Hielscher تكنولوجيا الموجات فوق الصوتية

استعادة الفوسفور بالموجات فوق الصوتية من حمأة الصرف الصحي

  • ويتزايد الطلب العالمي على الفوسفور، في حين أن إمدادات موارد الفوسفور الطبيعي تزداد ندرة.
  • والحمأة الصرف الصحي ورماد حمأة الصرف الصحي غنيان بالفوسفور ويمكن بالتالي استخدامهما كمصدر لاستعادة الفوسفور.
  • المعالجة بالموجات فوق الصوتية الرطب ة الكيميائية وهطول الأمطار يحسن استعادة الفوسفات من حمأة الصرف الصحي وكذلك من الرماد من الحمأة المحروقة ويجعل الانتعاش أكثر اقتصادا بكثير.

الفوسفور

حمأة الصرف الصحي غنية بالفوسفور. استخراج بالموجات فوق الصوتية وهطول الأمطار يكثف عملية استرداد الفوسفور.الفوسفور (الفوسفور، P) هو مورد غير متجدد، والذي يستخدم بشكل كبير في الزراعة والأسمدة وكذلك في العديد من الصناعات، حيث الفوسفور هو مادة مضافة قيمة (مثل الدهانات، منظفات الغسيل، مثبطات اللهب، علف الحيوانات). أما حمأة الصرف الصحي، ورماد حمأة الصرف الصحي المحترق، والسماد، ونفايات الألبان فهي غنية بالفوسفور، مما يجعلها مصدرا ً لاستعادة الفوسفور فيما يتعلق بالموارد المحدودة للفسفور فضلاً عن الشواغل البيئية.
ويمكن أن تصل معدلات استعادة الفوسفور من مجاري مياه الصرف السائل إلى 40 إلى 50 في المائة، في حين يمكن أن تصل معدلات الاستعادة من حمأة الصرف الصحي ورماد حمأة الصرف الصحي إلى 90 في المائة. يمكن أن يعجل الفوسفور في أشكال عديدة، واحد منهم يجري struvite (تقدر قيمتها كالأسمدة عالية الجودة، بطيئة الإصدار). من أجل جعل استصلاح الفوسفور اقتصادية، يجب تحسين عملية الانتعاش. Ultrasonication هو طريقة تكثيف العملية التي تسرع العملية ويزيد من غلة المعادن المستردة.

استعادة الفوسفور بالموجات فوق الصوتية

سونيكيشن يكثف معالجة الرطب الكيميائية وهطول الأمطار أثناء استعادة الفوسفور من حمأة الصرف الصحي.تحت سونيكيشن، يمكن استعادة المواد القيمة مثل الستروفيت (فوسفات الأمونيوم المغنيسيوم (MAP))، فوسفات الكالسيوم، هيدروكسيباتيت (HAP) / هيدروكسيباتيت الكالسيوم، فوسفات أوكتافكالسيوم، فوسفات ثلاثي الكالسيوم، وديهيدرات فوسفات ثنائي الكالسيوم من مجاري النفايات. العلاج بالموجات فوق الصوتية يحسن استخراج الرطب الكيميائية، فضلا عن هطول الأمطار وبلورة (سونو التبلور) من المواد القيمة من حمأة الصرف الصحي ومن الرماد من الحمأة المحروقة.
في حين أن محتوى الفوسفور (8-10٪)، والحديد (10-15٪)، والألومنيوم (5-10٪) في الرماد من الحمأة الصرف الصحي أحادية الحرق عالية جدا، كما أنه يحتوي على المعادن الثقيلة السامة مثل الرصاص والكادميوم والنحاس والزنك.

الغاز الحيوي اللاهوائيهاضم

طلب معلومات





الانتعاش Phopshorus – عملية من خطوتين

  1. استخراج حامض
  2. الخطوة الأولى لاستعادة الفوسفور هي استخراج أو رشح الفوسفور من حمأة الصرف الصحي أو رماد حمأة الصرف الصحي المحروق (ISSA) باستخدام حمض مثل حمض الكبريتيك أو حمض الهيدروكلوريك. خلط بالموجات فوق الصوتية يعزز الرشح الرطب والكيميائية عن طريق زيادة نقل الكتلة بين الحمض وISSA بحيث يتم تحقيق الرشح الكامل للفسفور بسرعة. يمكن استخدام خطوة ما قبل المعالجة باستخدام حمض الإيثيلين ديايمينتيتراساتتيك (EDTA) لتحسين إجراء الاستخراج.

  3. هطول الأمطار من الفوسفور
  4. التبلور بالموجات فوق الصوتية يعزز هطول الأمطار من الفوسفات بشكل كبير عن طريق زيادة نقاط البذر وتسريع الامتزاز وتجميع الجزيئات من أجل تشكيل الكريستال. ويمكن تحقيق هطول الأمطار بالموجات فوق الصوتية من الفوسفور من الرخويات مياه الصرف الصحي وISSA على سبيل المثال، باستخدام هيدروكسيد المغنيسيوم وهيدروكسيد الأمونيوم. الترسيب الناتج هو struvite، وهو مركب يتكون من المغنيسيوم والأمونيوم والفوسفور والأكسجين.

سونوكريستاليشن من ستروفيت

تفريق بالموجات فوق الصوتية يعزز النقل الجماعي بين المراحل ويبدأ النويات ونمو الكريستال للفوسفات (على سبيل المثال، struvite / MAP).
بالموجات فوق الصوتية الترسيب مضمنة وبلورة struvite يسمح لعلاج strams حجم كبير على نطاق صناعي. ويمكن حل مسألة معالجة تيار حمأة الصرف الصحي كبيرة عن طريق عملية بالموجات فوق الصوتية المستمرة، مما يسرع تبلور struvite ويحسن حجم الكريستال إنتاج أصغر، وجزيئات الفوسفات أكثر اتساقا. يتم تحديد حجم توزيع الجسيمات المعبّرة معدل النويات ومعدل نمو الكريستال اللاحق. النوى المتسارعة والنمو المثبط هي العوامل الرئيسية لهطول الأمطار من جزيئات الفوسفات كريستالين، أي struvite، في محلول مائي. Ultrasonication هو طريقة تكثيف عملية أن يحسن المزج من أجل الحصول على توزيع متجانس ة من الأيونات التفاعلية.
ومن المعروف أن هطول الأمطار بالموجات فوق الصوتية لإعطاء توزيع حجم الجسيمات أضيق، أصغر حجم الكريستال، مورفولوجيا يمكن السيطرة عليها، فضلا عن معدل النوى السريع.

يمكن أن تكون عجلت بلورات الستروفيت من حمأة الصرف الصحي. سونيكيشن يحسن عملية الاسترداد.

بلورات ستروفيت المعبّر بها من النفايات السائلة للخنازير (المصدر: Kim et al. 2017)

يمكن تحقيق نتائج جيدة لهطول الأمطار على سبيل المثال مع أمر الشراء3-4 NH:+4 إم جي:2+ بنسبة 1 : 3 : 4. نطاق درجة الحموضة من 8 إلى 10 يؤدي إلى الحد الأقصى لإطلاق الفوسفات P

Ultrasonication هو عملية فعالة للغاية تكثيف تقنية لتعزيز هطول الأمطار من المواد القيمة مثل فوسفات الكالسيوم، فوسفات الأمونيوم المغنيسيوم (MAP) وهيدروكسيباتيت (HAP)، هيدروكسيباتيت الكالسيوم، فوسفات أوكتكالكالسيوم، فوسفات ثلاثي الكالسيوم، وديهيدرات فوسفات ثنائي الكالسيوم من مياه الصرف الصحي. وتعرف حمأة الصرف الصحي والسماد ونفايات الألبان بأنها مياه الصرف الصحي الغنية بالمغذيات، وهي مناسبة لإنتاج مواد قيّمة عن طريق هطول الأمطار بمساعدة الموجات فوق الصوتية.

تشكيل الكريستال Struvite:
ملغ2+ + NH+4 + HPO2-4 + H2ال –> MgNH4بو4 ● 6حاء2O + حاء+

Hielscher الفوق صوتيات بتصنيع عالية الأداء أوتراسوتكناتورس للتطبيقات سونوكيميائية.

معالجات بالموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الطاقة من مختبر إلى مقياس تجريبي وصناعي.

معدات الموجات فوق الصوتية الصناعية للرشح وهطول الأمطار

UIP4000hdT خلية تدفق لsonication مضمنة على نطاق صناعيوهناك حاجة إلى أنظمة ومفاعلات عالية الأداء بالموجات فوق الصوتية لمعالجة رماد حمأة الصرف الصحي المحترقة (ISSA) وحمأة الصرف الصحي على النطاق الصناعي. Hielscher الفوق صوتيات متخصصة في تصميم وتصنيع معدات الموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الطاقة – من المختبر ومقاعد البدلاء أعلى إلى الوحدات الصناعية بالكامل. Hielscher ultrasonicators قوية وبنيت لعملية 24/7 تحت الحمل الكامل في البيئات الصعبة. الملحقات مثل تدفق المفاعلات الخلية مع مختلف الجيومتريات، سونوتروديس (تحقيقات بالموجات فوق الصوتية) وقرون معززة تسمح للتكيف الأمثل للنظام بالموجات فوق الصوتية لمتطلبات العملية. من أجل معالجة تدفقات حجم كبير، Hielscher يقدم 4kW، 10kW و 16kW وحدات الموجات فوق الصوتية، والتي يمكن الجمع بينها بسهولة بالتوازي مع مجموعات بالموجات فوق الصوتية.
تتميز أجهزة ultrasonicators المتطورة Hielscher بشاشة اتصال رقمية لسهولة التشغيل والتحكم الدقيق في معلمات العملية.
سهولة الاستخدام وعملية سهلة وآمنة هي السمات الرئيسية للultrasonicators Hielscher. التحكم عن بعد المتصفح يسمح تشغيل والتحكم في نظام الموجات فوق الصوتية عن طريق جهاز الكمبيوتر، الهاتف الذكي أو الكمبيوتر اللوحي.
الجدول أدناه يعطيك مؤشرا على قدرة المعالجة التقريبية لultrasonicators لدينا:

دفعة حجم معدل المد و الجزر الأجهزة الموصى بها
10 إلى 2000ML 20 إلى 400ML / دقيقة Uf200 ः ر، UP400St
00.1 إلى 20L 00.2 إلى 4L / دقيقة UIP2000hdT
10 إلى 100L 2 إلى 10L / دقيقة UIP4000hdT
زمالة المدمنين المجهولين 10 إلى 100L / دقيقة UIP16000
زمالة المدمنين المجهولين أكبر مجموعة من UIP16000

اتصل بنا! / اسألنا!

اطلب المزيد من المعلومات

يرجى استخدام النموذج أدناه، إذا كنت ترغب في طلب معلومات إضافية حول التجانس بالموجات فوق الصوتية. سنكون سعداء لنقدم لكم نظام الموجات فوق الصوتية تلبية الاحتياجات الخاصة بك.









يرجى ملاحظة لدينا سياسة الخصوصية.


مراجع الادب

  • دودز, جون A.; [إسبتلير], [فبينّ]; [لويسنر], أوليفييه; [غروسّير], [رومين]; ديفيد، رينيه؛ حسون، ميريام؛ [بيلّون], [فبن]; Gatumel, Cendrine; Lyczko, Nathalie (2007): تأثير الموجات فوق الصوتية على عمليات التبلور-هطول الأمطار: بعض الأمثلة ونموذج الفصل الجديد. الجسيمات وخصائص أنظمة الجسيمات، Wiley-VCH Verlag، 2007، 24 (1)، الصفحات 18-28
  • خارباندا, A.; براسانا، ك. (2016): استخراج المواد الغذائية من مياه الصرف الصحي الألبان في شكل MAP (فوسفات الأمونيوم المغنيسيوم) وهاب (هيدروكسيباتيت). Rasayan Journal of Chemistry Vol. 9, No. 2; 2016. 215-221.
  • كيم, D.; جين مين, K.; لي, K.; يو, M.S:; بارك، ك. ي. (2017): آثار درجة الحموضة، ونسب الأضراس والمعالجة المسبقة على استعادة الفوسفور من خلال تبلور الستروفيت من النفايات السائلة من مياه الصرف الصحي للخنازير المهضومة لا هوائيًا. بحوث الهندسة البيئية 22(1)، 2017. 12-18.
  • الرحمن، م. ، صالحه ، م. ، إحسان ، أ. ، حسين ، م. ، رع ، C. (2014): إنتاج الأسمدة الكريستالية البطيئة الإطلاق من مياه الصرف الصحي من خلال تبلور الستروفيت. العربيه. J. Chem. 7, 139-155.


حقائق تستحق العلم

كيف يعمل هطول الأمطار بالموجات فوق الصوتية?

Ultrasonication يؤثر على النوى ونمو الكريستال، وهي عملية تعرف باسم التبلور.
أولا، تطبيق الموجات فوق الصوتية يسمح للتأثير على معدل النويات، حيث هناك شكل بلورات صلبة من محلول سائل. ultrasond عالية الطاقة يخلق التجويف، وهو نمو وانفجار فقاعات فراغ في وسط السائل. انفجار فقاعات فراغ يدخل الطاقة في النظام ويقلل من الطاقة الحرة الزائدة الحرجة. وبالتالي، تبدأ نقاط البذر والنويات بمعدل عال وفي أقرب وقت. في واجهة بين فقاعة التجويف والحل، يتم solvated نصف جزيء solute من قبل المذيب، في حين يتم تغطية النصف الآخر من سطح جزيء من قبل فقاعة التجويف، بحيث يتم تقليل معدل حل. يتم منع إعادة حل الجزيء السولوت، في حين يتم زيادة تخثر الجزيئات في الحل.
ثانيا، سونيكيشن يعزز نمو الكريستال. خلط بالموجات فوق الصوتية يعزز نمو البلورات عن طريق incresing نقل الجماعية وتجميع الجزيئات.
يمكن التحكم في النتائج التي حققتها sonication من قبل وضع sonication:
صوتنة المستمر:
العلاج بالموجات فوق الصوتية المستمر للحل تنتج العديد من مواقع النوى، بحيث يتم إنشاء عدد كبير من بلورات صغيرة
سونيكيشن نبض:
تطبيق سونيكيشن نابض / تدوير يسمح للسيطرة الدقيقة على حجم الكريستال
سونيكيشن لبدء النوى:
عندما يتم تطبيق الموجات فوق الصوتية فقط خلال بداية عملية التبلور ، يتم تشكيل عدد محدود من النوى ، والتي يتم زراعتها بعد ذلك إلى حجم أكبر.

باستخدام ultrasonication أثناء التبلور، يمكن أن تتأثر معدل النمو، وحجم، وشكل هياكل الكريستال والسيطرة عليها. الخيارات المختلفة من sonication جعل سونو تبلور العمليات التي يمكن التحكم فيها على وجه التحديد وتكرارها.

التجويف بالموجات فوق الصوتية

عندما تعبر الموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الكثافة وسط سائل، فإن الضغط العالي (الضغط) والضغط المنخفض (النادر) تتناوب الأمواج من خلال السائل. عندما يكون الضغط السلبي الناجم عن موجة بالموجات فوق الصوتية عبور سائل كبير بما فيه الكفاية، والمسافة بين جزيئات السائل يتجاوز الحد الأدنى من المسافة الجزيئية المطلوبة لعقد السائل سليمة، ومن ثم السائل ينهار بحيث فراغ يتم إنشاء فقاعات أو فراغات. وتعرف تلك الفقاعات فراغ أيضا باسم التجويف فقاعات.
فقاعات التجويف المستخدمة لتطبيقات الطاقة بالموجات فوق الصوتية مثل الخلط، تشتيت، طحن، استخلاص الخ تحدث تحت كثافة الموجات فوق الصوتية أعلى من 10 Wcm2. فقاعات التجويف تنمو على مدى عدة دورات الضغط المنخفض الصوتية / الضغط العالي حتى تصل إلى بعد حيث أنها لا يمكن أن تمتص المزيد من الطاقة. عندما تصل فقاعة التجويف إلى أقصى حجم لها، فإنها تنهار بعنف خلال دورة الضغط. الانهيار العنيف لفقاعة التجويف عابرة يخلق ظروفا قاسية مثل درجات الحرارة العالية جدا والضغوط، وفروق الضغط ودرجة الحرارة العالية جدا والطائرات السائلة. هذه القوى هي مصدر للآثار الكيميائية والميكانيكية المستخدمة في تطبيقات الموجات فوق الصوتية. ويمكن اعتبار كل فقاعة انهيار كمفاعل صغير حيث يتم إنشاء درجات حرارة عدة آلاف من درجات والضغوط أعلى من ألف الغلاف الجوي على الفور [Suslick et al 1986].

التجويف بالموجات فوق الصوتية / الصوتية يخلق قوى مكثفة للغاية مما يفتح جدران الخلية المعروفة باسم lysis (انقر للتكبير!)

ويستند استخراج بالموجات فوق الصوتية على التجويف الصوتية وقوتها القص الهيدروديناميكية

الفوسفور

الفوسفور هو مورد أساسي غير قابل للاستخراج ويتوقع الخبراء بالفعل أن العالم سوف تصل “الفوسفور الذروة”، أي الوقت الذي لم يعد العرض قادراً على تلبية الطلب المتزايد، في حوالي 20 عاماً. وقد صنفت المفوضية الأوروبية بالفعل الفوسفور كمادة خام حرجة.
وغالبا ما تستخدم حمأة الصرف الصحي كأسمدة تنتشر في الحقول. ومع ذلك، وبما أن حمأة الصرف الصحي لا تحتوي على الفوسفات القيّم فحسب، بل تحتوي أيضاً على معادن ثقيلة وملوثات عضوية ضارة، فإن العديد من البلدان مثل ألمانيا تقيد بموجب التشريعات كمية حمأة الصرف الصحي التي يمكن استخدامها كأسمدة. العديد من البلدان مثل ألمانيا لديها أنظمة الأسمدة الصارمة، والتي تحد من التلوث بالمعادن الثقيلة بدقة. وبما أن الفوسفور مورد محدود، فإن لائحة حمأة الصرف الصحي الألمانية لعام 2017 تتطلب من مشغلي محطات الصرف الصحي إعادة تدوير الفوسفات.
ويمكن استرداد الفوسفور من مياه الصرف الصحي، وحمأة الصرف الصحي، وكذلك من رماد حمأة الصرف الصحي المحروقة.

الفوسفات

الفوسفات، وهو مادة كيميائية غير عضوية، هو ملح من حمض الفوسفوريك. يتم استخراج الفوسفات غير العضوي للحصول على الفوسفور لاستخدامه في الزراعة والصناعة. في الكيمياء العضوية، الفوسفات، أو الفوسفات العضوي، هو إستر من حمض الفوسفوريك.
لا تخلط بين اسم الفوسفور مع عنصر الفوسفور (الرمز الكيميائي P). إنهما شيئان مختلفان. وهو غير معدني متعدد التكافؤ من مجموعة النيتروجين، ويوجد الفوسفور عادة في صخور الفوسفات غير العضوية.
الفوسفات العضوي مهم في الكيمياء الحيوية والكيمياء الجيولوجية الحيوية.
الفوسفات هو اسم الـ أيون بو43-. حمض الفوسفور، من ناحية أخرى، هو اسم حمض ثلاثي التوائم H3PO3. هذا هو مزيج من 3 H+ أيونات وواحدة فوسفيت ([بو]33-) أيون.
الفوسفور هو العنصر الكيميائي الذي يحتوي على الرمز P والرقم الذري 15. كما تستخدم مركبات الفوسفور على نطاق واسع في المتفجرات، والعوامل العصبية، ومباريات الاحتكاك، والألعاب النارية، ومبيدات الآفات، ومعجون الأسنان والمنظفات.

ستروفيت

Struvite، ويشار إليها أيضا باسم فوسفات الأمونيوم المغنيسيوم (MAP)، هو معدن الفوسفات مع الصيغة الكيميائية NH4MgPO4•6H2O. Struvite يتبلور في نظام orthorhombic الأبيض إلى الأصفر أو البني الأبيض الأبيض بلورات هرمية أو في أشكال تشبه platlet. كونها معدنية لينة، struvite لديه صلابة موس من 1.5 إلى 2 والجاذبية المحددة منخفضة من 1.7. في ظل ظروف محايدة وقلوية struvite غير قابل للذوبان بالكاد، ولكن يمكن حلها بسهولة في حمض. بلورات الستروفيت تشكل عندما يكون هناك الخلد إلى الخلد نسبة إلى الخلد (1:1:1) من المغنيسيوم والأمونيا والفوسفات في مياه الصرف الصحي. جميع العناصر الثلاثة – المغنيسيوم والأمونيا والفوسفات – عادة ما تكون موجودة في مياه الصرف الصحي: المغنيسيوم القادمة أساسا من التربة ومياه البحر ومياه الشرب، يتم تقسيم الأمونيا من اليوريا في مياه الصرف الصحي، والفوسفات القادمة من المواد الغذائية والصابون والمنظفات في مياه الصرف الصحي. مع هذه العناصر الثلاثة الحالية، struvite هو أكثر عرضة لتشكيل في قيم درجة الحموضة أعلى، الموصلية أعلى، وانخفاض درجات الحرارة، وتركيزات أعلى من المغنيسيوم والأمونيا والفوسفات. واستعادة الفوسفور من مجاري مياه الصرف الصحي بوصفها الستروفيت وإعادة تدوير تلك المواد الغذائية كأسمدة للزراعة أمر يبشر بالخير.
Struvite هو الأسمدة المعدنية بطيئة الإطلاق القيمة المستخدمة في الزراعة، والتي لديها مزايا كونها الحبيبية، وسهلة الاستخدام، وخالية من الروائح.

Hielscher Ultrasound Technology

Ultrasonic Phosphor Recovery from Sewage Sludge

  • The worldwide demand for phosphor is increasing, whilst the supply of natural phosphorus resources are getting scarce.
  • Sewage sludge and sewage sludge ash are rich in phosphorus and can be therefore used as source to reclaim phosphorus.
  • The ultrasonic wet-chemical processing and precipitation improves the recovery of phosphate from sewage sludge as well as from the ash of incinerated sludge and makes the recovery significantly more economical.

Phosphorus

Sewage sludge is rich in phosphorus. Ultrasonic extraction and precipitation intensifies the recover process of phosphor.Phosphorus (phosphor, P) is a non-renewable resource, which is heavily used in agriculture as fertilizer as well as in many industries, where phosphorus is a valuable additive (e.g., paints, laundry detergents, flame retardants, animal feed). Sewage sludge, incinerated sewage sludge ash (ISSA), manure and dairy effluents are rich in phosphorus, making them a source for phosphorus recovery in regards of the finite resource of phosphorus as well as of environmental concerns.
Phosphorus recovery rates from the liquid waste water streams can reach 40 to 50%, while recovery rates from sewage sludge and sewage sludge ash can reach up to 90%. Phosphorus can be precipitated in many forms, one of them being struvite (valued as a high-quality, slow-release fertilizer). In order to make the reclamation of phosphorus economical, the recovery process must be improved. Ultrasonication is a process intensifying method that accelerates the process and increases the yield of recovered minerals.

Ultrasonic Phosphorus Recovery

Sonication intensifies the wet-chemical processing and precipitation during the recovery of phosphorus from sewage sludge.Under sonication, valuable materials such as struvite (magnesium ammonium phosphate (MAP)), calcium phosphate, hydroxyapatite (HAP) / calcium hydroxyapatite, octacalcium phosphate, tricalcium phosphate, and dicalcium phosphate dihydrate can be recovered from waste streams. The ultrasonic treatment improves the wet-chemical extraction as well as precipitation and crystallisation (sono-crystallization) of valuable materials from sewage sludge and from the ash of incinerated sludge.
Whilst the content of phosphorus (8-10%), iron (10-15%), and aluminium (5-10%) in ash of mono-incinerated sewage sludge is quite high, it also contains toxic heavy metals such as lead, cadmium, copper, and zinc.

Biogas Anaerobic Digester

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


Phopshorus Recovery – A Two-Step Process

  1. Acid Extraction
  2. The first step of phosphor recovery is the extraction or leaching of phosphorus from sewage sludge or incinerated sewage sludge ash (ISSA) using an acid such as sulfuric acid or hydrochloric acid. Ultrasonic mixing promotes the wet-chemical leaching by increasing the mass transfer between the acid and the ISSA so that a complete leaching of phosphorus is achieved rapidly. A pre-treatment step using ethylenediaminetetraacetatic acid (EDTA) may be used to improve the extraction procedure.

  3. Precipitation of Phosphorus
  4. Ultrasonic crystallisation enhances the precipitation of phosphates significantly by increasing the seeding points and accelerating the adsorption and aggregation of molecules in order to form a crystal. Ultrasonic precipitation of phosphorus from sewage sluge and ISSA can be achieved e.g., by using magnesium hydroxide and ammonium hydroxide. The resulting precipitate is struvite, a compound made up of magnesium, ammonium, phosphorus and oxygen.

Sonocrystallization of Struvite

Ultrasonic dispersing promotes the mass transfer between phases and initiates the nucleation and crystal growth for phosphates (e.g., struvite / MAP).
Ultrasonic inline precipitation and crystallisation of struvite allows for the treatment of large volume strams on industrial scale. The issue of processing a large sewage sludge stream can be resolved by a continuous ultrasonic process, which accelerates the crystallization of struvite and improves the crystal size producing smaller, more uniform phosphate particles. The size distribution of precipitated particles is determined nucleation rate and the subsequent crystal growth rate. Accelerated nucleation and inhibited growth are the key factors for the precipitation of cristalline phosphate particles, i.e. struvite, in an aqueous solution. Ultrasonication is a process intensifying method that improves the blending in order to obtain a homogenous distribution of reactive ions.
Ultrasonic precipitation is known to give narrower particle size distribution, smaller crystal size, controllable morphology and as well as fast nucleation rate.

Struvite crystals can be precipitated from sewage sludge. Sonication improves the recovery process.

Struvite crystals precipitated from swine effluent (source: Kim et al. 2017)

Good precipitation results can be achieved for example with PO3-4 : NH+4 : Mg2+ at a ratio of 1 : 3 : 4. The pH range of 8 to 10 leads to maximum phosphate P release

Ultrasonication is a highly efficient process intensifying technique to promote the precipitation of valuable materials such as calcium phosphate, magnesium ammonium phosphate (MAP) and hydroxyapatite (HAP), calcium hydroxyapatite, octacalcium phosphate, tricalcium phosphate, and dicalcium phosphate dihydrate from waste water. Sewage sludge, manure and dairy effluents are known as nutrient-rich waste water, which is suitable for the production of valuable materials via ultrasonically assisted precipitation.

Struvite crystal formation:
Mg2+ + NH+4 + HPO2-4 + H2O –> MgNH4PO4 ∙ 6H2O + H+

Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonicators for sonochemical applications.

High-power ultrasonic processors from lab to pilot and industrial scale.

Industrial Ultrasonic Equipment for Leaching and Precipitation

UIP4000hdT flow cell for inline sonication on industrial scaleHigh-performance ultrasonic systems and reactors are required to treat incinerated sewage sludge ash (ISSA) and sewage sludge on industrial scale. Hielscher Ultrasonics is specialized in the design and manufacturing of high-power ultrasonic equipment – from lab and bench-top to fully industrial units. Hielscher ultrasonicators are robust and built for the 24/7 operation under full load in demanding environments. Accessories such as flow cell reactors with various geometries, sonotrodes (ultrasonic probes) and booster horns allow for the optimal adaption of the ultrasonic system to the process requirements. In order to process large volume streams, Hielscher offers 4kW, 10kW and 16kW ultrasonic units, which can be easily combined in parallel to ultrasonic clusters.
Hielscher’s sophisticated ultrasonicators feature a digital touch display for easy operation and precise control of the process parameters.
User-friendliness and an easy, safe operation are key features of Hielscher ultrasonicators. The remote browser control allows the operation and control of the ultrasonic system via PC, smart phone or tablet.
The table below gives you an indication of the approximate processing capacity of our ultrasonicators:

Batch Volume Flow Rate Recommended Devices
10 to 2000mL 20 to 400mL/min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 to 20L 0.2 to 4L/min UIP2000hdT
10 to 100L 2 to 10L/min UIP4000hdT
n.a. 10 to 100L/min UIP16000
n.a. larger cluster of UIP16000

Contact Us! / Ask Us!

Ask for more information

Please use the form below, if you wish to request additional information about ultrasonic homogenization. We will be glad to offer you an ultrasonic system meeting your requirements.









Please note our privacy policy.


Literature/References

  • Dodds, John A.; Espitalier, Fabienne; Louisnard, Olivier; Grossier, Romain; David, Rene; Hassoun, Myriam; Baillon, Fabien; Gatumel, Cendrine; Lyczko, Nathalie (2007): The effect of ultrasound on crystallisation-precipitation processes: Some examples and a new segregation model. Particle and Particle Systems Characterization, Wiley-VCH Verlag, 2007, 24 (1), pp.18-28
  • Kharbanda, A.; Prasanna, K. (2016): Extraction of Nutrients from Dairy Wastewater in the Form of MAP (Magnesium Ammonium Phosphate) and HAP (Hydroxyapatite). Rasayan Journal of Chemistry Vol. 9, No. 2; 2016. 215-221.
  • Kim, D.; Jin Min, K.; Lee, K.; Yu, M.S:; Park, K.Y. (2017): Effects of pH, molar ratios and pre-treatment on phosphorus recovery through struvite crystallization from effluent of anaerobically digested swine wastewater. Environmental Engineering Research 22(1), 2017. 12-18.
  • Rahman, M., Salleh, M., Ahsan, A., Hossain, M., Ra, C. (2014): Production of slow release crystal fertilizer from wastewaters through struvite crystallization. Arab. J. Chem. 7, 139–155.


Facts Worth Knowing

How Does Ultrasonic Precipitation Work?

Ultrasonication impacts nucleation and crystal growth, a process known as sonocrystallization.
Firstly, the application of ultrasound allows to influence the nucleation rate, where there solid crystals form from a liquid solution. High-power ultrasond creates cavitation, which is the growth and implosion of vacuum bubbles in a liquid medium. The implosion of the vacuum bubbles introduces energy into the system and reduces the critical excess free energy. Thereby, seeding points and nucleation are initiated at a high rate and at the earliest time. At the interface between cavitation bubble and the solution, half of a solute molecule is solvated by the solvent, while the other half of the molecule surface is covered by the cavitation bubble, so that the solvation rate is decreased. The re-dissolution of the solute molecule is prevented, while the coagulation of molecules in the solution is increased.
Secondly, sonication promotes the crystal growth. Ultrasonic mixing promotes the growth of crystals by incresing the mass transfer and aggregation of molecules.
The results achieved by sonication can be controlled by the sonication mode:
Continuous sonication:
Continuous ultrasonic treatment of the solution produces many nucleation sites, so that a large number of small crystals are created
Pulsed sonication:
The application of pulsed / cycled sonication allows for the precise control over crystal size
Sonication to initiate nucleation:
When ultrasound is applied only during the beginning of the crystallization process, a finite number of nuclei are formed, which then are grown to a larger size.

Using ultrasonication during crystallization, the growth rate, size, and shape of the crystal structures can be influenced and controlled. The various options of sonication make sono-crystallization processes precisely controllable and repeatable.

Ultrasonic Cavitation

When high-intensity ultrasound cross a liquid medium, high-pressure (compression) and low-pressure (rarefaction) waves are alternating through the liquid. When the negative pressure caused for an ultrasonic wave crossing a liquid is large enough, the distance between the molecules of the liquid exceeds the minimum molecular distance required to hold the liquid intact, and then the liquid breaks down so that vacuum bubbles or voids are created. Those vacuum bubbles are also known as cavitation bubbles.
Cavitation bubbles used for power ultrasonic applications such as mixing, dispersing, milling, extraction etc. occur under ultrasound intensities higher than 10 Wcm2. The cavitation bubbles grow over several acoustic low-pressure / high-pressure cycles until they reach a dimension where they cannot absorb more energy. When a cavitation bubble has reached its maximum size, it implodes violently during a compression cycle. The violent collaps of an transient cavitation bubble creates extreme conditions such as very high temperatures and pressures, very high pressure and temperature differentials and liquid jets. Those forces are the source for chemical and mechanical effects used in ultrasonic applications. Each collapsing bubble can be considered as a microreactor in which temperatures of several thousands degrees and pressures higher than one thousand atmospheres are created instantaneously [Suslick et al 1986].

Ultrasonic / acoustic cavitation creates highly intense forces which opens the cell walls known as lysis (Click to enlarge!)

Ultrasonic extraction is based on acoustic cavitation and its hydrodynamic shear forces

Phosphorus

Phosphorus is an essential, non-regenerable resource and experts already predict that the world will hit “phosphor peak”, i.e. the time from which supply can no longer meet the increased demand, in approx. 20 years. The European Commission has already classified phosphorus as a critical raw material.
Sewage sludge is often used as fertilizer spread on the fields. However, since sewage sludge not only contains valuable phosphate but also harmful heavy metals and organic pollutants, many countries such as Germany, restrict by legislation how much sewage sludge can be used as fertilizer. Many countries such as Germany have stringent fertilizer regulations, which limit the contamination with heavy metals strictly. Since phosphorus is a finite resource, the German Sewage Sludge Regulation from 2017 requires sewage plant operators to recycle phosphates.
Phosphorus can be recovered from wastewater, sewage sludge, as well as from the ash of incinerated sewage sludge.

Phosphate

A phosphate, an inorganic chemical, is a salt of phosphoric acid. Inorganic phosphates are mined to obtain phosphorus for use in agriculture and industry. In organic chemistry, a phosphate, or organophosphate, is an ester of phosphoric acid.
Don’t confuse the name phosphorous with the element phosphorus (chemical symbol P). They are two different things. A multivalent nonmetal of the nitrogen group, phosphorus is commonly found in inorganic phosphate rocks.
Organic phosphates are important in biochemistry and biogeochemistry.
Phosphate is the name of the ion PO43-. Phosphorous acid, on the other hand, is the name of the triprotic acid H3PO3. This is a combination of 3 H+ ions and one phosphite (PO33-) ion.
Phosphorus is the chemical element that has the symbol P and atomic number 15. Phosphorus compounds are also widely used in explosives, nerve agents, friction matches, fireworks, pesticides, toothpaste and detergents.

Struvite

Struvite, also referred to as magnesium ammonium phosphate (MAP), is a phosphate mineral with the chemical formula NH4MgPO4·6H2O. Struvite crystallizes in the orthorhombic system as white to yellowish or brownish-white pyramidal crystals or in platlet-like forms. Being a soft mineral, struvite has a Mohs hardness of 1.5 to 2 and a low specific gravity of 1.7. Under neutral and alkaline conditions struvite is hardly soluble, but can be easily dissolved in acid. Struvite crystals form when there is a mole to mole to mole ratio (1:1:1) of magnesium, ammonia and phosphate in wastewater. All three elements – magnesium, ammonia and phosphate – are normally present in waste water: magnesium coming mainly from the soil, seawater and drinking water, ammonia is broken down from the urea in wastewater, and phosphate coming from food, soaps and detergents into the wastewater. With these three elements present, struvite is more likely to form at higher pH values, higher conductivity, lower temperatures, and higher concentrations of magnesium, ammonia and phosphate. Recovery of phosphorus from waste waterstreams as struvite and recycling those nutrients as fertilizer for agriculture is promising.
Struvite is a valuable slow-release mineral fertilizer used in agriculture, which has the advantages of being granular, easy-to-use, and odour-free.