Ultraschall-verbesserte Speiseeisherstellung

Die Anwendung von Leistungsultraschall hat mehrere positive Auswirkungen auf die Herstellung von hochwertigem Speiseeis. Zu den wichtigsten Vorteilen der Beschallung gehören die Verringerung der Kristallgröße und die Beschleunigung des Gefriervorgangs in Eiscreme. Dadurch verbessert die Beschallung die Qualität und das Empfinden der Verbraucher bei gleichzeitiger Reduzierung der Produktionskosten.

Ultraschalleinwirkung bei der Herstellung von Speiseeis

Die Herstellung von Speiseeis beinhaltet eine aufwendige Verarbeitung, um ein qualitativ hochwertiges, süßes Lebensmittel zu erhalten, das den Ansprüchen der Kunden gerecht wird. Die aufwendigen Verarbeitungsschritte resultieren vor allem aus der Tatsache, dass Eiscreme eines der komplexesten Lebensmittel ist: Eiscreme ist sowohl ein Schaum als auch eine Emulsion. Es enthält Eiskristalle und eine nicht gefrorene Flüssigkeitsmischung. Hochleistungs-Ultraschall, der bei der Eisherstellung eingesetzt wird, kann die Keimbildung von Eiskristallen fördern, um den den Gefrierprozess begleitenden Wärme- und Stoffübergang zu beschleunigen. Dadurch reduziert die Beschallung die Kristallgröße und verkürzt die Gefrierzeit bei der Speiseeisherstellung. Untersuchungen von Mortazavi und Tabatabaie zeigten, dass die Gefrierzeit bei der Eisherstellung durch eine 20-minütige Beschallung um ca. 30 % reduziert werden kann.

Informationen anfordern




Beachten Sie unsere Datenschutzerklärung.


High-performance ultrasound is used in industrial ice cream manufacturing. Acoustic cavitation promotes crystallization and reduces freezing time.

Industrieller Prozessor UIP2000hdT (2kW) für die Speiseeisherstellung. Ultraschall fördert die Homogenisierung und Kristallisation und beschleunigt den Gefrierprozess.

Speiseeisherstellung und die Vorteile des Ultraschalls

Ice cream production benefits from ultrasonic processing technology.Zur Herstellung von Speiseeis wird ein Eismix benötigt. Dieser Eismix besteht aus Milch, Milchpulver, Sahne, Butter oder Pflanzenfett, Zucker, Trockenmasse, Emulgator, Stabilisator sowie Zusatzstoffen wie Früchten, Nüssen, Aromen und Farbstoffen. Diese spezielle Mischung muss homogenisiert und pasteurisiert werden, dann wird sie während des Gefrierprozesses langsam gerührt, um die Bildung von großen Eiskristallen zu verhindern. Dabei werden sehr kleine Luftbläschen eingemischt (sog. Belüftungsprozess), die das Eis aufschäumen und so eine geschmeidige Textur des kalten Desserts erreichen. Die Ultraschallbehandlung fördert die gleichmäßige Verteilung aller Zutaten der Eismischung und trägt gleichzeitig zur Pasteurisierung bei. Lesen Sie hier mehr über die Ultraschall-Pasteurisierung von flüssigen Lebensmitteln!
Anschließend wird während der Gefrierphase bei der Eisherstellung Ultraschall eingesetzt. Die Beschallung fördert die Keimbildung und das Wachstum von Eiskristallen, so dass der Gefrierprozess deutlich beschleunigt wird. Gleichzeitig wird durch die Beschallung die Größe der Eiskristalle reduziert, so dass gleichmäßig kleine Eiskristalle erhalten werden. Dadurch erhält das Eis eine glatte Textur und ein angenehmes Mundgefühl – beides Qualitätsmerkmale, die von den Verbrauchern sehr geschätzt werden.

Schritte zur Herstellung von Speiseeis

Die Herstellung von Speiseeis erfolgt in fünf Stufen:

  1. Zubereitung des Eismixes
  2. Homogenisierung, Pasteurisierung, Reifung des Eismixes
  3. Gefrieren und Belüften
  4. Formgebung und Gießen
  5. Härten und Verpacken
Ultrasonication improves crystallization and accelerates freezing in ice crem manufacturing.

Schritte der Speiseeisherstellung.
Quelle:Dairy Processing Handbook. Herausgegeben von Tetra Pak Processing Systems AB, Lund, Schweden. S.387.

Ultrasonication is a food processing technology applied to ice cream production. Sonication improves crystallization and reduces freezing time in ice cream.

Ultraschall-Glasdurchflusszelle, die die Beschallungsbehandlung von Speiseeis auf Milchbasis zeigt

Informationen anfordern




Beachten Sie unsere Datenschutzerklärung.


Ultraschall-unterstütztes Gefrieren von Speiseeis

Während des Gefrierprozesses bilden sich aus dem unterkühlten Wasser Kristalle. Die Morphologie der Eiskristalle spielt eine wichtige Rolle hinsichtlich der texturellen und physikalischen Eigenschaften von gefrorenen und halbgefrorenen Lebensmitteln. Da Größe und Verteilung der Eiskristalle von besonderer Bedeutung für die Qualität aufgetauter Gewebeprodukte sind, werden für Speiseeis kleinere Eiskristalle bevorzugt, da große Kristalle zu einer eisigen Textur führen. Die Nukleation ist der wichtigste Faktor zur Steuerung der Kristallgrößenverteilung während der Kristallisation. Dabei ist die Gefriergeschwindigkeit in der Regel der Parameter, der zur Steuerung der Größe und Größenverteilung der Eiskristalle in Eiscreme verwendet wird. Während des Aufschlagens und Gefrierens wird Luft eingeblasen, um die glatte Textur der Eiscreme zu erreichen. Der sogenannte "Over-run", die Menge der eingeblasenen Luft, wird - spezifisch für das jeweilige Rezept - proportional zum kombinierten Volumen von Feststoffen und Wasser proportioniert. Der Over-run variiert also aufgrund der unterschiedlichen Eisrezepturen und der Verarbeitungsströme. Standard-Eiscreme weist einen Over-run von 100 % auf, was bedeutet, dass das Endprodukt aus einem gleichen Volumen an Eismix und Luftblasen besteht.
Der Einsatz der Hochleistungs-Ultraschallprozessoren von Hielscher führt zu einer besseren Qualität des Speiseeises, indem die Kristallisation gefördert, die Eiskristallgröße reduziert und die Verkrustung einer Gefrierfläche vermieden wird. Durch die reduzierte Eiskristallgröße und die verbesserte Luftblasenverteilung wird eine bessere Konsistenz und ein cremigeres Mundgefühl erreicht. Deutlich kürzeres Gefrieren mit ca. 30 % reduzierter Gefrierzeit führt zu einer höheren Prozessleistung und einem energieeffizienteren Produktionsprozess.

Industrial ultrasonic food processor for the production of ice cream in continuous flow mode.

Ultraschall-Küchenmaschine UIP16000 für die industrielle Herstellung von Speiseeis. Ultraschall fördert die Kristallisation und verkürzt die Gefrierzeit in Eiscreme.

Hochleistungs-Ultraschall-Lebensmittelprozessoren für die Speiseeisherstellung

Industrial processor UIP4000hdT (4kW) for ice cream manufacturing. Sonication promotes homogenization and crystallization and accelerates the freezing process.Hielscher Ultrasonics verfügt über langjährige Erfahrung in der Anwendung von Leistungsultraschall in der Lebensmittel- & Getränkeindustrie sowie viele andere Industriezweige. Unsere Ultraschall-Prozessoren sind mit leicht zu reinigenden (Clean-in-Place CIP / Sterilize-in-Place SIP) Sonotroden und Durchflusszellen (den Nassteilen) ausgestattet.
Hielscher Ultrasonics‘ industrielle Ultraschallprozessoren können sehr hohe Amplituden liefern. Amplituden von bis zu 200µm können problemlos im 24/7-Betrieb kontinuierlich gefahren werden. Für noch höhere Amplituden sind kundenspezifische Ultraschallsonotroden verfügbar. Die präzise Steuerung der Amplitude von milden bis zu hohen Intensitäten ist wichtig für die Feinabstimmung des Beschallungsprozesses auf die angestrebten Produkteigenschaften der Eisrezeptur.
Mit Ultraschall-Lebensmittelprozessoren in einer Größe bietet Hielscher zuverlässige Systeme für die chargenweise und kontinuierliche Behandlung von Lebensmittel- und Getränkeprodukten, einschließlich Speiseeis. Mit dem UIP16000, einem 16kW starken Inline-Ultraschallgerät, das sich einfach in Clustern installieren lässt, können auch sehr hohe industrielle Volumina effizient verarbeitet werden.
In der folgenden Tabelle finden Sie die ungefähre Verarbeitungskapazität unserer Ultraschallsysteme:

Batch-Volumen Durchfluss Empfohlenes Ultraschallgerät
10 bis 2000ml 20 bis 400ml/min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 bis 20l 0,2 bis 4l/min UIP2000hdT
10 bis 100l 2 bis 10l/min UIP4000hdT
n.a. 10 bis 100l/min UIP16000
n.a. größere Cluster aus UIP16000

Kontaktieren Sie uns! / Fragen Sie uns!

Fordern Sie weitere Informationen an!

Bitte verwenden Sie das untenstehende Formular, um zusätzliche Informationen über unsere Ultraschallprozessoren, Anwendungen und Preise anzufordern. Gerne besprechen wir Ihr Verfahren mit Ihnen und bieten Ihnen ein Ihren Anforderungen entsprechendes Ultraschallsystem an!









Bitte beachten Sie unsere Datenschutzerklärung.




Literatur / Literaturhinweise

Ultrasonic high-shear homogenizers are used in lab, bench-top, pilot and industrial processing.

Hielscher Ultrasonics stellt Hochleistungs-Ultraschallhomogenisatoren für Mischanwendungen, Dispergierung, Emulgierung und Extraktion im Labor-, Pilot- und Industriemaßstab her.


High performance ultrasonics! Hielscher's product range covers the full spectrum from the compact lab ultrasonicator over bench-top units to full-industrial ultrasonic systems.

Hielscher Ultrasonics fertigt Hochleistungs-Ultraschall-Homogenisatoren vom Labor bis zum voll-kommerziellen Industriemaßstab.

Ultrasonically Improved Ice Cream Production

The application of power ultrasound has several beneficial effects on the production of high-quality ice cream. The major advantages of sonication include the reduction of the crystal size and the acceleration of freezing in ice cream. Thereby, ultrasonication improves the quality and consumer sensation whilst simultaneously reducing production costs.

Ultrasonic Effects on Ice Cream Manufacturing

Ice cream production involves a sophisticated processing in order to obtain a high-quality sweet food product that satisfies customer demands. The elaborated processing steps result mainly from the fact that ice cream is one of the most complex foods: ice cream is a foam as well as an emulsion. It contains ice crystals and a non-frozen liquid blend. High power ultrasound applied during ice cream manufacturing can promote ice crystal nucleation to accelerate the heat and mass transfer process accompanying the freezing process. Thereby, sonication reduces the crystal size and shortens the freezing time in ice cream production. Research by Mortazavi and Tabatabaie showed that the freezing time in ice cream processing could be reduces by about 30% by sonication for 20 min.

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


High-performance ultrasound is used in industrial ice cream manufacturing. Acoustic cavitation promotes crystallization and reduces freezing time.

Industrial processor UIP2000hdT (2kW) for ice cream production. Ultrasound promotes homogenization and crystallization and accelerates the freezing process.

Ice Cream Production and the Benefits of Ultrasound

Ice cream production benefits from ultrasonic processing technology.For ice cream production, an ice cream mix is required. This ice cream mix consists of milk, milk powder, cream, butter or vegetable fat, sugar, dry mass, emulsifier, stabilizer as well as additives such as fruits, nuts, flavours and colouring. This special mixture has to be homogenized and pasteurized, then it is stirred slowly during the freeze process to prevent the forming of large ice crystal. Thereby, very small air bubbles are mixed in (so-called aerating process) to froth the ice cream achieving a smoothly textured cold dessert. Ultrasonication promotes the uniform distribution of all ingredients of the ice cream mixture and contributes at the same time to the pasteurization. Read more about ultrasonic pasteurization of liquid foods here!
Subsequently, ultrasonication is applied during the freezing stage during ice cream production. Ultrasonication promotes the nucleation and growth of ice crystals, so that the freezing process is significantly accelerated. At the same time, sonication reduces the size of ice crystals so that uniformly small ice crystals are obtained. This gives the ice cream a smooth texture and a pleasant mouth feel – both quality attributes, which are highly valued from the consumers.

Ice Cream Production Steps

The manufacturing of ice cream has five stages:

  1. preparation of the ice cream mix
  2. homogenization, pasteurization, ageing of the ice cream mix
  3. freezing and aeration
  4. shaping and moulding
  5. hardening and packaging
Ultrasonication improves crystallization and accelerates freezing in ice crem manufacturing.

Steps of Ice Cream Production.
Source:Dairy Processing Handbook. Published by Tetra Pak Processing Systems AB, Lund, Sweden. p.387.

Ultrasonication is a food processing technology applied to ice cream production. Sonication improves crystallization and reduces freezing time in ice cream.

Ultrasonic glass flow cell showing the sonication treatment of dairy-based ice cream

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


Ultrasonically Promoted Ice Cream Freezing

During the freezing process, crystals are formed fom supercooled water. The morphology of the ice crystals plays an important role regarding the textural and physical properties of frozen and half-frozen food. As size and distribution of the ice crystals are of special importance for the quality of thawed tissue products, for ice cream, smaller ice crystals are preferred because large crystals results in an icy texture. Nucleation is the most important factor to control the crystal size distribution during crystallization. Thereby, the freeze rate is usually the parameter used for controlling size and size distribution of the ice crystals in ice cream. During the whipping and freezing, air is injected to achieve the smooth texture of ice cream. The so-called “over-run”, the amount of air injected, is proportionated – specifically to the particular recipe – proportionally to the combined volume of solids and water. So, the over-run varies due to the different ice cream formulations and the processing streams. Standard ice cream shows an over-run of 100%, which means that the final product consists of an equal volume of ice cream mix and air bubbles.
The use of Hielscher’s high-performance ultrasound processors results in a better quality of ice cream by promoting crystallization, reducing the ice crystal size and avoiding the incrustation of a freezing surface. A better consistency and a more creamy mouth feeling is achieved due to the reduced ice cream crystal size and the enhanced air bubble distribution. Significantly shorter freezing with approx. 30% reduced freezing time leads to a higher process capacity and a more energy-efficient production process.

Industrial ultrasonic food processor for the production of ice cream in continuous flow mode.

Ultrasonic food processor UIP16000 for the industrial production of ice cream. Ultrasound promotes crystallization and reduces freezing time in ice cream.

High Performance Ultrasonic Food Processors for Ice Cream Production

Industrial processor UIP4000hdT (4kW) for ice cream manufacturing. Sonication promotes homogenization and crystallization and accelerates the freezing process.Hielscher Ultrasonics is long-experienced in the application of power ultrasound in the food & beverage industry as well as many other industrial branches. Our ultrasonic processors are equipped with easy-to-clean (clean-in-place CIP / sterilize-in-place SIP) sonotrodes and flow-cells (the wet parts).
Hielscher Ultrasonics’ industrial ultrasonic processors can deliver very high amplitudes. Amplitudes of up to 200µm can be easily continuously run in 24/7 operation. For even higher amplitudes, customized ultrasonic sonotrodes are available. The precise control of the amplitude from mild to high intensities is important to fine-tune the sonication process to the targeted product characteristics of the ice cream formulation.
With ultrasonic food processors at an size, Hielscher offers reliable systems for the batch and continuous treatment of food and beverage products, including ice cream. With the UIP16000, a 16kW powerful inline ultrasonicator that can be easily installed in clusters, even very high industrial volumes can be efficiently processed.
The table below gives you an indication of the approximate processing capacity of our ultrasonicators:

Batch Volume Flow Rate Recommended Devices
10 to 2000mL 20 to 400mL/min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 to 20L 0.2 to 4L/min UIP2000hdT
10 to 100L 2 to 10L/min UIP4000hdT
n.a. 10 to 100L/min UIP16000
n.a. larger cluster of UIP16000

Contact Us! / Ask Us!

Ask for more information

Please use the form below to request additional information about ultrasonic processors, applications and price. We will be glad to discuss your process with you and to offer you an ultrasonic system meeting your requirements!









Please note our privacy policy.




Literature / References

Ultrasonic high-shear homogenizers are used in lab, bench-top, pilot and industrial processing.

Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonic homogenizers for mixing applications, dispersion, emulsification and extraction on lab, pilot and industrial scale.


High performance ultrasonics! Hielscher's product range covers the full spectrum from the compact lab ultrasonicator over bench-top units to full-industrial ultrasonic systems.

Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonic homogenizers from lab to industrial size.