Préparation par ultrasons de catalyseurs pour la conversion de l'éther de diméthyle (DME)

L'éther diméthylique (DME) est un carburant de substitution favorable, qui peut être synthétisé à partir de méthanol, de CO2 ou de gaz de synthèse par catalyse. Pour la conversion catalytique en DME, des catalyseurs puissants sont nécessaires. Les catalyseurs mésoporeux de taille nanométrique, tels que les zéolites acides mésoporeuses, les zéolites décorées ou les catalyseurs métalliques de taille nanométrique, tels que l'aluminium ou le cuivre, peuvent améliorer considérablement la conversion du DME. Les ultrasons à haute intensité sont la meilleure technique pour la préparation de nanocatalyseurs hautement réactifs. Apprenez-en davantage sur la façon d'utiliser l'ultrasonication pour la production de catalyseurs micro- et mésoporeux présentant une réactivité et une sélectivité excellentes !

Catalyseurs bifonctionnels pour la conversion directe du DME

La production de diméthyléther (DME) est un procédé industriel bien établi qui se divise en deux étapes : d'abord, l'hydrogénation catalytique du gaz de synthèse en méthanol (CO / CO2 + 3H2 → CH3OH + H2HO) et, deuxièmement, une déshydratation catalytique ultérieure du méthanol sur des catalyseurs acides pour produire (2CH3OH → CH3OCH3 H +2O). La principale limite de cette synthèse du DME en deux étapes est liée à la faible thermodynamique pendant la phase de synthèse du méthanol, qui se traduit par une faible conversion des gaz par passage (15-25%). Il en résulte des taux de recirculation élevés ainsi que des coûts d'investissement et d'exploitation élevés.
Afin de surmonter cette limitation thermodynamique, la synthèse directe du DME est nettement plus favorable : Dans la conversion directe du DME, l'étape de synthèse du méthanol est couplée à l'étape de déshydratation dans un seul réacteur.
(2CO / CO2 + 6H2 → CH3OCH3 + 3H2O).

Demande d'information





Nano-catalysts such as functionalized zeolites are successfully synthezized under sonication. Functionalized nano-structured acidic zeolites - syntheiszed under sonochemical conditions - give superior rates for dimethyl ether (DME) conversion.

L'ultrasoniseur UIP2000hdT (2kW) avec réacteur à écoulement est une configuration couramment utilisée pour la synthèse sonochimique de nanocatalyseurs mésoporeux (par exemple, des zéolites décorées).

La synthèse directe du DME permet d'augmenter les niveaux de conversion par étape, jusqu'à 19%, ce qui signifie des réductions significatives des coûts d'investissement et de production opérationnelle du DME. D'après les estimations, le coût de production du DME en synthèse directe est réduit de 20 à 30 % par rapport au processus de conversion classique en deux étapes. Afin d'exploiter la voie de synthèse directe du DME, un système catalytique hybride bifonctionnel hautement efficace est nécessaire. Le catalyseur requis doit offrir la fonctionnalité d'hydrogénation du CO / CO2 pour la synthèse du méthanol et les fonctionnalités acides, qui aident à la déshydratation du méthanol. (cf. Millán et al. 2020)

Direct synthesis of dimethyl ether (DME) requires highly reactive, bifunctional catalysts. Ultrasonic catalyst synthesis allows to create highly efficient nano-structured mesoporous catalysts such as functionalized acidic zeolites for superior catalytic reaction outputs.

Synthèse directe de l'éther diméthylique (DME) à partir de gaz de synthèse sur un catalyseur bifonctionnel.
(© Millán et al. 2020)

Synthèse de catalyseurs hautement réactifs pour la conversion du DME à l'aide d'ultrasons puissants

La réactivité et la sélectivité des catalyseurs pour la conversion de l'éther diméthylique peuvent être considérablement améliorées par un traitement aux ultrasons. Les zéolites telles que les zéolites acides (par exemple, la zéolite aluminosilicate HZSM-5) et les zéolites décorées (par exemple, avec CuO/ZnO/Al2la3) sont les principaux catalyseurs qui sont utilisés avec succès pour la production de DME.

Ultrasonic co-precipitation allows for the production of highly efficient CuO-ZnO-Al2O3/HZSM-5 nano-catalysts

Synthèse hybride par coprécipitation et ultrasons de CuO-ZnO-Al2O3/HZSM-5 utilisée dans la conversion directe du gaz de synthèse en éther diméthylique comme carburant vert.
Étude et photo : Khoshbin et Haghighi, 2013].

La chloration et la fluoration des zéolites sont des méthodes efficaces pour régler l'acidité catalytique. Les catalyseurs zéolithiques chlorés et fluorés ont été préparés par l'imprégnation de zéolithes (H-ZSM-5, H-MOR ou H-Y) en utilisant deux précurseurs halogénés (chlorure d'ammonium et fluorure d'ammonium) dans l'étude de l'équipe de recherche d'Aboul-Fotouh. L'influence de l'irradiation ultrasonique a été évaluée pour optimiser les deux précurseurs halogènes pour la production de diméthyléther (DME) via la déshydratation du méthanol dans un réacteur à lit fixe. Un essai comparatif de catalyse du DME a révélé que les catalyseurs zéolitiques halogénés préparés sous irradiation ultrasonique présentent des performances supérieures pour la formation de DME. (Aboul-Fotouh et al., 2016)
Dans une autre étude, l'équipe de recherche a examiné toutes les variables importantes de l'ultrasonication rencontrées lors de la déshydratation du méthanol sur des catalyseurs zéolitiques H-MOR pour produire de l'éther diméthylique. Pour leurs expériences de sonication, l'équipe de recherche a utilisé le Ultrasoniseur à sonde Hielscher UP50H. L'imagerie au microscope électronique à balayage (MEB) de la zéolithe H-MOR soniquée (zéolithe Mordenite) a permis de préciser que le méthanol seul utilisé comme milieu d'ultrasonication donne les meilleurs résultats concernant l'homogénéité de la taille des particules par rapport au catalyseur non traité, où de grands agglomérats et des clusters non homogènes sont apparus. Ces résultats certifient que l'ultrasonication a un effet profond sur la résolution des cellules unitaires et donc sur le comportement catalytique de la déshydratation du méthanol en éther diméthylique (DME). Le NH3-TPD montre que l'irradiation par ultrasons a augmenté l'acidité du catalyseur H-MOR et donc sa performance catalytique pour la formation de DME. (Aboul-Gheit et al., 2014)

Ultrasonication of H-MOR (mordenite zeolite) catalyst gave highly reactive nano-catalyst for DME conversion.

SEM de H-MOR ultrasonisé utilisant différents médias
Étude et photos : ©Aboul-Gheit et al., 2014

La quasi-totalité du DME commercial est produite par déshydratation du méthanol à l'aide de différents catalyseurs solides-acides tels que les zéolithes, la sillica-alumine, l'alumine, l'Al2la3-B2la3etc. par la réaction suivante :
2CH3OH <—> CH3OCH3 +H2O(-22,6k jmol-1)

Koshbin et Haghighi (2013) ont préparé du CuO-ZnO-Al2la3/HZSM-5 par une méthode combinée de co-précipitation et d'utilisation d'ultrasons. L'équipe de recherche a découvert que l'utilisation de l'énergie des ultrasons avait une grande influence sur la dispersion de la fonction d'hydrogénation du CO et, par conséquent, sur les performances de synthèse du DME. La durabilité du nanocatalyseur synthétisé avec l'aide des ultrasons a été étudiée pendant la réaction du gaz de synthèse au DME. Le nanocatalyseur perd une activité négligeable au cours de la réaction en raison de la formation de coke sur les espèces de cuivre." [Khoshbin et Haghighi, 2013].

Ultrasonically precipitated gamma-Al2O3 nano-catalyst, which shows high efficiency in DME conversion.Un autre nanocatalyseur non zéolitique, qui est également très efficace pour favoriser la conversion du DME, est un catalyseur à base de γ-alumine poreuse de taille nanométrique. La γ-alumine poreuse de taille nanométrique a été synthétisée avec succès par précipitation sous mélange ultrasonique. Le traitement sonochimique favorise la synthèse des nanoparticules. (cf. Rahmanpour et al., 2012)

Pourquoi les nano-catalyseurs préparés par ultrasons sont-ils supérieurs ?

La production de catalyseurs hétérogènes nécessite souvent des matériaux à haute valeur ajoutée tels que des métaux précieux. Cela rend les catalyseurs coûteux et, par conséquent, l'amélioration de l'efficacité ainsi que l'extension du cycle de vie des catalyseurs sont des facteurs économiques importants. Parmi les méthodes de préparation des nanocatalyseurs, la technique sonochimique est considérée comme une méthode très efficace. La capacité des ultrasons à créer des surfaces hautement réactives, à améliorer le mélange et à augmenter le transport de masse en fait une technique particulièrement prometteuse à explorer pour la préparation et l'activation des catalyseurs. Elle peut produire des nanoparticules homogènes et dispersées sans nécessiter d'instruments coûteux et de conditions extrêmes.
Dans plusieurs recherches, les scientifiques arrivent à la conclusion que la préparation des catalyseurs par ultrasons est la méthode la plus avantageuse pour la production de nano-catalyseurs homogènes. Parmi les méthodes de préparation des nanocatalyseurs, la technique sonochimique est considérée comme une méthode très efficace. La capacité de la sonication intense à créer des surfaces hautement réactives, à améliorer le mélange et à augmenter le transport de masse en fait une technique particulièrement prometteuse à explorer pour la préparation et l'activation des catalyseurs. Elle peut produire des nanoparticules homogènes et dispersées sans avoir besoin d'instruments coûteux et de conditions extrêmes. (cf. Koshbin et Haghighi, 2014)

Ultrasonic catalyst preparation results in superior mesoporous nanocatalysts for dimethyl ether (DME) conversion

La synthèse sonochimique permet d'obtenir un catalyseur CuO-ZnO-Al2O3/HZSM-5 nanostructuré très actif.
Étude et photo : Khoshbin et Haghighi, 2013.

High-power ultrasonicators such as the UIP1000hdT are used for the nanostructuring of highly porous metals and mesoporous nano-catalysts. (Click to enlarge!)

Présentation schématique des effets de la cavitation acoustique sur la modification des particules métalliques. Les métaux à faible point de fusion (MP) comme le zinc (Zn) sont complètement oxydés ; les métaux à point de fusion élevé comme le nickel (Ni) et le titane (Ti) présentent une modification de surface sous sonication. L'aluminium (Al) et le magnésium (Mg) forment des structures mésoporeuses. Les métaux Nobel sont résistants à l'irradiation par ultrasons en raison de leur stabilité contre l'oxydation. Les points de fusion des métaux sont spécifiés en degrés Kelvin (K).

Demande d'information





Ultrasons à haute performance pour la synthèse de catalyseurs mésoporeux

L'équipement sonochimique pour la synthèse de nanocatalyseurs de haute performance est facilement disponible, quelle que soit la taille de l'entreprise. – des ultrasons compacts de laboratoire aux réacteurs ultrasoniques entièrement industriels. Hielscher Ultrasonics conçoit, fabrique et distribue des ultrasons de grande puissance. Tous les systèmes à ultrasons sont fabriqués au siège social de Teltow, en Allemagne, et distribués à partir de là dans le monde entier.
Hielscher ultrasonicators can be remotely controlled via browser control. Sonication parameters can be monitored and adjusted precisely to the process requirements.Le matériel sophistiqué et le logiciel intelligent des ultrasons Hielscher sont conçus pour garantir un fonctionnement fiable, des résultats reproductibles et une grande convivialité. Les ultrasons Hielscher sont robustes et fiables, ce qui permet de les installer et de les faire fonctionner dans des conditions de service intense. Les paramètres de fonctionnement sont facilement accessibles et réglés par le biais d'un menu intuitif, qui peut être consulté sur un écran tactile couleur numérique et une télécommande par navigateur. Ainsi, toutes les conditions de traitement telles que l'énergie nette, l'énergie totale, l'amplitude, le temps, la pression et la température sont automatiquement enregistrées sur une carte SD intégrée. Cela vous permet de réviser et de comparer les cycles de sonication précédents et d'optimiser la synthèse et la fonctionnalisation des nanocatalyseurs pour une efficacité maximale.
Les systèmes à ultrasons Hielscher sont utilisés dans le monde entier pour les processus de synthèse sonochimique et ont fait la preuve de leur fiabilité pour la synthèse de nanocatalyseurs zéolithiques de haute qualité ainsi que de dérivés de zéolithes. Les ultrasons industriels Hielscher peuvent facilement faire fonctionner des amplitudes élevées en continu (24/7/365). Des amplitudes allant jusqu'à 200µm peuvent être facilement générées en continu avec des sonotrodes standard (sondes ultrasoniques / cornes). Pour des amplitudes encore plus élevées, des sonotrodes à ultrasons personnalisées sont disponibles. En raison de leur robustesse et de leur faible maintenance, nos ultrasons sont généralement installés pour des applications lourdes et dans des environnements exigeants.
Les processeurs à ultrasons Hielscher pour les synthèses sonochimiques, la fonctionnalisation, la nano-structuration et la désagglomération sont déjà installés dans le monde entier à l'échelle commerciale. Contactez-nous dès maintenant pour discuter de votre processus de fabrication de nano-catalyseurs ! Notre personnel expérimenté se fera un plaisir de vous donner plus d'informations sur la voie de la synthèse sonochimique, les systèmes à ultrasons et les prix !
Grâce à l'avantage de la méthode de synthèse par ultrasons, votre production de nanocatalyseurs mésoporeux excellera par son efficacité, sa simplicité et son faible coût par rapport aux autres procédés de synthèse de catalyseurs !

Le tableau ci-dessous vous donne une indication de la capacité de traitement approximative de nos ultrasonicators:

lot Volume Débit Appareils recommandés
1 à 500 ml 10 à 200 ml / min UP100H
10 à 2000mL 20 à 400 ml / min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 20L 00,2 à 4L / min UIP2000hdT
10 à 100l 2 à 10 L / min UIP4000hdT
n / a. 10 à 100 litres / min UIP16000
n / a. plus grand groupe de UIP16000

Contactez nous! / Demandez nous!

Demander plus d'informations

Veuillez utiliser le formulaire ci-dessous pour demander des informations supplémentaires sur les processeurs à ultrasons, les applications et le prix. Nous serons heureux de discuter avec vous de votre processus et de vous proposer un système à ultrasons répondant à vos besoins !









Veuillez prendre note de notre Politique de confidentialité.


Ultrasonic nano-structuring of metals and zeolites is a highly effective technique to produce high-performance catalysts.

Le Dr Andreeva-Bäumler, de l'Université de Bayreuth, collabore avec l'équipe de l ultrasoniseur UIP1000hdT sur la nano-structuration des métaux afin d'obtenir des catalyseurs supérieurs.


Ultrasonic high-shear homogenizers are used in lab, bench-top, pilot and industrial processing.

Hielscher Ultrasonics fabrique des homogénéisateurs ultrasoniques à haute performance pour des applications de mélange, de dispersion, d'émulsification et d'extraction à l'échelle du laboratoire, du pilote et de l'industrie.



Littérature / Références


Qu'il faut savoir

L'éther de diméthyle (DME) comme carburant

L'une des principales utilisations envisagées de l'éther diméthylique est son application comme substitut du propane dans le GPL (gaz propane liquide), qui est utilisé comme carburant pour les véhicules, les ménages et l'industrie. L'éther diméthylique peut également être utilisé comme mélange de base dans le gaz propane.
En outre, le DME est également un carburant prometteur pour les moteurs diesel et les turbines à gaz. Pour les moteurs diesel, l'indice de cétane élevé de 55, comparé à celui du carburant diesel issu du pétrole dont l'indice de cétane est de 40-53, est très avantageux. Seules des modifications modérées sont nécessaires pour permettre à un moteur diesel de brûler de l'éther diméthylique. La simplicité de ce composé à courte chaîne de carbone entraîne, pendant la combustion, de très faibles émissions de particules. Pour ces raisons, ainsi que parce qu'il ne contient pas de soufre, l'éther diméthylique satisfait même aux réglementations les plus strictes en matière d'émissions en Europe (EURO5), aux États-Unis (U.S. 2010) et au Japon (Japon 2009).


High performance ultrasonics! Hielscher's product range covers the full spectrum from the compact lab ultrasonicator over bench-top units to full-industrial ultrasonic systems.

Hielscher Ultrasonics fabrique des homogénéisateurs à ultrasons de haute performance à partir d'une technologie de pointe. laboratoires à taille industrielle.

Ultrasonic Preparation of Catalysts for Dimethyl Ether (DME) Conversion

Dimethyl ether (DME) is a favourable alternative fuel, which can be synthesised from methanol, CO2 or syngas through catalysis. For the catalytic conversion to DME, potent catalysts are required. Nano-sized mesoporous catalysts such as mesoporous acidic zeolites, decorated zeolites or nano-sized metal catalysts such as aluminum or copper can improve the DME conversion significantly. High-intensity ultrasound is the superior technique for the preparation of highly reactive nano-catalysts. Learn more about how to use ultrasonication for the production of micro- and mesoporous catalysts with excellent reactivity and selectivity!

Bifunctional Catalysts for Direct DME Conversion

The production of dimethyl ether (DME) is a well-established industrial process that is divided into two steps: first, the catalytic hydrogenation of syngas into methanol (CO / CO2 + 3H2 → CH3OH + H2HO) and secondly, a subsequent catalytic dehydration of the methanol over acid catalysts to produce (2CH3OH → CH3OCH3 + H2O). The major limitation of this two-step DME synthesis is related to the low thermodynamics during the phase of methanol synthesis, which results in a low gas conversion per pass (15-25%). Thereby, high recirculation ratios as well as high capital and operating costs are occurring.
In order overcome this thermodynamic limitation, direct DME synthesis is significantly more favourable: In the direct DME conversion, the methanol synthesis step is coupled with the dehydration step in a single reactor
(2CO / CO2 + 6H2 → CH3OCH3 + 3H2O).

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


Nano-catalysts such as functionalized zeolites are successfully synthezized under sonication. Functionalized nano-structured acidic zeolites - syntheiszed under sonochemical conditions - give superior rates for dimethyl ether (DME) conversion.

The ultrasonicator UIP2000hdT (2kW) with flow-through reactor is a commonly used setup for the sonochemical synthesis of mesoporous nanocatalysts (e.g. decorated zeolites).

The direct synthesis of DME allows for increasing the levels of conversion per step, up to 19%, which means significant cost reductions regarding the investment and operational production cost of DME. Based on estimations, the DME production cost in direct synthesis are reduced by 20-30% when compared to the conventional two-step conversion process. In order to operate the direct DME synthesis pathway, a highly efficient hybrid bifunctional catalytic system is necessary. The required catalyst must offer the functionality for CO / CO2 hydrogenation for the methanol synthesis and the acidic functionalities, which assist the dehydration of the methanol. (cf. Millán et al. 2020)

Direct synthesis of dimethyl ether (DME) requires highly reactive, bifunctional catalysts. Ultrasonic catalyst synthesis allows to create highly efficient nano-structured mesoporous catalysts such as functionalized acidic zeolites for superior catalytic reaction outputs.

Direct synthesis of dimethyl ether (DME) from syngas on bifunctional catalyst.
(© Millán et al. 2020)

Synthesis of Highly-Reactive Catalysts for DME Conversion using Power-Ultrasound

The reactivity and selectivity of catalysts for dimethyl ether conversion can be significantly improved via ultrasonic treatment. Zeolites such as acid zeolites (e.g., aluminosilicate zeolite HZSM-5) and decorated zeolites (e.g., with CuO/ZnO/Al2O3) are the main catalysts that are used successfully for DME production.

Ultrasonic co-precipitation allows for the production of highly efficient CuO-ZnO-Al2O3/HZSM-5 nano-catalysts

Hybrid co-precipitation-ultrasound synthesis of CuO-ZnO-Al2O3/HZSM-5 used in direct conver- sion of syngas to dimethyl ether as a green fuel.
Study and picture: Khoshbin and Haghighi, 2013.]

Chlorination and fluorination of zeolites are effective methods to tune the catalytic acidity. The chlorinated and fluorinated zeolite catalysts were prepared by the impregnation of zeolites (H-ZSM-5, H-MOR or H-Y) using two halogen precursors (ammonium chloride and ammonium fluoride) in the study by the research team of Aboul-Fotouh. The influence of ultrasonic irradiation was evaluated for optimizing both halogen precursors for production of dimethylether (DME) via methanol dehydration in a fixed bed reactor. Comparative DME catalysis trial revealed that the halogenated zeolite catalysts prepared under ultrasonic irradiation show higher performance for DME formation. (Aboul-Fotouh et al., 2016)
In another study, the research team investigated all important ultrasonication variables encountered during carrying out the dehydration of methanol on H-MOR zeolite catalysts to produce dimethylether. For their Sonication eperiments, the research team used the Hielscher UP50H probe-type ultrasonicator. Scanning electron microscope (SEM) imaging of the sonicated H-MOR zeolite (Mordenite zeolite) have clarified that methanol by itself used as an ultrasonication medium gives the best results concerning the homogeneity of particle sizes compared to the untreated catalyst, where large agglomerates and non-homogeneous clusters appeared. These findings certified that ultrasonication has a deep effect on the unit cell resolution and hence on the catalytic behavior of the dehydration of methanol to dimethyl ether (DME). NH3-TPD shows that ultrasound irradiation has enhanced the acidity of H-MOR catalyst and hence it is catalytic performance for DME formation. (Aboul-Gheit et al., 2014)

Ultrasonication of H-MOR (mordenite zeolite) catalyst gave highly reactive nano-catalyst for DME conversion.

SEM of ultrasonicated H-MOR using different media
Study and pictures: ©Aboul-Gheit et al., 2014

Almost all commercial DME is produced by the dehydration of methanol using different solid-acid catalysts such as zeolites, sillica–alumina, alumina, Al2O3–B2O3, etc. by following reaction:
2CH3OH <—> CH3OCH3 +H2O(-22.6k jmol-1)

Koshbin and Haghighi (2013) prepared CuO–ZnO–Al2O3/HZSM-5 nanocatalysts via a combined co-precipitation–ultrasound method. The research team found “that employing of ultrasound energy have great influence on the dispersion of CO hydrogenation function and consequently the DME synthesis performance. The durability of ultrasound assisted synthesized nanocatalyst was investigated during syngas to DME reaction. The nanocatalyst loses negligible activity over the course of reaction due to coke formation on copper species.” [Khoshbin and Haghighi, 2013.]

Ultrasonically precipitated gamma-Al2O3 nano-catalyst, which shows high efficiency in DME conversion.An alternative non-zeolite nano-catalyst, which is also very efficient in promoting the DME conversion, is a nano-sized porous γ-alumina catalyst. Nano-size porous γ-alumina was successfully synthesized by precipitation under ultrasonic mixing. The sonochemical treatment promotes the nano particles synthesis. (cf. Rahmanpour et al., 2012)

Why Are Ultrasonically Prepared Nano-Catalysts Superior?

For the production of heterogeneous catalysts often high value-added materials such as precious metals are required. This makes catalysts expensive and therefore, efficiency enhancement as well as life cycle extension of the catalysts are important economic factors. Among preparation methods of nanocatalysts, the sonochemical technique is considered as a highly efficient method. The ability of ultrasound to create highly reactive surfaces, to improve mixing and to increase mass transport makes it a particularly promising technique to explore for catalyst preparation and activation. It can produce homogeneous and dispersed nanoparticles without need for expensive instruments and extreme conditions.
In several research studies, the scientists come to the conclusion that ultrasonic catalyst preparation is the most advantageous method for the production of homogeneous nano-catalysts. Among preparation methods of nanocatalysts, the sonochemical technique is considered as a highly efficient method. The ability of intense sonication to create highly reactive surfaces, to improve mixing and to increase mass transport makes it a particularly promising technique to explore for catalyst preparation and activation. It can produce homogeneous and dispersed nanoparticles without need for expensive instruments and extreme conditions. (cf. Koshbin and Haghighi, 2014)

Ultrasonic catalyst preparation results in superior mesoporous nanocatalysts for dimethyl ether (DME) conversion

The sonochemical synthesis results in a highly active nano-structured CuO–ZnO–Al2O3/HZSM-5 catalyst.
Study and picture: Khoshbin and Haghighi, 2013.

High-power ultrasonicators such as the UIP1000hdT are used for the nanostructuring of highly porous metals and mesoporous nano-catalysts. (Click to enlarge!)

Schematic presentation of effects of acoustic cavitation on modification of metal particles. Metals with a low melting point (MP) as zinc (Zn) are completely oxidized; metals with a high melting point like nickel (Ni) and titanium (Ti) exhibit surface modification under sonication. Aluminium (Al) and magnesium (Mg) form mesoporous structures. Nobel metals are resistant to ultrasound irradiation due to their stability against oxidation. The melting points of the metals are specified in degrees Kelvin (K).

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


High Performance Ultrasonicators for the Synthesis of Mesoporous Catalysts

Sonochemical equipment for the synthesis of high-performance nano-catalysts is readily available at any size – from compact lab ultrasonicators to fully-industrial ultrasonic reactors. Hielscher Ultrasonics designs, manufactures, and distributes high-power ultrasonicators. All ultrasonic systems are made in the headquarter in Teltow, Germany and distributed from there all around the world.
Hielscher ultrasonicators can be remotely controlled via browser control. Sonication parameters can be monitored and adjusted precisely to the process requirements.The sophisticated hardware and smart software of Hielscher ultrasonicators are designed to guarantee reliable operation, reproducible outcomes as well as user-friendliness. The Hielscher ultrasonicators are robust and reliable, which allows to be installed and operated under heavy duty conditions. Operational settings can be easily accessed and dialled via intuitive menu, which can be accessed via digital colour touch-display and browser remote control. Therefore, all processing conditions such as net energy, total energy, amplitude, time, pressure and temperature are automatically recorded on a built-in SD-card. This allows you to revise and compare previous sonication runs and to optimize the synthesis and functionalization of nano-catalysts to highest efficiency.
Hielscher Ultrasonics systems are used worldwide for sonochemical synthesis processes and are proven to be reliable for the synthesis of high-quality zeolite nano-catalystss as well as zeolite derivatives. Hielscher industrial ultrasonicators can easily run high amplitudes in continuous operation (24/7/365). Amplitudes of up to 200µm can be easily continuously generated with standard sonotrodes (ultrasonic probes / horns). For even higher amplitudes, customized ultrasonic sonotrodes are available. Due to their robustness and low maintenance, our ultrasonicators are commonly installed for heavy duty applications and in demanding environments.
Hielscher ultrasonic processors for sonochemical syntheses, functionalization, nano-structuring and deagglomeration are already installed worldwide on commercial scale. Contact us now to discuss your nano-catalyst manufacturing process! Our well-experienced staff will be glad to share more information on the sonochemical synthesis pathway, ultrasonic systems and pricing!
With the advantage of the ultrasonic synthesis method, your mesoporous nano-catalyst production will excel in efficiency, simplicity and low cost when compared to other catalyst synthesis processes!

The table below gives you an indication of the approximate processing capacity of our ultrasonicators:

Batch Volume Flow Rate Recommended Devices
1 to 500mL 10 to 200mL/min UP100H
10 to 2000mL 20 to 400mL/min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 to 20L 0.2 to 4L/min UIP2000hdT
10 to 100L 2 to 10L/min UIP4000hdT
n.a. 10 to 100L/min UIP16000
n.a. larger cluster of UIP16000

Contact Us! / Ask Us!

Ask for more information

Please use the form below to request additional information about ultrasonic processors, applications and price. We will be glad to discuss your process with you and to offer you an ultrasonic system meeting your requirements!









Please note our privacy policy.


Ultrasonic nano-structuring of metals and zeolites is a highly effective technique to produce high-performance catalysts.

Dr. Andreeva-Bäumler, University of Bayreuth, is working with the ultrasonicator UIP1000hdT on nano-structuring of metals in order to obtain superior catalysts.


Ultrasonic high-shear homogenizers are used in lab, bench-top, pilot and industrial processing.

Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonic homogenizers for mixing applications, dispersion, emulsification and extraction on lab, pilot and industrial scale.



Literature / References


Facts Worth Knowing

Dimethyl Ether (DME) as Fuel

One of the major envisaged uses of dimethyl ether is its application as substitute for propane in LPG (liquid propane gas), which is used as fuel for vehicles, in households and industry. In propane autogas, dimethyl ether can also be used as a blendstock.
Furthermore, DME is also a promising fuel for diesel engines and gas turbines. For diesel engines, the high cetane number of 55, compared to that of diesel fuel from petroleum with cetane numbers of 40–53, is highly advantageous. Only moderate modifications are necessary to enable a diesel engine to burn dimethyl ether. The simplicity of this short carbon chain compound leads during combustion to very low emissions of particulate matter. For these reasons as well as being sulfur-free, dimethyl ether meets even the most stringent emission regulations in Europe (EURO5), U.S. (U.S. 2010), and Japan (2009 Japan).


High performance ultrasonics! Hielscher's product range covers the full spectrum from the compact lab ultrasonicator over bench-top units to full-industrial ultrasonic systems.

Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonic homogenizers from lab to industrial size.