Durch Sonikation geförderte organokatalytische Reaktionen

In der organischen Chemie ist die Organokatalyse eine Form der Katalyse, bei der die Geschwindigkeit einer chemischen Reaktion durch einen organischen Katalysator erhöht wird. Diese „Organokatalysator“ besteht aus Kohlenstoff, Wasserstoff, Schwefel und anderen nichtmetallischen Elementen, die in organischen Verbindungen vorkommen. Die Anwendung von Hochleistungsultraschall auf chemische Systeme ist als Sonochemie bekannt und eine bewährte Technik zur Erhöhung der Ausbeute, Verbesserung der Reaktionsgeschwindigkeit und Beschleunigung der Reaktion. Durch die Beschallung ist es oft möglich, chemische Wege zu wechseln, um unerwünschte Nebenprodukte zu vermeiden. Die Sonochemie kann organokatalytische Reaktionen fördern und sie effizienter und umweltfreundlicher machen.

Asymmetrische Organokatalyse – Verbessert durch Sonikation

Die Sonochemie, die Anwendung von Hochleistungs-Ultraschall in chemischen Systemen, kann organokatalytische Reaktionen erheblich verbessern. Die asymmetrische Organokatalyse in Verbindung mit Ultraschall ermöglicht häufig die Umwandlung der Organokatalyse in einen umweltfreundlicheren Weg und fällt damit unter den Begriff der grünen Chemie. Die Beschallung beschleunigt die (asymmetrische) organokatalytische Reaktion und führt zu höheren Ausbeuten, schnelleren Umsetzungsraten, einer einfacheren Produktisolierung/-aufreinigung und einer verbesserten Selektivität und Reaktivität. Neben der Verbesserung der Reaktionskinetik und der Ausbeute kann die Ultraschallbehandlung häufig mit nachhaltigen Reaktionslösungsmitteln kombiniert werden, z. B. mit ionischen Flüssigkeiten, tief eutektischen Lösungsmitteln, milden, ungiftigen Lösungsmitteln und Wasser. Dadurch verbessert die Sonochemie nicht nur die (asymmetrische) organokatalytische Reaktion selbst, sondern trägt auch zur Nachhaltigkeit der organokatalytischen Reaktionen bei.

Informationen anfordern




Beachten Sie unsere Datenschutzerklärung.


Ultrasonic probe for sonochemical initiation and acceleration of organocatalytic reaction with higher yields

Die Ultraschallbehandlung fördert organokatalytische Reaktionen, die zu verbesserten Umsetzungsraten, höherer Ausbeute und Selektivität führen.

Die Forschung hat vielfältige Beispiele für sonochemisch verstärkte oragnokatalytische Reaktionen gezeigt. So werden beispielsweise doppelsträngige DNA-Moleküle als chirales Gerüst verwendet, um Metall-Biomakromolekül-Hybridkatalysatoren für asymmetrische Synthesereaktionen zusammenzustellen. G-Quadruplex-DNA-basierte Katalysatoren wurden in asymmetrischen Michael-Additions-, Diels-Alder- und Friedel-Crafts-Reaktionen eingesetzt. (vgl. Zhao und Shen, 2018)
Bei der Inidium-geförderten Reaktion zeigt die Beschallung vorteilhafte Effekte, da die sonochemisch angetriebene Reaktion unter milderen Bedingungen abläuft und dadurch ein hohes Maß an Diastaselektion erhalten bleibt. Mit der sonochemischen Route wurden gute Ergebnisse bei der organokatalytischen Synthese von β-Lactam-Kohlenhydraten, β-Aminosäure und Spirodiketopiperazinen aus Zuckerlactonen sowie Allylierung und Reformatsky-Reaktionen an Oximethem erzielt.

Mit Ultraschall geförderte organokatalytische Wirkstoffsynthese

Rogozińska-Szymczak und Mlynarski (2014) berichten über die asymmetrische Michael-Addition von 4-Hydroxycumarin an α,β-ungesättigte Ketone auf Wasser ohne organische Co-Lösungsmittel – katalysiert durch organische primäre Amine und Sonikation. Durch den Einsatz von enantiomerenreinem (S,S)-Diphenylethylendiamin wird eine Reihe wichtiger pharmazeutisch aktiver Verbindungen in guter bis hervorragender Ausbeute (73-98%) und mit guten Enantioselektivitäten (bis zu 76% ee) durch ultraschallbeschleunigte Reaktionen hergestellt. Die Forscher stellen ein effizientes sonochemisches Protokoll für die "Feststoff-auf-Wasser"-Bildung des Antikoagulans Warfarin in beiden enantiomeren Formen vor. Diese umweltfreundliche organokatalytische Reaktion ist nicht nur skalierbar, sondern liefert auch das Zielmolekül in enantiomerisch reiner Form.

Ultrasonically promoted asymmetric Michael addition of 4-hydroxycoumarin to α,β-unsaturated ketones

Sonikation fördert die asymmetrische Michael-Addition von 4-Hydroxycumarin an α,β-ungesättigte Ketone auf Wasser ohne organische Co-Lösungsmittel.
Bild und Studie: ©Rogozińska-Szymczak und Mlynarski; 2014.

Sonochemische Epoxidierung von Terpenen

Charbonneau et al. (2018) haben die erfolgreiche Epoxidierung von Terpenen unter Beschallung demonstriert. Die konventionelle Epoxidierung erfordert die Verwendung eines Katalysators, aber mit Beschallung läuft die Epoxidierung als katalysatorfreie Reaktion ab.
Limonendioxid ist ein wichtiges Zwischenmolekül für die Entwicklung von biobasierten Polycarbonaten oder isocyanatfreien Polyurethanen. Die Sonikation ermöglicht die katalysatorfreie Epoxidierung von Terpenen innerhalb einer sehr kurzen Reaktionszeit – bei gleichzeitig sehr guten Ausbeuten. Um die Effektivität der Ultraschallepoxidierung zu demonstrieren, verglich das Forschungsteam die Epoxidierung von Limonen zu Limonendioxid unter Verwendung von in-situ erzeugtem Dimethyldioxiran als Oxidationsmittel sowohl unter konventioneller Rührung als auch unter Ultraschallbehandlung. Bei allen Beschallungsversuchen wurde die Hielscher UP50H (50W, 30kHz) Labor-Ultraschallgerät verwendet.

Terpene epoxidation is significantly faster and highly efficient when sonication is applied. Using ultrasound enables to runthe epoxidation reaction of terpenes as catalyst-free reaction.

Hocheffiziente sonochemische Epoxidierung von Terpenen (z. B. Limonendioxid, α-Pinenoxid, β-Pinenoxid, Triepoxid usw.) mit dem Ultraschallgerät UP50H
Bild und Studie: © Charbonneau et al., 2018

Die Zeit, die für die vollständige Umwandlung von Limonen in Limonendioxid mit 100 % Ausbeute unter Sonikation benötigt wurde, betrug nur 4,5 min bei Raumtemperatur. Im Vergleich dazu betrug die Zeit, die für eine 97%ige Ausbeute an Limonendioxid benötigt wurde, bei konventioneller Rührung mit einem Magnetrührer 1,5 h. Die Epoxidierung von α-Pinen wurde ebenfalls mit beiden Rührtechniken untersucht. Die Epoxidierung von α-Pinen zu α-Pinenoxid unter Beschallung benötigte nur 4 Minuten mit einer Ausbeute von 100 %, während die Reaktionszeit im Vergleich zur herkömmlichen Methode 60 Minuten betrug. Bei den anderen Terpenen wurde β-Pinen in nur 4 Minuten in β-Pinenoxid umgewandelt, während Farnesol in 8 Minuten 100 % des Triepoxids lieferte. Carveol, ein Limonenderivat, wurde mit einer Ausbeute von 98 % in Carveoldioxid umgewandelt. Bei der Epoxidierung von Carvon unter Verwendung von Dimethyldioxiran wurde in 5 Minuten 100 % 7,8-Carvonoxid gebildet.
Die Hauptvorteile der sonochemischen Terpenepoxidation sind die Umweltfreundlichkeit des Oxidationsmittels (grüne Chemie) sowie die erheblich verkürzte Reaktionszeit bei der Durchführung dieser Oxidation unter Ultraschallrührung. Mit dieser Epoxidierungsmethode konnte eine 100%ige Umwandlung von Limonen mit einer 100%igen Ausbeute an Limonendioxid in nur 4,5 Minuten erreicht werden, verglichen mit 90 Minuten bei herkömmlicher Rührung. Außerdem wurden im Reaktionsmedium keine Oxidationsprodukte von Limonen, wie Carvon, Carveol und Perrilylalkohol, gefunden. Die Epoxidierung von α-Pinen unter Ultraschall benötigte nur 4 Minuten und ergab 100 % α-Pinenoxid ohne Oxidation des Rings. Andere Terpene wie β-Pinen, Farnesol und Carveol wurden ebenfalls oxidiert, was zu sehr hohen Epoxidausbeuten führte.

Ultrasonically stirred reactor for sonochemical applications including organocatalysis, asymmetric reactions and many other.

Ultraschall-gerührter Reaktor mit dem Ultraschallgerät UP200St für verstärkte organokatalytische Reaktionen.

sonochemische Effekte

Acoustic cavitation as shown here at the Hielscher ultrasonicator UIP1500hdT is used to initiate and promote chemical reactions. Ultrasonic cavitation at Hielscher's UIP1500hdT (1500W) ultrasonicator for sonochemical reactions.Als Alternative zu den klassischen Methoden wurden Protokolle auf der Grundlage der Sonochemie eingesetzt, um die Raten einer Vielzahl von Reaktionen zu erhöhen, was zu Produkten führt, die unter milderen Bedingungen mit einer erheblichen Verkürzung der Reaktionszeiten erzeugt werden. Diese Methoden werden als umweltfreundlicher und nachhaltiger beschrieben und sind mit einer größeren Selektivität und einem geringeren Energieverbrauch für die gewünschten Umwandlungen verbunden. Der Mechanismus solcher Methoden beruht auf dem Phänomen der akustischen Kavitation, die durch die Bildung, das Wachstum und den adiabatischen Kollaps von Blasen im flüssigen Medium einzigartige Druck- und Temperaturbedingungen hervorruft. Dieser Effekt verbessert den Stoffaustausch und erhöht die turbulente Strömung in der Flüssigkeit, was die chemischen Umwandlungen erleichtert. In unseren Studien hat der Einsatz von Ultraschall zur Herstellung von Verbindungen in kürzerer Reaktionszeit mit hoher Ausbeute und Reinheit geführt. Diese Eigenschaften haben die Zahl der in pharmakologischen Modellen bewerteten Verbindungen erhöht und dazu beigetragen, den Prozess der Hit-to-Lead-Optimierung zu beschleunigen.
Dieser hohe Energieeintrag kann nicht nur mechanische Effekte in heterogenen Prozessen verstärken, sondern auch neue Reaktivitäten hervorrufen, die zur Bildung unerwarteter chemischer Spezies führen. Was die Sonochemie so einzigartig macht, ist das bemerkenswerte Phänomen der Kavitation, das in einem lokal begrenzten Raum der Mikroblasenumgebung außergewöhnliche Effekte durch wechselnde Hoch-/Tiefdruckzyklen, sehr hohe Temperaturunterschiede, hohe Scherkräfte und Flüssigkeitsströmungen erzeugt.

Beispiele für asymmetrische Reaktionen mit Organokatalysatoren sind:

  • Asymmetrische Diels-Alder-Reaktionen
  • Asymmetrische Michael-Reaktionen
  • Asymmetrische Mannich-Reaktionen
  • Shi-Epoxidierung
  • Organokatalytische Transferhydrierung

Informationen anfordern




Beachten Sie unsere Datenschutzerklärung.


Ultrasonic reactors can significantly improve organocatalytic reactions such as the Mannich reaction.

Inline-Ultraschallsystem mit UIP2000hdT (2000W, 20kHz) für sonochemische Reaktionen, z. B. für verbesserte organokatalytische Reaktionen

Die Vorteile von sonochemisch geförderten organokatalytischen Reaktionen

Die Sonikation wird zunehmend in der organischen Synthese und Katalyse eingesetzt, da sonochemische Effekte eine erhebliche Intensivierung chemischer Reaktionen bewirken. Insbesondere im Vergleich zu herkömmlichen Methoden (z. B. Erhitzen, Rühren) ist die Sonochemie effizienter, bequemer und genau kontrollierbar. Sonikation und Sonochemie bieten mehrere wesentliche Vorteile wie höhere Ausbeuten, höhere Reinheit der Verbindungen und Selektivität, kürzere Reaktionszeiten, geringere Kosten sowie die Einfachheit in der Bedienung und Handhabung des sonochemischen Verfahrens. Diese vorteilhaften Faktoren machen ultraschallgestützte chemische Reaktionen nicht nur effizienter und sicherer, sondern auch umweltfreundlicher.
Es hat sich gezeigt, dass zahlreiche organische Reaktionen bei kürzerer Reaktionszeit und/oder unter milderen Bedingungen zu höheren Ausbeuten führen, wenn sie mit Hilfe der Beschallung durchgeführt werden.

Ultraschall ermöglicht einfache Ein-Topf-Reaktionen

Durch Beschallung können Mehrkomponentenreaktionen als Eintopfreaktionen eingeleitet werden, die die Synthese von strukturell vielfältigen Verbindungen ermöglichen. Solche Eintopfreaktionen werden wegen ihrer hohen Gesamteffizienz und ihrer Einfachheit geschätzt, da die Isolierung und Reinigung von Zwischenprodukten nicht erforderlich ist.

Die Auswirkungen von Ultraschallwellen auf asymmetrische organokatalytische Reaktionen wurden erfolgreich bei verschiedenen Reaktionstypen eingesetzt, darunter Phasentransferkatalysen, Heck-Reaktionen, Hydrierungen, Mannich-Reaktionen, Barbier- und Barbier-ähnliche Reaktionen, Diels-Alder-Reaktionen, Suzuki-Kupplungsreaktionen und Micheal-Addition.

Finden Sie den idealen Ultraschallgenerator für Ihre organokatalytische Reaktion!

Hielscher Ultrasonics ist Ihr zuverlässiger Partner, wenn es um leistungsstarke und hochwertige Ultraschallgeräte geht. Hielscher entwickelt, fertigt und vertreibt modernste Ultraschallsonden, Reaktoren und Becherhörner für sonochemische Anwendungen. Alle Geräte werden nach ISO-zertifizierten Verfahren und mit deutscher Präzision in unserem Hauptsitz in Teltow (bei Berlin) hergestellt, um höchste Qualität zu gewährleisten.
Die Palette der Hielscher-Ultraschallgeräte reicht von kompakten Labor-Ultraschallgeräten bis hin zu vollindustriellen Ultraschallreaktoren für die chemische Großproduktion. Sonden (auch Sonotroden, Ultraschallhörner oder Spitzen genannt), Boosterhörner und Reaktoren sind in zahlreichen Größen und Geometrien erhältlich. Auch kundenspezifische Ausführungen können für Ihre Anforderungen gefertigt werden.
Seit Hielscher Ultrasonics‘ Ultraschallprozessoren sind in jeder Größe erhältlich, von kleinen Laborgeräten bis hin zu großen industriellen Prozessoren für Batch- und Durchfluss-Chemieanwendungen, so dass Hochleistungsbeschallung leicht in jeden Reaktionsaufbau integriert werden kann. Präzise Einstellung der Ultraschallamplitude – der wichtigste Parameter für sonochemische Anwendungen – ermöglicht es, Hielscher-Ultraschallgeräte bei niedrigen bis sehr hohen Amplituden zu betreiben und die Amplitude exakt auf die erforderlichen Ultraschall-Prozessbedingungen des jeweiligen chemischen Reaktionssystems abzustimmen.
Die Ultraschall-Generatoren von Hielscher verfügt über eine intelligente Software mit automatischer Datenprotokollierung. Alle wichtigen Verarbeitungsparameter wie Ultraschallenergie, Temperatur, Druck und Zeit werden automatisch auf einer eingebauten SD-Karte gespeichert, sobald das Gerät eingeschaltet wird.
Prozessüberwachung und Datenaufzeichnung sind wichtig für eine kontinuierliche Prozessstandardisierung und Produktqualität. Durch Zugriff auf die automatisch aufgezeichneten Prozessdaten können Sie frühere Beschallungsläufe revidieren und das Ergebnis auswerten.
Ein weiteres benutzerfreundliches Feature ist die Browser-Fernsteuerung unserer digitalen Ultraschallsysteme. Per Browser-Fernsteuerung können Sie Ihren Ultraschallprozessor von überall aus starten, stoppen, einstellen und überwachen.
Nehmen Sie jetzt Kontakt mit uns auf, um mehr darüber zu erfahren, wie unsere Hochleistungs-Ultraschallhomogenisatoren Ihre oragnokatalytische Synthesereaktion verbessern können!

Warum Hielscher Ultrasonics?

  • hoher Wirkungsgrad
  • Modernste Technik
  • Zuverlässigkeit & Robustheit
  • Batch & Inline
  • für jedes Volumen
  • intelligente Software
  • intelligente Funktionen (z.B. Datenprotokollierung)
  • hohe Benutzerfreundlichkeit und Komfort
  • CIP (Clean-in-Place)

In der folgenden Tabelle finden Sie die ungefähre Verarbeitungskapazität unserer Ultraschallsysteme:

Batch-Volumen Durchfluss Empfohlenes Ultraschallgerät
1 bis 500ml 10 bis 200ml/min UP100H
10 bis 2000ml 20 bis 400ml/min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 bis 20l 0,2 bis 4l/min UIP2000hdT
10 bis 100l 2 bis 10l/min UIP4000hdT
n.a. 10 bis 100l/min UIP16000
n.a. größere Cluster aus UIP16000

Kontaktieren Sie uns! / Fragen Sie uns!

Fordern Sie weitere Informationen an!

Bitte verwenden Sie das untenstehende Formular, um zusätzliche Informationen über unsere Ultraschallprozessoren, Anwendungen und Preise anzufordern. Gerne besprechen wir Ihr Verfahren mit Ihnen und bieten Ihnen ein Ihren Anforderungen entsprechendes Ultraschallsystem an!









Bitte beachten Sie unsere Datenschutzerklärung.


Ultrasonic high-shear homogenizers are used in lab, bench-top, pilot and industrial processing.

Hielscher Ultrasonics stellt Hochleistungs-Ultraschallhomogenisatoren für Mischanwendungen, Dispergierung, Emulgierung und Extraktion im Labor-, Pilot- und Industriemaßstab her.



Literatur / Literaturhinweise

Wissenswertes

Was ist Organokatalyse?

Die Organokatalyse ist eine Art der Katalyse, bei der die Geschwindigkeit einer chemischen Reaktion durch den Einsatz eines organischen Katalysators erhöht wird. Dieser Organokatalysator kann aus Kohlenstoff, Wasserstoff, Schwefel und anderen nichtmetallischen Elementen bestehen, die in organischen Verbindungen vorkommen. Die Organokatalyse bietet mehrere Vorteile. Da für organokatalytische Reaktionen keine Katalysatoren auf Metallbasis erforderlich sind, sind sie umweltfreundlicher und tragen somit zur grünen Chemie bei. Organokatalysatoren können oft billig und leicht hergestellt werden und ermöglichen umweltfreundlichere Synthesewege.

Asymmetrische Organokatalyse

Die asymmetrische Organokatalyse ist eine asymmetrische oder enantioselektive Reaktion, bei der nur ein Enantiomer des übergebenen Moleküls entsteht. Enantiomere sind Paare von Stereoisomeren, die chiral sind. Ein chirales Molekül lässt sich nicht mit seinem Spiegelbild überlagern, so dass das Spiegelbild tatsächlich ein anderes Molekül ist. Die Herstellung spezifischer Enantiomere ist beispielsweise bei der Herstellung von Arzneimitteln besonders wichtig, da oft nur ein Enantiomer eines Arzneimittelmoleküls eine bestimmte positive Wirkung hat, während das andere Enantiomer keine Wirkung zeigt oder sogar schädlich ist.


High performance ultrasonics! Hielscher's product range covers the full spectrum from the compact lab ultrasonicator over bench-top units to full-industrial ultrasonic systems.

Hielscher Ultrasonics fertigt Hochleistungs-Ultraschall-Homogenisatoren vom Labor bis zum voll-kommerziellen Industriemaßstab.

Organocatalytic Reactions Promoted by Sonication

In organic chemistry, organocatalysis is a form of catalysis in which the rate of a chemical reaction is increased by an organic catalyst. This “organocatalyst” consists of carbon, hydrogen, sulfur and other nonmetal elements found in organic compounds. The application of high-power ultrasound to chemical systems is known as sonochemistry and a well established technique to increase yields, improve reaction rates and to accelerate reaction speed. Under sonication, it becomes often possible to switch chemical pathways avoiding unwanted by-products. Sonochemistry can promote organocatalytic reactions making them more efficient and environmental-friendly.

Asymmetric Organocatalysis – Improved by Sonication

Sonochemistry, the application of high-performance ultrasound into chemical systems, can improve organocatalytic reactions significantly. Asymmetric organocatalysis combined with ultrasonication often allows to transform organocatalysis to an environmental-friendlier route, thereby falling under the terminology of green chemistry. Sonication accelerates (asymmetric) organocatlytic reaction and lead to higher yields, faster conversion rates, easier product isolation/purification, and improved selectivity and reactivity. Beside contributing to the improvement of the reaction kinetics and yield, ultrasonication can be often combined with sustainable reaction solvents, such as ionic liquids, deep eutectic solvents, mild, non-toxic solvents, and water. Thereby, sonochemistry not only improves the (asymmetric) organocatlytic reaction itself, but also assists the sustainability of organocatalytic reactions.

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


Ultrasonic probe for sonochemical initiation and acceleration of organocatalytic reaction with higher yields

Ultrasonication promotes organocatalytic reactions resulting in improved conversion rates, higher yields and selectivity.

Research has shown manifold examples for sonochemically intensified oragnocatalytic reactions. For instance, double stranded DNA molecules as a chiral scaffold are used in order to assemble metal-biomacromolecule hybrid catalysts for asymmetric synthesis reactions. G-quadruplex DNA-based catalysts have been applied in asymmetric Michael addition, Diels-Alder and Friedel-Crafts reactions. (cf. Zhao and Shen, 2018)
For inidium-promoted reaction, sonication shows beneficial effects since the sonochemically driven reaction runs under milder conditions, thereby preserving high levels of diasteroselection. Using the sonochemical route, good results on the organocatalytic synthesis of β-lactam carbohydrates, β-amino acid and spirodiketopiperazines from sugar lactones as well as allylation and Reformatsky reactions on oxime ethers were achieved.

Ultrasonically Promoted Organocatalytic Drug Synthesis

Rogozińska-Szymczak and Mlynarski (2014) report the asymmetric Michael addition of 4-hydroxycoumarin to α,β-unsaturated ketones on water without organic co-solvents – catalysed by organic primary amines and sonication. The application of enantiomerically pure (S,S)-diphenylethylenediamine affords a series of important pharmaceutically active compounds in good to excellent yields (73–98%) and with good enantioselectivities (up to 76% ee) via reactions accelerated by ultrasound. The researchers present an efficient sonochemical protocol for the ‘solids on water’ formation of the anticoagulant warfarin in both enantiomeric forms. This environmentally friendly organocatalytic reaction is not only scalable, but also yields the target drug molecule in enantiomerically pure form.

Ultrasonically promoted asymmetric Michael addition of 4-hydroxycoumarin to α,β-unsaturated ketones

Sonication promotes the asymmetric Michael addition of 4-hydroxycoumarin to α,β-unsaturated ketones on water without organic co-solvents.
Picture and study: ©Rogozińska-Szymczak and Mlynarski; 2014.

Sonochemical Epoxidation of Terpenes

Charbonneau et al. (2018) demostrated the successful epoxidation of terpenes under sonication. The conventional epoxidation requires the use of a catalyst, but with sonication the epoxidation runs as catalyst-free reaction.
Limonene dioxide is a key intermediate molecule for the development of biobased polycarbonates or nonisocyanate polyurethanes. Sonication allows the catalyst free epoxidation of terpenes within a very short reaction time – at the same time giving very good yields. In order to demonstrate the effectivenes of ultrasonic epoxidation, the research team compared the epoxidation of limonene to limonene dioxide using in-situ-generated dimethyl dioxirane as the oxidizing agent under both conventional agitation and ultrasonication. For all sonication trials the Hielscher UP50H (50W, 30kHz) lab ultrasonicator was used.

Terpene epoxidation is significantly faster and highly efficient when sonication is applied. Using ultrasound enables to runthe epoxidation reaction of terpenes as catalyst-free reaction.

Highly efficient sonochemical epoxidation of terpenes (e.g., limonene dioxide, α-pinene oxide, β-pinene oxide, triepoxide etc.) with the ultrasonicator UP50H
picture and study: © Charbonneau et al., 2018

The time required to completely convert limonene to limonene dioxide with 100% yield under sonication was only 4.5 min at room temperature. In comparison, when conventional agitation using a magnetic stirrer is used, the required time to reach a 97% yield of limonene dioxide was 1.5 h. The epoxidation of α-pinene has also been studied using both agitation techniques. Epoxidation of α-pinene to α-pinene oxide under sonication required only 4 min with an obtained yield of 100%, while in comparison with the conventional method the reaction time was 60 min. As for other terpenes, β-pinene was converted to β-pinene oxide in only 4 min whereas farnesol yielded 100% of the triepoxide in 8 min. Carveol, a limonene derivative, was converted to carveol dioxide with a yield of 98%. In the epoxidation reaction of carvone using dimethyl dioxirane the conversion was 100% in 5 min producing 7,8-carvone oxide.
The main advantages of the sonochemical terpene epoxidation are the environmental-friendly nature of the oxidizing agent (green chemistry) as well as the significantly reduced reaction time performing this oxidation under ultrasonic agitation. This epoxidation method allowed reaching 100% conversion of limonene with a 100% yield of limonene dioxide in only 4.5 min compared to 90 min when traditional agitation is used. Furthermore, no oxidation products of limonene, such as carvone, carveol, and perrilyl alcohol, were found in the reaction medium. The epoxidation of α-pinene under ultrasound required only 4 min, yielding 100% of α-pinene oxide without oxidation of the ring. Other terpenes such as β-pinene, farnesol, and carveol have also been oxidized, leading to very high epoxide yields.

Ultrasonically stirred reactor for sonochemical applications including organocatalysis, asymmetric reactions and many other.

Ultrasonically agitated reactor with the ultrasonicator UP200St for intensified organocatalytic reactions.

Sonochemical Effects

Acoustic cavitation as shown here at the Hielscher ultrasonicator UIP1500hdT is used to initiate and promote chemical reactions. Ultrasonic cavitation at Hielscher's UIP1500hdT (1500W) ultrasonicator for sonochemical reactions.As an alternative to classical methods, sonochemical-based protocols have been used to increase the rates of a wide variety of reactions, resulting in products generated under milder conditions with a significant reduction in reaction times. These methods have been described as more environmentally friendly and sustainable and are associated with greater selectivity and lower energy consumption for the desired transformations. The mechanism of such methods is based on the phenomenon of acoustic cavitation, which induces unique conditions of pressure and temperature through the formation, growth, and adiabatic collapse of bubbles in the liquid medium. This effect improves mass transfer and increases turbulent flow in the liquid, facilitating the chemical transformations. In our studies, the use of ultrasound has led to the production of compounds in reduced reaction times with high yields and purity. Such characteristics have increased the number of compounds evaluated in pharmacological models, contributing to accelerating the hit to lead optimization process.
Not only can this high-energy input enhance mechanical effects in heterogeneous processes, but it is also known to induce new reactivities leading to the formation of unexpected chemical species. What makes sonochemistry unique is the remarkable phenomenon of cavitation, which generates in a locally confined space of the micro-bubble environment extraordinary effects due to alternating high-pressure / low-pressure cycles, very high temperature differentials, high-shear forces, and liquid streaming.

Examples of asymmetric reactions involving organocatalysts are:

  • Asymmetric Diels-Alder reactions
  • Asymmetric Michael reactions
  • Asymmetric Mannich reactions
  • Shi epoxidation
  • Organocatalytic transfer hydrogenation

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


Ultrasonic reactors can significantly improve organocatalytic reactions such as the Mannich reaction.

Ultrasonic inline system with UIP2000hdT (2000W, 20kHz) for sonochemical reactions, e.g. for improved organocatalytic reactions

The Advantages of Sonochemically Promoted Organocatalytic Reactions

Sonication is increasingly used in organic synthesis and catalysis since sonochemical effects show a substantial intensification of chemical reactions. Especially when compared with traditional methods (e.g., heating, stirring), sonochemistry is more efficient, convenient, and precisely controllable. Sonication and sonochemistry offer several major advantages such as higher yields, increased purity of the compounds and selectivity, shorter reaction times, lower costs, as well as the simplicity in operating and handling the sonochemical procedure. These beneficial factors make ultrasonically-assisted chemical reactions not only more efficacious and saver, but also environmental-friendlier.
Numerous organic reactions have been proven to give higher yields in shorter reaction time and / or under milder conditions when performed using sonication.

Ultrasonication Allows for Simple One-Pot Reactions

Sonication allows to initiate multicomponent reactions as one-pot reactions that provide the synthesis of structurally diverse compounds. Such one-pot reactions are valued for a high overall efficiency and their simplicity since isolation and purification of intermediates is not required.

The effects of ultrasound waves on asymmetric organocatalytic reactions have been successfully applied in various reaction types including phase transfer catalyses, Heck reactions, hydrogenation, Mannich reactions, Barbier and Barbier-like reactions, Diels-Alder reactions, Suzuki coupling reaction, and Micheal addition.

Find the Ideal Ultrasonicator for Your Organocatalytic Reaction!

Hielscher Ultrasonics is your trusted partner when it comes to high-performance, high-quality ultrasonic equipment. Hielscher designs, manufactures and distributes state-of-the-art ultrasonic probes, reactors and cup-horns for sonochemical applications. All equipment is manufactured under ISO certified procedures and with German precision for superior quality in our headquarter in Teltow (near Berlin), Germany.
The portfolio of Hielscher ultrasonicators ranges from compact lab ultrasonicators to fully industrial ultrasonic reactors for large scale chemical manufacturing. Probes (also known as sonotrodes, ultrasonic horns or tips), booster horns, and reactors are readily available in numerous sizes and geometries. Customized versions can be manufactured for your requirements, too.
Since Hielscher Ultrasonics’ ultrasonic processors are available at any size from small lab devices to large industrial processors for batch and flow chemistry applications, high-performance sonication can be easily implemented into any reaction setup. Precise adjustment of the ultrasonic amplitude – the most important parameter for sonochemical applications – allows to operate Hielscher ultrasonicators at low to very high amplitudes and to fine-tune the amplitude exactly to the required ultrasonic process conditions of the specific chemical reaction system.
Hielscher’s ultrasonic generator feature a smart software with automatic data protocolling. All important processing parameters such as ultrasonic energy, temperature, pressure and time are automatically stored onto a built-in SD-card as soon as the device is switched on.
Process monitoring and data recording are important for continuous process standardization and product quality. By accessing the automatically recorded process data, you can revise previous sonication runs and evaluate the outcome.
Another user-friendly feature is the browser remote control of our digital ultrasonic systems. Via remote browser control you can start, stop, adjust and monitor your ultrasonic processor remotely from anywhere.
Contact us now to learn more about our high-performance ultrasonic homogenizers can improve your oragnocatalytic synthesis reaction!

Why Hielscher Ultrasonics?

  • high efficiency
  • state-of-the-art technology
  • reliability & robustness
  • batch & inline
  • for any volume
  • intelligent software
  • smart features (e.g., data protocolling)
  • high user-friendliness and comfort
  • CIP (clean-in-place)

The table below gives you an indication of the approximate processing capacity of our ultrasonicators:

Batch Volume Flow Rate Recommended Devices
1 to 500mL 10 to 200mL/min UP100H
10 to 2000mL 20 to 400mL/min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 to 20L 0.2 to 4L/min UIP2000hdT
10 to 100L 2 to 10L/min UIP4000hdT
n.a. 10 to 100L/min UIP16000
n.a. larger cluster of UIP16000

Contact Us! / Ask Us!

Ask for more information

Please use the form below to request additional information about ultrasonic processors, applications and price. We will be glad to discuss your process with you and to offer you an ultrasonic system meeting your requirements!









Please note our privacy policy.


Ultrasonic high-shear homogenizers are used in lab, bench-top, pilot and industrial processing.

Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonic homogenizers for mixing applications, dispersion, emulsification and extraction on lab, pilot and industrial scale.



Literature / References

Facts Worth Knowing

What is Organocatalysis?

Organocatalysis is a type of catalysis in which the rate of a chemical reaction is increased by the use of an organic catalyst. This organocatalyst can consist of carbon, hydrogen, sulfur and other nonmetal elements found in organic compounds. Organocatalysis offers several advantages. Since organocatalytic reactions do not require metal-based catalysts, they are environmental-friendlier and contribute thereby to green chemistry. Organocatalysts can be often cheaply and easily produced, and allow for greener synthetic routes.

Asymmetric Organocatalysis

Asymmetric organocatalysis is the asymmetric or enantioselective reaction, which produces only enantiomer of handed molecules. Enantiomers are pairs of stereoisomers that are chiral. A chiral molecule is non-superimposable on its mirror image, so that the mirror image is actually a different molecule. For instance, the production of specific enantiomers is particularly important in the production of pharmaceuticals, where often only one enantiomer of a drug molecule offers a certain positive effect, whereas the other enantiomer shows no effect or is even harmful.


High performance ultrasonics! Hielscher's product range covers the full spectrum from the compact lab ultrasonicator over bench-top units to full-industrial ultrasonic systems.

Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonic homogenizers from lab to industrial size.