Hielscher – Ultraschall-Technologie

Ultraschall-gestützte Herstellung von Liposomen

Ultraschall-Liposomenpräparat für Pharmazeutika und Kosmetika

Liposomen (liposomale-lipidbasierte Vesikel), Transferosomen (ultradeformierbare Liposomen), Ethosomen (ultradeformierbare Vesikel mit hohem Alkoholgehalt) und Niosomen (synthetische Vesikel) sind mikroskopische Vesikel, die künstlich als kugelförmige Träger hergestellt werden können, in die aktive Moleküle eingekapselt werden können. Diese Vesikel mit Durchmessern zwischen 25 und 5000 nm werden häufig als Medikamententräger für topische Zwecke in der pharmazeutischen und kosmetischen Industrie wie Wirkstoffabgabe, Gentherapie und Immunisierung eingesetzt. Ultraschall ist eine bewährte Methode der Liposomenpräparation und der Verkapselung von Wirkstoffen in diese Vesikel.

Liposomes are made from Phosphatidyl Choline (PC)

Liposomen sind nicht nur Wirkstoffträger, auch ohne verkapselte Wirkstoffe, die freien Vesikel, sind starke Wirkstoffe für die Haut, da das Phosphatidylcholin zwei wesentliche Bestandteile enthält, die der menschliche Organismus nicht selbst herstellen kann: Linolsäure und Cholin.

Liposomen

Liposomen sind ein-, oligolamellare oder multilamellare vesikuläre Systeme und bestehen aus dem gleichen Material wie eine Zellmembran (Lipiddoppelschicht). Hinsichtlich ihrer Zusammensetzung und Größe unterscheidet man zwischen multilamellaren Vesikeln (MLV, 0,1-10μm) und unilamellaren Vesikeln, die zwischen kleinen (SUV, <100 nm), große (LUV, 100-500 nm) oder riesige (GUV, ≥1 μm) Vesikel.
Die Verbundstruktur der Liposomen besteht aus Phospholipiden. Phospholipide haben eine hydrophile Kopfgruppe und eine hydrophobe Schwanzgruppe, die aus einer langen Kohlenwasserstoffkette besteht.
Die Liposomenmembran hat eine sehr ähnliche Zusammensetzung wie die Hautbarriere, so dass sie sich leicht in die menschliche Haut integrieren lässt. Da die Liposomen mit der Haut fusionieren, können sie die eingeschlossenen Wirkstoffe direkt an den Bestimmungsort entladen, wo die Wirkstoffe ihre Funktion erfüllen können. So schaffen die Liposomen eine Verbesserung der Hautdurchlässigkeit für die eingeschlossenen pharmazeutischen und kosmetischen Wirkstoffe. Auch Liposomen ohne verkapselte Wirkstoffe, die freien Vesikel, sind starke Wirkstoffe für die Haut, da das Phosphatidylcholin zwei wesentliche Bestandteile enthält, die der menschliche Organismus nicht selbst herstellen kann: Linolsäure und Cholin.
Liposomen werden als biokompatible Träger von Medikamenten, Peptiden, Proteinen, plasmatischer DNA, Antisense-Oligonukleotiden oder Ribozymen für pharmazeutische, kosmetische und biochemische Zwecke eingesetzt. Die enorme Vielseitigkeit in der Partikelgröße und in den physikalischen Parametern der Lipide bietet ein attraktives Potenzial für den Bau maßgeschneiderter Fahrzeuge für ein breites Anwendungsspektrum. (Ulrich 2002)

Ultraschall-Liposomenbildung

Liposomen können durch den Einsatz von Ultraschall gebildet werden. Das Ausgangsmaterial für die Liposomenpräparation sind amphile Moleküle, die sich aus biologischen Membranlipiden ableiten oder darauf basieren. Für die Bildung von kleinen unilamellaren Vesikeln (SUV) wird die Lipiddispersion sanft beschallt. – z.B. mit dem Ultraschall-Handgerät UP50H (50W, 30kHz), dem VialTweeter oder dem Ultraschallreaktor UTR200 – wobei die Dispersion im Eisbad gekühlt wird. Die Dauer einer solchen Beschallung dauert ca. 5 – 15 Minuten. Eine andere Methode zur Herstellung kleiner unilamellarer Vesikel ist die Beschallung multilamellarer Liposomenvesikeln.
Dinu-Pirvu et al. (2010) stellte Transferosomen durch das Beschallen von multilamellaren Vehikeln (MLV s) bei Raumtemperatur her.
Hielscher Ultrasonics bietet verschiedene Ultraschallgeräte, Sonotroden und Zubehör an, um den passenden Sonator in Bezug auf die Leistung zu liefern.

Ultraschall-gestützte Verkapselung von Wirkstoffen in Liposomen

Liposomen fungieren als Wirkstoffträger. Ultraschall ist eine effektive Methode, um Liposomen für die Wirkstoffverkapselung herzustellen. Vor der Verkapselung neigen Liposomen aufgrund der Interaktion zwischen den Oberflächenladungen der polaren Phospholipidköpfe dazu, Cluster zu bilden (Míckova et al. 2008). Diese müssen aufgebrochen werden. Zhu et al. (2003) beschreiben folgendes exemplarisches Verfahren für das Verkapseln von Biotin in Liposomen mittels Ultraschall. Nachdem das Biotinpulver der Vesikelsuspension hinzugefügt wurde, wurde die Supsension für ca. 1 Stunde beschallt. Nach dieser Behandlung war Biotin in den Liposomen eingekapselt.

High power ultrasonicators from Hielscher Ultrasonics enable for targeted liposome preparation, emulsification and dispersing.

Bild. 1: 1kW Ultraschallprozessor für die kontinuierliche Inline-Verarbeitung

Liposomale Emulsionen

Um die pflegende Wirkung von feuchtigkeitsspendenden oder Anti-Aging-Cremes, Lotionen, Gels und anderen Cosmeceuticals zu erhöhen, werden der liposomalen Dispersion ein Emulgator hinzugefügt, um den höheren Lipidanteil zu stabilisieren. Untersuchungen haben allerdings gezeigt, dass Liposomen nur über eine begrenzte Aufnahmekapazität verfügen. Durch den Zusatz von Emulgatoren wird die Kapazitätsgrenze der Liposomen früher erreicht. Zudem schwächen Emulgatoren die Barriereaffinität von Phosphatidylcholin. Nanopartikel – aus Phosphatidylcholin und Lipiden – sind die Lösung für dieses Problem. Diese Nanopartikel werden aus einem Öltropfen gebildet, welcher von einer Monoschicht von Phosphatidylcholin ummantelt ist. Der Einsatz von Nanopartikeln ermöglicht Formulierungen, welche mehr Lipide absorbieren können und dabei stabil bleiben, so dass zusätzliche Emulgatoren überflüssig sind.
Die Ultraschalltechnik ist ein bewährtes Verfahren zur Herstellung von Nanoemulsionen und Nanodispersionen. Hochintensiver Ultraschall liefert die notwendige Leistung, um eine flüssige Phase (dispergierte Phase) in kleinen Tröpfchen in einer zweiten Phase (kontinuierliche Phase) zu dispergieren. In der Dispergierzone, implodierende Kavitation Blasen verursachen intensive Stoßwellen in der umgebenden Flüssigkeit und führen zur Bildung von Flüssigkeitsstrahlen mit hoher Flüssigkeitsgeschwindigkeit. Um die neu gebildeten Tröpfchen der dispersen Phase gegen Koaleszenz zu stabilisieren, werden der Emulsion Emulgatoren (oberflächenaktive Substanzen, Tenside) und Stabilisatoren zugesetzt. Da die Koaleszenz der Tröpfchen nach der Disruption die endgültige Tropfengrößenverteilung beeinflusst, werden effizient stabilisierende Emulgatoren eingesetzt, um die endgültige Tropfengrößenverteilung auf einem Niveau zu halten, das der Verteilung unmittelbar nach der Tropfenzerstörung in der Ultraschalldispergierzone entspricht.

Liposomale Dispersionen

Liposomale Dispersionen, welche auf ungesättigten Phosphatidylchlorinen basieren, weisen nur unzureichende Oxidationsstabilität auf. Eine Stabilisierung der Dispersion kann durch Antioxidantien, wie z.B. durch einen Vitamin C- und E- Komplex, erreicht werden.
Ortan et al. (2002) konnten in ihrer Studie die erfolgreiche ultraschall-gestützte Herstellung des ätherischen Öls Anethum Graveolens, welches in Liposomen verkapselt wurde, zeigen. Nach der Beschallung lag die Größe der Liposomen zwischen 70-150 nm und die der multilamellaren Vesikel (MLV) zwischen 230-475 nm. Diese Werte wurden auch nach 2 Monaten konstant, allerdings stiegen die Werte der unilamellaren Vesikel (SUV)-Dispersion nach 12 Monaten an (s. Histogramme unten). Die Stabilitätsmessung, welche den Gehalt des ätherischens Öls und die Größenverteilung untersucht, konnte zeigen, dass die liposomale Dispersion auch die flüchtigen Komponenten des Öl bewahrt hat. Daraus lässt sich schließen, dass sich eine Verkapselung des ätherischen Öls in Liposomen positiv auf die Öl-Stabilität auswirkt.

Long-time stability of ultrasonically prepared multilamellar (MLV) and small unilamellar (SUV) vesicle dispersion.

Abb.1+2: Ortan et al. (2009): Stabilität von MLV- und SUV-Dispersionen nach 1 Jahr. Liposomale Formulierungen wurden bei 4±1 ºC gelagert.

Hielscher Ultraschallprozessoren sind die idealen Geräte für Anwendungen in den Bereichen Kosmetik und der pharmazeutischen Industrie. Systeme, die aus mehreren Ultraschallprozessoren von bis zu 1,5 Mio. 16000 Watt jeweils die Kapazität bereitstellen, die erforderlich ist, um diese Laboranwendung in eine effiziente Produktionsmethode umzusetzen, um fein verteilte Emulsionen im kontinuierlichen Fluss oder in einer Charge zu erhalten. – Ergebnisse, die mit denen der besten derzeit erhältlichen Hochdruck-Homogenisatoren, wie beispielsweise dem neuen Blendenventil, vergleichbar sind. Zusätzlich zu diesem hohen Wirkungsgrad in der kontinuierlichen EmulgierungHielscher Ultraschallgeräte sind sehr wartungsarm, sehr einfach zu bedienen und zu reinigen. Der Ultraschall unterstützt tatsächlich die Reinigung und Spülung. Die Ultraschallleistung ist einstellbar und kann an bestimmte Produkte und Emulgieranforderungen angepasst werden. Spezielle Durchflusszellenreaktoren, die die erweiterten Anforderungen an CIP (Clean-in-Place) und SIP (Sterilisation-in-Place) erfüllen, sind ebenfalls erhältlich.

Kontakt/ Weitere Informationen

Sprechen Sie mit uns über Ihren Prozess! Gerne empfehlen wir Ihnen das geeignete Equipment und die richtigen Prozessparameter für Ihr Projekt.





Please beachten Sie unsere Datenschutzerklärung.


Literatur

  • Dayan, Nava (2005): Design des Liefersystems in topisch angewandten Formulierungen: Eine Übersicht. In: Handbuch für das Liefersystem für Körperpflege- und Kosmetikprodukte: Technologie, Anwendungen und Formulierungen (herausgegeben von Meyer R. Rosen). Norwich, NY: William Andrew; S. 102-118.
  • Dinu-Pirvu, Cristina; Hlevca, Cristina; Ortan, Alina; Prisada, Razvan (2010): Elastic vesicles as drugs carriers though the skin. In: Farmacia Vol.58, 2/2010. Bucharest.
  • Domb, Abraham J. (2006): Liposher zur kontrollierten Abgabe von Stoffen. In: Mikroverkapselung - Methoden und industrielle Anwendungen. (herausgegeben von Simon Benita). Boca Raton: CRC-Presse; S. 297-316.
  • Lasic, Danilo D.; Weiner, Normanne; Riaz, Mohammad; Martin, Frank (1998): Liposomen. In: Pharmazeutische Darreichungsformen: Dispersionssysteme Vol. 3. New York: Dekker; S. 87-128.
  • Lautenschläger, Hans (2006): Liposomen. In: Handbook of Cosmetic Science and Technology (herausgegeben von A. O. Barel, M. Paye und H. I. Maibach). Boca Raton: CRC-Presse; S. 155-163.
  • Mícková, A.; Tománková, K.; Kolárová, H.; Bajgar, R.; Kolár, P.; Sunka, P.; Plencner, M.; Jakubová, R.; Benes, J.; Kolácná, L.; Plánka, A.; Amler, E. (2008): Ulztraschall-Schockwelle als Kontrollmechanismus für das Liposomen-Drogenabgabesystem zur möglichen Verwendung in Gerüsten, die Tieren mit iatrogenen Gelenkknorpeldefekten implantiert wurden. In: Acta Veterianaria Brunensis Vol. 77, 2008; S. 285-280.
  • Ortan, Alina; Campeanu, Gh.; Dinu-Pirvu, Cristina; Popescu, Lidia (2009): Studien über die Einklemmung von Anethum Grabmäler ätherisches Öl in Liposomen. In: Poumanian Biotechnological Letters Vol. 14, 3/2009; S. 4411-4417.
  • Ulrich, Anne S. (2002): Biophysikalische Aspekte der Verwendung von Liposomen als Lieferwagen. In: Bioscience Report Vol.22, 2/2002; S. 129-150.
  • Zhu, Hai Feng; Li, Jun Bai (2003): Erkennung von biotin-funktionalisierten Liposomen. In: Chinese Chemicals Letters Vol. 14, 8/2003; S. 832-835.

Hielscher – Ultrasound Technology

Ultrasonic Liposome Preparation

Ultrasonic Liposome Preparation for Pharmaceuticals and Cosmetics

Liposomes (liposome-lipid based vesicles), transferosomes (ultradeformable liposomes), ethosomes (ultradeformable vesicles with high alcohol content), and niosomes (synthetic vesicles) are microscopic vesicles, which can be artificially prepared as globular carriers into which active molecules can be encapsulated. These vesicles with diameters between 25 and 5000 nm are often used as drug carriers for topical purposes in the pharmaceutical and cosmetic industry, such as drug delivery, genetherapy, and immunization. Ultrasound is a proven method of liposome preparation and the encapsulation of active agents into these vesicles.

Liposomes are made from Phosphatidyl Choline (PC)

Liposomes are not only carriers of active agents, also without encapsulated agents, the vacant vesicles, are potent actives for the skin, as the phosphatidylcholin incorporates two essentials, which the human organism cannot produce by itself: linoleic acid and choline.

Liposomes

Liposomes are unilamellar, oligolamellar or multilamellar vesicular systems and are composed of the same material as a cell membrane (lipid bilayer). Regarding to their composition and size, one differs between multi-lamellar vesicles (MLV, 0.1-10μm) and unilamellar vesicles, which are distinguished between small (SUV, <100 nm), large (LUV, 100–500 nm) or giant (GUV, ≥1 μm) vesicles.
The composite structure of liposomes consists of phospholipids. Phospholipids have a hydrophilic head group and a hydrophobic tail group, which consists of a long hydrocarbon chain.
The liposome membrane has a very similar composition as the skin barrier, so that they can be easily integrated into the human skin. As the liposomes fusionate with the skin, they can unload the entrapped agents directly to the destination, where the actives can fulfill their functions. Thus, the liposomes create an enhancement of skin penetrability/ permeability for the entrapped pharmaceutical and cosmetical agents. Also liposomes without encapsulated agents, the vacant vesicles, are potent actives for the skin, as the phosphatidylcholin incorporates two essentials, which the human organism cannot produce by itself: linoleic acid and choline.
Liposomes are used as biocompatible carriers of drugs, peptides, proteins, plasmic DNA, antisense oligonucleotides or ribozymes, for pharmaceutical, cosmetic, and biochemical purposes. The enormous versatility in particle size and in physical parameters of the lipids affords an attractive potential for constructing tailor-made vehicles for a wide range of applications. (Ulrich 2002)

Ultrasonic Liposomes Formation

Liposomes can be formed by the use of ultrasonics. The basic material for liposome preperation are amphilic molecules derived or based on biological membrane lipids. For the formation of small unilamellar vesicles (SUV), the lipid dispersion is sonicated gently – e.g. with the handheld ultrasonic device UP50H (50W, 30kHz), the VialTweeter or the ultrasonic reactor UTR200 – in an ice bath. The duration of such an ultrasonic treatment lasts approx. 5 – 15 minutes. Another method to produce small unilamellar vesicles is the sonication of the multi-lamellar vesicles liposomes.
Dinu-Pirvu et al. (2010) reports the obtaining of transferosomes by sonicating MLVs at room temperature.
Hielscher Ultrasonics offers various ultrasonic devices, sonotrodes and accessories to provide the appropriate sonicator regarding power

Ultrasonic encapsulation of agents into liposomes

Liposomes works as carriers for active agents. Ultrasound is an effective tool to prepare and form the liposomes for the entrapment of active agents. Before encapsulation, the liposomes tend to form clusters due to the surface charge-charge interaction of phospholipid polar heads (Míckova et al. 2008), furthermore they have to be opened. By way of example, Zhu et al. (2003) describe the encapsulation of biotin powder in liposomes by ultrasonication. As the biotin powder was added into the vesicle suspension solution, the solution has been sonicated for approx. 1 hour. After this treatment, biotin was entrapped in the liposomes.

High power ultrasonicators from Hielscher Ultrasonics enable for targeted liposome preparation, emulsification and dispersing.

Pic. 1: 1kW ultrasonic processor for continuous inline processing

Liposomal Emulsions

To enhance the nurturing effect of moisturizing or anti-aging cremes, lotions, gels and other cosmeceutical formulations, emulsifier are added to the liposomal dispersions to stabilize higher amounts of lipids. But investigations had shown that the capability of liposomes is generally limited. With the addition of emulsifiers, this effect will appear earlier and the additional emulsifiers cause a weakening on the barrier affinity of phosphatidylcholine. Nanoparticles – composed of phosphatidylcholine and lipids – are the answer to this problem. These nanoparticles are formed by an oil droplet which is covered by a monolayer of phosphatidylcholine. The use of nanoparticles allows formulations which are capable to absorb more lipids and remain stable, so that additional emulsifiers are not needed.
Ultrasonication is a proven method for the production of nanoemulsions and nanodispersions. Highly intensive ultrasound supplies the power needed to disperse a liquid phase (dispersed phase) in small droplets in a second phase (continuous phase). In the dispersing zone, imploding cavitation bubbles cause intensive shock waves in the surrounding liquid and result in the formation of liquid jets of high liquid velocity. In order to stabilize the newly formed droplets of the disperse phase against coalescence, emulsifiers (surface active substances, surfactants) and stabilizers are added to the emulsion. As coalescence of the droplets after disruption influences the final droplet size distribution, efficiently stabilizing emulsifiers are used to maintain the final droplet size distribution at a level that is equal to the distribution immediately after the droplet disruption in the ultrasonic dispersing zone.

Liposomal Dispersions

Liposomal dispersions, which are based on unsaturated phosphatidylchlorine, lack in stability against oxidation. The stabilization of the dispersion can be achieved by antioxidants, such as by a complex of vitamins C and E.
Ortan et al. (2002) achieved in their study concerning the ultrasonic preparation of Anethum graveolens essential oil in liposomes good results. After sonication, the dimension of liposomes were between 70-150 nm, and for MLV between 230-475 nm; these values were approximately constant also after 2 month, but inceased after 12 month, especially in SUV dispersion (see histograms below). The stability measurement, concerning essential oil loss and size distribution, also showed that liposomal dispersions maintained the content of volatile oil. This suggests that the entrapment of the essential oil in liposomes increased the oil stability.

Long-time stability of ultrasonically prepared multilamellar (MLV) and small unilamellar (SUV) vesicle dispersion.

Fig.1+2: Ortan et al. (2009): Stability of MLV and SUV dispersions after 1 year. Liposomal formulations were stored at 4±1 ºC.

Hielscher ultrasonic processors are the ideal devices for applications in the cosmetic and pharmaceutical industry. Systems consisting of several ultrasonic processors of up to 16,000 watts each, provide the capacity needed to translate this lab application into an efficient production method to obtain finely dispersed emulsions in continuous flow or in a batch – achieving results comparable to that of today’s best high-pressure homogenizers available, such as the new orifice valve. In addition to this high efficiency in the continuous emulsification, Hielscher ultrasonic devices require very low maintenance and are very easy to operate and to clean. The ultrasound does actually support the cleaning and rinsing. The ultrasonic power is adjustable and can be adapted to particular products and emulsification requirements. Special flow cell reactors meeting the advanced CIP (clean-in-place) and SIP (sterilize-in-place) requirements are available, too.

Contact Us / Ask for more Information

Talk to us about your processing requirements. We will recommend the most suitable setup and processing parameters for your project.

  • (valid email required)

Literature/References

  • Dayan, Nava (2005): Delivery System Design in Topically Applied Formulations: An Overview. In: Delivery system handbook for personal care and cosmetic products: Technology, Applications, and Formulations (edited by Meyer R. Rosen). Norwich, NY: William Andrew; p. 102-118.
  • Dinu-Pirvu, Cristina; Hlevca, Cristina; Ortan, Alina; Prisada, Razvan (2010): Elastic vesicles as drugs carriers though the skin. In: Farmacia Vol.58, 2/2010. Bucharest.
  • Domb, Abraham J. (2006): Liposheres for Controlled Delivery of Substances. In: Microencapsulation – Methods and Industrial Applications. (edited by Simon Benita). Boca Raton: CRC Press; p. 297-316.
  • Lasic, Danilo D.; Weiner, Norman; Riaz, Mohammad; Martin, Frank (1998): Liposomes. In: Pharmaceutical dosage forms: Disperse systems Vol. 3. New York: Dekker; p. 87-128.
  • Lautenschläger, Hans (2006): Liposomes. In: Handbook of Cosmetic Science and Technology (edited by A. O. Barel, M. Paye and H. I. Maibach). Boca Raton: CRC Press; p. 155-163.
  • Mícková, A.; Tománková, K.; Kolárová, H.; Bajgar, R.; Kolár, P.; Sunka, P.; Plencner, M.; Jakubová, R.; Benes, J.; Kolácná, L.; Plánka, A.; Amler, E. (2008): Ulztrasonic Shock-Wave as a Control Mechanism for Liposome Drug Delivery System for Possible Use in Scaffold Implanted to Animals with Iatrogenic Articular Cartilage Defects. In: Acta Veterianaria Brunensis Vol. 77, 2008; p. 285-280.
  • Ortan, Alina; Campeanu, Gh.; Dinu-Pirvu, Cristina; Popescu, Lidia (2009): Studies concerning the entrapment of Anethum graveolens essential oil in liposomes. In: Poumanian Biotechnological Letters Vol. 14, 3/2009; p. 4411-4417.
  • Ulrich, Anne S. (2002): Biophysical Aspects of Using Liposomes as Delivery Vehicles. In: Biosience Report Vol.22, 2/2002; p. 129-150.
  • Zhu, Hai Feng; Li, Jun Bai (2003): Recognition of Biotin-functionalized Liposomes. In: Chinese Chemicals Letters Vol. 14, 8/2003; p. 832-835.