Hielscher تكنولوجيا الموجات فوق الصوتية

التروس بالموجات فوق الصوتية من الكركمين Superparticles

  • بما أن الكركم يحتوي فقط على 2-9٪ بالوزن من الكوركومينويد ، فإن تقنية الاستخلاص أو التركيب الفعالة ضرورية للحصول على مسحوق فعال طبيا.
  • الترسيب المضاد للأشعة فوق الصوتية بمساعدة هو وسيلة فعالة للغاية لتوليف جزيئات الكركمين.
  • يمكن زيادة معدل الترسيب بالموجات فوق الصوتية بسهولة إلى إنتاج كميات كبيرة من الكركمين عالي الجودة.

الكركمين

الكركمين ، بوليفينول ، هو دواء ضعيف الذوبان في الماء وجدت في الكركم العشبية التوابل (كركم لونغا). لديها مضادات الأكسدة قوية للغاية ومعروفة للخصائص المضادة للالتهابات ، ومكافحة السرطان ، المضادة للفطريات ، ومضادات المكروبات. خاصة بالنسبة لمجموعة واسعة من الأنشطة العلاج الوقائي والكيميائية العلاجية ، يتم استخدام الكركمين كمركب المخدرات المفضل.
كمضاد للأكسدة قوية ، الكركمين يزيد من نشاط المصل من مضادات الأكسدة مثل ديسموتاز (SOD) superoxide ويخفف وتحييد الجذور الحرة مثل الأكسجين التفاعلية وأنواع النيتروجين (ROS و RNS). وعلاوة على ذلك ، فإنه يعزز نشاط أنزيمات الجسم المضادة للأكسدة الخاصة. ومن المعروف أيضا أن الكركمين يقلل من أمراض القلب ويحسن وظائف المخ. بسبب هذه الخصائص الطبية المفيدة المتعددة ، يستخدم الكركمين على نطاق واسع كتوابل وتكملة وعقار.

بالموجات فوق الصوتية السائل معسول الترسيب

الترسيب السائل المضاد للموجات فوق الصوتية (LAS) هو طريقة بسيطة وسريعة للتخليق لإنتاج جزيئات الكركمين النانوية مع البنية الفوقية orthorhombic. إن ترسيب المذيبات بالموجات فوق الصوتية هو عملية بسيطة وسريعة وقابلة للتدرج ، مما يسمح بترسيب الكركمين عالي الجودة في الصناعة الدوائية والغذائية.

ترسب بالموجات فوق الصوتية لجسيمات الكركمين مع البنية الفوقية.

آلية مفترضة لتشكيل supercolicic الكركمين في غياب ووجود الموجات فوق الصوتية دون مثبتات. صورة © 2014 Thorat وآخرون.

بروتوكول هطول الأمطار بالموجات فوق الصوتية:

UP200Ht - جهاز الموجات فوق الصوتية المحمولة قوية.من أجل ترسيب جسيمات الكركمين الفوق صوتية ، يضاف محلول عضوي من الكركمين في الإيثانول (5 ملغم / مل) إلى 100 مل ماء يحتوي على الفاعل بالسطح (0.02٪ بالوزن في الماء) أو بدون الفاعل بالسطح. كما وعاء التفاعل ، وعاء زجاجي مغلفة من تقريبا. يتم استخدام حجم 500 مل وقطر 7 سم ونسبة L / D 1.7. يتم الاحتفاظ درجة حرارة الخليط باستمرار في 1 درجة مئوية. لعملية الترسيب بالموجات فوق الصوتية ، sonotrode من الخالط الموجات فوق الصوتية مثل Uf200 ः ر أو UP200St المجهزة مع سونوترودي S26d14 هو مغمورة في خليط المذيبات ، antisolvent. في إعداد السعة 100 ٪ و 10 دقيقة. صوتنة ، فرقت الخليط.
يسمح الوقت sonication للتلاعب في تعدد الأشكال من بلورات cucrcumin. عندما تمدد مدة صوتنة ، يتم زيادة نسبة الجسيمات orthorhombic. وهذا يشير إلى أن زيادة الطاقة بالموجات فوق الصوتية تسهل تشكيل شكل orthorhombic على شكل أحادي الميل ، بغض النظر عن المادة المضافة المستخدمة.
[راجع ثورات وآخرون. 2014]

يستخدم استخراج بالموجات فوق الصوتية لعزل المركبات النشطة بيولوجيا مثل المواد المضادة للاكسدة، adaptogens والانثوسيانين من النباتات.

UIP1000hdT – معالج بالموجات فوق الصوتية 1kW لهطول الأمطار API

طلب معلومات





التوافر الحيوي المحسن عن طريق التغليف بالموجات فوق الصوتية

وبما أن الكركمين هو جزيء محبة للدهون وقابل للذوبان بشكل سيئ في الماء (= مسعور) ، فإنه يتمتع بتوافر حيوي منخفض. لذلك ، من الضروري إعداد تركيبات الكركمين التي تعزز من توافرها الحيوي. من أجل تحضير محاليل الكركمين المائية ، يتم إضافة المواد الخافضة للتوتر السطحي ، والدهون ، والألبان ، و cyclodextrins ، والبوليمرات الحيوية وما إلى ذلك من أجل تغليف أو تحميل جزيئات الكركمين في الجسيمات الشحمية ، والجسيمات النانوية وغيرها من ناقلات الأدوية.
Ultrasonication هي تقنية عالية الكفاءة ويمكن الاعتماد عليها لصياغة شركات الأدوية مثل الجسيمات الشحمية، قذيفة الأساسية النانويةوالبوليمرات الحيوية و المستحلبات مزدوجة! تجد أدناه بروتوكول مثالي للتغليف بالموجات فوق الصوتية من الكركمين.

بروتوكول تغليف الكركمين بالموجات فوق الصوتية:

حامض polylactic-co-glycolic المحمل بالكروكوليك (PLGA) النانوية

  1. أولا ، يتم حل البوليمر PLGA في ethyl acetate. يتم إضافة الكركمين (15٪ وزن / وزن) ويسمح بحلها أثناء دوران الحل بشكل متقطع.
  2. يضاف الخليط الصلب في الزيت إلى طور مائي من PVA (w / v) لتشكيل مستحلب SO / W. ثم ، يتم دوامة الحل من المخدرات / البوليمر في بولي في 8000 دورة في الدقيقة.
  3. يتم sonicated الحل الناتج عن تقريبا. 300sec في السعة 45 ٪ مع الخالط الموجات فوق الصوتية مثل Uf200 ः ر أو UP200St (200 واط ، 26 كيلو هرتز). مباشرة بعد صوتنة ، يصب المستحلب في الطور المائي (0.1٪ PVA في الماء ؛ 200mL) للانتشار تحت التحريك السريع مع محرك مغناطيسي.
  4. يتم تحريك هذا التعليق الغرواني بشكل مستمر بمحرك مغناطيسي حتى يتم استكمال عملية تبخر المذيب. ثم ، يتم جمع الجسيمات النانوية عن طريق الطرد المركزي ، وغسلها 3 مرات مع الماء المقطر ميلي س. وأخيرًا ، يتم تعليقها في محلول cryoprotectent (السكروز (2٪ وزن / وزن) و trehalose (5٪ وزن / وزن)) ، ويتم تجفيفها على نظام ثلاثي البعد ATR FD3.0 ويمكن تخزينها عند 4 درجة مئوية لمدة 6 أشهر على الأقل .

[راجع رانجان وآخرون. 2012]

معالجات بالموجات فوق الصوتية لهطول الكركمين والتركيب

تقدم Hielscher Ultrasonics معدات فوق صوتية عالية الأداء من أجل تخليق الجسيمات النانوية (مثل واجهات برمجة التطبيقات) واستخراج مركبات نباتية. تتضمن مجموعة منتجاتنا مختبرات متطورة ، وأجهزة فحص سطح المكتب وأجهزة الموجات فوق الصوتية الصناعية ، والتي تسمح بتطوير التطبيقات من الصغيرة إلى التجارية. يمكن أن تكون جميع النتائج التي تم الحصول عليها في المختبر والاختبار التجريبي محسوبة تمامًا إلى مستوى الإنتاج التجاري. جميع الأنظمة مصممة للعملية على مدار 24 ساعة طوال أيام الأسبوع وقوية وسهل الاستخدام.
تحتضن سلسلة UIPxxxxhdT أنظمة الموجات فوق الصوتية الصناعية التي نستخدمها ، والتي يمكن استخدامها من أجل رفع مستوى سطح المكتب وتحسين العملية والإنتاج الصناعي. أنظمتنا الصناعية متوفرة 500W (UIP500hdT)، 1000 واط (UIP1000hdT)، 1500 واط (UIP1500hdT)، 2000W (UIP2000hdT)، 4000W (UIP4000hdT)، 10000 واط (UIP10000) و 16000 واط (UIP16000 ، أقوى الموجات فوق الصوتية في العالم). HIELSCHER الفوق’ يمكن تشغيل معالجات بالموجات فوق الصوتية الصناعية بشكل مستمر على مدار الساعة طوال الأسبوع بسعات عالية جدًا تصل إلى 200µm. للحصول على سعة أكبر ، توفر Hielscher سونوترودس بالموجات فوق الصوتية المخصصة. إن متانة معدات الموجات فوق الصوتية Hielscher تسمح بعملية موثوقة على مدار الساعة في العمل الشاق وفي البيئات الصعبة.
لجميع أنظمة الموجات فوق الصوتية لدينا ، ونحن نقدم مجموعة واسعة من الملحقات مثل sonotrodes ، وقرون التعزيز ، وخلايا تدفق ومفاعلات متعددة الأحجام والأشكال والهندسة. مع هذه الأدوات ، يصبح من الممكن بسهولة التكيف مع معالجاتنا فوق الصوتية على النحو الأمثل لظروف العملية المطلوبة.
InsertMPC48 مع 48 قنية الجميلة، التي تضخ المرحلة الثانية من مستحلب مباشرة في منطقة التجويف بالموجات فوق الصوتيةبالنسبة للترسيب والتركيب من الأسفل إلى الأعلى ، يوفر Hielscher إدخالًا فريدًا لخلية التدفق – ال متعددة الطور التجويف MPC48. مع MultiPhaseCavitator ، يتم حقن المرحلة الثانية (مضاد المذيب) عبر 48 من الأذرع الناعمة مباشرة في منطقة التجويف بالموجات فوق الصوتية ، حيث يتم خلطها خلال ميلي ثانية في المرحلة الأولى. ونتيجة لذلك ، ترسبت جزيئات النانو متجانسة.

اتصل بنا! / اسألنا!

يرجى استخدام النموذج أدناه، إذا كنت ترغب في طلب معلومات إضافية حول التجانس بالموجات فوق الصوتية. سنكون سعداء لنقدم لكم نظام الموجات فوق الصوتية تلبية الاحتياجات الخاصة بك.









يرجى ملاحظة لدينا سياسة الخصوصية.


Hielscher Ultrasonics بتصنيع ultrasonicators عالية الأداء.

صوتنة قوية من المختبر ومنضدة إلى الإنتاج الصناعي.

مراجع الادب



حقائق تستحق العلم

الكركمين

الترسيب بالموجات فوق الصوتية من الكركمين هو تقنية عالية الكفاءة لإنتاج نانوكوركومين مع البنية الفوقية.الكركمين هو مركب كيميائي أصفر اللون وجدت في الكركم. الكركم هو نبات عشبي معقد rhizomatous (كركم لونغامن عائلة الزنجبيل. الكركمين هو بوليفينول مستخلص من الجذور ويستخدم على نطاق واسع كتوابل. اعتمادا على أصلها وظروف التربة حيث نمت ، يحتوي الكركم 2 ٪ -9 ٪ curcuminoids. الكركمين هو curcuminoid الرئيسي من الكركم (كركم لونغا ، زنجبيريا). يتم استخدامه كمكمل ، مركب طبي ، مضافات تلوين الطعام النكهة وكذلك مكون مستحضرات التجميل.
شكل منقى من الكركمين ، والذي يتكون فقط من المكونات الرئيسية الثلاثة التالية – الكركمين ، bisdemethoxycurcumin و demethoxycurcumin – يشار إليها أيضا باسم مجمع الكركمين C3. يمكن فصل الكركمين النقي من خليط C3 من الكركمين ، وربسيميثوكسي الكركمين و demethoxy curcumin بواسطة كروماتوجراف العمود.
بالنسبة لخصائصها الدوائية ، فإن الكركمين النقي غير المعدَّل له مشكلة كبيرة: نظرا لضعف قابلية الذوبان في الماء وبالتالي ضعف التوافر الحيوي ، فإن الكركمين غير المعدل لا يمكن أن يستنسخ آثاره العلاجية ، ولكن يتم استقلابه بسرعة في الكبد والجدار المعوي. للتغلب على معدل الامتصاص المنخفض للكروكومين ، يتم تغليف الجزيئات النشطة في حاملات النانو (على سبيل المثال الجسيمات الشحمية، nanospheres) أو تحميلها على مجمعات النانو (على سبيل المثال النانويةومجمعات من الدهون الفوسفاتية ، cyclodextrins وتشتت الصلبة). علاوة على ذلك ، يمكن زيادة التوافر الحيوي للكركمين بنسبة تقريبًا. 2000 ٪ عندما يتم الجمع بين الجرعة مع piperine ، وهو مستخلص الفلفل الأسود.
وبسبب هذه الحقائق ، فإن الكركمين المصنوع بالنانو (nanocurcumin) هو شكل الجرعة المفضل للكركمين ، حيث يتغلب الكركمين في nanoform على مشاكل تسليم الدواء المذكورة أعلاه. Nanocurcumin يمكن أن يحشر خصائصه العلاجية بسبب تحسن التسليم إلى الأنسجة المريضة ، وتحسين الاستيعاب وتقليل القضاء الشامل.
يتوفر الكركمين في عدة أشكال للإيصال بما في ذلك المساحيق والكبسولات والأقراص والمراهم والمشروبات الغذائية والكريمات التجميلية.

تطبيقات طبية من الكركمين

وقد تم التحقيق على نطاق واسع Curcumin لأشكال استخدامها متعددة في الطب والتغذية. وقد أظهرت الأبحاث أن الكركمين لديه نشاط مضاد للأكسدة عالية ، والذي يحث على موت الخلايا المبرمج للخلايا ، ويحول دون تكاثر الخلايا ، التصاق الخلايا المضادة والحركية ، ويقدم مضاد للتكوين الأوعية الدموية والخصائص المضادة للميكروبات. بسبب هذه التأثيرات ، يتم استخدام الكركمين كدواء لعلاج مختلف الأمراض الالتهابية والسرطانات والأمراض العصبية التنكسية وأمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية وكذلك مرض السكري.
تم إعداد نماذج النانو بإعطاء الموجات فوق الصوتية من الكركمين للعلاج الطبي وتشمل الجسيمات النانوية ، الجسيمات الشحمية ، المذيلات ، nanemulsions ، مجمعات cyclodextrin ، nanodisks ، الألياف النانوية ، جسيمات صلبة نانوية الدهون ، وتقارن الكركمين. تتغاضى أشكال الجرعات النانوية هذه عن التوافر البيولوجي الضعيف للكروكومين وتسمح بالتوصيل المستهدف والفعال لعقار الكركمين القوي للغاية.

الهيكل الكيميائي Curcumin

الكركمين هو جزيء متماثل ، المعروف أيضا باسم الميثان diferuloyl. إن اسم IUPAC من الكركمين هو (1E، 6E) -1،7-bis (4-hydroxy-3-methoxyphenyl) -1،6-heptadiene-3،5-dione ، مع الصيغة الكيميائية C21ح20ال6. يمكن أن تظهر بلورات Curcumin بأشكال مختلفة ، مثل أحادي الميل (أسيكولار) ، orthorhombic (مثل حبة الأرز) ، وشكل غير متبلور.

Hielscher – Ultrasound Technology

Ultrasonic Precipitation of Curcumin Superparticles

  • Since turmeric contains only 2-9 wt% of curcuminoids, a efficient extraction or synthesis technique is necessary to obtain a medically potent powder.
  • Ultrasonically assisted antisolvent precipitation is a highly efficient method to synthesise curcumin particles.
  • The ultrasonic antisolvent precipitation can be easily scaled-up to the production of large quantities of high-quality curcumin.

Curcumin

Curcumin, a polyphenol, is a poorly water-soluble drug found in the herbal spice turmeric (Curcuma longa). It has highly potent antioxidants and is known for its anti-inflammatory, anti-cancer, anti-fungal, and antimicrobial properties. Especially for its wide range of chemo-preventive and chemo-therapeutic activities, curcumin is used as a preferred drug compound.
As a potent antioxidant, curcumin increases the serum activity of antioxidants such as superoxide dismutase (SOD) and scavenges and neutralizes free radicals such as reactive oxygen and nitrogen species (ROS and RNS). Furthermore, it enhances the activity of the body’s own antioxidant enzymes. Curcumin is also known to lower heart diseases and to improve the brain function. Due to these manifold beneficial medicinal properties, curcumin is widely used as spice, supplement and drug.

Ultrasonic Liquid Antisolvent Precipitation

The ultrasonically-asstisted liquid antisolvent (LAS) precipitation is a simple and rapid one-pot synthesis technique to produce curcumin nanoparticles with orthorhombic superstructure. The ultrasonic anti-solvent precipitation is a simple, fast and scalable process, which allows for the precipitation of high-quality curcumin in the pharma and food industry.

Ultrasonic precipitation of curcumin particles with superstructure.

Hypothesized mechanism of formation of curcumin superparticles in the absence and presence of ultrasound without stabilizers. Picture © 2014 Thorat et al.

Ultrasonic Precipitation Protocol:

UP200Ht - a powerful handheld ultrasonic device.For the ultasonic precipitation of curcumin particles, an organic solution of curcumin in ethanol (5 mg/mL) is added into 100mL water containing surfactant (0.02 wt% in water) or without surfactant. As reaction vessel, a jacketed glass vessel of approx. 500mL volume, 7cm diameter and L/D ratio of 1.7 is used. The temperature of the mixture is constantly maintained at 1ºC. For the ultrasonic precipitation process, the sonotrode of the ultrasonic homogenizer such as the UP200Ht or UP200St equipped with a S26d14 sonotrode is immersed into the solvent-antisolvent mixture. At 100% amplitude setting and 10min. sonication, the mixture dispersed.
The sonication time allows for the manipulation of the polymorphism of cucrcumin crystals. When sonication duration is prolonged, the percentage of orthorhombic particles is increased. This indicates that an increase in ultrasonic energy facilitates formation of orthorhombic form over the monoclinic form, irrespectively to the additive used.
[cf. Thorat et al. 2014]

Ultrasonic extraction is used to isolate bioactive compounds such as antioxidants, adaptogens and anthocyanins from botanicals.

UIP1000hdT – 1kW ultrasonic processor for API precipitation

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


Improved Bioavailability by Ultrasonic Encapsulation

Since curcumin is lipophilic molecule and poorly dissolvable in water (= hydrophobic), it has a low systemic bioavailability. Therefore, it is necessary to prepare curcumin formulations which enhance its bioavailability. For the preparation of aqueous curcumin solutions, surfactants, lipids, albumins, cyclodextrins, biopolymers etc. are added in order to encapsulate or load the curcumin molecules in liposomes, nanoparticles and other drug carriers.
Ultrasonication is a highly efficient and reliable technique to formulate drug carriers such as liposomes, core-shell nanoparticles, biopolymers and double emulsions! Find below an exemplary protocol for the ultrasonic encapsulation of curcumin.

Ultrasonic Curcumin Encapsulation Protocol:

Curcumin-loaded polylactic-co-glycolic acid (PLGA) nanoparticles

  1. First, the PLGA polymer is dissolved in ethyl acetate. Curcumin (15% w/w) is added and allowed to dissolve whilst vortexing the solution intermittently.
  2. The solid-in-oil mixture is added to an aqueous phase of PVA (w/v) to form a S-O/W emulsion. Then, the solution of the drug/polymer in PVA is vortexed at 8,000 rpm.
  3. The resulting solution is sonicated for approx. 300sec at 45% amplitude with an ultrasonic homogenizer such as UP200Ht or UP200St (200W, 26kHz). Immediately after sonication, the emulsion is poured into the aqueous phase (0.1% PVA in water; 200mL) for diffusion under rapid stirring with a magnetic stirrer.
  4. This colloidal suspension is continuously stirred with a magnetic stirrer until the solvent evaporation is completed. Then, the nanoparticles are collected by centrifugation, washed 3 times with distilled Milli Q water. Finally, they are resuspended in cryoprotectent solution (sucrose (2 %w/w) and trehalose (5% w/w)), dried on a lyophilizer ATR FD3.0 system and can be stored at 4°C for at least 6 months.

[cf. Ranjan et al. 2012]

Ultrasonic Processors for Curcumin Precipitation and Formulation

Hielscher Ultrasonics offers high-performace ultrasonic equipment for the synthesis of nanoparticles (e.g. APIs) and extraction of botanical compounds. Our product range includes sophisticated lab, bench-top and industrial ultrasonicators, which allows the development of applications from small to commercial scale. All results obtained in lab and pilot testing can be completely linear scaled to commercial production level. All systems are built for 24/7 operation, robust, and easy to use.
The UIPxxxxhdT series embraces our industrial-grade ultrasonic systems, which can be used for bench-top, process optimization and industrial production. Our industrial systems are available as 500W (UIP500hdT), 1000W (UIP1000hdT), 1500W (UIP1500hdT), 2000W (UIP2000hdT), 4000W (UIP4000hdT), 10,000W (UIP10000) and 16,000W (UIP16000, worldwide most powerful ultrasonicator). Hielscher Ultrasonics’ industrial ultrasonic processors can be run continuously 24/7 at very high amplitudes of up to 200µm. For even higher amplitudes, Hielscher offers customized ultrasonic sonotrodes. The robustness of Hielscher’s ultrasonic equipment allows for a reliable around-the-clock operation at heavy duty and in demanding environments.
For all our ultrasonic systems, we offer a broad spectrum of accessories such as sonotrodes, booster horns, flow cells and reactors of multiple sizes, shapes and geometries. With these tools, it becomes easily possible to adapt our ultrasonic processors optimally to the required process conditions.
InsertMPC48 with 48 fine cannulas, which inject the second phase of the emulsion directly into the ultrasonic cavitation zoneFor precipitation and bottom-up synthesis, Hielscher offers a unique flow cell insert – the MultiPhaseCavitator MPC48. With the MultiPhaseCavitator, the second phase (anti-solvent) is injected via 48 fine canulas directly into the ultrasonic cavitation zone, where it is mixed within milliseconds into the first phase. As result, homogeneous nano-particles are precipitated.

Contact Us! / Ask Us!

Please use the form below, if you wish to request additional information about ultrasonic homogenization. We will be glad to offer you an ultrasonic system meeting your requirements.









Please note our privacy policy.


Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonicators.

Powerful sonication from lab and bench-top to industrial production.

Literature/References



Facts Worth Knowing

Curcumin

Ultrasonic precipitation of curcumin is a highly efficient technique to produce nanocurcumin with superstructure.Curcumin is an yellow-coloured chemical compound found in turmeric. Turmeric is a rhizomatous herbaceous perennial plant (Curcuma longa) of the ginger family. Curcumin is a polyphenol which is extracted from the rhizomes and widely used as spice. Depending on its origin and the soil conditions where it is grown, turmeric contains 2%–9% curcuminoids. Curcumin is the main curcuminoid of turmeric (Curcuma longa, Zingiberaceae). It is used as supplement, medicinal compound, food flavoring coloring additive as well as cosmetic ingredient.
A purified form of curcumin, which consists only of the following three main components – curcumin, bisdemethoxycurcumin and demethoxycurcumin – is also referred to as curcumin C3 complex. Pure curcumin can be separated from the C3 mix of curcumin, bisdemethoxy curcumin and demethoxy curcumin by column chromatography.
Regarding its pharmacological properties, pure, non-modified curcumin has a big problem: Due to is poor water-solubility and thereby poor bioavailability, unmodified curcumin cannot enfold its therapeutic effects, but is rapidly metabolised in the liver and intestinal wall. To overcome curcumin’s low absorption rate, the active molecules are encapsulated in nano carriers (e.g. liposomes, nanospheres) or loaded on nano-complexes (e.g. nanoparticles, complexes of phospholipids, cyclodextrins and solid dispersions). Furthermore, curcumin’s bioavailability can be increased by approx. 2000% when its dosage is combined with piperine, which is a black pepper extract.
Due to these facts, nano-formulated curcumin (nanocurcumin) is the preferred dosage form of curcumin since curcumin in nanoform overcomes the afore mentioned drug delivery problems. Nanocurcumin can enfold its therapeutic properties due to improved delivery to the diseased tissue, better internalization and reduced systemic elimination.
Curcumin is available in multiple delivery forms including powders, capsules, tablets, ointments, nutritional drinks, and cosmetic creams.

Medical Applications of Curcumin

Curcumin has been widely investigated for its manifold usage forms in medicine and nutrition. Research has shown that curcumin has a high antioxidant activity, which induces cell apoptosis, inhibits cell proliferation, anti-cell adhesion and motility, and offers anti-angiogenesis and anti-microbial properties. Due to these effects, curcumin is applied as drug to treat various inflammatory diseases, cancers, neurodegenerative diseases, cardiovascular diseases as well as diabetes.
Ultrasonically prepared nano-administering forms of curcumin for medical therapy include nanoparticles, liposomes, micelles, nanoemulsions, cyclodextrin complexes, nanodisks, nanofibres, solid lipid nanoparticles, and curcumin conjugates. These nano-sized dosage forms overcome curcumin’s poor bioavailability and allow for the targeted and effective delivery of a highly potent curcumin drug.

Curcumin Chemical Structure

Curcumin is a symmetric molecule, also known as diferuloyl methane. The IUPAC name of curcumin is(1E,6E)-1,7-bis(4-hydroxy-3-methoxyphenyl)-1,6-heptadiene-3,5-dione, with chemical formula C21H20O6. Curcumin crystals can appear in different shapes, such as monoclinic (acicular), orthorhombic (rice grain like), and amorphous form.