Hielscher تكنولوجيا الموجات فوق الصوتية

العلاج بالموجات فوق الصوتية من الجسيمات النانوية للأدوية

الموجات فوق الصوتية هي عبارة عن تقنية مبتكرة يستخدم بنجاح لsonochemical نتيجة الجمع بين الطريحة والنقيضة، إزالة الألغام، تشتت، الاستحلاب، functionalization وتفعيل الجسيمات. ولا سيما في تكنولوجيا النانو، وultrasonication هو تقنية ضرورية لأغراض تركيب وتصنيع المواد النانوية الحجم. منذ تكنولوجيا النانو وقد اكتسب هذا الاهتمام العلمية المتميزة، وتستخدم جزيئات نانو الحجم في العديد من المجالات العلمية بشكل غير عادي والصناعية. وقد اكتشف فرع فارما إمكانات عالية من هذه المواد المرنة والمتغيرة، أيضا. ونتيجة لذلك، تشارك النانوية في التطبيقات الوظيفية المختلفة في مجال الصناعات الدوائية، وتشمل هذه:

  • تسليم المخدرات (الناقل)
  • المنتجات التشخيصية
  • تغليف المنتج
  • اكتشاف العلامات البيولوجية

المواد النانوية في الصيدلة

وعلى وجه الخصوص ، يعد توصيل الدواء عن طريق الجسيمات النانوية بالفعل طريقة مثبتة لتوصيل المواد الفعالة التي كانت تُعطى قبل الفم أو عن طريق الحقن. (باوا 2008) يمكن جرعات الأدوية التي تمت صياغتها بالنانو وتوصيلها بكفاءة أكبر حيث أن التقنيات الجديدة تفتح طرقًا جديدة تمامًا للعلاجات الطبية. تساعد هذه التقنية عالية الإمكانية على إيصال العقاقير أو الحرارة أو المواد الفعالة الأخرى إلى خلايا معينة ، أي الخلايا المريضة. من خلال هذا التسليم المباشر للمخدرات ، لا تتأثر الخلايا السليمة بتأثيرات المخدرات. حقل واحد ، في الأدوية التي صاغتها النانو بالفعل تظهر نتائجها واعدة هو علاج السرطان. في علاج السرطان ، فإن الميزة الكبيرة للمواد ذات الحجم النانوي هي أن الجرعات العالية من جزيئات الدواء يمكن أن يتم توصيلها مباشرة إلى الخلايا الورمية للحصول على أقصى تأثير مع تقليل التأثيرات الجانبية للأعضاء الأخرى. (Liu et al.2008) تؤدي هذه الميزة إلى الحجم النانوي من خلال قدرة الجزيئات على تمرير جدران الخلايا والأغشية وإطلاق العوامل الفعالة للعقار مباشرة في الخلايا المستهدفة.

تجهيز المواد النانوية

كما يتم تعريف المواد متناهية الصغر على شكل جسيمات ذات بعد أقل من 100nm هذا يعني أن إنتاج وتصنيع هذه المواد تتطلب جهودا أكبر.
لتشكيل ولمعالجة الجسيمات النانوية، لها تكتلات أن تكون مكسورة والقوات الرابطة أن تم التغلب عليها. التجويف بالموجات فوق الصوتية هي تقنية معروفة لdeagglomerate وتفريق المواد متناهية الصغر. تنوع المواد النانوية وأشكال يفتح التغييرات المتعددة للبحوث الصيدلانية. أنابيب الكربون النانوية (CNTs) لديها حجم داخلي كبير يسمح بتغليف المزيد من جزيئات الدواء ، ولها أسطح داخلية وخارجية متميزة للتأدية. (Hilder et al. 2008) من خلال ذلك ، فإن الأنابيب النانوية الكربونية قادرة على حمل جزيئات مختلفة مثل العوامل النشطة ، والحمض النووي ، والبروتينات ، والببتيدات ، وتستهدف الربيطات الخ في الخلايا. وقد تم التعرف على الأنابيب النانوية الكربونية باعتبارها المواد النانوية الجوهرية وقد اكتسبت مكانة واحدة من المجالات الأكثر نشاطًا في علم النانو وتكنولوجيا النانو. يتكون MWCNT من 2-3 طبقات جرافيتية مركزية ، يتراوح قطرها من 10 إلى 50 نانومتر وطولها أكثر من 10 ميكرومتر. من ناحية أخرى ، SWCNT أرق بكثير ، حيث يتراوح قطرها من 1.0 إلى 1.4 نانومتر. (Srinivasan 2008) يمكن للجسيمات النانوية فضلاً عن الأنابيب النانوية إدخال الخلايا ويمكن تناولها بالكامل. وعلى وجه الخصوص ، تعرف الأنابيب النانوية الكربونية الفانتونية (f-CNTs) بأنها تعزز قابلية الذوبان وتسمح باستهداف الورم بكفاءة. وبذلك ، يتم منع الـ CN-CNTs و SWNTs و MWNTs من كونها سامة للخلايا (= سامة للخلايا) وتغيير وظيفة جهاز المناعة. فمثلا، الأنابيب النانوية الكربونية أحادية الجدار (SWCNTs) عالية النقاء يمكن أن تنتج في طريقه sonochemical: يمكن الحصول على SWCNTs عالية النقاء في حل السائل بواسطة sonicating مسحوق السيليكا لمدة 20 دقيقة. في درجة حرارة الغرفة والضغط المحيط. (سرينيفاسان 2005)

مستعدة Sonochemically الأنابيب النانوية الكربونية أحادية الجدار (SWNTs / SWCNTs)

Fig.1: إنتاج Sonochemical من SWCNTs. تم sonicated مسحوق السيليكا في محلول من خليط الفيروسين-زيلين لمدة 20 دقيقة. في درجة حرارة الغرفة وتحت الضغط المحيط. صوتنة تنتج SWCNTS عالية النقاء على سطح مسحوق السيليكا. (جيونغ وآخرون 2004)

Functionalized الكربون الأنابيب النانومترية (و-الأنابيب النانوية الكربونية) ويمكن أيضا أن تكون بمثابة أنظمة إيصال اللقاحات. المفهوم الأساسي هو ربط مستضد لأنابيب الكربون النانوية مع الحفاظ على التشكل، وبالتالي، الأمر الذي أدى استجابة الأجسام المضادة مع خصوصية الصحيحة.
النانوية السيراميك، والمستمدة من أي السيليكا، تيتانيا أو الألومينا، ميزة سطح الجسيمات التي يسهل اختراقها أن يجعلها حاملة المخدرات المثالي.

بالموجات فوق الصوتية تجميع وترسيب الجسيمات النانوية

النانوية يمكن أن تتولد من أسفل إلى أعلى عن طريق التخليق أو هطول الأمطار. كيمياء السونوم هي واحدة من أقدم التقنيات المستخدمة لتحضير المركبات nanosize. Suslick في عمله الأصلي، sonicated الحديد (CO) 5 إما السائل أنيق أو في حل deaclin وحصلت على حجم الجسيمات النانوية الحديد غير متبلور 10-20nm. عموما، يبدأ الخليط الفوق تشكيل الجزيئات الصلبة من مادة عالية التركيز. Ultrasonication يحسن خلط للمؤشرات ما قبل وما يزيد من نقل الجماعي على سطح الجسيمات. وهذا يؤدي إلى أصغر حجم الجسيمات وارتفاع التوحيد.

المجانسة بالموجات فوق الصوتية تسمح لتفريق فعالة، deagglomeration وmfunctionalization من مواد النانو.

الموافقة المسبقة عن علم. 1: جهاز مختبر HIELSCHER ل UP50H ل sonication من أحجام صغيرة، على سبيل المثال تفريق MWNTs.

بالموجات فوق الصوتية Functionalization من النانوية

للحصول على جسيمات متناهية الصغر ذات خصائص ووظائف محددة ، يجب تعديل سطح الجسيمات. يمكن توظيف العديد من النظم النانوية مثل الجسيمات النانوية البوليمرية ، الجسيمات الشحمية (الليبوزومات) ، dendrimers ، الأنابيب النانوية الكربونية ، النقاط الكمومية ، إلخ بنجاح من أجل الاستخدام الفعال في الصيدلانيات.
من أجل functionalize السطح كاملة من كل الجسيمات الفردية، لا بد من طريقة تشتت جيدة. عندما فرقت، وعادة ما تكون محاطة الجسيمات من قبل الطبقة الحدودية من الجزيئات تنجذب إلى سطح الجسيمات. من أجل مجموعات وظيفية جديدة للوصول إلى سطح الجسيمات، فإن هذه الطبقة الحدودية لا بد من كسرها لأعلى أو إزالتها. يمكن أن الطائرات السائلة الناتجة من التجويف بالموجات فوق الصوتية الوصول إلى سرعة تصل إلى 1000km / ساعة. هذا التوتر يساعد على التغلب على قوى جذب ويحمل جزيئات وظيفية على سطح الجسيمات. في sonochemistry، ويستخدم هذا التأثير لتحسين أداء الحفازات تفرقوا.

مثال عملي:

وظائف الموجات فوق الصوتية من SWCNTs بواسطة PL-PEG: Zeineldin et al. (2009) أثبتت أن تشتت الأنابيب النانوية الكربونية أحادية الجدار (SWNTs) بواسطة ultrasonication مع phospholipid-polyethylene glycol (PL-PEG) تشظيه ، وبالتالي تتداخل مع قدرته على منع امتصاص غير محدد من قبل الخلايا. ومع ذلك ، يعزز PL-PEG غير المجزأ الامتصاص الخلوي المحدد لـ SWNTs المستهدفة إلى فئتين مختلفتين من المستقبلات التي تعبر عنها الخلايا السرطانية. إن المعالجة بالموجات فوق الصوتية في وجود PL-PEG هي طريقة شائعة تستخدم في تشتيت أو عمل الأنبوب النانوي الكربوني ، كما أن سلامة PEG مهمة لتشجيع الامتصاص الخلوي النوعي للأنابيب النانوية المتفاعلة. بما أن التجزئة هي نتيجة محتملة لفائق الصوت ، وهي تقنية شائعة الاستخدام لتفريق SWNTs ، فقد يكون هذا مصدر قلق لبعض التطبيقات مثل توصيل الدواء.

بالموجات فوق الصوتية معدات تفريق مثل UP400S ultrasonicator هي أداة مثالية لتفريق وSWCNTs fragmente من أجل إعداد المواد الصيدلانية.

الشكل 2: الموجات فوق الصوتية وتشتت SWCNTs مع PL-PEG (زين الدين وآخرون 2009).

بالموجات فوق الصوتية الحويصلية تشكيل

آخر تطبيق ناجح للموجات فوق الصوتية هو إعداد الجسيمات الشحمية والليموزينات النانوية. تلعب أنظمة توصيل الجين والمخدرات بالليزوزومات دوراً هاماً في العلاجات المتعددة ، ولكن أيضاً في مستحضرات التجميل والتغذية. الليبوزومات هي ناقلات جيدة ، حيث يمكن وضع المواد الفعالة القابلة للذوبان في الماء في مركز الجسيمات الشحمية المائية ، أو إذا كان المادة قابلة للذوبان في الدهون ، في طبقة الدهون. يمكن تشكيل الليبوزومات عن طريق استخدام الفوق صوتيات. المواد الأساسية ل preperation الشحمية هي جزيئات amphilic مستمدة أو على أساس الدهون الغشاء البيولوجي. لتشكيل الحويصلات الصغيرة unilamellar (SUV) ، sonicated اللبيدة تشتت بلطف – مثلا مع جهاز الموجات فوق الصوتية المحمولة UP50H (50W، 30kHz)، و VialTweeter أو مفاعل بالموجات فوق الصوتية UTR200 – في حمام الثلج. مدة هذه العلاج بالموجات فوق الصوتية تستغرق تقريبا. 5-15 دقائق. طريقة أخرى لإنتاج الحويصلات unilamellar صغيرة هو صوتنة من الحويصلات الجسيمات الشحمية متعددة رقائقي.
دينو-Pirvu وآخرون. (2010) تقارير بالحصول على transferosomes بواسطة sonicating MLVs في درجة حرارة الغرفة.
تقدم HIELSCHER الفوق أجهزة الموجات فوق الصوتية المختلفة، sonotrodes والملحقات لتلبية متطلبات جميع أنواع العمليات.

التغليف بالموجات فوق الصوتية وكلاء في الجسيمات الشحمية

يعمل الجسيمات الشحمية كما ناقلة لعناصر نشطة. الموجات فوق الصوتية هي أداة فعالة لإعداد وتشكيل الجسيمات الشحمية للانحباس عناصر نشطة. قبل التغليف، تميل الجسيمات الشحمية لتشكيل مجموعات نتيجة لسطح التفاعل تهمة المسؤول عن رؤساء القطبية فوسفورية (Míckova وآخرون 2008)، علاوة على ذلك لديهم ليتم فتحه. على سبيل المثال، وقال تشو وآخرون. (2003) تصف التغليف من مسحوق البيوتين في الجسيمات الشحمية التي كتبها ultrasonication. كما تم إضافة مسحوق البيوتين في حل تعليق الحويصلة، وقد sonicated الحل تقريبا. 1 ساعة. بعد هذا العلاج، ومحاصر البيوتين في الجسيمات الشحمية.

المستحلبات Liposomal

لتعزيز تأثير تغذية وترطيب أو الكريمات والمستحضرات والمواد الهلامية وغيرها من الصيغ cosmeceutical مكافحة الشيخوخة، تتم إضافة مستحلب إلى التفرق liposomal لتحقيق الاستقرار كميات أكبر من الدهون. لكن التحقيقات أثبتت أن قدرة الجسيمات الشحمية يقتصر عموما. مع إضافة المستحلبات، ويظهر هذا التأثير في وقت سابق والمستحلبات إضافية يسبب ضعف على تقارب حاجز فسفاتيديل. النانوية – تتألف من فسفاتيديل والدهون - هي الحل لهذه المشكلة. وتشكل هذه الجسيمات النانوية من قبل قطرات النفط التي تغطيها أحادي الطبقة من فسفاتيديل. استخدام الجسيمات النانوية يسمح الصيغ التي هي قادرة على استيعاب المزيد من الدهون وتبقى مستقرة، بحيث لا تكون هناك حاجة المستحلبات إضافية.
Ultrasonication هو طريقة مثبتة لإنتاج النانو و nanodispersions. يوفر الموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الكثافة الطاقة اللازمة لتفريق الطور السائل (الطور المتشتت) في قطيرات صغيرة في المرحلة الثانية (المرحلة المستمرة). في منطقة التفريق ، تتسبب فقاعات التجويف المتدفقة في حدوث موجات صدمة مكثفة في السائل المحيط وتؤدي إلى تكوين نفاثات سائلة ذات سرعة سائلة عالية. من أجل تثبيت القطيرات المشكلة حديثًا لمرحلة التفريق ضد التلاصف ، تتم إضافة المستحلبات (المواد الفعالة على السطح ، المواد الخافضة للتوتر السطحي) والمثبتات إلى المستحلب. بما أن التحام القطيرات يؤثر على توزيع الحجم النهائي للقطرات ، يتم استخدام مستحلبات التثبيت الفعالة لضمان الحفاظ على توزيع حجم القطيرات النهائي عند مستوى يعادل التوزيع فورًا بعد انقطاع القطيرات في منطقة تفريق الموجات فوق الصوتية.

التفرق Liposomal

التفرق Liposomal، والتي تقوم على phosphatidylchlorine غير المشبعة، وعدم الاستقرار في ضد الأكسدة. استقرار تشتت يمكن تحقيقه عن طريق مضادات الأكسدة، مثل مجمع من الفيتامينات C و E.
Ortan وآخرون. (2002) المحرز في دراستهم المتعلقة بإعداد بالموجات فوق الصوتية من شبت graveolens من الضروري النفط في الجسيمات الشحمية نتائج جيدة. بعد صوتنة، كان البعد من الجسيمات الشحمية بين 70-150 نانومتر، وMLV بين 230-475 نانومتر. كانت هذه القيم ثابتة تقريبا أيضا بعد 2 شهر، ولكن inceased بعد 12 شهرا، وخصوصا في سيارات الدفع الرباعي تشتت (انظر رسوم بيانية أدناه). ، بشأن فقدان النفط الأساسية وحجم التوزيع وأظهر قياس الاستقرار أيضا أن التفرق liposomal حافظت على محتوى الزيت الطيار. هذا يشير إلى أن انحباس الزيت العطري في الجسيمات الشحمية زيادة استقرار النفط.

أعد بالموجات فوق الصوتية حويصلات متعددة رقائقي (MLV) والحويصلات أحادي رقائقي واحدة (SUV) تظهر الاستقرار جيدة بشأن فقدان النفط الأساسية وتوزيع حجم الجسيمات.

الشكل 3: Ortan وآخرون. (2009): استقرار MLV وSUV التفرق بعد 1 سنة. تم تخزينها تركيبات Liposomal في 4 ± 1 درجة مئوية.

انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد حول إعداد الحويصلية بالموجات فوق الصوتية!

تأثيرات الموجات فوق الصوتية

بجانب إنتاج الموجات فوق الصوتية من الجسيمات النانوية ، فإن معالجة هذه المواد هو مجال واسع لتطبيقات ultrasonication. لابد من كسر التكتلات ، ووجوب تشويه الجسيمات و / أو تشتيت ، يجب تنشيط الأسطح أو عملها ، ويجب استحلاب قطرات النانو. لجميع خطوات المعالجة هذه ، تعتبر الموجات فوق الصوتية طريقة أساسية مجربة. الموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الطاقة يولد تأثيرات شديدة. عند صوتنة السوائل بكثافة عالية ، تؤدي الموجات الصوتية التي تنتشر إلى الوسائط السائلة إلى دورات متناوبة من الضغط العالي (الضغط) ودورات الضغط المنخفض (نادرة) ، مع معدلات تعتمد على التردد. أثناء دورة الضغط المنخفض ، تنتج الموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الكثافة فقاعات فراغ صغيرة أو فراغات في السائل. عندما تصل الفقاعات إلى حجم لا تستطيع عنده امتصاص الطاقة ، فإنها تنهار بشكل عنيف خلال دورة الضغط العالي. هذه الظاهرة تسمى التجويف.
وانهيار نتائج فقاعات التجويف في الاضطرابات الصغيرة والطائرات الصغيرة تصل إلى 1000km / ساعة. الجزيئات الكبيرة تخضع لسطح تآكل (عبر انهيار التجويف في السائل المحيط) أو خفض حجم الجسيمات (بسبب الانشطار من خلال تصادم بين الجسيمات أو انهيار فقاعات التجويف تشكلت على السطح). وهذا يؤدي إلى تسارع حاد في عمليات الانتشار، كتلة نقل وتفاعلات المرحلة الصلبة نظرا لحجم معدن دقيق وبنية تغيير. (Suslick 1998)

معدات لتجهيز بالموجات فوق الصوتية

HIELSCHER هي اكبر مورد للجودة عالية وعالية الأداء المعالجات بالموجات فوق الصوتية للمختبر والتطبيق الصناعي. الأجهزة في مجموعة من 50 واط يصل إلى 16000 واط السماح للعثور على المعالج بالموجات فوق الصوتية الصحيح لكل حجم وكل عملية. بواسطة عالية الأداء، والموثوقية، وقوة وسهولة التشغيل، والعلاج بالموجات فوق الصوتية هي تقنية ضرورية لإعداد وتجهيز المواد النانوية. مجهزة CIP (التنظيف في المكان) وSIP (تعقيم في المكان)، أجهزة الموجات فوق الصوتية HIELSCHER لضمان الانتاج الآمن والفعال وفقا للمعايير الصيدلانية. جميع العمليات بالموجات فوق الصوتية محددة يمكن اختبارها بسهولة في المختبر أو مقعد بين كبار الحجم. نتائج هذه التجارب هي تكرار تماما، حتى أن حجم المتابعة التالي هو خطيا ويمكن أن يتم بسهولة دون بذل جهود إضافية بشأن عملية التحسين.

يمكن أن يتم سونو التوليف بها باعتبارها دفعة أو عملية مستمرة.

الموافقة المسبقة عن علم. 2: بالموجات فوق الصوتية مفاعل خلية تدفق يسمح للتجهيز المستمر.

مراجع الادب

  • باوا ، راج (2008): التداوي القائم علي جسيمات متناهي في البشر: دراسة استقصائية. في: قانون تكنولوجيا النانو & الأعمال، صيف 2008.
  • دينو-Pirvu، كريستينا. Hlevca، كريستينا. Ortan، ألينا. Prisada، رازفان (2010): الحويصلات المرنة مثل الأدوية الناقلين على الرغم من أن الجلد. في: FARMACIA Vol.58، 2/2010. بوخارست.
  • هيلدر، تامسين A .؛ هيل، جيمس M. (2008): تغليف من سيسبلاتين عقار مضاد للسرطان في الأنابيب النانوية. ICONN 2008. http://ro.uow.edu.au/infopapers/704
  • جيونج، سو هوان، كو، جو هاي. حديقة، جينغ بونغ. بارك، Wanjun (2004): A Sonochemical الطريق إلى أحادية الجدار الكربون الأنابيب النانومترية في ظل الظروف المحيطة. في: مجلة الجمعية الكيميائية الأميركية 126/2004. ص 15982-15983.
  • Ko, Weon بأي; بارك ، بيونغ يون ؛ لي ، يونغ مين ؛ هوانغ ، سونغ هو (2009): توليف fullerene [C60]-النانويه الذهب باستخدام غير الايونيه سورفاكتانتسبوليسورباتي 80 و brij 97. في: مجلة من خزف تجهيز بحث [فول.]. 10, 1/2009; pp. 6-10.
  • ليو ، تشوانغ. تشن, كاي; ديفيس, كورريني; شيرلوك ، ساره. [كاو], [قويزهن]; تشين شياو يوان ؛ داي, Hongjie (2008): تسليم المخدرات مع الأنابيب النانويه الكربونية لعلاج السرطان في الجسم الفيفو. في: سرطان بحث 68; 2008.
  • Mícková، A. Tománková ، K. Kolárová، H. باجار ، ر. كولار ، ب. سنكا ، ص. Plencner، M. جاكوبوفا ، ر. بينز ، ياء ؛ كولاكنا ، إل. بلاانكا ، أ. Amler، E. (2008): Ultrasonic Shock-Wave as a Control Mechanism for Liposome Drug Delivery System for Possible Use in Scaffold Angplored in Animals with Eyatrogenic Articular Arperular defects. In: Acta Veterianaria Brunensis Vol. 77 ، 2008 ؛ ص. 285-280.
  • النهار، M .؛ دوتا، T .؛ موروجزان، S؛ أسانا، A .؛ ميشرا، D؛ راجكومار، V؛ الفارغة، M .؛ سرف، S؛ جاين، N. K. (2006): جزيئات البوليمر الوظيفية: أداة فعالة وواعدة للتسليم نشط من bioactives. في: مراجعات نقدية في العلاجية أنظمة الناقل المخدرات، المجلد. 23، 4/2006. ص. 259-318.
  • Ortan، ألينا. Campeanu، غ؛ دينو-Pirvu، كريستينا. بوبيسكو، ليديا (2009): دراسات بشأن انحباس شبت graveolens من الضروري النفط في الجسيمات الشحمية. في: Poumanian التكنولوجيا الحيوية رسائل المجلد. 14، 3/2009. ص 4411-4417.
  • سرينيفاسان، C. (2008): أنابيب الكربون النانوية في علاج السرطان. في: العلم الحالي، Vol.93، NO.3، 2008.
  • سرينيفاسان، C. (2005) A 'صوتية' طريقة لتركيب الأنابيب النانوية الكربونية أحادية الجدار في ظل الظروف المحيطة. في: العلم الحالي، Vol.88، NO.1، 2005. ص 12-13.
  • Suslick، كينيث S. (1998): كيرك-Othmer موسوعة التكنولوجيا الكيميائية. 4 إد. J. ايلي & أبناء: نيويورك، المجلد. 26، 1998. ص. 517-541.
  • زين الدين، ريما. آل هايك، مروان. هدسون، لوري G. (2009): دور النزاهة البولي ايثيلين جلايكول في مستقبلات محددة استهداف الأنابيب النانوية الكربونية إلى خلايا السرطان. في: نانو رسائل 9/2009. ص. 751-757.
  • وقال تشو هاي فنغ، لى يونيو باي (2003): الاعتراف البيوتين-functionalized الليبوزومات. في: الصينية الكيماويات رسائل المجلد. 14، 8/2003. ص. 832-835.

اتصل بنا / اسأل عن مزيد من المعلومات

تحدث معنا حول متطلبات معالجة الخاص بك. وسوف نوصي معلمات الإعداد والتجهيز أكثر ملائمة للمشروع الخاص بك.





يرجى ملاحظة لدينا سياسة الخصوصية.

Hielscher – Ultrasound Technology

Ultrasonic Treatment of Nanoparticles for Pharmaceuticals

Ultrasound is an innovative technology that is used successfully for sonochemical synthesis, deagglomeration, dispersion, emulsifying, functionalization and activation of particles. Particularly in nanotechnology, the ultrasonication is an essential technique for the synthesis and processing purposes of nano-size materials. Since nanotechnology has gained this outstanding scientific interest, nano-sized particles are utilized in extraordinarily many scientific and industrial fields. The pharma branch has discovered the high potential of this flexible and variable material, too. Consequently, nanoparticles are involved into various functional applications in the pharmaceutical industry, these include:

  • drug delivery (carrier)
  • diagnostic products
  • product packaging
  • biomarker discovery

Nanomaterials in Pharmaceuticals

Especially, drug delivery via nanoparticles is already a proven method for delivering active agents which have been administered before oral or by injection. (Bawa 2008) Nano-formulated drugs can be dosed and delivered much more efficient as new techniques open completely novel ways of medical treatments. This high-potential technology helps delivering drugs, heat, or other active substances to specific cells, i.e. diseased cells. By this direct drug delivery, healthy cells are untroubled by drug effects. One field, in that nano-formulated drugs already show their promising results is the cancer therapy. In the cancer therapy it is the big advantage of nano-sized substances that high doses of drug molecules can be delivered directly to the tumor cells for maximum effects while minimizing side effects to other organs. (Liu et al.2008) This advantage results in the nano-size by that the particles are able to pass cell walls and membranes and release the drug’s active agents directly at the targeted cells.

Processing Nanomaterials

As nanomaterials are defined as particles with a dimension less than 100nm this means that the production and processing of these substances require higher efforts.
To form and to process nanoparticles, agglomerates have to be broken and bonding forces have to been overcome. Ultrasonic cavitation is a well-known technology to deagglomerate and disperse nanomaterials. The diversity of nanomaterials and forms opens manifold changes for pharmaceutical research. Carbon Nanotubes (CNTs) have a large inner volume which allows more drug molecules to be encapsulated, and they have distinct inner and outer surfaces for functionalization. (Hilder et al. 2008) By that, CNTs are able to carry various molecules such as active agents, DNA, proteins, peptides, targeting ligands etc. into cells. CNTs have been recognized as the quintessential nanomaterials and have acquired the status of one of the most active fields of nanoscience and nanotechnology. The MWCNT is composed of 2–30 concentric graphitic layers, the diameters of which range from 10 to 50 nm and length more than 10 μm. On the other hand, SWCNT is much thinner, with diameter ranging from 1.0 to 1.4 nm. (Srinivasan 2008) Nanoparticles as well as nanotubes can enter cells and can be taken up by them completely. In particular funtionalized Carbon Nanotubes (f-CNTs) are known to enhance solubility and allow an efficient tumor targeting. By that, f-CNTs, SWNTs and MWNTs are prevented from being cytotoxic (= toxic to cells) and altering the function of immune system. For example, Single-Walled Carbon Nanotubes (SWCNTs) of high purity can be produced on sonochemical way: High-purity SWCNTs can be obtained in a liquid solution by sonicating silica powder for 20 min. at room temperature and ambient pressure. (Srinivasan 2005)

Sonochemically prepared single-walled carbon nanotubes (SWNTs/ SWCNTs)

Fig.1: Sonochemical production of SWCNTs. Silica powder in a solution of ferrocene-xylene mixture has been sonicated for 20 min. at room temperature and under ambient pressure. Sonication produces high-purity SWCNTS on the surface of the silica powder. (Jeong et al. 2004)

Functionalized Carbon Nanotubes (f-CNTs) can also act as vaccine delivery systems. The basic concept is to link the antigen to carbon nanotubes while retaining its conformation, thereby, inducing antibody response with the right specificity.
Ceramic nanoparticles, i.e. derived from silica, titania or alumina, feature a porous particle surface that makes them an ideal drug carrier.

Ultrasonic Synthesis and Precipitation of Nanoparticles

Nanoparticles can be generated bottom-up by synthesis or precipitation. Sonochemistry is one of the earliest techniques used to prepare nanosize compounds. Suslick in his original work, sonicated Fe(CO)5 either as a neat liquid or in a deaclin solution and obtained 10-20nm size amorphous iron nanoparticles. Generally, a supersaturated mixture starts forming solid particles out of a highly concentrated material. Ultrasonication improves the mixing of the pre-cursors and increases the mass-transfer at the particle surface. This leads to smaller particle size and higher uniformity.

Ultrasonic homogenizers allow for an effective dispersing, deagglomeration and mfunctionalization of nano materials.

Pic. 1: Hielscher’s lab device UP50H for the sonication of small volumes, e.g. dispersing MWNTs.

Ultrasonic Functionalization of Nanoparticles

To obtain nanoparticles with specific characteristics and functions, the surface of the particles has to been modified. Various nanosystems like polymeric nanoparticles, liposomes, dendrimers, carbon nanotubes, quantum dots etc. can be successfully functionalized for efficient use in pharmaceutics.
In order to functionalize the complete surface of each individual particle, a good dispersion method is required. When dispersed, particles are typically surrounded by a boundary layer of molecules attracted to the particle surface. In order for new functional groups to get to the particle surface, this boundary layer needs to be broken up or removed. The liquid jets resulting from ultrasonic cavitation can reach speeds of up to 1000km/hr. This stress helps to overcome the attracting forces and carries the functional molecules to the particle surface. In sonochemistry, this effect is used to improve the performance of dispersed catalysts.

Practical Example:

Ultrasonic Functionalization of SWCNTs by PL-PEG: Zeineldin et al. (2009) demonstrated that the dispersion of single walled carbon nanotubes (SWNTs) by ultrasonication with phospholipid-polyethylene glycol (PL-PEG) fragments it, thereby interfering with its ability to block nonspecific uptake by cells. However, unfragmented PL-PEG promotes specific cellular uptake of targeted SWNTs to two distinct classes of receptors expressed by cancer cells. Ultrasonic treatment in the presence of PL-PEG is a common method used to disperse or functionalize carbon nanotubes and the integrity of PEG is important to promoting specific cellular uptake of ligand-functionalized nanotubes. Since fragmentation is a likely consequence of ultrasonication, a technique commonly used to disperse SWNTs, this maybe a concern for certain applications such as drug delivery.

Ultrasonic dispersing equipment such as the ultrasonicator UP400S are the perfect tool to disperse and fragmente SWCNTs in order to prepare pharmaceutical substances.

Fig. 2: Ultrasonic dispersion of SWCNTs with PL-PEG (Zeineldin et al. 2009)

Ultrasonic Liposome Formation

Another successful application of ultrasound is the preparation of liposomes and nano-liposomes. Liposome-based drug and gene delivery systems play a significant role in manifold therapies, but also in cosmetics and nutrition. Liposomes are good carriers, as water soluble active agents can be placed into the liposomes’ aqueous center or, if the agent is fat soluble, in the lipid layer. Liposomes can be formed by the use of ultrasonics. The basic material for liposome preperation are amphilic molecules derived or based on biological membrane lipids. For the formation of small unilamellar vesicles (SUV), the lipid dispersion is sonicated gently – e.g. with the handheld ultrasonic device UP50H (50W, 30kHz), the VialTweeter or the ultrasonic reactor UTR200 – in an ice bath. The duration of such an ultrasonic treatment lasts approx. 5 – 15 minutes. Another method to produce small unilamellar vesicles is the sonication of the multi-lamellar vesicles liposomes.
Dinu-Pirvu et al. (2010) reports the obtaining of transferosomes by sonicating MLVs at room temperature.
Hielscher Ultrasonics offers various ultrasonic devices, sonotrodes and accessories to meet the requirement of all kinds of processes.

Ultrasonic Encapsulation of Agents into Liposomes

Liposomes works as carriers for active agents. Ultrasound is an effective tool to prepare and form the liposomes for the entrapment of active agents. Before encapsulation, the liposomes tend to form clusters due to the surface charge-charge interaction of phospholipid polar heads (Míckova et al. 2008), furthermore they have to be opened. By way of example, Zhu et al. (2003) describe the encapsulation of biotin powder in liposomes by ultrasonication. As the biotin powder was added into the vesicle suspension solution, the solution has been sonicated for approx. 1 hour. After this treatment, biotin was entrapped in the liposomes.

Liposomal Emulsions

To enhance the nurturing effect of moisturizing or anti-aging cremes, lotions, gels and other cosmeceutical formulations, emulsifier are added to the liposomal dispersions to stabilize higher amounts of lipids. But investigations had shown that the capability of liposomes is generally limited. With the addition of emulsifiers, this effect will appear earlier and the additional emulsifiers cause a weakening on the barrier affinity of phosphatidylcholine. Nanoparticles – composed of phosphatidylcholine and lipids – are the answer to this problem. These nanoparticles are formed by an oil droplet which is covered by a monolayer of phosphatidylcholine. The use of nanoparticles allows formulations which are capable to absorb more lipids and remain stable, so that additional emulsifiers are not needed.
Ultrasonication is a proven method for the production of nanoemulsions and nanodispersions. Highly intensive ultrasound supplies the power needed to disperse a liquid phase (dispersed phase) in small droplets in a second phase (continuous phase). In the dispersing zone, imploding cavitation bubbles cause intensive shock waves in the surrounding liquid and result in the formation of liquid jets of high liquid velocity. In order to stabilize the newly formed droplets of the disperse phase against coalescence, emulsifiers (surface active substances, surfactants) and stabilizers are added to the emulsion. As coalescence of the droplets after disruption influences the final droplet size distribution, efficiently stabilizing emulsifiers are used to maintain the final droplet size distribution at a level that is equal to the distribution immediately after the droplet disruption in the ultrasonic dispersing zone.

Liposomal Dispersions

Liposomal dispersions, which are based on unsaturated phosphatidylchlorine, lack in stability against oxidation. The stabilization of the dispersion can be achieved by antioxidants, such as by a complex of vitamins C and E.
Ortan et al. (2002) achieved in their study concerning the ultrasonic preparation of Anethum graveolens essential oil in liposomes good results. After sonication, the dimension of liposomes were between 70-150 nm, and for MLV between 230-475 nm; these values were approximately constant also after 2 month, but inceased after 12 month, especially in SUV dispersion (see histograms below). The stability measurement, concerning essential oil loss and size distribution, also showed that liposomal dispersions maintained the content of volatile oil. This suggests that the entrapment of the essential oil in liposomes increased the oil stability.

Ultrasonically prepared multi-lamellar vesicles (MLV) and single uni-lamellar vesicles (SUV) show a good stability concerning the essential oil loss and the particle size distribution.

Fig. 3: Ortan et al. (2009): Stability of MLV and SUV dispersions after 1 year. Liposomal formulations were stored at 4±1 ºC.

Click here to read more about the ultrasonic liposome preparation!

Ultrasonic Effects

Next to the ultrasonic production of nanoparticles, the processing of these substances is a wide field for applications of ultrasonication. The agglomerates have to be broken, particles have to be detangled and/or dispersed, the surfaces have to be activated or functionalized, and nano-droplets must be emulsified. For all these processing steps, ultrasound is a proven essential method. High-power ultrasound generates intense effects. When sonicating liquids at high intensities, the sound waves that propagate into the liquid media result in alternating high-pressure (compression) and low-pressure (rarefaction) cycles, with rates depending on the frequency. During the low pressure cycle, high-intensity ultrasonic waves create small vacuum bubbles or voids in the liquid. When the bubbles attain a volume at which they can no longer absorb energy, they collapse violently during a high pressure cycle. This phenomenon is termed cavitation.
The implosion of the cavitation bubbles results in micro-turbulences and micro-jets of up to 1000km/hr. Large particles are subject to surface erosion (via cavitation collapse in the surrounding liquid) or particle size reduction (due to fission through inter-particle collision or the collapse of cavitation bubbles formed on the surface). This leads to sharp acceleration of diffusion, mass-transfer processes and solid phase reactions due to crystallite size and structure changing. (Suslick 1998)

Ultrasonic Processing Equipment

Hielscher is the top supplier of high quality and high performance ultrasonic processors for lab and industrial application. Devices in the range from 50 watts up to 16,000 watts allow to find the right ultrasonic processor for every volume and every process. By their high performance, reliability, robustness and easy operation, the ultrasonic treatment is an essential technique for the preparation and processing of nanomaterials. Equipped with CIP (clean-in-place) and SIP (sterilize-in-place), Hielscher’s ultrasonic devices guarantee safe and efficient production according to pharmaceutical standards. All specific ultrasonic processes can be easily tested in lab or bench-top scale. The results of these trials are completely reproducible, so that the following scale-up is linearly and can be easily made without additional efforts regarding the process optimization.

Sono-synthesis can be carried out as a batch or as continuous process.

Pic. 2: Ultrasonic flow cell reactor allow for continuous processing.

Literature/References

  • Bawa, Raj (2008): Nanoparticle-based Therapeutics in Humans: A Survey. In: Nanotechnology Law & Business, Summer 2008.
  • Dinu-Pirvu, Cristina; Hlevca, Cristina; Ortan, Alina; Prisada, Razvan (2010): Elastic vesicles as drugs carriers though the skin. In: Farmacia Vol.58, 2/2010. Bucharest.
  • Hilder, Tamsyn A.; Hill, James M. (2008): Encapsulation of the anticancer drug cisplatin into nanotubes. ICONN 2008. http://ro.uow.edu.au/infopapers/704
  • Jeong, Soo-Hwan; Ko, Ju-Hye; Park, Jing-Bong; Park, Wanjun (2004): A Sonochemical Route to Single-Walled Carbon Nanotubes under Ambient Conditions. In: Journal of American Chemical Society 126/2004; pp. 15982-15983.
  • Ko, Weon Bae; Park, Byoung Eun; Lee, Young Min; Hwang, Sung Ho (2009): Synthesis of fullerene[C60]-gold nanoparticles using non-ionic surfactantspolysorbate 80 and brij 97. In: Journal of Ceramic Processing Research Vol. 10, 1/2009; pp. 6-10.
  • Liu, Zhuang; Chen, Kai; Davis, Corrine; Sherlock, Sarah; Cao, Qizhen; Chen Xiaoyuan; Dai, Hongjie (2008): Drug Delivery with Carbon Nanotubes for In vivo Cancer Treatment. In: Cancer Research 68; 2008.
  • Mícková, A.; Tománková, K.; Kolárová, H.; Bajgar, R.; Kolár, P.; Sunka, P.; Plencner, M.; Jakubová, R.; Benes, J.; Kolácná, L.; Plánka, A.; Amler, E. (2008): Ultrasonic Shock-Wave as a Control Mechanism for Liposome Drug Delivery System for Possible Use in Scaffold Implanted to Animals with Iatrogenic Articular Cartilage Defects. In: Acta Veterianaria Brunensis Vol. 77, 2008; pp. 285-280.
  • Nahar, M.; Dutta, T.; Murugesan, S.; Asthana, A.; Mishra, D.; Rajkumar, V.; Tare, M.; Saraf, S.; Jain, N. K. (2006): Functional polymeric nanoparticles: an efficient and promising tool for active delivery of bioactives. In: Critical Reviews in Therapeutic Drug Carrier Systems, Vol. 23, 4/2006; pp. 259-318.
  • Ortan, Alina; Campeanu, Gh.; Dinu-Pirvu, Cristina; Popescu, Lidia (2009): Studies concerning the entrapment of Anethum graveolens essential oil in liposomes. In: Poumanian Biotechnological Letters Vol. 14, 3/2009; pp. 4411-4417.
  • Srinivasan, C. (2008): Carbon nanotubes in cancer therapy. In: Current Science, Vol.93, No.3, 2008.
  • Srinivasan, C. (2005) A ‘SOUND’ method for synthesis of single-walled carbon nanotubes under ambient conditions. In: Current Science, Vol.88, No.1, 2005. pp. 12-13.
  • Suslick, Kenneth S. (1998): Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology; 4th Ed. J. Wiley & Sons: New York, Vol. 26, 1998. pp. 517-541.
  • Zeineldin, Reema; Al-Haik, Marwan; Hudson, Laurie G. (2009): Role of Polyethylene Glycol Integrity in Specific Receptor Targeting of Carbon Nanotubes to Cancer Cells. In: Nano Letters 9/2009; pp. 751-757.
  • Zhu, Hai Feng; Li, Jun Bai (2003): Recognition of Biotin-functionalized Liposomes. In: Chinese Chemicals Letters Vol. 14, 8/2003; pp. 832-835.

Contact Us / Ask for more Information

Talk to us about your processing requirements. We will recommend the most suitable setup and processing parameters for your project.





Please note our privacy policy.