Sonochimie et réacteurs sonochimiques

La sonochimie est le domaine de la chimie où les ultrasons de haute intensité sont utilisés pour induire, accélérer et modifier les réactions chimiques (synthèse, catalyse, dégradation, polymérisation, hydrolyse, etc.) La cavitation générée par les ultrasons se caractérise par des conditions uniques de densité énergétique, qui favorisent et intensifient les réactions chimiques. Des taux de réaction plus rapides, des rendements plus élevés et l'utilisation de réactifs verts et plus doux font de la sonochimie un outil très avantageux pour obtenir des réactions chimiques améliorées.

sonochimie

La sonochimie est le domaine de recherche et de traitement dans lequel les molécules subissent une réaction chimique en raison de l'application d'ultrasons de haute intensité (20 kHz, par exemple). Le phénomène responsable des réactions sonochimiques est la cavitation acoustique. La cavitation acoustique ou ultrasonique se produit lorsque de puissantes ondes ultrasoniques sont couplées dans un liquide ou une boue. En raison des cycles alternés haute pression / basse pression provoqués par les ondes ultrasonores de puissance dans le liquide, des bulles de vide (vides de cavitation) sont générées, qui croissent sur plusieurs cycles de pression. Lorsque la bulle de vide cavitationnelle atteint une certaine taille où elle ne peut plus absorber d'énergie, la bulle de vide implose violemment et crée un point chaud à forte densité énergétique. Ce point chaud, qui se produit localement, est caractérisé par des températures et des pressions très élevées, ainsi que par des micro-projections de jets liquides extrêmement rapides.

Demande d'information





Sonochemical glass reactor at the ultrasonicator UIP1000hdT. Ultrasonic (acoustic) cavitation initiates, intensifies and accelerates chemical reactions

Réacteur sonochimique : La sonication intense et la cavitation qui en résulte initient et intensifient les réactions chimiques et peuvent même changer de voie.

Cavitation acoustique et effets de l'ultrasonication de haute intensité

Acoustic cavitation as shown here at the Hielscher ultrasonicator UIP1500hdT is used to initiate and promote chemical reactions. Ultrasonic cavitation at Hielscher's UIP1500hdT (1500W) ultrasonicator for sonochemical reactions.La cavitation acoustique, souvent appelée aussi cavitation ultrasonique, peut être distinguée en deux formes, la cavitation stable et la cavitation transitoire. Lors d'une cavitation stable, la bulle de cavitation oscille de nombreuses fois autour de son rayon d'équilibre, tandis que lors d'une cavitation transitoire, une bulle de courte durée subit des changements de volume spectaculaires en quelques cycles acoustiques et se termine par un effondrement violent (Suslick 1988). La cavitation stable et la cavitation transitoire peuvent se produire simultanément dans la solution et une bulle subissant une cavitation stable peut devenir une cavité transitoire. L'implosion de la bulle, qui est caractéristique de la cavitation transitoire et de la sonication à haute intensité, crée diverses conditions physiques, notamment des températures très élevées de 5 000 à 25 000 K, des pressions pouvant atteindre plusieurs milliers de bars et des courants liquides dont la vitesse peut atteindre 1 000 m/s. Comme l'effondrement/implosion des bulles de cavitation se produit en moins d'une nanoseconde, des vitesses de chauffage et de refroidissement très élevées, supérieures à 1011 K/s peuvent être observés. Des taux de chauffage et des différentiels de pression aussi élevés peuvent déclencher et accélérer les réactions. En ce qui concerne les flux de liquide, ces micro-jets à grande vitesse présentent des avantages particulièrement importants pour les boues solides-liquides hétérogènes. Les jets de liquide frappent la surface avec toute la température et la pression de la bulle qui s'effondre et provoquent une érosion par collision interparticulaire ainsi qu'une fusion localisée. Par conséquent, on observe une amélioration significative du transfert de masse dans la solution.

Cette vidéo montre l'ultrasonateur Hielscher UP400S (400W) générant une cavitation acoustique dans l'eau.

Cavitation ultrasonique dans l'eau à l'aide de l'UP400S


La cavitation ultrasonique est plus efficacement générée dans les liquides et les solvants à faible pression de vapeur. Les milieux à faible pression de vapeur sont donc favorables aux applications sonochimiques.
Grâce à la cavitation ultrasonique, les forces intenses créées peuvent inverser les voies de réaction vers des voies plus efficaces, de sorte que des conversions plus complètes et/ou la production de sous-produits indésirables sont évitées.
L'espace dense en énergie créé par l'effondrement des bulles de cavitation est appelé point chaud. Les ultrasons de basse fréquence et de haute puissance, de l'ordre de 20 kHz, et la capacité de créer des amplitudes élevées sont bien établis pour la génération de points chauds intenses et les conditions sonochimiques favorables.

Les équipements de laboratoire à ultrasons ainsi que les réacteurs industriels à ultrasons pour les procédés sonochimiques commerciaux sont facilement disponibles et se sont avérés fiables, efficaces et respectueux de l'environnement à l'échelle du laboratoire, du pilote et de l'industrie. Les réactions sonochimiques peuvent être réalisées par lots (c'est-à-dire en cuve ouverte) ou en ligne à l'aide d'un réacteur à cellules fermées.

Ultrasonicator UIP2000hdT with sonochemical inline reactor for highly efficient sonochemical applications such as sono-catalysis and sono-synthesis.

Ultrasons industriels UIP2000hdT (2kW) avec réacteur sonochimique en ligne.

Demande d'information





Sono-Synthèse

La sono-synthèse ou synthèse sonochimique est l'application d'une cavitation générée par ultrasons afin d'initier et de promouvoir des réactions chimiques. Les ultrasons de haute puissance (par exemple, à 20 kHz) ont des effets importants sur les molécules et les liaisons chimiques. Par exemple, les effets sonochimiques résultant d'une sonication intense peuvent entraîner la division de molécules, la création de radicaux libres et/ou la commutation de voies chimiques. La synthèse sonochimique est donc intensément utilisée pour la fabrication ou la modification d'une large gamme de matériaux nanostructurés. Les exemples de nanomatériaux produits par sono-synthèse sont les nanoparticules (NPs) (par exemple, NPs d'or, NPs d'argent), les pigments, les nanoparticules core-shell, nano-hydroxyapatite, les cadres organiques métalliques (MOF)les principes pharmaceutiques actifs (API), les nanoparticules décorées de microsphères, les nanocomposites et bien d'autres matériaux encore.

Ultrasonically synthesised silver nano-particles are spherically shaped and show a uniform particle size.

Image TEM (A) et sa distribution granulométrique (B) de nanoparticules d'argent (Ag-NPs), qui ont été synthétisées par sonochimie dans des conditions optimales.

La cristallisation favorisée par les ultrasons (sono-cristallisation) est également largement appliquée. Les ultrasons puissants sont utilisés pour produire des solutions sursaturées, pour initier la cristallisation/précipitation et pour contrôler la taille et la morphologie des cristaux via les paramètres du processus ultrasonique. Cliquez ici pour en savoir plus sur la sono-cristallisation !

Sono-Catalyse

La sonication d'une suspension ou d'une solution chimique peut améliorer considérablement les réactions catalytiques. L'énergie sonochimique réduit le temps de réaction, améliore le transfert de chaleur et de masse, ce qui se traduit par une augmentation des constantes de vitesse, des rendements et des sélectivités chimiques.
Il existe de nombreux procédés catalytiques qui bénéficient considérablement de l'application des ultrasons et de leurs effets sonochimiques. Toute réaction de catalyse par transfert de phase hétérogène (PTC) impliquant deux ou plusieurs liquides non miscibles ou une composition liquide-solide, bénéficie de la sonication, de l'énergie sonochimique et du transfert de masse amélioré.
Par exemple, l'analyse comparative de l'oxydation catalytique silencieuse et assistée par ultrasons du peroxyde humide du phénol dans l'eau a révélé que la sonication réduisait la barrière énergétique de la réaction, mais n'avait pas d'impact sur la voie de réaction. L'énergie d'activation pour l'oxydation du phénol sur RuI3 du catalyseur pendant la sonication a été trouvé à 13 kJ mol-1qui était quatre fois plus faible que le processus d'oxydation silencieuse (57 kJ mol-1). (Rokhina et al, 2010)
La catalyse sonochimique est utilisée avec succès pour la fabrication de produits chimiques ainsi que pour la fabrication de matériaux inorganiques microniques et nanostructurés tels que des métaux, des alliages, des composés métalliques, des matériaux non métalliques et des composites inorganiques. Des exemples courants de CTP assistée par ultrasons sont la transestérification d'acides gras libres en ester méthylique (biodiesel), l'hydrolyse, la saponification d'huiles végétales, la réaction sono-Fenton (processus de type Fenton), la dégradation sonocatalytique, etc.
En savoir plus sur la sono-catalyse et ses applications spécifiques !

Autres applications sonochimiques

En raison de leur utilisation polyvalente, de leur fiabilité et de leur simplicité de fonctionnement, les systèmes sonochimiques tels que le UP400St ou UIP2000hdT sont appréciés en tant qu'équipements efficaces pour les réactions chimiques. Les appareils de sonochimie Hielscher Ultrasons peuvent être facilement utilisés pour la sonication par lot (bécher ouvert) et en ligne continue à l'aide d'une cellule à flux sonochimique. La sonochimie, y compris la sono-synthèse, la sono-catalyse, la dégradation ou la polymérisation, est largement utilisée en chimie, en nanotechnologie, en science des matériaux, en pharmacie, en microbiologie ainsi que dans d'autres industries.

Demande d'information





Équipement sonochimique de haute performance

Hielscher's industrial processors of the hdT series can be comfortable and user-friendly operated via browser remote control.Hielscher Ultrasonics est votre fournisseur principal d'ultrasons innovants et de pointe, de cellules à flux sonochimique, de réacteurs et d'accessoires pour des réactions sonochimiques efficaces et fiables. Tous les ultrasons Hielscher sont exclusivement conçus, fabriqués et testés au siège de Hielscher Ultrasonics à Teltow (près de Berlin), en Allemagne. Outre les normes techniques les plus élevées et une robustesse exceptionnelle, ainsi qu'un fonctionnement 24/7/365 pour une exploitation hautement efficace, les ultrasons Hielscher sont faciles à utiliser et fiables. Une efficacité élevée, un logiciel intelligent, un menu intuitif, un enregistrement automatique des données et un contrôle à distance par navigateur ne sont que quelques caractéristiques qui distinguent Hielscher Ultrasons des autres fabricants d'équipements sonochimiques.

Amplitudes réglables avec précision

L'amplitude est le déplacement à l'avant (pointe) de la sonotrode (également appelée sonde ou cornet à ultrasons) et constitue le principal facteur d'influence de la cavitation ultrasonique. Des amplitudes plus élevées signifient une cavitation plus intense. L'intensité de cavitation requise dépend fortement du type de réaction, des réactifs chimiques utilisés et des résultats visés par la réaction sonochimique spécifique. Cela signifie que l'amplitude doit être réglable avec précision afin d'ajuster l'intensité de la cavitation acoustique au niveau idéal. Tous les ultrasons Hielscher peuvent être réglés de manière fiable et précise sur l'amplitude idéale grâce à une commande numérique intelligente. Des cornes d'amplification peuvent être utilisées en complément pour diminuer ou augmenter mécaniquement l'amplitude. Ultrasons’ Les processeurs ultrasoniques industriels peuvent fournir des amplitudes très élevées. Des amplitudes allant jusqu'à 200 µm peuvent facilement être exploitées en continu, 24 heures sur 24, 7 jours sur 7. Pour des amplitudes encore plus élevées, des sonotrodes ultrasoniques personnalisées sont disponibles.

Contrôle précis de la température pendant les réactions sonochimiques

Sonochemical setup consisting in the ultrasonicator UP400St with temperature sensor for sonochemical reactionsDans le point chaud de la cavitation, on peut observer des températures extrêmement élevées, de plusieurs milliers de degrés Celsius. Cependant, ces températures extrêmes sont limitées localement à l'intérieur et à l'environnement minuscules de la bulle de cavitation en implosion. Dans la solution en vrac, l'augmentation de température due à l'implosion d'une ou de quelques bulles de cavitation est négligeable. Mais une sonication intense et continue pendant de longues périodes peut provoquer une augmentation progressive de la température du liquide en vrac. Cette augmentation de la température contribue à de nombreuses réactions chimiques et est souvent considérée comme bénéfique. Cependant, les différentes réactions chimiques ont des températures de réaction optimales différentes. Lorsque des matériaux sensibles à la chaleur sont traités, il peut être nécessaire de contrôler la température. Afin de permettre des conditions thermiques idéales pendant les procédés sonochimiques, Hielscher Ultrasons propose diverses solutions sophistiquées pour un contrôle précis de la température pendant les procédés sonochimiques, comme des réacteurs sonochimiques et des cellules à écoulement équipés de chemises de refroidissement.
Nos cellules d'écoulement et réacteurs sonochimiques sont disponibles avec des enveloppes de refroidissement, qui favorisent une dissipation efficace de la chaleur. Pour une surveillance continue de la température, les ultrasons Hielscher sont équipés d'un capteur de température enfichable, qui peut être inséré dans le liquide pour une mesure constante de la température globale. Un logiciel sophistiqué permet de définir une plage de température. Lorsque la limite de température est dépassée, l'ultrasoniseur se met automatiquement en pause jusqu'à ce que la température du liquide soit redescendue à un certain point de consigne et recommence automatiquement à émettre des ultrasons. Toutes les mesures de température ainsi que d'autres données importantes du processus ultrasonique sont automatiquement enregistrées sur une carte SD intégrée et peuvent être révisées facilement pour le contrôle du processus.
La température est un paramètre crucial des processus sonochimiques. La technologie élaborée par Hielscher vous aide à maintenir la température de votre application sonochimique dans la plage de température idéale.

Pourquoi Hielscher Ultrasonics?

  • haute efficacité
  • Une technologie de pointe
  • Facile et sûr à utiliser
  • fiabilité & robustesse
  • lot & en ligne
  • pour tout volume
  • logiciels intelligents
  • des fonctions intelligentes (par exemple, l'enregistrement des données)
  • CIP (clean-in-place)

Le tableau ci-dessous vous donne une indication de la capacité de traitement approximative de nos ultrasonicators:

lot Volume Débit Appareils recommandés
1 à 500 ml 10 à 200 ml / min UP100H
10 à 2000mL 20 à 400 ml / min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 20L 00,2 à 4L / min UIP2000hdT
10 à 100l 2 à 10 L / min UIP4000hdT
n / a. 10 à 100 litres / min UIP16000
n / a. plus grand groupe de UIP16000

Contactez nous! / Demandez nous!

Demander plus d'informations

Veuillez utiliser le formulaire ci-dessous pour demander des informations supplémentaires sur les processeurs à ultrasons, les applications et le prix. Nous serons heureux de discuter avec vous de votre processus et de vous proposer un système à ultrasons répondant à vos besoins !









Veuillez prendre note de notre Politique de confidentialité.


Ultrasonic high-shear homogenizers are used in lab, bench-top, pilot and industrial processing.

Hielscher Ultrasonics fabrique des homogénéisateurs ultrasoniques à haute performance pour des applications de mélange, de dispersion, d'émulsification et d'extraction à l'échelle du laboratoire, du pilote et de l'industrie.



Littérature / Références

  • Suslick, Kenneth S.; Hyeon, Taeghwan; Fang, Mingming; Cichowlas, Andrzej A. (1995): Sonochemical synthesis of nanostructured catalysts. Materials Science and Engineering: A. Proceedings of the Symposium on Engineering of Nanostructured Materials. ScienceDirect 204 (1–2): 186–192.
  • Ekaterina V. Rokhina, Eveliina Repo, Jurate Virkutyte (2010): Comparative kinetic analysis of silent and ultrasound-assisted catalytic wet peroxide oxidation of phenol. Ultrasonics Sonochemistry, Volume 17, Issue 3, 2010. 541-546.
  • Brundavanam, R. K.; Jinag, Z.-T., Chapman, P.; Le, X.-T.; Mondinos, N.; Fawcett, D.; Poinern, G. E. J. (2011): Effect of dilute gelatine on the ultrasonic thermally assisted synthesis of nano hydroxyapatite. Ultrason. Sonochem. 18, 2011. 697-703.
  • Poinern, G.E.J.; Brundavanam, R.K.; Thi Le, X.; Fawcett, D. (2012): The Mechanical Properties of a Porous Ceramic Derived from a 30 nm Sized Particle Based Powder of Hydroxyapatite for Potential Hard Tissue Engineering Applications. American Journal of Biomedical Engineering 2/6; 2012. 278-286.
  • Poinern, G.J.E.; Brundavanam, R.; Thi Le, X.; Djordjevic, S.; Prokic, M.; Fawcett, D. (2011): Thermal and ultrasonic influence in the formation of nanometer scale hydroxyapatite bio-ceramic. International Journal of Nanomedicine 6; 2011. 2083–2095.
  • Poinern, G.J.E.; Brundavanam, R.K.; Mondinos, N.; Jiang, Z.-T. (2009): Synthesis and characterisation of nanohydroxyapatite using an ultrasound assisted method. Ultrasonics Sonochemistry, 16 /4; 2009. 469- 474.
  • Suslick, K. S. (1998): Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology; 4th Ed. J. Wiley & Sons: New York, Vol. 26, 1998. 517-541.


High performance ultrasonics! Hielscher's product range covers the full spectrum from the compact lab ultrasonicator over bench-top units to full-industrial ultrasonic systems.

Hielscher Ultrasonics fabrique des homogénéisateurs à ultrasons de haute performance à partir d'une technologie de pointe. laboratoires à taille industrielle.

Sonochemistry and Sonochemical Reactors

Sonochemistry is the field of chemistry where high-intensity ultrasound is used to induce, accelerate and modify chemical reactions (synthesis, catalysis, degradation, polymerization, hydrolysis etc.). Ultrasonically generated cavitation is characterized by unique energy-dense conditions, which promote and intensify chemical reactions. Faster reaction rates, higher yields and the use of green, milder reagents turn sonochemistry into a very advantageous tool in order to obtain improved chemical reactions.

Sonochemistry

Sonochemistry is the research and processing field in which molecules undergo a chemical reaction because of the application of high-intensity ultrasonication (e.g., 20 kHz). The phenomenon responsible for sonochemical reactions is acoustic cavitation. Acoustic or ultrasonic cavitation occurs when powerful ultrasound waves are coupled into a liquid or slurry. Due to the alternating high-pressure / low-pressure cycles caused by power ultrasound waves in the liquid, vacuum bubbles (cavitational voids) are generated, which grow over several pressure cycles. When the cavitational vacuum bubble reaches a certain size where it cannot absorb more energy, the vacuum bubble implodes violently and creates a highly energy-dense hot spot. This locally occurring hot spot is characterised by very high temperatures, pressures and micro-streaming of extremely fast liquid jets.

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


Sonochemical glass reactor at the ultrasonicator UIP1000hdT. Ultrasonic (acoustic) cavitation initiates, intensifies and accelerates chemical reactions

Sonochemical reactor: Intense sonication and resulting cavitation initiates and intensifies chemical reactions and can switch even pathways.

Acoustic Cavitation and Effects of High-Intensity Ultrasonication

Acoustic cavitation as shown here at the Hielscher ultrasonicator UIP1500hdT is used to initiate and promote chemical reactions. Ultrasonic cavitation at Hielscher's UIP1500hdT (1500W) ultrasonicator for sonochemical reactions.Acoustic cavitation, often also called ultrasonic cavitation, can be distinguished into two forms, stable and transient cavitation. During stable cavitation, the cavitation bubble oscillates many times around its equilibrium radius, whilst during transient cavitation, in which a short-lived bubble undergoes dramatic volume changes in a few acoustic cycles and terminates in a violent collapse (Suslick 1988). Stable and transient cavitation may occur simultaneously in the solution and a bubble undergoing stable cavitation may become a transient cavity. The bubble implosion, which is characteristic for transient cavitation and high-intensity sonication, creates various physical conditions including very high temperatures of 5000–25,000 K, pressures of up to several 1000 bar, and liquid streams with velocities of up to 1000m/s. Since the collapse/implosion of cavitation bubbles occurs in less than a nanosecond, very high heating and cooling rates in excess of 1011 K/s can be observed. Such high heating rates and pressure differentials can initiate and accelerate reactions. Regarding the occurring liquid streams, these high-speed microjets show especially high benefits when it comes to heterogeneous solid–liquid slurries. The liquid jets impinge upon the surface with the full temperature and pressure of the collapsing bubble and cause erosion via interparticle collision as well as localized melting. Consequently, a significantly improved mass transfer in the solution is observed.

This video shows the Hielscher ultrasonicator UP400S (400W) generating acoustic cavitation in water.

Ultrasonic Cavitation in Water using the UP400S


Ultrasonic cavitation is most effectively generated in liquids and solvents wit low vapour pressures. Therefore, media with low vapour pressures are favourable for sonochemical applications.
As result of ultrasonic cavitation, the intense forces created can switch pathways of reactions to more efficient routes, so that more complete conversions and/or the production of unwanted by-products are avoided.
The energy-dense space created by the collapse of cavitation bubbles is called hot-spot. Low-frequency, high-power ultrasound in the range of 20kHz and the ability to create high amplitudes is well established for the generation of intense hot-spots and the favourable sonochemical conditions.

Ultrasonic laboratory equipment as well as industrial ultrasonic reactors for commercial sonochemical processes are readily available and proven as reliable, efficient, and environmental-friendly on lab, pilot and fully-industrial scale. Sonochemical reactions can be carried out as batch (i.e., open vessel) or in-line process using a closed flow cell reactor.

Ultrasonicator UIP2000hdT with sonochemical inline reactor for highly efficient sonochemical applications such as sono-catalysis and sono-synthesis.

Industrial ultrasonicator UIP2000hdT (2kW) with sonochemical inline reactor.

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


Sono-Synthesis

Sono-synthesis or sonochemical synthesis is the application of ultrasonically generated cavitation in order to initiate and promote chemical reactions. High-power ultrasonication (e.g., at 20 kHz) shows strong effects on molecules and chemical bondings. For instance, the sonochemical effects resulting from intense sonication can result in splitting molecules, creating free radicals, and/or switching chemical pathways. Sonochemical synthesis is therefore intensely used for the fabrication or modification of a wide range of nano-structured materials. Examples for nanomaterials produced via sono-synthesis are nanoparticles (NPs) (e.g., gold NPs, silver NPs), pigments, core-shell nano-particles, nano-hydroxyapatite, metal organic frameworks (MOFs), active pharmaceutical ingredients (APIs), microsphere decorated nanoparticles, nano-composites amongst many other materials.

Ultrasonically synthesised silver nano-particles are spherically shaped and show a uniform particle size.

TEM image (A) and its particle size distribution (B) of silver nanoparticles (Ag-NPs), which have been sonochemically synthesized under optimum conditions.

Also widely applied is the ultrasonically promoted crystallization (sono-crystallization), where power-ultrasound is a used to produce supersaturated solutions, to initiate crystallization / precipitation, and control crystal size and morphology via ultrasonic process parameters. Click here to learn more about sono-crystallization!

Sono-Catalysis

Sonicating a chemical suspension or solution can significantly improve catalytic reactions. The sonochemical energy reduces reaction time, improves heat and mass transfer, which subsequently results in increased chemical rate constants, yields, and selectivities.
There are numerous catalytic processes, which benefits drastically from the application of power ultrasound and its sonochemical effects. Any heterogeneous phase transfer catalysis (PTC) reaction involving two or more immiscible liquids or a liquid-solid composition, benefits from sonication, the sonochemical energy and the improved mass transfer.
For instance, the comparative analysis of silent and ultrasonically-assisted catalytic wet peroxide oxidation of phenol in water revealed that the sonication reduced the energy barrier of the reaction, but had no impact on the reaction pathway. The activation energy for the oxidation of phenol over RuI3 catalyst during sonication was found to be 13 kJ mol-1, which was four times smaller in comparison to the silent oxidation process (57 kJ mol-1). (Rokhina et al, 2010)
Sonochemical catalysis is successfully used for the fabrication of chemical products as well as the manufacturing of micron- and nano-structured inorganic materials such as metals, alloys, metal compounds, non-metal materials, and inorganic composites. Common examples of ultrasonically assisted PTC are the transesterification of free fatty acids into methyl ester (biodiesel), hydrolysis, the saponification of vegetable oils, sono-Fenton reaction (Fenton-like processes), sonocatalytic degradation etc.
Read more about sono-catalysis and specific applications!

Other Sonochemical Applications

Due to their versatile usage, reliability and simple operation, sonochemical systems such as the UP400St or UIP2000hdT are valued as efficient equipment for chemical reactions. Hielscher Ultrasonics sonochemical devices can be easily used for batch (open beaker) and continuous inline sonication using a sonochemical flow cell. Sonochemistry including sono-synthesis, sono-catalysis, degradation, or polymerization are widely used in chemistry, nanotechnology, materials science, pharmaceuticals, microbiology as well as in other industries.

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


High-Performance Sonochemical Equipment

Hielscher's industrial processors of the hdT series can be comfortable and user-friendly operated via browser remote control.Hielscher Ultrasonics is your top supplier of innovative, state-of-the-art ultrasonicators, sonochemical flow cell, reactors and accessories for efficient and reliable sonochemical reactions. All Hielscher ultrasonicators are exclusively designed, manufactured and tested at the Hielscher Ultrasonics headquarter in Teltow (near Berlin), Germany. Besides highest technical standards and outstanding robustness and 24/7/365 operation for highly efficient operation, Hielscher ultrasonicators are easy and reliable to operate. High efficiency, smart software, intuitive menu, automatic data protocolling and browser remote control are just a few features that distinguish Hielscher Ultrasonics from other sonochemical equipment manufacturers.

Precisely Adjustable Amplitudes

The amplitude is the displacement at the front (tip) of the sonotrode (also known as ultrasonic probe or horn) and is the main influencing factor of ultrasonic cavitation. Higher amplitudes mean more intense cavitation. The required intensity of cavitation strongly depends on the reaction type, chemical reagents used and targeted results of the specific sonochemical reaction. This means the amplitude should be precisely adjustable in order to tune the intensity of acoustic cavitation to the ideal level. All Hielscher ultrasonicators can be reliably and precisely adjusted via an intelligent digital control to the ideal amplitude. Booster horns can be additionally used to decrease or increase the amplitude mechanically. Ultrasonics’ industrial ultrasonic processors can deliver very high amplitudes. Amplitudes of up to 200µm can be easily continuously run in 24/7 operation. For even higher amplitudes, customized ultrasonic sonotrodes are available.

Precise Temperature Control During Sonochemical Reactions

Sonochemical setup consisting in the ultrasonicator UP400St with temperature sensor for sonochemical reactionsIn the cavitation hot-spot, extremely high temperatures of of many thousands of degrees Celsius can be observed. However, these extreme temperatures are limited locally to the minute interior and surrounding of the imploding cavitation bubble. In the bulk solution, the temperature rise from the implosion a single or few cavitation bubbles is negligible. But continuous, intense sonication for longer periods can cause an incremental increase of the bulk liquid’s temperature. This increase in temperature contributes to many chemical reactions and is often considered as beneficial. However, different chemical reactions have different optimum reaction temperatures. When heat-sensitive materials are treated, temperature control may be necessary. In order to allow for ideal thermal conditions during sonochemical processes, Hielscher Ultrasonics offers various sophisticated solutions for precise temperature control during sonochemical processes, such as sonochemical reactors and flow cells equipped with cooling jackets.
Our sonochemical flow cells and reactors are available with cooling jackets, which support an effective heat dissipation. For continuous temperature monitoring, Hielscher ultrasonicators are equipped with a pluggable temperature sensor, which can be inserted into the liquid for constant measuring of the bulk temperature. Sophisticated software allows the setting of a temperature range. When the temperature limit is exceeded, the ultrasonicator automatically pauses until the temperature in the liquid has lowered to a certain set point and starts automatically sonicating again. All temperature measurements as well as other important ultrasonic process data are automatically recorded on a built-in SD card and can be revised easily for process control.
Temperature is a crucial parameter of sonochemical processes. Hielscher’s elaborated technology helps you to keep the temperature of your sonochemical application in the ideal temperature range.

Why Hielscher Ultrasonics?

  • high efficiency
  • state-of-the-art technology
  • easy and safe to operate
  • reliability & robustness
  • batch & inline
  • for any volume
  • intelligent software
  • smart features (e.g., data protocolling)
  • CIP (clean-in-place)

The table below gives you an indication of the approximate processing capacity of our ultrasonicators:

Batch Volume Flow Rate Recommended Devices
1 to 500mL 10 to 200mL/min UP100H
10 to 2000mL 20 to 400mL/min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 to 20L 0.2 to 4L/min UIP2000hdT
10 to 100L 2 to 10L/min UIP4000hdT
n.a. 10 to 100L/min UIP16000
n.a. larger cluster of UIP16000

Contact Us! / Ask Us!

Ask for more information

Please use the form below to request additional information about ultrasonic processors, applications and price. We will be glad to discuss your process with you and to offer you an ultrasonic system meeting your requirements!









Please note our privacy policy.


Ultrasonic high-shear homogenizers are used in lab, bench-top, pilot and industrial processing.

Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonic homogenizers for mixing applications, dispersion, emulsification and extraction on lab, pilot and industrial scale.



Literature / References

  • Suslick, Kenneth S.; Hyeon, Taeghwan; Fang, Mingming; Cichowlas, Andrzej A. (1995): Sonochemical synthesis of nanostructured catalysts. Materials Science and Engineering: A. Proceedings of the Symposium on Engineering of Nanostructured Materials. ScienceDirect 204 (1–2): 186–192.
  • Ekaterina V. Rokhina, Eveliina Repo, Jurate Virkutyte (2010): Comparative kinetic analysis of silent and ultrasound-assisted catalytic wet peroxide oxidation of phenol. Ultrasonics Sonochemistry, Volume 17, Issue 3, 2010. 541-546.
  • Brundavanam, R. K.; Jinag, Z.-T., Chapman, P.; Le, X.-T.; Mondinos, N.; Fawcett, D.; Poinern, G. E. J. (2011): Effect of dilute gelatine on the ultrasonic thermally assisted synthesis of nano hydroxyapatite. Ultrason. Sonochem. 18, 2011. 697-703.
  • Poinern, G.E.J.; Brundavanam, R.K.; Thi Le, X.; Fawcett, D. (2012): The Mechanical Properties of a Porous Ceramic Derived from a 30 nm Sized Particle Based Powder of Hydroxyapatite for Potential Hard Tissue Engineering Applications. American Journal of Biomedical Engineering 2/6; 2012. 278-286.
  • Poinern, G.J.E.; Brundavanam, R.; Thi Le, X.; Djordjevic, S.; Prokic, M.; Fawcett, D. (2011): Thermal and ultrasonic influence in the formation of nanometer scale hydroxyapatite bio-ceramic. International Journal of Nanomedicine 6; 2011. 2083–2095.
  • Poinern, G.J.E.; Brundavanam, R.K.; Mondinos, N.; Jiang, Z.-T. (2009): Synthesis and characterisation of nanohydroxyapatite using an ultrasound assisted method. Ultrasonics Sonochemistry, 16 /4; 2009. 469- 474.
  • Suslick, K. S. (1998): Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology; 4th Ed. J. Wiley & Sons: New York, Vol. 26, 1998. 517-541.


High performance ultrasonics! Hielscher's product range covers the full spectrum from the compact lab ultrasonicator over bench-top units to full-industrial ultrasonic systems.

Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonic homogenizers from lab to industrial size.