Technologie des ultrasons Hielscher

Mélangeurs à haut cisaillement pour la fabrication de pâte dentifrice

La fabrication de pâte dentaire est un processus exigeant qui nécessite un équipement de mélange capable de manipuler des pâtes visqueuses, des concentrations élevées de solides et des particules abrasives. Les mélangeurs à ultrasons à haut cisaillement fournissent des forces de cisaillement de haute intensité qui permettent un mouillage complet des poudres, une homogénéisation uniforme des boues colloïdales et une distribution uniforme de la taille des particules. Disponibles à l'échelle industrielle et capables de traiter de grands volumes, les mélangeurs ultrasoniques à haut cisaillement sont votre cheval de bataille dans la fabrication de pâtes dentaires !

Fabrication de pâte dentifrice

Les pâtes, dentifrices et gels dentaires sont constitués des quatre principaux composants de l'eau, des abrasifs, des fluorures et des détergents. Alors que la teneur en eau varie généralement entre 20 et 45 %, les abrasifs sont les principaux composants contribuant avec au moins 50 % à la formulation de la pâte dentaire. Les abrasifs les plus utilisés sont les particules d'hydroxyde d'aluminium (Al(OH)3), le carbonate de calcium (CaCO3), le carbonate de sodium, divers hydrogénophosphates de calcium, les silices hydratées, les zéolites, le mica et l'hydroxyapatite (Ca5(PO4)3OH).
Les formulations courantes de dentifrice et de pâte dentifrice sont généralement fabriquées en suivant les étapes ci-dessous :
Dans un premier temps, l'eau, l'humectant (par exemple, le sorbitol, la glycérine, le propylène glycol) et d'autres ingrédients liquides sont mélangés ensemble de manière à obtenir une base liquide.
Pour obtenir une certaine rhéologie et texture de la pâte dentaire finale, des modificateurs de rhéologie et des liants sont ajoutés à la base liquide. Les modificateurs de rhéologie et les liants donnent à la pâte dentifrice son épaisseur et sa texture. Les liants les plus couramment utilisés sont la gomme karaya, la bentonite, l'alginate de sodium, la méthylcellulose, la carraghénane et le silicate d'aluminium et de magnésium. Certains modificateurs de rhéologie doivent être pré-mélangés avec des ingrédients liquides non aqueux tels que la glycérine ou des huiles essentielles aromatisantes. Le modificateur de rhéologie peut également être mélangé à d'autres ingrédients en poudre afin de faciliter la dispersion colloïdale.
Dans l'étape suivante, des ingrédients actifs (par exemple, du fluorure de calcium, du chlorure de zinc, de l'hydroxyapatite), des additifs édulcorants et des conservateurs sont mélangés au mélange.
Ensuite, une boue contenant des particules abrasives et/ou des charges est incorporée dans le mélange de pâte dentaire. Comme les abrasifs sont le principal ingrédient, qui sont ajoutés à une charge solide élevée, un mélange puissant et fiable à fort cisaillement est nécessaire pour remplir cette tâche exigeante.
Ensuite, on ajoute des arômes et des colorants.
Lors de l'étape finale de mélange, un détergent ou un agent moussant (agent moussant) qui agit comme stabilisateur et améliore la distribution uniforme de la pâte dentifrice lors du brossage des dents, est ajouté à la formulation. Le détergent et l'agent moussant sont mélangés au mélange de pâte dentifrice à une intensité douce pour minimiser la formation de mousse. Les moussants les plus courants sont le laurylsulfate de sodium, le laurylsulfoacétate de sodium, le dioctylsulfosuccinate de sodium, le sulfolaurate, le laurylsarcosinate de sodium, le stéarylfumarate de sodium et le stéaryllactate de sodium.

Formulating tooth paste using ultrasonic high-shear mixers excels in various factors such as the capability of high solid loadings, the problem-free handling of abrasives and the uniform homogeneous wetting and particle distribution.

Demande d'information





The UIP4000hdT is a 4000 watts powerful ultrasonic inline disperser.

UIP4000hdTun puissant mélangeur industriel à haut cisaillement de 4000 watts pour l'homogénéisation en ligne

Une formulation de base typique de dentifrice consiste en :

  • Eau
  • Particules abrasives
  • Humectants (par exemple, sorbitol, glycérine)
  • Stabilisation des agents de surface
  • Modificateurs de rhéologie (épaississants)
  • Colorants
  • Arômes
  • Conservateurs (par exemple, p-hydrozybenzoate)
  • Détergent

Selon le type de produit de dentifrice, d'autres ingrédients actifs tels que des bactéricides, des agents de blanchiment, du fluorure, etc. sont ajoutés.

Pâtes dentifrices naturelles et propres

Les fabricants de dentifrices naturels et biologiques formulent des produits n'utilisant que des ingrédients certifiés biologiques et/ou naturels. Les marques de dentifrices naturels répondent à la demande des consommateurs soucieux de leur santé, qui veulent éviter les ingrédients artificiels que l'on trouve généralement dans les dentifrices ordinaires. En raison de la demande croissante des consommateurs pour des produits à label propre, de plus en plus de petites et grandes marques connues proposent des dentifrices à label propre. Les mélangeurs à ultrasons sont également idéaux pour les petites et moyennes entreprises de fabrication. En tant que méthode de mélange non thermique et purement mécanique, les ultrasons n'altèrent pas les formulations naturelles et organiques. Le mélange par ultrasons est compatible avec les ingrédients naturels tels que le bicarbonate de soude, l'aloe vera, l'huile d'eucalyptus, la myrrhe, les extraits de plantes (par exemple, sauge, menthe, extrait de fraise) et les huiles essentielles (par exemple, menthe, menthe verte, cannelle).
En savoir plus sur les mélangeurs à cisaillement à ultrasons pour la production de produits de beauté propres !

Avantages du mélange ultrasonique de pâte dentifrice

  • Mélange homogène
  • Mouillage complet
  • Traitement des fortes concentrations de matières solides
  • Pas de problèmes avec les abrasifs
  • processus rapide
  • processus continu en ligne
  • Sûr, robuste et fiable

Comment fonctionne le mélange de haute cisaillement par sonication ?

Les mélangeurs ultrasoniques à haut cisaillement utilisent le même principe mécanique que les autres systèmes de mélange industriels couramment utilisés, par exemple les mélangeurs à pales à haut cisaillement, les mélangeurs à plusieurs arbres, les broyeurs colloïdaux, les homogénéisateurs à haute pression et les agitateurs à pales. Les mélangeurs ultrasoniques à haut cisaillement sont fréquemment utilisés pour disperser et broyer des particules, émulsifier des phases d'huile et d'eau, mouiller et solubiliser des matières solides ainsi que pour produire des mélanges homogènes de tout type de liquides et de boues. Les mélangeurs à ultrasons transmettent les forces de cisaillement élevées via une sonde ultrasonique dans une cuve de mélange, par exemple dans une cuve de traitement par lots ou dans une cellule d'écoulement. La sonde du mélangeur à ultrasons vibre dans le liquide à une fréquence et à des amplitudes très élevées, créant ainsi d'intenses bulles de cavitation ultrasonores dans le milieu. L'effondrement des bulles de cavitation entraîne de puissantes forces de cisaillement, qui perturbent et brisent les gouttelettes, les agglomérats, les agrégats et même les particules primaires. Comme la cavitation ultrasonique génère un flux cavitationnel à grande vitesse pouvant atteindre 1000 km/h, les jets liquides cavitationnels accélèrent les particules. Lorsque les particules accélérées entrent en collision les unes avec les autres, elles agissent comme un agent de broyage. En conséquence, les particules qui entrent en collision se brisent et sont réduites à la taille du micron ou du nanomètre. Dans le domaine de la cavitation ultrasonique, les pressions alternent rapidement et de manière répétée entre le vide et jusqu'à 1000 bars. Un mélangeur rotatif à 4 pales devrait fonctionner à une vitesse stupéfiante de 300 000 tr/min pour obtenir la même fréquence de cycles de pression alternée. Les mélangeurs rotatifs et les mélangeurs rotor-stator conventionnels ne créent pas de cavitation importante en raison de leur vitesse limitée.

Ultrasonic dispersion des résultats en une distribution de taille de particule très étroite.

Avant et après sonication: La courbe verte indique la taille des particules avant la sonication, la courbe rouge est la distribution de taille des particules de silice dispersée par ultrasons.

Mélange ultrasonique de pâte dentifrice

Les mélangeurs ultrasoniques à haut cisaillement peuvent être utilisés comme des processeurs en ligne discontinus et continus. Pour les matériaux très visqueux et le traitement de gros volumes, l'utilisation d'un réacteur à cellule d'écoulement pressurisable est préférable car cela permet de fonctionner dans des conditions d'ultrasons intensifiés (c'est-à-dire que la pression intensifie la cavitation). De plus, en utilisant un dispositif d'écoulement sophistiqué tel qu'un passage ou un processus discret, le mélange complet de pâte dentifrice est forcé de passer à travers la zone de cavitation ultrasonique de la cellule à flux. Cela garantit que chaque particule reçoit le même traitement, de sorte qu'une dispersion et un mélange très uniformes sont obtenus.

Traitement des passages par ultrasons

Pour chaque étape du processus, c'est-à-dire lorsqu'un nouveau mélange d'ingrédients est ajouté à la base liquide, le mélange pâteux passe d'un réservoir à un autre en passant par le réacteur à ultrasons. Ce processus de passage garantit un résultat de mélange très fiable et uniforme. Alors que lors d'un processus de mélange par lots classique à fort cisaillement, il faut appliquer un mélange excessif pour garantir la dispersion de toutes les particules, la configuration de la cellule à flux ultrasonique permet de réaliser des économies de temps et d'énergie, puisque le temps de traitement est réduit au minimum par particule.
Dans le mélange discontinu conventionnel à fort cisaillement, certaines particules sont surtraitées, tandis que d'autres n'arrivent jamais dans la zone de mélange active. L'utilisation d'un réacteur à cellules à flux ultrasonique garantit que chaque particule subit le même traitement à haut cisaillement. Grâce au processus de passage, chaque particule est traitée à la même fréquence et à la même intensité.

Dispersion ultrasonique de la silice fumée : L'homogénéisateur ultrasonique UP400S de Hielscher disperse rapidement et efficacement la poudre de silice en nanoparticules individuelles.

Dispersion de la silice fumée dans l'eau à l'aide de l'UP400S

Conseil de traitement : Mélange ultrasonique sous pression

L'application d'une pression sur le réacteur à ultrasons ou la cellule d'écoulement intensifie la cavitation acoustique. Hielscher Ultrasons fournit différents types de réacteurs et de cellules à flux, qui peuvent facilement être pressurisés jusqu'à 5 barg. Les réacteurs ultrasoniques sur mesure peuvent supporter des pressions encore plus élevées, jusqu'à 300 bar.

Effets de désaération des ultrasons

Les agitateurs à pales et les mélangeurs conventionnels à haut cisaillement introduisent de grands volumes de bulles de gaz dans le mélange, ce qui constitue un inconvénient majeur. La désaération du mélange final de pâte dentifrice nécessite une étape de traitement supplémentaire, qui est consommatrice de temps et d'énergie. Lors du mélange par ultrasons, le piégeage des bulles d'air est généralement très faible par rapport aux agitateurs conventionnels en cuve et aux mélangeurs à haut cisaillement. L'utilisation d'un réacteur à cellules à flux ultrasonique permet d'éviter l'incorporation inutile de bulles de gaz indésirables, car le mélange est alimenté à partir de la cuve de stockage en flux constant dans un système fermé. Dans une cellule à flux ultrasonique, le mélange de pâte est introduit à une pression continue dans la zone de cavitation ultrasonique. Le système de circulation des ultrasons empêche le piégeage indésirable de gaz pendant le processus de mélange. En outre, la sonication est une technique bien établie de désaération et de dégazage et favorise la coalescence des bulles d'air afin qu'elles puissent monter en haut et se volatiliser.
En savoir plus sur la désaération et le dégazage par ultrasons !

Cellule de mesure UIP4000hdT pour la sonication en ligne à l'échelle industrielle

Réacteur de la cellule à flux ultrasonique au niveau du mélangeur ultrasonique à haut cisaillement UIP4000hdT (4kW)


Ultrasonic high-shear mixers are used as reliable and efficeint technology to mil and disperse particles such as calciumhydroxyapatite to nano-scale.

Nano-calciumhydroxyapatite broyée avec l'homogénéisateur ultrasonique UP200ST (concentration en solides de 30%, 150Ws/g, grossissement 10X)

Les avantages des mélangeurs ultrasoniques à haute performance

Les mélangeurs ultrasoniques à haut cisaillement créent des forces de cisaillement intenses, qui ont l'impact nécessaire sur les particules telles que les solides, les gouttelettes, les cristaux et les fibres afin de les décomposer à une taille ciblée, qui peut être de l'ordre du micron ou du nanomètre. Manipulant facilement des produits de haute viscosité et des charges solides élevées, les mélangeurs en ligne à ultrasons à fort cisaillement sont idéaux pour traiter des produits pâteux tels que les pâtes dentifrices, les dentifrices et les gels. Les forces de cisaillement acoustiques permettent d'obtenir un mouillage complet des ingrédients en poudre et de les mélanger uniformément pour obtenir une pâte homogène.
En fonction de la dureté et de la fragilité des particules, les paramètres du processus ultrasonore peuvent être ajustés avec précision pour obtenir le résultat de mélange souhaité. Par rapport aux autres méthodes de mélange, telles que les agitateurs à pales à haut cisaillement, les homogénéisateurs à haute pression, les broyeurs de colloïdes / de billes, les mélangeurs à arbre, etc., les mélangeurs ultrasoniques à haut cisaillement offrent des avantages majeurs, tels que la manipulation sans problème d'abrasifs et de charges solides élevées, le fonctionnement facile et sûr, la faible maintenance et la robustesse.

Avantages des mélangeurs à cisaillement ultrasoniques

  • Cavitation et cisaillement de haute intensité
  • Traitement uniforme des particules
  • des concentrations élevées de solides
  • Pas de buses / pas d'obstruction
  • Aucun milieu de broyage (c'est-à-dire des perles) n'est nécessaire
  • effet de désaération
  • évolutivité linéaire
  • Facile & fonctionnement sûr
  • Facile à nettoyer
  • Temps- & a faible consommation

Par lots et en ligne

Les mélangeurs à haute performance de Hielscher Ultrasons peuvent être utilisés pour le traitement par lots et en ligne. En fonction du volume de votre processus et de votre débit horaire, le traitement en ligne peut être recommandé. Alors que le traitement par lots est plus exigeant en temps et en main-d'œuvre, un processus de mélange en ligne continu est plus efficace, plus rapide et nécessite beaucoup moins de main-d'œuvre.

Des mélangeurs ultrasoniques pour chaque capacité de produit

La gamme de produits Hielscher Ultrasons couvre tout l'éventail des processeurs ultrasoniques, depuis les ultrasonores compacts de laboratoire jusqu'aux processeurs ultrasoniques industriels capables de traiter des charges de camion à l'heure, en passant par les systèmes de table et les systèmes pilotes. La gamme complète de produits nous permet de vous proposer le mélangeur cisaille à ultrasons le mieux adapté à votre capacité de traitement et à vos objectifs.
Le passage d'un petit mélangeur à ultrasons à des capacités de traitement plus élevées est très simple, car le processus de mélange à ultrasons peut être entièrement linéaire et mis à l'échelle à partir des paramètres de processus établis. La mise à l'échelle peut se faire soit en installant un mélangeur à ultrasons plus puissant, soit en regroupant plusieurs ultrasonateurs en parallèle.

Des amplitudes élevées pour une grande efficacité de mélange

Hielscher Ultrasonics’ Les processeurs ultrasoniques industriels peuvent fournir des amplitudes très élevées. Des amplitudes allant jusqu'à 200µm peuvent être facilement utilisées en continu 24h/24 et 7j/7. Pour des amplitudes encore plus élevées, des sonotrodes ultrasoniques personnalisées sont disponibles. La robustesse de l'équipement ultrasonique de Hielscher permet un fonctionnement 24 heures sur 24, 7 jours sur 7, dans des environnements difficiles et exigeants.

Des tests faciles et sans risque

Les processus ultrasonores peuvent être mis à l'échelle de manière totalement linéaire. Cela signifie que chaque résultat obtenu avec un ultrasonateur de laboratoire ou de table peut être mis à l'échelle pour obtenir exactement le même résultat en utilisant exactement les mêmes paramètres de processus. Cela rend l'ultrasonographie idéale pour le développement de produits et leur mise en œuvre ultérieure dans la fabrication commerciale.

La plus haute qualité – Conçu et fabriqué en Allemagne

En tant qu’entreprise familiale et familiale, Hielscher accorde la priorité aux normes de qualité les plus élevées pour ses processeurs à ultrasons. Tous les ultrasons sont conçus, fabriqués et testés à fond dans notre siège social à Teltow près de Berlin, en Allemagne. La robustesse et la fiabilité de l’équipement ultrasonique de Hielscher en font un cheval de travail dans votre production. Le fonctionnement 24h/24 et 7j/7 sous pleine charge et dans des environnements exigeants est une caractéristique naturelle des mélangeurs haute performance de Hielscher.

Vous pouvez acheter des mélangeurs ultrasoniques à haut cisaillement Hielscher de différentes tailles et configurés exactement selon les exigences de votre procédé. Du traitement des fluides dans un petit bécher de laboratoire au mélange en continu de boues et de pâtes au niveau industriel, Hielscher Ultrasons vous propose un mélangeur à haut cisaillement adapté ! Veuillez nous contacter – nous sommes heureux de vous recommander la configuration idéale de mélangeur ultrasonique !

Le tableau ci-dessous vous donne une indication de la capacité de traitement approximative de nos ultrasonicators:

lot Volume Débit Appareils recommandés
1 à 500 ml 10 à 200 ml / min UP100H
10 à 2000mL 20 à 400 ml / min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 20L 00,2 à 4L / min UIP2000hdT
10 à 100l 2 à 10 L / min UIP4000hdT
n / a. 10 à 100 litres / min UIP16000
n / a. plus grand groupe de UIP16000

Contactez nous! / Demandez nous!

Demander plus d'informations

Veuillez utiliser le formulaire ci-dessous pour demander des informations supplémentaires sur les processeurs à ultrasons, les applications et le prix. Nous serons heureux de discuter avec vous de votre processus et de vous proposer un système à ultrasons répondant à vos besoins !









Veuillez prendre note de notre Politique de confidentialité.


Hielscher Ultrasons fabrique des homogénéisateurs ultrasoniques haute performance pour la dispersion, l'émulsification et l'extraction cellulaire.

Homogénéisateurs ultrasoniques de haute puissance de laboratoires à pilote et Industriel échelle.

Littérature / Références

Hielscher Ultrasound Technology

High-Shear Mixers for Tooth Paste Manufacturing

Tooth paste manufacturing is a demanding process that requires mixing equipment capable to handle viscous pastes, high solid concentrations and abrasive particles. Ultrasonic high-shear mixers provide high-intensity shear forces that provide thorough wetting of powders, uniform homogenisation of colloidal slurries and even particle size distribution. Available at industrial scale and capable to process large volume streams, ultrasonic high-shear mixers are your reliable work horse in tooth paste manufacturing!

Tooth Paste Manufacturing

Tooth pastes, dentifrices and gels consist in the four main components of water, abrasives, fluorides and detergents. While the water content mostly varies between 20 and 45%, abrasives are the main components contributing with at least 50% to the tooth paste formulation. Widely used abrasives include particles of aluminum hydroxide (Al(OH)3), calcium carbonate (CaCO3), sodium carbonate, various calcium hydrogen phosphates, hydrated silicas, zeolites, mica, and hydroxyapatite (Ca5(PO4)3OH).
Common tooth paste and dentifrice formulations are manufactured generally following the steps below:
At first, water, humectant (e.g., sorbitol, glycerin, propylene glycol) and other liquid ingredients are blended together so that a liquid base is obtained.
To obtain a certain rheology annd texture of the final tooth paste, rheology modifiers and binders are added to the liquid base. Rheology modifiers and binders give tooth paste its thickness and texture. Commonly used binders include karaya gum, bentonite, sodium alginate, methylcellulose, carrageenan, and magnesium aluminum silicate. Some rheology modifiers require to be pre-blend with non-aqueous liquid ingredient such as glycerine or flavouring essential oils. Alternatively, the rheology modifier can be mixed into other powdered ingredients in order to facilitate the colloidal dispersion.
In the next step, active ingredients (e.g. calcium fluoride, zinc chloride, hydroxyapatite), sweetening flavour additives and preservatives are mixed into the blend.
Then, a slurry containing abrasive particles and / or fillers is incorporated into the tooth paste blend. Since abrasives are the main ingredient, that are added to a high solid load, powerful, reliable high-shear mixing is required to fulfil this demanding task.
Afterwards, flavour and colouring additives are added.
In the final mixing step, a detergent or sudser (foaming agent) that acts as stabiliser and improves the uniform distribution of tooth paste during teeth brushing, is added to the formulation. The detergent and sudser are mixed into the tooth paste blend at a gentle intensity to minimize foaming. Common sudsers are sodium lauryl sulfate, sodium lauryl sulfoacetate, dioctyl sodium sulfosuccinate, sulfolaurate, sodium lauryl sarcosinate, sodium stearyl fumarate, and sodium stearyl lactate.

Formulating tooth paste using ultrasonic high-shear mixers excels in various factors such as the capability of high solid loadings, the problem-free handling of abrasives and the uniform homogeneous wetting and particle distribution.

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


The UIP4000hdT is a 4000 watts powerful ultrasonic inline disperser.

UIP4000hdt, a 4000watts powerful industrial high-shear mixer for inline homogenization

A typical basic tooth paste formulation consists in:

  • Water
  • Abrasive particles
  • Humectants (e.g. sorbitol, glycerin)
  • Stabilizing Surfactants
  • Rheology modifiers (thickeners)
  • Colouring agents
  • Flavouring agents
  • Preservatives (e.g. p-hydrozybenzoate)
  • Detergent

Depending on the type of tooth paste product, other active ingredients such as bactericides, whiteners, fluoride, etc. are added.

Natural, Clean-Label Tooth Pastes

Manufacturers of organic, natural tooth pastes formulate products using only organically certified and / or natural ingredients. Natural tooth paste brands cater to the demand of health-conscious consumers, who want to avoid the artificial ingredients commonly found in regular toothpastes. Due to consumers’ up-trending demand for clean label products, more and more smaller as well as larger well-known brands offer clean-label tooth pastes. Ultrasonic mixers are ideal for small and mid-size manufacturing scale, too. As a non-thermal, purely mechanical mixing method, ultrasonication does not alter natural, organic formulations. Ultrasonic mixing is compatible with natural ingredients such as baking soda, aloe vera, eucalyptus oil, myrrh, plant extract (e.g. sage, mint, strawberry extract), and essential oils (e.g. mint, spearmint, cinnamon).
Read more about ultrasonic shear mixers for the production of clean-label beauty products!

Advantages of Ultrasonic Tooth Paste Mixing

  • Homogeneous Blending
  • Thorough Wetting
  • Handling of High Solid Concentration
  • No Problems with Abrasives
  • Rapid Process
  • Continuous Inline Process
  • Safe, Robust and Reliable

How Does High-Shear Mixing by Sonication Work?

Ultrasonic high shear mixers use the same mechanical principle as other commonly used industrial mixing systems, e.g. high shear blade mixers, multi-shaft mixers, colloid mills, high pressure homogenizers, and blade agitators. Ultrasonic high-shear mixers are frequently used to disperse and mill particles, to emulsify oil and water phases, to wet and solubilize solid matter as well as to produce homogeneous mixtures of any kind of liquids and slurries. Ultrasonic mixers transmit the high-shear forces via an ultrasonic probe into a mixing vessel, such as into a batch tank or into a flow cell. The probe of the ultrasonic mixer vibrates in the liquid at a very high frequency and amplitudes thereby creating intense ultrasonic cavitation bubbles in the medium. The collapse of the cavitation bubbles results in powerful shear forces, that disrupt and break droplets, agglomerates, aggregates, and even primary particles. As ultrasonic cavitation generates high-velocity cavitational streaming with up to 1000km/h, the cavitational liquid jets accelerate particles. When the accelerated particles collide with each other, the act as milling media. As a consequence, the colliding particles shatter and are are reduced to micron- or nano-size. In the ultrasonic cavitation field, pressures alternate quickly and repeatedly between vacuum and up to 1000bar. A rotary mixer with 4 mixer blades would need to operate at a staggering 300,000 RPM to achieve the same frequency of alternating pressure cycles. Conventional rotary mixers and rotor-stator mixers create no significant amount of cavitation because of their limitation in speed.

Ultrasonic dispersing results in a very narrow particle size distribution.

Before and after sonication: The green curve shows the particle size before sonication, the red curve is the particle size distribution of ultrasonically dispersed silica.

Ultrasonic Tooth Paste Mixing

Ultrasonic high-shear mixers can be used as batch and continuous inline processors. For highly viscous materials and high volume processing, the use of a pressurizable flow cell reactor is preferred as this allows you to run under intensified ultrasonication conditions (i.e. pressure intensifies cavitation). Furthermore, by using a sophisticated flow setups such as a passage or discrete process setup, the complete tooth paste mixture is forced to pass through the ultrasonic cavitational zone in the flow cell. This ensures that each particle gets the same treatment so that a highly uniform dispersing and blending is obtained.

Ultrasonic Passage Processing

For each process step, which is when a new ingredient blend is added to the liquid base, the paste mixture passes from one tank through the ultrasonic reactor into a second tank. This passage process ensures a highly reliable and uniform mixing result. Whilst during a conventional high-shear batch mixing process excess mixing must be applied to ensure that all particles get dispersed, the ultrasonic flow cell setup is time- and energy-saving, since the processing time is reduced to the minimum treatment per particle.
In conventional high shear batch mixing, some particles get over-processed, whilst some particles never get into the active mixing zone. Using an ultrasonic flow cell reactor ensures that each particle sees the same high-shear treatment. Due to the passage process, every particle is treated at the same frequency and intensity.

Ultrasonic Dispersion of Fumed Silica: The Hielscher ultrasonic homogenizer UP400S disperses silica powder fast and efficiently into single nano particles.

Dispersing Fumed Silicia in Water using the UP400S

Processing Tip: Ultrasonic Mixing under Pressure

Applying pressure to the ultrasonic reactor or flow cell intensifies the acoustic cavitation. Hielscher Ultrasonics supplies various flow cell and reactor types, which can easily be pressurised up to 5 barg. Customized ultrasonic reactors can handle even higher pressures of up to 300barg.

Ultrasonic De-Aerating Effects

Blade agitators and conventional high-shear mixers introduce high volumes of gas bubbles into the mixture, which is a major disadvantage. The de-aeration of the final tooth paste blend requires an additional processing step, which is time- and energy-consuming. During ultrasonic mixing, the entrapment of air bubbles is generally very low when compared to conventional tank agitators and high-shear mixers. Using an ultrasonic flow cell reactor prevents the unnecessary incorporation of unwanted gas bubbles as the mixture is fed from the holding tank in a steady flow in a closed system. In an ultrasonic flow cell setup, the paste mixture is fed at continuous pressure into the ultrasonic cavitation zone. The ultrasonic flow-through setup prevents the unwanted entrapment of gas during the mixing process. Furthermore, sonication is a well-established technique of de-aeration and degassing and promotes the coalescence of air bubbles so that they can rise to the top and volatilize.
Read more about ultrasonic de-aeration and degassing!

UIP4000hdT flow cell for inline sonication on industrial scale

Ultrasonic flow cell reactor at the ultrasonic high-shear mixer UIP4000hdT (4kW)


Ultrasonic high-shear mixers are used as reliable and efficeint technology to mil and disperse particles such as calciumhydroxyapatite to nano-scale.

Nano-sized calciumhydroxyapatite milled with the ultrasonic homogenizer UP200ST (30% solids concentration, 150Ws/g, magnification 10X)

The Advantages of High-Performance Ultrasonic Mixers

Ultrasonic high shear mixers create intense shear forces, which have the required impact on particles such as solids, droplets, crystals, and fibres in order to break them down to a targeted size, which can be in the micron or nano range. Easily handling high viscosities and high solid loads, ultrasonic high-shear inline mixers are ideal to process paste products such as tooth pastes, dentifrices and gels. The acoustic shear forces achieve a thorough wetting of the powder ingredients and blend them uniformly into a homogeneous paste.
Depending on the particles hardness and brittleness, the ultrasonic process parameters can be exactly adjusted to achieve the aspired mixing result. When compared to alternative mixing methods such as high-shear blade agitators, high-pressure homogenizers, colloid / bead mills, shaft mixers etc. ultrasonic high-shear mixers offer major advantages such as the problem-free handling of abrasives and high solid loadings, the easy and safe operation, low maintenance and robustness.

Advantages of Ultrasonic High Shear Mixers

  • High-intensity cavitation and shear
  • Uniform particle processing
  • High solid concentrations
  • No nozzles / no clogging
  • No milling medium (i.e. beads) required
  • De-Aerating effect
  • Linear scalability
  • Easy & safe operation
  • Easy to clean
  • Time- & energy-efficient

Batch and Inline

Hielscher Ultrasonics high-performance mixers can be used for batch and inline processing. Depending on your process volume and hourly throughput, inline processing might be recommended. Whilst batching is more time- and labour-intensive, a continuous inline mixing process is more efficient, faster and requires significantly less labour.

Ultrasonic Mixers for Every Product Capacity

Hielscher Ultrasonics product range covers the full spectrum of ultrasonic processors from compact lab ultrasonicators over bench-top and pilot systems to fully-industrial ultrasonic processors with the capacity to process truckloads per hour. The full product range allows us to offer you the most suitable ultrasonic shear mixer for your process capacity and goals.
The scale-up from a smaller ultrasonic mixer to higher processing capacities is very simple since the ultrasonic mixing process can be completely linear scaled from your established process parameters. Up-scaling can be done by either installing a more powerful ultrasonic mixer unit or clustering several ultrasonicators in parallel.

High Amplitudes for High Mixing Efficiency

Hielscher Ultrasonics’ industrial ultrasonic processors can deliver very high amplitudes. Amplitudes of up to 200µm can be easily continuously run in 24/7 operation. For even higher amplitudes, customized ultrasonic sonotrodes are available. The robustness of Hielscher’s ultrasonic equipment allows for 24/7 operation at heavy duty and in demanding environments.

Easy, Risk-free Testing

Ultrasonic processes can be completely linear scaled. This means every result that you have achieved using a lab or bench-top ultrasonicator, can be scaled to exactly the same output using the exactly same process parameters. This makes ultrasonication ideal for product development and subsequent implementation into commercial manufacturing.

Highest Quality – Designed and Manufactured in Germany

As a family-owned and family-run business, Hielscher prioritizes highest quality standards for its ultrasonic processors. All ultrasonicators are designed, manufactured and thoroughly tested in our headquarter in Teltow near Berlin, Germany. Robustness and reliability of Hielscher’s ultrasonic equipment make it a work horse in your production. 24/7 operation under full load and in demanding environments is a natural characteristic of Hielscher’s high-performance mixers.

You can buy Hielscher ultrasonic high-shear mixers in any different size and exactly configured to your process requirements. From treating fluids in a small lab beaker to the continuous flow-through mixing of slurries and pastes on industrial level, Hielscher Ultrasonics offers a suitable high-shear mixer for you! Please contact us – we are glad to recommend you the ideal ultrasonic mixer setup!

The table below gives you an indication of the approximate processing capacity of our ultrasonicators:

Batch Volume Flow Rate Recommended Devices
1 to 500mL 10 to 200mL/min UP100H
10 to 2000mL 20 to 400mL/min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 to 20L 0.2 to 4L/min UIP2000hdT
10 to 100L 2 to 10L/min UIP4000hdT
n.a. 10 to 100L/min UIP16000
n.a. larger cluster of UIP16000

Contact Us! / Ask Us!

Ask for more information

Please use the form below to request additional information about ultrasonic processors, applications and price. We will be glad to discuss your process with you and to offer you an ultrasonic system meeting your requirements!









Please note our privacy policy.


Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonic homogenizers for dispersion, emulsification and cell extraction.

High-power ultrasonic homogenizers from lab to pilot and industrial scale.

Literature / References