Technologie des ultrasons Hielscher

Désacétylation ultrasonique de la chitine en chitosane

Le chitosan est un biopolymère dérivé de la chitine qui a de nombreuses applications dans l'industrie pharmaceutique, alimentaire, agricole et industrielle. La désacétylation ultrasonique de la chitine en chitosane intensifie significativement le traitement. – conduisant à un procédé efficace et rapide avec un rendement élevé en chitosane de qualité supérieure.

Production de chitosane par ultrasons

Le chitosan est obtenu par la N-désacétylation de la chitine. Dans la désacétylation conventionnelle, la chitine est trempée dans des solvants alcalins aqueux (généralement 40 à 50 % (p/p) de NaOH). Le processus de trempage nécessite des températures élevées de 100 à 120ºC, ce qui prend beaucoup de temps, tandis que le rendement en chitosan obtenu par étape de trempage est faible. L'application d'ultrasons de haute puissance intensifie considérablement le processus de désacétylation de la chitine et permet d'obtenir un rendement élevé de chitosane de bas poids moléculaire dans un traitement rapide à basse température. La désacétylation par ultrasons permet d'obtenir du chitosane de qualité supérieure qui est utilisé comme ingrédient alimentaire et pharmaceutique, comme engrais et dans de nombreuses autres applications industrielles.
Le traitement ultrasonique résulte en un degré exceptionnel d'acétylation (DA) de la chitine abaissant le degré d'acétylation de la chitine de DA≥90 à chitosan avec DA≤10.
De nombreuses études confirment l'efficacité de la désacétylation ultrasonique de la chitine au chitosan. Weiss J. et al (2008) ont constaté que la sonication améliore considérablement la conversion de la chitine en chitosan. Le traitement par ultrasons de la chitine permet un gain de temps considérable en réduisant le temps de traitement requis de 12-24 heures à quelques heures. De plus, il faut moins de solvant pour obtenir une conversion complète, ce qui réduit l'impact sur l'environnement de devoir jeter et éliminer le solvant usé ou n'ayant pas réagi, c'est-à-dire le NaOH concentré.

Désacétylation ultrasonique de la chitine en chitosane

La désacétylation de la chitine en chitosane est favorisée par la sonication.

Ultrasoniseur haute performance UIP4000hdT pour applications industrielles

UIP4000hdT – Système ultrasonique de puissance de 4kW

Demande d'information





Principe de travail du traitement ultrasonique de Chitosan

Les ultrasons de haute puissance et de basse fréquence (∼20-26kHz) créent une cavitation acoustique dans les liquides et les boues. Les ultrasons à haute puissance favorisent la conversion de la chitine en chitosane lorsque le solvant (p. ex. NaOH) se fragmente et pénètre dans les particules solides de chitine, élargissant ainsi la surface et améliorant le transfert de masse entre la phase solide et liquide. De plus, les forces de cisaillement élevées de la cavitation ultrasonique créent des radicaux libres qui augmentent la réactivité du réactif (NaOH) pendant l'hydrolyse. En tant que technique de traitement non thermique, la sonication empêche la dégradation thermique produisant du chitosane de haute qualité. Les ultrasons raccourcissent les temps de traitement nécessaires pour extraire la chitine des crustacés ainsi que pour obtenir de la chitine (et donc du chitosane) d'une plus grande pureté par rapport aux conditions de traitement traditionnelles. Pour la production de chitine et de chitosane, les ultrasons ont donc le potentiel de réduire les coûts de production, de diminuer le temps de traitement, de permettre un meilleur contrôle du processus de production et de réduire l'impact environnemental des déchets du processus.

Avantages de la production de chitosane par ultrasons

  • Rendement plus élevé de Chitosan
  • Qualité supérieure
  • Temps réduit
  • Température de process plus basse
  • Efficacité accrue
  • Facile & fonctionnement sûr
  • respectueux de l'environnement

Décétylation ultrasonique de la chitine au chitosan – Protocole

1) Préparer la chitine :
En utilisant des carapaces de crabe comme matériau d'origine, les carapaces de crabe devraient être soigneusement lavées afin d'éliminer toute matière organique soluble et toute impureté adhérente, y compris le sol et les protéines. Ensuite, le matériau de la coque doit être complètement séché (par exemple, à 60ºC pendant 24h dans un four). Les coquilles séchées sont ensuite broyées (p. ex. à l'aide d'un broyeur à marteaux), déprotéinées dans un milieu alcalin (p. ex. NaOH à une concentration de 0,125 à 5,0 M) et déminéralisées dans un acide (p. ex. acide chlorhydrique dilué).
2) Désacétylation par ultrasons
Pour effectuer une réaction de désacétylation par ultrasons typique, les particules de bêta-chitine (0,125 mm < d < 0.250 mm) are suspended in 40% (w/w) aqueous NaOH at a ratio beta-chitin/NaOH aqueous solution of 1/10(g mL-1), la suspension est transférée dans un bécher de verre à double paroi et est sonifiée à l'aide d'un Hielscher UP400St homogénéisateur ultrasonique. Les paramètres suivants (cf. Fiamingo et al. 2016) sont maintenus constants lors de la réalisation d'une réaction de désacétylation de chitine par ultrasons : i) sonde ultrasonore (sonotrode Hielscher S24d22D, diamètre de la pointe = 22 mm) ; ii) mode d'impulsion de sonication (IP = 0,5 s) ; iii) intensité de surface ultrasonique
(I = 52,6 W cm-2), (iv) température de réaction (60ºC ±1ºC), (v) temps de réaction (50 min), (vi) rapport poids/volume de bêta-chitine de 40% (p/p) hydroxyde de sodium aqueux (BCHt/NaOH = 1/10 g mL-1) ; vii) volume de suspension de bêta-chitine (50 mL).
La première réaction dure 50 minutes sous agitation magnétique constante et est ensuite interrompue par un refroidissement rapide de la suspension à 0ºC. Ensuite, de l'acide chlorhydrique dilué est ajouté pour atteindre un pH de 8,5 et l'échantillon CHs1 est isolé par filtration, largement lavé à l'eau désionisée et séché dans des conditions ambiantes. Lorsque la même désacétylation par ultrasons est répétée comme deuxième étape vers CHs1, elle produit un échantillon de CHs2.

Désacétylation ultrasonique de la chition en chitosane

Images au microscope électronique à balayage (MEB) avec un grossissement de 100× de a) gladius, b) gladius traité par ultrasons, c) β-chitine, d) β-chitine traitée par ultrasons, et e) chitosan (source : Preto et al. 2017)

Fiamingo et al. ont découvert que la désacétylation par ultrasons de la bêta-chitine produit efficacement du chitosane de poids moléculaire élevé avec un faible degré d'acétylation, sans utiliser d'additifs ni atmosphère inerte ni temps de réaction long. Même si la réaction de désacétylation par ultrasons est effectuée dans des conditions plus douces – c'est-à-dire une faible température de réaction par rapport à la plupart des désacétylations thermochimiques. La désacétylation par ultrasons de la bêta-chitine permet la préparation de chitosane désacétylé au hasard possédant un degré d'acétylation variable (4% ≤ DA ≤ 37%), un poids moléculaire moyen en poids élevé (900.000 g molaire-1 ≤ MW ≤ 1 200 000 g mol.-1 ) et une faible dispersion (1.3 ≤ Ð ≤ 1.4) en effectuant trois réactions consécutives (50 min/step) à 60ºC.

Hielscher Ultrasons fabrique des ultrasons de haute performance pour des applications sonochimiques.

Des processeurs à ultrasons de haute puissance, du laboratoire au pilote et à l'échelle industrielle.

Systèmes à ultrasons haute performance pour la production de chitosane

UIP4000hdT - Système ultrasonique puissant de 4 kilowatts pour l'extraction et la malaxation de l'huile d'olive vierge extra.La fragmentation de la chitine et la détylation de la chitine en chitosane nécessitent un équipement ultrasonique puissant et fiable, capable de délivrer des amplitudes élevées, d'offrir un contrôle précis des paramètres du procédé et de fonctionner 24h/24 et 7j/7 sous forte charge et dans des environnements difficiles. La gamme de produits Hielscher Ultrasons vous permet de répondre à vos besoins et à ceux de votre process. Les ultrasoniseurs Hielscher sont des systèmes à hautes performances qui peuvent être équipés d'accessoires tels que des sonotrodes, des boosters, des réacteurs ou des cellules d'écoulement afin de répondre de manière optimale à vos besoins process.
Grâce à l'affichage numérique couleur, la possibilité de prérégler la sonication, l'enregistrement automatique des données sur une carte SD intégrée, la commande à distance du navigateur et bien d'autres fonctions, le contrôle du processus et la facilité d'utilisation sont assurés. Associés à la robustesse et à la capacité de charge élevée, les systèmes à ultrasons Hielscher sont votre cheval de trait fiable en production.
La fragmentation et la désacétylation de la chitine nécessitent de puissants ultrasons pour obtenir la conversion ciblée et un produit final de chitosan de haute qualité. En particulier pour la fragmentation des flocons de chitine, des amplitudes élevées et des pressions élevées sont cruciales. Hielscher Ultrasons’ Les processeurs ultrasoniques industriels délivrent facilement des amplitudes très élevées. Des amplitudes allant jusqu'à 200µm peuvent fonctionner en continu 24h/24 et 7j/7. Pour des amplitudes encore plus élevées, des sonotrodes ultrasoniques personnalisées sont disponibles. La capacité de puissance des systèmes à ultrasons Hielscher permet une désacétylation efficace et rapide dans un processus sûr et convivial.

Le tableau ci-dessous vous donne une indication de la capacité de traitement approximative de nos ultrasonicators:

lot Volume Débit Appareils recommandés
1 à 500 ml 10 à 200 ml / min UP100H
10 à 2000mL 20 à 400 ml / min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 20L 00,2 à 4L / min UIP2000hdT
10 à 100l 2 à 10 L / min UIP4000hdT
n / a. 10 à 100 litres / min UIP16000
n / a. plus grand groupe de UIP16000

Contactez nous! / Demandez nous!

Demander plus d'informations

Veuillez utiliser le formulaire ci-dessous, si vous souhaitez demander des informations supplémentaires sur l'homogénéisation par ultrasons. Nous serons heureux de vous offrir un système à ultrasons répondant à vos exigences.









Veuillez prendre note de notre Politique de confidentialité.


Littérature / Références

  • Butnaru E., Stoleru E., Brebu M.A., Darie-Nita R.N., Bargan A., Vasile C. (2019) : Films bionanocomposites à base de chitosane préparés par la technique de l'émulsion pour la conservation des aliments. Materials 2019, 12(3), 373.
  • Fiamingo A., de Moura Delezuk J.A., Trombotto St. David L., Campana-Filho S.P. (2016) : Chitosane de poids moléculaire élevé désacétylé en profondeur à partir de la désacétylation assistée par ultrasons en plusieurs étapes de la bêta-chitine. Ultrasons Sonochemistry 32, 2016. 79–85.
  • Kjartansson, G., Wu, T., Zivanovic, S., Weiss, J. (2008) : Sonochemically-Assisted Conversion of Chitin to Chitosan, USDA National Research Initiative Principal Investigators Meeting, New Orleans, LA, June 28th.
  • Kjartansson, G., Kristbergsson, K. Zivanovic, S., Weiss, J. (2008) : Influence of temperature during deacetylation of chitin to chitosan with high-intensity ultrasons as a pre-treatment, Annual Meeting of the Institute of Food Technologists, New Orleans, LA, June 30th, 95-18.
  • Kjartansson, G., Kristbergsson, K., Zivanovic, S., Weiss, J. (2008) : Influence of high-intensity ultrasound to accelerate the conversion of chitin to chitosan, Annual Meeting of the Institute of Food Technologists, New Orleans, LA, June 30th, 95-17.
  • Preto M.F., Campana-Filho S.P., Fiamingo A., Cosentino I.C., Tessari-Zampieri M.C., Abessa D.M.S., Romero A.F., Bordon I.C. (2017) : Gladius et ses dérivés comme biosorbants potentiels pour le diesel marin. Environmental Science and Pollution Research (2017) 24:22932-22939.
  • Wijesena R.N., Tissera N., Kannangara Y.Y., Lin Y., Amaratunga G.A.J., de Silva K.M.N. (2015) : Procédé de préparation top-down de nanoparticules de chitosane et de nanofibres. Polymères glucidiques 117, 2015. 731–738.
  • Wu, T., Zivanovic, S., Hayes, D.G., Weiss, J. (2008). Réduction efficace du poids moléculaire du chitosane par ultrasons de haute intensité : Mécanisme sous-jacent et effet des paramètres de traitement. Journal of Agricultural and Food Chemistry 56(13):5112-5119.
  • Yadav M. ; Goswami P. ; Paritosh K. ; Kumar M. ; Pareek N. ; Vivekanand V. (2019) : Déchets de fruits de mer : une source pour la préparation de chitine/chitosane commercialement utilisable. Bioressources et biotransformation 6/8, 2019.


Qu'il faut savoir

Comment fonctionne la déshydratation par ultrasons des chitines ?

Lorsque des ultrasons à haute puissance et à basse fréquence (p. ex., 20-26 kHz) sont couplés dans un liquide ou une boue, des cycles alternatifs haute pression/basse pression sont appliqués au liquide, ce qui crée compression et raréfaction. Au cours de ces cycles alternatifs haute pression/basse pression, de petites bulles de vide sont générées, qui se développent sur plusieurs cycles de pression. Au moment où les bulles de vide ne peuvent pas absorber plus d'énergie, elles s'effondrent violemment. Au cours de cette implosion de bulle, des conditions locales très intenses se produisent : des températures élevées allant jusqu'à 5000K, des pressions allant jusqu'à 2000atm, des taux de chauffage/refroidissement très élevés et des différences de pression. Comme la dynamique d'effondrement des bulles est plus rapide que la masse et le transfert de chaleur, l'énergie dans la cavité d'effondrement est confinée à une zone très petite, également appelée " point chaud ". L'implosion de la bulle de cavitation entraîne également des microturbulences, des jets liquides d'une vitesse pouvant atteindre 280 m/s et des forces de cisaillement. Ce phénomène est connu sous le nom de cavitation ultrasonique ou acoustique.
Les gouttelettes et les particules dans le liquide sonique sont touchées par ces forces cavitationnelles et lorsque les particules accélérées entrent en collision les unes avec les autres, elles sont brisées par collision interparticulaire. La cavitation acoustique est le principe de fonctionnement du broyage, de la dispersion, de l'émulsification et de la sonochimie par ultrasons.
Pour la désacétylation de la chitine, les ultrasons de haute intensité augmentent la surface en activant la surface et en favorisant le transfert de masse entre les particules et le réactif.

chitosane

Le chitosane est un polymère glucidique modifié, cationique, non toxique, ayant une structure chimique complexe formée de β-(1,4) unités glucosamine comme composant principal (>80 %) et d'unités N-acétyl glucosamine (<20%), randomly distributed along the chain. Chitosan is derived from chitin through chemical or enzymatic deacetylation. The degree of deacetylation (DA) determines the content of free amino groups in the structure and is used to distinguish between chitin and chitosan. Chitosan shows good solubility in moderate solvents such as diluted acetic acid and offers several free amine groups as active sites. This makes chitosan advantageous over chitin in many chemical reactions. Chitosan is valued for its excellent biocompatibility and biodegradability, non-toxicity, good antimicrobial activity (against bacteria and fungi), oxygen impermeability and film forming properties. In contrast to chitin, chitosan has the advantage of being water-soluble and thereby easier to handle and use in formulations. As the second most abundant polysaccharide following cellulose, the huge abundance of chitin makes it a cheap and sustainable raw material.

Production de chitosan

Le chitosan est produit en deux étapes. Dans un premier temps, la matière première, telle que les coquilles de crustacés (crevettes, crabe, homard), est déprotéinée, déminéralisée et purifiée pour obtenir la chitine. Dans la deuxième étape, la chitine est traitée avec une base forte (p. ex. NaOH) pour éliminer les chaînes latérales acétyle afin d'obtenir du chitosan. Le processus de production de chitosan conventionnel est connu pour être très long et coûteux.

chitine

Chitine (C8H13la5N)n est un polymère à chaîne droite de β-1,4-N-acétylglucosamine et est classé en α-, β- et γ-chitin. Dérivée du glucose, la chitine est un composant principal des exosquelettes des arthropodes, comme les crustacés et les insectes, les radules des mollusques, les becs de céphalopodes, les écailles des poissons et des lissamphibiens et se trouve également dans les parois cellulaires des champignons. La structure de la chitine est comparable à celle de la cellulose, formant des nanofibrilles ou des whiskers cristallins. La cellulose est le polysaccharide le plus abondant du monde, suivie de la chitine comme deuxième polysaccharide en importance.

glucosamine

Glucosamine (C6H13Non5) est un sucre aminé et un précurseur important dans la synthèse biochimique des protéines et lipides glycosylés. La glucosamine est naturellement un composé abondant qui fait partie de la structure des deux polysaccharides, le chitosane et la chitine, ce qui fait de la glucosamine un des monosaccharides les plus abondants. La plus grande partie de la glucosamine disponible dans le commerce est produite par hydrolyse des exosquelettes de crustacés, c'est-à-dire des coquilles de crabe et de homard.
La glucosamine est principalement utilisée comme complément alimentaire lorsqu'elle est utilisée sous forme de sulfate de glucosamine, de chlorhydrate de glucosamine ou de N-acétyl glucosamine. Les suppléments de sulfate de glucosamine sont administrés par voie orale pour traiter une affection douloureuse causée par l'inflammation, la rupture et la perte éventuelle du cartilage (ostéoarthrite).

Hielscher Ultrasound Technology

Ultrasonic Deacetylation of Chitin to Chitosan

Chitosan is a chitin-derived biopolymer which has many applications in pharma, food, agriculture and industry. Ultrasonic deacetylation of chitin to chitosan intensifies the treatment significantly – leading to an efficient and fast process with a high chitosan yield of superior quality.

Ultrasonic Chitosan Production

Chitosan is obtained by the N-deacetylation of chitin. In conventional deacetylation, chitin is soaked in aqueous alkali solvents (typically 40 to 50% (w/w) NaOH). The soaking process requires high temperatures of 100 to 120ºC is very time-consuming, whilst the yield of chitosan obtained per soaking step is low. The application of high-power ultrasonics intensifies the deacetylation process of chitin significantly and results in a high yield of low-molecular weight chitosan in a rapid treatment at lower temperature. Ultrasonic deacetylation results in superior-quality chitosan which is used as food and pharma ingredient, as fertilizer and in many other industrial applications.
Ultrasonic treatment results in a exceptional degree of acetylation (DA) of chitin lowering the degree of acetylation chitin from DA≥90 to chitosan with DA≤10.
Many research studies confirm the effectiveness of ultrasonic chitin deacetylation to chitosan. Weiss J. et al. (2008) found that sonication improves the conversion of chitin to chitosan drastically. The ultrasonic treatment of chitin comes with significant time savings reducing the required process time from 12-24 hours to a few hours. Furthermore, less solvent is required to achieve a full conversion, which lowers the environmental impact of having to discard and dispose the spent or unreacted solvent, i.e. concentrated NaOH.

Ultrasonic deacetylation of chitin to chitosan

Deacetylation of chitin to chitosan is promoted by sonication

High-performace ultrasonicator UIP4000hdT for industrial applications

UIP4000hdT – 4kW power ultrasonic system

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


Working Principle of Ultrasonic Chitosan Treatment

High-power, low-frequency ultrasonication (∼20-26kHz) creates acoustic cavitation in liquids and slurries. High-power ultrasound promotes the conversion of chitin to chitosan as the solvent (e.g., NaOH) fragmentes and penetrates the solid chitin particles, thereby enlarging the surface area and improving the mass transfer between solid and liquid phase. Furthermore, the high shear forces of ultrasonic cavitation create free radicals which increase the reactivity of the reagent (i.e. NaOH) during hydrolysis. As a non-thermal processing technique, sonication prevents the thermal degradation producing high-quality chitosan. Ultrasonic shorten processing times required to extract chitin from crustaceans as well as yield chitin (and thus subsequently chitosan) of higher purity compared to traditional processing conditions. For the production of chitin and chitosan, ultrasounds thus has the potential to lower production cost, decrease processing time, allow for a better control of the production process and reduce environmental impact of the process waste.

Advantages of Ultrasonic Chitosan Production

  • Higher Chitosan Yield
  • Superior Quality
  • Reduced Time
  • Lower Process Temperature
  • Increased Efficiency
  • Easy & Safe Operation
  • Environmental-Friendly

Ultrasonic Chitin Decetylation to Chitosan – Protocol

1) Prepare the chitin:
Using crab shells as source material, the crab shells should be thoroughly washed in order to remove any soluble organics and adhering impurities including soil and protein. Afterwards, the shell material must be completely dried (e.g., at 60ºC for 24h in an oven). The dried shells are then ground (e.g. using a hammer mill), deproteinized in an alkaline medium (e.g., NaOH at a conc. of 0.125 to 5.0 M), and demineralized in acid (e.g., dilute hydrochloric acid).
2) Ultrasonic Deacetylation
To run a typical ultrasonic deacetylation reaction, beta-chitin particles (0.125 mm < d < 0.250 mm) are suspended in 40% (w/w) aqueous NaOH at a ratio beta-chitin/NaOH aqueous solution of 1/10(g mL-1), the suspension is transferred to a double-walled glass beaker and is and sonicated by using a Hielscher UP400St ultrasonic homogenizer. The following parameters (cf. Fiamingo et al. 2016) are kept constant when carrying out an ultrasonic chitin deacetylation reaction: (i) ultrasonic probe (sonotrode Hielscher S24d22D, tip diameter = 22 mm); (ii) sonication pulse mode (IP = 0.5sec); (iii) ultrasonic surface intensity
(I = 52.6 W cm-2), (iv) reaction temperature (60ºC ±1ºC), (v) reaction time (50 min), (vi) ratio beta-chitin weight/volume of 40% (w/w) aqueous sodium hydroxide (BCHt/NaOH = 1/10 g mL-1); (vii) volume of beta-chitin suspension (50mL).
The first reaction proceeds for 50min under constant magnetic stirring and is then interrupted by quickly cooling the suspension to 0ºC. Afterwards dilute hydrochloric acid is added to attain pH 8.5 and sample CHs1 is isolated by filtration, extensively washed with deionized water and dried at ambient conditions. When the same ultrasonic deacetylation is repeated as a second step to CHs1, it produces sample CHs2.

Ultrasonic deacetylation of chition to chitosan

Scanning electron microscopy (SEM) images in a magnification of 100× of a) gladius, b) ultrasound-treated gladius, c) β-chitin, d) ultrasound-treated β-chitin, and e) chitosan (source: Preto et al. 2017)

Fiamingo et al. found that the ultrasonic deacetylation of beta-chitin efficiently produces high molecular weight chitosan with a low degree of acetylation neither using additives nor inert atmosphere nor long reaction times. Even though the ultrasonic deacetylation reaction is carried out under milder conditions – i.e. low reaction temperature when compared to most thermochemical deacetylations. The ultrasonic deacetylation of beta-chitin allows the preparation of randomly deacetylated chitosan possessing variable degree of acetylation (4% ≤ DA ≤ 37%), high weight average molecular weight (900,000 g mol-1 ≤ Mw ≤ 1,200,000 g mol-1 ) and low dispersity (1.3 ≤ Ð ≤ 1.4) by carrying out three consecutive reactions (50 min/step) at 60ºC.

Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonicators for sonochemical applications.

High-power ultrasonic processors from lab to pilot and industrial scale.

High-Performance Ultrasonic Systems for Chitosan Production

UIP4000hdT - 4 kilowatts powerful ultrasonic system for the extraction and malaxxation of extra virgin olive oilThe fragmentation of chitin and the decetylation of chitin to chitosan requires powerful and reliable ultrasonic equipment that can deliver high amplitudes, offers precise controllability over the process parameters and can be operated 24/7 under heavy load and in demanding environments. Hielscher Ultrasonics product range get you and your process requirements covered. Hielscher ultrasonicators are high-performance systems that can be equipped with accessories such as sonotrodes, boosters, reactors or flow cells in order to match your process needs in an optimal manner.
With digital color display, the option to preset sonication runs, automatic data recording on an integrated SD card, remote browser control and many more features, highest process control and user-friendliness are ensured. Paired with robustness and heavy load-bearing capacity, Hielscher ultrasonic systems are your reliable work horse in production.
Chitin fragmentation and deacetylation requires powerful ultrasound to obtain the targeted conversion and a final chitosan product of high-quality. Especially for the fragmentation of the chitin flakes, high amplitudes and elevated pressures are crucial. Hielscher Ultrasonics’ industrial ultrasonic processors easily deliver very high amplitudes. Amplitudes of up to 200µm can be continuously run in 24/7 operation. For even higher amplitudes, customized ultrasonic sonotrodes are available. The power capacity of Hielscher ultrasonic systems allow for efficient and fast deacetylation in a safe and user-friendly process.

The table below gives you an indication of the approximate processing capacity of our ultrasonicators:

Batch Volume Flow Rate Recommended Devices
1 to 500mL 10 to 200mL/min UP100H
10 to 2000mL 20 to 400mL/min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 to 20L 0.2 to 4L/min UIP2000hdT
10 to 100L 2 to 10L/min UIP4000hdT
n.a. 10 to 100L/min UIP16000
n.a. larger cluster of UIP16000

Contact Us! / Ask Us!

Ask for more information

Please use the form below, if you wish to request additional information about ultrasonic homogenization. We will be glad to offer you an ultrasonic system meeting your requirements.









Please note our privacy policy.


Literature/References

  • Butnaru E., Stoleru E., Brebu M.A., Darie-Nita R.N., Bargan A., Vasile C. (2019): Chitosan-Based Bionanocomposite Films Prepared by Emulsion Technique for Food Preservation. Materials 2019, 12(3), 373.
  • Fiamingo A., de Moura Delezuk J.A., Trombotto St. David L., Campana-Filho S.P. (2016): Extensively deacetylated high molecular weight chitosan from the multistep ultrasound-assisted deacetylation of beta-chitin. Ultrasonics Sonochemistry 32, 2016. 79–85.
  • Kjartansson, G., Wu, T., Zivanovic, S., Weiss, J. (2008): Sonochemically-Assisted Conversion of Chitin to Chitosan, USDA National Research Initiative Principal Investigators Meeting, New Orleans, LA, June 28th.
  • Kjartansson, G., Kristbergsson, K. Zivanovic, S., Weiss, J. (2008): Influence of temperature during deacetylation of chitin to chitosan with high-intensity ultrasound as a pre-treatment, Annual Meeting of the Institute of Food Technologists, New Orleans, LA, June 30th, 95-18.
  • Kjartansson, G., Kristbergsson, K., Zivanovic, S., Weiss, J. (2008): Influence of high-intensity ultrasound to accelerate the conversion of chitin to chitosan, Annual Meeting of the Institute of Food Technologists, New Orleans, LA, June 30th, 95-17.
  • Preto M.F., Campana-Filho S.P., Fiamingo A., Cosentino I.C., Tessari-Zampieri M.C., Abessa D.M.S., Romero A.F., Bordon I.C. (2017): Gladius and its derivatives as potential biosorbents for marine diesel oil. Environmental Science and Pollution Research (2017) 24:22932–22939.
  • Wijesena R.N., Tissera N., Kannangara Y.Y., Lin Y., Amaratunga G.A.J., de Silva K.M.N. (2015): A method for top down preparation of chitosan nanoparticles and nanofibers. Carbohydrate Polymers 117, 2015. 731–738.
  • Wu, T., Zivanovic, S., Hayes, D.G., Weiss, J. (2008). Efficient reduction of chitosan molecular weight by high-intensity ultrasound: Underlying mechanism and effect of processing parameters. Journal of Agricultural and Food Chemistry 56(13):5112-5119.
  • Yadav M.; Goswami P.; Paritosh K.; Kumar M.; Pareek N.; Vivekanand V. (2019): Seafood waste: a source for preparation of commercially employable chitin/chitosan materials. Bioresources and Bioprocessing 6/8, 2019.


Facts Worth Knowing

How Does Ultrasonic Chitin Deactylation Work?

When high-power, low-frequency ultrasound (e.g., 20-26kHz) is coupled into a liquid or slurry, alternating high-pressure / low-pressure cycles are applied to the liquid creating compression and rarefaction. During these alternating high-pressure / low-pressure cycles, small vacuum bubbles are generated, which grow over several pressure cycles. At the point, when the vacuum bubbles cannot absorb more energy, they collaps violently. During this bubble implosion, locally very intense conditions occur: high temperatures of up to 5000K, pressures of up to 2000atm, very high heating/cooling rates and pressure differentials occur. Since the bubble collapse dynamics are faster than mass and heat transfer, the energy in the collapsing cavity is confined to a very small zone, also called “hot spot”. The implosion of the cavitation bubble also results in microturbulences, liquid jets of up to 280m/s velocity and resulting shear forces. This phenomenon is known as ultrasonic or acoustic cavitation.
Droplets and particles in the sonicated liquid are impinged by those cavitational forces and when the accelerated particles collide with each other, they get shattered by interparticle collision. Acoustic cavitation is the working principle of ultrasonic milling, dispersing, emulsification and sonochemistry.
For chitin deacetylation, high-intensity ultrasound increases in the surface area by activating the surface and promoting the mass transfer between particles and reagent.

Chitosan

Chitosan is a modified, cationic, non-toxic carbohydrate polymer with a complex chemical structure formed by β-(1,4) glucosamine units as its main component (>80%) and N-acetyl glucosamine units (<20%), randomly distributed along the chain. Chitosan is derived from chitin through chemical or enzymatic deacetylation. The degree of deacetylation (DA) determines the content of free amino groups in the structure and is used to distinguish between chitin and chitosan. Chitosan shows good solubility in moderate solvents such as diluted acetic acid and offers several free amine groups as active sites. This makes chitosan advantageous over chitin in many chemical reactions. Chitosan is valued for its excellent biocompatibility and biodegradability, non-toxicity, good antimicrobial activity (against bacteria and fungi), oxygen impermeability and film forming properties. In contrast to chitin, chitosan has the advantage of being water-soluble and thereby easier to handle and use in formulations. As the second most abundant polysaccharide following cellulose, the huge abundance of chitin makes it a cheap and sustainable raw material.

Chitosan Production

Chitosan is produced in a two step process. In the first step, the raw material, such as crustacean shells (ie. shrimp, crab, lobster), is deproteinized, demineralized and purified to obtain chitin. In the second step, chitin is treated with a strong base (e.g., NaOH) to remove acetyl side chains in order to obtain chitosan. The process of conventional chitosan production is known to be very time consuming and cost intensive.

Chitin

Chitin (C8H13O5N)n is a straight-chain polymer of β-1,4-N-acetylglucosamine and is classified into α-, β- and γ-chitin. Being derivative of glucose, chitin is a main component of the exoskeletons of arthropods, such as crustaceans and insects, the radulae of molluscs, cephalopod beaks, and the scales of fish and lissamphibians and can be found in the cell walls in fungi, too. The structure of chitin is comparable to cellulose, forming crystalline nanofibrils or whiskers. Cellulose is the most abundant polysaccharide of the world, followed by chitin as second most abundant polysaccharide.

Glucosamine

Glucosamine (C6H13NO5) is an amino sugar and an important precursor in the biochemical synthesis of glycosylated proteins and lipids. Glucosamine is naturally an abundant compound that is part of the structure of both polysaccharides, chitosan, and chitin, which makes glucosamine one of the most abundant monosaccharides. Most of the commercially available glucosamine is produced by the hydrolysis of crustacean exoskeletons, i.e. crab and lobster shells.
Glucosamine is mainly used as dietary supplement where it is used in the forms of glucosamine sulfate, glucosamine hydrochloride or N-acetyl glucosamine. Glucosamine sulfate supplements are administered orally to treat a painful condition caused by the inflammation, breakdown and eventual loss of cartilage (osteoarthritis).