Hielscher تكنولوجيا الموجات فوق الصوتية

سونو-الكيمياء الكهربائية ومزاياها

هنا سوف تجد كل ما تحتاج إلى معرفته عن الكيمياء الكهربائية بالموجات فوق الصوتية (سونوليكترو كيمياريستستري): مبدأ العمل والتطبيقات والمزايا والمعدات سونو الكهروكيميائية – جميع المعلومات ذات الصلة حول سونوليكتروميميستريا على صفحة واحدة.

لماذا تطبيق الفوق صوتيات للكيمياء الكهربائية؟

مزيج من الموجات فوق الصوتية منخفضة التردد، عالية الكثافة مع أنظمة كهروكيميائية يأتي مع فوائد متعددة، والتي تحسن من كفاءة ومعدل التحويل من ردود الفعل الكهروكيميائية.

مبدأ العمل من الفوق صوتيات

لمعالجة الموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الأداء، عالية الكثافة، يتم إنشاء الموجات فوق الصوتية منخفضة التردد بواسطة مولد الموجات فوق الصوتية وينتقل عن طريق مسبار بالموجات فوق الصوتية (سونوترودي) في السائل. يعتبر الموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الطاقة الموجات فوق الصوتية في نطاق 16-30 كيلو هرتز. ويتسع المسبار بالموجات فوق الصوتية ويتعاقد معه على سبيل المثال، عند 20 كيلو هرتز، مما ينقل على التوالي 000 20 اهتزاز في الثانية إلى الوسط. عندما الموجات فوق الصوتية السفر من خلال السائل، بالتناوب الضغط العالي (ضغط) / الضغط المنخفض (نادرة أو توسيع) دورات خلق فقاعات فراغ دقيقة أو تجاويف، والتي تنمو على مدى عدة دورات الضغط. خلال مرحلة ضغط السائل والفقاعات ، يكون الضغط إيجابيًا ، في حين أن مرحلة الندرة تنتج فراغًا (ضغط سلبي). خلال دورات توسيع الضغط ، تنمو التجاويف في السائل حتى تصل إلى حجم ، حيث لا يمكنها امتصاص المزيد من الطاقة. عند هذه النقطة، أنها تنهار بعنف. الانفجار الداخلي لتلك التجاويف النتائج في مختلف الآثار ذات النشاط الشديد، والتي تعرف باسم ظاهرة التجويف الصوتية / بالموجات فوق الصوتية. يتميز التجويف الصوتي بتأثيرات متعددة حيوية للغاية ، والتي تؤثر على السوائل ، والأنظمة الصلبة / السائلة وكذلك أنظمة الغاز / السائل. ومن المعروف أن المنطقة كثيفة الطاقة أو منطقة التجويف كما يسمى منطقة الساخنة بقعة، والتي هي الأكثر كثافة الطاقة في المنطقة المجاورة للمسبار بالموجات فوق الصوتية وينخفض مع زيادة المسافة من سونوترودي. الخصائص الرئيسية للتجويف بالموجات فوق الصوتية تشمل محليا تحدث درجات الحرارة العالية جدا والضغوط والتباينات كل منهما، والاضطرابات، وتدفق السائل. أثناء انهيار تجاويف الموجات فوق الصوتية في البقع الساخنة بالموجات فوق الصوتية، يمكن قياس درجات الحرارة التي تصل إلى 5000 كلفن، والضغوط تصل إلى 200 الغلاف الجوي والطائرات السائلة مع ما يصل إلى 1000km / ساعة. تساهم هذه الظروف القوية للطاقة البارزة في التأثيرات السونومية وسونوتشيميكية التي تكثف الأنظمة الكهروكيميائية بطرق مختلفة.

Ultrasonic electrodes for sonoelectrochemical applications such as nanoparticle synthesis (electrosynthesis), hydrogen synthesis, electrocoagulation, wastewater treatment, breaking emulsions, electroplating / electrodeposition

تحقيقات المعالجات بالموجات فوق الصوتية UIP2000hdT (2000 واط، 20 كيلو هرتز) بمثابة الكاثود والأنود في خلية كهربائي

طلب معلومات





تأثيرات الموجات فوق الصوتية على التفاعلات الكهروكيميائية

  • يزيد النقل الجماعي
  • تآكل / تشتت المواد الصلبة (الشوارد)
  • تعطيل الحدود الصلبة/السائلة
  • دورات الضغط العالي

آثار الفوق صوتيات على أنظمة الكهروكيميائية

ومن المعروف تطبيق ultrasonication على التفاعلات الكهروكيميائية لتأثيرات مختلفة على الأقطاب الكهربائية، أي الأنود والكاثود، فضلا عن الحل الكهربائي. التجويف بالموجات فوق الصوتية والتدفق الصوتي تولد حركة صغيرة كبيرة، تمس الطائرات السائلة والانفعالات في سائل التفاعل. وهذا يؤدي إلى تحسين الديناميكا المائية وحركة الخليط السائل / الصلبة. التجويف بالموجات فوق الصوتية يقلل من سمك فعالة من طبقة الانتشار في القطب. طبقة انتشار مخفضة تعني أن الصوتنة تقلل من فرق التركيز ، مما يعني أن التقارب بين التركيز في المنطقة المجاورة لأقطاب كهربائية وقيمة التركيز في المحلل السائب يتم الترويج له بالموجات فوق الصوتية. تأثير الانفعالات بالموجات فوق الصوتية على التدرجات التركيز أثناء التفاعل يضمن التغذية الدائمة من محلول جديد إلى القطب وعربة الخروج من المواد تتفاعل. وهذا يعني سونيكيشن تحسين الحركة عموما تسارع معدل التفاعل وزيادة العائد رد الفعل.
عن طريق إدخال الطاقة بالموجات فوق الصوتية في النظام، فضلا عن تشكيل سونوتشيميكال من الجذور الحرة، والتفاعل الكهروكيميائي، والتي لولا ذلك كان يمكن electroinactive، يمكن أن تبدأ. 
تأثير آخر مهم من الاهتزاز الصوتية وتدفق تأثير التنظيف على أسطح القطب. طبقات التخمين والقاذورات في الأقطاب يحد من كفاءة ومعدل التفاعل من التفاعلات الكهروكيميائية. Ultrasonication يحافظ على الأقطاب نظيفة بشكل دائم ونشطة تماما لرد فعل Ultrasonication هو معروف جيدا لآثاره دي الغاز، والتي هي مفيدة في التفاعلات الكهروكيميائية، أيضا. إزالة الغازات غير المرغوب فيها من السائل، يمكن أن تعمل أكثر فعالية رد فعل.

فوائد الكيمياء الكهربائية روجت بالموجات فوق الصوتية

  • زيادة الغلة الكهروكيميائية
  • 􏰭الكنخاند سرعة التفاعل الكهروكيميائي
  • تحسين الكفاءة الشاملة
  • انخفاض 􏰭 الطبقات
  • تحسين نقل الكتلة في القطب
  • تنشيط السطح عند القطب الكهربائي
  • إزالة طبقات التخمالة والأخطاء
  • 􏰭الأقطاب الكهربائية المستحثة 􏰭
  • كفاءة إزالة الغاز من الحل
  • جودة طلاء كهربائي فائقة
Ultrasonic electrodes improve the efficiency, yield and conversion rate of electrochemical processes.

يعمل المسبار بالموجات فوق الصوتية كأقطاب كهربائية. الموجات فوق الصوتية تعزيز التفاعلات الكهروكيميائية مما أدى إلى تحسين الكفاءة، وارتفاع الغلة وأسرع معدلات التحويل.
عندما يتم الجمع بين سونيكيشن والكيمياء الكهربائية، وهذا هو سونو-الكيمياء الكهربائية.

تطبيقات سونوليكتروكريستري

يمكن تطبيق سونوليكتروكيميا على مختلف العمليات وفي مختلف الصناعات. تطبيقات شائعة جدا من سونوليكتروميميا تشمل ما يلي:

  • تركيب جسيمات نانوية (التركيب الكهربائي)
  • هيدروجين توليف
  • التخثر الكهربائي
  • معالجة مياه الصرف الصحي
  • كسر مستحلبات
  • الطلاء الكهربائي / كهربية

سونو-الكهروكيميائية توليف من الجسيمات النانوية

Ultrasonication كان ناجحا تطبيقها لتجميع الجسيمات النانوية المختلفة في نظام الكهروكيميائية. المغنطيتية، والكادميوم السيلينيوم (CDSe) الأنابيب النانوية، والجسيمات النانوية البلاتينية (NPs)، ونيب الذهب، المغنيسيوم المعدني، bismuthene، نانو الفضة، النحاس فائقة الدقة، التنغستن-الكوبالت (W-Co) سبائك النانوية، السامرة / انخفاض أكسيد الجرافين نانوكوموزيه، sub-1nm بولي (حمض الاكريليك) - توج النحاس النانوية والعديد من المساحيق نانو الحجم الأخرى تم إنتاج sucefully باستخدام سونوليكتروكيمي.
مزايا توليف جسيمات نانوية سونوليكتروكيمية تشمل

  • تجنب الحد من العوامل والمواد الراكعة السطحية
  • استخدام الماء كمذيب
  • تعديل حجم جسيمات نانوية من خلال معلمات مختلفة (الطاقة بالموجات فوق الصوتية، والكثافة الحالية، وإمكانية الترسيب والموجات فوق الصوتية مقابل مرات النبض الكهروكيميائي)

قام Ashasssi-Sorkhabi و Bagheri (2014) بتجميع أفلام polypyrrole sonoelectrochemically وقارن النتائج بالأفلام البولي بوليبورولي المُنسخة كهربائيًا. تظهر النتائج أن السونوليك جالفانوستاتيك أنتجت قوي وتمسك وslysly polypyrrole (PPy) فيلم على الصلب، مع كثافة الحالية من 4 mA سم-2 في 0.1 M oxalic حمض/0.1 م محلول بيرول. باستخدام البلمرة سونوليكتروكيمية، حصلوا على أفلام PPy عالية المقاومة وصعبة مع سطح أملس. وقد تبين أن الطلاء PPy التي أعدتها سونوليكتروميميستري توفر حماية كبيرة من التآكل إلى الصلب St-12. وكان الطلاء توليفها موحدة وعرضت مقاومة عالية للتآكل. ويمكن أن يعزى كل هذه النتائج إلى حقيقة أن الموجات فوق الصوتية عززت نقل الشامل للمتفاعلات وتسبب في ارتفاع معدلات التفاعلات الكيميائية عن طريق التجويف الصوتي وما ينتج عن ذلك من ارتفاع درجات الحرارة والضغوط. تم التحقق من صحة بيانات المعاوقة لـ St-12 Steel/two PPy الطلاء / واجهة الوسائط المسببة للتآكل باستخدام تحويلات KK ، ولوحظت أخطاء متوسطة منخفضة.

وقد أبلغا عن التوليف السونو الكهروكيميائي الناجح للمغنيسيوم النانوي (2008) (2008). وكانت الكفاءة في العملية سونوليكتروكيمي من كاشف Gringard في رباعي هيدروفوران (THF) أو في حل ثنائي بوتيل الدويليليم 41.35٪ و 33.08٪ على التوالي. إضافة AlCl3 إلى حل جرينغارد زادت من الكفاءة بشكل كبير، ورفعها إلى 82.70٪ و 51.69٪ في THF أو ثنائي بوتيليغليم، على التوالي.

سونو-الكهروكيميائية إنتاج الهيدروجين

بالموجات فوق الصوتية روج التحليل الكهربائي يزيد بشكل كبير من انتاج الهيدروجين من الماء أو الحلول القلوية. انقر هنا لقراءة المزيد عن توليف الهيدروجين المنحل بالموجات فوق الصوتية تسارع كهربائيا!

بالموجات فوق الصوتية بمساعدة الكهربائي

The application of low-frequency ultrasound to electrocoagulcation systems is known as sono-electrocoagulation. Studies show that sonication influences electrocoagulation positively resulting e.g., in higher removal efficiency of iron hydroxides from wastewater. The positive impact of ultrasonics on electrocoagulation is explained by the reduction of electrode passivation. Low-frequency, high-intensity ultrasound destructs deposited solid layer and removes them efficiently, thereby keeping the electrodes continuously fully active. Furthermore, ultrasonics activates both ion types, i.e. cations and anions, present in the electrodes reaction zone. Ultrasonic agitation results in high micro-movement of the solution feeding and carrying away raw material and product to and from the electrodes.
ومن الأمثلة على عمليات التخثر الكهربائية السوناوية الناجحة تقليل Cr (VI) إلى Cr (III) في مياه الصرف الصحي الصيدلانية، وإزالة إجمالي الفوسفور من النفايات السائلة في الصناعة الكيميائية الدقيقة مع كفاءة إزالة الفوسفور، وكان 99.5% في غضون 10 دقائق، إزالة اللون والتكديس من النفايات السائلة في صناعة اللب والورق إلخ. وكانت كفاءة الإزالة المبلغ عنها للون، COD، Cr (VI)، Cu(II) وP 100٪، 95٪، 100٪، 97.3٪، و 99.84٪، على التوالي. (راجع) & الشناج، 2018)

سونو-الكهروكيميائية التدهور من الملوثات

يتم تطبيقها بالموجات فوق الصوتية روجت الأكسدة الكهروكيميائية و/أو الحد من ردود الفعل كوسيلة قوية لتحلل الملوثات الكيميائية. تعمل الآليات السونومية والسونكيماوية على تعزيز التدهور الكهروكيميائي للملوثات. التجويف المتولد بالموجات فوق الصوتية النتائج في التحريض الشديد، والاختلاط الدقيق، ونقل الشامل وإزالة طبقات التخمالة من الأقطاب الكهربائية. هذه الآثار التجويف تؤدي أساسا إلى تعزيز نقل الكتلة الصلبة السائلة بين الأقطاب الكهربائية والحل. الآثار سونوتشيميكال تؤثر بشكل مباشر على الجزيئات. الانقسام المتجانس للجزيئات يخلق تأكسد شديد التفاعل. في وسائل الإعلام مائي وفي وجود الأكسجين، يتم إنتاج الجذور مثل HO•، HO2• و O• . • ومن المعروف أن الجذور OH أن تكون مهمة للتحلل كفاءة المواد العضوية. وعموما، يظهر التحلل السونو الكهروكيميائي كفاءة عالية ومناسب لمعالجة كميات كبيرة من تيارات مياه الصرف الصحي وغيرها من السوائل الملوثة.
على سبيل المثال ، وجد Lllanos وآخرون (2016) أنه تم الحصول على تأثير تآزري كبير لتطهير المياه عندما تم تكثيف النظام الكهروكيميائي بواسطة sonication (التطهير الكهروكيميائي سونو). وتبين أن هذه الزيادة في معدل التطهير تتصل بقمع أغولومرات الخلايا القولونية وكذلك بزيادة إنتاج الأنواع المطهرة. 
وأظهرت إسكلابيز وآخرون (2010) أن مفاعل سونوليكتروكيمي مصمم خصيصا (ولكن لم يتم تحسينه) قد استخدم أثناء توسيع نطاق تحلل حمض ثلاثي الكلور الأوسيك (TCAA)، ووجود حقل الموجات فوق الصوتية المتولدة مع UIP1000hd قدمت نتائج أفضل (تحويل كسري 97٪، كفاءة التحلل 26٪، الانتقائية 0.92 والكفاءة الحالية 8٪) في انخفاض كثافة الموجات فوق الصوتية وتدفق الحجمي. وبالنظر إلى حقيقة أن المفاعل السونوليكتروكيميائي السابق للطيار لم يكن قد تم تحسينه بعد، فمن المرجح جداً أن هذه النتائج يمكن أن تتحسن أكثر.

قياس الموجات فوق الصوتية والكهربية

تم إجراء الالكتروديسين جالفانوستاتيكياً بكثافة حالية تبلغ 15 م أ/سم2. تعرضت الحلول إلى ultrasonication قبل كهربية لمدة 5-60 دقيقة. A هيلشر UP200S المسبار نوع أوفوق أوفوقاتاتوراتور تم استخدامه في وقت دورة من 0.5. تم تحقيق Ultrasonication عن طريق غمس مباشرة التحقيق الموجات فوق الصوتية في الحل. لتقييم تأثير الموجات فوق الصوتية على الحل قبل التهيئة الكهربائية، تم استخدام قياس فولتامومي ( CV ) من أجل الكشف عن سلوك الحل ويجعل من الممكن التنبؤ بالظروف المثالية للالكتروديسيشن. ويلاحظ أنه عندما يخضع الحل إلى ultrasonication قبل الكهربائي، ترسب يبدأ في القيم المحتملة أقل سلبية. وهذا يعني أنه في نفس التيار في حل أقل المحتملة مطلوب، كما الأنواع في الحل تتصرف أكثر نشاطا مما كانت عليه في تلك غير الموجات فوق الصوتية. (را. يوردال) & كارهان 2017)

UIP2000hdT بالموجات فوق الصوتية (2000 واط، 20 كيلو هرتز) كما الكاثود و / أو أنود في خزان

UIP2000hdT بالموجات فوق الصوتية (2000 واط، 20 كيلو هرتز) كما الكاثود و / أو أنود في خزان

طلب معلومات





تحقيقات كهروكيميائية عالية الأداء وسونو كهربية

Hielscher الفوق صوتيات هو شريكك منذ فترة طويلة من ذوي الخبرة لأنظمة الموجات فوق الصوتية عالية الأداء. نحن تصنيع وتوزيع الدولة من بين الفن المسابير ومفاعلات الموجات فوق الصوتية، والتي تستخدم في جميع أنحاء العالم للتطبيقات الثقيلة في بيئات تطالب. بالنسبة للكيمياء سونوليكترو، وقد وضعت Hielscher تحقيقات الموجات فوق الصوتية الخاصة، والتي يمكن أن تعمل كتكاثود و / أو أنود، فضلا عن خلايا مفاعل بالموجات فوق الصوتية مناسبة للتفاعلات الكهروكيميائية. الأقطاب الكهربائية والخلايا بالموجات فوق الصوتية متوفرة للجلفاني / فولتايك وكذلك الأنظمة الكهالكية.

السعات التي يمكن التحكم فيها بدقة للحصول على أفضل النتائج

Hielscher's industrial processors of the hdT series can be comfortable and user-friendly operated via browser remote control.جميع معالجات الموجات فوق الصوتية Hielscher هي التي يمكن التحكم فيها بدقة، وبالتالي يمكن الاعتماد عليها الخيول العمل في R&د والإنتاج. السعة هي واحدة من معلمات العملية الحاسمة التي تؤثر على كفاءة وفعالية التفاعلات المستحثة بسونChemically وسونوميميكانيكية. جميع Hielscher الفوق صوتيات’ المعالجات تسمح للإعداد الدقيق من السعة. Hielscher المعالجات بالموجات فوق الصوتية الصناعية يمكن أن توفر السعات عالية جداً وتقديم كثافة الموجات فوق الصوتية المطلوبة للتطبيقات سونو-الكهربائية تطلباً. يمكن تشغيل السعات التي تصل إلى 200μm بسهولة في عملية 24/7.
إعدادات السعة الدقيقة والرصد الدائم للمعلمات عملية الموجات فوق الصوتية عبر البرامج الذكية تعطيك إمكانية للتأثير على رد فعل سونوئيلكتروتشيميكي على وجه التحديد. خلال كل تشغيل سونيكيشن، يتم تسجيل جميع المعلمات بالموجات فوق الصوتية تلقائيا على بطاقة SD المدمج، بحيث يمكن تقييم كل تشغيل والسيطرة عليها. صوتنة الأمثل لتفاعلات سونوليكتروكيمية الأكثر كفاءة!
تم بناء جميع المعدات للاستخدام 24/7/365 تحت حمولة كاملة ومتانة وموثوقية تجعل من حصان العمل في عملية كهروكيميائية. وهذا يجعل معدات Hielscher بالموجات فوق الصوتية أداة عمل موثوقة تفي بمتطلبات عملية sonoelectrochemical الخاصة بك.

أعلى جودة – تم تصميمها وتصنيعها في ألمانيا

باعتبارها الأعمال التي تديرها عائلة و، Hielscher يعطي الأولوية لأعلى معايير الجودة لمعالجات الموجات فوق الصوتية. جميع أوفوق الصوتيات مصممة، وتصنيعها واختبارها بدقة في مقرنا الرئيسي في Teltow بالقرب من برلين، ألمانيا. قوة وموثوقية معدات Hielscher بالموجات فوق الصوتية تجعل من حصان عمل في الإنتاج الخاص بك. 24/7 عملية تحت حمولة كاملة وفي بيئات تطالب هو سمة طبيعية من تحقيقات Hielscher عالية الأداء بالموجات فوق الصوتية والمفاعلات.

اتصل بنا الآن وأخبرنا عن متطلبات العملية الكهروكيميائية الخاصة بك! سوف نوصي لك الأقطاب الكهربائية بالموجات فوق الصوتية الأكثر ملاءمة وإعداد مفاعل!

اتصل بنا! / اسألنا!

اطلب المزيد من المعلومات

يرجى استخدام النموذج أدناه لطلب معلومات إضافية حول المعالجات بالموجات فوق الصوتية والتطبيقات والسعر. سنكون سعداء لمناقشة العملية الخاصة بك معك ونقدم لكم نظام الموجات فوق الصوتية تلبية الاحتياجات الخاصة بك!









يرجى ملاحظة لدينا سياسة الخصوصية.


Ultrasonic high-shear homogenizers are used in lab, bench-top, pilot and industrial processing.

Hielscher الفوق صوتيات بتصنيع عالية الأداء المجانسة بالموجات فوق الصوتية لخلط التطبيقات، تشتت، استحلاب واستخراج على المختبر، والطيارية ومقياس الصناعية.

الأدب / المراجع

Hielscher Ultrasound Technology

Sono-Electrochemistry and its Advantages

Here you will find all you need to know about ultrasonic electrochemistry (sonoelectrochemistry): working principle, applications, advantages and sono-electrochemical equipment – all relevant information about sonoelectrochemistry on one page.

Why Applying Ultrasonics to Electrochemistry?

The combination of low-frequency, high-intensity ultrasound waves with electrochemical systems comes with manifold benefits, which improve the efficiency and conversion rate of electrochemical reactions.

The Working Principle of Ultrasonics

For high-performance ultrasonic processing, high-intensity, low-frequency ultrasound is generated by an ultrasound generator and transmitted via an ultrasonic probe (sonotrode) into a liquid. High-power ultrasound is considered ultrasound in the range of 16-30kHz. The ultrasound probe expands and contracts e.g., at 20kHz, thereby transmitting respectively 20,000 vibrations per second into the medium. When the ultrasonic waves travel through the liquid, alternating high-pressure (compression) / low-pressure (rarefaction or expansion) cycles create minute vacuum bubbles or cavities, which grow over several pressure cycles. During the compression phase of the liquid and bubbles, the pressure is positive, while the rarefaction phase produces a vacuum (negative pressure). During the compression-expansion cycles, the cavities in the liquid grow until they reach a size, at which they cannot absorb more energy. At this point, they implode violently. The implosion of those cavities results in various highly energetic effects, which are known as the phenomenon of acoustic / ultrasonic cavitation. Acoustic cavitation is characterized by manifold highly energetic effects, which impact liquids, solid/liquid systems as well as gas/liquid systems. The energy-dense zone or cavitational zone is known as so-called hot-spot zone, which is most energy-dense in the close vicinity of the ultrasonic probe and declines with increasing distance from the sonotrode. The main characteristics of ultrasonic cavitation include locally occurring very high temperatures and pressures and respective differentials, turbulences, and liquid streaming. During the implosion of ultrasonic cavities in ultrasonic hot-spots, temperatures of up to 5000 Kelvin, pressures of up to 200 atmospheres and liquid jets with up to 1000km/h can be measured. These outstanding energy-intense conditions contribute to sonomechanical and sonochemical effects that intensify electrochemical systems in various ways.

Ultrasonic electrodes for sonoelectrochemical applications such as nanoparticle synthesis (electrosynthesis), hydrogen synthesis, electrocoagulation, wastewater treatment, breaking emulsions, electroplating / electrodeposition

The probes of the ultrasonic processors UIP2000hdT (2000 watts, 20kHz) act as cathode and anode in an electrolytic cell

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


Ultrasonic Effects on Electrochemical Reactions

  • Increases mass transfer
  • Erosion / dispersions of solids (electrolytes)
  • Disruption of solid/liquid boundaries
  • High pressure cycles

The Effects of Ultrasonics on Electrochemical Systems

The application of ultrasonication to electrochemical reactions is known for various effects on the electrodes, i.e. anode and cathode, as well as the electrolytic solution. Ultrasonic cavitation and acoustic streaming generate significant micro-movement, impinging liquid jets and agitation into the reaction fluid. This results in improved hydrodynamics and movement of the liquid/solid mixture. Ultrasonic cavitation reduces the effective thickness of the diffusion layer at an electrode. A reduced diffusion layer means that sonication minimizes the concentration difference, meaning the convergence of the concentration in the vicinity of an electrode and the concentration value in the bulk solution are promoted ultrasonically. The influence of ultrasonic agitation on the concentration gradients during the reaction ensures the permanent feeding of fresh solution to the electrode and carting off of reacted material. This means sonication improved the overall kinetics accelerating reaction rate and increasing reaction yield.
By the introduction of ultrasonic energy into the system as well as the sonochemical formation of free radicals, electrochemical reaction, which otherwise would have been electroinactive, can be initiated. 
Another important effect of acoustic vibration and streaming is the cleaning effect upon the electrode surfaces. Passivating layers and fouling at the electrodes limit the efficiency and reaction rate of electrochemical reactions. Ultrasonication keeps the electrodes permanently clean and fully active for reaction.
Ultrasonication is well-known for its degassing effects, which are beneficial in electrochemical reactions, too. Removing unwanted gases from the liquid, the reaction can run more efficacious.

Benefits of Ultrasonically Promoted Electrochemistry

  • Increased electrochemical yields
  • 􏰭Enhanced electrochemical reaction speed
  • Improved overall efficiency
  • Reduced diffusion 􏰭layers
  • Improved mass transfer at the electrode

  • Surface activation at the electrode
  • Removal of passivating layers and fouling
  • 􏰭Reduced electrode overpotentials
􏰭
  • Efficient degassing of the solution
  • Superior electroplating quality
Ultrasonic electrodes improve the efficiency, yield and conversion rate of electrochemical processes.

The ultrasonic probe functions as electrode. The ultrasound waves promote electrochemical reactions resulting in improved efficiency, higher yields and faster conversion rates.
When sonication is combined with electrochemistry, this is sono-electrochemistry.

Applications of Sonoelectrochemistry

Sonoelectrochemistry can be applied to various processes and in different industries. Very common applications of sonoelectrochemistry include the following:

  • Nanoparticle synthesis (electrosynthesis)
  • Hydrogen synthesis
  • Electrocoagulation
  • Wastewater treatment
  • Breaking emulsions
  • Electroplating / Electrodeposition

Sono-Electrochemical Synthesis of Nanoparticles

Ultrasonication was successful applied to synthesize various nanoparticles in an electrochemical system. Magnetite, cadmium-selenium (CdSe) nanotubes, platinum nanoparticles (NPs), gold NPs, metallic magnesium, bismuthene, nano-silver, ultra-fine copper, tungsten–cobalt (W–Co) alloy nanoparticles, samaria/reduced graphene oxide nanocomposite, sub-1nm poly(acrylic acid)-capped copper nanoparticles and many other nano-sized powders have been sucefully produced using sonoelectrochemistry.
Advantages of the sonoelectrochemical nanoparticle synthesis include the

  • avoidance of reducing agents and surfactants
  • use of water as a solvent
  • adjustment of nanoparticle size by varying parameters (ultrasonic power, current density, deposition potential and the ultrasonic vs electrochemical pulse times)

Ashasssi-Sorkhabi and Bagheri (2014) synthesized polypyrrole films sonoelectrochemically and compared the results to electrocheically syntheised polypyrrole films. The results show that the galvanostatic sonoelectrodeposition produced a strongly adherent and smooth polypyrrole (PPy) film on steel, with a current density of 4 mA cm–2 in 0.1 M oxalic acid/0.1 M pyrrole solution. Using sonoelectrochemical polymerization, they obtained high-resistance and tough PPy films with smooth surface. It has been shown that PPy coatings prepared by sonoelectrochemistry provide substantial corrosion protection to St-12 steel. The synthesized coating was uniform and exhibited a high corrosion resistance. All these results may be attributed to the fact that the ultrasound enhanced the mass transfer of the reactants and caused high chemical reaction rates via acoustic cavitation and the resulting high temperatures and pressures. The validity of impedance data for the St-12 steel/two PPy coatings/corrosive media interface was checked using the KK transforms, and low average errors were observed.

Hass and Gedanken (2008) reported the successful sono-electrochemical synthesis of metallic magnesium nanoparticles. The efficiencies in the sonoelectrochemical process of the Gringard reagent in tetrahydrofuran (THF) or in a dibutyldiglyme solution were 41.35% and 33.08%, respectively. Adding AlCl3 to the Gringard solution increased the efficiency dramatically, raising it to 82.70% and 51.69% in THF or dibutyldiglyme, respectively.

Sono-Electrochemical Hydrogen Production

Ultrasonically promoted electrolysis significantly increases hydrogen yield from water or alkaline solutions. Click here to read more about the ultrasonically accelerated electrolytic hydrogen synthesis!

Ultrasonically Assisted Electrocoagulation

The application of low-frequency ultrasound to electrocoagulcation systems is known as sono-electrocoagulation. Studies show that sonication influences electrocoagulation positively resulting e.g., in higher removal efficiency of iron hydroxides from wastewater. The positive impact of ultrasonics on electrocoagulation is explained by the reduction of electrode passivation. Low-frequency, high-intensity ultrasound destructs deposited solid layer and removes them efficiently, thereby keeping the electrodes continuously fully active. Furthermore, ultrasonics activates both ion types, i.e. cations and anions, present in the electrodes reaction zone. Ultrasonic agitation results in high micro-movement of the solution feeding and carrying away raw material and product to and from the electrodes.
Examples for successful sono-electrocoagulation processes are the reduction of Cr(VI) to Cr(III) in the pharmaceutical wastewater, the removal of total phosphorus from effluents of the fine chemical industry with a phosphorous removal efficiency was 99.5% within 10 min., color and COD removal from effluents of the pulp and paper industry etc. Reported removal efficiencies for of color, COD, Cr(VI), Cu(II) and P were 100%, 95%, 100%, 97.3%, and 99.84%, respectively. (cf. Al-Qodah & Al-Shannag, 2018)

Sono-Electrochemical Degradation of Pollutants

Ultrasonically promoted electrochemical oxidation and/or reduction reactions are applied as powerful method to degrade chemical pollutant. Sonomechanical and sonochemical mechanisms promote the electrochemical degradation of pollutants. Ultrasonically generated cavitation results in intense agitation, micro-mixing, mass transfer and the removal of passivating layers from the electrodes. These cavitational effects result mainly in an enhancement of the solid-liquid mass transfer between the electrodes and the solution. Sonochemical effects directly impact molecules. Homolytic cleavage of molecules creates highly reactive oxidants. In aqueous media and in the presence of oxygen, radicals such as HO•, HO2• and O• are produced. •OH radicals are known to be important for the efficient decomposition of organic materials. Overall, sono-electrochemical degradation shows high efficiency and is suitable for the treatment of large volumes of wastewater streams and other polluted liquids.
For instance, Lllanos et al. (2016) found that significant synergistic effect were obtained for water disinfection when the electrochemical system was intensified by sonication (sono-electrochemical disinfection). This increase in the disinfection rate was found to be related to the suppression E. coli cell aggolomerates as well as an enhanced production of disinfectant species. 
Esclapez et al. (2010) showed that a specifically designed sonoelectrochemical reactor (however not optimized) was used during the scale-up of trichloroacetic acid (TCAA) degradation, the presence of ultrasound field generated with the UIP1000hd provided better results (fractional conversion 97%, degradation efficiency 26%, selectivity 0.92 and current efficiency 8%) at lower ultrasonic intensities and volumetric flow. Considering the fact, that the pre-pilot sonoelectrochemical reactor was not yet optimized, it is very likely that these results can be even further improved.

Ultrasonic Voltammetry and Electrodeposition

Electrodeposition was carried out galvanostatically at current density of 15 mA/cm2. Solutions were subjected to ultrasonication before electrodeposition for 5–60 minutes. A Hielscher UP200S probe-type ultrasonicator was used at a cycle time of 0.5. Ultrasonication was achieved by directly dipping the ultrasound probe into the solution. To evaluate the ultrasonic impact on the solution before electrodeposition, cyclic voltammetry (CV) was used in order to reveal solution behavior and makes it possible to predict ideal conditions for electrodeposition. It is observed that when solution is subjected to ultrasonication before electrodeposition, deposition begins at less negative potential values. This means that at the same current in the solution less potential is required, as the species in the solution behave more active than in non-ultrasonicated ones. (cf. Yurdal & Karahan 2017)

Ultrasonic UIP2000hdT (2000 watts, 20kHz) as Cathode and/or Anode in a tank

Ultrasonic UIP2000hdT (2000 watts, 20kHz) as Cathode and/or Anode in a Tank

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


High-Performance Electrochemical Probes and SonoElectroReactors

Hielscher Ultrasonics is your long-time experienced partner for high-performance ultrasonic systems. We manufacture and distribute state-of-the-art ultrasonic probes and reactors, which are used worldwide for heavy-duty applications in demanding environments. For sonoelectrochemistry, Hielscher has developed special ultrasonic probes, which can act as cathode and/or anode, as well as ultrasonic reactor cells suitable for electrochemical reactions. Ultrasonic electrodes and cells are available for galvanic / voltaic as well as electrolytic systems.

Precisely Controllable Amplitudes for Optimum Results

Hielscher's industrial processors of the hdT series can be comfortable and user-friendly operated via browser remote control.All Hielscher ultrasonic processors are precisely controllable and thereby reliable work horses in R&D and production. The amplitude is one of the crucial process parameters that influence the efficiency and effectiveness of sonochemically and sonomechanically induced reactions. All Hielscher Ultrasonics’ processors allow for the precise setting of the amplitude. Hielscher’s industrial ultrasonic processors can deliver very high amplitudes and deliver the required ultrasonic intensity for demanding sono-electrochamical applications. Amplitudes of up to 200µm can be easily continuously run in 24/7 operation.
Precise amplitude settings and the permanent monitoring of the ultrasonic process parameters via smart software give you the possibility to influence the sonoelectrochemical reaction precisely. During every sonication run, all ultrasonic parameters are automatically recorded on a built-in SD-card, so that each run can be evaluated and controlled. Optimal sonication for most efficient sonoelectrochemical reactions!
All equipment is built for the 24/7/365 use under full load and its robustness and reliability make it the work horse in your electrochemical process. This makes Hielscher’s ultrasonic equipment a reliable work tool that fulfils your sonoelectrochemical process requirements.

Highest Quality – Designed and Manufactured in Germany

As a family-owned and family-run business, Hielscher prioritizes highest quality standards for its ultrasonic processors. All ultrasonicators are designed, manufactured and thoroughly tested in our headquarter in Teltow near Berlin, Germany. Robustness and reliability of Hielscher’s ultrasonic equipment make it a work horse in your production. 24/7 operation under full load and in demanding environments is a natural characteristic of Hielscher’s high-performance ultrasonic probes and reactors.

Contact us now and tell us about your electrochemical process requirements! We will recommend you the most suitable ultrasonic electrodes and reactor setup!

Contact Us! / Ask Us!

Ask for more information

Please use the form below to request additional information about ultrasonic processors, applications and price. We will be glad to discuss your process with you and to offer you an ultrasonic system meeting your requirements!









Please note our privacy policy.


Ultrasonic high-shear homogenizers are used in lab, bench-top, pilot and industrial processing.

Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonic homogenizers for mixing applications, dispersion, emulsification and extraction on lab, pilot and industrial scale.

Literature / References