Technologie des ultrasons Hielscher

Essai d'érosion par cavitation

L'érosion par cavitation se produit sur les surfaces des matériaux qui sont exposées à une cavitation ultrasonique intense. Les essais d'érosion par cavitation sont une méthode rapide pour mesurer la résistance à l'érosion des matériaux ou des revêtements aux contraintes intenses et autres facteurs d'érosion. Il fournit une mesure quantitative facile pour le contrôle de la qualité et est utile lors de la recherche de matériaux ou de la formulation de revêtements.

Pourquoi utiliser le test d'érosion par cavitation ?

L'érosion ou la corrosion continue peut nécessiter un remplacement régulier des pièces ou le renouvellement des revêtements de surface. L'érosion de la surface des matériaux due à des influences mécaniques ou chimiques est un processus lent qui entraîne la destruction progressive des surfaces des matériaux. Par conséquent, l'évaluation de la résistance à l'érosion des matériaux ou de l'effet d'érosion des liquides et des boues peut être un processus très long.
Les essais d'érosion par cavitation ultrasonore exposent la surface du matériau à des cycles de contrainte contrôlés, intenses et répétés. Il en résulte une érosion importante de la surface du matériau en peu de temps. Vous pouvez mesurer rapidement la résistance à l'érosion pour un contrôle régulier de la qualité en production, pour l'évaluation des matériaux entrants ou pendant la recherche et le développement.
Les applications standard comprennent les essais métallurgiques, les essais de formulation de revêtement, les essais d'application de revêtement ou l'évaluation des inhibiteurs d'érosion dans les liquides.

Test d'érosion par cavitation avec UIP1000hdT (puissance ultrasonique de 1000 watts)

UIP1000hdT (1000W, 20kHz) Installation d'essai d'érosion par cavitation

Pourquoi la cavitation cause-t-elle l'érosion de surface ?

Les appareils à ultrasons, tels que l'UP400St (400 watts, 24 kHz) ou l'UIP1000hdT (1000 watts, 20 kHz) couplent les vibrations ultrasoniques dans des liquides, comme l'eau. Le mouvement rapide et réciproque de la vibration dans le liquide produit et fait s'effondrer des bulles de cavitation. Lorsque les bulles s'effondrent, des contraintes mécaniques localisées élevées se produisent dans le liquide et sur les surfaces exposées du matériau. Des jets liquides jusqu'à 1000km/h et des pressions locales jusqu'à 1000atm entraînent une fatigue rapide à la surface du matériau. Ceci peut enlever les couches d'oxyde ou de passivation, les revêtements ou l'encrassement. Il peut provoquer des piqûres sur des matériaux solides tels que l'acier, le titane, l'aluminium, le plastique ou le verre. Par conséquent, les essais d'érosion par cavitation sont une méthode d'essai destructive.

Érosion par cavitation sur une surface en titane de 40 mm

Érosion par cavitation sur une surface en titane de 40 mm

Comment fonctionne le test d'érosion par cavitation ?

L'érosion par cavitation des surfaces des matériaux entraîne une perte graduelle de matériau. Vous pouvez mesurer facilement la perte de matériau en pesant le matériau sur une balance de précision avant et après une exposition définie à l'érosion par cavitation. Un changement de poids typique pour un test d'érosion par cavitation se situe entre 1 et 30 mg. Pour une standardisation plus poussée, vous pouvez calculer la perte de volume en divisant la perte de poids par la densité du matériau. La profondeur moyenne de pénétration (MDP) est calculée en divisant la perte de volume par la surface de l'échantillon. Vous pouvez également mesurer la profondeur de piqûre ou le volume déplacé. Vous pouvez utiliser l'analyse microscopique pour obtenir des informations qualitatives supplémentaires sur le modèle d'érosion.
Lorsque vous utilisez un appareil à ultrasons Hielscher pour le test d'érosion par cavitation, vous pouvez prérégler la plage de température et la plage de pression auxquelles vous voulez travailler. Vous pouvez régler l'amplitude de la sonication. Tous les paramètres sont surveillés, affichés et transmis à une carte SD. Vous n'avez besoin d'aucune installation de logiciel propriétaire. Si vous le souhaitez, vous pouvez contrôler et surveiller le processus ultrasonique à partir de votre navigateur Web habituel, si vous connectez l'appareil ultrasonique à votre ordinateur via le câble Ethernet (inclus).

Érosion par cavitation sur une surface en titane (grade 5)

Érosion par cavitation sur la surface en titane

Demande d'information





Qu'est-ce que la méthode standard ASTM G32 pour l'érosion par cavitation à l'aide d'un appareil vibrant ?

La norme ASTM G32-16 décrit une méthode normalisée pour l'érosion par cavitation. Il définit un test simple, contrôlable et reproductible pour quantifier et comparer la résistance à l'érosion par cavitation de différents matériaux. Les spécifications ATSM G32-16 sont utiles pour comparer vos résultats avec ceux d'autres publications. Si vous souhaitez mettre en œuvre des tests d'érosion par cavitation dans le contrôle qualité, nous vous recommandons d'adapter le protocole de test d'érosion par cavitation à vos besoins spécifiques. Nous serons heureux de vous assister dans la conception d'un protocole d'essai d'érosion par cavitation personnalisé. Pour plus d'informations sur les tests d'érosion par cavitation selon ASTM-G32, veuillez cliquer ici !

Pourquoi devrais-je utiliser une limite d'énergie au lieu d'une limite de temps ?

De nombreuses publications et protocoles d'essais d'érosion spécifient un temps d'exposition à la cavitation. Dans les appareils à ultrasons Hielscher, vous pouvez prérégler un temps de sonication et le système s'arrêtera une fois ce temps écoulé. Vous pouvez ensuite calculer le taux d'érosion par cavitation obtenu en mm/h ou mm3/h. Une limite de temps n'est acceptable que si vous ne modifiez aucun paramètre, comme le niveau de liquide, l'amplitude, la pression, la température, la composition du liquide ou l'écart entre la sonotrode et la surface du matériau. Si l'un de ces paramètres change, la puissance de la sonication et l'intensité de la cavitation changeront également. Il est important que la puissance nette réelle délivrée au liquide ne fluctue pas pendant la durée de l'essai.
Dans les appareils à ultrasons Hielscher, vous pouvez fixer une limite d'énergie. Dans ce cas, l'appareil à ultrasons s'arrête après avoir délivré l'énergie ultrasonique spécifiée. L'appareil Hielscher affiche et enregistre les paramètres tels que la puissance nette réelle, l'amplitude, la pression et la température du liquide. Les fluctuations de puissance ou les changements délibérés de paramètres seront compensés lors de l'utilisation d'une limite d'énergie. Vous pouvez ensuite spécifier le taux d'érosion par cavitation résultant en mm/kWhr, mm3/kWhr ou mg/kWhr.
Si vous pesez l'échantillon entre les intervalles d'érosion par cavitation, vous pouvez générer une courbe montrant la perte de poids marginale (taux de perte de poids dans chaque intervalle énergétique) sur l'énergie cumulative.
Pour des résultats plus précis, l'appareil peut effectuer un étalonnage automatique (30 secondes). Il mesure la puissance pour tous les réglages d'amplitude dans l'air à la pression ambiante. L'appareil Hielscher utilise ces données d'étalonnage pour donner des valeurs de puissance nette très précises en temps réel.

Éprouvette d'essai d'érosion par cavitation conforme à la norme ASTM G32 - 16

Éprouvette d'essai d'érosion par cavitation (ASTM G32 – 16)

Pointe remplaçable (15,9 mm) pour la méthode d'essai d'érosion par cavitation ASTM G32

Embout remplaçable pour ASTM G32 – Test d'érosion par cavitation

Installations d'essai disponibles pour l'essai d'érosion par cavitation

Nous serons heureux de discuter de vos besoins en matière d'essais d'érosion. Veuillez utiliser le formulaire ci-dessous pour nous contacter ! Veuillez fournir des informations supplémentaires sur votre projet, telles que les échantillons à tester par jour, la taille de l'échantillon et le matériau.








Veuillez indiquer ci-dessous les informations que vous souhaitez recevoir :



  • Pour un banc d'essai facile à utiliser, nous recommandons l'UP400St (400W, 24kHz) avec une sonotrode S24d14D (14mm de diamètre). D'autres sonotrodes de diamètre sont bien sûr disponibles. Cet homogénéisateur ultrasonique puissant est livré avec une sonde de température et un protocole de carte SD automatique. Vous pouvez utiliser l'UP400St avec S24d14D à des amplitudes de 20 à 99 microns. Nous vous recommandons d'utiliser un récipient de liquide avec refroidissement, dans lequel vous positionnez l'échantillon ou la pièce à une distance définie de la pointe de la sonotrode. L'UP400St peut fonctionner 24 heures sur 24, 7 jours sur 7, en continu et à pleine puissance.



  • Le Hielscher UIP1000hdT (1000W, 20kHz) avec une sonotrode BS4d22 (22mm de diamètre de pointe) a plus de puissance, peut fonctionner à des amplitudes plus élevées et traiter des échantillons plus grands. L'appareil est équipé d'une sonde de température et d'un protocole automatique de carte SD. Des sonotrodes de plus grand diamètre ou des sonotrodes à pointes remplaçables sont disponibles. Nous pouvons vous fournir les accessoires nécessaires, tels qu'un support, un réglage en hauteur, un puissant refroidisseur de liquide de refroidissement ou un récipient d'essai à double enveloppe avec des supports de fixation pour votre échantillon.



  • Pour un test d'érosion par cavitation dans un liquide sous pression, nous recommandons l'UIP2000hdT (2000 watts, 20kHz). Comme les autres unités, il comprend une sonde de température et un protocole automatique de carte SD. Le capteur de pression numérique PS7D en option est très utile pour surveiller et enregistrer la pression.



  • Hielscher Ultrasons dispose d'un centre technique qui peut effectuer des essais d'érosion par cavitation en tant que service. De l'usinage d'éprouvettes standard, du pesage de précision et de l'exposition à la cavitation dans des conditions contrôlées et répétables à un rapport complet et un retour d'échantillons, Hielscher peut personnaliser le protocole d'essai pour répondre à vos exigences.


Veuillez prendre note de notre Politique de confidentialité.


Qu'est-ce qui influence l'érosion par cavitation ?

La cavitation ultrasonique entraîne une érosion par cavitation. Plus la cavitation ultrasonique est intense, plus l'érosion est rapide. Une cavitation plus intense peut éroder les surfaces du matériau qu'une cavitation très molle ne peut pas éroder du tout. Il peut donc y avoir une intensité minimale requise pour que votre matériau soit testé contre l'érosion.

amplitude ultrasonique

L'amplitude de vibration est le paramètre le plus important pour l'intensité de sonication et l'intensité de cavitation qui en résulte. Des amplitudes plus élevées produisent une cavitation plus intense. En ultrasons, l'amplitude est spécifiée en micron sous forme de pic-crête. Les appareils à ultrasons Hielscher vous permettent d'ajuster l'amplitude dans une large gamme. Une fois réglé, l'appareil maintient l'amplitude au niveau réglé dans toutes les conditions de charge. Il s'agit là d'une caractéristique importante pour obtenir des conditions d'essai de cavitation contrôlables et répétables.
Les appareils à ultrasons Hielscher vous permettent d'effectuer des tests d'érosion cavitationnelle à des amplitudes aussi faibles que 2 microns à 200 microns ou plus.

Pression du liquide pendant la sonication

De nombreux protocoles standard pour les tests d'érosion par cavitation utilisent la cavitation ultrasonique à la pression ambiante. La pression du liquide est le deuxième facteur le plus important pour l'intensité de la sonication. Une augmentation de 10% de la pression ambiante augmente l'intensité de la sonication d'environ 10%. Une cavitation plus intense réduit le temps nécessaire pour atteindre un certain degré d'érosion par cavitation. Souvent, l'analyse d'un seul échantillon peut prendre de 15 à 120 minutes. Si vous avez beaucoup d'échantillons à tester, travailler à des pressions plus élevées peut réduire considérablement le temps de chaque test. Les tests à 5 bar (73 psig) nécessitent environ 80% de temps en moins pour chaque test.
Hielscher fournit des cellules d'essais étanches à la pression avec un capteur de pression numérique pour les essais d'érosion par cavitation. En utilisant une cellule étanche à la pression, vous pouvez contrôler et maintenir la pression pendant chaque test. Le générateur à ultrasons surveille en permanence le capteur de pression et transmet la pression réelle à un fichier CSV compatible Excel sur une carte SD (fournie). Hielscher fournit des régulateurs de pression pour régler et maintenir la pression de service.
Les cellules d'essai étanches à la pression Hielscher standard pour les essais d'érosion par cavitation sont conçues pour des pressions allant jusqu'à 5 bar (73 psig). Des pressions plus élevées allant jusqu'à 300 bar (4350psig) sont disponibles sur demande.

fréquence ultrasonique

En général, les essais d'érosion par cavitation utilisent des ultrasons à basse fréquence et à haute intensité dans la gamme 18-30kHz. Dans cette plage, la variation de la fréquence a un effet très limité sur l'intensité de la cavitation. Tous les appareils Hielscher fonctionnent à une fréquence constante.

dispositif réglable en hauteur pour régler la distance entre la sonotrode ultrasonore et l'échantillon pendant les essais d'érosion par cavitation (ASTM G32-16)

Cellule d'essai réglable en hauteur pour les essais d'érosion par cavitation (ASTM G32-16)

Distance de la sonotrode

Le matériau à tester peut être monté sur la sonotrode ou sous la sonotrode. Vous pouvez fabriquer un échantillon de matériau fileté et le monter à l'extrémité de la sonotrode ultrasonique. Dans ce cas, l'échantillon vibre à l'amplitude ultrasonique spécifiée et produit une cavitation à sa surface. Cela nécessite un usinage de précision et tous les matériaux ne sont pas adaptés à cette option.
Vous pouvez également fixer une pièce ou un échantillon à proximité sous une sonotrode en titane. Dans ce cas, la sonotrode en titane produit la cavitation et la surface du matériau est exposée à la cavitation. C'est l'option la plus pratique car vous pouvez placer des échantillons de différentes tailles ou formes dans la cellule de test. Si vous utilisez une sonotrode plus grande, comme une sonotrode de 50 mm ou 80 mm de diamètre, vous pouvez exposer plusieurs pièces en même temps à l'érosion par cavitation. Ceci est très utile lorsque vous devez tester plusieurs pièces par jour, par exemple pour le contrôle qualité.
Dans les deux cas, la distance entre la sonotrode ultrasonique et la surface du matériau à côté est très importante. En général, l'érosion par cavitation est plus rapide lorsque l'on utilise une distance plus petite. Les distances typiques vont de 0,2 à 15 mm. Pour obtenir des résultats concluants, vous devez utiliser la même distance pour tous les tests.

température du liquide

Un liquide plus chaud entraîne une intensité de cavitation ultrasonique plus faible. L'apport d'énergie vibratoire mécanique dans le liquide provoque le réchauffement du liquide. Afin de maintenir une température constante pendant chaque essai d'érosion par cavitation, le liquide doit être refroidi. Hielscher fournit des conteneurs à double enveloppe et des cellules étanches à la pression à double enveloppe. Alternativement, vous pouvez utiliser un serpentin de refroidissement dans un bécher ou vous pouvez placer le bécher dans un bain de glace. Un liquide de refroidissement qui traverse l'enveloppe ou le serpentin de refroidissement évacue la chaleur du liquide.
Les appareils à ultrasons Hielscher, tels que l'UP400St ou l'UIP1000hdT sont livrés avec une sonde de température PT100 (incluse). Le générateur d'ultrasons surveille en permanence la température réelle du liquide et transmet la température à un fichier CSV compatible Excel sur une carte SD (fournie). Si la température du liquide s'écarte trop de votre point de consigne, par exemple en raison d'une capacité de refroidissement insuffisante, vous pouvez régler le générateur pour interrompre le test d'érosion par cavitation. Le générateur peut reprendre la sonication automatiquement lorsque le liquide atteint à nouveau la température spécifiée.

Liquide cavitateur

En général, les essais d'érosion par cavitation utilisent de l'eau, comme de l'eau distillée. Différents liquides présentent des caractéristiques de cavitation différentes. Si l'eau est corrosive pour votre matériau, vous voudrez peut-être tester d'autres liquides, comme des huiles de silicone à faible viscosité ou des solvants organiques, afin d'éliminer ou de réduire le facteur corrosif. Alternativement, vous pouvez rendre le liquide plus corrosif, par exemple en modifiant le pH ou en ajoutant des particules abrasives. Vous pouvez utiliser les essais d'érosion par cavitation pour évaluer l'érosivité et la corrosivité des liquides, comme les boues de forage, ou pour évaluer l'efficacité des inhibiteurs de corrosion ou d'érosion.

d'usinage

Lors de la fabrication d'une pièce ou d'un échantillon, l'usinage, la rectification ou le polissage CNC endommagent la structure du grain à proximité de la surface du matériau. Cela réduit la résistance à l'érosion.

Couches de passivation et d'oxyde

Très souvent, l'érosion et la corrosion se produisent en même temps. L'eau, comme l'eau distillée, déminéralisée ou désionisée, peut être corrosive pour de nombreux matériaux. La cavitation ultrasonique favorise la corrosion. Les couches de passivation, par exemple sur l'aluminium anodisé, augmentent la résistance de la surface d'un matériau à l'érosion et à la corrosion.

Quelles sont les limites du test d'érosion par cavitation ?

Certains élastomères peuvent nécessiter une exposition très intense à la cavitation pour montrer une érosion par cavitation. Dans ce cas, la sonication sans cellule sous pression peut ne montrer aucun effet mesurable.

Sonotrode de 15,9 mm avec pointe remplaçable pour la méthode d'essai d'érosion par cavitation ASTM G32 - 16

ASTM G32 -16 Sonotrode de 15,9 mm avec embout remplaçable



Protocole d'essai par gabarit pour l'essai d'érosion par cavitation

Vous pouvez télécharger notre modèle de feuille de travail dans les formats suivants : PDF, Microsoft Excel XLS ou Numéros de pomme.

Exemple de feuille de travail pour l'essai d'érosion par cavitation

Exemple de feuille de travail pour l'essai d'érosion par cavitation

Hielscher Ultrasound Technology

Cavitation Erosion Testing

Cavitation erosion occurs on material surfaces that are exposed to intense ultrasonic cavitation. Cavitation erosion testing is a fast method to measure erosion resistance of materials or coatings to intense stress and other erosion factors. It provides an easy quantitative measurement for quality control and a useful during material research or coating formulation.

Why Use Cavitation Erosion Testing?

Ongoing erosion or corrosion can require a regular replacement of parts or the renewal of surface coatings. Material surface erosion due to mechanical or chemical influences is a slow process resulting in the gradual destruction of material surfaces. Therefore, the evaluation of the material erosion resistance or of the erosion effect of liquids and slurries, can be a very time consuming process.
Ultrasonic cavitation erosion testing exposes the material surface to controlled, intense, repeating stress cycles. This results in a significant erosion of the material surface in a short time. You can quickly measure the erosion resistance for regular quality control in production, for evaluation of incoming materials or during research and development.
Standard applications include metallurgical testing, coating formulation testing, coating application testing or the evaluation of erosion inhibitors in liquids.

Cavitation Erosion Test Setup with UIP1000hdT (1000 watts ultrasonic power)

UIP1000hdT (1000W, 20kHz) Cavitation Erosion Test Setup

Why Does Cavitation Cause Surface Erosion?

Ultrasonic devices, such as the UP400St (400 watts, 24kHz) or the UIP1000hdT (1000 watts, 20kHz) couple ultrasonic vibrations into liquids, such as water. The fast reciprocal movement of the vibration in the liquid produces and collapses cavitation bubbles. When the bubbles collapse, high localized mechanical stress occurs in the liquid and on exposed material surfaces. Liquid jets of up to 1000km/h and local pressures of up to 1000atm lead to rapid fatigue on the material surface. This can remove oxide or passivation layers, coatings or fouling. It can cause pitting of solid materials, such as steel, titanium, aluminum, plastic or glass. Hence, cavitation erosion testing is a destructive testing method.

Cavitation Erosion on 40mm Titanium Surface

Cavitation Erosion on 40mm Titanium Surface

How Does Cavitation Erosion Testing Work?

Cavitation erosion of material surfaces causes gradual material loss. You can measure the material loss easily by weighing the material on a precision scale before and after a defined cavitation erosion exposure. A typical weight change for a cavitation erosion test is between 1 and 30mg. For further standardization, you can calculate the volume loss by dividing the weight loss by the material density. The mean penetration depth (MDP) is calculated by dividing the volume loss by the specimen surface area. Alternatively, you can measure the pitting depth or the displaced volume. You can use microscopic analysis to gain additional qualitative information about the erosion pattern.
When you use a Hielscher ultrasonic device for the cavitation erosion testing, you can preset the temperature range and pressure range that you want to work at. You can adjust the sonication amplitude. All parameters are monitored, displayed and protocoled to an SD-card. You do not need any proprietary software installation. If you like, you can control and monitor the ultrasonic process from your regular web-browser, if you connect the ultrasonic device to your computer via the ethernet cable (included).

Cavitation Erosion on a Titanium (grade 5) Surface

Cavitation Erosion On Titanium Surface

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


What Is The ASTM G32 Standard Method For Cavitation Erosion Using A Vibratory Apparatus?

The ASTM G32-16 standard describes a standardized method for cavitation erosion. It defines a simple, controllable and reproducible test to quantify and compare the cavitation erosion resistance of different materials. The ATSM G32-16 specifications are useful for comparison of your results with that of other publications. If you would like to implement cavitation erosion testing in quality control, we do recommend to adapt the cavitation erosion test protocol to your specific requirements. We will be glad to assist you with the design of a customized cavitation erosion test protocol. For more information on cavitation erosion testing in accordance with ASTM-G32, please click here!

Why Should I Use An Energy Limit Instead of A Time Limit?

Many publications and erosion test protocols specify a cavitation exposure time. In Hielscher ultrasonic devices, you can preset a sonication time and the system will stop after this time has passed. You can then calculate the resulting cavitation erosion rate in mm/hr or mm3/hr. A time limit is acceptable, only if you do not change any parameters, such as liquid level, amplitude, pressure, temperature, liquid composition or gap between sonotrode and material surface. If any of these parameters change, so will the power of sonication and the intensity of the cavitation. It is important, that the actual net power delivered to the liquid must not fluctuate during the duration of the test.
In Hielscher ultrasonic devices you can set an energy limit. In this case, the ultrasonic device will stop, after it delivered the specified ultrasonic energy. The Hielscher device will display and record parameters, such as actual net power, amplitude, pressure and liquid temperature. Fluctuations in power or deliberate changes in parameters will be compensated when using an energy limit. You can then specify the resulting cavitation erosion rate in mm/kWhr, mm3/kWhr or mg/kWhr.
If you weigh the specimen between cavitation erosion intervals, you can generate curve showing the marginal weight loss (weight loss rate in each energy interval) over the cumulative energy.
For more precise results, the device can perform an automated calibration (30 seconds). This measures the power for all amplitude setting in air at ambient pressure. The Hielscher device uses this calibration data to give very precise net power values in real-time.

Cavitation Erosion Test Specimen in Accordance with ASTM G32 - 16

Cavitation Erosion Test Specimen (ASTM G32 – 16)

Replaceable Tip (15.9mm) for ASTM G32 Cavitation Erosion Test Method

Replaceable Tip for ASTM G32 – Cavitation Erosion Test

Available Test Setups for Cavitation Erosion Testing

We will be glad to discuss your erosion test requirements. Please use the form below to contact us! Please provide additional information about your project, such as specimens to be tested per day, specimen size and material.








Please indicate the information, that you wish to receive, below:



  • For an easy-to-use test stand, we do recommend the UP400St (400W, 24kHz) with a sonotrode S24d14D (14mm tip diameter). Other diameter sonotrodes are available, of course. This powerful ultrasonic homogenizer, comes with a temperature probe and automatic SD-card protocoling. You can operate the UP400St with S24d14D at amplitudes from 20 to 99 micron. We recommend using a liquid container with chilling, in which you position the specimen or part in a defined distance from the sonotrode tip. The UP400St device can operate 24 hours, 7 days a week continuously at full power.



  • The Hielscher UIP1000hdT (1000W, 20kHz) with a sonotrode BS4d22 (22mm tip diameter) has more power, can run at higher amplitudes and process larger specimen. The unit comes with a temperature probe and automatic SD-card protocoling. Larger diameter sonotrodes or sonotrodes with replaceable tips are available. We can supply you with the necessary accessories, such as a stand, hight adjustment, a powerful coolant chiller or a jacketed test vessel with mounting brackets for your specimen.



  • For a cavitation erosion test in a pressurized liquid, we do recommend the UIP2000hdT (2000 watts, 20kHz). Like the other units, it includes a temperature probe and automatic SD-card protocoling. The optional digital pressure sensor PS7D is very useful to monitor an to record pressure.



  • Hielscher Ultrasonics has a technical center that can perform cavitation erosion testing as a service. From the machining of standard specimens, precision weighing and cavitation exposure under controlled and repeatable conditions to a complete report and a return of samples to you, Hielscher can customize the test protocol to meet your requirements.


Please note our privacy policy.


What Influences Cavitation Erosion?

Ultrasonic cavitation results in cavitation erosion. The more intense the ultrasonic cavitation is, the faster is the erosion. A more intense cavitation may erode material surfaces, that a very soft cavitation cannot erode at all. So there may be a minimum intensity required for your material to be erosion tested.

Ultrasonic Amplitude

The vibration amplitude is the most important parameter for the sonication intensity and the resulting cavitation intensity. Higher amplitudes produce a more intense cavitation. In ultrasonics, the amplitude is specified in micron as peak-peak. Hielscher ultrasonic devices allow you to adjust the amplitude in a wide range. Once adjusted, the device keeps the amplitude at the adjusted level under all load conditions. This is an important feature in order to have controllable and repeatable cavitation testing conditions.
Hielscher Ultrasonic devices allow you to perform cavitational erosion testing at amplitudes from as little as 2 micron to 200 micron or more.

Liquid Pressure During Sonication

Many standard protocols for cavitation erosion testing use ultrasonic cavitation at ambient pressure. Liquid pressure is the second most important factor for the sonication intensity. A 10% increase in ambient pressure will increase the sonication intensity by about 10%. More intense cavitation reduces the time needed to achieve a certain degree of cavitation erosion. Often single specimen test can take somewhere from 15 to 120 minutes. If you have many specimens to test, working at higher pressures can cut the time for each test significantly. Tests at 5 barg (73psig) require approx. 80% less time for each test.
Hielscher supplies pressure-tight test cells with a digital pressure sensor for cavitation erosion testing. Using a pressure-tight cell, you can control and maintain the pressure during each test. The ultrasonic generator monitors the pressure sensor constantly and protocols the actual pressure to an Excel-compatible CSV-file on an SD card (included). Hielscher supplies pressure regulators to set and maintain the operating pressure.
As a standard Hielscher pressure-tight test cells for cavitation erosion testing are rated for up tp 5barg (73psig). Higher pressures of up to 300barg (4350psig) are available on request.

Ultrasonic Frequency

In general, cavitation erosion testing uses low frequency high intensity ultrasonics in the 18-30kHz range. In this range the variation of the frequency has very limited effect on the cavitation intensity. All Hielscher devices work at a constant frequency.

height-adjustable setup for adjusting the distance between ultrasonic sonotrode and specimen during cavitation erosion testing (ASTM G32-16)

Height-adjustable test cell for cavitation erosion testing (ASTM G32-16)

Distance From the Sonotrode

The material to be tested can be mounted to the sonotrode or under the sonotrode. You can make a threaded material specimen and mount it to the end of the ultrasonic sonotrode. In this case, the specimen vibrates at the specified ultrasonic amplitude and produces cavitation on its surface. This requires precision machining and not all materials are suitable for this option.
Alternatively, you can fixate a part or specimen in close proximity under a titanium sonotrode. In this case, the titanium sonotrode produces the cavitation and the material surface is exposed to the cavitation. This is the more convenient option as you can place specimen of various sizes or shapes in the test cell. If you use a larger sonotrode, such as a 50mm or 80mm diameter sonotrode, you can expose multiple parts to cavitation erosion at the same time. This is very useful when you have to test many parts per day, e.g. for quality control.
In both cases, the distance between the ultrasonic sonotrode and the material surface next to it is very important. In general, the cavitation erosion is faster when using a smaller distance. Typical distances range from 0.2 to 15mm. For conclusive results, you should use the same distance for all tests.

Liquid Temperature

Warmer liquid result in a lower ultrasonic cavitation intensity. The input of mechanical vibration energy into the liquid will cause the liquid to heat up. In order to maintain a constant temperature during each cavitation erosion test, the liquid needs to be cooled. Hielscher supplies jacketed containers and jacketed pressure-tight cells. Alternatively you can use a cooling coil in a beaker or you can put the beaker in an ice-bath. A coolant that runs through the jacket or through the cooling coil removes heat from the liquid.
Hielscher ultrasonic devices, such as the UP400St or the UIP1000hdT come with a PT100 temperature probe (included). The ultrasonic generator monitors the actual liquid temperature continuously and protocols the temperature to an Excel-compatible CSV-file on an SD card (included). You can set the generator to pause the cavitation erosion testing should the liquid temperature deviate too much from your set-point, e.g. due to insufficient cooling capacity. The generator can resume the sonication automatically when the liquid reached the specified temperature again.

Cavitating Liquid

In general cavitation erosion testing uses water, such as distilled water. Different liquids show different cavitation characteristics. If water is corrosive to your material, you may want to test alternative liquids, such as low viscosity silicone oils or organic solvents in order to eliminate or reduce the corrosive factor. Alternatively, you can make the liquid more corrosive, e.g. by changing the pH or more abrasive by adding abrasive particles. You can use cavitation erosion testing to evaluate the erosiveness and corrosiveness of liquids, such as drilling muds or to evaluate the effectiveness of corrosion or erosion inhibitors.

Machining

When you manufacture a part or a specimen, CNC machining, grinding or polishing cause damages to the grain structure near to the material surface. This reduces the erosion resistance.

Passivation/Oxide Layers

Very often erosion and corrosion happen at the same time. Water, such as distilled, demineralized or de-ionized water can be corrosive to many materials. Ultrasonic cavitation promotes corrosion. Passivation layers, e.g. at anodized aluminium will increase resistance of a material surface to erosion and corrosion.

What Limitations does Cavitation Erosion Testing Have?

Some elastomers may require very intense cavitation exposure to show any cavitation erosion at all. In this case, sonication without a pressurized cell may not show any measurable effect.

15.9mm sonotrode with replaceable tip for cavitation erosion test method ASTM G32 - 16

ASTM G32 -16 15.9mm Sonotrode With Replaceable Tip



Template Test Protocol for Cavitation Erosion Testing

You can download our template worksheet in the following formats: PDF, Microsoft Excel XLS, or Apple Numbers.

Sample Worksheet for Cavitation Erosion Testing

Sample Worksheet for Cavitation Erosion Testing