Hielscher – Ultraschall-Technologie

Lösungsmittelfreie Stevia-Extraktion mittels Ultraschall

  • Bei der konventionelle Gewinnung von Süßstoff- Komponenten wie Stevioglykosiden aus der Stevia Rebaudiana-Pflanze werden oftmals giftige Lösungsmittel verwendet.
  • Um ein gesundes und vorteilhafte Nahrungsmittel zu gewinnen, ist eine lösemittelfreie Extraktions-Verfahren erforderlich.
  • Die ultraschall-gestütuzte Extraktiontechnik kommt ohne Lösungsmittel aus und erzielt dennoch sehr hohe Erträge.

Unbelastete Extrakte durch Ultraschall-Extraktion

Stevia-basierte Süßungsmittel gelten als ein gesundheitsförderndes Produkt. Stevia-Süßungsmittel werden aus den Blättern der Stevia Rebaudiana Bertoni-Pflanze gewonnen und werden als kalorienfreier Süßstoff genutzt. Die Süße der Steviapfanze beruht auf den sogenannten Diterpenglykosiden. Die Süßkraft von Diterpenglykoside ist ca. 300-mal stärker als die von Saccharose (sog. Haushaltszucker).
Der Glykosidgehalt der Stevia Rebaudiana Bertoni-Pflanze setzt sich aus folgenden Komponenten zusammen: Steviosid (5–10 %), Rebaudiosid A (2–4 %), Rebaudiosid C (1–2 %), Dulcosid A (0,5–1 %), Rebaudiosid B, Rebaudiosid D und Rebaudiosid E. Im Gegensatz zu den übrigen Glykosiden zeichnet sich Rebaudiana A durch die fehlenden Bitterstoffe aus und ist daher das ideale Süßungsmittel. Daher ist Rebaudiana A der Stoff, der vorrangig aus den Stevia-Blättern extrahiert wird. Die Ultraschall-Extraktion unterstützt die Gewinnung von Steviosiden und Rebaudiosiden mit höchstem Reinheitsgrad. Die Ultraschall-Extraktion von Steviolglykosiden kann problemlos lösungsmittelfrei in Wasser durchgeführt werden. Gleichzeitig lassen sich hohe Erträge innerhalb sehr kurzer Extraktionszeiten erzielen. Die relativ geringe Extraktionstemperatur zwischen 60°C und 80°C ist ausreichend mild, so dass eine Zersetzung des Extrakts vermieden wird.

Ultraschall-Extraktion von Stevia
Seitdem ist Stevia auch in der EU als Süßungsmittel zugelassen ist, hat die Nachfrage nach dem natürlichen kalorienfreien Zuckerersatzstoff deutlich zugenommen. Um die Nachfrage nach Steviaprodukten befriedigen zu können, müssen die Extraktionskapazitäten in der kommerziellen Steviaproduktion erweitert werden. Ultraschall ist eine bewährte Methode der Extraktionsprozessintensivierung.

Vorteile der Ultraschall-Extraktion:

  • lösemittelfrei, z.B. mit Wasser
  • höhere Erträge
  • hohe Extraktionsraten
  • zeitsparend
  • kostensparend
  • sicher
  • umweltfreundlich
  • Batch- oder Inline-Verarbeitung

Ultraschall-gestützte Stevia-Extraktion: Forschungsergebnisse

Liu et al. (2010) untersuchten die ultraschall-gestützte Extraktion des Gesamtkohlenhydratgehaltes aus der Stevia Rebaudiana Bertoni-Pflanze mit dem Hielscher Ultraschallgerät UP400S. Um die Extraktionsausbeute aus der Stevia Rebaudiana Bertoni-Pflanze zu untersuchen und zu maximieren, wurde Steviaproben vom Typ LUYU-131 verwendet. Um die Prozessbedingungen der Ultraschallextraktion optimieren zu können, wurde die Response Surface Methodolgy (RSM) eingesetzt. Die Ergebnisse zeigten auf, dass bei einer Extraktionstemperatur von 68°C, der Ultraschallleistung von 60 W und eine Extraktionszeit von 32 Min. optimale Extraktionbedingungen vorlagen. Mittels der ultraschall-gestützten Extraktion konnte die Extraktionsausbeute um das 1,5-fache gesteigert werden, wobei die Ultraschallextraktion mit einer niedrigeren Extraktionstemperatur (68C°) und einer deutlich verkürzten Extraktionsdauer (32 Min.) im Vergleich zu klassischen Extraktion signifikant mildere Prozessbedingungen aufweist. Die Komponenten-Analyse der Extrakte ergab, dass durch die Ultraschallextraktion der Rebaudiosid A-Gehalt gesteigert werden konnte. Zudem waren die mit Ultraschall gewonnenen Extrakte qualitativ hochwertiger.

Nachgelagerte Ultraschallverarbeitung der Stevioside

Ultraschall ist eine zuverlässige Methode für das Mischen, Vermahlen und Homogenisieren, deshalb wird Ultraschall wird häufig für die Formulierung und Compoundierung von Endprodukten eingesetzt. Wenn das Stevia-Extrakt in einer Flüssigkeit gelöst werden soll, ist Ultraschall eine schnelle und effiziente Technik, um eine homogene Mischung herzustellen – egal welche Sättigung bzw. Viskosität die Lösung aufweist. Das ultraschall-gestützte Lösen ermöglicht die Herstellung von hochgesättigten und sogar übersättigten Lösungen.

Ultraschall-Extraktionssysteme

Hielscher's breite Produktpalette bietet Ihnen das passende Ultraschallsystem für Ihre Anwendung – egal ob Sie kleine und mittlere Volumina für Analyse- und Forschungszwecke oder für die großangelegte kommerzielle Produktion extrahieren wollen. Unser Sortiment umfasst Ultraschall-Laborgeräte, Benchtop-Systeme für F&E, Pilotanlagen sowie industrielle Hochleistungs-Ultraschall Systeme mit bis zu 16000 Watt pro Einheit. Hielscher Industrie-Ultraschallgeäte können problemlos geclustert und containerisiert werden. Unsere breite Auswahl an Ultraschall- Zubehör , wie z.B. Sonotroden, Durchflusszellen, Reaktoren und Booster, ermöglichen die optimale Konfiguration für optimal auf Kundenanforderungen abgestimmte Systeme.

Investition

Alle Hielscher-Ultraschallgeräte sind für den 24/7 Betrieb gebaut. Das bedeutet, dass unser Ultraschallequipment einen schnellen Return on Investment (RoI) ermöglicht. Alupului et al. (2009) haben bei ihrer Forschung zur Ultraschallextraktion von Stevia festgestellt, dass der Einsatz von Hochleistung-Ultraschall eine kostengünstige Methode ist. Darüber hinaus überzeugt die Ultraschall-Extraktion aufgrund ihrer einfachen Nutzung und ihrer deutlich höheren Effizienz.

Ultraschall verstärkt die Gewinnung von Steviosiden wie Rebaudiosid A deutlich.

Molekülstruktur von Steviosid

Informationen anfordern





Literatur

  • Liu, Jie; Li, Jin-Wei; Tang, Jian (2010): Ultrasonically assisted extraction of total carbohydrates from Stevia rebaudiana Bertoni and identification of extracts. Food and Bioproducts Processing 88/ 2-3, 2010. 215-221.
  • Toboc, Ani (Alupului); Lavric, Vasile (2012): Artificial Neural Network Modelling of Ultrasound and Microwave Extraction of Bioactive Constituents from Medicinal Plants. Revista Chimica 63/7, 2012. 743-748.
  • Wang L.; Weller C.L. (2006): Recent advances in extraction of nutraceuticals from plants. Trends in Food Science and Technology 17, 2006. 300-312.
  • Žlabur, Jana Šic; Voća, Sandra; Dobričević, Nadica; Brnčić, Mladen; Dujmić, Filip; Karlović, Sven (2012): Possibilities of Using High Intensity Ultrasound Technology with Stevia – a Review. Croatian Journal of Food Technology, Biotechnology and Nutrition 7, 2012. 152-158.

Kontakt/ Weitere Informationen

Sprechen Sie mit uns über Ihren Prozess! Gerne empfehlen wir Ihnen das geeignete Equipment und die richtigen Prozessparameter für Ihr Projekt.





Bitte beachten Sie unsere Datenschutzerklärung.




Wissenswertes

Ultraschall-Homogenisatoren werden oft als Sonicator, Ultraschall-Lysegerät, Ultraschall-Disruptor, Ultraschall-Labormühle, Sono-Ruptor, Sonifier, Dismembrator, Zell-Disruptor, Ultraschall-Dispergierer oder Ultraschallemulgiergerät bezeichnet. Die unterschiedlichen Bezeichnungen ergeben sich aus den zahlreichen unterschiedlichen Anwendungen, für die Ultraschallgeräte eingesetzt werden.

Hielscher – Ultrasound Technology

Solvent-Free Stevia Extraction with Ultrasound

  • The conventional extraction of the sweet components such as stevioglycosides from Stevia rebaudiana uses toxic solvents.
  • To obtain a healthy, beneficial food product, a solvent-free extraction method is required.
  • The ultrasonic extraction technique avoids the use of solvents achieving very high extraction yields.

Healthy Extracts with Ultrasonic Extraction

Stevia sweeteners are supposed to be a health-beneficial product made from the leaves of the herb Stevia rebaudiana Bertoni and are used as a zero-calorie sweetener. The sweetness is caused by diterpenic glycosides that is approx. 300 times sweeter than sucrose.
The glycoside content of stevia rebaudiana Bertoni is composed from stevioside (5–10%), rebaudioside A (2–4%), rebaudioside C (1–2%), dulcoside A (0.5–1%), rebaudioside B, rebaudioside D, and rebaudioside E. Unlike the other glycosides, rebaudiana A is characterized by its non-bitterness. Therefore, rebaudiana A is the most targeted compound from the stevia leaves. Ultrasonic extraction assists the extraction of steviosides and rebaudiosides of high-purity. Ultrasonic extraction of steviol glycosides can be easily carried out in water and gives high yields at a very high extraction rate. The relatively low extraction temperature between 60°C and 80°C is gentle so that a degradation of the extracts is prevented.

Ultrasonic Extraction of Stevia
Since then stevia is approved as sweetener, the demand for the natural sugar, calorie-free substitute increased significantly. To provide the demanded stevia products, capacities of commercial production must be expanded. Ultrasound is a proven method for extraction intensification.

Advantages of Ultrasonic Extraction:

  • solvent-free, e.g. in water
  • higher yields
  • high extraction rates
  • time saving
  • cost-saving
  • safe
  • environmental-friendly
  • batch or inline processing

Ultrasonic Stevia Extraction: Research Results

Liu et al. (2010) investigated the ultrasonic extraction of total carbohydrates from Stevia rebaudiana Bertoni using Hielscher’s ultrasonic device UP400S. In order to maximize the yield of total carbohydrates from Stevia rebaudiana Bertoni, stevia from type LUYU-131 was used as samples. The response surface methodology (RSM) was employed to optimize the ultrasound-assisted extraction condition. The results indicated the optimal extraction conditions were an extraction temperature of 68°C, a sonic power of 60 W and an extraction time of 32 min. Using the ultrasound-assisted extraction, the yield of extracts increased by a factor of 1.5 at the lower extraction temperature (68°C) and the extraction time (32 min.) substantially shortened compared with that of classical extraction. The components analysis of crude extracts revealed that the relative amount of rebaudioside A increased in the ultrasound-assisted extracts as compared with extracts obtained by classical process, and the ultrasound-assisted extracts had better quality.

Ultrasonic Post-Processing of Steviosides

Ultrasound is a reliable method for mixing, blending and homogenizing, therefore ultrasonic is often used during formulating and compounding of the final product. When the stevia extract has to be dissolved in a liquid, ultrasound is a fast and efficient technique to prepare a homogeneous blend – regardless of the viscosity. Ultrasonic dissolving allows for preparing highly saturated and even over-saturated solutions.

Ultrasonic Extraction Systems

Hielscher’s product range get you covered – whether you want to extract smaller and mid-size volumes for analysis and research or to extract on large commercial production scale. Our product range of ultrasonicators includes ultrasonic lab devices, bench-top systems for R&D and pilot plants as well as industrial high-power ultrasonic systems with up to 16,000 watts per single unit, which can be easily clustered and containerized. Our broad selection of ultrasonic accessories such as sonotrode, flow cells, reactors and boosters allows for the optimal configuration of the perfectly matching system for our customer’s needs.

Investment

All Hielscher ultrasonic devices are built for 24/7 operation meaning that our equipment allows for a fast Return on Investment (RoI). Alupului et al. (2009) found during their research that the fact of the economic justification of the high intensity ultrasound application as a relatively low-cost method not be neglected. Furthermore, ultrasonic extraction is a convincing technique due to its simple utilization and significant efficiency.

Hielscher Ultrasonics' SonoStation is an easy-to-use ultrasonic setup for production scale. (Click to enlarge!)

SonoStation – an ultrasonic system with 2x 2kW ultrasonicators, stirred tank and pump – is a user-friendly system for extraction.

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


Ultrasound intensifies the extraction of steviosides such as rebaudioside A significantly.

Molecular structure of stevioside

Contact Us / Ask for more Information

Talk to us about your processing requirements. We will recommend the most suitable setup and processing parameters for your project.





Please note our privacy policy.



Literature/References

  • Liu, Jie; Li, Jin-Wei; Tang, Jian (2010): Ultrasonically assisted extraction of total carbohydrates from Stevia rebaudiana Bertoni and identification of extracts. Food and Bioproducts Processing 88/ 2-3, 2010. 215-221.
  • Toboc, Ani (Alupului); Lavric, Vasile (2012): Artificial Neural Network Modelling of Ultrasound and Microwave Extraction of Bioactive Constituents from Medicinal Plants. Revista Chimica 63/7, 2012. 743-748.
  • Wang L.; Weller C.L. (2006): Recent advances in extraction of nutraceuticals from plants. Trends in Food Science and Technology 17, 2006. 300-312.
  • Žlabur, Jana Šic; Voća, Sandra; Dobričević, Nadica; Brnčić, Mladen; Dujmić, Filip; Karlović, Sven (2012): Possibilities of Using High Intensity Ultrasound Technology with Stevia – a Review. Croatian Journal of Food Technology, Biotechnology and Nutrition 7, 2012. 152-158.


Facts Worth Knowing

Steviol Glycosides

Steviol glycosides are the substances, which are responsible for the sweet taste of the stevia leaves. These glycosides of steviol are a diterpene compounds. They have the chemical structure of a steviol molecule where its carboxyl hydrogen atom is replaced by a glucose molecule to form an ester, and a hydroxyl hydrogen with combinations of glucose and rhamnose to form an acetal.
The steviol glycosides found in S. rebaudiana leaves include (with approx. weight percentage):

  • Stevioside (5–10%)
  • Rebaudioside A (2–4%)
  • Rebaudioside C (1–2%)
  • Dulcoside A (0.5–1%)
  • Rebaudioside B
  • Rebaudioside D
  • Rebaudioside E

Rebaudioside B, rebaudioside D, rebaudioside E are found only in minute quantities. Commercially available steviol glycoside mixture used as non-caloric sweetener extracted from the plant mostly are composed from approx. 80% stevioside, 8% rebaudioside A, and 0.6% rebaudioside C.

Ultrasonic Equipment

Ultrasonic tissue homogenizers are often referred to as probe sonicator/ sonificator, sonic lyser, ultrasound disruptor, ultrasonic grinder, sono-ruptor, sonifier, sonic dismembrator, cell disrupter, ultrasonic disperser, emulsifier or dissolver. The different terms result from the various applications that can be fulfilled by sonication.