تحضير البلازميد باستخدام الموجات فوق الصوتية

الموجات فوق الصوتية هي تقنية موثوقة لتفتيت الحمض النووي البلازميد. تعد السعة التي يمكن التحكم فيها بدقة ووضع النبض والتحكم في درجة الحرارة أهم ميزات جهاز الموجات فوق الصوتية لتجزئة البلازميد غير الضارة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يساعد استخدام بعض العوامل على الحماية من تدهور البلازميد. تقدم Hielscher Ultrasonics حلولا مختلفة لتجزئة البلازميد التي يتم التحكم فيها من قوارير مفردة ، وصوتنة العديد من العينات في وقت واحد بالإضافة إلى لوحات متعددة الآبار. معرفة المزيد عن تجزئة البلازميد بالموجات فوق الصوتية الناجحة!

طلب معلومات





تجزئة الحمض النووي بالموجات فوق الصوتية هي تقنية موثوقة وفعالة تستخدم عادة في تسلسل الجيل التالي (NGS)

The UIP400MTP يسمح بالموجات فوق الصوتية التي يتم التحكم فيها بدقة للوحات متعددة الآبار. أحد تطبيقات UIP400MTP هو تفتيت الحمض النووي البلازميد من أجل الحصول على شظايا ذات طول مستهدف على وجه التحديد.

القص البلازميد باستخدام الموجات فوق الصوتية

عندما تتعرض عينات الحمض النووي للموجات فوق الصوتية ، فإن الاهتزازات التي يتم إنشاؤها بالموجات فوق الصوتية تخلق تجويفا صوتيا في السائل الذي يقص أو يكسر جزيئات الحمض النووي عالية الوزن الجزيئي عبر القوى الميكانيكية. الصوتنة هي الطريقة الأكثر استخداما على نطاق واسع لتجارب قص الحمض النووي السائبة بما في ذلك التطبيقات ، مثل الترسيب المناعي للكروماتين (ChIP) ، والتي تعتبر أحجام الشظايا الصغيرة حاسمة للغاية للحصول على دقة عالية. (راجع تسنغ وآخرون، 2012)
الحمض النووي البلازميد (pDNA) هو شكل محدد من الحمض النووي ، يتميز بشكل حلقته ويوجد في البكتيريا وبعض حقيقيات النوى.
pDNA الملفوف الفائق هو الشكل المطلوب من الحمض النووي البلازميد لأنه يظهر أفضل النتائج في العمليات النهائية مثل التسلسل الآلي والنقل. الموجات فوق الصوتية مناسبة لتجزئة pDNA ، بما في ذلك pDNA الملفوف الفائق ، بنجاح.
أثبت Thompson et al. (2008) أن صوتنة البلازميد ، والتي من المعروف أنها تجزئ الحمض النووي الملفوف الفائق ، هي طريقة فعالة لتحسين أطوال قراءة phred20 للتسلسل لدرجة أنها لا تختلف اختلافا كبيرا عن قالب التحكم في Beckman Coulter أو البلازميدات الخطية الأنزيمية.

مزايا تجزئة الحمض النووي بالموجات فوق الصوتية

  • يمكن التحكم بدقة
  • نتائج قابلة للتكرار
  • قابل للتعديل لاستهداف أطوال أجزاء الحمض النووي
  • التحكم في درجة الحرارة
  • قابلة للتطوير إلى أي حجم عينة
يظهر الفيديو نظام إعداد العينة بالموجات فوق الصوتية UIP400MTP ، والذي يسمح بإعداد عينة موثوقة من أي لوحات قياسية متعددة الآبار باستخدام الموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الكثافة. وتشمل التطبيقات النموذجية للUIP400MTP تحلل الخلية، الحمض النووي، الحمض النووي الريبي، والقص الكروماتين، فضلا عن استخراج البروتين.

Ultrasonicator UIP400MTP لسونيكيشن لوحة متعددة الآبار

استخدام ناقلات البلازميد

غالبا ما تستخدم البلازميدات كأدوات لاستنساخ الجينات ونقلها والتلاعب بها. عندما يتم استخدام البلازميدات تجريبيا لهذه الأغراض ، فإنها تسمى المتجهات. يمكن إدخال شظايا الحمض النووي أو الجينات في ناقل البلازميد ، مما يخلق ما يسمى بالبلازميد المؤتلف. تستخدم ناقلات البلازميد كمركبات لدفع الحمض النووي المؤتلف إلى خلية مضيفة وهي مكون رئيسي في الاستنساخ الجزيئي.
“تجري دراسة النواقل غير الفيروسية على نطاق واسع لاستخدامها المحتمل في العلاج الجيني لعلاج مختلف الأمراض المعقدة. تحمي النواقل غير الفيروسية الحمض النووي البلازميدي من التدهور الفيزيائي والكيميائي والإنزيمي وتوصل جزيء الحمض النووي إلى الموقع المستهدف. على سبيل المثال ، تشكل الجسيمات الشحمية الكاتيونية والشيتوزان وغيرها من الجسيمات النانوية الموجبة الشحنة مجمعات مع الحمض النووي البلازميدي من خلال التفاعلات الكهروستاتيكية. ومع ذلك ، فإن الجسيمات الشحمية الكاتيونية سهلة التكوين / مجمعات الحمض النووي البلازميد كبيرة نسبيا (أي 300-400 نانومتر) وغير متجانسة في طبيعتها مما يجعل من الصعب استخدامها في التطبيقات الصيدلانية. يمكن تقليل الحمض النووي البلازميدي الكبير وغير المتجانس / الجسيمات الشحمية ، والحمض النووي البلازميد / الهباء الجوي ، ومجمعات الحمض النووي / الببتيدات البلازميدية إلى جزيئات أصغر حجما ومتجانسة باستخدام الموجات فوق الصوتية.” (ساركر وآخرون، 2019)
مثال بارز على استخدام ناقلات البلازميد هو CRISPR-Cas9. عادة ما يتم تسليم نظام CRISPR–Cas9 إلى الخلايا كبلازميد واحد كبير أو عدة بلازميدات أصغر حجما تقوم بتشفير تسلسل مستهدف ودليل CRISPR وCas9.

إعداد بالموجات فوق الصوتية للجسيمات النانوية PLGA المحملة بالحمض النووي عن طريق هطول الأمطار النانوية

استخدم Jo et al. (2020) poly (lactic-co-glycolic acid) (PLGA) من أجل تشكيل حامل جسيمات نانوية لتوصيل نموذج CRISPR-Cas9 plasmid إلى البلاعم الأولية المشتقة من نخاع العظم. بالنسبة لهطول الأمطار النانوية للجسيمات النانوية PLGA ، تم استخدام PLGA مع مجموعتين نهايتين مختلفتين (مجموعات الإستر والأمين) بهدف أن تزيد أغطية نهاية الأمين الموجبة الشحنة من كفاءة التغليف والتحميل بسبب تفاعلات الشحنة بينها وبين العمود الفقري المشحون سلبا للحمض النووي. في أنبوب طرد مركزي مخروطي من البولي بروبيلين سعة 50 مل ، تم إذابة 100 ملغ من Pluronic F127 في 20 مل من ماء DI المعقم عن طريق خلط الدوامة متبوعا ب 30 دقيقة من الصوتنة اللطيفة باستخدام حمام بالموجات فوق الصوتية (انظر كوبهورن). تمت إضافة شريط تحريك مغناطيسي معقم وتم خلط المحلول عند 600 دورة في الدقيقة لمدة 30 دقيقة بينما تم صنع المحاليل الأخرى. تم استخدام أدوات المختبر البلاستيكية بدلا من الأواني الزجاجية في جميع أنحائها لتقليل الامتزاز غير المحدد للحمض النووي. تم تصنيع محاليل PLGA الذائبة في DMF (44.48 مجم / مل) و TIPS pentacene المذاب في THF (0.667 mg / ml) بشكل منفصل. تم ترك PLGA بهدوء ليبلل في DMF لمدة 30 دقيقة قبل أن يتم صوته لمدة 30 دقيقة (للحصول على البروتوكول الكامل ، انظر Jo et al.، 2020)

التطبيقات ذات الصلة:

  • استخراج الحمض النووي
  • تغليف الحمض النووي
  • تشتت الحمض النووي المغلف بالجسيمات النانوية
  • توصيل الحمض النووي البلازميدي إلى الخلايا
UP200St TD_CupHorn ل sonication غير المباشرة للعينات

UP200St CupHorn للصوتنة غير المباشرة للعينات ، على سبيل المثال لاستخراج الحمض النووي وتفتيته.

طلب معلومات





حماية الحمض النووي البلازميد أثناء الصوتنة

الحمض النووي بما في ذلك البلازميدات والبلازميدات الملفوفة الفائقة هي تدهور حساس للغاية. جميع طرق التجزئة المتاحة معروفة ببعض العيوب. تجزئة الحمض النووي بالموجات فوق الصوتية هي واحدة من الطرق المفضلة لأن الصوتنة التي تسيطر عليها في تركيبة مع تدابير وقائية تسمح للحد من الضرر الناجم عن القص والحرارة من خيوط الحمض النووي.
إلى جانب إعدادات السعة المنخفضة ووضع النبض والتحكم في درجة الحرارة أثناء قص الحمض النووي بالموجات فوق الصوتية ، أظهر استخدام بعض العوامل تأثيرا وقائيا كبيرا ضد تدهور الحمض النووي. على سبيل المثال ، تحمي البوليمرات المختلفة والببتيدات والدهون الحمض النووي البلازميد أثناء الموجات فوق الصوتية.

يمكن للسوائل الأيونية حماية الحمض النووي البلازميد ضد الأضرار أثناء الصوتنة.

تم التحقيق في استقرار الحمض النووي البلازميد ، والمجمعات النانوية للحمض النووي البلازميد / IL ضد إجهاد القص بالموجات فوق الصوتية باستخدام فحص الرحلان الكهربائي هلام agarose. تعرض كل من الحمض النووي البلازميدي والحمض النووي البلازميدي / المجمعات النانوية IL لإجهاد القص بالموجات فوق الصوتية لنقاط زمنية مختلفة. تعرض الحمض النووي البلازميد لإجهاد القص بالموجات فوق الصوتية لمدة 0 و 10 و 20 و 30 و 40 دقيقة. ومع ذلك ، تعرضت المجمعات النانوية للحمض النووي البلازميد / IL لإجهاد القص بالموجات فوق الصوتية لمدة 0 و 10 و 20 و 30 و 40 و 60 و 90 و 120 دقيقة.
(دراسة وصورة: ©Sarker et al., 2019)

أظهر Sarker et al. (2019) أنه عندما تعرضت الهياكل النانوية للحمض النووي / السائل الأيوني البلازميد (pDNA / IL) لإجهاد القص بالموجات فوق الصوتية لمدة 0 و 10 و 20 و 30 و 40 و 60 و 90 و 120 دقيقة وتعقدت مع عامل توصيل الجينات الكاتيوني المتاح تجاريا lipofectamine ، كانت النسبة المئوية للخلايا الإيجابية الفلورية 80٪ و 98٪ و 97٪ و 85٪ و 78٪ و 65٪ 65٪ ، و 50٪ على التوالي (انظر الرسم البياني أدناه). زادت النسبة المئوية للخلايا الإيجابية الفلورية عندما تعرضت الهياكل النانوية لإجهاد القص بالموجات فوق الصوتية لمدة 10 ، و 20 دقيقة ، وبعد ذلك انخفضت ببطء.

تجزئة بالموجات فوق الصوتية من الحمض النووي البلازميد

تأثير السائل الأيوني [Bmim] [PF6] على توصيل الحمض النووي البلازميد إلى خلايا COS7. تعرضت المجمعات النانوية للحمض النووي البلازميد / IL (السائل الأيوني) لإجهاد القص بالموجات فوق الصوتية لمدة تصل إلى 120 دقيقة وعقدت مع LA قبل تسليمها إلى خلايا COS7. تظهر البيانات متوسط عدد (٪) من خلايا HeLa الإيجابية GFP التي تم حسابها في 10 حقول مجهرية مختلفة وتم إجراء التجربة عدة مرات في ثلاثة أيام مختلفة. (الدراسة والرسم البياني: ©Sarker et al.، 2019)

يمكن حماية الحمض النووي البلازميد بإضافة عامل قبل تجزئة الموجات فوق الصوتية.

يمكن حماية الحمض النووي البلازميد بإضافة عامل قبل التجزئة بالموجات فوق الصوتية: التدهور الناجم عن سونيكشن من pDNA عارية (A) و pDNA المصاغة مع 1.5 mM من CaCl2 و 20 ٪ (v / v) t-butanol (B)
تم صوتنة العينات باستخدام مسبار بقوة 20 واط لمدة تصل إلى 120 ثانية ، كما هو موضح في الجزء العلوي من كل حارة. يتوافق Lane H مع علامة Hyperladder ™️ I. يشار إلى نطاقات البلازميد OC و SC.
(دراسة وصور: ©وو وآخرون، 2009)

إعداد ليسات بالموجات فوق الصوتية

بروتوكول تحلل الخلايا بالموجات فوق الصوتية
Ultrasonicator UP200Ht مع microtip S26d2 للتحلل بالموجات فوق الصوتية من العينات البيولوجيةابدأ بعينة غنية من الخلايا التي تم إعدادها عبر طريقة فصل الخلايا (على سبيل المثال ، فصل الخلايا المناعية المغناطيسية ، وفرز الخلايا المنشطة بالفلور (FACS) ، والطرد المركزي لتدرج الكثافة ، وعزل الخلايا ذات الكثافة المناعية).
يجب أن تظهر عينات الخلايا حجما من مخزن مؤقت للتحلل مناسب للهدف التجريبي والموجات فوق الصوتية من نوع المسبار.
ويفضل المخازن المؤقتة هيبتونيك لأنها تعزز تحلل الخلايا بالموجات فوق الصوتية. من المهم استخدام المواد المضافة وتركيز الملح بطريقة مناسبة.
حدد جهاز التحلل بالموجات فوق الصوتية: بالنسبة للصوتنة غير المباشرة للقوارير ، يوصى باستخدام VialTweeter أو CupHorn. بالنسبة للوحات متعددة الآبار ، فإن UIP400MTP هو جهاز الموجات فوق الصوتية المثالي. والصوتنة الكلاسيكية من نوع المسبار ، وهو مجانس بالموجات فوق الصوتية مثل UP100H أو UP200Ht مع طرف صغير هي الأنسب.
بروتوكول الصوتنة من نوع المسبار: ضع مسبار الموجات فوق الصوتية في حجم العينة في أنبوب جهاز طرد مركزي دقيق وسونيكات لمدة 10 ثوان تقريبا. اعتمادا على عينة الحمض النووي ، قد يتم تكرار الصوتنة مرة أو مرتين أكثر. يعتمد إدخال الطاقة بالموجات فوق الصوتية المطلوبة (Ws / mL) على لزوجة العينة ونوع الحمض النووي. يساعد التبريد عبر حمام الثلج ووضع النبض في الموجات فوق الصوتية على منع تدهور العينة حراريا.
بعد التحلل بالموجات فوق الصوتية ، يتم طرد العينة مركزيا لفصل حطام الكريات (الذي يحتوي على خلايا غير محللة ونوى وعضيات غير محللة)
إذا لم تتم معالجة العينة على الفور ، فيمكن تخزينها في درجة حرارة مناسبة للحفاظ على صلاحيتها.

الموجات فوق الصوتية لتجزئة الحمض النووي

Hielscher Ultrasonics يقدم مختلف المنصات القائمة على الموجات فوق الصوتية للحمض النووي، الجيش الملكي النيبالي، وتجزئة الكروماتين. وتشمل هذه المنصات المختلفة مسابير الموجات فوق الصوتية (سونوتروديس)، حلول سونيكيشن غير المباشرة لإعداد عينة في وقت واحد من أنابيب متعددة أو لوحات متعددة الآبار (على سبيل المثال، لوحات 96 بئر، لوحات microtiter)، سونوريكاتورس، وcuphorns بالموجات فوق الصوتية. تعمل جميع منصات قص الحمض النووي بمعالجات بالموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الأداء يتم ضبطها حسب التردد، والتي يمكن التحكم فيها بدقة وتوصل إلى نتائج قابلة للاستنساخ.

المعالجات بالموجات فوق الصوتية لأي رقم العينة والحجم

مع أجهزة الموجات فوق الصوتية متعددة العينات VialTweeter من Hielscher (لما يصل إلى 10 أنابيب اختبار) و UIP400MTP (للألواح الدقيقة / اللوحات متعددة الآبار) ، يصبح من الممكن بسهولة تقليل وقت معالجة العينات بسبب الموجات فوق الصوتية المكثفة والتي يمكن التحكم فيها بدقة مع الحصول على توزيع حجم جزء الحمض النووي المطلوب وإنتاجيته. تجزئة الحمض النووي بالموجات فوق الصوتية يجعل خطوات إعداد البلازميد فعالة وموثوقة وقابلة للتطوير. يمكن قياس البروتوكولات خطيا من عينة واحدة إلى عدة عينات من خلال تطبيق معلمات الموجات فوق الصوتية الثابتة.
Probe ultrasonicators with one to five fingers are ideal for the preparation of smaller sample numbers. Hielscher’s lab ultrasonicators are available with different power levels so that you can choose the ideal ultrasonic disruptor for your DNA-related application.

The VialTweeter is a MultiSample Ultrasonicator that allows for reliable sample preparation under precisely controlled temperature conditions.

وحدة إعداد العينات المتعددة بالموجات فوق الصوتية VialTweeter يسمح ل sonication في وقت واحد من 10 قنينات. مع فيالبريس جهاز المشبك، يمكن الضغط على ما يصل إلى 4 أنابيب إضافية إلى الأمام ل sonication مكثفة.

عملية مراقبة دقيقة

Hielscher ultrasonicators يمكن التحكم فيها عن بعد عن طريق التحكم في المتصفح. يمكن مراقبة معلمات Sonication وتعديلها بدقة وفقا لمتطلبات العملية.إعدادات سونيكيشن يمكن التحكم فيها بدقة حاسمة منذ سونيشن شاملة يمكن أن تدمر الحمض النووي، الجيش الملكي النيبالي والكروماتين، ولكن نتائج القص بالموجات فوق الصوتية غير كافية في الحمض النووي طويلة جدا وشظايا الكروماتين. يمكن تعيين الموجات فوق الصوتية الرقمية Hielscher بسهولة إلى معلمة سونيكيشن دقيقة. يمكن أيضا حفظ إعدادات sonication محددة كإعداد مبرمجة للتكرار السريع لنفس الإجراء.
يتم تلقائيا بروتوكول جميع sonication وتخزينها كملف CSV على المدمج في بطاقة SD. وهذا يسمح لتوثيق دقيق للتجارب التي أجريت ويجعل من الممكن لمراجعة سونيكيشن يعمل بسهولة.
عن طريق التحكم عن بعد المتصفح، يمكن تشغيل جميع ultrasonicators الرقمية ومراقبتها عبر أي متصفح القياسية. تثبيت برامج إضافية غير مطلوب، لأن اتصال LAN هو إعداد التوصيل n-play بسيطة جدا.

أعلى سهولة في الاستخدام أثناء إعداد الحمض النووي بالموجات فوق الصوتية

تم تصميم جميع الموجات فوق الصوتية Hielscher لتقديم الموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الأداء، في حين يجري دائما في الوقت نفسه جدا سهلة الاستخدام وسهلة التشغيل. جميع الإعدادات منظمة بشكل جيد في قائمة واضحة ، والتي يمكن الوصول إليها بسهولة عن طريق شاشة اللمس الملونة أو جهاز التحكم عن بعد المتصفح. يضمن البرنامج الذكي الذي يتضمن إعدادات قابلة للبرمجة وتسجيل تلقائي للبيانات إعدادات صوتنة مثالية للحصول على نتائج موثوقة وقابلة للاستنساخ. واجهة القائمة نظيفة وسهلة الاستخدام تحويل Hielscher ultrasonicators إلى أجهزة سهلة الاستخدام وفعالة.
يمنحك الجدول أدناه مؤشرا على قدرة المعالجة التقريبية لأجهزة الموجات فوق الصوتية في المختبر لدينا لتحلل الخلايا وتجزئة الحمض النووي:

دفعة حجم معدل المد و الجزر الأجهزة الموصى بها
لوحات متعددة الآبار ن / أ UIP400MTP
قوارير ، كوب صغير ن / أ cuphorn بالموجات فوق الصوتية
ما يصل إلى 10 قوارير ن / أ VialTweeter
1 إلى 500ML 10 إلى 200ML / دقيقة UP100H
10 إلى 2000ML 20 إلى 400ML / دقيقة Uf200 ः ر، UP400St

اتصل بنا! / اسألنا!

اطلب المزيد من المعلومات

يرجى استخدام النموذج أدناه لطلب معلومات إضافية حول المجانسات بالموجات فوق الصوتية لاستخراج الحمض النووي وتجزئته وبروتوكولات التطبيق والأسعار. سنكون سعداء لمناقشة العملية الخاصة بك معك ونقدم لك نظام الموجات فوق الصوتية تلبية الاحتياجات الخاصة بك!









يرجى ملاحظة لدينا سياسة الخصوصية.




الأدب / المراجع

حقائق تستحق العلم

ما هي البلازميدات؟
البلازميد هو جزيء حمض نووي دائري صغير منفصل جسديا عن الحمض النووي للكروموسومات ويتكاثر بشكل مستقل. غالبا ما ترتبط البلازميدات بالجينات التي تساهم في بقاء الكائن الحي وتضفي مزايا محددة ، مثل مقاومة المضادات الحيوية. توجد البلازميدات بشكل شائع كجزيئات حمض نووي دائرية صغيرة مزدوجة الخيوط في البكتيريا. ومع ذلك ، توجد البلازميدات في بعض الأحيان في الكائنات القديمة والكائنات حقيقية النواة. البلازميدات هي أدوات مهمة في البيولوجيا الجزيئية وعلم الوراثة والكيمياء الحيوية وعلوم الحياة. تعرف البلازميدات باسم النواقل في الهندسة الوراثية، وتستخدم لتكرار جينات معينة أو التعبير عنها. يسمى التغيير المستهدف للمتجه تصميم المتجهات.

تحليل GFP في أبحاث الخلايا
بروتين الفلورسنت الأخضر (GFP) هو علامة بيولوجية متعددة الاستخدامات لمراقبة العمليات الفسيولوجية ، وتصور توطين البروتين ، والكشف عن التعبير المعدل وراثيا في الجسم الحي. يمكن إثارة GFP بواسطة خط الليزر 488 نانومتر ويتم اكتشافه على النحو الأمثل عند 510 نانومتر.


الفوق صوتيات عالية الأداء! تغطي مجموعة منتجات Hielscher الطيف الكامل من المعمل المدمج فوق الصوتيات على وحدات أعلى مقاعد البدلاء إلى أنظمة الموجات فوق الصوتية الصناعية الكاملة.

Hielscher الفوق صوتيات بتصنيع عالية الأداء المجانسة بالموجات فوق الصوتية من مختبر إلى حجم الصناعية.

Plasmid Preparation using Ultrasonication

Ultrasonication is a reliable technique to fragment plasmid DNA. Precisely controllable amplitude, pulsation mode and temperature control are most important features of an ultrasonicator for non-damaging plasmid fragmentation. Additionally, the use of certain agents help to protect against plasmid degradation. Hielscher Ultrasonics offers various solutions for controlled plasmid fragmentation from single vials, simultaneously sonication of numerous samples as well as multi-well plates. Learn more about successful ultrasonic plasmid fragmentation!

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


Ultrasonic DNA fragmentation is a reliable and efficient technique commonly used in Next Generation Sequencing (NGS)

The UIP400MTP allows for precisely controlled ultrasonication of multi-well plates. One of the applications of the UIP400MTP is the fragmentation of plasmid DNA in order to obtain fragments of a specifically targeted length.

Plasmid Shearing using Ultrasonication

When DNA samples are subjected to ultrasonic waves, the ultrasonically generated vibrations create acoustic cavitation in the liquid that shears or breaks high molecular weight DNA molecules via mechanical forces. Sonication is the most widely used method for bulk DNA shearing experiments including applications, such as Chromatin Immunoprecipitation (ChIP), for which small fragment sizes are absolutely crucial to obtain high resolution. (cf. Tseng et al., 2012)
Plasmid DNA (pDNA) is specific form of DNA, characterized by its ring shape and is found in bacteria and some eukaryotes.
Supercoiled pDNA is the desired form of plasmid DNA as it shows best results in down-stream processes such as automated sequencing and transfection. Ultrasonication is suitable to fragment pDNA, including supercoiled pDNA, successfully.
Thompson et al. (2008) demonstrated that plasmid sonication, which is known to fragment supercoiled DNA, is an effective way to improve sequence phred20 read lengths to the point that they are not significantly different from Beckman Coulter’s control template or enzymatically linearized plasmids.

Advantages of Ultrasonic DNA Fragmentation

  • Precisely controllable
  • Reproducable results
  • Adjustable to target DNA fragment lengths
  • Temperature control
  • Scalable to any sample size
The video shows the ultrasonic sample preparation system UIP400MTP, which allows for the reliable sample preparation of any standard multi-well plates using high-intensity ultrasound. Typical applications of the UIP400MTP include cell lysis, DNA, RNA, and chromatin shearing as well as protein extraction.

Ultrasonicator UIP400MTP for multi-well plate sonication

Use of Plasmid Vectors

Plasmids are often used as tools to clone, transfer, and manipulate genes. When plasmids are used experimentally for these purposes, they are called vectors. DNA fragments or genes can be inserted into a plasmid vector, creating a so-called recombinant plasmid. Plasmid vectors are used as vehicles to drive recombinant DNA into a host cell and are a key component of molecular cloning.
“Non-viral vectors are being extensively studied for their potential use in gene therapy to treat various complicated diseases. Non-viral vectors protect plasmid DNA against physical, chemical, and enzymatic degradation and deliver the DNA molecule to the target site. For example, cationic liposomes, chitosan and other positively charged nanoparticles form complexes with plasmid DNA through electrostatic interactions. However, the readily formed cationic liposomes/plasmid DNA complexes are relatively large (i.e., 300–400 nm) and heterogeneous in nature making them difficult to use in pharmaceutical applications. The large and heterogeneous plasmid DNA/liposomes, plasmid DNA/aerosols, and plasmid DNA/peptides complexes can be reduced to smaller, and homogeneous particles using ultrasonication.” (Sarker et al., 2019)
A prominent example for the use of plasmid vectors is CRISPR–Cas9. The CRISPR–Cas9 system is typically delivered to cells as a single large plasmid or multiple smaller plasmids that encode a target sequence, a CRISPR guide, and Cas9.

Ultrasonic Preparation of DNA-loaded PLGA Nanoparticles by Nanoprecipitation

Jo et al. (2020) used poly(lactic-co-glycolic acid) (PLGA) in order to form a nanoparticle carrier for the delivery of a model CRISPR–Cas9 plasmid into primary bone marrow derived macrophages. For the nanoprecipitation of PLGA nanoparticles, PLGA with two different end groups (ester and amine groups) were used with the objective that the positively charged amine end caps increase the encapsulation efficiency and loading due to the charge interactions between it and the negatively charged backbone of the DNA. In a 50 mL polypropylene conical centrifuge tube, 100 mg Pluronic F127 was dissolved in 20 mL autoclaved DI water by vortex mixing followed by 30 min of gentle sonication using an ultrasonic bath (see CupHorn). An autoclaved magnetic stirring bar was added and the solution was mixed at 600 RPM for 30 min while the other solutions were made. Plastic labware was used instead of glassware throughout to minimize nonspecific adsorption of DNA. Solutions of PLGA dissolved in DMF (44.48 mg/ ml) and TIPS pentacene dissolved in THF (0.667 mg/ml) were made separately. The PLGA was left quiescently to wet in DMF for 30 min before being sonicated for 30 min. (for full protocol see Jo et al., 2020)

Related applications:

  • Extraction of DNA
  • Encapsulation of DNA
  • Dispersion of nanoparticle-coated DNA
  • Delivery of plasmid DNA into cells
UP200St TD_CupHorn for the indirect sonication of samples

The UP200St CupHorn for the indirect sonication of samples, e.g. for DNA extraction and fragmentation.

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


Plasmid DNA Protection during Sonication

DNA including plasmids and supercoiled plasmids are highly sensitive degradation. All fragmentation methods available are known for certain disadvantages. Ultrasonic DNA fragmentation is one of the preferred methods since controlled sonication in combination with protective measures allows to reduce shear- and heat- induced damaging of DNA strands.
Besides low amplitude settings, pulsation mode and temperature control during ultrasonic DNA shearing, the use of certain agents showed significant protective effect against DNA degradation. For instance, various polymers, peptides, and lipids protect the plasmid DNA during ultrasonication.

Ionic liquids can protect plasmid DNA against damages during sonication.

The stability of plasmid DNA, and plasmid DNA/IL nanocomplexes against ultrasonic shear stress was investigated using agarose gel electrophoresis assay. Both the plasmid DNA and plasmid DNA/IL nanocomplexes were subjected to ultrasonic shear stress for different time points. The plasmid DNA was exposed to ultrasonic shear stress for 0, 10, 20, 30, and 40 minutes. However, the plasmid DNA/IL nanocomplexes were exposed to ultrasonic shear stress for 0, 10, 20, 30, 40, 60, 90, and 120 minutes.
(study and picture: ©Sarker et al., 2019)

Sarker et al. (2019) demonstrated that when the plasmid DNA / ionic liquid (pDNA/IL) nanostructures were subjected to ultrasonic shear stress for 0, 10, 20, 30, 40, 60, 90, and 120 min and complexed with the commercially available cationic gene delivery agent lipofectamine, the percent of fluorescent positive cells were 80%, 98%, 97%, 85%, 78%, 65%, 65%, and 50%, respectively (see chart below). The percentage of fluorescent positive cells increased when the nanostructures were subjected to ultrasonic shear stress for 10, and 20 min, and thereafter decreased slowly.

Ultrasonic fragmentation of plasmid DNA

Influence of ionic liquid [Bmim][PF6] on the delivery of plasmid DNA to COS7 cells. Plasmid DNA/IL (ionic liquid) nanocomplexes were subjected to ultrasonic shear stress for up to 120 minutes and complexed with LA before delivering into COS7 cells. The data show the average number (%) of GFP positive HeLa cells counted in 10 different microscopic fields and the experiment was performed multiple times on three different days. (Study and chart: ©Sarker et al., 2019)

Plasmid DNA can be protected adding an agent before ultrasonic fragmentation.

Plasmid DNA can be protected adding an agent before ultrasonic fragmentation: Sonication-induced degradation of naked pDNA (A) and of pDNA formulated with 1.5 mM of CaCl2 and 20 % (v/v) t-butanol (B)
Samples were sonicated with a 20W probe for up to 120s, as indicated on the top of each lane. Lane H corresponds to the Hyperladder I ™️ marker. The OC and SC plasmid bands are indicated.
(study and pictures: ©Wu et al., 2009)

Ultrasonic Lysate Preparation

Ultrasonic Cell Lysis Protocol
Ultrasonicator UP200Ht with microtip S26d2 for ultrasonic lysis of biological samplesStart with an enriched sample of cells that was prepared via a cell separation method (e.g., immunomagnetic cell separation, fluorescence-activated cell sorting (FACS), density gradient centrifugation, immunodensity cell isolation).
The cell samples must show a volume of a lysis buffer that is appropriate for the experimental goal and probe-type ultrasonicator.
Hypotonic buffers are preferred as they enhance ultrasonic cell lysis. It is important that additives and salt concentration are used in an appropriate manner.
Select your ultrasonic lysis device: For indirect sonication of vials, the VialTweeter or CupHorn are recommended. For multiwell-plates, the UIP400MTP is the ideal ultrasonicator. And classical probe-type sonication, an ultrasonic homogenizer as the UP100H or UP200Ht with a micro-tip are most suitable.
Protocol for probe-type sonication: Place the ultrasonicator probe into the sample volume in a microcentrifuge tube and sonicate for approx. 10 seconds. Depending on the DNA sample, the sonication might be repeated one or two more times. The required ultrasonic energy input (Ws/mL) depends on the sample viscosity and DNA type. Cooling via ice bath and pulsation mode of the ultrasonicator helps to prevent that the sample is thermally degraded.
After ultrasonic lysis, the sample is centrifuged to separate pellet debris (containing unlysed cells, nuclei, and unlysed organelles)
If the sample is not immediately processed further, it can be can be stored at an appropriate temperature to preserve its viability.

Ultrasonicators for DNA Fragmentation

Hielscher Ultrasonics offers various ultrasound-based platforms for DNA, RNA, and chromatin fragmentation. These different platforms include ultrasonic probes (sonotrodes), indirect sonication solutions for the simultaneous sample preparation of multiple tubes or multi-well plates (e.g., 96-well plates, microtiter plates), sonoreactors, and ultrasonic cuphorns. All platforms for DNA shearing are powered by frequency-tuned, high-performance ultrasonic processors, which are precisely controllable and deliver reproducible results.

Ultrasonic Processors for Any Sample Number and Size

With Hielscher’s multi-sample ultrasonicators VialTweeter (for up to 10 test tubes) and UIP400MTP (for microplates/ multiwell plates) it becomes easily possible to reduce sample processing time due to intense and precisely controllable ultrasonication whilst obtaining the desired DNA fragment size distribution and yield. Ultrasonic DNA fragmentation makes plasmid preparation steps efficient, reliable and scalable. Protocols can be linearly scaled from one to numerous samples by applying constant ultrasound parameters.
Probe ultrasonicators with one to five fingers are ideal for the preparation of smaller sample numbers. Hielscher’s lab ultrasonicators are available with different power levels so that you can choose the ideal ultrasonic disruptor for your DNA-related application.

The VialTweeter is a MultiSample Ultrasonicator that allows for reliable sample preparation under precisely controlled temperature conditions.

The ultrasonic multi-sample preparation unit VialTweeter allows for the simultaneous sonication of up to 10 vials. With the clamp-on device VialPress, up to 4 additional tubes can be pressed to the front for intense sonication.

Precise Process Control

Hielscher ultrasonicators can be remotely controlled via browser control. Sonication parameters can be monitored and adjusted precisely to the process requirements.Precisely controllable sonication settings are crucial since exhaustive sonification can destroy DNA, RNA and chromatin, but inadequate ultrasonic shearing results in too long DNA and chromatin fragments. Hielscher’s digital ultrasonicators can be easily set to precise sonication parameter. Specific sonication settings can be also saved as programmed setting for fast repetition of the same procedure.
All sonication are automatically protocoled and stored as CSV file on a built-in SD-card. This allows for accurate documentation of performed trials and makes it possible to revise sonication runs easily.
Via browser remote control, all digital ultrasonicators can be operated and monitored via any standard browser. Installation of additional software is not required, since the LAN connection is a very simple plug-n-play setup.


Highest User-Friendliness during Ultrasonic DNA Preparation

All Hielscher ultrasonicators are designed to deliver high-performance ultrasound, whilst at the same time always being very user-friendly and easy-to-operate. All settings are well-structured in a clear menu, which can be easily accessed via coloured touch-display or browser remote control. The smart software with programmable settings and automatic data recording ensures optimal sonication settings for reliable and reproducible results. The clean and easy-to-use menu interface turn Hielscher ultrasonicators into user-friendly and efficient devices.
The table below gives you an indication of the approximate processing capacity of our lab ultrasonicators for cell lysis and DNA fragmentation:

Batch Volume Flow Rate Recommended Devices
multi-well plates n/a UIP400MTP
vials, small beaker n/a Ultrasonic CupHorn
up to 10 vials n/a VialTweeter
1 to 500mL 10 to 200mL/min UP100H
10 to 2000mL 20 to 400mL/min UP200Ht, UP400St

Contact Us! / Ask Us!

Ask for more information

Please use the form below to request additional information about ultrasonic homogenizers for DNA extraction and fragmentation, application protocols and prices. We will be glad to discuss your process with you and to offer you an ultrasonic system fulfilling your requirements!









Please note our privacy policy.




Literature / References

Facts Worth Knowing

What are Plasmids?
A plasmid is a small circular DNA molecule that is physically separate from chromosomal DNA and replicates independently. Plasmids are often associated with genes that contribute to the survival of an organism and impart specific advantages, e.g. antibiotic resistance. Plasmids are most commonly found as small circular, double-stranded DNA molecules in bacteria; however, plasmids are sometimes present in archaea and eukaryotic organisms. Plasmids are important tools in molecular biology, genetics, biochemistry, and life science. Known as vectors in genetic engineering, plasmids are used to replicate or express certain genes. The targeted alteration of a vector is called vector design.

GFP Analysis in Cell Research
Green Fluorescent Protein (GFP) is a versatile biological marker for monitoring physiological processes, visualizing protein localization, and detecting transgenic expression in vivo. GFP can be excited by the 488 nm laser line and is optimally detected at 510 nm.


High performance ultrasonics! Hielscher's product range covers the full spectrum from the compact lab ultrasonicator over bench-top units to full-industrial ultrasonic systems.

Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonic homogenizers from lab to industrial size.