Fragmentation ultrasonique de l'ADN pour le séquençage de la prochaine génération

Le séquençage de nouvelle génération (NGS) nécessite le cisaillement et la fragmentation fiables de l'ADN génomique afin de séquencer les brins d'ADN génomique et de créer des bibliothèques génomiques. La fragmentation contrôlée de l'ADN en fragments d'ADN est une étape essentielle de la préparation de l'échantillon avant le séquençage de l'ADN. La fragmentation par ultrasons s'est avérée être une technique efficace et fiable pour la fragmentation de l'ADN d'une certaine longueur. Les protocoles de fragmentation de l'ADN par ultrasons permettent d'obtenir des résultats de fragmentation reproductibles. Les ultrasons Hielscher sont capables de produire une large gamme de distributions de tailles de fragments d'ADN génomique, contrôlables précisément par les paramètres de fonctionnement. Comme les systèmes de cisaillement de l'ADN par ultrasons Hielscher sont disponibles pour des flacons simples et multiples ainsi que pour des microplaques, la préparation des échantillons devient très efficace.

Demande d'information





Ultrasonic DNA fragmentation is frequently used as sample preparation step in Next Generation Sequencing (NGS)

Électrophorétique analyse de l'ADN génomique de E. coli EDL933 soumis à 0 - 15 min ultrasonication. L indique l'ADN Ladder. (Basselet et al., 2008)

Avantages de la fragmentation ultrasonique de l'ADN

  • résultats répétables / reproductibles
  • réglable avec précision pour obtenir une certaine longueur de fragment
  • traitement rapide
  • des résultats cohérents en matière de fragmentation de l'ADN
  • dispositifs pour tout volume d'échantillon (par exemple, plusieurs flacons ou microplaques)
  • haut débit
  • un contrôle précis de la température
  • un fonctionnement simple et convivial

Séquençage Next-Gen : Fragmentation ultrasonique de l'ADN pour la préparation des bibliothèques

Pour réaliser un séquençage de nouvelle génération, il faut effectuer les trois étapes de base suivantes : (1) la préparation de la bibliothèque, (2) le séquençage et (3) l'analyse des données. Pendant la préparation de la bibliothèque, l'ADN est fragmenté, puis les extrémités des fragments sont réparées (polies) par l'ajout d'une seule base adénine et les fragments cibles sont convertis en ADN double brin. Enfin, des adaptateurs sont fixés par ligature, PCR ou marquage afin que le produit final de la bibliothèque d'ADN puisse être quantifié pour le séquençage.
Fragmentation de l'ADN par sonication : En particulier avec les technologies de séquençage à lecture courte, comme Illumina, qui ne peuvent pas lire facilement des fragments d'ADN plus longs, les peuplements d'ADN doivent être fragmentés jusqu'à une certaine taille, ce qui peut être obtenu de manière fiable par ultrasonication.
L'ultrasonication peut être utilisée de manière fiable pour la fragmentation de l'ADN, de l'ARN et de la chromatine.

Comment fonctionne la fragmentation de l'ADN par ultrasons ?

La sonication, également connue sous le nom de traitement acoustique des échantillons, est une méthode largement utilisée pour fragmenter l'ADN. Pour la fragmentation ultrasonique de l'ADN, les échantillons sont exposés à des ondes ultrasoniques dans des conditions contrôlées. Le principe de fonctionnement de la fragmentation de l'ADN par ultrasons est basé sur les vibrations et la cavitation générées par les ondes ultrasonores. Les forces de cisaillement qui résultent de la cavitation ultrasonique (acoustique) brisent les molécules d'ADN de haut poids moléculaire. Les réglages de la sonication tels que l'intensité (amplitude, durée), le mode de pulsation et la température permettent une fragmentation précise de l'ADN jusqu'à une certaine longueur souhaitée de fragments d'ADN. Alors que l'ADN est souvent réduit à 100 à 600 pb en utilisant la sonication, des fragments d'ADN plus longs, jusqu'à 1300 pb, peuvent être obtenus lorsque des conditions ultrasoniques plus douces sont appliquées.

Ultrasonic homogenizers are reliable for DNA shearing

Cisaillement de l'ADN par ultrasons pendant le ChIP – chromatine immunoprécipitation
Adapté de Jkwchui sous CC-BY-SA.03

Contrôle de la température pour prévenir la dégradation de l'ADN

La forme moléculaire double brin de l'ADN est très sensible aux températures élevées, de sorte que le contrôle exact de la température pendant les étapes de préparation de l'échantillon est un facteur crucial pour obtenir des résultats d'analyse fiables.
Que vous utilisiez les ultrasons à sonde de Hielscher, le VialTweeter ou l'UIP400MTP – La surveillance et le contrôle continus de la température sont assurés grâce à un capteur de température enfichable et au logiciel de l'appareil intelligent. Afin de maintenir la température dans une certaine plage, vous pouvez définir une limite de température supérieure et inférieure. Par conséquent, l'ultrasoniseur se met en pause dès que cette limite de température est dépassée et continue automatiquement à émettre des ultrasons lorsque la température a baissé d'un ∆T défini.
Le logiciel sophistiqué des ultrasons Hielscher assure le maintien fiable des conditions idéales de traitement des échantillons.

Fragmentation de l'ADN de l'échantillon de masse avec l'ultrasoniseur de plaque multi-puits UIP400MTP

Ultrasonic Multi-Sample Preparation Unit UIP400MTP for multi-well plate sonicationLe nombre d'échantillons dans les sciences de la vie a considérablement augmenté au cours de la dernière décennie. Cela signifie qu'un très grand nombre d'échantillons (par exemple, 384, 1536 ou 3456 puits par microplaque) doivent être traités pendant la préparation et l'analyse des échantillons dans des conditions uniformes afin d'obtenir des résultats comparables et valides. Avec l'UIP400MTP, Hielscher Ultrasonics suit la tendance du traitement des échantillons de masse. L'UIP400MTP est un ultrasoniseur pour la préparation d'échantillons à l'aide de microplaques. L'UIP400MTP peut traiter des plaques de 6, 12, 24, 48, 96, 384, 1536 ou 3456 puits. Selon le type de microplaque, chaque puits peut contenir des volumes d'échantillons allant de quelques dizaines de nanolitres à plusieurs millilitres. Largement utilisé dans la recherche en sciences de la vie, l'UIP400MTP est très souvent utilisé pour la préparation d'échantillons avant des tests tels que ELISA (enzyme-linked immunosorbent assay) ou PCR, avant l'analyse des protéines, ainsi que pour la préparation de la chromatine avant CHiP et CHiP-seq, l'identification des modifications d'histones et d'autres traitements analytiques (par exemple, électrophorèse sur gel, spectrométrie de masse).

Le VialTweeter pour la séparation des échantillons jusqu'à 10 flacons

configuration complète VialTweeter: VialTweeter sonotrode à ultrasons processeur UP200StLe VialTweeter est un ultrasoniseur de laboratoire largement utilisé qui permet de soniquer efficacement et confortablement jusqu'à 10 flacons simultanément. Comme les flacons et les tubes à essai (par exemple, les flacons Eppendorf, les flacons cryogéniques, les tubes à centrifuger) sont soniqués indirectement, toute contamination croisée est évitée. Comme la même intensité ultrasonore est délivrée à chaque échantillon, tous les résultats de la sonication sont homogènes et reproductibles. Le VialTweeter offre toutes les fonctionnalités intelligentes comme nos autres appareils numériques (par exemple, le menu intelligent, les paramètres programmables, le contrôle de la température, la télécommande, etc.) de sorte que le plus grand confort d'utilisation est assuré.

Sondes multi-doigts pour plaques de micropuits

4 probe heads or 4 sonotrodes for simultaneous sonication of 4 samples at the same intensity with the Hielscher 200 watts ultrasonicator models UP200ST and UP200HTDisponibles pour les homogénéisateurs à sonde ultrasonique UP200Ht et UP200St, les sondes multi-doigts à 4 ou 8 doigts sont une option confortable pour sonifier plusieurs échantillons en même temps dans les mêmes conditions. Par exemple, la sonotrode MTP-24-8-96 est une sonde à huit doigts, idéale pour l'intégration dans des systèmes automatisés ou la préparation manuelle efficace d'échantillons dans les puits de plaques multi-puits. La sonotrode multi-doigts est idéale pour les laboratoires automatisés, où l'on traite principalement des béchers et des tubes à essai avec une sonotrode à ultrasons standard. Les sondes multi-doigts et standard peuvent être rapidement interchangées en quelques minutes, transformant ainsi le sonotrode mono-sonde en un sonotrode multi-sondes.

Demande d'information





Ultrasons Hielscher pour la fragmentation de l'ADN

Hielscher Ultrasons propose différentes plateformes basées sur les ultrasons pour la fragmentation de l'ADN, de l'ARN et de la chromatine. Ces différentes plates-formes comprennent des sondes à ultrasons (sonotrodes), des solutions de sonication indirecte pour la préparation simultanée d'échantillons de plusieurs tubes ou plaques à puits multiples (par exemple, plaques à 96 puits, plaques de microtitration), des sonoréacteurs et des cuphons à ultrasons. Toutes les plates-formes de cisaillement de l'ADN sont alimentées par des processeurs ultrasoniques haute performance, accordés en fréquence, qui sont contrôlables avec précision et donnent des résultats reproductibles.

Processeurs ultrasoniques pour tout nombre et toute taille d'échantillon

Avec les ultrasons multi-échantillons VialTweeter (pour jusqu'à 10 tubes à essai) et UIP400MTP (pour les microplaques/plaques multipuits) de Hielscher, il devient facilement possible de réduire le temps de traitement des échantillons grâce à une ultrasonication intense et précisément contrôlable, tout en obtenant la distribution de taille de fragment d'ADN et le rendement souhaités. La fragmentation ultrasonique de l'ADN rend la préparation des échantillons efficace, fiable et évolutive. Les protocoles peuvent être échelonnés linéairement d'un à plusieurs échantillons en appliquant des ultrasons contrôlés en permanence.
Les ultrasons à sonde de un à cinq doigts sont idéaux pour la préparation de petits nombres d'échantillons. Les ultrasons de laboratoire de Hielscher sont disponibles en différentes tailles afin que nous puissions vous recommander l'appareil idéal pour votre application et vos besoins.

le contrôle des processus précis

Hielscher ultrasonicators can be remotely controlled via browser control. Sonication parameters can be monitored and adjusted precisely to the process requirements.Les paramètres de sonication contrôlables avec précision sont cruciaux car une sonification exhaustive peut détruire l'ADN, l'ARN et la chromatine, mais un cisaillement ultrasonique inadéquat entraîne des fragments d'ADN et de chromatine trop longs. Les ultrasons numériques de Hielscher peuvent être facilement réglés sur des paramètres de sonication précis. Les paramètres de sonication spécifiques peuvent également être enregistrés en tant que paramètres programmés pour une répétition rapide de la même procédure.
Toutes les sonications sont automatiquement protocolées et stockées sous forme de fichier CSV sur une carte SD intégrée. Cela permet une documentation précise des essais réalisés et permet de réviser facilement les cycles de sonication.
Grâce à la télécommande par navigateur, tous les ultrasons numériques peuvent être commandés et surveillés via n'importe quel navigateur standard. L'installation d'un logiciel supplémentaire n'est pas nécessaire, car une connexion LAN permet une configuration plug-n-play très simple.

La plus grande convivialité dans la préparation des échantillons par ultrasons

Tous les ultrasons Hielscher sont conçus pour fournir des ultrasons de haute performance, tout en étant toujours très conviviaux et faciles à utiliser. Tous les réglages sont bien structurés dans un menu clair, auquel on accède facilement grâce à l'écran tactile coloré ou à la télécommande du navigateur. Le logiciel intelligent, avec ses paramètres programmables et son enregistrement automatique des données, garantit des réglages de sonication optimaux pour des résultats fiables et reproductibles. L'interface de menu claire et facile à utiliser fait des ultrasons Hielscher des appareils conviviaux et efficaces.
Le tableau ci-dessous vous donne une indication de la capacité de traitement approximative de nos ultrasons de laboratoire, qui sont idéaux pour les tâches de préparation d'échantillons telles que la fragmentation de l'ADN et de l'ARN, la lyse cellulaire ainsi que l'extraction de protéines :

Dispositif [W] Type Volume [ml]
UIP400MTP 400 pour les microplaques 6 – 3456 puits
VialTweeter 200 pour un maximum de 10 flacons, avec possibilité de fixation par pincement 00,5 – 1,5
UP50H 50 Sonde de type 0.01 – 250
UP100H 100 Sonde de type 0.01 – 500
UP200Ht 200 Sonde de type 0.1 – 1000
UP200St 200 Sonde de type 0.1 – 1000
UP400St 400 Sonde de type 5.0 – 2000
Corne de cuivre 200 CupHorn, sonoréacteur dix – 200
GDmini2 200 cellule d'écoulement sans contamination

Contactez nous! / Demandez nous!

Demander plus d'informations

Veuillez utiliser le formulaire ci-dessous pour demander des informations supplémentaires sur les processeurs à ultrasons, les applications et le prix. Nous serons heureux de discuter avec vous de votre processus et de vous proposer un système à ultrasons répondant à vos besoins !









Veuillez prendre note de notre Politique de confidentialité.


The VialTweeter is a MultiSample Ultraonicator that allows for reliable sample preparation under precisely controlled temperature conditions.

L'unité de préparation d'échantillons multiples par ultrasons VialTweeter permet la sonication simultanée de 10 flacons maximum. Avec le dispositif de fixation VialPress, il est possible de presser jusqu'à 4 tubes supplémentaires vers l'avant pour une sonication intense.


La sonotrode MTP-24-8-96 possède huit sondes ultrasoniques pour la sonication des puits des plaques de microtitration.

La sonotrode MTP-24-8-96 possède huit sondes ultrasoniques pour la sonication des puits des plaques de microtitration.



Littérature / Références

Qu'il faut savoir

Qu'est-ce que le séquençage de nouvelle génération ?

Le séquençage de nouvelle génération, également appelé séquençage de nouvelle génération (NGS), séquençage à haut débit ou séquençage de deuxième génération, fait référence à l'approche du séquençage parallèle massif, où de très grandes quantités (massives) d'ADN de millions de fragments sont séquencées simultanément en parallèle par cycle.
Pour réaliser un séquençage de nouvelle génération, il faut effectuer les trois étapes de base suivantes : (1) la préparation de la bibliothèque, (2) le séquençage et (3) l'analyse des données. Pendant la préparation de la bibliothèque, les brins d'ADN doivent être fragmentés en fragments d'ADN d'une certaine longueur. La sonication est l'une des techniques préférées pour fragmenter l'ADN.
Au cours du processus de séquençage de l'ADN, l'ordre des nucléotides dans l'ADN – connue sous le nom de séquence d'acide nucléique - est déterminée. La séquence d'acide nucléique est composée de quatre bases nucléotidiques - adénine, cytosine, guanine, thymine – quel code pour l'information.
Le séquençage de nouvelle génération stimule la recherche dans le domaine des sciences de la vie et de la médecine personnalisée. En effet, le séquençage de l'ADN et de l'ARN est largement utilisé dans la recherche génomique, la recherche sur le cancer, la recherche sur les maladies rares et complexes, la recherche microbienne, l'agrigénomique et de nombreux autres domaines de recherche.

Séquençage de nouvelle génération vs séquençage Sanger

Alors que le séquençage de nouvelle génération (NGS) permet de séquencer un grand nombre d'échantillons génomiques, le séquençage de Sanger (également connu sous le nom de méthode de terminaison de chaîne ou de séquençage de première génération) ne permet de séquencer que de petits échantillons. Le séquençage de Sanger ne séquence qu'un seul fragment d'ADN à la fois et peut être réalisé en une seule journée. En raison de sa précision, le séquençage de Sanger est également considéré comme la technologie de référence, qui est utilisée pour vérifier les résultats obtenus par le séquençage de nouvelle génération.
Le séquençage de Sanger permet d'obtenir des longueurs de lecture d'environ 800 pb (généralement 500-600 pb avec de l'ADN non enrichi). Les longueurs de lecture plus importantes du séquençage Sanger présentent des avantages significatifs par rapport aux autres méthodes de séquençage, notamment en termes de séquençage des régions répétitives du génome. Le problème des données de séquences courtes se pose en particulier pour le séquençage de nouveaux génomes (de novo) et pour le séquençage de segments de génomes fortement réarrangés, généralement ceux que l'on observe dans les génomes de cancers ou dans les régions de chromosomes qui présentent des variations structurelles. [cp. Morozova et Marra, 2008].


High performance ultrasonics! Hielscher's product range covers the full spectrum from the compact lab ultrasonicator over bench-top units to full-industrial ultrasonic systems.

Hielscher Ultrasonics fabrique des homogénéisateurs à ultrasons de haute performance à partir d'une technologie de pointe. laboratoires à taille industrielle.

Ultrasonic DNA Fragmentation for Next Gen Sequencing

Next Generation Sequencing (NGS) requires the reliable shearing and fragmentation of genomic DNA in order to sequence genomic DNA strands and to create genome libraries. The controlled fragmentation of DNA into DNA fragments is an essential sample preparation step required before the DNA is sequenced. Ultrasonication is proven as efficient and reliable technique for DNA fragmentation of certain length. Ultrasonic DNA fragmentation protocols achieve reproducible fragmentation results. Hielscher ultrasonicators are capable of producing a wide range of genomic DNA fragment size distributions, precisely controllable via the operating parameters. Since Hielscher ultrasonic DNA shearing systems are available for single and multiple vials as well as for microplates, sample preparation becomes highly efficient.

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


Ultrasonic DNA fragmentation is frequently used as sample preparation step in Next Generation Sequencing (NGS)

Electrophoretic analyses of genomic DNA of E. coli EDL933 subjected to 0 – 15 min ultrasonication. L indicates the DNA Ladder. (Basselet et al. 2008)

Advantages of Ultrasonic DNA Fragmentation

  • repeatable / reproducible results
  • precisely adjustable to obtain certain fragment length
  • rapid processing
  • consistent DNA fragmentation results
  • devices for any sample volumes (e.g., multiple vials or microplates)
  • high throughput
  • precise temperature control
  • simple, user-friendly operation

Next-Gen Sequencing: Ultrasonic DNA Fragmentation for Library Preparation

In order to carry out a Next-generation sequencing, the three basic steps of (1) library preparation, (2) sequencing, and (3) data analysis must be performed. During library preparation, DNA is fragmented, then the fragment ends are repaired (polished) by adding a single adenine base and the target fragments are converted to double-stranded DNA. Finally so-called adapters are attached by ligation, PCR, or tagmentation so that the final library DNA product can be quantitated for sequencing.
DNA Fragmentation using Sonication: Especially when short-read sequencing technologies such as Illumina, which cannot read longer DNA fragments readily, the DNA stands must be fragmented to a certain size which can be achieved reliably by ultrasonication.
Ultrasonication can be reliably used for DNA, RNA and chromatin fragmentation.

How Does Ultrasonic DNA Fragmentation Work?

Sonication, also known as acoustic sample processing, is a widely used method to fragment DNA. For ultrasonic DNA shearing, the samples are exposed to ultrasonic waves under controlled condition. The working principle of ultrasonic DNA fragmentation is based on the vibrations and cavitation generate by the ultrasound waves. The shear forces that result from ultrasonic (acoustic) cavitation break high molecular weight DNA molecules. The setting of sonication such as intensity (amplitude, duration), pulsation mode and temperature allow for precise DNA fragmentation to a certain desired length of DNA fragments. Whilst DNA often is reduced to 100 to 600 bp using ultrasonication, longer DNA fragments of up to 1300 bp can be obtained when milder ultrasonic conditions are applied.

Ultrasonic homogenizers are reliable for DNA shearing

Ultrasonic DNA shearing during ChIP – chromatin Immunoprecipitation
Adapted from Jkwchui under CC-BY-SA.03

Temperature Control To Prevent DNA Degradation

The double-stranded molecular shape of DNA is highly sensitive to elevated temperatures so that exact control over temperature during sample preparation steps is a crucial factor for reliable analysis results.
Whether you are using Hielscher’s probe ultrasonicators, the VialTweeter or the UIP400MTP – continuous temperature monitoring and control is ensured due to a pluggable temperature sensor and the smart device software. In order to maintain the temperature within a certain range, you can set an upper and lower temperature limit. Consequently, the ultrasonicator will pause as soon as this temperature limit is exceeded and automatically will continue to sonicate when the temperature has lowered by a set ∆T.
The sophisticated software of Hielscher ultrasonicators ensures the reliable maintenance of ideal sample treatment conditions.

Mass Sample DNA Fragmentation with the UIP400MTP Multi-Well Plate Ultrasonicator

Ultrasonic Multi-Sample Preparation Unit UIP400MTP for multi-well plate sonicationSample numbers in life science have increased significantly within the last decade. This means very high numbers of samples (e.g., 384, 1536, or 3456 wells per microplate) must be processed during sample prep and analysis under consistently equal conditions in order to obtain comparable and valid results. With the UIP400MTP, Hielscher Ultrasonics is following the trend of mass sample processing. The UIP400MTP is an ultrasonicator for sample preparation using microplates. The UIP400MTP can process plates with 6, 12, 24, 48, 96, 384, 1536, or 3456 wells. Depending on the microplate type, each well can typically hold sample volumes between tens of nanolitres to several millilitres. Widely used in life science research, the UIP400MTP is very commonly used for sample preparation before assays such as ELISA (enzyme-linked immunosorbent assay) or PCR, before protein analytics, as well as for chromatin preparation before CHiP and CHiP-seq, histone modification identification, and other analytical treatments (e.g., gel electrophoresis, mass spectrometry).

The VialTweeter for Sample Praparation of up to 10 Vials

Complete VialTweeter setup: VialTweeter sonotrode at ultrasonic processor UP200StThe VialTweeter is a widely used lab ultrasonicator VialTweeter that allows for the effective and comfortable sonication of up to 10 vials simultaneously. Since the vials and test tubes (e.g., Eppendorf vials, cryo vials, centrifuge tubes) are sonicated indirectly, any cross-contamination is avoided. As the same ultrasound intensity is delivered to each sample, all sonication results are homogeneous and reproducible. The VialTweeter offers all smart features like our other digital devices (e.g., smart menu, programmable settings, temperature control, remote control etc.) so that highest user-comfort is ensured.

Multi-Finger Probes for Microwell Plates

4 probe heads or 4 sonotrodes for simultaneous sonication of 4 samples at the same intensity with the Hielscher 200 watts ultrasonicator models UP200ST and UP200HTAvailable for the ultrasonic probe homogenizers UP200Ht and UP200St, multi-finger probes with 4 or 8 fingers are a comfortable option to sonicate multiple sample at the same time under same conditions. For instance, the sonotrode MTP-24-8-96 is an eight finger probe, which is ideal for the integration into automated systems or the efficient manual sample preparation of the wells of multi-well plates. The multi-finger sonotrode is ideal for automated for laboratories, where mostly beakers and test tubes using a standard ultrasonic sonotrode are processed. The multi-finger and standard probes can be rapidly inter-changed within a few minutes transforming the single-probe ultrasonicator into a multi-probe ultrasonic disruptor.

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


Hielscher Ultrasonicators for DNA Fragmentation

Hielscher Ultrasonics offers various ultrasound-based platforms for DNA, RNA, and chromatin fragmentation. These different platforms include ultrasonic probes (sonotrodes), indirect sonication solutions for the simultaneous sample preparation of multiple tubes or multi-well plates (e.g., 96-well plates, microtiter plates), sonoreactors, and ultrasonic cuphorns. All platforms for DNA shearing are powered by frequency-tuned, high-performance ultrasonic processors, which are precisely controllable and deliver reproducible results.

Ultrasonic Processors for Any Sample Number and Size

With Hielscher’s multi-sample ultrasonicators VialTweeter (for up to 10 test tubes) and UIP400MTP (for microplates/ multiwell plates) it becomes easily possible to reduce sample processing time due to intense and precisely controllable ultrasonication whilst obtaining the desired DNA fragment size distribution and yield. Ultrasonic DNA fragmentation makes sample preparation efficient, reliable and scalable. Protocols can be linearly scaled from one to numerous samples by applying constantly controlled ultrasound.
Probe ultrasonicators with one to five fingers are ideal for the preparation of smaller sample numbers. Hielscher’s laboratory ultrasonicators are available at various sizes so that we can recommend you the ideal device for your application and requirements.

Precise Process Control

Hielscher ultrasonicators can be remotely controlled via browser control. Sonication parameters can be monitored and adjusted precisely to the process requirements.Precisely controllable sonication settings are crucial since exhaustive sonification can destroy DNA, RNA and chromatin, but inadequate ultrasonic shearing results in too long DNA and chromatin fragments. Hielscher’s digital ultrasonicators can be easily set to precise sonication parameter. Specific sonication settings can be also saved as programmed setting for fast repetition of the same procedure.
All sonication are automatically protocoled and stored as CSV file on a built-in SD-card. This allows for accurate documentation of performed trials and makes it possible to revise sonication runs easily.
Via browser remote control, all digital ultrasonicators can be operated and monitored via any standard browser. Installation of additional software is not required, since a LAN connection allows a very simple plug-n-play setup.


Highest User-Friendliness in Ultrasonic Sample Preparation

All Hielscher ultrasonicators are designed to deliver high-performance ultrasound, whilst at the same time always being very user-friendly and easy-to-operate. All settings are well-structured in a clear menu, which can be easily accessed via coloured touch-display or browser remote control. The smart software with programmable settings and automatic data recording ensures optimal sonication settings for reliable and reproducible results. The clean and easy-to-use menu interface turn Hielscher ultrasonicators into user-friendly and efficient devices.
The table below gives you an indication of the approximate processing capacity of our lab ultrasonicators, which are ideal for sample preparation tasks such as DNA and RNA fragmentation, cell lysis as well as protein extraction:

Device Power [W] Type Volume [mL]
UIP400MTP 400 for microplates 6 – 3456 wells
VialTweeter 200 for up to 10 vials plus clamp-on possibility 0.5 – 1.5
UP50H 50 probe-type 0.01 – 250
UP100H 100 probe-type 0.01 – 500
UP200Ht 200 probe-type 0.1 – 1000
UP200St 200 probe-type 0.1 – 1000
UP400St 400 probe-type 5.0 – 2000
CupHorn 200 CupHorn, sonoreactor 10 – 200
GDmini2 200 contamination-free flow cell

Contact Us! / Ask Us!

Ask for more information

Please use the form below to request additional information about ultrasonic processors, applications and price. We will be glad to discuss your process with you and to offer you an ultrasonic system meeting your requirements!









Please note our privacy policy.


The VialTweeter is a MultiSample Ultraonicator that allows for reliable sample preparation under precisely controlled temperature conditions.

The ultrasonic multi-sample preparation unit VialTweeter allows for the simultaneous sonication of up to 10 vials. With the clamp-on device VialPress, up to 4 additional tubes can be pressed to the front for intense sonication.


The sonotrode MTP-24-8-96 has eight ultrasonic probes for the sonication of the wells of microtiter plates.

The sonotrode MTP-24-8-96 has eight ultrasonic probes for the sonication of the wells of microtiter plates.



Literature / References

Facts Worth Knowing

What is Next Generation Sequencing?

Next-generation Sequencing, also Next Gen Sequencing (NGS), high-throughput sequencing or second-generation sequencing, refers to the approach of massive parallel sequencing, where very large (massive) amounts of DNA of millions of fragments are sequenced simultaneously in parallel per run.
In order to carry out a Next-generation sequencing, the three basic steps of (1) library preparation, (2) sequencing, and (3) data analysis must be performed. During library preparation, DNA strands must be fragmented into DNA fragments of certain length. Sonication is one of the preferred technique to fragment DNA.
During the process of DNA sequencing, the order of nucleotides in DNA – known as nucleic acid sequence – is determined. The nucleic acid sequence is composed from four nucleotide bases – adenine, cytosine, guanine, thymine – which code for information.
Next-generation sequencing is driving research in life science and personalized medicine since DNA and RNA sequencing are heavily used in genomic research, cancer research, the research of rare and complex diseases, microbial research, agrigenomics and many other research fields.

Next Generation Sequencing vs Sanger Sequencing

Whilst with Next Generation Sequencing (NGS) it is possible to sequence massive numbers of genomic samples, Sanger Sequencing (also known as chain termination method or First Generation Sequencing) has only the capability to sequence small sample numbers. Sanger sequencing only sequences a single DNA fragment at a time and can be accomplished in a single day. Due to its acccuracy, the Sanger sequencing is also considered the gold-standard technology, which is used to verify results obtained by Next-generation sequencing.
Sanger sequencing achieves read lengths of approximately 800bp (typically 500-600bp with non-enriched DNA). The longer read lengths in Sanger sequencing display significant advantages over other sequencing methods especially in terms of sequencing repetitive regions of the genome. A challenge of short-read sequence data is particularly an issue in sequencing new genomes (de novo) and in sequencing highly rearranged genome segments, typically those seen of cancer genomes or in regions of chromosomes that exhibit structural variation. [cp. Morozova and Marra, 2008]


High performance ultrasonics! Hielscher's product range covers the full spectrum from the compact lab ultrasonicator over bench-top units to full-industrial ultrasonic systems.

Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonic homogenizers from lab to industrial size.