Technologie des ultrasons Hielscher

Production biosynthétique d'oligosaccharides du lait humain

La biosynthèse des oligosaccharides du lait humain (HMO) par fermentation ou réactions enzymatiques est un processus complexe, consommateur et souvent peu productif. Les ultrasons augmentent le transfert de masse entre le substrat et les usines cellulaires et stimulent la croissance et le métabolisme des cellules. Ainsi, la sonication intensifie la fermentation et les processus biochimiques, ce qui permet une production accélérée et plus efficace des HMO.

Oligosaccharides du lait humain

Les oligosaccharides du lait humain (HMO), également connus sous le nom de glycanes du lait humain, sont des molécules de sucre, qui font partie du groupe des oligosaccharides. Parmi les principaux exemples d'HMO, on peut citer le 2'-fucosyllactose (2′-FL), le lacto-N-néotétraose (LNnT), le 3'-galactosyllactose (3′-GL), et le difucosyllactose (DFL).
Alors que le lait maternel humain est composé de plus de 150 structures HMO différentes, seuls le 2′-fucosyllactose (2′-FL) et le lacto-N-neotetraose (LNnT) sont actuellement produits au niveau commercial et utilisés comme additifs nutritionnels dans les préparations pour nourrissons.
Les oligosaccharides du lait humain (HMO) sont connus pour leur importance dans l'alimentation des bébés. Les oligosaccharides du lait humain sont un type unique de nutriments, qui agissent comme prébiotiques, antimicrobiens anti-adhésifs et immunomodulateurs dans l'intestin du nourrisson et contribuent de manière substantielle au développement du cerveau. Les HMO sont exclusivement présents dans le lait maternel humain ; les autres laits de mammifères (par exemple, de vache, de chèvre, de brebis, de chameau, etc.) ne contiennent pas cette forme spécifique d'oligosaccharides.
Les oligosaccharides du lait humain sont le troisième composant solide le plus abondant dans le lait humain, qui peut être présent soit sous forme dissoute ou émulsifiée, soit en suspension dans l'eau. Le lactose et les acides gras sont les solides les plus abondants dans le lait humain. Les HMO sont présents en une concentration de 0,35-0,88 onces (9,9-24,9 g)/L. On connaît environ 200 oligosaccharides du lait humain de structure différente. L'oligosaccharide dominant chez 80% des femmes est le 2′-fucosyllactose, qui est présent dans le lait maternel humain à une concentration d'environ 2,5 g/L.
Comme les HMO ne sont pas digérés, ils ne contribuent pas à la nutrition sur le plan calorique. Étant des hydrates de carbone indigestes, ils fonctionnent comme des prébiotiques et sont fermentés sélectivement par la microflore intestinale souhaitable, en particulier les bifidobactéries.

Les avantages pour la santé des oligosaccharides du lait humain (HMO)

  • promouvoir le développement des nourrissons
  • sont importants pour le développement du cerveau
  • a des propriétés anti-inflammatoires et
  • des effets anti-adhésifs dans le tractus gastro-intestinal
  • soutient le système immunitaire des adultes
Ultrasonication and the use of ultrasonic bioreactors (sono-bioreactors) are highly effective to promote mass transfer between substrate and living cells used as cell factories

Le Appareil de traitement par ultrasons UIP2000hdT augmente le transfert de masse et active les usines cellulaires pour un meilleur rendement des molécules biologiques biosynthétisées telles que les HMO

Demande d'information





Biosynthèse des oligosaccharides du lait humain

Les usines cellulaires et les systèmes enzymatiques/chimio-enzymatiques sont les technologies actuelles utilisées pour la synthèse des HMO. Pour la production d'HMO à l'échelle industrielle, la fermentation des usines de cellules microbiennes, la synthèse biochimique et différentes réactions enzymatiques sont des moyens possibles de bioproduction d'HMO. Pour des raisons économiques, la biosynthèse via des usines de cellules microbiennes est actuellement la seule technique utilisée au niveau de la production industrielle d'HMO.

Fermentation d'OGM à l'aide d'usines de cellules microbiennes

E.coli, Saccharomyces cerevisiae et Lactococcus lactis sont des usines cellulaires couramment utilisées pour la bioproduction de molécules biologiques telles que les HMO. La fermentation est un processus biochimique qui utilise des micro-organismes pour convertir un substrat en molécules biologiques ciblées. Les usines de cellules microbiennes utilisent des sucres simples comme substrat, qu'elles convertissent en HMO. Comme les sucres simples (par exemple le lactose) sont un substrat abondant et bon marché, le processus de biosynthèse reste rentable.
La croissance et le taux de bioconversion sont principalement influencés par le transfert de masse des nutriments (substrat) vers les microorganismes. Le taux de transfert de masse est un facteur principal qui affecte la synthèse du produit pendant la fermentation. Les ultrasons sont bien connus pour favoriser le transfert de masse.
Pendant la fermentation, les conditions dans le bioréacteur doivent être constamment surveillées et régulées afin que les cellules puissent se développer le plus rapidement possible pour ensuite produire les biomolécules ciblées (par exemple les oligosaccharides tels que les HMO, l'insuline, les protéines recombinantes). Théoriquement, la formation du produit commence dès que la culture cellulaire commence à se développer. Cependant, en particulier dans les cellules génétiquement modifiées telles que les micro-organismes modifiés, elle est généralement induite plus tard par l'ajout d'une substance chimique au substrat, qui régule à la hausse l'expression de la biomolécule ciblée. Les bioréacteurs à ultrasons (sono-bioréacteur) peuvent être contrôlés avec précision et permettent la stimulation spécifique des microbes. Il en résulte une biosynthèse accélérée et des rendements plus élevés.
Lyse et extraction par ultrasons : La fermentation des HMO complexes peut être limitée par des titres de fermentation faibles et des produits restant intracellulaires. La lyse et l'extraction par ultrasons sont utilisées pour libérer le matériel intracellulaire avant la purification et les processus en aval.

Fermentation favorisée par ultrasons

Le taux de croissance de microbes tels que Escherichia coli, E.coli artificielle, Saccharomyces cerevisiae et Lactococcus lactis peut être accéléré en augmentant le taux de transfert de masse et la perméabilité de la paroi cellulaire par l'application d'ultrasons contrôlés à basse fréquence. En tant que technique de traitement douce et non thermique, l'échographie applique des forces purement mécaniques dans le bouillon de fermentation.
Cavitation acoustique : Le principe de fonctionnement de la sonication est basé sur la cavitation acoustique. La sonde ultrasonore (sonotrode) couple des ondes d'ultrasons à basse fréquence dans le milieu. Les ondes ultrasonores se déplacent dans le liquide en créant des cycles alternés de haute pression (compression) et de basse pression (raréfaction). En comprimant et en étirant le liquide en cycles alternés, de minuscules bulles de vide se forment. Ces petites bulles de vide se développent sur plusieurs cycles jusqu'à ce qu'elles atteignent une taille telle qu'elles ne peuvent plus absorber d'énergie. À ce point de croissance maximale, la bulle de vide implose violemment et génère localement des conditions extrêmes, connues sous le nom de phénomène de cavitation. Dans le "point chaud" de la cavitation, on peut observer des différences de pression et de température élevées et des forces de cisaillement intenses avec des jets de liquide pouvant atteindre 280 m/sec. Grâce à ces effets de cavitation, on obtient un transfert de masse et une sonoporation (perforation des parois et des membranes cellulaires) complets. Les nutriments du substrat sont amenés par flottaison vers et dans les cellules vivantes, de sorte que les usines cellulaires sont nourries de manière optimale et que la croissance et les taux de conversion sont accélérés. Les bioréacteurs à ultrasons constituent une stratégie simple, mais très efficace, pour traiter la biomasse dans un processus de biosynthèse en un seul pot.
Une sonication douce, contrôlée avec précision, est bien connue pour intensifier les processus de fermentation.
La sonication améliore "la productivité de nombreux bioprocessus impliquant des cellules vivantes par l'amélioration de l'absorption du substrat, l'amélioration de la production ou de la croissance par l'augmentation de la porosité des cellules, et la libération potentiellement accrue des composants cellulaires". (Naveena et al. 2015)
En savoir plus sur la fermentation assistée par ultrasons !
Avantages de la fermentation intensifiée par ultrasons

  • rendement accru
  • Fermentation accélérée
  • Stimulation spécifique des cellules
  • Amélioration de l'utilisation du substrat
  • Porosité cellulaire accrue
  • facile à utiliser
  • sûr
  • Un simple rééquipement
  • échelle linéaire à production
  • Traitement par lots ou en ligne
  • rapide RoI

Naveena et al. (2015) ont constaté que l'intensification ultrasonique offre plusieurs avantages lors du biotraitement, notamment des coûts d'exploitation faibles par rapport à d'autres options de traitement d'amélioration, une simplicité de fonctionnement et des besoins énergétiques modestes.

Agitated ultrasonic tank (sono-bioreactor) for batch processing

Cuve avec ultrasons de 8 kW et agitateur

Réacteurs de fermentation à ultrasons à haute performance

Les processus de fermentation impliquent des microorganismes vivants tels que des bactéries ou des levures, qui fonctionnent comme des usines à cellules. Alors que la sonication est appliquée pour favoriser le transfert de masse et augmenter la croissance et le taux de conversion des micro-organismes, il est crucial de contrôler l'intensité des ultrasons avec précision afin d'éviter la destruction des usines cellulaires.
Hielscher Ultrasonics est spécialisé dans la conception, la fabrication et la distribution d'ultrasonateurs à haute performance, qui peuvent être contrôlés et surveillés avec précision pour assurer des rendements de fermentation supérieurs.
Contrôle précis des paramètres du processus ultrasonore par Hielscher Ultrasonics' logiciels intelligentsLe contrôle des processus est non seulement essentiel pour obtenir des rendements élevés et une qualité supérieure, mais il permet de répéter et de reproduire les résultats. En particulier lorsqu'il s'agit de stimuler les usines cellulaires, l'adaptation des paramètres de sonication aux cellules est essentielle pour obtenir des rendements élevés et prévenir la dégradation des cellules. C'est pourquoi tous les modèles numériques d'ultrasonateurs Hielscher sont équipés d'un logiciel intelligent qui permet d'ajuster, de contrôler et de réviser les paramètres de sonication. Les paramètres du processus ultrasonore tels que l'amplitude, la température, la pression, la durée de sonication, les cycles de fonctionnement et l'apport d'énergie sont essentiels pour favoriser la production d'HMO par fermentation.
Le logiciel intelligent des ultrasonateurs Hielscher enregistre automatiquement tous les paramètres importants du processus sur la carte SD intégrée. L'enregistrement automatique des données du processus de sonication est la base de la normalisation du processus et de la reproductibilité/répétabilité, qui sont nécessaires aux bonnes pratiques de fabrication (BPF).

Hielscher Ultrasons Cascatrode

cascatrodeTM dans un réacteur à cellules à flux ultrasonique

Recteurs à ultrasons pour la fermentation

Hielscher Ultrasons CascatrodeHielscher propose des sondes ultrasoniques de tailles, de longueurs et de géométries diverses, qui peuvent être utilisées pour des traitements par lots ou en continu. Les réacteurs ultrasoniques, également appelés sonobioréacteurs, sont disponibles pour tout volume couvrant le biotraitement ultrasonique, des petits échantillons de laboratoire au niveau de production pilote et entièrement commercial.
Il est bien connu que l'emplacement de la sonotrode ultrasonore dans la cuve de réaction influence la distribution de la cavitation et du micro-streaming dans le milieu. La sonotrode et le réacteur à ultrasons doivent être choisis en fonction du volume de traitement du bouillon cellulaire. Bien que la sonication puisse être effectuée aussi bien en mode discontinu qu'en mode continu, pour des volumes de production élevés, l'utilisation d'une installation à flux continu est recommandée. En passant par une cellule à flux ultrasonique, tous les milieux cellulaires sont exposés exactement de la même manière à la sonication, ce qui garantit le traitement le plus efficace. La large gamme de sondes ultrasonores et de réacteurs de cellules à flux Hielscher Ultrasons permet d'assembler l'installation de biotraitement ultrasonore idéale.

Hielscher Ultrasonics – Du laboratoire au pilote et à la production

Hielscher Ultrasons couvre toute la gamme des équipements à ultrasons en proposant des homogénéisateurs à ultrasons portables compacts pour la préparation des échantillons, des systèmes de table et des systèmes pilotes, ainsi que de puissants appareils à ultrasons industriels qui traitent facilement des chargements de camions par heure. Polyvalents et flexibles dans leurs options d'installation et de montage, les ultrasonateurs Hielscher peuvent être facilement intégrés dans toutes sortes de réacteurs discontinus, de lots alimentés ou d'installations à flux continu.
Divers accessoires ainsi que des pièces personnalisées permettent d'adapter idéalement votre installation ultrasonique aux exigences de votre processus.
Conçus pour fonctionner 24 heures sur 24, 7 jours sur 7, à pleine charge et pour une utilisation intensive dans des conditions difficiles, les processeurs à ultrasons Hielscher sont fiables et ne nécessitent qu'une faible maintenance.
Le tableau ci-dessous vous donne une indication de la capacité de traitement approximative de nos ultrasonicators:

lot Volume Débit Appareils recommandés
1 à 500 ml 10 à 200 ml / min UP100H
10 à 2000mL 20 à 400 ml / min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 20L 00,2 à 4L / min UIP2000hdT
10 à 100l 2 à 10 L / min UIP4000hdT
n / a. 10 à 100 litres / min UIP16000
n / a. plus grand groupe de UIP16000

Contactez nous! / Demandez nous!

Demander plus d'informations

Veuillez utiliser le formulaire ci-dessous pour demander des informations supplémentaires sur les processeurs à ultrasons, les applications et le prix. Nous serons heureux de discuter avec vous de votre processus et de vous proposer un système à ultrasons répondant à vos besoins !









Veuillez prendre note de notre Politique de confidentialité.


Hielscher Ultrasons fabrique des homogénéisateurs ultrasoniques haute performance pour la dispersion, l'émulsification et l'extraction cellulaire.

Homogénéisateurs ultrasoniques de haute puissance de laboratoires à pilote et Industriel échelle.

Littérature / Références



Qu'il faut savoir

La biosynthèse à l'aide des usines cellulaires

Une usine de cellules microbiennes est une méthode de bio-ingénierie, qui utilise des cellules microbiennes comme installation de production. Par le génie génétique des microbes, l'ADN de micro-organismes tels que les bactéries, les levures, les champignons, les cellules de mammifères ou les algues est modifié, transformant les microbes en usines de cellules. Les usines cellulaires sont utilisées pour convertir des substrats en molécules biologiques de valeur, qui sont utilisées par exemple dans l'alimentation, la pharmacie, la chimie et la production de carburant. Différentes stratégies de biosynthèse basées sur les usines cellulaires visent la production de métabolites natifs, l'expression de voies de biosynthèse hétérologues ou l'expression de protéines.
Les usines cellulaires peuvent être utilisées soit pour synthétiser des métabolites natifs, soit pour exprimer des voies de biosynthèse hétérologues, soit pour exprimer des protéines.

Biosynthèse des métabolites natifs

Les métabolites natifs sont définis comme des molécules biologiques, que les cellules utilisées comme usine cellulaire produisent naturellement. Les usines cellulaires produisent ces molécules biologiques soit de façon intracellulaire, soit sous forme de substance sécrétée. Cette dernière est préférée car elle facilite la séparation et la purification des composés ciblés. Les métabolites natifs sont par exemple les acides aminés et nucléiques, les antibiotiques, les vitamines, les enzymes, les composés bioactifs et les protéines produites par les voies anaboliques de la cellule.

Voies de biosynthèse hétérologues

Lorsqu'on essaie de produire un composé intéressant, l'une des décisions les plus importantes est le choix de la production dans l'hôte natif, et d'optimiser cet hôte, ou le transfert de la voie vers un autre hôte bien connu. Si l'hôte d'origine peut être adapté à un processus de fermentation industrielle, et que cela ne présente aucun risque pour la santé (par exemple, production de sous-produits toxiques), cette stratégie peut être privilégiée (comme ce fut le cas pour la pénicilline). Toutefois, dans de nombreux cas modernes, le potentiel d'utilisation d'une usine cellulaire préférée par l'industrie et des procédés de plate-forme connexes l'emporte sur la difficulté de transférer la voie.

Expression des protéines

The expression of proteins can be achieved via homologous and heterologous ways. In homologous expression, a gene that is naturally present in an organism is over-expressed. Through this over-expression, a higher yield of a certain biological molecule can be produced. For heterologous expression, a specific gene is transferred into a host cell in that the gene is not present naturally. Using cell engineering and recombinant DNA technology, the gene is inserted into the host’s DNA so that the host cell produces (large) amounts of a protein that it would not produce naturally. Protein expression is done in a variety of hosts from bacteria, e.g. E. coli and Bacillis subtilis, yeasts, e.g., Klyuveromyces lactis, Pichia pastoris, S. cerevisiae, filamentous fungi, e.g. as A. niger, and cells derived from multicellular organisms such as mammals and insects. Innummerous proteins are of great commercial interest, including from bulk enzymes, complex bio-pharmaceuticals, diagnostics and research reagents. (cf. A.M. Davy et al. 2017)

Hielscher Ultrasound Technology

Biosynthetic Production of Human Milk Oligosaccharides

The biosynthesis of human milk oligosaccharides (HMOs) via fermentation or enzymatic reactions is a complex, consuming and often low-yielding process. Ultrasonication increases the mass transfer between substrate and cell factories ans stimulates cell growth and metabolism. Thereby, sonication intensifies fermentation and bio-chemical processes resulting in an accelerated and more efficient production of HMOs.

Human Milk Oligosaccharides

Human milk oligosaccharides (HMOs), also known as human milk glycans, are sugar molecules, that are part of the oligosaccharides group. Prominent examples of HMOs include 2’-fucosyllactose (2′-FL), lacto-N-neotetraose (LNnT), 3’-galactosyllactose (3′-GL), and difucosyllactose (DFL).
While human breast milk iscomposed of more than different 150 HMO structures, only 2′-fucosyllactose (2′-FL) and lacto-N-neotetraose (LNnT) are currently produced on commercial level and used as nutritional additives in infant formula.
Human milk oligosaccharides (HMOs) are known for their significance in baby nutrition. Human milk oligosaccharides are a unique type of nutrients, which act as prebiotics, anti-adhesive antimicrobials, and immunomodulators within the infant’s gut and contribute substantially to the brain development. HMOs are exclusively found in human breast milk; other mammalian milks ( e.g. cow, goat, sheep, camel etc.) do not have these specific form of oligosaccharides.
Human milk oligosaccharides are the third most abundant solid component in human milk, which can be present either in dissolved or emulsified or suspended form in water. Lactose and fatty acids are the most abundant solids found in human milk. HMOs are present in a concentration of 0.35–0.88 ounces (9.9–24.9 g)/ L. Approximately 200 structurally different human milk oligosaccharides are known. The dominant oligosaccharide in 80% of all women is 2′-fucosyllactose, which is present in human breast milk at a concentration of approximately 2.5 g/ L.
Since HMOs are not digested, they do not calorically contribute to nutrition. Being indigestible carbohydrates, they function as prebiotics and are selectively fermented by desirable gut microflora, especially bifidobacteria.

Health Benefits of Human Milk Oligosaccharides (HMOs)

  • promote the development of infants
  • are important for brain development
  • has anti-inflammatory and
  • anti-adhesive effects in the gastro-intestinal tract
  • supports the immune system in adults
Ultrasonication and the use of ultrasonic bioreactors (sono-bioreactors) are highly effective to promote mass transfer between substrate and living cells used as cell factories

The ultrasonic processor UIP2000hdT increases mass transfer and activates cell factories for higher yields of biosynthesized biological molecules such as HMOs

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


Biosynthesis of Human Milk Oligosaccharides

Cell factories and enzymatic / chemo-enzymatic systems are current technologies used for the synthesis of HMOs. For HMO production on industrial scale, the fermentation of microbial cell factories, bio-chemical synthesis, and different enzymatic reactions are feasible ways of HMO bio-production. Due to economic reasons, the bio-synthesis via microbial cell factories is currently the only technique used on industrial production level of HMOs.

Fermentation of HMOs using Microbial Cell Factories

E.coli, Saccharomyces cerevisiae and Lactococcus lactis are commonly used cell factories used for the bio-production of biological molecules such as HMOs. Fermentation is a biochemical process using micro-organisms to convert a substrate into targeted biological molecules. Microbial cell factories use simple sugars as substrate, which they convert into HMOs. Since simple sugars (e.g. lactose) are an abundant, cheap substrate, this keeps the bio-synthesis process cost-efficient.
Growth and bioconversion rate are mainly influenced by the mass transfer of nutrients (substrate) to the microorganisms. The mass transfer rate is a main factor that affects the product synthesis during fermentation. Ultrasonication is well known to promote mass transfer.
During fermentation, the conditions in the bioreactor must be constantly monitored and regulated so that the cells can grow as quickly as possible in order to then produce the targeted biomolecules (e.g. oligosaccharides such as HMOs; insulin; recombinant proteins). Theoretically, the product formation starts as soon as the cell culture begins to grow. However especially in genetically modified cells such as engineered microorganisms it is usually induced later by adding a chemical substance to the substrate, which upregulates the expression of the targeted biomolecule. Ultrasonic bioreactors (sono-bioreactor) can be precisely controlled and allow for the specific stimulation of microbes. This results in an accelerated biosynthesis and higher yields.
Ultrasonic lysis and extraction: Fermentation of complex HMOs might be limited by low fermentation titers and products remaining intracellular. Ultrasonic lysis and extraction is used to release intracellular material before purification and down-stream processes.

Ultrasonically Promoted Fermentation

The growth rate of microbes such as Escherichia coli, engineered E.coli, Saccharomyces cerevisiae and Lactococcus lactis can be accelerated by increasing the mass transfer rate and cell wall permeability by applying controlled low-frequency ultrasonication. As a mild, non-thermal processing technique, ultrasonication applies purely mechanical forces into the fermentation broth.
Acoustic Cavitation: The working principle of sonication is based on acoustic cavitation. The ultrasonic probe (sonotrode) couples low-frequency ultrasound d waves into the medium. The ultrasound waves travel through the liquid creating alternating high-pressure (compression) / low-pressure (rarefaction) cycles. By compressing and stretching the liquid in alternating cycles, minute vacuum bubbles arise. These small vacuum bubbles grow over several cycles until they reach a size where they cannot absorb any further energy. At this point of maximum growth, the vacuum bubble implodes violently and generates locally extreme conditions, known as the phenomenon of cavitation. In the cavitational “hot-spot”, high pressure and temperature differentials and intense shear forces with liquid jets of up to 280m/sec can be observed. By these cavitational effects, thorough mass transfer and sonoporation (the perforation of cell walls and cell membranes) is achieved. The nutrients of the substrate are floated to and into the living whole cells, so that the cell factories are optimally nourished and growth as well as conversion rates are accelerated. Ultrasonic bioreactors are a simple, yet highly effective strategy to process biomass in a one-pot biosynthesis process.
A precisely controlled, mild sonication is well-known to intensify fermentation processes.
Sonication improves “the productivity of many bioprocesses involving live cells via the enhancement of substrate uptake, enhanced production or growth by increasing cell porosity, and potentially enhanced release of cell components.” (Naveena et al. 2015)
Read more about ultrasonically-assisted fermentation!
Advantages of Ultrasonically Intensified Fermentation

  • Increased Yield
  • Accelerated Fermentation
  • Cell-Specific Stimulation
  • Enhanced Substrate Uptake
  • Increased Cell Porosity
  • Easy-to-Operate
  • Safe
  • Simple Retro-Fitting
  • Linear Scale-up
  • Batch or InIine Processing
  • Fast RoI

Naveena et al. (2015) found that ultrasonic intensification offers several advantages during bioprocessing, including low operating costs compared to other enhancing treatment options, simplicity of operation and modest power requirements.

Agitated ultrasonic tank (sono-bioreactor) for batch processing

Tank with 8kW ultrasonicators and agitator

High-Performance Ultrasonic Fermentation Reactors

Fermentation processes involve living microorganisms such as bacteria or yeast, which function as cell factories. Whilst sonication is applied to promote mass transfer and increase microorganism’s growth and conversion rate, it is crucial to control the ultrasonic intensity precisely in order to avoid the destruction of the cell factories.
Hielscher Ultrasonics is specialist in designing, manufacturing and distributing high-performance ultrasonicators, which can be precisely controlled and monitored to ensure superior fermentation yields.
Precise control over the ultrasonic process parameters by Hielscher Ultrasonics' intelligent softwareProcess control is not only essential for high yields and superior quality, but enables to repeat and reproduce outcomes. Especially when ist comes to the stimulation of cell factories, the cell-specific adaptation of the sonication parameters is essential to achieve high yields and to prevent cell degradation. Therefore, all digital models of Hielscher ultrasonicators are equipped with intelligent software, which allows you to adjust, monitor, and revise sonication parameters. Ultrasonic process parameters such as amplitude, temperature, pressure, sonication duration, duty cycles, and energy input are essential to promote HMO production via fermentation.
The smart software of Hielscher ultrasonicators records automatically all important process parameters on the integrated SD-card. The automatic data recording of the sonication process are the foundation for process standardization and reproducibility / repeatability, which are required for Good Manufacturing Practices (GMP).

Hielscher Ultrasonics Cascatrode

CascatrodeTM in an ultrasonic flow cell reactor

Ultrasonic Rectors for Fermentation

Hielscher Ultrasonics CascatrodeHielscher offers ultrasonic probes of various size, length and geometries, which can be used for batch as well as continuous flow-through treatments. Ultrasonic reactors, also known as sono-bioreactors, are available for any volume covering the ultrasonic bioprocessing from small lab samples to pilot and fully-commercial production level.
It is well known that the location of the ultrasonic sonotrode in the reaction vessel influences the distribution of cavitation and micro-streaming within the medium. Sonotrode and ultrasonic reactor should be chosen in accordance to the processing volume of the cell broth. Whilst sonication can be performed in batch as well as in continuous mode, for high production volumes the use of a continuous flow installation is recommended. Passing through an ultrasonic flow cell, all cell medium gets exactly the same exposure to sonication ensuring the most effective treatment. Hielscher Ultrasonics broad range of ultrasonic probes and flow cell reactors allows to assemble the ideal ultrasonic bioprocessing setup.

Hielscher Ultrasonics – From Lab to Pilot to Production

Hielscher Ultrasonics covers the full spectrum of ultrasonic equipment offering compact hand-held ultrasonic homogenisers for sample preparation to bench-top and pilot systems as well as powerful industrial ultrasonic units that easily process truckloads per hour. Being versatile and flexible in installation and mounting options, Hielscher ultrasonicators can be easily integrated into all kinds of batch reactors, fed-batches or continuous flow-through setups.
Various accessories as well as customized parts allow for the ideal adaptation of your ultrasonic setup to your process requirements.
Built for 24/7 operation under full load and heavy duty in demanding conditions, Hielscher ultrasonic processors are reliable and require only low maintenance.
The table below gives you an indication of the approximate processing capacity of our ultrasonicators:

Batch Volume Flow Rate Recommended Devices
1 to 500mL 10 to 200mL/min UP100H
10 to 2000mL 20 to 400mL/min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 to 20L 0.2 to 4L/min UIP2000hdT
10 to 100L 2 to 10L/min UIP4000hdT
n.a. 10 to 100L/min UIP16000
n.a. larger cluster of UIP16000

Contact Us! / Ask Us!

Ask for more information

Please use the form below to request additional information about ultrasonic processors, applications and price. We will be glad to discuss your process with you and to offer you an ultrasonic system meeting your requirements!









Please note our privacy policy.


Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonic homogenizers for dispersion, emulsification and cell extraction.

High-power ultrasonic homogenizers from lab to pilot and industrial scale.

Literature / References



Facts Worth Knowing

Biosynthesis using Cell Factories

A microbial cell factory is a method of bioengineering, which utilizes microbial cells as a production facility. By genetically engineering microbes, the DNA of microorganisms such as bacteria, yeasts, fungi, mammalian cells, or algae is modified turning microbes into cell factories. Cell factories are used to convert substrates into valuable biological molecules, which are used e.g. in food, pharma, chemistry and fuel production. Different strategies of cell factory-based biosynthesis aim at the production of native metabolites, expression of heterologous biosynthetic pathways, or protein expression.
Cell factories can be used to either synthesize native metabolites, to express heterologous biosynthetic pathways, or to express proteins.

Biosynthesis of native metabolites

Native metabolites are defined as biological molecules, which the cells used as cell factory produce naturally. Cell factories produce these biological molecules either intracellularly or a secreted substance. The latter is preferred since it facilitates the separation and purification of the targeted compounds. Examples for native metabolites are amino and nucleic acids, antibiotics, vitamins, enzymes, bioactive compounds, and proteins produced from anabolic pathways of cell.

Heterologus Biosynthetic Pathways

When trying to produce an interesting compound, one of the most important decisions is the choice of production in the native host, and optimize this host, or transfer of the pathway to another well-known host. If the original host can be adapted to an industrial fermentation process, and there are no health-related risks in doing so (e.g., production of toxic by-products), this can be a preferred strategy (as was the case e.g., for penicillin). However, in many modern cases, the potential of using an industrially preferred cell factory and related platform processes out-weighs the difficulty of transferring the pathway.

Protein Expression

The expression of proteins can be achieved via homologous and heterologous ways. In homologous expression, a gene that is naturally present in an organism is over-expressed. Through this over-expression, a higher yield of a certain biological molecule can be produced. For heterologous expression, a specific gene is transferred into a host cell in that the gene is not present naturally. Using cell engineering and recombinant DNA technology, the gene is inserted into the host’s DNA so that the host cell produces (large) amounts of a protein that it would not produce naturally. Protein expression is done in a variety of hosts from bacteria, e.g. E. coli and Bacillis subtilis, yeasts, e.g., Klyuveromyces lactis, Pichia pastoris, S. cerevisiae, filamentous fungi, e.g. as A. niger, and cells derived from multicellular organisms such as mammals and insects. Innummerous proteins are of great commercial interest, including from bulk enzymes, complex bio-pharmaceuticals, diagnostics and research reagents. (cf. A.M. Davy et al. 2017)