Formulations d'adhésifs haute performance – Amélioration par dispersion ultrasonique

Les adhésifs haute performance sont composés de systèmes époxy, silicone, polyuréthane, polysulfure ou acrylique contenant diverses (nano)charges et additifs, qui confèrent à l'adhésif des performances particulières telles que la force d'adhérence, la légèreté, la durabilité, la résistance à la chaleur et la durabilité. Un mélange efficace et fiable est nécessaire pour formuler des adhésifs de haute performance. La dispersion et l'émulsification par ultrasons permettent de combiner uniformément divers composants pour obtenir des mélanges d'adhésifs homogènes. La sonication en ligne permet de mélanger même les matériaux très visqueux et les charges nanométriques élevées de manière fiable et efficace pour produire des adhésifs de qualité supérieure.

Forces de cisaillement élevées par ultrasons pour la dispersion des adhésifs haute performance

Les adhésifs haute performance offrent une force d'adhérence extraordinaire, une durabilité et une légèreté. En fonction de l'application finale, des polymères, des copolymères et de multiples additifs sont formulés selon des recettes élaborées.

Ultrasonic milling and dispersing is a highly efficient method for particle size reduction, e.g. magnesium hydride

Le broyage humide et la dispersion par ultrasons sont des méthodes très efficaces pour réduire la taille des particules, par exemple de TiO2 et d'autres nanoparticules.

Demande d'information





Industrial ultrasonic dispersion system with 16kW for continuous inline processing of high-performance adhesives, polymers, coatings, and resins.

MultiSonoReactor avec 4x 4kW pour les applications ultrasoniques de puissance telles que la production d'adhésifs nano-renforcés.

High-performance adhesive and glue production benefits significantly from ultrasonic dispersion. Sonication incorporates nanofillers and additives uniformly into polymer matrices.Les systèmes époxy, silicone, polyuréthane et acrylique pour les adhésifs et les colles sont produits par des formulateurs, qui modifient la base de l'adhésif en ajoutant des tackifiants, des charges minérales (talc, silice, alumine, etc.), des flexibilisants, des réducteurs de viscosité, des colorants, des épaississants, des accélérateurs, des promoteurs d'adhésion, etc. Ces modifications ont plusieurs objectifs, comme l'amélioration des performances et/ou la facilité de traitement ou la réduction des coûts. Les disperseurs ultrasoniques à haut cisaillement sont idéaux pour formuler différents systèmes époxy en ligne et permettent la production flexible d'adhésifs adaptés aux exigences d'applications particulières.

Mélangeurs ultrasoniques à haut cisaillement pour les applications de dispersion et d'émulsion exigeantes

Les processeurs ultrasoniques haute performance fonctionnent comme des mélangeurs à haut cisaillement. Les forces de cisaillement extrêmes sont générées par la cavitation ultrasonique/acoustique et sont idéales pour les applications d'émulsification, de dispersion, de broyage, de désagglomération et d'homogénéisation par lots et en ligne. Les disperseurs en ligne à ultrasons permettent de traiter facilement des concentrations et des viscosités de solides faibles à élevées.

Mélange ultrasonique à haut cisaillement de nanomatériaux dans des adhésifs

Ultrasonic dispersion is a well established technique to disperse nanoparticles and nanotubes in polymers, e.g. in high-performance adhesives. The ultrasonic homogenizer UP400St is a powerful device for the dispersion of nanofillers.Les nanomatériaux tels que les nanotubes de carbone (CNT), les nanoparticules métalliques, la nano-silice, les nano-argiles, les nanofibres et de nombreuses autres particules de taille nanométrique sont utilisés pour produire des polymères nano-renforcés (nanocomposites). Les nanoparticules sont bien connues pour leur capacité à modifier les propriétés mécaniques (par exemple, la rigidité, l'élasticité), les propriétés électriques (par exemple, la conductivité), les propriétés fonctionnelles (par exemple, la perméabilité, la température de transition vitreuse, le module) et les performances de rupture des adhésifs polymères thermodurcis. Les nanomatériaux ne confèrent pas seulement des propriétés spéciales de haute performance telles que la force d'adhérence, la durabilité, la conductivité, l'élasticité ou la résistance à la chaleur ; l'ajout de particules nanostructurées peut également améliorer les propriétés de barrière des polymères.
Les forces de cisaillement élevées de la cavitation acoustique générée par les ultrasons sont bien connues pour leur capacité à désagglomérer et à disperser les nanoparticules et même à briser les particules primaires (c'est-à-dire le broyage par ultrasons). Lorsque ces forces ultrasoniques sont appliquées à des systèmes polymères contenant des nanoparticules et d'autres charges, on obtient une formulation très uniforme. La dispersion par ultrasons est une méthode économe en énergie qui consomme moins d'énergie que les méthodes classiques de mélange par cisaillement, telles que les mélangeurs à lame à fort cisaillement, les mélangeurs à turbine ou les broyeurs.

Avantages des adhésifs formulés par ultrasons

  • Dispersion fiable et efficace
  • Performance globale de mélange supérieure
  • Mélange rapide
  • à haut débit
  • Nano-renforcement
  • dégazage
  • Augmentation de la force d'adhérence
  • Capacité à traiter des viscosités élevées
  • batch et en ligne
  • Essais de formulation sans risque
  • échelle linéaire à production
  • a faible consommation

Kaboori et al. (2013) ont démontré que l'ultrasonication est une méthode efficace pour disperser des structures en couches de montmorillonite (MMT) et développer des adhésifs PVA renforcés de MMT. L'ultrasonication s'est avérée fiable et efficace pour disperser la nano-argile dans le PVA à des charges faibles (1% et 2%) et élevées (4%).
L'équipe de recherche a constaté que "la technique ultrasonique est très efficace pour disperser la nano-argile, en particulier à des charges élevées, contrairement au mélangeur à vitesse de cisaillement élevée. Le mélange à grande vitesse ne peut disperser les nano-argiles dans le PVA qu'à faible charge et augmente la force d'adhérence du PVA dans différentes conditions. Le mélange à grande vitesse présente quelques inconvénients : dommages possibles à l'émulsion de PVA (en raison de la forte force de cisaillement utilisée pendant le mélange), coût élevé et forte consommation d'énergie. En revanche, la technique d'ultrasonication a un impact négatif minimal sur l'émulsion de PVA. De plus, la technique d'ultrasonication est économique car le mélange ultrasonique peut avoir lieu avant la production de PVA et la solution contenant les nano-argiles peut être ajoutée au PVA pendant le processus de production. En considérant les résultats obtenus dans cet article et nos travaux précédents et en considérant les avantages de la technique d'ultrasonication par rapport au mélange à grande vitesse, l'ajout de nano-argile au PVA à l'échelle industrielle semble faisable et peut être recommandé aux fabricants de colle à bois." (Kaboori et al., 2013)

Ultrasonic high-shear mixing and dispersion is used to incorporate nano-fillers into polymer matrices, e.g. for high-performance adhesive production

Comparaison de différentes nanocharges dispersées dans le durcisseur (ultrasonication-US) : (a) 0,5 % en poids de nanofibres de carbone (CNF) ; (b) 0,5 % en poids de CNT oxydés.

Étude et photo : Zanghellini et al., 2021

Effets du dégazage par ultrasons dans la production d'adhésifs

Un avantage supplémentaire de la sonication, qui améliore sensiblement les résultats de la formulation, est l'effet de dégazage du traitement ultrasonique. L'agitation mécanique à haute vitesse (par exemple, les mélangeurs à lame à haut cisaillement) produit un grand nombre de bulles de gaz dans le mélange, qui dans certains cas pourraient même être remarquées en raison de la couleur brillante du mélange. Le mélange ultrasonique à haut cisaillement présente l'énorme avantage que la technique de sonication n'incorpore pas de gaz dans la formulation de l'adhésif, mais que les ondes ultrasoniques forcent les bulles de gaz déjà présentes à coalescer et à flotter à la surface du liquide, d'où le gaz peut facilement être éliminé. Ainsi, les ultrasons favorisent la dégazéification et la désaération des liquides et des formulations adhésives. (cp. Shadlou et al., 2014)

Ultrasonateur UP200St (200W) dispersant le noir de carbone dans l'eau en utilisant 1% en poids de Tween80 comme agent de surface

Demande d'information





Disperseurs ultrasoniques haute performance pour les formulations d'adhésifs industriels

Hielscher Ultrasonics conçoit, fabrique et distribue des disperseurs à ultrasons haute performance pour des applications lourdes telles que la fabrication d'adhésifs haute performance, de résines hautement chargées et de nanocomposites. Les ultrasons Hielscher sont utilisés dans le monde entier pour disperser des nanomatériaux dans des polymères, des résines, des revêtements et d'autres matériaux de haute performance.
Ultrasonic industrial disperser for the high-shear mixing of nanofillers in adhesive formulations.Les disperseurs à ultrasons Hielscher peuvent être alimentés par divers flux d'alimentation ajoutant divers matériaux dans des conditions d'écoulement contrôlées dans la zone de mélange par cavitation. Les disperseurs à ultrasons sont fiables et efficaces pour traiter des viscosités faibles à élevées. En fonction des matières premières et de l'objectif de réduction de la taille, l'intensité des ultrasons peut être ajustée avec précision.
Afin de traiter des pâtes polymères visqueuses, des nanomatériaux et des concentrations solides élevées, le disperseur à ultrasons doit être capable de produire en permanence des amplitudes élevées. Hielscher Ultrasons’ Les processeurs ultrasoniques industriels peuvent fournir des amplitudes très élevées en fonctionnement continu à pleine charge. Des amplitudes allant jusqu'à 200µm peuvent être facilement utilisées en fonctionnement 24/7. La possibilité de faire fonctionner un disperseur à ultrasons à des amplitudes élevées et de régler l'amplitude avec précision est nécessaire pour adapter les conditions du processus ultrasonique à la formulation d'adhésifs haute performance, de mélanges de polymères nano-renforcés et de nanocomposites.
Outre l'amplitude des ultrasons, la pression est un autre paramètre très important du processus. Sous des pressions élevées, l'intensité de la cavitation ultrasonique et de ses forces de cisaillement est intensifiée. Les réacteurs à ultrasons de Hielscher peuvent être pressurisés, ce qui permet d'obtenir des résultats de sonication plus intenses.
La surveillance du processus et l'enregistrement des données sont importants pour la normalisation continue du processus et la qualité du produit. Des capteurs de pression et de température enfichables se branchent sur le générateur d'ultrasons pour surveiller et contrôler le processus de dispersion par ultrasons. Tous les paramètres de traitement importants tels que l'énergie ultrasonore (nette + totale), la température, la pression et le temps sont automatiquement protocolés et stockés sur une carte SD intégrée. En accédant aux données du processus enregistrées automatiquement, vous pouvez revoir les cycles de sonication précédents et évaluer les résultats du processus.
Une autre caractéristique conviviale est la télécommande par navigateur de nos systèmes numériques à ultrasons. Grâce à la télécommande par navigateur, vous pouvez démarrer, arrêter, régler et surveiller votre processeur à ultrasons à distance, où que vous soyez.
Contactez-nous dès maintenant pour en savoir plus sur nos disperseurs ultrasoniques haute performance et leurs applications dans la production d'adhésifs et de revêtements haute performance !
Le tableau ci-dessous vous donne une indication de la capacité de traitement approximative de nos ultrasonicators:

lot Volume Débit Appareils recommandés
1 à 500 ml 10 à 200 ml / min UP100H
10 à 2000mL 20 à 400 ml / min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 20L 00,2 à 4L / min UIP2000hdT
10 à 100l 2 à 10 L / min UIP4000hdT
n / a. 10 à 100 litres / min UIP16000
n / a. plus grand groupe de UIP16000

Contactez nous! / Demandez nous!

Demander plus d'informations

Veuillez utiliser le formulaire ci-dessous pour demander des informations supplémentaires sur les processeurs à ultrasons, les applications et le prix. Nous serons heureux de discuter avec vous de votre processus et de vous proposer un système à ultrasons répondant à vos besoins !









Veuillez prendre note de notre Politique de confidentialité.


Ultrasonic high-shear homogenizers are used in lab, bench-top, pilot and industrial processing.

Hielscher Ultrasonics fabrique des homogénéisateurs ultrasoniques à haute performance pour des applications de mélange, de dispersion, d'émulsification et d'extraction à l'échelle du laboratoire, du pilote et de l'industrie.



Littérature / Références

Qu'il faut savoir

Adhésifs et colles de haute performance

Les adhésifs, colles et super-colles hautes performances sont utilisés dans de nombreuses industries. Un avantage important des adhésifs haute performance est leur extraordinaire force d'adhérence et leur légèreté. Les adhésifs haute performance sont largement utilisés dans la construction, le secteur automobile et aérospatial, la fabrication d'équipements médicaux, de produits de base et de chaussures, entre autres.
Les polymères sont le matériau de base utilisé dans les adhésifs. Les polymères couramment utilisés comprennent les polyesters, les copolyesters, les élastomères de copolyamide, les polyols et le polyuréthane (PU).
Pour chaque industrie et application, des adhésifs spéciaux aux propriétés adaptées sont disponibles. Par exemple, les systèmes d'adhésifs de stratification à base d'eau sont souvent utilisés pour les emballages alimentaires, tandis que les adhésifs haute performance à base de polyuréthane thermoplastique sont largement appliqués dans les chaussures. Sur la base de la technologie de formulation, les adhésifs haute performance peuvent être divisés en quatre segments principaux : à base de solvant, à base d'eau, thermofusible et à durcissement UV. La dispersion et l'émulsification par ultrasons sont utilisées dans la production de tous ces types d'adhésifs haute performance.


High performance ultrasonics! Hielscher's product range covers the full spectrum from the compact lab ultrasonicator over bench-top units to full-industrial ultrasonic systems.

Hielscher Ultrasonics fabrique des homogénéisateurs à ultrasons de haute performance à partir d'une technologie de pointe. laboratoires à taille industrielle.

High-Performance Adhesive Formulations – Improved by Ultrasonic Dispersion

High-performance adhesives are composed from epoxy, silicone, polyurethane, polysulfide, or acrylic systems containing various (nano-)fillers and additives, which give the adhesive special performance such as bond strength, light weight, durability, heat-resistance, and sustainability. Efficient and reliable mixing is required to formulate high-performance adhesives. Ultrasonic dispersion and emulsification is used combine various components uniformly into homogeneous adhesive blends. Inline sonication blends even high viscous materials and high nano-filler loadings reliably and effective producing superior adhesives.

Ultrasonic High-Shear Forces for the Dispersion of High-Performance Adhesives

High-performance adhesives offer extraordinary bonding strength, durability and light weightiness. Depending on the final application, polymers, copolymers and multiple additives are formulated following elaborated recipes.

Ultrasonic milling and dispersing is a highly efficient method for particle size reduction, e.g. magnesium hydride

Ultrasonic wet-milling and dispersing is a highly efficient method for particle size reduction, e.g. of TiO2 and other nanoparticles

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


Industrial ultrasonic dispersion system with 16kW for continuous inline processing of high-performance adhesives, polymers, coatings, and resins.

MultiSonoReactor with 4x 4kW for ultrasonic power applications such as the production of nano-reinforced adhesives.

High-performance adhesive and glue production benefits significantly from ultrasonic dispersion. Sonication incorporates nanofillers and additives uniformly into polymer matrices.Epoxy, silicone, polyurethane and acrylic systems for adhesives and glues are produced by formulators, which modify the adhesive base by adding tackifiers, mineral fillers (talc, silica, alumina, etc.), flexibilizers, viscosity reducers, colorants, thickeners, accelerators, adhesion promoters, etc. These modifications serve several purposes such as to improve performance and/or processing convenience or to reduce costs. Ultrasonic high-shear disperser are ideal to formulate different epoxy systems inline and allow for the flexible production of adhesives tailored to the requirements of particular applications.

Ultrasonic High-Shear Mixers for Demanding Dispersion and Emulsion Applications

High-performance ultrasonic processors work like high-shear mixer. The extreme high-shear forces are generated by ultrasonic / acoustic cavitation and are ideal for batch and inline emulsification, dispersion, milling, deagglomeration and homogenization applications. Low to high solid concentrations and viscosities can be easily processed using ultrasonic inline dispersers.

Ultrasonic High-Shear Mixing of Nanomaterials in Adhesives

Ultrasonic dispersion is a well established technique to disperse nanoparticles and nanotubes in polymers, e.g. in high-performance adhesives. The ultrasonic homogenizer UP400St is a powerful device for the dispersion of nanofillers.Nanomaterials such as carbon nanotubes (CNTs), metallic nanoparticles, nano-silica, nano-clays, nanofibres, and many other nano-sized particles are used in order to produce nanoreinforced polymers (nanocomposites). Nanoparticles are well known for their ability to alter mechanical properties (e.g., stiffness, elasticity), electrical properties (e.g., conductivity), functional properties (e.g., permeability, glass transition temperature, modulus), and fracture performance of thermoset polymer adhesives. Not only give nanomaterials special high-performance properties such as bond strength, durability, conduciveness, elasticity or heat-resistance; the addition of nano-structured particles can improve the barrier properties of polymers, too.
The high-shear forces of ultrasonically generated acoustic cavitation are well known for their capability to deagglomerate and disperse nano-particles and even to break primary particles (i.e., ultrasonic milling). When these ultrasonic forces are applied to polymeric systems containing nanoparticles and other fillers, a very uniform formulation is obtained. Ultrasonic dispersion is an energy-efficient method showing less energy consumption when compared to conventional shear-mixing methods such as high-shear blade mixers, impeller mixers, or mills.

Advantages of Ultrasonically Formulated Adhesives

  • Reliable and efficient dispersion
  • Superior overall mixing performance
  • Rapid blending
  • High-throughput
  • Nano-reinforcement
  • Degasification
  • Increased bond strength
  • Easily capable to process high viscosities
  • Batch and in-line
  • Risk-free formulation testing
  • Linear scale-up
  • Energy-efficient

Kaboori et al. (2013) demonstrated that ultrasonication is an efficacious method to disperse layered structures of montmorillonite (MMT) and develop MMT-reinforced PVA adhesives. Ultrasonication was shown as reliable and efficient in dispersing nanoclay in PVA at low (1% and 2%) and high (4%) loadings.
The research team found that the “ultrasonic technique is very efficient in dispersing nanoclay especially at high loadings, contrary to the high shear speed mixer. High-speed mixing could disperse nanoclay in the PVA only at low loadings and increased bond strength of PVA in different conditions. High-speed mixing has some disadvantages: possible damage to PVA emulsion (because of strong shear force used during the mixing), high cost, and high energy consumption. By contrast, ultrasonication technique has minimum negative impact on PVA emulsion. Moreover, ultrasonication technique is economical as ultrasonic mixing could take place before production of PVA and the solution containing nanoclay can be added to PVA during the production process. By considering the results obtained from this paper and our previous work and by considering the advantages of ultrasonication technique over high-speed mixing, adding nanoclay to PVA in an industrial scale seems feasible and can be recommended to wood adhesive manufacturers.” (Kaboori et al., 2013)

Ultrasonic high-shear mixing and dispersion is used to incorporate nano-fillers into polymer matrices, e.g. for high-performance adhesive production

Comparison of different nanofillers dispersed in hardener (ultrasonication—US): (a) 0.5 wt% carbon nanofiber (CNF); (b) 0.5 wt% CNT oxidized

Study and picture: Zanghellini et al., 2021

Ultrasonic Degassing Effects in Adhesive Production

An additional advantage of sonication, which improves the formulation results significantly, is the degasification effect of the ultrasonic treatment. High speed mechanical stirring (e.g., high-shear blade mixers) produces a large number of gas bubbles in the mixture, which in some cases could even noticed due to the brightened color of the mixture. Ultrasonic high-shear mixing has the huge advantge that the sonication technique does not incorporate gases into the adhesive formulation, instead the ultrasound waves force already present gas bubbles to coalesce and to float to the liquid surface, from where the gas can easily be removed. Thereby, ultrasonication promotes the degasification and de-aeration of liquids and adhesive formulations. (cp. Shadlou et al., 2014)

Ultrasonicator UP200St (200W) dispersing carbon black in water using 1%wt Tween80 as surfactant

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


High-Performance Ultrasonic Dispersers for Industrial Adhesive Formulations

Hielscher Ultrasonics designs, manufactures and distributes high-performance ultrasonic dispersers for heavy-duty applications such as the manufacturing of high-performance adhesives, highly filled resins and nanocomposites. Hielscher ultrasonicators are used world-wide for dispersing nano-materials into polymers, resins, coatings, and other high-performance materials.
Ultrasonic industrial disperser for the high-shear mixing of nanofillers in adhesive formulations.Hielscher ultrasonic dispersers can be fed via various feeding streams adding various materials under controlled flow conditions into the cavitational mixing zone. Ultrasonic dispersers are reliable and efficient in processing low to high viscosities. Depending on the raw materials and size reduction target, ultrasonic intensity can be precisely adjusted.
In order to process viscous polymer pastes, nano-materials and high solid concentrations, the ultrasonic disperser must be capable to produce continuously high amplitudes. Hielscher Ultrasonics’ industrial ultrasonic processors can deliver very high amplitudes in continuous operation under full load. Amplitudes of up to 200µm can be easily run in 24/7 operation. The option to operate an ultrasonic disperser at high amplitudes and to adjust the amplitude precisely is necessary to adapt the ultrasonic process conditions to the formulation of high-performance adhesives, nano-reinforced polymer mixtures and nanocomposites.
Besides the ultrasonic amplitude, pressure is another very important process parameter. Under elevated pressures, the intensity of ultrasonic cavitation and its shear forces is intensified. Hielscher’s ultrasonic reactors can be pressurized thereby obtaining intensified sonication results.
Process monitoring and data recording are important for continuous process standardization and product quality. Pluggable pressure and temperature sensors wire to the ultrasonic generator for monitoring and controlling the ultrasonic dispersion process. All important processing parameters such as ultrasonic energy (net + total), temperature, pressure and time are automatically protocolled and stored onto a built-in SD-card. By accessing the automatically recorded process data, you can revise previous sonication runs and evaluate the process results.
Another user-friendly feature is the browser remote control of our digital ultrasonic systems. Via remote browser control you can start, stop, adjust and monitor your ultrasonic processor remotely from anywhere.
Contact us now to learn more about our high-performance ultrasonic dispersers and their applications in the production of high-performance adhesives and coatings!
The table below gives you an indication of the approximate processing capacity of our ultrasonicators:

Batch Volume Flow Rate Recommended Devices
1 to 500mL 10 to 200mL/min UP100H
10 to 2000mL 20 to 400mL/min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 to 20L 0.2 to 4L/min UIP2000hdT
10 to 100L 2 to 10L/min UIP4000hdT
n.a. 10 to 100L/min UIP16000
n.a. larger cluster of UIP16000

Contact Us! / Ask Us!

Ask for more information

Please use the form below to request additional information about ultrasonic processors, applications and price. We will be glad to discuss your process with you and to offer you an ultrasonic system meeting your requirements!









Please note our privacy policy.


Ultrasonic high-shear homogenizers are used in lab, bench-top, pilot and industrial processing.

Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonic homogenizers for mixing applications, dispersion, emulsification and extraction on lab, pilot and industrial scale.



Literature / References

Facts Worth Knowing

High-Performance Adhesives and Glues

High-performance adhesives, glues and super-glues are used in manifold industries. An important advantage of high-performance adhesives is their extraordinary bonding strength and light weight. High-performance adhesives are widely used in construction, the automotive and aerospace sector, the manufacturing of medical equipment, commodity products, and footwear amongst many other goods.
Polymers are the base material used in adhesives. Commonly used polymers include polyesters, copolyester, copolyamide elastomers, polyols, and polyurethane (PU).
For each industry and application, special adhesives with adapted properties are available. For instance, water-based laminating adhesive systems are often used for food packaging, whilst thermoplastic polyurethane-based high-performance adhesives are widely applied in footwear. Based on the formulation technology, the high-performance adhesives can be divided into the four major segments of solvent-based, water-based, hot melt, and UV-curable. Ultrasonic dispersion and emulsification are used in the production of all these for high-performance adhesive types.


High performance ultrasonics! Hielscher's product range covers the full spectrum from the compact lab ultrasonicator over bench-top units to full-industrial ultrasonic systems.

Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonic homogenizers from lab to industrial size.