Ultraschall-gestützte Synthese von Katalysatoren für die Dimethylether-Produktion

Dimethylether (DME) ist ein günstiger alternativer Kraftstoff, der aus Methanol, CO2 oder Synthesegas mittels Katalyse synthetisiert werden kann. Für die katalytische Umwandlung in DME werden wirksame Katalysatoren benötigt. Nano-skalige mesoporöse Katalysatoren wie mesoporöse saure Zeolithe, funktionalisierte Zeolithe oder nano-skalige Metallkatalysatoren wie Aluminium oder Kupfer können die DME-Umwandlung erheblich verbessern. Hochintensiver Ultraschall ist eine herausragende Technik, um hochreaktive Nanokatalysatoren herzustellen. Erfahren Sie mehr über den Einsatz von Ultraschall für die Herstellung mikro- und mesoporöser Katalysatoren mit hervorragender Reaktivität und Selektivität!

Bifunktionelle Katalysatoren für die direkte DME-Umwandlung

Die Herstellung von Dimethylether (DME) ist ein industrieller Prozess, der in zwei Schritte untergliedert ist: zunächst wird mittels katalytischer Hydrierung Synthesegas zu Methanol (CO / CO2 + 3H2 → CH3OH + H2HO) umgewandelt wird und dann eine in einer anschließenden katalytischen Dehydratisierung des Methanols über sauren Katalysatoren Dimethylether hergestellt wird (2CH3OH → CH3OCH3 + H2O). Die größte Einschränkung dieser zweistufigen DME-Synthese liegt in der niedrigen Thermodynamik während der Methanolsynthese, welche zu einem geringen Gasumsatz pro Durchgang (15-25 %) führt. Dadurch entstehen hohe Rezirkulationsraten sowie hohe Kapital- und Betriebskosten.
Um diese thermodynamische Einschränkung zu überwinden, ist die direkte DME-Synthese wesentlich günstiger: Bei der direkten DME-Konvertierung ist der Methanolsyntheseschritt mit dem Dehydratisierungsschritt in einem einzigen Reaktor gekoppelt
(2CO / CO2 + 6H2 → CH3OCH3 + 3H2O).

Informationen anfordern




Beachten Sie unsere Datenschutzerklärung.


Nano-catalysts such as functionalized zeolites are successfully synthezized under sonication. Functionalized nano-structured acidic zeolites - syntheiszed under sonochemical conditions - give superior rates for dimethyl ether (DME) conversion.

Das Ultraschallgerät UIP2000hdT (2kW) mit Durchflussreaktor ist ein häufig verwendeter Aufbau für die sonochemische Synthese mesoporöser Nanokatalysatoren (z.B. funktionalisierte Zeolithe).

Die Direktsynthese von DME ermöglicht eine Erhöhung des Umwandlungsgrads pro Schritt um bis zu 19 %, wodurch eine erhebliche Reduzierung der Investitions- und Betriebskosten erreicht wird. Schätzungen zufolge werden die DME-Produktionskosten bei der Direktsynthese im Vergleich zum herkömmlichen zweistufigen Umwandlungsverfahren um 20-30 % gesenkt. Für den Betrieb des DME-Direktsynthesewegs ist ein hocheffizientes hybrides bifunktionales katalytisches System erforderlich. Der benötigte Katalysator muss die Funktionalität für die CO/CO2-Hydrierung für die Methanolsynthese und die sauren Funktionalitäten bieten, welche für die Dehydratisierung des Methanols notwendig sind. (vgl. Millán et al. 2020)

Direct synthesis of dimethyl ether (DME) requires highly reactive, bifunctional catalysts. Ultrasonic catalyst synthesis allows to create highly efficient nano-structured mesoporous catalysts such as functionalized acidic zeolites for superior catalytic reaction outputs.

Direkte Synthese von Dimethylether (DME) aus Synthesegas mit einem bifunktionellen Katalysator.
(© Millán et al. 2020)

Synthese hochreaktiver Katalysatoren für die DME-Umwandlung mittels Leistungs-Ultraschall

Die Reaktivität und Selektivität von Katalysatoren für die Umwandlung von Dimethylether kann durch eine Ultraschallbehandlung erheblich verbessert werden. Zeolithe wie saure Zeolithe (z.B. Alumosilikatzeolit HZSM-5) und funktionalisierte Zeolithe (z.B. mit CuO/ZnO/Al2O3) sind die wichtigsten Katalysatoren, die erfolgreich für die DME-Produktion eingesetzt werden.

Ultrasonic co-precipitation allows for the production of highly efficient CuO-ZnO-Al2O3/HZSM-5 nano-catalysts

Hybride Co-Präzipitation-Ultraschallsynthese von CuO-ZnO-Al2O3/HZSM-5 für die direkte Umwandlung von Synthesegas in Dimethylether, welches als umweltfreundlicher Kraftstoff genutzt werden kann.
Studie und Bild: Khoshbin und Haghighi, 2013].

Chlorierung und Fluorierung von Zeolithen sind wirksame Methoden zur Einstellung der katalytischen Azidität. Die chlorierten und fluorierten Zeolith-Katalysatoren wurden in der Studie des Forschungsteams von Aboul-Fotouh durch Imprägnierung von Zeolithen (H-ZSM-5, H-MOR oder H-Y) mit zwei Halogenvorläufern (Ammoniumchlorid und Ammoniumfluorid) hergestellt. Der Einfluss der Beschallung mit Hochleistungs-Ultraschall wurde zur Optimierung der beiden Halogenvorläufer für die Herstellung von Dimethylether (DME) durch Dehydratisierung von Methanol in einem Festbettreaktor untersucht. Vergleichende DME-Katalyseversuche ergaben, dass die unter Ultraschall hergestellten halogenierten Zeolithkatalysatoren eine höhere Leistung bei der DME-Produktion aufweisen. (Aboul-Fotouh et al., 2016)
In einer weiteren Studie untersuchte das Forschungsteam alle wichtigen Ultraschallvariablen, die bei der Dehydratisierung von Methanol an H-MOR-Zeolithkatalysatoren zur Herstellung von Dimethylether auftreten. Für ihre Ultraschall-Experimente verwendete das Forschungsteam das Hielscher Ultraschallgerät UP50H. Rasterelektronenmikroskopische Aufnahmen des beschallten H-MOR-Zeoliths (Mordenit-Zeolith) haben gezeigt, dass Methanol selbst als Ultraschallmedium die besten Ergebnisse hinsichtlich der Homogenität der Partikelgrößen im Vergleich zum unbehandelten Katalysator liefert, bei dem große Agglomerate und inhomogene Cluster auftraten. Diese Ergebnisse belegen, dass die Ultraschallbehandlung einen tiefgreifenden Einfluss auf die Auflösung der Einheitszellen und damit auf das katalytische Verhalten bei der Dehydratisierung von Methanol zu Dimethylether (DME) hat. Die NH3-TPD zeigt, dass die Ultraschallbehandlung die Azidität des H-MOR-Katalysators und damit seine katalytische Leistung bei der DME-Bildung erhöht. (Aboul-Gheit et al., 2014)

Ultrasonication of H-MOR (mordenite zeolite) catalyst gave highly reactive nano-catalyst for DME conversion.

SEM von ultraschall-behandeltem H-MOR in verschiedenen Medien
Studie und Bilder: ©Aboul-Gheit et al., 2014

Fast jeder handelsüblicher DME wird durch Dehydratisierung von Methanol unter Verwendung verschiedener fester saurer Katalysatoren wie Zeolithe, Sillica-Aluminiumoxid, Aluminiumoxid, Al2O3-B2O3usw. durch folgende Reaktion katalysiert:
2CH3OH <—> CH3OCH3 +H2O(-22,6k jmol-1)

Koshbin und Haghighi (2013) stellten CuO-ZnO-Al2O3/HZSM-5-Nanokatalysatoren durch eine kombinierte Co-Fällung-Ultraschall-Methode her. Das Forschungsteam fand heraus, "dass der Einsatz von Ultraschallenergie großen Einfluss auf die Dispersion, die CO-Hydrierungsfunktion und folglich auf die DME-Syntheseleistung hat. Die Haltbarkeit des ultraschall-synthetisierten Nanokatalysators wurde während der Reaktion von Synthesegas zu DME untersucht. Der Nanokatalysator verliert im Laufe der Reaktion aufgrund der Koksbildung an den Kupferspezies nur geringfügig an Aktivität." (Khoshbin und Haghighi, 2013).

Ultrasonically precipitated gamma-Al2O3 nano-catalyst, which shows high efficiency in DME conversion.Ein alternativer nicht-zeolith-basierter Nano-Katalysator, der ebenfalls sehr effizient die DME-Umwandlung fördert, ist ein nano-skaliger poröser γ-Aluminiumoxid-Katalysator. Nano-sklaiges, poröses γ-Aluminiumoxid wurde erfolgreich in einer Fällungsreaktion mittels Ultraschall synthetisiert. Die sonochemische Behandlung unterstützt die Synthese hochwertiger Nanopartikel. (vgl. Rahmanpour et al., 2012)

Weshalb sind mittels Ultraschall hergestellte Nanokatalysatoren besser?

Für die Herstellung von heterogenen Katalysatoren werden häufig hochwertige Materialien wie Edelmetalle benötigt. Dies macht die Katalysatoren teuer, und daher sind die Steigerung der Effizienz sowie die Verlängerung des Lebenszyklus der Katalysatoren wichtige wirtschaftliche Faktoren. Im Vergleich der Produktionsmethoden für Nanokatalysatoren schneidet die sonochemische Technik als hocheffiziente Methode ab. Die Fähigkeit des Ultraschalls, hochreaktive Oberflächen zu erzeugen, die Durchmischung zu verbessern und den Stofftransport zu erhöhen, macht die Ultraschallsynthese zu einer besonders vielversprechenden Technik für die Katalysatorherstellung und -aktivierung. Die Ultraschallsynthese kann homogene und nano-skalig dispergierte Nanopartikel erzeugen, ohne dass teure Instrumente und extreme Reaktionsbedingungen notwendig sind.
In mehreren Forschungsstudien kommen die Wissenschaftler zu dem Schluss, dass die ultraschall-basierte Katalysator-Aufbereitung die vorteilhafteste Methode für die Herstellung homogener Nanokatalysatoren ist. Unter den Herstellungsverfahren für Nanokatalysatoren gilt die sonochemische Methode als hocheffizient. Da es die intensive Beschallung mittels Ultraschall ermöglicht, hochreaktive Oberflächen zu schaffen, die Durchmischung zu verbessern und den Stofftransport zu erhöhen, ist Hochleistungs-Ultraschall einer besonders vielversprechenden Technik, welche für die Katalysatorherstellung und -aktivierung angewendet und weiter erforscht wird. Sie kann homogene und dispergierte Nanopartikel erzeugen, ohne dass teure Instrumente und extreme Bedingungen erforderlich sind. (vgl. Koshbin und Haghighi, 2014)

Ultrasonic catalyst preparation results in superior mesoporous nanocatalysts for dimethyl ether (DME) conversion

Mittels sonochemischer Synthese werden hochaktive nano-strukturierte CuO-ZnO-Al2O3/HZSM-5-Katalysatoren synthetisiert.
Studie und Bild: Khoshbin und Haghighi, 2013.

High-power ultrasonicators such as the UIP1000hdT are used for the nanostructuring of highly porous metals and mesoporous nano-catalysts. (Click to enlarge!)

Schematische Darstellung der Auswirkungen der akustischen Kavitation auf die Modifizierung von Metallpartikeln. Metalle mit einem niedrigen Schmelzpunkt (MP) wie Zink (Zn) werden vollständig oxidiert; Metalle mit einem hohen Schmelzpunkt wie Nickel (Ni) und Titan (Ti) weisen unter Beschallung eine Oberflächenmodifikation auf. Aluminium (Al) und Magnesium (Mg) bilden mesoporöse Strukturen. Die Schmelzpunkte der Metalle werden in Grad Kelvin (K) angegeben.

Informationen anfordern




Beachten Sie unsere Datenschutzerklärung.


Hochleistungs-Ultraschallgeräte für die Synthese von mesoporösen Katalysatoren

Sonochemisches Equipment für die Synthese von Hochleistungs-Nanokatalysatoren ist in jedem Größenmaßstab verfügbar – von kompakten Labor-Ultraschallgeräten bis hin zu voll-industriellen Ultraschallreaktoren. Hielscher Ultrasonics entwickelt, fertigt und vertreibt Hochleistungs-Ultraschallgeräte. Alle Ultraschallsysteme werden im Headquarter in Teltow, Deutschland, hergestellt, intensiv getestet und von dort aus weltweit vertrieben.
Hielscher ultrasonicators can be remotely controlled via browser control. Sonication parameters can be monitored and adjusted precisely to the process requirements.Die ausgefeilte Hardware und intelligente Software der Hielscher Ultraschallgeräte sind so konzipiert, dass sie einen zuverlässigen Betrieb, reproduzierbare Ergebnisse und eine hohe Benutzerfreundlichkeit garantieren. Hielscher Ultraschallgeräte sind robust und zuverlässig, so dass sie auch unter erschwerenden Bedingungen installiert und betrieben werden können. Die Betriebseinstellungen sind über ein intuitives Menü, das über ein digitales Farb-Touch-Display und eine Browser-Fernbedienung aufgerufen werden kann, leicht zugänglich und wählbar. Dabei werden alle wichtigen Prozessdaten wie Nettoenergie, Gesamtenergie, Amplitude, Zeit, Druck und Temperatur automatisch auf einer eingebauten SD-Karte aufgezeichnet. Dies ermöglicht es Ihnen, Beschallungsläufe zu überprüfen und zu vergleichen und die Synthese und Funktionalisierung von Nanokatalysatoren auf höchste Effizienz zu optimieren.
Hielscher Ultraschallsysteme werden weltweit für sonochemische Syntheseprozesse eingesetzt und haben sich bei der Synthese von hochwertigen Zeolith-Nanokatalysatoren sowie Zeolithderivaten bewährt. Hielscher Industrie-Ultraschallgeräte können problemlos hohe Amplituden im Dauerbetrieb (24/7/365) fahren. Amplituden von bis zu 200µm können mit Standard-Sonotroden (Ultraschallsonden / Sonotroden) problemlos kontinuierlich erzeugt werden. Für noch höhere Amplituden sind kundenspezifische Ultraschallsonotroden erhältlich. Aufgrund ihrer Robustheit und ihres geringen Wartungsaufwands werden unsere Ultraschallgeneratoren problemlos auch für Heavy-Duty-Anwendungen und in anspruchsvollen Umgebungen eingesetzt.
Hielscher Ultraschallprozessoren für sonochemische Synthesen, Funktionalisierung, Nanostrukturierung und Deagglomeration sind bereits weltweit im kommerziellen Maßstab installiert. Kontaktieren Sie uns jetzt, um Ihren Prozess zur Herstellung von Nanokatalysatoren zu besprechen! Unser erfahrenes Personal berät Sie gerne und gibt Ihnen gerne weitere Informationen über den sonochemischen Syntheseweg, die Ultraschallsysteme sowie Preise!
Dank der Vorteile der Ultraschallsynthesemethode zeichnet sich Ihre Produktion von mesoporösen Nanokatalysatoren im Vergleich zu anderen Katalysatorsyntheseverfahren durch Effizienz, Einfachheit und niedrige Kosten aus!

In der folgenden Tabelle finden Sie die ungefähre Verarbeitungskapazität unserer Ultraschallsysteme:

Batch-Volumen Durchfluss Empfohlenes Ultraschallgerät
1 bis 500ml 10 bis 200ml/min UP100H
10 bis 2000ml 20 bis 400ml/min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 bis 20l 0,2 bis 4l/min UIP2000hdT
10 bis 100l 2 bis 10l/min UIP4000hdT
n.a. 10 bis 100l/min UIP16000
n.a. größere Cluster aus UIP16000

Kontaktieren Sie uns! / Fragen Sie uns!

Fordern Sie weitere Informationen an!

Bitte verwenden Sie das untenstehende Formular, um zusätzliche Informationen über unsere Ultraschallprozessoren, Anwendungen und Preise anzufordern. Gerne besprechen wir Ihr Verfahren mit Ihnen und bieten Ihnen ein Ihren Anforderungen entsprechendes Ultraschallsystem an!









Bitte beachten Sie unsere Datenschutzerklärung.


Ultrasonic nano-structuring of metals and zeolites is a highly effective technique to produce high-performance catalysts.

Dr. Andreeva-Bäumler, Universität Bayreuth, arbeitet mit dem Ultraschallgerät UIP1000hdT an der Nanostrukturierung von Metallen, um bessere Katalysatoren zu erhalten.


Ultrasonic high-shear homogenizers are used in lab, bench-top, pilot and industrial processing.

Hielscher Ultrasonics stellt Hochleistungs-Ultraschallhomogenisatoren für Mischanwendungen, Dispergierung, Emulgierung und Extraktion im Labor-, Pilot- und Industriemaßstab her.



Literatur / Literaturhinweise


Wissenswertes

Dimethylether (DME) als Kraftstoff

Einer der wichtigsten geplanten Verwendungszwecke von Dimethylether ist seine Verwendung als Ersatz für Propan in LPG (Flüssigpropangas), das als Kraftstoff für Fahrzeuge, in Haushalten und in der Industrie verwendet wird. In Propan-Autogas kann Dimethylether auch als Blendstock verwendet werden.
Eine der wichtigsten geplanten Verwendungen von Dimethylether ist die Verwendung als Ersatz für Propan in LPG (Flüssigpropangas), das als Kraftstoff für Fahrzeuge, in Haushalten und in der Industrie verwendet wird. In Propan-Autogas kann Dimethylether auch als Blendstock verwendet werden.


High performance ultrasonics! Hielscher's product range covers the full spectrum from the compact lab ultrasonicator over bench-top units to full-industrial ultrasonic systems.

Hielscher Ultrasonics fertigt Hochleistungs-Ultraschall-Homogenisatoren vom Labor bis zum voll-kommerziellen Industriemaßstab.

Ultrasonic Preparation of Catalysts for Dimethyl Ether (DME) Conversion

Dimethyl ether (DME) is a favourable alternative fuel, which can be synthesised from methanol, CO2 or syngas through catalysis. For the catalytic conversion to DME, potent catalysts are required. Nano-sized mesoporous catalysts such as mesoporous acidic zeolites, decorated zeolites or nano-sized metal catalysts such as aluminum or copper can improve the DME conversion significantly. High-intensity ultrasound is the superior technique for the preparation of highly reactive nano-catalysts. Learn more about how to use ultrasonication for the production of micro- and mesoporous catalysts with excellent reactivity and selectivity!

Bifunctional Catalysts for Direct DME Conversion

The production of dimethyl ether (DME) is a well-established industrial process that is divided into two steps: first, the catalytic hydrogenation of syngas into methanol (CO / CO2 + 3H2 → CH3OH + H2HO) and secondly, a subsequent catalytic dehydration of the methanol over acid catalysts to produce (2CH3OH → CH3OCH3 + H2O). The major limitation of this two-step DME synthesis is related to the low thermodynamics during the phase of methanol synthesis, which results in a low gas conversion per pass (15-25%). Thereby, high recirculation ratios as well as high capital and operating costs are occurring.
In order overcome this thermodynamic limitation, direct DME synthesis is significantly more favourable: In the direct DME conversion, the methanol synthesis step is coupled with the dehydration step in a single reactor
(2CO / CO2 + 6H2 → CH3OCH3 + 3H2O).

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


Nano-catalysts such as functionalized zeolites are successfully synthezized under sonication. Functionalized nano-structured acidic zeolites - syntheiszed under sonochemical conditions - give superior rates for dimethyl ether (DME) conversion.

The ultrasonicator UIP2000hdT (2kW) with flow-through reactor is a commonly used setup for the sonochemical synthesis of mesoporous nanocatalysts (e.g. decorated zeolites).

The direct synthesis of DME allows for increasing the levels of conversion per step, up to 19%, which means significant cost reductions regarding the investment and operational production cost of DME. Based on estimations, the DME production cost in direct synthesis are reduced by 20-30% when compared to the conventional two-step conversion process. In order to operate the direct DME synthesis pathway, a highly efficient hybrid bifunctional catalytic system is necessary. The required catalyst must offer the functionality for CO / CO2 hydrogenation for the methanol synthesis and the acidic functionalities, which assist the dehydration of the methanol. (cf. Millán et al. 2020)

Direct synthesis of dimethyl ether (DME) requires highly reactive, bifunctional catalysts. Ultrasonic catalyst synthesis allows to create highly efficient nano-structured mesoporous catalysts such as functionalized acidic zeolites for superior catalytic reaction outputs.

Direct synthesis of dimethyl ether (DME) from syngas on bifunctional catalyst.
(© Millán et al. 2020)

Synthesis of Highly-Reactive Catalysts for DME Conversion using Power-Ultrasound

The reactivity and selectivity of catalysts for dimethyl ether conversion can be significantly improved via ultrasonic treatment. Zeolites such as acid zeolites (e.g., aluminosilicate zeolite HZSM-5) and decorated zeolites (e.g., with CuO/ZnO/Al2O3) are the main catalysts that are used successfully for DME production.

Ultrasonic co-precipitation allows for the production of highly efficient CuO-ZnO-Al2O3/HZSM-5 nano-catalysts

Hybrid co-precipitation-ultrasound synthesis of CuO-ZnO-Al2O3/HZSM-5 used in direct conver- sion of syngas to dimethyl ether as a green fuel.
Study and picture: Khoshbin and Haghighi, 2013.]

Chlorination and fluorination of zeolites are effective methods to tune the catalytic acidity. The chlorinated and fluorinated zeolite catalysts were prepared by the impregnation of zeolites (H-ZSM-5, H-MOR or H-Y) using two halogen precursors (ammonium chloride and ammonium fluoride) in the study by the research team of Aboul-Fotouh. The influence of ultrasonic irradiation was evaluated for optimizing both halogen precursors for production of dimethylether (DME) via methanol dehydration in a fixed bed reactor. Comparative DME catalysis trial revealed that the halogenated zeolite catalysts prepared under ultrasonic irradiation show higher performance for DME formation. (Aboul-Fotouh et al., 2016)
In another study, the research team investigated all important ultrasonication variables encountered during carrying out the dehydration of methanol on H-MOR zeolite catalysts to produce dimethylether. For their Sonication eperiments, the research team used the Hielscher UP50H probe-type ultrasonicator. Scanning electron microscope (SEM) imaging of the sonicated H-MOR zeolite (Mordenite zeolite) have clarified that methanol by itself used as an ultrasonication medium gives the best results concerning the homogeneity of particle sizes compared to the untreated catalyst, where large agglomerates and non-homogeneous clusters appeared. These findings certified that ultrasonication has a deep effect on the unit cell resolution and hence on the catalytic behavior of the dehydration of methanol to dimethyl ether (DME). NH3-TPD shows that ultrasound irradiation has enhanced the acidity of H-MOR catalyst and hence it is catalytic performance for DME formation. (Aboul-Gheit et al., 2014)

Ultrasonication of H-MOR (mordenite zeolite) catalyst gave highly reactive nano-catalyst for DME conversion.

SEM of ultrasonicated H-MOR using different media
Study and pictures: ©Aboul-Gheit et al., 2014

Almost all commercial DME is produced by the dehydration of methanol using different solid-acid catalysts such as zeolites, sillica–alumina, alumina, Al2O3–B2O3, etc. by following reaction:
2CH3OH <—> CH3OCH3 +H2O(-22.6k jmol-1)

Koshbin and Haghighi (2013) prepared CuO–ZnO–Al2O3/HZSM-5 nanocatalysts via a combined co-precipitation–ultrasound method. The research team found “that employing of ultrasound energy have great influence on the dispersion of CO hydrogenation function and consequently the DME synthesis performance. The durability of ultrasound assisted synthesized nanocatalyst was investigated during syngas to DME reaction. The nanocatalyst loses negligible activity over the course of reaction due to coke formation on copper species.” [Khoshbin and Haghighi, 2013.]

Ultrasonically precipitated gamma-Al2O3 nano-catalyst, which shows high efficiency in DME conversion.An alternative non-zeolite nano-catalyst, which is also very efficient in promoting the DME conversion, is a nano-sized porous γ-alumina catalyst. Nano-size porous γ-alumina was successfully synthesized by precipitation under ultrasonic mixing. The sonochemical treatment promotes the nano particles synthesis. (cf. Rahmanpour et al., 2012)

Why Are Ultrasonically Prepared Nano-Catalysts Superior?

For the production of heterogeneous catalysts often high value-added materials such as precious metals are required. This makes catalysts expensive and therefore, efficiency enhancement as well as life cycle extension of the catalysts are important economic factors. Among preparation methods of nanocatalysts, the sonochemical technique is considered as a highly efficient method. The ability of ultrasound to create highly reactive surfaces, to improve mixing and to increase mass transport makes it a particularly promising technique to explore for catalyst preparation and activation. It can produce homogeneous and dispersed nanoparticles without need for expensive instruments and extreme conditions.
In several research studies, the scientists come to the conclusion that ultrasonic catalyst preparation is the most advantageous method for the production of homogeneous nano-catalysts. Among preparation methods of nanocatalysts, the sonochemical technique is considered as a highly efficient method. The ability of intense sonication to create highly reactive surfaces, to improve mixing and to increase mass transport makes it a particularly promising technique to explore for catalyst preparation and activation. It can produce homogeneous and dispersed nanoparticles without need for expensive instruments and extreme conditions. (cf. Koshbin and Haghighi, 2014)

Ultrasonic catalyst preparation results in superior mesoporous nanocatalysts for dimethyl ether (DME) conversion

The sonochemical synthesis results in a highly active nano-structured CuO–ZnO–Al2O3/HZSM-5 catalyst.
Study and picture: Khoshbin and Haghighi, 2013.

High-power ultrasonicators such as the UIP1000hdT are used for the nanostructuring of highly porous metals and mesoporous nano-catalysts. (Click to enlarge!)

Schematic presentation of effects of acoustic cavitation on modification of metal particles. Metals with a low melting point (MP) as zinc (Zn) are completely oxidized; metals with a high melting point like nickel (Ni) and titanium (Ti) exhibit surface modification under sonication. Aluminium (Al) and magnesium (Mg) form mesoporous structures. Nobel metals are resistant to ultrasound irradiation due to their stability against oxidation. The melting points of the metals are specified in degrees Kelvin (K).

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


High Performance Ultrasonicators for the Synthesis of Mesoporous Catalysts

Sonochemical equipment for the synthesis of high-performance nano-catalysts is readily available at any size – from compact lab ultrasonicators to fully-industrial ultrasonic reactors. Hielscher Ultrasonics designs, manufactures, and distributes high-power ultrasonicators. All ultrasonic systems are made in the headquarter in Teltow, Germany and distributed from there all around the world.
Hielscher ultrasonicators can be remotely controlled via browser control. Sonication parameters can be monitored and adjusted precisely to the process requirements.The sophisticated hardware and smart software of Hielscher ultrasonicators are designed to guarantee reliable operation, reproducible outcomes as well as user-friendliness. The Hielscher ultrasonicators are robust and reliable, which allows to be installed and operated under heavy duty conditions. Operational settings can be easily accessed and dialled via intuitive menu, which can be accessed via digital colour touch-display and browser remote control. Therefore, all processing conditions such as net energy, total energy, amplitude, time, pressure and temperature are automatically recorded on a built-in SD-card. This allows you to revise and compare previous sonication runs and to optimize the synthesis and functionalization of nano-catalysts to highest efficiency.
Hielscher Ultrasonics systems are used worldwide for sonochemical synthesis processes and are proven to be reliable for the synthesis of high-quality zeolite nano-catalystss as well as zeolite derivatives. Hielscher industrial ultrasonicators can easily run high amplitudes in continuous operation (24/7/365). Amplitudes of up to 200µm can be easily continuously generated with standard sonotrodes (ultrasonic probes / horns). For even higher amplitudes, customized ultrasonic sonotrodes are available. Due to their robustness and low maintenance, our ultrasonicators are commonly installed for heavy duty applications and in demanding environments.
Hielscher ultrasonic processors for sonochemical syntheses, functionalization, nano-structuring and deagglomeration are already installed worldwide on commercial scale. Contact us now to discuss your nano-catalyst manufacturing process! Our well-experienced staff will be glad to share more information on the sonochemical synthesis pathway, ultrasonic systems and pricing!
With the advantage of the ultrasonic synthesis method, your mesoporous nano-catalyst production will excel in efficiency, simplicity and low cost when compared to other catalyst synthesis processes!

The table below gives you an indication of the approximate processing capacity of our ultrasonicators:

Batch Volume Flow Rate Recommended Devices
1 to 500mL 10 to 200mL/min UP100H
10 to 2000mL 20 to 400mL/min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 to 20L 0.2 to 4L/min UIP2000hdT
10 to 100L 2 to 10L/min UIP4000hdT
n.a. 10 to 100L/min UIP16000
n.a. larger cluster of UIP16000

Contact Us! / Ask Us!

Ask for more information

Please use the form below to request additional information about ultrasonic processors, applications and price. We will be glad to discuss your process with you and to offer you an ultrasonic system meeting your requirements!









Please note our privacy policy.


Ultrasonic nano-structuring of metals and zeolites is a highly effective technique to produce high-performance catalysts.

Dr. Andreeva-Bäumler, University of Bayreuth, is working with the ultrasonicator UIP1000hdT on nano-structuring of metals in order to obtain superior catalysts.


Ultrasonic high-shear homogenizers are used in lab, bench-top, pilot and industrial processing.

Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonic homogenizers for mixing applications, dispersion, emulsification and extraction on lab, pilot and industrial scale.



Literature / References


Facts Worth Knowing

Dimethyl Ether (DME) as Fuel

One of the major envisaged uses of dimethyl ether is its application as substitute for propane in LPG (liquid propane gas), which is used as fuel for vehicles, in households and industry. In propane autogas, dimethyl ether can also be used as a blendstock.
Furthermore, DME is also a promising fuel for diesel engines and gas turbines. For diesel engines, the high cetane number of 55, compared to that of diesel fuel from petroleum with cetane numbers of 40–53, is highly advantageous. Only moderate modifications are necessary to enable a diesel engine to burn dimethyl ether. The simplicity of this short carbon chain compound leads during combustion to very low emissions of particulate matter. For these reasons as well as being sulfur-free, dimethyl ether meets even the most stringent emission regulations in Europe (EURO5), U.S. (U.S. 2010), and Japan (2009 Japan).


High performance ultrasonics! Hielscher's product range covers the full spectrum from the compact lab ultrasonicator over bench-top units to full-industrial ultrasonic systems.

Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonic homogenizers from lab to industrial size.