Hielscher تكنولوجيا الموجات فوق الصوتية

إزالة الكبريت من الوقود البحري بالموجات فوق الصوتية

  • وتتأثر أنواع الوقود البحري باللوائح الجديدة التي تتطلب نسبة كبريت تبلغ 0.5 في المائة م/م أو أقل.
  • إزالة الكبريت التأكسدي بمساعدة الموجات فوق الصوتية (UAOD) هو طريقة راسخة تسرع من رد فعل الأكسدة وهي عملية اقتصادية وآمنة.
  • ويمكن تشغيل عمليات UAOD في درجة الحرارة المحيطة والضغط الجوي وتسمح بإزالة انتقائية لمركبات الكبريت من الوقود الهيدروكربوني.
  • Hielscher أنظمة الموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الأداء سهلة التركيب وآمنة للعمل على متن الطائرة أو على الشاطئ.

أنواع الوقود البحري منخفضة الكبريت

نفذت المنظمة البحرية الدولية أنظمة جديدة يُطلب بموجبها من السفن البحرية في جميع أنحاء العالم استخدام الوقود البحري الذي تبلغ نسبة الكبريت فيه 0.5 في المائة م/م اعتبارا من كانون الثاني/يناير 2020. وتتطلب هذه الأنظمة الجديدة تغييرات عميقة في تجهيز الوقود البحري: من أجل الوفاء بالمعايير الجديدة المتعلقة بأنواع الوقود المنخفض الكبريت، يلزم إجراء عملية فعالة لإزالة الكبريت.
إزالة الكبريت التأكسدي بمساعدة الموجات فوق الصوتية (UAOD) من الوقود الهيدروكربوني السائل مثل البنزين والنافثا والديزل والوقود البحري، وما إلى ذلك هو وسيلة فعالة للغاية وقابلة للتطبيق لإزالة الكبريت من كميات كبيرة من تيارات الوقود الثقيل.

إزالة الكبريت التأكسدي بمساعدة بالموجات فوق الصوتية (UAOD)

مخطط انسيابي لإزالة الكبريت بالموجات فوق الصوتية على مرحلتين

إزالة الكبريت التأكسدي

إزالة الكبريت التأكسدي (ODS) هو بديل صديق للبيئة واقتصادي لهيدروديالكبريت (HDS) حيث يمكن فصل مركبات الكبريت المؤكسدة بشكل ملحوظ عن زيوت الوقود الثقيل. بعد خطوة التبسور التأكسدي، يتم فصل مركبات الكبريت المستخرجة بالطرق الفيزيائية مثل استخدام المذيبات القطبية غير القابلة للامتزاج والجاذبية اللاحقة، الامتزاز أو فصل الطرد المركزي. بدلا من ذلك، يمكن استخدام التحلل الحراري لإزالة الكبريت المؤكسد.
لرد فعل إزالة الكبريت التأكسدي، أكسدة (على سبيل المثال، الهيدروجين H2ال2الصوديوم الكلوريت NaClO,2أكسيد النيتروز N,2O، فترة الصوديوم NaIO4) ، ومحفز (على سبيل المثال ، الأحماض) ، فضلا عن الكاشف مرحلة نقل مطلوبة. ويساعد كاشف نقل المرحلة على تعزيز رد الفعل غير المتجانس بين المرحلتين المائية والنفطية، وهي الخطوة التي تحد من معدل تفاعل المواد المستنفدة للأوزون.

فوائد UAOD

  • كفاءة عالية – إزالة الكبريت بنسبة تصل إلى 98%
  • اقتصادية: انخفاض الاستثمار، وانخفاض التكاليف التشغيلية
  • لا التسمم محفز
  • سهلة، وطول الخطية المتابعة
  • آمنة للعمل
  • البري & تركيب في الخارج (على متن الطائرة)
  • بسرعة روي
إزالة الكبريت بالموجات فوق الصوتية من وقود السفن البحرية

طلب معلومات





إزالة الكبريت التأكسدي بمساعدة بالموجات فوق الصوتية

في حين أن هيدروديالكبريت (HDS) يتطلب ارتفاع تكاليف الاستثمار، وارتفاع درجة حرارة رد الفعل تصل إلى 400 درجة مئوية، وارتفاع ضغط يصل إلى 100atm في المفاعلات، وعملية إزالة الكبريت التأكسدي بمساعدة الموجات فوق الصوتية (UAOD) هو أكثر ملاءمة بكثير، كفاءة وخضرة. ويعزز هذا البرنامج إلى حد كبير تفاعل إزالة الكبريت الحفاز، ويقدم في الوقت نفسه تكلفة تشغيل أقل، وسلامة أعلى وحماية بيئية. أنظمة مفاعل تدفق الموجات فوق الصوتية الصناعية زيادة معدل إزالة الكبريت بسبب تشتت فعالة للغاية وبالتالي تحسين حركية التفاعل. منذ المعالجة بالموجات فوق الصوتية يوفر تشتت نانو على نطاق، يتم زيادة نقل الكتلة بين المراحل المختلفة في رد فعل غير متجانسة بشكل كبير.
التجويف بالموجات فوق الصوتية قويةبالموجات فوق الصوتية (الصوتية) التجويف يزيد من معدل رد الفعل والنقل الجماعي من قبل الظروف القاسية، والتي يتم التوصل إليها داخل التجويف النقاط الساخنة. خلال انفجار فقاعة التجويف، يتم الوصول إلى درجات حرارة عالية جدا من حوالي 5000K، ومعدلات التبريد سريع ة جدا، والضغوط من حوالي 2000atm وبالتالي درجة الحرارة القصوى وفروق الضغط محليا. انفجار فقاعة التجويف يؤدي أيضا في الطائرات السائلة تصل إلى سرعة 280M / ق، مما يخلق قوى القص عالية جدا. هذه القوى الميكانيكية غير عادية تسريع وقت رد فعل الأكسدة وزيادة كفاءة تحويل الكبريت في غضون ثوان.

إزالة الكبريت بشكل أكثر اكتمالاً

في حين يمكن إزالة الميركابتان، ثيوإيثرات، الكبريتيدات وثنائي كبريتيد من خلال عملية هيدروديسولسولاليز التقليدية (HDS)، لإزالة الثيوفين، البنزوثيوفين (BT)، ثنائي بنزوثيوفينيس (DBT) و 4،6-ثنائي ميثيل ديبنزوثيوفينيات (4،6-DMDBT) أ مطلوب طريقة أكثر تطورا. إزالة الكبريت التأكسدي بالموجات فوق الصوتية فعالة للغاية عندما يتعلق الأمر بإزالة حتى المركبات الحرارية الكبريت القابلة للإزالة بالكاد (على سبيل المثال، 4,6-dimethyldibenzothiophene وغيرها من مشتقات ثيوفين الألكيل البديلة). إبراهيمي وآخرون (2018) تقرير أ كفاءة إزالة الكبريت تصل إلى 98.25٪ باستخدام مفاعل السونومفاعل Hielscher الأمثل لإزالة الكبريت. وعلاوة على ذلك، يمكن فصل مركبات الكبريت المؤكسدة بالموجات فوق الصوتية عن طريق غسل المياه الأساسية.

مع إزالة الكبريت التأكسدي بمساعدة الموجات فوق الصوتية متعددة الخطوات (UAOD) تم زيادة إزالة الكبريت بشكل كبير. (شايغان وآخرون 2013)

تأثير عملية UAOD متعددة الخطوات في المعلمات المثلى

اختبار الجدوى إزالة الكبريت بالموجات فوق الصوتية مع UP400S

شايجان وآخرون 2013 الجمع بين الموجات فوق الصوتية (UP400S) مع بيروكسيد الهيدروجين كما أكسدة، FeSO كعامل حفاز، حمض الخليك كما الحاتر درجة الحموضة والميثانول كمذيب استخراج من أجل الحد من كمية الكبريت من زيت الغاز.
يمكن زيادة ثوابت معدل التفاعل أثناء إزالة الكبريت التأكسدي بشكل كبير عن طريق إضافة أيونات معدنية كمحفز واستخدام sonication. الطاقة بالموجات فوق الصوتية يمكن أن تقلل من الطاقة التنشيط من رد الفعل. العلاج ultrasonication يكسر طبقة الحدود بين المواد الحفازة الصلبة والكواشف ويوفر مزيجا متجانسا من المواد الحفازة والكواشف – يحسن بذلك الردّ فعل حركيّة.
وعملية استخراج الكبريت خطوة حاسمة أثناء إزالة الكبريت بهدف استعادة الحجم الإجمالي لزيت الغاز الخالي من الكبريت. استخدام استخراج السائل السائل باستخدام الميثانول كمذيب هو عملية استخراج بسيطة، ولكن لضمان كفاءة عالية خلط فعالة من المراحل غير القابلة للامتزاج أمر ضروري. فقط عندما تتم واجهة الحد الأقصى ونقل الكتلة القصوى في وقت لاحق بين المراحل، يتم تحقيق معدل استخراج عالية. Ultrasonication وتوليد التجويف الصوتي يوفر خلط مكثفة من مراحل رد الفعل ويقلل من الطاقة التنشيط من رد الفعل.

بالموجات فوق الصوتية الاستحلاب

وحدات عالية الأداء بالموجات فوق الصوتية لإزالة الكبريت الوقود البحري

Hielscher الفوق صوتيات هي الشركة الرائدة في السوق لأنظمة الموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الطاقة للتطبيقات الصعبة مثل UAOD على النطاق الصناعي. السعة العالية تصل إلى 200μm، 24/7 عملية تحت الحمل الكامل والثقيلة، والمتانة والود المستخدم هي السمات الرئيسية للultrasonicators Hielscher. أنظمة الموجات فوق الصوتية من مختلف فئات الطاقة والملحقات المختلفة مثل سونوتروديس وتدفق الجيومتريات مفاعل تسمح للتكيف الأكثر ملاءمة من نظام الموجات فوق الصوتية للوقود الخاص بك محددة، والقدرة على المعالجة والبيئة.
الجدول أدناه يعطيك مؤشرا على قدرة المعالجة التقريبية لultrasonicators لدينا:

دفعة حجم معدل المد و الجزر الأجهزة الموصى بها
10 إلى 2000ML 20 إلى 400ML / دقيقة UP400St
00.1 إلى 20L 00.2 إلى 4L / دقيقة UIP2000hdT
10 إلى 100L 2 إلى 10L / دقيقة UIP4000hdT
زمالة المدمنين المجهولين 10 إلى 100L / دقيقة UIP16000
زمالة المدمنين المجهولين أكبر مجموعة من UIP16000

اتصل بنا! / اسألنا!

اطلب المزيد من المعلومات

يرجى استخدام النموذج أدناه، إذا كنت ترغب في طلب معلومات إضافية حول التجانس بالموجات فوق الصوتية. سنكون سعداء لنقدم لكم نظام الموجات فوق الصوتية تلبية الاحتياجات الخاصة بك.









يرجى ملاحظة لدينا سياسة الخصوصية.


Hielscher الفوق صوتيات بتصنيع عالية الأداء أوتراسوتكناتورس للتطبيقات سونوكيميائية.

معالجات بالموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الطاقة من مختبر إلى مقياس تجريبي وصناعي.

مراجع الادب

  • إبراهيمي، ذ.م.ل. خسروي - نيكو، م. ر. هاشم أبادي، س. ح. (2018): تحسين مفاعل سونومفاعل للموجات فوق الصوتية ساعد على إزالة الكبريت التأكسدي للهيدروكربونات السائلة. علوم وتكنولوجيا البترول المجلد 36، العدد 13، 2018.
  • براجاباتي، أ. ك. سينغ, S.K.; Gupta, S.P.; ميشرا، أ. (2018): إزالة الكبريت من النفط الخام عن طريق الموجات فوق الصوتية المتكاملة تكنولوجيا الأكسدة. فى الانجليزية – المجلة الدولية للبحث العلمي & Development Vol. 6, Issue 02, 2018.
  • شايغان, Z.; Razzaghi, M.; نياي, A.; Salari, D.; طبر, M.T.S.; أكبري، A.N. (2013): إزالة الكبريت من زيت الغاز باستخدام عملية الأكسدة الحفازة بمساعدة الموجات فوق الصوتية ودراسة ظروفه المثلى. Korean J. Chem. Eng., 30(9), 2013. 1751-1759.
  • Štimac, A.; Ivančević, B.; Jambrošić, K. (2001): التوصيف من المجانسة بالموجات فوق الصوتية لصناعة بناء السفن.


نتائج البحوث على إزالة الكبريت التأكسدي بمساعدة بالموجات فوق الصوتية (UAOD)

Prajapati et al. (2018): إزالة الكبريت من النفط الخام عن طريق الموجات فوق الصوتية تكنولوجيا الأكسدة المتكاملة. فى الانجليزية – المجلة الدولية للبحث العلمي & Development Vol. 6, Issue 02, 2018.
يصف Prajapati وآخرون (2018) فوائد مفاعل Hielscher بالموجات فوق الصوتية لإزالة الكبريت التأكسدي بمساعدة الموجات فوق الصوتية (UAOD). وقد أصبح UAOD تكنولوجيا بديلة قابلة للتطبيق للمعالجة المائية التقليدية، والتي تضعف من قبل الاستثمار الكبير والتكاليف التشغيلية بسبب ارتفاع الضغط، وارتفاع درجة الحرارة معدات هيدروسيدالكبريت، المراجل، ومحطات الهيدروجين، و وحدات استعادة الكبريت. يسمح إزالة الكبريت التأكسدي بمساعدة الموجات فوق الصوتية بتنفيذ عملية الإزالة العميقة للكبريت في ظل ظروف أكثر اعتدالاً، وأسرع وأكثر أماناً وأكثر اقتصاداً.
وطبقت عملية إزالة الكبريت التأكسدي بمساعدة الموجات فوق الصوتية على زيت الديزل والمواد الأولية للمنتجات النفطية التي تحتوي على مركبات الكبريت النموذجية (البنزوثيوفين، وثنائي بنزوثيوفين، وثنائي ميثيل ديبنزوثيوفين). تأثير الكمية المؤكسدة ، وحجم المذيبات لخطوة استخراج ، والوقت ودرجة الحرارة من العلاج بالموجات فوق الصوتية (UIP1000hdT، 20 كيلو هرتز، 750 واط، تعمل بنسبة 40٪. تم التحقيق. باستخدام الظروف المثلى لUAOD، تم تحقيق إزالة الكبريت تصل إلى 99٪ للمركبات النموذجية في المواد الأولية للمنتجات النفطية باستخدام نسبة الأضراس لH2ال2حمض الخليك: الكبريت من 64:300:1، بعد 9min من العلاج بالموجات فوق الصوتية في 90 درجة مئوية، تليها استخراج مع الميثانول (المذيبات الأمثل ونسبة النفط من 0.36). باستخدام نفس الكمية الكاشف و 9 دقائق من الموجات فوق الصوتية إزالة الكبريت كان أعلى من 75٪ لعينات زيت الديزل.
أهمية السعة بالموجات فوق الصوتية عالية
التكثيف بالموجات فوق الصوتية من إزالة الكبريت التأكسدي على نطاق تجاري من النفط الخام يتطلب استخدام معالج بالموجات فوق الصوتية تدفق الصناعية من خلال قادرة على الحفاظ على السعة الاهتزاز عالية من حوالي 80 – 100 ميكرونق. السعة تتصل مباشرة إلى كثافة التجويف بالموجات فوق الصوتية التي تولدها قوى القص ويجب الحفاظ عليها على مستوى عال بما فيه الكفاية للخلط لتكون فعالة.
التجارب التي أجرتها Prajapati وآخرون تبين أن ultrasonication يعزز رد فعل إزالة الكبريت. وكانت كفاءة إزالة الكبريت حوالي 93.2٪ عندما يتم تطبيق الموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الأداء.


شايغان وآخرون (2013): إزالة الكبريت من زيت الغاز باستخدام عملية الأكسدة الحفازة بمساعدة الموجات فوق الصوتية ودراسة ظروفه المثلى. المجلة الكورية للهندسة الكيميائية 30(9)، سبتمبر 2013. 1751-1759.
تم تطبيق عملية إزالة الكبريت التأكسدي بمساعدة الموجات فوق الصوتية (UAOD) للحد من مركبات الكبريت من زيت الغاز التي تحتوي على أنواع مختلفة من محتوى الكبريت. ويتطلب التنظيم البيئي إزالة الكبريت بشكل عميق جداً للقضاء على مركبات الكبريت. UAOD هي تكنولوجيا واعدة مع انخفاض تكلفة التشغيل وارتفاع السلامة وحماية البيئة. ولأول مرة، استعيض عن عامل نقل المرحلة النموذجي (بروميد رباعي أوكتيل - الأمونيوم) بمادة إيزوبوتانول لأن استخدام الإيزوبوتانول أكثر اقتصاداً بكثير من TOAB، مما يفرض أي تلوث. تم تنفيذ رد الفعل في النقطة المثلى مع درجات حرارة مختلفة، في واحد، اثنين وثلاثة إجراءات الخطوة، والتحقيق في تأثير الزيادة التدريجية من H2ال2 وTOAB تستخدم بدلا من إيزوبوتانول. تم تحليل التركيز الكلي للكبريت في مرحلة النفط من خلال طريقة ASTM-D3120. تم تحقيق أعلى إزالة من حوالي 90٪ لزيت الغاز الذي يحتوي على 9500 ملغ / كغ من الكبريت في ثلاث خطوات خلال 17 دقيقة من العملية في 62 ± 2 درجة مئوية عندما 180.3 مليمول من H2ال2 تم استخدامها واستخراج التي نفذتها الميثانول.


أكبري وآخرون (2014): التحقيق في متغيرات العملية وآثار تكثيف الموجات فوق الصوتية المطبقة في إزالة الكبريت التأكسدي من نموذج الديزل على وزارة الصحة3/Al2ال3 محفز. الفوق صوتيات سونوكيمياء 21(2), مارس 2014. 692–705.
نظام تحليل السونوكاتيون غير المتجانس الجديد الذي يتكون من وزارة الصحة3/Al2ال3 محفز وH2ال2 جنبا إلى جنب مع ultrasonication تمت دراسة لتحسين وتسريع أكسدة نماذج مركبات الكبريت من الديزل، مما أدى إلى تعزيز كبير في كفاءة العملية. وقد درس تأثير الموجات فوق الصوتية على خصائص ونشاط واستقرار محفز بالتفصيل عن طريق GC-FID، PSD، SEM وتقنيات BET. تم الحصول على ما يزيد على 98٪ من DBT في نموذج الديزل التي تحتوي على 1000 ميكروغرام / غرام الكبريت عن طريق إزالة الكبريت الجديدة بمساعدة الموجات فوق الصوتية في H2ال2/نسبة الأضراس الكبريت من 3، درجة حرارة 318 K وجرعة محفز من 30 غرام / لتر بعد 30 دقيقة رد فعل، على عكس تحويل 55٪ التي تم الحصول عليها خلال عملية صامتة. وقد تأثر هذا التحسن إلى حد كبير ببارامترات التشغيل وخصائص المحفزات. تم التحقيق في آثار متغيرات العملية الرئيسية باستخدام منهجية سطح الاستجابة في عملية صامتة بالمقارنة مع ultrasonication. الموجات فوق الصوتية وفرت تشتت جيد من محفز وأكسدة عن طريق كسر الترابط الهيدروجين وdeagglomeration منهم في مرحلة النفط. تسبب ترسب الشوائب على سطح المحفز في تعطيل سريع في التجارب الصامتة مما أدى فقط 5٪ من أكسدة DBT بعد 6 دورات من التفاعل الصامت بواسطة محفز معاد تدويره. فوق 95% من DBT كان مؤكسدبعد 6 دورات بالموجات فوق الصوتية بمساعدة تظهر تحسنا كبيرا في الاستقرار عن طريق تنظيف السطح أثناء ultrasonication. ولوحظ أيضا انخفاض كبير في حجم الجسيمات بعد صوتنة 3H التي يمكن أن توفر المزيد من تشتت محفز في الوقود نموذج.


أفزالينيا وآخرون (2016): عملية إزالة الكبريت التأكسدي بمساعدة الموجات فوق الصوتية من الوقود السائل عن طريق حمض فوسفيوالتنغستن مغلفة في الزنك (II) القائم على الألغام المتداخلة. الفوق صوتيات سونوكيمياء 2016
في هذا العمل، بالموجات فوق الصوتية بمساعدة إزالة الكبريت التأكسدي (UAOD) من الوقود السائل التي أجريت مع رواية غير متجانسة عالية التشتت حمض فوسفيجين نوع Keggin (H3الاسبق12ال40، PTA) محفز التي مغلفة في MOF أمينية وظيفية (TMU-17-NH2). يعرض المركب المعد نشاط محفز عالي وقابلية لإعادة الاستخدام في إزالة الكبريت التأكسدي للوقود النموذجي. إزالة الكبريت التأكسدي بمساعدة الموجات فوق الصوتية (UAOD) هو طريقة جديدة لرد فعل الأكسدة التي يتم إجراؤها من المركبات التي تحتوي على الكبريت بسرعة، اقتصاديا، صديقة للبيئة وآمنة، في ظل ظروف معتدلة. يمكن تطبيق الموجات فوق الصوتية كأداة فعالة لتقليل وقت التفاعل ويحسن أداء نظام إزالة الكبريت التأكسدي. PTA@TMU-17-NH2 يمكن أن يؤديتماما إزالة الكبريت من النفط النموذجي من قبل 20 ملغ من محفز، O / S نسبة الأضراس من 1:1 في وجود MeCN كمذيب استخراج. وأشارت النتائج التي تم الحصول عليها إلى أن تحويلات DBT إلى DBTO2 تحقق 98٪ بعد 15 دقيقة في درجة الحرارة المحيطة. في هذا العمل، قمنا بإعداد TMU-17-NH2 وPTA/TMU-17-NH2 مركب بالموجات فوق الصوتية التشعيع لأول مرة ويعمل في عملية UAOD. محفز أعدت تظهر قابلية ممتازة لإعادة الاستخدام دون الرشح PTA وفقدان النشاط.

Hielscher Ultrasound Technology

Ultrasonic Marine Fuel Desulphurization

  • Marine fuels are affected by new regulations, which require a sulphur content of 0.5%m/m or less.
  • Ultrasound-assisted oxidative desulfurization (UAOD) is an established method that accelerates the oxidation reaction and is an economical and safe process.
  • UAOD processes can be run at ambient temperature and atmospheric pressure and allow for a selective removal of sulfur compounds from hydrocarbon fuels.
  • Hielscher high-performance ultrasonic systems are easy to install and safe to operate on-board or on-shore.

Low Sulphur Marine Fuels

The International Maritime Organization (IMO) has implemented new regulations by which marine vessels worldwide are required to use marine fuels with a sulphur content of 0.5%m/m starting from January 2020. These new regulations demand profound changes in the processing of marine fuels: In order to fulfil the new norms for low sulphur fuels, an efficient desulphurization process is required.
Ultrasonically-assisted oxidative desulphurization (UAOD) of liquid hydrocarbon fuels such as gasoline, naphtha, diesel, marine fuel, etc. is a highly efficient and viable method to remove sulphur from large volumes streams of heavy fuels.

Ultrasonically-Assisted Oxidative Desulphurization (UAOD)

Flowchart of 2-stage ultrasonic oxidative desulphurization

Oxidative Desulphurization

Oxidative Desulphurization (ODS) is an environmental-friendly and economical alternative to hydrodesulphurization (HDS) since oxidized sulfur compounds can be significantly easier separated from the heavy fuel oils. After the oxidative desuphurization step, the extracted sulphur compounds are separated by physical methods e.g. using non-miscible polar solvent and subsequent gravity, adsorption or centrifugal separation. Alternatively, thermal decomposition can be used to remove the oxidized sulfur.
For the oxidative desulphurization reaction, an oxidant (e.g., hydrogen H2O2, sodium chlorite NaClO2, nitrous oxide N2O, sodium periodate NaIO4), a catalyst (e.g., acids) as well as a phase-transfer reagent are required. The phase-transfer reagent helps to promote the heterogeneous reaction between the aqueous and oil phases, which is the rate-limiting step of the ODS reaction.

Benefits of UAOD

  • highly efficient – up to 98% desulfurization
  • economical: low investment, low operational costs
  • no catalyst poisoning
  • easy, linear scale-up
  • safe to operate
  • onshore & offshore (onboard) installation
  • fast RoI
Ultrasonic desulfurization of marine ship fuels

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


Ultrasonically-Assisted Oxidative Desulphurization

Whilst hydrodesulphurization (HDS) requires higher investment costs, high reaction temperature of up to 400ºC, and high pressure of up to 100atm in the reactors, the ultrasound-assisted oxidative desulfurization process (UAOD) is much more convenient, efficient and greener. The UAOD greatly enhances reactivity of the catalytic sulphur removal and offers at the same time lower operating cost, higher safety and environmental protection. Industrial ultrasonic flow reactor systems increase the desulfurization rate due to a highly effective dispersion and thereby improved reaction kinetics. Since the ultrasonic processing provides nano-scale dispersions, the mass transfer between the different phases in the heterogeneous reaction is drastically increased.
Powerful ultrasonic cavitationUltrasonic (acoustic) cavitation increases the reaction rate and mass transfer by the extreme conditions, which are reached within the cavitational hot-spots. During the cavitation bubble implosion, very high temperatures of approx. 5,000K, very fast cooling rates, pressures of approx. 2,000atm and accordingly extreme temperature and pressure differentials are locally reached. The implosion of the cavitation bubble also results in liquid jets of up to 280m/s velocity, which creates very high shear forces. These extraordinary mechanical forces accelerate the oxidation reaction time and increase the sulfur conversion efficiency within seconds.

More Complete Sulphur Removal

Whilst mercaptans, thioethers, sulfides and disulfides can be removed by the conventional hydrodesulphurization (HDS) process, for the removal of thiophenes, benzothiophens (BT), dibenzothiophenes (DBT) and 4,6-dimethyldibenzothiophenes (4,6-DMDBT) a more sophisticated method is required. Ultrasonic oxidative desulphurization is highly effective when it comes to the removal of even hardly removable sulfur refractory compounds (e.g., 4,6-dimethyldibenzothiophene and other alkyl-substituted thiophene derivatives). Ebrahimi et al. (2018) report a desulfurization efficiency up to 98.25% using a Hielscher sonoreactor optimized for sulphur removal. Furthermore, the ultrasonically oxidized sulfur compounds can be separated via a basic water wash.

With a multi-step ultrasound-assisted oxidative desulphurization (UAOD) the sulphur removal was significantly increased. (Shayegan et al. 2013)

Effect of multi-step UAOD process at optimum parameters

Ultrasonic Desulphurization Feasibility Test with UP400S

Shayegan et al. 2013 combined ultrasonication (UP400S) with hydrogen peroxide as oxidant, FeSO as catalyst, acetic acid as pH adjuster and methanol as extraction solvent in order to reduce the sulfur amount of gas oil.
The reaction rate constants during oxidative desulphurization can be greatly increased by adding metal ions as catalyst and using sonication. The ultrasound energy can reduce the activation energy of the reaction. The ultrasonication treatment breaks the boundary layer between solid catalysts and reagents and provides a homogeneous mix of catalysts and reagent – improving thereby the reaction kinetics.
The sulphur extraction process is a crucial step during desulphurization with the goal to recover the total volume of desulphurized gas oil. Using a liquid-liquid extraction using methanol as the solvent is a simple extraction process, but to ensure a high efficiency an efficient mixing of the immiscible phases is essential. Only when a maximum interface and subsequently maximum mass transfer take place between the phases, a high extraction rate is achieved. Ultrasonication and the generation of acoustic cavitation provides the intense mixing of the reactant phases and lowers the activation energy of the reaction.

High Performance Ultrasonic Units for Marine Fuel Desulphurization

Hielscher Ultrasonics is the market leader of high power ultrasonic systems for demanding applications such as UAOD on industrial scale. High amplitudes of up to 200µm, 24/7 operation under full load and heavy duty, robustness and user-friendliness are key-features of Hielscher ultrasonicators. Ultrasonic systems of different power classes and various accessories such as sonotrodes and flow reactor geometries allow for the most suitable adaption of the ultrasonic system to your specific fuel, processing capacity and environment.
The table below gives you an indication of the approximate processing capacity of our ultrasonicators:

Batch Volume Flow Rate Recommended Devices
10 to 2000mL 20 to 400mL/min UP400St
0.1 to 20L 0.2 to 4L/min UIP2000hdT
10 to 100L 2 to 10L/min UIP4000hdT
n.a. 10 to 100L/min UIP16000
n.a. larger cluster of UIP16000

Contact Us! / Ask Us!

Ask for more information

Please use the form below, if you wish to request additional information about ultrasonic homogenization. We will be glad to offer you an ultrasonic system meeting your requirements.









Please note our privacy policy.


Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonicators for sonochemical applications.

High-power ultrasonic processors from lab to pilot and industrial scale.

Literature/References

  • Ebrahimi, S.L.; Khosravi-Nikou, M.R.; Hashemabadi, S.H. (2018): Sonoreactor optimization for ultrasound assisted oxidative desulfurization of liquid hydrocarbon. Petroleum Science and Technology Vol. 36, Issue 13, 2018.
  • Prajapati, A.K.; Singh, S.K.; Gupta, S.P.; Mishra, A. (2018): Desulphurization of Crude Oil by Ultrasound Integrated Oxidative Technology. IJSRD – International Journal for Scientific Research & Development Vol. 6, Issue 02, 2018.
  • Shayegan, Z.; Razzaghi, M.; Niaei, A.; Salari, D.; Tabar, M.T.S.; Akbari, A.N. (2013): Sulfur removal of gas oil using ultrasound-assisted catalytic oxidative process and study of its optimum conditions. Korean J. Chem. Eng., 30(9), 2013. 1751-1759.
  • Štimac, A.; Ivančević, B.; Jambrošić, K. (2001): Characterization of Ultrasonic Homogenizers for Shipbuilding Industry.


Research Results on Ultrasonically-Assisted Oxidative Desulphurization (UAOD)

Prajapati et al. (2018): Desulphurization of Crude Oil by Ultrasound Integrated Oxidative Technology. IJSRD – International Journal for Scientific Research & Development Vol. 6, Issue 02, 2018.
Prajapati et al. (2018) describe the benefits of a Hielscher ultrasonic reactor for the ultrasound-assisted oxidative desulfurization (UAOD). UAOD has become an viable alternative technology to the traditional hydrotreating, which is impaired by significant investment and operational costs due to high-pressure, high-temperature hydrodesulphurization equipment, boilers, hydrogen plants, and sulphur recovery units. Ultrasound-assisted oxidative desulfurization permits carrying out the process for deep removal of sulphur under much milder conditions, faster, safer and much more economically.
Ultrasound-assisted oxidative desulfurization (UAOD) process was applied to diesel oil and petroleum product feedstock containing model sulphur compounds (benzothiophene, dibenzothiophene and dimethyldibenzothiophene). The influence of oxidant amount, volume of solvent for the extraction step, time and temperature of ultrasound treatment (UIP1000hdT, 20 kHz, 750 W, operating at 40%) was investigated. Using the optimized conditions for UAOD, sulphur removal up to 99% was achieved for model compounds in petroleum product feedstock using a molar proportion for H2O2:acetic acid:sulfur of 64:300:1, after 9min of ultrasound treatment at 90ºC, followed by extraction with methanol (optimized solvent and oil ratio of 0.36). Using the same reagent amount and 9 min of ultrasound the removal of sulphur was higher than 75% for diesel oil samples.
The Importance of High Ultrasonic Amplitudes
Ultrasonic intensification of commercial-scale oxidative desulfurization of crude oil requires the use of an industrial-size flow-through ultrasonic processor able to maintain high vibration amplitudes of about 80 – 100 microns. The amplitudes directly relate to the intensity of ultrasonic cavitations-generated shear forces and must be maintained at a sufficiently high level for the mixing to be efficient.
The experiments performed by Prajapati et al. show that ultrasonication enhances the desulfurization reaction. Desulfurization efficiency was about 93.2% when high-performance ultrasound is applied.


Shayegan et al. (2013): Sulfur removal of gas oil using ultrasound-assisted catalytic oxidative process and study of its optimum conditions. Korean Journal of Chemical Engineering 30(9), September 2013. 1751-1759.
Ultrasound-assisted oxidative desulfurization process (UAOD) was applied to reduce sulfur compounds of gas oil containing various types of sulfur content. The environmental regulation requires a very deep desulfurization to eliminate the sulfur compounds. UAOD is a promising technology with lower operating cost and higher safety and environmental protection. For the first time the typical phase transfer agent (tetraoctyl-ammonium-bromide) was replaced with isobutanol because using isobutanol is much more economical than TOAB, imposing no contamination. The reaction was carried out at optimal point with various temperatures, in single-, two- and three step-procedures, investigating the effect of gradual increase of H2O2 and TOAB being used instead of isobutanol. Total sulfur concentration in oil phase was analyzed by ASTM-D3120 method. The highest removal of about 90% for gas oil containing 9,500 mg/kg of sulfur was achieved in three-steps during 17 minutes of process at 62±2°C when 180.3 mmol of H2O2 was used and extraction carried out by methanol.


Akbari et al. (2014): Investigation of process variables and intensification effects of ultrasound applied in oxidative desulfurization of model diesel over MoO3/Al2O3 catalyst. Ultrasonics Sonochemistry 21(2), March 2014. 692–705.
A new heterogeneous sonocatalytic system consisting of a MoO3/Al2O3 catalyst and H2O2 combined with ultrasonication was studied to improve and accelerate the oxidation of model sulfur compounds of diesel, resulting in a significant enhancement in the process efficiency. The influence of ultrasound on properties, activity and stability of the catalyst was studied in detail by means of GC-FID, PSD, SEM and BET techniques. Above 98% conversion of DBT in model diesel containing 1000 μg/g sulfur was obtained by new ultrasound-assisted desulfurization at H2O2/sulfur molar ratio of 3, temperature of 318 K and catalyst dosage of 30 g/L after 30 min reaction, contrary to the 55% conversion obtained during the silent process. This improvement was considerably affected by operation parameters and catalyst properties. The effects of main process variables were investigated using response surface methodology in silent process compared to ultrasonication. Ultrasound provided a good dispersion of catalyst and oxidant by breakage of hydrogen bonding and deagglomeration of them in the oil phase. Deposition of impurities on the catalyst surface caused a quick deactivation in silent experiments resulting only 5% of DBT oxidation after 6 cycles of silent reaction by recycled catalyst. Above 95% of DBT was oxidized after 6 ultrasound-assisted cycles showing a great improvement in stability by cleaning the surface during ultrasonication. A considerable particle size reduction was also observed after 3h sonication that could provide more dispersion of catalyst in model fuel.


Afzalinia et al. (2016): Ultrasound-assisted oxidative desulfurization process of liquid fuel by phosphotungstic acid encapsulated in a interpenetrating amine-functionalized Zn(II)- based MOF as catalyst. Ultrasonics Sonochemistry 2016
In this work, ultrasound-assisted oxidative desulfurization (UAOD) of liquid fuels performed with a novel heterogeneous highly dispersed Keggin-type phosphotungstic acid (H3PW12O40, PTA) catalyst that encapsulated into an amino-functionalized MOF (TMU-17 -NH2). The prepared composite exhibits high catalytic activity and reusability in oxidative desulfurization of model fuel. Ultrasound-assisted oxidative desulfurization (UAOD) is a new way to performed oxidation reaction of sulfur-contain compounds rapidly, economically, environment-friendly and safely, under mild conditions. Ultrasound waves can be apply as an efficient tool to decrease the reaction time and improves oxidative desulfurization system performance. PTA@TMU-17-NH2 could be completely performed desulfurization of the model oil by 20 mg of catalyst, O/S molar ratio of 1:1 in presence of MeCN as extraction solvent. The obtained results indicated that the conversions of DBT to DBTO2 achieve 98% after 15 min in ambient temperature. In this work, we prepared TMU-17-NH2 and PTA/TMU-17-NH2 composite by ultrasound irradiation for first time and employed in UAOD process. Prepared catalyst exhibit an excellent reusability without PTA leaching and loss of activity.