الموجات فوق الصوتية يجعل إعادة تدوير بطارية ليثيوم أيون أكثر كفاءة

الليثيوم مادة نادرة وذات قيمة عالية موجودة في البطاريات عالية الأداء ، مثل بطاريات Li-ion. الليثيوم هو المادة الأكثر قيمة التي يتم استردادها في إعادة تدوير بطارية Li-ion ، ولكن أيضا المعادن والمعادن الأخرى مثل الكوبالت والمنغنيز والنيكل والنحاس والألمنيوم هي معادن ثمينة للاسترداد. يستخدم الموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الكثافة كتقنية عالية القص والترشيح لاستخراج وإزالة وإذابة المعادن والمعادن الثمينة من البطاريات المستهلكة. طريقة صوتنة فعالة للغاية ، موفرة للطاقة ، ومتاحة بسهولة للتركيب في مرافق إعادة التدوير التجارية الكاملة.

نظرة عامة: عملية إعادة تدوير بطارية ليثيوم أيون

عادة ما تتضمن عملية إعادة تدوير المعادن الثمينة والمواد من بطاريات Li-ion المستهلكة عدة خطوات. فيما يلي نظرة عامة عامة:

  1. الجمع والفرز: يتم جمع بطاريات Li-ion المستهلكة وفرزها بناء على أنواعها وكيميائياتها.
  2. التفكيكأولا ، يتم تفكيك الغطاء البلاستيكي للبطارية وإزالته.: بعد ذلك ، يتم وضع البطارية المجردة في النيتروجين السائل من أجل تحييد المواد التفاعلية والمتفجرة. تتأكد هذه الخطوة من منع الإطلاق المفاجئ لجميع الطاقة المخزنة والاشتعال والانفجار اللاحق المرتبط بها. بعد ذلك ، يتم تفكيك البطاريات لفصل المكونات المختلفة ، مثل الكاثود والأنود والكهارل والغلاف.
  3. تمزيق: يتم تقطيع البطاريات المفككة إلى قطع أصغر لزيادة مساحة السطح للعمليات اللاحقة.
  4. تفريغ القطب: قبل معالجة استخراج المعادن ، يجب تفكيك الأقطاب الكهربائية المعزولة ، أي الكاثود والأنود. نظرا لأن مادة الكاثود تلتصق عموما برقائق الألومنيوم بواسطة مادة رابطة ، عادة فلوريد البولي فينيليدين (PVDF) أو بولي تترافلورو إيثيلين (PTFE) ، فمن الصعب إزالة الكاثود ورقائق الألومنيوم من بعضهما البعض.
  5. المعالجة الكيميائية: تخضع مكونات البطارية الممزقة لمعالجات كيميائية مختلفة لإذابة وفصل المواد المختلفة. قد يشمل ذلك الترشيح بالحمض أو المذيبات الأخرى لاستخراج المعادن الثمينة مثل الليثيوم والكوبالت والنيكل والنحاس.
  6. الاسترداد والتنقية: ثم يتم استرداد الفلزات الذائبة من المحلول من خلال عمليات مثل الترسيب أو استخلاص المذيبات أو الطرق الكهروكيميائية. تساعد هذه الخطوات على تنقية المعادن الثمينة وتركيزها.

تحسن تعافي المعادن الثمينة عن طريق Sonication

يمكن أن تعزز الموجات فوق الصوتية للطاقة خطوات تفريغ القطب الكهربائي وترشيح المعادن والمواد الثمينة عن طريق تكثيف التفاعلات وبالتالي جعل عملية الاسترداد أكثر كفاءة بشكل ملحوظ. الموجات فوق الصوتية ، وهي تقنية تستخدم الموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الكثافة لخلق اهتزازات ميكانيكية وتجويف صوتي في وسط سائل. تستخدم القوى القوية للموجات فوق الصوتية لتعزيز عملية إعادة تدوير المعادن الثمينة من بطاريات Li-ion المستهلكة بعدة طرق:
 

  1. التفكك: الموجات فوق الصوتية ينهار مواد البطارية تمزيقه بحيث يتم إنشاء جزيئات أصغر. توفر الجسيمات الأصغر مساحة سطح أعلى مما يجعل الترشيح الكيميائي أكثر فعالية ، مما يساعد في تحرير المعادن الثمينة.
  2. تحسين الترشيح: يمكن أن يؤدي تطبيق الموجات فوق الصوتية أثناء عمليات الترشيح إلى تعزيز الاتصال بين المواد الصلبة ومحلول الترشيح ، مما يزيد من كفاءة استخراج المعادن. الترشيح بالموجات فوق الصوتية يعزز استخراج المعادن ويزيد من غلة المعادن المستردة والمعادن مثل الكوبالت والمنغنيز والنيكل والنحاس والألمنيوم.
  3. تحسين تفريغ القطب الكهربائي: الهدف من تفريغ الأقطاب الكهربائية أثناء إعادة تدوير البطارية هو فصل المكونات المختلفة ، مثل الأقطاب الكهربائية والإلكتروليتات والفواصل ، بحيث يمكن معالجتها أو إعادة تدويرها بشكل فردي. الموجات فوق الصوتية يساعد على انفصال وإزالة الطلاء من القطب. تعزز قوى Sonomechanical الفصل الفعال لطبقات الأقطاب الكهربائية.
  4. ردود الفعل المتسارعة: Ultrasonication يعزز خلط أسرع وأكثر شمولا، والتي يمكن تسريع التفاعلات الكيميائية خلال خطوات استعادة المعادن وتنقيتها.
  5. انخفاض استهلاك الطاقة: الموجات فوق الصوتية يمكن أن تعزز كفاءة العملية ، مما يقلل من الوقت والطاقة اللازمة لاستعادة المعادن من البطاريات المستهلكة.

 
Ultrasonication يمكن أن تلعب دورا مفيدا في تحسين عملية إعادة تدوير المعادن الثمينة والمواد من بطاريات ليثيوم أيون المستهلكة من خلال زيادة فعالية وكفاءة الخطوات المختلفة التي تنطوي عليها عملية إعادة التدوير.
يمكن تكييف خطوات عملية ترشيح المعادن بالموجات فوق الصوتية وتفريغ القطب الكهربائي مع عمليات إعادة التدوير الفردية ، والتي يمكن أن تختلف مع قيام الشركات المتخصصة في إعادة تدوير بطاريات Li-ion بتطوير وتعديل عملياتها إلى أعلى كفاءة.

UIP4000hdT - معالج بالموجات فوق الصوتية قوي 4000 واط لفصل الكاثود وترشيح المعادن أثناء إعادة تدوير بطاريات Li-ion المستهلكة.

UIP4000hdt – معالج بالموجات فوق الصوتية 4kW لإعادة تدوير بطارية ليثيوم أيون

طلب معلومات




لاحظ لدينا سياسة الخصوصية.


الموجات فوق الصوتية لاستعادة كفاءة عالية من
 

  • ليثيوم
  • كوبلت
  • منغنيز
  • نيكل
  • نحاس
  • الومينيوم
  • ليكو2
  • الجرافيت

التجويف بالموجات فوق الصوتية لفصل الكاثود

Ultrasonication يفصل مواد الكاثود من رقائق الألومنيوم من خلال آثار التجويف الصوتي. يتم تحديد التجويف الصوتي أو فوق الصوتي من خلال الضغوط العالية التي تحدث محليا ودرجات الحرارة المرتفعة وانخفاضاتها اللاحقة مما يؤدي إلى فروق الضغط ودرجة الحرارة ذات الصلة بالإضافة إلى الاضطرابات الدقيقة الشديدة والنفاثات الدقيقة عالية القص. تؤثر قوى التجويف هذه على حدود السطح ، وتعزز نقل الكتلة وتسبب التآكل. توليد مثل هذه القوى المكثفة ذات الطبيعة الكيميائية والفيزيائية والحرارية والميكانيكية ، يخلق التجويف بالموجات فوق الصوتية التحريض المطلوب ونقل الكتلة لكسر هيكل الموثق العضوي المستخدم في بطاريات الليثيوم أيون لتثبيت الكاثود على المجمع / رقائق الألومنيوم.
في حين أن التحريض الميكانيكي مثل التحريك وحده غير كاف لفصل مادة الكاثود بشكل فعال عن رقائق الألومنيوم ، فإن الموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الكثافة توفر الطاقة السونوكيميائية والميكانيكية المطلوبة لإزالة مادة الكاثود تماما من المجمعات. على عكس التحريك الميكانيكي ، يولد التجويف بالموجات فوق الصوتية اضطرابات شديدة ودرجات حرارة وضغوط عالية محليا بالإضافة إلى الإثارة والتدفق والنفاثات السائلة ، التي تفكك المادة الرابطة ، على سبيل المثال PVDF أو PTFE ، التي تربط الكاثود برقائق Al ، وتآكل سطح كل من الكاثود والرقائق. وبالتالي ، يتم تدمير الموثق بين كلتا المادتين بشكل صحيح ويتم فصل الكاثود ورقائق الألومنيوم بشكل فعال.
على سبيل المثال ، ينتج عن الفصل بالموجات فوق الصوتية كفاءة عالية لإزالة الكاثود بنسبة 99٪ باستخدام N-methyl-2-pyrrolidone (NMP) كمذيب عند 70 درجة مئوية (240 واط طاقة فوق صوتية ، و 90 دقيقة وقت المعالجة بالموجات فوق الصوتية). نظرا لأن فصل الكاثود بالموجات فوق الصوتية يشتت المادة بالتساوي ويمنع التكتلات الكبيرة ، يتم تسهيل عملية ترشيح المعادن اللاحقة.
اقرأ المزيد عن تفريغ القطب بالموجات فوق الصوتية من أجل استعادة المواد الفعالة ورقائق التجميع الحالية!

"الموجات فوق الصوتية

تفريغ القطب بالموجات فوق الصوتية لإعادة تدوير البطارية

صورة مصغرة للفيديو

 

الترشيح بالموجات فوق الصوتية للمعادن

تعزز تأثيرات التجويف فوق الصوتية الموصوفة أعلاه ترشيح المعادن من البطاريات المستهلكة أيضا. الموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الكثافة لا تستخدم فقط لاستعادة المعادن في إعادة تدوير البطارية، ولكن أيضا في كثير من الأحيان تستخدم في التعدين المائي وترشيح الخامات الثمينة (مثل مخلفات التعدين). تعمل درجات الحرارة والضغوط وقوى القص المحلية العالية على تكثيف ترشيح المعادن وزيادة كفاءة الترشيح بشكل كبير. بينما في البقع الساخنة التجويفية تحدث درجات حرارة شديدة للغاية تصل إلى 1000 كلفن ، فإن ظروف الترشيح الإجمالية تتطلب فقط درجة حرارة معتدلة تبلغ حوالي 50-60 درجة مئوية. هذا يجعل استعادة المعادن بالموجات فوق الصوتية فعالة واقتصادية.
يتميز الترشيح بالموجات فوق الصوتية للمعادن من بطاريات Li-ion المستهلكة بمعدلات استرداد عالية وكفاءة. على سبيل المثال ، تم استخدام حمض الكبريتيك (H2SO4) بنجاح كعامل ترشيح في وجود بيروكسيد الهيدروجين (H2O2) أثناء استعادة المعادن بالموجات فوق الصوتية من الكاثود. أدى الترشيح بالموجات فوق الصوتية مع حمض الكبريتيك إلى معدلات استرداد 94.63٪ للكوبالت ، و 98.62٪ للليثيوم ، على التوالي.
الترشيح بالموجات فوق الصوتية مع حامض الستريك العضوي (C6H8O7 · H2O) يؤدي إلى عمليات استرداد عالية جدا للنحاس والليثيوم ، حيث يحصل على 96٪ من النحاس وما يقرب من 100٪ من الليثيوم من بطاريات Li-ion المستهلكة.

مفاعل صناعي بالموجات فوق الصوتية متعدد المسبار لاستعادة المعادن من بطاريات Li-ion المستهلكة. يعطي الترشيح Ultarsonic عوائد استرداد عالية من الليثيوم والكوبالت والنحاس والألمنيوم والنيكل.

MultiSonoReactor مع ما يصل إلى 5 تحقيقات بالموجات فوق الصوتية: خلاط عالي القص الصناعي بالموجات فوق الصوتية عالي الكثافة للمعالجة المضمنة ، مثل ترشيح المعادن وفصل الكاثود ورقائق الألومنيوم وكذلك استخراج المعادن من بطاريات الليثيوم أيون المستهلكة.


UIP16000 عبارة عن خلاط عالي القص بالموجات فوق الصوتية بقوة 16 كيلو وات يستخدم للتطبيقات الصعبة مثل ترشيح المعادن ، وتشتت المعادن ، وتجانس الملاط عالي اللزوجة والكاشطة.

UIP16000 ، الخالط بالموجات فوق الصوتية بقوة 16000 واط لاستخراج المعادن وترشيح المعادن وفصل الكاثود في إعادة تدوير البطاريات

مزايا تكنولوجيا إعادة تدوير البطارية بالموجات فوق الصوتية
 

  • كفاءة عالية
  • تقنية راسخة
  • عملية بسيطة
  • استخدام المذيبات منخفضة / غير سامة
  • تقريبا لا انبعاثات العادم / CO2 البصمة
  • آمن
  • صديقة للبيئة

بسيطة وآمنة: توسيع نطاق الموجات فوق الصوتية من اختبارات الجدوى إلى إعادة التدوير الصناعي

معدات الموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الأداء لإعادة تدوير بطارية Li-ion متاحة بسهولة للتركيب على مقاعد البدلاء والطيار والصناعي. نظرا لأن فصل الكاثود بالموجات فوق الصوتية والترشيح بالموجات فوق الصوتية للمعادن من البطاريات المستهلكة هي عمليات راسخة بالفعل ، فإن العملية من التجارب الأولى ، والتحسين لمتطلبات العملية المحددة الخاصة بك وتركيب نظام فصل و / أو ترشيح صناعي بالكامل بالموجات فوق الصوتية سريع وبسيط.

الموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الأداء لإعادة تدوير البطارية

UIP4000hdT flow cell for inline sonication on industrial scaleHielscher الفوق صوتيات لوازم الموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الأداء في أي حجم والقدرة. مع UIP16000 (16kW)، Hielscher بتصنيع أقوى معالج بالموجات فوق الصوتية في جميع أنحاء العالم. يمكن أن تكون UIP16000 وكذلك جميع أنظمة الموجات فوق الصوتية الصناعية الأخرى مجموعات بسهولة إلى قدرة المعالجة المطلوبة. تم بناء جميع الموجات فوق الصوتية Hielscher لعملية 24/7 تحت الحمل الكامل وفي البيئات الصعبة.
Hielscher Ultrasonics’ industrial ultrasonic processors can deliver very high amplitudes. Amplitudes of up to 200µm can be easily continuously run in 24/7 operation. For even higher amplitudes, customized ultrasonic sonotrodes are available.

تحقيقات الموجات فوق الصوتية ومفاعلات سونو لأي حجم

تغطي مجموعة منتجات Hielscher Ultrasonics مجموعة كاملة من المعالجات بالموجات فوق الصوتية من الموجات فوق الصوتية مختبر المدمجة على مقاعد البدلاء وأنظمة تجريبية إلى معالجات الموجات فوق الصوتية الصناعية بالكامل مع القدرة على معالجة حمولات الشاحنات في الساعة. تتيح لنا مجموعة المنتجات الكاملة أن نقدم لك أنسب معدات الموجات فوق الصوتية لتطبيقك وقدرة العملية وأهداف الإنتاج.

سعات يمكن التحكم فيها بدقة للحصول على أفضل النتائج

Hielscher ultrasonicators can be remotely controlled via browser control. Sonication parameters can be monitored and adjusted precisely to the process requirements.جميع المعالجات بالموجات فوق الصوتية Hielscher هي التي يمكن التحكم فيها بدقة وبالتالي الخيول العمل موثوق بها في R&د والإنتاج. السعة هي واحدة من معلمات العملية الحاسمة التي تؤثر على كفاءة وفعالية التفاعلات المستحثة بالموجات فوق الصوتية والميكانيكية الصوتية. جميع Hielscher الفوق صوتيات’ processors allow for the precise setting of the amplitude. Sonotrodes and booster horns are accessories that allow to modify the amplitude in an even wider range. Hielscher’s industrial ultrasonic processors can deliver very high amplitudes and deliver the required ultrasonic intensity for demanding applications. Amplitudes of up to 200µm can be easily continuously run in 24/7 operation.
تمنحك إعدادات السعة الدقيقة والمراقبة الدائمة لمعلمات العملية بالموجات فوق الصوتية عبر البرامج الذكية إمكانية فصل الكاثود عن رقائق الألومنيوم وكذلك ترشيح المعادن والمعادن من بطاريات Li-ion المستهلكة في ظل أكثر ظروف الموجات فوق الصوتية فعالية. صوتنة الأمثل لإعادة تدوير بطارية ليثيوم أيون الأكثر كفاءة!
متانة معدات الموجات فوق الصوتية Hielscher يسمح لعملية 24/7 في الخدمة الشاقة وفي البيئات الصعبة. هذا يجعل معدات الموجات فوق الصوتية Hielscher أداة عمل موثوقة تلبي متطلبات عملية إعادة التدوير الخاصة بك.

أعلى جودة – صمم وصنع في ألمانيا

كشركة عائلية وتديرها عائلة ، تعطي Hielscher الأولوية لأعلى معايير الجودة لمعالجاتها بالموجات فوق الصوتية. تم تصميم جميع الموجات فوق الصوتية وتصنيعها واختبارها بدقة في مقرنا الرئيسي في Teltow بالقرب من برلين ، ألمانيا. متانة وموثوقية معدات الموجات فوق الصوتية Hielscher جعلها حصان العمل في الإنتاج الخاص بك. عملية 24/7 تحت الحمل الكامل وفي البيئات الصعبة هي سمة طبيعية من تحقيقات الموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الأداء Hielscher والمفاعلات.

يمنحك الجدول أدناه مؤشرا على قدرة المعالجة التقريبية لأجهزة الموجات فوق الصوتية لدينا:

حجم الدفعةمعدل التدفقالأجهزة الموصى بها
10 إلى 2000 مل20 إلى 400 مل / دقيقةUP200Ht, UP400ST
0.1 إلى 20 لتر0.2 إلى 4 لتر / دقيقةUIP2000hdT
10 إلى 100 لتر2 إلى 10 لتر / دقيقةUIP4000hdt
ن.أ.10 إلى 100 لتر / دقيقةUIP16000
ن.أ.أكبرمجموعة من UIP16000

اتصل بنا! / اسألنا!

اطلب المزيد من المعلومات

يرجى استخدام النموذج أدناه لطلب معلومات إضافية حول المعالجات بالموجات فوق الصوتية والتطبيقات والسعر. سنكون سعداء لمناقشة العملية الخاصة بك معك وأن نقدم لك نظام الموجات فوق الصوتية تلبية الاحتياجات الخاصة بك!









يرجى ملاحظة سياسة الخصوصية.



حقائق تستحق المعرفة

بطاريات ليثيوم أيون

بطارية ليثيوم أيون ، وكذلك بطارية ليثيوم أيون ، هي نوع من البطاريات القابلة لإعادة الشحن. بالمقارنة مع البطاريات القائمة على الرصاص والنيكل ، تستخدم أجهزة الليثيوم أيون الكاثود والأنود والكهارل كموصل.
مثل جميع البطاريات ، تخزن بطاريات Li-ion الطاقة الكيميائية ، والتي يتم تحويلها بعد ذلك إلى طاقة كهربائية من أجل توفير شحنة كهربائية ثابتة للطاقة.
تستخدم بطاريات الليثيوم أيون بشكل شائع للإلكترونيات المحمولة مثل أجهزة الكمبيوتر المحمولة والهواتف الذكية وكذلك السيارات الكهربائية. يثير تطبيق بطاريات Li-ion أيضا اهتماما متزايدا من الشركات العسكرية وشركات الطيران.

تستخدم المجانسات عالية القص بالموجات فوق الصوتية في المعالجة المعملية وفوق الطاولة والتجريبية والصناعية.

Hielscher Ultrasonics بتصنيع المجانسات بالموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الأداء لخلط التطبيقات، والتشتت، والاستحلاب والاستخراج على المختبر، التجريبية والصناعية النطاق.

سنكون سعداء لمناقشة العملية الخاصة بك.

Let's get in contact.

Ultrasonics Makes Lithium-Ion Battery Recycling More Efficient

Lithium is a scarce and highly valuable material present in high-performance batteries, such as Li-ion batteries. Lithium is the most valuable material that is recovered in Li-ion battery recycling, but also other minerals and metals such as cobalt, manganese, nickel, copper and aluminum are valuable metals for recovery. High-intensity ultrasonication is used as high-shear agitation and leaching technique to extract, remove, and dissolve valuable minerals and metals from spent batteries. The sonication method is highly efficacious, energy-efficient, and is readily available for installation in full-commercial recycling facilities.

Overview: Li-Ion-Battery Recycling Process

The recycling process of precious metals and materials from spent Li-ion batteries typically involves several steps. Here’s a general overview:

  1. Collection and sorting: Spent Li-ion batteries are collected and sorted based on their types and chemistries.
  2. Disassembly: First, the plastic cover of the battery is broken up and removed.Afterwards, the naked battery is put in liquid nitrogen in order to neutralise reactive, explosive substances. This step makes sure that a sudden release of all stored energy and the subsequent ignition and explosion associated with are prevented. Then, the batteries are disassembled to separate the different components, such as the cathode, anode, electrolyte, and casing.
  3. Shredding: The disassembled batteries are shredded into smaller pieces to increase the surface area for subsequent processes.
  4. Electrode delamination: Before the metal-extraction treatment, the isolated electrodes, i.e. cathode and anode, must be further disassembled. Since the cathode material is generally adhered to aluminum foil by a binder, commonly polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) or polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE), it is a difficult task to remove cathode and aluminum foil from each other.
  5. Chemical treatment: The shredded battery components undergo various chemical treatments to dissolve and separate the different materials. This may involve leaching with acid or other solvents to extract valuable metals like lithium, cobalt, nickel, and copper.
  6. Recovery and purification: The dissolved metals are then recovered from the solution through processes like precipitation, solvent extraction, or electrochemical methods. These steps help purify and concentrate the precious metals.

Precious Metal Recovery Improved by Sonication

Power ultrasound can enhance the steps of electrode delamination and leaching of precious metals and materials by intensifying the reactions thereby making the recovery process significantly more efficient. Ultrasonication, it is a technique that utilizes high-intensity ultrasound waves to create mechanical vibrations and acoustic cavitation in a liquid medium. The strong forces of ultrasonication are used to enhance the recycling process of precious metals from spent Li-ion batteries in several ways:
 

  1. Disintegration: Ultrasonication breaks down the shredded battery materials so that smaller particles are created. Smaller particles offer a higher surface area which makes the chemical leaching more effectively, aiding in the liberation of valuable metals.
  2. Improved leaching: The application of ultrasonication during leaching processes can enhance the contact between the solid material and the leaching solution, increasing the efficiency of metal extraction. Ultrasonic leaching promotes the metal extraction and increases the yield of recovered of metals and minerals such as cobalt, manganese, nickel, copper and aluminum.
  3. Improved electrode delamination: The goal of electrode delamination during battery recycling is to separate the different components, such as electrodes, electrolytes, and separators, so they can be further processed or recycled individually. Ultrasonication assists the detachment and removal of coatings from the electrode. Sonomechanical forces promote the efficient separation of the layers of the electrodes.
  4. Accelerated reactions: Ultrasonication promotes faster and more thorough mixing, which can accelerate chemical reactions during metal recovery and purification steps.
  5. Reduced energy consumption: Ultrasonication can enhance process efficiency, reducing the time and energy required for metal recovery from spent batteries.

 
Ultrasonication can play a beneficial role in improving the recycling process of precious metals and materials from spent Li-ion batteries by increasing the effectiveness and efficiency of various steps involved in the recycling process.
The process steps of ultrasonic metal leaching and electrode delamination can be adapted to individual recycling processes, which can vary as companies specialising in Li-ion battery recycling develop and modify their processes to highest efficiency.

UIP4000hdT - 4000 watts powerful ultrasonic processor for cathode separation and metal leaching during the recycling of spent Li-ion batteries.

UIP4000hdT – 4kW ultrasonic processor for Li-ion battery recycling

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


Ultrasonics for the Highly Efficient Recovery of
 

  • Lithium
  • Cobalt
  • Manganese
  • Nickel
  • Copper
  • Aluminium
  • LiCoO2
  • Graphite

Ultrasonic Cavitation for Cathode Separation

Ultrasonication separates cathode materials from aluminum foil by the effects of acoustic cavitation. Acoustic or ultrasonic cavitation is determined by locally occurring high pressures, high temperatures and their subsequent drops resulting in respective pressure and temperature differentials as well as intense micro-turbulences and high-shear micro-jets. These cavitational forces affect surface boundaries, promote mass transfer and cause erosion. Generating such intense forces of chemical, physical, thermal and mechanical nature, ultrasonic cavitation creates the required agitation and mass transfer to break the organic binder structure used in lithium-ion batteries to fixate the cathode to the collector / aluminum foil.
Whilst mechanical agitation such as stirring alone is insufficient to detach the cathode material effectively from the aluminum foil, high-intensity ultrasonication provides the required sonochemical and sonomechanical energy to remove the cathode material completely from the collectors. In contrast to mechanical stirring, ultrasonic cavitation generates intense turbulences, locally high temperatures and pressures as well as agitation, streaming and liquid jets, which break up the binder, e.g. PVDF or PTFE, which connect the cathode to the Al foil, and erodes the surface of both, cathode and Al foil. Thereby, the binder between both materials is properly destructed and cathode and aluminum foil are effectively separated.
For instance, ultrasonic separation results in high efficiency of the cathode removal of 99% using N-methyl-2-pyrrolidone (NMP) as solvent at 70°C (240 W ultrasonic power, and 90 min ultrasonic processing time). Since ultrasonic cathode separation disperses the material evenly and prevents larger agglomerates, the subsequent metal leaching process is facilitated.
Read more about ultrasonic electrode delamination in order to recover active materials and current collector foils!

“Ultrasonicator

Ultrasound Electrode Delamination for Battery Recycling

Video Thumbnail

 

Ultrasonic Leaching of Minerals

The ultrasonic cavitational effects described above promote the leaching of metals from spent batteries, too. High-intensity ultrasonication is not only used to recover mineral in battery recycling, but is also often used in hydrometallurgy and the leaching of precious ores (e.g. mining tailings). The high localized temperatures, pressures, and shear forces intensify the metal leaching and increase leaching efficiency significantly. Whilst in the cavitational hot-spots occur localized very extreme temperatures of up to 1000 K, the overall leaching conditions require only mild temperature of approx. 50-60°C. This makes the ultrasonic metal recovery energy efficient and economical.
Ultrasonic leaching of minerals from spent Li-ion batteries is characterized by high recovery rates and efficiency. For instance, sulfuric acid (H2SO4) was successfully used as leaching agent in the presence of hydrogen peroxide (H2O2) during ultrasonic mineral recovery from the cathode. Ultrasonic leaching with sulfuric acid resulted in recovery rates of 94.63% for cobalt, and 98.62% for lithium, respectively.
Ultrasonic leaching with organic citric acid (C6H8O7·H2O) results in very high recoveries of copper and lithium, obtaining 96% copper and nearly 100% lithium from the spent Li-ion batteries.

Industrial multi-probe ultrasonic reactor for metal recovery from spent Li-ion batteries. Ultarsonic leaching gives high recovery yields of lithium, cobalt, copper, aluminium, and nickel.

MultiSonoReactor with up to 5 ultrasonic probes: High-intensity ultrasonic industrial high-shear mixer for inline processing, e.g. leaching of metals, cathode and aluminum foil separation as well as extraction of minerals from spent lithium-ion batteries.


The UIP16000 is a 16kW powerful ultrasonic high-shear mixer used for demanding applications such as metal leaching, mineral dispersions, and the homogenization of high-viscous and abrasive slurries.

The UIP16000, a 16,000 watts powerful ultrasonic homogenizer for mineral extraction, metal leaching and cathode separation in battery recycling

Advantages of Ultrasonic Battery Recycling Technology
 

  • High efficiency
  • Established technique
  • Simple operation
  • Low / non-toxic solvent use
  • Almost no exhaust emission / CO2 footprint
  • Safe
  • Environmental-friendly

Simple and Safe: Ultrasonic Scale-up From Feasibility Tests to Industrial Recycling

High-performance ultrasonic equipment for Li-ion battery recycling is readily available for bench-top, pilot and industrial installation. Since ultrasonic cathode separation and ultrasonic leaching of minerals from spent batteries are already established processes, the process from first trials, optimisation to your specific process requirements and installation of a fully-industrial ultrasonic separation and/or leaching system is quick and simple.

High Performance Ultrasonicators For Battery Recycling

UIP4000hdT flow cell for inline sonication on industrial scaleHielscher Ultrasonics supplies high-performance ultrasonicators at any size and capacity. With the UIP16000 (16kW), Hielscher manufactures the most powerful ultrasonic processor worldwide. The UIP16000 as well as all other industrial ultrasonic systems can be easily clusters to the required processing capacity. All Hielscher ultrasonicators are built for 24/7 operation under full load and in demanding environments.
Hielscher Ultrasonics’ industrial ultrasonic processors can deliver very high amplitudes. Amplitudes of up to 200µm can be easily continuously run in 24/7 operation. For even higher amplitudes, customized ultrasonic sonotrodes are available.

Ultrasonic Probes and Sono-Reactors for Any Volume

Hielscher Ultrasonics product range covers the full spectrum of ultrasonic processors from compact lab ultrasonicators over bench-top and pilot systems to fully-industrial ultrasonic processors with the capacity to process truckloads per hour. The full product range allows us to offer you the most suitable ultrasonic equipment for your application, process capacity and production targets.

Precisely Controllable Amplitudes for Optimum Results

Hielscher ultrasonicators can be remotely controlled via browser control. Sonication parameters can be monitored and adjusted precisely to the process requirements.All Hielscher ultrasonic processors are precisely controllable and thereby reliable work horses in R&D and production. The amplitude is one of the crucial process parameters that influence the efficiency and effectiveness of sonochemically and sonomechanically induced reactions. All Hielscher Ultrasonics’ processors allow for the precise setting of the amplitude. Sonotrodes and booster horns are accessories that allow to modify the amplitude in an even wider range. Hielscher’s industrial ultrasonic processors can deliver very high amplitudes and deliver the required ultrasonic intensity for demanding applications. Amplitudes of up to 200µm can be easily continuously run in 24/7 operation.
Precise amplitude settings and the permanent monitoring of the ultrasonic process parameters via smart software give you the possibility to separate cathode from the aluminum foil as well as to leach minerals and metals from spent Li-ion batteries under the most effective ultrasonic conditions. Optimal sonication for most efficient Li-ion battery recycling!
The robustness of Hielscher’s ultrasonic equipment allows for 24/7 operation at heavy duty and in demanding environments. This makes Hielscher’s ultrasonic equipment a reliable work tool that fulfils your recycling process requirements.

Highest Quality – Designed and Manufactured in Germany

As a family-owned and family-run business, Hielscher prioritizes highest quality standards for its ultrasonic processors. All ultrasonicators are designed, manufactured and thoroughly tested in our headquarter in Teltow near Berlin, Germany. Robustness and reliability of Hielscher’s ultrasonic equipment make it a work horse in your production. 24/7 operation under full load and in demanding environments is a natural characteristic of Hielscher’s high-performance ultrasonic probes and reactors.

The table below gives you an indication of the approximate processing capacity of our ultrasonicators:

Batch Volume Flow Rate Recommended Devices
10 to 2000mL 20 to 400mL/min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 to 20L 0.2 to 4L/min UIP2000hdT
10 to 100L 2 to 10L/min UIP4000hdT
n.a. 10 to 100L/min UIP16000
n.a. larger cluster of UIP16000

Contact Us! / Ask Us!

Ask for more information

Please use the form below to request additional information about ultrasonic processors, applications and price. We will be glad to discuss your process with you and to offer you an ultrasonic system meeting your requirements!









Please note our privacy policy.



Facts Worth Knowing

Lithium-Ion Batteries

A lithium-ion battery, also Li-ion battery, is a type of rechargeable battery. Compared to lead- and nickel-based batteries, lithium-ion devices use a cathode, an anode and electrolyte as conductor.
As all batteries, Li-ion batteries store chemical energy, which is then converted into electrical energy in order to provide a static electrical charge for power.
Lithium-ion batteries are commonly used for portable electronics such as laptops, smart phones as well as electric vehicles. The application of Li-ion batteries evokes also increasing interest from the military and aerospace companies.

Ultrasonic high-shear homogenizers are used in lab, bench-top, pilot and industrial processing.

Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonic homogenizers for mixing applications, dispersion, emulsification and extraction on lab, pilot and industrial scale.

We will be glad to discuss your process.

Let's get in contact.