Löwenmähnen-Extrakt effizient mittels Ultraschall produzieren

Extrakte aus der Pilzart Hericium erinaceus, dem so genannten Löwenmähnenpilz, lassen sich am effizientesten mit Ultraschall herstellen. Ultraschallextraktoren brechen die Zellmatrix des Pilzes schnell auf und ermöglichen die vollständige Extraktion bioaktiver Verbindungen aus dem Myzel und dem Fruchtkörper der Löwenmähne.

Ultraschall-gestützte Gewinnung von Löwenmähnen-Extrakt

Bioactive compounds from lion's mane mushroom (Hericium erinaceus) can be efficiently extracted using Hielscher probe-type ultrasonicators.Bioaktive Verbindungen des Löwenmähnen-Pilzes (Lion's Mane): Hericium erinaceus, auch bekannt unter den Namen Löwenmähne, Japanischer Yamabushitake, Pom Pom, Bartzahn, Igel- oder Affenkopfpilz, ist ein Pilz, der seit Jahrzehnten als traditionelles Heilmittel und Therapeutikum verwendet wird. Der Löwenmähnen-Pilz enthält viele bioaktive Verbindungen wie Polysaccharide, Sterole, Glykoproteine, Terpenoide (z.B. Erinacine) sowie phenolische und flüchtige Verbindungen (z.B. Hericenone). Diese Substanzen sind für ihre antioxidative, antidiabetische, krebshemmende, entzündungshemmende, antimikrobielle, blutzuckersenkende und hypolipidemische Wirkung bekannt. Wissenschaftliche Untersuchungen haben gezeigt, dass die Inhaltsstoffe der Löwenmähne die Entwicklung und Funktion der Nervenzellen verbessern und die Nerven vor Schädigungen schützen können. Daher wird sie derzeit als Therapeutikum für Demenz getestet.

This video demonstrates the highly efficient extraction of lion's mane mushrooms using the Hielscher UP200Ht ultrasonic homogenizer. Ultrasonic extraction is the perfect technique for producing high-quality, full-spectrum extracts containing polysaccharides such as beta glucans, as well as hericenones and erinacins.

Lion's Mane Mushroom Extraction Using the Ultrasonicator UP200Ht

Video-Miniaturansicht

Informationen anfordern




Beachten Sie unsere Datenschutzerklärung.


Ultrasonic extractor UP200Ht (200 watts, 26kHz) for the extraction of bioactive compounds such as polysaccharides, sterols, glycoproteins, terpenoids (e.g. erinacines), as well as phenolic and volatile compounds (e.g. hericenones) from Lion's Mane mushroom (Hericium erinaceus).

Ultraschall-Löwenmähnenextraktion mit dem Ultraschallgerät UP200Ht: höhere Ausbeute, Vollspektrum-Extrakt.

Lion's Mane Extraktion mit Ultraschall:
Bei der Ultraschallextraktion von Löwenmähne handelt es sich um eine Technik, bei der Hochleistungsultraschall eingesetzt wird, um bioaktive Verbindungen aus dem Fruchtkörper oder Myzel des Löwenmähnenpilzes (Hericium erinaceus) zu extrahieren. Lion's Mane ist ein bekannter Heilpilz, der verschiedene gesundheitsfördernde bioaktive Verbindungen wie Polysaccharide, Beta-Glucane, Hericenone, Erinacine und Antioxidantien enthält.
Bei der Pilzextraktion mit Ultraschall werden Ultraschallstabscwingerh eingesetzt, die in einem flüssigen Medium (wie Wasser, Ethanol oder Methanol), das das Pilzmaterial enthält, intensive Kavitation erzeugen. Die erzeugte Ultraschallkavitation bewirkt, dass die Zellwände des Pilzmaterials aufbrechen und die bioaktiven Verbindungen in die Flüssigkeit / das Lösungsmittel freigesetzt werden. Die Ultraschallwellen verbessern auch den Massentransfer der bioaktiven Verbindungen aus dem Pilzmaterial in das Lösungsmittel, was die Extraktionseffizienz erhöht.
Die Pilzextraktion mit Ultraschall ist eine sehr effiziente und schnelle Isolierungstechnik, die keine hohen Temperaturen oder schädlichen Chemikalien erfordert. Die extrahierten bioaktiven Verbindungen können für verschiedene Anwendungen wie Nahrungsergänzungsmittel, funktionelle Lebensmittel und Nutrazeutika verwendet werden. Darüber hinaus ist die ultraschall-gestütze Löwenmähnenextraktion umweltfreundlich und nachhaltig, was sie zu einer idealen Wahl für die Gewinnung bioaktiver Verbindungen aus natürlichen Quellen macht.

Die Ultraschallextraktion überzeugt durch zahlreiche Vorteile:
 

  • hoher Wirkungsgrad
  • rein mechanische Extraktionseffekte, wodurch die Extraktion schonend ist
  • einfache Bedienung
  • sehr kurze Verarbeitungszeit
  • energiesparend

Diese Vorteile machen die Beschallung zu einer hervorragenden Extraktionstechnik für hochwertige Pilzextrakte und sind der Grund, warum Hielscher Ultraschallgeräte weltweit in Labor und Industrie zur Herstellung von Pilzextrakten eingesetzt werden.

UV-Vis measurement of ultrasonically isolated lion's mane extract. The extraction using the ultrasonicator UP200Ht gives high extract yields with excellent antioxidative properties.

UV-Vis-Messung von ultraschallisoliertem Löwenmähnenextrakt unter Verwendung der Ultraschallsonde UP200Ht.

Protokoll für die Extraktion der Löwenmähne mit Ultraschall

Valu et al. (2020) demonstrierten ein hocheffizientes Extraktionsverfahren zur Gewinnung und Konzentration der bioaktiven Produkte aus der Biomasse von H. erinaceus, das auf der Ultraschallextraktion beruht. Für die Extraktion wurde ein Hielscher Ultraschallprozessor (Hielscher UIP1000hdT, 1000 Watt, 20 kHz) mit einer Sonotrode BS4d40 (40 mm Durchmesser) verwendet. Vor den Extraktionsexperimenten wurde der Ultraschallprozessor kalibriert, um die Nettoleistungsaufnahme zu bestimmen. Während des Beschallungsvorgangs wurde dieser Wert automatisch vom Bruttoenergieverbrauch abgezogen, so dass die an das Extraktionsmedium abgegebene Nettoleistung ermittelt werden konnte. Während der Experimente wurden die Proben in einem Eisbad unter ständigem Rühren gelagert, um die Probentemperatur niedrig zu halten. Nach Abschluss der Extraktion wurden die Proben vakuumfiltriert und anschließend zentrifugiert (2500× g für 5 min). Zur Entfernung von Wasser und Alkohol aus dem Überstand wurde ein Rotationsverdampfer verwendet. Die verbleibenden Wasser- und Alkoholreste aus den Proben wurden mittels Gefriertrocknung entfernt, um einen Pulverextrakt zu erhalten. Alternativ kann das Lösungsmittel auch nur mit einem Vakuumfilter und einem Rotationsvakuumverdampfer entfernt werden, um ein Pilzkonzentrat zu erhalten.
 

Ultrasonic extraction of bioactive compounds from lion's mane mushroom results in high yields and excellent extract quality. Hielscher Ultrasonics supplies high-performance ultrasonic extractors for superior extraction results.

Ultraschallextraktion von Erinacin A und Polyphenolen mit antioxidativer Wirkung aus der Pilzbiomasse von Hericium erinaceus (Lion's Mane).
(Studie und Grafik: ©Valu et al. 2020)

 
Folgende optimierten Bedingungen wurden für die Ultraschallextraktion angewendet:

  • Ultraschallgerät UIP1000hdT mit Sonotrode BS4d40: 100% Amplitude, 100% Zyklus)
  • getrockneter, gemahlener Hericium erinaceus
  • Lösungsmittel: 80%iges wässriges Ethanol
  • Lösungsmittel-Feststoff-Verhältnis: 1:30 (g/ml)
  • Extraktionszeit: 45 Minuten

Der Gesamtgehalt an Phenolen in diesem optimierten H. erinaceus-Extrakt betrug 23,2 mg GAE/g TM, und im DPPH-Test erreichte die antioxidative Aktivität eine IC50 von 87,2 μg/mL.
Das Forschungsteam konnte erfolgreich nachweisen, dass die Ultraschallextraktion eine äußerst effiziente Isolierung von Antioxidantien aus dem Pilz Hericium erinaceus bewirkt. Insbesondere Polyphenole und Flavonoide, die mit dem Diterpenoid Erinacin A korrelieren und für besonders hohe antioxidative Aktivität bekannt ist, konnten im Ultraschallextrakt nachgewiesen werden.
(vgl. Valu et al., 2020)

In diesem Video demonstrieren wir die Ultraschallextraktion von Chaga-Pilzen mit kaltem Wasser. Der Hielscher UP100H ist ein 100-Watt-Ultraschall-Homogenisator. Die 14-mm-Sonde - MS14 - eignet sich sehr gut für die botanische Extraktion von kleinen Chargen. Sie können die Intensität mit dem Amplitudenregler einstellen. Für diese Extraktionsdemonstration verwenden wir 100% Intensität.

Kalte Extraktion von Chaga-Pilzen durch Ultraschallbehandlung

Video-Miniaturansicht

Ultraschallsondenextraktor für die Isolierung von Polysacchariden wie Beta-Glucanen sowie Hericenonen und Erinacinen aus Hericium erinacaneus.

Ultraschallextraktor UIP1000hdT mit Rührwerk zur Extraktion bioaktiver Verbindungen aus Pilzen.

Informationen anfordern




Beachten Sie unsere Datenschutzerklärung.


Finden Sie das ideale Ultraschallgerät für die Extraktion der Löwenmähne!

Die Löwenmähne ist reich an Chitin. Wie alle Pilze hat auch die Löwenmähne viel Chitin in ihren Zellwänden. Chitin ist ein zähes Biopolymer, das den Zellwänden eine hohe Steifigkeit und Festigkeit verleiht. Wegen ihres hohen Chitingehalts sollte die Löwenmähne nicht roh verzehrt werden, da das Chitin schwer verdaulich ist und zu Magenverstimmungen führen kann.
Um die chitinhaltigen Zellwände der Löwenmähne zu brechen und die intrazellulären bioaktiven Verbindungen zu extrahieren, sind starke Kräfte erforderlich. Daher führen Ultraschallbäder oder Reinigungswannen nicht zu den gewünschten Extraktionsergebnissen.
Lesen Sie mehr über den Leistungsvergleich zwischen einem Ultraschallstab und einem Ultraschallbad!
Im Gegensatz dazu erzeugt ein Ultraschallstab lokal hochintensive Ultraschallwellen und Kavitation, die die notwendige Energie liefern, um die chitinhaltigen Zellwände von Pilzen aufzubrechen. Außerdem ist die Beschallung mit einem Ultraschallstab eine nicht-thermische Extraktionsmethode, bei der eine hitze-bedingte Zersetzung der bioaktiven Verbindungen vermieden wird. Daher sind Ultraschallstabschwinger die effizienteste Extraktionstechnik für die Extraktion von Heilpilzen.
 
Fragen Sie uns nach dem idealen Ultraschallstab für Ihre Pilzextraktion!
 
In der folgenden Tabelle finden Sie die ungefähre Verarbeitungskapazität unserer Ultraschallhomogenisatoren:

Batch-Volumen Durchfluss Empfohlenes Ultraschallgerät
1 bis 500ml 10 bis 200ml/min UP100H
10 bis 2000ml 20 bis 400ml/min UP200Ht, UP400St
0,1 bis 10L 0.1 bis 2L/min UIP1000hdT
0.1 bis 20l 0,2 bis 4l/min UIP2000hdT
10 bis 100l 2 bis 10l/min UIP4000hdT
15 bis 150 Liter 3 bis 15 l/min UIP6000hdT
n.a. 10 bis 100l/min UIP16000
n.a. größere Cluster aus UIP16000

Kontaktieren Sie uns jetzt und erfahren Sie mehr über unsere Ultraschallgeräte für die Pilzextraktion! Unser langjährig erfahrenes, gut geschultes Personal wird Ihnen gerne den am besten geeigneten Ultraschallextraktor für Ihren Pilzextraktionsprozess empfehlen!

Kontaktieren Sie uns! / Fragen Sie uns!

Fordern Sie weitere Informationen an!

Bitte benutzen Sie das untenstehende Formular, um weitere Informationen über Ultraschallextraktoren, Pilzextraktion und Preise anzufordern. Wir freuen uns darauf, Ihr Extraktionsvorhaben mit Ihnen zu besprechen und Ihnen ein Ultraschallsystem anzubieten, das Ihre Extraktionsanforderungen erfüllt!









Bitte beachten Sie unsere Datenschutzerklärung.




Literatur / Literaturhinweise

Wissenswertes

Bioaktive Pilzbestandteile aus Myzel und Fruchtkörper

Mit der Ultraschallextraktion können sowohl Myzel- als auch Fruchtkörperextrakte hergestellt werden, und beide haben ihre eigenen einzigartigen Vorteile. Welcher Ausgangsstoff besser ist, hängt von der jeweiligen Anwendung und den gewünschten Ergebnissen ab.
Myzel-Extrakte sind im Allgemeinen preiswerter und leichter in großen Mengen herzustellen als Extrakte aus Fruchtkörpern, weshalb sie leichter erhältlich sind. Das Mycelium enthält außerdem viele nützliche Verbindungen wie Polysaccharide, Ergosterol und Enzyme.
Extrakte, die aus dem Fruchtkörper eines Pilzes gewonnen wurden, haben einen höheren Gehalt an Beta-Glucanen, Triterpenoiden und anderen Verbindungen, welche mit gesundheitlichen Vorteilen in Verbindung gebracht werden. Der Fruchtkörper eines Pilzes hat in der Regel zudem eine größere Vielfalt an Verbindungen und kann deshalb in einigen Fällen eine höhere Wirksamkeit zeigen.
Letztendlich hängt die Wahl zwischen Myzel- und Fruchtkörperextrakten von der spezifischen Anwendung und der gewünschten Wirkung ab. Wenn Sie zum Beispiel das Immunsystem unterstützen wollen, kann ein Myzel-Extrakt aufgrund seines hohen Polysaccharid-Gehalts eine gute Wahl sein. Zur Unterstützung der kognitiven Fähigkeiten ist ein Fruchtkörperextrakt aufgrund seines hohen Gehalts an Triterpenoiden möglicherweise die bessere Wahl. Hochwertige Extrakte sowohl aus dem Myzel als auch aus dem Fruchtkörper eines Pilzes können dementsprechend für zahlreiche Zwecke wirksam und nutzbringend eingesetzt werden.

Bioaktive Wirkstoffe in Lion's‘ Mane

Zu den sehr wichtigen und gut untersuchten bioaktiven Metaboliten gehören die Erinacine (A-I), eine Gruppe von Cyathin-Diterpenoiden, die aus dem Mycel von Hericium erinaceus (Löwenmähne oder Yamabushitake) gewonnen werden, und die Hericenone (C-H), Benzylalkoholderivate, die aus dem Fruchtkörper gewonnen werden. Beide Gruppen von Verbindungen können die Blut-Hirn-Schranke leicht überwinden und haben neurotrope und neuroprotektive Wirkungen gezeigt. Es gibt wissenschaftliche Untersuchungen, die zeigen, dass Erinacine und Hericenone sowohl in vitro als auch in vivo die Synthese des Nervenwachstumsfaktors (NGF) anregen. Der Lion's Mane Heilpilz hat zudem auch antioxidative, entzündungshemmende, krebshemmende, immunstimulierende, antidiabetische, antimikrobielle, hypolipidämische und blutzuckersenkende Eigenschaften. Am häufigsten wird Lion's Mane Extrakt zur Behandlung von neurodegenerativen Erkrankungen und kognitiven Störungen eingesetzt.
Erinacin A, der Hauptvertreter der Erinacin-Gruppe, hat nachweislich eine wirksame Schutzwirkung gegen die Parkinson-Krankheit. In einem 1-Methyl-4-phenyl-1,2,3,6-tetrahydropyridin (MPTP)-Mausmodell der Parkinson-Krankheit bewirkte Erinacin A eine Verringerung des MPTP-induzierten dopaminergen Zellverlusts, des durch oxidativen Stress induzierten apoptotischen Zelltods sowie der Spiegel von Glutathion, Nitrotyrosin und 4-Hydroxy-2-nonenal (4-HNE); es kehrte auch MPTP-assoziierte motorische Defizite um und reduzierte die Beeinträchtigung der 1-Methyl-4-Phenylpyridinium (MPP)-induzierten neuronalen Zellzytotoxizität und Apoptose durch eine durch endoplasmatischen Retikulum (ER)-Stress unterstützte Aktivierung der IRE1α/TRAF2, JNK1/2 und p38 MAPK-Wege, die Expression von C/EBP homologous protein (CHOP), IKB-β und NF-κB sowie Fas und Bax. Dieser Metabolit erwies sich auch als wirksam gegen den ischämischen Schlaganfall, wie in einer Studie an Ratten berichtet wurde, in der die Verringerung der neuronalen Apoptose sowie der Größe der Schlaganfallhöhle im Gehirn durch die Beeinflussung der iNOS/reaktiven Stickstoffspezies (RNS) und der p38 Mitogen-aktivierten Proteinkinase (MAPK)/CCAAT Enhancer-binding Protein Homologous Protein (CHOP) Wege beobachtet wurde.
Erinacin A wurde auch eine signifikante Antitumoraktivität bei menschlichen Magenkrebszellen TSGH 9201 nachgewiesen, bei denen es eine signifikante Apoptose auslöste, die mit einer erhöhten Phosphorylierung der fokalen Adhäsionskinase/Proteinkinase FAK/Akt/p70S6K und der Serin/Threonin-Kinase PAK-1 einherging. Es führte auch zu einer erhöhten Zytotoxizität und ROS-Erzeugung, zu einer verringerten Invasivität und Aktivierung von Caspasen sowie zur Expression des Tumornekrose-Rezeptors TRAIL. Die starke Antitumorwirkung dieses Metaboliten wurde anschließend in einer kürzlich durchgeführten Studie sowohl in vitro an zwei menschlichen Darmkrebszelllinien (DLD-1 und HCT-116) als auch in vivo in einem Mausmodell bestätigt, die die Mechanismen weiter aufklärte. Zu den Behandlungseffekten gehörten die Stimulierung der extrinsischen Apoptose-Aktivierungswege (TNFR, Fas, FasL, Caspasen), die Unterdrückung der Expression der antiapoptotischen Moleküle Bcl-2 und Bcl-XL und die Phosphorylierung der Jun N-terminalen Kinase JNK1/2, die auf Stressreize, NF-κB p50 und p330 reagiert. Es wurde auch gezeigt, dass die Hochregulierung von Todesrezeptormolekülen durch den JNK-MAPK/p300/NF-κB-Weg durch die Modifikation von Histon H3K9K14ac vermittelt wird; die Ergebnisse des In-vivo-Tests zeigten in der Tat erhöhte Werte von Histon H3K9K14ac sowie eine Histonacetylierung an Fas-, FasL- und TNFR-Promotoren.
Ein weiteres Erinacin, Erinacin C, ist für seine entzündungshemmenden und neuroprotektiven Wirkungen bekannt, die durch einen Mechanismus der Hemmung der Proteinexpression von IκB, p-IκBα (beteiligt an der vorgelagerten NF-κB-Signaltransduktionskaskade) und der induzierbaren Stickstoffmonoxid-Synthase (iNOS) sowie durch die Aktivierung des Nrf2/HO-1-Stressschutzweges erreicht werden könnten. Die Behandlung menschlicher BV2-Mikrogliazellen mit LPS-induzierter Entzündung führte zu einer Verringerung der Konzentrationen von Stickstoffmonoxid (NO), IL-6, TNF-α und iNOS, der Hemmung der NF-κB-Expression und der Phosphorylierung von IκBα (p-IκBα)-Proteinen, sowie die Hemmung des Kelch-ähnlichen ECH-assoziierten Proteins 1 (Keap1) und die Erhöhung des nuklearen Transkriptionsfaktors Erythroid 2-Related Factor (Nrf2) und der Expression des Proteins Häm-Oxygenase-1 (HO-1).
(Auszug aus Venturella et al., 2021)

Ultrasonic extraction of polysaccharides from medicinal mushrooms using the probe-type ultrasonicator UP100H. Ultrasonication is highly efficacious for the isolation of bioactive compounds from numerous fungi such as cordyceps, maiitake, chaga (Inonotus obliquus), lion's mane or reishi.

Ultraschallextraktor UP100H für die Isolierung von Polysacchariden aus dem Chaga-Pilz (Inonotus obliquus).


Hochleistungs-Ultraschall! Die Produktpalette von Hielscher deckt das gesamte Spektrum vom kompakten Labor-Ultraschallgerät über Bench-top-Homogenisatoren bis hin zu vollindustriellen Ultraschallsystemen ab.

Hielscher Ultrasonics fertigt Hochleistungs-Ultraschall-Homogenisatoren vom Labor bis zum voll-kommerziellen Industriemaßstab.


Wir besprechen Ihr Verfahren gerne mit Ihnen.

Lassen Sie uns in Kontakt treten.

Lion’s Mane Extract Made with Ultrasonics

Extracts from the fungus species Hericium erinaceus, known as lion’s mane mushroom, are most efficiently produced using ultrasonication. Ultrasonic extractors rapidly break open the fungal cell matrix and allow for the complete extraction of bioactive compounds from the lion’s mane mycelium and fruiting body.

Ultrasound-Assisted Lion’s Mane Mushroom Extraction

Bioactive compounds from lion's mane mushroom (Hericium erinaceus) can be efficiently extracted using Hielscher probe-type ultrasonicators.Bioactive Compounds in Lion’s Mane: Hericium erinaceus, also known under the common names of lion’s mane, Japanese yamabushitake, pom pom, bearded tooth, hedgehog or monkey head mushroom, is a fungus that is used since decades as a traditional medicine and therapeutic. Lion’s mane contains many bioactive compounds polysaccharides, sterols, glycoproteins, terpenoids (e.g. erinacines), as well as phenolic and volatile compounds (e.g. hericenones). These substances are known for their antioxidative, antidiabetic, anticancer, anti-inflammatory, antimicrobial, anti-hyperglycemic, and hypolipidemic effects. Scientific research has shown that lion’s mane compounds can improve neuronal development and function and might protect nerves from becoming damaged. Therefore, it is currently tested as a therapeutic for dementia.

This video demonstrates the highly efficient extraction of lion's mane mushrooms using the Hielscher UP200Ht ultrasonic homogenizer. Ultrasonic extraction is the perfect technique for producing high-quality, full-spectrum extracts containing polysaccharides such as beta glucans, as well as hericenones and erinacins.

Lion's Mane Mushroom Extraction Using the Ultrasonicator UP200Ht

Video Thumbnail

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


Ultrasonic extractor UP200Ht (200 watts, 26kHz) for the extraction of bioactive compounds such as polysaccharides, sterols, glycoproteins, terpenoids (e.g. erinacines), as well as phenolic and volatile compounds (e.g. hericenones) from Lion's Mane mushroom (Hericium erinaceus).

Ultrasonic lion’s mane extraction with the ultrasonicator UP200Ht: higher yields, full spectrum extract.

Ultrasonic Lion’s Mane Extraction:
Ultrasonic extraction of lion’s mane is a technique, which applies high-power ultrasound in order to extract bioactive compounds from the Lion’s Mane mushroom (Hericium erinaceus) fruiting body or mycelium. The Lion’s Mane mushroom is a well-known medicinal mushroom, and it contains various health-promoting bioactive compounds such as polysaccharides, beta-glucans, hericenones, erinacines, and antioxidants.
The ultrasonic mushroom extraction process involves using probe-type ultrasonicators that create intense cavitation in a liquid medium (such as water, ethanol, or methanol) containing the mushroom material. The generated ultrasonic cavitation causes the cell walls of the mushroom material to break down, releasing the bioactive compounds into the liquid / solvent. The ultrasonic waves also enhance the mass transfer of the bioactive compounds from the mushroom material to the solvent, which increases the extraction efficiency.
Ultrasonic mushroom extraction is a very efficient and rapid isolation technique that does not require high temperatures or harmful chemicals. The extracted bioactive compounds can be used for various applications, such as dietary supplements, functional foods, and nutraceuticals. Furthermore, ultrasonic lion’s mane extraction method is environmentally-friendly and sustainable, making it an ideal choice for extracting bioactive compounds from natural sources.

Ultrasonic extraction convinces by numerous advantageous facts:
 

  • high efficiency
  • purely mechanical extraction effects, which makes the extraction gentle
  • simple operation
  • very short processing time
  • energy-saving

These advantages make sonication an excellent extraction technique for high-quality mushroom extracts and are the reason, why Hielscher ultrasonicators are used worldwide in laboratories and industry for the production of mushroom extracts.

UV-Vis measurement of ultrasonically isolated lion's mane extract. The extraction using the ultrasonicator UP200Ht gives high extract yields with excellent antioxidative properties.

UV-Vis measurement of ultrasonically isolated lion’s mane extract using the ultrasonic probe UP200Ht.

Protocol for Ultrasonic Lion’s Mane Extraction

Valu et al. (2020) demonstrated a highly efficient extraction procedure for obtaining and concentrating the bioactive products of the H. erinaceus biomass based on the principles of the ultrasonic extraction. The device used for extraction was a Hielscher ultrasonic processor (Hielscher UIP1000hdT, 1000 Watts, 20 kHz) with sonotrode BS4d40 (40 mm diameter). Before the extraction experiments, the ultrasonic processor was calibrated to determine the net power consumption. During the sonication process, this value was automatically deducted from the gross energy consumption, thus allowing the net power delivered to the extraction medium to be found. During the experiments, the samples were placed in an ice bag with continuous magnetic stirring to maintain a low sample temperature. After completion of the extraction, the samples were vacuum filtered and then centrifuged (2500× g for 5 min). A rotary evaporator was used for water and alcohol elimination from the supernatants. The remaining water and alcohol residues from the samples were subjected to lyophilization in order to obtain a powder extract. Alternatively, the solvent can be removed using a vacuum filter and a rotary vacuum evaporator in order to get a mushroom concentrate.
 

Ultrasonic extraction of bioactive compounds from lion's mane mushroom results in high yields and excellent extract quality. Hielscher Ultrasonics supplies high-performance ultrasonic extractors for superior extraction results.

Ultrasonic Extraction of Erinacine A and Polyphenols with Antioxidant Activity from the Fungal Biomass of Hericium erinaceus
(study and graphic: ©Valu et al. 2020)

 
The optimized extraction conditions using ultrasound were the following:

  • ultrasonicator UIP1000hdT with sonotrode BS4d40: 100% amplitude, 100% cycle)
  • dried, ground Hericium erinaceus
  • solvent: 80% aqueous ethanol
  • solvent–material ratio: 1:30 (g/mL)
  • extraction time: 45 min

The total content of phenolics in this optimized H. erinaceus extract was 23.2 mg GAE/g DM, and in the DPPH test, the antioxidant activity reached an IC50 of 87.2 μg/mL.
The research team successfully demonstrated that ultrasonic extraction efficiently drives the isolation of antioxidants in Hericium erinaceus, particularly polyphenols and flavonoids correlated with the diterpenoid erinacine A, known for its high antioxidant activity.
(cf. Valu et al., 2020)

In this video we demonstrate the ultrasonic cold water extraction of Chaga mushrooms. The Hielscher UP100H is a 100 watts ultrasonic homogenizer. This 14mm probe - MS14 - is very suitable for botanical extraction of small batches. You can adjust the intensity using the amplitude dial. We use 100% intensity for this extraction demonstration.

Cold Chaga Mushroom Extraction using Ultrasonication

Video Thumbnail

Ultrasonic probe-type extractor for the isolation of polysaccharides such as beta glucans, as well as hericenones and erinacins from Hericium erinacaneus.

Ultrasonic extractor UIP1000hdT with stirrer for extraction of bioactive compounds from mushrooms.

Information Request




Note our privacy policy.


Find the Ideal Ultrasonicator for Lion’s Mane Extraction!

Lion’s mane is rich in chitin. As all mushrooms, lion’s mane has a lot of chitin in its cell walls. Chitin is a tough biopolymer, which gives the cell walls high rigidity and strength. Due to its high chitin content, lion’s mane should not be eaten raw since the chitin is hardly digestible and can cause gastric upset.
In order to break lion’s mane cell walls and to extract the intracellular bioactive compounds, intense forces are required. Therefore, ultrasonic baths or cleaning tanks do not give the desired extraction results.
Read more about the efficiency comparison between a probe-type ultrasonicator and an ultrasonic bath!
In contrast, ultrasonic probes create locally high-intensity ultrasound waves and cavitation, which deliver the necessary energy to disrupt the chitin-containing cell walls of mushrooms. Additionally, probe-type sonication is a non-thermal extraction method preventing the thermal degradation of the bioactive compounds by heat. Therefore, probe-type ultrasonicators are the most efficient extraction technique for medicinal mushroom extraction.
 
Ask us for the right probe-type ultrasonicator for your mushroom extraction!
 
The table below gives you an indication of the approximate processing capacity of our ultrasonicators:

Batch Volume Flow Rate Recommended Devices
1 to 500mL 10 to 200mL/min UP100H
10 to 2000mL 20 to 400mL/min UP200Ht, UP400St
0.1 to 10L 0.1 to 2L/min UIP1000hdT
0.1 to 20L 0.2 to 4L/min UIP2000hdT
10 to 100L 2 to 10L/min UIP4000hdT
15 to 150L 3 to 15L/min UIP6000hdT
n.a. 10 to 100L/min UIP16000
n.a. larger cluster of UIP16000

Contact us now and get more information about ultrasonicators for mushroom extraction! Our long-time experienced, well-trained staff will be glad to recommend you the most suitable ultrasonic extractor for your mushroom extraction process!

Contact Us! / Ask Us!

Ask for more information

Please use the form below to request additional information about ultrasonic extractors, mushroom extraction and price. We will be glad to discuss your process with you and to offer you an ultrasonic system meeting your extraction requirements!









Please note our privacy policy.




Literature / References

Facts Worth Knowing

Bioactive Mushroom Compounds from Mycelium vs Fruiting Body

Both mycelium and fruiting body extracts can be produced with ultrasonic extraction and both have their own unique benefits. Which one is better depends on the specific use case and desired outcomes.
Mycelium extracts are generally less expensive and easier to produce in large quantities than fruiting body extracts, making them more accessible. Mycelium also contains many beneficial compounds such as polysaccharides, ergosterol, and enzymes.
On the other hand, fruiting body extracts contain higher levels of beta-glucans, triterpenoids, and other compounds that have been linked to health benefits. Fruiting bodies also tend to have a more diverse range of compounds and may be more potent in some cases.
Ultimately, the choice between mycelium and fruiting body extracts will depend on the specific application and desired effects. If you’re looking for immune support, for example, a mycelium extract may be a good option due to its high polysaccharide content. If you are looking for cognitive support, a fruiting body extract may be a better choice due to its high triterpenoid content. It’s also worth noting that high-quality extracts from both mycelium and fruiting body sources can be effective and beneficial for a variety of purposes.

What is the Best Extraction Method for Beta-Glucans from Lion’s Mane?

Ultrasonic cold water extraction is the best technique to release the water-soluble compounds from mushrooms su as the Lion’s Mane fruiting body. Ultrasonic cold water extraction perforates and breaks the tough cell walls of mushrooms to release the bioactive compounds such as β-glucans from the cell matrix. As sonication is a gentle process, is does not damage the phytochemicals and prevents the degradation of all the health-promoting bioactive compounds including the beta-glucans.

What are the Advantages of an Mushroom Extract?

The process of extraction, e.g. ultrasonic extraction, releases the bioactive compounds such as beta-glucans from the cell matrix. Therefore, mushroom extracts contain higher amounts of bioactive compounds compared to ground mushroom powder. The main fraction of β-glucans, which are high-molecular-weight polymers, are soluble in water. That is why ultrasonic cold water extraction is not only a healthy and environmental-friendly way of extraction, but it efficiently releases the β-glucans from the mushroom cells into water. With the extract, it becomes possible to produce therapeutics and dietary supplements containing a consistent amount of bioactive molecules in each dose.

Bioactive Compounds in Lion’s Mane

Very important and well-studied bioactive metabolites also include the erinacines (A-I), a group of cyathin diterpenoids extracted from the mycelium of Hericium erinaceus or lion’s mane or yamabushitake, and hericenones (C-H), benzyl alcohol derivatives extracted from the fruiting body. Both groups of compounds can easily pass through the blood–brain barrier and have demonstrated neurotropic and neuroprotective effects. They are reported to induce nerve growth factor (NGF) synthesis, both in vitro and in vivo. However, this medicinal mushroom also has antioxidative, anti-inflammatory, anticancer, immunostimulant, antidiabetic, antimicrobial, hypolipidemic, and antihyperglycemic properties, although its most frequent use is for the treatment of neurodegenerative diseases and cognitive impairment.
Erinacin A, the main representative of the erinacine group, has been proven to have an effective protective effect against Parkinson’s disease. In a 1-methyl-4-phenyl-1,2,3,6-tetrahydropyridine (MPTP) mouse model of Parkinson’s disease, erinacin A produced a reduction of MPTP-induced dopaminergic cell loss, apoptotic cell death induced by oxidative stress, and the levels of glutathione, nitrotyrosine, and 4-hydroxy-2-nonenal (4-HNE); it also reversed MPTP-associated motor deficits, and reduced the impairment of 1-methyl-4-phenylpyridinium (MPP)-induced neuronal cell cytotoxicity and apoptosis, through an endoplasmic reticulum (ER) stress-sustained activation of the IRE1α/TRAF2, JNK1/2, and p38 MAPK pathways, the expression of C/EBP homologous protein (CHOP), IKB-β, and NF-κB, as well as Fas and Bax. This metabolite was also found to be effective against ischemic stroke, as reported in a study on rats in which the reduction of neuronal apoptosis, as well as the size of the stroke cavity in the brain by targeting iNOS/reactive nitrogen species (RNS) and p38 mitogen-activated protein kinase (MAPK)/CCAAT enhancer-binding protein homologous protein (CHOP) pathways, was observed.
Erinacin A was also reported to have significant antitumor activity in human gastric cancer TSGH 9201 cells, in which it induced significant apoptosis associated with increased phosphorylation of focal adhesion kinase/protein kinase FAK/Akt/p70S6K and serine/threonine kinase PAK-1 pathways. It also resulted in increased cytotoxicity and ROS generation, the reduced invasiveness and activation of caspases, and the expression of tumor necrosis receptor TRAIL. The strong antitumor action of this metabolite was subsequently confirmed by a recent study both in vitro in two human colon cancer cell lines (DLD-1 and HCT-116) and in vivo in a mouse model that further clarified its mechanisms. Treatment effects included stimulation of the extrinsic apoptosis activation pathways (TNFR, Fas, FasL, caspases), suppression of the expression of the antiapoptotic molecules Bcl-2 and Bcl-XL, and phosphorylation of Jun N-terminal kinase JNK1/2, responsive to stress stimuli, NF-κB p50 and p330. It was also demonstrated that the upregulation of death receptor molecules through the JNK MAPK/p300/NF-κB pathway is mediated by the modification of histone H3K9K14ac; the results of the in vivo assay revealed, in fact, increased levels of histone H3K9K14ac, as well as histone acetylation on Fas, FasL, and TNFR promoters.
Another erinacin, erinacin C, is known for its antineuroinflammatory and neuroprotective actions, which could be achieved through a mechanism of inhibition of IκB, p-IκBα (involved in the upstream NF-κB signal transduction cascade), and inducible nitric oxide synthase (iNOS) protein expression, and the activation of the Nrf2/HO-1 stress-protective pathway. The treatment of human BV2 microglial cells with LPS-induced inflammation resulted in reduced levels of nitric oxide (NO), IL-6, TNF-α, and iNOS, the inhibition of NF-κB expression, and the phosphorylation of IκBα (p-IκBα) proteins, as well as the inhibition of Kelch-like ECH-associated protein 1 (Keap1), and increased nuclear transcription factor erythroid 2-related factor (Nrf2) and the expression of the heme oxygenase-1 (HO-1) protein.
(excerpt from Venturella et al., 2021)

Ultrasonic extraction of polysaccharides from medicinal mushrooms using the probe-type ultrasonicator UP100H. Ultrasonication is highly efficacious for the isolation of bioactive compounds from numerous fungi such as cordyceps, maiitake, chaga (Inonotus obliquus), lion's mane or reishi.

Ultrasonic extractor UP100H for the isolation of polysaccharides from chaga mushroom (Inonotus obliquus).


High performance ultrasonics! Hielscher's product range covers the full spectrum from the compact lab ultrasonicator over bench-top units to full-industrial ultrasonic systems.

Hielscher Ultrasonics manufactures high-performance ultrasonic homogenizers from lab to industrial size.


We will be glad to discuss your process.

Let's get in contact.