Technologie des ultrasons Hielscher

NTC uniformément dispersés par ultrasons

Pour exploiter les fonctionnalités exceptionnelles des nanotubes de carbone (NTC), ils doivent être dispersés de manière homogène.
Les disperseurs ultrasoniques sont l'outil le plus courant pour distribuer les NTC dans les suspensions aqueuses et à base de solvant.
La technologie de dispersion ultrasonique crée une énergie de cisaillement suffisamment élevée pour réaliser une séparation complète des NTC sans les endommager.

Ultrasons de dispersion des nanotubes de carbone

Sonication puissante à l'aide d'un ultrasoniseur de type sonde. (Cliquez pour agrandir !)Les nanotubes de carbone (NTC) ont un rapport d'aspect très élevé et présentent une faible densité ainsi qu'une énorme surface spécifique (plusieurs centaines de m2/g), ce qui leur confère des propriétés uniques telles qu'une très grande résistance à la traction, rigidité et ténacité et une très haute conductivité électrique et thermique. En raison des forces de Van der Waals, qui attirent les nanotubes de carbone (NTC) les uns aux autres, les NTC s'organisent normalement en faisceaux ou en écheveaux. Ces forces d'attraction intermoléculaires sont basées sur un phénomène d'empilement de liaisons π entre nanotubes adjacents connu sous le nom d'empilement π. Pour tirer pleinement profit des nanotubes de carbone, ces agglomérats doivent être démêlés et les NTC doivent être répartis uniformément dans une dispersion homogène. Les ultrasons intenses créent une cavitation acoustique dans les liquides. La contrainte de cisaillement locale ainsi générée casse les agrégats de NTC et les disperse uniformément dans une suspension homogène. La technologie de dispersion ultrasonique crée une énergie de cisaillement suffisamment élevée pour réaliser une séparation complète des NTC sans les endommager. Même pour les SWNT sensibles, la sonication est appliquée avec succès pour les démêler individuellement. Les ultrasons fournissent juste un niveau de contrainte suffisant pour séparer les agrégats SWNT sans causer beaucoup de fractures aux nanotubes individuels (Huang, Terentjev 2012).

Avantages de la dispersion des NTC par ultrasons

  • NTC à simple dispersion
  • Répartition homogène
  • Efficacité de dispersion élevée
  • Charges de NTC élevées
  • Pas de dégradation des NTC
  • traitement rapide
  • le contrôle des processus précis
UIP2000hdT - Ultrasons de 2kW pour la dispersion des nanotubes de carbone.

UIP2000hdT – Puissant ultrasoniseur de 2 kW pour les dispersions de NTC

Demande d'information





Systèmes à ultrasons haute performance pour les dispersions de NTC

Hielscher Ultrasons fournit des équipements ultrasoniques puissants et fiables pour la dispersion efficace des NTC. Que vous ayez besoin de préparer de petits échantillons de NTC pour analyse et R&D ou vous devez fabriquer de grandes quantités industrielles de dispersions en vrac, la gamme de produits Hielscher offre le système ultrasonique idéal pour vos besoins. De Ultrasons 50W pour laboratoire jusqu'à Unités ultrasoniques industrielles de 16kW pour la fabrication commerciale, Hielscher Ultrasons vous couvre.
Pour produire des dispersions de nanotubes de carbone de haute qualité, les paramètres du procédé doivent être bien contrôlés. L'amplitude, la température, la pression et le temps de rétention sont les paramètres les plus critiques pour une distribution uniforme des NTC. Les ultrasons Hielscher permettent non seulement un contrôle précis de chaque paramètre, mais tous les paramètres du processus sont automatiquement enregistrés sur la carte SD intégrée des systèmes numériques à ultrasons Hielscher. Le protocole de chaque processus de sonication permet d'assurer des résultats reproductibles et une qualité constante. Grâce à la commande à distance du navigateur, l'utilisateur peut commander et surveiller l'appareil à ultrasons sans se trouver à l'emplacement de l'installation à ultrasons.
Etant donné que les nanotubes de carbone à paroi simple (SWNT) et les nanotubes de carbone à paroi multiple (MWNT) ainsi que le milieu aqueux ou solvant choisi nécessitent des intensités de traitement spécifiques, l'amplitude ultrasonique est un facteur clé pour le produit final. Hielscher Ultrasons’ Les processeurs à ultrasons industriels peuvent fournir des amplitudes très élevées ou très faibles. Etablissez l'amplitude idéale pour vos besoins de process. Même des amplitudes allant jusqu'à 200µm peuvent facilement fonctionner en continu 24h/24 et 7j/7. Pour des amplitudes encore plus élevées, des sonotrodes ultrasoniques personnalisées sont disponibles. La robustesse de l'équipement ultrasonique de Hielscher permet un fonctionnement 24 heures sur 24, 7 jours sur 7, dans des environnements difficiles et exigeants.
Nos clients sont satisfaits de la robustesse et de la fiabilité exceptionnelles des systèmes Hielscher Ultrasonic. L'installation dans des domaines d'application difficiles, des environnements exigeants et un fonctionnement 24 heures sur 24, 7 jours sur 7, garantissent un traitement efficace et économique. L'intensification du processus par ultrasons réduit le temps de traitement et permet d'obtenir de meilleurs résultats, c'est-à-dire une meilleure qualité, des rendements plus élevés et des produits innovants.
Le tableau ci-dessous vous donne une indication de la capacité de traitement approximative de nos ultrasonicators:

lot Volume Débit Appareils recommandés
00,5 à 1,5 ml n / a. VialTweeter
1 à 500 ml 10 à 200 ml / min UP100H
10 à 2000mL 20 à 400 ml / min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 20L 00,2 à 4L / min UIP2000hdT
10 à 100l 2 à 10 L / min UIP4000hdT
n / a. 10 à 100 litres / min UIP16000
n / a. plus grand groupe de UIP16000

Contactez nous! / Demandez nous!

Demander plus d'informations

Veuillez utiliser le formulaire ci-dessous, si vous souhaitez demander des informations supplémentaires sur l'homogénéisation par ultrasons. Nous serons heureux de vous offrir un système à ultrasons répondant à vos exigences.









Veuillez prendre note de notre Politique de confidentialité.


Hielscher Ultrasons fabrique des ultrasons de haute performance pour des applications sonochimiques.

Des processeurs à ultrasons de haute puissance, du laboratoire au pilote et à l'échelle industrielle.

Littérature / Références

  • Biver T.; Criscitiello F.; Di Francesco F.; Minichino M.; Swager T.; Pucci A. (2015): MWCNT/Perylene bisimide Water Dispersions for Miniaturized Temperature Sensors. RSC Advances 5: 2015. 65023–65029.
  • Chiou K.; Byun S.; Kim J.; Huang J. (2018): Additive-free carbon nanotube dispersions, pastes, gels, and doughs in cresols. PNAS Vol. 115, No. 22, 2018. 5703–5708.
  • Huang, Y.Y:; Terentjev E.M. (2012): Dispersion of Carbon Nanotubes: Mixing, Sonication, Stabilization, and Composite Properties. Polymers 2012, 4, 275-295.
  • Krause B.; Mende M.; Petzold G.; Pötschke P. (2010): Characterization on carbon nanotubes’ dispersability using centrifugal sedimentation analysis in aqueous surfactant dispersions. Conference paper ANTEC 2010, Orlando, USA, May 16-20 2010.
  • Paredes J.I.; Burghard M. (2004): Dispersions of Individual Single-Walled Carbon Nanotubes of High Length. Langmuir 2004, 20, 5149-5152.
  • Santos A.; Amorim L.; Nunes J.P.; Rocha L.A.; Ferreira Silva A.; Viana J.C. (2019): A Comparative Study between Knocked-Down Aligned Carbon Nanotubes and Buckypaper-Based Strain Sensors. Materials 2019, 12, 2013.
  • Szelag M. (2017): Mechano-Physical Properties and Microstructure of Carbon Nanotube Reinforced Cement Paste after Thermal Load. Nanomaterials 7(9), 2017. 267.



Qu'il faut savoir

des nanotubes de carbone

Les nanotubes de carbone (NTC) font partie d'une classe spéciale de matériaux de carbone unidimensionnels, présentant des propriétés mécaniques, électriques, thermiques et optiques exceptionnelles. Ils sont un composant majeur utilisé dans le développement et la production de nanomatériaux avancés tels que les nanocomposites, les polymères renforcés, etc. et sont donc utilisés dans les technologies de pointe. Les NTC présentent une très grande résistance à la traction, des propriétés de transfert thermique supérieures, des intervalles à faible bande et une stabilité chimique et physique optimale, ce qui fait des nanotubes un additif prometteur pour de nombreux matériaux.
Selon leur structure, les CNTS se distinguent en nanotubes de carbone à paroi simple (SWNT), en nanotubes de carbone à paroi double (DWCNT) et en nanotubes de carbone à paroi multiple (MWNT).
Les SWNTs sont des tubes cylindriques longs et creux faits d'une paroi de carbone d'un atome d'épaisseur. La feuille atomique des carbones est disposée dans un treillis en nid d'abeilles. Souvent, on les compare conceptuellement à des feuilles enroulées de graphite ou de graphène à une seule couche.
Les DWCNT sont constitués de deux nanotubes à paroi simple, l'un imbriqué dans l'autre.
Les MWNT sont une forme de NTC, où plusieurs nanotubes de carbone à simple paroi sont imbriqués les uns dans les autres. Comme leur diamètre varie entre 3-30 nm et qu'ils peuvent atteindre plusieurs centimètres de long, leur rapport d'aspect peut varier entre 10 et 10 millions. Comparés aux nanofibres de carbone, les MWNT ont une structure de paroi différente, un diamètre extérieur plus petit et un intérieur creux. Les MWNT les plus couramment utilisés dans l'industrie sont par exemple Baytubes® C150P, Nanocyl® NC7000, Arkema Graphistrength® C100, et FutureCarbon CNT-MW.
Synthèse des NTC: Les NTC peuvent être produits par la méthode de synthèse au plasma ou par la méthode d'évaporation par décharge d'arc, la méthode d'ablation au laser, le procédé de synthèse thermique, le dépôt chimique en phase vapeur (CVD) ou le dépôt chimique en phase vapeur assisté par plasma.
Fonctionnalisation des NTC: Pour améliorer les caractéristiques des nanotubes de carbone et les rendre ainsi plus adaptés à une application spécifique, les NTC sont souvent fonctionnalisés, par exemple en ajoutant des groupes acide carboxylique (-COOH) ou hydroxy (-OH).

Additifs dispersants pour NTC

Quelques solvants comme les superacides, les liquides ioniques et la N-cyclohexyl-2-pyrrolidnone sont capables de préparer des dispersions de NTC à des concentrations relativement élevées, tandis que les solvants les plus courants pour les nanotubes, comme la N-méthyl-2-pyrrolidone (NMP), le diméthylformamide (DMF) et le 1,2-dichrolobenzène, ne peuvent disperser les nanotubes que dans de très faibles concentrations (par exemple, généralement <0.02 wt% of single-walled CNTs). The most common dispersion agents are polyvinylpyrrolidone (PVP), Sodium Dodecyl Benzene Sulfonate (SDBS), Triton 100, or Sodium Dodecyl Sulfonate (SDS). Cresols are a group of industrial chemicals which can process CNTs at concentrations up to tens of weight percent, resulting in a continuous transition from dilute dispersions, thick pastes, and free-standing gels to an unprecedented playdough-like state, as the CNT loading increases. These states exhibit polymer-like rheological and viscoelastic properties, which are not attainable with other common solvents, suggesting that the nanotubes are indeed disaggregated and finely dispersed in cresols. Cresols can be removed after processing by heating or washing, without altering the surface of CNTs. [Chiou et al. 2018]

Applications des dispersions de NTC

Les NTC uniformément dispersés sont utilisés pour la fabrication de plastiques conducteurs, d'écrans à cristaux liquides, de diodes électroluminescentes organiques, d'écrans tactiles, d'écrans flexibles, de cellules solaires, d'encres conductrices, de matériaux de contrôle statique, notamment des films, mousses, fibres et tissus, de revêtements et adhésifs polymères, de composites polymères à haute performance présentant une résistance mécanique et une résistance mécanique exceptionnelles, ainsi que de fibres composites polymère/CNT, de matériaux légers et antistatiques.

Hielscher Ultrasound Technology

Uniformly Dispersed CNTs by Ultrasonication

To exploit the exceptional functionalities of carbon nanotubes (CNTs), they must be homogeneously dispersed.
Ultrasonic dispersers are the most common tool to distribute CNTs into aqueous and solvent-based suspensions.
The ultrasonic dispersing technology creates sufficiently high shear energy to achieve a complete separation of CNTs without damaging them.

Ultrasonic Dispersing of Carbon Nanotubes

Powerful sonication with an probe-type ultrasonicator. (Click to enlarge!)Carbon nanotubes (CNTs) have a very high aspect ratio and exhibit a low density as well as an enormous surface area (several hundred m2/g), which gives them unique properties such as very high tensile strength, stiffness, and toughness and a very high electrical and thermal conductivity. Due to Van der Waals forces, which attract the single carbon nanotubes (CNTs) to each other, CNTs arrange normally in bundles or skeins. These intermolecular forces of attraction are based on a π-bond stacking phenomenon between adjacent nanotubes known as π-stacking. To derive the full benefit from carbon nanotubes, these agglomerates must be disentangled and and the CNTs must be distributed evenly in a homogeneous dispersion. Intense ultrasonication creates acoustic cavitation in liquids. The thereby generated local shear stress breaks CNT aggregates and disperses them uniformly in a homogeneous suspension. The ultrasonic dispersing technology creates sufficiently high shear energy to achieve a complete separation of CNTs without damaging them. Even for the sensitive SWNTs sonication is successfully applied to disentangle them individually. Ultrasonication just delivers a sufficient stress level to separate the SWNT aggregates without causing much fracture to individual nanotubes (Huang, Terentjev 2012).

Advantages of Ultrasonic CNT Dispersion

  • Single-dispersed CNTs
  • Homogeneous distribution
  • High dispersion efficiency
  • High CNT loadings
  • No CNT degradation
  • Rapid processing
  • Precise process control
UIP2000hdT - 2kW ultrasonicator for carbon nanotubes dispersions.

UIP2000hdT – 2kW powerful ultrasonicator for CNT dispersions

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


High-Performance Ultrasonic Systems for CNT Dispersions

Hielscher Ultrasonics supplies powerful and reliable ultrasonic equipment for the efficient dispersion of CNTs. Whether you need to prepare small CNT samples for analysis and R&D or you have to manufacture large industrial lots of bulk dispersions, Hielscher’s product range offers the ideal ultrasonic system for your requirements. From 50W ultrasonicators for lab up to 16kW industrial ultrasonic units for commercial manufacturing, Hielscher Ultrasonics has you covered.
To produce high-quality carbon nanotube dispersions, the process parameters must be well controlled. Amplitude, temperature, pressure and retention time are the most critical parameters for a even CNT distribution. Hielscher’s ultrasonicators not only allow for the precise control of each parameter, all process parameters are automatically recorded on the integrated SD card of Hielscher’s digital ultrasonic systems. The protocol of each sonication process helps to ensure reproducible results and consistent quality. Via remote browser control the user can operate and monitor the ultrasonic device without being on the location of the ultrasonic system.
Since single-walled carbon nanotubes (SWNTs) and multi-walled carbon nanotubes (MWNTs) as well as the selected aqueous or solvent medium require specific processing intensities, the ultrasonic amplitude is a key factor when it comes to the final product. Hielscher Ultrasonics’ industrial ultrasonic processors can deliver very high as well as very mild amplitudes. Establish the ideal amplitude for your process requirements. Even amplitudes of up to 200µm can be easily continuously run in 24/7 operation. For even higher amplitudes, customized ultrasonic sonotrodes are available. The robustness of Hielscher’s ultrasonic equipment allows for 24/7 operation at heavy duty and in demanding environments.
Our customers are satisfied by the outstanding robustness and reliability of Hielscher Ultrasonic’s systems. The installation in fields of heavy-duty applications, demanding environments and 24/7 operation ensure efficient and economical processing. Ultrasonic process intensification reduces processing time and achieves better results, i.e. higher quality, higher yields, innovative products.
The table below gives you an indication of the approximate processing capacity of our ultrasonicators:

Batch Volume Flow Rate Recommended Devices
0.5 to 1.5mL n.a. VialTweeter
1 to 500mL 10 to 200mL/min UP100H
10 to 2000mL 20 to 400mL/min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 to 20L 0.2 to 4L/min UIP2000hdT
10 to 100L 2 to 10L/min UIP4000hdT
n.a. 10 to 100L/min UIP16000
n.a. larger cluster of UIP16000

Contact Us! / Ask Us!

Ask for more information

Please use the form below, if you wish to request additional information about ultrasonic homogenization. We will be glad to offer you an ultrasonic system meeting your requirements.









Please note our privacy policy.


Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonicators for sonochemical applications.

High-power ultrasonic processors from lab to pilot and industrial scale.

Literature/References

  • Biver T.; Criscitiello F.; Di Francesco F.; Minichino M.; Swager T.; Pucci A. (2015): MWCNT/Perylene bisimide Water Dispersions for Miniaturized Temperature Sensors. RSC Advances 5: 2015. 65023–65029.
  • Chiou K.; Byun S.; Kim J.; Huang J. (2018): Additive-free carbon nanotube dispersions, pastes, gels, and doughs in cresols. PNAS Vol. 115, No. 22, 2018. 5703–5708.
  • Huang, Y.Y:; Terentjev E.M. (2012): Dispersion of Carbon Nanotubes: Mixing, Sonication, Stabilization, and Composite Properties. Polymers 2012, 4, 275-295.
  • Krause B.; Mende M.; Petzold G.; Pötschke P. (2010): Characterization on carbon nanotubes’ dispersability using centrifugal sedimentation analysis in aqueous surfactant dispersions. Conference paper ANTEC 2010, Orlando, USA, May 16-20 2010.
  • Paredes J.I.; Burghard M. (2004): Dispersions of Individual Single-Walled Carbon Nanotubes of High Length. Langmuir 2004, 20, 5149-5152.
  • Santos A.; Amorim L.; Nunes J.P.; Rocha L.A.; Ferreira Silva A.; Viana J.C. (2019): A Comparative Study between Knocked-Down Aligned Carbon Nanotubes and Buckypaper-Based Strain Sensors. Materials 2019, 12, 2013.
  • Szelag M. (2017): Mechano-Physical Properties and Microstructure of Carbon Nanotube Reinforced Cement Paste after Thermal Load. Nanomaterials 7(9), 2017. 267.



Facts Worth Knowing

Carbon Nanotubes

Carbon nanotubes (CNTs) are part of a special class of one-dimensional carbon materials, exhibiting exceptional mechanical, electrical, thermal, and optical properties. They are a major component used in the development and production of advanced nanomaterials such as nano-composites, reinforced polymers etc. and are therefore used in state-of-the-art technologies. CNTs expose a very high tensile strength, superior thermal transfer properties, low-band gaps and optimal chemical and physical stability, which makes nanotubes an promising additive for manifold materials.
Depending on their structure, CNTS are distinguished into single-walled carbon nanotubes (SWNTs), double-walled carbon nanotubes (DWCNTs), and multi-walled carbon nanotubes (MWNTs).
SWNTs are hollow, long cylindrical tubes made from a one atom-thick carbon wall. The atomic sheet of carbons is arranged in a honeycomb lattice. Often, they are conceptually compared to rolled-up sheets of single-layer graphite or graphene.
DWCNTs are consists of two single-walled nanotubes, with one nested within the other.
MWNTs are a CNT form, where multiple single-walled carbon nanotubes are nested inside one another. Since their diameter ranges between 3–30 nm and as they can grow several cm long, their aspect ratio can vary between 10 and ten million. Compared to carbon nanofibers, MWNTs have a different wall structure, a smaller outer diameter, and a hollow interior. Commonly used industrially available typed of MWNTs are e.g. Baytubes® C150P , Nanocyl® NC7000, Arkema Graphistrength® C100, and FutureCarbon CNT-MW.
Synthesis of CNTs: CNTs can be produced by plasma based synthesis method or arc discharge evaporation method, laser ablation method, thermal synthesis process, chemical vapor deposition (CVD) or plasma-enhanced chemical vapor deposition.
Functionalization of CNTs: To improve the characteristics of carbon nanotubes and make them thereby more suitable to a specific application, CNTs are often functionalized, e.g. by adding carboxylic acid (-COOH) or hydroxyl (-OH) groups.

CNT Dispersing Additives

A few solvents such as super acids, ionic liquids, and N-cyclohexyl-2-pyrrolidnone are capable to prepare relatively high-concentration dispersions of CNTs, whilst the most common solvents for nanotubes, such as N-methyl-2-pyrrolidone (NMP), dimethylformamide (DMF), and 1,2-dichrolobenzene, can disperse nanotubes only at very low concentrations (e.g., typically <0.02 wt% of single-walled CNTs). The most common dispersion agents are polyvinylpyrrolidone (PVP), Sodium Dodecyl Benzene Sulfonate (SDBS), Triton 100, or Sodium Dodecyl Sulfonate (SDS). Cresols are a group of industrial chemicals which can process CNTs at concentrations up to tens of weight percent, resulting in a continuous transition from dilute dispersions, thick pastes, and free-standing gels to an unprecedented playdough-like state, as the CNT loading increases. These states exhibit polymer-like rheological and viscoelastic properties, which are not attainable with other common solvents, suggesting that the nanotubes are indeed disaggregated and finely dispersed in cresols. Cresols can be removed after processing by heating or washing, without altering the surface of CNTs. [Chiou et al. 2018]

Applications of CNT Dispersions

To use the benefits of CNTs, they must be dispersed into a liquid such as a polymers, Evenly dispersed CNTs are used for the manufacturing of conductive plastics, liquid crystal displays, organic light-emitting diodes, touch screens, flexible displays, solar cells, conductive inks, static control materials, including films, foams, fibers, and fabrics, polymer coatings and adhesives, high performance polymer composites with exceptional mechanical strength and toughness, polymer/CNT composite fibers, as well as lightweight and antistatic materials.