Hielscher Ultraschalltechnik

Kavitationserosiontests

Kavitationserosion tritt auf Materialoberflächen auf, die einer intensiven Ultraschallkavitation ausgesetzt sind. Kavitationserosionstests sind eine schnelle Methode zur Messung der Erosionsbeständigkeit von Materialien oder Beschichtungen gegen starke Beanspruchung und andere Erosionsfaktoren. Es bietet eine einfache quantitative Messung zur Qualitätskontrolle und ist nützlich bei der Materialforschung oder bei der Formulierung von Beschichtungen.

Warum Kavitationserosionsprüfungen einsetzen?

Anhaltende Erosion oder Korrosion kann einen regelmäßigen Austausch von Teilen oder die Erneuerung von Oberflächenbeschichtungen erfordern. Die Erosion der Materialoberfläche durch mechanische oder chemische Einflüsse ist ein langsamer Prozess, der zur allmählichen Zerstörung der Materialoberflächen führt. Daher kann die Bewertung der Materialerosionsbeständigkeit oder der Erosionswirkung von Flüssigkeiten und Schlämmen ein sehr zeitaufwendiger Prozess sein.
Die Ultraschall-Kavitationserosionstests setzen die Materialoberfläche kontrollierten, intensiven und sich wiederholenden Spannungszyklen aus. Dies führt in kurzer Zeit zu einer signifikanten Erosion der Materialoberfläche. Für die regelmäßige Qualitätskontrolle in der Produktion, zur Bewertung von Eingangsmaterialien oder in der Forschung und Entwicklung können Sie die Erosionsbeständigkeit schnell messen.
Standardanwendungen sind metallurgische Prüfungen, Formulierungsprüfungen, Beschichtungsprüfungen oder die Bewertung von Erosionsinhibitoren in Flüssigkeiten.

Kavitationserosionstestaufbau mit UIP1000hdT (1000 Watt Ultraschallleistung)

UIP1000hdT (1000W, 20kHz) Kavitationserosionstestaufbau

Warum verursacht Kavitation Oberflächenerosion?

Ultraschallgeräte wie der UP400St (400 Watt, 24kHz) oder der UIP1000hdT (1000 Watt, 20kHz) koppeln Ultraschallschwingungen in Flüssigkeiten, wie beispielsweise Wasser. Die schnelle Wechselbewegung der Vibration in der Flüssigkeit erzeugt und kollabiert Kavitationsblasen. Beim Zusammenbruch der Blasen kommt es zu einer hohen lokalen mechanischen Belastung in der Flüssigkeit und auf exponierten Materialoberflächen. Flüssigkeitsstrahlen von bis zu 1000km/h und lokale Drücke von bis zu 1000atm führen zu einer schnellen Ermüdung der Materialoberfläche. Dadurch können Oxid- oder Passivierungsschichten, Beschichtungen oder Verunreinigungen entfernt werden. Es kann zu Lochfraß bei festen Materialien wie Stahl, Titan, Aluminium, Kunststoff oder Glas führen. Daher ist die Kavitationserosionsprüfung eine zerstörerische Prüfmethode.

Kavitationserosion auf 40mm Titanoberfläche

Kavitationserosion auf 40mm Titanoberfläche

Wie funktioniert die Kavitationserosionsprüfung?

Die Kavitationserosion von Materialoberflächen führt zu einem allmählichen Materialverlust. Sie können den Materialverlust einfach messen, indem Sie das Material auf einer Präzisionswaage vor und nach einer definierten Kavitationserosionsexposition wiegen. Eine typische Gewichtsänderung für einen Kavitationserosionstest liegt zwischen 1 und 30 mg. Zur weiteren Standardisierung können Sie den Volumenverlust berechnen, indem Sie den Gewichtsverlust durch die Materialdichte dividieren. Die mittlere Eindringtiefe (MDP) wird berechnet, indem der Volumenverlust durch die Probenoberfläche dividiert wird. Alternativ können Sie auch die Lochfraßtiefe oder das verdrängte Volumen messen. Mit Hilfe der mikroskopischen Analyse können Sie zusätzliche qualitative Informationen über das Erosionsmuster gewinnen.
Wenn Sie ein Hielscher Ultraschallgerät für die Kavitationserosionsprüfung verwenden, können Sie den Temperaturbereich und den Druckbereich, in dem Sie arbeiten möchten, voreinstellen. Sie können die Ultraschallamplitude einstellen. Alle Parameter werden überwacht, angezeigt und auf einer SD-Karte protokolliert. Sie benötigen keine proprietäre Softwareinstallation. Wenn Sie möchten, können Sie den Ultraschallprozess von Ihrem normalen Webbrowser aus steuern und überwachen, wenn Sie das Ultraschallgerät über das mitgelieferte Ethernet-Kabel mit Ihrem Computer verbinden.

Kavitationserosion auf einer Titanoberfläche (Grad 5)

Kavitationserosion auf Titanoberfläche

Was ist die ASTM G32 Standardmethode für die Kavitationserosion mit einem Vibrationsgerät?

Die Norm ASTM G32-16 beschreibt ein standardisiertes Verfahren zur Kavitationserosion. Es definiert einen einfachen, kontrollierbaren und reproduzierbaren Test zur Quantifizierung und zum Vergleich der Kavitationserosionsbeständigkeit verschiedener Materialien. Die ATSM G32-16 Spezifikationen sind nützlich für den Vergleich Ihrer Ergebnisse mit denen anderer Publikationen. Wenn Sie Kavitationserosionstests in der Qualitätskontrolle durchführen möchten, empfehlen wir Ihnen, das Kavitationserosionstestprotokoll an Ihre spezifischen Anforderungen anzupassen. Gerne unterstützen wir Sie bei der Erstellung eines kundenspezifischen Kavitationserosionstestprotokolls. Für weitere Informationen zu Kavitationserosionstests nach ASTM-G32 klicken Sie bitte hier!

Warum sollte ich anstelle einer Zeitbegrenzung eine Energiebegrenzung verwenden?

Viele Veröffentlichungen und Erosionstestprotokolle legen eine Kavitationsexpositionszeit fest. Bei Hielscher Ultraschallgeräten können Sie eine Beschallungszeit vorgeben und das System stoppt nach Ablauf dieser Zeit. Sie können dann die resultierende Kavitationserosionsrate in mm/h oder mm3/h berechnen. Eine zeitliche Begrenzung ist nur akzeptabel, wenn Sie keine Parameter wie Füllstand, Amplitude, Druck, Temperatur, Flüssigkeitszusammensetzung oder Abstand zwischen Sonotrode und Materialoberfläche ändern. Ändert sich einer dieser Parameter, ändern sich auch die Schallleistung und die Intensität der Kavitation. Es ist wichtig, dass die tatsächliche Nettoleistung, die der Flüssigkeit zugeführt wird, während der Dauer der Prüfung nicht schwankt.
Mit Hielscher Ultraschallgeräten können Sie eine Energiebegrenzung einstellen. In diesem Fall stoppt das Ultraschallgerät, nachdem es die angegebene Ultraschallenergie abgegeben hat. Das Hielscher-Gerät zeigt und zeichnet Parameter wie tatsächliche Nettoleistung, Amplitude, Druck und Flüssigkeitstemperatur auf. Leistungsschwankungen oder absichtliche Parameteränderungen werden bei Verwendung eines Energielimits kompensiert. Sie können dann die resultierende Kavitationserosionsrate in mm/kWhr, mm3/kWhr oder mg/kWhr angeben.
Wenn Sie die Probe zwischen den Kavitationserosionsintervallen wiegen, können Sie eine Kurve erstellen, die den marginalen Gewichtsverlust (Gewichtsverlustsatz in jedem Energieintervall) über die kumulative Energie zeigt.
Für genauere Ergebnisse kann das Gerät eine automatische Kalibrierung durchführen (30 Sekunden). Dieser misst die Leistung für alle Amplitudeneinstellungen in Luft bei Umgebungsdruck. Das Hielscher-Gerät nutzt diese Kalibrierdaten, um sehr genaue Nettoleistungswerte in Echtzeit zu liefern.

Kavitationserosionsprüfkörper nach ASTM G32 - 16

Kavitationserosionsprüfkörper (ASTM G32) – 16)

Austauschbare Spitze (15,9 mm) für ASTM G32 Kavitationserosionstestmethode

Austauschbarer Teller für ASTM G32 – Kavitationserosionstest

Verfügbare Versuchsaufbauten für Kavitationserosionsprüfungen

Gerne besprechen wir mit Ihnen Ihre Anforderungen an die Erosionsprüfung. Bitte benutzen Sie das untenstehende Formular, um uns zu kontaktieren! Bitte geben Sie zusätzliche Informationen zu Ihrem Projekt an, wie z.B. zu prüfende Proben pro Tag, Probengröße und Material.








Bitte klicken Sie unten die Themen an, zu denen Sie weitere Informationen erhalten möchten:



  • Für einen einfach zu bedienenden Prüfstand empfehlen wir den UP400St (400W, 24kHz) mit einer Sonotrode S24d14D (14mm Spitzendurchmesser). Sonotroden mit anderem Durchmesser sind natürlich auch erhältlich. Dieser leistungsstarke Ultraschall-Homogenisator wird mit einem Temperatursensor und automatischer SD-Kartenprotokollierung geliefert. Sie können die UP400St mit S24d14D bei Amplituden von 20 bis 99 Mikron betreiben. Wir empfehlen die Verwendung eines Flüssigkeitsbehälters mit Kühlung, in dem Sie die Probe oder das Teil in einem definierten Abstand zur Sonotrodenspitze positionieren. Das UP400St Gerät kann 24 Stunden, 7 Tage die Woche kontinuierlich mit voller Leistung betrieben werden.



  • Der Hielscher UIP1000hdT (1000W, 20kHz) mit einer Sonotrode BS4d22 (22mm Spitzendurchmesser) hat mehr Leistung, kann mit höheren Amplituden arbeiten und größere Proben verarbeiten. Das Gerät wird mit einem Temperatursensor und automatischer SD-Kartenprotokollierung geliefert. Sonotroden mit größerem Durchmesser oder Sonotroden mit austauschbaren Spitzen sind erhältlich. Wir liefern Ihnen das notwendige Zubehör, wie z.B. einen Ständer, die Höhenverstellung, eine leistungsstarke Kühlmittelkühleranlage oder ein ummanteltes Prüfgefäß mit Montagehalterungen für Ihre Probe.



  • Für einen Kavitationserosionstest in einer unter Druck stehenden Flüssigkeit empfehlen wir den UIP2000hdT (2000 Watt, 20kHz). Wie die anderen Einheiten beinhaltet es einen Temperatursensor und eine automatische SD-Kartenprotokollierung. Der optionale digitale Drucksensor PS7D ist sehr nützlich, um den Druck zu überwachen und aufzuzeichnen.



  • Hielscher Ultrasonics verfügt über ein Technikum, das Kavitationserosionsprüfungen als Dienstleistung durchführen kann. Von der Bearbeitung von Standardproben, Präzisionswägung und Kavitationsexposition unter kontrollierten und wiederholbaren Bedingungen bis hin zu einem vollständigen Bericht und einer Rücksendung von Proben an Sie kann Hielscher das Prüfprotokoll an Ihre Anforderungen anpassen.


Bitte beachten Sie unsere Datenschutzerklärung.


Was beeinflusst die Kavitationserosion?

Die Ultraschallkavitation führt zu einer Kavitationserosion. Je intensiver die Ultraschallkavitation ist, desto schneller ist die Erosion. Eine intensivere Kavitation kann Materialoberflächen erodieren, die eine sehr weiche Kavitation überhaupt nicht erodieren kann. Daher kann es sein, dass eine Mindestintensität erforderlich ist, damit Ihr Material erosionsgetestet werden kann.

Ultraschallamplitude

Die Schwingungsamplitude ist der wichtigste Parameter für die Ultraschallintensität und die daraus resultierende Kavitationsintensität. Größere Amplituden erzeugen eine intensivere Kavitation. In der Ultraschalltechnik wird die Amplitude in Mikron als Peak-Peak angegeben. Mit den Ultraschallgeräten von Hielscher können Sie die Amplitude in einem weiten Bereich einstellen. Nach der Einstellung hält das Gerät die Amplitude unter allen Lastbedingungen auf dem eingestellten Niveau. Dies ist ein wichtiges Merkmal, um kontrollierbare und wiederholbare Kavitationsprüfbedingungen zu gewährleisten.
Hielscher Ultraschallgeräte ermöglichen es Ihnen, Kavitationserosionstests bei Amplituden von nur 2 Mikron bis 200 Mikron oder mehr durchzuführen.

Flüssigkeitsdruck während der Ultraschallbehandlung

Viele Standardprotokolle für die Kavitationserosionsprüfung verwenden die Ultraschallkavitation bei Umgebungsdruck. Der Flüssigkeitsdruck ist der zweitwichtigste Faktor für die Intensität der Ultraschallbehandlung. Eine Erhöhung des Umgebungsdrucks um 10% erhöht die Ultraschallintensität um ca. 10%. Eine intensivere Kavitation reduziert die Zeit, die benötigt wird, um einen bestimmten Grad an Kavitationserosion zu erreichen. Häufig kann die Einzelprobenprüfung zwischen 15 und 120 Minuten dauern. Wenn Sie viele Proben zu prüfen haben, kann das Arbeiten mit höheren Drücken die Zeit für jede Prüfung erheblich verkürzen. Tests bei 5 barg (73psig) benötigen ca. 80% weniger Zeit für jeden Test.
Hielscher liefert druckdichte Prüfzellen mit einem digitalen Drucksensor für die Kavitationserosionsprüfung. Mit einer druckdichten Zelle können Sie den Druck bei jeder Prüfung kontrollieren und aufrechterhalten. Der Ultraschallgenerator überwacht den Drucksensor ständig und protokolliert den aktuellen Druck in einer Excel-kompatiblen CSV-Datei auf einer SD-Karte (mitgeliefert). Hielscher liefert Druckregler zur Einstellung und Aufrechterhaltung des Betriebsdrucks.
Druckdichte Prüfzellen von Hielscher für Kavitationserosionsprüfungen sind standardmäßig für bis zu 5barg (73psig) ausgelegt. Höhere Drücke bis zu 300barg (4350psig) sind auf Anfrage erhältlich.

Ultraschallfrequenz

Im Allgemeinen verwendet die Kavitationserosionstests Niederfrequenz-Hochleistungsultraschall im Bereich von 18-30kHz. In diesem Bereich hat die Variation der Frequenz nur einen sehr begrenzten Einfluss auf die Kavitationsintensität. Alle Hielscher-Geräte arbeiten mit einer konstanten Frequenz.

höhenverstellbarer Aufbau zur Einstellung des Abstandes zwischen Ultraschallsonotrode und Probe bei Kavitationserosionsprüfungen (ASTM G32-16)

Höhenverstellbarer Prüfstand für Kavitationserosionsprüfungen (ASTM G32-16)

Entfernung von der Sonotrode

Das zu prüfende Material kann an der Sonotrode oder unter der Sonotrode montiert werden. Sie können eine Materialprobe mit Gewinde herstellen und an das Ende der Ultraschallsonotrode montieren. In diesem Fall schwingt die Probe mit der angegebenen Ultraschallamplitude und erzeugt auf ihrer Oberfläche Kavitation. Dies erfordert eine präzise Bearbeitung und nicht alle Materialien sind für diese Option geeignet.
Alternativ können Sie ein Teil oder eine Probe in unmittelbarer Nähe unter einer Titansonotrode fixieren. In diesem Fall erzeugt die Titansonotrode die Kavitation und die Materialoberfläche wird der Kavitation ausgesetzt. Dies ist die bequemere Option, da Sie Proben verschiedener Größen und Formen in die Prüfzelle einbringen können. Wenn Sie eine größere Sonotrode verwenden, wie z.B. eine Sonotrode mit 50mm oder 80mm Durchmesser, können Sie mehrere Teile gleichzeitig einer Kavitationserosion aussetzen. Dies ist sehr nützlich, wenn Sie viele Teile pro Tag prüfen müssen, z.B. für die Qualitätskontrolle.
In beiden Fällen ist der Abstand zwischen der Ultraschallsonotrode und der angrenzenden Materialoberfläche sehr wichtig. Im Allgemeinen ist die Kavitationserosion bei kleinerem Abstand schneller. Typische Abstände reichen von 0,2 bis 15 mm. Für aussagekräftige Ergebnisse sollten Sie bei allen Tests den gleichen Abstand verwenden.

Flüssigkeitstemperatur

Eine wärmere Flüssigkeit führt zu einer geringeren Intensität der Ultraschallkavitation. Der Eintrag von mechanischer Schwingungsenergie in die Flüssigkeit führt zur Erwärmung der Flüssigkeit. Um bei jedem Kavitationserosionstest eine konstante Temperatur zu halten, muss die Flüssigkeit gekühlt werden. Hielscher liefert ummantelte Behälter und ummantelte druckdichte Zellen. Alternativ können Sie eine Kühlschlange in einem Becherglas verwenden oder das Becherglas in ein Eisbad stellen. Ein Kühlmittel, das durch den Mantel oder durch die Kühlschlange läuft, entzieht der Flüssigkeit Wärme.
Hielscher Ultraschallgeräte wie der UP400St oder der UIP1000hdT sind mit einem PT100-Temperatursensor ausgestattet (im Lieferumfang enthalten). Der Ultraschallgenerator überwacht kontinuierlich die aktuelle Flüssigkeitstemperatur und protokolliert die Temperatur in einer Excel-kompatiblen CSV-Datei auf einer SD-Karte (im Lieferumfang enthalten). Sie können den Generator so einstellen, dass die Kavitationserosionstests unterbrochen werden, wenn die Flüssigkeitstemperatur zu stark von Ihrem Sollwert abweicht, z.B. aufgrund unzureichender Kühlleistung. Der Generator kann die Ultraschallbehandlung automatisch wieder aufnehmen, wenn die Flüssigkeit wieder die vorgegebene Temperatur erreicht hat.

Kavitierende Flüssigkeit

Im Allgemeinen werden bei Kavitationserosionstests Wasser, wie beispielsweise destilliertes Wasser, verwendet. Unterschiedliche Flüssigkeiten weisen unterschiedliche Kavitationseigenschaften auf. Wenn Wasser für Ihr Material korrosiv ist, können Sie alternative Flüssigkeiten wie niedrigviskose Silikonöle oder organische Lösungsmittel testen, um den korrosiven Faktor zu eliminieren oder zu reduzieren. Alternativ können Sie die Flüssigkeit korrosiver machen, z.B. durch Änderung des pH-Wertes oder durch Zugabe von Schleifpartikeln. Mit Kavitationserosionstests können Sie die Erosion und Korrosivität von Flüssigkeiten, wie z.B. Bohrschlämmen, beurteilen oder die Wirksamkeit von Korrosions- oder Erosionsinhibitoren bewerten.

Bearbeitung

Wenn Sie ein Teil oder eine Probe herstellen, verursachen CNC-Bearbeitungen, Schleifen oder Polieren Schäden an der Kornstruktur in der Nähe der Materialoberfläche. Dies reduziert die Erosionsbeständigkeit.

Passivierungs-/Oxidschichten

Sehr oft kommt es gleichzeitig zu Erosion und Korrosion. Wasser, wie destilliertes, demineralisiertes oder deionisiertes Wasser, kann für viele Materialien korrosiv sein. Die Ultraschallkavitation fördert die Korrosion. Passivierungsschichten, z.B. bei eloxiertem Aluminium, erhöhen die Beständigkeit einer Materialoberfläche gegen Erosion und Korrosion.

Welche Einschränkungen gibt es bei der Kavitationserosionsprüfung?

Einige Elastomere können eine sehr intensive Kavitationsbeanspruchung erfordern, um überhaupt eine Kavitationserosion zu zeigen. In diesem Fall kann die Ultraschallbehandlung ohne Druckmesszelle keinen messbaren Effekt zeigen.

15,9 mm Sonotrode mit austauschbarer Spitze für das Kavitationserosionsprüfverfahren ASTM G32 - 16

ASTM G32 -16 15.9mm Sonotrode mit austauschbarer Spitze



Prüfprotokoll-Vorlage für Kavitationserosionsprüfungen

Sie können unser Vorlagen-Arbeitsblatt in den folgenden Formaten herunterladen: PDF, Microsoft Excel XLS oder Apple Numbers.

Muster-Arbeitsblatt für Kavitationserosionsprüfungen

Muster-Arbeitsblatt für Kavitationserosionsprüfungen

Hielscher Ultrasound Technology

Cavitation Erosion Testing

Cavitation erosion occurs on material surfaces that are exposed to intense ultrasonic cavitation. Cavitation erosion testing is a fast method to measure erosion resistance of materials or coatings to intense stress and other erosion factors. It provides an easy quantitative measurement for quality control and a useful during material research or coating formulation.

Why Use Cavitation Erosion Testing?

Ongoing erosion or corrosion can require a regular replacement of parts or the renewal of surface coatings. Material surface erosion due to mechanical or chemical influences is a slow process resulting in the gradual destruction of material surfaces. Therefore, the evaluation of the material erosion resistance or of the erosion effect of liquids and slurries, can be a very time consuming process.
Ultrasonic cavitation erosion testing exposes the material surface to controlled, intense, repeating stress cycles. This results in a significant erosion of the material surface in a short time. You can quickly measure the erosion resistance for regular quality control in production, for evaluation of incoming materials or during research and development.
Standard applications include metallurgical testing, coating formulation testing, coating application testing or the evaluation of erosion inhibitors in liquids.

Cavitation Erosion Test Setup with UIP1000hdT (1000 watts ultrasonic power)

UIP1000hdT (1000W, 20kHz) Cavitation Erosion Test Setup

Why Does Cavitation Cause Surface Erosion?

Ultrasonic devices, such as the UP400St (400 watts, 24kHz) or the UIP1000hdT (1000 watts, 20kHz) couple ultrasonic vibrations into liquids, such as water. The fast reciprocal movement of the vibration in the liquid produces and collapses cavitation bubbles. When the bubbles collapse, high localized mechanical stress occurs in the liquid and on exposed material surfaces. Liquid jets of up to 1000km/h and local pressures of up to 1000atm lead to rapid fatigue on the material surface. This can remove oxide or passivation layers, coatings or fouling. It can cause pitting of solid materials, such as steel, titanium, aluminum, plastic or glass. Hence, cavitation erosion testing is a destructive testing method.

Cavitation Erosion on 40mm Titanium Surface

Cavitation Erosion on 40mm Titanium Surface

How Does Cavitation Erosion Testing Work?

Cavitation erosion of material surfaces causes gradual material loss. You can measure the material loss easily by weighing the material on a precision scale before and after a defined cavitation erosion exposure. A typical weight change for a cavitation erosion test is between 1 and 30mg. For further standardization, you can calculate the volume loss by dividing the weight loss by the material density. The mean penetration depth (MDP) is calculated by dividing the volume loss by the specimen surface area. Alternatively, you can measure the pitting depth or the displaced volume. You can use microscopic analysis to gain additional qualitative information about the erosion pattern.
When you use a Hielscher ultrasonic device for the cavitation erosion testing, you can preset the temperature range and pressure range that you want to work at. You can adjust the sonication amplitude. All parameters are monitored, displayed and protocoled to an SD-card. You do not need any proprietary software installation. If you like, you can control and monitor the ultrasonic process from your regular web-browser, if you connect the ultrasonic device to your computer via the ethernet cable (included).

Cavitation Erosion on a Titanium (grade 5) Surface

Cavitation Erosion On Titanium Surface

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


What Is The ASTM G32 Standard Method For Cavitation Erosion Using A Vibratory Apparatus?

The ASTM G32-16 standard describes a standardized method for cavitation erosion. It defines a simple, controllable and reproducible test to quantify and compare the cavitation erosion resistance of different materials. The ATSM G32-16 specifications are useful for comparison of your results with that of other publications. If you would like to implement cavitation erosion testing in quality control, we do recommend to adapt the cavitation erosion test protocol to your specific requirements. We will be glad to assist you with the design of a customized cavitation erosion test protocol. For more information on cavitation erosion testing in accordance with ASTM-G32, please click here!

Why Should I Use An Energy Limit Instead of A Time Limit?

Many publications and erosion test protocols specify a cavitation exposure time. In Hielscher ultrasonic devices, you can preset a sonication time and the system will stop after this time has passed. You can then calculate the resulting cavitation erosion rate in mm/hr or mm3/hr. A time limit is acceptable, only if you do not change any parameters, such as liquid level, amplitude, pressure, temperature, liquid composition or gap between sonotrode and material surface. If any of these parameters change, so will the power of sonication and the intensity of the cavitation. It is important, that the actual net power delivered to the liquid must not fluctuate during the duration of the test.
In Hielscher ultrasonic devices you can set an energy limit. In this case, the ultrasonic device will stop, after it delivered the specified ultrasonic energy. The Hielscher device will display and record parameters, such as actual net power, amplitude, pressure and liquid temperature. Fluctuations in power or deliberate changes in parameters will be compensated when using an energy limit. You can then specify the resulting cavitation erosion rate in mm/kWhr, mm3/kWhr or mg/kWhr.
If you weigh the specimen between cavitation erosion intervals, you can generate curve showing the marginal weight loss (weight loss rate in each energy interval) over the cumulative energy.
For more precise results, the device can perform an automated calibration (30 seconds). This measures the power for all amplitude setting in air at ambient pressure. The Hielscher device uses this calibration data to give very precise net power values in real-time.

Cavitation Erosion Test Specimen in Accordance with ASTM G32 - 16

Cavitation Erosion Test Specimen (ASTM G32 – 16)

Replaceable Tip (15.9mm) for ASTM G32 Cavitation Erosion Test Method

Replaceable Tip for ASTM G32 – Cavitation Erosion Test

Available Test Setups for Cavitation Erosion Testing

We will be glad to discuss your erosion test requirements. Please use the form below to contact us! Please provide additional information about your project, such as specimens to be tested per day, specimen size and material.








Please indicate the information, that you wish to receive, below:



  • For an easy-to-use test stand, we do recommend the UP400St (400W, 24kHz) with a sonotrode S24d14D (14mm tip diameter). Other diameter sonotrodes are available, of course. This powerful ultrasonic homogenizer, comes with a temperature probe and automatic SD-card protocoling. You can operate the UP400St with S24d14D at amplitudes from 20 to 99 micron. We recommend using a liquid container with chilling, in which you position the specimen or part in a defined distance from the sonotrode tip. The UP400St device can operate 24 hours, 7 days a week continuously at full power.



  • The Hielscher UIP1000hdT (1000W, 20kHz) with a sonotrode BS4d22 (22mm tip diameter) has more power, can run at higher amplitudes and process larger specimen. The unit comes with a temperature probe and automatic SD-card protocoling. Larger diameter sonotrodes or sonotrodes with replaceable tips are available. We can supply you with the necessary accessories, such as a stand, hight adjustment, a powerful coolant chiller or a jacketed test vessel with mounting brackets for your specimen.



  • For a cavitation erosion test in a pressurized liquid, we do recommend the UIP2000hdT (2000 watts, 20kHz). Like the other units, it includes a temperature probe and automatic SD-card protocoling. The optional digital pressure sensor PS7D is very useful to monitor an to record pressure.



  • Hielscher Ultrasonics has a technical center that can perform cavitation erosion testing as a service. From the machining of standard specimens, precision weighing and cavitation exposure under controlled and repeatable conditions to a complete report and a return of samples to you, Hielscher can customize the test protocol to meet your requirements.


Please note our privacy policy.


What Influences Cavitation Erosion?

Ultrasonic cavitation results in cavitation erosion. The more intense the ultrasonic cavitation is, the faster is the erosion. A more intense cavitation may erode material surfaces, that a very soft cavitation cannot erode at all. So there may be a minimum intensity required for your material to be erosion tested.

Ultrasonic Amplitude

The vibration amplitude is the most important parameter for the sonication intensity and the resulting cavitation intensity. Higher amplitudes produce a more intense cavitation. In ultrasonics, the amplitude is specified in micron as peak-peak. Hielscher ultrasonic devices allow you to adjust the amplitude in a wide range. Once adjusted, the device keeps the amplitude at the adjusted level under all load conditions. This is an important feature in order to have controllable and repeatable cavitation testing conditions.
Hielscher Ultrasonic devices allow you to perform cavitational erosion testing at amplitudes from as little as 2 micron to 200 micron or more.

Liquid Pressure During Sonication

Many standard protocols for cavitation erosion testing use ultrasonic cavitation at ambient pressure. Liquid pressure is the second most important factor for the sonication intensity. A 10% increase in ambient pressure will increase the sonication intensity by about 10%. More intense cavitation reduces the time needed to achieve a certain degree of cavitation erosion. Often single specimen test can take somewhere from 15 to 120 minutes. If you have many specimens to test, working at higher pressures can cut the time for each test significantly. Tests at 5 barg (73psig) require approx. 80% less time for each test.
Hielscher supplies pressure-tight test cells with a digital pressure sensor for cavitation erosion testing. Using a pressure-tight cell, you can control and maintain the pressure during each test. The ultrasonic generator monitors the pressure sensor constantly and protocols the actual pressure to an Excel-compatible CSV-file on an SD card (included). Hielscher supplies pressure regulators to set and maintain the operating pressure.
As a standard Hielscher pressure-tight test cells for cavitation erosion testing are rated for up tp 5barg (73psig). Higher pressures of up to 300barg (4350psig) are available on request.

Ultrasonic Frequency

In general, cavitation erosion testing uses low frequency high intensity ultrasonics in the 18-30kHz range. In this range the variation of the frequency has very limited effect on the cavitation intensity. All Hielscher devices work at a constant frequency.

height-adjustable setup for adjusting the distance between ultrasonic sonotrode and specimen during cavitation erosion testing (ASTM G32-16)

Height-adjustable test cell for cavitation erosion testing (ASTM G32-16)

Distance From the Sonotrode

The material to be tested can be mounted to the sonotrode or under the sonotrode. You can make a threaded material specimen and mount it to the end of the ultrasonic sonotrode. In this case, the specimen vibrates at the specified ultrasonic amplitude and produces cavitation on its surface. This requires precision machining and not all materials are suitable for this option.
Alternatively, you can fixate a part or specimen in close proximity under a titanium sonotrode. In this case, the titanium sonotrode produces the cavitation and the material surface is exposed to the cavitation. This is the more convenient option as you can place specimen of various sizes or shapes in the test cell. If you use a larger sonotrode, such as a 50mm or 80mm diameter sonotrode, you can expose multiple parts to cavitation erosion at the same time. This is very useful when you have to test many parts per day, e.g. for quality control.
In both cases, the distance between the ultrasonic sonotrode and the material surface next to it is very important. In general, the cavitation erosion is faster when using a smaller distance. Typical distances range from 0.2 to 15mm. For conclusive results, you should use the same distance for all tests.

Liquid Temperature

Warmer liquid result in a lower ultrasonic cavitation intensity. The input of mechanical vibration energy into the liquid will cause the liquid to heat up. In order to maintain a constant temperature during each cavitation erosion test, the liquid needs to be cooled. Hielscher supplies jacketed containers and jacketed pressure-tight cells. Alternatively you can use a cooling coil in a beaker or you can put the beaker in an ice-bath. A coolant that runs through the jacket or through the cooling coil removes heat from the liquid.
Hielscher ultrasonic devices, such as the UP400St or the UIP1000hdT come with a PT100 temperature probe (included). The ultrasonic generator monitors the actual liquid temperature continuously and protocols the temperature to an Excel-compatible CSV-file on an SD card (included). You can set the generator to pause the cavitation erosion testing should the liquid temperature deviate too much from your set-point, e.g. due to insufficient cooling capacity. The generator can resume the sonication automatically when the liquid reached the specified temperature again.

Cavitating Liquid

In general cavitation erosion testing uses water, such as distilled water. Different liquids show different cavitation characteristics. If water is corrosive to your material, you may want to test alternative liquids, such as low viscosity silicone oils or organic solvents in order to eliminate or reduce the corrosive factor. Alternatively, you can make the liquid more corrosive, e.g. by changing the pH or more abrasive by adding abrasive particles. You can use cavitation erosion testing to evaluate the erosiveness and corrosiveness of liquids, such as drilling muds or to evaluate the effectiveness of corrosion or erosion inhibitors.

Machining

When you manufacture a part or a specimen, CNC machining, grinding or polishing cause damages to the grain structure near to the material surface. This reduces the erosion resistance.

Passivation/Oxide Layers

Very often erosion and corrosion happen at the same time. Water, such as distilled, demineralized or de-ionized water can be corrosive to many materials. Ultrasonic cavitation promotes corrosion. Passivation layers, e.g. at anodized aluminium will increase resistance of a material surface to erosion and corrosion.

What Limitations does Cavitation Erosion Testing Have?

Some elastomers may require very intense cavitation exposure to show any cavitation erosion at all. In this case, sonication without a pressurized cell may not show any measurable effect.

15.9mm sonotrode with replaceable tip for cavitation erosion test method ASTM G32 - 16

ASTM G32 -16 15.9mm Sonotrode With Replaceable Tip



Template Test Protocol for Cavitation Erosion Testing

You can download our template worksheet in the following formats: PDF, Microsoft Excel XLS, or Apple Numbers.

Sample Worksheet for Cavitation Erosion Testing

Sample Worksheet for Cavitation Erosion Testing