المجانسات – مبدأ العمل والاستخدام والتوسع

المجانسات هي نوع من الخلاطات ، التي تطبق قوى ميكانيكية لمزج واستحلاب وتشتيت وإذابة الأنظمة السائلة والسائلة والسائلة الصلبة. اعتمادا على القص الدوراني لنموذج المجانس ، يتم استخدام الفوهات أو الموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الطاقة لإنشاء القوى المطلوبة لتفكيك وتفتيت الجسيمات الصلبة وكذلك القطرات السائلة. تعرف على المزيد حول أجهزة التجانس وتطبيقاتها في البحث والإنتاج!

ما هو المجانس؟

المجانس هو فئة من أجهزة الخلط ، والتي تم تصميمها لكسر الجسيمات ، الصلبة والسائلة على حد سواء ، إلى خليط موحد. تتوفر المجانسات كمختبر ، ومقاعد البدلاء ، والمعدات الصناعية المستخدمة في مختلف التطبيقات في مجال البحوث والصناعة. يشمل التطبيق النموذجي للمجانس خلط وتفكك المواد المختلفة ، بما في ذلك الجسيمات والأصباغ والمواد الكيميائية والنباتات والغذاء والخلايا والأنسجة وغيرها.

طلب معلومات





مجانس بالموجات فوق الصوتية الصناعية للتشتت والمستحلبات وتقليل حجم الجسيمات وتطبيقات الخلط.

مفاعل MultiSonoReactor MSR-4 هو مجانس صناعي مضمن مع أجهزة الموجات فوق الصوتية بقوة 16000 واط للتطبيقات الصعبة مثل تشتت النانو والمستحلبات النانوية.

نظرة عامة على أنواع مختلفة من المجانسات

تتوفر أنواع مختلفة من المجانسات تجاريا للاستخدام في الإنتاج على نطاق واسع والصناعي على نطاق واسع. ومع ذلك ، فإن خلاطات الدوار / الجزء الثابت (الغروانية) ، والمجانسات عالية الضغط ، والمجانسات بالموجات فوق الصوتية هي النماذج الأكثر استخداما.
خلاطات المكره أو الشفرات لديك شفرة دوارة ، والتي تدور بسرعة عالية في الجزء السفلي من وعاء الخلط وبالتالي الجمع بين مواد مختلفة في خليط متجانس.
كاسم ل خلاط الدوار/الجزء الثابت يعني بالفعل ، خلاط الدوار / الجزء الثابت يحتوي على دوار ومكون الجزء الثابت. الدوار عبارة عن عمود معدني يدور بسرعات عالية داخل الجزء الثابت. الجزء الثابت هو الجزء المعدني الذي لا يزال ثابتا. يخلق دوران الدوار تأثير شفط يحرك المادة الصلبة السائلة بين الجزء الثابت والدوار ، حيث يتم تقليل المواد الصلبة إلى حجم جسيمات أصغر.
مبدأ عمل مجانس الضغط العالي (HPH) يعتمد على استخدام مضخة الضغط العالي والصمام (فوهة ، فتحة) ، مما يجعل المعدات كبيرة وثقيلة ومكلفة. يتم إجبار الملاط المعالج بسرعة تدفق عالية من خلال فتحة صغيرة ، مما يقلل من حجم الجسيمات لأن الجسيمات تتطلب حجما صغيرا معينا من أجل المرور عبر الصمام. خاصة عند معالجة المواد الصلبة ، تكون HPHs عرضة للانسداد.
الخالطون بالموجات فوق الصوتية استخدام قوى القص العالية الناتجة عن التجويف الصوتي ، مما يمنحها مزايا مختلفة على تقنيات التجانس الأخرى. يتم عرض مبدأ العمل وفوائد التجانس بالموجات فوق الصوتية أدناه.

الفيديو يدل على تشتت بالموجات فوق الصوتية من اللون الأحمر باستخدام UP400St مع مسبار S24d 22mm.

الموجات فوق الصوتية تشتت اللون الأحمر باستخدام UP400St

الموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الطاقة كقوة تجانس

معزز بالموجات فوق الصوتية والتحقيق (cascatrode) شنت على القرن من محول الموجات فوق الصوتية UIP2000hdTيستخدم المجانس بالموجات فوق الصوتية اهتزازات وتجويف بالموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الكثافة لإنشاء قوى قص مكثفة للغاية ، وبالتالي يمكن أن يطلق عليه خلاط القص العالي المكثف. السر وراء قوى القص العالية المكثفة للغاية هو التجويف الصوتي ، الذي يتم إنشاؤه بواسطة موجات الموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الطاقة. يحتوي المجانس بالموجات فوق الصوتية على مولد ، وهو وحدة إمداد الطاقة والتحكم ، ومحول الطاقة. يحتوي محول الطاقة على سيراميك كهربائي ضغطي. هذه السيراميك الكهرضغطية تحول الطاقة الكهربائية إلى تذبذب ، لأن البلورات الكهرضغطية تغير حجمها وشكلها عند تطبيق الجهد. عندما يكون تردد المذبذب الإلكتروني مساويا للتردد الطبيعي للكوارتز الكهرضغطي ، يحدث الرنين. في ظل ظروف الرنين ، ينتج الكوارتز موجات فوق صوتية طولية ذات سعة كبيرة.
ثم تقترن الموجات فوق الصوتية المتولدة عبر مسبار الموجات فوق الصوتية (sonotrode / horn) في وسط العملية. تحدد السعة في مسبار الموجات فوق الصوتية شدة الموجات فوق الصوتية ، والتي تنتقل إلى السائل أو الملاط. تولد الموجات فوق الصوتية دورات ضغط عال وضغط منخفض بالتناوب في الوسائط السائلة. خلال دورة الضغط المنخفض ، تنتج الموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الكثافة فقاعات فراغ صغيرة في السائل. خلال دورة الضغط العالي ، تنهار فقاعات الفراغ الصغيرة بشكل مدمر. وتسمى هذه الظاهرة التجويف. قد يؤدي انفجار فقاعات التجويف أيضا إلى توليد نفاثات سائلة بسرعة عالية تصل إلى 280 م / ث ، مما يؤدي إلى قوى قص قوية. تعمل قوى القص على كسر الجسيمات ، وتسبب تصادما بين الجسيمات وتعطل القطرات والخلايا ميكانيكيا ، مما يعزز في الوقت نفسه نقل الكتلة بكفاءة عالية. تنتج هذه القوى التجويفية تشتتات ومستحلبات ومعلقات موحدة ومتجانسة ومن المعروف أيضا أنها تعزز التفاعلات الكيميائية (ما يسمى بالكيمياء الصوتية).

التجويف الصوتي أو بالموجات فوق الصوتية: نمو الفقاعة والانفجار الداخلي

يخلق التجويف الصوتي (الناتج عن الموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الطاقة) ظروفا قاسية محليا ، ما يسمى بالتأثيرات الصوتية الميكانيكية والكيميائية الصوتية. بسبب هذه التأثيرات ، تقلل الصوتنة من الجسيمات الصلبة والسائلة وتمزجها في تركيبة متجانسة.

Ultrasonic cavitation at Hielscher's UIP1000hdT (1kW) ultrasonicator

التجويف بالموجات فوق الصوتية في مسبار كاسترود من الموجات فوق الصوتية UIP1000hdT (1000 واط، 20kHz) في مفاعل زجاجي. يستخدم الضوء الأحمر من الأسفل لتحسين رؤية التجويف.

طلب معلومات





الخالطون بالموجات فوق الصوتية – مزايا

المجانسات بالموجات فوق الصوتية متفوقة ، عندما يتعلق الأمر بإنتاج المواد الصلبة السائلة (ما يسمى بالطين) والمعلقات والحلول السائلة السائلة. نظرا لأن أجهزة الموجات فوق الصوتية تستخدم مبدأ عمل التجويف بالموجات فوق الصوتية ، يجب أن تكون المادة رطبة أو في مرحلة رطبة ، لأن التجويف يحدث فقط في السائل. هذا يعني أن جهاز الموجات فوق الصوتية لن يكون فعالا للغاية في خلط مسحوق جاف ، ولكن بمجرد أن يبلل المسحوق ، فإن الصوتنة هي الطريقة الأكثر فعالية للمزج. من المعروف جيدا أن المجانسات بالموجات فوق الصوتية تخلط وتمزج وتشتت حتى المعاجين والمواد عالية اللزوجة. إن القوى الشديدة بشكل غير عادي الناجمة عن انفجار فقاعات التجويف لا تخلق قوى قص عالية قوية للغاية فحسب ، بل تخلق أيضا درجات حرارة وضغوط عالية محصورة محليا بالإضافة إلى الفروق ذات الصلة. هذا المزيج من القوى الفيزيائية يعطل الجسيمات إلى أحجام أصغر بكثير من المجانس التقليدي. لذلك ، فإن المجانسات بالموجات فوق الصوتية هي المعدات المفضلة للإنتاج الموثوق به للمستحلبات والتشتتات النانوية الحجم.

مزايا التجانس بالموجات فوق الصوتية

  • كفاءة ممتازة
  • قادرة على توفير طاقة عالية التركيز
  • نتائج متفوقة في ميكرون ونانو
  • للمستحلبات والتشتت بحجم ميكرون ونانو
  • أي حجم من مل إلى طن / ساعة
  • الدفعة والمضمون
  • لتمريرة واحدة وإعادة التدوير
  • عملية مراقبة دقيقة
  • عملية بسيطة
  • سهولة التنظيف
  • صيانة منخفضة

تطبيقات المجانسات بالموجات فوق الصوتية

تستخدم المجانسات بالموجات فوق الصوتية على نطاق واسع في المنشآت المختبرية والصناعية لتجانس المعلقات الصلبة والسائلة والسائلة ، وتقليل حجم الجسيمات ، وتعطيل واستخراج المواد البيولوجية ، وتكثيف التفاعلات الكيميائية وإذابة المركبات القابلة للذوبان.

بالموجات فوق الصوتية الاستحلاب

الاستحلاب هو عملية مزج سائلين أو أكثر من السوائل غير القابلة للامتزاج معا من أجل تحضير خليط مستقر أو شبه مستقر. بشكل عام ، يتكون هذان السائلان من مرحلة زيتية ومرحلة مائية (مائية). لتحقيق الاستقرار في خليط المراحل السائلة المختلفة ، تتم إضافة مستحلب (فاعل بالسطح / فاعل بالسطح مشترك). يلعب حجم قطرة المستحلب دورا حاسما عندما يتعلق الأمر بوظيفة واستقرار المستحلب. نظرا لأن الموجات فوق الصوتية تخلق قوى صوتية ميكانيكية ، والتي تفكك القطرات وتخفضها إلى قطرات دقيقة ، فإن الصوتنة هي طريقة شائعة جدا لإنتاج مستحلبات ميكرون ونانو. المجانسات بالموجات فوق الصوتية هي أداة موثوقة لإنتاج مستحلبات O / W و W / O ، المستحلبات العكسية ، المستحلبات المزدوجة (O / W / O ، W / O / W) ، المستحلبات المصغرة وكذلك مستحلبات بيكرينغ. بناء على هذه المرونة والقدرة الموثوقة على الاستحلاب ، يتم استخدام المجانسات بالموجات فوق الصوتية (تسمى أحيانا أيضا المستحلبات بالموجات فوق الصوتية عند استخدامها للاستحلاب) على سبيل المثال ، في الصناعة الكيميائية والغذائية والصيدلانية والوقود لإنتاج مستحلبات مستقرة على المدى الطويل.
انقر على الروابط التالية لمعرفة المزيد حول نانو مستحلباتو بيكرينغ مستحلبات!

بالموجات فوق الصوتية التشتت

المجانسات بالموجات فوق الصوتية فعالة للغاية عندما يجب تقليل حجم تكتلات الجسيمات والمجاميع وحتى الجسيمات الأولية بشكل موثوق. ميزة المجانسات بالموجات فوق الصوتية هي قدرتها على طحن الجسيمات وصولا إلى أحجام جسيمات أصغر وأكثر اتساقا ، سواء تم استهداف الجسيمات الميكرونية أو النانوية كنتيجة للعملية. تعمل قوى القص التجويف والتيارات السائلة على تسريع الجسيمات بحيث تصطدم ببعضها البعض. ويعرف هذا باسم تصادم الجسيمات البينية. تعمل الجسيمات نفسها كوسيط طحن ، والذي يتجنب التلوث عن طريق طحن الخرز وعملية الفصل اللاحقة ، وهو أمر ضروري عند استخدام مطاحن الخرز التقليدية. نظرا لأن الجسيمات تتصادم عن طريق تصادم الجسيمات بسرعات عالية جدا تصل إلى 280 م / ثانية ، فإن القوى العالية بشكل غير عادي تنطبق على الجسيمات ، والتي تتحطم بالتالي إلى أجزاء دقيقة. يعطي الاحتكاك والتآكل تلك الشظايا الجسيمية سطحا مصقولا وشكلا موحدا. مزيج من قوى القص وتصادم الجسيمات البينية يعطي التجانس بالموجات فوق الصوتية والتشتت الحافة المفيدة التي توفر معلقات غروية متجانسة للغاية وتشتت!
يصور تسلسل الصورة أدناه القوى التجوفية للموجات فوق الصوتية على رقائق الجرافيت.

تقشير الجرافين بالموجات فوق الصوتية في الماء

تسلسل عالي السرعة (من a إلى f) من الإطارات التي توضح تقشير سونو ميكانيكي رقاقة الجرافيت في الماء باستخدام UP200S، وهو 200W بالموجات فوق الصوتية مع سونوترود 3 ملم. تظهر الأسهم مكان الانقسام (التقشير) مع فقاعات التجويف التي تخترق الانقسام.
© تيمورنا وآخرون 2020 (CC BY-NC-ND 4.0)

تشتت وتجانس المواد النانوية

بالنسبة لكل من المستحلبات والتشتت ، يعد تحضير مخاليط نانوية الحجم مهمة صعبة. معظم تقنيات التجانس والمزج التقليدية مثل خلاطات الشفرات ومطاحن الخرز والمجانسات عالية الضغط وغيرها من الخلاطات قادرة على إنتاج جزيئات بحجم ميكرون ، لكنها لا تستطيع كسر القطرات والمواد الصلبة بشكل موثوق به إلى حجم النانو. هذا يرجع في الغالب إلى عدم كفاية الكثافة. على سبيل المثال ، لا توفر خلاطات الشفرات قصا كافيا لكسر الجسيمات إلى حجم النانو. لا تستطيع مطاحن الخرز ، وهي نوع آخر من المجانسات ، طحن المواد الصلبة بشكل موحد إلى حجم جسيمات أدق من الخرز (وسائط الطحن) نفسها. يبلغ متوسط حجم حبات الطحن التقليدية 1500 مم – 35,000 ملم. مشكلة أخرى هي التلوث عن طريق البلى من وسط الطحن. نظرا لأن أجهزة الموجات فوق الصوتية توفر قوى قص عالية بشكل غير عادي ، ولكن يمكن التحكم فيها بدقة ، فإن التجويف بالموجات فوق الصوتية هو التقنية المفضلة للإنتاج الموثوق به لتشتت النانو والمستحلبات النانوية في المختبر (R&D) ، والإعداد التجريبي والصناعي.

للحصول على معلومات حول التطبيقات الإضافية للمجانسات بالموجات فوق الصوتية ، يرجى النقر فوق الروابط التالية!

مجانس بالموجات فوق الصوتية UP200St متصل بمفاعل دفعي يتم تحريكه باستمرار

مفاعل الدفعات المتحرك بالموجات فوق الصوتية - UP200St

طلب معلومات





ينتج عن تشتت السيليكا باستخدام مجانس بالموجات فوق الصوتية توزيع جسيمات ضيق ومتجانس.

تظهر التشتت بالموجات فوق الصوتية توزيعا موحدا لحجم الجسيمات مع جسيمات مخفضة بشكل متجانس. تظهر المنحنيات توزيع الجسيمات للسيليكا قبل الموجات فوق الصوتية (المنحنى الأخضر) وبعد التشتت بالموجات فوق الصوتية (المنحنى الأحمر).

توسيع نطاق عمليات التجانس بالموجات فوق الصوتية

عند التوسع من مجانس بالموجات فوق الصوتية المختبري إلى جهاز الموجات فوق الصوتية التجريبي ، ومن نظام تجريبي إلى مجانس بالموجات فوق الصوتية واسع النطاق ، يمكن تطبيق التوسيع خطيا تماما! يتم الحفاظ على جميع معلمات العملية المهمة مثل السعة والضغط ودرجة الحرارة ووقت المعالجة ثابتة ، ويتم تحجيم مساحة سطح المسبار بالموجات فوق الصوتية فقط والموجات فوق الصوتية كمحرض نشط للمسبار إلى وحدات أكبر وأكثر قوة. تسمح قابلية التوسع الخطي لعمليات التجانس بالموجات فوق الصوتية بالحصول في الإنتاج الكبير على نفس النتائج عالية الجودة كما هو الحال في إعدادات المختبر والتجريبية.

العثور على المجانس بالموجات فوق الصوتية الأكثر ملاءمة لعمليتك!

Hielscher الموجات فوق الصوتية هو لك شريك من ذوي الخبرة منذ فترة طويلة للمجانسات بالموجات فوق الصوتية. تم تصميم جميع أجهزة الموجات فوق الصوتية Hielscher وتصنيعها واختبارها في مقرنا الرئيسي في ألمانيا قبل شحنها إلى عملائنا في جميع أنحاء العالم. المجانسات بالموجات فوق الصوتية HIELSCHER هي أجهزة عالية الجودة مفحمة بالأداء العالي المستمر والموثوقية والمتانة وسهولة الاستخدام. التطور التقني لتكنولوجيا التجانس بالموجات فوق الصوتية تعطي مستخدمي معدات Hielscher مزايا تنافسية ، مما يجعلهم في السوق الرائدة في صناعتهم. مع مجموعة واسعة من المنتجات من المجانسات المختبرية ومقاعد البدلاء ، والأنظمة التجريبية والمجانسات بالموجات فوق الصوتية الصناعية الكاملة للإنتاج التجاري ، فإن Hielscher لديها نظام خلط بالموجات فوق الصوتية المثالي لمتطلباتك. تسمح الملحقات المتعددة بإعداد المجانس بالموجات فوق الصوتية المثالي – مطابقة الاحتياجات الفردية.
أخبرنا بمتطلبات العملية ومواصفاتها – سوف نوصيك بكل سرور المجانس بالموجات فوق الصوتية الأكثر ملاءمة وكفاءة لتطبيقك!

كفاءة عالية مع المجانسات بالموجات فوق الصوتية

نظرا لكفاءة العملية غير العادية ، وتكاليف الاستثمار المعقولة ، وكفاءة الطاقة العالية جدا وتكاليف العمالة والصيانة المنخفضة ، فإن المجانسات بالموجات فوق الصوتية Hielscher تتفوق على تقنيات التجانس التقليدية وتحقق عائدا سريعا (العائد على الاستثمار). في كثير من الأحيان ، يتم استهلاك مجانس بالموجات فوق الصوتية في غضون بضعة أشهر.

الموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الطاقة للتجانس الصناعي

مجانس بالموجات فوق الصوتية مع مفاعل للمعالجة المضمنة.السعة هي أهم معلمة عملية في عمليات التجانس التي تعتمد على الموجات فوق الصوتية. تسمح جميع أجهزة الموجات فوق الصوتية Hielscher بالتحكم الدقيق في السعة. اعتمادا على هدف العملية ، يمكن تعيين سعة أقل لظروف المعالجة الأكثر اعتدالا أو يتم اختيار سعة عالية للحصول على نتائج تشتت أكثر تدميرا. هيلشر الموجات فوق الصوتية’ المعالجات بالموجات فوق الصوتية الصناعية يمكن أن توفر السعات عالية جدا. يمكن تشغيل السعات التي تصل إلى 200μm بسهولة في عملية 24/7. للحصول على السعات أعلى، sonotrodes الموجات فوق الصوتية المخصصة المتاحة.

متطلبات صيانة منخفضة للمجانسات بالموجات فوق الصوتية

المجانسات بالموجات فوق الصوتية ليست فقط سهلة التنظيف لأن sonotrode والمفاعل هي المكونات الوحيدة التي هي أجزاء رطبة وتتلامس مع المواد المعالجة. Sonotrode (المعروف أيضا باسم القرن بالموجات فوق الصوتية أو التحقيق) والمفاعل مصنوعان من التيتانيوم والفولاذ المقاوم للصدأ ، على التوالي ولهما هندسة نظيفة بدون فتحات أو زوايا ميتة.
الجزء الوحيد الذي يخضع للتآكل والتمزق هو مسبار الموجات فوق الصوتية ، والذي يمكن استبداله دون تعطيل كبير للعملية. يتم تغيير sonotrode من الموجات فوق الصوتية المختبر في غضون حوالي 10 دقائق ، في حين أن تغيير sonotrode من مجانس بالموجات فوق الصوتية الصناعية قد يستغرق حوالي 30-45 دقيقة.

اتصل بنا الآن! سيسعد فريقنا ذو الخبرة الجيدة بمشاركة المعلومات الفنية وتوصيات العملية و / أو عرض الأسعار معك!

الجدول أدناه يعطيك مؤشرا على قدرة المعالجة التقريبية لultrasonicators لدينا:

دفعة حجم معدل المد و الجزر الأجهزة الموصى بها
1 إلى 500ML 10 إلى 200ML / دقيقة UP100H
10 إلى 2000ML 20 إلى 400ML / دقيقة Uf200 ः ر، UP400St
00.1 إلى 20L 00.2 إلى 4L / دقيقة UIP2000hdT
10 إلى 100L 2 إلى 10L / دقيقة UIP4000hdT
0.3 إلى 60 لتر 0.6 إلى 12 لتر/دقيقة UIP6000hdT
زمالة المدمنين المجهولين 10 إلى 100L / دقيقة UIP16000
زمالة المدمنين المجهولين أكبر مجموعة من UIP16000

اتصل بنا! / اسألنا!

اطلب المزيد من المعلومات

يرجى استخدام النموذج أدناه لطلب معلومات إضافية حول المعالجات بالموجات فوق الصوتية والتطبيقات والسعر. سنكون سعداء لمناقشة العملية الخاصة بك معك ونقدم لكم نظام الموجات فوق الصوتية تلبية الاحتياجات الخاصة بك!









يرجى ملاحظة لدينا سياسة الخصوصية.


وتستخدم الموجات فوق الصوتية عالية القص المتجانسات في المختبر، مقاعد البدلاء أعلى، التجريبية والصناعية المعالجة.

Hielscher الفوق صوتيات بتصنيع عالية الأداء المجانسة بالموجات فوق الصوتية لخلط التطبيقات، تشتت، استحلاب واستخراج على المختبر، والطيارية ومقياس الصناعية.



الأدب / المراجع


الفوق صوتيات عالية الأداء! تغطي مجموعة منتجات Hielscher الطيف الكامل من المعمل المدمج فوق الصوتيات على وحدات أعلى مقاعد البدلاء إلى أنظمة الموجات فوق الصوتية الصناعية الكاملة.

Hielscher الفوق صوتيات بتصنيع عالية الأداء المجانسة بالموجات فوق الصوتية من مختبر إلى حجم الصناعية.

Homogenizers – Working Principle, Use and Scale-Up

Homogenizers are a type of mixers, which apply mechanical forces to blend, emulsify, disperse, and dissolve liquid-liquid and solid-liquid systems. Depending on the homogenizer model rotational shear, nozzles or high-power ultrasound are used to create the required forces to disintegrate and break up solid particles as well as liquid droplets. Learn more about homogenizer devices and their applications in research and production!

What is a Homogenizer?

A homogenizer is a class of mixing devices, which is designed to break particles, both solid and liquid, into a uniform mixture. Homogenizers are available as laboratory, bench-top and, industrial equipment used in for various applications in research and industry. Typical application of homogenizer include the mixing and disintegration of various materials, including particles, pigments, chemicals, plants, food, cells, tissues, amongst others.

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


Industrial ultrasonic homogenizer for dispersions, emulsions, particle size reduction and mixing applications.

The MultiSonoReactor MSR-4 is an industrial inline homogenizer with 16,000 watts power ultrasonicators for demanding applications such as nano-dispersions and nano-emulsions.

Overview over Various Homogenizer Types

Various homogenizer types are commercially available for the use in bench-top and industrial large-scale production. However the rotor/stator (colloid) mixers, high pressure homogenizers, and ultrasonic homogenizers are the most widely used models.
Impeller or blade mixers have a spinning blade, which rotates at high speed at the bottom of the mixing vessel thereby combining various materials into a homogeneous mixture.
As the name of the rotor/stator mixer already implies, a rotor/stator mixer has a rotor and a stator component. The rotor is a metal shaft that rotates at high speeds within the stator. The stator is the metal part that remains stationary. The rotation of the rotor creates a suction effect that moves the solid-liquid material between the stator and rotor, where the solids are reduced to smaller particle size.
The working principle of the high-pressure homogenizer (HPH) is based on the use of a high-pressure pump and a valve (nozzle, orifice), which makes the equipment large, heavy, and expensive. The processed slurry is forced with high flow velocity through a small orifice, which reduces particle size as particles require a certain small size in order to pass through the valve. Especially when processing solids, HPHs are prone to clogging.
Ultrasonic homogenizers use the high-shear forces generated by acoustic cavitation, which gives them various advantages over other homogenizing techniques. The working principle and benefits of ultrasonic homogenization are presented below.

The video is demonstrating ultrasonic dispersion of red color using the UP400St with a S24d 22mm probe.

Ultrasonic Red Color Dispersion using the UP400St

High-Power Ultrasound as Homogenizing Force

Ultrasonic booster and probe (cascatrode) mounted to the horn of the ultrasonic transducer UIP2000hdTAn ultrasonic homogenizer uses high-intensity ultrasonic vibrations and cavitation to create very intense shear forces and can be therefore called a super-intense high-shear mixer. The secret behind the super-intense high-shear forces is acoustic cavitation, which is generated by high-power ultrasound waves. An ultrasonic homogenizer has a generator, which is the power supply and control unit, and a transducer. The transducer contains piezo-electric ceramics. These piezo-electric ceramics convert the electric energy into oscillation, since the piezoelectric crystals change their size and shape when voltage is applied. When the frequency of the electronic oscillator is equal to the natural frequency of the piezoelectric quartz, resonance occurs. Under resonance conditions, the quartz produces longitudinal ultrasonic waves of large amplitude.
The generated ultrasound waves are then coupled via the ultrasonic probe (sonotrode / horn) into the process medium. The amplitude at the ultrasonic probe determines intensity of ultrasound waves, which are transmitted into the liquid or slurry. The ultrasonic waves generate alternating high-pressure and low-pressure cycles in liquid media. During the low-pressure cycle, high-intensity ultrasonic waves produce small vacuum bubbles in the liquid. During the high-pressure cycle, small vacuum bubbles collapse destructively. This phenomenon is called cavitation. Implosion of cavitation bubbles may also generate liquid jets with a high speed of up to 280 m/s, resulting in powerful shear forces. The shear forces break the particles, cause inter-particle collision and disrupt droplets and cells mechanically, promoting at the same time a highly efficient mass transfer. These cavitational forces produce uniform and homogeneous dispersions, emulsions and suspensions and are also known to promote chemical reactions (so-called sonochemistry).

Acoustic or ultrasonic cavitation: bubble growth and implosion

Acoustic cavitation (generated by high-power ultrasound) creates locally extreme conditions, so-called sonomechanical and sonochemical effects. Due to these effects, sonication reduces solid and liquid particles and blends them into a homogeneous formulation.

Ultrasonic cavitation at Hielscher's UIP1000hdT (1kW) ultrasonicator

Ultrasonic cavitation at the cascatrode probe of the ultrasonicator UIP1000hdT (1000 watts, 20kHz) in a glass reactor. Red light from the bottom is used to improve the visibility of cavitation.

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


Ultrasonic Homogenizers – Advantages

Ultrasonic homogenizers are superior, when it comes to the production of solid-liquid (so-called slurries) and liquid-liquid suspensions and solutions. Since ultrasonicators use the working principle of ultrasonic cavitation, the material should be wet or in a wet phase, since cavitation only occurs in liquid. This means an ultrasonicator would not be very efficient in mixing a dry powder, but as soon as the powder gets wetted, sonication is the most efficient method for blending. Ultrasonic homogenizers are well known to reliably mix, blend and disperse even pastes and highly viscous materials. The extraordinarily intense forces caused by the implosion of cavitation bubbles creates not only very powerful high-shear forces but also locally confined high temperatures and pressures as well as respective differentials. These combination of physical forces disrupt particles to much smaller sizes than a conventional homogenizer. Therefore, ultrasonic homogenizers are the preferred equipment for the reliable production of nano-sized emulsions and dispersions.

Advantages of Ultrasonic Homogenization

  • excellent efficiency
  • capable to deliver highly focused energy
  • superior results in micron and nano
  • for micron- and nano-sized emulsions and dispersions
  • any volume from mL to tons/hr
  • batch and inline
  • for single pass and recirculation
  • precise process control
  • simple operation
  • easy cleaning
  • low maintenance

Applications of Ultrasonic Homogenizers

Ultrasonic homogenizers are widely used in laboratory and industrial facilities to homogenize solid-liquid and liquid-liquid suspensions, reduce particle size, disrupt and extract biological material, intensify chemical reactions and dissolve soluble compounds.

Ultrasonic Emulsification

Emulsification is the process of blending two or more immiscible liquids together in order to prepare a stable or semistable mixture. In general, these two liquids consist of an oil phase and an aqueous (water) phase. To stabilize the mixture of the different liquid phases, an emulsifier (surfactant / co-surfactant) are added. The droplet size of an emulsion plays a crucial role when it comes to the functionality and stability of an emulsion. Since power-ultrasound creates sonomechanical forces, which break up droplets und reduce them to minute droplets, sonication is a very popular method for the production of micron- and nano-emulsions. Ultrasonic homogenizers are a reliable tool for the production of O/W and W/O emulsions, inverse emulsions, double emulsions (O/W/O, W/O/W), mini-emulsions as well as Pickering emulsions. Based on this flexibility and the reliable emulsifying capacity, ultrasonic homogenizers (sometimes also called ultrasonic emulsifiers when used for emulsification) are used e.g., in the chemical, food, pharmaceutical, and fuel industry to produce long-term stable emulsions.
Click on the following links to learn more about nano-emulsions, and Pickering emulsions!

Ultrasonic Dispersion

Ultrasonic homogenizers are very efficacious when particle agglomerates, aggregates and even primary particles must be reliably reduced in size. The advantage of ultrasonic homogenizers is their capability to mill particles down to smaller and more uniform particles sizes, whether micron- or nano-particles are targeted as process result. Cavitational shear forces and liquid streams accelerate particles so that they collide with each other. This is known as interparticle collision. The particles themselves act as milling medium, which avoids contamination by grinding beads and the subsequent separation process, which is necessary when conventional bead mills are used. Since the particle clash by interparticle collision at very high speeds of up to 280m/sec, extraordinarily high forces apply to the particles, which therefore shatter into minute fractions. Friction and erosion give those particle fragments a polished surface and uniformly shaped form. The combination of shear forces and interparticle collision give ultrasonic homogenization and dispersion the advantageous edge delivering highly homogeneous colloidal suspensions and dispersions!
The picture sequence below depicts the cavitational forces of ultrasound on graphite flakes.

Ultrasonic graphene exfoliation in water

A high-speed sequence (from a to f) of frames illustrating sono-mechanical exfoliation of a graphite flake in water using the UP200S, a 200W ultrasonicator with 3-mm sonotrode. Arrows show the place of splitting (exfoliation) with cavitation bubbles penetrating the split.
© Tyurnina et al. 2020 (CC BY-NC-ND 4.0)

Dispersion and Homogenization of Nanomaterials

For both, emulsions and dispersions, the preparation of nano-sized mixtures is a challenging task. Most conventional homogenization and blending techniques such as blade mixers, bead mills, high-pressure homogenizers and other mixers are capable to produce micron-sized particles, but they cannot reliably break droplets and solids down to nano-size. This is mostly due to insufficient intensity. For instance, blade mixers do not provide enough shear for breaking particles to nano-size. Bead mills, another type of homogenizer, cannot mill solids uniformly to a finer particle size than the beads (grinding media) itself. Conventional grinding beads have an average size between 1,500 mm – 35,000 mm. Another problem is the contamination by wear and tear of the milling medium. Since ultrasonicators provide extraordinarily high, yet precisely controllable shear forces, ultrasound cavitation is the preferred technique for the reliable production of nano-dispersion and nano-emulsions in lab (R&D), pilot, and industrial setups.

For Information about Additional Applications of Ultrasonic Homogenizers, please click the following links!

Ultrasonic Homogenizer UP200St attached to a continuously stirred batch reactor

Ultrasonically Agitated Batch Reactor - UP200St

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


Dispersion of silica using an ultrasonic homogenizer produces a narrow and homogeneous particle distribution.

Ultrasonic dispersions show a uniform particle size distribution with homogeneously reduced particles. The curves show the particle distribution of silica before ultrasound (green curve) and after ultrasonic dispersion (red curve).

Scale-Up of Ultrasonic Homogenizing Processes

When scaling up from a laboratory ultrasonic homogenizer to a pilot ultrasonicator, and from a pilot system to a full-scale production ultrasonic homogenizer, the scale-up can be applied completely linear! All important process parameters such as amplitude, pressure, temperature and processing time are kept constant, only the surface area of the ultrasonic probe and the ultrasonicator as energetic agitator of the probe are scaled to larger, more powerful units. The linear scalability of ultrasonic homogenization processes allows to obtain in large production the same high-quality results as in lab and pilot settings.

Find the Most Suitable Ultrasonic Homogenizer for Your Process!

Hielscher Ultrasonics is you long-time experienced partner for ultrasonic homogenizers. All Hielscher ultrasonicators are designed, manufactured and tested in our headquarter in Germany before we ship them to our customers worldwide. Hielscher ultrasonic homogenizers are high-quality devices charcterized by constant high-performance, reliability, robustness, and user-friendliness. Technical sophistication of the ultrasonic homogenization technology give the users of Hielscher equipment competitive advantages, which make them to the market-leader in their industry. With the broad product range from lab and bench-top homogenizers, pilot systems and full-industrial ultrasonic homogenizers for commercial productions, Hielscher has the ideal ultrasonic mixing system for your requirements. The manifold accessories allow for the ideal ultrasonic homogenizer setup – matching individual needs.
Tell us your process requirements and specifications – we will gladly recommend you the most suitable and efficient ultrasonic homogenizer for your application!

High-Efficiency with Ultrasonic Homogenizers

Due to extraordinary process efficiency, reasonable investment costs, very high energy-efficiency and low labour and maintenance costs, Hielscher ultrasonic homogenizers outcompete conventional homogenizing techniques and achieves a fast RoI (Return on Investment). Often, an ultrasonic homogenizer is amortized within a few months.

High-Power Ultrasound for Industrial Homogenization

Ultrasonic homogenizer with reactor for inline processing.The amplitude is the most important process parameter in ultrasound-driven homogenization processes. All Hielscher ultrasonicators allow the precise control over the amplitude. Depending on the process target, a lower amplitude can be set for milder processing conditions or a high amplitude is chosen for more destructive dispersion results. Hielscher Ultrasonics’ industrial ultrasonic processors can deliver very high amplitudes. Amplitudes of up to 200µm can be easily continuously run in 24/7 operation. For even higher amplitudes, customized ultrasonic sonotrodes are available.

Low Maintenance Requirements for Ultrasonic Homogenizers

Ultrasonic homogenizers are not only easy to clean since the sonotrode and reactor are the only components which are wet parts and get in contact with the processed material. Sonotrode (also known as ultrasonic horn or probe) and reactor are made from titanium and stainless steel, respectively and have clean geometries without orifices or dead corners.
The only part which is subject to wear and tear is the ultrasonic probe, which can be replaced without significant disruption to the operation. The sonotrode of a lab ultrasonicator is changed within approx. 10 min, whilst the change of a sonotrode of an industrial ultrasonic homogenizer may take approx. 30-45 min.

Contact us now! Our well-experienced team will be glad to share technical information, process recommendations and/or a quote with you!

The table below gives you an indication of the approximate processing capacity of our ultrasonicators:

Batch Volume Flow Rate Recommended Devices
1 to 500mL 10 to 200mL/min UP100H
10 to 2000mL 20 to 400mL/min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 to 20L 0.2 to 4L/min UIP2000hdT
10 to 100L 2 to 10L/min UIP4000hdT
0.3 to 60L 0.6 to 12L/min UIP6000hdT
n.a. 10 to 100L/min UIP16000
n.a. larger cluster of UIP16000

Contact Us! / Ask Us!

Ask for more information

Please use the form below to request additional information about ultrasonic processors, applications and price. We will be glad to discuss your process with you and to offer you an ultrasonic system meeting your requirements!









Please note our privacy policy.


Ultrasonic high-shear homogenizers are used in lab, bench-top, pilot and industrial processing.

Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonic homogenizers for mixing applications, dispersion, emulsification and extraction on lab, pilot and industrial scale.



Literature / References


High performance ultrasonics! Hielscher's product range covers the full spectrum from the compact lab ultrasonicator over bench-top units to full-industrial ultrasonic systems.

Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonic homogenizers from lab to industrial size.