Ultraschall fürs Dispergieren und Mahlen: Farben & Pigmente

Leistungsultraschall ist bekannt für seine intensive und präzise steuerbare Mahl- und Dispergierwirkung. Industrie-Ultraschallgeräte liefern eine hochgradig gleichmäßige Partikelgrößenverteilung im Mikron- und Nanobereich. Industrie-Ultraschallgeräte verarbeiten problemlos große Volumenströme mit hoher Viskosität und erfüllen eine homogene Benetzung, Dispergierung, Desagglomeration und Vermahlung.

Farbproduktion mit Ultraschall

Verbessern Sie Ihre Farben, Farben und Lacke mittels Ultraschall:

  • Formulierung: Egal ob Sie Farbpasten mit hoher Viskosität, hoher Partikelladung in einer wässrigen oder lösemittelhaltigen Suspension behandeln wollen – mit Hielscher industriellen Ultraschallanlagen können Sie jede Ihrer Formulierungen verarbeiten.
  • Mikron- und Nano-Größe: Der ultraschall-generierte Kavitations- Kraft und deren Scherung reduziert Partikel auf sehr kleine Durchmesser und sorgt für eine einheitliche Dispersion.
  • Optische Eigenschaften: Um die gewünschten optischen Eigenschaften zu erhalten, muss die Partikelgröße reguliert werden. In der Regel korreliert die Deckkraft einer Farbe mit Partikelgröße ihrer Pigmente: Je feiner die Partikelgröße, desto höher die Deckkraft. So wird z.B. TiO2 auf eine Partikelgröße von 0,20 bis 0,3 Mikron zerkleinert, was in etwa einer halben Wellenlänge des Lichts entspricht. Mittels Ultraschall können Sie die TiO2 Pigmente auf optimale Partikelgröße zerkleinern, so dass eine optimale Deckkraft erreicht wird.
  • High Performance Partikel: Mit einer kleineren Korngröße erreichen Sie größere Farbsättigung, Farbstärke, Konsistenz und Stabilität. Die intensiven, aber dennoch präzise kontrollierbaren Ultraschallkräfte ermöglichen die Herstellung von modifizierten und funktionalisierten Nanopartikeln, wie z.B. beschichteten Partikeln, SWNTsMWCNTs und Core-Shell-Partikeln. Solche Partikel weisen einzigartige Besonderheiten auf und ermöglichen es, Farbe- oder Beschichtungsformulierungen mit einer völlig neuen Qualität und Funktionalität herzustellen (z.B. UV-Beständigkeit, Kratzfestigkeit, Lackstärke, Haftfähigkeit, hohe Wärmebeständigkeit, Infrarot- und Solarreflexion).
  • Modifizierte Partikel: Mit modifizierten Pigmenten können Suspensionen mit hoher Partikelkonzentration hergestellt werden, die trotzdem eine relativ geringe Viskosität aufweisen (z.B. 2,5cP bei 10 % Feststoffkonzentration). Zudem lässt sich eine hervorragende Stabilität der Suspension und eine hohe Reinheit
Pigmentpasten werden durch Ultraschallkavitation und hohe Scherkräfte gemahlen und dispergiert

Das Ultraschallverfahren ist eine leistungsfähige Methode zum Mahlen und Dispergieren von Pigmentpasten.

Informationen anfordern




Beachten Sie unsere Datenschutzerklärung.


Pigmentpasten, die mit Hilfe von Ultraschallkavitation und hohen Scherkräften gemahlen und dispergiert werden, zeigen eine deutliche Zerkleinerung und gleichmäßige Verteilung.

Pigmentpasten, die mit Hilfe von Ultraschallkavitation und hohen Scherkräften gemahlen und dispergiert werden, zeigen eine deutliche Größenreduzierung und gleichmäßige Verteilung. Das obige Diagramm zeigt die zunehmende Verkleinerung bei steigender Ultraschallenergie.


Verwenden Sie Ultraschall für

  • die Formulierungen des Endproduktes
  • das Einmischen von Pigmenten in Masterbatches
  • die Veredelung der Partikel nach einem konventionellen Mahlverfahren

Für die Herstellung von Farben werden die Komponenten (z.B. Pigmente, Bindemittel/Filmbildner, Lösungsmittel, Harze, Füllstoffe und Additive) zu einer homogenen Formulierung vermischt. Die Pigmente sind die entscheidende Komponente, welche dem Farbprodukt seine Farbkraft verleiht. Das wichtigste Weißpigment ist TiO2, welches auf eine optimale Partikelgröße zwischen 0,2 und 0,3 Mikron Durchmesser zerkleinert werden muss, um den gewünschten Weißgrad, Helligkeit, Deckkraft und eine sehr hohe Lichtbrechung zu erreichen. Die Ultraschall-Scherkräfte stellen eine sehr effektive Methode der Desagglomeration und Dispersion von TiO2 Partikeln dar (siehe Tabelle unten).
Das ultraschall-gestützte Mahlen und Dispergieren beeinflusst die Farbqualitätund verbessert die Farbstärke, Dichte, Dispersion und Rheologie.

Ultraschall-Dispergieren & Vermahlen

Die Qualität von Farben und Lacken beruht auf der einheitlichen Dispersion der Pigmente. Hielscher Ultrasonics liefert leistungsstarke Ultraschallsysteme für das Vermahlen und Feinmahlen von Farbdispersionen, auch für Formulierungen mit hohen Partikelkonzentrationen. Der Mechanismus der Ultraschall-Dispergierer für das Vermahlen & Desagglomerieren und Dispergieren basiert auf den hochintensiven Scherkräften der Ultraschallkavitation. Die ultraschall-generierte Kavitations- Kraft erzeugt hohe Druckdifferenzen, lokale Hot Spots und Flüssigkeitsstrahlen, durch welche eine interpartikuläre Kollision erreicht wird und die Partikel dich gegenseitig zerschmettern.
Industrielle Ultraschalldispergierer wie z.B. der UIP16000 haben Kapazität, um hohe Flüssigkeitsströme mit Farb- und Lackformulierungen zu verarbeiten.

In diesem Video zeigen wir Ihnen ein 2-Kilowatt-Ultraschallsystem für den Inline-Betrieb in einem mit Stickstoff-spülbaren Schrank. Hielscher liefert Ultraschallgeräte für fast alle Branchen, wie z.B. für die chemische Industrie, Pharmazie, Kosmetik, petrochemische Prozesse sowie für lösungsmittelbasierte Extraktionsverfahren. Dieser spülbare Edelstahlschrank ist für den Betrieb in explosionsgefährdeten Bereichen ausgelegt. Zu diesem Zweck kann der abgedichtete Schrank vom Kunden mit Stickstoff oder Frischluft gespült werden, um zu verhindern, dass brennbare Gase oder Dämpfe in den Schrank gelangen.

2x 1000-Watt-Ultraschallgeräte in einem mit Stickstoff-spülbaren Schrank zur Installation in explosionsgefährdeten Bereichen


Mach Ultraschall zum Fräsen, Schleifen und Dispergieren von Pigmenten, Farben und Farben. (Klicken um zu vergrößern!)

Ultraschall-Verarbeitung: 7x UIP1000hdT

Caution: Video "duration" is missing

Das Video demonstriert die Ultraschalldispersion der roten Farbe unter Verwendung des UP400St mit einem S24d 22mm Prüfkopf.

Ultraschall-Dispersion von roter Farbe mit dem UP400St

Dispersion von Nanopartikeln

Das ultraschall-gestützte Feinmahlen und Dispergieren ist oft die einzige Method, um Nanopartikel und Primärpartikel effizient zu verarbeiten. Durch die sehr kleine Primärpartikelgröße erhält das pigment eine große Partikeloberfläche. Die Größe und Ausprägung der Partikeloberfläche verleiht dem Partikel einzigartige Merkmale und Funktionalitäten. Gleichzeitig ist eine kleinere Korngröße mit einer hohen Oberflächenenergie verbunden, welche eine verstärkte Aggregation und Reaktivität mit sich bringt, so dass eine intensive Ultraschall- Dispergieren erforderlich ist, um die Nanopartikel homogen in die Formulierung einzumischen.
Darüber hinaus können mittel einer ultraschall-gestützten Oberflächenbehandlung die Nanopartikel modifiziert werden, wodurch eine verbesserte Dispergierbarkeit, Dispersionsstabilität, Hydrophobie und weitere positive Eigenschaften erreicht werden können.
Forscher empfehlen die ultraschall-gestützte Dispergierung für Nanopartikel als bevorzugte Lösung, „da das Material, welches mittels der Ultraschallmethode dispergiert wurde, viel reiner ist als das Material, das mit einer Perumühle hergestellt wurde“[Kim et al. 2010].

Ultraschallgerät UP200St (200 W) zur Dispergierung von Ruß in Wasser unter Verwendung von Tween80 (1 Gew.-%) als Tensid.

Ultraschalldispergierung von Carbon Black mit dem Ultraschallgerät UP200St

Die Ultraschall-Dispersionstechnik hat viele Vorteile im Vergleich zu herkömmlichen Frästechnologien wie drei-Rolle, Ball oder Medienmühlen. (Klicken um zu vergrößern!)

Ultraschall-gestütztes Dispergieren hat große Vorteile gegenüber konventionellen Mahltechniken

Kontaktieren Sie uns! / Fragen Sie uns!

Fordern Sie weitere Informationen an!

Bitte verwenden Sie das untenstehende Formular, um zusätzliche Informationen über unsere Ultraschallprozessoren, Anwendungen und Preise anzufordern. Gerne besprechen wir Ihr Verfahren mit Ihnen und bieten Ihnen ein Ihren Anforderungen entsprechendes Ultraschallsystem an!









Bitte beachten Sie unsere Datenschutzerklärung.


Caution: Video "duration" is missing

Die Hielscher SonoStation macht die Beschallung von mittelgroßen Chargen mit einem Durchflusszellenreaktor einfach.
Die kompakte SonoStation kombiniert einen 38-Liter-Rührtank mit einer einstellbaren Exzenterschneckenpumpe, die bis zu 3 Liter pro Minute in einen oder zwei Ultraschall-Durchflusszellenreaktoren fördern kann.

Ultraschall-Mischstation - SonoStation mit 2 x 2000-Watt-Homogenisatoren



Literatur / Literaturhinweise

  • Adam K. Budniak, Niall A. Killilea, Szymon J. Zelewski, Mykhailo Sytnyk, Yaron Kauffmann, Yaron Amouyal, Robert Kudrawiec, Wolfgang Heiss, Efrat Lifshitz (2020): Exfoliated CrPS4 with Promising Photoconductivity. Small Vol.16, Issue 1. January 9, 2020.
  • Kim, Moojoon; Kim, Jungsoon; Jo, Misun; Ha, Kanglyeo (2010): Dispersion effect of nano particle according to ultrasound exposure by using focused ultrasonic field. Proceedings of Symposium on Ultrasonic Electronics 6-8 December, 2010. 31, 2010. 549-550.
  • Pekarovicov, Alexandra; Pekarovic, Jan (2009): Emerging Pigment Dispersion Technologies. Industry insight Pira International 2009.

Wissenswertes

Ultraschall-Homogenisatoren werden oft als Sonicator, Ultraschall-Lysegerät, Ultraschall-Disruptor, Ultraschall-Labormühle, Sono-Ruptor, Sonifier, Dismembrator, Zell-Disruptor, Ultraschall-Dispergierer oder Ultraschallemulgiergerät bezeichnet. Die unterschiedlichen Bezeichnungen ergeben sich aus den zahlreichen unterschiedlichen Anwendungen, für die Ultraschallgeräte eingesetzt werden.

Ultraschall-Dispersion von UV Black Ink: Ultraschall führt zu einer homogenen feinen Dispersion (Anklicken zum Vergrößern!)

UV-Schwarzpigmente: Vor und nach der Beschallung

Ultrasound for Dispersing and Grinding: Paint & Pigments

Power ultrasound is well known for its intense and precisely controllable milling and dispersing effects. This makes ultrasonic homogenizers ideal for the production of pigment paste and paint formulations. Industrial ultrasonicators provide a highly uniform particle size distribution in the micron- and nano-range. Process large volume streams of high viscosities with Hielscher sonicators to achieve homogeneous wetting, dispersing, deagglomeration and milling!

Paint Manufacturing with Ultrasound

Improve your Paints, Colors and Coatings with Sonication:

  • Formulation: Whether high viscosities, high particle loads, aqueous- or solvent-based – with Hielscher industrial inline ultrasonicators you can process any formulation.
  • Micron- and Nano-Size: The high shear forces generated by acoustic cavitation reduce particles to minute particle diameters and provide an uniform dispersion. Adjusting ultrasonication parameters to your particle and formulation requirements allow for a reliable production of nano-sized pigments.
  • Optical Properties: To obtain the correct optical properties, pigment particle size have to be controlled. Usually, opacity correlates with particle size: the finer the particle size, the more opacity. For example, TiO2 is specifically processed to a particle size of 0.20 to 0.3 micron, which is approximately the equivalent to one-half the wavelength of light. Ultrasonication reduces the TiO2 pigments to their optimum size, so that ultimate hiding is obtained.
  • High-Performance Particles: Smaller particle sizes result in greater colour saturation, colour consistency and stability. The intense, yet precisely controllable ultrasound forces allow for producing modified and functionalized nano-particles, such as coated particles, SWNTs, MWCNTs and core-shell particles. Such particles show unique characteristics and elevate paint or coating formulations to a new level of quality and functionality (e.g. UV resistance, scratch resistance, strength, adhesiveness, high heat resistance, infrared and solar reflectivity).
  • Modified Particles: Surface modified pigments have very low viscosity at high pigment loadings (2.5cP at 10% solids), superior suspension stability and high purity. Ultrasonically assisted particle functionalization makes it simple to synthesize high-performance pigments with special characteristics.

 

The video is demonstrating ultrasonic dispersion of red color using the UP400St with a S24d 22mm probe.

Ultrasonic Red Color Dispersion using the UP400St

Video Thumbnail

Pigment pastes are milled and dispersed using ultrasound cavitation and high-shear forces

Ultrasonic processing is a powerful method for milling and dispersing pigment pastes.

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


Use ultrasonics for the production of

  • final formulations
  • master batches of pigment paste
  • refining particles after conventional milling

 

Pigment pastes are milled and dispersed using ultrasound cavitation and high-shear forces show a significant size reduction and uniform distribution.

Pigment pastes are milled and dispersed using ultrasound cavitation and high-shear forces show a significant size reduction and uniform distribution. The plot above shows the increasing size reduction at increasing ultrasonic energy.

 

For the production of paint, the components such as pigments, binders/ film formers, diluents/ solvents, resins, fillers and additives have to mixed together into a homogeneous formulation. Pigments are the determining component that gives paint its color. The most important white pigment is TiO2, which needs to be milled to an optimum particle size between 0.2 and 0.3 microns in diameter to show the desired grade of whiteness, brightness, opacity and a very high refractive index. The ultrasonic shear forces provide a very effective and energy-effective deagglomeration and dispersion of TiO2 particles (see image below).

Ultrasonication using the UIP1000hdT results in a fine dispersion of TiO2 nanoparticles (Aeroxide P25)

TEM of ultrasonically dispersed TiO2 nanoparticle suspension with different solid concentrations. Sonication was performed using the ultrasonicator UIP1000hdT
Left: ultrasonic energy input 1.8 × 105 J/L – Right: ultrasonic energy input 5.4 × 105 J/L
(Study and images: ©Fasaki et al., 2012)

 
Ultrasonic milling and dispersing enhance the paint quality by improving its color strength, density, fineness of grinding, dispersion and rheology.

Ultrasonic Dispersing & Grinding Conditions

The quality of paints and coatings relies on the homogenous dispersion of the pigments. Hielscher Ultrasonics supplies effective milling and grinding equipment for paint dispersion, especially for for formulations with high pigment loads. The mechanism of ultrasonic dispersers for milling, grinding, deagglomeration and dispersion applications is mainly based on the shear principle generated by ultrasonic cavitation. The cavitational shear forces necessary for the dissociation of the particles are produced by high pressure differences, local hot spots and liquid jets, which results in the particle break-up by inter-particle collision.
Industrial ultrasonic dispersers such as the UIP16000hdT with 16,000 watts per ultrasonic probe have the capacity to process high volume streams of paints and coatings.


Power ultrasonics for milling, grinding and dispersing of pigments, paint and colors. (Click to enlarge!)

Ultrasonic Processing: 7x UIP1000hdT

Ultrasonically dispersed chalk paint on the grindometer shows complete deagglomeration and homogeneous particle distribution

Sonicated chalk paint on the grindometer demonstrates the perfectly uniform deagglomeration and particle size distribution of the pigments

 

In this video we show you a 2 kilowatt ultrasonic system for inline operation in a purgeable cabinet. Hielscher supplies ultrasonic equipment to almost all industries, such as the chemical industry, pharmaceutical, cosmetics, petrochemical processes as well as for solvent based extraction processes. This purgeable stainless steel cabinet is designed for operation in hazardous areas. For this purpose, the sealed cabinet can be purged by the customer with nitrogen or fresh air to prevent flammable gases or vapors from entering the cabinet.

2x 1000 Watts Ultrasonicators in Purgeable Cabinet for Installation in Hazardous Areas

Video Thumbnail

 

Dispersion of Nanoparticles

Ultrasonic grinding and dispersing is often the only method to process nano-particles efficiently in order to obtain sinlge-dispersed primary particles. A small primary particle size results in a large surface area and correlates with the expression of unique particle characteristics and functionalities. At the same time, a smaller particle size is associated with a high surface energy for more severe aggregation and reactivity, so that the intense ultrasonic dispersing forces are required to disperse the nano particles homogeneously into the formulation.
Furthermore, an ultrasonic surface treatment can modify the nano particles which leads to improved dispersibility, dispersion stability, hydrophobicity and other features.
Researchers have recommended the ultrasonic dispersion method for nano particles as preferred solution, “because the material dispersed by the ultrasonic method is much purer than that produced by bead milling.” [Kim et al. 2010].

Ultrasonic Dispersion of UV Black Ink: Ultrasound results in a homogeneous fine dispersion (Click to enlarge!)

UV-Black Pigments: Before and After Ultrasonication

The ultrasonic dispersion technique has many advantages in comparison with traditional milling technologies such as three-roll, ball or media mills. (Click to enlarge!)

The ultrasonic dispersion technique has many advantages in comparison with traditional milling technologies such as three-roll, ball or media mills.

Read more about ultrasonic homogenisation and dispersing of pigments and colorants for masterbatches and paint formulations!

Contact Us! / Ask Us!

Ask for more information

Please use the form below to request additional information about ultrasonic homogenizers, dispersing applications and prices. We will be glad to discuss your pigment-related process with you and to offer you an ultrasonic disperser meeting your requirements!









Please note our privacy policy.


Caution: Video "duration" is missing

The Hielscher SonoStation makes the sonication of mid-size batches using a flow cell reactor easy.
The compact SonoStation combines a 38 liter agitated tank with an adjustable progressive cavity pump that can feed up 3 liters per minute into one or two ultrasonic flow cell reactors.

Ultrasonic Mixing Station - SonoStation with 2 x 2000 Watts Homogenizers

Video Thumbnail



Literature / References

Facts Worth Knowing

Ultrasonic tissue homogenizers are often referred to as probe sonicator/ sonificator, sonic lyser, ultrasound disruptor, ultrasonic grinder, sono-ruptor, sonifier, sonic dismembrator, cell disrupter, ultrasonic disperser, emulsifier or dissolver. The different terms result from the various applications that can be fulfilled by sonication.

Ultrasonicator UP200St (200W) dispersing carbon black in water using 1%wt Tween80 as surfactant.

Ultrasonic Dispersion of Carbon Black using the ultrasonicator UP200St

Video Thumbnail


High performance ultrasonics! The Hielscher product range covers the full spectrum from the compact lab ultrasonicator over bench-top units to full-industrial ultrasonic systems.

Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonic homogenizers from lab to industrial size.


We will be glad to discuss your process.

Let's get in contact.