Hielscher تكنولوجيا الموجات فوق الصوتية

Ultrasonics لإعادة تدوير بطاريات ليثيوم أيون

  • بطاريات Lithium-ion المستخدمة في السيارات الكهربائية تأتي الآن فقط إلى السوق الشامل ومعها ، يجب تطوير قدرات إعادة التدوير.
  • يعتبر الارتشاح بالموجات فوق الصوتية تقنية فعالة وصديقة للبيئة لاستعادة المعادن مثل Li و Mg و Co و Ni وغيرها من بطاريات Li-ion المستهلكة.
  • تعتبر أنظمة الموجات فوق الصوتية الصناعية Hielscher لتطبيقات الترشيح موثوقة وقوية ويمكن دمجها بسهولة في محطات إعادة التدوير الحالية.

إعادة تدوير بطاريات ليثيوم أيون

وتستخدم بطاريات ليثيوم أيون على نطاق واسع في المركبات الكهربائية (EV)، وأجهزة الكمبيوتر المحمولة والهواتف المحمولة. وهذا يعني أن بطاريات أيونالليثيوم المستهلكة تشكل تحدياً حالياً فيما يتعلق بإدارة النفايات وإعادة تدويرها. البطاريات هي سائق تكلفة رئيسية للمركبات الكهربائية، والتخلص منها مكلفة، أيضا. الجوانب البيئية والاقتصادية تدفع إلى حلقة إعادة تدوير مغلقة لأن نفايات البطارية تحتوي على مواد قيمة وتساعد على الحد من البصمة الكربونية لتصنيع بطاريات ليثيوم أيون.
إن إعادة تدوير بطاريات Li-ion تنمو إلى قطاع صناعي مزدهر من أجل ضمان توافر المعادن الأرضية النادرة وغيرها من مكونات البطارية في المستقبل ولتقليل التكاليف البيئية للتعدين.

الارتشاح بالموجات فوق الصوتية الصناعية

يمكن تطبيق عملية الارتشاح بالموجات فوق الصوتية واستخراج المعادن على عمليات إعادة تدوير بطاريات أكسيد الكوبالت الليثيوم (على سبيل المثال من أجهزة الكمبيوتر المحمولة والهواتف الذكية وما إلى ذلك) وكذلك بطاريات الليثيوم والنيكل والمنغنيز والكوبالت المعقدة (مثل المركبات الكهربائية).
Cavitation produced by Hielscher's UIP1000hdT with cascatrode إن الموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الطاقة معروفة بقدرتها على معالجة السوائل الكيميائية والملاط من أجل تحسين نقل الكتلة وبدء التفاعلات الكيميائية.
وتستند الآثار المكثفة للقوة ultrasonication على ظاهرة التجويف الصوتية. عن طريق اقتران الموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الطاقة في السوائل / الطين ، فإن الموجات المتناوبة ذات الضغط المنخفض والضغط العالي في السوائل تولد فقاعات فراغ صغيرة. ينمو الفراغ الفراغي الصغير عبر دورات الضغط المنخفض / الضغط العالي حتى ينفجر بعنف. يمكن اعتبار فقاعات الفراغ المنهارة بمثابة ميكرواريارات حيث درجات حرارة تصل إلى 5000 كيلوبايت ، وضغوط تصل إلى 1000 طن ، ومعدلات تدفئة وتبريد أعلى من 10-10 تحدث. علاوة على ذلك ، يتم توليد قوى القص الهيدروديناميكية القوية والنفاثات السائلة ذات سرعة تصل إلى 280 متر / ثانية. هذه الظروف القاسية للتجويف الصوتي تخلق ظروفًا فيزيائية وكيميائية غير عادية في السوائل الباردة وخلق بيئة مفيدة للتفاعلات الكيميائية (كيمياء السونوم).

Hielscher's ultrasonicators are reliable and robust systems for the leaching of metals.

48kW المعالج بالموجات فوق الصوتية
لتطبيقات تتطلب مثل ترشيح المعادن

طلب معلومات





الارتشاح بالموجات فوق الصوتية في إعادة تدوير بطاريات Li-Ion المستهلكة. (اضغط للتكبير!)

الترشيح بالموجات فوق الصوتية للمعادن من نفايات البطاريات المستنفدة.

التجويف المتولد عن طريق الموجات فوق الصوتية يمكن أن يحرض التحلل الحراري للمحلول وكذلك تكوين جذور وكواشف تفاعلية للغاية ، مثل الجذور الحرة وأيونات الهيدروكسيد (OH) والهيدرونيوم (H3O +) وما إلى ذلك ، التي توفر ظروف تفاعل غير عادية في السائل بحيث يزداد معدل التفاعل بشكل ملحوظ. يتم تسريع المواد الصلبة مثل الجسيمات بواسطة الطائرات السائلة ويتم طحنها من خلال الاصطدام بين الجسيمات والتآكل مما يزيد من مساحة السطح النشطة وبالتالي نقل الكتلة.
الميزة العظيمة المتمثلة في الارتشاح بالموجات فوق الصوتية واستعادة المعادن هي التحكم الدقيق في معلمات العملية مثل الاتساع والضغط ودرجة الحرارة. تسمح هذه المعلمات بضبط ظروف التفاعل تمامًا لوسط العملية والإخراج المستهدف. علاوة على ذلك ، يزيل الترشيح بالموجات فوق الصوتية حتى أصغر الجسيمات المعدنية من الركيزة ، مع الحفاظ على البنى الدقيقة. ويرجع الفضل في استعادة المعادن المحسنة إلى إنشاء فوق صوتي لأسطح عالية التفاعل ومعدلات تفاعل متزايدة ونقل جماعي محسن. يمكن تحسين عمليات الإشعاع من خلال التأثير على كل معلمة ، وبالتالي فهي لا تكون فعالة للغاية فحسب ، بل إنها ذات كفاءة عالية في استخدام الطاقة.
التحكم الدقيق للمعلمة وكفاءة الطاقة يجعل ترشيح الموجات فوق الصوتية بتقنية مواتية وممتازة – خاصة عند مقارنتها بتقنيات الحامض المعقدة و عمليات استخلاب الحمض.

الانتعاش بالموجات فوق الصوتية من LiCoO2 من بطاريات ليثيوم أيون المستنفدة

Ultrasonication يساعد على الترشيح الاختزالية وهطول المواد الكيميائية ، والتي تستخدم لاسترداد لى كلى2شركة3 وشركاه كو (OH)2 من نفايات بطاريات ليثيوم أيون.
زانج وآخرون. (2014) تقرير الاسترداد الناجح ل LiCoO2 باستخدام مفاعل فوق صوتي. من أجل إعداد حل البدء من 600mL ، وضعوا 10g من LiCoO غير صالح2 مسحوق في كوب ، وأضاف 2.0mol / L من الحل LiOH ، والتي كانت مختلطة.
تم صب الخليط في الإشعاع فوق الصوتي وبدأ جهاز التحريك ، تم وضع جهاز التقليب في داخل حاوية التفاعل. كانت ساخنة إلى 120 درجة مئوية ، ثم جهاز الموجات فوق الصوتية تم تعيينه إلى 800W وتم تعيين وضع الحركة فوق الصوتية إلى دورات واجب نابض من 5 ثانية. ON / 2 ثوانٍ. إيقاف. تم تطبيق التشعيع فوق الصوتي لمدة 6 ساعات ، ثم تم تبريد خليط التفاعل إلى درجة حرارة الغرفة. تم غسل البقايا الصلبة عدة مرات بالماء منزوع الأيونات وتجفيفه عند 80◦مئوية حتى وزن ثابت. تم جمع العينة التي تم الحصول عليها للاختبار اللاحق وإنتاج البطارية. تبلغ سعة الشحن في الدورة الأولى 134.2mAh / g وتبلغ قدرة التفريغ 133.5mAh / g. كانت كفاءة الشحن والتفريغ لأول مرة 99.5 ٪. بعد 40 دورة ، لا تزال سعة التفريغ 132.9mAh / g. (تشانغ وآخرون 2014)

بلورات LiCoO2 المستعادة فوق الصوتية. (اضغط للتكبير!)

تستخدم بلورات LiCoO2 قبل (أ) وبعد العلاج (ب) بالموجات فوق الصوتية عند 120 درجة مئوية لمدة 6 ساعات. المصدر: تشانغ وآخرون. 2014

الاستحلاب بالموجات فوق الصوتية بالأحماض العضوية مثل حامض الستريك ليس فعالاً فحسب بل أيضاً صديق للبيئة. ووجدت الأبحاث أن عملية الغسل في الـ Co and Li أكثر كفاءة مع حامض الستريك مقارنة بالأحماض غير العضوية H2وبالتالي4 و HCl. تم انتشال أكثر من 96٪ Co و 100٪ Li تقريبًا من بطاريات الليثيوم-أيون المستهلكة. حقيقة أن الأحماض العضوية مثل حامض الستريك وحمض الخليك غير مكلفة وقابلة للتحلل الحيوي ، ويسهم في مزيد من المزايا الاقتصادية والبيئية من صوتنة.

عالية الطاقة الصناعية الفوق

UIP4000hdT - Hielscher's 4kW high-performance ultrasonic system Hielscher Ultrasonics هي المورد ذو الخبرة الطويلة لأنظمة الموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الكفاءة والموثوق بها ، والتي توفر الطاقة المطلوبة لترشيح المعادن من مواد النفايات. من أجل إعادة معالجة بطاريات Li-ion عن طريق استخراج المعادن مثل الكوبالت والليثيوم والنيكل والمنغنيز ، تعد أنظمة الموجات فوق الصوتية القوية والقوية ضرورية. Hielscher Ultrasonics’ الوحدات الصناعية مثل UIP4000hdT (4 كيلوواط)، UIP10000 (10 كيلو واط) و UIP16000 (16KW) هي أقوى أنظمة الموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الأداء وقوية في السوق. يمكن تشغيل جميع وحداتنا الصناعية بشكل مستمر بسعات عالية تصل إلى 200 ميكرومتر في عملية 24/7. لمزيد من السعات ، تتوفر سونوترودس الموجات فوق الصوتية المخصصة. قوة المعدات Hielscher في الموجات فوق الصوتية يسمح للتشغيل 24/7 في الثقيلة وفي البيئات الصعبة. توفر Hielscher سونوترودات ومفاعلات خاصة لدرجات الحرارة العالية والضغوط والسوائل المسببة للتآكل أيضًا. وهذا يجعل أجهزة الموجات فوق الصوتية الصناعية الخاصة بنا أكثر ملاءمة لتقنيات الاستخلاص التعديني ، مثل معالجات الميتالورجية.

الجدول أدناه يعطيك مؤشرا على قدرة المعالجة التقريبية لultrasonicators لدينا:

دفعة حجم معدل المد و الجزر الأجهزة الموصى بها
00.1 إلى 20L 00.2 إلى 4L / دقيقة UIP2000hdT
10 إلى 100L 2 إلى 10L / دقيقة UIP4000
زمالة المدمنين المجهولين 10 إلى 100L / دقيقة UIP16000
زمالة المدمنين المجهولين أكبر مجموعة من UIP16000

اتصل بنا! / اسألنا!

يرجى استخدام النموذج أدناه، إذا كنت ترغب في طلب معلومات إضافية حول التجانس بالموجات فوق الصوتية. سنكون سعداء لنقدم لكم نظام الموجات فوق الصوتية تلبية الاحتياجات الخاصة بك.









يرجى ملاحظة لدينا سياسة الخصوصية.


مراجع الادب

  • Golmohammadzadeh R.، Rashchi F.، Vahidi E. (2017): استرداد الليثيوم والكوبالت من بطاريات الليثيوم - أيون المستهلكة باستخدام الأحماض العضوية: عملية التحسين والجوانب الحركية. إدارة النفايات 64 ، 2017. 244–254.
  • شين س. م. Lee D.-W .؛ وانج جى. (2018): تصنيع النيكل نانوسيزر مسحوق من LiNiO2 من بطارية ليثيوم أيون المستهلكة. المعادن 8 ، 2018.
  • Zhang Z.، He W.، Li G.، Xia J.، Hu H.، Huang J. (2014): Hydrothermal Renovation of LiCoO by Ultrasound-assisted Renovation2 من كاثود بطاريات ليثيوم أيون المستهلكة. كثافة العمليات. J. Electrochem. Sci.، 9 (2014). 3691-3700.
  • Zhang Z.، He W.، Li G.، Xia J.، Hu H.، Huang J.، Shengbo Z. (2014): Recovery of Lithium Cobalt Oxide Material from the Cathode of Spent Lithium-Ion Batteries. ECS Electrochemistry Letters، 3 (6)، 2014. A58-A61.


حقائق تستحق العلم

بطاريات ليثيوم أيون

بطاريات ليثيوم أيون (LIB) هي المصطلح الجماعي للبطاريات (القابلة لإعادة الشحن) التي توفر كثافة طاقة عالية وكثيراً ما يتم دمجها في الإلكترونيات الاستهلاكية مثل السيارات الإلكترونية ، والسيارات الهجينة ، وأجهزة الكمبيوتر المحمولة ، والهواتف المحمولة ، وأجهزة الآي بود ، إلخ. المتغيرات الأخرى للبطاريات القابلة لإعادة الشحن ذات الحجم والقدرة المتشابهة ، LIBs أخف بشكل ملحوظ.
بخلاف بطارية الليثيوم الأساسية القابلة للتصرف ، يستخدم LIB مركب الليثيوم المقحم بدلاً من الليثيوم المعدني كقطب كهربائي. المكونات الرئيسية لبطارية ليثيوم أيون هي أقطابها – الأنود والكاثود – والكهارل.
تشترك معظم الخلايا في مكونات مشتركة من حيث الإلكتروليت والفاصل والرقائق والأغطية. الاختلاف الرئيسي بين تقنيات الخلايا هو المادة المستخدمة “المواد الفعالة” مثل الكاثود والأنود. الجرافيت هو المادة الأكثر استخدامًا مثل الأنود ، في حين أن الكاثود مصنوع من طبقات LiMO2 (M = Mn ، Co ، و Ni) ، الإسبنيل LiMn2ال4أو olivine LiFePO4. إن الإلكتروليتات السائلة العضوية بالكهرباء (على سبيل المثال ، ملح LiPF6 المذاب في خليط من المذيبات العضوية ، مثل كربونات الإيثيلين (EC) ، كربونات الميثيل (DMC) ، كربونات ثنائي إيثيل (DEC) ، إيثيل ميثيل كربونات (EMC) ، إلخ) تسمح الحركة الأيونية.
اعتمادا على المواد الموجبة (القطب السالب) الإيجابية والسالبة (الأنود) ، تختلف كثافة الطاقة والجهد الكهربي للـ LIB على التوالي.
عندما تستخدم في السيارات الكهربائية ، وغالبا ما تستخدم بطارية السيارة الكهربائية (EVB) أو بطارية الجر. وتستخدم بطاريات الجر هذه في الرافعات الشوكية ، عربات الغولف الكهربائية ، أجهزة غسل الأرضيات ، الدراجات النارية الكهربائية ، السيارات الكهربائية ، الشاحنات ، الشاحنات الصغيرة ، وغيرها من المركبات الكهربائية.

إعادة تدوير المعادن من بطاريات ليثيوم أيون المستهلكة

بالمقارنة مع أنواع البطاريات الأخرى التي تحتوي غالباً على الرصاص أو الكادميوم ، تحتوي بطاريات Li-ion على معادن أقل سمية وبالتالي تعتبر صديقة للبيئة. ومع ذلك ، فإن الكمية الهائلة من بطاريات Li-ion المستهلكة ، والتي سيتعين التخلص منها كبطاريات مستهلكة من السيارات الكهربائية ، تمثل مشكلة النفايات. لذلك ، فإن حلقة إعادة التدوير المغلقة لبطاريات Li-ion ضرورية. من وجهة نظر اقتصادية ، يمكن استعادة العناصر المعدنية مثل الحديد والنحاس والنيكل والكوبالت والليثيوم وإعادة استخدامها في إنتاج بطاريات جديدة. إعادة التدوير يمكن أن تمنع حدوث نقص في المستقبل أيضًا.
على الرغم من أن البطاريات التي تحتوي على شحنات النيكل الأعلى تأتي إلى السوق ، لا يمكن إنتاج بطاريات بدون الكوبالت. يأتي محتوى النيكل الأعلى بتكلفة: مع زيادة محتوى النيكل ، ينخفض ​​استقرار البطارية ، وبالتالي يتم تقليل عمر دورة المحرك وقدرة الشحن السريع.

تزايد الطلب على بطاريات Li-ion. المصدر: دويتشه بنك

الطلب المتزايد على بطاريات Li-ion يتطلب زيادة قدرات إعادة التدوير لبطاريات النفايات.

عملية إعادة التدوير

بطاريات السيارات الكهربائية مثل Tesla Roadster لها عمر تقريبي 10 سنوات.
إن إعادة تدوير بطاريات Li-ion المنهكة هي عملية متطلبة نظراً لأن الكيماويات عالية الجهد والخطرة متورطة ، والتي تأتي مع مخاطر الهرب الحراري والصدمات الكهربائية وانبعاث المواد الخطرة.
من أجل إنشاء إعادة تدوير حلقة مغلقة ، يجب فصل كل رابطة كيميائية وجميع العناصر إلى كسورها الفردية. ومع ذلك ، فإن الطاقة اللازمة لإعادة تدوير حلقة مغلقة هذه مكلفة للغاية. المواد الأكثر قيمة لاستعادة المعادن مثل Ni ، Co ، Cu ، Li ، الخ. حيث أن التعدين الباهظ وارتفاع أسعار السوق للمكونات المعدنية تجعل إعادة التدوير جذابة اقتصاديًا.
تبدأ عملية إعادة تدوير بطاريات Li-ion في تفكيك البطاريات وتفريغها. قبل فتح البطارية ، يلزم تخميل لإبطال نشاط المواد الكيميائية في البطارية. يمكن تحقيق التخميل عن طريق التجميد المبرد أو الأكسدة الخاضعة للرقابة. اعتمادا على حجم البطارية ، يمكن تفكيك البطاريات وتفكيكها إلى الخلية. بعد التفكيك والتكسير ، يتم عزل المكونات بعدة طرق (مثل الفرز والنخل والقطع اليدوي والفصل المغناطيسي والرطولي والباليستي) لإزالة أغلفة الخلايا والألمنيوم والنحاس والبلاستيك من مسحوق الإلكترود. فصل المواد الكهربائي ضروري لعمليات المصب ، على سبيل المثال معالجة hydrometallurgical.
الانحلال الحراري
بالنسبة للمعالجة الحرارية ، يتم صهر البطاريات الممزقة في فرن يضاف إليه الحجر الجيري كعامل تشكيل خبث.

العمليات الحرارية المائية
وتعتمد المعالجة باستخدام المجاميع المائية على التفاعلات الحمضية من أجل تعجيل الأملاح على أنها معادن. وتشمل العمليات الهيدرولوجية المتعدنية النموذجية عمليات الترشيح والتهطال والتبادل الأيوني واستخلاص المذيبات والتحليل الكهربائي للمحاليل المائية.
ميزة المعالجة الحرارية المائية هي إنتاجية عالية من + 95٪ من النيكل والكربون كأملاح ، + 90٪ من لي يمكن ترسيبها ، والباقي يمكن استرداده إلى + 80٪.

يعتبر الكوبالت على وجه الخصوص مكونًا حاسمًا في كاثودات بطارية الليثيوم أيون لتطبيقات الطاقة والطاقة العالية.
تستخدم السيارات الهجينة الحالية مثل تويوتا بريوس بطاريات هيدريد فلزية النيكل ، والتي يتم تفكيكها وتفريغها وإعادة تدويرها بطريقة مماثلة لبطاريات ليثيوم أيون.

Hielscher Ultrasonics بتصنيع ultrasonicators عالية الأداء.

صوتنة قوية من المختبر ومنضدة إلى الإنتاج الصناعي.

Hielscher Ultrasound Technology

Ultrasonics for the Recycling of Lithium Ion Batteries

  • Lithium-ion batteries used in electric cars are just now coming to the mass market and with it, recycling capacities must be developed.
  • Ultrasonic leaching is an efficient, environmental-friendly technique to recover metals such as Li, Mg, Co, Ni etc. from spent Li-ion batteries.
  • Hielscher’s industrial ultrasonic systems for leaching applications are reliable and robust and can be easily integrated into existing recycling plants.

Recycling of Lithium-ion Batteries

Lithium-ion batteries are widely used in electric vehicles (EV), laptops and cell phones. This means that spent lithium-ion batteries are a current challenge regarding waste management and recycling. The batteries are a major cost driver for EVs, and their disposal is expensive, too. Environmental and economical aspects push for a closed recycling loop since the battery waste contains valuable materials and helps to reduce the carbon footprint of manufacturing Lithium-ion batteries.
Recycling of Li-ion batteries is growing to a thriving industry sector in order to ensure the future availability of rare-earth metals and other battery components and to reduce the environmental costs of mining.

Industrial Ultrasonic Leaching

Ultrasonic leaching and metal extraction can be applied to recycling processes of lithium cobalt oxide batteries (e.g. from laptops, smartphones, etc.) as well as of complex lithium-nickel-manganese-cobalt batteries (e.g. from electric vehicles).
Cavitation produced by Hielscher's UIP1000hdT with cascatrode High-power ultrasound is well known for its capability to process chemical liquids and slurries in order to improve mass transfer and initiate chemical reactions.
The intense effects of power ultrasonication are based on the phenomenon of acoustic cavitation. By coupling high-power ultrasound into liquids / slurries, the alternating low-pressure and high-pressure waves in liquids generate small vacuum bubbles. The small vacuum voids grow over various low-pressure / high-pressure cycles until the implode violently. The collapsing vacuum bubbles can be considered as microreactors in which temperatures of up to 5000K, pressures of up to 1000atm, and heating and cooling rates above 10-10 occur. Furthermore, strong hydrodynamic shear-forces and liquid jets with up to 280m/s velocity are generated. These extreme conditions of acoustic cavitation create extraordinary physical and chemical conditions in otherwise cold liquids and create a beneficial environment for chemical reactions (sonochemistry).

Hielscher's ultrasonicators are reliable and robust systems for the leaching of metals.

48kW ultrasonic processor
for demanding applications such as leaching of metals

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


Ultrasonic Leaching in the Recycling of Spent Li-Ion Batteries. (Click to enlarge!)

Ultrasonic leaching of metals from exhausted battery waste.

Ultrasonically generated cavitation can induce thermolysis of solutes as well as the formation of highly reactive radicals and reagents, such as free radicals, hydroxide ions (•OH,) hydronium (H3O+) etc., which provide extraordinary reactive conditions in the liquid so that the reaction rate is significantly increased. Solids such as particles are accelerated by the liquid jets and are milled by interparticular collision and abrasion increasing the active surface area and thereby mass transfer.
The great advantage of ultrasonic leaching and metal recovery is the precise control over the process parameters such as amplitude, pressure and temperature. These parameters allow to adjust the reaction conditions exactly to the process medium and the targeted output. Furthermore, ultrasonic leaching removes even the smallest metal particles from the substrate, whilst preserving microstructures. The enhanced metal recovery is due to the ultrasonic creation of highly reactive surfaces, increased reaction rates, and improved mass transport. Sonication processes can be optimized by influencing each parameter and are therefore not only very effective but also highly energy-efficient.
Its exact parameter control and energy efficiency make ultrasonic leaching the favorable and excelling technique – especially when compared to complicated acid leaching and chelation techniques.

Ultrasonic Recovery of LiCoO2 from Spent Lithium-Ion Batteries

Ultrasonication assists the reductive leaching and chemical precipitation, which are are used to recover Li as Li2CO3 and Co as Co(OH)2 from waste lithium-ion batteries.
Zhang et al. (2014) report the successful recovery of LiCoO2 using an ultrasonic reactor. in order to prepare the starting solution of 600mL, they placed 10g of invalid LiCoO2 powder in a beaker and added 2.0mol/L of LiOH solution, which were mixed.
The mixture was poured into the ultrasonic irradiation and the stirring device started, the stirring device was placed in the interior of the reaction container. It was heated to 120◦C, and then the ultrasonic device was set to 800W and the ultrasonic mode of action was set to pulsed duty cycles of 5 sec. ON / 2sec. OFF. The ultrasonic irradiation was applied for 6h, and then the reaction mixture cooled to room temperature. The solid residue was washed several times with deionized water and dried at 80◦C until constant weight. The obtained sample was collected for subsequent testing and battery production. The charge capacity in the first cycle is 134.2mAh/g and the discharge capacity is 133.5mAh/g. The first-time charge and discharge efficiency was 99.5%. After 40 cycles, the discharge capacity is still 132.9mAh/g. (Zhang et al. 2014)

Ultrasonically recovered LiCoO2 crystals. (Click to enlarge!)

Used LiCoO2 crystals before (a) and after (b) ultrasound treatment at 120◦C for 6h. source: Zhang et al. 2014

Ultrasonic leaching with organic acids such as citric acid is not only effective but also environmentally friendly. Research found that the leaching of Co and Li is more efficient with citric acid than with the inorganic acids H2SO4 and HCl. More than 96% Co and nearly 100% Li were recovered from spent lithium-ion batteries. The fact that organic acids such as citric acid and acetic acid are inexpensive and biodegradable, contributes to further economic and environmental advantages of sonication.

High-Power Industrial Ultrasonics

UIP4000hdT - Hielscher's 4kW high-performance ultrasonic system Hielscher Ultrasonics is your long-experienced supplier for highly efficient and reliable ultrasonic systems, which deliver the required power to leach metals from waste materials. In order to reprocess li-ion batteries by extracting metals such as cobalt, lithium, nickel, and manganese, powerful and robust ultrasonic systems are essential. Hielscher Ultrasonics’ industrial units such as the UIP4000hdT (4kW), UIP10000 (10kW) and UIP16000 (16kW) are the most powerful and robust high-performance ultrasound systems on the market. All our industrial units can be continuously run with very high amplitudes of up to 200µm in 24/7 operation. For even higher amplitudes, customized ultrasonic sonotrodes are available. The robustness of Hielscher’s ultrasonic equipment allows for 24/7 operation at heavy duty and in demanding environments. Hielscher supplies special sonotrodes and reactors for high temperatures, pressures and corrosive liquids, too. This makes our industrial ultrasonicators most suitable for extractive metallurgy techniques, e.g. hydrometallurgical treatments.

The table below gives you an indication of the approximate processing capacity of our ultrasonicators:

Batch Volume Flow Rate Recommended Devices
0.1 to 20L 0.2 to 4L/min UIP2000hdT
10 to 100L 2 to 10L/min UIP4000
n.a. 10 to 100L/min UIP16000
n.a. larger cluster of UIP16000

Contact Us! / Ask Us!

Please use the form below, if you wish to request additional information about ultrasonic homogenization. We will be glad to offer you an ultrasonic system meeting your requirements.









Please note our privacy policy.


Literature/References

  • Golmohammadzadeh R., Rashchi F., Vahidi E. (2017): Recovery of lithium and cobalt from spent lithium-ion batteries using organic acids: Process optimization and kinetic aspects. Waste Management 64, 2017. 244–254.
  • Shin S.-M.; Lee D.-W.; Wang J.-P. (2018): Fabrication of Nickel Nanosized Powder from LiNiO2 from Spent Lithium-Ion Battery. Metals 8, 2018.
  • Zhang Z., He W., Li G., Xia J., Hu H., Huang J. (2014): Ultrasound-assisted Hydrothermal Renovation of LiCoO2 from the Cathode of Spent Lithium-ion Batteries. Int. J. Electrochem. Sci., 9 (2014). 3691-3700.
  • Zhang Z., He W., Li G., Xia J., Hu H., Huang J., Shengbo Z. (2014): Recovery of Lithium Cobalt Oxide Material from the Cathode of Spent Lithium-Ion Batteries. ECS Electrochemistry Letters, 3 (6), 2014. A58-A61.


Facts Worth Knowing

Lithium-Ion Batteries

Lithium-ion batteries (LIB) is the collective terme for (rechargeable) batteries which offer a high energy density and are frequently integrated in consumer electronics such as electronic cars, hybrid cars, laptops, cell phones, iPods, etc.. In comparison to other variants of rechargeable batteries with similar size and capacity, LIBs are significantly lighter.
Unlike the disposable lithium primary battery, a LIB uses intercalated lithium compound instead of metallic lithium as its electrode. The major constituents of an lithium-ion battery are its electrodes – anode and cathode – and the electrolyte.
Most cells share common components in terms of the electrolyte, separator, foils and casing. The major difference between cell technologies is the material utilized as “active materials” such as cathode and anode. Graphite is the most frequently used material as anode, whilst the cathode is made of layered LiMO2 (M = Mn, Co, and Ni), spinel LiMn2O4, or olivine LiFePO4. The electrolyte organic liquid electrolytes (e.g., LiPF6 salt dissolved in a mixture of organic solvents, such as ethylene carbonate (EC), dimethyl carbonate (DMC), diethyl carbonate (DEC), ethyl methyl carbonate (EMC), etc.) allows for ionic movement.
Depending on the positive (cathode) and negative (anode) electrode materials, the energy density and voltage of LIBs vary respectively.
When used in electric vehicles, often electric-vehicle battery (EVB) or traction battery is used. Such traction batteries are used in forklifts, electric golf carts, floor scrubbers, electric motorcycles, electric cars, trucks, vans, and other electric vehicles.

Metal Recycling from Spent Li-Ion Batteries

In comparison to other types of batteries that often contain lead or cadmium, Li-ion batteries contain less toxic metals and are therefore considered as environmental-friendly. However, the vast amount of spent Li-ion batteries, which will be have to disposed as spent batteries from electric cars, present a waste problem. Therefore, a closed recycling loop of Li-ion batteries is necessary. From an economical point of view, metal elements such as iron, copper, nickel, cobalt, and lithium can be recovered and reused in the production of new batteries. Recycling could prevent a future shortage, too.
Although batteries with higher nickel loadings are coming into the market, it is not possible to produce batteries without cobalt. The higher nickel content comes at a cost: With an increased nickel content, the stability of the battery is decreased and thereby its cycle life and the ability of fast charging are reduced.

Growing demand for Li-ion batteries. Source: Deutsche Bank

Growing demand for Li-ion batteries requests increasing recycling capacities for waste batteries.

Recycling Process

Batteries of electric vehicles such as the Tesla Roadster have an approximate lifetime of 10 years.
The recycling of exhausted Li-ion batteries is a demanding process since high voltage and hazardous chemicals are involved, which comes with the risks of thermal runaway, electrical shock and the emission of hazardous substances.
In order to establish a closed loop recycling, every chemical bond and all elements must be separated into their individual fractions. However, the energy required for such a closed loop recycling are very expensive. The most valuable materials for recovery are metals such as Ni, Co, Cu, Li, etc. since expensive mining and high market prices of metal components make the recycling economically attractive.
The recycling process of Li-ion batteries starts with the dismantling and discharging of the batteries. Before opening the battery, a passivation is required to inactivate the chemicals in the battery. Passivation can be achieved by cryogenic freezing or controlled oxidation. Depending on the battery size, the batteries can be dismantled and disassembled down to the cell. After the dismantling and crushing, the components are isolated by several methods (e.g. screening, sieving, hand picking, magnetic, wet, and ballistic separation) in order to remove cell casings, aluminium, copper and plastics from the electrode powder. The separation of the electrode materials is necessary for the downstream processes, e.g. hydrometallurgical treatment.
Pyrolysis
For pyrolytic processing, shredded batteries are smelted in a furnace where limestone is added as a slag-forming agent.

Hydrothermal Processes
Hydrometallurgical processing is based on acid reactions in order to precipitate the salts as metals. Typical hydrometallurgical processes include leaching, precipitation, ion exchange, solvent extraction and electrolysis of aqueous solutions.
The advantage of hydrothermal processing is the high recovery yield of +95% of Ni and Co as salts, +90% of Li can be precipitated, and the rest can be recovered up to +80%.

Especially cobalt is a critical component in lithium-ion battery cathodes for high energy and power applications.
Current hybrid cars such as the Toyota Prius, use nickel metal hydride batteries, which are dismantled, discharged and recycled in similar way as Li-ion batteries.

Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonicators.

Powerful sonication from lab and bench-top to industrial production.