزز عمليات الاستخراج بشكل كبير. فضلا عن عملية تكثيف – مما يؤدي إلى ارتفاع الغلة وأقصر وقت استخراج – التدهور الحراري وفقدان المكونات الحساسة لدرجة الحرارة يمنع منذ ultrasonication هو العلاج غير الحرارية. وعلاوة على ذلك، استخراج بالموجات فوق الصوتية لديها انخفاض تكاليف الاستثمار والتشغيل، ويقلل من استخدام المذيبات و / أو يسمح لاستخدام المذيبات أكثر اخضرارا، مما يجعلها تقنية استخراج اقتصادية وصديقة للبيئة. وقد تم اعتماد أساليب الاستخراج التقليدية التي تفوق الأداء، واستخراج بمساعدة بالموجات فوق الصوتية (الإمارات العربية المتحدة) من صناعة الأغذية لإنتاج النشطة الحيوية مع مكاسب اقتصادية.

تستخدم المعطلات بالموجات فوق الصوتية لاستخراج من مصادر النباتية (على سبيل المثال النباتات والطحالب والفطريات)

استخراج بالموجات فوق الصوتية من الخلايا النباتية: المقطع المستعرض المجهري (TS) يظهر آلية الإجراءات خلال استخراج الموجات فوق الصوتية من الخلايا (التكبير 2000x) [المورد: Vilkhu وآخرون. 2011]

Hielscher الفوق صوتيات بتصنيع عالية الأداء ultrasonicators لاستخراج المواد الكيميائية النباتية من النباتات.

معالجات بالموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الطاقة من مختبر إلى مقياس تجريبي وصناعي.

Hielscher Ultrasound Technology

Ultrasonic Extraction of Quillaja Saponins

  • Saponin extracts of the Quillaja saponaria Molina tree are the main source of saponins for industrial applications.
  • Ultrasonic extraction of Quillaja saponins yields in high quality saponins.
  • Ultrasonic extraction is a highly efficient method to produce high yields of Quillaja saponin extract in a short time.

Quillaja Saponin Extract

Quillaja saponin extract (synonyms: quillaia extracts, bois de Panama, Panama bark extracts, quillai extracts, Quillay bark extracts, soapbark extracts) is a substance extracted from the Quillaja Saponaria Molina (Q. saponaria) tree. The Quillaja extract is composed of over 100 triterpenoid saponins. The main saponins present are glycosides of quillaic acid. Other major components are polyphenols and tannins as well as small amounts of salts and sugars. Quillaja extract is produced obtained by aqueous extraction of the milled inner bark or wood of pruned stems and branches of Quillaja saponaria tree. Since Quillaja saponin extracts contain both, surfactants and phenolic compounds, they are extraordinarily interesting for the formulation of sensitive functional food ingredients and their protection against oxidation.
The use of saponins as natural emulsifiers is rising significantly due to the increasing demand for healthy, natural products without synthetic additives. Quillaja saponins are great emulsifiers for O/W emulsions and nanoemulsions and have shown very good effects in various formulations such as beverages and oil blends. A common application of Quillaja saponin extract is the emulsification of CBD oils, translucent beverages and foamed food products. Quillaja saponins can be used alone or in combination with other emulsifying agents.
Q-Naturale® is a food additive based on Quillaja bark saponins, which is approved by the FDA as an effective emulsifier for food and beverages. Besides emulsifying agent, Quillaja saponins are used in pharmaceutical formulations for its antibacterial, antiviral, antifungal, antiparasitic, antitumor, hepatoprotective, and immunoadjuvant properties.

Advantages of Ultrasonic Quillaja Saponin Extraction

  • Superior yield
  • High-speed extraction – within minutes
  • High quality extracts – mild, non-thermal
  • Green solvent (i.e. water)
  • Cost-effective
  • Easy and safe operation
  • Low investment and operational costs
  • 24/7 operation under heavy-duty
  • Green, eco-friendly method
2kW batch sonication setup for the extraction of herbal extracts

120L Ultrasonic Batch Extraction of Botanicals with UIP2000hdT and Agitator

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


Case Study of Ultrasonic Extraction of Saponins from Quillaja

Ultrasonic extraction of Quillaja saponins (soapbark)
In order to prepare a high-quality Quillaja extract, which offers the desired functionalities as food and pharma additive, the active phytochemicals, namely saponins, must be isolated. The Quillaja saponin is a triterpene saponin isolated from the bark of the soap tree. Ultrasonic cavitation promotes extraction by improving the contact between solids and liquid and increasing the mass transfer.
Cares et al. demonstrate in their study clearly that ultrasonically assisted extraction (UAE) can enhance the extraction process of bioactive principles from Quillaja Saponaria Molina. They used Quillaja wood and bark chips and extracted the saponins in water using sonication, so that the final product only incorporates natural ingredients and raw materials and could be used in food manufacturing processes. As a non-thermal extraction method, the extraction temperature during ultrasonication was constantly held at 20ºC (68ºF). The extractions yields increased significantly with the sonication period from 10 to 30 minutes. The yields of 20 minutes at 20ºC in the ultrasound-assisted extraction were comparable to those achieved by the conventional method 3 hours extraction at 60ºC.

Ultrasonic devices are used to prepare long-term stable o/w emulsions using Quillaja saponin extract to stabilize the emulsion physically and chemically. Click here to read more about ultrasonic emulsification!

High-Performance Ultrasonic Extractors

Hielscher Ultrasonics is specialized in manufacturing high-performance ultrasonic processors for the production of high-quality extracts from botanicals.
Hielscher’s broad product portfolio ranges from small, powerful lab ultrasonicators to robust bench-top and fully industrial systems, which deliver high intensity ultrasound for the efficient extraction and isolation of bioactive components (e.g. quercetin, caffeine, curcumin, terpenes etc.). All ultrasonic devices from 200W to 16,000W feature a coloured display for digital control, an integrated SD card for automatic data recording, browser remote control and many more user-friendly features. The sonotrodes and flow cells (the parts, which are in contact with the medium) can be autoclaved and are easy to clean. All our ultrasonicators are built for 24/7 operation, require low maintenance and are easy and safe to operate.
A digital colour display allows for a user-friendly control of the ultrasonic equipment. Our systems are capable to deliver from low up to very high amplitudes. For the extraction of chemical compounds such as astaxanthin, we offer special ultrasonic sonotrodes (also known as ultrasonic probes or horns) that are optimized for the sensitive isolation of high-quality active substances. The robustness of Hielscher’s ultrasonic equipment allows for 24/7 operation at heavy duty and in demanding environments.
The precise control of the ultrasonic process parameters ensures reproducibility and process standardization. Hielscher’s industrial-scale automated ultrasonic extraction systems are designed for high production capacities of superior quality extracts, whilst at the same time reducing labor, cost, and energy.
The table below gives you an indication of the approximate processing capacity of our ultrasonicators:

Batch Volume Flow Rate Recommended Devices
1 to 500mL 10 to 200mL/min UP100H
10 to 2000mL 20 to 400mL/min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 to 20L 0.2 to 4L/min UIP2000hdT
10 to 100L 2 to 10L/min UIP4000hdT
n.a. 10 to 100L/min UIP16000
n.a. larger cluster of UIP16000

Contact Us! / Ask Us!

Ask for more information

Please use the form below, if you wish to request additional information about ultrasonic homogenization. We will be glad to offer you an ultrasonic system meeting your requirements.









Please note our privacy policy.


UIP4000hdT 4kW powerful ultrasonic processor for extraction

Literature/References



Facts Worth Knowing

About the Quillaja Tree and its Saponins

The Quillaja Saponaria Molina tree, also known as South American soaptree, grows naturally and extensively in Chile. The Quillaja Saponaria tree (family Rosaceae) is a large evergreen with a thick bark, native to several South American countries, particularly Bolivia, Chile and Peru.
Quillaja saponin extract contains mainly saponins but also polyphenols, tannins, as well as salts and sugars in small quantities. The Quillaja saponins are molecules built from a triterpenic nucleus with two sugar chains. These sugar chains give saponins a hydrophilic property (= dissolvable in water), whilst the triterpenic nucleus is hydrophobic (= water-repellant). For these, it is an amphotic tenside, which makes saponins a non-ionic tensoactive, allowing for the reduction of surface tension, the solubilization of hydrophobic products in aqueous solutions as well as the formation of micro-/nano-emulsions.
In the Quillaja tree, the bark contains with approx. 5% the highest amount of saponins, whilst the wood has a content of approx. 2% of saponins.
Since saponins are natural substances with good foaming and emulsifying properties, they are frequently used as foaming agents in the food, beverages and beer industry, as surfactant in cosmetics, as additives in agrochemicals and animal feed, and as adjuvants in vaccines.
The production of the quillaja extracts is done with an aqueous extraction; no other solvents are used in its production. The final product, either a crude or purified extract, in liquid or powder formulation only incorporates natural ingredients and raw materials, authorized for their use in food manufacturing processes. (Cares et al. 2009)

What are Saponins?

The word saponin is derived from the Latin word sapo, which means soap. Saponins are phytochemicals, found mainly but not exclusively in plants, which exhibit foaming characteristics, and consist of polycyclic aglycones attached to one or more sugar side chains. The aglycone part, which is also called a sapogenin, is either a steroid (C27) or a triterpene (C30). The foaming ability of saponins is caused by the combination of a hydrophobic (fat soluble) sapogenin and a hydrophilic (water soluble) sugar part. [Majinda, 2012: p. 515] Plant materials with a high saponin amounts have traditionally been used as emulsifying agents. Prominent examples for plants rich in saponins are soapbark (Quillaja saponaria; Rosaceae), soapwort (Saponaria officinalis; Caryophyllaceae), and shikakai powder (Gleditsia sinensis; Leguminosae). Saponins are amphipathic glycosides with a high molecular weight, which have structurally one or more hydrophilic glycoside moieties that are combined with a lipophilic triterpene derivative. Especially in the pharmaceutical industry, saponins have attracted much attention due to their range of biological properties including their ability to stimulate an immune response, making them prime candidates for adjuvants.

All You Need to Know About Ultrasonic Extraction

Ultrasound-assisted extraction (UAE), also sono-extraction, is a highly efficient, green extraction method to isolate bioactive substances such as proteins, vitamins, polyphenols, natural pigments, lipids etc. from plant matrices. Ultrasonic extraction is based on the working principle of acoustic cavitation.
When intense ultrasound waves are applied to liquid systems, acoustic cavitation occurs, which is the phenomenon of the generation, growth and eventual collapse of vacuum bubbles (see pic. below). During the propagation of the ultrasound waves, the vacuum bubbles oscillate and grow until they reach a point when they cannot absorb further energy. At the peak of bubble growth they collapse violently, which causes locally thermal, mechanical, and chemical effects. The mechanical effects include high pressures of up to 1000atm, turbulences, and intense shear forces. Those forces disrupt cell walls and promote mass transfer between the cell interior and the solvent releasing bioactive compounds into the surrounding liquid (i.e. solvent).

Ultrasonic / acoustic cavitation creates highly intense forces which opens the cell walls known as lysis (Click to enlarge!)

Ultrasonic extraction is based on acoustic cavitation and its hydrodynamic shear forces

Ultrasonic solid-liquid extraction of compounds from botanicals and cell tissue has been well researched. The application of highly intense ultrasonic waves promotes extraction processes significantly. Besides process intensification – which results in higher yields and shorter extraction time – thermal degradation and loss of temperature-sensitive constituents is prevented since ultrasonication is non-thermal treatment. Furthermore, ultrasonic extraction has low investment and operational costs, reduces the use of solvents and/or allows for the use of greener solvents, which makes it an economical and environmental-friendly extraction technique. Outperforming conventional extraction methods, ultrasonically-assisted extraction (UAE) has been adopted from the food industry to produce bioactives with economical gains.

Ultrasonic disruptors are used for extractions from phyto sources (e.g. plants, algae, fungi)

Ultrasonic extraction from plant cells: the microscopic transverse section (TS) shows the mechanism of actions during ultrasonic extraction from cells (magnification 2000x) [resource: Vilkhu et al. 2011]

Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonicators for extraction of phytochemicals from botanicals.

High-power ultrasonic processors from lab to pilot and industrial scale.