Réactions organocatalytiques favorisées par la sonication

En chimie organique, l'organocatalyse est une forme de catalyse dans laquelle la vitesse d'une réaction chimique est augmentée par un catalyseur organique. Ce site “organocatalyseur” se compose de carbone, d'hydrogène, de soufre et d'autres éléments non métalliques présents dans les composés organiques. L'application d'ultrasons de forte puissance à des systèmes chimiques est connue sous le nom de sonochimie. C'est une technique bien établie pour augmenter les rendements, améliorer les taux de réaction et accélérer la vitesse de réaction. Sous sonication, il devient souvent possible de changer de voie chimique en évitant les sous-produits indésirables. La sonochimie peut favoriser les réactions organocatalytiques en les rendant plus efficaces et plus respectueuses de l'environnement.

Organocatalyse asymétrique – Amélioration par sonication

La sonochimie, c'est-à-dire l'application d'ultrasons performants dans des systèmes chimiques, peut améliorer considérablement les réactions organocatalytiques. L'organocatalyse asymétrique combinée à l'ultrasonication permet souvent de transformer l'organocatalyse en une voie plus respectueuse de l'environnement, relevant ainsi de la terminologie de la chimie verte. La sonication accélère la réaction organocatalytique (asymétrique) et permet d'obtenir des rendements plus élevés, des taux de conversion plus rapides, une isolation/purification plus facile des produits et une meilleure sélectivité et réactivité. En plus de contribuer à l'amélioration de la cinétique de réaction et du rendement, la sonochimie peut souvent être combinée avec des solvants de réaction durables, tels que les liquides ioniques, les solvants eutectiques profonds, les solvants doux et non toxiques et l'eau. Ainsi, la sonochimie améliore non seulement la réaction organocatalytique (asymétrique) elle-même, mais contribue également à la durabilité des réactions organocatalytiques.

Demande d'information





Ultrasonic probe for sonochemical initiation and acceleration of organocatalytic reaction with higher yields

L'ultrasonication favorise les réactions organocatalytiques, ce qui permet d'améliorer les taux de conversion, les rendements et la sélectivité.

La recherche a montré de nombreux exemples de réactions oragnocatalytiques intensifiées par sonochimie. Par exemple, des molécules d'ADN double brin sont utilisées comme échafaudage chiral pour assembler des catalyseurs hybrides métal-biomacromolécule pour des réactions de synthèse asymétriques. Les catalyseurs à base d'ADN G-quadruplex ont été appliqués dans des réactions asymétriques d'addition de Michael, de Diels-Alder et de Friedel-Crafts. (cf. Zhao et Shen, 2018)
Pour la réaction promue par l'inidium, la sonication montre des effets bénéfiques puisque la réaction conduite par voie sonochimique se déroule dans des conditions plus douces, préservant ainsi des niveaux élevés de diastéréosélection. En utilisant la voie sonochimique, de bons résultats ont été obtenus sur la synthèse organocatalytique de β-lactame, de β-aminoacides et de spirodiketopipérazines à partir de lactones de sucre ainsi que sur les réactions d'allylation et de Reformatsky sur des éthers d'oxime.

Synthèse organocatalytique de médicaments favorisée par les ultrasons

Rogozińska-Szymczak et Mlynarski (2014) rapportent l'addition de Michael asymétrique de la 4-hydroxycoumarine sur des cétones α,β-insaturées sur l'eau sans co-solvants organiques. – catalysée par des amines primaires organiques et par sonication. L'application de (S,S)-diphényléthylènediamine énantiomériquement pure permet d'obtenir une série d'importants composés pharmaceutiquement actifs avec des rendements bons à excellents (73-98%) et de bonnes énantiosélectivités (jusqu'à 76% ee) via des réactions accélérées par les ultrasons. Les chercheurs présentent un protocole sonochimique efficace pour la formation "solide sur eau" de l'anticoagulant warfarine sous ses deux formes énantiomères. Cette réaction organocatalytique respectueuse de l'environnement est non seulement évolutive, mais elle permet également d'obtenir la molécule médicamenteuse cible sous une forme énantiomériquement pure.

Ultrasonically promoted asymmetric Michael addition of 4-hydroxycoumarin to α,β-unsaturated ketones

La sonication favorise l'addition de Michael asymétrique de la 4-hydroxycoumarine sur des cétones α,β-insaturées sur l'eau sans co-solvants organiques.
Photo et étude : ©Rogozińska-Szymczak et Mlynarski ; 2014.

Époxidation sonochimique des terpènes

Charbonneau et al. (2018) ont démontré l'époxydation réussie de terpènes sous sonication. L'époxydation classique nécessite l'utilisation d'un catalyseur, mais avec la sonication, l'époxydation se déroule comme une réaction sans catalyseur.
Le dioxyde de limonène est une molécule intermédiaire clé pour le développement de polycarbonates biosourcés ou de polyuréthanes non isocyanates. La sonication permet l'époxydation sans catalyseur des terpènes dans un temps de réaction très court. – tout en donnant de très bons rendements. Afin de démontrer l'efficacité de l'époxydation par ultrasons, l'équipe de recherche a comparé l'époxydation du limonène en dioxyde de limonène en utilisant du diméthyl dioxirane généré in situ comme agent oxydant sous agitation conventionnelle et sous ultrasons. Pour tous les essais de sonication, le Ultrasoniseur de laboratoire Hielscher UP50H (50W, 30kHz) a été utilisé.

Terpene epoxidation is significantly faster and highly efficient when sonication is applied. Using ultrasound enables to runthe epoxidation reaction of terpenes as catalyst-free reaction.

Époxydation sonochimique très efficace des terpènes (par exemple, dioxyde de limonène, oxyde d'α-pinène, oxyde de β-pinène, triépoxyde, etc.) avec l'ultrasoniseur UP50H.
photo et étude : © Charbonneau et al., 2018

Le temps nécessaire pour convertir complètement le limonène en dioxyde de limonène avec un rendement de 100 % sous sonication n'était que de 4,5 min à température ambiante. En comparaison, lors d'une agitation conventionnelle à l'aide d'un agitateur magnétique, le temps nécessaire pour atteindre un rendement de 97% de dioxyde de limonène était de 1,5 h. L'époxydation de l'α-pinène a également été étudiée en utilisant les deux techniques d'agitation. L'époxydation de l'α-pinène en oxyde d'α-pinène sous sonication n'a nécessité que 4 min avec un rendement obtenu de 100%, alors que par rapport à la méthode conventionnelle, le temps de réaction était de 60 min. Quant aux autres terpènes, le β-pinène a été converti en oxyde de β-pinène en seulement 4 min alors que le farnésol a donné 100% du triépoxyde en 8 min. Le carvéol, un dérivé du limonène, a été converti en dioxyde de carvéol avec un rendement de 98 %. Dans la réaction d'époxydation de la carvone à l'aide de diméthyl dioxirane, la conversion était de 100% en 5 min, produisant de l'oxyde de 7,8-carvone.
Les principaux avantages de l'époxydation terpénique sonochimique sont la nature écologique de l'agent oxydant (chimie verte) ainsi que le temps de réaction considérablement réduit en réalisant cette oxydation sous agitation ultrasonique. Cette méthode d'époxydation a permis d'atteindre une conversion de 100 % du limonène avec un rendement de 100 % en dioxyde de limonène en seulement 4,5 minutes, contre 90 minutes en cas d'agitation traditionnelle. De plus, aucun produit d'oxydation du limonène, tel que la carvone, le carvéol et l'alcool perrilylique, n'a été retrouvé dans le milieu réactionnel. L'époxydation de l'α-pinène sous ultrasons n'a nécessité que 4 min, donnant 100% d'oxyde d'α-pinène sans oxydation du cycle. D'autres terpènes tels que le β-pinène, le farnésol et le carvéol ont également été oxydés, conduisant à des rendements en époxyde très élevés.

Ultrasonically stirred reactor for sonochemical applications including organocatalysis, asymmetric reactions and many other.

Réacteur à agitation ultrasonique avec la ultrasoniseur UP200St pour intensifier les réactions organocatalytiques.

effets sonochimiques

Acoustic cavitation as shown here at the Hielscher ultrasonicator UIP1500hdT is used to initiate and promote chemical reactions. Ultrasonic cavitation at Hielscher's UIP1500hdT (1500W) ultrasonicator for sonochemical reactions.En tant qu'alternative aux méthodes classiques, les protocoles basés sur la sonochimie ont été utilisés pour augmenter la vitesse d'une grande variété de réactions, donnant lieu à des produits générés dans des conditions plus douces avec une réduction significative des temps de réaction. Ces méthodes ont été décrites comme plus respectueuses de l'environnement et plus durables et sont associées à une plus grande sélectivité et à une moindre consommation d'énergie pour les transformations souhaitées. Le mécanisme de ces méthodes est basé sur le phénomène de cavitation acoustique, qui induit des conditions uniques de pression et de température par la formation, la croissance et l'effondrement adiabatique des bulles dans le milieu liquide. Cet effet améliore le transfert de masse et augmente le flux turbulent dans le liquide, facilitant ainsi les transformations chimiques. Dans nos études, l'utilisation des ultrasons a permis de produire des composés dans des temps de réaction réduits avec des rendements et une pureté élevés. Ces caractéristiques ont permis d'augmenter le nombre de composés évalués dans des modèles pharmacologiques, contribuant ainsi à accélérer le processus d'optimisation du hit to lead.
Cet apport de haute énergie peut non seulement renforcer les effets mécaniques dans les processus hétérogènes, mais il est également connu pour induire de nouvelles réactivités conduisant à la formation d'espèces chimiques inattendues. Ce qui rend la sonochimie unique, c'est le remarquable phénomène de cavitation, qui génère dans un espace localement confiné de l'environnement de microbulles des effets extraordinaires dus à l'alternance de cycles haute pression / basse pression, à des différentiels de température très élevés, à des forces de cisaillement importantes et à l'écoulement de liquide.

Voici des exemples de réactions asymétriques faisant intervenir des organocatalyseurs :

  • Réactions asymétriques de Diels-Alder
  • Réactions de Michael asymétriques
  • Réactions asymétriques de Mannich
  • Shi époxydation
  • Hydrogénation par transfert organocatalytique

Demande d'information





Ultrasonic reactors can significantly improve organocatalytic reactions such as the Mannich reaction.

Système ultrasonique en ligne avec UIP2000hdT (2000W, 20kHz) pour les réactions sonochimiques, par exemple pour améliorer les réactions organocatalytiques

Les avantages des réactions organocatalytiques favorisées par la sonochimie

La sonication est de plus en plus utilisée en synthèse organique et en catalyse car les effets sonochimiques montrent une intensification substantielle des réactions chimiques. Comparée aux méthodes traditionnelles (chauffage, agitation, etc.), la sonochimie est plus efficace, plus pratique et plus facile à contrôler. La sonication et la sonochimie offrent plusieurs avantages majeurs tels que des rendements plus élevés, une pureté accrue des composés et une plus grande sélectivité, des temps de réaction plus courts, des coûts plus faibles, ainsi que la simplicité d'utilisation et de manipulation de la procédure sonochimique. Ces facteurs bénéfiques rendent les réactions chimiques assistées par ultrasons non seulement plus efficaces et plus économiques, mais aussi plus respectueuses de l'environnement.
Il a été prouvé que de nombreuses réactions organiques donnent des rendements plus élevés en un temps de réaction plus court et/ou dans des conditions plus douces lorsqu'elles sont réalisées par sonication.

L'ultrasonication permet de réaliser des réactions simples en un seul pot

La sonication permet d'initier des réactions multicomposantes en tant que réactions one-pot qui permettent la synthèse de composés structurellement divers. Ces réactions en un point sont appréciées pour leur efficacité globale élevée et leur simplicité, car l'isolement et la purification des intermédiaires ne sont pas nécessaires.

Les effets des ondes ultrasonores sur les réactions organocatalytiques asymétriques ont été appliqués avec succès à divers types de réactions, notamment les catalyseurs de transfert de phase, les réactions de Heck, l'hydrogénation, les réactions de Mannich, les réactions de Barbier et de type Barbier, les réactions de Diels-Alder, la réaction de couplage de Suzuki et l'addition de Micheal.

Trouvez l'ultrasoniseur idéal pour votre réaction organocatalytique !

Hielscher Ultrasonics est votre partenaire de confiance lorsqu'il s'agit d'équipements ultrasoniques performants et de haute qualité. Hielscher conçoit, fabrique et distribue des sondes à ultrasons, des réacteurs et des cornes de coupes à la pointe de la technologie pour les applications sonochimiques. Tous les équipements sont fabriqués selon des procédures certifiées ISO et avec la précision allemande pour une qualité supérieure dans notre siège social à Teltow (près de Berlin), en Allemagne.
La gamme d'ultrasons Hielscher s'étend des ultrasons compacts de laboratoire aux réacteurs à ultrasons entièrement industriels pour la fabrication de produits chimiques à grande échelle. Les sondes (également connues sous le nom de sonotrodes, cornes ou pointes à ultrasons), les cornes d'amplification et les réacteurs sont disponibles dans de nombreuses tailles et géométries. Des versions personnalisées peuvent également être fabriquées pour répondre à vos besoins.
Depuis Hielscher Ultrasonics’ Les processeurs à ultrasons sont disponibles dans toutes les tailles, des petits appareils de laboratoire aux grands processeurs industriels pour les applications de chimie par lots et en flux, la sonication haute performance peut être facilement mise en œuvre dans n'importe quelle configuration de réaction. Réglage précis de l'amplitude des ultrasons – le paramètre le plus important pour les applications sonochimiques – permet de faire fonctionner les ultrasons Hielscher à des amplitudes allant de faibles à très élevées et d'ajuster l'amplitude exactement aux conditions de traitement ultrasonique requises pour le système de réaction chimique spécifique.
Les générateurs d'ultrasons Hielscher sont équipés d'un logiciel intelligent avec enregistrement automatique des données. Tous les paramètres de traitement importants tels que l'énergie ultrasonore, la température, la pression et le temps sont automatiquement enregistrés sur une carte SD intégrée dès que l'appareil est allumé.
La surveillance des processus et l'enregistrement des données sont importants pour la normalisation continue des processus et la qualité des produits. En accédant aux données de processus enregistrées automatiquement, vous pouvez réviser les cycles de sonication précédents et évaluer le résultat.
Une autre caractéristique conviviale est la télécommande par navigateur de nos systèmes numériques à ultrasons. Grâce à la télécommande par navigateur, vous pouvez démarrer, arrêter, régler et surveiller votre processeur à ultrasons à distance, où que vous soyez.
Contactez-nous dès maintenant pour savoir comment nos homogénéisateurs à ultrasons haute performance peuvent améliorer votre réaction de synthèse oragnocatalytique !

Pourquoi Hielscher Ultrasonics?

  • haute efficacité
  • Une technologie de pointe
  • fiabilité & robustesse
  • lot & en ligne
  • pour tout volume
  • logiciels intelligents
  • des fonctions intelligentes (par exemple, l'enregistrement des données)
  • une grande convivialité et un grand confort d'utilisation
  • CIP (clean-in-place)

Le tableau ci-dessous vous donne une indication de la capacité de traitement approximative de nos ultrasonicators:

lot Volume Débit Appareils recommandés
1 à 500 ml 10 à 200 ml / min UP100H
10 à 2000mL 20 à 400 ml / min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 20L 00,2 à 4L / min UIP2000hdT
10 à 100l 2 à 10 L / min UIP4000hdT
n / a. 10 à 100 litres / min UIP16000
n / a. plus grand groupe de UIP16000

Contactez nous! / Demandez nous!

Demander plus d'informations

Veuillez utiliser le formulaire ci-dessous pour demander des informations supplémentaires sur les processeurs à ultrasons, les applications et le prix. Nous serons heureux de discuter avec vous de votre processus et de vous proposer un système à ultrasons répondant à vos besoins !









Veuillez prendre note de notre Politique de confidentialité.


Ultrasonic high-shear homogenizers are used in lab, bench-top, pilot and industrial processing.

Hielscher Ultrasonics fabrique des homogénéisateurs ultrasoniques à haute performance pour des applications de mélange, de dispersion, d'émulsification et d'extraction à l'échelle du laboratoire, du pilote et de l'industrie.



Littérature / Références

Qu'il faut savoir

Qu'est-ce que l'organocatalyse ?

L'organocatalyse est un type de catalyse dans lequel la vitesse d'une réaction chimique est augmentée par l'utilisation d'un catalyseur organique. Cet organocatalyseur peut être constitué de carbone, d'hydrogène, de soufre et d'autres éléments non métalliques présents dans les composés organiques. L'organocatalyse présente plusieurs avantages. Comme les réactions organocatalytiques ne nécessitent pas de catalyseurs à base de métaux, elles sont plus respectueuses de l'environnement et contribuent ainsi à la chimie verte. Les catalyseurs organiques peuvent souvent être produits facilement et à faible coût, et permettent des voies de synthèse plus écologiques.

Organocatalyse asymétrique

L'organocatalyse asymétrique est la réaction asymétrique ou énantiosélective, qui ne produit que l'énantiomère des molécules remises. Les énantiomères sont des paires de stéréoisomères qui sont chiraux. Une molécule chirale est non superposable à son image miroir, de sorte que l'image miroir est en fait une molécule différente. Par exemple, la production d'énantiomères spécifiques est particulièrement importante dans la production de produits pharmaceutiques, où souvent un seul énantiomère d'une molécule de médicament offre un certain effet positif, tandis que l'autre énantiomère ne montre aucun effet ou est même nocif.


High performance ultrasonics! Hielscher's product range covers the full spectrum from the compact lab ultrasonicator over bench-top units to full-industrial ultrasonic systems.

Hielscher Ultrasonics fabrique des homogénéisateurs à ultrasons de haute performance à partir d'une technologie de pointe. laboratoires à taille industrielle.

Organocatalytic Reactions Promoted by Sonication

In organic chemistry, organocatalysis is a form of catalysis in which the rate of a chemical reaction is increased by an organic catalyst. This “organocatalyst” consists of carbon, hydrogen, sulfur and other nonmetal elements found in organic compounds. The application of high-power ultrasound to chemical systems is known as sonochemistry and a well established technique to increase yields, improve reaction rates and to accelerate reaction speed. Under sonication, it becomes often possible to switch chemical pathways avoiding unwanted by-products. Sonochemistry can promote organocatalytic reactions making them more efficient and environmental-friendly.

Asymmetric Organocatalysis – Improved by Sonication

Sonochemistry, the application of high-performance ultrasound into chemical systems, can improve organocatalytic reactions significantly. Asymmetric organocatalysis combined with ultrasonication often allows to transform organocatalysis to an environmental-friendlier route, thereby falling under the terminology of green chemistry. Sonication accelerates (asymmetric) organocatlytic reaction and lead to higher yields, faster conversion rates, easier product isolation/purification, and improved selectivity and reactivity. Beside contributing to the improvement of the reaction kinetics and yield, ultrasonication can be often combined with sustainable reaction solvents, such as ionic liquids, deep eutectic solvents, mild, non-toxic solvents, and water. Thereby, sonochemistry not only improves the (asymmetric) organocatlytic reaction itself, but also assists the sustainability of organocatalytic reactions.

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


Ultrasonic probe for sonochemical initiation and acceleration of organocatalytic reaction with higher yields

Ultrasonication promotes organocatalytic reactions resulting in improved conversion rates, higher yields and selectivity.

Research has shown manifold examples for sonochemically intensified oragnocatalytic reactions. For instance, double stranded DNA molecules as a chiral scaffold are used in order to assemble metal-biomacromolecule hybrid catalysts for asymmetric synthesis reactions. G-quadruplex DNA-based catalysts have been applied in asymmetric Michael addition, Diels-Alder and Friedel-Crafts reactions. (cf. Zhao and Shen, 2018)
For inidium-promoted reaction, sonication shows beneficial effects since the sonochemically driven reaction runs under milder conditions, thereby preserving high levels of diasteroselection. Using the sonochemical route, good results on the organocatalytic synthesis of β-lactam carbohydrates, β-amino acid and spirodiketopiperazines from sugar lactones as well as allylation and Reformatsky reactions on oxime ethers were achieved.

Ultrasonically Promoted Organocatalytic Drug Synthesis

Rogozińska-Szymczak and Mlynarski (2014) report the asymmetric Michael addition of 4-hydroxycoumarin to α,β-unsaturated ketones on water without organic co-solvents – catalysed by organic primary amines and sonication. The application of enantiomerically pure (S,S)-diphenylethylenediamine affords a series of important pharmaceutically active compounds in good to excellent yields (73–98%) and with good enantioselectivities (up to 76% ee) via reactions accelerated by ultrasound. The researchers present an efficient sonochemical protocol for the ‘solids on water’ formation of the anticoagulant warfarin in both enantiomeric forms. This environmentally friendly organocatalytic reaction is not only scalable, but also yields the target drug molecule in enantiomerically pure form.

Ultrasonically promoted asymmetric Michael addition of 4-hydroxycoumarin to α,β-unsaturated ketones

Sonication promotes the asymmetric Michael addition of 4-hydroxycoumarin to α,β-unsaturated ketones on water without organic co-solvents.
Picture and study: ©Rogozińska-Szymczak and Mlynarski; 2014.

Sonochemical Epoxidation of Terpenes

Charbonneau et al. (2018) demostrated the successful epoxidation of terpenes under sonication. The conventional epoxidation requires the use of a catalyst, but with sonication the epoxidation runs as catalyst-free reaction.
Limonene dioxide is a key intermediate molecule for the development of biobased polycarbonates or nonisocyanate polyurethanes. Sonication allows the catalyst free epoxidation of terpenes within a very short reaction time – at the same time giving very good yields. In order to demonstrate the effectivenes of ultrasonic epoxidation, the research team compared the epoxidation of limonene to limonene dioxide using in-situ-generated dimethyl dioxirane as the oxidizing agent under both conventional agitation and ultrasonication. For all sonication trials the Hielscher UP50H (50W, 30kHz) lab ultrasonicator was used.

Terpene epoxidation is significantly faster and highly efficient when sonication is applied. Using ultrasound enables to runthe epoxidation reaction of terpenes as catalyst-free reaction.

Highly efficient sonochemical epoxidation of terpenes (e.g., limonene dioxide, α-pinene oxide, β-pinene oxide, triepoxide etc.) with the ultrasonicator UP50H
picture and study: © Charbonneau et al., 2018

The time required to completely convert limonene to limonene dioxide with 100% yield under sonication was only 4.5 min at room temperature. In comparison, when conventional agitation using a magnetic stirrer is used, the required time to reach a 97% yield of limonene dioxide was 1.5 h. The epoxidation of α-pinene has also been studied using both agitation techniques. Epoxidation of α-pinene to α-pinene oxide under sonication required only 4 min with an obtained yield of 100%, while in comparison with the conventional method the reaction time was 60 min. As for other terpenes, β-pinene was converted to β-pinene oxide in only 4 min whereas farnesol yielded 100% of the triepoxide in 8 min. Carveol, a limonene derivative, was converted to carveol dioxide with a yield of 98%. In the epoxidation reaction of carvone using dimethyl dioxirane the conversion was 100% in 5 min producing 7,8-carvone oxide.
The main advantages of the sonochemical terpene epoxidation are the environmental-friendly nature of the oxidizing agent (green chemistry) as well as the significantly reduced reaction time performing this oxidation under ultrasonic agitation. This epoxidation method allowed reaching 100% conversion of limonene with a 100% yield of limonene dioxide in only 4.5 min compared to 90 min when traditional agitation is used. Furthermore, no oxidation products of limonene, such as carvone, carveol, and perrilyl alcohol, were found in the reaction medium. The epoxidation of α-pinene under ultrasound required only 4 min, yielding 100% of α-pinene oxide without oxidation of the ring. Other terpenes such as β-pinene, farnesol, and carveol have also been oxidized, leading to very high epoxide yields.

Ultrasonically stirred reactor for sonochemical applications including organocatalysis, asymmetric reactions and many other.

Ultrasonically agitated reactor with the ultrasonicator UP200St for intensified organocatalytic reactions.

Sonochemical Effects

Acoustic cavitation as shown here at the Hielscher ultrasonicator UIP1500hdT is used to initiate and promote chemical reactions. Ultrasonic cavitation at Hielscher's UIP1500hdT (1500W) ultrasonicator for sonochemical reactions.As an alternative to classical methods, sonochemical-based protocols have been used to increase the rates of a wide variety of reactions, resulting in products generated under milder conditions with a significant reduction in reaction times. These methods have been described as more environmentally friendly and sustainable and are associated with greater selectivity and lower energy consumption for the desired transformations. The mechanism of such methods is based on the phenomenon of acoustic cavitation, which induces unique conditions of pressure and temperature through the formation, growth, and adiabatic collapse of bubbles in the liquid medium. This effect improves mass transfer and increases turbulent flow in the liquid, facilitating the chemical transformations. In our studies, the use of ultrasound has led to the production of compounds in reduced reaction times with high yields and purity. Such characteristics have increased the number of compounds evaluated in pharmacological models, contributing to accelerating the hit to lead optimization process.
Not only can this high-energy input enhance mechanical effects in heterogeneous processes, but it is also known to induce new reactivities leading to the formation of unexpected chemical species. What makes sonochemistry unique is the remarkable phenomenon of cavitation, which generates in a locally confined space of the micro-bubble environment extraordinary effects due to alternating high-pressure / low-pressure cycles, very high temperature differentials, high-shear forces, and liquid streaming.

Examples of asymmetric reactions involving organocatalysts are:

  • Asymmetric Diels-Alder reactions
  • Asymmetric Michael reactions
  • Asymmetric Mannich reactions
  • Shi epoxidation
  • Organocatalytic transfer hydrogenation

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


Ultrasonic reactors can significantly improve organocatalytic reactions such as the Mannich reaction.

Ultrasonic inline system with UIP2000hdT (2000W, 20kHz) for sonochemical reactions, e.g. for improved organocatalytic reactions

The Advantages of Sonochemically Promoted Organocatalytic Reactions

Sonication is increasingly used in organic synthesis and catalysis since sonochemical effects show a substantial intensification of chemical reactions. Especially when compared with traditional methods (e.g., heating, stirring), sonochemistry is more efficient, convenient, and precisely controllable. Sonication and sonochemistry offer several major advantages such as higher yields, increased purity of the compounds and selectivity, shorter reaction times, lower costs, as well as the simplicity in operating and handling the sonochemical procedure. These beneficial factors make ultrasonically-assisted chemical reactions not only more efficacious and saver, but also environmental-friendlier.
Numerous organic reactions have been proven to give higher yields in shorter reaction time and / or under milder conditions when performed using sonication.

Ultrasonication Allows for Simple One-Pot Reactions

Sonication allows to initiate multicomponent reactions as one-pot reactions that provide the synthesis of structurally diverse compounds. Such one-pot reactions are valued for a high overall efficiency and their simplicity since isolation and purification of intermediates is not required.

The effects of ultrasound waves on asymmetric organocatalytic reactions have been successfully applied in various reaction types including phase transfer catalyses, Heck reactions, hydrogenation, Mannich reactions, Barbier and Barbier-like reactions, Diels-Alder reactions, Suzuki coupling reaction, and Micheal addition.

Find the Ideal Ultrasonicator for Your Organocatalytic Reaction!

Hielscher Ultrasonics is your trusted partner when it comes to high-performance, high-quality ultrasonic equipment. Hielscher designs, manufactures and distributes state-of-the-art ultrasonic probes, reactors and cup-horns for sonochemical applications. All equipment is manufactured under ISO certified procedures and with German precision for superior quality in our headquarter in Teltow (near Berlin), Germany.
The portfolio of Hielscher ultrasonicators ranges from compact lab ultrasonicators to fully industrial ultrasonic reactors for large scale chemical manufacturing. Probes (also known as sonotrodes, ultrasonic horns or tips), booster horns, and reactors are readily available in numerous sizes and geometries. Customized versions can be manufactured for your requirements, too.
Since Hielscher Ultrasonics’ ultrasonic processors are available at any size from small lab devices to large industrial processors for batch and flow chemistry applications, high-performance sonication can be easily implemented into any reaction setup. Precise adjustment of the ultrasonic amplitude – the most important parameter for sonochemical applications – allows to operate Hielscher ultrasonicators at low to very high amplitudes and to fine-tune the amplitude exactly to the required ultrasonic process conditions of the specific chemical reaction system.
Hielscher’s ultrasonic generator feature a smart software with automatic data protocolling. All important processing parameters such as ultrasonic energy, temperature, pressure and time are automatically stored onto a built-in SD-card as soon as the device is switched on.
Process monitoring and data recording are important for continuous process standardization and product quality. By accessing the automatically recorded process data, you can revise previous sonication runs and evaluate the outcome.
Another user-friendly feature is the browser remote control of our digital ultrasonic systems. Via remote browser control you can start, stop, adjust and monitor your ultrasonic processor remotely from anywhere.
Contact us now to learn more about our high-performance ultrasonic homogenizers can improve your oragnocatalytic synthesis reaction!

Why Hielscher Ultrasonics?

  • high efficiency
  • state-of-the-art technology
  • reliability & robustness
  • batch & inline
  • for any volume
  • intelligent software
  • smart features (e.g., data protocolling)
  • high user-friendliness and comfort
  • CIP (clean-in-place)

The table below gives you an indication of the approximate processing capacity of our ultrasonicators:

Batch Volume Flow Rate Recommended Devices
1 to 500mL 10 to 200mL/min UP100H
10 to 2000mL 20 to 400mL/min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 to 20L 0.2 to 4L/min UIP2000hdT
10 to 100L 2 to 10L/min UIP4000hdT
n.a. 10 to 100L/min UIP16000
n.a. larger cluster of UIP16000

Contact Us! / Ask Us!

Ask for more information

Please use the form below to request additional information about ultrasonic processors, applications and price. We will be glad to discuss your process with you and to offer you an ultrasonic system meeting your requirements!









Please note our privacy policy.


Ultrasonic high-shear homogenizers are used in lab, bench-top, pilot and industrial processing.

Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonic homogenizers for mixing applications, dispersion, emulsification and extraction on lab, pilot and industrial scale.



Literature / References

Facts Worth Knowing

What is Organocatalysis?

Organocatalysis is a type of catalysis in which the rate of a chemical reaction is increased by the use of an organic catalyst. This organocatalyst can consist of carbon, hydrogen, sulfur and other nonmetal elements found in organic compounds. Organocatalysis offers several advantages. Since organocatalytic reactions do not require metal-based catalysts, they are environmental-friendlier and contribute thereby to green chemistry. Organocatalysts can be often cheaply and easily produced, and allow for greener synthetic routes.

Asymmetric Organocatalysis

Asymmetric organocatalysis is the asymmetric or enantioselective reaction, which produces only enantiomer of handed molecules. Enantiomers are pairs of stereoisomers that are chiral. A chiral molecule is non-superimposable on its mirror image, so that the mirror image is actually a different molecule. For instance, the production of specific enantiomers is particularly important in the production of pharmaceuticals, where often only one enantiomer of a drug molecule offers a certain positive effect, whereas the other enantiomer shows no effect or is even harmful.


High performance ultrasonics! Hielscher's product range covers the full spectrum from the compact lab ultrasonicator over bench-top units to full-industrial ultrasonic systems.

Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonic homogenizers from lab to industrial size.