Hielscher تكنولوجيا الموجات فوق الصوتية

بالموجات فوق الصوتية الشعير والشعير الإنبات

 

  • تخمير هو عملية تستغرق وقتا طويلا: النقع والماء من البذور والحبوب يأخذ الكثير من الوقت ويحقق النتائج معظمهم متفاوتة.
  • قبل ultrasonication، وسرعة، ومعدل إنبات ومحصول الشعير يمكن أن تحسن بشكل كبير.

 

 

إنتاج الشعير

ويستخدم الشعير / الحبوب مملت على نطاق واسع لجعل البيرة، الويسكي، يهز مملت والشعير والخل، فضلا عن المضافات الغذائية. أثناء عملية تخمير يتم استيعابه الحبوب المجففة (مثل الشعير) في الماء لبدء الإنبات. خلال إنبات يتم الافراج عن الانزيمات الموجودة، ويتم إنتاج إنزيمات جديدة، وكسر جدران الخلايا السويداء للافراج عن محتويات الخلية وكذلك لكسر بعض من تخزين البروتين إلى أحماض أمينية. عندما تم التوصل إلى درجة معينة من الإنبات، وتوقفت عملية الإنبات من خلال عملية التجفيف. بواسطة تخمير الحبوب والانزيمات – وهي ألفا الأميليز وβ-الأميليز – اللازمة لتعديل النشويات والحبوب حيز يتم تطويرها السكريات. وتشمل أنواع مختلفة من السكر الجلوكوز أحادي السكاريد، والمالتوز ديساكهارايد، ومالتوتريوز ثلاثي السكاريد، والسكريات أعلى دعا maltodextrines. التنقيع وإنبات الحبوب، معتبرا أن نقع يأخذ 1-2 أيام تستغرق وقتا طويلا جدا وإنبات تستغرق 4-6 أيام إضافية. وهذا يجعل إنتاج الشعير تستغرق وقتا طويلا ومكلفا.

صوتنة يحسن قدرة إنبات

الإنبات الشعير

طلب معلومات





تحسين بالموجات فوق الصوتية تخمير

الحل: صوتنة

  • صوتنة يحسن قدرة الإنبات وسرعة الحبوب الشعير.

آثار الموجات فوق الصوتية:

  • أسرع وأفضل النقع
  • الإنبات أسرع
  • إنبات أكثر كاملة
  • تفعيل الانزيمات
  • أعلى سعر استخراج
  • الشعير عالية الجودة

وتحدث هذه التأثيرات بدأت بالموجات فوق الصوتية عن طريق النشاط الأنزيمي تحسين والتشققات الصغيرة التي يسببها بواسطة التجويف بالموجات فوق الصوتية على البذور. الحبوب الشعير يمكن أن تمتص المزيد من المياه في فترة زمنية أقصر، مما يؤدي إلى حد كبير تحسين الماء من البذور. وترطيب سريع وحتى إنبات مهمة لنوعية جيدة تخمير منذ بذور ungerminated عرضة للتلف البكتيريا والفطريات.
يعد التذويب عملية معقدة تتضمن العديد من الإنزيمات. المهم منها هي α-amylase ، β-amylase ، α-glucosidase ، والحد من الدكسترين. أثناء الخميرة ، يخضع الشعير لعملية إنبات طبيعية غير مكتملة تنطوي على سلسلة من انحلال الإنزيمات في السويداء نواة الشعير. ونتيجة لهذا التدهور في الإنزيم ، فإن جدران الخلايا السويداء تتحلل ، ويتم إطلاق حبيبات النشا من مصفوفة السويداء التي تكون مدمجة فيها. تعمل الفوق صوتيات على تنشيط الإنزيمات وتحسين معدل استخراج المواد داخل الخلايا ، مثل النشا والبروتينات. تميل جزيئات أرابيزوكسين إلى تشكيل ركام جزيئي ضخم في حلول السكاريد المخففة. Ultrasonication يساعد على تقليل مجاميع السكريات على نحو فعال. من خلال تحلل نشا السكاريد ، يتم إنتاج الكربوهيدرات المخمرة. يتم تحويل هذه الكربوهيدرات إلى كحول في خطوة التخمير لتصنيع البيرة.

كل هذه الآثار بالموجات فوق الصوتية على العمليات الحيوية والكيميائية خلال تخمير النتيجة في أقصر وقت إنبات و أعلى معدل إنبات / العائد. تقصير نتائج فترة الإنبات في مهمة الفوائد التجارية لصناعة تخمير وتختمر.

Yaldagard وآخرون. (2008) قد أظهرت أن الموجات فوق الصوتية “لديه القدرة على أن تستخدم في عمليات تخمير كوسيلة من وسائل علاج البذور لتقليل فترة الإنبات وتحسين النسبة المئوية لإجمالي الإنبات.”

Yaldagard وآخرون. 2008 التحقيق في إنبات تحسين بالموجات فوق الصوتية من بذور الشعير.

أسرع إنبات صوتنة

بروتوكول الاشعال بالموجات فوق الصوتية الشعير البذور

مواد:
بذور الشعير الشعير فولغاري (9٪ نسبة الرطوبة، storaged في درجة حرارة الغرفة لمدة 3 أشهر بعد الحصاد)
بالموجات فوق الصوتية جهاز UP200H (200W، 24kHz و) مجهزة sonotrode S3 (شكل شعاعي، وقطره 3mm و، كحد أقصى. الغمر عمق ضربات 90mm)

بروتوكول:
كان مغمورة غيض من القرن تقريبا. 9 ملم في حل عملية تتكون في بذور الماء والشعير. أجريت جميع التجارب على عينات (10 ز بذور الشعير) موزعة في 80 مل من ماء الصنبور مع صوتنة مباشرة (نظام التحقيق) في مدخلات الطاقة من 20 و 60 و 100 ٪ ، مع مزيد من الإثارة أو الهز. وقد استخدم هذا لتفادي موجات دائمة أو تشكيل مناطق حرة صلبة لتوزيع موحد للموجات فوق الصوتية. تم تعيين جهاز الموجات فوق الصوتية إلى وضع النبض ، وذلك باستخدام التحكم في دورة العمل ، من أجل الحد من تشكيل الجذور الحرة. تم تعيين الدورة على 50 ٪ لجميع التجارب. تمت معالجة المحلول عند درجة حرارة ثابتة تبلغ 30 درجة مئوية لمدة 5 و 10 و 15 دقيقة. [يالدجارد وآخرون. 2008]

النتائج:
العلاج بالموجات فوق الصوتية النتائج في أعلى الماء وإنبات أسرع في وقت أقصر.
تم تسجيل أعلى نسبة إنبات بذور (حوالي 100٪) عند إعداد الطاقة بنسبة 100٪. بالنسبة للبذور sonicated لمدة 5 و 10 و 15 دقيقة بكامل طاقتها (إعداد الطاقة 100 ٪ من الجهاز) ، تم زيادة معدل الإنبات من ~ 93.3 ٪ (البذور غير صوتية) إلى 97.2 ٪ ، 98 ٪ و 99.4 ٪ ، على التوالي. قد تعزى هذه النتائج إلى التأثيرات الميكانيكية بسبب التجويف المستحث بفائق الصوت زيادة امتصاص الماء من جدران الخلايا. يعزز صوتنة نقل الكتلة ويسهل اختراق المياه من خلال جدار الخلية في داخل الخلية. انهيار فقاعات التجويف بالقرب من جدران الخلية يعطل بنية الخلية وتمكين نقل كتلة جيد بسبب الطائرات السائلة فوق الصوتية.
خفضت الطريقة إلى حد كبير الوقت اللازم لبدء إنبات البذور. ظهرت جذور الشعر بشكل أسرع في العينات المعالجة ونمت بوفرة بالمقارنة مع البذور غير sonicated. عند استخدام الشعير المعالج على النحو الموضح أعلاه ، تم تقصير فترة الإنبات إلى 4 إلى 5 أيام (اعتمادًا على قوة الموجات فوق الصوتية وزمن التعرض) من الأيام السبعة المعتادة. وعلاوة على ذلك ، انخفض متوسط ​​وقت الإنبات من 6.66 يومًا لإعداد الطاقة بنسبة 20٪ إلى 4.04 يومًا لإعداد الطاقة فوق الصوتية بنسبة 100٪ بعد وقت المعالجة الذي يبلغ 15 دقيقة. يشير تحليل البيانات الناتجة إلى أن مدى الإنبات ومتوسط ​​زمن الإنبات قد تأثر بشكل كبير من خلال إعدادات الطاقة بالموجات فوق الصوتية المختلفة أثناء اختبار الإنبات. جميع التجارب أدت إلى زيادة إنبات بذور الشعير بالمقارنة مع التحكم غير المقرن (الشكل 1). تم تسجيل الوقت الأقصى لحدوث الإنبات في إعداد الطاقة بنسبة 20٪ وسُجل زمن إنبات متوسط ​​أقل لإعداد الطاقة بنسبة 100٪ (الشكل 2).

عائد أعلى من تخمير بالموجات فوق الصوتية.

معدل إنبات العالي والعائد مع الموجات فوق الصوتية

ثبت صوتنة أيضا لتعزيز إنبات بذور الحمص والقمح والطماطم والفلفل والجزر والفجل والذرة والأرز والبطيخ وعباد الشمس وغيرها الكثير.

معدات الموجات فوق الصوتية

HIELSCHER الفوق تزود موثوقة ultrasonicators عالية الطاقة للمختبر، مقعد بين كبار واستخدام الصناعي. لفتيلة البذور وتخمير على نطاق تجاري، ونحن ننصح أنظمة الموجات فوق الصوتية الصناعية لدينا مثل UIP2000hdT (2 كيلوواط)، UIP4000hdT (4KW)، UIP10000 (10KW) أو UIP16000 (16KW). المتعددة مفاعلات التدفق المحمولة وملحقاتها استكمال مجموعة منتجاتنا. جميع أنظمة HIELSCHER هي قوية للغاية وبنيت ل24/7 العملية.
لاختبار وتحسين فتيلة البذور بالموجات فوق الصوتية والإنبات، ونحن نقدم لكم إمكانية لزيارة موقعنا على كامل التجهيز مختبر عملية بالموجات فوق الصوتية والمركز التقني!
اتصل بنا اليوم! نحن سعداء لمناقشة لك معالجة معك!

وUIP

UIP1000hdT

تحسين الإنبات بواسطة
الموجات فوق الصوتية

  • إنبات المعجل
  • ارتفاع العائد

اتصل بنا! / اسألنا!

اطلب المزيد من المعلومات

يرجى استخدام النموذج أدناه، إذا كنت ترغب في طلب معلومات إضافية حول التجانس بالموجات فوق الصوتية. سنكون سعداء لنقدم لكم نظام الموجات فوق الصوتية تلبية الاحتياجات الخاصة بك.









يرجى ملاحظة لدينا سياسة الخصوصية.


مراجع الادب



حقائق عن الشعير & شراب الشعير

عملية تخمير

في تخمير وتنبت محاصيل الحبوب وأنها تنطوي على ثلاث خطوات: التنقيع، وإنبات kilning. خلال نقع، يتم إضافة الماء إلى الحبوب التي تنشط الإنزيمات. التنقيع التقليدي يأخذ 1-2 أيام. بعد 1-2 أيام وصلت الحبوب الشعير ومحتوى الماء من 40-45٪. عند هذه النقطة، يتم إزالة الشعير من الماء نقع ويبدأ الإنبات.
أثناء الإنبات يتم تكوين أو تنشيط عدة إنزيمات ، والتي تكون ضرورية في وقت لاحق في عملية الهريس. يتم تقسيم β-glucans بواسطة endo-β-1،4-glucanase و endo-β-1،3-glucanase. يوجد Endo-β-1،4-glucanase بالفعل في الشعير ، ولكن endo-β-1،3-glucanase لا يوجد إلا في الشعير. لأن β-glucans هي عبارة عن تشكيل جل وبالتالي يمكن أن تكون مشاكل الدورة التدريبية في الترشيح ، فإن المحتوى العالي من β-glucanase ومحتوى منخفض من β-glucan مرغوب فيه في الشعير. ينخفض ​​محتوى النشاء ويزداد محتوى السكر أثناء الإنبات ويتحلل النشا بواسطة ألفا-أميليز و β-أميليز. لا يوجد α-amylase موجود في الشعير. يتم إنتاجه أثناء الإنبات ، في حين أن β-amylase موجود بالفعل في الشعير. تتحلل البروتينات أيضا أثناء الإنبات. Peptidases تتحلل 35 - 40 ٪ من البروتينات في المواد القابلة للذوبان. بعد 5 إلى 6 أيام يتم الانتهاء من الإنبات وتعطل عمليات الحياة بالكيلن. في kilning يتم إزالة الماء عن طريق تمرير الهواء الساخن من خلال الشعير. هذا يتوقف عن الإنبات والتعديلات ، وبدلاً من ذلك ، تتشكل مركبات لون ونكهة بواسطة تفاعلات مايوارد.

الانزيمات في تخمير & عملية تخمير

الانزيمات الأكثر أهمية بالنسبة للتحلل النشا في الشعير هي α الأميليز وβ-الأميليز الإنزيمات التي تحفز التحلل من النشا إلى سكريات. الأميليز يحط ​​السكريات، وهي النشا، لالمالتوز. β-الأميليز موجود في شكل غير نشط قبل الإنبات، في حين ألفا الأميليز وتظهر البروتياز بمجرد بدء الإنبات. منذ α الأميليز يمكن أن تعمل في أي مكان على الركيزة، فإنه يميل إلى أن يكون أسرع المفعول من بيتا الأميليز. β-الأميليز يحفز التحلل من الثاني α-1،4 رابطة غليكوسيدية، الشق من وحدتين الجلوكوز / المالتوز في آن واحد.
الأنزيمات الأخرى، مثل البروتياز، وتحطيم البروتينات في الحبوب إلى النماذج التي يمكن استخدامها من قبل الخميرة. اعتمادا على عندما يتم إيقاف عملية تخمير، واحد يحصل على نسبة النشا / انزيم المفضلة والنشا تحويلها جزئيا إلى سكريات تخمر. يحتوي الشعير على كميات صغيرة من السكريات الأخرى، مثل السكروز والفركتوز، والتي هي ليست من منتجات من تعديل النشا ولكنها كانت بالفعل في الحبوب. ويتم تحقيق المزيد من التحول إلى تخمر السكريات أثناء عملية يهرس.

النشا الحلمأة

خلال الإنزيمية، والإنزيمات تحفيز عملية تسكر وهو ما يعني أن الكربوهيدرات (النشويات) يتم تقسيم إلى جزيئاته السكر المكون. قبل التحلل، يتم تحويل موارد الطاقة (النشا) إلى سكريات التي يستهلكها الجرثومية لزراعة.

البروتينات في الشعير

الشعير يحتوي على نسبة البروتين من 8 إلى 15٪. البروتينات الشعير تساهم بشكل أساسي على نوعية الشعير والبيرة. بروتينات قابلة للذوبان مهمة للاحتفاظ رئيس البيرة والاستقرار.

Arabinoxylans وβ-جلوكان في الشعير

أرابيوكسينس و β جلوكان هي ألياف غذائية قابلة للذوبان. يمكن أن تحتوي مستخلصات الشعير على مستويات عالية من الأرابيكسين أرابيلين الذي يمكن أن يسبب صعوبات أثناء الترشيح لأن المستخلصات اللزجة قد تتسبب في تدهور كبير في أداء عمليات التخمير. بالنسبة لعملية التخمير ، قد يؤدي المحتوى المرتفع من β-glucan في الشعير إلى عدم كفاية تحلل جدران الخلايا ، مما يعوق بدوره انتشار الإنزيمات والإنبات وتعبئة احتياطيات النواة ، وبالتالي يقلل مستخلص الشعير. قد يؤدي أيضا β-glucan المتبقي إلى نشا شديد اللزوجة ، مما يؤدي إلى مشكلة في الترشيح في مصنع الجعة ، ويمكن أن يشارك في نضج البيرة ، مما يسبب الضباب البارد. تم العثور على Arabinoxylans في جدران الخلايا من الشعير والشوفان والقمح والجاودار والذرة والأرز والذرة الرفيعة والدخن. يتم زيادة قابلية استخراج كل من أرابينوكولان و β-glucan بشكل كبير عن طريق الصوتنة.

المواد المضادة للاكسدة في الشعير

الشعير يحتوي على أكثر من 50 بروانثوسيانيدينس بما في ذلك بلازميدة قليلة القسيمات والبوليمر flavan-3-را، كاتشين، وgallocatechin. مثنوي B3 proanthocyanin وB3 بروسيانيدين هم الأكثر وفرة في الشعير.
ومن المعروف أن المواد المضادة للاكسدة لقدرتها على تأخير أو منع تفاعلات الأكسدة والأكسجين الحر ردود الفعل المتطرفة، الأمر الذي يجعلها مهمة في عملية تخمير وتختمر. وتستخدم مضادات الأكسدة (مثل الكبريتيت، والفورمالديهايد، أسكوربات) كإضافات في عملية التخمير من أجل تحسين نكهة البيرة الاستقرار. وتستمد حوالي 80٪ من المركبات الفينولية في البيرة من الشعير.

Hielscher – Ultrasound Technology

Ultrasonic Malting

 

  • Malting is a time-consuming process: the soaking and hydration of the grain seeds takes a lot of time and achieves mostly uneven results.
  • By ultrasonication, the germination speed, rate and yield of barley can be significantly improved.

 

 

Malt Production

Malt / malted grain is widely used to make beer, whisky, malted shakes, malt vinegar, as well as food additive. During the malting process the dried grain (e.g. barley) is soaked in water to start germination. During germination existing enzymes are released, new enzymes are produced, and the endosperm cell walls are broken to release their cell contents as well as to break down some of the stored protein into amino acids. When a certain degree of germination has been achieved, the germination process is halted by a drying process. By malting grains, the enzymes – namely α-amylase and β-amylase – required for modifying the grain’s starches into sugars are developed. The various types of sugar include the monosaccharide glucose, the disaccharide maltose, the trisaccharide maltotriose, and higher sugars called maltodextrines. The steeping and germination of the grain is quite time-consuming, considering that the steeping takes 1-2 days and the germination takes additional 4-6 days. This makes the malt production time-consuming and expensive.

Sonication improves the germination capacity

Germinating barley

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


Ultrasonically Improved Malting

The Solution: Sonication

  • Sonication improves the germination capacity and speed of barley grains.

The Effects of Ultrasound:

  • Faster and Better Soaking
  • Faster Germination
  • More Complete Germination
  • Activation of Enzymes
  • Higher Extraction Rate
  • High Quality Malt

These ultrasonically initiated effects are caused by an improved enzymatic activity and micro fissures induced by ultrasonic cavitation on the seed. The barley grain can absorb more water in a shorter period of time, leading to a significantly improved hydration of the seeds. A fast hydration and even germination are important for a good malting quality since ungerminated seeds are prone to bacterial and fungal damage.
Malting is a complex process that involves many enzymes; important ones are α-amylase, β-amylase, α-glucosidase, and limit dextrine. During malting, barley undergoes an incomplete natural germination process that involves a series of enzyme degradations of barley kernel endosperm. As result of this enzyme degradation, endosperm cell walls are degraded, and starch granules are released from the matrix of the endosperm in which they are embedded. Ultrasonics activates enzymes and improves the extraction rate of the intracellular material, e.g. starch, proteins. Arabinoxylan molecules tend to form macromolecular aggregates in the dilute polysaccharide solutions. Ultrasonication helps to reduce the aggregates of polysaccharides effectively. By the degradation of the polysaccharide starch, fermentable carbohydrates are produced. Such carbohydrates are converted into alcohol in the fermentation step of the beer manufacturing.

All these ultrasonic effects on the bio-chemical processes during malting result in a shorter germination time and a higher germination rate / yield. Shortening the germination period results in significant commercial benefits for the malting and brewing industry.

Yaldagard et al. (2008) has shown that ultrasonics “has the potential to be used in malting processes as a method of treating seeds to reduce the germination period and improve the percentage of total germination.”

Yaldagard et al. 2008 investigated the ultrasonically improved germination of barley seeds.

Faster germination by sonication

Ultrasonic Barley Seed Priming Protocol

Material:
Barley seeds Hordeum vulgare (9% moisture content; storaged at room temperature for 3 months after harvest)
Ultrasonic device UP200H (200W, 24kHz) equipped with sonotrode S3 (radial shape, 3mm diameter, max. immersion depth 90mm)

Protocol:
The tip of the horn was immersed approx. 9 mm into the process solution consisting in the water and barley seeds. All experiments were performed on samples (10 g barley seeds) dispersed in 80 mL of tap water with direct sonication (probe system) at a power input of 20, 60, and 100%, with additional agitation or shaking. This was employed to avoid standing waves or the formation of solid free regions for a uniform distribution of the ultrasonic waves. The ultrasonic device was set to pulsation mode, using a duty cycle control, in order to reduce the formation of free radicals. The cycle was set on 50% for all experiments. The solution was processed at a constant temperature of 30°C for 5, 10, and 15 min. [Yaldagard et al. 2008]

Results:
The ultrasonic treatments results in higher hydration and faster germination in shorter time.
The highest seed germination (approximately 100%) was recorded at the 100% power setting. For the seeds sonicated for 5, 10, and 15 min at full power (100% power setting of the device), the germination rate was increased from ~93.3% (non-sonicated seeds) to 97.2%, 98% and 99.4%, respectively. These results may be attributed to mechanical effects due to ultrasonically induced cavitation increasing water uptake by the cell walls. The sonication enhances the mass transfer and facilitates the penetration of water through the cell wall into the cell interior. The collapse of cavitation bubbles near the cell walls disrupts the cell structure and enable for a good mass transfer due to the ultrasonic liquid jets.
The method considerably reduced the time required to initiate the germination of seeds. Hair roots appeared faster in the treated samples and grew abundantly in comparison to the non-sonicated seeds. When using barley treated as above, the germination period was shortened to 4 to 5 days (depending upon the ultrasonic power and exposure time) from the usual 7 days. Furthermore, the mean germination time decreased from 6.66 days for the 20% power setting to 4.04 days for the ultrasonic power setting of 100% after a processing time of 15 min. The analysis of the resulting data indicates that the extent of germination and the mean germination time were significantly affected by the different ultrasonic power settings during the germination test. All experiments resulted in increased germination of the barley seeds as compared to the non-sonicated control (Fig. 1). Maximum mean germination time was recorded for the 20% power setting and minimum mean germination time was recorded for the 100% power setting (Fig. 2).

Higher yield by ultrasonic malting.

Higher germination rate and yield with ultrasonics

Sonication is also proven to enhance the seed germination of chickpeas, wheat, tomato, pepper, carrot, radish, corn, rice, watermelon, sunflower and many others.

Ultrasonic Equipment

Hielscher Ultrasonics supplies reliable high power ultrasonicators for lab, bench-top and industrial use. For the seed priming and malting on a commercial scale, we recommend you our industrial ultrasonic systems such as the UIP2000hdT (2kW), UIP4000hdT (4kW), UIP10000 (10kW) or UIP16000 (16kW). Manifold flow-cell reactors and accessories complete our product range. All Hielscher systems are extremely robust and built for 24/7 operation.
To test and optimize the ultrasonic seed priming and germination, we offer you the possibility to visit our full equipped ultrasonic process lab and technical center!
Contact us today! We are glad to discuss you process with you!

The UIP

UIP1000hdT

Improved Germination by
Ultrasonics

  • Accelerated germination
  • Higher yield

Contact Us! / Ask Us!

Ask for more information

Please use the form below, if you wish to request additional information about ultrasonic homogenization. We will be glad to offer you an ultrasonic system meeting your requirements.









Please note our privacy policy.


Literature/References



Facts about Barley & Malt

The Malting Process

In malting the cereal grain germinates and it involves three steps: steeping, germination and kilning. During steeping, water is added to the grains which activate the enzymes. The conventional steeping takes 1-2 days. After 1-2 days the barley grains have reached a water content of 40-45%. At this point, the barley is removed from the steeping water and the germination begins.
During the germination several enzymes are formed or activated, which later in the mashing process are essential. β-glucans are broken down by endo-β-1,4-glucanase and endo-β-1,3-glucanase. Endo-β-1,4-glucanase is already present in barley, but endo-β-1,3-glucanase is only present in malt. Because the β-glucans are gel forming and thereby can course problems in filtration, a high content of β-glucanase and a low content of β-glucan are desirable in malt. The starch content decreases and the sugar content increases during the germination and the starch is degraded by α-amylase and β-amylase. There is no α-amylase present in barley; it is produced during germination, while β-amylase is already present in barley. Proteins are also degraded during germination. Peptidases degrade 35 – 40 % of the proteins into soluble material. After 5 to 6 days the germination is completed and its life processes is inactivated by kilning. In kilning the water is removed by passing hot air through the malt. This stops the germination and modifications, and instead colour and flavour compounds are formed by Maillard reactions.

Enzymes in the Malting & Brewing Process

The most important enzymes for the hydrolysis of starch in barley are the α-amylase and β-amylase enzymes that catalyse the hydrolysis of starch into sugars. The amylase degrades polysaccharides, namely starch, to maltose. β-amylase is present in an inactive form prior to germination, whereas α-amylase and proteases appear once germination has begun. Since α-amylase can act anywhere on the substrate, it tends to be faster-acting than β-amylase. β-amylase catalyzes the hydrolysis of the second α-1,4 glycosidic bond, cleaving off two glucose units / maltose at once.
Other enzymes, such as proteases, break down the proteins in the grain into forms that can be used by yeast. Depending on when the malting process is stopped, one gets a preferred starch / enzyme ratio and partly converted starch into fermentable sugars. Malt also contains small amounts of other sugars, such as sucrose and fructose, which are not products of starch modification but were already in the grain. Further conversion to fermentable sugars is achieved during the mashing process.

Starch Hydrolysis

During the enzymatic hydrolysis, enzymes catalyze the saccharification process which means that the carbohydrates (starch) are broken into its component sugar molecules. By the hydrolysis, the energy resource (starch) is converted into sugars which are consumed by the germ for growing.

Proteins in Barley

Barley has a protein content of 8 to 15%. Barley proteins contribute essentially to the quality of the malt and beer. Soluble proteins are important for beer head retention and stability.

Arabinoxylans and β-glucan in Barley

Arabinoxylans and β-glucan are soluble dietary fibers. Malt extracts can contain high levels of arabinoxylans which can cause difficulties during the filtration since viscous extracts may significantly deteriorate the performance of the brewing processes. For the brewing process, a high content of β-glucan in barley may lead to insufficient degradation of cell walls, which in turn hinders the diffusion of enzymes, germination, and the mobilization of kernel reserves, and hence reduces malt extract. Residual β-glucan may also lead to highly viscous wort, giving rise to a filtration problem in the brewery, and it may participate in maturing of beer, causing chill haze. Arabinoxylans are found in the cell walls of barley, oat, wheat, rye, maize, rice, sorghum, and millet. The extractability of both arabinoxylans and β-glucan are significantly increased by sonication.

Antioxidants in Barley

Barley contains more than 50 proanthocyanidins including oligomeric and polymeric flavan-3-ol, catechin, and gallocatechin. Dimeric proanthocyanin B3 and procyanidin B3 are the most abundant ones in barley.
Antioxidants are known for their ability to delay or prevent oxidation reactions and oxygen free radical reactions, which makes them important in the malting and brewing process. Antioxidants (e.g. sulfites, formaldehyde, ascorbate) are used as additives in the brewing process in order to improve beer flavor stability. About 80% of phenolic compounds in beer are derived from barley malt.