Solutions ultrasonores pour l'amélioration de la production de vaccins

  • La sonication est utilisée dans différentes étapes de la préparation des vaccins : pour la lyse cellulaire, pour homogénéiser les suspensions cellulaires, pour stimuler la croissance cellulaire, pour l'encapsulation, pour la liaison aux protéines adjuvantes, etc.
  • Les ultrasoniseurs Hielscher sont utilisés dans la production, l'encapsulation et la formulation de l'antigène ainsi que dans l'étape de dégazage avant le remplissage du vaccin en flacons ou seringues.
  • Hielscher Ultrasons est votre partenaire de longue date pour des systèmes ultrasoniques fiables dans l'industrie pharmaceutique. Découvrez au cours de quelles étapes du processus de fabrication de vaccins vous pouvez améliorer votre production !

Production de vaccins

Les ultrasons peuvent être bénéfiques à différents stades de la production d'un vaccin. Pour produire un vaccin, la première étape consiste à préparer l'antigène lui-même. Selon le type d'agent pathogène, la méthode de génération de l'antigène diffère : Alors que les virus sont cultivés soit sur des cellules primaires comme les œufs de poule (par exemple pour la grippe), soit sur des lignées cellulaires continues comme les cellules humaines en culture (par exemple pour l'hépatite A), les bactéries sont cultivées dans des bioréacteurs (par exemple, Haemophilus influenzae type b). Les protéines recombinantes, qui ont été dérivées de virus ou de bactéries, peuvent également être cultivées dans des cultures de levure, de bactéries ou de cellules. Lorsque l'antigène est produit, il doit être libéré par les cellules dans lesquelles il a été cultivé.
Un virus peut avoir besoin d'être inactivé, éventuellement sans purification supplémentaire. Les protéines recombinantes nécessitent de nombreuses opérations d'ultrafiltration et de chromatographie sur colonne. Selon la formulation du vaccin, un adjuvant, des agents stabilisants et des agents de conservation sont ajoutés. Les adjuvants améliorent la réponse immunitaire de l'antigène, les stabilisants et les conservateurs augmentent la durée de conservation.
Au cours de la fabrication du vaccin, la sonication peut être appliquée à différents stades. En tant que méthode de traitement non thermique, la dégradation thermique des matériaux de valeur est évitée. Découvrez ci-dessous les applications les plus courantes où les ultrasons améliorent la production de vaccins :

Dispersion des antigènes

Le cisaillement ultrasonique disperse les particules de façon homogène.Les antigènes tels que les fragments cellulaires ou les antigènes protéiques doivent être dispersés de façon homogène dans une suspension, un polymère ou une encapsulation liposomale afin d'obtenir une formulation stable du vaccin. La sonication est éprouvée depuis longtemps pour préparer de fines dispersions dans la fabrication de produits pharmaceutiques et est donc une technique établie dans la production moderne de vaccins.
Les adjuvants à base d'aluminium, composés de très petites particules primaires, sont un type d'adjuvant couramment utilisé, qui peut être facilement agrégé en une unité fonctionnelle dans les formulations de vaccins. Afin de combiner les adjuvants avec les antigènes, il faut une distribution uniforme de l'antigène dans tout le vaccin contenant de l'aluminium. La dispersion ultrasonique prépare des dispersions homogènes d'antigènes et d'adjuvants (par ex. Alhydrogel™).

Les homogénéisateurs ultrasoniques tels que l'UIP1000hdT sont utilisés pour diverses applications dans la fabrication de vaccins.

UIP1000hdT avec réacteur à ultrasons

Demande d'information





Lyse cellulaire & Extraction

Les antigènes produits par les micro-organismes doivent être libérés par la cellule microbienne. La sonication est une technologie éprouvée de lyse et d'extraction cellulaire. En ajustant les paramètres de sonication, les cellules peuvent être perforées ou perturbées afin que les antigènes ciblés deviennent disponibles et puissent être isolés.

Inactivation des agents pathogènes

bactéries Escherichia coli sont lysées de manière fiable en utilisant des homogénéisateurs à ultrasons de tissus.Les ultrasons de puissance sont utilisés pour perturber et tuer les microorganismes tels que les bactéries et les virus. Par exemple, la désactivation par ultrasons d'E. coli suivie d'une irradiation s'est avérée la technique la plus efficace pour la préparation d'un vaccin efficace contre la colibacillose. [Melamed et al. 1991]
Les techniques couramment utilisées pour l'inactivation microbienne sont la pasteurisation thermique et la stérilisation, qui sont basées sur une longue exposition à des températures élevées et conduisent souvent à une détérioration des propriétés fonctionnelles induite par la chaleur. Un traitement combiné de sonication et de chaleur (thermo-sonication) peut accélérer le taux de stérilisation ; puisque l'intensité thermique et la durée sont significativement réduites, la dégradation thermique des composés thermosensibles (ex. protéines, antigènes). La stérilisation et la pasteurisation par ultrasons sont rentables, économes en énergie et respectueuses de l'environnement.

émulsions & suspensions

Emulsion double préparée par ultrasons, par exemple pour les produits pharmaceutiques.Les formulations vaccinales peuvent être constituées de mélanges eau-lipide. Comme les formulations de lipides aqueux ne sont pas miscibles, une émulsion fine doit être préparée en surmontant les gouttelettes.’ tension superficielle ou à l'aide d'un agent tensioactif. L'émulsification ultrasonique est une technique bien établie pour la formulation de Nano-émulsions / mini-émulsions, doubles émulsions, et Émulsions de Pickering. Par exemple, les lipopeptides insolubles dans l'eau peuvent être mis en suspension par ultrasons avec un antigène à un rapport de 1:1 (p/p) dans une solution aqueuse.
De plus, la sonication est appliquée afin de réduire les agrégats cellulaires et de répartir uniformément la cellule unique dispersée dans la suspension.

Les ultrasons sont utilisés pour produire des vaccins (Cliquez pour agrandir !)

Réacteur en verre à ultrasons

Adjuvants et agents de conservation

Les vaccins contiennent généralement un ou plusieurs adjuvants utilisés pour stimuler la réponse immunitaire. Par ultrasonication, les microfibres adjuvantes sont démêlées et dispersées de façon homogène afin d'améliorer la liaison des protéines à la surface. Les systèmes adjuvants à base d'émulsion sont largement utilisés dans le développement et la formulation de vaccins. De tels systèmes adjuvants à base d'émulsion peuvent être formulés à l'aide de divers types d'émulsion tels que les émulsions huile-dans-eau (H/E), eau-dans-huile (H/E), eau-dans-huile-dans-eau (H/E) ou émulsions stabilisées par des protéines.
De plus, des agents de conservation sont ajoutés pour prévenir la contamination du vaccin par des bactéries ou des champignons. Les conservateurs peuvent être utilisés à différents stades de la production des vaccins.
L'utilisation d'homogénéisateurs ultrasoniques favorise un mélange et une dispersion plus uniformes et plus fins et est donc un outil fiable pour une production de vaccins plus efficace.

Formulation & encapsulation liposomale

Les vaccins encapsulés dans des liposomes peuvent être administrés par voie orale, intranasale, intramusculaire, sous-cutanée et constituent une méthode d'administration du vaccin et un adjuvant avantageux, qui pourraient améliorer l'administration ciblée et réduire la toxicité des antigènes piégés. La sonication est une technique fiable pour encapsuler les composés actifs dans des formulations liposomales. En savoir plus sur la formulation ultrasonique des liposomes !
Pour formuler un vaccin vétérinaire contre la maladie de Newcastle, Zhao et al (2011) ont préparé une petite vésicule unilamellaire (SUV) phosphatidylcholine/cholestérol sous sonication. Le vaccin encapsulé par ultrasons a montré une réponse immunitaire améliorée, des titres d'anticorps IgG et IgM plus élevés ainsi qu'une prolifération des lymphocytes T et B.

dégazage

Lors de la production de vaccins et de produits pharmaceutiques et avant le conditionnement, les vaccins et les liquides tels que suspensions, solutions, émulsions et formulations finales doivent être dégazés. Lors de l'étape de dégazage/désaération, des bulles de gaz (p. ex. oxygène, dioxyde de carbone, qui sont emprisonnés dans le liquide, sont éliminées. Les ondes ultrasonores favorisent la coalescence des bulles de gaz piégées dans les liquides. Les bulles coalescentes ont une plus grande flottabilité et remontent à la surface du liquide. L'élimination des bulles de gaz peut être améliorée lorsqu'un léger vide est appliqué au récipient de sonication. Le dégazage assisté par ultrasons est une technique de dégazage facile et rapide des suspensions aqueuses.

Croissance cellulaire

L'agitation par ultrasons pendant l'inoculation (le processus d'introduction de micro-organismes dans un milieu de culture) peut augmenter la croissance des cultures cellulaires. L'intensité de la sonication, la température et le temps de rétention dans les bioréacteurs à ultrasons de Hielscher peuvent être réglés avec précision en fonction du type de cellule et de ses exigences.
Par exemple, une légère sonication peut être appliquée pour augmenter l'absorption de glucose par les cellules et favoriser ainsi la croissance des cultures et des suspensions cellulaires. L'échographie est connue pour augmenter la perméabilité des cellules, ce qui, à son tour, peut améliorer l'échange de nutriments et de déchets, ce qui mène à une meilleure production de vaccins. Ainsi, le temps de production du vaccin peut être raccourci et/ou le rendement des protéines utilisées comme vaccins peut être augmenté.

Hielscher Ultrasonics’ Pharma-Réacteurs

Hielscher Ultrasons est spécialisée dans la production de systèmes ultrasoniques de haute puissance et de bioréacteurs sono pour la mise en œuvre en R&D et la production industrielle de produits pharmaceutiques (p. ex. vaccins, API)
Réacteur fermé à production discontinue de produits pharmaceutiquesLa sonication peut s'appliquer aux récipients ouverts, réacteurs fermés et des réacteurs à circulation continue. Toutes les parties des systèmes à ultrasons qui entrent en contact avec le milieu liquide sont en acier inoxydable, en titane ou en verre. Les pièces autoclavables et les équipements sanitaires assurent la production de de qualité pharmaceutique produits.
Un logiciel intelligent enregistre automatiquement les paramètres du processus de sonication sur la carte mémoire SD intégrée. Le contrôle précis de tous les paramètres du processus permet de s'assurer que reproductibilité et normalisation de la production.
Hielscher Ultrasonics’ Processeur à ultrasons industrielsont très fiables et peuvent être contrôlés avec précision. Tous les ultrasons industriels peuvent être réglés pour fournir une gamme complète d'amplitudes allant des plus faibles aux plus élevées. Des amplitudes allant jusqu'à 200µm peuvent être facilement utilisées en continu 24h/24 et 7j/7. Pour des amplitudes encore plus élevées, des sonotrodes ultrasoniques personnalisées sont disponibles. La robustesse des systèmes à ultrasons de Hielscher permet de fonctionner 24 heures sur 24, 7 jours sur 7, dans des environnements difficiles et exigeants.

Contactez nous! / Demandez nous!

Demander plus d'informations

Veuillez utiliser le formulaire ci-dessous, si vous souhaitez demander des informations supplémentaires sur l'homogénéisation par ultrasons. Nous serons heureux de vous offrir un système à ultrasons répondant à vos exigences.









Veuillez prendre note de notre Politique de confidentialité.


Hielscher Ultrasons fabrique des ultrasons de haute performance pour des extraits à spectre complet.

Extracteurs à ultrasons de haute puissance du laboratoire à l'échelle pilote et industrielle.

Littérature / Références



Qu'il faut savoir

Principe de fonctionnement des ultrasons de puissance : Cavitation acoustique

La cavitation ultrasonore / acoustique crée des forces très intenses qui ouvrent les parois cellulaires connues sous le nom de lyse (Cliquez pour agrandir !)

L'extraction par ultrasons est basée sur la cavitation acoustique et ses forces de cisaillement hydrodynamiques.

Hielscher – Ultrasound Technology

Ultrasonic Solutions for Improved Vaccine Production

  • Sonication is used in various steps of vaccines preparation: for cell lysis, to homogenize cell suspensions, to stimulate cell growth, for encapsulation, for adjuvant protein binding etc.
  • Hielscher’s ultrasonicators are used in the antigen production, encapsulation and formulation as well as in the degassing step before filling the vaccine into vials or syringes.
  • Hielscher Ultrasonics is your long-experienced partner for reliable ultrasonic systems in the pharma industry. Find out during which process steps of vaccine manufacturing can improve your production!

Production of Vaccines

Ultrasonication can be beneficial during various stages of vaccine production. To produce a vaccine, the first step is to prepare the antigen itself. Depending on the typ of pathogen, the metod of antigen generation differs: Whilst viruses are grown either on primary cells such as chicken eggs (e.g. for influenza) or on continuous cell lines such as cultured human cells (e.g. for hepatitis A), bacteria are grown in bioreactors (e.g. Haemophilus influenzae type b). Recombinant proteins, which have been derived from viruses or bacteria, can be grown also in yeast, bacteria, or cell cultures. When the antigen is produced, it must be released from the cells in which it has been grown.
A virus may need to be inactivated, possibly with no further purification required. Recombinant proteins need many operations involving ultrafiltration and column chromatography. Depending on the vaccine formulation, an adjuvant, stabilizing agents, and preservatives are added. Adjuvants enhance the immune response of the antigen, stabilizers and preservatives increase the shelf life.
During vaccine manufacturing sonication can be applied at various stages. As a non-thermal processing method, heat degradation of valuable material is avoided. Find below the most common applications where ultrasound improves the production of vaccines:

Dispersion of Antigens

Ultrasonic shear disperses particles homogeneously.Antigens such as cell fragment or protein antigens must be homogeneously dispersed into a suspension, polymer, or liposomal encapsulation in order to obtain a stable vaccine formulation. Sonication is long-term proven to prepare fine dispersions in the manufacturing of pharmaceutical products and is therefore an established technique in the modern vaccine production.
Aluminum-based adjuvants, composed of very small primary particles, are a commonly used type of adjuvant, which can be easily aggregated into a functioning unit in vaccine formulations. In order to combine adjuvants with antigens, a uniform distribution of antigen throughout the aluminum-containing vaccine is required. Ultrasonic dispersion prepares homogeneous dispersions of antigens and adjuvants (e.g. Alhydrogel™).

Ultrasonic homogenizers such as the UIP1000hdT are used for various applications in the vaccine manufacturing.

UIP1000hdT with ultrasonic flow reactor

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


Cell Lysis & Extraction

The antigens produced from microorganisms must be released from the microbial cell. Sonication is a proven technology of cell lysis and extraction. By adjustment of the sonication parameters, cells can be perforated or disrupted so that the targeted antigens become available and can be isolated.

Inactivation of Pathogens

Escherichia coli bacteria are reliably lysed using ultrasonic tissue homogenizers.Power ultrasound is applied to disrupt and kill microorganisms such as bacteria and viruses. For instance, ultrasonic deactivation of E. coli followed by irradiation has been shown to be the most potent technique for preparation of an effective colibacillosis vaccine. [Melamed et al. 1991]
Commonly used techniques for microbial inactivation are thermal pasteurization and sterilization, which are based on long exposure to high temperatures and often lead to thermally induced deterioration of functional properties. A combined treatment of sonication and heat (thermo-sonication) can accelerate the rate of sterilization; since the thermal intensity and duration is significantly reduced, thermal degradation of heat-sensitive compounds (e.g. proteins, antigens). Ultrasonic sterilisation and pasteurization is cost-efficient, energy-saving and environment-friendly.

Emulsions & Suspensions

Ultrasonically prepared double emulsion, e.g. for pharmaceuticals.Vaccine formulations may consist of water-lipid mixtures. Since water-lipid formulations are immiscible, a fine-size emulsion must be prepared by either overcoming the droplets’ surface tension or using a surfactant. Ultrasonic emulsification is a well-established technique to formulate nano-emulsions / mini-emulsions, double emulsions, and pickering emulsions. For instance, water-insoluble lipopeptides can be ultrasonically suspended with antigen at a 1:1 (w/w) ratio in an aqueous solution.
Further, sonication is applied in order to reduce cell aggregats and to distribute the single-dispersed cell evenly in the suspension.

Ultrasonication is used to produce vaccines (Click to enlarge!)

Ultrasonic glass reactor

Adjuvants and Preservatives

Vaccines typically contain one or more adjuvants, used to boost the immune response. By ultrasonication, adjuvant microfibres are detangled and homogeneously dispersed so that the protein binding on the surface is improved. Emulsion-based adjuvant systems are widely used in vaccine development and formulation. Such emulsion-based adjuvant systems can be formulated using various emulsion types such as oil-in-water (o/w), water-in-oil (w/o), water-in-oil-in-water (w/o/w), or protein-stabilized emulsions.
Furthermore, preservatives are added to prevent the vaccine’s contamination with bacteria or fungi. Preservatives may be used at various stages of production of vaccines.
The use of ultrasonic homogenizers promote a more even and fine mixing and dispersing and is thereby a reliable tool for a more efficient vaccine production.

Formulation & Liposomal Encapsulation

Liposome-encapsulated vaccines can be administered orally, intranasally, intramuscularly, subcutanously and are an advantageous vaccine delivery method and adjuvant, which could improve targeted delivery and reduce toxicity of the entrapped antigens. Sonication is a reliable technique to encapsulate active compounds into liposomal formulations. Read here more about the ultrasonic formulation of liposomes!
Dor instance, in order to formulate a veterinary vaccine against the Newcastle disease, Zhao et al. (2011) prepared a phosphatidylcholine/cholesterol small unilammelar vesicles (SUV) under sonication. The ultrasonically encapsulated vaccine showed an enhanced immune response, higher IgG and IgM antibody titers as well as T-cell and B-cell proliferation.

Degassing

During vaccine and pharmaceutical production and before packaging, vaccines and liquids such as suspensions, solutions, emulsions and final formulations must be degassed. During the deagassing / de-aeration step gas bubbles (e.g. oxygen, carbon dioxide, which are entrapped in the liquid, are removed. Ultrasonic waves promote the coalescence of gas bubbles entrapped in liquids. The coalesced bubbles have a higher buoyancy and rise to the liquid surface. The removal of gas bubbles can be enhanced when a slight vacuum is applied to the sonication vessel. Ultrasonically assisted degassing is an easy and rapid deaeration technique of aqueous suspensions.

Cell Growth

Ultrasonic agitation during inoculation (the process of introducing microorganisms into a culture medium) can increase the growth of cell cultures. The intensity of sonication, temperature and retention time in Hielscher’s ultrasonic bioreactors can be exactly regulated regarding the cell type and its requirements.
For instance, mild sonication can be applied to increse the glucose uptake of cells and promote thereby the growth of cell cultures and suspensions. Ultrasound is known to increase cell permeability, which, in turn, can enhance nutrient / waste exchange thus leading to enhanced vaccine production. Thereby, the vaccine production time can be shortened and/or the yield of proteins used as vaccines can be increased.

Hielscher Ultrasonics’ Pharma-Reactors

Hielscher Ultrasonics is specialised in the production of high-power ultrasonic systems and sono-bioreactors for the implementation in R&D and industrial production of pharmaceuticals (e.g. vaccines, APIs)
Closed pharma-batch reactorSonication can be applied to open vessels, closed reactors and continuous flow-through reactors. All parts of the ultrasonic systems, which get in contact with the liquid medium, are made from stainless steel, titanium, or glass. Autoclavable parts and sanitary fittings ensure the production of pharma-grade products.
Intelligent software records the parameters of the sonication process automatically on the integrated SD memory card. The precise control of all process parameters ensure the reproducibility and standardisation of production.
Hielscher Ultrasonics’ industrial ultrasonic processors are highly reliable and can be precisely controlled. All industrial ultrasonicators can adjusted to deliver the full range from lower to very high amplitudes. Amplitudes of up to 200µm can be easily continuously run in 24/7 operation. For even higher amplitudes, customized ultrasonic sonotrodes are available. The robustness of Hielscher’s ultrasonic systems allows for 24/7 operation under heavy duty and in demanding environments.

Contact Us! / Ask Us!

Ask for more information

Please use the form below, if you wish to request additional information about ultrasonic homogenization. We will be glad to offer you an ultrasonic system meeting your requirements.









Please note our privacy policy.


Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonicators for full-spectrum extracts.

High-power ultrasonic extractors from lab to pilot and industrial scale.

Literature/References



Facts Worth Knowing

Working Principle of Power Ultrasound: Accoustic Cavitation

Ultrasonic / acoustic cavitation creates highly intense forces which opens the cell walls known as lysis (Click to enlarge!)

Ultrasonic extraction is based on acoustic cavitation and its hydrodynamic shear forces