Technologie des ultrasons Hielscher

La sono-électrochimie et ses avantages

Vous trouverez ici tout ce que vous devez savoir sur l'électrochimie ultrasonore (sono-électrochimie) : principe de fonctionnement, applications, avantages et équipement sono-électrochimique – toutes les informations pertinentes sur la sonoélectrochimie sur une page.

Pourquoi appliquer les ultrasons à l'électrochimie ?

La combinaison d'ondes ultrasonores de basse fréquence et de haute intensité avec des systèmes électrochimiques présente de nombreux avantages, qui améliorent l'efficacité et le taux de conversion des réactions électrochimiques.

Le principe de fonctionnement des ultrasons

Pour un traitement ultrasonique performant, des ultrasons de haute intensité et de basse fréquence sont générés par un générateur d'ultrasons et transmis par une sonde ultrasonique (sonotrode) dans un liquide. Les ultrasons de haute puissance sont considérés comme des ultrasons dans la gamme de 16 à 30 kHz. La sonde à ultrasons se dilate et se contracte par exemple à 20 kHz, transmettant ainsi respectivement 20 000 vibrations par seconde dans le milieu. Lorsque les ondes ultrasonores traversent le liquide, des cycles alternés de haute pression (compression) et de basse pression (raréfaction ou expansion) créent de minuscules bulles ou cavités de vide, qui se développent sur plusieurs cycles de pression. Pendant la phase de compression du liquide et des bulles, la pression est positive, tandis que la phase de raréfaction produit un vide (pression négative). Pendant les cycles de compression-détente, les cavités du liquide se développent jusqu'à atteindre une taille à laquelle elles ne peuvent plus absorber d'énergie. À ce stade, elles implosent violemment. L'implosion de ces cavités entraîne divers effets hautement énergétiques, connus sous le nom de phénomène de cavitation acoustique / ultrasonique. La cavitation acoustique est caractérisée par de nombreux effets hautement énergétiques, qui ont un impact sur les liquides, les systèmes solides/liquides ainsi que les systèmes gaz/liquides. La zone de densité d'énergie ou zone de cavitation est connue sous le nom de zone de point chaud, qui est la plus dense en énergie à proximité de la sonde ultrasonique et qui diminue avec la distance de la sonotrode. Les principales caractéristiques de la cavitation ultrasonore comprennent des températures et des pressions très élevées qui se produisent localement, ainsi que les différentiels, les turbulences et les courants liquides respectifs. Lors de l'implosion des cavités ultrasonores dans les points chauds ultrasonores, des températures allant jusqu'à 5000 Kelvin, des pressions allant jusqu'à 200 atmosphères et des jets de liquide allant jusqu'à 1000km/h peuvent être mesurés. Ces conditions exceptionnelles d'intensité énergétique contribuent à des effets sonomécaniques et sonochimiques qui intensifient les systèmes électrochimiques de diverses manières.

Ultrasonic electrodes for sonoelectrochemical applications such as nanoparticle synthesis (electrosynthesis), hydrogen synthesis, electrocoagulation, wastewater treatment, breaking emulsions, electroplating / electrodeposition

Les sondes des processeurs ultrasoniques UIP2000hdT (2000 watts, 20kHz) agir comme cathode et anode dans une cellule électrolytique

Demande d'information





Effets des ultrasons sur les réactions électrochimiques

  • Augmente le transfert de masse
  • Érosion / dispersions de solides (électrolytes)
  • Perturbation des frontières solides/liquides
  • Cycles de haute pression

Les effets des ultrasons sur les systèmes électrochimiques

L'application des ultrasons aux réactions électrochimiques est connue pour ses divers effets sur les électrodes, c'est-à-dire l'anode et la cathode, ainsi que sur la solution électrolytique. La cavitation ultrasonore et le flux acoustique génèrent un micro-mouvement important, qui se traduit par des jets de liquide et une agitation dans le fluide de réaction. Il en résulte une amélioration de l'hydrodynamique et du mouvement du mélange liquide/solide. La cavitation ultrasonique réduit l'épaisseur effective de la couche de diffusion au niveau d'une électrode. Une couche de diffusion réduite signifie que la sonication minimise la différence de concentration, ce qui signifie que la convergence de la concentration au voisinage d'une électrode et la valeur de la concentration dans la solution en vrac sont favorisées par les ultrasons. L'influence de l'agitation ultrasonore sur les gradients de concentration pendant la réaction assure l'alimentation permanente de l'électrode en solution fraîche et l'enlèvement du matériau ayant réagi. Cela signifie que la sonication a amélioré la cinétique globale, accélérant la vitesse de réaction et augmentant le rendement de la réaction.
Par l'introduction d'énergie ultrasonore dans le système ainsi que par la formation sonochimique de radicaux libres, une réaction électrochimique, qui autrement aurait été électroinactive, peut être initiée. Another L'effet important des vibrations et des flux acoustiques est l'effet de nettoyage sur les surfaces des électrodes. Les couches de passivation et l'encrassement des électrodes limitent l'efficacité et la vitesse de réaction des réactions électrochimiques. Les ultrasons maintiennent les électrodes en permanence propres et entièrement actives pour la réaction.Ultrasonication est bien connu pour ses effets de dégazage, qui sont également bénéfiques dans les réactions électrochimiques. En éliminant les gaz indésirables du liquide, la réaction peut être plus efficace.

Avantages de l'électrochimie promue par ultrasons

  • Augmentation des rendements électrochimiques
  • Amélioration de la vitesse de réaction électrochimique
  • Amélioration de l'efficacité globale
  • Couches de diffusion réduites
  • Amélioration du transfert de masse sur le site electrode
  • Activation de surface à l'électrode
  • Suppression des couches de passivation et de l'encrassement
  • Electrode réduite overpotentials
  • Dégazage efficace de la solution
  • Une qualité de galvanoplastie supérieure
Ultrasonic electrodes improve the efficiency, yield and conversion rate of electrochemical processes.

La sonde ultrasonore fait office d'électrode. Les ondes ultrasonores favorisent les réactions électrochimiques, ce qui se traduit par une meilleure efficacité, des rendements plus élevés et des taux de conversion plus rapides.
Lorsque la sonication est combinée avec l'électrochimie, il s'agit de la sono-électrochimie.

Applications de la sonoélectrochimie

La sonoélectrochimie peut être appliquée à divers procédés et dans différentes industries. Parmi les applications très courantes de la sonoélectrochimie, on peut citer les suivantes :

  • Synthèse de nanoparticules (électrosynthèse)
  • Synthèse de l'hydrogène
  • Electrocoagulation
  • Traitement des eaux usées
  • Briser les émulsions
  • Électrodéposition

Synthèse sono-électrochimique des nanoparticules

Les ultrasons ont été appliqués avec succès pour synthétiser diverses nanoparticules dans un système électrochimique. Magnétite, nanotubes de cadmium-sélénium (CdSe), nanoparticules de platine (NP), NP d'or, magnésium métallique, bismuthène, nano-argent, cuivre ultra-fin, nanoparticules d'alliage tungstène-cobalt (W-Co), nanocomposite samaria/oxyde de graphène réduit, nanoparticules de cuivre de moins de 1 nm recouvertes de poly(acide acrylique) et de nombreuses autres poudres de taille nanométrique ont été produites avec succès grâce à la sonoélectrochimie.
Les avantages de la synthèse de nanoparticules par voie sono-électrochimique sont les suivants

  • éviter les agents réducteurs et les agents de surface
  • l'utilisation de l'eau comme solvant
  • ajustement de la taille des nanoparticules en fonction de divers paramètres (puissance ultrasonore, densité de courant, potentiel de dépôt et durée des impulsions ultrasonores et électrochimiques)

Ashasssi-Sorkhabi et Bagheri (2014) ont synthétisé des films de polypyrrole par voie sono-électrochimique et ont comparé les résultats à des films de polypyrrole synthétisés par voie électrochimique. Les résultats montrent que la sonoélectrodéposition galvanostatique a produit un film de polypyrrole (PPy) fortement adhérent et lisse sur l'acier, avec une densité de courant de 4 mA cm-2 dans une solution de pyrrole 0,1 M d'acide oxalique/0,1 M. En utilisant la polymérisation sono-électrochimique, ils ont obtenu des films de PPy très résistants et tenaces avec une surface lisse. Il a été démontré que les revêtements de PPy préparés par la sonoélectrochimie offrent une protection anticorrosion substantielle à l'acier St-12. Le revêtement synthétisé était uniforme et présentait une grande résistance à la corrosion. Tous ces résultats peuvent être attribués au fait que les ultrasons ont amélioré le transfert de masse des réactifs et ont provoqué des taux de réaction chimique élevés par cavitation acoustique et les températures et pressions élevées qui en résultent. La validité des données d'impédance pour l'interface acier St-12 / deux revêtements PPy / milieu corrosif a été vérifiée à l'aide des transformées KK, et de faibles erreurs moyennes ont été observées.

Hass et Gedanken (2008) ont rapporté la réussite de la synthèse sono-électrochimique de nanoparticules de magnésium métallique. L'efficacité du processus sono-électrochimique du réactif de Gringard dans le tétrahydrofuranne (THF) ou dans une solution de dibutyldiglyme était de 41,35 % et 33,08 %, respectivement. L'ajout d'AlCl3 à la solution de Gringard a considérablement augmenté l'efficacité, la portant à 82,70% et 51,69% dans le THF ou le dibutyldiglyme, respectivement.

Production d'hydrogène par voie électrochimique

L'électrolyse favorisée par les ultrasons augmente considérablement le rendement en hydrogène de l'eau ou des solutions alcalines. Cliquez ici pour en savoir plus sur la synthèse électrolytique d'hydrogène accélérée par ultrasons !

Électrocoagulation assistée par ultrasons

The application of low-frequency ultrasound to electrocoagulcation systems is known as sono-electrocoagulation. Studies show that sonication influences electrocoagulation positively resulting e.g., in higher removal efficiency of iron hydroxides from wastewater. The positive impact of ultrasonics on electrocoagulation is explained by the reduction of electrode passivation. Low-frequency, high-intensity ultrasound destructs deposited solid layer and removes them efficiently, thereby keeping the electrodes continuously fully active. Furthermore, ultrasonics activates both ion types, i.e. cations and anions, present in the electrodes reaction zone. Ultrasonic agitation results in high micro-movement of the solution feeding and carrying away raw material and product to and from the electrodes.
Les exemples de procédés de sono-électrocoagulation réussis sont la réduction du Cr(VI) en Cr(III) dans les eaux usées pharmaceutiques, l'élimination du phosphore total des effluents de l'industrie de la chimie fine avec une efficacité d'élimination du phosphore de 99,5% en 10 minutes, l'élimination de la couleur et de la DCO des effluents de l'industrie de la pâte et du papier, etc. Les rendements d'élimination signalés pour la couleur, la DCO, le Cr(VI), le Cu(II) et le P étaient respectivement de 100 %, 95 %, 100 %, 97,3 % et 99,84 %. (cf. Al-Qodah & Al-Shannag, 2018)

Dégradation sono-électrochimique des polluants

Les réactions d'oxydation et/ou de réduction électrochimique favorisées par les ultrasons sont appliquées comme méthode puissante pour dégrader les polluants chimiques. Des mécanismes sonomécaniques et sonochimiques favorisent la dégradation électrochimique des polluants. La cavitation générée par les ultrasons entraîne une agitation intense, un micro-mélange, un transfert de masse et l'élimination des couches passives des électrodes. Ces effets de cavitation se traduisent principalement par une amélioration du transfert de masse solide-liquide entre les électrodes et la solution. Les effets sonochimiques ont un impact direct sur les molécules. Le clivage homolytique des molécules crée des oxydants très réactifs. En milieu aqueux et en présence d'oxygène, des radicaux tels que HO-, HO2- et O- sont produits. Les radicaux -OH sont connus pour être importants pour la décomposition efficace des matières organiques. Dans l'ensemble, la dégradation sono-électrochimique est très efficace et convient au traitement de grands volumes de flux d'eaux usées et d'autres liquides pollués.
Par exemple, Lllanos et al. (2016) ont constaté que des effets synergiques significatifs étaient obtenus pour la désinfection de l'eau lorsque le système électrochimique était intensifié par la sonication (désinfection sono-électrochimique). Cette augmentation du taux de désinfection s'est avérée être liée à la suppression des agrégats de cellules d'E. coli ainsi qu'à une production accrue d'espèces désinfectantes. Esclapez et al. (2010) ont montré qu'un réacteur sono-électrochimique spécialement conçu (mais non optimisé) était utilisé lors de la mise à l'échelle de la dégradation de l'acide trichloracétique (TCAA), la présence du champ ultrasonore généré avec l'UIP1000hd a donné de meilleurs résultats (conversion fractionnelle 97 %, efficacité de dégradation 26 %, sélectivité 0,92 et efficacité du courant 8 %) à des intensités ultrasonores et un débit volumétrique plus faibles. Compte tenu du fait que le réacteur sono-électrochimique pré-pilote n'était pas encore optimisé, il est très probable que ces résultats puissent être encore améliorés.

Voltampérométrie et électrodéposition par ultrasons

L'électrodéposition a été effectuée par galvanostatisme à une densité de courant de 15 mA/cm2. Les solutions ont été soumises à des ultrasons avant l'électrodéposition pendant 5 à 60 minutes. Un Hielscher Ultrasonateur de type sonde UP200S a été utilisé à un temps de cycle de 0,5. L'échographie a été réalisée en plongeant directement la sonde à ultrasons dans la solution. Pour évaluer l'impact des ultrasons sur la solution avant l'électrodéposition, la voltampérométrie cyclique (CV) a été utilisée afin de révéler le comportement de la solution et permet de prévoir les conditions idéales pour l'électrodéposition. On observe que lorsque la solution est soumise à une ultrasonification avant l'électrodéposition, le dépôt commence à des valeurs de potentiel moins négatives. Cela signifie qu'à courant égal dans la solution, un potentiel moins élevé est nécessaire, car les espèces présentes dans la solution se comportent de manière plus active que celles qui ne sont pas soumises à l'ultrason. (cf. Yurdal & Karahan 2017)

Ultrasons UIP2000hdT (2000 watts, 20kHz) comme cathode et/ou anode dans un réservoir

Ultrasons UIP2000hdT (2000 watts, 20kHz) comme cathode et/ou anode dans un réservoir

Demande d'information





Sondes électrochimiques et sonoélectro réacteurs à haute performance

Hielscher Ultrasons est votre partenaire expérimenté de longue date pour les systèmes à ultrasons de haute performance. Nous fabriquons et distribuons des sondes et des réacteurs ultrasonores de pointe, qui sont utilisés dans le monde entier pour des applications lourdes dans des environnements exigeants. Pour la sonoélectrochimie, Hielscher a développé des sondes ultrasoniques spéciales, qui peuvent servir de cathode et/ou d'anode, ainsi que des cellules de réacteur ultrasonique adaptées aux réactions électrochimiques. Les électrodes et cellules ultrasoniques sont disponibles pour les systèmes galvaniques / voltaïques ainsi que pour les systèmes électrolytiques.

Des amplitudes précisément contrôlables pour des résultats optimaux

Hielscher's industrial processors of the hdT series can be comfortable and user-friendly operated via browser remote control.Tous les processeurs à ultrasons de Hielscher sont contrôlables avec précision et donc des chevaux de travail fiables en R&D et production. L'amplitude est l'un des paramètres de processus cruciaux qui influencent l'efficacité et l'efficience des réactions induites par la sonochimie et la sonomécanique. Tous les ultrasons Hielscher’ Les processeurs permettent de régler précisément l'amplitude. Les processeurs industriels à ultrasons de Hielscher peuvent fournir de très grandes amplitudes et délivrer l'intensité ultrasonore requise pour des applications sono-électrochamiques exigeantes. Des amplitudes allant jusqu'à 200 µm peuvent facilement être utilisées en continu, 24 heures sur 24, 7 jours sur 7.
Des réglages d'amplitude précis et le contrôle permanent des paramètres du processus ultrasonore par un logiciel intelligent vous donnent la possibilité d'influencer précisément la réaction sono-électrochimique. Lors de chaque sonication, tous les paramètres ultrasonores sont automatiquement enregistrés sur une carte SD intégrée, de sorte que chaque sonication peut être évaluée et contrôlée. Une sonication optimale pour des réactions sono-électrochimiques plus efficaces !
Tous les équipements sont conçus pour une utilisation 24 heures sur 24, 7 jours sur 7 et 365 jours par an à pleine charge. Leur robustesse et leur fiabilité en font le cheval de bataille de votre processus électrochimique. Cela fait de l'équipement à ultrasons de Hielscher un outil de travail fiable qui répond aux exigences de votre processus électrochimique.

La plus haute qualité – Conçu et fabriqué en Allemagne

En tant qu'entreprise familiale, Hielscher accorde la priorité aux normes de qualité les plus élevées pour ses processeurs à ultrasons. Tous les appareils à ultrasons sont conçus, fabriqués et testés de manière approfondie dans notre siège social de Teltow, près de Berlin, en Allemagne. La robustesse et la fiabilité des équipements à ultrasons de Hielscher en font un cheval de bataille dans votre production. Le fonctionnement 24 heures sur 24, 7 jours sur 7, à pleine charge et dans des environnements exigeants est une caractéristique naturelle des sondes et des réacteurs ultrasoniques hautes performances de Hielscher.

Contactez-nous dès maintenant pour nous faire part de vos besoins en matière de procédés électrochimiques ! Nous vous recommanderons les électrodes ultrasoniques et la configuration de réacteur les plus appropriées !

Contactez nous! / Demandez nous!

Demander plus d'informations

Veuillez utiliser le formulaire ci-dessous pour demander des informations supplémentaires sur les processeurs à ultrasons, les applications et le prix. Nous serons heureux de discuter avec vous de votre processus et de vous proposer un système à ultrasons répondant à vos besoins !









Veuillez prendre note de notre Politique de confidentialité.


Ultrasonic high-shear homogenizers are used in lab, bench-top, pilot and industrial processing.

Hielscher Ultrasonics fabrique des homogénéisateurs ultrasoniques à haute performance pour des applications de mélange, de dispersion, d'émulsification et d'extraction à l'échelle du laboratoire, du pilote et de l'industrie.

Littérature / Références

Hielscher Ultrasound Technology

Sono-Electrochemistry and its Advantages

Here you will find all you need to know about ultrasonic electrochemistry (sonoelectrochemistry): working principle, applications, advantages and sono-electrochemical equipment – all relevant information about sonoelectrochemistry on one page.

Why Applying Ultrasonics to Electrochemistry?

The combination of low-frequency, high-intensity ultrasound waves with electrochemical systems comes with manifold benefits, which improve the efficiency and conversion rate of electrochemical reactions.

The Working Principle of Ultrasonics

For high-performance ultrasonic processing, high-intensity, low-frequency ultrasound is generated by an ultrasound generator and transmitted via an ultrasonic probe (sonotrode) into a liquid. High-power ultrasound is considered ultrasound in the range of 16-30kHz. The ultrasound probe expands and contracts e.g., at 20kHz, thereby transmitting respectively 20,000 vibrations per second into the medium. When the ultrasonic waves travel through the liquid, alternating high-pressure (compression) / low-pressure (rarefaction or expansion) cycles create minute vacuum bubbles or cavities, which grow over several pressure cycles. During the compression phase of the liquid and bubbles, the pressure is positive, while the rarefaction phase produces a vacuum (negative pressure). During the compression-expansion cycles, the cavities in the liquid grow until they reach a size, at which they cannot absorb more energy. At this point, they implode violently. The implosion of those cavities results in various highly energetic effects, which are known as the phenomenon of acoustic / ultrasonic cavitation. Acoustic cavitation is characterized by manifold highly energetic effects, which impact liquids, solid/liquid systems as well as gas/liquid systems. The energy-dense zone or cavitational zone is known as so-called hot-spot zone, which is most energy-dense in the close vicinity of the ultrasonic probe and declines with increasing distance from the sonotrode. The main characteristics of ultrasonic cavitation include locally occurring very high temperatures and pressures and respective differentials, turbulences, and liquid streaming. During the implosion of ultrasonic cavities in ultrasonic hot-spots, temperatures of up to 5000 Kelvin, pressures of up to 200 atmospheres and liquid jets with up to 1000km/h can be measured. These outstanding energy-intense conditions contribute to sonomechanical and sonochemical effects that intensify electrochemical systems in various ways.

Ultrasonic electrodes for sonoelectrochemical applications such as nanoparticle synthesis (electrosynthesis), hydrogen synthesis, electrocoagulation, wastewater treatment, breaking emulsions, electroplating / electrodeposition

The probes of the ultrasonic processors UIP2000hdT (2000 watts, 20kHz) act as cathode and anode in an electrolytic cell

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


Ultrasonic Effects on Electrochemical Reactions

  • Increases mass transfer
  • Erosion / dispersions of solids (electrolytes)
  • Disruption of solid/liquid boundaries
  • High pressure cycles

The Effects of Ultrasonics on Electrochemical Systems

The application of ultrasonication to electrochemical reactions is known for various effects on the electrodes, i.e. anode and cathode, as well as the electrolytic solution. Ultrasonic cavitation and acoustic streaming generate significant micro-movement, impinging liquid jets and agitation into the reaction fluid. This results in improved hydrodynamics and movement of the liquid/solid mixture. Ultrasonic cavitation reduces the effective thickness of the diffusion layer at an electrode. A reduced diffusion layer means that sonication minimizes the concentration difference, meaning the convergence of the concentration in the vicinity of an electrode and the concentration value in the bulk solution are promoted ultrasonically. The influence of ultrasonic agitation on the concentration gradients during the reaction ensures the permanent feeding of fresh solution to the electrode and carting off of reacted material. This means sonication improved the overall kinetics accelerating reaction rate and increasing reaction yield.
By the introduction of ultrasonic energy into the system as well as the sonochemical formation of free radicals, electrochemical reaction, which otherwise would have been electroinactive, can be initiated. 
Another important effect of acoustic vibration and streaming is the cleaning effect upon the electrode surfaces. Passivating layers and fouling at the electrodes limit the efficiency and reaction rate of electrochemical reactions. Ultrasonication keeps the electrodes permanently clean and fully active for reaction.
Ultrasonication is well-known for its degassing effects, which are beneficial in electrochemical reactions, too. Removing unwanted gases from the liquid, the reaction can run more efficacious.

Benefits of Ultrasonically Promoted Electrochemistry

  • Increased electrochemical yields
  • 􏰭Enhanced electrochemical reaction speed
  • Improved overall efficiency
  • Reduced diffusion 􏰭layers
  • Improved mass transfer at the electrode

  • Surface activation at the electrode
  • Removal of passivating layers and fouling
  • 􏰭Reduced electrode overpotentials
􏰭
  • Efficient degassing of the solution
  • Superior electroplating quality
Ultrasonic electrodes improve the efficiency, yield and conversion rate of electrochemical processes.

The ultrasonic probe functions as electrode. The ultrasound waves promote electrochemical reactions resulting in improved efficiency, higher yields and faster conversion rates.
When sonication is combined with electrochemistry, this is sono-electrochemistry.

Applications of Sonoelectrochemistry

Sonoelectrochemistry can be applied to various processes and in different industries. Very common applications of sonoelectrochemistry include the following:

  • Nanoparticle synthesis (electrosynthesis)
  • Hydrogen synthesis
  • Electrocoagulation
  • Wastewater treatment
  • Breaking emulsions
  • Electroplating / Electrodeposition

Sono-Electrochemical Synthesis of Nanoparticles

Ultrasonication was successful applied to synthesize various nanoparticles in an electrochemical system. Magnetite, cadmium-selenium (CdSe) nanotubes, platinum nanoparticles (NPs), gold NPs, metallic magnesium, bismuthene, nano-silver, ultra-fine copper, tungsten–cobalt (W–Co) alloy nanoparticles, samaria/reduced graphene oxide nanocomposite, sub-1nm poly(acrylic acid)-capped copper nanoparticles and many other nano-sized powders have been sucefully produced using sonoelectrochemistry.
Advantages of the sonoelectrochemical nanoparticle synthesis include the

  • avoidance of reducing agents and surfactants
  • use of water as a solvent
  • adjustment of nanoparticle size by varying parameters (ultrasonic power, current density, deposition potential and the ultrasonic vs electrochemical pulse times)

Ashasssi-Sorkhabi and Bagheri (2014) synthesized polypyrrole films sonoelectrochemically and compared the results to electrocheically syntheised polypyrrole films. The results show that the galvanostatic sonoelectrodeposition produced a strongly adherent and smooth polypyrrole (PPy) film on steel, with a current density of 4 mA cm–2 in 0.1 M oxalic acid/0.1 M pyrrole solution. Using sonoelectrochemical polymerization, they obtained high-resistance and tough PPy films with smooth surface. It has been shown that PPy coatings prepared by sonoelectrochemistry provide substantial corrosion protection to St-12 steel. The synthesized coating was uniform and exhibited a high corrosion resistance. All these results may be attributed to the fact that the ultrasound enhanced the mass transfer of the reactants and caused high chemical reaction rates via acoustic cavitation and the resulting high temperatures and pressures. The validity of impedance data for the St-12 steel/two PPy coatings/corrosive media interface was checked using the KK transforms, and low average errors were observed.

Hass and Gedanken (2008) reported the successful sono-electrochemical synthesis of metallic magnesium nanoparticles. The efficiencies in the sonoelectrochemical process of the Gringard reagent in tetrahydrofuran (THF) or in a dibutyldiglyme solution were 41.35% and 33.08%, respectively. Adding AlCl3 to the Gringard solution increased the efficiency dramatically, raising it to 82.70% and 51.69% in THF or dibutyldiglyme, respectively.

Sono-Electrochemical Hydrogen Production

Ultrasonically promoted electrolysis significantly increases hydrogen yield from water or alkaline solutions. Click here to read more about the ultrasonically accelerated electrolytic hydrogen synthesis!

Ultrasonically Assisted Electrocoagulation

The application of low-frequency ultrasound to electrocoagulcation systems is known as sono-electrocoagulation. Studies show that sonication influences electrocoagulation positively resulting e.g., in higher removal efficiency of iron hydroxides from wastewater. The positive impact of ultrasonics on electrocoagulation is explained by the reduction of electrode passivation. Low-frequency, high-intensity ultrasound destructs deposited solid layer and removes them efficiently, thereby keeping the electrodes continuously fully active. Furthermore, ultrasonics activates both ion types, i.e. cations and anions, present in the electrodes reaction zone. Ultrasonic agitation results in high micro-movement of the solution feeding and carrying away raw material and product to and from the electrodes.
Examples for successful sono-electrocoagulation processes are the reduction of Cr(VI) to Cr(III) in the pharmaceutical wastewater, the removal of total phosphorus from effluents of the fine chemical industry with a phosphorous removal efficiency was 99.5% within 10 min., color and COD removal from effluents of the pulp and paper industry etc. Reported removal efficiencies for of color, COD, Cr(VI), Cu(II) and P were 100%, 95%, 100%, 97.3%, and 99.84%, respectively. (cf. Al-Qodah & Al-Shannag, 2018)

Sono-Electrochemical Degradation of Pollutants

Ultrasonically promoted electrochemical oxidation and/or reduction reactions are applied as powerful method to degrade chemical pollutant. Sonomechanical and sonochemical mechanisms promote the electrochemical degradation of pollutants. Ultrasonically generated cavitation results in intense agitation, micro-mixing, mass transfer and the removal of passivating layers from the electrodes. These cavitational effects result mainly in an enhancement of the solid-liquid mass transfer between the electrodes and the solution. Sonochemical effects directly impact molecules. Homolytic cleavage of molecules creates highly reactive oxidants. In aqueous media and in the presence of oxygen, radicals such as HO•, HO2• and O• are produced. •OH radicals are known to be important for the efficient decomposition of organic materials. Overall, sono-electrochemical degradation shows high efficiency and is suitable for the treatment of large volumes of wastewater streams and other polluted liquids.
For instance, Lllanos et al. (2016) found that significant synergistic effect were obtained for water disinfection when the electrochemical system was intensified by sonication (sono-electrochemical disinfection). This increase in the disinfection rate was found to be related to the suppression E. coli cell aggolomerates as well as an enhanced production of disinfectant species. 
Esclapez et al. (2010) showed that a specifically designed sonoelectrochemical reactor (however not optimized) was used during the scale-up of trichloroacetic acid (TCAA) degradation, the presence of ultrasound field generated with the UIP1000hd provided better results (fractional conversion 97%, degradation efficiency 26%, selectivity 0.92 and current efficiency 8%) at lower ultrasonic intensities and volumetric flow. Considering the fact, that the pre-pilot sonoelectrochemical reactor was not yet optimized, it is very likely that these results can be even further improved.

Ultrasonic Voltammetry and Electrodeposition

Electrodeposition was carried out galvanostatically at current density of 15 mA/cm2. Solutions were subjected to ultrasonication before electrodeposition for 5–60 minutes. A Hielscher UP200S probe-type ultrasonicator was used at a cycle time of 0.5. Ultrasonication was achieved by directly dipping the ultrasound probe into the solution. To evaluate the ultrasonic impact on the solution before electrodeposition, cyclic voltammetry (CV) was used in order to reveal solution behavior and makes it possible to predict ideal conditions for electrodeposition. It is observed that when solution is subjected to ultrasonication before electrodeposition, deposition begins at less negative potential values. This means that at the same current in the solution less potential is required, as the species in the solution behave more active than in non-ultrasonicated ones. (cf. Yurdal & Karahan 2017)

Ultrasonic UIP2000hdT (2000 watts, 20kHz) as Cathode and/or Anode in a tank

Ultrasonic UIP2000hdT (2000 watts, 20kHz) as Cathode and/or Anode in a Tank

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


High-Performance Electrochemical Probes and SonoElectroReactors

Hielscher Ultrasonics is your long-time experienced partner for high-performance ultrasonic systems. We manufacture and distribute state-of-the-art ultrasonic probes and reactors, which are used worldwide for heavy-duty applications in demanding environments. For sonoelectrochemistry, Hielscher has developed special ultrasonic probes, which can act as cathode and/or anode, as well as ultrasonic reactor cells suitable for electrochemical reactions. Ultrasonic electrodes and cells are available for galvanic / voltaic as well as electrolytic systems.

Precisely Controllable Amplitudes for Optimum Results

Hielscher's industrial processors of the hdT series can be comfortable and user-friendly operated via browser remote control.All Hielscher ultrasonic processors are precisely controllable and thereby reliable work horses in R&D and production. The amplitude is one of the crucial process parameters that influence the efficiency and effectiveness of sonochemically and sonomechanically induced reactions. All Hielscher Ultrasonics’ processors allow for the precise setting of the amplitude. Hielscher’s industrial ultrasonic processors can deliver very high amplitudes and deliver the required ultrasonic intensity for demanding sono-electrochamical applications. Amplitudes of up to 200µm can be easily continuously run in 24/7 operation.
Precise amplitude settings and the permanent monitoring of the ultrasonic process parameters via smart software give you the possibility to influence the sonoelectrochemical reaction precisely. During every sonication run, all ultrasonic parameters are automatically recorded on a built-in SD-card, so that each run can be evaluated and controlled. Optimal sonication for most efficient sonoelectrochemical reactions!
All equipment is built for the 24/7/365 use under full load and its robustness and reliability make it the work horse in your electrochemical process. This makes Hielscher’s ultrasonic equipment a reliable work tool that fulfils your sonoelectrochemical process requirements.

Highest Quality – Designed and Manufactured in Germany

As a family-owned and family-run business, Hielscher prioritizes highest quality standards for its ultrasonic processors. All ultrasonicators are designed, manufactured and thoroughly tested in our headquarter in Teltow near Berlin, Germany. Robustness and reliability of Hielscher’s ultrasonic equipment make it a work horse in your production. 24/7 operation under full load and in demanding environments is a natural characteristic of Hielscher’s high-performance ultrasonic probes and reactors.

Contact us now and tell us about your electrochemical process requirements! We will recommend you the most suitable ultrasonic electrodes and reactor setup!

Contact Us! / Ask Us!

Ask for more information

Please use the form below to request additional information about ultrasonic processors, applications and price. We will be glad to discuss your process with you and to offer you an ultrasonic system meeting your requirements!









Please note our privacy policy.


Ultrasonic high-shear homogenizers are used in lab, bench-top, pilot and industrial processing.

Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonic homogenizers for mixing applications, dispersion, emulsification and extraction on lab, pilot and industrial scale.

Literature / References