Hielscher تكنولوجيا الموجات فوق الصوتية

بالموجات فوق الصوتية تحلل من كولاي

  • E. البكتيريا القولونية هي البكتيريا الأكثر شيوعا في علم الأحياء الدقيقة والتكنولوجيا الحيوية.
  • اختلال خلية بالموجات فوق الصوتية تحقيق نتائج موثوقة وقابلة للتكرار للتحلل من E. القولونية.
  • التجويف والقص قوات مكثفة بعد السيطرة على وجه التحديد يؤدي إلى اضطراب كامل وعائدات استخراج عالية (مثل البروتينات والحمض النووي).

تعطيل الخلية عن طريق التجويف

وهي lysed البكتيريا القولونية موثوق باستخدام المجانسة الأنسجة بالموجات فوق الصوتية.بالموجات فوق الصوتية التحقيق من نوع المجانسة تعمل مع تقريبا. 20000 دورة في الثانية (في 20KHZ) وتسبب التجويف في سوائل أو supsensions. التجويف المناطق المجهرية الصوتية من الضغوط مثل الفراغ ودرجات الحرارة المرتفعة التي تمزق الخلايا عن بعضها البعض. على الرغم من أن درجات الحرارة قد تصل إلى عدة آلاف درجة مئوية، وحجم التجويف صغيرة جدا لدرجة أنها لا تسخن عملية إلى حد كبير. الموجات فوق الصوتية ولدت التجويف الصوتية وقوى القص خرم أو كسر غشاء الخلية من القولونية – بالاعتماد على إعداد الجهاز للالخالط بالموجات فوق الصوتية.

مزايا بالموجات فوق الصوتية تحلل

  • مراقبة دقيقة من تحلل (كثافة، والسعة ودرجة الحرارة)
  • التكيف الأمثل لعينات محددة
  • التحكم في درجة الحرارة
  • للشركات الصغيرة جدا العينات كبيرة جدا (ميكرولتر للتر)
  • المعالجة الميكانيكية نقية
  • الخطي على نطاق والمتابعة من مختبر لإنتاج
جهاز الموجات فوق الصوتية VialTweeter يسمح لإعداد العينات في وقت واحد لمدة تصل إلى 10 قارورة في ظل ظروف العملية نفسها. (اضغط للتكبير!)

VialTweeter للتحلل بالموجات فوق الصوتية

طلب معلومات





بينما تحلل المواد الكيميائية وenzymtic يمكن أن يكون مشكلة – منذ تحلل الكيميائي يمكن أن تغير الهياكل بروتين وإدخال المشاكل تنقية وتحلل الأنزيمي يتطلب مرات حضانة طويلة وليس استنساخه – تعطل بالموجات فوق الصوتية هو متطورة، خلية سريعة طريقة التعطيل.
ويستند بالموجات فوق الصوتية على أساس القوى الميكانيكية فقط. لا يتم إضافة أي مواد كيميائية، سونيكيشن يكسر جدار الخلية من قبل قوات القص. يمكن أن يغير الليسر الكيميائي بنية البروتين ويدخل مشاكل تنقية. اضطراب الأنزيمية يتطلب أوقات حضانة طويلة وغير قابلة للاستنساخ.

توصيات عامة

UP400St ultrasonicator مع تدفق مفاعلصوتنة هو الأسلوب الأكثر شعبية بالنسبة الناشر كميات صغيرة جدا والمتوسطة والكبيرة من الايقاف الخلية – من بيكو لتر تصل إلى 100L / ساعة (باستخدام خلية تدفق الموجات فوق الصوتية). وهي lysed الخلايا عن طريق القص السائل والتجويف. والمنفصمة DNA أيضا خلال صوتنة، لذلك ليس من الضروري إضافة الدناز إلى تعليق الخلية.
التحكم في درجة الحرارة:
بواسطة ما قبل التبريد العينة والحفاظ على عينة خلال صوتنة على الجليد، عينة تدهور الحراري للعينة يمكن منعت بسهولة.
من الناحية المثالية، يجب أن تبقى عينات الجليد الباردة أثناء lysis، ولكن بالنسبة لمعظم العينات يكفي إذا كانت درجة الحرارة لا ترتفع فوق درجة حرارة الثقافة أو مصدر الأنسجة. ولذلك فمن المستحسن، للحفاظ على تعليق على الجليد وsonicate مع عدة نبضات الموجات فوق الصوتية قصيرة من 5-10 ثانية وتوقف من 10-30 ثانية. خلال توقف، يمكن أن تتبدد الحرارة من أجل إعادة تأسيس درجة حرارة منخفضة. للحصول على عينات خلايا أكبر، ومفاعلات الخلايا تدفق مختلفة مع سترات التبريد متوفرة.

بروتوكولات لإعداد كولاي لست]

تحليل التعبير وتنقية البروتين المؤتلف

كان sonicated القولونية E. بيليه مع نظام الموجات فوق الصوتية UP100H (HIELSCHER). لهذا الغرض، وكان معلق بيليه خلية في تحلل العازلة المبردة (50 ملي تريس، حمض الهيدروكلوريك درجة الحموضة = 7.5، 100 مم كلوريد الصوديوم، و 5 ملي DTT، 1 ملم PMSF) وتبريده على الجليد لمدة 10 دقيقة. ثم، كان sonicated تعليق الخلية مع 10 رشقات نارية قصيرة من 10 ثانية تليها فترة من 30 ثانية للتبريد. وأخيرا، تم إزالة الحطام الخلية تنبيذ فائق في 4 درجة مئوية لمدة 15 دقيقة في 14000 دورة في الدقيقة. لتأكيد التعبير امتاز، تم تشغيل طاف على 12٪ هلام بولي أكريلاميد وتحليلها بواسطة SDS-PAGE والنشاف الغربي. وقد تم تنقية امتاز باستخدام ني2+الراتنج -NTA (إينفيتروجن، الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية) وفقا لدليل الشركة المصنعة. في هذه المرحلة، تم استخدام طريقة تنقية الأصلي. تم تقييم نقاء البروتين النقي باستخدام الكهربائي على هلام بولي أكريلاميد 12٪ ولاحق Coomassie تلطيخ الأزرق. وقد تم قياس تركيز البروتين النقي عن طريق مايكرو BCA عدة البروتين فحص (بيرس، الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية). (Azarnezhad وآخرون 2016)

بالموجات فوق الصوتية UP100H خلية اختلال و(100W) للتحلل، واختلال الخلايا والقص DNA.

الخالط بالموجات فوق الصوتية UP100H (100وات)

نمو الخلية، يشابك وإعداد E. القولونية مقتطفات خلية

لSeqA وRNA البلمرة رقاقة رقاقة كولاي MG1655 MG1655 أو ΔseqA كانت تزرع في 37 ° C إلى OD600 من حوالي 0.15 في 50 مل LB (+ 0.2 ٪ الجلوكوز) قبل إضافة 27 ميكرولتر من الفورمالديهايد (37 ٪) لكل وسيلة متوسطة (تركيز النهائي 1 ٪). تم إجراء التشابك بالاهتزاز البطيء (100 دورة في الدقيقة) في درجة حرارة الغرفة لمدة 20 دقيقة تليها التبريد مع 10 مل من 2.5 جليكاين M (التركيز النهائي 0.5 م). في تجارب الصدمة الحرارية ، نمت E. coli MG1655 في وسط LB 65 مل عند 30 درجة مئوية إلى OD600 من حوالي 0.3. وفي وقت لاحق تم نقل 30 مل من ثقافة إلى قبل تحسنت قارورة في 43 ° C، وتبقى ما تبقى عند 30 درجة مئوية. كان يشابك والتبريد كما هو موضح أعلاه باستثناء التي تم الاحتفاظ الخلايا في 30 أو 43 درجة مئوية لمدة 5 دقائق قبل مزيد من الهز ببطء في درجة حرارة الغرفة. وقد تم جمع الخلايا بواسطة الطرد المركزي وغسلها مرتين مع TBS الباردة (pH7.5). بعد إعادة تعليق في 1 مل تحلل العازلة (10 ملي تريس (درجة الحموضة 8.0)، و 20٪ سكروز، 50 مم كلوريد الصوديوم، و 10 ملي EDTA، 10 ملغ / مل الليزوزيم) والحضانة عند 37 درجة مئوية لمدة 30 دقيقة تليها إضافة 4 مل IP العازلة، وsonicated الخلايا على الجليد مع 12 مرات 30 ثانية و 30 ثانية فواصل في ل UP400St المعالج بالموجات فوق الصوتية (HIELSCHER الفوق GmbH ل) مع قوة 100٪. بعد الطرد المركزي لمدة 10 دقيقة في 9000 غرام، تم تخزين 800 aliquotes ميكرولتر من طاف في -20 ° C. (Waldminghaus 2010)

الإفراط في الإنتاج وتنقية الإنزيمات.

لالإفراط في decahistidine (His10) البروتينات -tagged، E. القولونية BL21 (DE3) تحولت مع pET19b يبني. كان حصادها وpreculture بين عشية وضحاها بواسطة الطرد المركزي، وكان يستخدم 1٪ لتطعيم ثقافة التعبير. وقد نمت الخلايا تحمل pET19mgtB عند 22 درجة مئوية حتى الكثافة البصرية في 600 نانومتر (OD600) 0.7. تم نقل الثقافة إلى 17 درجة مئوية، ويتسبب بنسبة 100 ميكرومتر IPTG. بعد 16 ساعة، وكان حصاد الثقافة بواسطة الطرد المركزي في 7500 × غرام عند 4 درجات مئوية. ومعلق الخلايا في 50 ملي الفوسفات مخزنة المالحة (PBS) مع 0.3 M كلوريد الصوديوم في 7.4 درجة الحموضة وعطلت من قبل ultrasonication مع S2 sonotrode طرف الصغيرة في UP200St ultrasonicator (HIELSCHER، في Teltow، ألمانيا) في حلقة مفرغة من 0.5 واتساع 75٪.
وكان المستحث الإفراط في إنتاج GtfC الموسومة decahistidine-عند 37 درجة مئوية في لOD600 0.6 مع 100 ميكرومتر IPTG. ثم تم تحضين الخلايا لمدة 4 ساعات، تحصد، وهي lysed كما هو مذكور أعلاه لMgtB.
تم طرد مقتطفات خلية النفط الخام في 15000 × ز و 4 ° C إلى الرواسب والحطام الخلية. تم تحميل مقتطفات أوضح على أعمدة الخام 1 مل HisTrap FF باستخدام نظام ÄKTAprime زائد (GE للرعاية الصحية). تم تنقية الإنزيمات وفقا لبروتوكول الشركة المصنعة لشطف التدرج من البروتينات صاحب الموسومة. ومدال حلول بروتين مزال مرتين ضد 1000 حجم 50 ملم PBS، ودرجة الحموضة 7.4، مع 0.3 M كلوريد الصوديوم عند 4 درجات مئوية. تم تحليل تنقية بنسبة 12٪ SDS-PAGE. تم تحديد تركيز البروتين طريقة برادفورد باستخدام روتي-كوانت (كارل روث محدودة، كارلسروه، ألمانيا). (Rabausch وآخرون 2013)

استخراج البروتين من E. البكتيريا القولونية
بروتين الطعم من الفائدة (في هذه الحالة، MTV1 من thaliana نبات الأرابيدوبسيس) وتنصهر إلى علامة GST وأعرب في BL21 القولونية (إي كولاي) الخلايا.
1. خذ بيليه واحد من GST-MTV1 وGST (الموافق 50 مل ثقافة البكتيرية) وإعادة تعليق كل في 2.5 مل الجليد استخراج العازلة الباردة.
2. استخدام ultrasonicator UP100H (مجهزة MS3 microtip-sonotrode لكميات صغيرة (2-5mL)) لتعطيل الخلايا البكتيرية حتى هي lysed أنها، التي دلت على انخفاض التعتيم وزيادة اللزوجة. هذا لابد من تنفيذها على الجليد، وينصح يصوتن في فترات (على سبيل المثال 10 ثانية sonicating تليها 10 ثانية على الجليد وهلم جرا). لديها الحرص على أن تؤخذ لا يصوتن مع كثافة عالية جدا. إذا رغوة أو يتم الكشف عن تشكيل راسب أبيض، لا بد من خفض كثافة.
3. نقل البكتيريا الحل هي lysed إلى 1.5 مل أنابيب microcentrifuge وأجهزة الطرد المركزي في 4 درجات مئوية، 16000 ز س لمدة 20 دقيقة.

البروتينات المعدلة الأليسين في E. القولونية

وVialTweeter هو ultrasonicator مريح للعينة تجانس صغيرتحديد سلفهيدريل المحتويات التي كتبها 5،5'-Dithiobis (حمض 2-nitrobenzoic) (DTNB) الفحص
تم استخدام الثقافة بين عشية وضحاها كولاي MG1655 لتطعيم اجتماعات الأطراف الحد الأدنى من المتوسط ​​(1: 100). كانت تزرع ثقافة هوائيا حتى تم التوصل إلى A600 0.4. تم تقسيم الثقافة في ثلاث ثقافات 15 مل للعلاج الإجهاد. خدم ثقافة غير المعالجة كوسيلة لمراقبة سلبية. 0.79 ملي الأليسين (128 ميكروغرام مل-1وأضيف) أو 1 ملم ثنائي الأميد إلى واحد من اثنين من الثقافات المتبقية لكل منهما. وحضنت الثقافات لمدة 15 دقيقة. كانت تحصد 5 مل من كل ثقافة عن طريق الطرد المركزي (8525 × ز، 4 ° C، 10 دقيقة). وجرفت المياه الخلايا مرتين مع 1 مل من برنامج تلفزيوني (137 مم كلوريد الصوديوم، و 2.7 ملي بوكل، 10 ملي نا2HPO4، 2 مم KH2بو4، ودرجة الحموضة 7.4، وتخزينها قبل هوائيا لاستخدام) وطرد (13،000 × ز، 4 ° C، 10 دقيقة). ومعلق الخلايا في تحلل العازلة (PBS مع 6 ملي guanidinium حمض الهيدروكلوريك، ودرجة الحموضة 7.4) قبل انقطاع في 4 درجات مئوية بحلول ultrasonication (VialTweeter ultrasonicator، HIELSCHER محدودة، وألمانيا) (3 × 1 دقيقة). ومكعبات الحطام الخلية بواسطة الطرد المركزي (13،000 × ز، 4 ° C، 15 دقيقة). تم نقل طاف ل3.5 مل ماكرو QS-كوفيت (10 ملم) مع شريط مغناطيسي ومختلطة مع 1 مل من تحلل العازلة. تم رصد انقراض عينات في 412 نانومتر مع معمل JASCO V-650 مجهزة حامل خلية التحكم في درجة حرارته PSC-718 (JASCO) في درجة حرارة الغرفة. أضيفت 100μl حل 3 مم dithiobis (حمض 2-nitrobenzoic). تم رصد الانقراض حتى وصلت إلى درجة التشبع. تم إجراء حساب تركيز ثيول باستخدام ε معامل الانقراض412 = 13700 M-1 سم-1 لثيو-2-nitrobenzoic حمض (TNB). تم احتساب تراكيز ثيول الخلوية وبلغ حجم التداول E. خلايا القولونية 6.7 × 10-15 لتر وكثافة خلية من A600 = 0.5 (أي ما يعادل 1 × 108 خلايا مل-1 الثقافة). (مولر وآخرون 2016)

في فيفو الجلوتاثيون تحديد

وقد نمت القولونية MG1655 في اجتماعات الأطراف الحد الأدنى من المتوسط ​​في إجمالي حجم 200ml في حين وA600 0.5 تم التوصل إليه. تم تقسيم الثقافة في الثقافات 50 مل للعلاج الإجهاد. بعد 15 دقيقة من الحضانة مع 0.79 ملي الأليسين، 1 ملم ثنائي الأميد، أو سلفوكسيد ثنائي ميثيل (السيطرة)، وكان حصاد الخلايا في 4،000g في 4 درجة مئوية لمدة 10 دقيقة. وجرفت المياه الخلايا مرتين مع العازلة KPE قبل إعادة تعليق الكريات في 700μl من العازلة KPE. لdeproteination، 300L من 10٪ (ث / ت) تم إضافة حمض السلفوساليسيليك قبل تعطل الخلايا عن طريق ultrasonication (3 × 1 دقيقة. VialTweeter ultrasonicator). تم جمع Supernatants بعد الطرد المركزي (30 دقيقة، 13،000g، 4 ° C). وانخفضت تركيزات حمض السلفوساليسيليك إلى 1٪ من خلال إضافة 3 مجلدات من العازلة KPE. أجريت القياسات من إجمالي الجلوتاثيون وGSSG كما هو موضح أعلاه. تم احتساب تراكيز الجلوتاثيون الخلوية وبلغ حجم التداول E. القولونية خلايا 6.7×10-15 لتر وكثافة خلية من A600 00.5 (أي ما يعادل 1×108 خلايا مل-1 حضاره). تم حساب تركيزات GSH من الطرح من 2 [GSSG] من مجموع الجلوتاثيون. (مولر وآخرون 2016)

اختلال بالموجات فوق الصوتية للتحلل الخلية واستخراج المواد البيولوجية (انقر للتكبير!)

التحقيق من نوع ultrasonicator UP400St

التعبير عن mAspAT الإنسان في E. القولونية

بالموجات فوق الصوتية المحمولة اختلال UP400St (400W) لاستخراج المواد داخل الخلايا (مثل البروتينات، العضيات، DNA، RNA الخ)في مستعمرة واحدة من E. القولونية BL21 (DE3) إيواء ناقلات التعبير في 30 مل من لوريا، Bertani (LB) المتوسط ​​تحتوي على 100μg / مل الأمبيسلين، ومن ثم زراعتها في 37ºC حتى الكثافة الضوئية (OD600) وصلت 0.6. وقد تم حصاد الخلايا بواسطة الطرد المركزي في 4000 × ز لمدة 10 دقيقة، ومعلق في 3L المتوسطة LB الطازجة التي تحتوي على 100μg / مل الأمبيسلين.
وفي وقت لاحق، وكان المستحث التعبير البروتين مع 1 ملم الآيزوبروبيل β-ᴅ-1-thiogalactopyranoside (IPTG) لمدة 20 ساعة عند 16ºC. وقد تم حصاد الخلايا بواسطة الطرد المركزي في 8000 × ز لمدة 15 دقيقة ويغسل مع العازلة A (20 ملي NaH2PO4، و 0.5 M كلوريد الصوديوم، ودرجة الحموضة 7.4). وقد تم الحصول على 45g ويقترب (الوزن الرطب) الخلايا من 3 ثقافة L. بعد الطرد المركزي، ومعلق الكريات خلية في 40 مل (لمدة 1 L الثقافة) المثلج استخراج عازلة A، وهي lysed من قبل ultrasonication في درجة حرارة شديدة البرودة باستخدام UP400St أداة (الدكتور HIELSCHER محدودة، وألمانيا). تم طرد تحلل الخلية في 12000 دورة في الدقيقة لمدة 15 دقيقة لفصل ذوبان (طاف) وعجلت (بيليه) الكسور. (جيانغ وآخرون 2015)

الجدول أدناه يعطيك مؤشرا على قدرة المعالجة التقريبية لultrasonicators لدينا:

دفعة حجم معدل المد و الجزر الأجهزة الموصى بها
00.5 إلى 1.5mL زمالة المدمنين المجهولين VialTweeter
1 إلى 500ML 10 إلى 200ML / دقيقة UP100H
10 إلى 2000ML 20 إلى 400ML / دقيقة Uf200 ः ر، UP400St
00.1 إلى 20L 00.2 إلى 4L / دقيقة UIP2000hdT
10 إلى 100L 2 إلى 10L / دقيقة UIP4000
زمالة المدمنين المجهولين 10 إلى 100L / دقيقة UIP16000
زمالة المدمنين المجهولين أكبر مجموعة من UIP16000

اتصل بنا! / اسألنا!

يرجى استخدام النموذج أدناه، إذا كنت ترغب في طلب معلومات إضافية حول التجانس بالموجات فوق الصوتية. سنكون سعداء لنقدم لكم نظام الموجات فوق الصوتية تلبية الاحتياجات الخاصة بك.









يرجى ملاحظة لدينا سياسة الخصوصية.


مراجع الادب



حقائق تستحق العلم

بكتريا قولونية

Escherichia coli (E. coli) هي عبارة عن بكتريا القولون سلبية اللاهوائي ، والقوالب الشكلية ، والكوليفورمية من جنس Escherichia التي توجد عادة في الأمعاء الدقيقة للكائنات الحية ذوات الدم الحار (endotherms). هناك عدد كبير من سلالات E. coli (أو الأنواع الفرعية) ذات الخصائص المتنوعة. معظم سلالات E. coli غير ضارة للبشر ، مثل سلالات B و K-12 التي تستخدم عادة لتطبيقات البحث في المختبرات. ومع ذلك ، بعض السلالات ضارة ويمكن أن تسبب مرض خطير.
يلعب كولاي دورا هاما في مجال الهندسة البيولوجية الحديثة وعلم الأحياء الدقيقة الصناعي منذ البكتيريا من السهل التلاعب. تطبيقات مختبر المشتركة التي تنطوي في كثير من الأحيان استخدام كولاي، على سبيل المثال، لخلق حمض النووي الريبي منقوص الأكسجين المؤتلف (DNA) أو ليكون بمثابة كائن نموذج.
E. القولونية هي مجموعة متعددة جدا لإنتاج البروتينات مغاير، وهي أنظمة تعبير البروتين المتعددة المتاحة لإنتاج البروتينات المؤتلف في E. القولونية. استخدام البلازميدات التي تسمح التعبير مستوى عال من البروتين، ويمكن إدخال جينات في البكتيريا، والتي تمكن من إنتاج هذه البروتينات بكميات عالية في عمليات التخمير الصناعية.
وتستخدم القولونية بمثابة مصانع الخلية لإنتاج الأنسولين. وتشمل التطبيقات مواصلة استخدام الخلايا القولونية E. معدلة لتطوير وإنتاج اللقاحات والانزيمات يجمد، لإنتاج الوقود الحيوي، فضلا عن المعالجة البيولوجية.
سلالة K-12 هو شكل متحولة من E. القولونية أن الإفراط في تعبر عن انزيم الفوسفاتاز القلوية (ALP). تحدث هذه الطفرات بسبب وجود خلل في الجين الذي باستمرار رموز الانزيم. إذا ينتج الجين المنتج دون أي تثبيط هذا هو المعروف باسم النشاط التأسيسي. يستخدم هذا النموذج متحولة محددة لعزل وتنقية انزيم ALP.

بالموجات فوق الصوتية DNA قص

بالموجات فوق الصوتية قوى القص هي طريقة تستخدم عادة لفصل من الخلية وكسر خيوط DNA إلى قطع. التجويف الصوتية يكسر جدران الخلايا والأغشية لاستخراج DNA من الخلايا وتوليد شظايا من حوالي 600 – 800 شركة بريتيش بتروليوم في الطول، والذي يعتبر مثاليا للتحليل.
انقر هنا لمعرفة المزيد عن المجانسة بالموجات فوق الصوتية لتفتيت الحمض النووي!

Hielscher – Ultrasound Technology

Ultrasonic Lysis of E. Coli

  • E. coli bacteria are the most commonly used bacteria in microbiology and biotechnology.
  • Ultrasonic cell disruptors deliver reliable and reproducible results for the lysis of E. coli.
  • Intense yet precisely controllable cavitation and shear forces result in complete disruption and high extraction yields (e.g. proteins, DNA).

Cell Disruption by Cavitation

Escherichia coli bacteria are reliably lysed using ultrasonic tissue homogenizers.Ultrasonic probe-type homogenizers operate with approx. 20,000 cycles per second (at 20kHz) and cause cavitation in liquids or supsensions. Acoustic cavitation microscopic areas of vacuum-like pressures and high temperatures that tear cells apart. Although temperatures may reach several thousand degrees Celsius, cavitation volumes are so small they do not heat the process significantly. The ultrasound generated acoustic cavitation and shear forces perforate or break the cell membrane of E.coli – depending on the device setting of the ultrasonic homogenizer.

Advantages of Ultrasonic Lysis

  • precise control of lysis (intensity, amplitude, temperature)
  • optimal adaption to specific samples
  • temperature control
  • for very small to very large samples (µL to litres)
  • pure mechanical treatment
  • linear scale-up from lab to production
The ultrasonic device VialTweeter allows for simultaneous sample preparation of up to 10 vials under same process conditions. (Click to enlarge!)

VialTweeter for ultrasonic lysis

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


Whilst chemical and enzymtic lysis can be problematic – since chemical lysis can alter protein structures and introduce purification problems and enzymatic lysis requires long incubation times and is not reproducible – ultrasonic disruption is a sophisticated, fast cell disruption method.
Ultrasonic lysis is based on mechanical forces only. No chemicals are added, sonication breaks the cell wall by shear forces. Chemical lysis can alter protein structure and introduce purification problems. enzymatic disruption requires long incubation times and is not reproducible.

General Recommendations

UP400St ultrasonicator with flow reactorSonication is the most popular technique for lysing very small, medium and large quantities of cell suspensions – from pico-liters up to 100L/hr (using an ultrasonic flow cell). Cells are lysed by liquid shear and cavitation. DNA is also sheared during sonication, so it is not necessary to add DNase to the cell suspension.
Temperature control:
By pre-cooling the sample and keeping the sample during sonication on ice, sample thermal degradation of the sample can be easily prevented.
Ideally, samples should be kept ice-cold during lysis, but for most samples it sufficient if the temperature does not rise above the temperature of culture or tissue source. Therefore it is recommended, to keep the suspension on ice and to sonicate with several short ultrasonics pulses of 5-10 sec and pauses of 10-30 sec. During the pauses, the heat can dissipate in order to re-establish a low temperature. For larger cell samples, various flow cell reactors with cooling jackets are available.

Protocols for the Preparation of E. Coli Lysates

Expression analysis and purification of recombinant protein

The E. coli pellet was sonicated with an ultrasonic system UP100H (Hielscher). For this purpose, cell pellet was resuspended in chilled lysis buffer (50 mM Tris-HCl pH=7.5, 100 mM NaCl, 5 mM DTT, 1 mM PMSF) and cooled on ice for 10 min. Then, cell suspension was sonicated with 10 short bursts of 10 s followed by interval of 30 s for cooling. Finally, cell debris was removed by ultracentrifugation at 4°C for 15 min at 14000 rpm. For confirmation of rPR expression, the supernatant was run on 12% polyacrylamide gel and analyzed by SDS-PAGE and Western blotting. Purification of rPR was done using Ni2+-NTA resin (Invitrogen, USA) according to the manufacturer’s guide. In this stage, native purification method was used. The purity of the purified protein was assessed using electrophoresis on the 12% polyacrylamide gel and subsequent Coomassie blue staining. Purified protein concentration was measured by Micro BCA protein assay kit (PIERCE, USA). (Azarnezhad et al. 2016)

Ultrasonic cell disruptor UP100H (100W) for lysis, cell disruption and DNA shearing.

Ultrasonic homogenizer UP100H (100W)

Cell Growth, Crosslinking and Preparation of E. coli Cell Extracts

For SeqA and RNA polymerase ChIP-Chip E. coli MG1655 or MG1655 ΔseqA was grown at 37°C to an OD600 of about 0.15 in 50 ml LB (+ 0.2% glucose) before 27 μl of formaldehyde (37%) per ml medium were added (final concentration 1%). Crosslinking was performed at slow shaking (100 rpm) at room temperature for 20 min followed by quenching with 10 ml of 2.5 M glycine (final concentration 0.5 M). For heat-shock experiments, E. coli MG1655 was grown in 65 ml LB medium at 30°C to an OD600 of about 0.3. Subsequently 30 ml of culture was transferred to a pre warmed flask at 43°C and the remainder kept at 30°C. Crosslinking and quenching was as described above except that cells were kept at 30 or 43°C for 5 min before further slow shaking at room temperature. Cells were collected by centrifugation and washed twice with cold TBS (pH7.5). After resuspension in 1 ml lysis buffer (10 mM Tris (pH 8.0), 20% sucrose, 50 mM NaCl, 10 mM EDTA, 10 mg/ml lysozyme) and incubation at 37°C for 30 min followed by addition of 4 ml IP buffer, cells were sonicated on ice with 12 times 30 sec and 30 sec breaks at an UP400St ultrasonic processor (Hielscher Ultrasonics GmbH) with 100% power. After centrifugation for 10 min at 9000 g, 800 μl aliquotes of the supernatant were stored at -20°C. (Waldminghaus 2010)

Overproduction and purification of enzymes.

For overproduction of decahistidine (His10)-tagged proteins, E. coli BL21(DE3) was transformed with pET19b constructs. An overnight preculture was harvested by centrifugation, and 1% was used to inoculate an expression culture. Cells carrying pET19mgtB were grown at 22°C until an optical density at 600 nm (OD600) of 0.7. The culture was transferred to 17°C and induced by 100 μM IPTG. After 16 h, the culture was harvested by centrifugation at 7,500 × g at 4°C. Cells were resuspended in 50 mM phosphate-buffered saline (PBS) with 0.3 M NaCl at pH 7.4 and disrupted by ultrasonication with an S2 micro-tip sonotrode at the UP200St ultrasonicator (Hielscher, Teltow, Germany) at a cycle of 0.5 and an amplitude of 75%.
The overproduction of decahistidine-tagged GtfC was induced at 37°C at an OD600 of 0.6 with 100 μM IPTG. Cells were then incubated for 4 h, harvested, and lysed as stated above for MgtB.
Crude cell extracts were centrifuged at 15,000 × g and 4°C to sediment the cell debris. The clarified extracts were loaded on 1-ml HisTrap FF Crude columns using an ÄKTAprime Plus system (GE Healthcare). The enzymes were purified according to the manufacturer’s protocol for gradient elution of His-tagged proteins. Eluted protein solutions were dialyzed twice against 1,000 volumes of 50 mM PBS, pH 7.4, with 0.3 M NaCl at 4°C. The purification was analyzed by 12% SDS-PAGE. The concentration of protein was determined by the Bradford method using Roti-Quant (Carl Roth GmbH, Karlsruhe, Germany). (Rabausch et al. 2013)

Extraction of Protein from E. coli Bacteria
A bait protein of interest (in this case, MTV1 of Arabidopsis thaliana) is fused to a GST tag and expressed in BL21 Escherichia coli (E. coli) cells.
1. Take one pellet of GST-MTV1 and GST (corresponding to 50 ml bacterial culture) and resuspend each in 2.5 mL ice cold extraction buffer.
2. Use an ultrasonicator UP100H (equipped with MS3 microtip-sonotrode for small volumes (2-5mL)) to disrupt the bacterial cells until they are lysed, which is indicated by reduced opacity and increased viscosity. This has to be carried out on ice, and it is recommended to sonicate in intervals (e.g. 10 sec sonicating followed by 10 sec on ice and so on). Care has to be taken not to sonicate with too high intensity. If foaming or the formation of a white precipitate is detected, the intensity needs to be lowered.
3. Transfer the lysed bacteria solution to 1.5 mL microcentrifuge tubes and centrifuge at 4°C, 16,000 x g for 20 min.

Allicin-modified Proteins in E. coli

The VialTweeter is a comfortable ultrasonicator for small sample homogenizationDetermination of Sulfhydryl Contents by 5,5′-Dithiobis(2-nitrobenzoic acid) (DTNB) Assay
An E. coli MG1655 overnight culture was used to inoculate MOPS minimal medium (1:100). The culture was grown aerobically until an A600 of 0.4 was reached. The culture was split into three 15-ml cultures for stress treatment. An untreated culture served as a negative control. 0.79 mM allicin (128 μg ml-1) or 1 mM diamide was added to one of the remaining two cultures each. Cultures were incubated for 15 min. 5 ml of each culture were harvested by centrifugation (8,525 × g, 4°C, 10 min). Cells were washed twice with 1 ml of PBS (137 mM NaCl, 2.7 mM KCl, 10 mM Na2HPO4, 2 mM KH2PO4, pH 7.4, stored anaerobically prior to use) and centrifuged (13,000 × g, 4°C, 10 min). Cells were resuspended in lysis buffer (PBS with 6 mM guanidinium HCl, pH 7.4) prior to disruption at 4°C by ultrasonication (VialTweeter ultrasonicator, Hielscher GmbH, Germany) (3 × 1 min). Cell debris was pelleted by centrifugation (13,000 × g, 4 °C, 15 min). The supernatant was transferred to a 3.5-ml QS-macro cuvette (10 mm) with a magnetic stir bar and mixed with 1 ml of lysis buffer. Extinction of the samples was monitored at 412 nm with a Jasco V-650 spectrophotometer equipped with the PSC-718 temperature-controlled cell holder (Jasco) at room temperature. 100μl of a 3 mM dithiobis(2-nitrobenzoic acid) solution were added. Extinction was monitored until it reached saturation. Calculation of thiol concentration was performed using the extinction coefficient ϵ412 = 13,700 M-1 cm-1 for thio-2-nitrobenzoic acid (TNB). Cellular thiol concentrations were calculated based on a volume of E. coli cells of 6.7 × 10-15 liter and a cell density of A600 = 0.5 (equivalent to 1 × 108 cells ml-1 culture). (Müller et al. 2016)

In Vivo Glutathione Determination

E.coli MG1655 was grown in MOPS minimal medium in a total volume of 200ml until an A600 of 0.5 was reached. The culture was split into 50-ml cultures for stress treatment. After 15 min of incubation with 0.79 mM allicin, 1 mM diamide, or dimethyl sulfoxide (control), cells were harvested at 4,000g at 4°C for 10 min. Cells were washed twice with KPE buffer prior to resuspension of pellets in 700µl of KPE buffer. For deproteination, 300l of 10% (w/v) sulfosalicylic acid were added prior to disruption of cells by ultrasonication (3 x 1 min; VialTweeter ultrasonicator). Supernatants were collected after centrifugation (30 min, 13,000g, 4°C). Sulfosalicylic acid concentrations were decreased to 1% by the addition of 3 volumes of KPE buffer. Measurements of total glutathione and GSSG were performed as described above. Cellular glutathione concentrations were calculated based on a volume of E. coli cells of 6.7×10-15 liter and a cell density of A600 0.5 (equivalent to 1×108 cells ml-1 culture). GSH concentrations were calculated by subtraction of 2[GSSG] from total glutathione. (Müller et al. 2016)

Ultrasonic disruptor for cell lysis and extraction of biological material (Click to enlarge!)

Probe-type ultrasonicator UP400St

Expression of Human mAspAT in E. coli

Ultrasonic cell disruptor UP400St (400W) for extraction of intracellular matter (e.g. proteins, organelles, DNA, RNA etc.)The single colony of E. coli BL21 (DE3) harboring the expression vector in 30 mL of Luria-Bertani (LB) medium containing 100μg/mL ampicillin, and then cultivated at 37ºC until the optical density (OD600) reached 0.6. The cells were harvested by centrifugation at 4,000 × g for 10 min, and resuspended in 3L fresh LB medium containing 100μg/mL ampicillin.
Subsequently, protein expression was induced with 1 mM isopropyl β-ᴅ-1-thiogalactopyranoside (IPTG) for 20 h at 16ºC. The cells were harvested by centrifugation at 8,000 × g for 15 min and washed with buffer A (20 mM NaH2PO4, 0.5 M NaCl, pH 7.4). Approximated 45g (wet weight) cells were obtained from 3 L culture. After centrifugation, the cell pellets was resuspended in 40 mL (for 1 L culture) ice-cold extraction buffer A, and lysed by ultrasonication at ice-cold temperature using an UP400St instrument (Dr. Hielscher GmbH, Germany). The cell lysis was centrifuged at 12,000 rpm for 15 min to separate soluble (supernatant) and precipitated (pellet) fractions. (Jiang et al. 2015)

The table below gives you an indication of the approximate processing capacity of our ultrasonicators:

Batch VolumeFlow RateRecommended Devices
0.5 to 1.5mLn.a.VialTweeter
1 to 500mL10 to 200mL/minUP100H
10 to 2000mL20 to 400mL/minUP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 to 20L0.2 to 4L/minUIP2000hdT
10 to 100L2 to 10L/minUIP4000
n.a.10 to 100L/minUIP16000
n.a.largercluster of UIP16000

Contact Us! / Ask Us!

Please use the form below, if you wish to request additional information about ultrasonic homogenization. We will be glad to offer you an ultrasonic system meeting your requirements.









Please note our privacy policy.


Literature/References



Facts Worth Knowing

E.coli

Escherichia coli (E. coli) is a gram-negative, facultatively anaerobic, rod-shaped, coliform bacterium of the genus Escherichia that is commonly found in the lower intestine of warm-blooded organisms (endotherms). There are a large number of E. coli strains (or subtypes) with diverse characteristics. Most E. coli strains are harmless to humans, e.g. B and K-12 strains which are used commonly for research applications in laboratories. However, some strains are harmful and can cause serious illness.
E. coli plays an important role in modern biological engineering and industrial microbiology since the bacteria is easy to manipulate. Common lab applications which involve often the use of E. coli, e.g. to create recombinant deoxyribonucleic acid (DNA) or to act as a model organism.
E. coli is a very versatile host for the production of heterologous proteins, and manifold protein expression systems are available to produce of recombinant proteins in E. coli. Using plasmids which permit high level expression of protein, genes can be introduced into the bacteria, which enables to produce such proteins in high quantities in industrial fermentation processes.
E.coli are used as a cell factories to produce insulin. Further applications include the use of modified E. coli cells to develop and produce vaccines and immobilised enzymes, to produce biofuels, as well as for bioremediation.
The strain K-12 is a mutant form of E. coli that over-expresses the enzyme Alkaline Phosphatase (ALP). This mutation occurs due to a defect in the gene that constantly codes for the enzyme. If a gene produces a product without any inhibition this is known as constitutive activity. This specific mutant form is used for isolation and purification the ALP enzyme.

Ultrasonic DNA Shearing

Ultrasonic shear forces are a commonly used method to separate from the cell and break DNA strands into pieces. Acoustic cavitation breaks the cell walls and membranes to extract DNA from cells and generate fragments of about 600 – 800 bp in length, which is ideal for analysis.
Click here to learn more about ultrasonic homogenizers for DNA fragmentation!