Synthèse efficace et contrôlée de nanoparticules d'or

Des nanoparticules d'or de forme et de morphologie uniformes peuvent être synthétisées efficacement par voie sonochimique. La réaction chimique de synthèse des nanoparticules d'or, favorisée par les ultrasons, peut être contrôlée avec précision pour la taille, la forme (par exemple, nanosphères, nanorods, nanobelts, etc.) et la morphologie des particules. La procédure chimique efficace, simple, rapide et écologique permet une production fiable de nanostructures d'or à l'échelle industrielle.

Nanoparticules et nanostructures d'or

Les nanoparticules d'or et les structures de taille nanométrique sont largement utilisées en R&D et des processus industriels en raison des propriétés uniques de l'or de taille nanométrique, notamment ses caractéristiques électroniques, magnétiques et optiques, ses effets de taille quantique, la résonance plasmonique de surface, sa forte activité catalytique et son auto-assemblage. Les domaines d'application des nanoparticules d'or (Au-NP) vont de l'utilisation comme catalyseur à la fabrication de dispositifs nanoélectroniques, en passant par l'imagerie, la nanophotonique, la nanomagnétique, les biocapteurs, les capteurs chimiques, les applications optiques et théranostiques, l'administration de médicaments et d'autres utilisations.

Demande d'information





Ultrasonication improves the bottom-up synthesis of gold nanoparticles.

Les ultrasons de type sonde comme le UP400St intensifier la synthèse de nanoparticules d'or. La voie sonochimique est simple, efficace, rapide et fonctionne avec des produits chimiques non toxiques dans des conditions atmosphériques douces.

Méthodes de synthèse des nanoparticules d'or

Des particules d'or nanostructurées peuvent être synthétisées par différentes voies en utilisant l'ultrasonication haute performance. La sonication est non seulement une technique simple, efficace et fiable, mais elle crée également les conditions nécessaires à la réduction chimique des ions or sans agents chimiques toxiques ou agressifs et permet la formation de nanoparticules de métaux nobles de différentes morphologies. Le choix de la voie et du traitement sonochimique (également connu sous le nom de sonosynthèse) permet de produire des nanostructures d'or telles que des nanosphères, des nanorods, des nanobelts, etc. de taille et de morphologie uniformes.
Vous trouverez ci-dessous une sélection de méthodes sonochimiques pour la préparation de nanoparticules d'or.

Méthode Turkevich améliorée par ultrasons

La sonication est utilisée pour intensifier la réaction de réduction du citrate de Turkevich ainsi que les procédures de Turkevich modifiées.
La méthode de Turkevich produit des nanoparticules d'or sphériques modestement monodispersées d'environ 10 à 20 nm de diamètre. Des particules plus grandes peuvent être produites, mais au prix de la monodispersité et de la forme. Dans cette méthode, l'acide chloroaurique chaud est traité avec une solution de citrate de sodium, ce qui produit de l'or colloïdal. La réaction de Turkevich se déroule via la formation de nanofils d'or transitoires. Ces nanofils d'or sont responsables de l'aspect sombre de la solution réactionnelle avant qu'elle ne devienne rouge rubis.
Fuentes-García et al. (2020), qui ont synthétisé des nanoparticules d'or par voie sonochimique, signalent qu'il est possible de fabriquer des nanoparticules d'or avec une interaction d'absorption élevée en utilisant l'ultrasonication comme seule source d'énergie, en réduisant les exigences du laboratoire et en contrôlant les propriétés en modifiant des paramètres simples.
Lee et al. (2012) ont démontré que l'énergie ultrasonique est un paramètre clé pour produire des nanoparticules d'or sphériques (AuNPs) de tailles accordables de 20 à 50 nm. La sonosynthèse via la réduction du citrate de sodium produit des nanoparticules d'or sphériques monodispersées en solution aqueuse dans des conditions atmosphériques.

La méthode Turkevich-Frens par ultrasons

Une modification de la voie réactionnelle décrite ci-dessus est la méthode Turkevich-Frens, qui est un procédé simple à étapes multiples pour la synthèse de nanoparticules d'or. L'ultrasonication favorise la voie de réaction Turkevich-Frens de la même manière que la voie Turkevich. L'étape initiale du processus à étapes multiples de Turkevich-Frens, où les réactions se produisent en série et en parallèle, est l'oxydation du citrate qui donne de la dicarboxyacétone. Ensuite, le sel aurique est réduit en sel aurique et en Au0et le sel aurique est assemblé sur l'Au0 pour former l'AuNP (voir le schéma ci-dessous).

Gold nanoparticle synthesis via Turkevich method can be efficiently improved by the application of high-intensity ultrasound (sonochemistry).

Synthèse de nanoparticules d'or par la méthode de Turkevich.
schéma et étude : ©Zhao et al., 2013

Cela signifie que la dicarboxyacétone résultant de l'oxydation du citrate, plutôt que le citrate lui-même, agit comme le véritable stabilisateur des AuNP dans la réaction de Turkevich-Frens. Le sel de citrate modifie en outre le pH du système, ce qui influence la taille et la distribution de la taille des nanoparticules d'or (AuNP). Ces conditions de la réaction de Turkevich-Frens produisent des nanoparticules d'or presque monodispersées dont la taille est comprise entre 20 et 40 nm. La taille exacte des particules peut être modifiée par la variation du pH de la solution ainsi que par les paramètres ultrasoniques. Les AuNPs stabilisées au citrate sont toujours plus grandes que 10 nm, en raison de la capacité de réduction limitée du citrate trisodique dihydraté. Cependant, l'utilisation de D2O comme solvant au lieu de H2O pendant la synthèse des AuNPs permet de synthétiser des AuNPs avec une taille de particule de 5 nm. Comme l'ajout de D2Pour augmenter le pouvoir réducteur du citrate, la combinaison de D2O et C6H9Na3la9. (cf. Zhao et al., 2013)

Sonochemical reactors with 2 high-power ultrasound probes (sonotrodes) for improved nanoparticle synthesis on industrial scale.

Les réacteurs sonochimiques en ligne permettent une synthèse contrôlée avec précision de nanoparticules (par exemple, AuNPs) à l'échelle industrielle. L'image montre deux Ultrasons UIP1000hdT (1kW, 20kHz) avec des cellules d'écoulement.

Protocole pour la voie sonochimique Turkevich-Frens

Afin de synthétiser des nanoparticules d'or selon une procédure ascendante par la méthode de Turkevich-Frens, 50mL d'acide chloroaurique (HAuCl4), 0,025 mM est versé dans un bécher en verre de 100 mL, dans lequel 1 mL de solution aqueuse de citrate trisodique à 1,5 % (p/v) (Na3Ct) est ajouté sous ultrasonication à température ambiante. L'ultrasonication a été effectuée à 60W, 150W et 210W. Le Na3Ct/HAuCl4 utilisé dans les échantillons est de 3:1 (p/v). Après ultrasonication, les solutions colloïdales ont montré différentes couleurs, violet pour les échantillons de 60 W et rouge rubis pour les échantillons de 150 et 210 W. Des nanoparticules d'or de plus petite taille et plus sphériques ont été produites en augmentant la puissance de sonication, conformément à la caractérisation structurelle. Fuentes-García et al. (2021) montrent dans leurs recherches la forte influence de l'augmentation de la sonication sur la taille des particules, la structure polyédrique et les propriétés optiques des nanoparticules d'or synthétisées par voie sonochimique et la cinétique de réaction pour leur formation. Des nanoparticules d'or de 16 nm et 12 nm peuvent être produites par une procédure sonochimique adaptée. (Fuentes-García et al., 2021)

Gold nanoparticles can be efficiently synthesized via sonochemical route.

(a,b) Image TEM et (c) distribution de taille des nanoparticules d'or (AuNPs) synthétisées par voie sonochimique.
Image et étude : © Dheyab et al., 2020.

Ultrasonically stirred reactor for sonochemical applications including bottom-up nanoparticle synthesis, catalytic reactions and many other.

Réacteur à agitation ultrasonique avec la ultrasoniseur UP200St pour intensifier la synthèse de nanoparticules (sonosynthèse).

Sonolyse des nanoparticules d'or

Une autre méthode pour la génération expérimentale de particules d'or est la sonolyse, où les ultrasons sont appliqués pour la synthèse de particules d'or d'un diamètre inférieur à 10 nm. En fonction des réactifs, la réaction sonolytique peut être conduite de différentes manières. Par exemple, la sonication d'une solution aqueuse de HAuCl4 avec le glucose, les radicaux hydroxyle et les radicaux de pyrolyse du sucre jouent le rôle d'agents réducteurs. Ces radicaux se forment dans la région interfaciale entre les cavités qui s'effondrent, créées par des ultrasons intenses, et l'eau en vrac. La morphologie des nanostructures d'or est constituée de nanorubans d'une largeur de 30 à 50 nm et d'une longueur de plusieurs micromètres. Ces rubans sont très flexibles et peuvent se plier avec des angles supérieurs à 90°. Lorsque le glucose est remplacé par la cyclodextrine, un oligomère du glucose, seules des particules d'or sphériques sont obtenues, ce qui suggère que le glucose est essentiel pour orienter la morphologie vers un ruban.

Protocole exemplaire pour la synthèse sonochimique de nano-or

Les matériaux précurseurs utilisés pour synthétiser les AuNPs recouverts de citrate comprennent HAuCl4de citrate de sodium et d'eau distillée. Afin de préparer l'échantillon, la première étape a consisté à dissoudre le HAuCl4 dans de l'eau distillée à une concentration de 0,03 M. Ensuite, la solution de HAuCl4 (2 mL) a été ajouté goutte à goutte à 20 mL de solution aqueuse de citrate de sodium 0.03 M. Pendant la phase de mélange, une sonde ultrasonique à haute densité (20 kHz) munie d'un pavillon ultrasonique a été insérée dans la solution pendant 5 min à une puissance de sondage de 17,9 W-cm2
(cf. Dhabey at al. 2020)

Synthèse de nanoceinture d'or par sonication

Ultrasonically synthesized gold nanobelts with single-crystalline morphology.Des nanobelts cristallins uniques (voir l'image TEM à gauche) peuvent être synthétisés par sonication d'une solution aqueuse de HAuCl4 en présence d'α-D-Glucose comme réactifs. Les nanobelts d'or synthétisés par voie soniochimique présentent une largeur moyenne de 30 à 50 nm et une longueur de plusieurs micromètres. La réaction ultrasonique pour la production de nanobelts d'or est simple, rapide et évite l'utilisation de substances toxiques. (cf. Zhang et al, 2006)

Des tensioactifs pour influencer la synthèse sonochimique des NPs d'or

L'application d'ultrasons intenses sur les réactions chimiques initie et favorise la conversion et les rendements. Afin d'obtenir une taille de particule uniforme et certaines formes / morphologies ciblées, le choix des tensioactifs est un facteur critique. L'ajout d'alcools permet également de contrôler la forme et la taille des particules. Par exemple, en présence d'a-d-glucose, les principales réactions dans le processus de sonolyse d'une solution aqueuse de HAuCl4 comme le montrent les équations suivantes (1-4) :
(1) H2 O -> H∙ + OH∙
(2) sucre -> radicaux de pyrolyse
(3) AIII + radicaux réducteurs -> Au0
(4) nAu0 -> AuNP (nanobelts)
(cf. Zhao et al., 2014)

Sonochemical reactor for industrial reactions such as synthesis and catalysis improved by high-intensity ultrasound.

Installation de réacteur chimique à ultrasons MSR-4 avec 4x ultrasoniseur 4kW (puissance totale des ultrasons de 16kW) pour les processus de production industrielle.

La puissance des ultrasons de type sonde

Ultrasonic probe-type device for sonochemical reactions such as the synthesis of gold nanoparticles via Turkevich method or sonolysis (bottom-up).Les sondes ou sonotrodes à ultrasons (également appelées cornets à ultrasons) délivrent des ultrasons de haute intensité et une cavitation acoustique sous une forme très focalisée dans des solutions chimiques. Cette transmission efficace et précisément contrôlable d'ultrasons de puissance permet d'obtenir des conditions fiables, précisément contrôlables et reproductibles, dans lesquelles les voies de réaction chimique peuvent être initiées, intensifiées et commutées. En revanche, un bain à ultrasons (également connu sous le nom de nettoyeur ou de cuve à ultrasons) délivre des ultrasons avec une densité de puissance très faible et des points de cavitation aléatoires dans un grand volume de liquide. Cela rend les bains à ultrasons peu fiables pour toute réaction sonochimique.
"Les bains de nettoyage par ultrasons ont une densité de puissance qui correspond à un faible pourcentage de celle générée par un cornet à ultrasons. L'utilisation des bains de nettoyage en sonochimie est limitée, étant donné qu'une taille et une morphologie de particules totalement homogènes ne sont pas toujours atteintes. Ceci est dû aux effets physiques des ultrasons sur les processus de nucléation et de croissance." (González-Mendoza et al. 2015)

Avantages de la synthèse de nano-or par ultrasons

  • une simple réaction en un seul point
  • haute efficacité
  • sûr
  • processus rapide
  • à bas prix
  • évolutivité linéaire
  • une chimie verte et respectueuse de l'environnement

Ultrasons à haute performance pour la synthèse de nanoparticules d'or

Hielscher Ultrasons fournit des processeurs à ultrasons puissants et fiables pour la synthèse sonochimique (sono-synthèse) de nanoparticules telles que les nanostructures en or et autres métaux nobles. L'agitation et la dispersion par ultrasons augmentent le transfert de masse dans les systèmes hétérogènes et favorisent le mouillage puis la nucléation des amas d'atomes afin de précipiter les nanoparticules. La synthèse par ultrasons de nanoparticules est une méthode simple, rentable, biocompatible, reproductible, rapide et sûre.
Hielscher Ultrasonics fournit des processeurs ultrasoniques puissants et contrôlables avec précision pour la formation de structures de taille nanométrique telles que les nanosheres, les nanorods, les nanobelts, les nanorubans, les nanoclusters, les particules core-shell, etc.
Nos clients apprécient les caractéristiques intelligentes des appareils numériques Hielscher, qui sont équipés d'un logiciel intelligent, d'un écran tactile coloré, d'un enregistrement automatique des données sur une carte SD intégrée et d'un menu intuitif pour un fonctionnement convivial et sûr.
Couvrant toute la gamme de puissance, depuis les ultrasons portatifs de 50 watts pour le laboratoire jusqu'aux puissants systèmes ultrasoniques industriels de 16 000 watts, Hielscher a la configuration ultrasonique idéale pour votre application. Les équipements sonochimiques pour la production en ligne par lots et en continu dans des réacteurs à flux continu sont disponibles dans toutes les tailles de paillasse et industrielles. La robustesse des équipements à ultrasons de Hielscher permet un fonctionnement 24 heures sur 24, 7 jours sur 7, dans des conditions difficiles et dans des environnements exigeants.

Demande d'information





Le tableau ci-dessous vous donne une indication de la capacité de traitement approximative de nos ultrasonicators:

lot Volume Débit Appareils recommandés
1 à 500 ml 10 à 200 ml / min UP100H
10 à 2000mL 20 à 400 ml / min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 20L 00,2 à 4L / min UIP2000hdT
10 à 100l 2 à 10 L / min UIP4000hdT
n / a. 10 à 100 litres / min UIP16000
n / a. plus grand groupe de UIP16000

Contactez nous! / Demandez nous!

Demander plus d'informations

Veuillez utiliser le formulaire ci-dessous pour demander des informations supplémentaires sur les processeurs à ultrasons, les applications et le prix. Nous serons heureux de discuter avec vous de votre processus et de vous proposer un système à ultrasons répondant à vos besoins !









Veuillez prendre note de notre Politique de confidentialité.




Ultrasonic high-shear homogenizers are used in lab, bench-top, pilot and industrial processing.

Hielscher Ultrasonics fabrique des homogénéisateurs ultrasoniques à haute performance pour des applications de mélange, de dispersion, d'émulsification et d'extraction à l'échelle du laboratoire, du pilote et de l'industrie.

Littérature / Références


High performance ultrasonics! Hielscher's product range covers the full spectrum from the compact lab ultrasonicator over bench-top units to full-industrial ultrasonic systems.

Hielscher Ultrasonics fabrique des homogénéisateurs à ultrasons de haute performance à partir d'une technologie de pointe. laboratoires à taille industrielle.

Efficient and Controlled Synthesis of Gold Nanoparticles

Gold nanoparticles of uniform shape and morphology can be efficiently synthesized via sonochemical route. The ultrasonically promoted chemical reaction of gold nanoparticle synthesis can be precisely controlled for particle size, shape (e.g., nanospheres, nanorods, nanobelts etc.) and morphology. The efficacious, simple, rapid and green chemical procedure allows for reliable production of gold nanostructures on industrial scale.

Gold Nanoparticles and Nanostructures

Gold nanoparticles and nano-sized structures are widely implemented in R&D and industrial processes due to the unique properties of nano-sized gold including electronic, magnetic, and optical characteristics, quantum size effects, surface plasmon resonance, high catalytic activity, self-assembly amongst other properties. The fields of application for gold nano-particles (Au-NPs) range from the use as catalyst to the manufacturing of nanoelectronic devices, as well as the use in imaging, nano-photonics, nanomagnetic, biosensors, chemical sensors, for optical and theranostic applications, drug delivery as well as other utilizations.

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


Ultrasonication improves the bottom-up synthesis of gold nanoparticles.

Probe-type ultrasonicators as the UP400St intensify the synthesis of gold nanoparticles. The sonochemical route is simple, efficacious, rapid and works with non-toxic chemicals under mild atmospheric conditions.

Methods of Gold Nanoparticle Synthesis

Nano-structured gold particles can be synthesized via various routes using high-performance ultrasonication. Ultrasonication is not only a simple, efficient and reliable technique, furthermore sonication creates conditions for the chemical reduction of gold ions without toxic or harsh chemical agents and enables for the formation of noble metal nanoparticles of different morphologies.The choice of route and sonochemical treatment (also known as sonosynthesis) allows to produce gold nanostructures such as gold nanosheres, nanorods, nanobelts etc. with uniform size and morphology.
Below you can find selected sonochemical paths for the preparation of gold nanoparticles.

Ultrasonically Improved Turkevich Method

Sonication is used to intensify the Turkevich citrate-reduction reaction as well as modified Turkevich procedures.
The Turkevich method produces modestly monodisperse spherical gold nanoparticles of around 10–20nm in diameter. Larger particles can be produced, but at the cost of monodispersity and shape. In this method, hot chloroauric acid is treated with sodium citrate solution, producing colloidal gold. The Turkevich reaction proceeds via formation of transient gold nanowires. These gold nanowires are responsible for the dark appearance of the reaction solution before it turns ruby-red.
Fuentes-García et al. (2020), who sonochemically synthesized gold nanoparticles, report that it is feasible to manufacture gold nanoparticles with high absorption interaction using ultrasonication as an only energy source, reducing laboratory requirements and controlling properties modifying simple parameters.
Lee et al. (2012) demonstrated that ultrasonic energy is a key parameter for producing spherical gold nanoparticles (AuNPs) of tunable sizes of 20 to 50 nm. The sonosynthesis via sodium citrate reduction produces monodisperse spherical gold nanoparticles in aqueous solution under atmospheric conditions.

The Turkevich-Frens Method using Ultrasound

A modification of the above described reaction path is the Turkevich-Frens method, which is a simple multiple-step process for the synthesis of gold nanoparticles. Ultrasonication promotes the Turkevich-Frens reaction pathway in the same manner as the Turkevich route. The initial step of Turkevich-Frens multiple-step process, where reactions occur in series and in parallel, is the oxidation of citrate that yields dicarboxy acetone. Then, the auric salt is reduced to aurous salt and Au0, and the aurous salt is assembled on the Au0 atoms to form the AuNP (see scheme below).

Gold nanoparticle synthesis via Turkevich method can be efficiently improved by the application of high-intensity ultrasound (sonochemistry).

Gold nanoparticle synthesis via Turkevich method.
scheme and study: ©Zhao et al., 2013

This means that dicarboxy acetone resulting from the oxidation of citrate rather than citrate itself is acting as the actual AuNP stabilizer in the Turkevich-Frens reaction. The citrate salt additionally modifies the pH of the system, which influences the size and size distribution of the gold nanoparticles (AuNPs). These conditions of the Turkevich-Frens reaction produce nearly monodisperse gold nanoparticles with particle sizes between 20 to 40nm. The exact particle size can be modified upon variation of the pH of the solution as well as by the ultrasonic parameters. Citrate-stabilized AuNPs are always larger than 10 nm, due to the limited reducing ability of trisodium citrate dihydrate. However, using D2O as the solvent instead of H2O during the synthesis of AuNPs allows to synthesize AuNPs with a particle size of 5 nm. As the addition of D2O increase the reducing strength of citrate, the combination of D2O and C6H9Na3O9. (cf. Zhao et al., 2013)

Sonochemical reactors with 2 high-power ultrasound probes (sonotrodes) for improved nanoparticle synthesis on industrial scale.

Sonochemical inline reactors allow for a precisely controlled synthesis of nanoparticles (e.g., AuNPs) on industrial scale. The picture shows two UIP1000hdT (1kW, 20kHz) ultrasonicators with flow cells.

Protocol for the Sonochemical Turkevich-Frens Route

In order to synthesize gold nanoparticles in a bottom-up procedure via Turkevich-Frens method, 50mL of chloroauric acid (HAuCl4), 0.025 mM is poured into a 100 mL glass beaker, into which 1 mL of 1.5% (w/v) aqueous solution of trisodium citrate (Na3Ct) is added under ultrasonication at room temperature. Ultrasonication was performed at 60W, 150W, and 210W. The Na3Ct/HAuCl4 ratio used in the samples is 3:1 (w/v). After ultrasonication, the colloidal solutions showed different colours, violet for 60 W and ruby-red for 150 and 210 W samples. Smaller sizes and more spherical clusters of gold nanoparticles were produced by increasing sonication power, according with the structural characterization. Fuentes-García et al. (2021) show in their investigations the strong influence of increasing sonication on particle size, polyhedral structure and optical properties of the sonochemically synthesized gold nanoparticles and the reaction kinetics for their formation. Both, gold nanoparticles with the size of 16nm and 12nm can be produced with a tailored sonochemical procedure. (Fuentes-García et al., 2021)

Gold nanoparticles can be efficiently synthesized via sonochemical route.

(a,b) TEM image and (c) size distribution of sonochemically synthesized gold nanoparticles (AuNPs)
Picture and study: © Dheyab et al., 2020.

Ultrasonically stirred reactor for sonochemical applications including bottom-up nanoparticle synthesis, catalytic reactions and many other.

Ultrasonically agitated reactor with the ultrasonicator UP200St for intensified nanoparticle synthesis (sonosynthesis).

Sonolysis of Gold Nanoparticles

Another method for the experimental generation of gold particles is by sonolysis, where ultrasound is applied for the synthesis of gold particles with a diameter of under 10 nm. Depending on the reagents, the sonolytic reaction can be run in various manners. For instance, sonication of an aqueous solution of HAuCl4 with glucose, hydroxyl radicals and sugar pyrolysis radicals act as the reducing agents. These radicals form at the interfacial region between the collapsing cavities created by intense ultrasound and the bulk water. The morphology of the gold nanostructures are nanoribbons with width 30–50 nm and length of several micrometers. These ribbons are very flexible and can bend with angles larger than 90°. When glucose is replaced by cyclodextrin, a glucose oligomer, only spherical gold particles are obtained, suggesting that glucose is essential in directing the morphology toward a ribbon.

Exemplary Protocol for Sonochemical Nano-Gold Synthesis

Precursor materials used to synthesize citrate-coated AuNPs include HAuCl4, sodium citrate and distilled water. In order to prepare the sample, the first step involved the dissolution of HAuCl4 in distilled water with a concentration of 0.03 M. Subsequently, the solution of HAuCl4 (2 mL) was added dropwise to 20 mL of aqueous 0.03 M sodium citrate solution. During the mixing phase, a high-density ultrasonic probe (20 kHz) with an ultrasonic horn was inserted into the solution for 5 min at a sounding power of 17.9 W·cm2
(cf. Dhabey at al. 2020)

Gold Nanobelt Synthesis using Sonication

Ultrasonically synthesized gold nanobelts with single-crystalline morphology.Single cristalline nanobelts (see TEM image left) can be synthesized via sonication of an aqueous solution of HAuCl4 in presence of α-D-Glucose as reagens. The soniochemically synthesized gold nanobelts show an average width of 30 to 50 nm and several micrometers length. The ultrasonic reaction for the production of gold nanobelts is simple, rapid and avoids the use of toxic substances. (cf. Zhang et al, 2006)

Surfactants to Influence Sonochemical Synthesis of Gold NPs

The application of intense ultrasound on chemical reactions initiates and promotes conversion and yields. In order to obtain uniform particle size and certain targeted shapes / morphologies, the choice of surfactants is a critical factor. The addition of alcohols also helps to control the particle shape and size. For example, in the presence of a-d-glucose, the major reactions in the sonolysis process of aqueous HAuCl4 as depicted in the following equations (1-4):
(1) H2 O —> H∙ + OH∙
(2) sugar —> pyrolysis radicals
(3) AIII + reducing radicals —> Au0
(4) nAu0 —> AuNP (nanobelts)
(cf. Zhao et al., 2014)

Sonochemical reactor for industrial reactions such as synthesis and catalysis improved by high-intensity ultrasound.

Ultrasonic chemical reactor setup MSR-4 with 4x 4kW ultrasonicator (total 16kW ultrasound power) for industrial production processes.

The Power of Probe-type Ultrasonicators


Ultrasonic probe-type device for sonochemical reactions such as the synthesis of gold nanoparticles via Turkevich method or sonolysis (bottom-up).Ultrasonic probes or sonotrodes (also called ultrasonic horns) deliver high-intensity ultrasound and acoustic cavitation in very focused form into chemical solutions. This precisely controllable and efficient transmission of power ultrasound allows for reliable, precisely controllable and reproducible conditions, where chemical reaction pathways can be initiated, intensified and switched. In contrast, an ultrasonic bath (also known as ultrasonic cleaner or tank) delivers ultrasound with very low power density and randomly occurring cavitation spots into a large liquid volume. This makes ultrasonic baths unreliable for any sonochemical reactions.
“Ultrasonic cleaning baths have a power density that corresponds to a small percentage of that generated by an ultrasonic horn. The use of cleaning baths in sonochemistry is limited, considering that fully homogeneous particle size and morphology is not always reached. This is due to the physical effects of ultrasound over nucleation and growing processes.” (González-Mendoza et al. 2015)

Advantages of Ultrasonic Nano-Gold Synthesis

  • simple one-pot reaction
  • high efficiency
  • safe
  • rapid process
  • low cost
  • linear scalability
  • environmental-friendly, green chemistry

High-Performance Ultrasonicators for the Synthesis of Gold Nanoparticles

Hielscher Ultrasonics supplies powerful and reliable ultrasonic processors for sonochemical synthesis (sono-synthesis) of nanoparticles such as gold and other noble metal nanostructures. Ultrasonic agitation and dispersion increases the mass transfer in heterogeneous systems and promotes the wetting and subsequent nucleation of atom clusters in order to precipitate nano-particles. Ultrasonic synthesis of nano-particles is a simple, cost-effective, biocompatible, reproducible, rapid, and safe method.
Hielscher Ultrasonics supplies powerful and precisely controllable ultrasonic processors for the formation of nano-sized structures such as nanosheres, nanorods, nanobelts, nano-ribbons, nanoclusters, core-shell particles etc.
Our customers value the smart features of Hielscher digital devices, which are equipped with intelligent software, coloured touch display, automatic data protocolling on a built-in SD-card and feature an intuitive menu for user-friendly and safe operation.
Covering the complete power range from 50 watts hand-held ultrasonicators for the lab up to 16,000 watts powerful industrial ultrasonic systems, Hielscher has the ideal ultrasonic setup for your application. Sonochemical equipment for batch and continuous inline production in flow-through reactors is readily available at any bench-top and industrial size. The robustness of Hielscher’s ultrasonic equipment allows for 24/7 operation at heavy duty and in demanding environments.

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


The table below gives you an indication of the approximate processing capacity of our ultrasonicators:

Batch Volume Flow Rate Recommended Devices
1 to 500mL 10 to 200mL/min UP100H
10 to 2000mL 20 to 400mL/min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 to 20L 0.2 to 4L/min UIP2000hdT
10 to 100L 2 to 10L/min UIP4000hdT
n.a. 10 to 100L/min UIP16000
n.a. larger cluster of UIP16000

Contact Us! / Ask Us!

Ask for more information

Please use the form below to request additional information about ultrasonic processors, applications and price. We will be glad to discuss your process with you and to offer you an ultrasonic system meeting your requirements!









Please note our privacy policy.




Ultrasonic high-shear homogenizers are used in lab, bench-top, pilot and industrial processing.

Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonic homogenizers for mixing applications, dispersion, emulsification and extraction on lab, pilot and industrial scale.

Literature / References


High performance ultrasonics! Hielscher's product range covers the full spectrum from the compact lab ultrasonicator over bench-top units to full-industrial ultrasonic systems.

Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonic homogenizers from lab to industrial size.