Technologie des ultrasons Hielscher

Pasteurisation & Homogénéisation de l'oeuf liquide

Liquid egg products (whole eggs, egg whites, yolks) must be pasteurized to ensure food safety. Ultrasonic homogenizers deliver intense cavitation and high shear forces to kill microbes. Especially when combined with elevated temperatures (∼50°C) and pressure (mano-thermosonication), power ultrasound delivers exceptional pasteurization results. Ultrasonic food processing systems are widely used to fulfil homogenization, pasteurization and sterilization applications.

pasteurisation à ultrasons

Liquid eggs can be reliably pasteurized and homogenized using power ultrasonics. oeuf entier liquide, blanc d'oeuf, le jaune, et d'autres produits d'œufs mélangés sont pasteurisés pour veiller à ce qu'aucun bactéries / agents pathogènes dans le produit. inactivation microbienne par la pasteurisation est une étape de processus très important pour prévenir la détérioration et de la maladie d'origine alimentaire. pasteurisation classique est obtenue par un traitement thermique du produit d'oeuf liquide. Cependant, un tel traitement thermique affecte les protéines, la texture et les fonctionnalités d'œufs.
pasteurisation à ultrasons est une alternative de pasteurisation très efficace et efficace.
Les produits à base d'oeufs liquides peuvent être pasteurisés efficacement par mano-thermosonication (MTS) où la pasteurisation par ultrasons est combinée avec un traitement thermique (environ 50 ° C) et une pression élevée (environ 1 barg). Dans ces conditions de traitement synergiques, une réduction bactérienne fiable de 5log peut être obtenue. La mano-thermosonication améliore significativement la vitesse de destruction des microbes: d'abord, la sensibilité de la plupart des microorganismes au traitement par ultrasons est significativement augmentée par des températures supérieures à 50 ° C. Deuxièmement, l'intensité et la destructivité de la cavitation ultrasonique augmentent sous une pression élevée.
Les effets synergiques combinés dans la pasteurisation manothermosonic excelle pasteurisation à chaud classique des oeufs en résultant en un produit d'oeuf liquide d'une qualité améliorée. oeuf liquide pasteurisé par mano-thermosonication montre moins la dénaturation des protéines, faible perte de goût, l'amélioration de l'homogénéité et significativement plus élevée à l'efficacité énergétique.
des cellules d'écoulement à ultrasons Hielscher assurent le passage du produit d'oeuf liquide directement par la haute intensité cavitation zone afin d'assurer la pasteurisation homogène et complète du produit d'oeuf liquide.

ultra-sons de puissance (7x UIP1000hdT) pour la transformation des aliments, tels que l'homogénéisation, la pasteurisation et l'extraction. (Cliquez pour agrandir!)

Système à ultrasons pour Pasteurisation

Demande d'information





ultrasons émulsification

Le blanc d'œuf se compose d'env. 90% d'eau, jaune d'oeuf contient env. 25% de matières grasses. L'eau et l'huile / graisse ne sont pas miscibles, ce qui signifie que les phases ont tendance à se séparer. Afin d'obtenir un produit entier liquide homogène, stable d'oeuf, un procédé d'émulsification sophistiqué est nécessaire pour empêcher la séparation des phases.
cavitation ultrasonique et de cisaillement délivre l'énergie nécessaire pour homogénéiser le produit d'oeuf liquide uniformément. sonication puissante empêche la séparation des phases en cassant les globules gras et en dispersant l'eau et de la graisse de façon uniforme afin d'obtenir une émulsion stable.
traitement de cavitation ultrasons est une technique supérieure pour produire des émulsions de taille nanométrique afin d'obtenir une stabilité mécanique!

Avantages de ultrasons Pasteurisation

  • doux conditions de processus
  • l'élimination des pathogènes
  • durée de vie prolongée
  • texture uniforme
  • de meilleures qualités nutritionnelles et sensorielles
  • aucune dénaturation
  • pas de coagulation

ultrasons Formulating

Au cours de l'homogénéisation par ultrasons et la pasteurisation, des additifs (par exemple, sucre, sel, la gomme xanthane etc.) peut être uniformément mélangé dans le produit d'oeuf liquide.
homogénéisateurs à ultrasons Hielscher sont également utilisés pour la production de lait de poule (lait + liqueur à base d'œufs) pour améliorer la stabilité mécanique et durée de conservation.

Ultrasons Le séchage par pulvérisation de poudre d'oeuf

œuf liquide peut être ensuite transformé en poudre d'oeuf, par exemple poudre d'oeuf entier, poudre de blanc d'oeuf, jaune d'oeuf en poudre. liquide d'oeufs présente un comportement rhéofluidifiant. Afin d'optimiser le processus de pulvérisation dring, la réduction de la viscosité à ultrasons est une technique très efficace pour augmenter la capacité de traitement du sécheur par pulvérisation.
Cliquez ici pour en savoir plus sur le processus de séchage par atomisation assistée par ultrasons!

Appareils à ultrasons pour le traitement des aliments

systèmes de traitement des aliments par ultrasons sont bien connues et éprouvées pour leurs résultats fiables dans l'homogénéisation, l'extraction, la pasteurisation et la stérilisation des produits alimentaires. processeurs à ultrasons industriels Hielscher créent des amplitudes très élevées allant jusqu'à 200 um afin de fournir l'énergie nécessaire pour les processus de pasteurisation, stérilisation et d'émulsification. Bien sûr, nos homogénéisateurs à ultrasons sont conçus pour un fonctionnement 24/7 dans des conditions lourdes dans l'industrie.
Outre leur robustesse et leur fiabilité, les processeurs à ultrasons ne nécessitent que très peu d'entretien et sont très faciles à nettoyer. Toutes les parties de l'homogénéisateur à ultrasons, qui entrent en contact avec le produit alimentaire, sont fabriqués à partir de titane, en acier inoxydable ou en verre et sont autoclavables. Étant donné que chaque processeur à ultrasons a son nettoyeur à ultrasons en place, ils offrent automatiquement CIP (nettoyage en place) et SIP (stérilisation en place).
Une petite impression de pied et versabilité permettent une intégration sans Hassel des ultrasonicators de Hielscher dans les lignes de production. Rétro-montage dans des lignes existantes peut se faire facilement.
Le tableau ci-dessous vous donne une indication de la capacité de traitement approximative de nos ultrasonicators:

lot Volume Débit Appareils recommandés
10 à 2000mL 20 à 400 ml / min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 20L 00,2 à 4L / min UIP2000hdT
10 à 100l 2 à 10 L / min UIP4000
n / a. 10 à 100 litres / min UIP16000
n / a. plus grand groupe de UIP16000

Demander plus d'informations

Veuillez utiliser le formulaire ci-dessous, si vous souhaitez demander des informations supplémentaires sur l'homogénéisation par ultrasons. Nous serons heureux de vous offrir un système à ultrasons répondant à vos exigences.









Veuillez prendre note de notre Politique de confidentialité.


Littérature / Références

  • Lee, D.U .; Hein, V .; Knorr, D. (2003): Effets des traitements combinés de la nisine et les ultrasons de haute intensité à haute pression sur l'inactivation microbienne dans oeuf entier liquide. La science innovante alimentaire & Technologies émergentes 2003.
  • Nakamura, R .; Mizutani, R .; Yano, M .; Hayakawa, S. (1988): mise en valeur des propriétés émulsifiantes de protéines par sonication avec Jaune d'oeuf Lécithine. Journal de la chimie agricole et alimentaire 36, 1988. 729-732.
  • Raso, J .; Pagán, R .; Condón, S .; Sala, F. J. (1998): Influence de la température et la pression sur la létalité de l'échographie. Applied and Environmental Microbiology, 64/2, 1998. 465-471.
  • Sargolzaei, J .; Mosavian, M.T.H .; Hassani, A. (2011): Modélisation et simulation du processus de haute puissance à ultrasons dans la préparation de Stable huile dans-eau. Journal of Software Engineering et Applications 4, 2011. 259-267.
  • Soleil, Y .; Yang, H .; Zhong, X .; Wang, W. (2011): ultrasons assistée par la dégradation enzymatique du cholestérol dans jaune d'œuf. La science innovante alimentaire & Technologies émergentes 12/4, 2011. 505-508.
  • Suslick, K.S .; Flannigan, D.J. (2008): l'intérieur d'une bulle Collapsing: Sonoluminescence et les Conditions Au cours de Cavitation. Annu. Rev. Phys. Chem. 59, 2008. 659-83.


Résultats de recherche connexes

ultrasons émulsification

Javad Sargolzaei et al. (2011) ont modifié l'application d'ultrasons à haute puissance pour préparer une émulsion huile-dans-eau stable. Tous les échantillons d'émulasion ont été préparés en utilisant un processeur à ultrasons Hielscher Uf200 ः. Effet du pH, de la force ionique, de la pectine, de la gomme de guar, de la lécithine, du jaune d'œuf et de la gomme de xanthane ainsi que du temps de sonication, de la température et de la viscosité du mélange huile-eau des échantillons d'émulsion a été étudiée. Les données expérimentales ont été analysées avec la méthode Taguchi et les conditions optimales ont été déterminées. De plus, un système d'inférence neuro-floue adaptative (ANFIS) a été utilisé pour modéliser et catégoriser les propriétés de l'émulsion résultante. Les résultats ont montré que l'augmentation du temps de sonication rétrécissait la gamme de distribution de la taille des gouttelettes. La pectine et le xanthane améliorent la stabilité de l'émulsion, bien qu'ils aient des impacts différents sur la stabilité de l'émulsion lorsqu'ils sont utilisés individuellement ou ensemble. La gomme de guar améliore la viscosité de la phase continue. Les émulsions stabilisées par le jaune d'œuf se sont révélées stables à la floculation des gouttelettes à pH 3 et à des concentrations en sel relativement faibles.

Dégradation par ultrasons de cholestérol dans Yolk

Sun et al. (2011) ont développé un procédé enzymatique assistée par ultrasons de la dégradation du cholestérol dans le jaune d'oeuf naturel. Ils visent à l'activité catalytique de cholestérol oxydase contre le cholestérol du jaune d'oeuf dans le but d'obtenir un jaune d'œuf réduit de cholestérol sans affecter la composition des principaux éléments nutritifs du jaune d'oeuf. Le cholestérol oxydase a été utilisé pour catalyser la dégradation du cholestérol dans le jaune d'oeuf. Tout d'abord, une partie de 30g du jaune d'œuf a été prétraité par ultrasons pendant 15 minutes à 200W et ensuite incubées pendant 10 h avec une concentration en cholestérol oxydase de 0.6U / g de jaune d'oeuf à 37 ° C. Enfin, le taux de cholestérol dans le jaune d'oeuf a été réduit à 8,32% de sa concentration d'origine sans affecter les attributs de qualité du jaune d'oeuf.

Qu'il faut savoir

Qu'est-ce que Cavitation?

La sonication crée des émulsions au moyen d'oscillations entraîné par ultrasons de forte puissance, qui provoquent acoustique cavitation. La cavitation terme décrit la formation, la croissance et l'effondrement implosion de cavités (des bulles de vide) dans un liquide. Ultrasons / cavitation acoustique produit des conditions locales à l'intérieur des bulles de ~ 5000 ~ 1000 K, atm, le taux de chauffage et de refroidissement qui dépassent 10dix K / s et avec des jets de liquide jusqu'à 300 m / s. (Suslick et al., 2008) Les forces intenses, à cisaillement élevé, en continu et les turbulences résultant de l'implosion des bulles fournir l'énergie nécessaire pour briser les particules et les gouttelettes de dispersion & Émulsion réduction de la taille, les parois des cellules lysent, lancer réactions chimiques.

Manothermosonication

Comme le montrent nos résultats, la pression statique est un moyen très efficace d'augmenter la létalité des ondes ultrasonores (UW) / manosonication (MS). Cette augmentation devient plus grande lorsque l'amplitude de UW est plus élevée. Entre 50 et 58 ° C, la létalité de la chaleur peut être augmentée en combinant des traitements thermiques avec UW sous pression (MS). La létalité de ce traitement (MTS) est équivalente à l'effet létal additif de la chaleur et de l'UW. Les traitements par MS et MTS pourraient devenir une alternative à l'inactivation, dans les milieux sensibles à la chaleur (œufs liquides), de Y. enterocolitica et éventuellement d'autres micro-organismes. Il pourrait également trouver des applications dans les aliments dans lesquels la forte intensité des traitements thermiques requis (par exemple, les aliments à faible teneur en eau) nuiraient à la qualité des aliments. (voir Raso et al., 1998)
Chercheur a révélé que les technologies de conservation des aliments, tels que les non thermiques sonication, ne touchent pas, autant que des procédés thermiques, des caractéristiques nutritionnelles et sensorielles des aliments transformés.

Ultrasons / cavitation acoustique crée des forces très intenses qui favorise les processus de cristallisation et de précipitation (Cliquez pour agrandir!)

la formation de bulles par ultrasons et son implosion violente

Oeufs: Composition & Caractéristiques

Alors que des œufs de poule sont l'œuf d'oiseau le plus couramment consommé, aussi d'autres variétés d'œufs d'oiseaux, par exemple autruche, canard, caille, oeufs d'oie, etc., sont utilisés comme ingrédients alimentaires et des aliments.
Les œufs offrent multifonctionnalité et sont donc largement utilisés comme ingrédient dans les produits alimentaires multiples.
attributs fonctionnels des œufs, y compris les propriétés de la coagulation et la liaison, la saveur, la couleur, mousse, émulsifiant, ainsi que la croissance cristalline inhibée dans la confiserie. Pour maintenir ces fonctionnalités d'oeuf, une légère pasteurisation est nécessaire d'éviter la dénaturation des protéines.
ovoproduits liquides vont de l'œuf entier liquide, blanc d'oeuf, et le jaune aux mélanges d'œufs brouillés et d'autres produits d'œufs spécialisés. ovoproduits liquides sont disponibles en tant que produits de lecture à l'emploi ou sous forme congelée. œuf liquide peut être affiné en poudres d'oeufs, par exemple poudre d'oeuf entier, poudre de blanc d'oeuf, jaune d'oeuf en poudre. poudre d'oeufs est fait à partir d'oeufs déshydratés entièrement par séchage par pulvérisation les oeufs de la même manière que la poudre de lait est produit. Avantages des oeufs en poudre sur des œufs frais comprennent le prix bas, un poids réduit par volume équivalent d'oeufs entiers, la durée de vie, moins d'espace de stockage et de réfrigération inutilité.

Sensibilité à la chaleur des protéines d'oeufs

Les œufs contiennent plusieurs protéines sensibles à la chaleur qui sont un facteur important à considérer lors de l'oeuf liquide (également connu sous le nom d'oeufs de coupe) est traitée et pasteurisé. En particulier, les produits blancs d'oeuf liquide sont sensibles aux conditions de traitement, en particulier la chaleur. La température de dénaturation des protéines de blanc d'oeuf varie entre 61 ° C (pour ovotransferrine) et 92,5 ° C (pour G2 Globulin). Livetins, lysozyme,
ovomacroglobuline et ovoglobuline G3 sont les moins stables à la chaleur des protéines, tandis que ovotransferrine, ovoinhibitor et ovoglobuline G2 se sont révélés être les plus stables à la chaleur des protéines dans l'oeuf. la sensibilité de la protéine à la chaleur peut être influencée par l'addition de sel et de sucre, ce qui augmente la stabilité à la chaleur des protéines sensibles à la chaleur.
Non seulement le sucre et le sel, aussi des hydrates de carbone, tels que le saccharose, le glucose, le fructose, l'arabinose, le mannitol et xylose, protéger les protéines de la dénaturation lors des traitements thermiques (pasteurisation).
température de coagulation de l'oeuf entier: à 73 ° C

emulsion stabilité

Afin d'obtenir un produit d'oeuf liquide homogène, l'œuf liquide doit être mécaniquement stabilisé afin d'empêcher la séparation en deux phases.
Une émulsion est un mélange de deux ou plusieurs liquides non miscibles / non miscibles. Techniquement, les émulsions sont une subdivision de systèmes colloïdaux de deux phases ou plus. Dans les émulsions, la phase dispersée / interne et la phase continue / externe sont liquides. Dans les émulsions, deux liquides non miscibles sont mélangés en dispersant un liquide (la phase dispersée) dans l'autre (la phase continue). Les agents émulsifiants sont utilisés pour obtenir une stabilité mécanique à long terme du système.
La lécithine, qui est par exemple un composant de jaune d'oeuf, est un émulsifiant alimentaire couramment utilisé pour les applications alimentaires et industrielles. En plus de la lécithine, le jaune d'agg contient plusieurs acides aminés qui fonctionne comme émulsifiants, aussi. Le jaune d'oeuf contient environ. 5-8grams de la lécithine, qui est la raison pour laquelle le jaune d'oeuf est un ingrédient important dans de nombreux recettes à base d'émulsion tels que la mayonnaise, sauce hollandaise, vinaigrettes et sauces.

Fonctionnalité moussants

les protéines de blanc d'oeuf contiennent des acides aminés. Lorsque la protéine est recroquevillée, les acides aminés hydrophobes sont emballés dans le centre loin de l'eau et celles hydrophiles sont à l'extérieur près de l'eau.
Quand une protéine d'oeuf est en place contre une bulle d'air, une partie de cette protéine est exposée à l'air et une partie est toujours dans l'eau. La protéine uncurls de telle sorte que ses parties aiment l'eau peuvent être immergés dans l'eau et ses parties craignant l'eau peut rester dans l'air. Une fois que les protéines raidir, ils se lient les uns aux autres, tout comme ils l'ont fait lors de la création-chauffé un réseau qui peut contenir les bulles d'air en place.

Lait de poule

Eggnog est une boisson à base de lait qui consiste dans le lait, les œufs, le sucre et les arômes et parfois l'alcool. Il est un doux, riche, boisson à base de lait crémeux traditionnellement fabriqué avec du lait, la crème, les blancs d'œufs fouettés, les jaunes d'œufs et le sucre. Eventuellement, lorsqu'il est produit comme l'alcool, spiritueux, tels que le cognac, rhum ou bourbon sont incorporés.

Hielscher – Ultrasound Technology

Pasteurization & Homogenization of Liquid Egg

  • Liquid egg products (whole egg, egg white, yolk) must be pasteurized to ensure food safety.
  • Ultrasonic homogenizers deliver intense cavitation and high shear forces to kill microbes.
  • Especially when combined with elevated temperatures (∼50°C) and pressure (mano-thermosonication), power ultrasound delivers exceptional pasteurization results.
  • Ultrasonic food processing systems are widely used to fullfil homogenization, pasteurization and sterilization applications.

 

Ultrasonic Pasteurization

Liquid whole egg, egg white, yolk, and other blended egg products are pasteurised to ensure that no bacteria / pathogens are in the product. Microbial inactivation via pasteurization is an very important process step to prevent spoilage and food-borne illness. Conventional pasteurization is achieved by a heat treatment of the liquid egg product. However, such heat treatment affects proteins, texture and egg functionalities.
Ultrasonic pasteurization is a very effective and efficient pasteurization alternative.
Liquid egg products can be efficiently pasteurized by mano-thermosonication (MTS) where ultrasonic pasteurization is combined with heat treatment (approx. 50°C) and elevated pressure (approx. 1 barg). Under these synergetic processing conditions, a reliable bacterial reduction of 5log can be achieved. Mano-thermosonication improves the killing rate of microbes significantly: First, the sensitivity of most microorganisms to the ultrasonic treatment is significantly increased by temperatures over 50°C. Secondly, intensity and destructiveness of ultrasonic cavitation rises under elevated pressure.
The synergetic effects combined in manothermosonic pasteurization excels conventional heat pasteurization of eggs by resulting in a liquid egg product of improved quality. Liquid egg pasteurized by mano-thermosonication shows less protein denaturation, lower flavour loss, improved homogeneity and significantly higher energy-efficiency.
Hielscher’s ultrasonic flow cells ensure the passage of the liquid egg product directly through the high-intensity cavitation zone in order to ensure the uniform and complete pasteurization of the liquid egg product.

Power ultrasonics (7x UIP1000hdT) for food processing such as homogenization, pasteurization and extraction. (Click to enlarge!)

Ultrasonic System for Pasteurization

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


Ultrasonic Emulsification

Egg white consists of approx. 90% water, egg yolk contains approx. 25% fat. Water and oil/fat are immiscible, which means that the phases tend to separate. In order to obtain a homogeneous, stable liquid whole egg product, a sophisticated emulsification method is required to prevent phase separation.
Ultrasonic cavitation and shear delivers the required energy to homogenize the liquid egg product evenly. Powerful sonication prevents phase separation by breaking the fat globules and dispersing water and fat uniformly in order to obtain a stable emulsion.
Ultrasonic cavitation treatment is a superior technique to produce nano-sized emulsions in order to obtain mechanical stability!

Advantages of Ultrasonic Pasteurization

  • mild process conditions
  • pathogen removal
  • extended shelf life
  • uniform texture
  • better nutritional and sensory attributes
  • no denaturation
  • no coagulation

Ultrasonic Formulating

During ultrasonic homogenization and pasteurization, additives (e.g. sugar, salt, xanthan gum etc.) can be uniformly blended into the liquid egg product.
Hielscher’s ultrasonic homogenizers are also used for production of eggnog (milk+egg-based liquor) to improve mechanical stability and shelf-life.

Ultrasonic Spray-Drying of Powdered Egg

Liquid egg can be further processed into egg powders, e.g. whole egg powder, egg white powder, yolk powder. Egg liquid exhibits shear-thinning behavior. In order to optimize the spray-dring process, ultrasonic viscosity reduction is a highly efficient technique to increase the process capacity of the spray-dryer.
Click here to learn more about the ultrasonically assisted spray-drying process!

Ultrasonic Devices for Food Processing

Ultrasonic food processing systems are well-known and proven for their reliable results in homogenization, extraction, pasteurization and sterilization of food products. Hielscher’s industrial ultrasonic processors create very high amplitudes of up to 200µm in order to deliver the required energy for pasteurization, sterilization and emulsification processes. Of course, our ultrasonic homogenizers are built for 24/7 operation under heavy-duty conditions in industry.
Besides their robustness and reliability, ultrasonic processors require only very low maintenance and are very easy to clean. All parts of the ultrasonic homogenizer, which get in contact with the food product, are made from titanium, stainless steel or glass and are autoclavable. Since every ultrasonic processor has its ultrasonic cleaner in place, they offer automatically CIP (cleaning-in-place) and SIP (sterilizing-in-place).
A small foot print and versability allow for an hassel-free integration of Hielscher’s ultrasonicators into production lines. Retro-fitting into existing lines can be accomplished easily.
The table below gives you an indication of the approximate processing capacity of our ultrasonicators:

Batch Volume Flow Rate Recommended Devices
10 to 2000mL 20 to 400mL/min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 to 20L 0.2 to 4L/min UIP2000hdT
10 to 100L 2 to 10L/min UIP4000
n.a. 10 to 100L/min UIP16000
n.a. larger cluster of UIP16000

Ask for more information

Please use the form below, if you wish to request additional information about ultrasonic homogenization. We will be glad to offer you an ultrasonic system meeting your requirements.









Please note our privacy policy.


Literature/References

  • Lee, D.U.; Hein, V.; Knorr, D. (2003): Effects of combination treatments of nisin and high-intensity ultrasound with high pressure on the microbial inactivation in liquid whole egg. Innovative Food Science & Emerging Technologies 2003.
  • Nakamura, R.; Mizutani, R.; Yano, M.; Hayakawa, S. (1988): Enhancement of Emulsifying Properties of Protein by Sonicating with Egg Yolk Lecithin. Journal of Agricultural and Food Chemistry 36, 1988. 729-732.
  • Raso, J.; Pagán, R.; Condón, S.; Sala, F.J. (1998): Influence of Temperature and Pressure on the Lethality of Ultrasound. Applied and Environmental Microbiology, 64/2, 1998. 465–471.
  • Sargolzaei, J.; Mosavian, M.T.H.; Hassani, A. (2011): Modeling and Simulation of High Power Ultrasonic Process in Preparation of Stable Oil-in-Water Emulsion. Journal of Software Engineering and Applications 4, 2011. 259-267.
  • Sun, Y.; Yang, H.; Zhong, X.; Wang, W. (2011): Ultrasonic-Assisted Enzymatic Degradation of Cholesterol in Egg Yolk. Innovative Food Science & Emerging Technologies 12/4, 2011. 505-508.
  • Suslick, K.S.; Flannigan, D.J. (2008): Inside a Collapsing Bubble: Sonoluminescence and the Conditions During Cavitation. Annu. Rev. Phys. Chem. 59, 2008. 659–83.


Related Research Results

Ultrasonic Emulsification

Javad Sargolzaei et al. (2011) modified the application of high power ultrasound in preparation of stable oil-in-water emulsion. All emulasion samples were prepared by using a Hielscher ultrasonic processor UP200H. The effect of pH, ionic strength, pectin, Guar gum, lecithin, egg yolk, and xanthan gum as well as the time of sonication, temperature and viscosity of oil-water mixture on the specific surface area and size of droplets, and creaming index of the emulsion samples was investigated. The experimental data were analyzed with Taguchi method and optimum conditions were determined. In addition, an adaptive neuro-fuzzy inference system (ANFIS) was employed to modeling and categorizes the properties of the resulted emulsion. The results showed that increasing sonication time narrowed the range of droplets size distribution. Pectin and xanthan enhanced the stability of emulsion, although they had different impacts on the emulsion stability when used individually or together. Guar gum improved the viscosity of the continuous phase. Emulsions stabilized by egg yolk were found to be stable to droplet flocculation at pH 3 and at relatively low salt concentrations.

Ultrasonic Degradation of Cholesterol in Yolk

Sun et al. (2011) developed an ultrasonic-assisted enzymatic process of cholesterol degradation in natural egg yolk. They aimed for the catalytic activity of cholesterol oxidase against egg yolk cholesterol with the goal to obtain a cholesterol reduced egg yolk without affecting the major nutrients composition of egg yolk. Cholesterol oxidase was used to catalyze the degradation of cholesterol in egg yolk. Firstly, a 30g portion of the egg yolk was pretreated by ultrasonic for 15min at 200W and then incubated for 10h with cholesterol oxidase concentration of 0.6U/g egg yolk at 37°C. Finally, the cholesterol level in egg yolk was reduced to 8.32% of its original concentration without affecting the quality attributes of the yolk.

Facts Worth Knowing

What is Ultrasonic Cavitation?

Sonication creates emulsions through high power ultrasound-driven oscillations, which cause acoustic cavitation. The term cavitation describes the formation, growth, and implosive collapse of cavities (vacuum bubbles) in a liquid. Ultrasonic / acoustic cavitation produces local conditions inside the bubbles of ~5000 K, ~1000 atm, heating and cooling rates that exceed 1010 K/s and liquid jets with up to 300m/s. (Suslick et al. 2008) The intense forces, high shear, streaming and turbulences resulting from the bubble implosion deliver the energy to break particles and droplets for dispersion & emulsion size reduction, lyse cell walls, initiate chemical reactions.

Manothermosonication

As shown by our results, static pressure is a very efficient means of increasing lethality of ultrasound waves (UW) / manosonication (MS). This increase becomes greater when the amplitude of UW is higher. Between 50 and 58°C, the lethality of heat can be increased by combining heat treatments with UW under pressure (MS). The lethality of this treatment (MTS) is equivalent to the additive lethal effect of heat and UW. MS and MTS treatments could become an alternative for the inactivation, in heat-sensitive media (i.e., liquid egg), of Y. enterocolitica and possibly other microorganisms. It might also find applications in foods in which the high intensity of heat treatments required (e.g. low-water-activity foods) would impair food quality. (cf. Raso et al. 1998)
Researcher has revealed that nonthermal food preservation technologies, such as sonication, does not affect, as much as thermal processes, nutritional and sensory attributes of processed foods.

Ultrasonic / acoustic cavitation creates highly intense forces that promotes the crystallization and precipitation processes (Click to enlarge!)

Ultrasonic bubble formation and its violent implosion

Eggs: Composition & Characteristics

Whilst chicken eggs are the most commonly consumed bird egg, also other varieties of bird eggs, e.g. ostrich, duck, quail, goose eggs etc., are used as food and food ingredients.
Eggs offer multi-functionality and are therefore widely used as ingredient in manifold food products.
Functional attributes of eggs include the properties of coagulation and binding, flavor, color, foaming, emulsifying as well as inhibited crystal growth in confectionary. To maintain these functionalities of egg, a mild pasteurization is required avoiding protein denaturation.
Liquid egg products range from liquid whole egg, egg white, and yolk to scrambled egg mixes and other specialized egg products. Liquid egg products are available as read-to-use products or in frozen form. Liquid egg can be further refined into egg powders, e.g. whole egg powder, egg white powder, yolk powder. Egg powder is made from fully dehydrated eggs by spray-drying the eggs in the same way that milk powder is produced. Advantages of powdered eggs over fresh eggs include low price, reduced weight per volume of whole egg equivalent, shelf life, less storage space, and needlessness of refrigeration.

Heat-Sensitivity of Egg Proteins

Eggs contain several heat-sensitive proteins that are an important factor to consider when liquid egg (also known as breaker eggs) is processed and pasteurized. Especially liquid egg white products are sensitive to processing conditions, especially heat. The temperature for egg white proteins denaturation varies between 61°C (for Ovotransferrin) and 92.5°C (for G2 Globulin). Livetins, lysozyme,
ovomacroglobulin and ovoglobulin G3 are the least heat stable proteins, while ovotransferrin, ovoinhibitor and ovoglobulin G2 were found to be the most heat stable proteins in egg. Protein sensitivity to heat can be influenced by the addition of salt and sugar, which increases the heat stability of heat-sensitive proteins.
Not only sugar and salt, also carbohydrates, such as sucrose, glucose, fructose, arabinose, mannitol and xylose, protect proteins from denaturation during heat treatments (pasteurization).
Coagulation temperature of whole egg: at 73°C

Emulsion Stability

In order to obtain a homogeneous liquid egg product, the liquid egg must be mechanically stabilized in order to prevent separation into two phases.
An emulsion is a mixture of two or more immiscible / non-blendable liquids. Technically, emulsions are a subdivision of colloidal systems of two or more phases. In emulsions, both the dispersed/internal and the continuous/external phase are liquid. In emulsions, two immiscible liquids are blended by dispersing one liquid (the dispersed phase) in the other (the continuous phase). Emulsifying agents are utilized to obtain long-term mechanical stability of the system.
Lecithin, which is e.g. a component in egg yolk, is a commonly used food emulsifier for food and industrial applications. Besides lecithin, agg yolk contains several amino acids that functions as emulsifiers, too. Egg yolk contains approx. 5-8grams of lecithin, which is why egg yolk is an important ingredient in many emulsion-based recipes such as mayonnaise, hollandaise, dressings, and sauces.

Foaming Functionality

Egg-white proteins contain amino acids. When the protein is curled up, the hydrophobic amino acids are packed in the center away from the water and the hydrophilic ones are on the outside closer to the water.
When an egg protein is up against an air bubble, part of that protein is exposed to air and part is still in water. The protein uncurls so that its water-loving parts can be immersed in the water—and its water-fearing parts can stick into the air. Once the proteins uncurl, they bond with each other—just as they did when heated—creating a network that can hold the air bubbles in place.

Eggnog

Eggnog is a milk-based drink which consists in milk, eggs, sugar and flavourings and sometimes alcohol. It is a sweet, rich, creamy dairy-based beverage traditionally made with milk, cream, whipped egg whites, egg yolks, and sugar. Optionally, when produced as liquor, distilled spirits such as brandy, rum or bourbon are incorporated.