Hielscher Ultraschalltechnik

Gleichmäßig dispergierte CNTs durch Ultraschall

Um die außergewöhnlichen Funktionalitäten von Carbon Nanotubes (CNTs) zu nutzen, müssen sie homogen verteilt sein.
Ultraschalldispergierer sind das gebräuchlichste Werkzeug zur Verteilung von CNTs in wässrige und lösemittelhaltige Suspensionen.
Die Ultraschalldispergiertechnologie erzeugt eine ausreichend hohe Scherenergie, um eine vollständige Trennung der CNTs zu erreichen, ohne sie zu beschädigen.

Ultraschall-Dispergieren von Carbonnanotubes

Leistungsstarke Sondierung mit einem Sonden-Ultraschallgerät. (Zum Vergrößern anklicken!)Kohlenstoff-Nanoröhrchen (CNTs) haben ein sehr hohes Aspektverhältnis und weisen eine geringe Dichte sowie eine enorme Oberfläche (mehrere hundert m2/g) auf, was ihnen einzigartige Eigenschaften wie sehr hohe Zugfestigkeit, Steifigkeit und Zähigkeit sowie eine sehr hohe elektrische und thermische Leitfähigkeit verleiht. Aufgrund der Kräfte von Van der Waals, die die einzelnen Kohlenstoff-Nanoröhrchen (CNTs) gegeneinander anziehen, ordnen sich CNTs normalerweise in Bündeln oder Strängen an. Diese intermolekularen Anziehungskräfte basieren auf einem π-Bond-Stacking-Phänomen zwischen benachbarten Nanoröhren, dem so genannten π-Stacking. Um den vollen Nutzen aus Kohlenstoff-Nanoröhrchen zu ziehen, müssen diese Agglomerate entwirrt und die CNTs gleichmäßig in einer homogenen Dispersion verteilt werden. Intensiver Ultraschall erzeugt akustische Kavitation in Flüssigkeiten. Die dadurch erzeugte lokale Schubspannung bricht CNT-Aggregate und verteilt sie gleichmäßig in einer homogenen Suspension. Die Ultraschalldispergiertechnologie erzeugt eine ausreichend hohe Scherenergie, um eine vollständige Trennung der CNTs zu erreichen, ohne sie zu beschädigen. Selbst für die empfindlichen SWNTs wird die Sondierung erfolgreich eingesetzt, um sie individuell zu entwirren. Die Ultraschalltechnik liefert gerade ein ausreichendes Spannungsniveau, um die SWNT-Aggregate zu trennen, ohne einzelne Nanoröhrchen stark zu brechen (Huang, Terentjev 2012).

Vorteile der Ultraschall-CNT-Dispersion

  • Einzeldispergierte CNTs
  • Homogene Verteilung
  • Hoher Dispersionswirkungsgrad
  • Hohe CNT-Belastungen
  • Kein CNT-Abbau
  • schnelle Verarbeitung
  • präzise Prozesssteuerung
UIP2000hdT - 2kW Ultraschall für Kohlenstoff-Nanoröhrchen-Dispersionen.

UIP2000hdT – 2kW starker Ultraschall für CNT-Dispersionen

Informationen anfordern




Beachten Sie unsere Datenschutzerklärung.


Leistungsstarke Ultraschallsysteme für CNT-Dispersionen

Hielscher Ultrasonics liefert leistungsstarke und zuverlässige Ultraschallgeräte für die effiziente Dispersion von CNTs. Ob Sie kleine CNT-Proben für die Analyse und R&D oder Sie müssen große Industriechargen von Schüttgutdispersionen herstellen, das Produktprogramm von Hielscher bietet für Ihre Anforderungen das ideale Ultraschallsystem. Von 50W Ultraschallgeräte für Labor bis zu 16kW industrielle Ultraschallgeräte für die kommerzielle Fertigung, Hielscher Ultrasonics hat Sie abgedeckt.
Um hochwertige Kohlenstoff-Nanoröhrendispersionen herzustellen, müssen die Prozessparameter gut gesteuert werden. Amplitude, Temperatur, Druck und Verweildauer sind die wichtigsten Parameter für eine gleichmäßige CNT-Verteilung. Die Ultraschallgeräte von Hielscher ermöglichen nicht nur die präzise Steuerung der einzelnen Parameter, sondern erfassen alle Prozessparameter automatisch auf der integrierten SD-Karte der digitalen Ultraschallsysteme von Hielscher. Das Protokoll jedes Ultraschallprozesses trägt dazu bei, reproduzierbare Ergebnisse und gleichbleibende Qualität zu gewährleisten. Über die Browser-Fernbedienung kann der Benutzer das Ultraschallgerät bedienen und überwachen, ohne sich am Standort des Ultraschallsystems aufzuhalten.
Da einwandige Kohlenstoff-Nanoröhrchen (SWNTs) und mehrwandige Kohlenstoff-Nanoröhrchen (MWNTs) sowie das ausgewählte wässrige oder lösliche Medium spezifische Verarbeitungsintensitäten erfordern, ist die Ultraschallamplitude ein Schlüsselfaktor für das Endprodukt. Hielscher Ultraschallgeräte‘ industrielle Ultraschallprozessoren können sowohl sehr große als auch sehr kleine Amplituden liefern. Ermitteln Sie die ideale Amplitude für Ihre Prozessanforderungen. Selbst Amplituden von bis zu 200µm können im 24/7-Betrieb problemlos im Dauerbetrieb betrieben werden. Für noch höhere Amplituden sind kundenspezifische Ultraschallsonotroden erhältlich. Die Robustheit der Ultraschallgeräte von Hielscher ermöglicht einen 24/7-Betrieb bei hoher Beanspruchung und in anspruchsvollen Umgebungen.
Unsere Kunden sind von der herausragenden Robustheit und Zuverlässigkeit der Systeme von Hielscher Ultrasonic überzeugt. Die Installation in den Bereichen Heavy-Duty-Anwendungen, anspruchsvolle Umgebungen und der 24/7-Betrieb sorgen für eine effiziente und wirtschaftliche Verarbeitung. Die Intensivierung des Ultraschallprozesses verkürzt die Verarbeitungszeit und erzielt bessere Ergebnisse, d.h. höhere Qualität, höhere Ausbeute, innovative Produkte.
In der folgenden Tabelle finden Sie die ungefähre Verarbeitungskapazität unserer Ultraschallsysteme:

Batch-Volumen Durchfluss Empfohlenes Ultraschallgerät
0,5 bis 1,5 ml n.a. VialTweeter
1 bis 500ml 10 bis 200ml/min UP100H
10 bis 2000ml 20 bis 400ml/min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 bis 20l 0,2 bis 4l/min UIP2000hdT
10 bis 100l 2 bis 10l/min UIP4000hdT
n.a. 10 bis 100l/min UIP16000
n.a. größere Cluster aus UIP16000

Kontaktieren Sie uns! / Fragen Sie uns!

Fordern Sie weitere Informationen an!

Bitte nutzen Sie das Formular, um weitere Informationen über unsere Ultraschallgeräte und -prozesse anzufordern. Gerne bieten wir Ihnen ein passendes Ultraschallsystem für Ihre Anwendung an.









Bitte beachten Sie unsere Datenschutzerklärung.


Hielscher Ultrasonics stellt leistungsstarke Ultraschallgeräte für sonochemische Anwendungen her.

Leistungsstarke Ultraschallprozessoren vom Labor- über den Pilot- bis zum industriellen Maßstab.

Literatur

  • Biver T.; Criscitiello F.; Di Francesco F.; Minichino M.; Swager T.; Pucci A. (2015): MWCNT/Perylene bisimide Water Dispersions for Miniaturized Temperature Sensors. RSC Advances 5: 2015. 65023–65029.
  • Chiou K.; Byun S.; Kim J.; Huang J. (2018): Additive-free carbon nanotube dispersions, pastes, gels, and doughs in cresols. PNAS Vol. 115, No. 22, 2018. 5703–5708.
  • Huang, Y.Y:; Terentjev E.M. (2012): Dispersion of Carbon Nanotubes: Mixing, Sonication, Stabilization, and Composite Properties. Polymers 2012, 4, 275-295.
  • Krause B.; Mende M.; Petzold G.; Pötschke P. (2010): Characterization on carbon nanotubes’ dispersability using centrifugal sedimentation analysis in aqueous surfactant dispersions. Conference paper ANTEC 2010, Orlando, USA, May 16-20 2010.
  • Paredes J.I.; Burghard M. (2004): Dispersions of Individual Single-Walled Carbon Nanotubes of High Length. Langmuir 2004, 20, 5149-5152.
  • Santos A.; Amorim L.; Nunes J.P.; Rocha L.A.; Ferreira Silva A.; Viana J.C. (2019): A Comparative Study between Knocked-Down Aligned Carbon Nanotubes and Buckypaper-Based Strain Sensors. Materials 2019, 12, 2013.
  • Szelag M. (2017): Mechano-Physical Properties and Microstructure of Carbon Nanotube Reinforced Cement Paste after Thermal Load. Nanomaterials 7(9), 2017. 267.



Wissenswertes

Carbon Nanotubes

Kohlenstoff-Nanoröhrchen (CNTs) gehören zu einer speziellen Klasse von eindimensionalen Kohlenstoffmaterialien, die außergewöhnliche mechanische, elektrische, thermische und optische Eigenschaften aufweisen. Sie sind ein wichtiger Bestandteil bei der Entwicklung und Produktion fortschrittlicher Nanomaterialien wie Nanokompositen, verstärkten Polymeren usw. und werden daher in modernsten Technologien eingesetzt. CNTs weisen eine sehr hohe Zugfestigkeit, überlegene Wärmeübertragungseigenschaften, niedrige Bandabstände und optimale chemische und physikalische Stabilität auf, was Nanoröhrchen zu einem vielversprechenden Additiv für vielfältige Materialien macht.
Je nach Struktur werden CNTS in einwandige Kohlenstoff-Nanoröhrchen (SWNTs), doppelwandige Kohlenstoff-Nanoröhrchen (DWCNTs) und mehrwandige Kohlenstoff-Nanoröhrchen (MWNTs) unterteilt.
SWNTs sind hohle, lange zylindrische Rohre, die aus einer einatomigen Kohlenstoffwand bestehen. Das Atomblatt der Kohlenstoffe ist in einem Wabengitter angeordnet. Oft werden sie konzeptionell mit aufgerollten Platten aus einschichtigem Graphit oder Graphen verglichen.
DWCNTs bestehen aus zwei einwandigen Nanoröhren, von denen eine ineinander verschachtelt ist.
MWNTs sind eine CNT-Form, bei der mehrere einwandige Kohlenstoff-Nanoröhrchen ineinander verschachtelt sind. Da ihr Durchmesser zwischen 3-30 nm liegt und sie mehrere cm lang werden können, kann ihr Seitenverhältnis zwischen 10 und zehn Millionen variieren. Im Vergleich zu Kohlenstoff-Nanofasern weisen MWNTs eine andere Wandstruktur, einen kleineren Außendurchmesser und einen hohlen Innenraum auf. Gängige industriell verfügbare Typen von MWNTs sind z.B. Baytubes® C150P, Nanocyl® NC7000, Arkema Graphistrength® C100 und FutureCarbon CNT-MW.
Synthese von CNTs: CNTs können durch plasmabasierte Synthesemethoden oder Bogenentladungsverdampfungsverfahren, Laserablationsverfahren, thermische Syntheseverfahren, chemische Dampfabscheidung (CVD) oder plasmagestützte chemische Dampfabscheidung hergestellt werden.
Funktionalisierung von CNTs: Um die Eigenschaften von Kohlenstoff-Nanoröhrchen zu verbessern und sie damit für eine bestimmte Anwendung besser geeignet zu machen, werden CNTs oft funktionalisiert, z.B. durch Zugabe von Carbonsäure- (-COOH) oder Hydroxylgruppen (-OH).

CNT-Dispergieradditive

Einige wenige Lösungsmittel wie Supersäuren, ionische Flüssigkeiten und N-Cyclohexyl-2-pyrrolidnon sind in der Lage, relativ hochkonzentrierte Dispersionen von CNTs herzustellen, während die gebräuchlichsten Lösungsmittel für Nanoröhrchen wie N-Methyl-2-pyrrolidon (NMP), Dimethylformamid (DMF) und 1,2-Dichrolobenzol Nanoröhrchen nur in sehr geringen Konzentrationen dispergieren können (z.B. typischerweise <0.02 wt% of single-walled CNTs). The most common dispersion agents are polyvinylpyrrolidone (PVP), Sodium Dodecyl Benzene Sulfonate (SDBS), Triton 100, or Sodium Dodecyl Sulfonate (SDS). Cresols are a group of industrial chemicals which can process CNTs at concentrations up to tens of weight percent, resulting in a continuous transition from dilute dispersions, thick pastes, and free-standing gels to an unprecedented playdough-like state, as the CNT loading increases. These states exhibit polymer-like rheological and viscoelastic properties, which are not attainable with other common solvents, suggesting that the nanotubes are indeed disaggregated and finely dispersed in cresols. Cresols can be removed after processing by heating or washing, without altering the surface of CNTs. [Chiou et al. 2018]

Anwendungen von CNT-Dispersionen

Um die Vorteile von CNTs zu nutzen, müssen sie in einer Flüssigkeit wie beispielsweise einem Polymer dispergiert werden. Gleichmäßig dispergierte CNTs werden für die Herstellung von leitfähigen Kunststoffen, Flüssigkristallanzeigen, organischen Leuchtdioden, Touchscreens, flexiblen Displays, Solarzellen, leitfähigen Tinten, statischen Kontrollmaterialien, einschließlich Folien, Schäumen, Fasern und Geweben, Polymerbeschichtungen und -klebstoffen, Hochleistungs-Polymerverbundwerkstoffen mit außergewöhnlicher mechanischer Festigkeit und Zähigkeit, Polymer/CNT-Verbundfasern sowie leichten und antistatischen Materialien verwendet.

Hielscher Ultrasound Technology

Uniformly Dispersed CNTs by Ultrasonication

To exploit the exceptional functionalities of carbon nanotubes (CNTs), they must be homogeneously dispersed.
Ultrasonic dispersers are the most common tool to distribute CNTs into aqueous and solvent-based suspensions.
The ultrasonic dispersing technology creates sufficiently high shear energy to achieve a complete separation of CNTs without damaging them.

Ultrasonic Dispersing of Carbon Nanotubes

Powerful sonication with an probe-type ultrasonicator. (Click to enlarge!)Carbon nanotubes (CNTs) have a very high aspect ratio and exhibit a low density as well as an enormous surface area (several hundred m2/g), which gives them unique properties such as very high tensile strength, stiffness, and toughness and a very high electrical and thermal conductivity. Due to Van der Waals forces, which attract the single carbon nanotubes (CNTs) to each other, CNTs arrange normally in bundles or skeins. These intermolecular forces of attraction are based on a π-bond stacking phenomenon between adjacent nanotubes known as π-stacking. To derive the full benefit from carbon nanotubes, these agglomerates must be disentangled and and the CNTs must be distributed evenly in a homogeneous dispersion. Intense ultrasonication creates acoustic cavitation in liquids. The thereby generated local shear stress breaks CNT aggregates and disperses them uniformly in a homogeneous suspension. The ultrasonic dispersing technology creates sufficiently high shear energy to achieve a complete separation of CNTs without damaging them. Even for the sensitive SWNTs sonication is successfully applied to disentangle them individually. Ultrasonication just delivers a sufficient stress level to separate the SWNT aggregates without causing much fracture to individual nanotubes (Huang, Terentjev 2012).

Advantages of Ultrasonic CNT Dispersion

  • Single-dispersed CNTs
  • Homogeneous distribution
  • High dispersion efficiency
  • High CNT loadings
  • No CNT degradation
  • Rapid processing
  • Precise process control
UIP2000hdT - 2kW ultrasonicator for carbon nanotubes dispersions.

UIP2000hdT – 2kW powerful ultrasonicator for CNT dispersions

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


High-Performance Ultrasonic Systems for CNT Dispersions

Hielscher Ultrasonics supplies powerful and reliable ultrasonic equipment for the efficient dispersion of CNTs. Whether you need to prepare small CNT samples for analysis and R&D or you have to manufacture large industrial lots of bulk dispersions, Hielscher’s product range offers the ideal ultrasonic system for your requirements. From 50W ultrasonicators for lab up to 16kW industrial ultrasonic units for commercial manufacturing, Hielscher Ultrasonics has you covered.
To produce high-quality carbon nanotube dispersions, the process parameters must be well controlled. Amplitude, temperature, pressure and retention time are the most critical parameters for a even CNT distribution. Hielscher’s ultrasonicators not only allow for the precise control of each parameter, all process parameters are automatically recorded on the integrated SD card of Hielscher’s digital ultrasonic systems. The protocol of each sonication process helps to ensure reproducible results and consistent quality. Via remote browser control the user can operate and monitor the ultrasonic device without being on the location of the ultrasonic system.
Since single-walled carbon nanotubes (SWNTs) and multi-walled carbon nanotubes (MWNTs) as well as the selected aqueous or solvent medium require specific processing intensities, the ultrasonic amplitude is a key factor when it comes to the final product. Hielscher Ultrasonics’ industrial ultrasonic processors can deliver very high as well as very mild amplitudes. Establish the ideal amplitude for your process requirements. Even amplitudes of up to 200µm can be easily continuously run in 24/7 operation. For even higher amplitudes, customized ultrasonic sonotrodes are available. The robustness of Hielscher’s ultrasonic equipment allows for 24/7 operation at heavy duty and in demanding environments.
Our customers are satisfied by the outstanding robustness and reliability of Hielscher Ultrasonic’s systems. The installation in fields of heavy-duty applications, demanding environments and 24/7 operation ensure efficient and economical processing. Ultrasonic process intensification reduces processing time and achieves better results, i.e. higher quality, higher yields, innovative products.
The table below gives you an indication of the approximate processing capacity of our ultrasonicators:

Batch Volume Flow Rate Recommended Devices
0.5 to 1.5mL n.a. VialTweeter
1 to 500mL 10 to 200mL/min UP100H
10 to 2000mL 20 to 400mL/min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 to 20L 0.2 to 4L/min UIP2000hdT
10 to 100L 2 to 10L/min UIP4000hdT
n.a. 10 to 100L/min UIP16000
n.a. larger cluster of UIP16000

Contact Us! / Ask Us!

Ask for more information

Please use the form below, if you wish to request additional information about ultrasonic homogenization. We will be glad to offer you an ultrasonic system meeting your requirements.









Please note our privacy policy.


Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonicators for sonochemical applications.

High-power ultrasonic processors from lab to pilot and industrial scale.

Literature/References

  • Biver T.; Criscitiello F.; Di Francesco F.; Minichino M.; Swager T.; Pucci A. (2015): MWCNT/Perylene bisimide Water Dispersions for Miniaturized Temperature Sensors. RSC Advances 5: 2015. 65023–65029.
  • Chiou K.; Byun S.; Kim J.; Huang J. (2018): Additive-free carbon nanotube dispersions, pastes, gels, and doughs in cresols. PNAS Vol. 115, No. 22, 2018. 5703–5708.
  • Huang, Y.Y:; Terentjev E.M. (2012): Dispersion of Carbon Nanotubes: Mixing, Sonication, Stabilization, and Composite Properties. Polymers 2012, 4, 275-295.
  • Krause B.; Mende M.; Petzold G.; Pötschke P. (2010): Characterization on carbon nanotubes’ dispersability using centrifugal sedimentation analysis in aqueous surfactant dispersions. Conference paper ANTEC 2010, Orlando, USA, May 16-20 2010.
  • Paredes J.I.; Burghard M. (2004): Dispersions of Individual Single-Walled Carbon Nanotubes of High Length. Langmuir 2004, 20, 5149-5152.
  • Santos A.; Amorim L.; Nunes J.P.; Rocha L.A.; Ferreira Silva A.; Viana J.C. (2019): A Comparative Study between Knocked-Down Aligned Carbon Nanotubes and Buckypaper-Based Strain Sensors. Materials 2019, 12, 2013.
  • Szelag M. (2017): Mechano-Physical Properties and Microstructure of Carbon Nanotube Reinforced Cement Paste after Thermal Load. Nanomaterials 7(9), 2017. 267.



Facts Worth Knowing

Carbon Nanotubes

Carbon nanotubes (CNTs) are part of a special class of one-dimensional carbon materials, exhibiting exceptional mechanical, electrical, thermal, and optical properties. They are a major component used in the development and production of advanced nanomaterials such as nano-composites, reinforced polymers etc. and are therefore used in state-of-the-art technologies. CNTs expose a very high tensile strength, superior thermal transfer properties, low-band gaps and optimal chemical and physical stability, which makes nanotubes an promising additive for manifold materials.
Depending on their structure, CNTS are distinguished into single-walled carbon nanotubes (SWNTs), double-walled carbon nanotubes (DWCNTs), and multi-walled carbon nanotubes (MWNTs).
SWNTs are hollow, long cylindrical tubes made from a one atom-thick carbon wall. The atomic sheet of carbons is arranged in a honeycomb lattice. Often, they are conceptually compared to rolled-up sheets of single-layer graphite or graphene.
DWCNTs are consists of two single-walled nanotubes, with one nested within the other.
MWNTs are a CNT form, where multiple single-walled carbon nanotubes are nested inside one another. Since their diameter ranges between 3–30 nm and as they can grow several cm long, their aspect ratio can vary between 10 and ten million. Compared to carbon nanofibers, MWNTs have a different wall structure, a smaller outer diameter, and a hollow interior. Commonly used industrially available typed of MWNTs are e.g. Baytubes® C150P , Nanocyl® NC7000, Arkema Graphistrength® C100, and FutureCarbon CNT-MW.
Synthesis of CNTs: CNTs can be produced by plasma based synthesis method or arc discharge evaporation method, laser ablation method, thermal synthesis process, chemical vapor deposition (CVD) or plasma-enhanced chemical vapor deposition.
Functionalization of CNTs: To improve the characteristics of carbon nanotubes and make them thereby more suitable to a specific application, CNTs are often functionalized, e.g. by adding carboxylic acid (-COOH) or hydroxyl (-OH) groups.

CNT Dispersing Additives

A few solvents such as super acids, ionic liquids, and N-cyclohexyl-2-pyrrolidnone are capable to prepare relatively high-concentration dispersions of CNTs, whilst the most common solvents for nanotubes, such as N-methyl-2-pyrrolidone (NMP), dimethylformamide (DMF), and 1,2-dichrolobenzene, can disperse nanotubes only at very low concentrations (e.g., typically <0.02 wt% of single-walled CNTs). The most common dispersion agents are polyvinylpyrrolidone (PVP), Sodium Dodecyl Benzene Sulfonate (SDBS), Triton 100, or Sodium Dodecyl Sulfonate (SDS). Cresols are a group of industrial chemicals which can process CNTs at concentrations up to tens of weight percent, resulting in a continuous transition from dilute dispersions, thick pastes, and free-standing gels to an unprecedented playdough-like state, as the CNT loading increases. These states exhibit polymer-like rheological and viscoelastic properties, which are not attainable with other common solvents, suggesting that the nanotubes are indeed disaggregated and finely dispersed in cresols. Cresols can be removed after processing by heating or washing, without altering the surface of CNTs. [Chiou et al. 2018]

Applications of CNT Dispersions

To use the benefits of CNTs, they must be dispersed into a liquid such as a polymers, Evenly dispersed CNTs are used for the manufacturing of conductive plastics, liquid crystal displays, organic light-emitting diodes, touch screens, flexible displays, solar cells, conductive inks, static control materials, including films, foams, fibers, and fabrics, polymer coatings and adhesives, high performance polymer composites with exceptional mechanical strength and toughness, polymer/CNT composite fibers, as well as lightweight and antistatic materials.