زيوت التشحيم ذات الوظائف المحسنة للجسيمات النانوية

يمكن أن تستفيد زيوت التشحيم بشكل كبير من إضافات النانو ، والتي تساعد على تقليل الاحتكاك والتآكل. ومع ذلك ، فمن الأهمية بمكان أن تكون المضافات النانوية مثل الجسيمات النانوية أو الطبقات الأحادية الجرافين أو الأغلفة النانوية الأساسية متحدة بشكل موحد وواحد في مواد التشحيم. وقد ثبت أن التشتت بالموجات فوق الصوتية هو طريقة خلط موثوقة وفعالة ، مما يوفر توزيعا متجانسا للجسيمات النانوية ويمنع التجميع.

كيفية تشتيت إضافات النانو في سوائل التشحيم؟ – مع الموجات فوق الصوتية!

يعتبر استخدام إضافات النانو في مواد التشحيم واحدة من أكثر الطرق فعالية لتحسين الخصائص الثلاثية التي تقلل من الاحتكاك والتآكل. هذا التحسن الثلاثي يعزز بشكل كبير الحفاظ على الطاقة ، والحد من الانبعاثات ، وبالتالي تقليل التأثير البيئي.
يكمن التحدي الذي تواجهه مواد التشحيم المحسنة بتقنية النانو في الخلط: تتطلب المواد النانوية مثل الجسيمات النانوية أو السليلوز النانوي البلوري خلاطات مركزة عالية القص تعمل على تشتيت المواد النانوية وفصلها بشكل موحد إلى جزيئات مفردة. من خلال إنشاء حقول فريدة كثيفة الطاقة ، أثبتت الموجات فوق الصوتية باستخدام مجسات الموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الطاقة تفوقها في معالجة المواد النانوية ، وبالتالي فهي الطريقة المعمول بها لتشتت النانو.
يمكن استخدام مشتت بالموجات فوق الصوتية في وضع التدفق الدفعي والمستمر لخلط الحشوات النانوية في متغيرات.أظهر Molseh et al. (2009) أن استقرار تشتت ثلاثة جسيمات نانوية مختلفة (ثاني كبريتيد الموليبدينوم (MoS2) ، وثاني كبريتيد التنغستن (WS2) ، ونتريد البورون السداسي (hBN)) في CIMFLO 20 مع العلاج بالموجات فوق الصوتية كان أفضل من ذلك مع الاهتزاز والتحريك الميكانيكي. نظرا لأن التجويف بالموجات فوق الصوتية يخلق ظروفا فريدة كثيفة الطاقة ، فإن الموجات فوق الصوتية من نوع المسبار تتفوق على تقنيات التشتت التقليدية في الفعالية والكفاءة.
تؤثر خصائص الجسيمات النانوية مثل الحجم والشكل والتركيز على خصائصها القبلية. في حين أن حجم النانو المثالي يختلف في الاعتماد على المادة ، فإن معظم الجسيمات النانوية تظهر أعلى الوظائف في حدود عشرة إلى مائة نانومتر. التركيز المثالي للإضافات النانوية في زيت التشحيم هو في الغالب بين 0.1-5.0 ٪ .
تستخدم الجسيمات النانوية الأكسيد مثل Al2O3 أو CuO أو ZnO على نطاق واسع كجسيمات نانوية لتحسين الأداء الثلاثي لمواد التشحيم. وتشمل الإضافات الأخرى إضافات خالية من الرماد ، والسوائل الأيونية ، واسترات البورات ، والمواد النانوية غير العضوية ، والهياكل النانوية المشتقة من الكربون مثل الأنابيب النانوية الكربونية (CNTs) ، والجرافيت والجرافين. يتم استخدام إضافات محددة من أجل تحسين خصائص محددة من زيوت التشحيم. على سبيل المثال ، تحتوي مواد التشحيم الوقائية على إضافات الضغط الشديد مثل ثاني كبريتيد الموليبدينوم والجرافيت والأوليفينات الكبريتية ومجمعات ديالكيليثيوكاربامات أو إضافات مضادة للتآكل مثل ثلاثي الثوريلفوسفات وديالكيليثيوفوسفات الزنك.
المجانسات من نوع المسبار بالموجات فوق الصوتية هي خلاطات موثوقة وتستخدم لصياغة مواد التشحيم عالية الأداء. تشتهر الصوتنة بأنها متفوقة عندما يتعلق الأمر بإعداد المعلقات ذات الحجم النانوي ، وهي ذات كفاءة عالية للتصنيع الصناعي لزيوت التشحيم.

طلب معلومات





أجهزة الموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الأداء هي أنظمة خلط مضمنة موثوقة وعالية الكفاءة لإنتاج مواد التشحيم النانوية.

نظام خلط بالموجات فوق الصوتية الصناعية لتشتت عالي الإنتاجية للجسيمات النانوية في زيوت التشحيم.

يظهر الفيديو خلط وتشتت الجرافيت بالموجات فوق الصوتية في 250mL من راتنجات الايبوكسي (Toolcraft L) ، باستخدام مجانس بالموجات فوق الصوتية (UP400St, Hielscher Ultrasonics). تصنع Hielscher Ultrasonics معدات لتفريق الجرافيت أو الجرافين أو الأنابيب الكربونية النانوية أو الأسلاك النانوية أو الحشوات في المختبر أو في عمليات الإنتاج ذات الحجم الكبير. التطبيقات النموذجية هي تشتيت المواد النانوية والمواد الدقيقة أثناء عملية التشغيل أو للتشتت إلى راتنجات أو بوليمرات.

مزيج راتنجات الايبوكسي مع حشو الجرافيت باستخدام مجانس بالموجات فوق الصوتية UP400St (400 واط)

تصنيع التشحيم بالموجات فوق الصوتية

  • تحسين الأداء الثلاثي
  • دمج موحد نانو مضاف
  • زيوت التشحيم القائمة على الزيوت النباتية
  • إعداد تريبوفيلم
  • سوائل تشكيل الصفائح المعدنية
  • سوائل نانوية لتحسين فعالية التبريد
  • السوائل الأيونية في التشحيم المائي أو النفطي
  • طرح السوائل
يتم تشتيت أكسيد الألومنيوم في مواد التشحيم باستخدام الطاقة الفائقة الصوتنة.

يؤدي التشتت بالموجات فوق الصوتية لأكسيد الألومنيوم (Al2O3) إلى تقليل كبير في حجم الجسيمات وتشتت موحد.

تصنيع مواد التشحيم مع إضافات النانو

لإنتاج زيوت التشحيم المقواة بالنانو ، تعد المواد النانوية الكافية وتقنية التشتت القوية والفعالة أمرا بالغ الأهمية. بدون تشتت نانوي مستقر وموثوق به على المدى الطويل ، لا يمكن تصنيع مواد تشحيم عالية الأداء.
الخلط والتشتت بالموجات فوق الصوتية هو طريقة راسخة لإنتاج مواد التشحيم عالية الأداء. يتم تعزيز الزيت الأساسي لمواد التشحيم بإضافات مثل المواد النانوية والبوليمرات ومثبطات التآكل ومضادات الأكسدة وغيرها من الركام الدقيق. قوى القص بالموجات فوق الصوتية ذات كفاءة عالية في توفير توزيع حجم الجسيمات دقيقة جدا. القوى فوق الصوتية (سونوميكانيكية) قادرة على طحن حتى الجسيمات الأولية ويتم تطبيقها لتفعيل الجسيمات ، بحيث توفر الجسيمات النانوية الناتجة خصائص متفوقة (مثل تعديل السطح ، NPs الأساسية ، NPs المنشطة).
خلاطات القص العالي بالموجات فوق الصوتية يمكن أن تساعد بشكل كبير في تصنيع مواد التشحيم عالية الأداء بكفاءة!

التشتت بالموجات فوق الصوتية فعال للغاية لتوزيع المضافات النانوية مثل الجسيمات النانوية والعوامل المضادة للتآكل والمواد المضافة الواقية المضادة للتآكل في زيوت التشحيم.

مزيج الزيت مع الزنك ديالكيليثيوفوسفات (ZDDP) وجسيمات PTFE النانوية المعدلة على السطح (PHGM) بعد التشتت بالموجات فوق الصوتية.
(دراسة وصورة: شارما وآخرون، 2017)

طلب معلومات





إضافات نانوية جديدة في زيوت التشحيم

تم تطوير إضافات جديدة بحجم النانو لزيادة تحسين وظائف وأداء زيوت التشحيم والشحوم. على سبيل المثال ، بلورات السليلوز النانوية (CNCs) هي أبحاث واختبارها لصياغة مواد التشحيم الخضراء. أظهر زاكاني وآخرون (2022) أن – بالمقارنة مع تعليق التشحيم غير الصوتي – يمكن أن تقلل زيوت التشحيم CNC الصوتية من COF (معامل الاحتكاك) وتتآكل بنسبة 25 و 30٪ تقريبا على التوالي. تشير نتائج هذه الدراسة إلى أن معالجة الموجات فوق الصوتية يمكن أن تحسن بشكل كبير من أداء التشحيم للمعلقات المائية CNC.

مشتتات بالموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الأداء لتصنيع زيوت التشحيم

عندما يتم استخدام إضافات النانو في عمليات التصنيع الصناعية مثل إنتاج زيوت التشحيم ، من الأهمية بمكان أن يتم خلط المساحيق الجافة (أي المواد النانوية) بشكل متجانس في مرحلة سائلة (زيت التشحيم). يتطلب تشتت الجسيمات النانوية تقنية خلط موثوقة وفعالة ، والتي تطبق طاقة كافية لكسر التكتلات من أجل إطلاق العنان لصفات الجسيمات النانوية. تعرف الموجات فوق الصوتية بأنها مشتتات قوية وموثوقة ، وبالتالي تستخدم لإزالة التكتل وتوزيع مواد مختلفة مثل أكسيد الألومنيوم والأنابيب النانوية والجرافين والمعادن والعديد من المواد الأخرى بشكل متجانس في مرحلة سائلة مثل الزيوت المعدنية أو الاصطناعية أو النباتية. Hielscher الموجات فوق الصوتية تصميم وتصنيع وتوزيع مشتتات الموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الأداء لأي نوع من تطبيقات التجانس وإزالة التكتل.
اتصل بنا الآن لمعرفة المزيد عن تشتت الموجات فوق الصوتية من المضافات النانوية في مواد التشحيم!

الجدول أدناه يعطيك مؤشرا على قدرة المعالجة التقريبية لultrasonicators لدينا:

دفعة حجم معدل المد و الجزر الأجهزة الموصى بها
1 إلى 500ML 10 إلى 200ML / دقيقة UP100H
10 إلى 2000ML 20 إلى 400ML / دقيقة Uf200 ः ر، UP400St
00.1 إلى 20L 00.2 إلى 4L / دقيقة UIP2000hdT
10 إلى 100L 2 إلى 10L / دقيقة UIP4000hdT
15 إلى 150 لتر 3 إلى 15 لتر/دقيقة UIP6000hdT
زمالة المدمنين المجهولين 10 إلى 100L / دقيقة UIP16000
زمالة المدمنين المجهولين أكبر مجموعة من UIP16000

اتصل بنا! / اسألنا!

اطلب المزيد من المعلومات

يرجى استخدام النموذج أدناه لطلب معلومات إضافية حول المعالجات بالموجات فوق الصوتية والتطبيقات والسعر. سنكون سعداء لمناقشة العملية الخاصة بك معك ونقدم لكم نظام الموجات فوق الصوتية تلبية الاحتياجات الخاصة بك!









يرجى ملاحظة لدينا سياسة الخصوصية.


وتستخدم الموجات فوق الصوتية عالية القص المتجانسات في المختبر، مقاعد البدلاء أعلى، التجريبية والصناعية المعالجة.

Hielscher الفوق صوتيات بتصنيع عالية الأداء المجانسة بالموجات فوق الصوتية لخلط التطبيقات، تشتت، استحلاب واستخراج على المختبر، والطيارية ومقياس الصناعية.



يظهر زيت التشحيم النانوي PTFE المشتت بالموجات فوق الصوتية استقرارا جيدا بعد معالجة الصوتنة.

زيوت التشحيم النانوية PTFE بعد 7 أيام من التحضير (A: الزيت الأساسي ، B: PTFE نانو التشحيم مع 1 ساعة ultrasonication ، C: PTFE نانو زيوت التشحيم مع 30 دقيقة ultrasonication).
(دراسة وصورة: © كومار وآخرون، 2013)

تنتج الموجات فوق الصوتية جسيمات نانوية من الألومنيوم موزعة بشكل موحد ومستقرة للغاية في زيوت التشحيم.

تأثير الموجات فوق الصوتية على استقرار تشتت Al2O3 في مواد التشحيم.
(دراسة ورسم: © شريف وآخرون، 2017)

حقائق تستحق العلم

ما هي مواد التشحيم؟

الاستخدام الرئيسي لمواد التشحيم أو زيوت التشحيم هو تقليل الاحتكاك والتآكل من التلامس الميكانيكي وكذلك الحرارة. اعتمادا على استخدامها وتكوينها ، تنقسم مواد التشحيم إلى زيوت المحركات وسوائل ناقل الحركة والسوائل الهيدروليكية وزيوت التروس ومواد التشحيم الصناعية.
لذلك ، تستخدم مواد التشحيم على نطاق واسع في السيارات وكذلك في الآلات الصناعية. لتوفير تزييت جيد ، تحتوي زيوت التشحيم عادة على 90٪ من الزيت الأساسي (معظمها من الكسور البترولية ، أي الزيوت المعدنية) وأقل من 10٪ من المواد المضافة. عندما يتم تجنب الزيوت المعدنية ، يمكن استخدام الزيوت النباتية أو السوائل الاصطناعية مثل البولي أوليفينات المهدرجة والإسترات والسيليكون ومركبات الكربون الفلورية وغيرها الكثير كزيوت أساسية بديلة. الاستخدام الرئيسي لمواد التشحيم هو تقليل الاحتكاك والتآكل من التلامس الميكانيكي وكذلك لخفض الحرارة الاحتكاكية وفقدان الطاقة. لذلك ، تستخدم مواد التشحيم على نطاق واسع في السيارات وكذلك في الآلات الصناعية.
المواد المضادة للأكسدة مثل مضادات الأكسدة الأولية الأمينية والفينولية والأحماض الطبيعية وتحلل البيروكسيد والبيرازين تطيل دورة حياة مواد التشحيم عن طريق زيادة مقاومة الأكسدة. وبالتالي يتم حماية الزيت الأساسي من التدهور الحراري حيث يحدث انهيار الأكسدة الحرارية في شكل منخفض ومتأخر.

أنواع زيوت التشحيم

مواد التشحيم السائلة: تعتمد مواد التشحيم السائلة بشكل عام على نوع واحد من الزيوت الأساسية. إلى هذا الزيت الأساسي غالبا ما تضاف مواد ofter من أجل تحسين الوظائف والأداء. تشمل الإضافات النموذجية على سبيل المثال الماء والزيوت المعدنية واللانولين والزيوت النباتية أو الطبيعية والمواد المضافة النانوية وما إلى ذلك.
غالبية مواد التشحيم عبارة عن سوائل ، ويمكن تصنيفها وفقا لأصلها إلى مجموعتين:

  1. الزيوت المعدنية: الزيوت المعدنية هي زيوت التشحيم المكررة من النفط الخام.
  2. الزيوت الاصطناعية: الزيوت الاصطناعية هي زيوت تشحيم يتم تصنيعها باستخدام مركبات يتم تعديلها أو تصنيعها بشكل مصطنع من البترول المعدل.

تشحيم الشحوم هو مادة تشحيم صلبة أو شبه صلبة تتكون من مواد تشحيم سائلة ، والتي يتم سماكتها عن طريق تشتيت عوامل السماكة فيها. من أجل إنتاج شحوم التشحيم ، يتم استخدام زيوت التشحيم كزيوت أساسية وهي المكون الرئيسي. تحتوي شحوم التشحيم على حوالي 70٪ إلى 80٪ من زيت التشحيم.

مواد التشحيم المخترقة و زيوت التشحيم الجافة هي أنواع أخرى ، والتي يتم تطبيقها في الغالب على التطبيقات المتخصصة.

تم دمج أنواع عديدة من الجسيمات النانوية بنجاح في مواد التشحيم باستخدام مشتتات الموجات فوق الصوتية.

يمكن خلط إضافات النانو كما هو موضح أعلاه بنجاح في مواد التشحيم باستخدام مشتتات بالموجات فوق الصوتية.


 

الأدب / المراجع


الفوق صوتيات عالية الأداء! تغطي مجموعة منتجات Hielscher الطيف الكامل من المعمل المدمج فوق الصوتيات على وحدات أعلى مقاعد البدلاء إلى أنظمة الموجات فوق الصوتية الصناعية الكاملة.

Hielscher الفوق صوتيات بتصنيع عالية الأداء المجانسة بالموجات فوق الصوتية من مختبر إلى حجم الصناعية.

Lubricants with Nanoparticle-Improved Functionalities

Lubricating oils can greatly benefit from nano-additives, which help to reduce friction and wear. It is however crucial, that nano-additives such as nanoparticles, graphene monolayers or core-shell nanospheres are uniformly and single-dispersed in the lubricant. Ultrasonic dispersion has been proven as reliable and efficient mixing method, providing homogeneous nanoparticle distribution and preventing aggregation.

How to Disperse Nano-Additives in Lubricating Fluids? – With Ultrasonics!

Using nano-additives in lubricants is considered as one of the most effective methods to improve tribological characteristics reducing friction and wear. Such tribological improvement greatly enhances energy conservation, emission reduction, thereby lowering environmental impact.
The challenge of nano-improved lubricants lies in the mixing: Nanomaterials such as nanoparticles or crystalline nano cellulose require focused high-shear mixers that disperse and disentangle the nano-materials uniformly into single particles. Creating unique energy-dense fields, ultrasonication using high-power ultrasound probes has been proven superiority in nanomaterial processing and is thereby the established method for nano-dispersions.
Ultrasonic disperser can be used in batch and continuous flow mode for mixing nanofillers into varishes.Molseh et al. (2009) showed that the dispersion stability of three different nanoparticles (molybdenum disulfide (MoS2), tungsten disulfide (WS2), and hexagonal boron nitride (hBN)) in CIMFLO 20 with ultrasonic treatment was better than that with mechanical shaking and stirring. As ultrasonic cavitation creates unique energy-dense conditions, probe-type ultrasonication excels conventional dispersion techniques in effectiveness and efficiency.
Nanoparticles characteristics such as size, shape, and concentration are influencing their tribological properties. Whilst ideal nano-size varies in dependence of the material, most nanoparticles show highest functionalities in the range of ten to hundred nanometers. Ideal concentration of nano-additives in lube oil is mostly between 0.1–5.0% .
Oxide nanoparticles such as Al2O3, CuO or ZnO are widely used as nanoparticles improving the tribological performance of lubricants. Other additives include ashless additives, ionic liquids, borate esters, inorganic nanomaterials, carbon-derived nanostructures like carbon nanotubes (CNTs), graphite and graphene. Specific additives are used in order to improve specific properties of lube oils. For instance, wear preventative lubricants contain extreme pressure additives such as molybdenum disulfide, graphite, sulfurized olefins and dialkyldithiocarbamate complexes or antiwear additives such as triarylphosphates and zinc dialkyldithiophosphate.
Ultrasonic probe-type homogenizers are reliable mixers and are used for the formulation of high-performance lubricants. Renown as superior when it comes to the preparation of nano-sized suspensions, sonication is highly efficient for the industrial manufacturing of lube oils.

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


High-performance ultrasonicators are reliable and highly efficient inline mixing systems for the production of nano-lubricants.

Industrial ultrasonic mixing system for the high-throughput dispersion of nanoparticles into lubricating oils.

The video shows the ultrasonic mixing and dispersing of Graphite in 250mL of Epoxy Resin (Toolcraft L), using an ultrasonic homogenizer (UP400St, Hielscher Ultrasonics). Hielscher Ultrasonics makes equipment to disperse graphite, graphene, carbon-nanotubes, nanowires or fillers in the lab or in high volume production processes. Typical applications are the dispersing nano materials and micro materials during the functionalization process or for dispersing into resins or polymers.

Mix Epoxy Resin with Graphite Filler using Ultrasonic Homogenizer UP400St (400 Watts)

Ultrasonic Lubrication Manufacturing

  • improved tribological performance
  • uniform nano-additive incorporation
  • vegetable-oil-based lubricants
  • preparation of tribofilm
  • sheet metal forming fluids
  • nanofluids for improved cooling efficacy
  • ionic liquids in aqueous or oil-based lube
  • broaching fluids
Aluminium oxide is dispersed in lubricants using power-ultrasonication.

Ultrasonic dispersion of Aluminium oxide (Al2O3) results in a significant particle size reduction and uniform dispersion.

Manufacturing of Lubricants with Nano-Additives

For the production of nano-reinforced lubricating oils, adequate nano-material and a powerful, efficient dispersion technique are crucial. Without reliable and long-term stable nano-dispersion, there cannot be manufactured a high-performance lubricant.
Ultrasonic mixing and dispersing is an established method for the production of high-performance lubricants. The base oil of lubricants is reinforced with additives such as nanomaterials, polymers, corrosion inhibitors, antioxidants and other fine aggregates. Ultrasonic shear forces are highly efficient in providing a very fine particle size distribution. Ultrasonic (sonomechanical) forces are capable to mill even primary particles and are applied to functionalize particles, so that the resulting nanoparticles offer superior characteristics (e.g. surface modification, core-shell NPs, doped NPs).
Ultrasonic high-shear mixers can greatly help to manufacture high-performance lubricants efficiently!

Ultrasonic dispersing is highly efficient for the distribution of nano-additives such as nanoparticles, anti-corrosion agents and anti-wear protective additives into lubricating oils.

Oil blend with zinc dialkyldithiophosphate (ZDDP) and surface modified PTFE nanoparticles (PHGM) after ultrasonic dispersion.
(Study and picture: Sharma et al., 2017)

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


Novel Nano-Additives in Lubricating Oils

Novel nano-sized additives are developed to further improve functionalities and performance of lubricating oils and greases. For instance, cellulose nano-crystals (CNCs) are researches and tested for the formulation of green lubricants. Zakani et al. (2022) demonstrated that – in comparison to unsonicated lubricating suspensions – sonicated CNC lubricants could decrease COF (coefficient of friction) and wear by almost 25 and 30% respectively. Results of this study suggest that ultrasonication processing can significantly improve lubrication performance of CNC aqueous suspensions.

High-Performance Ultrasonic Dispersers for Lubricant Manufacturing

When nano-addititives are used in industrial manufacturing processes such as the production of lubricating oils, it is crucial that dry powders (i.e., nanomaterials) are homogeneously mixed into a liquid phase (lube oil). Nano-particle dispersion requires a reliable and effective mixing technique, which applies enough energy to break agglomerates in order to unleash the qualities of nano-scale particles. Ultrasonicators are well known as powerful and reliable dispersers, therefore used to deagglomerate and distribute various materials such as aluminium oxide, nanotubes, graphene, minerals and many other materials homogeneously into a liquid phase such as mineral, synthetic or vegetable oils. Hielscher Ultrasonics designs, manufactures and distributes high-performance ultrasonic dispersers for any kind of homogenization and deagglomeration applications.
Contact us now to learn more about ultrasonic dispersion of nano-additives in lubricants!

The table below gives you an indication of the approximate processing capacity of our ultrasonicators:

Batch Volume Flow Rate Recommended Devices
1 to 500mL 10 to 200mL/min UP100H
10 to 2000mL 20 to 400mL/min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 to 20L 0.2 to 4L/min UIP2000hdT
10 to 100L 2 to 10L/min UIP4000hdT
15 to 150L 3 to 15L/min UIP6000hdT
n.a. 10 to 100L/min UIP16000
n.a. larger cluster of UIP16000

Contact Us! / Ask Us!

Ask for more information

Please use the form below to request additional information about ultrasonic processors, applications and price. We will be glad to discuss your process with you and to offer you an ultrasonic system meeting your requirements!









Please note our privacy policy.


Ultrasonic high-shear homogenizers are used in lab, bench-top, pilot and industrial processing.

Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonic homogenizers for mixing applications, dispersion, emulsification and extraction on lab, pilot and industrial scale.



Ultrasonically dispersed PTFE nanolubricant shows good stability after sonication treatment.

PTFE nanolubricants after 7 days of preparation (A: base oil, B: PTFE nanolubricant with 1 hr ultrasonication, C: PTFE nanolubricant with 30 min. ultrasonication).
(Study and picture: © Kumar et al., 2013)

Ultrasonication produces uniformly distributed and highly stable aluminium nanoparticles in lubricating oils.

Effect of ultrasonication on the dispersion stability of Al2O3 in lubricants.
(Study and graphic: © Sharif et al., 2017)

Facts Worth Knowing

What are Lubricants?

The main use of lubricants or lube oils is to reduce friction and wear from mechanical contact as well as heat. Depending on their use and composition, lubricants are divided into engine oils, transmission fluids, hydraulic fluids, gear oils, and industrial lubricants.
Therefore, lubricants are widely used in motor vehicles as well as in industrial machinery. To provide good lubrication, lubricating oils typically contain 90% base oil (mostly petroleum fractions, i.e. mineral oils) and less than 10% additives. When mineral oils are avoided, vegetable oils or synthetic liquids such as hydrogenated polyolefins, esters, silicones, fluorocarbons and many others can used as alternative base oils. The main use of lubricants is to reduce friction and wear from mechanical contact as well as to lower frictional heat and energy losses. Therefore, lubricants are widely used in motor vehicles as well as in industrial machinery.
Antioxidative substances such as aminic andphenolic primary antioxidants, natural acids, peroxide decomposers and pyrazines extend the life cycle of lubricants by increasing the oxidative resistance. Thereby the the base oil is protected against heat degradation as thermo-oxidative breakdown occurs in reduced and delayed form.

Lubricant Types

Liquid lubricants: Liquid lubricants are generally based on one type of base oil. To this base oil often ofter substances are added in order improve functionality and performance. Typical additives include for example, water, mineral oil, lanolin, vegetable or natural oil, nano-additives etc.
The majority of lubricants are liquids, and they may be classified according to their origin into two groups:

  1. Mineral oils: Mineral oils are lubricating oils refined from crude oil.
  2. Synthetic oils: Synthetic oils are lubricating oils that are manufactured using compounds that are artificially modified or synthesised from modified petroleum.

Lubricating grease is a solid or semisolid lubricant which consist in a liquid lubricant, which is thickened by dispersing thickening agents into it. In order to produce lubrication grease, lubricating oils are used as base oils and are the main ingredient. Lubrication grease contains approx. 70% to 80% of lubricating oil.

Penetrating lubricants and dry lubricants are further types, which are applied mostly for niche applications.

Numerous types of nanoparticles have been successfully incorporated into lubricants using ultrasonic dispersers.

Nano-additives as listed exemplary above can be successfully mixed into lubricants using ultrasonic dispersers.


 

Literature / References


High performance ultrasonics! Hielscher's product range covers the full spectrum from the compact lab ultrasonicator over bench-top units to full-industrial ultrasonic systems.

Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonic homogenizers from lab to industrial size.