Hielscher تكنولوجيا الموجات فوق الصوتية

خلط بالموجات فوق الصوتية من تجديد الأسفلت

  • تتيح القائمات بإصلاح الأسفلت وتجديد المنشآت إعادة تدوير الأرصفة الأسفلتية الموجودة من خلال تطبيق عوامل تجديد المنشآت على مواد البناء.
  • المشتتات بالموجات فوق الصوتية هي تقنية قوية لخلط الجسيمات النانوية وقطرات نانو في الأسفلت والمستحلبات البيتومين.
  • يتم استخدام الموجات فوق الصوتية السلطة لتصنيع إضافات عالية الأداء للأرصفة دائم على المدى الطويل.

 

إعادة تأهيل الأسفلت

خلط بالموجات فوق الصوتية من إضافات الأسفلتوقد فقدت الأسفلت المجوية والمجففة والمتشققة والمتشققة زيوت القطران الأصلية وتضررت من الأكسدة، بحيث الشقوق والحفر والحفر في مسار العجلة تحدث على السطح. وفيما يتعلق بالكمية الهائلة من الأسفلت المستخدمة في البناء، فإن إعادة تأهيل وتجديد الأرصفة وغيرها من هياكل الأسفلت هو قطاع هام يساعد على توفير الموارد والنفقات.
ويمكن إعادة تأهيل وتجديد هياكل الأسفلت القائمة، التي تضررت بسبب الطقس والعمر وحمولة حركة المرور، وتجدد هادها بتطبيق أختام الضباب، والأختام الطينية، وأختام الرقاقة، وأختام الدعك، وأختام الرأس، وغيرها من مُجدِّات الأسفلت. تلك الصيغ ختم تتكون من خليط من الماء، مستحلب الأسفلت، الكلي (الحصى الصغيرة، وتسمى أيضا رقائق)، البوليمرات، والمواد المضافة نانو
الأرصفة الأسفلت المعدلة التي تحتوي على بعض الجسيمات النانوية تعزيز تظهر خصائص حرارية وكهربائية وميكانيكية مرغوب فيه وبالتالي تحسين الوظائف. من أجل خفض تكلفة الموثق الأسفلت وصيانة الطرق وزيادة الملاءمة البيئية، والتكنولوجيات البديلة مثل المضافات المخلوطة بالموجات فوق الصوتية ووظيفية وتركيبات جديدة مركب الأسفلت، والتي لديها القدرة على الإصلاح الذاتي، ضرورية للحفاظ على وتجديد الأرصفة القائمة في المستقبل.

إنتاج بالموجات فوق الصوتية من المضافات لمستحلبات الأسفلت

يتكون مستحلب الأسفلت من ثلاثة مكونات رئيسية: الأسفلت والماء والمستحلب السطحي. كونه تشتت مستقر من قطرات الاسمنت الأسفلت في الماء، مستحلب الأسفلت يمكن ضخها وتخزينها ومختلطة مع المجاميع. يجب أن "يكسر" المستحلب بسرعة عند ملامسة التجميع عند خلطه أو بعد رشه. كسر هو فصل المياه من الأسفلت. عندما يتبخر الماء، يتم "تعيين" المستحلب. بعد كسر وعلاج ووضع، بقايا الأسفلت لديه الالتصاق والمتانة وخصائص مقاومة المياه من الأسفلت قاعدة الأصلي.
استحلاب بالموجات فوق الصوتية يسمح لصياغة مستحلبات الأسفلت عالية الجودة
تقنية استحلاب بالموجات فوق الصوتية متوافق مع متعددة مستحلب وتركيبات السطحي. اختيار مستحلب يؤثر على خصائص الإعداد من مستحلبات الأسفلت، مما يجعلها الإعداد بطيئة، والإعداد المتوسط والإعداد السريع. يمكن إضافة الإضافات، والمعدلات، والحشو، والألياف، والمطاط وغيرها من المكونات صياغة خلال مراحل مختلفة من عملية sonication – اعتمادا على صياغة ومتطلبات خلط المركبات المحددة.

بالموجات فوق الصوتية المشتت UIP4000hdT (4kW قوة الموجات فوق الصوتية)

UIP4000hdT – 4000 واط بالموجات فوق الصوتية خلاط مضمنة

طلب معلومات





مستحلب الصف

درجة مستحلب مستحلب مستحلب الأسفلت والأسفلت تجديد هو عامل مهم، الذي يحدد سرعة التفكك (سريع، متوسطة أو بطيئة الإعداد). النوع (الأيونية / غير الأيونية) وتركيز عوامل الاستحلاب، فضلا عن تفاصيل صياغة مثل المستحلبات / نسبة المواد الصلبة، المسامية، حجم الجسيمات والتدرج تؤثر على سلوك الإعداد. منذ المعلمات استحلاب بالموجات فوق الصوتية يمكن التحكم بدقة، يمكن تعديل تأثير sonication على مستحلب لنوعية الأسفلت المستهدفة. يتم استهداف الطقس ميكرون، submicron أو نانو مستحلبات، المعالجة بالموجات فوق الصوتية يمنحك السيطرة الكاملة على المعلمات العملية.

الريولوجيا

تُظهر مستحلبات الأسفلت لزوجة تتكون من 50-1000 درجة مئوية تقريبًا عند 60 درجة مئوية، وهو أقل بكثير من لزوجة الأسفلت نفسه (10,000-400,000 كب). نظرا لانخفاض اللزوجة، يمكن تطبيق مستحلبات الأسفلت باستخدام تقنيات درجة حرارة أقل، والتي تقلل من الانبعاثات واستهلاك الطاقة، وتجنب أكسدة الأسفلت، وأقل خطورة بكثير من تقنيات الأسفلت الساخن. وعلاوة على ذلك، فإن تطبيق مستحلبات الأسفلت هو أكثر اقتصادا وصديقة للبيئة من التقنيات الباردة باستخدام الأسفلت التقطيع. اللزوجة وrheology من مستحلبات مستحلب الأسفلت يمكن أن تتأثر وتعديلها من قبل تركيز مستحلب ومدخلات الطاقة أثناء استحلاب بالموجات فوق الصوتية.

اختراق القدرة

قدرات اختراق تجديد الأسفلت حاسمة، لأن عامل تجديد عالية الأداء تخترق هيكل الرصيف والأختام السطح. وعالية الأداء تجديد الأسفلت، والتي هي قادرة على اختراق عميق في الموثق الأسفلت (القار)، ويزيد من المرونة ويعيد من الداخل بحيث الشفاء الذاتي من الرصيف يتحقق. إعداد مستحلبات الأسفلت وظيفية للغاية صياغة قطرات submicron- ونانو الحجم مع السلطة الموجات فوق الصوتية!

إضافات

يتم إضافة البوليمرات والمطاط والحشو والزيوت ووكلاء تجديد إلى مستحلبات الأسفلت من أجل تحسين الخصائص الرئيسية للإسفلت الأصلي، مثل ارتفاع وانخفاض درجة الحرارة درجة الأداء الدرجات (PG)، اللزوجة، وانخفاض درجة الحرارة تكسير، وليونة والإجهاد الاسترخاء، وتليين نقطة والاختراق، والتقارب والاستقرار مع البوليمرات وتجديد الأسفلت الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين في RAP / RAS يمزج (الرصيف الأسفلت المستصلحة (RAP) والقوباء المنطقية الأسفلت المعاد تدويرها (RAS)). المشتتات بالموجات فوق الصوتية مزيج المواد الصلبة وقطرات والجسيمات monodisperse في مستحلب الأسفلت. بالموجات فوق الصوتية خلط ومزج التكنولوجيا تنتج خليط الأسفلت عالية الأداء!

الدفعة الرئيسية

استحلاب بالموجات فوق الصوتية والتشتت مثالية لإعداد دفعات رئيسية من مستحلبات الأسفلت عالية التركيز. مستحلبات معدة بالموجات فوق الصوتية مع محتوى الأسفلت عالية (تصل إلى 90٪) يتم تخفيفها في وقت لاحق لتصل إلى 70٪ أو 60٪ تركيز من أجل الوصول إلى حصة مرحلة المياه / النفط المطلوب وفقا للتطبيق النهائي.

UIP16000 (16kW) هو معدات الاستخراج بالموجات فوق الصوتية أقوى Hielscher.

UIP16000 – 16kW الموجات فوق الصوتية السلطة لكل وحدة خلط بالموجات فوق الصوتية

مزايا مستحلبات الأسفلت بالموجات فوق الصوتية

تكنولوجيا خلط بالموجات فوق الصوتية يسمح لتطوير وإنتاج تركيبات تجديد الأسفلت التي هي سهلة للتعامل معها، فعالة من حيث التكلفة وصديقة للبيئة. التجويف بالموجات فوق الصوتية قوية يخلق sub-micron ونانو تشتت والمستحلبات، والتي تظهر penetrability ممتازة، والأداء العالي، والقدرة على التحمل على المدى الطويل.
مزيج مستحلبات رصف الخاص بك وتشتت لمخاليط الأسفلت من قبل ultrasonication عالية الطاقة!

عالية الطاقة بالموجات فوق الصوتية المشتت لمستحلبات الأسفلت

UIP4000hdT خلية تدفق لsonication مضمنة على نطاق صناعيHielscher الفوق صوتيات بتصنيع والإمدادات خلاطات عالية الطاقة بالموجات فوق الصوتية للإسفلت والمستحلبات البيتومين. المشتتات بالموجات فوق الصوتية الصناعية لالاستحلاب مضمنة العرض يفتح إمكانية لمعالجة مجموعة واسعة من الأسفلت والقار المستحلبات. Sonication يسمح لاختبار سهل من تركيبات جديدة، والتي يتم استحلاب موحد للاستقرار مستحلب ممتازة والأداء. مختلف الجيومتريات مفاعل بالموجات فوق الصوتية وإدراج مثل التجويف متعدد الأطوار السماح للتكيف سهلة من المعالج بالموجات فوق الصوتية إلى الأسفلت الخاص بك محددة أو صياغة القار.
يتم تغذية premix الخشنة من السائل والمواد الصلبة في المشتت بالموجات فوق الصوتية، حيث كلا المرحلتين (الماء + الأسفلت أو البيتومين + إضافات اختيارية) هي الرطب المطحنة وطحن هادافية مستقرة للغاية. الطحن بالموجات فوق الصوتية وتشتيت قادرة على معالجة كميات كبيرة في عملية سريعة.

الجدول أدناه يعطيك مؤشرا على قدرة المعالجة التقريبية لultrasonicators لدينا:

دفعة حجم معدل المد و الجزر الأجهزة الموصى بها
10 إلى 2000ML 20 إلى 400ML / دقيقة Uf200 ः ر، UP400St
00.1 إلى 20L 00.2 إلى 4L / دقيقة UIP2000hdT
10 إلى 100L 2 إلى 10L / دقيقة UIP4000hdT
زمالة المدمنين المجهولين 10 إلى 100L / دقيقة UIP16000
زمالة المدمنين المجهولين أكبر مجموعة من UIP16000

اتصل بنا! / اسألنا!

اطلب المزيد من المعلومات

يرجى استخدام النموذج أدناه، إذا كنت ترغب في طلب معلومات إضافية حول التجانس بالموجات فوق الصوتية. سنكون سعداء لنقدم لكم نظام الموجات فوق الصوتية تلبية الاحتياجات الخاصة بك.









يرجى ملاحظة لدينا سياسة الخصوصية.


Hielscher الفوق صوتيات بتصنيع عالية الأداء أوتراسوتكناتورس للتطبيقات سونوكيميائية.

معالجات بالموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الطاقة من مختبر إلى مقياس تجريبي وصناعي.

مراجع الادب

  • وانغ, H.; يانغ, J.; Gong, M. (2016): التوصيف الريولوجي لموثقات الأسفلت والمخاليط المعدلة بالأنابيب النانوية الكربونية. أوراق مؤتمر RILEM 2016.
  • رونالد, M.; Pumarejo Luis, F. (2016): تركيبة مستحلبات الأسفلت: دولة من بين الفن والاعتماد على صياغة على خصائص المستحلبات. مواد البناء والبناء 123، 2016. 162-173.


حقائق تستحق العلم

ما هو مستحلب الأسفلت؟

مستحلب الأسفلت هو خليط من الماء والأسفلت. وبما أن الأسفلت مركب زيتي وكاره للماء، فإنه لا يمكن خلطه بالماء. عن طريق إضافة عامل نشط السطح المعروف أيضا باسم مستحلب، السطحي، وكيل استحلاب، استقرار) إلى الماء قبل أو أثناء إضافة الأسفلت، والأسفلت والماء تصبح قابلة للخلط. إضافة السطحي يسهل تشتت جزيئات الأسفلت في المرحلة المائية (الماء) ويبقيه مشتتا في تعليق. لخلط الأسفلت والجسيمات الصغيرة في التعليق، وتستخدم معدات خلط القص الميكانيكية (على سبيل المثال ultrasonicatior، خلاط القص عالية، مطحنة الغروية الخ) . مستحلب الأسفلت عالية الجودة يعطي الرصيف مقاومة الروتين، حساسية الرطوبة، ومقاومة تكسير وأداء التعب.
تعريف مستحلب
"مستحلب هو نظام غير متجانسة غير مستقرة حراريا شكلتها ما لا يقل عن مرحلتين السائل غير قابل ة للامتزاج، حيث يتم تفريق واحد في الآخر في شكل قطرات صغيرة (الخرز) الذي قطره هو عموما أعلى من 0.1μm. ومثل هذا النظام له الحد الأدنى من الاستقرار الذي يمكن تحسينه بإضافة عوامل مناسبة، مثل عوامل الخافضة للتوتر السطحي، أو المنقسمة على الأرض". (بيشر، ب. مستحلب. النظرية والممارسة. عام 1961.

ما هو البيتومين؟

البيتومين هو مادة اسمنتية تستخدم في البناء والموثق الأسفلت، التي تعقد الأسفلت معا. لديها نقطة انصهار من 180 درجة مئوية. مستحلبات البيتومين هي سائل بني داكن، والتي يمكن أن تكون إما الموجبة، حيث المستحلبات لديها قطرات التي تحمل شحنة إيجابية، أو الأنيون، حيث المستحلبات قد اتهم سلبا قطرات.

ما هي أختام الطين؟

الأختام الطين هي صياغة من المياه، مستحلب الأسفلت، والكلي، والمواد المضافة إلى سطح الرصيف الأسفلت القائمة. ختم الطين يشبه ختم الضباب باستثناء ختم الطين لديه المجاميع كجزء من الخليط. البوليمر هو المضافة الشائعة التي تحسن خصائص مستحلب الأسفلت. هذا المزيج مجتمعة من مستحلب والمجاميع هو ما يسمى الطين من أجل حماية هيكل الرصيف الكامنة وتوفير سطح الطريق الجديد.

ما هي أختام الضباب؟

ختم الضباب يشير إلى تطبيق مستحلب الأسفلت وضعت خاصة على سطح الرصيف الأسفلت القائمة. يتكون مستحلب ختم الضباب من خليط زيت الماء، والذي يمكن رشه بسهولة على رصيف موجود، والمعروف أيضًا باسم "الضباب".

ما هي الأختام رقاقة؟

تطبيق ختم رقاقة ينطوي على مستحلب الأسفلت الذي يحتوي على الكريات من الأسفلت رصف، والمياه، وكيل استحلاب أو السطحي، البوليمر، وغالبا ما تكون مضافة تجديد. يتم تطبيق الأختام CHip في عملية من خطوتين والتي تشمل أولا توزيع مستحلب الأسفلت وبالتالي طبقة من الصخور الصغيرة المسحوقة على سطح الرصيف الأسفلت القائمة. وتسمى الصخرة الصغيرة المسحوقة أيضا “رقائق”، مما يعطي طريقة ختم رقاقة اسمها.

ما هي الأختام فرك؟

علاج ختم فرك مشابهة جدا لختم رقاقة، حيث يتم استخدام مستحلب الأسفلت والحصى سحقت لإعادة تأهيل الرصيف الأسفلت التالفة. الفرق الوحيد هو طريقة التطبيق: لتطبيق ختم فرك، يتم تطبيق مستحلب الأسفلت من قبل ما يسمى المكانس فرك، والتي تضمن أن مستحلب الأسفلت تخترق تكسير الرصيف.

ما هي الأختام الرأس؟

يشير ختم الرأس إلى تطبيق رقاقة أو ختم فرك مع تطبيق لاحق من ختم الطين أو microsurfacing في وقت لاحق. في حين رقاقة أو فرك ختم الأختام والسندات الشقوق في الرصيف القائم، وختم الطين اللاحقة أو microsurfacing يحسن الاحتفاظ رقاقة ونعومة سطح الطريق. الرأس الأختام إعادة تستخدم في الغالب كحل متقطع، وتستخدم لهياكل الأسفلت التي تظهر فقط الضائقة المعتدلة، طفيفة أو لا الأخاديد، وعرض الكراك معتدلة. ويستخدم ختم الرأس في الغالب كعلاج لتمديد حياة الرصيف حتى يتم إجراء إعادة التأهيل أو إعادة الإعمار.

ما هو Microsurfacing؟

Microsurfacing هو علاج مماثل لختم الطين. لmicrosurfacing، يتم تطبيق تركيبة تتكون من الماء، مستحلب الأسفلت، الكلي، والمواد المضافة الكيميائية على سطح الرصيف الخرساني الأسفلت. وتستخدم إضافات البوليمر لتحسين خصائص خليط مستحلب الأسفلت. الفرق الرئيسي بين ختم الطين وmicrosurfacing هو في كيفية "كسر" أو تصلب. في حين أن ختم الطين يتطلب أن الماء يتبخر من مستحلب الأسفلت بعد توزيعه، مستحلب الأسفلت في طلاء microsurfacing يحتوي على المضافات الكيميائية التي تسمح لها لكسر دون الاعتماد على الشمس أو الحرارة للتبخر إلى تحدث. وهذا يجعل microsurfacing العلاج المفضل للطرق المستخدمة بشكل كبير (وقت قصير لكسر) أو المناخ البارد.

ما الذي يسبب تدهور الرصيف؟

مع تقدم العمر على الرصيف يبدأ في التدهور. ويتأثر مدى سرعة انهياره بالعديد من العوامل. العوامل الرئيسية هي البيئة وتحميل حركة المرور. أشعة الشمس مع مرور الوقت أكسدة الطبقة السطحية ويسبب لها أن تصبح هشة. إذا كان الرصيف هش جدا الشقوق تبدأ في تشكيل نتيجة لتكرار عالية من تحميل حركة المرور على الرصيف. إذا لم يتم إغلاق الرصيف بشكل صحيح، يمكن لمياه الأمطار أو مياه الري التسلل الشقوق في طبقة قاعدة وتلف السلامة الهيكلية للرصيف. يمكن أن تتآكل المياه أو تغسل الطبقات الأساسية الأساسية وتتسبب في فشل الرصيف بسبب نقص الدعم.

Hielscher Ultrasound Technology

Ultrasonic Mixing of Asphalt Rejuvenators

  • Asphalt rehabilitators and rejuvenators enable to recycle existing asphalt pavements by applying rejuvenating agents to the construction material.
  • Ultrasonic dispersers are a powerful technique to mix nano-particles and nano-droplets into asphalt and bitumen emulsions.
  • Power ultrasound is used to manufacture high-performance additives for long-term durable pavements.

Asphalt Rehabilitation

Ultrasonic mixing of asphalt additivesWeathered, dried, aged and cracked asphalt has lost its original tar oils and is damaged by oxidation, so that cracks, potholes and rutting in the wheel path occur on the surface. In regards to the huge amount of asphalt used in construction, the rehabilitation and rejuvenation of pavements and other asphalt structures is an important sector, which helps to save resources and expenditures.
Existing asphalt structures, damaged by weather, age and traffic load, can be rehabilitated and rejuvenated by the application of fog seals, slurry seals, chip seals, scrub seals, cape seals and other asphalt rejuvenators. Those seal formulations consist in a mixture of water, asphalt emulsion, aggregate (small gravel, also called chips), polymers, and nano-additives
Modified asphalt pavements that contain certain reinforcing nanoparticles exhibit desirable thermal, electrical and mechanical properties and have thereby improved functionalities. In order to reduce cost of asphalt binder and road maintenance and to increase their environmental-friendliness, alternative technologies such as ultrasonically blended and functionalized additives and new asphalt composite formulations, which have the capability of self-repair, are essential to preserve and renew existing pavements in the future.

Ultrasonic Production of Additives for Asphalt Emulsions

An asphalt emulsion consists of three main components: asphalt, water and an emulsifying surfactant. Being a stable dispersion of asphalt cement droplets in water, an asphalt emulsion can be pumped, stored and mixed with aggregates. An emulsion should “break” quickly upon contact with aggregate when mixed or after being sprayed. Breaking is the separation of the water from the asphalt. When the water has evaporated, the emulsion is “set”. After breaking, curing and setting, the asphalt residue has the adhesion, durability and water-resistance properties of the original base asphalt.
Ultrasonic emulsification allows to formulate high-quality asphalt emulsions
The ultrasonic emulsifying technique is compatible with multiple emulsifier and surfactant formulations. The choice of emulsifier impacts the setting characteristics of asphalt emulsions, making them slow setting, medium setting and quick setting. Additives, modifiers, fillers, fibers, rubbers and other formulation ingredients can be added during various stages of the sonication process – depending on the formulation and the mixing requirements of the specific compounds.

Ultrasonic disperser UIP4000hdT (4kW ultrasound power)

UIP4000hdT – 4000 watts ultrasonic inline mixer

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


Emulsion Grade

The emulsion grade of an asphalt emulsion and asphalt rejuvenator is an important factor, that determines the breakup velocity (fast, medium or slow setting). The type (ionic / non-ionic) and concentration of the emulsifying agents as well as the formulation specifics such as emulsions/solids ratio, porosity, particles size and gradation influence the setting behaviour. Since ultrasonic emulsification parameters can be precisely controlled, the sonication impact on the emulsion can be adjusted to the targeted asphalt quality. Weather micron-, submicron or nano-emulsions are targeted, ultrasonic processing gives you the full control over the process parameters.

Rheology

Asphalt emulsions exhibit viscosities of approx. 50–1000 cP at 60°C, which is considerably lower than the viscosity of asphalt itself (10,000–400,000 cP). Due to their lower viscosity, asphalt emulsions can be applied using lower temperature techniques, which reduce emissions and energy consumption, avoid asphalt oxidation, and are considerably less hazardous than hot asphalt techniques. Furthermore, the application of asphalt emulsions is more economical and environmental-friendly than cold techniques using cutback asphalts. Viscosity and rheology of an asphalt emulsion emulsions can be influenced and adjusted by the emulsifier concentration and the energy input during ultrasonic emulsification.

Penetration Capability

The penetrating capabilities of asphalt rejuvenators are crucial, since a high-performance rejuvenating agent penetrates the pavement structure and seals the surface. A high-performance asphalt rejuvenator, which is able to penetrate deep into the asphalt binder (bitumen), increases the flexibility and restores from the inside so that a self-healing of the pavement achieved. Prepare highly functionalized asphalt emulsions formulating submicron- and nano-sized droplets with power-ultrasound!

Additives

Polymers, rubber, fillers, oils and rejuvenating agents are added to asphalt emulsions in order to improve the key properties of native asphalt, such as high and low temperature performance grading (PG), viscosity, low temperature cracking, ductility and stress relaxation, softening point and penetration, affinity for and stability with polymers and rejuvenation of aged asphalt in RAP/RAS mixes (reclaimed asphalt pavement (RAP) and recycled asphalt shingles (RAS)). Ultrasonic dispersers mix solids and droplets as monodisperse particles into the asphalt emulsion. Ultrasonic mixing and blending technology produces high-performance asphalt mixtures!

Master Batch

Ultrasonic emulsification and dispersion is ideal to prepare master batches of highly concentrated asphalt emulsions. Ultrasonically prepared emulsions with high asphalt content (up to 90%) are diluted later to reach 70% or 60% concentration in order to reach the desired water/oil phase ration according for the final application.

UIP16000 (16kW) is Hielscher's most powerful ultrasonic extraction equipment.

UIP16000 – 16kW ultrasound power per ultrasonic mixing unit

Advantages of Ultrasonic Asphalt Emulsions

The ultrasonic mixing technology allows to develop and produce asphalt rejuvenating formulations which are easy to handle, cost-effective and environmental-friendly. Powerful ultrasonic cavitation creates sub-micron and nano dispersions and emulsions, which exhibit excellent penetrability, high-performance, and long-term endurance.
Mix your paving emulsions and dispersions for asphalt mixtures by high-power ultrasonication!

High-Power Ultrasonic Disperser for Asphalt Emulsions

UIP4000hdT flow cell for inline sonication on industrial scaleHielscher Ultrasonics manufactures and supplies high-power ultrasonic mixers for asphalt and bitumen emulsions. Industrial ultrasonic dispersers for inline emulsification offer opens the possibility to process a wide range of asphalt and bitumen emulsions. Sonication allows for the facile testing of new formulations, which are uniformly emulsified for excellent emulsion stability and performance. Various ultrasonic reactor geometries and inserts such as the MultiPhaseCavitator allow for the easy adaption of the ultrasonic processor to your specific asphalt or bitumen formulation.
A coarse premix of liquid and solids is fed into the ultrasonic disperser, where the both phases (water + asphalt or bitumen + optional additives) are wet-milled and grinded uniformly into a highly stable colloidal suspension. Ultrasonic milling and dispersing is capable to process high volumes in a rapid process.

The table below gives you an indication of the approximate processing capacity of our ultrasonicators:

Batch Volume Flow Rate Recommended Devices
10 to 2000mL 20 to 400mL/min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 to 20L 0.2 to 4L/min UIP2000hdT
10 to 100L 2 to 10L/min UIP4000hdT
n.a. 10 to 100L/min UIP16000
n.a. larger cluster of UIP16000

Contact Us! / Ask Us!

Ask for more information

Please use the form below, if you wish to request additional information about ultrasonic homogenization. We will be glad to offer you an ultrasonic system meeting your requirements.









Please note our privacy policy.


Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonicators for sonochemical applications.

High-power ultrasonic processors from lab to pilot and industrial scale.

Literature/References

  • Wang, H.; Yang, J.; Gong, M. (2016): Rheological Characterization of Asphalt Binders and Mixtures Modified with Carbon Nanotubes. RILEM Conference Papers 2016.
  • Ronald, M.; Pumarejo Luis, F. (2016): Asphalt emulsions formulation: State-of-the-art and dependency of formulation on emulsions properties. Construction and Building Materials 123, 2016. 162–173.


Facts Worth Knowing

What is an Asphalt Emulsion?

An asphalt emulsion is a mixture of water and asphalt. Since asphalt is an oily, hydrophobic compound, it cannot be mixed with water. By adding a surface active agent also known as emulsifier, surfactant, emulsifying agent, stabilizer) to the water before or during adding the asphalt, the asphalt and water become mixable. The addition of surfactant facilitates the dispersion of asphalt particles in the aqueous phase (water) and keeps it dispersed in suspension. To mix the asphalt as small particles into the suspension, mechanical shear mixing equipment (e.g ultrasonicatior, high-shear mixer, colloidal mill etc.) are used. A high-quality asphalt emulsion gives the pavement rutting resistance, moisture susceptibility, cracking resistance and fatigue performance.
Definition of Emulsion
“An emulsion is a heterogeneous system thermodynamically unstable formed by at least two immiscible liquid phases, where one is dispersed in the other in form of little droplets (beads) whose diameter is generally higher than 0.1µm. Such a system has a minimum stability which could be improved by addition of appropriate agents, such us surfactants, or finely solid divided”. (Becher, P. Emulsion. Theory and Practice. 1961.)

What is Bitumen?

Bitumen is a cementitious material used in construction as asphalt binder, that hold the asphalt together. It has a melting point of 180ºC. Bitumen emulsions are a dark brown liquid, which can be either cationic, where emulsions have droplets which carry a positive charge, or anionic, where emulsions have negatively charged droplets.

What are Slurry Seals?

Slurry seals are a formulation of water, asphalt emulsion, aggregate, and additives to an existing asphalt pavement surface. A slurry seal is similar to a fog seal except the slurry seal has aggregates as part of the mixture. Polymer is common additive that improves the asphalt emulsion’s properties. This combined mixture of the emulsion and aggregates is the so-called slurry in order to protect the underlying pavement structure and to provide a new roadway surface.

What are Fog Seals?

Fog sealing refers to the application of a special formulated asphalt emulsion to an existing asphalt pavement surface. A fog seal emulsion consists in a water-oil mixture, which can be easily sprayed onto an existing pavement, also known as “fogging.”

What are Chip Seals?

The application of a chip seal involves an asphalt emulsion that contains globules of paving asphalt, water, an emulsifying agent or surfactant, polymer, and often a rejuvenator additive. CHip seals are applied in a two-step process which includes first the distribution of the asphalt emulsion and subsequently a layer of small crushed rock to an existing asphalt pavement surface. The small crushed rock is also called “chips”, which gives the chip sealing method its name.

What are Scrub Seals?

A scrub seal treatment is very similar to the chip sealing, where an asphalt emulsion and crushed gravel are used to rehabilitate a damaged asphalt pavement. The only difference is the application method: For the application of a scrub seal , the asphalt emulsion is applied by so-called scrub brooms, which ensure that the asphalt emulsion penetrates the pavement crackings.

What are Cape Seals?

Cape sealing refers to the application of a chip or scrub seal with a subsequent application of slurry seal or microsurfacing at a later date. Whilst chip or scrub seals seal and bond the cracks in the existing pavement, the subsequent slurry seal or microsurfacing improves the chip retention and smoothness of the roadway surface. Cape seals a re mostly used as an intermittent workaround, used for asphalt structures which exhibit only moderate distress, slight or no ruts, moderate crack widths. Cape sealing is mostly used as remedy to extend the pavement life until rehabilitation or reconstruction is performed.

What is Microsurfacing?

Microsurfacing is treatment comparable to a slurry seal. For microsurfacing, a formulation consisting in water, asphalt emulsion, aggregate, and chemical additives is applied to the surface of an asphalt concrete pavement. Polymer additives are used to improve the mixture properties of the asphalt emulsion. The major difference between slurry seal and microsurfacing is in how they “break” or harden. Whilst the slurry sealing requires that the water evaporates from the asphalt emulsion after its distribution, the asphalt emulsion in a microsurfacing coating contains chemical additives which allow it to break without relying on the sun or heat for evaporation to occur. This makes microsurfacing the preferred treatment for heavily used roads (short time to break) or colder climate.

What is Causing Pavement Deterioration?

As pavement ages it starts to deteriorate. How quickly it breaks down is influenced by many factors. The primary factors are the environment and traffic loadings. Sunlight over time oxidizes the surface layer and causes it to become brittle. If the pavement is too brittle cracks start to form as a result from high repetitions of traffic loading on the pavement. If the pavement is not sealed properly, rainwater or irrigation water can infiltrate the cracks into the base layer and damage the structural integrity of the pavement. Water can erode or wash away the underlying base layers and cause the pavement to fail from lack of support.