Technologie des ultrasons Hielscher

Nano-émulsification ultrasonique pour la microencapsulation avant séchage par atomisation

  • Afin de microencapsuler les ingrédients actifs par séchage par atomisation, il faut préparer une micro- ou nano-émulsion stable de taille fine.
  • L'émulsification ultrasonique est une technique simple et fiable pour produire des micro- et nano-émulsions stables.
  • Comme surfactant alternatif, les biopolymères tels que la gomme arabi ou WPI peuvent être utilisés dans les procédés d'émulsification ultrasonore comme stabilisants de qualité alimentaire.

 

Encapsulation

Les émulsions et la qualité de l'émulsion jouent un rôle important dans l'efficacité et la stabilité des microparticules huileuses préparées par des procédés d'encapsulation tels que le séchage par pulvérisation. La stabilité de l'émulsion, la viscosité, la taille des gouttelettes et le rapport huile/eau sont des facteurs cruciaux. Pendant le traitement, qui commence par la préparation de l'émulsion et se termine par le séchage par atomisation, toutes les propriétés physiques et chimiques de l'émulsion doivent être conservées, afin d'éviter une détérioration des microparticules. La qualité de la microencapsulation et la stabilité des émulsions sont étroitement liées et influencent considérablement la qualité des produits finis en poudre. Une technique d'émulsification fiable est donc nécessaire. L'émulsification ultrasonique est une technologie bien établie qui est utilisée dans diverses industries à travers le monde pour produire des macro-, nano- et micro-émulsions.

ultrasons émulsification

Nano-émulsions ultrasoniques

Les ultrasoniseurs haute performance sont bien établis pour les procédés d'émulsification dans l'industrie alimentaire, pharmaceutique et cosmétique. L'application d'ondes ultrasonores intenses est une méthode efficace pour produire des émulsions avec des gouttelettes de taille micrométrique ou nanométrique. L'émulsification ultrasonore est basée sur le principe de la cavitation, dans laquelle des ondes ultrasonores de haute intensité et ses jets liquides à grande vitesse cisaillent les gouttelettes.’ créant ainsi de petites gouttelettes et des émulsions stables.

Stabilisateurs d'émulsion

Les émulsions ultrasoniques peuvent être stabilisées à l'aide d'émulsifiants classiques (polysorbate, sorbitan, etc.), mais aussi de biopolymères (gomme de guar, gomme arabique, WPI, etc.). Les industries ont reconnu l'énorme potentiel des biopolymères comme stabilisateurs d'émulsion. Spécialement pour les émulsions alimentaires, pharmaceutiques et cosmétiques, les biopolymères permettent le développement de produits ayant une teneur en “nettoyer” de l'étiquette. Les biopolymères et les complexes de biopolymères sont disponibles en grandes quantités et de qualité alimentaire. Les complexes de biopolymères (comme les complexes polysaccharide-protéine) sont supérieurs aux biopolymères puisqu'ils offrent de meilleures propriétés que chaque polymère seul. Un biopolymère composé d'une protéine et d'un polysaccharide (= polymères glucidiques complexes) offre les avantages de chaque molécule. La protéine augmente l'activité de surface de sorte qu'une plus grande saturation de la couche superficielle à une concentration significativement plus faible est obtenue. Le polysaccharide du complexe réduit la tension interfaciale et donc l'énergie nécessaire pour générer de nouvelles surfaces. Ainsi, les polysaccharides favorisent la formation de petites gouttelettes. Un complexe de biopolymère offre le meilleur de ses deux composants et constitue donc un stabilisateur puissant.

La sonication est une technique bien établie pour préparer les nanoémulsions.

ultrasons émulsification

Demande d'information





Ultrasons haute performance

Les processeurs à ultrasons haute performance de Hielscher sont installés dans le monde entier pour la préparation de macro-, nano- et microémulsions stables. Avec une gamme de produits allant du petit ordinateur de poche à l'ordinateur de poche appareils de laboratoire à ultrasons à systèmes à ultrasons industriels de haute puissance Pour la production commerciale de grands flux d'émulsions en ligne, Hielscher Ultrasons vous propose l'ultrasoniseur le mieux adapté à votre process.
La puissance absorbée, l'amplitude (déplacement à la sonotrode), la température et le débit peuvent être ajustés en fonction des besoins de votre formulation. Nos processeurs ultrasoniques industriels peuvent fournir des amplitudes très élevées. Des amplitudes allant jusqu'à 200µm peuvent être facilement utilisées en continu 24h/24 et 7j/7. Pour des amplitudes encore plus élevées, des sonotrodes ultrasoniques personnalisées sont disponibles.
InsertMPC48 avec 48 canules fines, qui injectent de la deuxième phase de l'émulsion directement dans la zone de cavitation ultrasoniquePrecise control over the sonication parameters and automatic data recording on an built-in SD-card ensure high processing quality and allow for process standardisation. All our ultrasonic processors are designed for the 24/7 operation under full load. Robustness, low maintenance and user-friendliness are further advantages of Hielscher’s ultrasonicators, which makes them your work-horse in production.
Des accessoires tels que l'accessoire unique de Hielscher MultiPhaseCavitatorun insert de cellule d'écoulement qui injecte la deuxième phase par des canules directement dans le point chaud cavitationnel (voir photo de gauche), aide à mettre en place un système d'émulsification ultrasonore optimal.
Le tableau ci-dessous vous donne une indication de la capacité de traitement approximative de nos ultrasonicators:

lot Volume Débit Appareils recommandés
1 à 500 ml 10 à 200 ml / min UP100H
10 à 2000mL 20 à 400 ml / min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 20L 00,2 à 4L / min UIP2000hdT
10 à 100l 2 à 10 L / min UIP4000hdT
n / a. 10 à 100 litres / min UIP16000
n / a. plus grand groupe de UIP16000

Contactez nous! / Demandez nous!

Demander plus d'informations

Veuillez utiliser le formulaire ci-dessous, si vous souhaitez demander des informations supplémentaires sur l'homogénéisation par ultrasons. Nous serons heureux de vous offrir un système à ultrasons répondant à vos exigences.









Veuillez prendre note de notre Politique de confidentialité.


Emulsification ultrasonique avec l'UP200Ht de Hielscher et la sonotrode S26d14 de Hielscher

Préparation ultrasonique d'une émulsion (eau rouge / huile jaune). Quelques secondes de sonication transforment les phases eau/huile séparées en une fine émulsion.


Hielscher Ultrasons fabrique des ultrasons de haute performance pour des applications sonochimiques.

Des processeurs à ultrasons de haute puissance, du laboratoire au pilote et à l'échelle industrielle.

Littérature / Références

  • Campelo, Pedro Henrique ; Junqueira, Luciana Affonso ; de Resende, Jaime Vilela ; Domingues Zacarias, Rosana ; de Barros Fernandes, Regiane Victória ; Alvarenga Botrel, Diego ; Vilela Borges, Soraia (2017) : Stabilité de l'émulsion d'huile essentielle de chaux préparée à l'aide de biopolymères et d'un traitement par ultrasons. International Journal of Food Properties Vol.20, No.S1, 2017. 564-579.
  • Maphosa, Yvonne ; Jideani, Victoria A. (2018) : Facteurs affectant la stabilité des émulsions stabilisées par les biopolymères. In : Science and Technology Behind Nanoemulsions (Edited by Selcan Karakuş). 2018


Qu'il faut savoir

Biopolymères comme stabilisateurs d'émulsion

La plupart des émulsions nécessitent des stabilisants et des surfactants pour les rendre stables à long terme. Les biopolymères tels que les polysaccharides et les protéines sont largement utilisés comme ingrédients fonctionnels dans les systèmes d'émulsion. Les biopolymères sont des émulsifiants naturels qui offrent une bonne performance de stabilisation de l'émulsion grâce à leur pouvoir gélifiant et émulsifiant. Comme la production d'émulsions stables est une condition préalable à une encapsulation réussie par séchage par atomisation de produits alimentaires, les biopolymères sont un type de stabilisateur de choix. Les biopolymères peuvent être utilisés comme stabilisants seuls ou en combinaison.
Les biopolymères tels que la gomme arabique et l'isolat de protéines de lactosérum (WPI) sont peu coûteux et peuvent être facilement traités dans la production alimentaire. La gomme arabique est un mélange de glucides anioniques et de certaines protéines. Ses protéines hautement ramifiées, étroitement liées à la structure polysaccharidique, confèrent à la gomme arabique de bonnes propriétés émulsifiantes. L'isolat de protéine de lactosérum est composé d'un mélange de protéines globulaires. Ces protéines globulaires peuvent être rapidement adsorbées à la surface des gouttelettes d'huile pendant l'homogénéisation, ce qui facilite la formation de petites gouttelettes.
D'autres biopolymères couramment utilisés comme agents émulsifiants sont la gélatine, la gomme xanthane, l'amidon, la caséine, les pectines, la maltodextrine, l'ovalbumine, l'alginate de sodium, la carboxymethylcellulose, etc.
Les complexes de biopolymères sont composés de deux ou plusieurs biopolymères. Les complexes de biopolymères peuvent être synthétisés par des traitements chimiques, enzymatiques ou thermiques. La complexation augmente généralement la robustesse et la solubilité du complexe biopolymère final, améliorant ainsi sa facilité d'utilisation et sa stabilité. En particulier, la plus grande stabilité aux variations de température, de pH et de force ionique qui en résulte est un facteur important pour les processus d'émulsification.

Hielscher Ultrasound Technology

Ultrasonic Nano-Emulsification for Microencapsulation before Spray-Drying

  • In order to microencapsulate active ingredients via spray-drying, a fine-sized stable micro- or nanoemulsion must be prepared.
  • Ultrasonic emulsification is a facile and reliable technique to produce stable micro- and nano-emulsions
  • As alternative surfactant, biopolymers such gum arabi or WPI can be used in ultrasonic emulsification processes as food-grade stabilizers.

 

Encapsulation

Emulsions and emulsion quality play a significant role regarding efficiency and stability of oily microparticles prepared via encapsulation processes such as spray drying. Emulsion stability, viscosity, droplet size and oil/water ratio are crucial factors. During the processing, which starts with the preparation of the emulsion and ends with the spray-drying, all those physical and chemical properties of the emulsion must be maintained, in order to prevent a deterioration of the microparticles. The quality of microencapsulation and emulsions stability are closely related and influence the quality of the final powdered products final significantly. Therefore, a reliable emulsification technique is required. Ultrasonic emulsification is a well established technology, which is used in various industries worldwide to produce macro-, nano-, and micro-emulsions.

Ultrasonic Emulsification

Ultrasonic Nano-Emulsions

High-performance ultrasonicators are well established for emulsification processes in the food, pharma and cosmetic industry. The application of intense ultrasound waves is an efficient method to produce emulsions with micron- or nano-sized droplets. Ultrasonic emulsification is based on the principle of cavitation, in which high intensity ultrasound waves and its high velocity liquid jets shear the droplets’ surface, creating thereby small droplets and stable emulsions.

Emulsion Stabilizers

Ultrasonic emulsions can be stabilized using conventional emulsifying agents (e.g. polysorbate, sorbitan etc.), but also using biopolymers (e.g. guar gum, gum arabic, WPI etc.). Industries have recognized the huge potential of biopolymers as emulsion stabilizers. Especially for food, pharmaceutical and cosmetic emulsions, biopolymers allow for the development of products with a “clean” label. Biopolymers and biopolymer complexes are available in large volumes and of food-grade quality. Biopolymer complexes (such as polysaccharide-protein complexes) are superior to biopolymers since they offer improved properties than each polymer on its own. A biopolymer composed of a protein and a polysaccharide (= complex carbohydrate polymers) offers the benefits of each molecule. The protein increases the surface activity so that a higher surface layer saturation at a significantly lower concentration is obtained. The polysaccharide in the complex reduces the interfacial tension and thus the energy that is required to generate new surfaces. Thereby, polysaccharides enhance the formation of small droplets. A biopolymer complex offers the best of its both component and makes therefore a strong stabilizer.

Sonication is a well established technique to prepare nanoemulsions.

Ultrasonic emulsification

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


High Performance Ultrasonicators

Hielscher’s high-performance ultrasonic processors are installed worldwide for the preparation of stable macro-, nano- and microemulsions. With a product portfolio ranging from small handheld ultrasonic lab devices to high-power industrial ultrasonic systems for the commercial production of large inline streams of emulsions, Hielscher Ultrasonics offers you the most suitable ultrasonicator for your process.
Power input, amplitude (displacement at the sonotrode), temperature, and flow rate can be adjusted to the requirements of your formulation. Our industrial ultrasonic processors can deliver very high amplitudes. Amplitudes of up to 200µm can be easily continuously run in 24/7 operation. For even higher amplitudes, customized ultrasonic sonotrodes are available.
InsertMPC48 with 48 fine cannulas, which inject the second phase of the emulsion directly into the ultrasonic cavitation zonePrecise control over the sonication parameters and automatic data recording on an built-in SD-card ensure high processing quality and allow for process standardisation. All our ultrasonic processors are designed for the 24/7 operation under full load. Robustness, low maintenance and user-friendliness are further advantages of Hielscher’s ultrasonicators, which makes them your work-horse in production.
Accessories such as Hielscher’s unique MultiPhaseCavitator, a flow cell insert that injects the second phase via cannulas directly into the cavitational hot-spot (see pic. left), help to setup an optimal ultrasonic emulsification system.
The table below gives you an indication of the approximate processing capacity of our ultrasonicators:

Batch Volume Flow Rate Recommended Devices
1 to 500mL 10 to 200mL/min UP100H
10 to 2000mL 20 to 400mL/min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 to 20L 0.2 to 4L/min UIP2000hdT
10 to 100L 2 to 10L/min UIP4000hdT
n.a. 10 to 100L/min UIP16000
n.a. larger cluster of UIP16000

Contact Us! / Ask Us!

Ask for more information

Please use the form below, if you wish to request additional information about ultrasonic homogenization. We will be glad to offer you an ultrasonic system meeting your requirements.









Please note our privacy policy.


Ultrasonic emulsification with Hielscher's UP200Ht and sonotrode S26d14

Ultrasonic preparation of an emulsion (red water / yellow oil). A few seconds of sonication turn the separate water/oil phases into a fine emulsion.


Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonicators for sonochemical applications.

High-power ultrasonic processors from lab to pilot and industrial scale.

Literature/References

  • Campelo, Pedro Henrique; Junqueira, Luciana Affonso; de Resende, Jaime Vilela; Domingues Zacarias, Rosana; de Barros Fernandes, Regiane Victória; Alvarenga Botrel, Diego; Vilela Borges, Soraia (2017): Stability of lime essential oil emulsion prepared using biopolymers and ultrasound treatment. International Journal of Food Properties Vol.20, No.S1, 2017. 564-579.
  • Maphosa, Yvonne; Jideani, Victoria A. (2018): Factors Affecting the Stability of Emulsions Stabilised by Biopolymers. In: Science and Technology Behind Nanoemulsions (Edited by Selcan Karakuş). 2018


Facts Worth Knowing

Biopolymers as Emulsion Stabilizers

Stabilizers and surfactants are required for most emulsions to make them long-term stable. Biopolymers such as polysaccharides and proteins are widely employed as functional ingredients in emulsion systems. Biopolymers are a natural type of emulsifying agent, which offer a good emulsion stabilizing performance due to their gelling and emulsifying capacity. Since the production of stable emulsions is a prerequisite for a successful encapsulation via spray-drying of food products, biopolymers are a preferred type of stabilizer. Biopolymers can be employed as stabilisers on their own or in combination.
Biopolymers such as gum arabic and whey protein isolate (WPI) are inexpensive and can be easily processed in food production. Gum arabic is a mixture of anionic carbohydrates and some proteins. Its highly branched proteins, that are closely linked to the polysaccharide structure, give gum arabic good emulsifying properties. Whey protein isolate is composed from a mixture of globular proteins. Those globular proteins can be quickly adsorbed onto the oil droplets surface during homogenization, which facilitates the formation of small droplets.
Other common biopolymers used as emulsifying agents are gelatin, xanthan gum, starch, casein, pectins, maltodextrin, ovalbumin, sodium alginate, and carboxymethylcellulose amongst others.
Biopolymer complexes are composed of two or more biopolymers. Biopolymer complexes can be synthesized by chemical, enzymatic or thermal treatments. The complexation generally increases the robustness and solubility of the final biopolymer complex, enhancing their usability and stability. Especially the resulting higher stability in regards to varying temperatures, pH and ionic strength are important factors for emulsification processes.