Ultraschall-Priming von Saatgut: Beschallung verbessert die Keimung

  • Durch die ultraschall-gestütze Keimstimulierung (Priming) von Pflanzgut werden eine vollständigere Keimung und höhere Ernteerträge erzielt.
  • Ultraschall erhöht die Aufnahme von Wasser, Nährstoffen und Düngemitteln in die Samen.
  • Das Ultraschall-Priming von Keimgut ist eine einfache und kostengünstige Methode, um die Keimrate und Keimgeschwindigkeit der Sämlinge zu verbessern.

Ultraschall verbessert die Saatgutkeimung

Beim Priming wird das Saatgut vorbehandelt, um die Keimung der Sämlingen zu verkürzen. Für die Vorverhandlung gibt es verschiedene Priming-Methoden wie z.B. das osmotische Priming, Hydropriming und Ultraschall-Priming. Ziel dieser Methoden ist es, Keimungsprozesse in ihrem Frühstadium in Gang zu setzenn. Das Ultraschall-Priming ist eine sehr vorteilhafte Methode der Saatgutaufbereitung, da die Ultraschallmethode schnell, energie- und wassersparend ist.
Geprimte Samen, welche die ersten Keimungsrozesse abgeschlossen haben, zeigen eine höhere Keimungsrate und ein schnelleres und vollständigeres Austreiben sowie besseres Wachstum, was darauf hindeutet, dass das Priming die Ausbildung eines guten Wurzelwerk unterstützt. Das Ultraschall-Priming ist eine nützliche Methode, die in der Landwirtschaft eingesetzt wird, um Geld und Zeitaufwand für Düngemittel, Nachsaat und schwache Pflanzen zu sparen.
Dieses Verfahren sorgt auch für eine gleichmäßigere Keimung der behandelten Samen. Zudem kann die Keimfähigkeit über einen weiteren Temperaturbereich ermöglicht und die Krankheitsinzidenz des Saatguts verringert werden.

Der UIP1000hdT ist Hielscher's leistungsstarker 1kW Ultraschallprozessor für die Beschallung im Batch und im Durchfluss (Zum Vergrößern anklicken!)

Ultraschallgerät UIP1000hdT

Vorteile:

  • äußerst kostengünstig
  • wassersparend
  • schnelle Verarbeitung
  • nieder-energetischen
  • einfacher & sicherer Betrieb

Das Ultraschall-Priming verbessert die Keimungsrate, die Triebkraft sowie die Wurzelbildung und -länge der Sämlingen. Durch die Behandlung mit Ultraschall nehmen die Samen mehr Wasser und/oder andere Nährstoffen auf. Die Ultraschallwellen setzten zudem enzymatische und andere biologische Reaktionen in der Pflanzenzelle in Gang, wodurch eine schnellere und gleichmäßigere Keimung erreicht wird. Auch schwache Samen werden aktiviert, so dass sich der Gesamtertrag der Aussaat verbessert.

Ultraschall-gestütztes Saatgut-Priming

Je länger die Sämlinge beschallt werden, umso besser ist die bessere Keimung der Calanthe Hybriden. (Shin et al. 2011)

Informationen anfordern




Beachten Sie unsere Datenschutzerklärung.


Wie funktioniert das Ultraschall-Priming von Saatgut?

Das Ultraschall-Priming der Samen führt zu einer vollständigeren und schnellere Keimung. Diese Ergebnisse werden durch folgende Ultraschall-Effekte erzielt:

  • Ultraschall erhöht die Porosität des Samens durch akustische Kavitation. Dadurch wird die Aufnahme von Wasser und Sauerstoff in die Pflanzenzellen verbessert (Ultraschall-Hydropriming / Quellen).
  • Ultraschall erhöht die Aufnahme von Nährstoffen und Düngemittel in die Samen.
  • Ultraschall-Priming verbessert den Stoffaustausch: das zusätzlich absorbierte Wasser reagiert frei mit dem Pflanzenembryo. Dabei wird Gibberellinsäure freigesetzt und erhöht die Stoffwechselrate in den Aleuronzellen.
  • Die Beschallung schließt Zellwände auf und unterstützt dadurch die Freisetzung von Nährstoffen aus dem Endosperm. (Miano et al. 2015)
  • Ultraschall aktiviert enzymatische und anderen biologische Reaktionen.

Die Beschallung von Saatgut fördert die Keimung und erhöht den Ernteertrag. Neben Getreide- und Obstsaatgut wurde das Ultraschall-Priming auch für Blumensamen (Orchideen, Lotus, Calanthe) erfolgreich getestet. Ultraschall verbessert die Durchlässigkeit der Zellwände, so dass die Samen eine deutlich höhere Wasser- und Nährstoffaufnahme (z.B. Düngemittel) zeigen.
Auch die Quellzeit von weißen Bohnen, Kichererbsen und Sorghum wurde durch den Einsatz von Ultraschall deutlich reduziert.

Ultraschall-Systeme für das Saatgut-Priming

Hielscher Ultrasonics bietet industrielle Ultraschallsysteme für die Saatgut-Vorkeimung an. Die Größe des Ultraschallsystems kann individuell an die jeweilige Durchsatzmenge angepasst werden. Alle Hielscher Systeme sind für den 24/7 -Einsatz konzipiert. Aufgrund ihrer Robustheit können die Geräte auch problemlos in anspruchsvollen Umgebungen installiert werden.

Vorteile:

  • niedrige Kosten
  • wassersparend
  • schnelle Verarbeitung
  • niedriger Energieverbrauch
  • einfacher & sicherer Betrieb

Kontaktieren Sie uns noch heute! Gerne besprechen wir mit Ihnen Ihre Prozessanforderungen!

Kontaktieren Sie uns! / Fragen Sie uns!

Bitte nutzen Sie das Formular, um weitere Informationen über unsere Ultraschallgeräte und -prozesse anzufordern. Gerne bieten wir Ihnen ein passendes Ultraschallsystem für Ihre Anwendung an.









Bitte beachten Sie unsere Datenschutzerklärung.


Literatur

  • Miano, A.C.; Forti, V.A:; Gomes-Junior, F.G.; Cicero, S.M.; Augusto, P.E.D. (2015): Effect of ultrasound technology on barley seed germination and vigour. Seed Sci. & Technol 43; 2015. 1-6.
  • Mirshekari, Bahram (2015): Physical seed treatment techniques may influence stand establishment and yield of wheat in delayed cropping. Idesia (Arica) 33(3), 2015. 49-54.
  • Ran, H.Y.; Yang, L.Y.; Cao, Y.L. (2015): Ultrasound on Seedling Growth of Wheat under Drought Stress Effects. Agricultural Sciences, 6, 2015. 670-675.
  • Ratnikova, Tatsiana A.; Podila, Ramakrishna; Rao, Apparao M.; Taylor, Alan G. (2015): Tomato Seed Coat Permeability to Selected Carbon Nanomaterials and Enhancement of Germination and Seedling Growth. The Scientific World Journal, vol. 2015.
  • Shin, Yun-Kyong; Baque, Md. Abdullahil; Elghamedi, Salem; Lee, Eun-Jung and Paek, Kee-Yoeup (2011): Effects of Activated Charcoal, Plant Growth Regulators and Ultrasonic Pre-treatments on ‚in vitro ‘ Germination and Protocorm Formation of ‚Calanthe‘ Hybrids. Australian Journal of Crop Science, Vol. 5, No. 5, May 2011. 582-588.


Wissenswertes

Unter Priming versteht man die Vorbehandlung von Saatgut. Die Priming-Vorbehandlung stimuliert den Stoffwechsel der Samen vor der Keimung.
Es gibt verschiedene Methoden des Priming (z.B. Hydro-Priming, osmanisches Priming, Solid-Matrix Priming), welche angewendet werden, um die Keimrate, den Prozentsatz sowie die Gleichmäßigkeit der Keimung zu beeinflussen. Durch das Priming wird die Wasser- und Nährstoffaufnahme der Samen verbessert. Die Vorbehandlung des Saatgutes löst eine Vorkeimung aus, allerdings wird noch keine Keimwurzelbildung ausgelöst. Dadurch können die Samen getrocknet und bis zur Aussaat gelagert werden.
Das Ultraschall-Priming ist nachweislich eine sehr erfolgreiche Methode, um die Vorkeinumg zu initiieren. Dadurch lassen sich höhere Erträge, schnellerer Austrieb und gleichmäßigere Keimung erreichen.
Vor allem unter schwierigen Bedingungen wie z.B. in semi-aridem und aridem Klima, hat die Verwendung von geprimten/vorgekeimten Sämlingen erhebliche Vorteile. Das Priming sorgt dafür, dass die Samen auch in unwirtlichem Klima keimen und wachsen.

Hielscher – Ultrasound Technology

Ultrasonic Priming of Seeds: How Sonication Improves Germination

  • Ultrasonic priming of seeds and grains result in a more complete and faster germination and higher crop yields.
  • Ultrasonication increases the uptake of water and fertilizers into the seed grains.
  • The ultrasonic priming of seeds is a simple low-cost method to enhance germination rate and speed of seedlings.

Ultrasonically Improved Seed Germination

Priming is a pre-treatment method used to shorten the germination time of seedlings. Various seed priming processes such as osmotic priming, hydropriming and ultrasonic priming have been developed to induce the early germination processes to take place. Ultrasonic priming is a very advantageous method of seed preparation since the sonication treatment is fast, energy-saving and water-saving.
Primed seeds that have completed the first germination processes, show a higher germination percentage and an faster emergence time (the time it takes for seeds to rise above the surface of the soil), a higher emergence rate (the number of seeds that make it to the surface), and better growth, suggesting that the head-start helps them get a good root system down early and grow faster. This method can be useful to farmers because it saves them the money and time spent for fertilizers, re-seeding, and weak plants.
The process can also allow for more uniform, even germination of the treated seeds. It can also increase germination over a wider temperature range and reduce disease incidence in seeds.

The UIP1000hdT is Hielscher's powerful 1kW ultrasonic processor for batch and continuous sonication (Click to enlarge!)

Ultrasonicator UIP1000hdT

Advantages:

  • Low Cost
  • Water-Saving
  • Fast Processing
  • Low Energy
  • Easy & Safe Operation

The ultrasonic priming improves seed germination percentage, seed vigor index (SVI), root and shoot lengths of seedlings. The sonication and priming process enforces the uptake of water and/or other beneficial substances into a seed grain. Furthermore, the ultrasonic waves activate enzymatic and other biologic reactions in the plant cell resulting in a faster and more uniform germination. Even weak seeds/grains can be activated so that the overall yield of the sowing is improved.

Ultrasonic seed priming

Longer sonication results in the better germination of the Calanthe hybrids. (Shin et al. 2011)

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


How Does Ultrasonic Seed Priming Work?

Ultrasonic priming of seeds and grains results in a more complete and faster germination. These results are achieved by the following ultrasonic effects:

  • Ultrasonics increases the porosity of the seed by acoustic cavitation improving water uptake and oxygen availability (ultrasonic hydropriming / steeping).
  • Ultrasonics increases the uptake of nutrients and fertilizer into the seeds.
  • Ultrasonic priming enhances mass transfer: the extra-absorbed water reacts freely and readily with the cell embryo. Thereby, gibberellic acid is released and causes an increase in the rate of metabolic processes in aleurone cells.
  • Sonication helps the mobilisation of endosperm nutrients by cell membrane disruption. (Miano et al. 2015)
  • Ultrasonics activates enzymatic and other biologic reactions.

Sonication promotes grain/seed germination and increases the crop yield. Besides crops and fruit seedings, the ultrasonic seed priming has been successfully tested for flower seeds (orchids, lotus, calanthe), too. Ultrasonication enhances the permeability of the cell walls so that the seed shows a significantly higer uptake of water and nutrients (e.g. fertilizer).
It has been shown that the soaking time chickpeas, sorghum and navy beans was significantly reduced by the use of sonication.

Ultrasonic Seed Priming Systems

Hielscher Ultrasonics supplies industrial ultrasonic systems for seed/grain priming. The size of the ultrasonic system is adapted to the throughput of seeds or grains. All systems can be run 24/7. Due to their robustness, all ultrasonic units can be installed in rough environments.

Advantages:

  • Low Costs
  • Water-Saving
  • Fast Processing
  • Low Energy Consumption
  • Easy & Safe Operation

Contact us today! We will be glad to discuss your process requirements with you!

Contact Us! / Ask Us!

Please use the form below, if you wish to request additional information about ultrasonic homogenization. We will be glad to offer you an ultrasonic system meeting your requirements.









Please note our privacy policy.


Literature/References

  • Miano, A.C.; Forti, V.A:; Gomes-Junior, F.G.; Cicero, S.M.; Augusto, P.E.D. (2015): Effect of ultrasound technology on barley seed germination and vigour. Seed Sci. & Technol 43; 2015. 1-6.
  • Mirshekari, Bahram (2015): Physical seed treatment techniques may influence stand establishment and yield of wheat in delayed cropping. Idesia (Arica) 33(3), 2015. 49-54.
  • Ran, H.Y.; Yang, L.Y.; Cao, Y.L. (2015): Ultrasound on Seedling Growth of Wheat under Drought Stress Effects. Agricultural Sciences, 6, 2015. 670-675.
  • Ratnikova, Tatsiana A.; Podila, Ramakrishna; Rao, Apparao M.; Taylor, Alan G. (2015): Tomato Seed Coat Permeability to Selected Carbon Nanomaterials and Enhancement of Germination and Seedling Growth. The Scientific World Journal, vol. 2015.
  • Shin, Yun-Kyong; Baque, Md. Abdullahil; Elghamedi, Salem; Lee, Eun-Jung and Paek, Kee-Yoeup (2011): Effects of Activated Charcoal, Plant Growth Regulators and Ultrasonic Pre-treatments on ‘in vitro’ Germination and Protocorm Formation of ‘Calanthe’ Hybrids. Australian Journal of Crop Science, Vol. 5, No. 5, May 2011. 582-588.


Facts Worth Knowing

Priming is the pre-treatment of seeds, which triggers the so-called pre-germinative metabolism of the grain.
Various methods of priming (e.g. hydro-priming, osmotic priming, solid matrix priming) are known, which can be applied to improve seed germination rate, percentage germination, and uniformity of seedling emergence by controlling the water available in the seed. The pretreatment initiates the early stages of germination, but does not permit radicle protrusion, and then the seeds are dried until needed.
Ultrasonic priming has been shown to be very successful resulting in higher yields, faster emergence and more uniform germination.
Especially under demanding conditions such as in semi-aride and aride climates, the use of primed seedlings has significant advantages. The priming ensures that seeds germinate and grow even in inhospitable climate.