Ultramicronisation et nanoformulation du palmitoyléthanolamide (PEA)

L'amide d'acide gras palmitoyléthanolamide (PEA) est utilisé comme médicament administré par voie orale pour ses effets anti-inflammatoires et neuroprotecteurs. Cependant, étant un lipide et exprimant une grande taille de particule, la biodisponibilité et la bioaccessibilité du palmitoyléthanolamide (PEA) sont limitées en raison de sa faible solubilité dans l'eau et de son absorption cellulaire réduite dans le corps humain. Les formulations micronisées, ultramicronisées et nano-émulsifiées du palmitoyléthanolamide améliorent considérablement son taux de biodisponibilité et d'absorption. L'ultramicronisation et la nano-émulsification par ultrasons constituent la technique supérieure pour produire une formulation de médicament ou de supplément de palmitoyléthanolamide (PEA) présentant une excellente biodisponibilité.

Ultra-micronisation par ultrasons du Palmitoyléthanolamide (PEA)

Avec le broyage et la dispersion par ultrasons, il devient simple de produire de manière efficace et fiable du N-palmitoyléthanolamide (PEA) ultramicronisé pour les produits pharmaceutiques, les nutraceutiques et les compléments alimentaires. Le broyage et la dispersion par ultrasons permettent de réduire la taille des particules de palmitoyléthanolamide (PEA) à l'échelle du micron ou du nanomètre. La taille exacte des particules de palmitoyléthanolamide peut être influencée par les paramètres de traitement par ultrasons tels que l'amplitude, la pression et la durée de sonication. Par exemple, une amplitude plus élevée a un impact plus perturbateur sur les particules et donne lieu à des particules de plus petite taille, c'est-à-dire des particules de PEA ultra-micronisées et nanométriques.
Il a été prouvé que l'administration orale de palmitoyléthanolamide ultramicronisé et nanométrique (connu sous le nom de PEA-um ou PEA ultramicronisé) présente une biodisponibilité et une bioaccessibilité supérieures à celles de particules de plus grande taille. Les particules de N-palmitoyléthanolamide (PEA) de 600 nm et moins sont idéales pour l'administration orale, surtout lorsqu'elles sont encapsulées dans des liposomes ou des nanoparticules lipidiques. Les formulations liposomales ainsi que les nanoparticules lipidiques (c'est-à-dire les nanoparticules lipidiques solides (SLN) ou les supports lipidiques nanostructurés (NLC)) offrent des effets supérieurs, ce qui a par exemple permis de traiter la douleur inflammatoire dans des modèles de rat.

Avantages des formulations PEA par ultrasons

  • biodisponibilité et efficacité maximales de la PEA
  • palmitoyléthanolamide ultra-micronisé
  • formulation de PEA nano-émulsifié
  • production de qualité pharmaceutique

Demande d'information





Industrial ultrasonic setup with UIP2000hdT for the ultramicronization and nanosizing of palmitoylethanolamide (PEA) for superior bioavailability and health-promoting effects.

Le UIP2000hdT est un puissant ultrasoniseur de 2kW pour l'ultramicronisation et la nanosisation du palmitoyléthanolamide (PEA). Le PEA nanosisé présente une biodisponibilité supérieure et des effets nettement améliorés.

Broyage et dispersion par ultrasons du palmitoyléthanolamide (PEA)

La réduction de la taille des particules par ultrasons est une technique bien établie, qui est largement utilisée dans diverses industries. Par exemple, les ingrédients pharmaceutiques actifs (API) sont souvent ultramicronisés et nanosisés à l'aide d'ultrasons à haute performance. Par conséquent, le palmitoyléthanolamide (PEA) est également souvent ultramicronisé et nanosélectionné à l'aide d'ultrasons tout en obtenant un produit de qualité pharmaceutique ou neutraceutique.
L'ultramicronisation et le nanosizing par ultrasons aident à surmonter les inconvénients qui résultent de la nature lipophile et cristalline ainsi que de la température de fusion du palmitoyléthanolamide (PEA). Les formes ultramicronisées ou nanométriques de PEA permettent de préparer des formulations de médicaments ou de suppléments hautement biodisponibles.

Nano-émulsification par ultrasons du palmitoyléthanolamide (PEA)

La nano-émusification par ultrasons est une application de base, nécessaire pour préparer des formules de médicaments à haute biodisponibilité, notamment des liposomes et des nanoparticules lipidiques. Les puissantes forces de cisaillement ultrasoniques perturbent les gouttelettes lipidiques et aqueuses jusqu'à des tailles si petites que les liquides non miscibles deviennent une nanoémulsion auto-stable. Ce procédé est nécessaire pour la préparation de liposomes et de nanoparticules lipidiques, où la gouttelette lipidique nanométrique est encapsulée dans un revêtement aqueux. Cet enrobage aqueux est idéal pour transporter des principes actifs lipidiques tels que le palmitoyléthanolamide (PEA) dans les cellules, où la substance active peut prendre les effets désirés (par exemple, des effets anti-inflammatoires ou de réduction de la douleur).

Bioavailability of palmitoylethanolamide (PEA) is significantly enhanced when administered in nano-formulations. Ultrasonic encapsulation is ideal to prepare nano-formulated palmitoylethanolamide (PEA).

Structure du palmitoyléthanolamide (PEA) et des nanoparticules lipidiques (SLN = nanoparticules lipidiques solides ; NLC = supports lipidiques nanostructurés).
photo : ©Puglia et al., 2018

Des nanoparticules lipidiques (NPs) préparées par ultrasons, telles que des nanoparticules lipidiques solides (SLN) ou des transporteurs lipidiques nanostructurés (NLC), ont été utilisées avec succès pour améliorer la biodisponibilité du N-palmitoyléthanolamide administré par voie orale ou topique.
Un avantage majeur de la sonication est que la technologie ultrasonique peut non seulement être utilisée pour réduire la taille moyenne des nanoparticules lipidiques préformées, mais aussi pour stabiliser la composition des nanoparticules émulsionnées pour une stabilité à long terme. Par conséquent, la sonication joue un rôle clé dans le contrôle de la taille et de la distribution finales des dispersions de nanoparticules lipidiques et dans l'amélioration de la biodisponibilité des ingrédients actifs tels que le N-palmitoyléthanolamide (PEA).

Production par ultrasons de palmitoyléthanolamide (PEA) liposomal

Les formulations liposomales de PEA présentent une absorption gastro-intestinale supérieure et surmontent les obstacles à l'absorption (c'est-à-dire une faible solubilité dans l'eau et une faible biodisponibilité). L'administration orale de palmitoyléthanolamide (PEA) encapsulé dans des liposomes entraîne une meilleure bioaccessibilité et des taux plasmatiques plus élevés.
L'ultrasonication est une méthode fiable et bien établie pour produire des formulations liposomales en petites et grandes quantités. La production de liposomes par ultrasons est connue pour son efficacité d'encapsulation élevée. (%EE) et la stabilité à long terme. Par conséquent, la sonication est déjà utilisée pour la production de liposomes dans la production pharmaceutique, nutraceutique et cosmétique.
Apprenez-en davantage sur les avantages de l'encapsulation des liposomes par ultrasons !

Demande d'information





Ultrasons à haute performance pour la nanosisation du palmitoyléthanolamide

Hielscher Ultrasonics est votre partenaire de confiance lorsqu'il s'agit d'ultrasons de haute performance pour l'ultramicronisation, le nanosizing et la nano-encapsulation du palmitoyléthanolamide (PEA). Depuis Hielscher Ultrasonics’ Les processeurs ultrasoniques industriels délivrent facilement des amplitudes très élevées allant jusqu'à 200µm en fonctionnement continu 24 heures sur 24 et 7 jours sur 7, ils sont capables de produire de manière fiable de la N-palmitoyléthanolamine (PEA) ultra-micronisée et nanométrique. Le même système ultrasonique utilisé pour l'ultramicronisation et le nanosizing peut être utilisé dans la préparation ultérieure de nanoémulsions, liposomes et nanoparticules lipidiques encapsulant la PEA.
Comme le portefeuille de produits Hielscher couvre toute la gamme, des ultrasons de laboratoire compacts mais puissants aux systèmes de production entièrement industriels, nous pouvons vous proposer l'homogénéisateur à ultrasons idéal pour votre application et vos objectifs de production. De nombreux accessoires tels que les sonotrodes (également appelées sondes à ultrasons ou cornes à ultrasons), les cornes d'amplification, les cellules d'écoulement et les réacteurs permettent de configurer la configuration ultrasonique optimale pour des résultats supérieurs.
Contactez nous ! Notre personnel bien formé et expérimenté sera heureux de vous donner plus d'informations et de vous recommander le bon ultrasoniseur pour votre processus de palmitoyléthanolamine (PEA) !

Le tableau ci-dessous vous donne une indication de la capacité de traitement approximative de nos ultrasonicators:

lot Volume Débit Appareils recommandés
1 à 500 ml 10 à 200 ml / min UP100H
10 à 2000mL 20 à 400 ml / min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 20L 00,2 à 4L / min UIP2000hdT
10 à 100l 2 à 10 L / min UIP4000hdT
n / a. 10 à 100 litres / min UIP16000
n / a. plus grand groupe de UIP16000

Contactez nous! / Demandez nous!

Demander plus d'informations

Veuillez utiliser le formulaire ci-dessous pour demander des informations supplémentaires sur les processeurs à ultrasons, les applications et le prix. Nous serons heureux de discuter avec vous de votre processus et de vous proposer un système à ultrasons répondant à vos besoins !









Veuillez prendre note de notre Politique de confidentialité.


Ultrasonic high-shear homogenizers are used in lab, bench-top, pilot and industrial processing.

Hielscher Ultrasonics fabrique des homogénéisateurs ultrasoniques à haute performance pour des applications de mélange, de dispersion, d'émulsification et d'extraction à l'échelle du laboratoire, du pilote et de l'industrie.



Littérature / Références


Qu'il faut savoir

Qu'est-ce que le Palmitoyléthanolamide ?

Le palmitoyléthanolamide (PEA) ou N-palmitoyléthanolamide est un amide d'acide gras endogène, c'est-à-dire une substance que le corps humain peut fabriquer lui-même. Le palmitoyléthanolamide a attiré beaucoup d'attention dans le domaine médical en tant que traitement puissant de la douleur et de l'inflammation. La PEA peut également être trouvée dans des aliments tels que les œufs et le lait et aucun effet secondaire ou interaction médicamenteuse négative n'a été observé jusqu'à présent.
En tant que molécule lipidique, la faible solubilité dans l'eau et donc la faible biodisponibilité du N-palmitoyléthanolamide constituent un défi majeur pour son utilisation thérapeutique. Étant donné que le palmitoyléthanolamide est presque insoluble dans l'eau et très peu soluble dans la plupart des autres solvants aqueux, le palmitoyléthanolamide nécessite une formulation sophistiquée, notamment l'ultramicronisation et l'encapsulation des molécules de palmitoyléthanolamide dans une nanoémulsion ou des nanocarriers lipidiques. L'ultrasonication est une technique établie pour l'ultramicronisation et la nano-formulation fiables et efficaces du palmitoyléthanolamide.

Autres termes utilisés pour le palmitoyléthanolamide : N-palmitoyléthanolamide, Hydroxyéthylpalmitamide, Impulsin, N-(2-Hydroxyéthyl) hexadécanamide, N-(2-Hydroxyéthyl)palmitamide, Palmidrol, Palmitamide MEA, Acide palmitique Monoéthanolamide, Palmitoyléthanolamine.


High performance ultrasonics! Hielscher's product range covers the full spectrum from the compact lab ultrasonicator over bench-top units to full-industrial ultrasonic systems.

Hielscher Ultrasonics fabrique des homogénéisateurs à ultrasons de haute performance à partir d'une technologie de pointe. laboratoires à taille industrielle.

Ultramicronization and Nano-Formulation of Palmitoylethanolamide (PEA)

The fatty acid amide palmitoylethanolamide (PEA) is used as oral drug administered for its anti-inflammatory and neuroprotective effects. However, being a lipid and expressing a large particle size, the bioavailability and bioaccessibility of palmitoylethanolamide (PEA) is limited due its poor water-solubility and reduced cellular uptake in the human body. Micronized, ultra-micronized as well as nano-emulsified formulations of palmitoylethanolamide enhance its rate of bioavailability and absorption significantly. Ultrasonic ultra-micronization and nano-emulsification is the superior technique to produce a palmitoylethanolamide (PEA) drug or supplement formulation with excellent bioavailability.

Ultrasonic Ultra-Micronization of Palmitoylethanolamide (PEA)

With ultrasonic milling and dispersing it becomes simple to efficiently and reliable produce ultramicronized N-palmitoylethanolamide (PEA) for pharmaceuticals, nutraceuticals, and dietary supplements. Ultrasonic milling and dispersing allows to reduce the particle size of palmitoylethanolamide (PEA) down to micron- or nano-range. The exact size of palmitoylethanolamide particles can be influenced by the ultrasonic processing parameters such as amplitude, pressure and sonication duration. For instance, a higher amplitude has more disruptive impact on the particles and results in smaller particle size, i.e., ultra-micronized and nano-sized PEA particles.
The oral administration of ultramicronized and nano-sized palmitoylethanolamide (known as PEA-um or ultra-micronized PEA) has been proven to show superior bioavailability and bioaccessibility when compared to larger particle forms. N-palmitoylethanolamide (PEA) particle sizes of 600nm and smaller are ideal for oral administration, especially when encapsulated into liposomes or lipid nanoparticles. Liposomal formulations as well as lipid nanoparticles (i.e., solid lipid nanoparticles (SLN) or nanostructured lipid carriers (NLC)) offer superior effects, which has e.g., by treating inflammatory pain in rat models.

Advantages of Ultrasonic PEA Formulations

  • maximized PEA bioavailability and efficacy
  • ultra-micronized palmitoylethanolamide
  • nano-emulsified PEA formulation
  • pharma-grade production

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


Industrial ultrasonic setup with UIP2000hdT for the ultramicronization and nanosizing of palmitoylethanolamide (PEA) for superior bioavailability and health-promoting effects.

The UIP2000hdT is a 2kW powerful ultrasonicator for the ultramicronization and nanosizing of palmitoylethanolamide (PEA). Nanosized PEA shows superior bioavailability and significantly improved effects.

Ultrasonic Milling and Dispersing of Palmitoylethanolamide (PEA)

Ultrasonic particle size reduction is a well established technique, which is used widely in various industries. For instance, active pharmaceutical ingredients (APIs) are often ultra-micronized and nanosized using high-performance ultrasonicators. Therefore, palmitoylethanolamide (PEA) is also often ultramicronized and nanosized using ultrasonication whilst obtaining a pharmaceutical- or neutraceutical-grade product.
Ultrasonically ultramiocronization and nanosizing helps to overcome the drawbacks, which result form the lipophilic and crystalline nature as well as the melting temperature of of palmitoylethanolamide (PEA). The ultramicronized or nano-sized PEA forms allow for the preparation of highly bioavailable drug or supplement formulations.

Ultrasonic Nano-Emulsification of Palmitoylethanolamide (PEA)

Ultrasonic nano-emusification is a basic application, which is required to prepare drug formulatuions with a high bioavailability including liposomes and lipid nanoparticles. The powerful ultrasonic shear forces disrupt lipid and aqueous droplets to such small sizes, that the immiscible liquids become a self-stable nanoemulsion. This process is required for the preparation of liposomes and lipid nanoparticles, where the nanosized lipid droplet is encapsulated into an aqueous coating. This aqueous coating is ideal to transport lipidic active ingredients such as palmitoylethanolamide (PEA) into the cells, where the active substance can take the desired effects (e.g., anti-inflammatory or pain-reducing effects).

Bioavailability of palmitoylethanolamide (PEA) is significantly enhanced when administered in nano-formulations. Ultrasonic encapsulation is ideal to prepare nano-formulated palmitoylethanolamide (PEA).

Structure of palmitoylethanolamide (PEA) and lipid nanoparticles (SLN = solid lipid nanoparticles; NLC = nanostructured lipid carriers).
picture: ©Puglia et al., 2018

Ultrasonically prepared lipid nanoparticles (NPs), such as solid lipid nanoparticles (SLN) or nanostructured lipid carriers (NLC) have been successfully used to improve the bioavailability of orally and topically administered N-palmitoylethanolamide.
One major advantage of ultrasonication is that the ultrasonic technology can not only be used to reduce the mean size of preformed lipid nanoparticles, but also to stabilize the nano-emulsified particle composition for long-term stability. Therefore, sonication plays a key role in controlling the final size and distribution of lipid nanoparticle dispersions and improving the bioavailability of active ingredients such as N-palmitoylethanolamide (PEA).

Ultrasonic Production of Liposomal Palmitoylethanolamide (PEA)

Liposomal PEA formulations show a superior gastrointestinal absorption and overcome the up-take barriers (i.e., poor water-solubility and bioavailability). The oral administration of liposome-ecapsulated palmitoylethanolamide (PEA) results in improved bioaccessibility and to higher plasma levels.
Ultrasonication is a well-established and reliable method to produce liposomal formulations in small and large quantities. Ultrasonic liposome production is known for a high encapsulation efficiency (%EE) and long-term stability. Therefore, sonication is already used for liposome production in pharmaceutical, nutraceutical and cosmetic production.
Learn more about the advantages of ultrasonic liposome encapsulation!

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


High-Performance Ultrasonicators for Nanosizing Palmitoylethanolamide

Hielscher Ultrasonics is your trusted partner when it comes to high-performance ultrasonicators for ultramicronization, nanosizing and nano-encapsulation of palmitoylethanolamide (PEA). Since Hielscher Ultrasonics’ industrial ultrasonic processors easily deliver very high amplitudes of up to 200µm in continuous 24/7 operation, they are reliably capable to produce ultra-micronized and nano-sized N-palmitoylethanolamine (PEA). The same ultrasonic system used for ultramicronization and nanosizing can be used in the subsequent preparation of PEA-encapsulating nanoemulsions, liposomes and lipid nanoparticles.
As Hielscher’s product portfolio covers the full range from compact, yet powerful lab ultrasonicators to fully-industrial production systems, we can offer you the ideal ultrasonic homogenizer for your application and production goals. Numerous accessories such as sonotrodes (also known as ultrasonic probes or ultrasonic horns), booster horns, flow cells and reactors allows to configure the optimal ultrasonic setup for superior outcomes.
Contact us know! Our well-trained and long-experienced staff will be glad to give you more information and recommend you the right ultrasonicator for your palmitoylethanolamine (PEA) process!

The table below gives you an indication of the approximate processing capacity of our ultrasonicators:

Batch Volume Flow Rate Recommended Devices
1 to 500mL 10 to 200mL/min UP100H
10 to 2000mL 20 to 400mL/min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 to 20L 0.2 to 4L/min UIP2000hdT
10 to 100L 2 to 10L/min UIP4000hdT
n.a. 10 to 100L/min UIP16000
n.a. larger cluster of UIP16000

Contact Us! / Ask Us!

Ask for more information

Please use the form below to request additional information about ultrasonic processors, applications and price. We will be glad to discuss your process with you and to offer you an ultrasonic system meeting your requirements!









Please note our privacy policy.


Ultrasonic high-shear homogenizers are used in lab, bench-top, pilot and industrial processing.

Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonic homogenizers for mixing applications, dispersion, emulsification and extraction on lab, pilot and industrial scale.



Literature / References


Facts Worth Knowing

What is Palmitoylethanolamide?

Palmitoylethanolamide (PEA) or N-palmitoylethanolamide is an endogenous fatty acid amide, which means it is a substance that the human body can manufacture by itself. Palmitoylethanolamide has attracted a lot of attention in the medical field as a potent treatment of pain and inflammation. PEA can be also found in foods such as eggs and milk and no side effects or negative drug-drug interactions have been observed so far.
As a lipidic molecule, the poor water-solubility and thereby poor bioavailiability of N-palmitoylethanolamide is a major challenge for its therapeutic use. Since, palmitoylethanolamide is almost insoluble in water and very poorly soluble in most other aqueous solvents, palmitoylethanolamide requires a sophisticated formulation, including ultramicronizing and encapsulating the palmitoylethanolamide molecules into a nanoemulsion or lipid nanocarriers. Ultrasonication is an established technique for the reliable and efficacious ultramicronization and nano-formulation of palmitoylethanolamide.

Other terms used for palmitoylethanolamide: N-palmitoylethanolamide, Hydroxyethylpalmitamide, Impulsin, N-(2-Hydroxyethyl) hexadecanamide, N-(2-Hydroxyethyl)palmitamide, Palmidrol, Palmitamide MEA, Palmitic Acid Monoethanolamide, Palmitoylethanolamine.


High performance ultrasonics! Hielscher's product range covers the full spectrum from the compact lab ultrasonicator over bench-top units to full-industrial ultrasonic systems.

Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonic homogenizers from lab to industrial size.


We will be glad to discuss your process.

Let's get in contact.