Ultramikronisierung und Nano-Formulierung von Palmitoylethanolamid (PEA)

Das Fettsäureamid Palmitoylethanolamid (PEA) wird wegen seiner entzündungshemmenden und neuroprotektiven Wirkungen häufig als Medikament oder Nahrungsergänzungsmittel oral eingenommen. Da es sich jedoch um ein Lipid mit einer großen Partikelgröße handelt, sind Bioverfügbarkeit und Absorption von Palmitoylethanolamid (PEA) aufgrund der schlechten Wasserlöslichkeit und der reduzierten zellulären Aufnahme im menschlichen Körper begrenzt. Mikronisierte, ultra-mikronisierte sowie nano-emulgierte Formulierungen von Palmitoylethanolamid verbessern die Bioverfügbarkeit und Absorption erheblich. Die Ultraschall-gestütze Ultramikronisierung und Nano-Emulgierung ist die beorzugte Technik zur Herstellung von Palmitoylethanolamid (PEA)-Präparaten mit hervorragender Bioverfügbarkeit.

Ultraschall-gestützte Ultramikronisierung von Palmitoylethanolamid (PEA)

Mittels ultraschall-gestützter Vermahlung und -Dispergierung kann ultramikronisiertes N-Palmitoylethanolamid (PEA) einfach, effizient und zuverlässig für Pharmazeutika, Nutraceuticals und Nahrungsergänzungsmittel hergestellt werden. Das Mahlen und Dispergieren mittels Ultraschall ermöglicht es, die Partikelgröße von Palmitoylethanolamid (PEA) effizient auf Mikro- bzw. Nanogröße zu reduzieren. Die genaue Größe der Palmitoylethanolamid-Partikel kann durch die Parameter der Ultraschallverarbeitung wie Amplitude, Druck und Beschallungsdauer beeinflusst werden. Eine höhere Amplitude hat beispielsweise eine stärkere zerstörerische Wirkung auf die Partikel und führt zu einer kleineren Partikelgröße, d.h. zu ultra-mikronisierten und nanogroßen PEA-Partikeln.
Die orale Verabreichung von ultramikronisiertem und nano-skaligem Palmitoylethanolamid (bekannt als µm-PEA) zeigt im Vergleich zu größeren Partikelformen nachweislich eine bessere Bioverfügbarkeit und Absorbierbarkeit. N-Palmitoylethanolamid (PEA) mit einer Partikelgröße von 600 nm und kleiner ist ideal für die orale Verabreichung, insbesondere wenn es in Liposomen oder Lipid-Nanopartikeln verkapselt ist. Sowohl liposomale Formulierungen als auch Lipid-Nanopartikel (d.h. Solid-Lipid-Nanopartikel (SLN) oder nanostrukturierte Lipid Carrier (NLC)) zeigen überlegene Wirkung, was z.B. bei der Behandlung von Entzündungsschmerzen in Rattenmodellen bewiesen wurde.

Vorteile der ultraschall-gestützten PEA-Formulierung

  • Maximierung der Bioverfügbarkeit und Wirksamkeit von PEA
  • ultra-mikronisiertes Palmitoylethanolamid
  • nano-emulgierte PEA-Formulierungen
  • Produktion nach pharmazeutischen Standards

Informationen anfordern




Beachten Sie unsere Datenschutzerklärung.


Industrial ultrasonic setup with UIP2000hdT for the ultramicronization and nanosizing of palmitoylethanolamide (PEA) for superior bioavailability and health-promoting effects.

Der UIP2000hdT ist ein leistungsstarker 2kW-Ultraschallprozessor für die Ultramikronisierung und Nanostrukturierung von Palmitoylethanolamid (PEA). PEA in Nanogröße zeigt eine höhere Bioverfügbarkeit und deutlich verbesserte Wirkung.

Ultraschall-gestütztes Vermahlen und Dispergieren von Palmitoylethanolamid (PEA)

Die Zerkleinerung von Partikeln mittels Ultraschall ist eine bewährte Technik, welche in unterschiedlichen Industriebranchen weit verbreitet ist. So werden beispielsweise pharmazeutische Wirkstoffe (APIs) häufig mit Hochleistungs-Ultraschallprozessoren ultra-mikronisiert und nanoskaliert. Auch Palmitoylethanolamid (PEA) wird meist mit Ultraschall ultramikronisiert und nanoskaliert, um ein Produkt in pharmazeutischer oder neutrazeutischer Qualität herzustellen.
Durch die ultraschall-gestützte Ultramikronisierung und Nanostrukturierung von PEA können Nachteile, welche sich aus der lipophilen und kristallinen Natur sowie der Schmelztemperatur von Palmitoylethanolamid (PEA) ergeben, überwunden werden. Die ultramikronisierten oder nanoskaligen PEA-Formen ermöglichen die Herstellung von Medikamenten und Nahrungsergänzungsmitteln mit hervorragender Bioverfügbarkeit.

Nano-Emulgierung von Palmitoylethanolamid (PEA) mit Ultraschall

Das Nanoemulgieren mittels Ultraschall ist ein Basisprozess, der für die Herstellung von Arzneimittelformulierungen mit hoher Bioverfügbarkeit, wie z.B. Liposomen und Lipid-Nanopartikeln, angewendet wird. Durch die starken Ultraschallscherkräfte werden die Lipid- und Wassertröpfchen so stark zerkleinert, dass aus den nicht-mischbaren Flüssigkeiten eine stabile Nanoemulsion entsteht. Dieses Emulgierverfahren ist unter anderem für die Herstellung von Liposomen und Lipid-Nanopartikeln erforderlich, bei denen das nano-skalige Lipidtröpfchen in eine wässrige Hülle eingekapselt wird. Diese wässrige Beschichtung ist ideal, um lipidische Wirkstoffe wie Palmitoylethanolamid (PEA) in die Zellen zu transportieren, wo der Wirkstoff die gewünschten Effekte (z.B. entzündungshemmende oder schmerzlindernde Wirkung) entfalten kann.

Bioavailability of palmitoylethanolamide (PEA) is significantly enhanced when administered in nano-formulations. Ultrasonic encapsulation is ideal to prepare nano-formulated palmitoylethanolamide (PEA).

Struktur von Palmitoylethanolamid (PEA) und Lipid-Nanopartikeln (SLN = Solid-Lipid-Nanopartikel; NLC = nanostrukturierte Lipid Carrier).
Bild: ©Puglia et al., 2018

Mit Ultraschall hergestellte Lipid-Nanopartikel (NPs), wie z.B. Solid-Lipid-Nanopartikel (SLN) oder nanostrukturierte Lipid Carrier (NLC), zeigen eine zur verbesserte Bioverfügbarkeit von oral und topisch eingesetztem N-Palmitoylethanolamid.
Ein großer Vorteil der Ultraschallverarbeitung besteht darin, dass die Ultraschalltechnologie nicht nur zur Reduktion der durchschnittlichen Partikelgröße der Lipid-Nanopartikeln eingesetzt werden kann, sondern auch zur Stabilisierung der nanoemulgierten Partikelzusammensetzung für eine langfristige Stabilität. Daher spielt die Ultraschallverabeitung eine Schlüsselrolle hinsichtlich der Kontrolle der endgültigen Partikelgröße, der Partikelgrößenverteilung der Lipid-Nanopartikeldispersionen sowie der Verbesserung der Bioverfügbarkeit von Wirkstoffen wie N-Palmitoylethanolamid (PEA).

Herstellung von liposomalem Palmitoylethanolamid (PEA) mit Ultraschall

Liposomale PEA-Formulierungen weisen eine überlegene gastrointestinale Absorption auf und überwinden die Aufnahmebarrieren (d.h. schlechte Wasserlöslichkeit und Bioverfügbarkeit). Die orale Verabreichung von liposomal verkapseltem Palmitoylethanolamid (PEA) führt zu einer verbesserten Bioverfügbarkeit und dementsprechrend zu einem höheren Plasmaspiegel von PEA.
Die Ultraschallbehandlung ist eine bewährte und zuverlässige Methode zur Herstellung liposomaler Formulierungen in kleinen und großen Mengen. Die ultraschall-gestützte Herstellung von Liposomen ist bekannt für eine hohe Verkapselungseffizienz (%EE) und Langzeitstabilität. Daher wird die Beschallung bereits seit langem für die Liposomenherstellung in der pharmazeutischen, nutrazeutischen und kosmetischen Produktion eingesetzt.
Erfahren Sie mehr über die Vorteile der Liposomenverkapselung mittels Ultraschall!

Informationen anfordern




Beachten Sie unsere Datenschutzerklärung.


Hochleistungs-Ultraschallgeräte für die Nanostrukturierung von Palmitoylethanolamid

Hielscher Ultrasonics ist Ihr zuverlässiger Partner, wenn es um Hochleistungs-Ultraschallgeräte für die Ultramikronisierung, Nanostrukturierung (Nanosizing) und Nanoverkapselung von Palmitoylethanolamid (PEA) geht. Da Hielscher Ultrasonics‘ industrielle Ultraschallprozessoren problemlos sehr hohe Amplituden von bis zu 200µm im 24/7-Dauerbetrieb liefern, sind die zuverlässig in der Lage, N-Palmitoylethanolamin (PEA) mit ultra-mikronisierter und nano-skaliger Partikelgröße zu produzieren. Dasselbe Ultraschallsystem, das für die Ultramikronisierung und das Nanosizing verwendet wird, kann auch für die anschließende Herstellung von PEA-verkapselnden Nanoemulsionen, Liposomen und Lipid-Nanopartikeln eingesetzt werden.
Das Produktportfolio von Hielscher deckt die gesamte Bandbreite von kompakten, aber leistungsstarken Labor-Ultraschallgeräten bis hin zu vollindustriellen Produktionssystemen ab. So können wir Ihnen den idealen Ultraschall-Homogenisator für Ihre Anwendung und Produktionsziele anbieten. Zahlreiche Zubehörteile wie Sonotroden (auch bekannt als Ultraschallstab, Ultraschallsonde oder Ultraschallhorn), Boosterhörner, Durchflusszellen und Reaktoren ermöglichen die Konfiguration der optimalen Ultraschallanlage für hervorragende Produktergebnisse.
Sprechen Sie uns an! Unser gut geschultes und langjährig erfahrenes Personal unterstützt Sie gerne mit weiteren Informationen und empfiehlt Ihnen den richtigen Ultraschallprozessor für Ihren Palmitoylethanolamin (PEA)-Prozess!

In der folgenden Tabelle finden Sie die ungefähre Verarbeitungskapazität unserer Ultraschallsysteme:

Batch-Volumen Durchfluss Empfohlenes Ultraschallgerät
1 bis 500ml 10 bis 200ml/min UP100H
10 bis 2000ml 20 bis 400ml/min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 bis 20l 0,2 bis 4l/min UIP2000hdT
10 bis 100l 2 bis 10l/min UIP4000hdT
n.a. 10 bis 100l/min UIP16000
n.a. größere Cluster aus UIP16000

Kontaktieren Sie uns! / Fragen Sie uns!

Fordern Sie weitere Informationen an!

Bitte verwenden Sie das untenstehende Formular, um zusätzliche Informationen über unsere Ultraschallprozessoren, Anwendungen und Preise anzufordern. Gerne besprechen wir Ihr Verfahren mit Ihnen und bieten Ihnen ein Ihren Anforderungen entsprechendes Ultraschallsystem an!









Bitte beachten Sie unsere Datenschutzerklärung.


Ultrasonic high-shear homogenizers are used in lab, bench-top, pilot and industrial processing.

Hielscher Ultrasonics stellt Hochleistungs-Ultraschallhomogenisatoren für Mischanwendungen, Dispergierung, Emulgierung und Extraktion im Labor-, Pilot- und Industriemaßstab her.



Literatur / Literaturhinweise


Wissenswertes

Was ist Palmitoylethanolamid?

Palmitoylethanolamid (PEA) oder N-Palmitoylethanolamid ist ein endogenes Fettsäureamid, d. h. es handelt sich um eine Substanz, die der menschliche Körper selbst herstellen kann. Palmitoylethanolamid hat in der Medizin als wirksames Mittel zur Behandlung von Schmerzen und Entzündungen große Aufmerksamkeit erregt. PEA kommt auch in Lebensmitteln wie Eiern und Milch vor, und es wurden bisher keine Nebenwirkungen oder negativen Wechselwirkungen mit Medikamenten beobachtet.
Als Lipidmolekül stellt die schlechte Wasserlöslichkeit und damit die schlechte Bioverfügbarkeit von N-Palmitoylethanolamid eine große Herausforderung bei der Formulierung von Therapeutika und Nahrungsergänzungsmitteln dar. Da Palmitoylethanolamid fast unlöslich in Wasser und sehr schlecht löslich in den meisten anderen wässrigen Lösungsmitteln ist, erfordert Palmitoylethanolamid eine ausgeklügelte Verarbeitung und Formulierung, z.B. in Form von der Ultramikronisierung und Verkapselung der Palmitoylethanolamid-Moleküle in einer Nanoemulsion oder einem Lipid-Nanocarrier. Die Ultraschallverarbeitung ist eine bewährte Technik für die zuverlässige und wirksame Ultramikronisierung und Nanoformulierung von Palmitoylethanolamid.

Andere Bezeichnungen für Palmitoylethanolamid: N-Palmitoylethanolamid, Hydroxyethylpalmitamid, Impulsin, N-(2-Hydroxyethyl)hexadecanamid, N-(2-Hydroxyethyl)palmitamid, Palmidrol, Palmitamide MEA, Palmitic Acid Monoethanolamide, Palmitoylethanolamine.


High performance ultrasonics! Hielscher's product range covers the full spectrum from the compact lab ultrasonicator over bench-top units to full-industrial ultrasonic systems.

Hielscher Ultrasonics fertigt Hochleistungs-Ultraschall-Homogenisatoren vom Labor bis zum voll-kommerziellen Industriemaßstab.

Ultramicronization and Nano-Formulation of Palmitoylethanolamide (PEA)

The fatty acid amide palmitoylethanolamide (PEA) is used as oral drug administered for its anti-inflammatory and neuroprotective effects. However, being a lipid and expressing a large particle size, the bioavailability and bioaccessibility of palmitoylethanolamide (PEA) is limited due its poor water-solubility and reduced cellular uptake in the human body. Micronized, ultra-micronized as well as nano-emulsified formulations of palmitoylethanolamide enhance its rate of bioavailability and absorption significantly. Ultrasonic ultra-micronization and nano-emulsification is the superior technique to produce a palmitoylethanolamide (PEA) drug or supplement formulation with excellent bioavailability.

Ultrasonic Ultra-Micronization of Palmitoylethanolamide (PEA)

With ultrasonic milling and dispersing it becomes simple to efficiently and reliable produce ultramicronized N-palmitoylethanolamide (PEA) for pharmaceuticals, nutraceuticals, and dietary supplements. Ultrasonic milling and dispersing allows to reduce the particle size of palmitoylethanolamide (PEA) down to micron- or nano-range. The exact size of palmitoylethanolamide particles can be influenced by the ultrasonic processing parameters such as amplitude, pressure and sonication duration. For instance, a higher amplitude has more disruptive impact on the particles and results in smaller particle size, i.e., ultra-micronized and nano-sized PEA particles.
The oral administration of ultramicronized and nano-sized palmitoylethanolamide (known as PEA-um or ultra-micronized PEA) has been proven to show superior bioavailability and bioaccessibility when compared to larger particle forms. N-palmitoylethanolamide (PEA) particle sizes of 600nm and smaller are ideal for oral administration, especially when encapsulated into liposomes or lipid nanoparticles. Liposomal formulations as well as lipid nanoparticles (i.e., solid lipid nanoparticles (SLN) or nanostructured lipid carriers (NLC)) offer superior effects, which has e.g., by treating inflammatory pain in rat models.

Advantages of Ultrasonic PEA Formulations

  • maximized PEA bioavailability and efficacy
  • ultra-micronized palmitoylethanolamide
  • nano-emulsified PEA formulation
  • pharma-grade production

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


Industrial ultrasonic setup with UIP2000hdT for the ultramicronization and nanosizing of palmitoylethanolamide (PEA) for superior bioavailability and health-promoting effects.

The UIP2000hdT is a 2kW powerful ultrasonicator for the ultramicronization and nanosizing of palmitoylethanolamide (PEA). Nanosized PEA shows superior bioavailability and significantly improved effects.

Ultrasonic Milling and Dispersing of Palmitoylethanolamide (PEA)

Ultrasonic particle size reduction is a well established technique, which is used widely in various industries. For instance, active pharmaceutical ingredients (APIs) are often ultra-micronized and nanosized using high-performance ultrasonicators. Therefore, palmitoylethanolamide (PEA) is also often ultramicronized and nanosized using ultrasonication whilst obtaining a pharmaceutical- or neutraceutical-grade product.
Ultrasonically ultramiocronization and nanosizing helps to overcome the drawbacks, which result form the lipophilic and crystalline nature as well as the melting temperature of of palmitoylethanolamide (PEA). The ultramicronized or nano-sized PEA forms allow for the preparation of highly bioavailable drug or supplement formulations.

Ultrasonic Nano-Emulsification of Palmitoylethanolamide (PEA)

Ultrasonic nano-emusification is a basic application, which is required to prepare drug formulatuions with a high bioavailability including liposomes and lipid nanoparticles. The powerful ultrasonic shear forces disrupt lipid and aqueous droplets to such small sizes, that the immiscible liquids become a self-stable nanoemulsion. This process is required for the preparation of liposomes and lipid nanoparticles, where the nanosized lipid droplet is encapsulated into an aqueous coating. This aqueous coating is ideal to transport lipidic active ingredients such as palmitoylethanolamide (PEA) into the cells, where the active substance can take the desired effects (e.g., anti-inflammatory or pain-reducing effects).

Bioavailability of palmitoylethanolamide (PEA) is significantly enhanced when administered in nano-formulations. Ultrasonic encapsulation is ideal to prepare nano-formulated palmitoylethanolamide (PEA).

Structure of palmitoylethanolamide (PEA) and lipid nanoparticles (SLN = solid lipid nanoparticles; NLC = nanostructured lipid carriers).
picture: ©Puglia et al., 2018

Ultrasonically prepared lipid nanoparticles (NPs), such as solid lipid nanoparticles (SLN) or nanostructured lipid carriers (NLC) have been successfully used to improve the bioavailability of orally and topically administered N-palmitoylethanolamide.
One major advantage of ultrasonication is that the ultrasonic technology can not only be used to reduce the mean size of preformed lipid nanoparticles, but also to stabilize the nano-emulsified particle composition for long-term stability. Therefore, sonication plays a key role in controlling the final size and distribution of lipid nanoparticle dispersions and improving the bioavailability of active ingredients such as N-palmitoylethanolamide (PEA).

Ultrasonic Production of Liposomal Palmitoylethanolamide (PEA)

Liposomal PEA formulations show a superior gastrointestinal absorption and overcome the up-take barriers (i.e., poor water-solubility and bioavailability). The oral administration of liposome-ecapsulated palmitoylethanolamide (PEA) results in improved bioaccessibility and to higher plasma levels.
Ultrasonication is a well-established and reliable method to produce liposomal formulations in small and large quantities. Ultrasonic liposome production is known for a high encapsulation efficiency (%EE) and long-term stability. Therefore, sonication is already used for liposome production in pharmaceutical, nutraceutical and cosmetic production.
Learn more about the advantages of ultrasonic liposome encapsulation!

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


High-Performance Ultrasonicators for Nanosizing Palmitoylethanolamide

Hielscher Ultrasonics is your trusted partner when it comes to high-performance ultrasonicators for ultramicronization, nanosizing and nano-encapsulation of palmitoylethanolamide (PEA). Since Hielscher Ultrasonics’ industrial ultrasonic processors easily deliver very high amplitudes of up to 200µm in continuous 24/7 operation, they are reliably capable to produce ultra-micronized and nano-sized N-palmitoylethanolamine (PEA). The same ultrasonic system used for ultramicronization and nanosizing can be used in the subsequent preparation of PEA-encapsulating nanoemulsions, liposomes and lipid nanoparticles.
As Hielscher’s product portfolio covers the full range from compact, yet powerful lab ultrasonicators to fully-industrial production systems, we can offer you the ideal ultrasonic homogenizer for your application and production goals. Numerous accessories such as sonotrodes (also known as ultrasonic probes or ultrasonic horns), booster horns, flow cells and reactors allows to configure the optimal ultrasonic setup for superior outcomes.
Contact us know! Our well-trained and long-experienced staff will be glad to give you more information and recommend you the right ultrasonicator for your palmitoylethanolamine (PEA) process!

The table below gives you an indication of the approximate processing capacity of our ultrasonicators:

Batch Volume Flow Rate Recommended Devices
1 to 500mL 10 to 200mL/min UP100H
10 to 2000mL 20 to 400mL/min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 to 20L 0.2 to 4L/min UIP2000hdT
10 to 100L 2 to 10L/min UIP4000hdT
n.a. 10 to 100L/min UIP16000
n.a. larger cluster of UIP16000

Contact Us! / Ask Us!

Ask for more information

Please use the form below to request additional information about ultrasonic processors, applications and price. We will be glad to discuss your process with you and to offer you an ultrasonic system meeting your requirements!









Please note our privacy policy.


Ultrasonic high-shear homogenizers are used in lab, bench-top, pilot and industrial processing.

Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonic homogenizers for mixing applications, dispersion, emulsification and extraction on lab, pilot and industrial scale.



Literature / References


Facts Worth Knowing

What is Palmitoylethanolamide?

Palmitoylethanolamide (PEA) or N-palmitoylethanolamide is an endogenous fatty acid amide, which means it is a substance that the human body can manufacture by itself. Palmitoylethanolamide has attracted a lot of attention in the medical field as a potent treatment of pain and inflammation. PEA can be also found in foods such as eggs and milk and no side effects or negative drug-drug interactions have been observed so far.
As a lipidic molecule, the poor water-solubility and thereby poor bioavailiability of N-palmitoylethanolamide is a major challenge for its therapeutic use. Since, palmitoylethanolamide is almost insoluble in water and very poorly soluble in most other aqueous solvents, palmitoylethanolamide requires a sophisticated formulation, including ultramicronizing and encapsulating the palmitoylethanolamide molecules into a nanoemulsion or lipid nanocarriers. Ultrasonication is an established technique for the reliable and efficacious ultramicronization and nano-formulation of palmitoylethanolamide.

Other terms used for palmitoylethanolamide: N-palmitoylethanolamide, Hydroxyethylpalmitamide, Impulsin, N-(2-Hydroxyethyl) hexadecanamide, N-(2-Hydroxyethyl)palmitamide, Palmidrol, Palmitamide MEA, Palmitic Acid Monoethanolamide, Palmitoylethanolamine.


High performance ultrasonics! Hielscher's product range covers the full spectrum from the compact lab ultrasonicator over bench-top units to full-industrial ultrasonic systems.

Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonic homogenizers from lab to industrial size.


We will be glad to discuss your process.

Let's get in contact.