تأثيرات سونوكيميائية على عمليات سول جل

مقدمة

الجسيمات متناهية الصغر بحجم النانو والجزيئات الكروية الشكل ، وطلاءات الأغشية الرقيقة ، والألياف ، والمواد المسامية والكثيفة ، وكذلك الهلاميات الهوائية المسامية للغاية و xerogels هي إضافات محتملة للغاية لتطوير وإنتاج مواد عالية الأداء. يمكن تصنيع المواد المتقدمة ، بما في ذلك على سبيل المثال السيراميك ، والهلام الهوائي المسامي للغاية ، والهلام الخفيف الوزن ، والهجينة العضوية غير العضوية من المعلقات الغروية أو البوليمرات في سائل عبر طريقة sol-gel. تظهر المادة خصائص فريدة ، حيث تتراوح جزيئات سول المتولدة في حجم النانومتر. وبالتالي ، فإن عملية sol-gel هي جزء من الكيمياء النانوية.
في ما يلي ، تتم مراجعة تخليق المواد ذات الحجم النانوي عبر طرق sol-gel بمساعدة الموجات فوق الصوتية.

عملية سول جل

يتضمن Sol-gel والمعالجة ذات الصلة الخطوات التالية:

  1. صنع سول أو مسحوق راسب ، أو تبلور سول في قالب أو على ركيزة (في حالة الأفلام) ، أو صنع سول ثان من المسحوق المترسب وهلامه ، أو تشكيل المسحوق في الجسم بطرق غير هلامية ؛
  2. تجفيف;
  3. إطلاق النار والتلبيد. [رابينوفيتش 1994]
عمليات Sol-gel هي طرق كيميائية رطبة لتصنيع هلام أكاسيد المعادن أو البوليمرات الهجينة

الجدول 1: خطوات تخليق Sol-Gel وعمليات المصب

تعزز الموجات فوق الصوتية الطاقة التفاعلات الكيميائية الصوتية (انقر للتكبير!)

مفاعل الزجاج بالموجات فوق الصوتية ل sonochemistry

طلب معلومات




لاحظ لدينا سياسة الخصوصية.


عمليات Sol-gel هي تقنية كيميائية رطبة للتوليف لتصنيع شبكة متكاملة (ما يسمى هلام) من أكاسيد المعادن أو البوليمرات الهجينة. كسلائف ، يتم استخدام أملاح المعادن غير العضوية الشائعة مثل كلوريد المعادن ومركبات المعادن العضوية مثل ألكوكسيدات المعادن. ذا سول – تتكون في تعليق السلائف – يتحول إلى نظام ثنائي الطور يشبه الهلام ، والذي يتكون من كل من المرحلة السائلة والصلبة. التفاعلات الكيميائية التي تحدث أثناء عملية سول جل هي التحلل المائي والتكثيف المتعدد والهلام.
أثناء التحلل المائي والتكثيف المتعدد ، يتم تشكيل غرواني (سول) ، والذي يتكون من جسيمات نانوية مشتتة في مذيب. تتحول مرحلة سول الحالية إلى هلام.
يتكون الطور الهلامي الناتج من جزيئات يمكن أن يختلف حجمها وتكوينها اختلافا كبيرا من الجسيمات الغروية المنفصلة إلى البوليمرات الشبيهة بالسلسلة المستمرة. الشكل والحجم يعتمد على الظروف الكيميائية. من الملاحظات على SiO2 يمكن استنتاج Alcogels بشكل عام أن SOL المحفز بالقاعدة ينتج عنه نوع منفصل يتكون من تجميع مجموعات المونومر ، والتي تكون أكثر إحكاما وتشعبا للغاية. تتأثر بالترسيب وقوى الجاذبية.
تستمد السولات المحفزة بالحمض من سلاسل البوليمر شديدة التشابك التي تظهر بنية مجهرية دقيقة جدا ومسام صغيرة جدا تبدو موحدة تماما في جميع أنحاء المادة. يظهر تكوين شبكة مستمرة أكثر انفتاحا من البوليمرات منخفضة الكثافة مزايا معينة فيما يتعلق بالخصائص الفيزيائية في تشكيل الزجاج عالي الأداء ومكونات الزجاج / السيراميك في أبعاد 2 و 3. [سقا وآخرون 1982]
في خطوات المعالجة الإضافية ، من خلال الطلاء المغزلي أو الطلاء بالغمس ، يصبح من الممكن طلاء الركائز بأغشية رقيقة أو عن طريق صب السول في قالب ، لتشكيل ما يسمى بالهلام الرطب. بعد التجفيف والتدفئة الإضافية ، سيتم الحصول على مادة كثيفة.
في خطوات أخرى من عملية المصب ، يمكن معالجة الجل الذي تم الحصول عليه. عن طريق الترسيب أو الانحلال الحراري بالرش أو تقنيات المستحلب ، يمكن تشكيل مساحيق متناهية الصغر وموحدة. أو ما يسمى الهلاميات الهوائية ، والتي تتميز بمسامية عالية وكثافة منخفضة للغاية ، يمكن إنشاؤها عن طريق استخراج المرحلة السائلة من الجل الرطب. لذلك ، عادة ما تكون الظروف فوق الحرجة مطلوبة.
Ultrasonication هي تقنية مجربة لتحسين توليف سول جل للمواد النانوية. (اضغط للتكبير!)

الجدول 2: توليف سول جل بالموجات فوق الصوتية من TiO2 المسامية [يو وآخرون ، Chem. Commun. 2003 ، 2078]

الموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الطاقة

توفر الموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الطاقة ومنخفضة التردد إمكانات عالية للعمليات الكيميائية. عندما يتم إدخال الموجات فوق الصوتية المكثفة في وسط سائل ، تحدث دورات الضغط العالي والضغط المنخفض بالتناوب مع معدلات تعتمد على التردد. دورات الضغط العالي تعني الضغط ، في حين أن دورات التردد المنخفض تعني ندرة الوسط. أثناء دورة الضغط المنخفض (التخلخل) ، تخلق الموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الطاقة فقاعات فراغ صغيرة في السائل. تنمو فقاعات الفراغ هذه على مدى عدة دورات.
وفقا لشدة الموجات فوق الصوتية ، يضغط السائل ويمتد بدرجات متفاوتة. هذا يعني أن التجويف يمكن أن تتصرف الفقاعات بطريقتين. بكثافة منخفضة بالموجات فوق الصوتية ~ 1-3Wcm-2، تتأرجح فقاعات التجويف حول بعض حجم التوازن للعديد من الدورات الصوتية. وتسمى هذه الظاهرة التجويف المستقر. بكثافة عالية فوق صوتية (≤10Wcm-2) تتشكل فقاعات التجويف في غضون بضع دورات صوتية إلى دائرة نصف قطرها ضعف حجمها الأولي على الأقل وتنهار عند نقطة ضغط عندما لا تستطيع الفقاعة امتصاص المزيد من الطاقة. وهذا ما يسمى التجويف العابر أو القصور الذاتي. أثناء انفجار الفقاعة ، تحدث ما يسمى محليا بالنقاط الساخنة ، والتي تتميز بظروف قاسية: أثناء الانفجار الداخلي ، يتم الوصول إلى درجات حرارة عالية جدا محليا (حوالي 5000 كلفن) وضغوط (حوالي 2000 ضغط جوي). ينتج عن انفجار فقاعة التجويف أيضا نفاثات سائلة تصل سرعتها إلى 280 م / ث ، والتي تعمل كقوى قص عالية جدا. [سوسليك 1998 / سانتوس وآخرون 2009]

سونو أورموسيل

Sonication هو أداة فعالة لتوليف البوليمرات. أثناء التشتت بالموجات فوق الصوتية وإزالة التكتل ، تؤدي قوى القص التكافؤية ، التي تمتد وتكسر السلاسل الجزيئية في عملية غير عشوائية ، إلى خفض الوزن الجزيئي والتشتت المتعدد. علاوة على ذلك ، فإن الأنظمة متعددة المراحل فعالة للغاية متفرق و مستحلب، بحيث يتم توفير مخاليط دقيقة جدا. هذا يعني أن الموجات فوق الصوتية تزيد من معدل البلمرة على التحريك التقليدي وتؤدي إلى أوزان جزيئية أعلى مع تشتت أقل للتشتت.
يتم الحصول على Ormosils (سيليكات معدلة عضويا) عند إضافة silane إلى السيليكا المشتقة من الهلام أثناء عملية sol-gel. المنتج عبارة عن مركب جزيئي مع خصائص ميكانيكية محسنة. تتميز Sono-Ormosils بكثافة أعلى من المواد الهلامية الكلاسيكية بالإضافة إلى استقرار حراري محسن. لذلك قد يكون التفسير هو زيادة درجة البلمرة. [روزا فوكس وآخرون 2002]

قوى الموجات فوق الصوتية القوية هي تقنية معروفة وموثوقة للاستخراج (انقر للتكبير!)

Ultrasonic التجويف في السائل

تيو مسامية2 عبر توليف سول جل بالموجات فوق الصوتية

تيو مسامية2 يستخدم Widley كمحفز ضوئي وكذلك في الإلكترونيات وتكنولوجيا الاستشعار والمعالجة البيئية. للحصول على خصائص المواد المحسنة ، فإنه يهدف إلى إنتاج TiO2 مع تبلور عالية ومساحة سطح كبيرة. يتميز مسار sol-gel بمساعدة الموجات فوق الصوتية بميزة أن الخصائص الجوهرية والخارجية ل TiO2، مثل حجم الجسيمات ومساحة السطح وحجم المسام وقطر المسام والتبلور وكذلك نسب طور الأناتاز والروتيل والبروكيت من خلال التحكم في المعلمات.
أظهر Milani et al. (2011) توليف TiO2 الجسيمات النانوية أناتاز. لذلك ، تم تطبيق عملية sol-gel على TiCl4 السلائف وكلا الاتجاهين ، مع وبدون الموجات فوق الصوتية ، تمت مقارنتها. أظهرت النتائج أن التشعيع بالموجات فوق الصوتية له تأثير رتيب على جميع مكونات المحلول المصنوع بطريقة sol-gel ويسبب كسر الروابط السائبة للغرويات النانومترية الكبيرة في المحلول. وبالتالي ، يتم إنشاء جسيمات نانوية أصغر. تعمل الضغوط ودرجات الحرارة العالية التي تحدث محليا على كسر الروابط في سلاسل البوليمر الطويلة وكذلك الروابط الضعيفة التي تربط الجسيمات الأصغر ، والتي تتشكل من خلالها كتل غروية أكبر. مقارنة كل من TiO2 تظهر العينات ، في وجود وغياب التشعيع بالموجات فوق الصوتية ، في صور SEM أدناه (انظر الصورة 2).

تساعد الموجات فوق الصوتية في عملية الجلتنة أثناء تخليق سول جل. (اضغط للتكبير!)

صورة. 2: صور SEM ل TiO2 pwder ، المكلس عند 400 درجة مئوية لمدة 1 ساعة ووقت الجلتنة 24 ساعة: (أ) في وجود و (ب) في حالة عدم وجود الموجات فوق الصوتية. [ميلاني وآخرون 2011]

علاوة على ذلك ، يمكن أن تستفيد التفاعلات الكيميائية من التأثيرات الكيميائية الصوتية ، والتي تشمل على سبيل المثال كسر الروابط الكيميائية ، أو التعزيز الكبير للتفاعل الكيميائي أو التدهور الجزيئي.

سونو المواد الهلامية

في سونو التحفيزي ردود الفعل سول هلام بمساعدة ، يتم تطبيق الموجات فوق الصوتية على السلائف. تعرف المواد الناتجة ذات الخصائص الجديدة باسم sonogels. بسبب عدم وجود مذيب إضافي في تركيبة مع الموجات فوق الصوتية التجويف، يتم إنشاء بيئة فريدة لتفاعلات سول-هلام، مما يسمح بتكوين ميزات معينة في المواد الهلامية الناتجة: الكثافة العالية، والملمس الناعم، والبنية المتجانسة، وما إلى ذلك. تحدد هذه الخصائص تطور sonogels على مزيد من المعالجة وهيكل المواد النهائي. [بلانكو وآخرون 1999]
يظهر Suslick and Price (1999) أن التشعيع بالموجات فوق الصوتية ل Si (OC2H5)4 في الماء مع محفز حمض ينتج السيليكا "Sonogel". في التحضير التقليدي للمواد الهلامية السيليكا من Si (OC2H5)4، الإيثانول هو مذيب مشترك شائع الاستخدام بسبب عدم قابلية ذوبان Si (OC2H5)4 في الماء. غالبا ما يكون استخدام هذه المذيبات مشكلة لأنها يمكن أن تسبب التشقق أثناء خطوة التجفيف. يوفر Ultrasonication خلط عالي الكفاءة بحيث يمكن تجنب المذيبات المشتركة المتطايرة مثل الإيثانول. ينتج عن هذا هلام سونو سيليكا يتميز بكثافة أعلى من المواد الهلامية المنتجة تقليديا. [سوسليك وآخرون 1999 ، 319 و.]
تتكون الهلاميات الهوائية التقليدية من مصفوفة منخفضة الكثافة ذات مسام فارغة كبيرة. على النقيض من ذلك ، تتمتع السونوجل بمسامية أدق والمسام على شكل كرة تماما ، مع سطح أملس. تكشف المنحدرات الأكبر من 4 في منطقة الزاوية العالية عن تقلبات كثافة إلكترونية مهمة على حدود مصفوفة المسام [Rosa-Fox et al. 1990].
تظهر صور سطح عينات المسحوق بوضوح أن استخدام الموجات فوق الصوتية أدى إلى تجانس أكبر في متوسط حجم الجسيمات وأدى إلى جزيئات أصغر. بسبب الصوتنة ، ينخفض متوسط حجم الجسيمات بحوالي 3 نانومتر. [ميلاني وآخرون 2011]
أثبتت الآثار الإيجابية للموجات فوق الصوتية في مختلف الدراسات البحثية. على سبيل المثال ، تقرير Neppolian et al. في عملهم أهمية ومزايا الموجات فوق الصوتية في تعديل وتحسين خصائص التحفيز الضوئي لجزيئات TiO2 ذات الحجم النانوي المسامي. [نيبوليان وآخرون 2008]

طلاء نانوي عن طريق تفاعل سول جل بالموجات فوق الصوتية

الطلاء النانوي يعني تغطية المواد بطبقة نانوية أو تغطية كيان بحجم النانو. وبالتالي يتم الحصول على هياكل مغلفة أو قذيفة الأساسية. تتميز هذه المركبات النانوية بخصائص فيزيائية وكيميائية عالية الأداء بسبب الخصائص المحددة المشتركة و / أو التأثيرات الهيكلية للمكونات.
على سبيل المثال ، سيتم عرض إجراء طلاء جزيئات أكسيد القصدير الإنديوم (ITO). يتم طلاء جزيئات ITO بالسيليكا في عملية من خطوتين ، كما هو موضح في دراسة Chen (2009). في الخطوة الكيميائية الأولى ، يخضع مسحوق أكسيد القصدير الإنديوم لعلاج aminosilane suface. والخطوة الثانية هي طلاء السيليكا تحت الموجات فوق الصوتية. لإعطاء مثال محدد على الصوتنة وآثاره ، يتم تلخيص خطوة العملية المقدمة في دراسة تشن أدناه:
العملية النموذجية لهذه الخطوة هي كما يلي: تم خلط 10 جرام GPTS ببطء مع 20 جم من الماء المحمض بواسطة حمض الهيدروكلوريك (HCl) (الرقم الهيدروجيني = 1.5). ثم تمت إضافة 4 جرام من مسحوق أمينوسيلان المعالج المذكور أعلاه إلى الخليط الموجود في زجاجة زجاجية سعة 100 مل. ثم تم وضع الزجاجة تحت مسبار الصوتي للإشعاع المستمر بالموجات فوق الصوتية بطاقة خرج تبلغ 60 واط أو أعلى.
بدأ تفاعل Sol-gel بعد حوالي 2-3 دقائق من التشعيع بالموجات فوق الصوتية ، حيث تم توليد رغوة بيضاء ، بسبب إطلاق الكحول عند التحلل المائي المكثف ل GLYMO (3- (2،3-Epoxypropoxy) propyltrimethoxysilane). تم تطبيق Sonication لمدة 20 دقيقة ، وبعد ذلك تم تقليب المحلول لعدة ساعات أخرى. بمجرد الانتهاء من العملية ، تم جمع الجسيمات عن طريق الطرد المركزي وتم غسلها مرارا وتكرارا بالماء ثم تجفيفها لتوصيف أو الاحتفاظ بها مشتتة في الماء أو المذيبات العضوية. [تشن 2009 ، ص 217]

Conclusion

يؤدي تطبيق الموجات فوق الصوتية على عمليات sol-gel إلى خلط أفضل وإزالة تكتل الجسيمات. ينتج عن هذا حجم جسيمات أصغر وشكل جسيم كروي منخفض الأبعاد ومورفولوجيا محسنة. تتميز ما يسمى بالمواد الهلامية سونو بكثافتها وبنيتها الدقيقة والمتجانسة. يتم إنشاء هذه الميزات بسبب تجنب استخدام المذيبات أثناء تكوين سول ، ولكن أيضا ، وبشكل رئيسي ، بسبب الحالة الأولية المتشابكة للشبكة التي تسببها الموجات فوق الصوتية. بعد عملية التجفيف ، تقدم sonogels الناتجة بنية جسيمات ، على عكس نظيراتها التي تم الحصول عليها دون تطبيق الموجات فوق الصوتية ، والتي هي خيطية. [إسكيفياس وآخرون 2004]
لقد ثبت أن استخدام الموجات فوق الصوتية المكثفة يسمح بخياطة مواد فريدة من عمليات sol-gel. وهذا يجعل الموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الطاقة أداة قوية للبحث والتطوير في الكيمياء والمواد.

اتصل بنا / اطلب المزيد من المعلومات

تحدث إلينا حول متطلبات المعالجة الخاصة بك. سوف نوصي بأنسب معلمات الإعداد والمعالجة لمشروعك.





يرجى ملاحظة سياسة الخصوصية.


UIP1000hd Bench-Top Ultrasonic Homogenizer

يسمح إعداد إعادة التدوير بالموجات فوق الصوتية 1kW مع المضخة وخزان التثبيت بمعالجة متطورة

Literature/References

  • بلانكو ، إي ؛ إسكيفياس ، ل. ليتران ، ر. بينيرو ، م. ؛ راميريز ديل سولار ، م. Rosa_Fox ، N. de la (1999): Sonogels والمواد المشتقة. Appl. العضوية المعدنية. كيمياء 13 ، 1999. ص 399-418.
  • تشين ، كيو ؛ بوثرويد ، سي ؛ ماكنتوش سوتار ، أ. Zeng، X. T. (2010): طلاء نانوي Sol-gel على مسحوق TiO2 النانوي التجاري باستخدام الموجات فوق الصوتية. J. سول جيل العلوم تكنول. 53 ، 2010. ص 115-120.
  • Chen، Q. (2009): طلاء السيليكا للجسيمات النانوية بواسطة عملية sonogel. SIMTech 10/4 ، 2009. ص 216-220.
  • إسكيفياس ، ل. روزا فوكس ، ن. دي لا ؛ بيخارانو ، م. ؛ موسكيرا ، إم جي (2004): هيكل الهجين الغرواني البوليمر Xerogels. لانغموير 20/2004. ص 3416-3423.
  • كرامي ، أ. (2010): تخليق مسحوق النانو TiO2 بطريقة Sol-gel واستخدامه كمحفز ضوئي. ج. إيران. كيمياء شركة 7 ، 2010. ص 154-160.
  • لي ، إكس ؛ تشين ، ل. لي ، ب. ؛ Li. L. (2005): تحضير مساحيق زركونيا النانوية في مجال الموجات فوق الصوتية بطريقة Sol-Gel. حانة ترانس تك 2005.
  • نيبوليان ، ب. ؛ وانغ ، كيو ؛ جونغ ، ه. Choi، H. (2008): طريقة سول جل بمساعدة الموجات فوق الصوتية لإعداد جزيئات النانو TiO2: التوصيف والخصائص وتطبيق إزالة 4-كلوروفينول. الموجات فوق الصوتية. سونوكيم. 15, 2008. ص 649-658.
  • بيير ، أ. س. ؛ ريجاتشي ، أ. (2011): سيو2 الهلاميات الهوائية. في: M.A. Aegerter et al. (محرران): دليل Aerogels ، التقدم في المواد والتقنيات المشتقة من Sol-Gel. سبرينغر للعلوم + الأعمال: نيويورك ، 2011. ص 21-45.
  • رابينوفيتش ، إي إم (1994): معالجة Sol-Gel - مبادئ عامة. في: L. C. Klein (محرر) بصريات Sol-Gel: المعالجة والتطبيقات. كلوير للنشر الأكاديمي: بوسطن ، 1994. ص 1-37.
  • روزا فوكس ، ن. دي لا ؛ بينيرو ، م. ؛ Esquivias، L. (2002): المواد الهجينة العضوية غير العضوية من Sonogels. 2002.
  • روزا فوكس ، ن. دي لا ؛ Esquivias، L. (1990): الدراسات الهيكلية لسونوغل السيليكا. J. غير كريست. المواد الصلبة 121 ، 1990. ص 211-215.
  • السقا ، س. ؛ كاميا ، ك. (1982): انتقال سول جيل: تكوين الألياف الزجاجية & الأغشية الرقيقة. J. المواد الصلبة غير البلورية 38 ، 1982. ص. 31.
  • سانتوس ، إتش إم ؛ لوديرو ، سي ؛ مارتينيز، ج. (2009): قوة الموجات فوق الصوتية. في: ج.-ل. مارتينيز (محرر): الموجات فوق الصوتية في الكيمياء: التطبيقات التحليلية. وايلي VCH: وينهايم ، 2009. ص 1-16.
  • شهروز ، ن. حسين ، م. م. (2011): توليف والتحكم في حجم تحضير الجسيمات النانوية للمحفز الضوئي TiO2 باستخدام طريقة Sol-Gel. تطبيق العالم. Sci. J. 12 ، 2011. ص 1981-1986.
  • سوسليك ، ك. س. ؛ برايس ، جي جي (1999): تطبيقات الموجات فوق الصوتية على كيمياء المواد. أنو. القس ماتر. العلوم 29 ، 1999. ص 295-326.
  • سوسليك ، ك. س. (1998): سونوكيمياء. في: موسوعة كيرك أوثمر للتكنولوجيا الكيميائية ، المجلد 26 ، 4ال. إد ، جيه وايلي & الأبناء: نيويورك ، 1998. ص 517-541.
  • فيرما ، إل واي ؛ سينغ ، م. ب. ؛ سينغ ، ر. ك. (2012): تأثير التشعيع بالموجات فوق الصوتية على إعداد وخصائص الأيونوجيل. ج. نانومات. 2012.
  • تشانغ ، L.-Z. ؛ يو ، ج. ؛ Yu، JC (2002): التحضير المباشر للسونوكيميائي لثاني أكسيد التيتانيوم المسامي عالي النشاط الضوئي مع إطار ثنائي البلورية. ملخصات الاجتماع 201 للجمعية الكهروكيميائية ، 2002.
  • https://www.hielscher.com/sonochem

سنكون سعداء لمناقشة العملية الخاصة بك.

Let's get in contact.

Hielscher – Ultrasound Technology

Sonochemical Effects on Sol-Gel Processes

Introduction

Ultrafine nano-sized particles and spherical shaped particles, thin film coatings, fibers, porous and dense materials, as well extremely porous aerogels and xerogels are highly potential additives for the development and production of high performance materials. Advanced materials, including e.g. ceramics, highly porous, ultralight aerogels and organic-inorganic hybrids can be synthesized from colloidal suspensions or polymers in a liquid via the sol-gel method. The material shows unique characteristics, since the generated sol particles range in the nanometer size. Thereby, the sol-gel process is part of the nanochemistry.
In the following, the synthesis of nano-sized material via ultrasonically assisted sol-gel routes is reviewed.

Sol-Gel Process

Sol-gel and related processing includes the following steps:

  1. making sol or precipitating powder, gelling the sol in a mold or on a substrate (in case of films), or making a second sol from the precipitated powder and its gelation, or shaping the powder into a body by non-gel routes;
  2. drying;
  3. firing and sintering. [Rabinovich 1994]
Sol-gel processes are wet-chemical routes for the fabrication of gel of metal oxides or hybrid polymers

Table 1: Steps of Sol-Gel synthesis and the downstream processes

Power ultrasound promotes sonochemical reactions (Click to enlarge!)

Ultrasonic glass reactor for sonochemistry

Information Request
  • (valid email required)
Sol-gel processes are a wet-chemical technique of synthesis for the fabrication of an integrated network (so-called gel) of metal oxides or hybrid polymers. As precursors, commonly inorganic metal salts such as metal chlorides and organic metal compounds such as metal alkoxides are used. The sol – consisting in a suspension of the precursors – transforms to a gel-like diphasic system, which consists in both a liquid and a solid phase. The chemical reactions that occur during a sol-gel process are hydrolysis, poly-condensation, and gelation.
During hydrolysis and poly-condensation, a colloid (sol), which consists in nanoparticles dispersed in a solvent, is formed. The existing sol phase transforms to the gel.
The resulting gel-phase is formed by particles which size and formation can vary greatly from discrete colloidal particles to continuous chain-like polymers. The form and size depends on the chemical conditions. From observations on SiO2 alcogels can be generally concluded that a base-catalyzed sol results in a discrete species formed by aggregation of monomer-clusters, which are more compact and highly branched. They are affected by sedimentation and forces of gravity.
Acid-catalyzed sols derive from the highly entangled polymer chains showing a very fine microstructure and very small pores that appear quite uniform throughout the material. The formation of a more open continuous network of low density polymers exhibits certain advantages with regard to physical properties in the formation of high performance glass and glass/ceramic components in 2 and 3 dimensions. [Sakka et al. 1982]
In further processing steps, by spin-coating or dip-coating it becomes possible to coat substrates with thin films or by casting the sol into a mold, to form a so-called wet gel. After additional drying and heating, a dense material will be obtained.
In further steps of the downstream process, the obtained gel can be further processed. Via precipitation, spray pyrolysis, or emulsion techniques, ultrafine and uniform powders can be formed. Or so-called aerogels, which are characterized by high porosity and an extremely low density, can be created by the extraction of the liquid phase of the wet gel. Therefore, normally supercritical conditions are required.
Ultrasonication is a proven technique to improve sol-gel synthesis of nano-materials. (Click to enlarge!)

Table 2: Ultrasonic sol-gel synthesis of mesoporous TiO2 [Yu et al., Chem. Commun. 2003, 2078]

High Power Ultrasound

High-power, low-frequency ultrasound offers high potential for chemical processes. When intense ultrasonic waves are introduced into a liquid medium, alternating high-pressure and low-pressure cycles with rates depending on the frequency occur. High pressure cycles mean compression, whilst low frequency cycles mean rarefaction of the medium. During the low-pressure (rarefaction) cycle, high power ultrasound creates small vacuum bubbles in the liquid. These vacuum bubbles grow over several cycles.
Accordingly to the ultrasound intensity, liquid compresses and stretches to varying degrees. This means the cavitation bubbles can behave in two ways. At low ultrasonic intensities of ~1-3Wcm-2, the cavitation bubbles oscillate about some equilibrium size for many acoustic cycles. This phenomenon is termed stable cavitation. At high ultrasonic intensities (≤10Wcm-2) the cavitational bubbles are formed within a few acoustic cycles to a radius of at least twice their initial size and collapse at a point of compression when the bubble cannot absorb more energy. This is termed transient or inertial cavitation. During bubble implosion, locally so-called hot spots occur, which feature extreme conditions: During the implosion, locally very high temperatures (approx. 5,000K) and pressures (approx. 2,000atm) are reached. The implosion of the cavitation bubble also results in liquid jets of up to 280m/s velocity, which act as very high shear forces. [Suslick 1998/ Santos et al. 2009]

Sono-Ormosil

Sonication is an efficient tool for the synthesis of polymers. During ultrasonic dispersing and deagglomeration, the caviational shear forces, which stretch out and break the molecular chains in a non-random process, result in a lowering of the molecular weight and poly-dispersity. Furthermore, multi-phase systems are very efficient dispersed and emulsified, so that very fine mixtures are provided. This means that ultrasound increases the rate of polymerisation over conventional stirring and results in higher molecular weights with lower polydispersities.
Ormosils (organically modified silicate) are obtained when silane is added to gel-derived silica during sol-gel process. The product is a molecular-scale composite with improved mechanical properties. Sono-Ormosils are characterized by a higher density than classic gels as well as an improved thermal stability. An explanation therefore might be the increased degree of polymerization. [Rosa-Fox et al. 2002]

Powerful ultrasonic forces are a well-known and reliable technique for extraction (Click to enlarge!)

Ultrasonic cavitation in liquid

Mesoporous TiO2 via Ultrasonic Sol-Gel Synthesis

Mesoporous TiO2 is widley used as photocatalyst as well as in electronics, sensor technology and environmental remediation. For optimized materials properties, it is aimed to produce TiO2 with high crystallinity and large surface area. The ultrasonic assisted sol-gel route has the advantage that the intrinsic and extrinsic properties of TiO2, such as the particle size, surface area, pore-volume, pore-diameter, crystallinity as well as anatase, rutile and brookite phase ratios can be influenced by controlling the parameters.
Milani et al. (2011) have demonstrated the synthesis of TiO2 anatase nanoparticles. Therefore, the sol-gel process was applied to the TiCl4 precursor and both ways, with and without ultrasonication, have been compared. The results show that ultrasonic irradiation have a monotonous effect on all components of the solution made by the sol-gel method and cause the breaking of loose links of large nanometric colloids in solution. Thus, smaller nanoparticles are created. The locally occurring high pressures and temperatures break the bondings in long polymer chains as well as the weak links binding smaller particles, by which larger colloidal masses are formed. The comparison of both TiO2 samples, in presence and in absence of ultrasonic irradiation, is shown in the SEM images below (see Pic. 2).

Ultrasound assists the gelatinization process during sol-gel synthesis. (Click to enlarge!)

Pic. 2: SEM images of TiO2 pwder, calcinated at 400 degC for 1h and gelatinization time of 24h: (a) in the presence of and (b) in the absence of ultrasound. [Milani et al. 2011]

Furthermore, chemical reactions can profit from sonochemical effects, which include e.g. the breakage of chemical bonds, significant enhancement of chemical reactivity or molecular degradation.

Sono-Gels

In sono-catalytically assisted sol-gel reactions, ultrasound is applied to the precursors. The resulting materials with new characteristics are known as sonogels. Due to the absence of additional solvent in combination with the ultrasonic cavitation, a unique environment for sol–gel reactions is created, which allows for the formation of particular features in the resulting gels: high density, fine texture, homogeneous structure etc. These properties determine the evolution of sonogels on further processing and the final material structure. [Blanco et al. 1999]
Suslick and Price (1999) show that the ultrasonic irradiation of Si(OC2H5)4 in water with an acid catalyst produces a silica “sonogel”. In conventional preparation of silica gels from Si(OC2H5)4, ethanol is a commonly used co-solvent due to the non-solubility of Si(OC2H5)4 in water. The use of such solvents is often problematic as they can cause cracking during the drying step. Ultrasonication provides a highly efficient mixing so that volatile co-solvents such as ethanol can be avoided. This results in a silica sono-gel characterized by a higher density than conventionally produced gels. [Suslick et al. 1999, 319f.]
Conventional aerogels consist of a low-density matrix with large empty pores. The sonogels, in contrast, have finer porosity and the pores are quite sphere-shaped, with a smooth surface. Slopes greater than 4 in the high angle region reveal important electronic density fluctuations on the pore-matrix boundaries [Rosa-Fox et al. 1990].
The images of the surface of the powder samples show clearly that using ultrasonic waves resulted in greater homogeneity in the average size of the particles and resulted in smaller particles. Due to sonication, the average particle size decreases by approx. 3 nm. [Milani et al. 2011]
The positive effects of ultrasound are proven in various research studies. E.g., report Neppolian et al. in their work the importance and advantages of ultrasonication in the modification and improvement of the photocatalytic properties of mesoporous nano-size TiO2 particles. [Neppolian et al. 2008]

Nanocoating via ultrasonic sol-gel reaction

Nanocoating means covering material with a nano-scaled layer or the coverage of a nano-sized entity. Thereby encapsulated or core-shell structures are obtained. Such nano composites feature physical and chemical high performance properties due to combined specific characteristics and/or structuring effects of the components.
Exemplarily, the coating procedure of indium tin oxide (ITO) particles will be demonstrated. ITO particles are coated with silica in a two-step process, as shown in a study of Chen (2009). In the first chemical step, the indium tin oxide powder undergoes a aminosilane suface treatment. The second step is the silica coating under ultrasonication. To give a specific example of sonication and its effects, the process step presented in Chen’s study, is summarized below:
A typical process for this step is as follows: 10g GPTS was mixed slowly with 20g of water acidified by hydrochloric acid (HCl) (pH = 1.5). 4g of aforesaid aminosilane treated powder was then added to the mixture, contained in a 100ml glass bottle. The bottle was then placed under the probe of the sonicator for continuous ultrasound irradiation with output power of 60W or above.
Sol-gel reaction was initiated after approximately 2-3min ultrasound irradiation, upon which white foam was generated, due to the release of alcohol upon extensive hydrolysis of GLYMO (3-(2,3-Epoxypropoxy)propyltrimethoxysilane). Sonication was applied for 20min, after which the solution was stirred for several more hours. Once the process was finished, particles were gathered by centrifuging and were washed repeatedly with water then either dried for characterization or kept dispersed in water or organic solvents. [Chen 2009, p.217]

Conclusion

The application of ultrasound to sol-gel processes leads to a better mixing and the particles’ deagglomeration. This results in smaller particles size, spherical, low-dimensional particle shape and enhanced morphology. So-called sono-gels are characterized by their density and fine, homogeneous structure. These features are created due to the avoidance of use of solvent during the sol formation, but also, and mainly, because of the initial cross-linked state of reticulation induced by ultrasound. After the drying process, the resulting sonogels present a particulate structure, unlike their counterparts obtained without applying ultrasound, which are filamentous. [Esquivias et al. 2004]
It has been shown that the use of intense ultrasound allows for the tailoring of unique materials from sol-gel processes. This makes high-power ultrasound a powerful tool for chemistry and materials’ research and development.

Contact Us / Ask for more Information

Talk to us about your processing requirements. We will recommend the most suitable setup and processing parameters for your project.

  • (valid email required)

UIP1000hd Bench-Top Ultrasonic Homogenizer

1kW ultrasonic recirculation setup with pump and holding tank allows for sophisticated processing

Literature/References

  • Blanco, E.; Esquivias, L.; Litrán, R.; Pinero, M.; Ramírez-del-Solar, M.; Rosa_Fox, N. de la (1999): Sonogels and Derived Materials. Appl. Organometal. Chem. 13, 1999. pp. 399-418.
  • Chen, Q.; Boothroyd, C.; Mcintosh Soutar, A.; Zeng, X. T. (2010): Sol-gel nanocoating on commercial TiO2 nanopowder using ultrasound. J. Sol-Gel Sci. Technol. 53, 2010. pp. 115-120.
  • Chen, Q. (2009): Silica coating of nanoparticles by sonogel process. SIMTech 10/4, 2009. pp. 216-220.
  • Esquivias, L.; Rosa-Fox, N. de la; Bejarano, M.; Mosquera, M. J. (2004): Structure of Hybrid Colloid-Polymer Xerogels. Langmuir 20/2004. pp. 3416-3423.
  • Karami, A. (2010): Synthesis of TiO2 Nano Powder by the Sol-Gel Method and Its Use as a Photocatalyst. J. Iran. Chem. Soc. 7, 2010. pp. 154-160.
  • Li, X.; Chen, L.; Li, B.; Li. L. (2005): Preparation of Zirconia Nanopowders in Ultrasonic Field by the Sol-Gel Method. Trans Tech Pub. 2005.
  • Neppolian, B.; Wang, Q.; Jung, H.; Choi, H. (2008): Ultrasonic-assisted sol-gel method of preparation of TiO2 nano-particles: Characterization, properties and 4-chlorophenol removal application. Ultrason. Sonochem. 15, 2008. pp. 649-658.
  • Pierre, A. C.; Rigacci, A. (2011): SiO2 Aerogels. In: M.A. Aegerter et al. (eds.): Aerogels Handbook, Advances in Sol-Gel Derived Materials and Technologies. Springer Science + Business: New York, 2011. pp. 21-45.
  • Rabinovich, E. M. (1994): Sol-Gel Processing – General Principles. In: L. C. Klein (Ed.) Sol-Gel Optics: Processing and Applications. Kluwer Academic Publishers: Boston, 1994. pp. 1-37.
  • Rosa-Fox, N. de la; Pinero, M.; Esquivias, L. (2002): Organic-Inorganic Hybrid Materials from Sonogels. 2002.
  • Rosa-Fox, N. de la; Esquivias, L. (1990): Structural Studies of silica sonogels. J. Non-Cryst. Solids 121, 1990. pp. 211-215.
  • Sakka, S.; Kamya, K. (1982): The Sol-Gel Transition: Formation of Glass Fibers & Thin Films. J. Non-Crystalline Solids 38, 1982. p. 31.
  • Santos, H. M.; Lodeiro, C.; Martínez, J.-L. (2009): The Power of Ultrasound. In: J.-L. Martínez (ed.): Ultrasound in Chemistry: Analytical Applications. Wiley-VCH: Weinheim, 2009. pp. 1-16.
  • Shahruz, N.; Hossain, M. M. (2011): Synthesis and Size Control of TiO2 Photocatalyst Nanoparticles Preparation Using Sol-Gel Method. World Appl. Sci. J. 12, 2011. pp. 1981-1986.
  • Suslick, K. S.; Price, G. J. (1999): Applications of Ultrasound to Materials Chemistry. Annu. Rev. Mater. Sci. 29, 1999. pp. 295-326.
  • Suslick, K. S. (1998): Sonochemistry. In: Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology, Vol. 26, 4th. ed., J. Wiley & Sons: New York, 1998. pp. 517-541.
  • Verma, L. Y.; Singh, M. P.; Singh, R. K. (2012): Effect of Ultrasonic Irradiation on Preparation and Properties of Ionogels. J. Nanomat. 2012.
  • Zhang, L.-Z.; Yu, J.; Yu, J. C. (2002): Direct Sonochemical preparation of highly photoactive mesoporous titanium dioxide with a bicrystalline framework. Abstracts of the 201st Meeting of the Electrochemical Society, 2002.
  • https://www.hielscher.com/sonochem