Sonochemie und sonochemische Reaktoren

Die Sonochemie ist der Bereich der Chemie, in dem hoch-intensiver Ultraschall eingesetzt wird, um chemische Reaktionen (Synthese, Katalyse, Abbaureaktionen, Polymerisation, Hydrolyse usw.) zu induzieren, zu beschleunigen und zu modifizieren. Die durch Ultraschall erzeugte Kavitation zeichnet sich durch einzigartige energiedichte Bedingungen aus, welche chemische Reaktionen fördern und intensivieren. Schnellere Reaktionsgeschwindigkeiten, höhere Ausbeuten sowie die Verwendung von umweltfreundlichen, milderen Reagenzien machen die Sonochemie zu einer sehr vorteilhaften Methode, mit der chemische Reaktionen verbessert werden können.

Sonochemie

Die Sonochemie ist das Forschungs- und Verfahrensgebiet, bei dem Moleküle unter Anwendung von hochintensivem Ultraschall (z.B. bei 20 kHz) eine chemische Reaktion durchlaufen. Das Phänomen, das für sonochemische Reaktionen verantwortlich ist, ist die akustische Kavitation. Akustische Kabitation bzw. Ultraschall-Kavitation tritt auf, wenn energie-intensive Ultraschallwellen in eine Flüssigkeit oder Slurry eingekoppelt werden. Durch die wechselnden Hoch-/Niederdruckzyklen, welche durch Hochleistungs-Ultraschallwellen in der Flüssigkeit verursacht werden, entstehen Vakuumblasen (Kavitationshohlräume), welche über mehrere Druckzyklen wachsen. Wenn die Kavitations-Vakuumblase eine bestimmte Größe erreicht, bei der sie keine weitere Energie mehr absorbieren kann, implodiert sie heftig und erzeugt einen hoch energiedichten Hot-Spot. Dieser lokal auftretende Hot-Spot ist durch sehr hohe Temperaturen, Drücke und Mikroströmungen extrem schneller Flüssigkeitsstrahlen gekennzeichnet.

Informationen anfordern




Beachten Sie unsere Datenschutzerklärung.


Sonochemical glass reactor at the ultrasonicator UIP1000hdT. Ultrasonic (acoustic) cavitation initiates, intensifies and accelerates chemical reactions

Sonochemischer Reaktor: Die Beschallung mit Hochleistungs-Ultraschall und die daraus resultierende Kavitation initiiert und intensiviert chemische Reaktionen und kann sogar Reaktionspfade ändern.

Akustische Kavitation und resultierende Effekte der hochintensiven Beschallung

Acoustic cavitation as shown here at the Hielscher ultrasonicator UIP1500hdT is used to initiate and promote chemical reactions. Ultrasonic cavitation at Hielscher's UIP1500hdT (1500W) ultrasonicator for sonochemical reactions.Akustische Kavitation, oft auch als Ultraschallkavitation bezeichnet, kann in zwei Formen beobachtet werden: die stabile und die transiente Kavitation. Bei der stabilen Kavitation oszilliert die Kavitationsblase viele Male um ihren Gleichgewichtsradius, während bei der transienten Kavitation eine kurzlebige Blase in wenigen Schallzyklen dramatische Volumenänderungen erfährt und in einem heftigen Kollaps implodiert (Suslick 1988). Stabile und transiente Kavitation können gleichzeitig auftreten und eine Blase, bei der stabile Kavitation zu beobachten ist, kann zu einer transienten Kavitationsblase werden. Die Blasenimplosion, welche für die transiente Kavitation und die Beschallung mit hoher Intensität charakteristisch ist, erzeugt verschiedene physikalische Bedingungen, darunter sehr hohe Temperaturen von 5000-25.000 K, Drücke von bis zu mehreren 1000 bar und Flüssigkeitsströme mit Geschwindigkeiten von bis zu 1000m/s. Da das Implodieren der Kavitationsblasen in weniger als einer Nanosekunde erfolgt, können zudem sehr hohe Heiz- und Kühlraten von über 1011 K/s gemessen werden. Derart hohe Heizraten und Druckdifferenzen können Reaktionen initiieren und beschleunigen. Hinsichtlich der auftretenden Flüssigkeitsströme zeigen diese Hochgeschwindigkeits-Mikrostrahlen besonders bei heterogenen Fest-Flüssig-Slurries große Vorteile. Die Flüssigkeitsstrahlen treffen mit der vollen Temperatur und dem vollen Druck der kollabierenden Blase auf die Oberfläche und bewirken Erosion durch Interpartikelkollision sowie lokales Aufschmelzen. In der Folge wird ein deutlich verbesserter Stofftransport in der Lösung beobachtet.


Ultraschallkavitation wird am effektivsten in Flüssigkeiten und Lösungsmitteln mit niedrigen Dampfdrücken erzeugt. Daher sind Medien mit niedrigen Dampfdrücken für sonochemische Anwendungen besonders günstig.
Als Ergebnis der Ultraschallkavitation können die erzeugten intensiven Kräfte Reaktionswege auf effizientere Routen umschalten, so dass eine vollständigere Umsetzungen erfolgt und/oder die Produktion unerwünschter Nebenprodukte vermieden wird.
Der energiedichte Raum, der durch den Kollaps von Kavitationsblasen entsteht, wird Hot-Spot genannt. Niederfrequenter, leistungsstarker Ultraschall im Bereich von ca. 20kHz sowie die Fähigkeit, hohe Amplituden zu erzeugen, hat sich für die Erzeugung intensiver Hot-Spots und der angestrebten sonochemischen Bedingungen bewährt.

Ultraschall-Laborgeräte sowie industrielle Ultraschallreaktoren für kommerzielle sonochemische Prozesse sind sofort verfügbar und haben sich als zuverlässig, effizient und umweltfreundlich im Labor-, Pilot- sowie vollindustriellen Maßstab bewährt. Sonochemische Reaktionen können als Batch- (d.h. im offenen Gefäß) oder als Inline-Prozess in einem geschlossenen Durchflusszellenreaktor durchgeführt werden.

Ultrasonicator UIP2000hdT with sonochemical inline reactor for highly efficient sonochemical applications such as sono-catalysis and sono-synthesis.

Industrie-Ultraschallgerät UIP2000hdT (2kW) mit sonochemischem Inline-Reaktor.

Informationen anfordern




Beachten Sie unsere Datenschutzerklärung.


Sono-Synthese

Die Sonosynthese bzw. sonochemische Synthese ist die Anwendung von Ultraschallkavitation in chemischen Systemen, um Reaktionen zu initiieren und intensivieren. Hochleistungs-Ultraschall (z.B. 20 kHz) zeigt starke Effekte auf Moleküle und chemische Bindungen. So können die sonochemischen Effekte, welche aus der intensiven Beschallung resultieren, zur Spaltung von Molekülen, zur Bildung von freien Radikalen und/oder zu veränderten chemischen Reaktionswegen führen. Die sonochemische Synthese wird daher intensiv für die Herstellung oder Modifikation einer breiten Palette von nanostrukturierten Materialien genutzt. Beispiele für Nanomaterialien, die mittels Sonosynthese hergestellt werden, sind Nanopartikel (NPs) (z.B. Gold-NPs, Silber-NPs), Pigmente, Core-Shell-Nanopartikel, Nano-Hydroxylapatit, Metallorganische Gerüste (MOFs), aktive pharmazeutische Wirkstoffe (APIs), mikrosphären-dekorierte Nanopartikel, Nanokomposite und viele andere Materialien.

Ultrasonically synthesised silver nano-particles are spherically shaped and show a uniform particle size.

TEM-Bild (A) und dessen Partikelgrößenverteilung (B) von Silber-Nanopartikeln (Ag-NPs), die unter optimalen Bedingungen sonochemisch synthetisiert wurden.

Weit verbreitet ist auch die ultraschall-gestützte Kristallisation (Sonokristallisation), bei der Leistungsultraschall zur Herstellung übersättigter Lösungen, zur Initiierung der Kristallisation / Fällung und zur Steuerung der Kristallgröße und -morphologie eingesetzt wird. Klicken Sie hier, um mehr über die Sonokristallisation zu erfahren!

Sono-Katalyse

Durch das Beschallen einer chemischen Suspension oder Lösung können katalytische Reaktionen deutlich verbessert werden. Die sonochemische Energie verkürzt die Reaktionszeit und verbessert den Wärme- und Stofftransport, wodurch erhöhte chemische Geschwindigkeitskonstanten, Ausbeuten und Selektivitäten erzielt werden.
Es gibt zahlreiche katalytische Prozesse, die drastisch von der Anwendung von Leistungsultraschall und den sonochemischen Effekten profitieren. Jede heterogene Phasentransfer-Katalyse (PTC) Reaktion, an der zwei oder mehrere nicht-mischbare Flüssigkeiten oder eine Flüssig-Feststoff-Zusammensetzung beteiligt sind, profitiert von der Beschallung, der sonochemischen Energie und dem intensivieretn Stofftransport.
So ergab die vergleichende Analyse der stillen und der ultraschall-gestützten katalytischen Nassperoxidoxidation von Phenol in Wasser, dass Ultraschall die Energiebarriere der Reaktion reduzierte, aber keinen Einfluss auf den Reaktionsweg hatte. Die Aktivierungsenergie für die Oxidation von Phenol mit einem RuI3 Katalysator war mit Ultraschall bei 13 kJ mol-1im Vergleich zum stillen Oxidationsprozess viermal niedriger (Energiebarriere der stillen Reaktion: 57 kJ mol-1). (Rokhina et al., 2010)
Die sonochemische Katalyse wird erfolgreich zur Herstellung von chemischen Produkten sowie zur Herstellung von mikro- und nanostrukturierten anorganischen Materialien wie Metallen, Legierungen, Metallverbindungen, nichtmetallischen Werkstoffen und anorganischen Verbundwerkstoffen eingesetzt. Gängige Beispiele für ultraschall-gestützte Phasentransfer-Katalyse (PTC) sind die Umesterung freier Fettsäuren zu Methylester (Biodiesel), die Hydrolyse, die Verseifung von Pflanzenölen, die Sono-Fenton-Reaktion (Fenton-ähnliche Prozesse), der sonokatalytische Abbau etc.
Lesen Sie mehr über Sono-Katalyse und spezifische Anwendungen!

Weitere sonochemische Anwendungen

Aufgrund ihrer vielseitigen Einsetzbarkeit, Zuverlässigkeit und einfachen Bedienung werden sonochemische Geräte wie der UP400St oder UIP2000hdT als effiziente Systeme für chemische Reaktionen eingesetzt. Die sonochemischen Geräte von Hielscher Ultrasonics können problemlos für die Batch- (offenes Gefäß) und kontinuierliche Inline-Beschallung mit einer sonochemischen Durchflusszelle eingesetzt werden. Die Sonochemie und ihre Unterbereiche Sonosynthese, Sonokatalyse, Degradation sowie Polymerisation sind in der Chemie, Nanotechnologie, Materialwissenschaft, Pharmazie, Mikrobiologie und in vielen weiteren Branchen verbreitet.

Informationen anfordern




Beachten Sie unsere Datenschutzerklärung.


Hochleistungs-Ultraschall und Sonochemische Systeme

Hielscher's industrial processors of the hdT series can be comfortable and user-friendly operated via browser remote control.Hielscher Ultrasonics ist Ihr Top-Lieferant für innovative, hochmoderne Ultraschallgeräte, sonochemische Durchflusszellen, Reaktoren und weiteres Zubehör für effiziente und zuverlässige sonochemische Reaktionen. Alle Hielscher Ultraschallgeräte werden ausschließlich am Hauptsitz der Hielscher Ultrasonics GmbH in Teltow (bei Berlin, Deutschland) entwickelt, gefertigt und getestet. Neben höchsten technischen Standards und herausragender Robustheit sowie 24/7/365-Betrieb sind Hielscher Ultraschallgeräte einfach und zuverlässig zu bedienen. Hohe Effizienz, intelligente Software, intuitive Menüführung, automatische Datenprotokollierung und Browser-Fernsteuerung sind nur einige Merkmale, welche Hielscher Ultrasonics von anderen Ultraschallgeräteherstellern unterscheidet.

Präzise einstellbare Amplituden

Die Amplitude ist die Auslenkung an der Stirnfläche (Spitze) der Sonotrode (auch Ultraschallstab oder -horn genannt) und ist die Haupteinflussgröße für Ultraschallkavitation. Höhere Amplituden bedeuten eine intensivere Kavitation. Die erforderliche Intensität der Kavitation hängt stark von der Reaktionsart, den verwendeten chemischen Reagenzien und dem angestrebten Ergebnis der jeweiligen sonochemischen Reaktion ab. Das bedeutet, dass die Amplitude präzise einstellbar sein sollte, um die Intensität der akustischen Kavitation auf das ideale Niveau einzustellen. Alle Hielscher Ultraschallgeräte ermöglichen eine zuverlässig und präzise Einstellung der idealen Amplitude über eine intelligente digitale Steuerung. Zusätzlich können Boosterhörner eingesetzt werden, um die Amplitude zusätlich mechanisch zu reduzieren oder zu verstärken. Hielscher Ultrasonics'‘ industrielle Ultraschallprozessoren können sehr hohe Amplituden liefern. Amplituden von bis zu 200µm können problemlos im 24/7/365-Betrieb kontinuierlich betrieben werden. Für noch höhere Amplituden sind kundenspezifische Ultraschall-Sonotroden erhältlich.

Präzise Temperaturregelung bei sonochemischen Reaktionen

Sonochemical setup consisting in the ultrasonicator UP400St with temperature sensor for sonochemical reactionsIm Kavitations-Hotspot können extrem hohe Temperaturen von vielen tausend Grad Celsius beobachtet werden. Diese extremen Temperaturen sind jedoch lokal auf das winzige Innere und die Umgebung der implodierenden Kavitationsblase beschränkt. In der gesamten Flüssigkeit ist der Temperaturanstieg durch die Implosion einer einzelnen oder weniger Kavitationsblasen vernachlässigbar. Eine kontinuierliche, intensive Beschallung über längere Zeiträume kann jedoch zu einer schrittweisen Erhöhung der Temperatur der Bulk-Flüssigkeit führen. Diese Temperaturerhöhung trägt zu vielen chemischen Reaktionen bei und ist oftmals vorteilhaft. Verschiedene chemische Reaktionen haben jedoch unterschiedliche optimale Reaktionstemperaturen. Wenn hitzeempfindliche Materialien behandelt werden, kann eine Temperaturkontrolle erforderlich sein. Um ideale thermische Bedingungen bei sonochemischen Prozessen zu ermöglichen, bietet Hielscher Ultrasonics verschiedene ausgereifte Lösungen zur präzisen Temperaturkontrolle bei sonochemischen Prozessen an, wie z. B. sonochemische Reaktoren und Durchflusszellen, welche mit Kühlmänteln ausgestattet sind.
Die Kühlmäntel unserer sonochemischen Durchflusszellen und Reaktoren unterstützen eine effektive Wärmeabfuhr. Zur kontinuierlichen Temperaturüberwachung sind die Hielscher Ultraschallgeräte mit einem steckbaren Temperatursensor ausgestattet, der zur konstanten Messung der Temperatur in die Flüssigkeit eingeführt werden kann. Eine ausgeklügelte Software ermöglicht die Einstellung eines Beschallungs-Temperaturbereichs. Bei Überschreiten der Temperaturgrenze pausiert der Ultraschallgeber automatisch, bis die Temperatur in der Flüssigkeit auf einen bestimmten Sollwert gesunken ist und beginnt dann wieder automatisch zu beschallen. Alle Temperaturmessungen sowie weitere wichtige Ultraschall-Prozessdaten werden automatisch auf einer eingebauten SD-Karte aufgezeichnet und können für die Prozesssteuerung einfach revidiert werden.
Die Temperatur ist ein entscheidender Parameter in sonochemische Prozessen. Die ausgefeilte Technik von Hielscher hilft Ihnen, die Temperatur Ihrer sonochemischen Anwendung im idealen Temperaturbereich zu halten.

Warum Hielscher Ultrasonics?

  • hoher Wirkungsgrad
  • Modernste Technik
  • einfach und sicher zu bedienen
  • Zuverlässigkeit & Robustheit
  • Batch & Inline
  • für jedes Volumen
  • intelligente Software
  • intelligente Funktionen (z.B. Datenprotokollierung)
  • CIP (Clean-in-Place)

In der folgenden Tabelle finden Sie die ungefähre Verarbeitungskapazität unserer Ultraschallsysteme:

Batch-Volumen Durchfluss Empfohlenes Ultraschallgerät
1 bis 500ml 10 bis 200ml/min UP100H
10 bis 2000ml 20 bis 400ml/min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 bis 20l 0,2 bis 4l/min UIP2000hdT
10 bis 100l 2 bis 10l/min UIP4000hdT
n.a. 10 bis 100l/min UIP16000
n.a. größere Cluster aus UIP16000

Kontaktieren Sie uns! / Fragen Sie uns!

Fordern Sie weitere Informationen an!

Bitte verwenden Sie das untenstehende Formular, um zusätzliche Informationen über unsere Ultraschallprozessoren, Anwendungen und Preise anzufordern. Gerne besprechen wir Ihr Verfahren mit Ihnen und bieten Ihnen ein Ihren Anforderungen entsprechendes Ultraschallsystem an!









Bitte beachten Sie unsere Datenschutzerklärung.


Ultrasonic high-shear homogenizers are used in lab, bench-top, pilot and industrial processing.

Hielscher Ultrasonics stellt Hochleistungs-Ultraschallhomogenisatoren für Mischanwendungen, Dispergierung, Emulgierung und Extraktion im Labor-, Pilot- und Industriemaßstab her.



Literatur / Literaturhinweise

  • Suslick, Kenneth S.; Hyeon, Taeghwan; Fang, Mingming; Cichowlas, Andrzej A. (1995): Sonochemical synthesis of nanostructured catalysts. Materials Science and Engineering: A. Proceedings of the Symposium on Engineering of Nanostructured Materials. ScienceDirect 204 (1–2): 186–192.
  • Ekaterina V. Rokhina, Eveliina Repo, Jurate Virkutyte (2010): Comparative kinetic analysis of silent and ultrasound-assisted catalytic wet peroxide oxidation of phenol. Ultrasonics Sonochemistry, Volume 17, Issue 3, 2010. 541-546.
  • Brundavanam, R. K.; Jinag, Z.-T., Chapman, P.; Le, X.-T.; Mondinos, N.; Fawcett, D.; Poinern, G. E. J. (2011): Effect of dilute gelatine on the ultrasonic thermally assisted synthesis of nano hydroxyapatite. Ultrason. Sonochem. 18, 2011. 697-703.
  • Poinern, G.E.J.; Brundavanam, R.K.; Thi Le, X.; Fawcett, D. (2012): The Mechanical Properties of a Porous Ceramic Derived from a 30 nm Sized Particle Based Powder of Hydroxyapatite for Potential Hard Tissue Engineering Applications. American Journal of Biomedical Engineering 2/6; 2012. 278-286.
  • Poinern, G.J.E.; Brundavanam, R.; Thi Le, X.; Djordjevic, S.; Prokic, M.; Fawcett, D. (2011): Thermal and ultrasonic influence in the formation of nanometer scale hydroxyapatite bio-ceramic. International Journal of Nanomedicine 6; 2011. 2083–2095.
  • Poinern, G.J.E.; Brundavanam, R.K.; Mondinos, N.; Jiang, Z.-T. (2009): Synthesis and characterisation of nanohydroxyapatite using an ultrasound assisted method. Ultrasonics Sonochemistry, 16 /4; 2009. 469- 474.
  • Suslick, K. S. (1998): Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology; 4th Ed. J. Wiley & Sons: New York, Vol. 26, 1998. 517-541.


High performance ultrasonics! Hielscher's product range covers the full spectrum from the compact lab ultrasonicator over bench-top units to full-industrial ultrasonic systems.

Hielscher Ultrasonics fertigt Hochleistungs-Ultraschall-Homogenisatoren vom Labor bis zum voll-kommerziellen Industriemaßstab.

Sonochemistry and Sonochemical Reactors

Sonochemistry is the field of chemistry where high-intensity ultrasound is used to induce, accelerate and modify chemical reactions (synthesis, catalysis, degradation, polymerization, hydrolysis etc.). Ultrasonically generated cavitation is characterized by unique energy-dense conditions, which promote and intensify chemical reactions. Faster reaction rates, higher yields and the use of green, milder reagents turn sonochemistry into a very advantageous tool in order to obtain improved chemical reactions.

Sonochemistry

Sonochemistry is the research and processing field in which molecules undergo a chemical reaction because of the application of high-intensity ultrasonication (e.g., 20 kHz). The phenomenon responsible for sonochemical reactions is acoustic cavitation. Acoustic or ultrasonic cavitation occurs when powerful ultrasound waves are coupled into a liquid or slurry. Due to the alternating high-pressure / low-pressure cycles caused by power ultrasound waves in the liquid, vacuum bubbles (cavitational voids) are generated, which grow over several pressure cycles. When the cavitational vacuum bubble reaches a certain size where it cannot absorb more energy, the vacuum bubble implodes violently and creates a highly energy-dense hot spot. This locally occurring hot spot is characterised by very high temperatures, pressures and micro-streaming of extremely fast liquid jets.

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


Sonochemical glass reactor at the ultrasonicator UIP1000hdT. Ultrasonic (acoustic) cavitation initiates, intensifies and accelerates chemical reactions

Sonochemical reactor: Intense sonication and resulting cavitation initiates and intensifies chemical reactions and can switch even pathways.

Acoustic Cavitation and Effects of High-Intensity Ultrasonication

Acoustic cavitation as shown here at the Hielscher ultrasonicator UIP1500hdT is used to initiate and promote chemical reactions. Ultrasonic cavitation at Hielscher's UIP1500hdT (1500W) ultrasonicator for sonochemical reactions.Acoustic cavitation, often also called ultrasonic cavitation, can be distinguished into two forms, stable and transient cavitation. During stable cavitation, the cavitation bubble oscillates many times around its equilibrium radius, whilst during transient cavitation, in which a short-lived bubble undergoes dramatic volume changes in a few acoustic cycles and terminates in a violent collapse (Suslick 1988). Stable and transient cavitation may occur simultaneously in the solution and a bubble undergoing stable cavitation may become a transient cavity. The bubble implosion, which is characteristic for transient cavitation and high-intensity sonication, creates various physical conditions including very high temperatures of 5000–25,000 K, pressures of up to several 1000 bar, and liquid streams with velocities of up to 1000m/s. Since the collapse/implosion of cavitation bubbles occurs in less than a nanosecond, very high heating and cooling rates in excess of 1011 K/s can be observed. Such high heating rates and pressure differentials can initiate and accelerate reactions. Regarding the occurring liquid streams, these high-speed microjets show especially high benefits when it comes to heterogeneous solid–liquid slurries. The liquid jets impinge upon the surface with the full temperature and pressure of the collapsing bubble and cause erosion via interparticle collision as well as localized melting. Consequently, a significantly improved mass transfer in the solution is observed.

This video shows the Hielscher ultrasonicator UP400S (400W) generating acoustic cavitation in water.

Ultrasonic Cavitation in Water using the UP400S


Ultrasonic cavitation is most effectively generated in liquids and solvents wit low vapour pressures. Therefore, media with low vapour pressures are favourable for sonochemical applications.
As result of ultrasonic cavitation, the intense forces created can switch pathways of reactions to more efficient routes, so that more complete conversions and/or the production of unwanted by-products are avoided.
The energy-dense space created by the collapse of cavitation bubbles is called hot-spot. Low-frequency, high-power ultrasound in the range of 20kHz and the ability to create high amplitudes is well established for the generation of intense hot-spots and the favourable sonochemical conditions.

Ultrasonic laboratory equipment as well as industrial ultrasonic reactors for commercial sonochemical processes are readily available and proven as reliable, efficient, and environmental-friendly on lab, pilot and fully-industrial scale. Sonochemical reactions can be carried out as batch (i.e., open vessel) or in-line process using a closed flow cell reactor.

Ultrasonicator UIP2000hdT with sonochemical inline reactor for highly efficient sonochemical applications such as sono-catalysis and sono-synthesis.

Industrial ultrasonicator UIP2000hdT (2kW) with sonochemical inline reactor.

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


Sono-Synthesis

Sono-synthesis or sonochemical synthesis is the application of ultrasonically generated cavitation in order to initiate and promote chemical reactions. High-power ultrasonication (e.g., at 20 kHz) shows strong effects on molecules and chemical bondings. For instance, the sonochemical effects resulting from intense sonication can result in splitting molecules, creating free radicals, and/or switching chemical pathways. Sonochemical synthesis is therefore intensely used for the fabrication or modification of a wide range of nano-structured materials. Examples for nanomaterials produced via sono-synthesis are nanoparticles (NPs) (e.g., gold NPs, silver NPs), pigments, core-shell nano-particles, nano-hydroxyapatite, metal organic frameworks (MOFs), active pharmaceutical ingredients (APIs), microsphere decorated nanoparticles, nano-composites amongst many other materials.

Ultrasonically synthesised silver nano-particles are spherically shaped and show a uniform particle size.

TEM image (A) and its particle size distribution (B) of silver nanoparticles (Ag-NPs), which have been sonochemically synthesized under optimum conditions.

Also widely applied is the ultrasonically promoted crystallization (sono-crystallization), where power-ultrasound is a used to produce supersaturated solutions, to initiate crystallization / precipitation, and control crystal size and morphology via ultrasonic process parameters. Click here to learn more about sono-crystallization!

Sono-Catalysis

Sonicating a chemical suspension or solution can significantly improve catalytic reactions. The sonochemical energy reduces reaction time, improves heat and mass transfer, which subsequently results in increased chemical rate constants, yields, and selectivities.
There are numerous catalytic processes, which benefits drastically from the application of power ultrasound and its sonochemical effects. Any heterogeneous phase transfer catalysis (PTC) reaction involving two or more immiscible liquids or a liquid-solid composition, benefits from sonication, the sonochemical energy and the improved mass transfer.
For instance, the comparative analysis of silent and ultrasonically-assisted catalytic wet peroxide oxidation of phenol in water revealed that the sonication reduced the energy barrier of the reaction, but had no impact on the reaction pathway. The activation energy for the oxidation of phenol over RuI3 catalyst during sonication was found to be 13 kJ mol-1, which was four times smaller in comparison to the silent oxidation process (57 kJ mol-1). (Rokhina et al, 2010)
Sonochemical catalysis is successfully used for the fabrication of chemical products as well as the manufacturing of micron- and nano-structured inorganic materials such as metals, alloys, metal compounds, non-metal materials, and inorganic composites. Common examples of ultrasonically assisted PTC are the transesterification of free fatty acids into methyl ester (biodiesel), hydrolysis, the saponification of vegetable oils, sono-Fenton reaction (Fenton-like processes), sonocatalytic degradation etc.
Read more about sono-catalysis and specific applications!

Other Sonochemical Applications

Due to their versatile usage, reliability and simple operation, sonochemical systems such as the UP400St or UIP2000hdT are valued as efficient equipment for chemical reactions. Hielscher Ultrasonics sonochemical devices can be easily used for batch (open beaker) and continuous inline sonication using a sonochemical flow cell. Sonochemistry including sono-synthesis, sono-catalysis, degradation, or polymerization are widely used in chemistry, nanotechnology, materials science, pharmaceuticals, microbiology as well as in other industries.

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


High-Performance Sonochemical Equipment

Hielscher's industrial processors of the hdT series can be comfortable and user-friendly operated via browser remote control.Hielscher Ultrasonics is your top supplier of innovative, state-of-the-art ultrasonicators, sonochemical flow cell, reactors and accessories for efficient and reliable sonochemical reactions. All Hielscher ultrasonicators are exclusively designed, manufactured and tested at the Hielscher Ultrasonics headquarter in Teltow (near Berlin), Germany. Besides highest technical standards and outstanding robustness and 24/7/365 operation for highly efficient operation, Hielscher ultrasonicators are easy and reliable to operate. High efficiency, smart software, intuitive menu, automatic data protocolling and browser remote control are just a few features that distinguish Hielscher Ultrasonics from other sonochemical equipment manufacturers.

Precisely Adjustable Amplitudes

The amplitude is the displacement at the front (tip) of the sonotrode (also known as ultrasonic probe or horn) and is the main influencing factor of ultrasonic cavitation. Higher amplitudes mean more intense cavitation. The required intensity of cavitation strongly depends on the reaction type, chemical reagents used and targeted results of the specific sonochemical reaction. This means the amplitude should be precisely adjustable in order to tune the intensity of acoustic cavitation to the ideal level. All Hielscher ultrasonicators can be reliably and precisely adjusted via an intelligent digital control to the ideal amplitude. Booster horns can be additionally used to decrease or increase the amplitude mechanically. Ultrasonics’ industrial ultrasonic processors can deliver very high amplitudes. Amplitudes of up to 200µm can be easily continuously run in 24/7 operation. For even higher amplitudes, customized ultrasonic sonotrodes are available.

Precise Temperature Control During Sonochemical Reactions

Sonochemical setup consisting in the ultrasonicator UP400St with temperature sensor for sonochemical reactionsIn the cavitation hot-spot, extremely high temperatures of of many thousands of degrees Celsius can be observed. However, these extreme temperatures are limited locally to the minute interior and surrounding of the imploding cavitation bubble. In the bulk solution, the temperature rise from the implosion a single or few cavitation bubbles is negligible. But continuous, intense sonication for longer periods can cause an incremental increase of the bulk liquid’s temperature. This increase in temperature contributes to many chemical reactions and is often considered as beneficial. However, different chemical reactions have different optimum reaction temperatures. When heat-sensitive materials are treated, temperature control may be necessary. In order to allow for ideal thermal conditions during sonochemical processes, Hielscher Ultrasonics offers various sophisticated solutions for precise temperature control during sonochemical processes, such as sonochemical reactors and flow cells equipped with cooling jackets.
Our sonochemical flow cells and reactors are available with cooling jackets, which support an effective heat dissipation. For continuous temperature monitoring, Hielscher ultrasonicators are equipped with a pluggable temperature sensor, which can be inserted into the liquid for constant measuring of the bulk temperature. Sophisticated software allows the setting of a temperature range. When the temperature limit is exceeded, the ultrasonicator automatically pauses until the temperature in the liquid has lowered to a certain set point and starts automatically sonicating again. All temperature measurements as well as other important ultrasonic process data are automatically recorded on a built-in SD card and can be revised easily for process control.
Temperature is a crucial parameter of sonochemical processes. Hielscher’s elaborated technology helps you to keep the temperature of your sonochemical application in the ideal temperature range.

Why Hielscher Ultrasonics?

  • high efficiency
  • state-of-the-art technology
  • easy and safe to operate
  • reliability & robustness
  • batch & inline
  • for any volume
  • intelligent software
  • smart features (e.g., data protocolling)
  • CIP (clean-in-place)

The table below gives you an indication of the approximate processing capacity of our ultrasonicators:

Batch Volume Flow Rate Recommended Devices
1 to 500mL 10 to 200mL/min UP100H
10 to 2000mL 20 to 400mL/min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 to 20L 0.2 to 4L/min UIP2000hdT
10 to 100L 2 to 10L/min UIP4000hdT
n.a. 10 to 100L/min UIP16000
n.a. larger cluster of UIP16000

Contact Us! / Ask Us!

Ask for more information

Please use the form below to request additional information about ultrasonic processors, applications and price. We will be glad to discuss your process with you and to offer you an ultrasonic system meeting your requirements!









Please note our privacy policy.


Ultrasonic high-shear homogenizers are used in lab, bench-top, pilot and industrial processing.

Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonic homogenizers for mixing applications, dispersion, emulsification and extraction on lab, pilot and industrial scale.



Literature / References

  • Suslick, Kenneth S.; Hyeon, Taeghwan; Fang, Mingming; Cichowlas, Andrzej A. (1995): Sonochemical synthesis of nanostructured catalysts. Materials Science and Engineering: A. Proceedings of the Symposium on Engineering of Nanostructured Materials. ScienceDirect 204 (1–2): 186–192.
  • Ekaterina V. Rokhina, Eveliina Repo, Jurate Virkutyte (2010): Comparative kinetic analysis of silent and ultrasound-assisted catalytic wet peroxide oxidation of phenol. Ultrasonics Sonochemistry, Volume 17, Issue 3, 2010. 541-546.
  • Brundavanam, R. K.; Jinag, Z.-T., Chapman, P.; Le, X.-T.; Mondinos, N.; Fawcett, D.; Poinern, G. E. J. (2011): Effect of dilute gelatine on the ultrasonic thermally assisted synthesis of nano hydroxyapatite. Ultrason. Sonochem. 18, 2011. 697-703.
  • Poinern, G.E.J.; Brundavanam, R.K.; Thi Le, X.; Fawcett, D. (2012): The Mechanical Properties of a Porous Ceramic Derived from a 30 nm Sized Particle Based Powder of Hydroxyapatite for Potential Hard Tissue Engineering Applications. American Journal of Biomedical Engineering 2/6; 2012. 278-286.
  • Poinern, G.J.E.; Brundavanam, R.; Thi Le, X.; Djordjevic, S.; Prokic, M.; Fawcett, D. (2011): Thermal and ultrasonic influence in the formation of nanometer scale hydroxyapatite bio-ceramic. International Journal of Nanomedicine 6; 2011. 2083–2095.
  • Poinern, G.J.E.; Brundavanam, R.K.; Mondinos, N.; Jiang, Z.-T. (2009): Synthesis and characterisation of nanohydroxyapatite using an ultrasound assisted method. Ultrasonics Sonochemistry, 16 /4; 2009. 469- 474.
  • Suslick, K. S. (1998): Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology; 4th Ed. J. Wiley & Sons: New York, Vol. 26, 1998. 517-541.


High performance ultrasonics! Hielscher's product range covers the full spectrum from the compact lab ultrasonicator over bench-top units to full-industrial ultrasonic systems.

Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonic homogenizers from lab to industrial size.