Hielscher – Ultraschall-Technologie

Pasteurization & Homogenization of Liquid Egg

  • Flüssig-Ei (Vollei, Eiweiß, Eigelb) muss pasteurisiert werden die Lebensmittelsicherheit zu gewährleisten.
  • Ultraschall-Homogenisatoren liefern intensive Kavitation und hohe Scherkräfte Mikroben zu töten.
  • Besonders wenn sie mit erhöhten Temperaturen kombiniert (~ 50 ° C) und Druck (Mano-thermosonication), Leistungsultraschall liefert außergewöhnliche Pasteurisierung Ergebnisse.
  • Ultraschall-Lebensmittelverarbeitungssysteme werden in großem Umfang zu erfüllen Homogenisierung, Pasteurisierung und Sterilisation Anwendungen eingesetzt.

 

Ultraschall-Pasteurisierung

Flüssiges Vollei, Eiweiß, Eigelb und andere gemischte Eiprodukte pasteurisiert, um sicherzustellen, dass keine Bakterien / Erreger im Produkt sind. Mikrobielle Inaktivierung durch Pasteurisierung ist ein sehr wichtiger Prozessschritt Verderb und durch Lebensmittel übertragbaren Krankheit zu verhindern. Herkömmliche Pasteurisierung wird durch eine Wärmebehandlung des flüssigen Eiprodukten erreicht. Allerdings ist eine solche Wärmebehandlung betrifft Proteine, Textur und Ei-Funktionalitäten.
Ultraschall-Pasteurisierung ist eine sehr effektive und effiziente Pasteurisierung Alternative.
Flüssige Eiprodukte können effizient durch Mano-Thermosonisation (MTS) pasteurisiert werden, wobei die Ultraschall-Pasteurisierung mit einer Wärmebehandlung (ca. 50°C) und einem erhöhten Druck (ca. 1 barg) kombiniert wird. Unter diesen synergetischen Verarbeitungsbedingungen kann eine zuverlässige Bakterienreduktion von 5log erreicht werden. Die Manothermosondierung verbessert die Abtötungsrate von Mikroben signifikant: Erstens wird die Empfindlichkeit der meisten Mikroorganismen gegenüber der Ultraschallbehandlung durch Temperaturen über 50°C deutlich erhöht. Zweitens steigt die Intensität und Zerstörungskraft der Ultraschallkavitation unter erhöhtem Druck.
Die synergetische Effekte in manothermosonic Pasteurisierung zeichnet sich durch, was zu einem flüssigen Eiprodukt mit verbesserter Qualität der Pasteurisierung von Eiern herkömmlichen Wärme kombiniert. Flüssigei pasteurisiert von Mano-thermosonication zeigt weniger Proteindenaturierung, geringeren Aromaverlust, verbesserte Homogenität und eine deutlich höhere Energieeffizienz.
Hielscher der Ultraschall-Durchflusszellen sorgen für die Passage des flüssigen Eiprodukt direkt durch den hochintensiven Kavitation Zone, um die einheitliche und vollständige Pasteurisierung des flüssigen Eiprodukten zu gewährleisten.

Strom Ultraschall (7x UIP1000hdT) für die Lebensmittelverarbeitung, wie Homogenisierung, Pasteurisierung und Extraktion. (Klicken um zu vergrößern!)

Ultraschallsystem zur Pasteurisierung

Informationen anfordern




Beachten Sie unsere Datenschutzerklärung.


Ultraschall-Emulgierung

Eiklar besteht aus ca. 90% Wasser, Eigelb enthält ca.. 25% Fett. Wasser und Öl / Fett nicht mischbar sind, was bedeutet, dass die Phasen zu trennen neigen. Um ein homogenes, stabiles, flüssiges Vollei Produkt, ein hoch entwickelte Emulgierverfahren zu erhalten ist erforderlich, eine Phasentrennung zu verhindern.
Ultraschall-Kavitation und Scher liefert die erforderliche Energie, um das flüssige Eiprodukt gleichmäßig zu homogenisieren. Powerful Beschallen verhindern Phasentrennung durch die Fettkügelchen zu brechen und Wasser und Fett gleichmäßig, um eine stabile Emulsion zu erhalten, dispergiert wird.
Ultraschall Kavitation Behandlung ist eine überlegene Technik in Nanogröße Emulsionen zu erzeugen, um die mechanische Stabilität zu erhalten!

Vorteile der Ultraschall-Pasteurisierung

  • milde Verfahrensbedingungen
  • Erreger Entfernung
  • verlängerte Haltbarkeit
  • einheitliche Textur
  • bessere Ernährungs- und sensorische Eigenschaften
  • keine Denaturierung
  • keine Koagulation

Mischen mittels Ultraschall

Während der Ultraschall-Homogenisierung und Pasteurisierung, Additive (z.B. Zucker, Salz-, Xanthan Gum etc.) können einheitlich in das flüssige Eiprodukt gemischt werden.
Hielscher des Ultraschall-Homogenisatoren sind auch für die Herstellung von Eierlikör (Milch + Ei-Basis Lauge) verwendet, um mechanische Stabilität und Haltbarkeit zu verbessern.

Ultraschall-Spray-Drying von Eipulver

Flüssigei kann weiter in Ei-Pulver weiterverarbeitet werden, z.B. Volleipulver, Eiweißpulver, Eigelbpulver. Ei Flüssigkeit weist scherentzähende Verhalten. Um den Spritzvorgang dring, Ultraschallviskositätsreduktion ist ein hoch effizientes Verfahren zur Erhöhung der Verfahrenskapazität des Sprühtrockners zu optimieren.
Hier klicken, um mehr über die ultraschallgestützte Sprühtrocknungsverfahren zu lernen!

Ultraschallgeräte für die Nahrungsmittelindustrie

Ultraschall-Lebensmittelverarbeitungssysteme sind bekannt und bewährt für ihre zuverlässigen Ergebnisse in der Homogenisierung, Extraktion, Pasteurisieren und Sterilisieren von Lebensmitteln. Hielscher Industrieultraschallprozessoren erzeugen sehr hohe Amplituden von bis zu 200 um, um die erforderliche Energie für die Pasteurisierung, Sterilisation und Emulgieren Prozesse zu liefern. Natürlich sind unsere Ultraschall-Homogenisatoren sind für den 24/7 Betrieb unter schweren Bedingungen in der Industrie gebaut.
Neben ihrer Robustheit und Zuverlässigkeit erfordern Ultraschall-Prozessoren nur sehr geringe Wartung und sind sehr leicht zu reinigen. Alle Teile des Ultraschall-Homogenisator, der mit dem Lebensmittel in Berührung kommen, sind aus Titan, Edelstahl oder Glas hergestellt und sind autoklavierbar. Da jeder Prozessor seine Ultraschallultraschallreiniger anstelle hat, bieten sie automatisch CIP (cleaning-in-place) und SIP (Sterilisieren-in-place).
Ein kleiner Fußdruck und versability ermöglichen eine hassel freie Integration von Hielscher des ultrasonicators in Fertigungslinien. Nachrüsten in bestehende Anlagen können leicht erreicht werden.
In der folgenden Tabelle finden Sie die ungefähre Verarbeitungskapazität unserer Ultraschallsysteme:

Batch-Volumen Durchfluss Empfohlenes Ultraschallgerät
10 bis 2000ml 20 bis 400ml/min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 bis 20l 0.2 bis 4l/min UIP2000hdT
10 bis 100l 2 bis 10l/min UIP4000
n.a. 10 bis 100l/min UIP16000
n.a. größere Cluster aus UIP16000

Fordern Sie weitere Informationen an!

Bitte nutzen Sie das Formular, um weitere Informationen über unsere Ultraschallgeräte und -prozesse anzufordern. Gerne bieten wir Ihnen ein passendes Ultraschallsystem für Ihre Anwendung an.









Bitte beachten Sie unsere Datenschutzerklärung.


Literatur

  • Lee, D.U .; Hein, V .; Knorr, D. (2003): Effects of Kombinationsbehandlungen von Nisin und hochintensiven Ultraschall mit hohem Druck auf der Inaktivierung von Mikroorganismen in flüssiger Vollei. Innovative Food Science & Aufstrebende Technologien 2003.
  • Nakamura, R .; Zu, R .; Yano, M .; Hayakawa, S. (1988): Erweiterung der Emulgieren Eigenschaften von Protein durch mit Eigelb Lecithin Ultraschallbehandlung. Journal of Agricultural and Food Chemistry 36, 1988. 729-732.
  • Raso, J .; Pagán, R .; Condón, S .; Sala, F. J. (1998): Einfluss von Temperatur und Druck auf die Letalität von Ultraschall. Applied and Environmental Microbiology, 64/2, 1998 465-471.
  • Sargolzaei, J .; Mosavian, M.T.H .; Hassani, A. (2011): Modellierung und Simulation von Hochleistungsultraschallverfahren bei der Herstellung der stabilen Öl-in-Wasser-Emulsion. Journal of Software Engineering und Anwendungen 4, 2011. 259-267.
  • Sonnig.; Yang, H .; Zhong, X .; Wang, W. (2011): Der Ultraschall-unterstützte enzymatischen Abbau von Cholesterin in Eigelb. Innovative Food Science & Emerging Technologies 12/4 2011. 505-508.
  • Suslick, K.S .; Flannigan, D. J. (2008): Innerhalb eines Einstürzen Blase: Sonolumineszenz und die Bedingungen während Cavitation. Annu. Rev. Phys. Chem. 59, 2008. 659-83.


Verknüpfte Forschungsergebnisse

Ultraschall-Emulgierung

Javad Sargolzaei et al. (2011) modifizierten die Anwendung von Hochleistungsultraschall zur Herstellung einer stabilen Öl-in-Wasser-Emulsion. Alle Emulasionsproben wurden mit einem Hielscher Ultraschallprozessor vorbereitet. UP200H. The effect of pH, ionic strength, pectin, Guar gum, lecithin, egg yolk, and xanthan gum as well as the time of sonication, temperature and viscosity of oil-water mixture on the specific surface area and size of droplets, and creaming index of the emulsion samples was investigated. The experimental data were analyzed with Taguchi method and optimum conditions were determined. In addition, an adaptive neuro-fuzzy inference system (ANFIS) was employed to modeling and categorizes the properties of the resulted emulsion. The results showed that increasing sonication time narrowed the range of droplets size distribution. Pectin and xanthan enhanced the stability of emulsion, although they had different impacts on the emulsion stability when used individually or together. Guar gum improved the viscosity of the continuous phase. Emulsions stabilized by egg yolk were found to be stable to droplet flocculation at pH 3 and at relatively low salt concentrations.

Ultraschall Abbau von Cholesterin in Yolk

Sun et al. (2011) entwickelte einen ultraschallunterstützten enzymatischen Prozess von Cholesterin-Abbau in natürlichen Eigelb. Sie zielten für die katalytische Aktivität von Cholesterinoxidase gegen Eigelb Cholesterin mit dem Ziel, eine Cholesterin reduziert Eigelb zu erhalten, ohne die wichtigsten Nährstoffe Zusammensetzung von Eigelb zu beeinflussen. Cholesterinoxidase wurde verwendet, um den Abbau von Cholesterin in Eigelb zu katalysieren. Zuerst wurde für 15 Minuten durch Ultraschall-a 30g Teil des Eigelbs bei vorbehandelte 200W und dann für 10h mit Cholesterinoxidase-Konzentration von 0.6U / g Eigelb bei 37 ° C inkubiert. Schließlich wurde der Cholesterinspiegel im Eigelb zu 8,32% seiner ursprünglichen Konzentration verringert, ohne die Qualitätsmerkmale des Eigelbs zu beeinflussen.

Wissenswertes

Was ist Ultraschall Kavitation?

Beschallen schafft Emulsionen durch Hochleistungsultraschall getriebene Schwingungen, die dazu führen, akustische Kavitation. Der Begriff Kavitation beschreibt die Bildung, das Wachstum und implosive Zusammenbruch von Hohlräumen (Vakuumblasen) in einer Flüssigkeit. Ultraschall / akustische Kavitation erzeugt örtliche Gegebenheiten in den Bläschen von ~ 5000 K, ca. 1000 atm, Heiz- und Kühlraten, die 10 nicht überschreiten10 K / s und die Flüssigkeitsstrahlen mit bis zu 300 m / s. (Suslick et al. 2008) Die intensiven Kräfte, eine hohe Scher, Streaming und die daraus resultierenden Turbulenzen aus der Blasenimplosion die Energie liefern Partikeln und Tröpfchen zu brechen für Dispersion & Emulsion Größenreduzierung, Zellwände lysiereninitiieren chemische Reaktionen.

Mano-Thermo-Sonication

Wie unsere Ergebnisse zeigen, ist der statische Druck ein sehr effizientes Mittel zur Erhöhung der Letalität von Ultraschallwellen (UW) / Manosonierung (MS). Dieser Anstieg wird größer, wenn die Amplitude von UW größer ist. Zwischen 50 und 58°C kann die Wärmeabgabe durch die Kombination von Wärmebehandlungen mit UW unter Druck (MS) erhöht werden. Die Letalität dieser Behandlung (MTS) entspricht der additiven letalen Wirkung von Wärme und UW. MS- und MTS-Behandlungen könnten eine Alternative zur Inaktivierung von Y. enterocolitica und möglicherweise anderen Mikroorganismen in wärmeempfindlichen Medien (z.B. Flüssigei) werden. Es könnte auch in Lebensmitteln eingesetzt werden, in denen die hohe Intensität der erforderlichen Wärmebehandlungen (z.B. wasserarme Lebensmittel) die Lebensmittelqualität beeinträchtigen würde. (vgl. Raso et al. 1998)
Forscher haben gezeigt, dass nicht-thermische Haltbarmachung von Lebensmitteln Technologien wie Beschallung, wirkt sich nicht auf, so viel wie thermische Prozesse, Ernährungs- und sensorische Eigenschaften von verarbeiteten Lebensmitteln.

Ultraschall / akustische Kavitation erzeugt hochintensive Kräfte, die die Kristallisation und Fällungsverfahren fördern (Anklicken zum Vergrößern!)

Entstehung und Implosion von Ulötraschallkavitationsblasen

Eier: Zusammensetzung & Eigenschaften

Während Hühnereier sind die am häufigsten konsumierte Vogelei, auch andere Sorten von Vogeleiern, z.B. Strauß, Ente, Wachtel, Gänseeier usw. als Lebensmittel und Lebensmittelzutaten verwendet.
Eier bieten Multifunktionalität und sind deshalb weithin als Zutat in vielfältigen Lebensmittelprodukten verwendet.
Funktionelle Eigenschaften von Eiern sind die Eigenschaften der Koagulation und Bindung, Geschmack, Farbe, Schäume, Emulgieren sowie hemmt das Kristallwachstum in Süßwaren. Um diese Funktionalitäten von Ei zu halten, eine milde Pasteurisierung ist die Vermeidung von Proteindenaturierung erforderlich.
Flüssigei Produkte reichen von flüssigem Vollei, Eiweiß und Eigelb zu Rührei Mischungen und anderen spezialisierten Eiprodukte. Flüssigei Produkte sind als Read-To-Use-Produkte oder in gefrorener Form. Flüssigei kann weiter in Eipulver verfeinert werden, z.B. Volleipulver, Eiweißpulver, Eigelbpulver. Eipulver aus vollständig dehydriert Eiern durch Sprühtrocknung die Eier in der gleichen Art und Weise, dass Milchpulver hergestellt werden. Vorteile von Eipulver über frische Eier sind niedrigen Preis, geringeres Gewicht pro Volumen Vollei äquivalent, Haltbarkeit, weniger Speicherplatz und needlessness von Kälte.

Wärmeempfindlichkeit von Hühnerei

Eier enthalten mehrere wärmeempfindliche Proteine, die ein wichtiger Faktor sind, zu berücksichtigen, wenn Flüssigei (auch als breaker Eiern bekannt) verarbeitet wird und pasteurisiert. Insbesondere flüssige Eiklar Produkte sind empfindlich gegenüber Verarbeitungsbedingungen, insbesondere Wärme. Die Temperatur für das Eiklar Proteine ​​Denaturierung variiert zwischen 61 ° C (für Ovotransferrin) und 92,5 ° C (für G2 Globulin). Livetins, Lysozym,
Ovomakroglobulin ovoglobulin und G3 sind die am wenigsten hitzestabile Proteine, während Ovotransferrin, ovoinhibitor und ovoglobulin G2 gefunden wurden die meisten hitzestabilen Proteinen in Ei zu sein. Protein Empfindlichkeit gegenüber Wärme kann durch die Zugabe von Salz und Zucker beeinflusst werden, was die Hitzestabilität der wärmeempfindlichen Proteine ​​erhöht.
Nicht nur Zucker und Salz, auch Kohlenhydrate, wie Saccharose, Glucose, Fructose, Arabinose, Mannit und Xylose, schützen Proteine ​​vor Denaturierung während der Wärmebehandlung (Pasteurisierung).
Koagulationstemperatur Vollei: bei 73 ° C

Emulsionsstabilität

Um stabilisierte ein homogenes flüssiges Eiprodukt, das Flüssigei zu erhalten, um mechanisch werden muß Trennung in zwei Phasen zu verhindern.
An emulsion is a mixture of two or more immiscible / non-blendable liquids. Technically, emulsions are a subdivision of colloidal systems of two or more phases. In emulsions, both the dispersed/internal and the continuous/external phase are liquid. In emulsions, two immiscible liquids are blended by dispersing one liquid (the dispersed phase) in the other (the continuous phase). Emulsifying agents are utilized to obtain long-term mechanical stability of the system.
Lecithin, das z.B. eine Komponente in Eigelb, ist ein häufig verwendeter Nahrungs Emulgator für Lebensmittel und industrielle Anwendungen. Neben Lecithin, enthält agg yolk mehrere Aminosäuren, die als Emulgatoren fungieren, zu. Eigelb enthält ca.. 5-8grams Lecithin, weshalb Eigelb in viele ein wichtiger Bestandteil ist Emulsionsbasis Rezepte wie Mayonnaise, Hollandaise, Dressings, Soßen und.

schäumende Funktionalität

Eiklar Proteine ​​enthalten Aminosäuren. Wenn das Protein wird zusammengerollt, die hydrophoben Aminosäuren sind weg von dem Wasser in der Mitte verpackt und die hydrophil diejenigen sind auf der Außenseite, um das Wasser näher.
Wenn ein Eiprotein gegen eine Luftblase ist, wird ein Teil dieses Proteins der Luft ausgesetzt und ein Teil befindet sich noch in Wasser. Das Protein uncurls, so dass seine wasserliebenden Teile im Wasser-und deren wasser fürchten Teile eingetaucht werden kann in die Luft halten. Sobald die Proteine ​​uncurl sie Bindung miteinander-genauso wie sie es taten, wenn ein Netzwerk-beheizten schaffen, die die Luftblasen in Position halten kann.

Eierlikör

Eierlikör ist ein Milchgetränk, die Alkohol in Milch, Eiern, Zucker und Aromen und manchmal besteht. Es ist eine süße, cremige Milchbasis Getränk traditionell mit Milch, Sahne, Eischnee, Eigelb und Zucker hergestellt. Gegebenenfalls werden, wenn sie als Alkohol, destillierte Spirituosen wie Brandy, Rum oder Bourbon hergestellt eingebaut.

Hielscher – Ultrasound Technology

Pasteurization & Homogenization of Liquid Egg

  • Liquid egg products (whole egg, egg white, yolk) must be pasteurized to ensure food safety.
  • Ultrasonic homogenizers deliver intense cavitation and high shear forces to kill microbes.
  • Especially when combined with elevated temperatures (∼50°C) and pressure (mano-thermosonication), power ultrasound delivers exceptional pasteurization results.
  • Ultrasonic food processing systems are widely used to fullfil homogenization, pasteurization and sterilization applications.

 

Ultrasonic Pasteurization

Liquid whole egg, egg white, yolk, and other blended egg products are pasteurised to ensure that no bacteria / pathogens are in the product. Microbial inactivation via pasteurization is an very important process step to prevent spoilage and food-borne illness. Conventional pasteurization is achieved by a heat treatment of the liquid egg product. However, such heat treatment affects proteins, texture and egg functionalities.
Ultrasonic pasteurization is a very effective and efficient pasteurization alternative.
Liquid egg products can be efficiently pasteurized by mano-thermosonication (MTS) where ultrasonic pasteurization is combined with heat treatment (approx. 50°C) and elevated pressure (approx. 1 barg). Under these synergetic processing conditions, a reliable bacterial reduction of 5log can be achieved. Mano-thermosonication improves the killing rate of microbes significantly: First, the sensitivity of most microorganisms to the ultrasonic treatment is significantly increased by temperatures over 50°C. Secondly, intensity and destructiveness of ultrasonic cavitation rises under elevated pressure.
The synergetic effects combined in manothermosonic pasteurization excels conventional heat pasteurization of eggs by resulting in a liquid egg product of improved quality. Liquid egg pasteurized by mano-thermosonication shows less protein denaturation, lower flavour loss, improved homogeneity and significantly higher energy-efficiency.
Hielscher’s ultrasonic flow cells ensure the passage of the liquid egg product directly through the high-intensity cavitation zone in order to ensure the uniform and complete pasteurization of the liquid egg product.

Power ultrasonics (7x UIP1000hdT) for food processing such as homogenization, pasteurization and extraction. (Click to enlarge!)

Ultrasonic System for Pasteurization

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


Ultrasonic Emulsification

Egg white consists of approx. 90% water, egg yolk contains approx. 25% fat. Water and oil/fat are immiscible, which means that the phases tend to separate. In order to obtain a homogeneous, stable liquid whole egg product, a sophisticated emulsification method is required to prevent phase separation.
Ultrasonic cavitation and shear delivers the required energy to homogenize the liquid egg product evenly. Powerful sonication prevents phase separation by breaking the fat globules and dispersing water and fat uniformly in order to obtain a stable emulsion.
Ultrasonic cavitation treatment is a superior technique to produce nano-sized emulsions in order to obtain mechanical stability!

Advantages of Ultrasonic Pasteurization

  • mild process conditions
  • pathogen removal
  • extended shelf life
  • uniform texture
  • better nutritional and sensory attributes
  • no denaturation
  • no coagulation

Ultrasonic Formulating

During ultrasonic homogenization and pasteurization, additives (e.g. sugar, salt, xanthan gum etc.) can be uniformly blended into the liquid egg product.
Hielscher’s ultrasonic homogenizers are also used for production of eggnog (milk+egg-based liquor) to improve mechanical stability and shelf-life.

Ultrasonic Spray-Drying of Powdered Egg

Liquid egg can be further processed into egg powders, e.g. whole egg powder, egg white powder, yolk powder. Egg liquid exhibits shear-thinning behavior. In order to optimize the spray-dring process, ultrasonic viscosity reduction is a highly efficient technique to increase the process capacity of the spray-dryer.
Click here to learn more about the ultrasonically assisted spray-drying process!

Ultrasonic Devices for Food Processing

Ultrasonic food processing systems are well-known and proven for their reliable results in homogenization, extraction, pasteurization and sterilization of food products. Hielscher’s industrial ultrasonic processors create very high amplitudes of up to 200µm in order to deliver the required energy for pasteurization, sterilization and emulsification processes. Of course, our ultrasonic homogenizers are built for 24/7 operation under heavy-duty conditions in industry.
Besides their robustness and reliability, ultrasonic processors require only very low maintenance and are very easy to clean. All parts of the ultrasonic homogenizer, which get in contact with the food product, are made from titanium, stainless steel or glass and are autoclavable. Since every ultrasonic processor has its ultrasonic cleaner in place, they offer automatically CIP (cleaning-in-place) and SIP (sterilizing-in-place).
A small foot print and versability allow for an hassel-free integration of Hielscher’s ultrasonicators into production lines. Retro-fitting into existing lines can be accomplished easily.
The table below gives you an indication of the approximate processing capacity of our ultrasonicators:

Batch Volume Flow Rate Recommended Devices
10 to 2000mL 20 to 400mL/min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 to 20L 0.2 to 4L/min UIP2000hdT
10 to 100L 2 to 10L/min UIP4000
n.a. 10 to 100L/min UIP16000
n.a. larger cluster of UIP16000

Ask for more information

Please use the form below, if you wish to request additional information about ultrasonic homogenization. We will be glad to offer you an ultrasonic system meeting your requirements.









Please note our privacy policy.


Literature/References

  • Lee, D.U.; Hein, V.; Knorr, D. (2003): Effects of combination treatments of nisin and high-intensity ultrasound with high pressure on the microbial inactivation in liquid whole egg. Innovative Food Science & Emerging Technologies 2003.
  • Nakamura, R.; Mizutani, R.; Yano, M.; Hayakawa, S. (1988): Enhancement of Emulsifying Properties of Protein by Sonicating with Egg Yolk Lecithin. Journal of Agricultural and Food Chemistry 36, 1988. 729-732.
  • Raso, J.; Pagán, R.; Condón, S.; Sala, F.J. (1998): Influence of Temperature and Pressure on the Lethality of Ultrasound. Applied and Environmental Microbiology, 64/2, 1998. 465–471.
  • Sargolzaei, J.; Mosavian, M.T.H.; Hassani, A. (2011): Modeling and Simulation of High Power Ultrasonic Process in Preparation of Stable Oil-in-Water Emulsion. Journal of Software Engineering and Applications 4, 2011. 259-267.
  • Sun, Y.; Yang, H.; Zhong, X.; Wang, W. (2011): Ultrasonic-Assisted Enzymatic Degradation of Cholesterol in Egg Yolk. Innovative Food Science & Emerging Technologies 12/4, 2011. 505-508.
  • Suslick, K.S.; Flannigan, D.J. (2008): Inside a Collapsing Bubble: Sonoluminescence and the Conditions During Cavitation. Annu. Rev. Phys. Chem. 59, 2008. 659–83.


Related Research Results

Ultrasonic Emulsification

Javad Sargolzaei et al. (2011) modified the application of high power ultrasound in preparation of stable oil-in-water emulsion. All emulasion samples were prepared by using a Hielscher ultrasonic processor UP200H. The effect of pH, ionic strength, pectin, Guar gum, lecithin, egg yolk, and xanthan gum as well as the time of sonication, temperature and viscosity of oil-water mixture on the specific surface area and size of droplets, and creaming index of the emulsion samples was investigated. The experimental data were analyzed with Taguchi method and optimum conditions were determined. In addition, an adaptive neuro-fuzzy inference system (ANFIS) was employed to modeling and categorizes the properties of the resulted emulsion. The results showed that increasing sonication time narrowed the range of droplets size distribution. Pectin and xanthan enhanced the stability of emulsion, although they had different impacts on the emulsion stability when used individually or together. Guar gum improved the viscosity of the continuous phase. Emulsions stabilized by egg yolk were found to be stable to droplet flocculation at pH 3 and at relatively low salt concentrations.

Ultrasonic Degradation of Cholesterol in Yolk

Sun et al. (2011) developed an ultrasonic-assisted enzymatic process of cholesterol degradation in natural egg yolk. They aimed for the catalytic activity of cholesterol oxidase against egg yolk cholesterol with the goal to obtain a cholesterol reduced egg yolk without affecting the major nutrients composition of egg yolk. Cholesterol oxidase was used to catalyze the degradation of cholesterol in egg yolk. Firstly, a 30g portion of the egg yolk was pretreated by ultrasonic for 15min at 200W and then incubated for 10h with cholesterol oxidase concentration of 0.6U/g egg yolk at 37°C. Finally, the cholesterol level in egg yolk was reduced to 8.32% of its original concentration without affecting the quality attributes of the yolk.

Facts Worth Knowing

What is Ultrasonic Cavitation?

Sonication creates emulsions through high power ultrasound-driven oscillations, which cause acoustic cavitation. The term cavitation describes the formation, growth, and implosive collapse of cavities (vacuum bubbles) in a liquid. Ultrasonic / acoustic cavitation produces local conditions inside the bubbles of ~5000 K, ~1000 atm, heating and cooling rates that exceed 1010 K/s and liquid jets with up to 300m/s. (Suslick et al. 2008) The intense forces, high shear, streaming and turbulences resulting from the bubble implosion deliver the energy to break particles and droplets for dispersion & emulsion size reduction, lyse cell walls, initiate chemical reactions.

Manothermosonication

As shown by our results, static pressure is a very efficient means of increasing lethality of ultrasound waves (UW) / manosonication (MS). This increase becomes greater when the amplitude of UW is higher. Between 50 and 58°C, the lethality of heat can be increased by combining heat treatments with UW under pressure (MS). The lethality of this treatment (MTS) is equivalent to the additive lethal effect of heat and UW. MS and MTS treatments could become an alternative for the inactivation, in heat-sensitive media (i.e., liquid egg), of Y. enterocolitica and possibly other microorganisms. It might also find applications in foods in which the high intensity of heat treatments required (e.g. low-water-activity foods) would impair food quality. (cf. Raso et al. 1998)
Researcher has revealed that nonthermal food preservation technologies, such as sonication, does not affect, as much as thermal processes, nutritional and sensory attributes of processed foods.

Ultrasonic / acoustic cavitation creates highly intense forces that promotes the crystallization and precipitation processes (Click to enlarge!)

Ultrasonic bubble formation and its violent implosion

Eggs: Composition & Characteristics

Whilst chicken eggs are the most commonly consumed bird egg, also other varieties of bird eggs, e.g. ostrich, duck, quail, goose eggs etc., are used as food and food ingredients.
Eggs offer multi-functionality and are therefore widely used as ingredient in manifold food products.
Functional attributes of eggs include the properties of coagulation and binding, flavor, color, foaming, emulsifying as well as inhibited crystal growth in confectionary. To maintain these functionalities of egg, a mild pasteurization is required avoiding protein denaturation.
Liquid egg products range from liquid whole egg, egg white, and yolk to scrambled egg mixes and other specialized egg products. Liquid egg products are available as read-to-use products or in frozen form. Liquid egg can be further refined into egg powders, e.g. whole egg powder, egg white powder, yolk powder. Egg powder is made from fully dehydrated eggs by spray-drying the eggs in the same way that milk powder is produced. Advantages of powdered eggs over fresh eggs include low price, reduced weight per volume of whole egg equivalent, shelf life, less storage space, and needlessness of refrigeration.

Heat-Sensitivity of Egg Proteins

Eggs contain several heat-sensitive proteins that are an important factor to consider when liquid egg (also known as breaker eggs) is processed and pasteurized. Especially liquid egg white products are sensitive to processing conditions, especially heat. The temperature for egg white proteins denaturation varies between 61°C (for Ovotransferrin) and 92.5°C (for G2 Globulin). Livetins, lysozyme,
ovomacroglobulin and ovoglobulin G3 are the least heat stable proteins, while ovotransferrin, ovoinhibitor and ovoglobulin G2 were found to be the most heat stable proteins in egg. Protein sensitivity to heat can be influenced by the addition of salt and sugar, which increases the heat stability of heat-sensitive proteins.
Not only sugar and salt, also carbohydrates, such as sucrose, glucose, fructose, arabinose, mannitol and xylose, protect proteins from denaturation during heat treatments (pasteurization).
Coagulation temperature of whole egg: at 73°C

Emulsion Stability

In order to obtain a homogeneous liquid egg product, the liquid egg must be mechanically stabilized in order to prevent separation into two phases.
An emulsion is a mixture of two or more immiscible / non-blendable liquids. Technically, emulsions are a subdivision of colloidal systems of two or more phases. In emulsions, both the dispersed/internal and the continuous/external phase are liquid. In emulsions, two immiscible liquids are blended by dispersing one liquid (the dispersed phase) in the other (the continuous phase). Emulsifying agents are utilized to obtain long-term mechanical stability of the system.
Lecithin, which is e.g. a component in egg yolk, is a commonly used food emulsifier for food and industrial applications. Besides lecithin, agg yolk contains several amino acids that functions as emulsifiers, too. Egg yolk contains approx. 5-8grams of lecithin, which is why egg yolk is an important ingredient in many emulsion-based recipes such as mayonnaise, hollandaise, dressings, and sauces.

Foaming Functionality

Egg-white proteins contain amino acids. When the protein is curled up, the hydrophobic amino acids are packed in the center away from the water and the hydrophilic ones are on the outside closer to the water.
When an egg protein is up against an air bubble, part of that protein is exposed to air and part is still in water. The protein uncurls so that its water-loving parts can be immersed in the water—and its water-fearing parts can stick into the air. Once the proteins uncurl, they bond with each other—just as they did when heated—creating a network that can hold the air bubbles in place.

Eggnog

Eggnog is a milk-based drink which consists in milk, eggs, sugar and flavourings and sometimes alcohol. It is a sweet, rich, creamy dairy-based beverage traditionally made with milk, cream, whipped egg whites, egg yolks, and sugar. Optionally, when produced as liquor, distilled spirits such as brandy, rum or bourbon are incorporated.