مفاعلات الخزانات المثارة باستمرار المهتاجة بالموجات فوق الصوتية

يتم تطبيق مفاعلات الدبابات التي يتم تحريكها باستمرار (CSTR) على نطاق واسع لمختلف التفاعلات الكيميائية بما في ذلك الحفز وكيمياء المستحلب والبوليمرة والتوليف والاستخراج والتبلور. حركة رد الفعل البطيء هي مشكلة شائعة في CSTR ، والتي يمكن التغلب عليها بسهولة من خلال تطبيق الموجات فوق الصوتية للطاقة. خلط مكثفة، والهياج والآثار سونوتشيميكال من الطاقة بالموجات فوق الصوتية تسريع الحركية رد فعل وتحسين معدل التحويل بشكل كبير. Ultrasonicators يمكن دمجها بسهولة في CSTRs من أي حجم.

لماذا تطبيق الطاقة بالموجات فوق الصوتية على مفاعل خزان أثار باستمرار؟

Ultrasonically intensified CSTR: Power-ultrasound prootes chemical reactions by intense agitation.إن مفاعل الخزانات الذي يتم تحريكه باستمرار (CSTR، أو ببساطة مفاعل الخزان الذي يتم تحريكه (STR)) هو في خصائصه الرئيسية مشابه تماما لمفاعل الدفعة. والفرق الرئيسي المهم هو أنه بالنسبة لإعداد مفاعل الخزان المستمر (CSTR) يجب توفير تغذية المواد في تدفق مستمر داخل وخارج المفاعل. يمكن تحقيق تغذية المفاعل عن طريق تدفق الجاذبية أو التدفق القسري للدوران باستخدام مضخة. يطلق على CSTR أحيانا مفاعل التدفق المختلط الخلفي (BMR).
تستخدم ال CSTRs عادة عند الحاجة إلى هياج سائلين أو أكثر. ويمكن استخدام هذه المفاعلات كمفاعل واحد أو تركيبها كسلسلة من التكوينات لتيارات تركيز مختلفة وخطوات رد فعل. وإلى جانب استخدام مفاعل خزان واحد، يتم استخدام التركيب التسلسلي لمختلف الخزانات (واحدة تلو الأخرى) أو الإعداد تتالي عادة.
لماذا Ultrasonication؟ ومن المعروف جيدا خلط الموجات فوق الصوتية والهياج، فضلا عن الآثار سونوتشيميكال من الموجات فوق الصوتية السلطة للمساهمة في كفاءة التفاعلات الكيميائية. تحسين خلط وخفض حجم الجسيمات بسبب الاهتزازات بالموجات فوق الصوتية والتجويف توفير الحركية المتسارعة بشكل ملحوظ ومعدل التحويل المحسن. يمكن أن توفر الآثار سونوتشيميكال الطاقة اللازمة لبدء التفاعلات الكيميائية، والتبديل المسارات الكيميائية، وإعطاء عوائد أعلى بسبب رد فعل أكثر اكتمالا.

يمكن استخدام CSTR المكثف بالموجات فوق الصوتية لتطبيقات مثل:

  • ردود فعل سائلة سائلة غير متجانسة
  • ردود فعل سائلة صلبة غير متجانسة
  • ردود فعل متجانسة في المرحلة السائلة
  • تفاعلات الغاز السائل غير المتجانسة
  • تفاعلات الغاز الصلب السائل غير المتجانسة

طلب معلومات





The ultrasonicator UP200St in a stirred vessel for emulsification of reactants

مفاعل خزان التحريك المستمر (CSTR) مع بالموجات فوق الصوتية UP200St لتكثيف العملية

Ultrasonication كنظام كيميائي اصطناعي عالي السرعة

الكيمياء الاصطناعية عالية السرعة هي تقنية رد فعل جديدة تستخدم لبدء وتكثيف التوليف الكيميائي. بالمقارنة مع مسارات التفاعل التقليدية، التي تحتاج إلى عدة ساعات أو أيام تحت الجزر، يمكن للمفاعلات التوليفية التي يتم الترويج لها بالموجات فوق الصوتية تقليل مدة التفاعل إلى بضع دقائق مما يؤدي إلى تفاعل توليفي متسارع كبير. ويستند تكثيف توليف بالموجات فوق الصوتية على مبدأ العمل من التجويف الصوتية والقوى ذات الصلة بما في ذلك التسخين المحصور محليا. تعرف على المزيد عن الموجات فوق الصوتية والتجويف الصوتي وقياس السونوتشيميستري في القسم التالي.

التجويف بالموجات فوق الصوتية وآثاره سونوتشيميكال

يحدث التجويف بالموجات فوق الصوتية (أو الصوتية) عندما يقترن الموجات فوق الصوتية السلطة في السوائل أو الطين. التجويف هو الانتقال من مرحلة سائلة إلى مرحلة بخار ، والتي تحدث بسبب انخفاض الضغط إلى مستوى توتر البخار في السائل.
التجويف بالموجات فوق الصوتية يخلق قوات القص عالية جدا والطائرات السائلة مع ما يصل إلى 1000m / ثانية. هذه الطائرات السائلة تسريع الجسيمات وتسبب الاصطدامات بين الجسيمات وبالتالي تقليل حجم الجسيمات من المواد الصلبة وقطرات. الاضافه الي ذلك – المترجمة داخل وعلى مقربة من فقاعة التجويف المنهارة – يتم توليد ضغوط عالية للغاية على ترتيب مئات من الاجواء ودرجات الحرارة على ترتيب آلاف من درجات كلفن.
على الرغم من ultrasonication هو أسلوب المعالجة الميكانيكية البحتة، فإنه يمكن أن تنتج ارتفاع درجة الحرارة القصوى محصورة محليا. ويرجع ذلك إلى القوى المكثفة المتولدة داخل وعلى مقربة من فقاعات التجويف المنهارة، حيث يمكن الوصول بسهولة إلى درجات حرارة عدة آلاف من الدرجات المئوية. في الحل السائبة ، فإن زيادة درجة الحرارة الناتجة عن انفجار فقاعة واحدة تكاد تكون ضئيلة ، ولكن تبديد الحرارة من العديد من فقاعات التجويف كما لوحظ في البقع الساخنة التجويف (كما تم إنشاؤها بواسطة sonication مع الموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الطاقة) يمكن أن يسبب في النهاية زيادات في درجة الحرارة القابلة للقياس في درجة الحرارة السائبة. ميزة ultrasonication وsonochemistry يكمن في آثار درجة الحرارة التي يمكن التحكم فيها أثناء المعالجة: يمكن تحقيق التحكم في درجة الحرارة من الحل السائبة باستخدام خزانات مع سترات التبريد وكذلك سونيكيشن نبضي. Hielscher Ultrasonics 'ultrasonicators متطورة يمكن وقفة الموجات فوق الصوتية عندما يتم التوصل إلى حد درجة الحرارة العليا والاستمرار في ultrasonication بمجرد أن يتم التوصل إلى قيمة أقل من مجموعة ∆T. وهذا مهم بشكل خاص عند استخدام المواد المتفاعلة الحساسة للحرارة.

سونوتشيميستري يحسن الحركية رد الفعل

Ultasonically intendified Continuous Stirred Tank Reactors (CSTR) are widely used in flow  chemistry. Ultrasonication improves amss transfer, accelerates slow reaction kinetics and promotes conversion rates and yields.منذ سونيكيشن يولد الاهتزازات المكثفة والتجويف، تتأثر الحركية الكيميائية. ترتبط حركية النظام الكيميائي ارتباطا وثيقا بتوسع فقاعة التجويف وانهيارها الداخلي ، حيث تؤثر على ديناميكيات حركة الفقاعة بشكل كبير. الغازات الذائبة في محلول التفاعل الكيميائي تؤثر على خصائص التفاعل السونوكيميائية عن طريق كل من الآثار الحرارية والآثار الكيميائية. التأثيرات الحرارية تؤثر على درجات الحرارة القصوى التي يتم الوصول إليها أثناء انهيار فقاعة داخل الفراغ التجويف; الآثار الكيميائية يعدل آثار الغازات، والتي تشارك مباشرة في رد فعل.
ردود الفعل غير المتجانسة والمتجانسة مع الحركية رد فعل بطيء بما في ذلك ردود الفعل اقتران سوزوكي، هطول الأمطار، التبلور وكيمياء مستحلب هي مقدر أن تبدأ وتعزيزها من خلال الموجات فوق الصوتية السلطة وآثارها سونوتشيميكال.
على سبيل المثال، لتركيب حمض فيروليك، سونيكيشن منخفض التردد (20 كيلوهرتز) في قوة 180 واط أعطى 94٪ غلة حمض الفيروليك في 60 درجة مئوية في 3 ساعة. هذه النتائج التي أجرتها Truong et al. (2018) تثبت أن استخدام التردد المنخفض (نوع القرن والتشعيع عالي الطاقة) أدى إلى تحسين معدل التحويل بشكل كبير مما أعطى عوائد أعلى من 90٪.

طلب معلومات





Continuously Stirred Tank Reactors (CSTR) can be significantly improved by the application of power ultrasound. Ultrasonic agitation and sonochemical effects accelerate slow reaction kinetics and promote chemical conversion rates.

مفاعل خزان التحريك المستمر (CSTR) مع جهاز الموجات فوق الصوتية المتكامل UIP2000hdT (2kW، 20kHz) لتحسين الحركية ومعدلات التحويل.

الكيمياء المستحلب المكثفة بالموجات فوق الصوتية

ردود الفعل غير المتجانسة مثل الكيمياء مستحلب يستفيد بشكل كبير من تطبيق الموجات فوق الصوتية السلطة. التجويف بالموجات فوق الصوتية تقلص ووزعت قطرات من كل مرحلة بشكل متجانس داخل بعضها البعض خلق مستحلب نانو أو شبه ميكرون. نظرا لأن قطرات النانو الحجم توفر مساحة سطحية متزايدة بشكل كبير للتفاعل مع قطرات مختلفة ، يتم تحسين معدل النقل الجماعي والتفاعل بشكل كبير. تحت sonication ، تظهر ردود الفعل المعروفة بحركية بطيئة عادة معدلات تحويل محسنة بشكل كبير ، وعوائد أعلى ، ومنتجات الثانوية أقل أو النفايات وكفاءة عامة أفضل. غالبا ما يتم تطبيق كيمياء مستحلب محسنة بالموجات فوق الصوتية لبوليمرات المستحلبات ، على سبيل المثال ، لإنتاج خلطات البوليمر والمواد اللاصقة المنقولة بالمياه والبوليمرات المتخصصة.

10 أشياء يجب أن تعرفها، قبل شراء مفاعل كيميائي

عند اختيار مفاعل كيميائي لعملية كيميائية هناك العديد من العوامل التي تؤثر على التصميم الأمثل للمفاعل الكيميائي. إذا كانت العملية الكيميائية الخاصة بك تنطوي على تفاعلات كيميائية متعددة المراحل وغير متجانسة ولها حركية تفاعل بطيء ، فإن تحريض المفاعل وتنشيط العملية هي عوامل مؤثرة أساسية لتحويل كيميائي ناجح وتكاليف اقتصادية (تشغيلية) للمفاعل الكيميائي.
Ultrasonication يحسن حركية التفاعل من التفاعلات الكيميائية السائلة السائلة والسائلة الصلبة في مفاعلات الدفعات الكيميائية وأوعية التفاعل المضمنة بشكل كبير. وبالتالي، فإن دمج المسابير بالموجات فوق الصوتية في مفاعل كيميائي يمكن أن يقلل من تكاليف المفاعل وتحسين الكفاءة الشاملة وجودة المنتج النهائي.
في كثير من الأحيان، تفتقر هندسة المفاعلات الكيميائية إلى المعرفة حول تعزيز العملية بمساعدة بالموجات فوق الصوتية. دون معرفة عميقة حول تأثير الموجات فوق الصوتية السلطة، والهياج بالموجات فوق الصوتية، والتجويف الصوتي والآثار سونوتشيميكال على أداء المفاعل الكيميائي، وتحليل المفاعل الكيميائي وأساسيات التصميم التقليدية يمكن أن تسفر عن نتائج أدنى فقط. أدناه، سوف تحصل على نظرة عامة على الفوائد الأساسية للفوق صوتيات لتصميم المفاعل الكيميائي والتحسين.

مزايا مفاعل الخزانات المستمر المكثف بالموجات فوق الصوتية (CSTR)

  • المفاعلات المحسنة بالموجات فوق الصوتية للمختبر والإنتاج:
    قابلية التوسع السهلة: المعالجات بالموجات فوق الصوتية متاحة بسهولة لحجم المختبر والإنتاج التجريبي وعلى نطاق واسع
    قابلة للاستنساخ / قابلة للتكرار النتائج بسبب المعلمات بالموجات فوق الصوتية التي يمكن التحكم فيها بدقة
    القدرة وسرعة التفاعلردود الفعل المكثفة بالموجات فوق الصوتية هي أسرع وبالتالي أكثر اقتصادا (انخفاض التكاليف)
  • سونوتشيميستري ينطبق على الأغراض العامة وكذلك الخاصة
  • – التكيف & تعدد الاستخدامات، على سبيل المثال، خيارات التثبيت والإعداد المرنة والاستخدام متعدد التخصصات

  • Ultrasonication يمكن استخدامها في بيئات متفجرة
    – تطهير (على سبيل المثال، بطانية النيتروجين)
    – لا سطح مفتوح
  • تنظيف بسيط: التنظيف الذاتي (CIP – نظيفة في مكان)
  • اختر المواد المفضلة لديك من البناء
    – زجاج، الفولاذ المقاوم للصدأ، التيتانيوم
    – لا الأختام الدوارة
    – مجموعة واسعة من المواد المانعة للتسرب
  • Ultrasonicators يمكن استخدامها في مجموعة واسعة من درجات الحرارة
  • Ultrasonicators يمكن استخدامها في مجموعة واسعة من الضغوط
  • تأثير التآزر مع التكنولوجيات الأخرى، على سبيل المثال، الكيمياء الكهربائية (سونو-الكيمياء الكهربائية)، والحفز (سونو-الحفز)، تبلور (سونو بلورة) الخ.
  • سونيكيشن مثالية لتعزيز المفاعلات الحيوية، على سبيل المثال، التخمير.
  • حل / حل: في عمليات الانحلال، تمر الجسيمات من مرحلة إلى أخرى، على سبيل المثال عندما تذوب الجسيمات الصلبة في السائل. وتبين أن درجة الهياج تؤثر على سرعة العملية. العديد من بلورات صغيرة تذوب أسرع بكثير تحت التجويف بالموجات فوق الصوتية من واحد في المفاعلات دفعة أثار تقليديا. وهنا أيضا يكمن سبب السرعات المختلفة في معدلات نقل الكتلة المختلفة على أسطح الجسيمات. على سبيل المثال ، يتم تطبيق ultrasonication بنجاح لإنشاء حلول فائقة التشبع ، على سبيل المثال ، في عمليات التبلور (سونو بلورة).
  • Ultrasonically روجت استخراج الكيميائية:
    – السائل الصلب، مثل استخراج النباتية، استخراج المواد الكيميائية
    – السائل السائل: عندما يتم تطبيق الموجات فوق الصوتية على نظام استخراج السائل والسائل، يتم إنشاء مستحلب من واحدة من المراحل في الآخر. هذا التكوين من مستحلب يؤدي إلى زيادة المناطق بين البينية بين المرحلتين لا يمكن التخلص منها مما أدى إلى تدفق نقل كتلة معززة بين المراحل.

كيف سونيكيشن تحسين التفاعلات الكيميائية في مفاعلات خزان أثار؟

  • أكبر مساحة سطح الاتصال: في ردود الفعل بين المتفاعلين في مراحل غير متجانسة ، يمكن فقط للجسيمات التي تصطدم مع بعضها البعض في الواجهة التفاعل. كلما كانت الواجهة أكبر، كلما حدثت تصادمات أكثر. كما يتم تقسيم جزء سائل أو صلب من مادة إلى قطرات أصغر أو جزيئات صلبة معلقة في سائل المرحلة المستمرة، ومساحة سطح هذه المادة يزيد. وعلاوة على ذلك، ونتيجة لانخفاض الحجم، يزداد عدد الجسيمات وبالتالي ينخفض متوسط المسافة بين هذه الجسيمات. وهذا يحسن من التعرض للمرحلة المستمرة إلى مرحلة مشتتة. لذلك ، يزيد معدل التفاعل مع درجة تجزؤ مرحلة التفرق. تظهر العديد من التفاعلات الكيميائية في التشتت أو المستحلبات تحسينات جذرية في سرعة التفاعل نتيجة لانخفاض حجم الجسيمات بالموجات فوق الصوتية.
  • الحفز (تنشيط الطاقة): المحفزات ذات أهمية كبيرة في العديد من التفاعلات الكيميائية، في تطوير المختبر والإنتاج الصناعي. غالبا ما تكون المحفزات في مرحلة صلبة أو سائلة وغير قابلة للاختلاط مع تفاعل واحد أو جميع المتفاعلين. وبالتالي ، في كثير من الأحيان ، والحفز هو تفاعل كيميائي غير متجانس. في إنتاج أهم المواد الكيميائية الأساسية مثل حمض الكبريتيك والأمونيا وحمض النيتريك والإيثين والميثانول ، تلعب المحفزات دورا مهما. وتستند مجالات واسعة من التكنولوجيا البيئية على العمليات الحفازة. يؤدي تصادم الجسيمات إلى تفاعل كيميائي ، أي إعادة تجميع الذرات ، فقط إذا اصطدمت الجسيمات بالطاقة الحركية الكافية. Ultrasonication هو وسيلة فعالة للغاية لزيادة الحركية في المفاعلات الكيميائية. في عملية الحفز غير المتجانسة ، يمكن أن تؤدي إضافة الفوق صوتيات إلى تصميم مفاعل كيميائي إلى تقليل متطلبات المحفز. وهذا يمكن أن يؤدي إلى استخدام أقل حافزا أو أدنى، والمحفزات أقل نبلا.
  • ارتفاع وتيرة الاتصال / تحسين نقل الكتلة: خلط الموجات فوق الصوتية والهياج هو وسيلة فعالة للغاية لتوليد قطرات دقيقة والجسيمات (أي، دون ميكرون والجسيمات النانوية)، والتي توفر سطح نشط أعلى لردود الفعل. في ظل التحريض المكثف الإضافي والحركة الدقيقة الناجمة عن الموجات فوق الصوتية للطاقة ، يتم زيادة وتيرة الاتصال بين الجسيمات بشكل كبير مما يؤدي إلى معدل تحويل محسن بشكل كبير.
  • البلازما المضغوطة: بالنسبة للعديد من ردود الفعل، تؤدي زيادة 10 كلفن في درجة حرارة المفاعل إلى مضاعفة معدل التفاعل تقريبا. التجويف بالموجات فوق الصوتية تنتج النقاط الساخنة التفاعلية للغاية المترجمة تصل إلى 5000K داخل السائل، دون تسخين كبير من حجم السائل العام في المفاعل الكيميائي.
  • الطاقة الحرارية: أي طاقة بالموجات فوق الصوتية التي تضيفها إلى تصميم مفاعل كيميائي، سيتم تحويلها أخيرا إلى طاقة حرارية. لذلك، يمكنك إعادة استخدام الطاقة للعملية الكيميائية. بدلا من مدخلات الطاقة الحرارية بواسطة عناصر التدفئة أو البخار، ultrasonication يدخل عملية تفعيل الطاقة الميكانيكية عن طريق الاهتزازات عالية التردد. في المفاعل الكيميائي، وهذا ينتج التجويف بالموجات فوق الصوتية التي نشطت العملية الكيميائية على مستويات متعددة. وأخيرا القص بالموجات فوق الصوتية هائلة من المواد الكيميائية النتائج التحويل إلى الطاقة الحرارية، أي الحرارة. يمكنك استخدام مفاعلات الدفعات المكواة أو المفاعلات المضمنة في التبريد من أجل الحفاظ على درجة حرارة ثابتة لتفاعلك الكيميائي.

أجهزة الموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الأداء لتحسين التفاعلات الكيميائية في CSTR

Hielscher Ultrasonics تصاميم وتصنيع وتوزيع التجانسات عالية الأداء بالموجات فوق الصوتية والمشتتات للاندماج في مفاعلات الدبابات التي أثارها المستمر (CSTR). Hielscher ultrasonicators تستخدم في جميع أنحاء العالم لتعزيز وتكثيف وتسريع وتحسين التفاعلات الكيميائية.
HIELSCHER الفوق’ المعالجات بالموجات فوق الصوتية متوفرة في أي حجم من أجهزة مختبر صغير لمعالجات صناعية كبيرة لتطبيقات الكيمياء تدفق. تعديل دقيق للسعه بالموجات فوق الصوتية (وهو المعلمة الأكثر أهمية) يسمح لتشغيل Hielscher ultrasonicators في السعة منخفضة إلى عالية جدا وصقل السعة بالضبط لظروف عملية الموجات فوق الصوتية المطلوبة من نظام التفاعل الكيميائي محددة.
مولد Hielscher بالموجات فوق الصوتية ميزة برنامج ذكي مع بروتوكول البيانات التلقائي. يتم تخزين جميع معلمات المعالجة الهامة مثل الطاقة بالموجات فوق الصوتية ودرجة الحرارة والضغط والوقت تلقائيا على بطاقة SD مدمجة بمجرد تشغيل الجهاز.
إن مراقبة العملية وتسجيل البيانات أمران مهمان للتوحيد المستمر للعمليات وجودة المنتج. من خلال الوصول إلى بيانات العملية المسجلة تلقائيًا ، يمكنك مراجعة عمليات sonication السابقة وتقييم النتيجة.
ميزة أخرى سهلة الاستخدام هي جهاز التحكم عن بعد المتصفح من أنظمة الموجات فوق الصوتية الرقمية لدينا. عن طريق التحكم في المتصفح البعيد يمكنك بدء وإيقاف وضبط ومراقبة المعالج بالموجات فوق الصوتية عن بعد من أي مكان.
اتصل بنا الآن لمعرفة المزيد عن لدينا عالية الأداء التجانس بالموجات فوق الصوتية يمكن تحسين مفاعل خزان الخاص أثار باستمرار (CSTR)!
الجدول أدناه يعطيك مؤشرا على قدرة المعالجة التقريبية لultrasonicators لدينا:

دفعة حجم معدل المد و الجزر الأجهزة الموصى بها
1 إلى 500ML 10 إلى 200ML / دقيقة UP100H
10 إلى 2000ML 20 إلى 400ML / دقيقة Uf200 ः ر، UP400St
00.1 إلى 20L 00.2 إلى 4L / دقيقة UIP2000hdT
10 إلى 100L 2 إلى 10L / دقيقة UIP4000hdT
زمالة المدمنين المجهولين 10 إلى 100L / دقيقة UIP16000
زمالة المدمنين المجهولين أكبر مجموعة من UIP16000

اتصل بنا! / اسألنا!

اطلب المزيد من المعلومات

يرجى استخدام النموذج أدناه لطلب معلومات إضافية حول المعالجات بالموجات فوق الصوتية والتطبيقات والسعر. سنكون سعداء لمناقشة العملية الخاصة بك معك ونقدم لكم نظام الموجات فوق الصوتية تلبية الاحتياجات الخاصة بك!









يرجى ملاحظة لدينا سياسة الخصوصية.


Ultrasonic high-shear homogenizers are used in lab, bench-top, pilot and industrial processing.

Hielscher الفوق صوتيات بتصنيع عالية الأداء المجانسة بالموجات فوق الصوتية لخلط التطبيقات، تشتت، استحلاب واستخراج على المختبر، والطيارية ومقياس الصناعية.

الأدب / المراجع



حقائق تستحق العلم

الإثارة بالموجات فوق الصوتية في المفاعلات الكيميائية تنتج نتائج أفضل من مفاعل دبابة التحريك المستمر التقليدية أو مفاعل batchmix. الهياج بالموجات فوق الصوتية تنتج المزيد من القص ونتائج أكثر استنساخا من المفاعلات النفاثة أثار، وذلك بسبب خلط السائل أفضل وتجهيزها في خزان المفاعل أو في مفاعل التدفق.


High performance ultrasonics! Hielscher's product range covers the full spectrum from the compact lab ultrasonicator over bench-top units to full-industrial ultrasonic systems.

Hielscher الفوق صوتيات بتصنيع عالية الأداء المجانسة بالموجات فوق الصوتية من مختبر إلى حجم الصناعية.

Continuously Stirred-Tank Reactors Agitated with Ultrasound

Continuously stirred tank reactors (CSTR) are widely applied for various chemical reactions including catalysis, emulsion chemistry, polymerization, synthesis, extraction and crystallization. Slow reaction kinetics is a common problem in CSTR, which can easily be overcome by the application of power-ultrasonication. The intense mixing, agitation and the sonochemical effects of power-ultrasound accelerate reaction kinetics and improve the conversion rate significantly. Ultrasonicators can be easily integrated into CSTRs of any volume.

Why Applying Power-Ultrasound to a Continuously Stirred Tank Reactor?

Ultrasonically intensified CSTR: Power-ultrasound prootes chemical reactions by intense agitation.A Continuously Stirred Tank Reactor (CSTR, or simply stirred tank reactor (STR)) is in its principal characteristics quite similar to the batch reactor. The major important difference is that, for the continuous stirred tank reactor (CSTR) setup the feed of material must be provided in continuous flow into and out of the reactor. Feeding the reactor can be achieved by gravity flow or forced-circulation flow using a pump. The CSTR is sometimes called a back-mixed flow reactor (BMR).
CSTRs are commonly used when agitation of two or more liquids is required. CSTRs can be used as single reactor or be installed as a series of configurations for different concentration streams and reaction steps. Besides the use of a single tank reactor, the serial installation of various tanks (one after each other) or the cascade setup are commonly used.
Why Ultrasonication? Ultrasonic mixing and agitation as well as the sonochemical effects of power ultrasound are well known to contribute to the efficiency of chemical reactions. The improved mixing and particle size reduction due to ultrasonic vibrations and cavitation provide a significantly accelerated kinetics and enhanced conversion rate. Sonochemical effects can deliver the necessary energy to initiate chemical reactions, switch chemical pathways, and give higher yields due to a more complete reaction.

Ultrasonically-intensified CSTR can be used for applications such as:

  • Heterogeneous liquid-liquid reactions
  • Heterogeneous solid-liquid reactions
  • Homogeneous liquid-phase reactions
  • Heterogeneous gas-liquid reactions
  • Heterogeneous gas-solid-liquid reactions

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


The ultrasonicator UP200St in a stirred vessel for emulsification of reactants

Continuously stirred tank reactor (CSTR) with ultrasonicator UP200St for process intensification

Ultrasonication as High-Speed Synthetic Chemical System

High-speed synthetic chemistry is a novel reaction technique used to initiate and intensify chemical synthesis. In comparison to traditional reaction pathways, which need several hours or days under reflux, ultrasonically-promoted synthesis reactors can minimize reaction duration to a few minutes resulting in a significant accelerated synthesis reaction. Ultrasonic synthesis intensification is based on the working principle of acoustic cavitation and its related forces including locally confined superheating. Learn more about ultrasound, acoustic cavitation and sonochemistry in the next section.

Ultrasonic Cavitation and its Sonochemical Effects

Ultrasonic (or acoustic) cavitation occurs when power ultrasound is coupled into liquids or slurries. Cavitation is the transition from a liquid phase into a vapour phase, which occurs due to a pressure drop down to the level of the vapour tension of the fluid.
Ultrasonic cavitation creates very high shear forces and liquid jets with up to 1000m/s. These liquid jets accelerate particle and cause inter-particle collisions thereby reducing the particle size of solids and droplets. Additionally – localized within and in close proximity of the imploding cavitation bubble – extremely high pressures on the order of hundreds of atmospheres and temperatures on the order of thousands of degrees Kelvin are generated.
Although ultrasonication is a purely mechanical processing method, it can produce a locally confined extreme temperature rise. This is due to the intense forces generated within and in close proximity to the collapsing cavitation bubbles, where easily temperatures of several thousands of degrees Celsius can be reached. In the bulk solution, the temperature increase resulting from a single bubble implosion is almost negligible, but the heat dissipation from numerous cavitation bubbles as observed in cavitation hot-spots (as generated by sonication with high-power ultrasound) can finally cause a measurable temperature increases in the bulk temperature. The advantage of ultrasonication and sonochemistry lies in the controllable temperature effects during processing: Temperature control of the bulk solution can be achieved by using tanks with cooling jackets as well as pulsed sonication. Hielscher Ultrasonics’ sophisticated ultrasonicators can pause the the ultrasound when an upper temperature limit is reached and continue with the ultrasonication as soon as the lower value of a set ∆T is reached. This is especially important when heat-sensitive reactants are used.

Sonochemistry Improves Reaction Kinetics

Ultasonically intendified Continuous Stirred Tank Reactors (CSTR) are widely used in flow  chemistry. Ultrasonication improves amss transfer, accelerates slow reaction kinetics and promotes conversion rates and yields.Since sonication generates intense vibrations and cavitation, chemical kinetics are affected. The kinetics of a chemical system correlates closely with the cavitation bubble expansion and implosion, whereby impacting the dynamics of bubble motion significantly. Dissolved gases in the chemical reaction solution affect the characteristics of a sonochemical reaction via both, thermal effects and chemical effects. The thermal effects influence the peak temperatures which are reached during bubble collapse within the cavitation void; the chemical effects modifies the effects of gases, which are directly involved in a reaction.
Heterogeneous and homogeneous reactions with slow reaction kinetics including Suzuki coupling reactions, precipitation, crystallization and emulsion chemistry are predestined to be initiated and promoted through power-ultrasound and its sonochemical effects.
For instance, for the synthesis of ferulic acid, low-frequency (20kHz) sonication at a power of 180 W gave a 94% ferulic acid yield at 60°C in 3 h. These results by Truong et al. (2018) demonstrate that the use of low frequency (horn type and high-power irradiation) improved the conversion rate significantly giving yields higher than 90%.

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


Continuously Stirred Tank Reactors (CSTR) can be significantly improved by the application of power ultrasound. Ultrasonic agitation and sonochemical effects accelerate slow reaction kinetics and promote chemical conversion rates.

Continuously Stirred Tank Reactor (CSTR) with integrated ultrasonicator UIP2000hdT (2kW, 20kHz) for improved kinetics and conversion rates.

Ultrasonically Intensified Emulsion Chemistry

Heterogeneous reactions such as emulsion chemistry benefits significantly from the application of power ultrasound. Ultrasonic cavitation diminished and distributed the droplets of each phase homogeneously within each other creating a sub-micron or nano-emulsion. Since the nano-sized droplets offer a drastically increased surface area to interact with different droplets, mass transfer and reaction rate are significantly improved. Under sonication, reactions known for their typically slow kinetics show dramatically improved conversion rates, higher yields, less by-products or waste and better overall efficiency. Ultrasonically improved emulsion chemistry is often applied for emulsions polymerization, e.g., to produce polymer blends, water-borne adhesives and specialty polymers.

10 Things You Should Know, Before You Buy A Chemical Reactor

When you choose a chemical reactor for a chemical process there are many factors to that influence the optimum chemical reactor design. If your chemical process involves multi-phase, heterogeneous chemical reactions and has slow reaction kinetics, reactor agitation and process activation are essential influencing factors for successful chemical conversion and for economical (operational) costs of the chemical reactor.
Ultrasonication improves the reaction kinetics of liquid-liquid and liquid-solid chemical reactions in chemical batch reactors and inline reaction vessels significantly. Hence, the integration of ultrasonic probes in a chemical reactor can reduce reactor costs and improve overall efficiency and the quality of the final product.
Very often, chemical reactor engineering lacks the knowledge about ultrasonically-assisted process enhancement. Without profound knowledge about the influence of power ultrasound, ultrasonic agitation, acoustic cavitation and sonochemical effects on chemical reactor performance, chemical reactor analysis and conventional design fundamentals can produce only inferior results. Below, you will get an overview over the fundamental benefits of ultrasonics for chemical reactor design and optimization.

The Advantages of Ultrasonically Intensified Continuous Stirred Tank Reactor (CSTR)

  • Ultrasonically enhanced reactors for lab and production:
    Easy scalability: Ultrasonic processors are readily available for lab size, pilot and large-scale production
    Reproducible / repeatable results due to precisely controllable ultrasonic parameters
    Capacity and reaction speed: ultrasonically intensified reactions are faster and thereby more economical (lower costs)
  • Sonochemistry is applicable for general as well as special purposes
  • – adaptability & versatility, e.g., flexible installation and setup options and interdisciplinary use

  • Ultrasonication can be used in explosive environments
    – purging (e.g., nitrogen blanket)
    – no open surface
  • Simple cleaning: self cleaning (CIP – clean-in-place)
  • Choose your preferred materials of construction
    – glass, stainless steel, titanium
    – no rotary seals
    – wide choice of sealants
  • Ultrasonicators can be used in a wide range of temperatures
  • Ultrasonicators can be used at a wide range of pressures
  • Synergistic effect with other technologies, e.g., electrochemistry (sono-electrochemistry), catalysis (sono-catalysis), crystallization (sono-crystallization) etc.
  • Sonication is ideal to enhance bioreactors, e.g., fermentation.
  • Dissolution / Dissolving: In dissolution processes, particles pass from one phase to the other, e.g. when solid particles dissolve in a liquid. It is found that the degree of agitation influences the speed of the process. Many small crystals dissolve much faster under ultrasonic cavitation than one in conventionally stirred batch reactors. Here, too, the reason for different speeds lies in the different mass transfer rates at particle surfaces. For instance, ultrasonication is successfully applied to create supersaturated solutions, e.g., in crystallization processes (sono-crystallization).
  • Ultrasonically-promoted chemical Extraction:
    – Liquid-Solid, e.g. botanical extraction, chemical extraction
    – Liquid-Liquid: When ultrasound is applied to a liquid–liquid extraction system, an emulsion of one of the phases in the other is created. This formation of emulsion leads to increased interfacial areas between the two immiscible phases resulting in an enhanced mass transfer flux between the phases.

How Does Sonication Improve Chemical Reactions in Stirred Tank Reactors?

  • Larger Contact Surface Area: In reactions between reactants in heterogeneous phases, only the particles that collide with each other at the interface can react. The larger the interface, the more collisions can occur. As a liquid or solid portion of a substance is broken into smaller droplets or solid particles suspended in a continuous phase liquid, the surface area of this substance increases. Furthermore, as a result of the size reduction, the number of particles increases and therefore the average distance between these particles decreases. This improves the exposure of the continuous phase to the dispersed phase. Therefore, the reaction rate increases with the degree of fragmentation of the disperse phase. Many chemical reactions in dispersions or emulsions show drastic improvements in reaction speed as a result of ultrasonic particle size reduction.
  • Catalysis (Activation Energy): Catalysts are of great importance in many chemical reactions, in lab development and in industrial production. Often catalysts are in solid or liquid phase and immiscible with one reactant or all reactants. Hence, more often than not, catalysis is a heterogeneous chemical reaction. In the production of the most important basic chemicals such as sulfuric acid, ammonia, nitric acid, ethene and methanol, catalysts play an important role. Large areas of environmental technology are based on catalytic processes. A collision of particles leads to a chemical reaction, i.e. a regrouping of atoms, only if the particles collide with sufficient kinetic energy. Ultrasonication is a highly efficient means to increase the kinetics in chemical reactors. In a heterogeneous catalysis process, the addition of ultrasonics to a chemical reactor design can lower the requirement for a catalyst. This can result in the use of less catalyst or inferior, less noble catalysts.
  • Higher frequency of contact / Improved mass transfer: Ultrasonic mixing and agitation is a highly efficacious method to generate minute droplets and particles (i.e., sub-micron and nano-particles), which offer a higher active surface for reactions. Under the additional intense agitation and micro-movement caused by power-ultrasound, the frequency of inter-particle contact is drastically increased resulting in a significantly improved conversion rate.
  • Compressed plasma: For many reactions, a 10 Kelvin increase in reactor temperature causes the reaction rate to roughly double. Ultrasonic cavitation produces localized highly reactive hotspots of up to 5000K within the liquid, without substantial heating of the overall liquid volume in the chemical reactor.
  • Thermal energy: Any ultrasonic energy that you add to a chemical reactor design, will finally be converted into thermal energy. Therefore, you can reuse the energy for the chemical process. Instead of a thermal energy input by heating elements or steam, ultrasonication introduces a process activating mechanical energy by means of high-frequency vibrations. In the chemical reactor, this produces ultrasonic cavitation that activated the chemical process on multiple levels. Finally the immense ultrasonic shearing of the chemicals results the conversion to thermal energy, i.e. heat. You can use jacketed batch reactors or inline reactors for cooling in order to maintain a constant process temperature for your chemical reaction.

High-Performance Ultrasonicators for Improved Chemical Reactions in CSTR

Hielscher Ultrasonics designs, manufactures and distributes high-performance ultrasonic homogenizers and dispersers for the integration into continuous stirred tank reactors (CSTR). Hielscher ultrasonicators are used world-wide to promote, intensify, accelerate and improve chemical reactions.
Hielscher Ultrasonics’ ultrasonic processors are available at any size from small lab devices to large industrial processors for flow chemistry applications. Precise adjustment of the ultrasonic amplitude (which is the most important parameter) allows to operate Hielscher ultrasonicators at low to very high amplitudes and to fine-tune the amplitude exactly to the required ultrasonic process conditions of the specific chemical reaction system.
Hielscher’s ultrasonic generator feature a smart software with automatic data protocolling. All important processing parameters such as ultrasonic energy, temperature, pressure and time are automatically stored onto a built-in SD-card as soon as the device is switched on.
Process monitoring and data recording are important for continuous process standardization and product quality. By accessing the automatically recorded process data, you can revise previous sonication runs and evaluate the outcome.
Another user-friendly feature is the browser remote control of our digital ultrasonic systems. Via remote browser control you can start, stop, adjust and monitor your ultrasonic processor remotely from anywhere.
Contact us now to learn more about our high-performance ultrasonic homogenizers can improve your continuously stirred tank reactor (CSTR)!
The table below gives you an indication of the approximate processing capacity of our ultrasonicators:

Batch Volume Flow Rate Recommended Devices
1 to 500mL 10 to 200mL/min UP100H
10 to 2000mL 20 to 400mL/min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 to 20L 0.2 to 4L/min UIP2000hdT
10 to 100L 2 to 10L/min UIP4000hdT
n.a. 10 to 100L/min UIP16000
n.a. larger cluster of UIP16000

Contact Us! / Ask Us!

Ask for more information

Please use the form below to request additional information about ultrasonic processors, applications and price. We will be glad to discuss your process with you and to offer you an ultrasonic system meeting your requirements!









Please note our privacy policy.


Ultrasonic high-shear homogenizers are used in lab, bench-top, pilot and industrial processing.

Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonic homogenizers for mixing applications, dispersion, emulsification and extraction on lab, pilot and industrial scale.

Literature / References



Facts Worth Knowing

Ultrasonic agitation in chemical reactors produces better results than a conventional continuous stirred tank reactor or batchmix reactor. The ultrasonic agitation produces more shear and more reproducible results than jet stirred reactors, due to better liquid mixing and processing in the reactor tank or in the flow reactor.


High performance ultrasonics! Hielscher's product range covers the full spectrum from the compact lab ultrasonicator over bench-top units to full-industrial ultrasonic systems.

Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonic homogenizers from lab to industrial size.