Hielscher تكنولوجيا الموجات فوق الصوتية

بالموجات فوق الصوتية بوليهيدروكسيلاتيد C60 (فولرينول)

  • بوليهيدروكسيليت C60 فولرين القابل للذوبان في الماء، ويسمى فولرينول أو فولتيرول، هو زبال الجذور الحرة القوية، وبالتالي يستخدم كمضاد للأكسدة في المكملات الغذائية والمستحضرات الصيدلانية.
  • هيدروكسيلبالو بالموجات فوق الصوتية هو رد فعل سريع وبسيط من خطوة واحدة، والذي يستخدم لإنتاج C60 بوليهيدروكسيليت قابل للذوبان في الماء.
  • بالموجات فوق الصوتية توليفها القابلة للذوبان في الماء C60 لديه جودة متفوقة ويستخدم للأدوية وتطبيقات عالية الأداء.

بالموجات فوق الصوتية خطوة واحدة التوليف من C60 Polyhydrolxylated

التجويف بالموجات فوق الصوتية هو تقنية متفوقة لإنتاج عالية الجودة بوليهيدروكسيلاد C60 fullerenes، والتي هي قابلة للذوبان في الماء، وبالتالي يمكن استخدامها في تطبيقات مختلفة في الأدوية والطب والصناعة. وقد وضعت Afreen وآخرون (2017) توليف بالموجات فوق الصوتية سريعة وبسيطة من خالية من التلوث بوليهيدروكسيلاتيد C60 (المعروف أيضا باسم فولرينول أو fullerol). يستخدم رد فعل بالموجات فوق الصوتية خطوة واحدة H2ال2 وخالية من استخدام الكواشف هيدروكسيلات إضافية، أي هيدروكسيت، H2وبالتالي4، ومحفزات نقل المرحلة (PTC)، والتي تسبب الشوائب في fullerenol توليفها. وهذا يجعل توليف فولرينول بالموجات فوق الصوتية هو نهج أنظف لإنتاج فولرينول; في الوقت نفسه، هو وسيلة أسهل وأسرع لإنتاج عالية الجودة، قابلة للذوبان في الماء C60.

هيدروكسيل بالموجات فوق الصوتية من C60 لإنتاج c60 قابلللذوبان في الماء (فولرينول)

مسارات التفاعل المحتملة في التوليف بالموجات فوق الصوتية بمساعدة fullerenol في وجود dil. H2O2 (30٪).
المصدر: Afreen et al. 2017

توليف بالموجات فوق الصوتية من C60 القابلة للذوبان في الماء – خطوة بخطوة

UP200St - 200W معالج بالموجات فوق الصوتية قويةلإعداد سريع وبسيط وأخضر من بولي هيدروكسيلاتيد C60، وهو قابل للذوبان في الماء، 200 ملغ من C60 نقية يضاف إلى 20مل 30٪ H2ال2 وsonicated مع معالج بالموجات فوق الصوتية مثل Uf200 ः ر أو UP200St. وكانت المعلمات sonication 30٪ السعة، 200 W في وضع نابض لمدة 1 ساعة في درجة حرارة الغرفة. يتم وضع وعاء التفاعل في حمام المياه الدورة المبردة من أجل الحفاظ على درجة الحرارة داخل السفينة في درجة الحرارة المحيطة. قبل سونيكيشن، C60 غير قابل للامتزاج في H مائي2ال2 وهو خليط غير متجانس عديم اللون، والذي يتحول إلى لون بني فاتح بعد 30 دقيقة من ultrasonication. في وقت لاحق، في 30 دقيقة القادمة من ultrasonication يتحول إلى تشتت البني الداكن تماما.
هيدروكسيل المانحة: مكثفة بالموجات فوق الصوتية ولدت (= الصوتية) التجويف يخلق الجذور مثل cOH، cOOH وcH من H2O و H2ال2 جزيئات. استخدام H2ال2 في وسائل الإعلام المائية هو نهج أكثر كفاءة لإدخال - OH مجموعات على قفص C60 بدلا من استخدام H فقط2O لتركيب فولرينول. ح2ال2 يلعب دورا هاما في تكثيف هيدروكسيل بالموجات فوق الصوتية.

هيدروكسيل بالموجات فوق الصوتية من C60 باستخدام ديل. H2ال2 (30 في المائة) هو رد فعل سهل وسريع من خطوة واحدة لإعداد fullerenol. تتطلب فقط وقتا قصيرا لرد الفعل، رد فعل بالموجات فوق الصوتية يقدم نهجا أخضر ونظيف مع انخفاض متطلبات الطاقة، وتجنب استخدام أي الكواشف السامة أو المسببة للتآكل للتوليف، والحد من عدد المذيبات المطلوبة لل فصل وتنقية C60 (OH)8∙2H2يا.

المعالج بالموجات فوق الصوتية UP400St (400W) للتجانس، وتشتت، استحلاب والتطبيقات سونوكيميائية.

UP400St (400W، 24kHz و) هو مفرق بالموجات فوق الصوتية قوية

طلب معلومات





مسار بوليهيدروكسيل بالموجات فوق الصوتية

عندما يتم الجمع بين الموجات فوق الصوتية المكثفة في السائل، بالتناوب انخفاض الضغط / دورات الضغط العالي خلق فقاعات فراغ في السائل. فقاعات فراغ تنمو على مدى عدة دورات حتى أنها لا يمكن أن تمتص المزيد من الطاقة، بحيث تنهار بعنف. خلال انهيار فقاعة الآثار المادية القصوى مثل ارتفاع درجة الحرارة وفروق الضغط، موجات الصدمة، microjets، الاضطرابات، قوى القص، الخ. وتعرف هذه الظاهرة باسم بالموجات فوق الصوتية أو التجويف الصوتية. هذه القوى المكثفة من التجويف بالموجات فوق الصوتية تتحلل الجزيئات إلى cOH وcOOH55 الجذور. Afreen وآخرون (2017) تفترض أن رد الفعل قد تتقدم في مسارين في وقت واحد. cOH الجذور كنوع الأكسجين التفاعلي (ROS) نعلق على قفص C60 لإعطاء fullerenol (المسار الأول)، و / أو - OH وcOOH الجذور مهاجمة الإلكترون ناقص C60 السندات المزدوجة في رد فعل النيوكليوفيليك وهذا يؤدي إلى تشكيل إبوكسيد فولرين [C60On] باعتبارها متوسّطة في المرحلة أولى ([ستم] [إيي]) أيّ يكون مماثلة إلى الآلية من ال [بينغل] ردّ فعل. وعلاوة على ذلك، فإن الهجوم المتكرر من cOH (أو cOOH) على C60O عن طريق رد فعل SN2 يؤدي إلى فولرين بوليهيدروكسيليتد أو فولرينول.
ويمكن أن يحدث الأكسدة المتكررة التي تنتج مجموعات الإيبوكسيد المتعاقبة على سبيل المثال، C60O2 و C60O3. ويمكن أن تكون مجموعات الإيبوكسيد هذه مرشحة محتملة لتوليد وسيطات أخرى مثل أكسيد الهيدروكسيلاتي فولرين أثناء الانحلال السونوكيميائي (= التحلل السونوكيميائي). بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يمكن أن يؤدي افتتاح حلقة اللاحقة من C60 (OH) xOy مع cOH في تشكيل fullerenol. تشكيل هذه الوسيطات خلال الانوثيال من H2ال2 أو حاء2O في وجود C60 أمر لا مفر منه، ووجودهم في fullerenol النهائي (على الرغم من أن في كمية ضئيلة) لا يمكن أن تذهب دون ذكر. ومع ذلك، لأنها موجودة فقط في كميات ضئيلة في fullerenol لا يتوقع أن يسبب أي تأثير كبير. [Afreen et al 2017: 31936]

عالية الأداء أوأولتراسوتور

Hielscher الفوق صوتيات لوازم المعالجات بالموجات فوق الصوتية لمتطلباتمحددة: ما إذا كنت ترغب في sonicate كميات صغيرة على نطاق المختبر أو إنتاج دفق حجم كبير على النطاق الصناعي، محفظة Hielscher واسعة من الموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الأداء المعالجات يوفر الحل الأمثل للتطبيق الخاص بك. انتاج الطاقة العالية، وسهولة ضبط دقيقة وموثوقية ultrasonicators لدينا تأكد من أن يتم الوفاء بمتطلبات العملية الخاصة بك. شاشات تعمل باللمس الرقمية وتسجيل البيانات التلقائي من المعلمات بالموجات فوق الصوتية على بطاقة SD متكاملة جعل العملية والسيطرة على أجهزة الموجات فوق الصوتية لدينا سهلة الاستخدام جدا.
متانة معدات الموجات فوق الصوتية HIELSCHER تتيح لل24/7 العملية في الثقيلة وفي البيئات الصعبة.
الجدول أدناه يعطيك مؤشرا على قدرة المعالجة التقريبية لultrasonicators لدينا:

دفعة حجم معدل المد و الجزر الأجهزة الموصى بها
1 إلى 500ML 10 إلى 200ML / دقيقة UP100H
10 إلى 2000ML 20 إلى 400ML / دقيقة Uf200 ः ر، UP400St
00.1 إلى 20L 00.2 إلى 4L / دقيقة UIP2000hdT
10 إلى 100L 2 إلى 10L / دقيقة UIP4000hdT
زمالة المدمنين المجهولين 10 إلى 100L / دقيقة UIP16000
زمالة المدمنين المجهولين أكبر مجموعة من UIP16000

اتصل بنا! / اسألنا!

اطلب المزيد من المعلومات

يرجى استخدام النموذج أدناه، إذا كنت ترغب في طلب معلومات إضافية حول التجانس بالموجات فوق الصوتية. سنكون سعداء لنقدم لكم نظام الموجات فوق الصوتية تلبية الاحتياجات الخاصة بك.









يرجى ملاحظة لدينا سياسة الخصوصية.


Hielscher الفوق صوتيات بتصنيع عالية الأداء أوتراسوتكناتورس للتطبيقات سونوكيميائية.

معالجات بالموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الطاقة من مختبر إلى مقياس تجريبي وصناعي.

مراجع الادب

  • ساديا أفرين، كاستوري موثوسامي، سيفاكومار مانيكام (2018): سونو نانو الكيمياء: حقبة جديدة من توليف المواد النانوية الكربونية متعددة الهيدروكسيت مع مجموعات الهيدروكسيل وجوانبها الصناعية. الفوق صوتيات سونوكيمياء 2018.
  • ساديا أفرين، كاستوري موثوسامي، سيفاكومار مانيكام (2017): الترطيب أو الهيدروكسيل: التوليف المباشر للفولرينول من فولرين البكر [C60] عبر التجويف الصوتي في وجود بيروكسيد الهيدروجين. RSC Adv., 2017, 7, 31930–31939.
  • غريغوري ف. أندرييفسكي، فاديم أ. بروسكوف، أرتيم أ. تايخوميروف، سيرجي ف. غودكوف (2009): خصائص الآثار المضادة للأكسدة وواقية من الأشعة من النانوستوتوسات المعوّلة C60 فولرين في المختبر وفي الجسم الحي. علم الأحياء الراديكالي الحر & الطب 47، 2009. 786-793.
  • ميهايلو غيغوف، بوريفوي أدنديفيتش، بوريفوي أدنديفيتش، يلينا د. يوفانوفيتش (2016): تأثير المجال بالموجات فوق الصوتية على حركية اللاوثيرم لبوليهيدروكسيل فولرين. علم تلبد 2016، 48(2):259-272.
  • هيروتاكا يوشيوكا، ناوكو يوي، كاناكا ياتابي، هيروتو فوجيا، هاروكي موشا، هيكاتيرو نيكي، ري كاراساوا، كازو يودوه (2016): بولي هيدروكسيلاتيد C60 فولرينز منع النشاط الكوندرسيت تقويضي في تركيزات نانومولار في هشاشة العظام. مجلة هشاشة العظام 2016, 1:115.


حقائق تستحق العلم

C60 Fullerenes

A C60 fullerene (المعروف أيضا باسم باكيبال أو باكمينستر فولرين) هو جزيء الذي تم بناؤه من 60 ذرات الكربون، رتبت كما 12 البنتاجون و 20 مسدس. شكل جزيء C60 يشبه كرة القدم. الـ C60 fullerens هي مضادات أكسدة غير سامة تظهر قوة 100-1000 أعلى من فيتامين E. على الرغم من أن C60 نفسها ليست قابلة للذوبان في الماء, وقد تم توليف العديد من مشتقات فولرين القابلة للذوبان في الماء للغاية مثل fullenerol.
يتم استخدام C60 fullerens كمضادات الأكسدة والأدوية الحيوية. وتشمل التطبيقات الأخرى علوم المواد، والخلايا الكهروضوئية العضوية، والمواد الحفازة، في تنقية المياه والحماية من المخاطر البيولوجية، والطاقة المحمولة، والمركبات، والأجهزة الطبية.

الذوبان من C60 نقية:

  • في الماء: غير قابل للذوبان
  • في كبريتيد ثنائي الميثيل (DMSO): غير قابل للذوبان
  • في التولوين: قابل للذوبان
  • في البنزين: قابل للذوبان
بنية سطحيّة من [ك60] [فولّينس] ([بوكمنستر] [فولّينس], [بكيبولّس])

بنية سطحية من C60 fullerenes
المصدر: يوشيوكا وآخرون، 2016

بولي هيدروكسيلاتيد C60 / فولينرولز

فولرينرول أو فولرولس هي جزيئات C60 متعددة هيدروكسيلاتيد (مرطب C60 فولرين: C60هيفن). رد فعل التحلل يقدم مجموعات هيدروكسيل (-OH) إلى جزيء C60. جزيئات C60 مع أكثر من 40 مجموعات هيدروكسيل لديها ذوبان الماء أعلى (>50 ملغ / مل). هذه موجودة كجسيمات نانوية أحادية التشتت في الماء، ولها تأثير تلميع الباسلة. أنها تظهر مضادات الأكسدة متفوقة وخصائص مضادة للالتهابات. بوليهيدروكسيليتفولينز (فولرينولز; C60 (OH)n) يمكن حلها في بعض المشروبات الكحولية ومن ثم التسرع في عملية الكهروكيميائية، وخلق فيلم نانوكربون على الأنود. وتستخدم أفلام فولرينول كطلاء متوافق بيولوجيا، خاملة للأجسام البيولوجية ويمكن أن تسهل دمج الأجسام غير البيولوجية في أنسجة الجسم.
الذوبان من فولينرول:

  • في الماء: قابل للذوبان، يمكن أن تصل إلى أكثر من 50 ملغ / مل
  • في كبريتيد ثنائي الميثيل (DMSO): قابل للذوبان
  • في الميثانول: قابل للذوبان قليلا
  • في التولوين: غير قابل للذوبان
  • في البنزين: غير قابل للذوبان

لون: فولرينول تحمل أكثر من 10 -OH مجموعات تظهر اللون البني الداكن. مع عدد متزايد من مجموعات -OH، يتحول اللون تدريجيا من البني الداكن إلى الأصفر.

قابل للذوبان في الماء، يمكن توليفها بوليهيدروكسيلاتيد C60 باستخدام الفوق صوتيات

الذوبان من الذوبان من C60 (OH) 8.2H2O بالمقارنة مع C60 في المذيبات المختلفة. المصدر: Afreen et al. 2017

تطبيقات واستخدام فولرينول:

  1. الصيدلانية: الكواشف التشخيصية، والأدوية السوبر، ومستحضرات التجميل، والرنين المغناطيسي النووي (NMR) مع المطور. تقارب الحمض النووي، والأدوية المضادة لفيروس نقص المناعة البشرية، والأدوية المضادة للسرطان، وأدوية العلاج الكيميائي، والمواد المضافة مستحضرات التجميل والبحث العلمي. بالمقارنة مع الشكل البكر، فولرينات بوليهيدروكسيليت لديها المزيد من التطبيقات المحتملة بسبب الذوبان المياه المعززة. وقد وجد أن fullerols يمكن أن تقلل من سمية القلب لبعض الأدوية وتمنع فيروس نقص المناعة البشرية البروتياز, فيروس التهاب الكبد C والنمو غير الطبيعي للخلايا. وعلاوة على ذلك، فقد أظهرت قدرات ممتازة من الجذور الحرة على المسح ضد أنواع الأكسجين التفاعلية والجذور في ظل الظروف الفسيولوجية.
  2. الطاقة: بطارية شمسية، خلية وقود، بطارية ثانوية.
  3. الصناعة: ارتداء المواد المقاومة، مواد مثبطات اللهب، مواد التشحيم، إضافات البوليمر، غشاء عالية الأداء، محفز، الماس الاصطناعي، سبائك الصلب، السائل لزج كهربائي، مرشحات الحبر، والطلاء عالية الأداء، والطلاء الحرائق، تصنيع المواد النشطة بيولوجيا، ومواد الذاكرة، جزءا لا يتجزأ من الخصائص الجزيئية وغيرها، والمواد المركبة الخ.
  4. صناعة المعلومات: أشباه الموصلات سجل المتوسطة، والمواد المغناطيسية، وحبر الطباعة، الحبر، والحبر، وأغراض الورق الخاصة.
  5. الأجزاء الإلكترونية: أشباه الموصلات فائقة التوصيل، الثنائيات، الترانزستورات، محث.
  6. المواد البصرية، والكاميرا الإلكترونية، وأنبوب عرض الفلورة، والمواد البصرية غير الخطية.
  7. البيئة: امتصاص الغاز، تخزين الغاز.

Hielscher Ultrasound Technology

Ultrasonically Polyhydroxylated C60 (Fullerenol)

  • Water-soluble polyhydroxylated C60 fullerene, called fullerenol or fullerol, is a strong free radical scavenger and is therefore used as an antioxidant in supplements and pharmaceuticals.
  • Ultrasonic hydroxylation is a rapid and simple one-step reaction, which is used to produce water-soluble polyhydroxylated C60.
  • Ultrasonically synthesized water-soluble C60 has superior quality and is used for pharma and high performance applications.

Ultrasonic One-Step Synthesis of Polyhydrolxylated C60

Ultrasonic cavitation is the superior technique to produce high-quality polyhydroxylated C60 fullerenes, which are water-soluble and can be therefore used in various applications in pharma, medicine and industry. Afreen et al (2017) have developed a rapid and simple ultrasonic synthesis of contamination-free polyhydroxylated C60 (also known as fullerenol or fullerol). The ultrasonic one-step reaction uses H2O2 and is free from the use of additional hydroxylating reagents, i.e. NaOH, H2SO4, and phase transfer catalysts (PTC), which cause impurities in the synthesized fullerenol. This makes the ultrasonic fullerenol synthesis is a cleaner approach to produce fullerenol; at the same time, it is an easier and a faster way to produce high-quality, water-soluble C60.

Ultrasonic hydroxylation of C60 to produce water-soluble c60 (fullerenol)

Possible reaction paths in the ultrasound-assisted synthesis of fullerenol in the presence of dil. H2O2 (30%).
source: Afreen et al. 2017

Ultrasonic Synthesis of Water-Soluble C60 – Step-by-Step

UP200St - 200W powerful ultrasonic processorFor the fast, simple, and green preparation of polyhydroxylated C60, which is water-soluble, 200 mg of pure C60 is added to 20mL 30% H2O2 and sonicated with an ultrasonic processor such as the UP200Ht or UP200St. The sonication parameters were 30% amplitude, 200 W at pulsed mode for 1 h at room temperature. The reaction vessel is placed into a refrigerated circulator water bath in order to maintain the temperature inside the vessel at ambient temperature. Before sonication, C60 is immiscible in aqueous H2O2 and is a colorless heterogeneous mixture, which turns to a light brown color after 30 min of ultrasonication. Subsequently, in the next 30 min of ultrasonication it turns into a completely dark brown dispersion.
Hydroxyl donor: Intense ultrasonically generated (= acoustic) cavitation creates radicals such as cOH, cOOH and cH from H2O and H2O2 molecules. The use of H2O2 in aqueous media is a more efficient approach to introduce –OH groups onto the C60 cage rather than only using H2O for the synthesis of fullerenol. H2O2 plays an important role in the ultrasonic hydroxylation intensification.

Ultrasonic hydroxylation of C60 using dil. H2O2 (30%) is a facile and fast one-step reaction to prepare fullerenol. Requiring only a short time for the reaction, the ultrasonic reaction offers a green and clean approach with a low energy requirement, avoiding the use of any toxic or corrosive reagents for the synthesis, and reducing the number of solvents required for the separation and purification of C60(OH)8∙2H2O.

Ultrasonic processor UP400St (400W) for homogenization, dispersion, emulsification and sonochemical applications.

UP400St (400W, 24kHz) is a powerful ultrasonic disperser

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


Ultrasonic Polyhydroxylation Pathway

When intense ultrasound waves are coupled into a liquid, alternating low-pressure / high-pressure cycles create vacuum bubbles in the liquid. The vacuum bubbles grow over several cycles until they cannot absorb more energy, so that they collaps violently. During the bubble collapse extreme physical effects such as high temperature and pressure differentials, shock waves, microjets, turbulences, shear forces, etc. This phenomenon is known as ultrasonic or acoustic cavitation.These intense forces of ultrasonic cavitation decompose the molecules to cOH and cOOH55 radicals. Afreen et al (2017) assume that the reaction may progress in two pathways simultaneously. cOH radicals as reactive oxygen species (ROS) attach onto the C60 cage to give fullerenol (Path I), and/or –OH and cOOH radicals attack the electron deficient C60 double bonds in a nucleophilic reaction and this leads to the formation of fullerene epoxide [C60On] as an intermediate in the first stage (Path II) which is similar to the mechanism of the Bingel reaction. Further, the repeated attack of cOH (or cOOH) on C60O via an SN2 reaction results in polyhydroxylated fullerene or fullerenol.
Repeated epoxidation may take place which produces successive epoxide groups e.g., C60O2 and C60O3. These epoxide groups could be possible candidates to generate other intermediates e.g. hydroxylated fullerene epoxide during sonolysis (= sonochemical decomposition). Additionally, the subsequent ring opening of C60(OH)xOy with cOH can result in the formation of fullerenol. The formation of these intermediates during the sonolysis of H2O2 or H2O in the presence of C60 is inevitable, and their presence in the final fullerenol (although in a trace amount) cannot go unnoted. However, because they are only present in trace amounts in the fullerenol they are not expected to cause any significant impact. [Afreen et al 2017: 31936]

High Performance Ultrasonicators

Hielscher Ultrasonics supplies ultrasonic processors for your specific requirements: Whether you want to sonicate small volumes on lab scale or produce large volume stream on industrial scale, Hielscher’s broad portfolio of high-performance ultrasonic processors offers the perfect solution for your application. The high power output, precise adjustability and the reliability of our ultrasonicators make sure that your process requirements are fulfilled. Digital touch screens and automatic data recording of the ultrasonic parameters on an integrated SD card make the operation and control of our ultrasonic devices very user-friendly.
The robustness of Hielscher’s ultrasonic equipment allows for 24/7 operation at heavy duty and in demanding environments.
The table below gives you an indication of the approximate processing capacity of our ultrasonicators:

Batch Volume Flow Rate Recommended Devices
1 to 500mL 10 to 200mL/min UP100H
10 to 2000mL 20 to 400mL/min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 to 20L 0.2 to 4L/min UIP2000hdT
10 to 100L 2 to 10L/min UIP4000hdT
n.a. 10 to 100L/min UIP16000
n.a. larger cluster of UIP16000

Contact Us! / Ask Us!

Ask for more information

Please use the form below, if you wish to request additional information about ultrasonic homogenization. We will be glad to offer you an ultrasonic system meeting your requirements.









Please note our privacy policy.


Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonicators for sonochemical applications.

High-power ultrasonic processors from lab to pilot and industrial scale.

Literature/References

  • Sadia Afreen, Kasturi Muthoosamy, Sivakumar Manickam (2018): Sono-nano chemistry: A new era of synthesising polyhydroxylated carbon nanomaterials with hydroxyl groups and their industrial aspects. Ultrasonics Sonochemistry 2018.
  • Sadia Afreen, Kasturi Muthoosamy, Sivakumar Manickam (2017): Hydration or hydroxylation: direct synthesis of fullerenol from pristine fullerene [C60] via acoustic cavitation in the presence of hydrogen peroxide. RSC Adv., 2017, 7, 31930–31939.
  • Grigory V. Andrievsky, Vadim I. Bruskov, Artem A. Tykhomyrov, Sergey V. Gudkov (2009): Peculiarities of the antioxidant and radioprotective effects of hydrated C60 fullerene nanostuctures in vitro and in vivo. Free Radical Biology & Medicine 47, 2009. 786–793.
  • Mihajlo Gigov, Borivoj Adnađević, Borivoj Adnađević, Jelena D. Jovanovic (2016): Effect of ultrasonic field on isothermal kinetics of fullerene polyhydroxylation. Science of Sintering 2016, 48(2):259-272.
  • Hirotaka Yoshioka, Naoko Yui, Kanaka Yatabe, Hiroto Fujiya, Haruki Musha, Hisateru Niki, Rie Karasawa, Kazuo Yudoh (2016): Polyhydroxylated C60 Fullerenes Prevent Chondrocyte Catabolic Activity at Nanomolar Concentrations in Osteoarthritis. Journal of Osteoarthritis 2016, 1:115.


Facts Worth Knowing

C60 Fullerenes

A C60 fullerene (also known as buckyball or Buckminster fullerene) is a molecule that is built from 60 carbon atoms, arranged as 12 pentagons and 20 hexagons. The shape of a C60 molecule resembles a soccer ball. The C60 fullerens are a non-toxic antioxidant showing a potency 100–1000 higher than vitamin E. Although C60 itself is not water-soluble, many highly water soluble fullerene derivatives such as fullenerol have been synthesized.
C60 fullerens are used as antioxidant and as biopharmaceutical. Other applications include material science, organic photovoltaics (OPV), catalysts, in water purification and biohazard protection, portable power, vehicles and medical devices.

Solubility of pure C60:

  • in water: not soluble
  • in dimethyl sulfoxide (DMSO): not soluble
  • in toluene: soluble
  • in benzene: soluble
Surface structure of c60 fullerenes (Buckminster fullerenes, buckyballs)

Surface structure of C60 fullerenes
source: Yoshioka et al. 2016

Polyhydroxylated C60 / Fullenerols

Fullernerol or fullerols are polyhydroxylated C60 molecules (hydrated C60 fullerene: C60HyFn). The hydrolylation reaction introduces hydroxyl groups (-OH) to the C60 molecule. C60 molecules with over 40 hydroxyl groups have a higher water solubility (>50 mg/mL). These exist as monodisperse nanoparticles in water, and have a valiant polishing effect. They exhibit superior antioxidant and anti-inflammatory properties. Polyhydroxylated fullerenes (fullerenols; C60(OH)n) can be dissolved in some alcohols and then precipiteated in an electrochemical process, creating a nanocarbon film on the anode. Fullerenol films are used as a biocompatible coating, inert to biological objects and can facilitate the integration of non-biological objects into body tissues.
Solubility of Fullenerol:

  • in water: soluble, can reach >50 mg/mL
  • in dimethyl sulfoxide (DMSO): soluble
  • in methanol: slightly soluble
  • in toluene: not soluble
  • in benzene: not soluble

Color: Fullerenol bearing more than 10 –OH groups exhibit a dark brown color. With an increasing number of –OH groups, the color gradually shifts from dark brown to yellow.

Water-soluble, polyhydroxylated C60 can be synthesized using ultrasonics

Solubility of Solubility of C60(OH)8.2H2O in comparison to C60 in different solvents. source: Afreen et al. 2017

Applications and Use of Fullerenols:

  1. Pharmaceutical: Diagnostic reagents, super drugs, cosmetics, nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) with the developer. DNA affinity, anti-HIV drugs, anti-cancer drugs, chemotherapy drugs, cosmetics additives and scientific research. Compared with the pristine form, polyhydroxylated fullerenes have more potential applications due to their enhanced water solubility. It has been found that fullerols can reduce cardiotoxicity of some drugs and inhibit HIV-protease, hepatitis C virus and abnormal growth of cells. Furthermore, they exhibited excellent free-radical scavenging abilities against reactive oxygen species and radicals under physiological conditions.
  2. Energy: Solar battery, fuel cell, secondary battery.
  3. Industry: Wear resistant material, flame retardant materials, lubricants, polymer additives, high-performance membrane, catalyst, artificial diamond, hard alloy, electric viscous fluid, ink filters, high-performance coatings, fire retardant coatings, manufacturing bioactive materials , memory materials, embedded molecular and other characteristics, composite materials etc.
  4. Information industry: Semiconductor record medium, magnetic materials, printing ink, toner, ink, paper special purposes.
  5. Electronic parts: Superconducting semiconductor, diodes, transistors, inductor.
  6. Optical materials, electronic camera, fluorescence display tube, nonlinear optical materials.
  7. Environment: Gas adsorption, gas storage.