Hielscher تكنولوجيا الموجات فوق الصوتية

إنتاج بالموجات فوق الصوتية من الأحماض الدهنية أوميغا-3 الدهنية

Nanoliposomes هي حاملات المخدرات فعالة للغاية تستخدم لتعزيز التوافر البيولوجي للمركبات النشطة بيولوجيا مثل الأحماض الدهنية أوميغا-2, الفيتامينات, وغيرها من المواد. تغليف الموجات فوق الصوتية من المركبات النشطة بيولوجيا هو تقنية سريعة وبسيطة لإعداد nanoliposomes مع تحميل المخدرات عالية. التغليف بالموجات فوق الصوتية في الليبوزومات يعزز استقرار المركبات والتوافر البيولوجي.

الأحماض الدهنية أوميغا 3 الدهنية الدهنية الدهنية

الأحماض الدهنية أوميغا-3 مثل حمض eicosapentaenoic (وكالة حماية البيئة) وحمض docosahexaenoic (DHA) تلعب دورا حيويا لحسن سير العديد من التفاعلات الكيميائية الحيوية الحيوية في جسم الإنسان. وتوجد وكالة حماية البيئة وإدارة الشؤون الإنسانية في الغالب في أسماك المياه الباردة وكبد سمك القد وأسماك الصدف. وبما أن ليس الجميع يستهلك الحصص الموصى بها من الأسماك في الأسبوع، وغالبا ما يستخدم زيت السمك في شكل مكملات غذائية. وعلاوة على ذلك، وتستخدم الأحماض الدهنية أوميغا-3 مثل وكالة حماية البيئة وإدارة الشؤون الإنسانية كعلاج لعلاج أمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية والدماغ وكذلك في علاج السرطان. من أجل تحسين التوافر البيولوجي ومعدل الامتصاص ، التغليف بالموجات فوق الصوتية في الليبوزومات هو تقنية تستخدم على نطاق واسع وبنجاح.

تغليف الموجات فوق الصوتية من الأحماض الدهنية أوميغا-3 في الليبوزومات

التغليف بالموجات فوق الصوتية هو تقنية إعداد موثوق بها لتشكيل الليبوزومات مع حمولة عالية من المواد الفعالة. الموجات فوق الصوتية نانو استحلاب يعطل bilayers فوسفوليبيد ويدخل الطاقة لتعزيز تجميع الحويصلات amphiphilic من الشكل الكروي، والمعروفة باسم الليبوزومات.
الموجات فوق الصوتية يسمح للسيطرة على حجم liposome عملية التحضير بالموجات فوق الصوتية: حجم liposome يقلل مع زيادة الطاقة بالموجات فوق الصوتية. توفر الليبوزومات الصغيرة إمكانية وصول أعلى ويمكن نقل جزيئات الأحماض الدهنية بمعدل نجاح أعلى إلى المواقع المستهدفة نظرًا لأن الحجم الأصغر يسهل النفاذية من خلال أغشية الخلايا.
ومن المعروف Liposomes كما ناقلات المخدرات قوية، والتي يمكن تحميلها مع المواد الدهنية وكذلك hydrophilic بسبب الهيكل الأمفيلي من الطبقات المزدوجة. ميزة أخرى من الليبوزومات هي القدرة على تعديل الالليبوزومات كيميائيا عن طريق تضمين البوليمرات المستعبدين بالدهون في التركيب ، بحيث يتم تحسين تناول الجزيئات المحاصرة في الأنسجة المستهدفة وإطالة إطلاق الدواء وبالتالي نصف عمرها. يحمي تغليف الدهون الدهنية المركبات النشطة بيولوجياً أيضاً ضد التدهور التأكسدي، وهو عامل مهم للأحماض الدهنية المتعددة غير المشبعة مثل وكالة حماية البيئة وإدارة الشؤون الإنسانية، والتي هي عرضة للأكسدة.
وجد هاديا وآخرون (2014) أن التغليف بالموجات فوق الصوتية لهيئة الصحة بدبي ووكالة حماية البيئة باستخدام الموجات فوق الصوتية من نوع المسبار UP200S gave superior encapsulation efficiency (%EE) with 56.9 ± 5.2% for DHA and 38.6 ± 1.8% for EPA. The %EE for DHA and EPA of liposomes increased significantly using ultrasonication (ص قيمة أصغر من 0.05؛ قيم ذات دلالة إحصائية).

UP400St لإعداد زيوت ليبوسومية C60

طلب معلومات





الموجات فوق الصوتية هي التقنية المفضلة لتشكيل الليبوزومات مع حمولة عالية من المركبات النشطة بيولوجيا.

الالليبوزومات المعدة بالموجات فوق الصوتية محملة DHA ووكالة حماية البيئة الأحماض الدهنية.
الدراسة والصورة: هاديان وآخرون 2014

مقارنة الكفاءة: التغليف بالموجات فوق الصوتية مقابل البثق الليوسوم

مقارنة التغليف بالموجات فوق الصوتية من نوع التحقيق مع تقنية صوتنة الحمام والبثق ، يتم تحقيق تشكيل الدهون المتفوق عن طريق صوتنة المسبار.
هادية وآخرون (2014) مقارنة صوتنة التحقيق (UP200S)، سونيكيشن حمام، والبثق هي تقنيات من أجل إعداد زيت السمك أوميغا-3 liposomes. كانت الليبوزومات التي أعدتها سونيكيشن من نوع المسبار كروية الشكل وحافظت على سلامة هيكلية عالية. وخلصت الدراسة إلى أن صوتنة من نوع التحقيق من الليبوزومات التي شكلت مسبقا يسهل إعداد DHA محملة للغاية وليبوسومات وكالة حماية البيئة. بواسطة صوتنة من نوع التحقيق، تم تغليف الأحماض الدهنية أوميغا-3 DHA ووكالة حماية البيئة في الغشاء النانوي. التغليف يجعل الأحماض الدهنية أوميغا-3 حيوية للغاية وحفظها ضد تدهور الأكسدة.

عوامل هامة للدهون ذات جودة عالية

بعد إعداد liposome ، تلعب تثبيت وتخزين تركيبات liposomal دورًا حاسمًا من أجل الحصول على تركيبة حامل مستقرة وقوية للغاية لفترة طويلة.
العوامل الحاسمة التي تؤثر على استقرار الليبوزومات تشمل قيمة درجة الحموضة، ودرجة حرارة التخزين، ومواد حاوية التخزين.
بالنسبة للصياغة النهائية، تعتبر قيمة درجة الحموضة حوالي 6.5 مثالية، لأنه عند درجة الحموضة 6.5 يتم تقليل التحلل المائي للدهون إلى أدنى معدل له.
منذ liposomes يمكن أكسدة وتفقد حمولة المواد المحاصرين ، ويوصى درجة حرارة التخزين في حوالي 2-8 درجة مئوية. يجب عدم تعريض الليبوزومات المحملة لظروف التجميد والذوبان حيث يعزز الإجهاد تجميد ذوبان تسرب المركبات النشطة بيولوجيا مغلفة.
يجب اختيار حاويات التخزين وإغلاق حاويات التخزين بعناية ، نظرًا لأن الليبوزومات غير متوافقة مع بعض المواد البلاستيكية. لمنع تدهور الدهون، يجب تخزين تعليق الدهون عن طريق الحقن في أمبولات زجاجية بدلاً من قوارير الحقن المنسدادة. يجب اختبار التوافق مع سدادات الإيلاستير من قارورة الحقن. لتجنب الأكسدة الضوئية للمركبات الدهنية ، فإن التخزين المحمي من الضوء ، على سبيل المثال استخدام زجاجة داكنة وتخزينها في مكان مظلم ، مهم جدًا. بالنسبة لتركيبات الدهون غير القابلة للنفي ، يجب ضمان توافق تعليق اتزوسوم مع أنابيب الوريد (المصنوعة من البلاستيك الاصطناعي). وينبغي تحديد التخزين والمواد التوافق على تسمية صياغة liposome. [راجع كولكارني وشو، 2016]

الموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الأداء لتركيبات Liposomal

أنظمة Hielscher Ultrasonics هي آلات موثوقة تستخدم في إنتاج الأدوية والمكملات الغذائية لصياغة الليبوزومات عالية الجودة المحملة بالأحماض الدهنية والفيتامينات ومضادات الأكسدة والببتيدات والبوليفينول وغيرها من المركبات النشطة بيولوجيا. لتلبية مطالب عملائها، Hielscher لوازم الموجات فوق الصوتية من المتجانس مختبر المدمجة باليد ومقاعد البدلاء أعلى ultarsonicators لأنظمة الموجات فوق الصوتية الصناعية بالكامل لإنتاج كميات كبيرة من تركيبات liposomal. يمكن تشغيل صياغة الدهون بالموجات فوق الصوتية كدفعة أو كعملية مضمنة مستمرة. تتوفر مجموعة واسعة من سونوتروديس بالموجات فوق الصوتية (المسابير) وأوعية المفاعل لضمان الإعداد الأمثل لإنتاج الليبوسوم الخاص بك. قوة معدات Hielscher بالموجات فوق الصوتية يسمح لعملية 24 / 7 في الخدمة الشاقة وفي بيئات صعبة.
الجدول أدناه يعطيك مؤشرا على قدرة المعالجة التقريبية لultrasonicators لدينا:

دفعة حجم معدل المد و الجزر الأجهزة الموصى بها
1 إلى 500ML 10 إلى 200ML / دقيقة UP100H
10 إلى 2000ML 20 إلى 400ML / دقيقة Uf200 ः ر، UP400St
00.1 إلى 20L 00.2 إلى 4L / دقيقة UIP2000hdT
10 إلى 100L 2 إلى 10L / دقيقة UIP4000hdT
زمالة المدمنين المجهولين 10 إلى 100L / دقيقة UIP16000
زمالة المدمنين المجهولين أكبر مجموعة من UIP16000

اتصل بنا! / اسألنا!

اطلب المزيد من المعلومات

يرجى استخدام النموذج أدناه لطلب معلومات إضافية حول المعالجات بالموجات فوق الصوتية والتطبيقات والسعر. سنكون سعداء لمناقشة العملية الخاصة بك معك ونقدم لكم نظام الموجات فوق الصوتية تلبية الاحتياجات الخاصة بك!









يرجى ملاحظة لدينا سياسة الخصوصية.


Hielscher الفوق صوتيات بتصنيع عاليه الأداء الخالطون بالموجات فوق الصوتية لتشتت ، استحلاب واستخراج الخلايا.

عاليه الطاقة الخالطون بالموجات فوق الصوتية من مختبر إلى طيار و صناعي مقياس.

الأدب / المراجع



حقائق تستحق العلم

ما هي الليبوزومات؟

الشحم هو حويصل كروي ة وجود واحد على الأقل ثنائية الدهون. ومن المعروف أن Liposomes ممتازة الناقلين المخدرات وتستخدم كوسيلة لإدارة المواد الغذائية والمكملات الغذائية والأدوية الصيدلانية في الأنسجة المستهدفة.
عادة ما تكون مصنوعة من الفوسوزومات من الفوسفوليبيدات, وخاصة فوسفاتيديلكولين, ولكن قد تشمل أيضا الدهون الأخرى, مثل البيض فوسفاتيديلإيثانولامين, طالما أنها متوافقة مع بنية ثنائية الطبقة الدهون.
يتكون الليبوسوم من نواة مائية ، محاطة بغشاء كاره للماء ، في شكل ثنائي الدهون . المذاب المائية التي تذوب في جوهر محاصرون ولا يمكن أن تمر بسهولة من خلال طبقة ثنائية. يمكن تخزين الجزيئات الكارهة للماء في الطبقة المزدوجة. ويمكن بالتالي تحميل liposome مع الجزيئات الكارهة للماء و / أو hydrophilic. لتسليم الجزيئات إلى موقع مستهدف ، يمكن للطبقة الثنائية الدهون الصمامات مع ثنائية الطبقات الأخرى مثل غشاء الخلية ، وبالتالي تسليم المواد المغلفة في الليبsome إلى الخلايا.
وبما أن مجرى دم الثدييات يعتمد على المياه، فإن الليبوزومات تنقل المادة الكارهة للماء بكفاءة من خلال الجسم إلى الخلايا المستهدفة. ولذلك تستخدم الليبوزومات لزيادة التوافر البيولوجي للجزيئات غير القابلة للذوبان في الماء (مثل اتفاقية التنوع البيولوجي، الكركمين، جزيئات الدواء).
يتم إعداد الليبوزومات بنجاح عن طريق استحلاب النانو بالموجات فوق الصوتية والتغليف.

هيكل الليبوسوم

هيكل ليبوسوم: نواة مائي وثنائي الطبقة فوسفوليبيد مع رؤساء هيدروفيليك وذيول الكاره للماء / lipophilic.

أحماض أوميغا 3 الدهنية

الأحماض الدهنية أوميغا-3 (3) وأوميغا-6 (6) هي الأحماض الدهنية المتعددة غير المشبعة (PUFAs) وتساهم في العديد من الوظائف في جسم الإنسان. ومن المعروف خصوصا الأحماض الدهنية أوميغا 3 لخصائصها المضادة للالتهابات وتعزيز الصحة.
حمض Eicosapentaenoic أو وكالة حماية البيئة (20:5n-3) بمثابة مقدمة لالبروستاغلاندين-3 (الذي يمنع تراكم الصفائح الدموية), thromboxane-3, واللوكوترين-5 eicosanoids ويلعب دورا حاسما لصحة القلب والأوعية الدموية والدماغ.
حمض Docosahexaenoic أو DHA (22:6n-3) هو المكون الهيكلي الرئيسي للجهاز العصبي المركزي للثدييات. DHA هو الأحماض الدهنية أوميغا 3 الأكثر وفرة في الدماغ وشبكية العين وكلا الجهازين، والدماغ وشبكية العين تعتمد على المدخول الغذائي من إدارة الشؤون الإنسانية من أجل العمل بشكل صحيح. تدعم إدارة الشؤون الإنسانية مجموعة واسعة من خصائص إشارات غشاء الخلية والخلايا ، خاصة في المادة الرمادية للدماغ وكذلك في الأجزاء الخارجية من خلايا مستقبلات الشبكية الضوئية ، وهي غنية بالأغشية.

المصادر الغذائية للأحماض الدهنية أوميغا-3

بعض المصادر الغذائية للأسماك 3 هي الأسماك (مثل أسماك المياه الباردة مثل السلمون والسردين والماكريل وزيت كبد سمك القد والمحار والكافيار والطحالب البحرية وزيت الأعشاب البحرية وبذور الكتان (بذر الكتان) وبذور القنب وبذور شيا والجوز.
يتضمن النظام الغذائي الغربي القياسي عادة كميات عالية من الأحماض الدهنية أوميغا-6 (6) ، لأن الأطعمة مثل الحبوب وزيوت البذور النباتية والدواجن والبيض غنية بدهون أوميغا 6. من ناحية أخرى ، يتم استهلاك الأحماض الدهنية أوميغا 3 (3 ) ، والتي توجد بشكل رئيسي في أسماك المياه الباردة ، بكميات أقل بكثير ، بحيث تكون نسبة أوميغا 3:أوميغا-6 في كثير من الأحيان غير متوازنة تمامًا.
لذلك ، غالبًا ما يوصى باستخدام مكملات أوميغا 3 الغذائية من قبل الأطباء وممارسي الرعاية الصحية.

الأحماض الدهنية الأساسية

الأحماض الدهنية الأساسية (EFAs) هي الأحماض الدهنية التي يجب على البشر والحيوانات تناولها عن طريق الطعام لأن الجسم يتطلب منهم لأداء الحيوية السليم، ولكن لا يمكن توليفها. بشكل عام، الأحماض الدهنية الأساسية ومشتقاتها ضرورية للدماغ والجهاز العصبي، وتمثل 15٪-30٪ من الوزن الجاف للدماغ. تتميز الأحماض الدهنية الأساسية في الأحماض الدهنية المشبعة وغير المشبعة وغير المشبعة. بالنسبة للبشر ، من المعروف أن اثنين فقط من الأحماض الدهنية ضرورية ، وهي حمض ألفا لينولينيك ، وهو حمض أوميغا 3 الدهني ، وحمض اللينوليك ، وهو حمض أوميغا 6 الدهني. هناك بعض الأحماض الدهنية الأخرى، والتي يمكن تصنيفها على أنها “ضروري مشروط”، بمعنى أنها يمكن أن تصبح ضرورية في ظل بعض الظروف التنموية أو المرضية؛ ومن الأمثلة على ذلك حمض الدوكوساهيكسانويك، وهو حمض أوميغا-3 الدهني، وحمض غاما لينولينيك، وهو حمض أوميغا-6 الدهني.

Hielscher Ultrasound Technology

Ultrasonic Production of Liposomal Omega-3 Fatty Acids

Nanoliposomes are highly effective drug carriers used to enhance the bioavailability of bioactive compounds such as omega-2 fatty acids, vitamins, and other substances. Ultrasonic encapsulation of bioactive compounds is a fast and simple technique to prepare nanoliposomes with high drug loadings. Ultrasonic encapsulation in liposomes enhances the compounds’ stability and bioavailability.

Liposomal Omega-3 Fatty Acids

Omega-3 fatty acids such as eicosapentaenoic acid (EPA) and docosahexaenoic acid (DHA) play a vital role for the proper functioning of many vital biochemical reactions in the human body. EPA and DHA are mostly found in cold-water fish, cod liver and shell fish. Since not everybody consumes the recommended two servings of fish per week, fish oil is often used in form of dietary supplements. Furthermore, omega-3 fatty acids such as EPA and DHA are used as therapeutics to treat cardiovascular and brain diseases as well as in cancer therapy. In order to improve the bioavailability and absorption rate, ultrasonic encapsulation into liposomes is a widely and successfully used technique.

Ultrasonic Encapsulation of Omega-3 Fatty Acids into Liposomes

Ultrasonic encapsulation is a reliable preparation technique to form liposomes with a high load of active substances. Ultrasonic nano-emulsification disrupts the phospholipid bilayers and introduces energy to promote the assembly of amphiphilic vesicles of spherical shape, known as liposomes.
Ultrasonication allows to control the liposome size the ultrasonic preparation process: The liposome size decreases with increasing ultrasound energy. Smaller liposomes offer a higher bioaccessibility and can transport the fatty acid molecules with higher success rate to the target sites since the smaller size facilitates the permeability through cell membranes.
Liposomes are known as potent drug carriers, which can be loaded with lipophilic as well as hydrophilic substances due to the amphiphilic structure of its bilayers. Another advantage of liposomes is the ability to chemically modify liposomes by including lipid-bonded polymers into formulation, so that the uptake of entrapped molecules in targeted tissue is improved and the drug release and thereby its half life time are prolonged. The liposomal encapsulation protects the bioactive compounds also against oxidative degradation, which is an important factor for polyunsaturated fatty acids such as EPA and DHA, which are prone to oxidation.
Hadia et al. (2014) found that ultrasonic encapsulation of DHA and EPA using the probe-type ultrasonicator UP200S gave superior encapsulation efficiency (%EE) with 56.9 ± 5.2% for DHA and 38.6 ± 1.8% for EPA. The %EE for DHA and EPA of liposomes increased significantly using ultrasonication (p value smaller than 0.05; statistically significant values).

UP400St for the preparation of C60 liposomal oils

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


Ultrasonication is the preferred technique to form liposomes with a high load of bioactive compounds.

Ultrasonically prepared liposomes loaded with DHA and EPA fatty acids.
Study and picture: Hadian et al. 2014

Efficiency Comparison: Ultrasonic Encapsulation vs Liposome Extrusion

Comparing ultrasonic probe-type encapsulation with bath sonication and extrusion technique, superior liposome formation is achieved by probe-sonication.
Hadia et al. (2014) compared probe sonication (UP200S), bath sonication, and extrusion are as techniques in order to prepare omega-3 fish oil liposomes. Liposomes prepared by probe-type sonication were spherical in shape and maintained a high structural integrity. The study concluded that probe-type sonication of pre-formed liposomes facilitates the preparation of highly-loaded DHA and EPA liposomes. By probe-type sonication, the omega-3 fatty acids DHA and EPA were encapsulated into the nanoliposomal membrane. The encapsulation makes the omega-3 fatty acids highly bioavailable and save them against oxidative degradation.

Important Factors for High Quality Liposomes

After liposome preparation, stabilisation and storage of liposomal formulations play a crucial role in order to obtain a long-time stable and highly potent carrier formulation.
Critical factors that affect the stability of liposomes include the pH value, storage temperature, and storage container materials.
For a finished-formulation the pH value of approx. 6.5 is considered ideal, because at pH 6.5 lipid hydrolysis is reduced to its lowest rate.
Since liposomes can oxidize and lose their entrapped substance load, a storage temperature at approx. 2-8 °C is recommended. Loaded liposomes must not subjected to freeze and thaw conditions as freeze–thaw stress promotes the leakage of encapsulated bioactive compounds .
Storage container and storage container closures should be carefully selected, since liposomes are not compatible with certain plastic materials. To prevent liposome degradation, injectable liposome suspensions should be stored in glass ampoules rather than stoppered injection vials. Compatibility with the elastomer stoppers of injection vials must be tested. To avoid photooxidation of the lipid composites, storage protected from light, e.g. using a dark glass bottle and storing in a dark place, is very important. For infusible liposome formulations, compatibility of the liposome suspensions with intravenous tubing (made from synthetic plastic) must be ensured. Storage and material compatibility should be specified on the label of the liposome formulation. [cf. Kulkarni and Shaw, 2016]

High Performance Ultrasonicators for Liposomal Formulations

Hielscher Ultrasonics’ systems are reliable machines used in the pharmaceutical and supplement production to formulate high-quality liposomes loaded with fatty acids, vitamins, antioxidants, peptides, polyphenols and other bioactive compounds. To meet its customers’ demands, Hielscher supplies ultrasonicators from the compact hand-held lab homogeniser and bench-top ultarsonicators to fully industrial ultrasonic systems for the production of high-volumes of liposomal formulations. Ultrasonic liposome formulation can be run as batch or as continuous inline process. A broad range of ultrasonic sonotrodes (probes) and reactor vessels are available to ensure an optimal setup for your liposome production. The robustness of Hielscher’s ultrasonic equipment allows for 24/7 operation at heavy duty and in demanding environments.
The table below gives you an indication of the approximate processing capacity of our ultrasonicators:

Batch Volume Flow Rate Recommended Devices
1 to 500mL 10 to 200mL/min UP100H
10 to 2000mL 20 to 400mL/min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 to 20L 0.2 to 4L/min UIP2000hdT
10 to 100L 2 to 10L/min UIP4000hdT
n.a. 10 to 100L/min UIP16000
n.a. larger cluster of UIP16000

Contact Us! / Ask Us!

Ask for more information

Please use the form below to request additional information about ultrasonic processors, applications and price. We will be glad to discuss your process with you and to offer you an ultrasonic system meeting your requirements!









Please note our privacy policy.


Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonic homogenizers for dispersion, emulsification and cell extraction.

High-power ultrasonic homogenizers from lab to pilot and industrial scale.

Literature / References



Facts Worth Knowing

What are Liposomes?

A liposome is a spherical vesicle having at least one lipid bilayer. Liposomes are known to be excellent drug carriers and are used as a vehicle to administer nutrients, supplements and pharmaceutical drugs into the targeted tissue.
Liposomes are commonly made from phospholipids, especially phosphatidylcholine, but may also include other lipids, such as egg phosphatidylethanolamine, so long as they are compatible with lipid bilayer structure.
A liposome consists of an aqueous core, which is surrounded by a hydrophobic membrane, in the form of a lipid bilayer; hydrophilic solutes dissolved in the core are entrapped and cannot readily pass through the bilayer. Hydrophobic molecules can be stored into the bilayer. A liposome can be hence loaded with hydrophobic and/or hydrophilic molecules. To deliver the molecules to a target site, the lipid bilayer can fuse with other bilayers such as the cell membrane, delivering thereby the substances encapsulated in the liposome into cells.
Since the blood stream of mammalians are water-based, the liposomes transport the hydrophobic substance efficiently through the body to the targeted cells. Liposomes are therefore used to increase the bioavailability of water-insoluble molecules (e.g. CBD, curcumin, drug molecules).
Liposomes are successfully prepared by ultrasonic nano-emulsification and encapsulation.

The structure of a liposome

Structure of a liposome: Aqueous core and phospholipid bilayer with hydrophilic heads and hydrophobic/lipophilic tails.

Omega-3 Fatty Acids

Omega-3 (ω-3) and omega-6 (ω-6) fatty acids are both polyunsaturated fatty acids (PUFAs) and contribute to numerous functions in the human body. Especially omega-3 fatty acids are known for their anti-inflammatory and health-promoting characteristics.
Eicosapentaenoic acid or EPA (20:5n-3) acts as a precursor for prostaglandin-3 (which inhibits platelet aggregation), thromboxane-3, and leukotriene-5 eicosanoids and plays a crucial role for cardiovascular and brain health.
Docosahexaenoic acid or DHA (22:6n-3) is major structural component of the mammalian central nervous system. DHA is the most abundant omega−3 fatty acid in the brain and retina and both organs, the brain and retina rely on dietary intake of DHA in order to function properly. DHA supports a broad range of cell membrane and cell signaling properties, particularly in the grey matter of the brain as well as in the outer segments of the retinal photoreceptor cells, which are rich in membranes.

Food Sources of Omega-3 Fatty Acids

Some of the food sources of ω-3 are fish (e.g. cold-water fish such as salmon, sardines, mackerel), cod liver oil, shellfish, caviar, marine algae, seaweed oil, flaxseed (linseed), hemp seed, chia seeds, and walnuts.
The standard western diet typically includes high amounts of omega-6 (ω-6) fatty acids, since foods like grains, vegetable seed oils, poultry, and eggs are rich in omega-6 lipids. On the other hand, omega-3 (ω-3) fatty acids, which are mainly found in cold-water fish, are consumed in significantly lower amounts, so that the omega-3:omega-6 ratio is often completely unbalanced.
Therefore, the use of omega-3 dietary supplements is often recommended by medical doctors and health care practitioners.

Essential Fatty Acids

Essential fatty acids (EFAs) are fatty acids that humans and animals must ingest by food since the body requires them for proper vital functioning, but cannot synthesize them. In general, essential fatty acids and their derivatives are critical to the brain and nervous system, representing 15%–30% of the dry weight of the brain. Essential fatty acids are distinguished in saturated, unsaturated and polyunsaturated fatty acids. For humans, only two fatty acids are known to be essential, namely alpha-linolenic acid, which is an omega-3 fatty acid, and linoleic acid, which is an omega-6 fatty acid. There are some other fatty acids, which can be classified as “conditionally essential”, meaning that they can become essential under some developmental or disease conditions; examples include docosahexaenoic acid, which is an omega-3 fatty acid, and gamma-linolenic acid, an omega-6 fatty acid.