ردود الفعل العضوية التي تروج لها سونيكيشن

في الكيمياء العضوية ، يعد الحفز العضوي شكلا من أشكال الحفز الذي يتم فيه زيادة معدل التفاعل الكيميائي عن طريق محفز عضوي. هذا “أورجانوكاتاlyست” يتكون من الكربون والهيدروجين والكبريت وغيرها من العناصر غير المعدنية الموجودة في المركبات العضوية. ومن المعروف أن تطبيق الموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الطاقة على النظم الكيميائية باسم سونوتشيميستري وتقنية راسخة لزيادة الغلة، وتحسين معدلات التفاعل وتسريع سرعة رد الفعل. تحت sonication ، يصبح من الممكن في كثير من الأحيان تبديل المسارات الكيميائية تجنب المنتجات الثانوية غير المرغوب فيها. يمكن أن يعزز علم السونوتشيميستري ردود الفعل العضوية مما يجعلها أكثر كفاءة وصديقة للبيئة.

غسيل الجهاز غير المتماثل – تحسنت عن طريق سونيكيشن

سونوتشيميستري، تطبيق الموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الأداء في النظم الكيميائية، يمكن أن تحسن ردود الفعل العضوية بشكل كبير. الحفز العضوي غير المتماثل جنبا إلى جنب مع ultrasonication غالبا ما يسمح لتحويل الحفز العضوي إلى طريق صديقة للبيئة، وبالتالي تقع تحت مصطلحات الكيمياء الخضراء. سونيكيشن يسرع (غير المتماثلة) رد فعل الحفز العضوي ويؤدي إلى غلة أعلى، ومعدلات تحويل أسرع، أسهل عزل المنتج / تنقية، وتحسين الانتقائية والتفاعل. إلى جانب المساهمة في تحسين حركة التفاعل والعائد ، يمكن الجمع بين ultrasonication في كثير من الأحيان مع مذيبات التفاعل المستدامة ، مثل السوائل الأيونية ، والمذيبات eutectic العميقة ، والمذيبات الخفيفة وغير السامة ، والماء. وبالتالي ، فإن السونوتشيميستريا لا يحسن رد الفعل العضوي (غير المتماثل) نفسه فحسب ، بل يساعد أيضا على استدامة ردود الفعل العضوية.

طلب معلومات





Ultrasonic probe for sonochemical initiation and acceleration of organocatalytic reaction with higher yields

Ultrasonication يعزز ردود الفعل organocatalytic مما أدى إلى تحسين معدلات التحويل، وارتفاع الغلة والانتقائية.

وقد أظهرت الأبحاث أمثلة متعددة لردود الفعل الأوراجنوكاتية المكثفة كيميائيا. على سبيل المثال، يتم استخدام جزيئات الحمض النووي المزدوجة التي تقطعت بها السبل سقالة chiral من أجل تجميع المحفزات الهجينة المعدنية والكتلة الحيوية لتفاعلات التوليف غير المتماثلة. وقد تم تطبيق المحفزات المستندة إلى الحمض النووي G-quadruplex في ردود فعل مايكل غير المتماثلة بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، Diels-Alder و Friedel-Crafts. (راجع تشاو و شن، 2018)
لرد الفعل التي تروج لها inidium، سونيكيشن يظهر آثار مفيدة منذ رد فعل سونوتشيمالي يحركها يعمل في ظل ظروف أكثر اعتدالا، وبالتالي الحفاظ على مستويات عالية من دياستيروselection. باستخدام الطريق سونوتشيميكال، تحققت نتائج جيدة على توليف العضوية من الكربوهيدرات β-اللاكتام، β الأمينية وspirodiketopiperazines من ورنيش السكر، فضلا عن الليلة وتفاعلات إعادة صياغة على الأثيرات أوكسيمي.

Ultrasonically ترقية تخليق المخدرات Organocatalytic

روجوزينسكا-شيمزاك و Mlynarski (2014) تقرير مايكل غير المتماثلة إضافة 4-هيدروكسيكومارين إلى α,β غير المشبعة الكيتونات على الماء دون المذيبات العضوية المشتركة – حفزت من قبل الأمينات الأولية العضوية وسونيكيشن. تطبيق نقية enantiomerically (S,S)-ديفينيل إيثيلينديامين يتيح سلسلة من المركبات النشطة الصيدلانية الهامة في غلة جيدة إلى ممتازة (73-98٪) ومع enantioselectivities جيدة (تصل إلى 76٪ ee) عن طريق ردود الفعل المتسارعة عن طريق الموجات فوق الصوتية. يقدم الباحثون بروتوكولا كيميائيا سونوكيميا فعالا لتشكيل "المواد الصلبة على الماء" للوارفارين المضاد للتخثر في كلا الشكلين الإنانتيومي. هذا التفاعل العضوي الصديق للبيئة ليس قابلا للتطوير فحسب ، بل ينتج أيضا جزيء الدواء المستهدف في شكل نقي بشكل غير نمطي.

Ultrasonically promoted asymmetric Michael addition of 4-hydroxycoumarin to α,β-unsaturated ketones

Sonication يعزز إضافة مايكل غير المتماثلة من 4 هيدروكسيكومارين إلى α β غير المشبعة الكيتونات على الماء دون المذيبات العضوية المشتركة.
الصورة والدراسة: ©روجوزينسكا- شيمزاك و Mlynarski; 2014.

سونوكيمياء إيبوكسيديشن تيربينس

Charbonneau وآخرون (2018) خفضت epoxidation ناجحة من terpenes تحت sonication. يتطلب epoxidation التقليدية استخدام محفز ، ولكن مع sonication يعمل epoxidation كرد فعل خال من المحفز.
ثاني أكسيد الليمونين هو جزيء وسيط رئيسي لتطوير البولي القائم على أساس بيولوجي أو البولي يوريثينات غير السيزوسية. Sonication يسمح محفز epoxidation الحرة من terpenes في غضون وقت رد فعل قصير جدا – في الوقت نفسه إعطاء غلة جيدة جدا. من أجل إظهار فعالية epoxidation بالموجات فوق الصوتية ، قارن فريق البحث إبسوكسيديون ليمونين بثاني أكسيد الليمونين باستخدام ثنائي ميثيل ديوكسيران في الموقع كعامل مؤأكسد تحت كل من الانفعالات التقليدية والموجات فوق الصوتية. لجميع التجارب سونيكيشن Hielscher UP50H (50W، 30kHz) مختبر ultrasonicator كان مستعملا.

Terpene epoxidation is significantly faster and highly efficient when sonication is applied. Using ultrasound enables to runthe epoxidation reaction of terpenes as catalyst-free reaction.

epoxidation سونوتشيميكال عالية الكفاءة من تيربينس (على سبيل المثال، ثاني أكسيد الليمونين، أكسيد الصنوبر α، أكسيد β الصنوبر، ثلاثي أكسيد الخ) مع UP50H ultrasonicator
الصورة والدراسة: © شاربونو وآخرون، 2018

الوقت اللازم لتحويل ليمونين تماما إلى ثاني أكسيد الليمونين مع 100٪ العائد تحت sonication كان فقط 4.5 دقيقة في درجة حرارة الغرفة. وبالمقارنة، عندما يتم استخدام التحريض التقليدي باستخدام الستيرر المغناطيسي، كان الوقت المطلوب للوصول إلى 97٪ من ثاني أكسيد الليمونين 1.5 ساعة. كما تمت دراسة أكسدة α الصنوبر باستخدام كل من تقنيات التحريض. Epoxidation من α الصنوبر إلى أكسيد α الصنوبر تحت sonication المطلوبة فقط 4 دقيقة مع العائد التي تم الحصول عليها من 100٪، في حين بالمقارنة مع الطريقة التقليدية كان وقت رد الفعل 60 دقيقة. أما بالنسبة لterpenes أخرى، تم تحويل β-الصنوبر إلى أكسيد β الصنوبر في 4 دقائق فقط في حين أن farnesol أسفرت عن 100٪ من ثلاثي أكسيد في 8 دقائق. تم تحويل كارفول، وهو مشتق ليمونين، إلى ثاني أكسيد كارفول بعائد 98٪. في رد فعل epoxidation كارفون باستخدام ثنائي ميثيل ديوكسيران كان التحويل 100٪ في 5 دقائق إنتاج أكسيد كارفون 7,8.
المزايا الرئيسية للeoxidation terpene سونوتشيميكال هي طبيعة صديقة للبيئة من عامل المؤاتدة (الكيمياء الخضراء) ، فضلا عن انخفاض كبير في وقت رد الفعل أداء هذا الأكسدة تحت الهياج بالموجات فوق الصوتية. سمحت طريقة الأكسدة هذه بالوصول إلى تحويل 100٪ من الليمونين مع عائد 100٪ من ثاني أكسيد الليمونين في 4.5 دقيقة فقط مقارنة ب 90 دقيقة عند استخدام التحريض التقليدي. وعلاوة على ذلك، لم يتم العثور على منتجات الأكسدة من الليمونين، مثل كارفون، كارفول، والكحول بيريليل، في وسط رد الفعل. تطلب تأكسد α الصنوبر تحت الموجات فوق الصوتية 4 دقائق فقط ، مما أسفر عن 100٪ من أكسيد α الصنوبر دون أكسدة الحلقة. كما تم أكسدة تيربينات أخرى مثل β الصنوبر والفارنيسول والكارفول، مما أدى إلى غلة عالية جدا من الإكسيد.

Ultrasonically stirred reactor for sonochemical applications including organocatalysis, asymmetric reactions and many other.

مفاعل مهتاج بالموجات فوق الصوتية مع بالموجات فوق الصوتية UP200St لتكثيف ردود الفعل العضوية.

آثار sonochemical

Acoustic cavitation as shown here at the Hielscher ultrasonicator UIP1500hdT is used to initiate and promote chemical reactions. Ultrasonic cavitation at Hielscher's UIP1500hdT (1500W) ultrasonicator for sonochemical reactions.كبديل للطرق الكلاسيكية، تم استخدام بروتوكولات السونوكيميائية لزيادة معدلات مجموعة واسعة من ردود الفعل، مما أدى إلى المنتجات التي تم إنشاؤها في ظل ظروف أكثر اعتدالا مع انخفاض كبير في أوقات التفاعل. وقد وصفت هذه الأساليب بأنها أكثر ملاءمة للبيئة واستدامة وترتبط بمزيد من الانتقائية وانخفاض استهلاك الطاقة للتحولات المرجوة. وتستند آلية هذه الأساليب على ظاهرة التجويف الصوتي ، مما يؤدي إلى ظروف فريدة من الضغط ودرجة الحرارة من خلال تشكيل ونمو وانهيار الفقاعات في الوسط السائل. هذا التأثير يحسن نقل الكتلة ويزيد من التدفق المضطرب في السائل ، مما يسهل التحولات الكيميائية. في دراساتنا، أدى استخدام الموجات فوق الصوتية إلى إنتاج مركبات في أوقات رد الفعل المنخفضة مع غلة عالية والنقاء. وقد زادت هذه الخصائص من عدد المركبات التي تم تقييمها في النماذج الدوائية ، مما ساهم في تسريع عملية التحسين الرائدة.
ليس فقط يمكن لهذا المدخلات عالية الطاقة تعزيز الآثار الميكانيكية في العمليات غير المتجانسة، ولكن من المعروف أيضا أن تحفز ردود فعل جديدة تؤدي إلى تشكيل الأنواع الكيميائية غير متوقعة. ما يجعل سونوتشيميستري فريدة من نوعها هو ظاهرة رائعة من التجويف، الذي يولد في مساحة محدودة محليا من البيئة فقاعة صغيرة آثار غير عادية بسبب تناوب دورات الضغط العالي / الضغط المنخفض، والفروق في درجة الحرارة العالية جدا، والقوى عالية القص، وتدفق السائل.

أمثلة على ردود الفعل غير المتماثلة التي تنطوي على الأجهزة العضوية هي:

  • ردود فعل ديلز ألدر غير المتماثلة
  • ردود فعل مايكل غير المتماثلة
  • ردود فعل مانيش غير المتماثلة
  • شي ابوكسيديشن
  • الهدرجة نقل الجهازية

طلب معلومات





Ultrasonic reactors can significantly improve organocatalytic reactions such as the Mannich reaction.

نظام الموجات فوق الصوتية المضمنة مع UIP2000hdT (2000W، 20KHZ) للتفاعلات السونوكيميائية، على سبيل المثال لتحسين ردود الفعل العضوية

مزايا التفاعلات العضوية النافوكيميائية

سونيكيشن يستخدم على نحو متزايد في التوليف العضوي والحفز منذ الآثار سونوتشيميكال تظهر تكثيف كبير من التفاعلات الكيميائية. خاصة عند مقارنتها بالطرق التقليدية (مثل التدفئة والتحريك) ، فإن قياس السونوتشيميستري أكثر كفاءة وملاءمة ويمكن التحكم فيه بدقة. سونيكيشن وsonochemistry تقدم العديد من المزايا الرئيسية مثل غلة أعلى، وزيادة نقاء المركبات والانتقائية، وأوقات رد فعل أقصر، وانخفاض التكاليف، فضلا عن البساطة في تشغيل والتعامل مع الإجراء سونوتشيميكال. هذه العوامل المفيدة تجعل التفاعلات الكيميائية بمساعدة ultrasonically ليس فقط أكثر فعالية والمدخر، ولكن أيضا صديقة للبيئة.
وقد ثبت العديد من ردود الفعل العضوية لإعطاء غلة أعلى في وقت أقصر رد فعل و / أو في ظل ظروف أكثر اعتدالا عند تنفيذها باستخدام سونيكيشن.

Ultrasonication يسمح لردود فعل بسيطة وعاء واحد

Sonication يسمح لبدء ردود الفعل متعددة المكونات وردود الفعل وعاء واحد التي توفر توليف المركبات المتنوعة هيكليا. وتقدر هذه ردود الفعل وعاء واحد لكفاءة عالية عموما وبساطتها منذ العزلة وتنقية وسيطة ليست مطلوبة.

وقد تم تطبيق آثار موجات الموجات فوق الصوتية على ردود الفعل العضوية غير المتماثلة بنجاح في أنواع مختلفة من ردود الفعل بما في ذلك تحفيز نقل المرحلة، ردود الفعل هيك، الهدرجة، ردود فعل Mannich، باربييه وباربييه مثل ردود الفعل، ردود فعل ديلز ألدر، سوزوكي اقتران رد الفعل، وإضافة Micheal.

العثور على Ultrasonicator المثالي لرد فعل Organocatalytic الخاص بك!

Hielscher Ultrasonics هو شريكك الموثوق به عندما يتعلق الأمر بمعدات الموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الأداء وعالية الجودة. Hielscher تصاميم وتصنيع وتوزيع أحدث المسابير بالموجات فوق الصوتية والمفاعلات وقرون كوب للتطبيقات سونوتشيميكال. يتم تصنيع جميع المعدات بموجب إجراءات معتمدة من ISO وبدقة ألمانية للحصول على جودة فائقة في مقرنا الرئيسي في Teltow (بالقرب من برلين) ، ألمانيا.
مجموعة Hielscher ultrasonicators يتراوح من ultrasonicators مختبر المدمجة لمفاعلات الموجات فوق الصوتية الصناعية بالكامل لتصنيع المواد الكيميائية على نطاق واسع. المسابير (المعروف أيضا باسم سونوتروديس، قرون الموجات فوق الصوتية أو نصائح)، وقرون الداعم، والمفاعلات متاحة بسهولة في العديد من الأحجام والهندسات. يمكن تصنيع إصدارات مخصصة لمتطلباتك أيضا.
منذ Hielscher الفوق صوتيات’ المعالجات بالموجات فوق الصوتية متوفرة في أي حجم من أجهزة مختبر صغير لمعالجات صناعية كبيرة للدفعة وتدفق تطبيقات الكيمياء، سونيكيشن عالية الأداء يمكن تنفيذها بسهولة في أي إعداد رد فعل. ضبط دقيق للسعة بالموجات فوق الصوتية – المعلمة الأكثر أهمية للتطبيقات سونوتشيميكال – يسمح لتشغيل Hielscher ultrasonicators في السعة منخفضة إلى عالية جدا وصقل السعة بالضبط لظروف عملية الموجات فوق الصوتية المطلوبة من نظام التفاعل الكيميائي محددة.
مولد Hielscher بالموجات فوق الصوتية ميزة برنامج ذكي مع بروتوكول البيانات التلقائي. يتم تخزين جميع معلمات المعالجة الهامة مثل الطاقة بالموجات فوق الصوتية ودرجة الحرارة والضغط والوقت تلقائيا على بطاقة SD مدمجة بمجرد تشغيل الجهاز.
إن مراقبة العملية وتسجيل البيانات أمران مهمان للتوحيد المستمر للعمليات وجودة المنتج. من خلال الوصول إلى بيانات العملية المسجلة تلقائيًا ، يمكنك مراجعة عمليات sonication السابقة وتقييم النتيجة.
ميزة أخرى سهلة الاستخدام هي جهاز التحكم عن بعد المتصفح من أنظمة الموجات فوق الصوتية الرقمية لدينا. عن طريق التحكم في المتصفح البعيد يمكنك بدء وإيقاف وضبط ومراقبة المعالج بالموجات فوق الصوتية عن بعد من أي مكان.
اتصل بنا الآن لمعرفة المزيد عن لدينا عالية الأداء التجانس بالموجات فوق الصوتية يمكن أن تحسن رد فعلك التوليف oragnocatalytic!

لماذا HIELSCHER الموجات فوق الصوتية؟

  • كفاءة عالية
  • أحدث التقنيات
  • الموثوقية & متانة
  • دفعة & في النسق
  • لأي وحدة تخزين
  • برنامج ذكي
  • الميزات الذكية (مثل بروتوكول البيانات)
  • سهولة عالية في الاستخدام وراحة
  • CIP (نظيفة في المكان)

الجدول أدناه يعطيك مؤشرا على قدرة المعالجة التقريبية لultrasonicators لدينا:

دفعة حجم معدل المد و الجزر الأجهزة الموصى بها
1 إلى 500ML 10 إلى 200ML / دقيقة UP100H
10 إلى 2000ML 20 إلى 400ML / دقيقة Uf200 ः ر، UP400St
00.1 إلى 20L 00.2 إلى 4L / دقيقة UIP2000hdT
10 إلى 100L 2 إلى 10L / دقيقة UIP4000hdT
زمالة المدمنين المجهولين 10 إلى 100L / دقيقة UIP16000
زمالة المدمنين المجهولين أكبر مجموعة من UIP16000

اتصل بنا! / اسألنا!

اطلب المزيد من المعلومات

يرجى استخدام النموذج أدناه لطلب معلومات إضافية حول المعالجات بالموجات فوق الصوتية والتطبيقات والسعر. سنكون سعداء لمناقشة العملية الخاصة بك معك ونقدم لكم نظام الموجات فوق الصوتية تلبية الاحتياجات الخاصة بك!









يرجى ملاحظة لدينا سياسة الخصوصية.


Ultrasonic high-shear homogenizers are used in lab, bench-top, pilot and industrial processing.

Hielscher الفوق صوتيات بتصنيع عالية الأداء المجانسة بالموجات فوق الصوتية لخلط التطبيقات، تشتت، استحلاب واستخراج على المختبر، والطيارية ومقياس الصناعية.



الأدب / المراجع

حقائق تستحق العلم

ما هو الحفز العضوي؟

الحفز العضوي هو نوع من الحفز الذي يتم فيه زيادة معدل التفاعل الكيميائي باستخدام محفز عضوي. يمكن أن يتكون هذا الجهاز العضوي من الكربون والهيدروجين والكبريت وغيرها من العناصر غير المعدنية الموجودة في المركبات العضوية. يوفر الحفز العضوي العديد من المزايا. وبما أن التفاعلات العضوية لا تتطلب محفزات قائمة على المعادن، فهي أكثر ملاءمة للبيئة وتساهم بذلك في الكيمياء الخضراء. يمكن في كثير من الأحيان أن تنتج الأورغنوكاتا ليسانس رخيصة وسهلة، والسماح لطرق الاصطناعية أكثر اخضرارا.

غسيل الجهاز غير المتماثل

الحفز العضوي غير المتماثل هو رد الفعل غير المتماثل أو enantioselective ، الذي ينتج فقط enantiomer من الجزيئات اليد. Enantiomers هي أزواج من الستيريوسومرات التي هي chiral. جزيء chiral غير قابل للتراكب على صورة المرآة ، بحيث تكون صورة المرآة في الواقع جزيء مختلف. فعلى سبيل المثال، يكون لإنتاج أيانات محددة أهمية خاصة في إنتاج المستحضرات الصيدلانية، حيث لا يقدم في كثير من الأحيان سوى واحد من إيناتومير جزيء الدواء تأثيرا إيجابيا معينا، في حين أن الانتيومير الآخر لا يظهر أي تأثير أو حتى ضار.


High performance ultrasonics! Hielscher's product range covers the full spectrum from the compact lab ultrasonicator over bench-top units to full-industrial ultrasonic systems.

Hielscher الفوق صوتيات بتصنيع عالية الأداء المجانسة بالموجات فوق الصوتية من مختبر إلى حجم الصناعية.

Organocatalytic Reactions Promoted by Sonication

In organic chemistry, organocatalysis is a form of catalysis in which the rate of a chemical reaction is increased by an organic catalyst. This “organocatalyst” consists of carbon, hydrogen, sulfur and other nonmetal elements found in organic compounds. The application of high-power ultrasound to chemical systems is known as sonochemistry and a well established technique to increase yields, improve reaction rates and to accelerate reaction speed. Under sonication, it becomes often possible to switch chemical pathways avoiding unwanted by-products. Sonochemistry can promote organocatalytic reactions making them more efficient and environmental-friendly.

Asymmetric Organocatalysis – Improved by Sonication

Sonochemistry, the application of high-performance ultrasound into chemical systems, can improve organocatalytic reactions significantly. Asymmetric organocatalysis combined with ultrasonication often allows to transform organocatalysis to an environmental-friendlier route, thereby falling under the terminology of green chemistry. Sonication accelerates (asymmetric) organocatlytic reaction and lead to higher yields, faster conversion rates, easier product isolation/purification, and improved selectivity and reactivity. Beside contributing to the improvement of the reaction kinetics and yield, ultrasonication can be often combined with sustainable reaction solvents, such as ionic liquids, deep eutectic solvents, mild, non-toxic solvents, and water. Thereby, sonochemistry not only improves the (asymmetric) organocatlytic reaction itself, but also assists the sustainability of organocatalytic reactions.

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


Ultrasonic probe for sonochemical initiation and acceleration of organocatalytic reaction with higher yields

Ultrasonication promotes organocatalytic reactions resulting in improved conversion rates, higher yields and selectivity.

Research has shown manifold examples for sonochemically intensified oragnocatalytic reactions. For instance, double stranded DNA molecules as a chiral scaffold are used in order to assemble metal-biomacromolecule hybrid catalysts for asymmetric synthesis reactions. G-quadruplex DNA-based catalysts have been applied in asymmetric Michael addition, Diels-Alder and Friedel-Crafts reactions. (cf. Zhao and Shen, 2018)
For inidium-promoted reaction, sonication shows beneficial effects since the sonochemically driven reaction runs under milder conditions, thereby preserving high levels of diasteroselection. Using the sonochemical route, good results on the organocatalytic synthesis of β-lactam carbohydrates, β-amino acid and spirodiketopiperazines from sugar lactones as well as allylation and Reformatsky reactions on oxime ethers were achieved.

Ultrasonically Promoted Organocatalytic Drug Synthesis

Rogozińska-Szymczak and Mlynarski (2014) report the asymmetric Michael addition of 4-hydroxycoumarin to α,β-unsaturated ketones on water without organic co-solvents – catalysed by organic primary amines and sonication. The application of enantiomerically pure (S,S)-diphenylethylenediamine affords a series of important pharmaceutically active compounds in good to excellent yields (73–98%) and with good enantioselectivities (up to 76% ee) via reactions accelerated by ultrasound. The researchers present an efficient sonochemical protocol for the ‘solids on water’ formation of the anticoagulant warfarin in both enantiomeric forms. This environmentally friendly organocatalytic reaction is not only scalable, but also yields the target drug molecule in enantiomerically pure form.

Ultrasonically promoted asymmetric Michael addition of 4-hydroxycoumarin to α,β-unsaturated ketones

Sonication promotes the asymmetric Michael addition of 4-hydroxycoumarin to α,β-unsaturated ketones on water without organic co-solvents.
Picture and study: ©Rogozińska-Szymczak and Mlynarski; 2014.

Sonochemical Epoxidation of Terpenes

Charbonneau et al. (2018) demostrated the successful epoxidation of terpenes under sonication. The conventional epoxidation requires the use of a catalyst, but with sonication the epoxidation runs as catalyst-free reaction.
Limonene dioxide is a key intermediate molecule for the development of biobased polycarbonates or nonisocyanate polyurethanes. Sonication allows the catalyst free epoxidation of terpenes within a very short reaction time – at the same time giving very good yields. In order to demonstrate the effectivenes of ultrasonic epoxidation, the research team compared the epoxidation of limonene to limonene dioxide using in-situ-generated dimethyl dioxirane as the oxidizing agent under both conventional agitation and ultrasonication. For all sonication trials the Hielscher UP50H (50W, 30kHz) lab ultrasonicator was used.

Terpene epoxidation is significantly faster and highly efficient when sonication is applied. Using ultrasound enables to runthe epoxidation reaction of terpenes as catalyst-free reaction.

Highly efficient sonochemical epoxidation of terpenes (e.g., limonene dioxide, α-pinene oxide, β-pinene oxide, triepoxide etc.) with the ultrasonicator UP50H
picture and study: © Charbonneau et al., 2018

The time required to completely convert limonene to limonene dioxide with 100% yield under sonication was only 4.5 min at room temperature. In comparison, when conventional agitation using a magnetic stirrer is used, the required time to reach a 97% yield of limonene dioxide was 1.5 h. The epoxidation of α-pinene has also been studied using both agitation techniques. Epoxidation of α-pinene to α-pinene oxide under sonication required only 4 min with an obtained yield of 100%, while in comparison with the conventional method the reaction time was 60 min. As for other terpenes, β-pinene was converted to β-pinene oxide in only 4 min whereas farnesol yielded 100% of the triepoxide in 8 min. Carveol, a limonene derivative, was converted to carveol dioxide with a yield of 98%. In the epoxidation reaction of carvone using dimethyl dioxirane the conversion was 100% in 5 min producing 7,8-carvone oxide.
The main advantages of the sonochemical terpene epoxidation are the environmental-friendly nature of the oxidizing agent (green chemistry) as well as the significantly reduced reaction time performing this oxidation under ultrasonic agitation. This epoxidation method allowed reaching 100% conversion of limonene with a 100% yield of limonene dioxide in only 4.5 min compared to 90 min when traditional agitation is used. Furthermore, no oxidation products of limonene, such as carvone, carveol, and perrilyl alcohol, were found in the reaction medium. The epoxidation of α-pinene under ultrasound required only 4 min, yielding 100% of α-pinene oxide without oxidation of the ring. Other terpenes such as β-pinene, farnesol, and carveol have also been oxidized, leading to very high epoxide yields.

Ultrasonically stirred reactor for sonochemical applications including organocatalysis, asymmetric reactions and many other.

Ultrasonically agitated reactor with the ultrasonicator UP200St for intensified organocatalytic reactions.

Sonochemical Effects

Acoustic cavitation as shown here at the Hielscher ultrasonicator UIP1500hdT is used to initiate and promote chemical reactions. Ultrasonic cavitation at Hielscher's UIP1500hdT (1500W) ultrasonicator for sonochemical reactions.As an alternative to classical methods, sonochemical-based protocols have been used to increase the rates of a wide variety of reactions, resulting in products generated under milder conditions with a significant reduction in reaction times. These methods have been described as more environmentally friendly and sustainable and are associated with greater selectivity and lower energy consumption for the desired transformations. The mechanism of such methods is based on the phenomenon of acoustic cavitation, which induces unique conditions of pressure and temperature through the formation, growth, and adiabatic collapse of bubbles in the liquid medium. This effect improves mass transfer and increases turbulent flow in the liquid, facilitating the chemical transformations. In our studies, the use of ultrasound has led to the production of compounds in reduced reaction times with high yields and purity. Such characteristics have increased the number of compounds evaluated in pharmacological models, contributing to accelerating the hit to lead optimization process.
Not only can this high-energy input enhance mechanical effects in heterogeneous processes, but it is also known to induce new reactivities leading to the formation of unexpected chemical species. What makes sonochemistry unique is the remarkable phenomenon of cavitation, which generates in a locally confined space of the micro-bubble environment extraordinary effects due to alternating high-pressure / low-pressure cycles, very high temperature differentials, high-shear forces, and liquid streaming.

Examples of asymmetric reactions involving organocatalysts are:

  • Asymmetric Diels-Alder reactions
  • Asymmetric Michael reactions
  • Asymmetric Mannich reactions
  • Shi epoxidation
  • Organocatalytic transfer hydrogenation

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


Ultrasonic reactors can significantly improve organocatalytic reactions such as the Mannich reaction.

Ultrasonic inline system with UIP2000hdT (2000W, 20kHz) for sonochemical reactions, e.g. for improved organocatalytic reactions

The Advantages of Sonochemically Promoted Organocatalytic Reactions

Sonication is increasingly used in organic synthesis and catalysis since sonochemical effects show a substantial intensification of chemical reactions. Especially when compared with traditional methods (e.g., heating, stirring), sonochemistry is more efficient, convenient, and precisely controllable. Sonication and sonochemistry offer several major advantages such as higher yields, increased purity of the compounds and selectivity, shorter reaction times, lower costs, as well as the simplicity in operating and handling the sonochemical procedure. These beneficial factors make ultrasonically-assisted chemical reactions not only more efficacious and saver, but also environmental-friendlier.
Numerous organic reactions have been proven to give higher yields in shorter reaction time and / or under milder conditions when performed using sonication.

Ultrasonication Allows for Simple One-Pot Reactions

Sonication allows to initiate multicomponent reactions as one-pot reactions that provide the synthesis of structurally diverse compounds. Such one-pot reactions are valued for a high overall efficiency and their simplicity since isolation and purification of intermediates is not required.

The effects of ultrasound waves on asymmetric organocatalytic reactions have been successfully applied in various reaction types including phase transfer catalyses, Heck reactions, hydrogenation, Mannich reactions, Barbier and Barbier-like reactions, Diels-Alder reactions, Suzuki coupling reaction, and Micheal addition.

Find the Ideal Ultrasonicator for Your Organocatalytic Reaction!

Hielscher Ultrasonics is your trusted partner when it comes to high-performance, high-quality ultrasonic equipment. Hielscher designs, manufactures and distributes state-of-the-art ultrasonic probes, reactors and cup-horns for sonochemical applications. All equipment is manufactured under ISO certified procedures and with German precision for superior quality in our headquarter in Teltow (near Berlin), Germany.
The portfolio of Hielscher ultrasonicators ranges from compact lab ultrasonicators to fully industrial ultrasonic reactors for large scale chemical manufacturing. Probes (also known as sonotrodes, ultrasonic horns or tips), booster horns, and reactors are readily available in numerous sizes and geometries. Customized versions can be manufactured for your requirements, too.
Since Hielscher Ultrasonics’ ultrasonic processors are available at any size from small lab devices to large industrial processors for batch and flow chemistry applications, high-performance sonication can be easily implemented into any reaction setup. Precise adjustment of the ultrasonic amplitude – the most important parameter for sonochemical applications – allows to operate Hielscher ultrasonicators at low to very high amplitudes and to fine-tune the amplitude exactly to the required ultrasonic process conditions of the specific chemical reaction system.
Hielscher’s ultrasonic generator feature a smart software with automatic data protocolling. All important processing parameters such as ultrasonic energy, temperature, pressure and time are automatically stored onto a built-in SD-card as soon as the device is switched on.
Process monitoring and data recording are important for continuous process standardization and product quality. By accessing the automatically recorded process data, you can revise previous sonication runs and evaluate the outcome.
Another user-friendly feature is the browser remote control of our digital ultrasonic systems. Via remote browser control you can start, stop, adjust and monitor your ultrasonic processor remotely from anywhere.
Contact us now to learn more about our high-performance ultrasonic homogenizers can improve your oragnocatalytic synthesis reaction!

Why Hielscher Ultrasonics?

  • high efficiency
  • state-of-the-art technology
  • reliability & robustness
  • batch & inline
  • for any volume
  • intelligent software
  • smart features (e.g., data protocolling)
  • high user-friendliness and comfort
  • CIP (clean-in-place)

The table below gives you an indication of the approximate processing capacity of our ultrasonicators:

Batch Volume Flow Rate Recommended Devices
1 to 500mL 10 to 200mL/min UP100H
10 to 2000mL 20 to 400mL/min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 to 20L 0.2 to 4L/min UIP2000hdT
10 to 100L 2 to 10L/min UIP4000hdT
n.a. 10 to 100L/min UIP16000
n.a. larger cluster of UIP16000

Contact Us! / Ask Us!

Ask for more information

Please use the form below to request additional information about ultrasonic processors, applications and price. We will be glad to discuss your process with you and to offer you an ultrasonic system meeting your requirements!









Please note our privacy policy.


Ultrasonic high-shear homogenizers are used in lab, bench-top, pilot and industrial processing.

Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonic homogenizers for mixing applications, dispersion, emulsification and extraction on lab, pilot and industrial scale.



Literature / References

Facts Worth Knowing

What is Organocatalysis?

Organocatalysis is a type of catalysis in which the rate of a chemical reaction is increased by the use of an organic catalyst. This organocatalyst can consist of carbon, hydrogen, sulfur and other nonmetal elements found in organic compounds. Organocatalysis offers several advantages. Since organocatalytic reactions do not require metal-based catalysts, they are environmental-friendlier and contribute thereby to green chemistry. Organocatalysts can be often cheaply and easily produced, and allow for greener synthetic routes.

Asymmetric Organocatalysis

Asymmetric organocatalysis is the asymmetric or enantioselective reaction, which produces only enantiomer of handed molecules. Enantiomers are pairs of stereoisomers that are chiral. A chiral molecule is non-superimposable on its mirror image, so that the mirror image is actually a different molecule. For instance, the production of specific enantiomers is particularly important in the production of pharmaceuticals, where often only one enantiomer of a drug molecule offers a certain positive effect, whereas the other enantiomer shows no effect or is even harmful.


High performance ultrasonics! Hielscher's product range covers the full spectrum from the compact lab ultrasonicator over bench-top units to full-industrial ultrasonic systems.

Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonic homogenizers from lab to industrial size.