Hielscher Ultraschalltechnik

Enzymatische Öl-Hydrolyse mit Ultraschall

  • Diacylglycerol (DAG)-reiche Öle gelten als wertvoller Zusatzstoff für Lebensmittel, Pharmazeutika und kosmetische Produkte.
  • Diacylglycerol kann durch die Hydrolyse von Pflanzenöl mit einer kommerziell erhältlichen Lipase als Katalysator sowie Ultraschall hergestellt werden.
  • Durch die ultraschall-gestützte, enzymatische Hydrolyse können DAGs kostengünstig in großvolumigem Maßstab und in sehr kurzer Zeit produziert werden.

Ultraschall-Gestützte Enzymatische Diacylglycerol-Produktion

Diacylglycerol (DAG)-reiche Öle werden für Lebensmittel, pharmazeutische und kosmetische Produkte verwendet. Sie sind aufgrund ihres hohen Nährwerts von besonders großem Interesse, denn sie werden auf eine besondere Weise verdaut und verstoffwechselt, wodurch das Körpergewicht erheblich reduzieren kann.
Durch eine ultraschallgestützte bio-katalysierte Hydrolyse kann normales Pflanzenöl in ein DAG-reiches Speiseöle umgewandelt werden. Mittels ultraschall-gestützter enzymatischer Hydrolyse kann in sehr kurzer Reaktionszeit und unter milden Bedingungen Diacylglycerol-reiches Öl produziert werden.
Die Kombination aus Ultraschall und enzymatischer Katalyse wird es möglich, gewöhnliche Öle, wie z.B. Palmöl, zu einem Öl mit einem hohen Diacylglycerol-Gehalt aufzuwerten. Durch einen hohen Diacylglycerol-Gehalt wird das Speiseöl ernährungsphysiologisch besonders wertvoll.

Die Vorteile der Ultraschallverarbeitung:

  • feine Emulgierung
  • Erhöhter Stoffaustausch
  • hohe Umwandlung
  • milde Bedingungen
  • kurze Verarbeitungszeit
  • geregelte Temperatur
  • Inline-Produktion
Chemische Struktur von Diacylglycerin (DAG), worin R1, R2 und R3 ein Alkyl oder ein Alkenyl, Kohlenwasserstoffkette einer Fettsäure (allgemeine Formel R-COOH).

Strukturformel von Diacylglycerol (DAG)

Ultraschall-Behandlung ist bekannt, Massentransfer zu verbessern

Ultraschall-Glasreaktor, z.B. für die Emulgierung

Kontaktieren Sie uns! / Fragen Sie uns!





Bitte beachten Sie unsere Datenschutzerklärung.


Forschung & Ergebnisse

Awadallak et al. (2013) haben die ultraschallgestützte Hydrolyse von Palmöl mit dem Lipozyme RM IM als Biokatalysator untersucht. In der zweistufigen Reaktion wird Ultraschall zur Emulgierung von Öl und Wasser eingesetzt. Im zweiten Schritt werden die Enzyme für die katalytische Umwandlung hinzugefügt.
Das Bild rechts zeigt das Ultraschall-Setup wie es in der Forschungsstudie von Awadallak verwendet wurde: Das Ultraschallgerät UP200S (200W, 24kHz) mit Glasreaktorzelle für eine kontinuierliche Beschallung unter kontrollierten Bedingungen.

Protokoll

Die Forschungsergebnisse von Awadallak und seinen Kollegen zeigen, dass mit folgendem Versuchsablauf die besten Ergebnisse erzielt werden konnten: Die Reaktion erfolgte in einem Ultraschall-Glasreaktor mit 60ml Volumen (siehe Bild rechts) bei 55°C. Die gesamte Reaktion wurde für 24 Std beobachtet. Zuerst wurden Palmöl (15 g) und Wasser (1,5 g) in den Reaktor gefüllt. Die Sonotrode (Horn/ Sonde) des Ultraschallhomogenisators UP200S wurde bis zu einer Tiefe von ca. 10mm in das Wasser/Öl-gemisch eingetaucht. Das Ultraschallgerät wurde auf 80 Watt geregelt. Das Wasser-Öl-Gemisch wurde für 3 Min mittels Ultraschall emulgiert. Nach der Beschallung wurde das Enzym (1,36 Gewicht% der Wasser+Öl-Masse) hinzugefügt, wobei die Lösung mit einem Magnetrührer (300 U/Min) gemischt wurde.
Durch die ultraschall-gestützte Bio-Katalyse wurde innerhalb von 12h Reaktionszeit Diacylglycerol (DAG)-Öl mit 34,17 wt.% Konzentration hergestellt. Die Beschallung mit Ultraschall selbst dauerte nur 1,2 Minuten.

Ergebnisse

In den vorgestellten Studien wurde DAG-Öl mit einer Konzentration von 34,17 wt.% hergestellt. Die Beschallung dauerte nur 1,2 Min.
Die ultraschall-enzymatische Katalyse überzeugt durch folgende Vorteile, welche dieses Verfahren auch für die Großproduktion interessant machen: Die Kombination aus Ultraschall und enzymatischer Hydrolyse weist sehr geringe Energiekosten auf und der Einsatz eines Ultraschallgerätes für die kontinuierliche Ultraschall-Verarbeitung ermöglicht es, große Hydrolysereaktoren zu betreiben. [Awadallak et al. 2013]

UP200S mit Glasreaktor für die ultraschall verbesserte enzymatische Hydrolyse von Öl

Ultraschallgerät UP200S mit Glasreaktor

Kontakt/ Weitere Informationen

Sprechen Sie mit uns über Ihren Prozess! Gerne empfehlen wir Ihnen das geeignete Equipment und die richtigen Prozessparameter für Ihr Projekt.





Bitte beachten Sie unsere Datenschutzerklärung.


Literatur

  • Adewale, Peter; Dumont, Marie-Josée; Ngadi, Michael (2015): Enzyme-catalyzed synthesis and kinetics of ultrasonic-assisted biodiesel production from waste tallow. Ultrasonics Sonochemistry 27; 2015. 1-9.
  • Awadallak, Jamal A.; Voll, Fernando; Ribas, Marielen C.; da Silva, Camila da; Filho, Lucio Cardozo; da Silva, Edson A. (2013): Enzymatic catalyzed palm oil hydrolysis under ultrasound irradiation: Diacylglycerol synthesis. Ultrasonics Sonochemistry 20; 2013. 1002-1007.
  • Dhara R.; Dhar P.; Ghosh M. (2013): Dietary effects of diacylglycerol rich mustard oil on lipid profile of normocholesterolemic and hypercholesterolemic rats. Journal of Food Science Technology 50(4); 2013. 678-86.
  • Dhara R.; Dhar P.; Ghosh M. (2013): Dietary effects of diacylglycerol rich mustard oil on lipid profile of normocholesterolemic and hypercholesterolemic rats. Journal of Food Science Technology 50(4); 2013. 678-86.
  • Goncalves, Karen M.; Sutili, Felipe K.; Leite,Selma G.F.; de Souza, Rodrigo O.M.A.; Ramos Leal, Ivana Correa (2012): Palm oil hydrolysis catalyzed by lipases under ultrasound irradiation – The use of experimental design as a tool for variables evaluation. Ultrasonics Sonochemistry 19; 2012: 232–236.
  • Souza, Rodrigo O. M. A.; Babicz, Ivelize; Leite, Selma G. F.; Antunes, Octavio A. C.: Lipase-Catalyzed Diacylglycerol Production Under Sonochemical Irradiation.
  • Nagao T.; Watanabe H.; Goto N.; Onizawa K.; Taguchi H.; Matsuo N.; Yasukawa T.; Tsushima R.; Shimasaki H.; Itakura H. (2000): Dietary diacylglycerol suppresses accumulation of body fat compared to triacylglycerol in men in a double-blind controlled trial. Journal of Nutrition 130, 2000. 792-797.


Wissenswertes

Weiter Informationen zu Diacylglycerol
Diacylglycerole (DAG) werden in unterschiedlichen Reinheitsgraden als Zusatzstoff zur Verbesserung der Formbarkeit von Fetten oder als Rohstoff in der Lebensmittel-, Pharmazie- und Kosmetikindustrie eingesetzt. DAGs dienen zudem auch als Separieröle, um Materialien aus Formen zu lösen und als Regulator für Fettkristalle, als Vorläufer für die organische Synthese von Produkten wie z.B. Phospholipiden, Glykolipiden, Lipoproteinen und als Bestandteil von Medikamenten (z.B. DAG-konjugiertes Chlorambucil für Behandlung von Lymphomen, (S)-(3,4-dihydroxyphenyl) Alanin (LDOPA) zur Behandlung der Parkinson-Krankheit und zahlreiche andere). In jüngster zeit wurden DAG-reiche Öle als funktionale Speiseöle mit einem Gehalt von mindestens 80 % des 1,3-DAG verwendet. [Nagao et al., 2000]
Diacylglycerol (DAG) kann durch partielle Hydrolyse, Veresterung oder Glycerolyse durch eine chemische oder enzymatische Katalyse hergestellt werden. Die enzymatische Katalyse gilt als bevorzugte Methode, da sie unter sehr milden Bedingungen (niedrige Temperaturen und Drücke) abläuft.

Hielscher Ultrasound Technology

Ultrasonic-Enzymatic Oil Hydrolysis

  • Diacylglycerol (DAG) rich oils are a valuable ingredient for food, pharma and cosmetic products.
  • Diacylglycerol can be produced by the hydrolysis of palm oil using a commercial lipase as a catalyst under ultrasonication.
  • By the ultrasonic-enzymatic hydrolysis, DAGs can be produced in high volumes at low cost and in short time.

Ultrasonic-Enzymatic Diacylglycerol Production

Diacylglycerol (DAG) rich oils are used for food, pharma and cosmetic applications. They have got a lot of interest due to their high nutritional value since they are digested and metabolized in a way, which significantly reduces body weight.
By an ultrasonically assisted bio-catalyzed hydrolysis, standard vegetable oils can be turned into DAG-rich edible oils. The ultrasonic-enzymatic hydrolysis results in a high yield of a diacylglycerol-rich oil in a short reaction times and under mild conditions.
A combination of ultrasound and enzymatic catalysis can be used to upgrade common oils, e.g. palm oil, to oil with a high diacylglycerol content. A high diacylglycerol content gives the oil a high nutritional value.

The benefits of ultrasound:

  • fine emulsification
  • increased mass transfer
  • high conversion
  • mild conditions
  • short process time
  • temperature controlled
  • inline production
Chemical structure of diacylglycerol (DAG) wherein R1, R2, and R3 are an alkyl or an alkenyl, hydrocarbon chain of a fatty acid (general formula R-COOH).

Chemical structure of diacylglycerol (DAG)

Ultrasonication is well known to enhance mass transfer

Ultrasonic glass reactor, e.g. for emulsification

Contact Us! / Ask Us!





Bitte beachten Sie unsere Datenschutzerklärung.


Research & Results

Awadallak et al. (2013) have investigated the ultrasonically assisted hydrolysis of palm oil using Lipozyme RM IM as biocatalyst. In the two-step reaction, ultrasound is used to promote the emulsification of oil and water. In the second step, the enzymes are added for the catalytic conversion.
The picture on the right shows the ultrasonic setup as used in the research of Awadallak: the ultrasonic probe device UP200S (200W, 24kHz) with glass flow cell for a continuous sonication under controlled conditions.

Protocol

The research group found that following two-step process results in the best results: The reaction was carried out in a ultrasonic glass flow cell with 60ml volume (see picture on the right) at 55°C for 24 h. Palm oil (15 g) and water (1.5 g) were added to the reactor. The ultrasound probe of the ultrasonicator UP200S was inserted to a depth of about 10mm into the water/oil system, the power was adjusted to 80W and turned on for 3 min to emulsify the system before being removed, and then the enzyme (1.36 wt.% water + oil mass) was added while the solution was mixed by magnetic stirring (300 rpm).
Thus ultrasonically assisted bio-catalysis yielded DAG oil with 34.17 wt.% concentration after 12h reaction time. The sonication step itself was very short with a duration of just 1.2 min.

Results

In the presented trials, DAG oil with 34.17 wt.% concentration was obtained after 12 h of reaction. The sonication step took just 1.2 min.
The ultrasonic-enzymatic catalysis convinces by its great advantages for large-scale production, as its energy costs are very low and its short emulsification time allows the use of reduced continuous ultrasonic equipment to feed large hydrolysis reactors. [Awadallak et al. 2013]

UP200S with glass reactor for the ultrasonically enhanced enzymatic hydrolysis of oil

Ultrasonic probe device UP200S with glass reactor

Contact Us / Ask for more Information

Talk to us about your processing requirements. We will recommend the most suitable setup and processing parameters for your project.





Please note our privacy policy.


Literature/References

  • Adewale, Peter; Dumont, Marie-Josée; Ngadi, Michael (2015): Enzyme-catalyzed synthesis and kinetics of ultrasonic-assisted biodiesel production from waste tallow. Ultrasonics Sonochemistry 27; 2015. 1-9.
  • Awadallak, Jamal A.; Voll, Fernando; Ribas, Marielen C.; da Silva, Camila da; Filho, Lucio Cardozo; da Silva, Edson A. (2013): Enzymatic catalyzed palm oil hydrolysis under ultrasound irradiation: Diacylglycerol synthesis. Ultrasonics Sonochemistry 20; 2013. 1002-1007.
  • Dhara R.; Dhar P.; Ghosh M. (2013): Dietary effects of diacylglycerol rich mustard oil on lipid profile of normocholesterolemic and hypercholesterolemic rats. Journal of Food Science Technology 50(4); 2013. 678-86.
  • Dhara R.; Dhar P.; Ghosh M. (2012): Dietary effects of pure and diacylglycerol-rich rice bran oil on growth pattern and lipid profile of rats. Journal of Oleo Science 61(7); 2012. 369-75.
  • Goncalves, Karen M.; Sutili, Felipe K.; Leite,Selma G.F.; de Souza, Rodrigo O.M.A.; Ramos Leal, Ivana Correa (2012): Palm oil hydrolysis catalyzed by lipases under ultrasound irradiation – The use of experimental design as a tool for variables evaluation. Ultrasonics Sonochemistry 19; 2012: 232–236.
  • Souza, Rodrigo O. M. A.; Babicz, Ivelize; Leite, Selma G. F.; Antunes, Octavio A. C.: Lipase-Catalyzed Diacylglycerol Production Under Sonochemical Irradiation.
  • Nagao T.; Watanabe H.; Goto N.; Onizawa K.; Taguchi H.; Matsuo N.; Yasukawa T.; Tsushima R.; Shimasaki H.; Itakura H. (2000): Dietary diacylglycerol suppresses accumulation of body fat compared to triacylglycerol in men in a double-blind controlled trial. Journal of Nutrition 130, 2000. 792-797.


Facts Worth Knowing

About Diacylglycerols
Diacylglycerols (DAG) are commonly used in different degrees of purity as additives for enhancing the plasticity of fats or as bases for the food, medicine and cosmetic industries. DAG are also used as estranger oils to separate materials from moulds and as an adjuster of fat crystals, precursors for organic synthesis of products such as phospholipids, glycolipids, lipoproteins, pro-drugs such as DAG-conjugated chlorambucil for treatment of lymphoma, (S)-(3,4-dihydroxyphenyl)alanine (LDOPA) for treatment of Parkinson’s disease and many others. More recently, DAG-rich oil has been used as a functional cooking oil, with a content of least 80% of 1,3-DAG. [Nagao et al., 2000]
Diacylglycerol (DAGs) can be produced by partial hydrolysis, esterification or glycerolysis through chemical or enzymatic catalysis. The enzymatic catalysis is the preferred method since it can be carried out under the mildest conditions (lowest temperature and pressure).