إعداد بالموجات فوق الصوتية من المحفزات لتحويل ثنائي ميثيل الأثير (DME)

ثنائي ميثيل الأثير (DME) هو وقود بديل مواتية، والتي يمكن توليفها من الميثانول، CO2 أو سينجاس من خلال الحفز. للتحويل الحفاز إلى DME ، هناك حاجة إلى محفزات قوية. يمكن للمحفزات المسامية بحجم النانو مثل الزيوليت الحمضية المسامية أو الزيوليت المزين أو المحفزات المعدنية بحجم النانو مثل الألومنيوم أو النحاس تحسين تحويل DME بشكل كبير. الموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الكثافة هي تقنية متفوقة لإعداد محفزات نانو تفاعلية للغاية. معرفة المزيد حول كيفية استخدام ultrasonication لإنتاج المحفزات الصغيرة و mesoporous مع التفاعل ممتازة والانتقائية!

محفزات ثنائية الوظائف لتحويل DME المباشر

إنتاج ثنائي ميثيل الأثير (DME) هو عملية صناعية راسخة تنقسم إلى خطوتين: أولا، الهدرجة الحفازة من سينغاس إلى الميثانول (CO / CO2 + 3H2 → CH3OH + H2HO) وثانيا، الجفاف الحفاز اللاحقة من الميثانول على المحفزات الحمضية لإنتاج (2CH3OH → CH3اوتش3 + H2O). ويرتبط القيد الرئيسي لهذا التوليف DME خطوتين إلى الديناميكا الحرارية منخفضة خلال مرحلة تخليق الميثانول, مما يؤدي إلى تحويل الغاز منخفضة لكل تمريرة (15-25٪). وبذلك، تحدث نسب إعادة تدوير عالية، فضلا عن ارتفاع تكاليف رأس المال والتشغيل.
من أجل التغلب على هذا القيد الحراري ، فإن توليف DME المباشر أكثر ملاءمة بشكل ملحوظ: في تحويل DME المباشر ، تقترن خطوة تخليق الميثانول بخطوة الجفاف في مفاعل واحد
(2CO / CO2 + 6H2 → CH3اوتش3 + 3H2O).

طلب معلومات





Nano-catalysts such as functionalized zeolites are successfully synthezized under sonication. Functionalized nano-structured acidic zeolites - syntheiszed under sonochemical conditions - give superior rates for dimethyl ether (DME) conversion.

وUIP2000hdT ultrasonicator (2kW) مع تدفق من خلال مفاعل هو الإعداد شائعة الاستخدام لتوليف سونوتشيميكال من النانوكاتيستس مسوبروس (مثل الزيوليت زينت).

يسمح التجميع المباشر ل DME بزيادة مستويات التحويل لكل خطوة ، بنسبة تصل إلى 19 ٪ ، مما يعني تخفيضات كبيرة في التكاليف فيما يتعلق بتكلفة الاستثمار والإنتاج التشغيلي لإدارة المشاريع الصغيرة والمتوسطة. واستنادا إلى التقديرات، يتم تخفيض تكلفة إنتاج DME في التوليف المباشر بنسبة 20-30٪ بالمقارنة مع عملية التحويل التقليدية من خطوتين. من أجل تشغيل مسار التوليف DME المباشر ، من الضروري وجود نظام تحفيزي هجين ثنائي الوظائف عالي الكفاءة. يجب أن يوفر المحفز المطلوب وظائف هدرجة CO / CO2 لتركيب الميثانول والوظائف الحمضية ، والتي تساعد على جفاف الميثانول. (راجع: ميلان وآخرون 2020)

Direct synthesis of dimethyl ether (DME) requires highly reactive, bifunctional catalysts. Ultrasonic catalyst synthesis allows to create highly efficient nano-structured mesoporous catalysts such as functionalized acidic zeolites for superior catalytic reaction outputs.

التوليف المباشر من الأثير ثنائي ميثيل (DME) من سينغاس على محفز ثنائي الوظائف.
(© ميلان وآخرون 2020)

توليف المحفزات عالية التفاعل لتحويل DME باستخدام الطاقة بالموجات فوق الصوتية

التفاعل والانتقائية من المحفزات لتحويل الأثير ثنائي ميثيل يمكن تحسينها بشكل ملحوظ عن طريق العلاج بالموجات فوق الصوتية. الزيوليت مثل حمض الزيوليت (على سبيل المثال، الألومينوسيليكات زيوليت HZSM-5) وزوليت مزينة (على سبيل المثال، مع CuO/ ZnO / Al2ال3) هي المحفزات الرئيسية التي تستخدم بنجاح لإنتاج DME.

Ultrasonic co-precipitation allows for the production of highly efficient CuO-ZnO-Al2O3/HZSM-5 nano-catalysts

الهجين المشارك هطول الأمطار والموجات فوق الصوتية توليف CuO-ZnO-Al2O3/HZSM-5 المستخدمة في conver مباشرة- سيون من سينغاس إلى الأثير ثنائي ميثيل كوقود أخضر.
دراسة وصورة: خوشبين وهاغيغي، 2013.]

الكلورة والفلور من الزيوليت هي أساليب فعالة لضبط الحموضة الحفازة. تم إعداد محفزات الزيوليت المكلورة والمفلورة عن طريق تلقيح الزيوليت (H-ZSM-5 أو H-MOR أو H-Y) باستخدام سلائف الهالوجين (كلوريد الأمونيوم وفلورايد الأمونيوم) في الدراسة التي أجراها فريق البحث في أبو الفتوح. تم تقييم تأثير التشعيع بالموجات فوق الصوتية لتحسين كل من سلائف الهالوجين لإنتاج ثنائي ميثيلثر (DME) عن طريق جفاف الميثانول في مفاعل سرير ثابت. كشفت تجربة الحفز النسبية DME أن محفزات الزيوليت الهالوجينة التي تم إعدادها تحت الإشعاع بالموجات فوق الصوتية تظهر أداء أعلى لتشكيل DME. (أبو الفتوح وآخرون، 2016)
في دراسة أخرى، حقق فريق البحث في جميع متغيرات ultrasonication الهامة التي واجهتها أثناء تنفيذ جفاف الميثانول على محفزات H-MOR zeolite لإنتاج ثنائي ميثيلين. لeperiments سونيكيشن ، استخدم فريق البحث Hielscher UP50H التحقيق من نوع ultrasonicator. مسح المجهر الإلكتروني (SEM) التصوير من سونيكاتيد H-MOR zeolite (موردينيت زيوليت) وقد أوضح أن الميثانول في حد ذاته تستخدم كوسيلة ultrasonication يعطي أفضل النتائج المتعلقة تجانس أحجام الجسيمات بالمقارنة مع محفز غير المعالجة، حيث ظهرت التكتلات الكبيرة ومجموعات غير متجانسة. هذه النتائج المعتمدة أن ultrasonication له تأثير عميق على قرار الخلية وحدة وبالتالي على السلوك الحفاز من الجفاف من الميثانول إلى الأثير ثنائي ميثيل (DME). يظهر NH3-TPD أن التشعيع بالموجات فوق الصوتية قد عزز حموضة محفز H-MOR وبالتالي فهو أداء تحفيزي لتشكيل DME. (أبو الغيط وآخرون، 2014)

Ultrasonication of H-MOR (mordenite zeolite) catalyst gave highly reactive nano-catalyst for DME conversion.

SEM من H-MOR ultrasonicated باستخدام وسائل الإعلام المختلفة
دراسة وصور: © أبو الغيط وآخرون، 2014

تقريبا يتم إنتاج جميع DME التجارية عن طريق الجفاف من الميثانول باستخدام محفزات حمض صلب مختلفة مثل الزيوليت، سيليكا-الألومينا، الألومينا، آل2ال32ال3، وما إلى ذلك من خلال رد الفعل التالي:
2CH3وا <—> الفصل3اوتش3 +H2O(-22.6k jmol-1)

كوشبين وهاغيغي (2013) أعدا CuO-ZnO-Al2ال3/HZSM-5 نانوكاتاستس عبر طريقة مشتركة بين هطول الأمطار والموجات فوق الصوتية. ووجد فريق البحث "أن استخدام الطاقة بالموجات فوق الصوتية لها تأثير كبير على تشتت وظيفة تهدرجة ثاني أكسيد الكربون وبالتالي أداء تخليق DME. تم التحقيق في متانة الموجات فوق الصوتية بمساعدة nanocatalyst توليفها خلال syngas إلى رد فعل DME. ويفقد النانوكاتاست نشاطا ضئيلا على مدار رد الفعل بسبب تكوين فحم الكوك على أنواع النحاس". [خوشبين وهاغيغي، 2013].

Ultrasonically precipitated gamma-Al2O3 nano-catalyst, which shows high efficiency in DME conversion.بديل غير زيوليت نانو محفز، والتي هي أيضا فعالة جدا في تعزيز تحويل DME، هو محفز γ الألومينا مسامية نانو الحجم. نانو الحجم المسامية γ-الألومينا تم تصنيعها بنجاح عن طريق هطول الأمطار تحت الاختلاط بالموجات فوق الصوتية. العلاج سونوتشيميكال يعزز تخليق جزيئات النانو. (راجع رحمانبور وآخرون، 2012)

لماذا يتم إعداد بالموجات فوق الصوتية نانو محفزات متفوقة؟

11- ومن أجل إنتاج محفزات غير متجانسة، كثيرا ما تكون هناك حاجة إلى مواد ذات قيمة مضافة عالية مثل المعادن الثمينة. وهذا يجعل المحفزات مكلفة، وبالتالي، فإن تعزيز الكفاءة وكذلك تمديد دورة حياة المحفزات هي عوامل اقتصادية مهمة. من بين أساليب إعداد النانوكاتيست ، تعتبر تقنية السونوتشيميكال طريقة فعالة للغاية. قدرة الموجات فوق الصوتية على خلق السطوح رد الفعل للغاية، لتحسين الاختلاط وزيادة النقل الجماعي يجعلها تقنية واعدة بشكل خاص لاستكشاف لإعداد محفز والتنشيط. يمكن أن تنتج جسيمات نانوية متجانسة ومتفرقة دون الحاجة إلى أدوات باهظة الثمن وظروف قاسية.
في العديد من الدراسات البحثية، والعلماء التوصل إلى استنتاج مفاده أن إعداد محفز بالموجات فوق الصوتية هو الأسلوب الأكثر فائدة لإنتاج متجانسة نانو محفزات. من بين أساليب إعداد النانوكاتيست ، تعتبر تقنية السونوتشيميكال طريقة فعالة للغاية. قدرة sonication مكثفة لخلق السطوح رد الفعل للغاية، لتحسين خلط وزيادة النقل الجماعي يجعلها تقنية واعدة بشكل خاص لاستكشاف لإعداد محفز والتنشيط. يمكن أن تنتج جسيمات نانوية متجانسة ومتفرقة دون الحاجة إلى أدوات باهظة الثمن وظروف قاسية. (راجع كوشبين وهاغيغي، 2014)

Ultrasonic catalyst preparation results in superior mesoporous nanocatalysts for dimethyl ether (DME) conversion

ينتج عن التركيب السونوكيميائية محفز قوي عالي النشاط من منظمة نانوية-ZnO-Al2O3/HZSM-5.
دراسة وصورة: خوشبين وهاغيغي، 2013.

High-power ultrasonicators such as the UIP1000hdT are used for the nanostructuring of highly porous metals and mesoporous nano-catalysts. (Click to enlarge!)

عرض تخطيطي لآثار التجويف الصوتي على تعديل الجسيمات المعدنية. تتأكسد تماما المعادن ذات نقطة انصهار منخفضة (MP) مثل الزنك (Zn) ؛ المعادن مع نقطة انصهار عالية مثل النيكل (ني) والتيتانيوم (تي) معرض تعديل السطح تحت sonication. الألومنيوم (آل) والمغنيسيوم (ملغ) تشكيل هياكل مسامية. نوبل المعادن مقاومة للإشعاع بالموجات فوق الصوتية بسبب استقرارها ضد الأكسدة. يتم تحديد نقاط انصهار المعادن بالدرجات كلفن (K).

طلب معلومات





الموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الأداء لتركيب المحفزات Mesoporous

المعدات سونوتشيميكال لتركيب عالية الأداء نانو محفزات متاحة بسهولة في أي حجم – من الموجات فوق الصوتية مختبر المدمجة لمفاعلات الموجات فوق الصوتية الصناعية بالكامل. Hielscher Ultrasonics تصاميم وتصنيع وتوزيع الموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الطاقة. جميع أنظمة الموجات فوق الصوتية مصنوعة في المقر الرئيسي في تيلتو، ألمانيا وتوزع من هناك في جميع أنحاء العالم.
Hielscher ultrasonicators can be remotely controlled via browser control. Sonication parameters can be monitored and adjusted precisely to the process requirements.تم تصميم الأجهزة المتطورة والبرامج الذكية من الموجات فوق الصوتية Hielscher لضمان التشغيل الموثوق به ، والنتائج القابلة للاستنساخ وكذلك سهولة الاستخدام. و هيلشر ultrasonicators قوية وموثوق بها، والذي يسمح ليتم تثبيتها وتشغيلها في ظل ظروف الخدمة الشاقة. يمكن الوصول إلى الإعدادات التشغيلية بسهولة والاتصال بها عبر قائمة بديهية ، والتي يمكن الوصول إليها عبر شاشة اللمس الرقمية الملونة والتحكم عن بعد في المتصفح. لذلك، يتم تسجيل جميع شروط المعالجة مثل صافي الطاقة، والطاقة الإجمالية، والسعة، والوقت، والضغط ودرجة الحرارة تلقائيا على بطاقة SD مدمجة. هذا يسمح لك لمراجعة ومقارنة تشغيل سونيكيشن السابقة وتحسين توليف ووظيفية من المحفزات نانو إلى أعلى كفاءة.
وتستخدم أنظمة Hielscher Ultrasonics في جميع أنحاء العالم لعمليات التوليف سونوتشيميكال وثبت أن تكون موثوقة لتوليف عالية الجودة zeolite نانو محفزات وكذلك مشتقات الزيوليت. Hielscher الموجات فوق الصوتية الصناعية يمكن بسهولة تشغيل السعة العالية في التشغيل المستمر (24/7/365). يمكن بسهولة السعة تصل إلى 200μm يتم إنشاؤها باستمرار مع سونوتروديس القياسية (مسابير بالموجات فوق الصوتية / قرون). لسعات أعلى من ذلك، sonotrodes الموجات فوق الصوتية مخصصة متوفرة. نظرا لقوتها وصيانة منخفضة، يتم تثبيت ultrasonicators لدينا عادة لتطبيقات الخدمة الشاقة وفي بيئات صعبة.
Hielscher المعالجات بالموجات فوق الصوتية لsochemical syntheses، وظيفية، نانو هيكلة و deagglomeration مثبتة بالفعل في جميع أنحاء العالم على نطاق تجاري. اتصل بنا الآن لمناقشة عملية التصنيع نانو محفز الخاص بك! سيكون موظفونا ذوي الخبرة الجيدة سعداء لمشاركة المزيد من المعلومات حول مسار التوليف السونوكيميائية وأنظمة الموجات فوق الصوتية والتسعير!
مع الاستفادة من طريقة توليف بالموجات فوق الصوتية، سوف تتفوق إنتاجك نانو محفز mesoporous في الكفاءة والبساطة وانخفاض التكلفة بالمقارنة مع عمليات توليف محفز أخرى!

الجدول أدناه يعطيك مؤشرا على قدرة المعالجة التقريبية لultrasonicators لدينا:

دفعة حجم معدل المد و الجزر الأجهزة الموصى بها
1 إلى 500ML 10 إلى 200ML / دقيقة UP100H
10 إلى 2000ML 20 إلى 400ML / دقيقة Uf200 ः ر، UP400St
00.1 إلى 20L 00.2 إلى 4L / دقيقة UIP2000hdT
10 إلى 100L 2 إلى 10L / دقيقة UIP4000hdT
زمالة المدمنين المجهولين 10 إلى 100L / دقيقة UIP16000
زمالة المدمنين المجهولين أكبر مجموعة من UIP16000

اتصل بنا! / اسألنا!

اطلب المزيد من المعلومات

يرجى استخدام النموذج أدناه لطلب معلومات إضافية حول المعالجات بالموجات فوق الصوتية والتطبيقات والسعر. سنكون سعداء لمناقشة العملية الخاصة بك معك ونقدم لكم نظام الموجات فوق الصوتية تلبية الاحتياجات الخاصة بك!









يرجى ملاحظة لدينا سياسة الخصوصية.


Ultrasonic nano-structuring of metals and zeolites is a highly effective technique to produce high-performance catalysts.

تعمل الدكتورة أندريفا بوملر، جامعة بايرويت، مع الموجات فوق الصوتية UIP1000hdT على نانو هيكلة المعادن من أجل الحصول على محفزات متفوقة.


Ultrasonic high-shear homogenizers are used in lab, bench-top, pilot and industrial processing.

Hielscher الفوق صوتيات بتصنيع عالية الأداء المجانسة بالموجات فوق الصوتية لخلط التطبيقات، تشتت، استحلاب واستخراج على المختبر، والطيارية ومقياس الصناعية.



الأدب / المراجع


حقائق تستحق العلم

ثنائي ميثيل الأثير (DME) كوقود

ومن الاستخدامات الرئيسية المتوخاة لأثير ثنائي ميثيل هو استخدامه كبديل للبروبان في غاز البترول المسال (غاز البروبان السائل)، الذي يستخدم كوقود للمركبات، في الأسر المعيشية والصناعة. في غاز البروبان، يمكن أيضا استخدام ثنائي ميثيل الأثير كمزيج.
وعلاوة على ذلك، DME هو أيضا وقود واعدة لمحركات الديزل وتوربينات الغاز. بالنسبة لمحركات الديزل، فإن ارتفاع عدد السيتان الذي يتراوح بين 55، مقارنة بوقود الديزل من النفط مع أعداد السيتان من 40-53، مفيد للغاية. التعديلات المعتدلة فقط ضرورية لتمكين محرك الديزل لحرق الأثير ثنائي ميثيل. بساطة هذا المركب سلسلة الكربون قصيرة يؤدي أثناء الاحتراق إلى انبعاثات منخفضة جدا من الجسيمات. ولهذه الأسباب فضلا عن كونها خالية من الكبريت، ثنائي ميثيل الأثير يفي حتى لوائح الانبعاثات الأكثر صرامة في أوروبا (EURO5)، الولايات المتحدة (الولايات المتحدة 2010)، واليابان (اليابان 2009).


High performance ultrasonics! Hielscher's product range covers the full spectrum from the compact lab ultrasonicator over bench-top units to full-industrial ultrasonic systems.

Hielscher الفوق صوتيات بتصنيع عالية الأداء المجانسة بالموجات فوق الصوتية من مختبر إلى حجم الصناعية.

Ultrasonic Preparation of Catalysts for Dimethyl Ether (DME) Conversion

Dimethyl ether (DME) is a favourable alternative fuel, which can be synthesised from methanol, CO2 or syngas through catalysis. For the catalytic conversion to DME, potent catalysts are required. Nano-sized mesoporous catalysts such as mesoporous acidic zeolites, decorated zeolites or nano-sized metal catalysts such as aluminum or copper can improve the DME conversion significantly. High-intensity ultrasound is the superior technique for the preparation of highly reactive nano-catalysts. Learn more about how to use ultrasonication for the production of micro- and mesoporous catalysts with excellent reactivity and selectivity!

Bifunctional Catalysts for Direct DME Conversion

The production of dimethyl ether (DME) is a well-established industrial process that is divided into two steps: first, the catalytic hydrogenation of syngas into methanol (CO / CO2 + 3H2 → CH3OH + H2HO) and secondly, a subsequent catalytic dehydration of the methanol over acid catalysts to produce (2CH3OH → CH3OCH3 + H2O). The major limitation of this two-step DME synthesis is related to the low thermodynamics during the phase of methanol synthesis, which results in a low gas conversion per pass (15-25%). Thereby, high recirculation ratios as well as high capital and operating costs are occurring.
In order overcome this thermodynamic limitation, direct DME synthesis is significantly more favourable: In the direct DME conversion, the methanol synthesis step is coupled with the dehydration step in a single reactor
(2CO / CO2 + 6H2 → CH3OCH3 + 3H2O).

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


Nano-catalysts such as functionalized zeolites are successfully synthezized under sonication. Functionalized nano-structured acidic zeolites - syntheiszed under sonochemical conditions - give superior rates for dimethyl ether (DME) conversion.

The ultrasonicator UIP2000hdT (2kW) with flow-through reactor is a commonly used setup for the sonochemical synthesis of mesoporous nanocatalysts (e.g. decorated zeolites).

The direct synthesis of DME allows for increasing the levels of conversion per step, up to 19%, which means significant cost reductions regarding the investment and operational production cost of DME. Based on estimations, the DME production cost in direct synthesis are reduced by 20-30% when compared to the conventional two-step conversion process. In order to operate the direct DME synthesis pathway, a highly efficient hybrid bifunctional catalytic system is necessary. The required catalyst must offer the functionality for CO / CO2 hydrogenation for the methanol synthesis and the acidic functionalities, which assist the dehydration of the methanol. (cf. Millán et al. 2020)

Direct synthesis of dimethyl ether (DME) requires highly reactive, bifunctional catalysts. Ultrasonic catalyst synthesis allows to create highly efficient nano-structured mesoporous catalysts such as functionalized acidic zeolites for superior catalytic reaction outputs.

Direct synthesis of dimethyl ether (DME) from syngas on bifunctional catalyst.
(© Millán et al. 2020)

Synthesis of Highly-Reactive Catalysts for DME Conversion using Power-Ultrasound

The reactivity and selectivity of catalysts for dimethyl ether conversion can be significantly improved via ultrasonic treatment. Zeolites such as acid zeolites (e.g., aluminosilicate zeolite HZSM-5) and decorated zeolites (e.g., with CuO/ZnO/Al2O3) are the main catalysts that are used successfully for DME production.

Ultrasonic co-precipitation allows for the production of highly efficient CuO-ZnO-Al2O3/HZSM-5 nano-catalysts

Hybrid co-precipitation-ultrasound synthesis of CuO-ZnO-Al2O3/HZSM-5 used in direct conver- sion of syngas to dimethyl ether as a green fuel.
Study and picture: Khoshbin and Haghighi, 2013.]

Chlorination and fluorination of zeolites are effective methods to tune the catalytic acidity. The chlorinated and fluorinated zeolite catalysts were prepared by the impregnation of zeolites (H-ZSM-5, H-MOR or H-Y) using two halogen precursors (ammonium chloride and ammonium fluoride) in the study by the research team of Aboul-Fotouh. The influence of ultrasonic irradiation was evaluated for optimizing both halogen precursors for production of dimethylether (DME) via methanol dehydration in a fixed bed reactor. Comparative DME catalysis trial revealed that the halogenated zeolite catalysts prepared under ultrasonic irradiation show higher performance for DME formation. (Aboul-Fotouh et al., 2016)
In another study, the research team investigated all important ultrasonication variables encountered during carrying out the dehydration of methanol on H-MOR zeolite catalysts to produce dimethylether. For their Sonication eperiments, the research team used the Hielscher UP50H probe-type ultrasonicator. Scanning electron microscope (SEM) imaging of the sonicated H-MOR zeolite (Mordenite zeolite) have clarified that methanol by itself used as an ultrasonication medium gives the best results concerning the homogeneity of particle sizes compared to the untreated catalyst, where large agglomerates and non-homogeneous clusters appeared. These findings certified that ultrasonication has a deep effect on the unit cell resolution and hence on the catalytic behavior of the dehydration of methanol to dimethyl ether (DME). NH3-TPD shows that ultrasound irradiation has enhanced the acidity of H-MOR catalyst and hence it is catalytic performance for DME formation. (Aboul-Gheit et al., 2014)

Ultrasonication of H-MOR (mordenite zeolite) catalyst gave highly reactive nano-catalyst for DME conversion.

SEM of ultrasonicated H-MOR using different media
Study and pictures: ©Aboul-Gheit et al., 2014

Almost all commercial DME is produced by the dehydration of methanol using different solid-acid catalysts such as zeolites, sillica–alumina, alumina, Al2O3–B2O3, etc. by following reaction:
2CH3OH <—> CH3OCH3 +H2O(-22.6k jmol-1)

Koshbin and Haghighi (2013) prepared CuO–ZnO–Al2O3/HZSM-5 nanocatalysts via a combined co-precipitation–ultrasound method. The research team found “that employing of ultrasound energy have great influence on the dispersion of CO hydrogenation function and consequently the DME synthesis performance. The durability of ultrasound assisted synthesized nanocatalyst was investigated during syngas to DME reaction. The nanocatalyst loses negligible activity over the course of reaction due to coke formation on copper species.” [Khoshbin and Haghighi, 2013.]

Ultrasonically precipitated gamma-Al2O3 nano-catalyst, which shows high efficiency in DME conversion.An alternative non-zeolite nano-catalyst, which is also very efficient in promoting the DME conversion, is a nano-sized porous γ-alumina catalyst. Nano-size porous γ-alumina was successfully synthesized by precipitation under ultrasonic mixing. The sonochemical treatment promotes the nano particles synthesis. (cf. Rahmanpour et al., 2012)

Why Are Ultrasonically Prepared Nano-Catalysts Superior?

For the production of heterogeneous catalysts often high value-added materials such as precious metals are required. This makes catalysts expensive and therefore, efficiency enhancement as well as life cycle extension of the catalysts are important economic factors. Among preparation methods of nanocatalysts, the sonochemical technique is considered as a highly efficient method. The ability of ultrasound to create highly reactive surfaces, to improve mixing and to increase mass transport makes it a particularly promising technique to explore for catalyst preparation and activation. It can produce homogeneous and dispersed nanoparticles without need for expensive instruments and extreme conditions.
In several research studies, the scientists come to the conclusion that ultrasonic catalyst preparation is the most advantageous method for the production of homogeneous nano-catalysts. Among preparation methods of nanocatalysts, the sonochemical technique is considered as a highly efficient method. The ability of intense sonication to create highly reactive surfaces, to improve mixing and to increase mass transport makes it a particularly promising technique to explore for catalyst preparation and activation. It can produce homogeneous and dispersed nanoparticles without need for expensive instruments and extreme conditions. (cf. Koshbin and Haghighi, 2014)

Ultrasonic catalyst preparation results in superior mesoporous nanocatalysts for dimethyl ether (DME) conversion

The sonochemical synthesis results in a highly active nano-structured CuO–ZnO–Al2O3/HZSM-5 catalyst.
Study and picture: Khoshbin and Haghighi, 2013.

High-power ultrasonicators such as the UIP1000hdT are used for the nanostructuring of highly porous metals and mesoporous nano-catalysts. (Click to enlarge!)

Schematic presentation of effects of acoustic cavitation on modification of metal particles. Metals with a low melting point (MP) as zinc (Zn) are completely oxidized; metals with a high melting point like nickel (Ni) and titanium (Ti) exhibit surface modification under sonication. Aluminium (Al) and magnesium (Mg) form mesoporous structures. Nobel metals are resistant to ultrasound irradiation due to their stability against oxidation. The melting points of the metals are specified in degrees Kelvin (K).

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


High Performance Ultrasonicators for the Synthesis of Mesoporous Catalysts

Sonochemical equipment for the synthesis of high-performance nano-catalysts is readily available at any size – from compact lab ultrasonicators to fully-industrial ultrasonic reactors. Hielscher Ultrasonics designs, manufactures, and distributes high-power ultrasonicators. All ultrasonic systems are made in the headquarter in Teltow, Germany and distributed from there all around the world.
Hielscher ultrasonicators can be remotely controlled via browser control. Sonication parameters can be monitored and adjusted precisely to the process requirements.The sophisticated hardware and smart software of Hielscher ultrasonicators are designed to guarantee reliable operation, reproducible outcomes as well as user-friendliness. The Hielscher ultrasonicators are robust and reliable, which allows to be installed and operated under heavy duty conditions. Operational settings can be easily accessed and dialled via intuitive menu, which can be accessed via digital colour touch-display and browser remote control. Therefore, all processing conditions such as net energy, total energy, amplitude, time, pressure and temperature are automatically recorded on a built-in SD-card. This allows you to revise and compare previous sonication runs and to optimize the synthesis and functionalization of nano-catalysts to highest efficiency.
Hielscher Ultrasonics systems are used worldwide for sonochemical synthesis processes and are proven to be reliable for the synthesis of high-quality zeolite nano-catalystss as well as zeolite derivatives. Hielscher industrial ultrasonicators can easily run high amplitudes in continuous operation (24/7/365). Amplitudes of up to 200µm can be easily continuously generated with standard sonotrodes (ultrasonic probes / horns). For even higher amplitudes, customized ultrasonic sonotrodes are available. Due to their robustness and low maintenance, our ultrasonicators are commonly installed for heavy duty applications and in demanding environments.
Hielscher ultrasonic processors for sonochemical syntheses, functionalization, nano-structuring and deagglomeration are already installed worldwide on commercial scale. Contact us now to discuss your nano-catalyst manufacturing process! Our well-experienced staff will be glad to share more information on the sonochemical synthesis pathway, ultrasonic systems and pricing!
With the advantage of the ultrasonic synthesis method, your mesoporous nano-catalyst production will excel in efficiency, simplicity and low cost when compared to other catalyst synthesis processes!

The table below gives you an indication of the approximate processing capacity of our ultrasonicators:

Batch Volume Flow Rate Recommended Devices
1 to 500mL 10 to 200mL/min UP100H
10 to 2000mL 20 to 400mL/min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 to 20L 0.2 to 4L/min UIP2000hdT
10 to 100L 2 to 10L/min UIP4000hdT
n.a. 10 to 100L/min UIP16000
n.a. larger cluster of UIP16000

Contact Us! / Ask Us!

Ask for more information

Please use the form below to request additional information about ultrasonic processors, applications and price. We will be glad to discuss your process with you and to offer you an ultrasonic system meeting your requirements!









Please note our privacy policy.


Ultrasonic nano-structuring of metals and zeolites is a highly effective technique to produce high-performance catalysts.

Dr. Andreeva-Bäumler, University of Bayreuth, is working with the ultrasonicator UIP1000hdT on nano-structuring of metals in order to obtain superior catalysts.


Ultrasonic high-shear homogenizers are used in lab, bench-top, pilot and industrial processing.

Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonic homogenizers for mixing applications, dispersion, emulsification and extraction on lab, pilot and industrial scale.



Literature / References


Facts Worth Knowing

Dimethyl Ether (DME) as Fuel

One of the major envisaged uses of dimethyl ether is its application as substitute for propane in LPG (liquid propane gas), which is used as fuel for vehicles, in households and industry. In propane autogas, dimethyl ether can also be used as a blendstock.
Furthermore, DME is also a promising fuel for diesel engines and gas turbines. For diesel engines, the high cetane number of 55, compared to that of diesel fuel from petroleum with cetane numbers of 40–53, is highly advantageous. Only moderate modifications are necessary to enable a diesel engine to burn dimethyl ether. The simplicity of this short carbon chain compound leads during combustion to very low emissions of particulate matter. For these reasons as well as being sulfur-free, dimethyl ether meets even the most stringent emission regulations in Europe (EURO5), U.S. (U.S. 2010), and Japan (2009 Japan).


High performance ultrasonics! Hielscher's product range covers the full spectrum from the compact lab ultrasonicator over bench-top units to full-industrial ultrasonic systems.

Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonic homogenizers from lab to industrial size.