سونيكيشن يحسن ردود فعل فنتون

تستند ردود فعل فنتون على توليد الجذور الحرة مثل الهيدروكسيل • OH الراديكالية وبيروكسيد الهيدروجين (H2ال2). يمكن تكثيف رد فعل فنتون بشكل كبير عند دمجه مع ultrasonication. بسيطة، ولكن مزيج فعال للغاية من رد فعل فنتون مع الموجات فوق الصوتية السلطة وقد ثبت أن تحسن بشكل كبير تشكيل الراديكالية المطلوبة، وبالتالي معالجة الآثار تكثيف.

كيف تعمل الموجات فوق الصوتية على تحسين ردود فعل فنتون؟

Ultrasonic cavitation at Hielschers UIP1000hdT (1kW) ultrasonicatorعندما يقترن بالموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الطاقة / عالية الأداء في السوائل مثل الماء ، يمكن ملاحظة ظاهرة التجويف الصوتي. في بقعة ساخنة التجويف، تنشأ فقاعات فراغ دقيقة، وتنمو على مدى عدة دورات الضغط العالي / الضغط المنخفض الناجمة عن موجات الموجات فوق الصوتية السلطة. عند هذه النقطة، عندما فقاعة فراغ لا يمكن أن تمتص المزيد من الطاقة، ينهار الفراغ بعنف خلال دورة الضغط العالي (ضغط). هذا الانفجار فقاعة يولد ظروفا قاسية للغاية حيث درجات حرارة تصل إلى 5000 K، والضغوط تصل إلى 100 MPa، وارتفاع درجة الحرارة جدا والفروق في الضغط تحدث. فقاعات التجويف انفجار تولد أيضا microjets السائل عالية السرعة مع قوى القص مكثفة جدا (الآثار السونوميشانية) ، فضلا عن الأنواع الراديكالية الحرة مثل OH الجذور بسبب التحلل المائي للمياه (تأثير سونوتشيميكال). التأثير سونوتشيميكال لتشكيل الجذور الحرة هي المساهم الرئيسي لتفاعلات فنتون كثفت بالموجات فوق الصوتية، في حين أن الآثار السونومييكانية للهياج تحسين نقل الكتلة، مما يحسن معدلات التحويل الكيميائي.
(الصورة اليسرى يظهر التجويف الصوتية ولدت في سونوترودي من الموجات فوق الصوتية UIP1000hd. الضوء الأحمر من الأسفل يستخدم لتحسين الرؤية)

طلب معلومات





Ultrasonication improves oxidative Fenton reactions.

مفاعل مضمن بالموجات فوق الصوتية الصناعية لردود فعل سونو فنتون على نطاق واسع.

دراسات حالة مثالية لتفاعلات فنتون المحسنة كيميائيا

وقد درست الآثار الإيجابية للموجات فوق الصوتية السلطة على ردود فعل فنتون على نطاق واسع في البحوث والظروف التجريبية والصناعية لتطبيقات مختلفة مثل التدهور الكيميائي، وإزالة التلوث والتحلل. ويستند رد فعل فنتون سونو فنتون على تحلل بيروكسيد الهيدروجين باستخدام محفز الحديد، مما يؤدي إلى تشكيل الجذور الهيدروكسيل رد الفعل للغاية.
غالبا ما يتم توليد الجذور الحرة مثل الجذور الهيدروكسيل (OH) عن قصد في عمليات تكثيف تفاعلات الأكسدة ، على سبيل المثال ، لتحلل الملوثات مثل المركبات العضوية في مياه الصرف الصحي. منذ الموجات فوق الصوتية السلطة هو مصدر مساعد لتشكيل الجذور الحرة في ردود الفعل نوع فنتون، سونيكيشن بالاشتراك مع ردود فعل فنتون تعزيز معدلات تدهور الملوثات من أجل تدهور الملوثات والمركبات الخطرة وكذلك مواد السليلوز. وهذا يعني أن رد فعل فنتون المكثف بالموجات فوق الصوتية ، ما يسمى رد فعل سونو فنتون ، يمكن أن يحسن الإنتاج الراديكالي الهيدروكسيل مما يجعل رد فعل فنتون أكثر كفاءة بشكل ملحوظ.

رد فعل سونوكاتاليتيك فنتون لتعزيز OH الجيل الراديكالي

نينوميا وآخرون (2013) تثبت بنجاح أن رد فعل فنتون المعزز سونوكالاتيليتيكي – باستخدام ultrasonication في تركيبة مع ثاني أكسيد التيتانيوم (TiO2) كمحفز – يعرض توليد الهيدروكسيل المعزز بشكل كبير (•OH) الراديكالي. يسمح تطبيق الموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الأداء لبدء عملية أكسدة متقدمة (AOP). في حين تم تطبيق التفاعل السونوكاتلي باستخدام جزيئات TiO2 على تدهور المواد الكيميائية المختلفة ، استخدم فريق البحث في نينوميا الجذور المتولدة بكفاءة •OH لتحلل اللجنين (بوليمر عضوي معقد في جدران الخلايا النباتية) كمرحلة ما قبل المعالجة من المواد الليجنوسيلولوسية لتحلل هيدروماتيكي لاحق سهل.
تظهر النتائج أن رد فعل فنتون سونوكاتليتيك باستخدام TiO2 كما سونوكاتليست، يعزز ليس فقط تدهور اللجنين ولكن أيضا هو المعالجة المسبقة الفعالة للكتلة الحيوية lignocellulosic من أجل تعزيز السكر الأنزيمي اللاحقة.
إجراء: بالنسبة لرد فعل سونوكاتاليتيك-فنتون، أضيفت جزيئات TiO2 (2 غرام/لتر) وكواشف فنتون (أي H2O2 (100 mM) وFeSO4·7H2O (1 mM)) إلى محلول العينة أو التعليق. لرد فعل سونوكاتاليتيك-فنتون، تم سونيكاتيد تعليق العينة في وعاء رد الفعل لمدة 180 دقيقة مع probe-نوع المعالج بالموجات فوق الصوتية UP200S (200W، 24kHz) مع سونوترودي S14 في قوة الموجات فوق الصوتية من 35 واط. تم وضع وعاء التفاعل في حمام مائي يحافظ على درجة حرارة 25 درجة مئوية باستخدام مدور التبريد. تم إجراء ultrasonication في الظلام من أجل تجنب أي آثار الناجمة عن الضوء.
أثر: ويعزى هذا التعزيز التآزري للجيل OH الراديكالية خلال رد فعل فنتون سونوكاثيليك إلى Fe3 + التي شكلتها رد فعل فنتون يجري تجديدها إلى Fe2 + الناجمة عن اقتران رد الفعل مع رد فعل سونوكاناليتيك.
النتائج: بالنسبة لرد فعل فنتون الحفاز سونو، تم تعزيز تركيز DHBA بشكل تآزري إلى 378 ميكرومتر، في حين أن رد فعل فنتون بدون الموجات فوق الصوتية وTiO2 حقق تركيز DHBA فقط من 115 ميكرومتر. لم يحقق تدهور اللجنين للكتلة الحيوية كيناف تحت رد فعل فنتون سوى نسبة تدهور اللجنين، والتي زادت خطيا حتى 120 دقيقة مع دينار كويتي = 0.26 دقيقة−1، لتصل إلى 49.9٪ في 180 دقيقة. بينما مع رد فعل سونوكاتليتيك فنتون، زادت نسبة تدهور اللجنين خطيا حتى 60 دقيقة مع دينار كويتي = 0.57 دقيقة−1، لتصل إلى 60.0٪ في 180 دقيقة.

Ultrasonication in combination with TiO2 as sonocatalyst improves Fenton reaction and hydroxyl radical formation.

مسح ميكروجرافات الإلكترون (SEM) من الكتلة الحيوية كيناف (A) السيطرة غير المعالجة، المعالجة مسبقا مع (B) سونوكاتيليك (الولايات المتحدة / TiO2)، (C) فنتون (H2O2/Fe2+)، و (D) سونوكالاتيك-فنتون (الولايات المتحدة/ TiO2 + H2O2/Fe2+) ردود الفعل. وكان وقت المعالجة المسبقة 360 دقيقة. تمثل الأشرطة 10 ميكرومتر.
(الصورة والدراسة: ©ننوميا وآخرون، 2013)

Ultrasonicator UIP1000hdT in a batch reactor used for a sono-Fenton reaction

يمكن تشغيل ردود فعل سونو فنتون في مجموعات وإعدادات المفاعل المضمنة. تظهر الصورة المعالج بالموجات فوق الصوتية UIP1000hdT (1kW، 20kHz) في دفعة سعة 25 لتر.

طلب معلومات





تدهور نابتالين عبر سونوتشيميكال فنتون

تحققت أعلى نسبة من تدهور النفثالين عند تقاطع أعلى (600 ملغ L-1 تركيز بيروكسيد الهيدروجين) وأدنى مستويات (200 ملغ kg1 النفثالين) من كلا العاملين لجميع كثافة التشعيع بالموجات فوق الصوتية المطبقة. ونتج عن ذلك 78٪، 94٪، و 97٪ من كفاءة تدهور النفثالين عندما تم تطبيق سونيكيشن في 100، 200، و 400 واط، على التوالي. في دراستهم المقارنة ، استخدم الباحثون أجهزة الموجات فوق الصوتية Hielscher UP100H، UP200Stو UP400St. وتعزى الزيادة الكبيرة في كفاءة التدهور إلى التآزر بين كل من المصادر المؤأكسدة (ultrasonication وبيروكسيد الهيدروجين) التي ترجمت إلى زيادة مساحة سطح أكاسيد Fe عن طريق الموجات فوق الصوتية التطبيقية والإنتاج الأكثر كفاءة للجذور. القيم المثلى (600 ملغ لتر−1 من بيروكسيد الهيدروجين و 200 ملغ كجم1 من تركيزات النفثالين عند 200 و 400 واط) تشير إلى انخفاض يصل إلى الحد الأقصى 97٪ في تركيز النفثالين في التربة بعد 2 ساعة من العلاج.
(راجع Virkutyte وآخرون، 2009)

Ultrasonic soil remediation via Sono-Fenton reaction.

SEM-EDS ميكروغرام من أ) رسم الخرائط عنصري وب) التربة قبل و ج) بعد العلاج بالإشعاع بالموجات فوق الصوتية
(الصورة والدراسة: ©الفيركوت وآخرون، 2009)

السونوكيميائي الكربون ديسولفيد تدهور

Ultrasonic batch reactor for Sono-Fenton reactions.وأظهر أديويي وأباو نجاح أكسدة ثنائي كبريتيد الكربون في مفاعل دفعة سونوتشيميكال تحت صوتنة بتردد 20 كيلوهرتز و20 درجة مئوية. إزالة CS2 من محلول مائي زيادة كبيرة مع زيادة في كثافة الموجات فوق الصوتية. أدى ارتفاع الكثافة إلى زيادة في السعة الصوتية ، مما يؤدي إلى تجويف أكثر كثافة. الأكسدة سونوتشيميكال CS2 إلى كبريتات العائدات أساسا من خلال الأكسدة عن طريق •OH الراديكالية وH2O2 المنتجة من ردود الفعل إعادة التركيب. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، فإن القيم المنخفضة EA (أقل من 42 كيلوجول/ مول) في كل من النطاق المنخفض ودرجة الحرارة العالية في هذه الدراسة تشير إلى أن عمليات النقل التي يتم التحكم فيها الانتشار تملي التفاعل العام. أثناء التجويف بالموجات فوق الصوتية ، تم بالفعل دراسة تحلل بخار الماء الموجود في التجاويف لإنتاج H • و • OH الجذور خلال مرحلة الضغط بشكل جيد. •OH radical هو مادة أكسدة كيميائية قوية وفعالة في كل من مرحلة الغاز والسائل ، وغالبا ما تكون ردود فعله مع الركائز غير العضوية والعضوية بالقرب من المعدل الذي يتم التحكم فيه. إن انحلال الماء لإنتاج H2O2 وغاز الهيدروجين عبر الجذور الهيدروكسيلية وذرات الهيدروجين معروف ويحدث في وجود أي غاز أو O2 أو غازات نقية (على سبيل المثال، Ar). وتشير النتائج إلى أن توافر الجذور الحرة ومعدلات انتشارها النسبية (مثل OH) إلى منطقة التفاعل بين البينية يحددان الخطوة المقيدة للأسعار والنظام العام لرد الفعل. وعموما، فإن التحلل التأكسدي المعزز بالسونوكيميائي هو طريقة فعالة لإزالة ثاني كبريتيد الكربون.
(أديويي وأباو، 2002)

طلب معلومات





الموجات فوق الصوتية فنتون مثل تدهور صبغ

النفايات السائلة من الصناعات التي تستخدم الأصباغ في إنتاجها هي مشكلة بيئية، وهو ما يتطلب عملية فعالة من أجل إصلاح مياه الصرف الصحي. تستخدم ردود فعل فنتون التأكسدية على نطاق واسع لعلاج النفايات السائلة الصبغية ، في حين أن عمليات Sono-Fenton المحسنة تحظى باهتمام متزايد بسبب كفاءتها المعززة وملاءمتها للبيئة.

سونو فنتون رد فعل لتدهور رد الفعل الأحمر 120 صبغة

Ultrasonicator UP100H in the experiments for red dye degradation via sono-Fenton reaction.تمت دراسة تدهور صبغة Red 120 التفاعلية (RR-120) في المياه الاصطناعية. تم النظر في عمليتين: سونو فنتون متجانسة مع الحديد (II) كبريتات وغير متجانسة سونو فنتون مع غوتيت الاصطناعية وgethite المودعة على السيليكا والرمال الكالسيت (المحفزات المعدلة GS (goethite المودعة على رمال السيليكا) وGC (goethite المودعة على الرمال الكالسيت)، على التوالي). في 60 دقيقة من رد الفعل، سمحت عملية سونو فنتون المتجانسة بتدهور بنسبة 98.10٪، على النقيض من 96.07٪ لعملية سونو فنتون غير المتجانسة مع goethite عند درجة الحموضة 3.0. إزالة RR-120 زادت عندما تم استخدام المحفزات المعدلة بدلا من غوتيت عارية. وأظهرت قياسات الطلب على الأكسجين الكيميائي (COD) ومجموع الكربون العضوي (TOC) أن أعلى عمليات إزالة توك وCOD تحققت مع عملية سونو فنتون المتجانسة. سمحت قياسات الطلب على الأكسجين الكيميائي الحيوي (BOD) بالعثور على أن أعلى قيمة ل BOD /COD تحققت مع عملية سونو فنتون غير المتجانسة (0.88±0.04 مع المحفز المعدل GC) ، مما يدل على أن التحلل الحيوي للمركبات العضوية المتبقية قد تحسن بشكل ملحوظ.
(راجع غاروفالو - فيلالتا وآخرون 2020)
تظهر الصورة إلى اليسار الموجات فوق الصوتية UP100H المستخدمة في التجارب لتدهور الصبغة الحمراء عن طريق رد فعل سونو فنتون. (دراسة وصورة: ©Garófalo-Villalta وآخرون، 2020).)

غير متجانسة سونو فنتون تدهور أزو صبغ RO107

Ultrasonication promotes Fenton reactions resulting in higher radical formation. Thereby, higher oxidation and improved conversion rates are obtained. أظهر جعفر زاده وآخرون (2018) الإزالة الناجحة لصبغة الأزو البرتقالي التفاعلي 107 (RO107) عبر سونو فنتون مثل عملية التحلل باستخدام الجسيمات النانوية المغناطيسية (Fe3O4) (MNP) كمحفز. في دراستهم، استخدموا Hielscher UP400S بالموجات فوق الصوتية مجهزة سونوترودي 7mm في دورة واجب 50٪ (1 ق على / 1 ق قبالة) لتوليد التجويف الصوتية من أجل الحصول على تشكيل الراديكالية المطلوبة. تعمل الجسيمات النانوية المغنطيسية كمحفز يشبه البيروكسيديز ، وبالتالي فإن زيادة الجرعة المحفزة توفر مواقع حديدية أكثر نشاطا ، والتي بدورها تسرع تحلل H2O2 مما يؤدي إلى إنتاج OH التفاعلية.•.
النتائج: تم الحصول على إزالة كاملة من صبغة أزو في 0.8 غرام / لتر MPNs، درجة الحموضة = 5، 10 mM تركيز H2O2، 300 W/ L الطاقة بالموجات فوق الصوتية و 25 دقيقة وقت رد الفعل. هذا الموجات فوق الصوتية سونو فنتون مثل نظام رد الفعل كما تم تقييمها لمياه الصرف الصحي النسيج الحقيقي. وأظهرت النتائج أن الطلب على الأكسجين الكيميائي (COD) انخفض من 2360 ملغم/لتر إلى 489.5 ملغم/لتر خلال فترة تفاعل 180 دقيقة. وعلاوة على ذلك، أجري تحليل للتكاليف أيضا على متن الولايات المتحدة/Fe3O4/H2O2. وأخيرا، أظهر الموجات فوق الصوتية/Fe3O4/H2O2 كفاءة عالية في إزالة اللون ومعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي الملونة.
أدت زيادة في الطاقة بالموجات فوق الصوتية إلى تعزيز في التفاعل ومساحة السطح من الجسيمات النانوية المغنطيسية ، مما سهل معدل التحول من 'Fe3 + إلى 'Fe2 +. كما ولدت 'Fe2 + حفز تفاعل H2O2 من أجل إنتاج الجذور الهيدروكسيل. ونتيجة لذلك، تبين أن زيادة الطاقة بالموجات فوق الصوتية لتعزيز أداء الولايات المتحدة / MNPs / H2O2 عملية عن طريق تسريع معدل إزالة اللون في غضون فترة قصيرة من وقت الاتصال.
لاحظ مؤلفو الدراسة أن الطاقة بالموجات فوق الصوتية هي واحدة من أهم العوامل المؤثرة على معدل تدهور صبغ RO107 في النظام غير المتجانس الشبيه ب Fenton.
معرفة المزيد عن توليف المغنطيسية عالية الكفاءة باستخدام sonication!
(راجع جعفر زاده وآخرون، 2018)

Ultrasonic power is one of the most essential factors influencing on the degradation rate of RO107 dye in the heterogeneous Fenton-like system.

RO107 تدهور في تركيبات مختلفة في درجة الحموضة من 5، جرعة MNPs من 0.8 غرام / لتر، تركيز H2O2 من 10 mM، تركيز RO107 من 50 ملغم / لتر، قوة الموجات فوق الصوتية من 300 واط ووقت رد الفعل من 30 دقيقة.
دراسة وصورة: © جعفر زاده وآخرون، 2018.

ultrasonicators الثقيلة

Hielscher Ultrasonics تصاميم وتصنيع وتوزيع المعالجات عالية الأداء بالموجات فوق الصوتية والمفاعلات للتطبيقات الثقيلة مثل العمليات التأكسدية المتقدمة (AOP)، رد فعل فنتون، فضلا عن غيرها من التفاعلات سونوتشيميكال، سونو الصورة الكيميائية، والسونو الكهربائية والكيميائية. Ultrasonicators، مسابير بالموجات فوق الصوتية (سونوتروديس)، وتدفق الخلايا والمفاعلات متوفرة في أي حجم – من معدات الاختبار المختبري المدمجة إلى المفاعلات السونوكيميائية واسعة النطاق. Hielscher ultrasonicators تتوفر العديد من فئات الطاقة من المختبرات ومقاعد البدلاء أعلى الأجهزة إلى النظم الصناعية قادرة على معالجة عدة أطنان في الساعة.

تحكم دقيق في السعة

Ultrasonic reactor with 4000 watts ultrasonicator for processing spent nuclear fuels and radioactive wasteالسعة هي واحدة من المعلمة العملية الأكثر أهمية التأثير على نتائج أي عملية بالموجات فوق الصوتية. تعديل دقيق للسعه بالموجات فوق الصوتية يسمح لتشغيل Hielscher ultrasonicators في السعة منخفضة إلى عالية جدا وصقل السعة بالضبط لظروف عملية الموجات فوق الصوتية المطلوبة من التطبيقات مثل التشتت والاستخراج وsonochemistry.
اختيار حجم سونوترودي الحق واستخدام اختياريا قرن الداعم لزيادة إضافية أو نقصان من السعة يسمح لإعداد نظام الموجات فوق الصوتية مثالية لتطبيق معين. باستخدام مسبار / سونوترودي مع مساحة أكبر من السطح الأمامي سوف تبدد الطاقة بالموجات فوق الصوتية على مساحة كبيرة واتساع أقل، في حين أن سونوترودي مع أصغر مساحة السطح الأمامي يمكن أن تخلق سعة أعلى خلق بقعة ساخنة التجويف أكثر تركيزا.

Hielscher Ultrasonics بتصنيع أنظمة الموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الأداء من قوة عالية جدا وقادرة على تقديم موجات الموجات فوق الصوتية مكثفة في التطبيقات الثقيلة في ظل ظروف صعبة. تم بناء جميع المعالجات بالموجات فوق الصوتية لتقديم الطاقة الكاملة في عملية 24/7. سونوتروديس خاصة تسمح لعمليات سونيكيشن في بيئات درجة حرارة عالية.

مزايا مفاعلات سونو الكيميائية هيلشر

  • مفاعلات الدفعة والمفاعل المضمنة
  • الصف الصناعية
  • 24/7/365 عملية تحت حمولة كاملة
  • لأي حجم ومعدل تدفق
  • تصاميم مختلفة لسفينة المفاعل
  • التحكم في درجة الحرارة
  • قابل للضغط
  • سهلة لتنظيف
  • سهلة التركيب
  • آمنة للعمل
  • قوة + صيانة منخفضة
  • مؤتمت اختياريا

الجدول أدناه يعطيك مؤشرا على قدرة المعالجة التقريبية لultrasonicators لدينا:

دفعة حجم معدل المد و الجزر الأجهزة الموصى بها
1 إلى 500ML 10 إلى 200ML / دقيقة UP100H
10 إلى 2000ML 20 إلى 400ML / دقيقة Uf200 ः ر، UP400St
00.1 إلى 20L 00.2 إلى 4L / دقيقة UIP2000hdT
10 إلى 100L 2 إلى 10L / دقيقة UIP4000hdT
زمالة المدمنين المجهولين 10 إلى 100L / دقيقة UIP16000
زمالة المدمنين المجهولين أكبر مجموعة من UIP16000

اتصل بنا! / اسألنا!

اطلب المزيد من المعلومات

يرجى استخدام النموذج أدناه لطلب معلومات إضافية حول المعالجات بالموجات فوق الصوتية والتطبيقات والسعر. سنكون سعداء لمناقشة العملية الخاصة بك معك ونقدم لكم نظام الموجات فوق الصوتية تلبية الاحتياجات الخاصة بك!









يرجى ملاحظة لدينا سياسة الخصوصية.


Ultrasonication significantly improves the efficiency of Fenton reactions, since power ultrasound increases the formation of fee radicals.

إعداد الدفعة سونوتشيميكال مع الموجات فوق الصوتية UIP1000hdT (1000 واط، 20kHz) لردود فعل سونو فنتون.


Ultrasonic high-shear homogenizers are used in lab, bench-top, pilot and industrial processing.

Hielscher الفوق صوتيات بتصنيع عالية الأداء المجانسة بالموجات فوق الصوتية لخلط التطبيقات، تشتت، استحلاب واستخراج على المختبر، والطيارية ومقياس الصناعية.



الأدب / المراجع


High performance ultrasonics! Hielscher's product range covers the full spectrum from the compact lab ultrasonicator over bench-top units to full-industrial ultrasonic systems.

Hielscher الفوق صوتيات بتصنيع عالية الأداء المجانسة بالموجات فوق الصوتية من مختبر إلى حجم الصناعية.


(function ($) { const $searchForms = $('form[role="search"].hi-sf'); $.each($searchForms, function (index, searchForm) { const $searchForm = $(searchForm); const label = $searchForm.find('.hi-sf__lab').text(); $searchForm.find('.hi-sf__in').attr('placeholder', label); }); }(jQuery));

Sonication Improves Fenton Reactions

Fenton reactions are based on the generation of free radicals such as hydroxyl •OH radical and hydrogen peroxide (H2O2). The Fenton reaction can be significantly intensified when combined with ultrasonication. The simple, but highly efficacious combination of Fenton reaction with power ultrasound has been shown to drastically improve the desired radical formation and thereby process intensifying effects.

How Does Power Ultrasound Improve Fenton Reactions?

Ultrasonic cavitation at Hielschers UIP1000hdT (1kW) ultrasonicatorWhen high-power / high-performance ultrasonication is coupled into liquids such as water, the phenomenon of acoustic cavitation can be observed. In the cavitational hot-spot, minute vacuum bubbles arise, and grow over several high-pressure / low-pressure cycles caused by the power ultrasound waves. At the point, when the vacuum bubble cannot absorb more energy, the void collapses violently during a high-pressure (compression) cycle. This bubble implosion generates extraordinarily extreme conditions where temperatures as high as 5000 K, pressures as high as 100 MPa, and very high temperature and pressure differentials occur. The bursting cavitation bubbles also generate high-speed liquid microjets with very intense shear forces (sonomechanical effects) as well as free radical species such as OH radicals due to hydrolysis of water (sonochemical effect). The sonochemical effect of free radical formation are the major contributor for ultrasonically intensified Fenton reactions, whilst the sonomechanical effects of agitation improve mass transfer, which improves chemical conversion rates.
(The picture left shows acoustic cavitation generated at the sonotrode of the ultrasonicator UIP1000hd. Red light from the bottom is used for improved visibility)

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


Ultrasonication improves oxidative Fenton reactions.

Industrial ultrasonic inline reactor for large scale sono-Fenton reactions.

Exemplary Case Studies for Sonchemically Enhanced Fenton Reactions

The positive effects of power ultrasound on Fenton reactions has been widely studied in research, pilot and industrial settings for various applications such as chemical degradation, decontamination and decomposition. The Fenton and sono-Fenton reaction is based on the hydrogen peroxide decomposition using an iron catalyst, which results in the formation of highly reactive hydroxyl radicals.
Free radicals such as hydroxyl (•OH) radicals are often purposely generated in processes to intensify oxidation reactions, e.g., to degrade pollutants such as organic compounds in wastewater. Since power ultrasound is an auxiliary source of free radical formation in Fenton type reactions, sonication in combination with Fenton reactions enhanced pollutant degradation rates in order to degrade pollutants, hazardous compounds as well as cellulose materials. This means that an ultrasonically intensified Fenton reaction, the so-called sono-Fenton reaction, can improve the hydroxyl radical production making the Fenton reaction significantly more efficient.

Sonocatalytic–Fenton Reaction for Enhances OH Radical Generation

Ninomiya et al. (2013) demonstrate successfully that a sonocatalytically enhanced Fenton reaction – using ultrasonication in combination with titanium dioxide (TiO2) as catalyst – exhibits a significantly enhanced hydroxyl (•OH) radical generation. The application of high-performance ultrasound allowed to initiate an advanced oxidation process (AOP). Whilst sonocatalytic reaction using TiO2 particles have been applied to the degradation of various chemicals, the research team of Ninomiya used the efficiently generated •OH radicals to degrade lignin (a complex organic polymer in cell walls of plant) as a pretreatment of lignocellulosic material for a facilitated subsequent enzymatic hydrolysis.
The results show that a sonocatalytic Fenton reaction using TiO2 as sonocatalyst,enhances not only the degradation of lignin but also is an efficient pretreatment of lignocellulosic biomass in order to enhance the subsequent enzymatic saccharification.
Procedure: For the sonocatalytic–Fenton reaction, both TiO2 particles (2 g/L) and Fenton reagent (i.e., H2O2 (100 mM) and FeSO4·7H2O (1 mM)) were added to the sample solution or suspension. For the sonocatalytic–Fenton reaction, the sample suspension in the reaction vessel was sonicated for 180 min with the probe-type ultrasonic processor UP200S (200W, 24kHz) with sonotrode S14 at an ultrasound power of 35 W. The reaction vessel was placed in a water bath maintaining a temperature 25°C using a cooling circulator. The ultrasonication was performed in the dark in order to avoid any light-induced effects.
Effect: This synergistic enhancement of OH radical generation during the sonocatalytic Fenton reaction is attributed to the Fe3+ formed by Fenton reaction being regenerated to Fe2+ induced by the reaction coupling with the sonocatalytic reaction.
Results: For the sono-catalytic Fenton reaction, the DHBA concentration was enhanced synergistically to 378 μM, whilst the Fenton reaction without ultrasound and TiO2 only achieved DHBA concentration of 115 μM. The lignin degradation of kenaf biomass under Fenton reaction achieved only a lignin degradation ratio, which increased linearly up to 120 min with kD = 0.26 min−1, reaching 49.9% at 180 min.; whilst with sonocatalytic–Fenton reaction, the lignin degradation ratio increased linearly up to 60 min with kD = 0.57 min−1, reaching 60.0% at 180 min.

Ultrasonication in combination with TiO2 as sonocatalyst improves Fenton reaction and hydroxyl radical formation.

Scanning electron micrographs (SEM) of kenaf biomass (A) untreated control, pretreated with (B) sonocatalytic (US/TiO2), (C) Fenton (H2O2/Fe2+), and (D) sonocatalytic–Fenton (US/TiO2 + H2O2/Fe2+) reactions. Pretreatment time was 360 min. Bars represent 10 μm.
(Picture and study: ©Ninomiya et al., 2013)

Ultrasonicator UIP1000hdT in a batch reactor used for a sono-Fenton reaction

Sono-Fenton reactions can be run in batch and inline reactor setups. The picture shows the ultrasonic processor UIP1000hdT (1kW, 20kHz) in a 25 litre batch.

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


Naphtalene Degradation via Sonochemical Fenton

the highest percentage of naphthalene degradation was achieved at the intersection of the highest (600 mg L-1 hydrogen peroxide concentration) and the lowest (200 mg kg1 naphthalene concentration) levels of both factors for all ultrasound irradiation intensities applied. It resulted in 78%, 94%, and 97% of naphthalene degradation efficiency when sonication at 100, 200, and 400 W, respectively, was applied. In their comparative study, the researchers used the Hielscher ultrasonicators UP100H, UP200St, and UP400St. The significant increase in the degradation efficiency was attributed to the synergism of both oxidizing sources (ultrasonication and hydrogen peroxide) which translated into the increased surface area of Fe oxides by applied ultrasound and the more efficient production of radicals. The optimum values (600 mg L−1 of hydrogen peroxide and 200 mg kg1 of naphthalene concentrations at 200 and 400 W) indicated up to a maximum 97% reduction in naphthalene concentration in soil after 2 h of treatment.
(cf. Virkutyte et al., 2009)

Ultrasonic soil remediation via Sono-Fenton reaction.

SEM–EDS microgram of a) elemental mapping and b) soil prior and c) after ultrasound irradiation treatment
(Picture and study: ©Virkutyte et al., 2009)

Sonochemical Carbon Disulfide Degradation

Ultrasonic batch reactor for Sono-Fenton reactions.Adewuyi and Appaw demonstrated the successful oxidation of carbon disulfide (CS2) of in a sonochemical batch reactor under sonication at a frequency of 20 kHz and 20°C. The removal of CS2 from the aqueous solution significantly increased with an increase in ultrasound intensity. Higher intensity resulted in an increase in the acoustic amplitude, which results in an intenser cavitation. The sonochemical oxidation of CS2 to sulfate proceeds mainly through oxidation by the •OH radical and H2O2 produced from its recombination reactions. In addition, the low EA values (lower than 42 kJ/mol) in both the low- and high-temperature range in this study suggest that diffusion-controlled transport processes dictate the overall reaction. During ultrasonic cavitation, the decomposition of water vapour present in the cavities to produce H• and •OH radicals during the compression phase has been already well studied. The •OH radical is a powerful and efficient chemical oxidant in both the gas and liquid phase, and its reactions with inorganic and organic substrates are often near the diffusion-controlled rate. The sonolysis of water to produce H2O2 and hydrogen gas via hydroxyl radicals and hydrogen atoms is well-known and occurs in the presence of any gas, O2, or pure gases (e.g., Ar). The results suggest that the availability and the relative rates of diffusion of free radicals (e.g., •OH) to the interfacial reaction zone determine the rate-limiting step and the overall order of the reaction. Overall, sonochemical enhanced oxidative degradation is an effective method for carbon disulfide removal.
(Adewuyi and Appaw, 2002)

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


Ultrasonic Fenton-like Dye Degradation

The effluents from industries that use dyes in their production are an environmental problem, which is requires an efficient process in order to remediate the waste water. Oxidative Fenton reactions are widely used for treating dye effluents, whilst improved Sono-Fenton processes are getting increasingly attention due to its enhanced efficiency and its environmental-friendliness.

Sono-Fenton Reaction for Degradation of Reactive Red 120 Dye

Ultrasonicator UP100H in the experiments for red dye degradation via sono-Fenton reaction.The degradation of Reactive Red 120 dye (RR-120) in synthetic waters was studied. Two processes were considered: homogeneous Sono-Fenton with iron (II) sulfate and heterogeneous Sono-Fenton with synthetic goethite and goethite deposited onto silica and calcite sand (modified catalysts GS (goethite deposited onto silica sand) and GC (goethite deposited onto calcite sand), respectively). In 60 min of reaction, the homogeneous Sono-Fenton process allowed a degradation of 98.10 %, in contrast with 96.07 % for the heterogeneous Sono-Fenton process with goethite at pH 3.0. The removal of RR-120 increased when the modified catalysts were used instead of bare goethite. Chemical Oxygen Demand (COD) and Total Organic Carbon (TOC) measurements showed that the highest TOC and COD removals were achieved with the homogeneous Sono-Fenton process. Biochemical Oxygen Demand (BOD) measurements allowed to find that the highest value of BOD/COD was achieved with a heterogeneous Sono-Fenton process (0.88±0.04 with the modified catalyst GC), demonstrating that the biodegradability of the residual organic compounds was remarkably improved.
(cf. Garófalo-Villalta et al. 2020)
The picture left shows the ultrasonicator UP100H used in the experiments for red dye degradation via sono-Fenton reaction.(Study and picture: ©Garófalo-Villalta et al., 2020.)

Heterogeneous Sono-Fenton degradation of azo dye RO107

Ultrasonication promotes Fenton reactions resulting in higher radical formation. Thereby, higher oxidation and improved conversion rates are obtained. Jaafarzadeh et al. (2018) demonstrated the successful removal of azo dye Reactive Orange 107 (RO107) via sono-Fenton like degradation process using magnetite (Fe3O4) nanoparticles (MNP) as catalyst. In their study, they used the Hielscher UP400S ultrasonicator equipped with 7mm sonotrode at 50% duty cycle (1 s on/1 s off) to generate acoustic cavitation in order to obtain the desired radical formation. The magnetite nanoparticles function as peroxidase-like catalyst, therefore an increase in the catalyst dosage provides more active iron sites, which in turn accelerates the decomposition of H2O2 leading to the production of reactive OH•.
Results: Complete removal of azo dye was obtained at 0.8 g/L MPNs, pH = 5, 10 mM H2O2 concentration, 300 W/L ultrasonic power and 25 min reaction time. This ultrasonic Sono-Fenton like reaction system was also evaluated for real textile wastewater. The results showed that chemical oxygen demand (COD) was reduced from 2360 mg/L to 489.5 mg/L during a 180 min reaction time. Moreover, cost analysis was also conducted on the US/Fe3O4/H2O2. Finally, ultrasonic/Fe3O4/H2O2 showed high efficiency in decolorization and treatment of coloured wastewater.
An increase in ultrasonic power led to an enhancement in reactivity and surface area of magnetite nanoparticles, which facilitated the transformation rate of `Fe3+ to `Fe2+. The as-generated `Fe2+ catalyzed a H2O2 reaction in order to produce hydroxyl radicals. As a result, the increase of ultrasonic power was shown to enhance the performance of US/MNPs/H2O2 process by accelerating the decolorization rate within a short period of contact time.
The authors of the study note that ultrasonic power is one of the most essential factors influencing on the degradation rate of RO107 dye in the heterogeneous Fenton-like system.
Learn more about highly efficient magnetite synthesis using sonication!
(cf. Jaafarzadeh et al., 2018)

Ultrasonic power is one of the most essential factors influencing on the degradation rate of RO107 dye in the heterogeneous Fenton-like system.

RO107 degradation in different combinations at pH of 5, MNPs dosage of 0.8 g/L, H2O2 concentration of 10 mM, RO107 concentration of 50 mg/L, ultrasonic power of 300 W and reaction time of 30 min.
Study and picture: ©Jaafarzadeh et al., 2018.

HEAVY-DUTY ULTRASONICATORS

Hielscher Ultrasonics designs, manufactures and distributes high-performance ultrasonic processors and reactors for heavy-duty applications such as advanced oxidative processes (AOP), Fenton reaction, as well as other sonochemical, sono-photo-chemical, and sono-electro-chemical reactions. Ultrasonicators, ultrasonic probes (sonotrodes), flow cells and reactors are available at any size – from compact laboratory test equipment to large-scale sonochemical reactors. Hielscher ultrasonicators are available a numerous power classes from laboratory and bench-top devices to industrial systems capable to process several tons per hour.

Precise Amplitude Control

Ultrasonic reactor with 4000 watts ultrasonicator for processing spent nuclear fuels and radioactive wasteThe amplitude is one of the most important process parameter influencing the results of any ultrasonic process. Precise adjustment of the ultrasonic amplitude allows to operate Hielscher ultrasonicators at low to very high amplitudes and to fine-tune the amplitude exactly to the required ultrasonic process conditions of applications such as dispersion, extraction and sonochemistry.
Choosing the right sonotrode size and using optionally a booster horn for and additional increase or decrease of the amplitude allows to setup an ideal ultrasonic system for a specific application. Using a probe / sonotrode with a larger front surface area will dissipate the ultrasonic energy over a large area and a lower amplitude, whilst a sonotrode with smaller front surface area can create higher amplitudes creating a more focused cavitational hot spot.

Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonic systems of very high robustness and capable to deliver intense ultrasound waves in heavy-duty applications under demanding conditions. All ultrasonic processors are built to deliver full power in 24/7 operation. Special sonotrodes allow for sonication processes in high-temperature environments.

Advantages of Hielscher Chemical Sono-Reactors

  • batch and inline reactors
  • industrial grade
  • 24/7/365 operation under full load
  • for any volume and flow rate
  • various reactor vessel designs
  • temperature-controlled
  • pressurizable
  • easy-to-clean
  • easy-to-install
  • safe-to-operate
  • robustness + low maintenance
  • optionally automated

The table below gives you an indication of the approximate processing capacity of our ultrasonicators:

Batch Volume Flow Rate Recommended Devices
1 to 500mL 10 to 200mL/min UP100H
10 to 2000mL 20 to 400mL/min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 to 20L 0.2 to 4L/min UIP2000hdT
10 to 100L 2 to 10L/min UIP4000hdT
n.a. 10 to 100L/min UIP16000
n.a. larger cluster of UIP16000

Contact Us! / Ask Us!

Ask for more information

Please use the form below to request additional information about ultrasonic processors, applications and price. We will be glad to discuss your process with you and to offer you an ultrasonic system meeting your requirements!









Please note our privacy policy.


Ultrasonication significantly improves the efficiency of Fenton reactions, since power ultrasound increases the formation of fee radicals.

Sonochemical batch setup with the ultrasonicator UIP1000hdT (1000 watts, 20kHz) for sono-Fenton reactions.


Ultrasonic high-shear homogenizers are used in lab, bench-top, pilot and industrial processing.

Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonic homogenizers for mixing applications, dispersion, emulsification and extraction on lab, pilot and industrial scale.



Literature / References


High performance ultrasonics! Hielscher's product range covers the full spectrum from the compact lab ultrasonicator over bench-top units to full-industrial ultrasonic systems.

Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonic homogenizers from lab to industrial size.