Hielscher تكنولوجيا الموجات فوق الصوتية

خلية تحلل من خلايا BL21 بواسطة Ultrasonication

خلايا BL21 هي سلالة من الإشريكية القولونية التي تستخدم على نطاق واسع في مختبرات البحوث والتكنولوجيا الحيوية والإنتاج الصناعي بسبب قدرتها على التعبير عن البروتينات ذات الكفاءة العالية. إن انقطاع الخلايا بالموجات فوق الصوتية، والتحلل واستخراج البروتين هو الطريقة الشائعة لعزل وجمع البروتينات المستهدفة من المناطق الداخلية الخلوية من خلايا BL21. Ultrasonication يعطل الخلية تماما ويطلق جميع البروتينات المحاصرة، مما يجعل 100٪ من البروتين المتاحة.

BL21 الخلايا للتعبير البروتين

E. coli bacteria such as BL21 cells are commonly lysed by ultrasonication in order to release expressed proteins, such as recombinant proteinsBL21 خلية هي سلالة بكتيريا الإشريكية القولونية المختصة كيميائياً مناسبة للتحول وتعبير البروتين عالي المستوى باستخدام نظام تحريضي من نوع T7 RNA polymerase-IPTG. خلايا BL21 تسمح عالية الكفاءة تعبير البروتين من أي جين الذي هو تحت سيطرة المروج T7. سلالة القولونية BL21 (DE3) هي سلالة إنتاج البروتين القائمة على T7 RNA RNA protein productions مع ناقلات التعبير المستندة إلى T7 ويتم تطبيقها على نطاق واسع في المختبرات والصناعة لإنتاج البروتينات المؤتلفة. في BL21 (DE3)، يتم نسخ التعبير عن ترميز الجينات البروتين المؤتلف بواسطة بوليميراز T7 RNA المشفرة الكروموسومية (T7 RNAP)، الذي يُناقل ثماني مرات أسرع من الحمض التقليدي القولونية RNAP. وهذا يجعل سلالة BL21 (DE3) كفاءة عالية ويحول إلى واحدة من أكثر الأنظمة المفضلة خلية التعبير البروتين.

بروتوكول لتحلل بالموجات فوق الصوتية واستخراج البروتين من خلايا BL21

يتم إجراء معظم خلايا الخلايا BL21 باستخدام ultrasonication في تركيبة مع ساركوسينات لاورويل الصوديوم (المعروف أيضا باسم ساركوسيل) كما العازلة التحلل. مزايا انقطاع الخلايا بالموجات فوق الصوتية واستخراج البروتين تكمن في الموثوقية، وإعادة التكاثر، فضلا عن عملية بسيطة وآمنة وسريعة من ultrasonicators. البروتوكول أدناه يعطي خطوة بخطوة الاتجاه لتحلل خلية بالموجات فوق الصوتية BL21:

التحقيق من نوع insonifier UP200St للتحلل

تعطيل الخلايا بالموجات فوق الصوتية UP200St مع تلميح صغير S26d2 لتحلل واستخراج البروتين

طلب معلومات





  • من أجل إزالة البروتينات مرافق، تم إعادة تعليق الكريات البكتيرية BL21 في 50 مل من الجليد البارد تريس EDTA (STE) العازلة (التي تتكون في 10 mM تريس-HCL، pH 8.0، 1 mM EDTA، 150 mM NaCl تكملها 100 mM PMSF).
  • و، 500 ul من lysozyme (10 ملغ / مل) تضاف ويتم احتضان الخلايا على الجليد لمدة 15 دقيقة.
  • بعد ذلك، 500 ul من DTT و 7 مل من الساركوسيل (10٪ (ث / الخامس) تتكون في المخزن المؤقت STE).
  • من الضروري الحفاظ على جميع مخازن التنقية الجليد الباردة والحفاظ على العينات على الجليد في كل وقت. يجب أن يتم تنفيذ جميع خطوات التنقية في الغرفة الباردة إذا كان ذلك ممكنا.
  • VialTweeter at the ultrasonic processor UP200ST

  • لتحلل بالموجات فوق الصوتية واستخراج البروتين، هي سونيكاتيد العينات في VialTweeter MultiSample Ultrasonicator لمدة 4 × 30 ثانية في 100٪ السعة مع فاصل 2 دقيقة بين كل صوتنة. بدلا من ذلك ، وهو مجس الموجات فوق الصوتية من نوع التحقيق مع تلميح صغير على سبيل المثال ، Uf200 ः ر مع S26d2 (3 × 30 ثانية، 2 دقيقة وقفة بين دورات الموجات فوق الصوتية، يمكن استخدام السعة 80٪).
  • لمزيد من خطوات التنقية، يجب الاحتفاظ بالعينات على الجليد أو تخزينها بدلاً من ذلك عند -80 درجة مئوية حتى مزيد من المعالجة.

التحلل بالموجات فوق الصوتية تحت التحكم في درجة الحرارة Prescise

إن التحكم الدقيق والموثوق في درجة الحرارة أمر بالغ الأهمية عند التعامل مع العينات البيولوجية. ارتفاع درجات الحرارة بدء تدهور البروتين الناجم حراريا في العينات.
كما كل تقنيات إعداد العينة الميكانيكية، سونيكيشن يخلق الحرارة. ومع ذلك، يمكن التحكم في درجة حرارة العينات جيدا عند استخدام VialTweeter. نقدم لك خيارات مختلفة لرصد والتحكم في درجة حرارة العينات الخاصة بك أثناء إعدادها مع VialTweeter و VialPress للتحليل.

  1. مراقبة درجة حرارة العينة: المعالج بالموجات فوق الصوتية UP200St، الذي يقود VialTweeter، مجهز ببرنامج ذكي ومستشعر درجة حرارة قابل للتوصيل. قم بتوصيل مستشعر درجة الحرارة في UP200St وأدخل طرف مستشعر درجة الحرارة في أحد أنابيب العينة. عبر الرقمية الملونة لمس الشاشة، يمكنك تعيين في القائمة من UP200St مجموعة درجة حرارة محددة ل sonication العينة الخاصة بك. سوف يتوقف أوب أوبساتاتوراتور تلقائيا عندما يتم التوصل إلى درجة الحرارة القصوى ووقفة حتى درجة حرارة العينة وصولا الى القيمة المنخفضة لدرجة الحرارة المحددة ∆. ثم يبدأ صوتنة تلقائيا مرة أخرى. هذه الميزة الذكية تمنع التحلل الناجم عن الحرارة.
  2. يمكن تبريد كتلة VialTweeter مسبقًا. وضع كتلة VialTweeter (فقط سونوترودي دون محول!) في الثلاجة أو الفريزر لتبريد ما قبل كتلة التيتانيوم يساعد على تأجيل ارتفاع درجة الحرارة في العينة. إذا كان ذلك ممكنا، يمكن أن تكون العينة نفسها قبل تبريد جدا.
  3. استخدام الثلج الجاف لتبرد أثناء سونيكيشن. استخدام علبة ضحلة مليئة بالجليد الجاف ووضع VialTweeter على الجليد بحيث يمكن أن تتبدد الحرارة بسرعة.

يستخدم العملاء في جميع أنحاء العالم VialTweeter و VialPress لعمل إعداد العينات اليومي في المختبرات البيولوجية والكيميائية الحيوية والطبية والسريرية. البرنامج الذكي والتحكم في درجة الحرارة من المعالج UP200St، يتم التحكم في درجة الحرارة بشكل موثوق وتجنب تدهور العينة الناجم عن الحرارة. إعداد عينة بالموجات فوق الصوتية مع VialTweeter و VialPress يسلم نتائج موثوقة للغاية وقابلة للتكرار!

العثور على تعطيل الموجات فوق الصوتية الأمثل لتطبيق Lysis الخاص بك

Hielscher's industrial processors of the hdT series can be comfortable and user-friendly operated via browser remote control.Hielscher الفوق صوتيات منذ فترة طويلة من ذوي الخبرة الشركة المصنعة لتعطل الخلايا بالموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الأداء والتجانس للمختبرات ، مقاعد البدلاء ، وأنظمة النطاق الصناعي. حجم ثقافة الخلية البكتيرية الخاصة بك، والبحث أو الهدف الإنتاج وحجم الخلية لمعالجة في الساعة أو اليوم هي العوامل الأساسية للعثور على الحق تعطيل الخلايا بالموجات فوق الصوتية للتطبيق الخاص بك.
Hielscher الفوق صوتيات يقدم حلولا مختلفة ل sonication في وقت واحد من عينات متعددة (ما يصل الى 10 قارورة مع VialTweeter) وعينات الكتلة (أي ، لوحات microtiter / لوحات ELISA مع UIP400MTP)، وكذلك الأوفوقات المعمل من نوع التحقيق الكلاسيكي مع مستويات مختلفة من الطاقة من 50 إلى 400 واط لمعالجات الموجات فوق الصوتية الصناعية بالكامل مع ما يصل إلى 16،000watts لكل وحدة لتعطيل الخلايا التجارية واستخراج البروتين في الإنتاج الكبير. بنيت جميع الموجات فوق الصوتية Hielscher ل 24/7/365 عملية تحت حمولة كاملة. المتانة والموثوقية هي السمات الأساسية لأجهزة الموجات فوق الصوتية لدينا.
وقد تم تجهيز جميع المجانسات بالموجات فوق الصوتية الرقمية مع البرامج الذكية، وشاشة لمس الملونة و protocolling البيانات التلقائي، والتي تجعل الجهاز بالموجات فوق الصوتية في أداة عمل مريحة في المختبر ومرافق الإنتاج.
اسمحوا لنا أن نعرف، أي نوع من الخلايا، ما حجم، مع ما تردد ومع ما هو الهدف لديك لمعالجة العينات البيولوجية الخاصة بك. سوف نوصي لك تعطيل الخلايا بالموجات فوق الصوتية الأكثر ملاءمة لمتطلبات العملية الخاصة بك.

الجدول أدناه يعطيك مؤشرا على قدرة المعالجة التقريبية للأنظمة بالموجات فوق الصوتية لدينا من التجانس المحمولة باليد المدمجة ومتعددة Ultrasonicators إلى المعالجات بالموجات فوق الصوتية الصناعية للتطبيقات التجارية:

دفعة حجم معدل المد و الجزر الأجهزة الموصى بها
96-جيدا / لوحات microtiter زمالة المدمنين المجهولين UIP400MTP
10 قنينات à 0.5 إلى 1.5mL زمالة المدمنين المجهولين VialTweeter في UP200St
00.01 إلى 250 ملل 5 إلى 100 مل/دقيقة UP50H
00.01 إلى 500 مل 10 إلى 200ML / دقيقة UP100H
10 إلى 2000ML 20 إلى 400ML / دقيقة Uf200 ः ر، UP400St
00.1 إلى 20L 00.2 إلى 4L / دقيقة UIP2000hdT
10 إلى 100L 2 إلى 10L / دقيقة UIP4000hdT
زمالة المدمنين المجهولين 10 إلى 100L / دقيقة UIP16000
زمالة المدمنين المجهولين أكبر مجموعة من UIP16000

اتصل بنا! / اسألنا!

اطلب المزيد من المعلومات

يرجى استخدام النموذج أدناه لطلب معلومات إضافية حول المعالجات بالموجات فوق الصوتية والتطبيقات والسعر. سنكون سعداء لمناقشة العملية الخاصة بك معك ونقدم لكم نظام الموجات فوق الصوتية تلبية الاحتياجات الخاصة بك!









يرجى ملاحظة لدينا سياسة الخصوصية.


Ultrasonicator UP200Ht with microtip S26d2 for ultrasonic lysis of biological samples

أوبومنتالتور Uf200 ः ر مع 2mm microtip S26d2 ل sonication من عينات صغيرة

الأدب / المراجع



حقائق تستحق العلم

بكتيريا إيشريشيا كولي

Escherichia القولونية هو نوع من البكتيريا، وهذا هو غير بوغ تشكيل، غرام السلبية وتتميز بشكلها من قضيب مستقيم. البكتيريا القولونية موجودة في البيئة والأطعمة والأمعاء من البشر والحيوانات. الإشريكية القولونية عادة ما تكون مُتَلَكّية باستخدام flagella peritrichous، ولكن هناك أنواع غير مُتَمَلَة، أيضاً. الإشريكية القولونية هي ما يسمى بالكائنات الحية الكيميورجانوتروبية اللاهوائية، مما يعني أنها قادرة على كل من التمثيل الغذائي التنفسي والتخمير. معظم أنواع الإشريكية القولونية حميدة وتؤدي وظائف مفيدة في الجسم، على سبيل المثال قمع نمو الأنواع البكتيرية الضارة، وتركيب الفيتامينات وما إلى ذلك.
Escherichia كولاي البكتيريا الخلية من ما يسمى نوع B هي فئة خاصة من سلالات القولونية E.coli، والتي تستخدم على نطاق واسع في البحوث للتحقيق في آليات مثل حساسية البكتيريا أو أنظمة تقييد التعديل. وعلاوة على ذلك، تقدر بكتيريا الإشريكية القولونية كحصان عمل موثوق للتعبير عن البروتين في التكنولوجيا الحيوية ومختبرات علوم الحياة. على سبيل المثال، يتم استخدام الإشريكية القولونية لتجميع مركبات مثل البروتينات وأوليجوساكشاريدات على النطاق الصناعي. بسبب ميزات محددة مثل نقص البروتياز، وانخفاض إنتاج خلات على مستوى عال من الجلوكوز، وتعزيز نفاذية، E. القولونية B الخلايا هي انه الأكثر استخداما الخلايا المضيفة لإنتاج البروتينات المعدلة وراثيا.

بروتين المؤتلف

تكتسب البروتينات المؤتلفة (rProt) أهمية كبيرة في الفروع المتعددة، بما في ذلك في الإنتاج الكيميائي، والصيدلة، ومستحضرات التجميل، والطب البشري والحيواني، والزراعة، والأغذية، فضلا عن الصناعات معالجة النفايات.
يتطلب إنتاج البروتين المؤتلف استخدام نظام التعبير. كما التعبير عن نظم الخلايا لإنتاج الحمض النووي المؤتلف، يمكن استخدام خلايا كل من prokaryotic والخلايا النواة. في حين أن الخلايا البكتيرية هي الأكثر استخداما للتعبير عن البروتين بسبب عوامل مثل منخفضة التكلفة، وسهولة التوسع وظروف وسائل الإعلام بسيطة، الثدييات والخميرة والطحالب والحشرات والخلايا النظم المحددة بدائل. نوع البروتين، والنشاط الوظيفي، فضلا عن العائد المطلوب من البروتين أعرب عن تأثير على اختيار نظام الخلايا المستخدمة للتعبير البروتين.
من أجل التعبير عن البروتين المؤتلف ، يجب أن تكون خلية معينة مصابة بمتجه الحمض النووي يحتوي على قالب الحمض النووي المؤتلف. الخلايا التي يتم transfected مع القالب ثم مثقف. ونتيجة للآلية الخلوية، تقوم الخلايا بتدوين وترجمة البروتين الذي يهمها، وبالتالي إنتاج البروتين المستهدف.
كما هي مصيدة البروتينات أعرب في المصفوفة الخلوية، يجب أن تكون الخلية lysed (تعطلت وكسر) للافراج عن البروتينات. في خطوة تنقية لاحقة، يتم فصل البروتين وتنقيته.
وكان أول البروتين المؤتلف المستخدمة في العلاج الأنسولين البشري المؤتلف في عام 1982. اليوم، يتم إنتاج أكثر من 170 نوعا من البروتين المؤتلف في جميع أنحاء العالم للعلاجات الطبية. البروتينات المؤتلفة المستخدمة في الطب هي على سبيل المثال الهرمونات المؤتلفة، إنترفيرونات، interleukins، وعوامل النمو، وعوامل نخر الورم، وعوامل تخثر الدم، والأدوية تجلط الدم، والإنزيمات لعلاج الأمراض الرئيسية مثل مرض السكري، والقزامة، واحتشاء عضلة القلب، وفشل القلب الاحتقاني، apoplexy الدماغي، التصلب المتعدد، العدلات، الجلطات الدموية، فقر الدم، التهاب الكبد، التهاب المفاصل الروماتويدي، الربو، مرض كرون، وعلاجات السرطان. (راجع Phuc V. Pham، في شركة أوميكس تكنولوجيز والهندسة الحيوية، 2018)


Hielscher Ultrasonics supplies high-performance ultrasonic homogenizers from lab to industrial size.

الفوق صوتيات عالية الأداء! تغطي مجموعة منتجات Hielscher الطيف الكامل من جهاز ultrasonicator مختبر مدمج فوق وحدات مقاعد البدلاء إلى أنظمة الموجات فوق الصوتية الصناعية الكاملة.

Hielscher Ultrasound Technology

Cell Lysis of BL21 Cells by Ultrasonication

BL21 cells are a strain of E. coli that is widely used in research laboratories, biotechnology and industrial production due to their capability to express proteins highly efficient. Ultrasonic cell disruption, lysis and protein extraction is the common method to isolate and collect the targeted proteins from the cellular interior of BL21 cells. Ultrasonication disrupts the cell completely and releases all entrapped proteins, making 100% of the protein available.

BL21 Cells for Protein Expression

E. coli bacteria such as BL21 cells are commonly lysed by ultrasonication in order to release expressed proteins, such as recombinant proteinsBL21 cell is a chemically competent E. coli bacterial strain suitable for transformation and high level protein expression using a T7 RNA polymerase-IPTG induction system. BL21 cells allow high-efficiency protein expression of any gene that is under the control of a T7 promoter. The E. coli strain BL21(DE3) is a T7 RNA polymerase-based protein production strain combined with T7 promoter-based expression vectors and is widely applied in laboratories and industry to produce recombinant proteins. In BL21(DE3), expression of the gene encoding the recombinant protein is transcribed by the chromosomally encoded T7 RNA polymerase (T7 RNAP), which transcribes eight times faster than conventional E. coli RNAP. This makes the strain BL21(DE3) highly efficient and turns its into one of the most preferred protein expression cell systems.

Protocol for Ultrasonic Lysis and Protein Extraction from BL21 Cells

Cell lysis of BL21 cells is mostly performed using ultrasonication in combination with sodium lauroyl sarcosinate (also known as sarkosyl) as lysis buffer. The advantages of ultrasonic cell disruption and protein extraction lie in the reliability, reproducibility as well as simple, safe and rapid operation of ultrasonicators. The protocol below gives a step-by-step direction for ultrasonic BL21 cell lysis:

Probe-type insonifier UP200St for lysis

Ultrasonic cell disruptor UP200St with micro-tip S26d2 for lysis and protein extraction

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


  • In order to remove the chaperone proteins, BL21 bacterial pellets were resuspended in 50 ml of ice cold Sodium Tris-EDTA (STE) buffer (consisting in 10 mM Tris-HCL, pH 8.0, 1 mM EDTA, 150 mM NaCl supplemented with 100 mM PMSF).
  • The, 500 ul of lysozyme (10 mg/ ml) are added and the cells are incubated on ice for 15 min.
  • Afterwards, 500 ul of DTT and 7 ml of sarkosyl (10% (w/v) made up in STE buffer) are added.
  • It is essential to keep all purification buffers ice-cold and to maintain the samples on ice all time. All purification steps should be carried out in the cold room if possible.
  • VialTweeter at the ultrasonic processor UP200ST

  • For ultrasonic lysis and protein extraction, the samples are sonicated in the VialTweeter MultiSample Ultrasonicator for 4 x 30 sec at 100% amplitude with a 2 min interval between each sonication. Alternatively, a probe-type ultrasonic homogenizer with micro-tip e.g., UP200Ht with S26d2 (3 x 30 sec, 2 min. pause between ultrasonic cycles, 80% amplitude) can be used.
  • For further purification steps, samples must be kept on ice or alternatively stored at -80°C until further processing.

Ultrasonic Lysis under Prescise Temperature Control

The precise and reliable temperature control is crucial when handling biological samples. High temperatures initiate thermally-induced protein degradation in samples.
As all mechanical sample preparation techniques, sonication creates heat. However, the temperature of the samples can be well controlled when using the VialTweeter. We present you various options to monitor and control the temperature of your samples whilst preparing them with the VialTweeter and VialPress for analysis.

  1. Monitoring the sample temperature: The ultrasonic processor UP200St, which drives the VialTweeter, is equipped with an intelligent software and a pluggable temperature sensor. Plug the temperature sensor into the UP200St and insert the tip of the temperature sensor in one of the sample tubes. Via digital coloured touch-display, you can set in the menu of the UP200St a specific temperature range for your sample sonication. The ultrasonicator will automatically stop when the max temperature is reached and pause until the sample temperature is down to the lower value of the set temperature ∆. Then the sonication starts automatically again. This smart feature prevents heat-induced degradation.
  2. The VialTweeter block can be pre-cooled. Put the VialTweeter block (only the sonotrode without transducer!) into the fridge or freezer to pre-cool the titanium block helps to postpone temperature rise in the sample. If possible, the sample itself can be pre-cooled too.
  3. Use dry ice to cool during sonication. Use a shallow tray filled with dry ice and place the VialTweeter on the ice so that heat can rapidly dissipate.

Customers worldwide use the VialTweeter and VialPress for their daily sample preparation work in biological, biochemical, medical and clinical laboratories. The intelligent software and temperature control of the UP200St processor, temperature is reliably controlled and heat-induced sample degradation avoided. Ultrasonic sample preparation with the VialTweeter and VialPress delivers highly reliable and reproducible results!

Find the Optimal Ultrasonic Disruptor for your Lysis Application

Hielscher's industrial processors of the hdT series can be comfortable and user-friendly operated via browser remote control.Hielscher Ultrasonics is long-time experienced manufacturer of high-performance ultrasonic cell disrupters and homogenizers for laboratories, bench-top and industrial scale systems. Your bacterial cell culture size, your research or production goal and the volume of cell to process per hour or day are essential factors to find the right ultrasonic cell disruptor for your application.
Hielscher Ultrasonics offers various solutions for the simultaneous sonication of multi-samples (up to 10 vials with the VialTweeter) and mass samples (i.e., microtiter plates / ELISA plates with the UIP400MTP), as well as the classic probe-type lab ultrasonicator with different power levels from 50 to 400 watts to fully industrial ultrasonic processors with up to 16,000watts per unit for commercial cell disruption and protein extraction in large production. All Hielscher ultrasonicators are built for the 24/7/365 operation under full load. Robustness and reliability are core features of our ultrasonic devices.
All digital ultrasonic homogenizers are equipped with smart software, coloured touch display and automatic data protocolling, which make the ultrasonic device into a convenient work tool in lab and production facilities.
Let us know, what kind of cells, what volume, with what frequency and with what target you have to process your biological samples. We will recommend you the most suitable ultrasonic cell disruptor for your process requirements.

The table below gives you an indication of the approximate processing capacity of our ultrasonic systems from compact hand-held homogenizers and MultiSample Ultrasonicators to industrial ultrasonic processors for commercial applications:

Batch Volume Flow Rate Recommended Devices
96-well / microtiter plates n.a. UIP400MTP
10 vials à 0.5 to 1.5mL n.a. VialTweeter at UP200St
0.01 to 250mL 5 to 100mL/min UP50H
0.01 to 500mL 10 to 200mL/min UP100H
10 to 2000mL 20 to 400mL/min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 to 20L 0.2 to 4L/min UIP2000hdT
10 to 100L 2 to 10L/min UIP4000hdT
n.a. 10 to 100L/min UIP16000
n.a. larger cluster of UIP16000

Contact Us! / Ask Us!

Ask for more information

Please use the form below to request additional information about ultrasonic processors, applications and price. We will be glad to discuss your process with you and to offer you an ultrasonic system meeting your requirements!









Please note our privacy policy.


Ultrasonicator UP200Ht with microtip S26d2 for ultrasonic lysis of biological samples

Ultrasonicator UP200Ht with 2mm microtip S26d2 for the sonication of small samples

Literature / References



Facts Worth Knowing

Escherichia Coli Bacteria

Escherichia coli is a bacteria type, that is non-spore-forming, Gram-negative and is characterized by its form of a straight rod. E.coli bacteria are present in the environment, foods, and intestines of humans and animals. E. coli is usually motile by using peritrichous flagella, but there are nonmotile types, too. E.coli are so-called facultatively anaerobic chemoorganotroph organisms, which means they are capable of both respiratory and fermentative metabolism. Most E.coli types are benign and fulfil useful functions in the body, e.g. suppressing the growth of harmful bacterial species, synthesising vitamins etc..
Escherichia coli bacteria cell of the so-called B type are a special category of E.coli strains, which are widely used in research to investigate mechanisms such as bacteriophage sensitivity or restriction-modification systems. Furthermore, E.coli bacteria are valued as reliable workhorse for protein expression in biotechnology and life science laboratories. For instance, E.coli are used to synthesize compounds such as proteins and oligosaccharides on industrial scale. Due to specific features such as protease deficiency, low acetate production at a high level of glucose, and enhanced permeability, E. coli B cells are he most frequently used host cells for the production of genetically engineered proteins.

Recombinant Protein

Recombinant proteins (rProt) are are gaining significant importance in manifold branches, including in the chemical production, pharmaceutical, cosmetic, human and animal medicine, agriculture, food as well as waste treatment industries.
The production of recombinant protein requires the use of an expression system. As expressing cell systems for the production of recombinant DNA, both prokaryotic and eukaryotic cells can be used. Whilst bacterial cell are most widely used for protein expression due to factors such as low cost, easy scalability and simple media conditions, mammalian, yeast, algae, insect and cell-free systems are established alternatives. The protein type, functional activity, as well as the required yield of expressed protein influence the selection of the cell system used for protein expression.
In order to express recombinant protein, a particular cell must be transfected with a DNA vector containing the template of recombinant DNA. The cells transfected with the template are then cultured. As consequence of the cellular mechanism, the cells transcribe and translate the protein of interest, thereby producing the targeted protein.
As the expressed proteins are entrapped in the cellular matrix, the cell must be lysed (disrupted and broken) to release the proteins. In a subsequent purification step, the protein is separated and purified.
The first recombinant protein used in treatment was recombinant human insulin in 1982. Today, more than 170 types of recombinant protein are produced worldwide for medical treatments. Commonly used recombinant proteins used in medicine are for instance recombinant hormones, interferons, interleukins, growth factors, tumor necrosis factors, blood clotting factors, thrombolytic drugs, and enzymes for treating major diseases such as diabetes, dwarfism, myocardial infarction, congestive heart failure, cerebral apoplexy, multiple sclerosis, neutropenia, thrombocytopenia, anemia, hepatitis, rheumatoid arthritis, asthma, Crohn’s disease, and cancers therapies. (cf. Phuc V. Pham, in Omics Technologies and Bio-Engineering, 2018)


Hielscher Ultrasonics supplies high-performance ultrasonic homogenizers from lab to industrial size.

High performance ultrasonics! Hielscher’s product range covers the full spectrum from the compact lab ultrasonicator over bench-top units to full-industrial ultrasonic systems.