Ultrasons pour la stabilité au cisaillement sonique des fluides hydrauliques ASTM D5621

La méthode d'essai standard ASTM D5621 décrit l'essai de stabilité au cisaillement sonique des fluides hydrauliques et de leurs viscosités à 40°C et 100°C, respectivement. Afin de tester et de déterminer la stabilité de la viscosité des fluides hydrauliques sous cisaillement, une méthode d'essai fiable est nécessaire. La norme ASTM D5621 est un protocole standardisé pour l'évaluation de la stabilité au cisaillement des fluides hydrauliques en utilisant des forces de cisaillement ultrasoniques.

Essai ultrasonique de stabilité au cisaillement des fluides hydrauliques selon la norme ASTM D5621

ASTM D5621 est un protocole standardisé pour déterminer la perte de viscosité des fluides hydrauliques sous cisaillement sonique. Ainsi, des forces de cisaillement ultra-soniques sont appliquées à des échantillons de fluide hydraulique afin d'évaluer la stabilité au cisaillement. Idéal pour les huiles hydrauliques et les huiles moteur contenant des polymères.
Ultra-Sonic shear device UP400St (24kHz, 400W) for viscosity loss and viscosity stability testing in accordance to ASTM D5621.Objectif : Les fluides hydrauliques (lubrifiants spécifiques), les huiles pour moteurs, les fluides de transmission pour voitures, les fluides pour tracteurs et d'autres fluides de transmission de puissance sont exposés à des forces de cisaillement de degrés divers pendant le fonctionnement habituel, ce qui peut entraîner des modifications de la viscosité et une diminution ultérieure de l'efficacité. Afin d'améliorer l'indice de viscosité des fluides hydrauliques, des polymères (par exemple, des polymères en peigne) sont ajoutés à ces fluides hydrauliques. L'essai ASTM D5621 examine les changements de viscosité des fluides contenant des polymères exposés à des forces de cisaillement générées par des ultrasons, appelées vibrations de cisaillement soniques.
Application : L'objectif du protocole standard ASTM D5621 est de déterminer la viscosité de l'échantillon sous contrainte de cisaillement. Ce test est pertinent pour les fluides hydrauliques car les fluides hydrauliques, en tant que fluides de transmission de puissance, sont exposés au cisaillement. Leur comportement dans certaines conditions de cisaillement doit être déterminé afin de choisir la qualité de fluide hydraulique appropriée pour l'utilisation dans des machines et des moteurs spécifiques.
Procédure: La viscosité initiale du fluide hydraulique est déterminée. L'échantillon est ensuite placé dans le bécher d'essai, tempéré à la température d'essai et traité par un vibrateur ultrasonique (c'est-à-dire un dispositif de cisaillement sonique) pendant le temps d'essai spécifié. Ensuite, la viscosité de l'échantillon soniqué est mesurée. Le rapport indique la viscosité initiale, la viscosité finale et le pourcentage de changement de viscosité en centistokes.

Demande d'information





Ultrasonic shear device for ASTM D5621 Sonic Shear Stability of Hydraulic Fluids

Système de cisaillement ultra-sonique UP400St (24kHz, 400W) pour ASTM D5621 Stabilité au cisaillement sonique des fluides hydrauliques

Équipement pour ASTM D5621 Méthode d'essai standard pour la stabilité au cisaillement sonique des fluides hydrauliques

Afin d'effectuer la procédure décrite et normalisée dans le protocole ASTM D5621, un équipement spécifique est nécessaire.

  • Ultra-Sonicator : un dispositif de cisaillement ultrasonique de type sonde avec une fréquence fixe et un cornet ultrasonique (également appelé sonde ou sonotrode). Un appareil ultrasonique typique utilisé pour les essais ASTM D2603 est le UP400St (24kHz, 400W) avec sonde à ultrasons (corne / sonotrode) S24d22.
  • Afin de faciliter une performance uniforme et des résultats reproductibles, l'équipement auxiliaire suivant est recommandé :

  • Bain d'eau/glace : Bain d'eau froide ou bain de glace capable de maintenir la température de l'enveloppe à 0°C.
  • capteur de température comme le PT100 (inclus avec les appareils à ultrasons UP400ST)
  • Bécher Griffin 50mLen verre borosilicate.
  • Enceinte sonore (en option) : Un boîtier de protection sonore (par exemple, le boîtier de protection sonore SPB-L pour UP400St) pour enfermer le pavillon ultrasonique afin de réduire le niveau de bruit produit par le dispositif de cisaillement sonique.
  • Viscosimètre : Tout viscosimètre et bain répondant aux exigences de la méthode d'essai D445 est suffisant.

Essai de cisaillement sonique conformément à la norme ASTM D6080

“Le système de classification de la viscosité des fluides hydrauliques est défini dans la norme ASTM D6080. Le système de classification D6080 utilise l'essai ASTM D5621 Standard Test Method for Sonic Shear Stability of Hydraulic Fluid, appelé par la suite essai de cisaillement sonique, comme base pour définir le grade de viscosité des fluides hydrauliques multigrades (ASTM D5621). Dans la procédure D5621, l'huile contenant le polymère est irradiée par un oscillateur sonique pendant 40 minutes. La dégradation du polymère par la méthode sonique est le résultat de la formation et de l'effondrement de vides énergétiques dans le liquide, comme cela peut se produire dans des conditions de cavitation du fluide. Cette méthode de détermination de la perte de viscosité permanente s'est avérée produire des changements de viscosité similaires à ceux observés dans les applications de pompes à palettes, à engrenages et à pistons. Des corrélations avec l'efficacité volumétrique de la pompe ont également été rapportées. Les fluides à viscosité élevée qui présentent une perte de viscosité permanente moindre dans l'essai de cisaillement sonique offrent une meilleure efficacité volumétrique de la pompe.” (Michael et al., 2018).
Michael et al. (2018) ont également constaté que pour cette enquête particulière, l'essai de cisaillement sonique via la méthode ASTM D5621 présentait la meilleure corrélation avec les mesures de viscosité en fin d'essai.

Pourquoi utiliser les ultra-sonicateurs Hielscher pour les essais de stabilité au cisaillement conformément à la norme ASTM D5621 ?

Digital display of the ultra-sonic shear device UP400St (fixed frequency of 24kHz) for reliable operationHielscher Ultrasons fournit des appareils de cisaillement ultrasonique à haute performance pour les essais de stabilité au cisaillement conformément aux normes ASTM D5621 et ASTM D2603. Avec une fréquence fixe et une puissance de cisaillement ultrasonique fiable, les appareils de cisaillement ultrasonique Hielscher sont idéaux pour l'évaluation de la stabilité au cisaillement des fluides hydrauliques. Les appareils à ultrasons Hielscher sont équipés d'un logiciel et de réglages intelligents, qui permettent de réaliser des essais sophistiqués conformément aux normes ASTM. Le menu est facilement accessible via un écran tactile numérique ou une télécommande par navigateur. Alors que la fréquence est fixe, ce qui est important pour obtenir des résultats de sonication fiables et respecter les normes ASTM, l'amplitude peut être réglée avec précision pour obtenir un impact de course souhaité.
L'étalonnage des ultrasons Hielscher est simple et peut être effectué rapidement et facilement via le menu sophistiqué. Tous les ultrasons numériques sont équipés d'un capteur de température enfichable, qui enregistre en permanence la température de l'échantillon et la transmet au générateur d'ultrasons, où toutes les données importantes de sonication telles que l'amplitude, le temps et la durée de sonication, la température et la pression (lorsque le capteur de pression est monté) sont enregistrées automatiquement sur une carte SD intégrée. Ces caractéristiques intelligentes permettent de réaliser des essais de cisaillement par ultrasons fiables et reproductibles et rendent l'opération conviviale et sûre.
Les appareils Hielscher Ultrasonics pour les tests de stabilité au cisaillement sont conformes aux normes ASTM D-5621 et ASTM D-2603.

Les ultrasons Hielscher pour l'essai de viscosité par cisaillement ASTM D5621 :

  • amplitude fixe
  • logiciels intelligents
  • écran tactile numérique et coloré
  • paramètres intelligents
  • menu intuitif
  • enregistrement automatique des données sur la carte SD
  • capteur de température intégré
  • un contrôle précis
  • facile à calibrer
  • des résultats reproductibles

L'UP400St a une fréquence fixe de 24kHz et est donc conforme à la norme ASTM D5621. Une installation typique pour le test ASTM D5621 est le système de cisaillement ultra-sonique UP400ST avec la sonde (corne / sonotrode) S24d22.

Contactez nous! / Demandez nous!

Demander plus d'informations

Veuillez utiliser le formulaire ci-dessous pour demander des informations supplémentaires sur les systèmes de cisaillement ultrasonique, les applications ASTM D5621 et les prix. Nous serons heureux de discuter avec vous de vos exigences en matière d'essais ASTM et de vous proposer un dispositif de cisaillement ultrasonique répondant à vos besoins !









Veuillez prendre note de notre Politique de confidentialité.


Applications de l'ASTM D5621

  • Industrie pétrolière
  • Science des matériaux
  • Contrôle de la qualité
  • Recherche & Développement

Various probe or horn sizes for the ultra-sonic shear system UP400St, which is conform to ASTM D5621 Standard Test Method for Sonic Shear Stability of Hydraulic Fluids

Différents types de sonotrodes (sondes / cornes) pour le dispositif de cisaillement sonique UP400Stqui peut être utilisé pour ASTM D5621 Standard Test Method for Sonic Shear Stability of Hydraulic Fluids (méthode d'essai standard pour la stabilité des fluides hydrauliques par cisaillement sonique).

Littérature / Références



Qu'il faut savoir

Propriétés de viscosité des fluides hydrauliques et des lubrifiants

Les caractéristiques matérielles des lubrifiants liquides et consistants sont décrites par des données, qui sont pour la plupart déterminées par des protocoles d'essai normalisés.
Il existe deux principaux paramètres de contrôle pour les lubrifiants :

  • Valeur de contrôle : L'examen des lubrifiants frais permet de contrôler les processus de production et de livraison. Un contrôle continu des volumes de remplissage d'huile pendant le fonctionnement (contrôle des huiles usagées) permet d'agir rapidement (changement d'huile) avant que la détérioration de l'huile n'endommage la machine (limites de condamnation).
  • Valeur d'adéquation : Les valeurs d'adéquation évaluent les lubrifiants en fonction de leur utilisation et de leur compatibilité avec des machines particulières.

Définition des lubrifiants et des huiles hydrauliques

Les lubrifiants sont des fluides, qui peuvent être utilisés – en fonction de sa nature – pour éliminer la chaleur et les débris d'usure, fournir des additifs dans le contact, transmettre la puissance, protéger et / ou sceller.
Les huiles hydrauliques ou fluides hydrauliques sont un type important d'huiles ou de lubrifiants (lubrifiants), qui sont utilisés dans l'industrie en tant qu'huiles dites industrielles.
L'huile hydraulique est un type spécifique de lubrifiant. Cela signifie qu'une huile hydraulique n'est pas seulement un lubrifiant, elle est aussi le moyen par lequel la puissance est transférée dans tout le système hydraulique. En d'autres termes, c'est un lubrifiant et en même temps un moyen de transfert de puissance. Pour être un lubrifiant efficace et fiable, les huiles hydrauliques doivent présenter diverses propriétés, qui sont comparables ou similaires à celles des autres lubrifiants. Ces propriétés matérielles comprennent : la résistance au moussage et les propriétés de dégazage (libération d'air), la stabilité contre la dégradation thermique, oxydative et hydrolytique, la performance anti-usure, la filtrabilité, la capacité de désémulsification, l'inhibition de la rouille et de la corrosion, et certaines propriétés de viscosité concernant son influence sur l'épaisseur du film.
On distingue les huiles hydrauliques ou les fluides hydrauliques :

  • Fluides hydrauliques à base d'huile minérale
  • Fluides de pression synthétiques
  • Fluides hydrauliques résistant au feu

Définition de l'unité CGS Centistokes

La viscosité cinématique est souvent mesurée dans l'unité CGS centistokes (cSt), qui équivaut à 0,01 stokes (St). Les stokes (symbole : St) et les centistokes (symbole : cSt) sont des unités CGS. Un centistoke (cSt) est équivalent à 0,01 stokes (St). Un centiStoke est équivalent à un centimètre carré par seconde (cm2/s).-1). Un stokes est égal à la viscosité en poise divisée par la densité du fluide en grammes par centimètre cube (g/cm-3).


High performance ultrasonics! Hielscher's product range covers the full spectrum from the compact lab ultrasonicator over bench-top units to full-industrial ultrasonic systems.

Hielscher Ultrasonics fabrique des homogénéisateurs à ultrasons de haute performance à partir d'une technologie de pointe. laboratoires à taille industrielle.

Ultrasonicators for ASTM D5621 Sonic Shear Stability of Hydraulic Fluids

The ASTM D5621 standard test method describes the sonic shear stability testing of hydraulic fluids and their viscosities at 40°C and 100°C, respectively. In order to test and determine the viscosity stability of hydraulic fluids under shear, a reliable testing method is required. The ASTM D5621 is a standardized protocol for the evaluation of shear stability of hydraulic fluids using ultra-sonic shear forces.

Ultrasonic Shear Stability Testing of Hydraulic Fluids using ASTM D5621

ASTM D5621 is a standarized protocol to determine viscosity loss of hydraulic fluids under sonic shear. Therefore, ultra-sonic shear forces are applied to samples of hydraulic fluid in order to evaluate the shear stability. Ideal for polymer containing hydraulic oils and engine oils.
Ultra-Sonic shear device UP400St (24kHz, 400W) for viscosity loss and viscosity stability testing in accordance to ASTM D5621.Purpose: Hydraulic fluids (specific lubricants), engine oils, transmission fluids for cars, tractor fluids and other power transmission fluids are exposed to shear forces of varying degrees during usual operation, which can lead to changes in viscosity and a subsequent decrease in efficiency. In order to improve the viscosity index of hydraulic fluids, polymers (e.g. comb polymers) are added to such hydraulic fluids. The ASTM D5621 test examines viscosity changes in polymer-containing fluids exposed to ultrasound-generated shear forces, so-called sonic shear vibrations.
Application: It is goal of the ASTM D5621 standard protocol to determine the viscosity of the sample under shear stress. This test is relevant to hydraulic fluids since hydraulic fluids as power transmission fluids are exposed to shear. Their behaviour under certain shear conditions must be determined order to choose the suitable hydraulic fluid quality for the usage in specific machines and engines.
Procedure: The initial viscosity of the hydraulic fluid is determined. The sample is then placed in the test beaker, tempered to the test temperature and treated with an ultra-sonic vibrator (i.e., sonic shear device) for the test time specified. Afterwards, the viscosity of the sonicated sample is measured. The report lists the initial viscosity, the final viscosity and the percentage of viscosity change in centistokes.

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


Ultrasonic shear device for ASTM D5621 Sonic Shear Stability of Hydraulic Fluids

Ultra-Sonic Shear System UP400St (24kHz, 400W) for ASTM D5621 Sonic Shear Stability of Hydraulic Fluids

Equipment for ASTM D5621 Standard Test Method for Sonic Shear Stability of Hydraulic Fluids

In order to perform the procedure described and standardized in the ASTM D5621 protocol, specified equipment is required.

  • Ultra-Sonicator: a probe-type ultra-sonic shear device with a fixed frequency and ultra-sonic horn (also known as probe or sonotrode). A typical ultrasonic device used for ASTM D2603 testing is the UP400ST (24kHz, 400W) with ultrasonic probe (horn / sonotrode) S24d22.
  • In order to facilitate uniform performance and repeatable results, the following auxiliary equipment is recommended:

  • Water / ice bath: Cooling water bath or ice bath capable to maintain a jacket temperature of 0°C.
  • Temperature sensor such as PT100 (included with the ultrasonic devices UP400ST)
  • Griffin 50mL beaker, made from borosilicate glass.
  • Sound enclosure (optional): A sound protection box (e.g., sound protection box SPB-L for UP400St) to enclose the ultra-sonic horn to reduce the noise level produced by the sonic shear device.
  • Viscometer: Any viscometer and bath that meet the requirements of Test Method D445 are sufficient.

Sonic Shear Test in Accordance to ASTM D6080

“The viscosity classification system for hydraulic fluids is defined in ASTM D6080. The D6080 classification system uses the ASTM D5621 Standard Test Method for Sonic Shear Stability of Hydraulic Fluid, referred subsequently as the sonic shear test, as the basis for defining the viscosity grade of multigrade hydraulic fluids (ASTM D5621). In the D5621 procedure, the polymer-containing oil is irradiated with a sonic oscillator for 40 min. Degradation of the polymer by the sonic method is the result of energetic void formation and collapse within the liquid, such as may occur under conditions of fluid cavitation. This method for determining permanent viscosity loss has been found to produce viscosity changes similar to those observed in vane, gear, and piston pump applications. Correlations with pump volumetric efficiency have also been reported. High-VI fluids that exhibited less permanent viscosity loss in the sonic shear test provided enhanced pump volumetric efficiency.” (Michael et al., 2018).
Michael et al. (2018) also found that for this particular investigation, sonic shear testing via the ASTM D5621 method correlated best with end of test viscosity measurements.

Why Hielscher Ultra-Sonicators for Shear Stability Tests in accordance to ASTM D5621?

Digital display of the ultra-sonic shear device UP400St (fixed frequency of 24kHz) for reliable operationHielscher Ultrasonics supplies high-performance ultrasonic shear devices for shear stability tests in accordance with ASTM D5621 and ASTM D2603. With a fixed frequency, reliable ultrasonic shear power, Hielscher ultra-sonic shear devices are ideal for shear stability evaluation of hydraulic fluids. Hielscher ultrasonicators are equipped with smart software and settings, which allow for sophisticated testings according to ASTM standards. The menu is easily accessible via digital touch display or browser remote control. While the frequency is fixed, which is important for reliable sonication results and ASTM standards, the amplitude can be precisely set to a desired stroke impact.
Calibration of Hielscher ultrasonicators is simple and and can be rapidly and easy done via the sophisticated menu. All digital ultrasonicators are equipped with pluggable temperature sensor, which continuously records the sample temperature and transmits it back to the ultrasonic generator, where all important sonication data such as amplitude, sonication time and duration, temperature, and pressure (when pressure sensor is mounted) are recorded automatically on a built-in SD-card. These smart features allow for reliable and reproducible ultra-sonic shear tests and make the operation user-friendly and safe.
Hielscher Ultrasonics devices for shear stability tests are conform with both, ASTM D-5621 and ASTM D-2603 standards.

Hielscher Ultrasonicators for ASTM D5621 Viscosity Shear Test feature:

  • fixed amplitude
  • smart software
  • digital, coloured touch-screen
  • smart settings
  • intuitive menu
  • automatic data recording on SD-card
  • integrated temperature sensor
  • precise control
  • easy to calibrate
  • reproducible results

The UP400St has a fixed frequency of 24kHz and is thereby conform to ASTM D5621. A typical setup for ASTM D5621 test is the ultra-sonic shear system UP400ST with probe (horn / sonotrode) S24d22.

Contact Us! / Ask Us!

Ask for more information

Please use the form below to request additional information about ultra-sonic shear systems, ASTM D5621 applications and prices. We will be glad to discuss your ASTM test requirments with you and to offer you an ultra-sonic shear device meeting your requirements!









Please note our privacy policy.


Applications of ASTM D5621

  • Petro Industry
  • Material Science
  • Quality Control
  • Research & Development

Various probe or horn sizes for the ultra-sonic shear system UP400St, which is conform to ASTM D5621 Standard Test Method for Sonic Shear Stability of Hydraulic Fluids

Various types of sonotrodes (probes / horns) for the sonic shear device UP400ST, which can be used for ASTM D5621 Standard Test Method for Sonic Shear Stability of Hydraulic Fluids

Literature / References



Facts Worth Knowing

Viscosity Properties of Hydraulic Fluids and Lubricants

The material characteristics of liquid and consistent lubricants are described by data, which are mostly determined via standardized test protocols.
There are two major control parameters for lubricants:

  • Control value: With the examination of fresh lubricants, production and delivery processes can be controlled. A continuous monitoring of oil filling volumes during operation (testing used oils) allows for prompt action (oil change) before the deterioration of oil damages the machine (condemning limits).
  • Suitability value: Suitability values rate the lubricants for their usage and compatibility with particular machines.

Definition of Lubricants and Hydraulic Oils

Lubricants are fluids, which can be used – in dependence of its nature – to eliminate heat and wear debris, supply additives into the contact, transmit power, protect, and / or to seal.
Hydraulic oils or hydraulic fluids are a major type of oils or lubricants (lubes), which are used in the industry as so-called industrial oils.
Hydraulic oil is a specific type of lubricant. This means that a hydraulic oil is not only a lubricant, a hydraulic oil is also the medium by which power is transferred throughout the hydraulic system. This means, it’s a lubricant and at the same time a power transfer medium. In order be an effective and reliable lubricant, hydraulic oils must exhibit various properties, which are comparable or similar to other lubricants. These material properties include: foaming resistance and degassing (air release) properties, stability against thermal, oxidative and hydrolytic degradation, anti-wear performance, filterability, the ability of de-emulsification, rust and corrosion inhibition, and certain viscosity properties regarding its influence on film thickness.
Hydraulic oils or hydraulic fluids are distinguished into:

  • Hydraulic fluids based on mineral oil
  • Synthetic pressure fluids
  • Fire-resistant hydraulic fluids

Definition of CGS Unit Centistokes

Kinematic viscosity is often measured in the CGS unit centistokes (cSt), which is equivalent to 0.01 stokes (St). Stokes (symbol: St) and centiStokes (symbol: cSt) are CGS units. One centistokes (cSt) is equivalent to 0.01 stokes (St). One centiStoke is equivalent to one square centimetres per second (cm2/s–1). One stokes is equal to the viscosity in poise divided by the density of the fluid in grams per cubic centimetre (g/cm–3).


High performance ultrasonics! Hielscher's product range covers the full spectrum from the compact lab ultrasonicator over bench-top units to full-industrial ultrasonic systems.

Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonic homogenizers from lab to industrial size.